Dankers, Deidrich (page 465), now living retired in Lake city, is a man who has had an active career as farmer and public official, and is well and favorably known over most of the county. He was born in Hanover, Germany, November 15, 1848, son of Peter and Anna Dankers, and was educated in the common schools in his native land. There he grew to manhood and was married April 18, 1869, to Marguerite Martin. For 10 years longer he remained in Germany, and then, in 1879, with his wife and three children, he emigrated to the United States, coming directly to Wabasha County, Minn. Here he at once turned his attention to the cultivation of the soil, renting the Thomas Morrow farm in Mt. Pleasant Township, which he worked for 15 years. In 1894 he bought of Mr. Morrow an improved farm of 120 acres, with fair buildings, on section 32, which he operated until 1906. He then retired, buying a comfortable residence in Lake City, at the corner of Dwelle and Sixth streets, where he has since made his home. On February 2, 1911, Mr. Dankers suffered a paralytic shock, as the result of which he has since been helpless, but otherwise enjoys good health. He was a very active and capable farmer, and very successful. He was also a prominent citizen of his township, serving as chairman of the town board for six years, and also for a number of years as assessor and on the school board. In 1901 and 1902 he built the first macadamized road in Wabasha county, extending from the foot of McCahill Hill to the boundary of Lake Township. His prosperity has been self-acquired, with the aid of his wife and children, as he had nothing when he arrived in this county. Moreover, during his early years on the farm, he hade little, owing to the low price of produce, having to sell his barley at 17 cents, eggs at 5 cents, and butter at 8 to 10 cents. He and his wife have been the parents of nine children: Anna, Marguerite, Katherine, Henry, Charles, Peter, John, Fred and William, of whom the first three mentioned were born in Germany. Anna is now the wife of John Isendorf of Goodhue County. Katherine is the wife of Deidrich Klintworth of Chester Township, Wabasha County. Henry is a harness-maker at Glenwood, Minn. Charles, born April 9, 1881, is a farmer in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County. Peter, born March 18, 1884, and John, born March 29, 1886, are farming in the same township as John. Fred is operating a farm in section 33, Mt. Pleasant Township. William, born January 19, 1898, was a grocer and musician in Lake City, but died from influenza November 11, 1918. His wife and three children are now residing in Lake City near the home of Mr. Dankers. The Dankers family are members of St. John's congregation (Lutheran) in Lake City, of which the subject of this sketch was a trustee for many years.
Note from Fellow Genealogist: Deidrich Dankers was my gg-grandfather. I'm interested in sharing information with others. Darci Schramm Mull
Dankers, Fred (page 466), a general farmer of section 33, Mt. Pleasant Township, who within the last few years has made rapid strides in prosperity, was born in this township, January 2, 1889, son of Deidrich and Margaret (Martin) Dankers. In his boyhood he attended district school regularly up to the age of 15 years, and after that during the winters until the age of 17. After that he learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked intermittently until 1912, residing on the home farm until 1906, and working on it when not engaged at his trade. On September 9, 1907, he married Leona, daughter of Peter and Adelia Merkens of Mr. Pleasant Township, and subsequently until 1913 lived on the Merkens' farm, working for his wife's brother, John Merkens, with Mrs. Dankers as housekeeper. In 1913 Mr. Dankers leased the Lewis farm of 240 acres in section 33, Mt. Pleasant Township, which he is still operating, being engaged in general farming, in which he is a thorough adept. He has a good operating equipment and is profitably raising high grade Shorthorn cattle, of which he keeps from 30 to 40 head, and Poland-China hogs, of which he has 40 to 50 head, with full blooded sires at the head of bother herds. His political principles have caused him to join the Non-partisan League, and he and his family are affiliated religiously with the Belvidere congregation in Goodhue County. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Dankers are: Luellen Alice Anna, March 25, 1909; Melvin William, January 19, 1911; Harry Frederick, September 13, 1912; Erane Florence Lydia, August 9, 1915; Verone Marie, April 2, 1917, and Noranda Catherine, January 30, 1919. Mrs. Dankers was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, October 18, 1888, and has always resided in Wabasha County, where she and Mr. Dankers are widely known and enjoy a good social standing.
Danckwart, Frank F. (page 346), proprietor of the old Danckwart farm in section 7, West Albany township, was born here February 15, 1888, son of John and Sophia Herning Danckwart. He was educated in the district school, and under his father's direction became familiar with all the multifarious details of farm life and work. He came into possession of the farm in sec 4, by purchase in 1919, and has since been successfully engaged in its operation. It contains 320 acres, all under the plow, and is provided with a fair set of buildings, including a nine-room frame house, barn, granary, tool shed and steel windmill. Mr. Danckwart, who is a hard worker, and has a good equipment, has a productive place and is making good financial progress. He owns a five passenger auto, and is a member of and stockholder in the Lake City Farmers Shipping Association, the Farmers Elevator Co. of Lake City, and the Terminal Packing Co. of Newport. On November 6, 1913, Mr. Danckwart was united in marriage with Hilda, daughter of Bernt and Andrena Amundsrud Benson of Rushford, Minn., of which place she is a native, born December 12, 1892. Their marriage took place in Lake City. Mr. and Mrs. Danckward have two children: Dorothy Lucille, born March 5, 1915, and Agnes Bernice, born August 29, 1917. The family are members of St. Johns congregation, German Lutheran church. In politics Mr. Danckwart is a Republican, and has been clerk of the school board 3 years. A practical agriculturist and a useful and progressive citizen, he is highly regarded in the community, and he and his wife have a large circle of friends.
Dankwardt, Fred J. Joseph (page 349), a well-to-do farmer residing in section 25, Lake Township, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, May 19, 1862, son of Joachim and Annie Dankwardt. He was seven years old when he came to America with his parents, who settled in West Albany Township on a farm, where he was trained to agricultural pursuits, attending school at intervals up to the age of 18. After his mother's death in 1876 he remained on the farm with his father until he was 24, when he had accumulated $75, a rifle and a watch, which were his sole possessions besides his clothes. From that time until 1891 he worked out as a farm laborer. He then rented the G. W. Covey farm of 200 acres in section 25, Lake Township and started in for himself. In the fall of 1896 he and his brother Joseph bought this farm, of which 85 acres were then under cultivation, and there was a frame house on it, with some old sheds. To these slight impovements they added a frame barn, 34 by 64 by 16 feet, with a full stone basement of 8 feet; also a steel windmill, poultry house, stone cisterns and other necessary structures. As general farmers and stock raisers they keep grade Durham cattle and Poland-China hogs, and are well equipped with teams, tools and machinery, including a good touring car. Their operations have been profitable and they are numbered among the prosperous farmers of the township. A Republican politically, Fred J. Dankwardt has served two years as supervisor and was an ardent and active supporter of the United States during the recent war. On October 29, 1907, he was married to Mary, daughter of Frank and Caroline Bush, of Lake Township. Since 1909 he and his wife have given a home to Frank, Anna and James Russell, the orphaned children of Mrs. Dankwardt's sister. Frank Russell served in the recent war with Germany. Mr. Dankwardt was reared a Lutheran and he and his wife are members of St. John's congregation at Lake City.
Dankwardt, Joachim (page 349), an early settler in Lake Township, where he farmed for a number of years, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, March 17, 1827. He learned and followed the weaver's trade, and also acquired a 10-acre farm, which he operated, working at his trade when he could spare the time from the farm. In 1853 he married Annie Arnst, by whom he had seven children, five of whom were born in Germany. In 1869 he came with his family to America finding the means by selling his farm, the price added to what he had saved making a sum about $1, 600. This amount was nearly all swallowed up by the expenses of transportation, so he arrived here with but little capital. Locating in West Albany Township, this county, he worked one year as a farm hand. In 1870 he bought a partly improved tract of 80 acres in section 35, but there were no buildings, and he had to erect a small log house, with some straw sheds for his stock. On that farm he lived until 1876, in which year his wife died. He then bought a farm of 120 acres in sections 24 and 25, which he made his home until his death, September 16, 1918, at the venerable age of 91 years and six months. He was a strong and sturdy man until 1910, when he had a stroke of paralysis, and in 1914 he suffered from another. He had never mastered the English language, but was a hard-working man, respected by his neighbors. He was a member of St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City, and in politics a Republican. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Dankwardt were: Mary, now Mrs. John A. Klint of Minneapolis; Joseph, residing in Maumee, Fla.; Fred J., a prosperous farmer in Lake Township; Minnie, now Mrs. George Innis of Lake City; Henry L. of Lake City; Louisa, who married a Mr. Haldenmar of Chicago and is now deceased, and Anna, wife of Michael Pendergast of Sage, Mont.
Danckwrt, John August (page 345), a prominent and well-to-do farmer of West Albany Township, residing in section 4, was born in this township, just across the road from his present residence, on August 14, 1891, son of John and Sophia (Herning) Danckwart. The father, a native of Germany, came to the United States about 1859, and was an early settler in this locality, subsequently developing a farm in section 9, West Albany Township, and also the farm on which his son, John A., now lives. This latter, in 1914, he sold to his sons Frank and John August, and moved to Lake City, where he is now living retired. He owned altogether 480 acres of land, 320 being in one farm. His wife Sophia was born in Wabasha County. They are esteemed residents of Lake City and members of St. John's German Lutheran congregation. Their children were Fred, Edward, Ida, Martha, Clara, Frank, William, Louis, John August, Agnes and Harry. All are living except Edward, Ida and Agnes. William and Louis are twins. John August Danckwart in his boyhood attended the district school and was brought up to farm life and labor on his parents' farm, remaining at home until 1914. Since then he has made independent progress in agricultural which he now has 240 under the plow. He has built a comfortable, 8-room frame house, and also a fine set of buildings, all of modern construction, including a horse barn, 32 by 52 by 16 feet; machine shed, 18 by 50 by 8; stock barn, 34 by 60 by 14, with a 9-foot basement, steel stanchions and stalls, cement floors and running water; besides a granary and cribs. His cattle are of the Shorthorn variety, which he is breeding to a higher grade, using full-blood sires for cattle and hogs, which latter stock are of the Duroc-Jersey breed. Mr. Danckwart's equipment included a five-passenger Chevrolet car, and aside from his direct farming interests he is a member of the Farmers' Shipping Association and a stockholder in the Farmers elevator at Lake City; and is interested in the new Farmers Milling Co., of Lake City, and operates a threshing rig for himself and neighbors. He is serving as clerk of the school board and is an active and enterprising citizen, interested in everything that pertains to the good of the community in which he resides. Mr. Danckwart was married, June 24, 1918, to Mabel, daughter of William and Lena McCracken, of Glasgow Township, this county, and who was born October 24, 1895.
Danckwart, William Charles (page 621), who, though a young man, is proprietor of one of the best farms in West Albany Township, located in section 1, was born in section 9, this township, October 6, 1889, son of John and Sophia (Orning) Danckwart. His parents were among the earliest settlers in this section, and hence of necessity hard workers, whence, perhaps, he has derived some share of his own industry and enterprise. His education was acquired in the district school, which he left at the age of 15 years, and until 1913 he was associated in agricultural operations with his father. On October 7, 1913, he was married to Margaret, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Williams) Gilles, of Plum City, Wis., and he and his wife began home making on a farm in section 1, West Albany Township, which property he still owns. In the same section he now has 320 acres, of which 300 are under the plow. The house is a good two-story, 11-room frame building, and the barns, granary, machine shed, poultry house and other outbuildings are substantial and kept in excellent condition, while the operating equipment is complete and up to date. Mr. Danckwart follows diversified farming, keeping grrade Shorthorn cattle, Duroc and Chester-White hogs and Shropshire sheep. He is one of the stirring and successful men in his line of business, financially solid, and a good and reliable citizen. Originally a Democrat, he is now a member of the Non-partisan League. He was reared in the German Lutheran faith, and is a member of St. John's congregation, while his wife is a Catholic. They are the parents of two children: Robert William John, born July 2, 1915; and Herbert George, born June 12, 1920. The children are members of St. Mary's Catholic church.
Davis, Arthur H. (page 469), for a number of years one of the hard-working and successful farmers of Plainview Township, who has recently passed away, was born in this township, December 12, 1866, son of Daniel M. and Virginia (Hale) Davis. The parents, natives respectively of New York and Virginia, at an early day took a claim with Jonathan Fisk in Plainview Township, this county, of which they were pioneers. Both are now deceased, the father having passed away in 1909, and the mother in 1872. Arthur H. Davis was educated in the local schools, and until the age of 26 years resided on his parents' farm, except for one year which he spent in Chicago. He then bought out a livery business in Plainview, which he carried on for about three years. In the year 1900 he gave it up and bought a farm of 100 acres in Olmsted County, where he was engaged in agriculture until 1915. He then sold that farm and bought one of 160 acres in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, on which he made improvements, conducting it successfully until his death. That event was to some extent unexpected even by himself. During his early years he had taken a prominent part in athletic sports, in which he obtained a reputation among his associates. Stout of heart, and apparently with a rugged constitution, he had for many years easily performed the strenuous labors of farm life. But the dread disease, tuberculosis, which is no respecter of persons, attacked him about a year ago. He spent a few months at the Wabasha Sanitarium, and for a time seemed greatly improved. After returning home he continued to gain in health, but about eight years before his death he was seized with a severe hemorrhage, which was followed by others, and at 5:30 o'clock, on Monday afternoon, March 15, 1920, he passed away, the news coming as a shock to his many life-long friends, few of whom knew that he was ill. Mr. Davis was a man of strong character and type of manhood, vigorous in the pursuit of any undertaking to which he gave his mind. Successful as a farmer and valued as a neighbor and friend, his personality and service to the community will not soon be forgotten. His funeral services were conducted by the Rev. J. L. Jones of the Congregational church, and interment was made in Greenwood Cemetery. Mr. Davis was married on June 26, 1895, to Carrie G. Boyd, who was born in Plainview, December 10, 1872, daughter of H. P. and Florence (Hamlin) Boyd. Her father and mother were natives respectively of Pennsylvania and Maine, the former settling in this county in 1866. They were married in Wabasha December 22, 1867, and were subsequently the parents of five children: Minot, Hattie, Carrie G., Olive Blanche, Chatfield M. and Walton H. Minot is now deceased. Hattie is the wife of Fred Minck, of Winona. Carrie G. is now the widow of Arthur Hale Davis, subject of this sketch. Blanche married William Druey. Walton H. is residing in Plainview. H. P. Boyd, the father of Mrs. Davis, died June 10, 1909. The latter's mother is still living and resides with her. To Mr. and Mrs. Arthur H. Davis five children were born: Dorothy Leone, September 30, 1896; Florence Virginia, February 16, 1899; Kenneth Arthur, June 16, 1902; Alton Hamlin, June 19, 1904; and Alice Hale, February 18, 1911. Dorothy Leone is the wife of George H. Vermilya and has one child, Shirley J. The other children are residing at home with their mother. The religious affiliations of the family are with the Congregational church, to which Mr. Davis belonged. Politically he was a Republican, but his activities were more along the lines of business and home making than in politics, and in those spheres of action his work was well and faithfully done.
Delva, John M. (page 728), who is operating a good farm of 160 acres in section 20, Chester Township, was born on the farm on which he now lives, April 9, 1889, son of Peter and Margaret (Fleming) Delva. The parents were natives of Germany who came to Minnesota in 1871 and settled immediately in Chester Township, Wabasha county. In 1874 they bought the farm above mentioned, on which they erected a set of buildings, and resided here carrying on general farming until 1886. In that year they bought another farm containing 160 acres in section 8 and 80 acres in section 9, and on the latter place they are still living, engaged in general farming and stock raising. They are members of the Catholic church. Of their family of 11 children, ten are now living, the full list being as follows: Michael, Anna, Clara, Katherine, Elizabeth, John, Nicholas, Joseph, Mary, Peter and Nicholas (second). The first Nicholas died in infancy. John M. Delva acquired his education in the district school and worked for his father until 1915. He then rented the old home farm of 160 acres in section 20, Chester, and has been engaged in its operation, like his father, carrying on general farming and stock raising with profitable results. He is a member of the Catholic church and belongs fraternally to the Knights of Columbus. He was married September 7, 1915, to Clara Frank, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Frank, who are farmers in Goodhue County, Minn. Mrs. Delva was the third born in a family of eight children, namely: Edward, John, Clara, Margaret, Lena, Rose, Katherine and Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Delva are the parents of one child: Rosella A., who was born November 7, 1918.
Deming, Edward J. (page 367), one of the younger farmers of Oakwood Township who is making good progress, was born in this township, November 1, 1891, son of Frank and Margaret (Knoll) Deming. He was educated in the district school and in the public school at Plainview, which he attended for three years, and remained with his parents on the home farm until 1916, after which he rented the farm until the fall of 1919. He then bought his present farm of 120 acres in sections 25 and 26. At the same time he began improvements on it by erecting a new modern eight-room house, and sinking a well, and he now has under construction a new barn 34 by 60 feet, with a full basement and modern equipment, also a brick garage. He is carrying on diversified farming and stock raising very successfully, keeping Shorthorn cattle and Duroc-Jersey hogs, and is a member of the local shipping Association and the Co-operative Creamery. In religion he is a Catholic and fraternally a member of the Knights of Columbus. Mr. Deming was married November 8, 1917, to Florence Olson, who was born in Elgin Township, daughter of Swen and Carrie (Johnson) Olson.
Deming, George H. (page 555), of Oakwood Township, was born on the farm on which he now lives, in section 25, on June 4, 1896, son of Frank and Margaret (Knoll) Deming. He acquired his education in the rural school of his district, and at home took up the occupation of farming, with which he soon became thoroughly conversant. In the fall of 1919 he rented his father's farm of 120 acres in section 25, on which he is now following general diversified farming and stock raising, keeping Shorthorn cattle of good grade and Chester-White swine. He is a member of the Plainview Co-operative Creamery Association and of the local Shipping Association. He is a veteran of the World's War, having served from Jun 24, 1918 to July 16, 1919, eight months of the time being spent overseas. Mr. Deming was married November 25, 1919, to Lydia Holland, of Watopa Township. She was born April 4, 1895, daughter of John and Mary (Lamey) Holland, who were early settlers in that township. Mr. and Mrs. Deming are members of the Catholic church.
Deming, William G. (page 625), former proprietor of an up-to-date machine-shop in the village of Kellogg, but now deceased, was born in the town of Wabasha, this county, May 1, 1886, son of John and Ellen (Sheely) Deming. The father was a native of New York state and the mother of Ireland, but they were married in Wabasha, Minn., where they are now living after a career of a number of years in agriculture. They have had two children, William G., and John J. William G. Deming acquired his education in the district and parochial schools, the family being Catholics in religion, and was associated with his father in agricultural work on the home farm until 1907. He then began to learn the blacksmith's trade in Claremont, Minn., and in July, 1914, engaged in the business in Kellogg. In the spring of 1919 he erected a tile building here, of 40 by 60 feet, for a machine shop, which he fully equipped for all kinds of work in that line, including acetylene welding, and did horse shoeing and all other blacksmith work. Thoroughly competent and industrious, he took his place among the leading artisans of the village and enjoyed a prosperous career until January 15, 1920, when he met with an accident in his shop while welding which was the cause of his death two hours later. Mr. Deming was married June 6, 1917, at Kellogg to Katherine Leisen, daughter of Matthias and Katherine Leisen, natives of Germany, who were early settlers in Wabasha County, and for a number of years farmers in Watopa and Greenfield townships. The father died in 1914, but the mother is still living, as also are their six children: John, Albert, Nicholas, Joseph, Elizabeth and Katherine. Mr. and Mrs. Deming were the parents of two children: Eugene Albert, born July 2, 1918 and Katherine Elizabeth, born July 21, 1919.
Denzer, Christian (page 269), for several years a breeder of Black Poll Angus cattle, but now living retired in Plainview, was born in Whitewater Township, Winona County, April 19, 1869, son of Fred and Mary (Hostetter) Denzer. He was educated in the common schools and grew to manhood on his parents' farm in Whitewater Township, Winona County, and for 13 years was engaged in its operation. At the end of that time he sold it and came to Plainview Township, Wabasha County, for two years thereafter operating a rented farm. After that he bought a farm in Whitewater Township, on which he remained until the fall of 1916, when he sold the farm and retired to Plainview, purchasing a home on High street. During the summer he follows carpenter work, While in Whitewater he took an active part in the agricultural development of his township, and as a progressive stock raiser made a high reputation, keeping a fine herd of Black Poll Angus cattle, with a full-blooded sire. He served his town six years on the board of supervisors and for several years was on the school board. Mr. Denzer was married March 10, 1897, to Matilda Zenk, who was born in Whitewater Township, Winona County, Minn., October 18, 1879, daughter of Charles and Anna (Strehlein) Zenk. Her father was a native of Germany and her mother of Michigan. They followed general farming in Whitewater Township for a number of years until retiring to Altura, where both died, the father in 1915 and the mother in 1914. They had nine children: Louise, Barbara, Matilda, George, Carrie, Dora, Adella, Mary and Anna, of whom the two last mentioned are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Denzer have been born two children: Luella Caroline, August 23, 1902, now a student in the Plainview high school; and Orrin Charles, Novermber 25, 1906, who is in the eighth grade of the common school. The family is identified religiously with the Congregational church, and are people of good standing in the community, well known and respected.
Denzer, Fred (page 269), who for 23 years was engaged in agriculture in Plainview Township, but is now retired, was born in Ohio, and on growing to manhood married Mary Hostetter, a native of Switzerland. In 1866 they settled on land in Whitewater Township, Winona County, and engaged in farming, remaining there until 1896. They then moved to Woodland, in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, where they are still living, Mr. Denzer having continued active until 1919. On December 4, 1916, he and his wife celebrated their golden wedding anniversary, a large number of friends being present on the happy occasion. They have been the parents of four children: Christian, a resident of Plainview; Albert, a farmer in Winona County; Minnie, deceased; and Ervin, who is residing at home.
Dettrich, Ernest G. (page 519), a Minnesota pioneer now residing in Watopa Township, was born in Germany, October 25, 1842, and came to America with his parents in 1854. The family located first in Milwaukee, Wis., where they resided until 1866, wehn they settled at Oak Ridge, Winona County, Minn. There Ernest G. Dettrich bought 80 acres of land, which he farmed until 1892. Then selling that farm, he bought one of 160 acres in sections 30 and 31, Watopa Township, Wabasha County, erected a set of buildings and fenced the farm, and was there engaged in agriculture until 1916. He then rented the farm to his son Ervin F., who purchased it in 1919, and is now the owner. Mr. Dettrich had an active and successful career, and for many years was a prominent citizen of Watopa Township. For a number of years he served on the school board of District 35. He was married, October 14, 1872, to Lucy Reish, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Reish, who were natives of Switzerland. She died in 1917. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Dettrich were: Edith, now Mrs. F. L. Bennett; William, who resides in Winona County; Charles, a physician of Omaha, Neb., Minnie, wife of Byron Bennett; Ervin F., who bought and is operating the home farm; and Alonzo, who is a traveling salesman. Ervin F. Dettrich, who was born March 4, 1888, was married June 10, 1914, to Maggie Markus, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George Markus of Highland Township, Wabasha County. He and his wife have four children: Mildred, born February 12, 1916; Marcus E., born January 8, 1917; and Lorena T. and Maxine T. (twins), born February 20, 1918.
Devery, Charles (page 728), who was formerly engaged for some years in operating a farm in Zumbro Township, and whose family are still residing here, was born in Olmsted County, Minn., March 31, 1859. He was educated in the district school at Farm Hill, that county, and subsequently became an agricultural laborer and carpenter. In 1882 he rented a farm in Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, which he operated for two years. He then took a farm at Oronoco, Olmsted County, which he operated for two years, also under rental. In 1886 he returned to Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, moving on to a farm in sections 29 and 30, which he operated under rental for 16 years, carrying on general farming and stock raising, and on whch he died July 31, 1901. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and belonged fraternally to the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Devery was married March 31, 1882, to Hattie Anderson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Abraham Anderson. Her parents were natives of New York state who, on coming to Wabasha County, Minn., settled on a farm in Zumbro Township, which the father actively conducted until 1890, afterwards continuing to reside on it until 1919, when he moved to Hammond. The mother died in 1875. They were members of the Wesleyan Methodist church. Their children were: Alonzo D., Hattie, Clark and Wesley. To Mr. and Mrs. Charles Devery five children were born: Grover L., June 1, 1884; Phoebe, March 27, 1888; Harry, March 15, 1894; Edna, September 7, 1896; and Mark, June 11, 1902. Phoebe is now the wife of Lester Mack of Hastings, Minn., Harry resides in Zumbro Township, and the others are still residing on the home farm with their mother. In 1902 Mrs. Devery bought a tract of 80 acres in section 29, Zumbro Township, and she has also made improvements in the residence and outbuildings. The farm is now operated by the son Grover, who is raising both grain and stock with good financial results. He belongs fraternally to the Modern Woodmen of America.
Dewitt, Marion (page 735), a well known farmer of Zumbro Township, where he is also serving as justice of the peace, was born in Markesan, Green Lake County, Wis., March 26, 1850, son of Newland and Olive (Guthrie) Dewitt. The parents were natives of New York state who emigrated west to Wisconsin in 1849. The father died in 1868. His wife, who survived him many years, passed away at Napa, California, at an advanced age in 1916. They were the parents of six children: George, now in Rochester; Malinda and Alma, deceased; Marion, who lives in Zumbro Township, this county; James, who lives in New Mexico; and Freeman, deceased. Marion Dewitt acquired his education in Green Lake County, Wis. After becoming industrially active, he was employed two and a half years driving a mule team on government work. Coming to Minnesota in 1871, he found work on a farm in Olmsted County, at the location known as Farm Hill, and remained there two years. In 1873 he rented a farm in that county, which he operated two years, or until 1875. He then moved to Rochester, where for four years he was engaged in teaming. During the two subsequent years Mr. Dewiit operated a rented farm in Goodhue County. The period from 1881 to 1905 he spent in Rochester working at the carpenters' trade. Then in 1905 he came to Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, and bought 40 acres in section 36, where he is now residing, engaged in general farming and stock raising. He has erected most of the present buildings on his land. He is a member of the Wesleyan Methodist church, and as a reliable citizen and justice of the peace is widely known and respected. Mr. Dewitt was married November 9, 1874, to Alice Welch, daughter of Mr.and Mrs. Samuel Welch. Her parents were natives of New York State who came to Minnesota in 1870, and were subsequently engaged in farming in Olmsted County until their retirement in 1874. They then took up their residence in Rochester, where Mr. Welch died July 2, 1903, and Mrs. Welch in 1877. They had but one child, Alice, who, as already mentioned, became the wife of Marion Dewitt. She died March 27, 1897, leaving four children: Clinton, born November 6, 1875, who is a resident of Rochester; Delia, born February 22, 1877, now Mrs. A. F. Hummerson of Minneapolis; Ervin, born January 7, 1880, who lives at Great Falls, Mont., and Abbie, born September 5, 1883, who is the wife of Alva Wagy of Cresco, Ia. On October 9, 1905, Marion Dewitt was united in marriage with Mary A. Steadman, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Steadman. Her parents were natives of England who came to America in 1856, settling first in New York State, whence they came to Wabasha County, Minn., in 1863. They made their home thereafter in Zumbro Township, where Mrs. Steadman died in October, 1883, and Mr. Steadman in 1903.
Dickerman, Dorr (page 407), who as farmer and merchant made a bright record during his active career, the last years of which were spent in Elgin Village, was born in Tunbridge, Orange County, Vt., March 12, 1855, son of Lewis and Emily Dickerman. He was educated in the schools of his native place, and when 23 years of age followed the tide of emigration westward, arriving in Elgin, Minn., March 30, 1878. He first worked as a farm laborer, and subsequently farmed for himself on rented land. In the spring of 1881 he purchased an interest in a hardware store in Elgin, and was engaged in the hardware business for nearly four years as a member of the firm of Ordway, Dickerman & Co. Later he exchanged his village property for the Ezra Dickerman farm in the north part of Viola Township, Olmsted County, which he owned at the time of his death, and erected thereon a very comfortable residence for himself and family. In 1915 he concluded to give up the strenuous labor of farming, and leaving his son Lewis to care for the farm, built a comfortable modern home in the Village of Elgin, from which he passed to the life beyond the grave, November 17, 1916, after being an invalid for some two years. At various times Mr. Dickerman had held local office, both in Elgin and Viola Townships, being a man of clear perceptions and practical purpose in domestic and public affairs. He was one of the charter members of the Elgin Co-operative Creamery Association, and was elected at once as its treasurer, which office he held at the time of his death. His religious preferences were for the Universalist church, though he was not a member of any religious organization. His soul, however, was strongly imbued with the essence of true religion, and in his relations to his fellow men he followed the Golden Rule, "Do unto others as ye would that others should do unto you," than which no better can be found. His departure left a void not easily filled, and that the world was the better for his sojourn here is a fact realized by his family and all who knew him. Mr. Dickerman was married March 15, 1882, to Mary Senrick, daughter of Michael and Elizabeth Senrick of the town of Haverhill, Olmsted County, Minn. The issue of their marriage was ten children, seven daughters and three sons: Emily, now Mrs. Charles Bailey, of Lamont, Wash.; Blanche, wife of Leo Sawyer, of Elgin, Minn.; Grace, wife of Roy Haney, of Rochester, Minn.; Stella, Nellie, Doris and Helen, unmarried; Lewis, who married Ada Sivley of St. Charles and is working his father's farm; Harry, employed in the Dripps Wholesale Grocery, Rochester; and Frank, the youngest child, residing with his mother. Nellie and Dorris are students at the Winona Normal School, and Stella is a clerk in the Elgin postoffice.
Dickman, Frederick C. (page 231), an early settler in Zumbro Township, was born in Germany, June 13, 1837, son of George Christian and Phoebe Dickman. The parents were married about 1831, and came to the United States about 1853, settling in Illinois for a time, owning a farm on the site of the present city of Chicago. In 1856 they came with their family to Wabasha County, Minn., taking land on Greenwood Prairie, near Millville, in the western part of Oakwood Township. There they farmed until about 1865, when they turned the farm over to their third son, P. G. Dickman, who had just returned from the war, and retired, taking up their residence in Winona, where George C. Dickman died September 23, 1895, at the age of 89 years and 6 months, and his wife about 3 years before, at the age of 89 years. Frederick C. Dickman was about 19 years old when he accompanied his parents to Wabasha County. He assisted his father in the pioneer labor of clearing land, erecting buildings, and planting crops, and remained at home for some six years. Then, ambitious to establish a home of his own, he married, in 1862, Mary M. Scherenbouken, and took 160 acres of land in Zumbro Township. There he farmed until February 3, 1869, when death called him from his labors. His wife, Mary, born December 14, 1842, had come to this country from Hanover, Germany, when ten years old with her only brother, who, when the Civil War broke out, enlisted in the army and was killed. She resided first in Sheboygan, Wis., subsequently moving from that place to Fountain City, Wis, and thence to Winona, Minn., being married to Frederick C. Dickman in 1862, as previously mentioned. By him she had three children: George H., born February 9, 1863; Dorothy W., July 9, 1865; Matilda A., November 3, 1867. Of these children, George H. is now a prominent merchant of Plainview. Dorothy W. was married in 1884 to John L. Petrich, and has had eight children, namely: Matilda A., Linda (now Mrs. Ed Dickman), Mollie, Claudena, twin daughters, who died in infancy, and twin sons, Alvin and Elmer. Matilda Dickman, who became the wife of Adolph Timm, died February 19, 1891, leaving one child, Emma, now the wife of William Peterson of Huron, S. D. On March 26, 1870, Mrs. Mary M. Dickman, widow of Frederick C. Dickman, married for her second husband, Hans Eggers, who was born in Germany, December 7, 1843, and they resided on the Dickman farm in Zumbro Township until 1877, when they moved to the township of Elgin. In 1898 they moved to Plainview Village, where they are still living. Mr. and Mrs. Eggers have been the parents of eight children: Frederick W., born February 3, 1871 (died at the age of three years and eight months); Jurgen H., born February 7, 1873; Theresa C., born February 2, 1876; Emma L., born December 31, 1877; Adelia E., born June 28, 1880; Ernest L., July 20, 1882 (died June 26, 1883); Edwin E., born January 8, 1885; and Nettie L., born May 5, 1888 (died May 16, 1889). Of the surviving members of the Eggers family the following is a further record: Jurgen H. Eggers, who worked some time for F. J. Cornwell & Co., later started in the jewelry business which he is now conducting in Plainview. He married Maggie Burnham, and they have one son, Everett. Theresa C. Eggers married John R. Johnson and is now in the millinery business in Huron, S. D. Emma L. Eggers, who married William Dobrenz, of Elgin, Minn., has three children: Lloyd, Leslie and Margaret. Adelia E. Eggers is the wife of Fred Petrich and resides at Owatonna, Minn. Mr. Petrich for a number of years worked for F. J. Cornwell & Co., but is now a travelling salesman for Marshall Field & Co., of Chicago. Edwin E. Eggers is residing with his father and mother in Plainview.
Dickman, George H. (page 232), one of the leading merchants in Wabasha County, proprietor of a large clothing and furnishing store in Plainview, and also of another at Pine Island, Minn., was born on his grandfather's farm in Oakwood Township, Wabasha County, February 9, 1863, son of Frederick C. and Mary M. (Scherenbouken) Dickman. He was educated in the school of his district and in that at Plainview, and his early years were spent on the farm, which he left at the age of 19 to work for William Koenig in the latter's general store at Plainview, his compensation being $15 a month and his board. He was thus employed until April 11, 1887, at which time he started to work for F. J. Cornwell & Co. After being with that concern for several years in a subordinate position, he secured a working interest, and was placed in charge of the dry goods and clothing department, remaining with the company until September 15, 1901. He then entered into business for himself, opening his present store in Plainview, dealing in Men's furnishings, haberdashery, trunks, grips, etc. Starting in a small way, he managed his business with such good judgment that his trade increased at a rapid rate, and attained large proportions. In 1913 he bought another store at Pine Island, purchasing the Stoffel stock, to which he made considerable additions, and remodeling the store, which is now under the management of his son, Franklin A. Dickman. He carried approximately $80,000 worth of stock in both stores, and honorable dealing and courteous treatment of customers have brought him a large and profitable trade. In addition to his large mercantile interests, Mr. Dickman is the owner of one farm in Olmsted County and four in Wabasha County, having a total area of 720 acres. The official positions he has held, or is now holding, make up a long list. He was first president of the Wabasha County Retail Merchants' Association, when first organized; president of the Minnesota Retail Clothiers' organization, of which he was one of the charter members, having since served on the executive board; chairman of the State Legislative Committee of the Minnesota Retail Clothiers' Association; also a member of the Vigilance Clothiers' Association. He has been a member of the village school board president of the Business Men's Club; was president of the Plainview Hospital board, and was president of the Wabasha County Fair the year it first opened on its present grounds. He is also president of the Plainview Automobile Club. His religious affiliations are with the Lutheran church, of which he is a member and liberal supporter, also serving in the office of trustee. These various positions Mr. Dickman has held not merely for the honor, but for the opportunity of useful service, doing real work in each, and his record is one of which his fellow citizens are proud. Mr. Dickman assumed the responsibilities of domestic life on February 13, 1885, when he was married, at Willow Creek, Blue Earth County, Minn., to Emma Grieger, who was born at Beaver Dam, Wis., December 7, 1864, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. August Grieger. Her parents were both born in Germany, the father on June 12, 1836, and the mother June 15, 1845. The father died December 19, 1914, and the mother June 21, 1917. Mr. and Mrs. Dickman have been the parents of five children: Harry T., born January 18, 1888 (died February 2, 1888); Franklin A., born December 10, 1889; Alvin G., born February 2, 1891; Vera M., born April 4, 1893; and Leona E., born August 9, 1895. Franklin A. Dickman was graduated from the Plainview high school and took a one year's business course at the Gem City Business College of Quincy, Ill. As previously mentioned, he is manager of his father's store at Pine Island, of which he took charge in 1913. He was married at Trempealeau, Wis., August 14, 1913, to Clara Carhartt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Carhartt of that place. They have had three children: George C., born December 29, 1914; a son, born September 19, 1916, who died the day after his birth; and another son, born August 26, 1918, who died September 11, 1918. Alvin G. Dickman was educated in the common school and Plainview high school, also taking a commercial course of one year in the La Crosse Business College. He has since been connected with the Dickman store in Plainview. He was married October 4, 1919, to Ruth Brown, of Long Beach, Calif. On August 8, 1917, Alvin G. Dickman enlisted at Winona, Minn., for service in the war with Germany, and served in England and France. He left the United States October 13, 1917, and arrived in this country on his return, March 13, 1919, receiving his discharge April 1, 1919. His service was with the 93d Aero Pursuit Squadron, and he was made sergeant December 1, 1917. Vera M. Dickman, after graduating from the Plainview high school, studied music for one year in Carleton College, and for three years in Chicago. She has taken up Chautauqua and lyceum work, and is at present with the Redpath Lyceum Bureau. Leona E. Dickman was graduated from the Plainview high school and subsequently from the Northwestern University at Evanston, Ill., receiving a diploma for proficiency in public school music. It will thus be seen that all the children in the Dickman family have been educationally well equipped for the battle of life, and fitted to do their part in the channels they have marked out for themselves. The present demands more than the past, and the future may be still more exacting, but with their father's example before them, they will doubtless render a good account of themselves.
Dill, John G. (page 578), secretary and treasurer of the R. E. Jones Co., owning and operating a line of grain elevators in Minnesota and Wisconsin, is a leading citizen of Wabasha, ever alive to its best interests, and an enthusiastic believer in its continued prosperity and future possibilities. He was born at Marine, Ill., November 30, 1862, son of John W. and Margaret Dill, who brought him to this country at the close of the Civil War, when he was two years old. He was reared in Read's Landing, this county, and has made his own way in the world since he was 13 years of age, working at such jobs as he could get during the summer months and attended school winters. At the age of 17 he entered the employ of Grub & Miller, general store, at Wabasha as clerk, and remained with their successors, Hirschy & Son. In 1887 he entered the employ of the R. E. Jones Co. and by successive promotions has attained his present position, having remained with the firm continuously except for a year and a half, when he traveled for the Wabasha Roller Mill Co. Since he became secretary and treasurer of the Jones Company in 1904, he has been an important factor in its growth and success. In addition to his business, he has found time for considerable public service, especially during the war. He has conscientiously avoided political office, but has nevertheless been twice elected an alderman, and in that capacity has done most excellent work. Fraternally he is a member of Wabasha Lodge, No. 14, A. F. & A. M., of which he has been secretary for some years. Mr. Dill was married November 6, 1889, to Elinor Jones, daughter of John Ap. and Elinor Jones, of Cambria, Wis., and to this union have been born three children: Margaret M., John G., Jr., and E. Louise. Margaret M. was born May 30, 1894, attended the Wabasha graded schools, and graduated from the Wabasha High School, attended the University of Minnesota for two seasons, and took special courses in music at Minneapolis for three years, being now instructor of music in the public schools of Monona, Iowa. John G., Jr., was born April 30, 1896, and is a graduate fo the Wabasha High school and University of Minnesota. He served his country during the Great War in the Aviation Corps. E. Louise was born June 16, 1903, and is now attending the Downer Seminary at Milwaukee, Wis.
Dill, John W. (page 578), a pioneer, was born in Germany, and was there reared. He came to America in 1843, and lovated on a farm near St. Louis, MO., where on December 12, 1856, he married Margaret Wax, a native of Germany. In 1864 they came to Reads and settled at Read's Landing, where the father was employed at teaming and other work. He died May 2, 1882. The mother is making her home with her daughter, Setta, in Wabasha. Mr. and Mrs. Dill were the parents of five children: Louise (deceased), Victoria (deceased), John G., Setta, living in Wabasha, Deana, wife of E. M. Schmidt, of Wabasha.
Diming, Frank (page 326), who has taken a worthy and effective part in the development of Wabasha County's agricultural resources, and incidentally gained a competence which he is now enjoying as a respected citizen of Plainview Village, was born in Wisconsin, August 30, 1858, son of George and Mary (Bauer) Diming. He was but a babe when he accompanied his parents to Wabasha county, and his education was acquired in the local schools. Farming was the occupation to which he was brought up, and he learned it thoroughly. At the age of 17, he began working out, and so continued for five years. For a year subsequently he worked as a machine hand on farms. Then, in 1882, he started for himself, buying 40 acres in Highland Township. After breaking a few acres, he quit the place, and for six years and two months was employed on the farm of T. G. Bolton, east of town. He then made a new start on his own account, renting a farm in Oakwood Township, on which he resided for three summers. His next enterprise was a more permanent one and was initiated by his purchase of an improved farm of 240 in Oakwood Township. There he farmed until 1917, by the fall of which year he had increased the area of the farm to 360 acres, and had greatly improved and developed it. His cattle were of the Durham breed, and he did a good business as a general stock and dairy farmer. Finding himself now in comfortable circumstances, he sold the place to his sons, with the exception of 120 acres, and has since resided in Plainview. He is not idle, however, as he is proprietor of a threshing outfit, and still does other work to occupy his time. He is a member of the Plainview Co-operative Creamery Association, and a stockholder in the telephone company. For several years he served on the town board, and has also been treasurer of the school board. On October 12, 1880, Mr. Diming married Margaret Noll, who was born in Indiana, May 12, 1858, daughter of Peter and Hildegard (Schad) Noll. Her parents were natives of Germany, who came from Indiana to Highland Township, Wabasha County, Minn., in 1859, and there engaged in farming. Mrs. Peter Noll died in October, 1872, and her husband subsequently went to Wisconsin, where his death occurred in March, 1900. To Mr. and Mrs. Frank Diming seven children have been born: Frank, December 8, 1881; William, January 18, 1883; Annie H., January 4, 1885; George, who died in infancy; Edward, March 1, 1891; Katherine, March 12, 1894; and George (second), June 4, 1896. Frank, who is now living in Elgin Township, married Mary Angelbeck, and has five children: Margaret, Raymond, Leo, Eleanor and Elvin (sic - should be Alvin). William, a resident of Oakwood Township, married Cecelia Evans, and has six children: Helen, Paul, Angeline, Alfred, Marcella and Ralph. Annie H., who became the wife of Frank McGrath, died February 26, 1916. Edward, who is residing on the home farm in Oakwood, married Florence Olson. Katherine resides in Highland township, the wife of Fred Saggisor. She has one child, Irene. George, the surviving son of that name, entered the United States' service July 24, 1918, and was sent to Europe October 31, that year, with a supply company. Having safely returned, he was discharged July 16, 1919. He married Lydia Holland, and they reside on a part of the old Diming farm in Oakwood Township.
Diming, Jr., Frank (page 367), who is engaged in mixed farming, including stock raising and truck farming, in Elgin Township, is a native of Wabasha County, having been born in the City of Wabasha, December 8, 1881, son of Frank and Margaret (Knoll) Diming. He acquired his education in a district school in Oakwood Township, this county, and was trained to agricultural pursuits on his parents' farm, working for his father until 1907. He then rented his present place, a farm of 120 acres in sections 11 and 12, Elgin Township, which he bought in 1911. He has improved the farm by repairing the house and buildings, and has also built a garage. His operations have been industriously pursued and have netted him good returns. Mr. Diming's marriage occurred September 22, 1908, his bride being Mary Angelbeck, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Angelbeck of Conception. This union has been blessed by six children: Margaret, born August 19, 1909; Raymond, November 15, 1910; Dorothy, March 27, 1912 (died June 17); Leo, April 27, 1914; Eleanor, November 16, 1915, and Alvin, October 18, 1918. Mr. Diming and his family are members of the Catholic church, and he belongs also to the Knights of Columbus.
Diming, George (page 326), a former resident of Highland Township, in the agricultural development of which he took an active part, was a native of Germany. He married Mary Bauer, and at an early date, some time in the fifties, they came to the United States, residing for awhile in Syracuse, N.Y., and later in Wisconsin, from which state they came to Wabasha county, Minnesota, in 1859. In the vicinity of Wabasha City, Mr. Diming engaged in farming, but after awhile moved to Highland Township, where he took a claim of 80 acres of wild land. There he and his family resided for some years, until he finally sold the place, which he had improved, and took up his residence in Wabasha. In December, 1893, his wife passed away, and he, himself, survived her but a short time, his death occurring in August, 1894. Mr. Diming was handicapped in his career by the fact that he was a cripple, but he did what he could, and his name is deservedly classed among those of the worthy pioneers of the county.
Diming, William J. (page 367), who operates a farm of 160 acres in Oakwood Township, is well known in many parts of Wabasha county, where he has resided all his life. He was born in Highland Township, this county, January 18, 1883, son of Frank and Margaret (Knoll) Diming, and was educated in the rural school of his district and the public school in Plainview Village, after which he took up farming at home. In 1910 he rented a farm of 160 acres in section 26, Oakwood Township, which he operated until 1915. He then bought 80 acres of it, and in the fall of 1919 bought 80 acres adjoining, and is now remodeling and practically rebuilding a barn, 36 by 72 feet, to be furnished with modern appliances. His principal stock consists of grade Durham cattle and Chester-White hogs, and he is doing a good business, being a member of both the creamery and Shipping associations. He is a director of school No. 42, and in public matters is an alert and helpful citizen. Mr. Diming was united in marriage, November 16, 1910, with Cecelia Evers, who was born May 12, 1890, daughter of Joseph and Theresa Evers. The children born of this marriage are: Helen, December 8, 1911; Paul, March 23, 1913; Angeline, June 29, 1914; Alfred, September 17, 1915; Marcella, February 17, 1918, and Ralph, July 1, 1919. Mr. Diming and his family are members of the Catholic church, and he belongs, in addition, to the Knights of Columbus.
Disney, Burton W. (page 710), cashier of the Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Zumbro Falls, and an enterprising citizen of that village, was born on a farm in Gillford Township, Wabasha County, October 5, 1874, son of William J. and Sara (Ward) Disney, elsewhere mentioned in this volume. He was educated in the district school and the Joliet (Ill.) Public school, making his home in Joliet with his aunt, Mrs. Bowen, also at the Darling's Business College, Rochester, Minn. He worked on the home farm until the family moved to town, and after that worked for others at farm work for two years. Subsequently he was engaged with his father and brothers in the stock buying business, also in the lumber business and the operation of a hardware store. On the organization of the Zumbro Falls State Bank on June 6, 1997 (the name of which was changed April 21, 1920, to the Farmers and Merchants State Bank) he was offered and accepted the position of cashier, in which he has since served efficiently, proving popular with the patrons of the institution. For ten years he has been village recorder, and served one term as village treasurer. He is a member of Tyrian Lodge No. 86, A. F. & A. M., of Mazeppa; Lake City Commandery No. 6, K. T.,; and Osmund Temple, A. A. O. M. N. S., of St. Paul. His career has been one of industry, wisely directed, and he has proved an asset to the village in which for a number of years he has made his home. Mr. Disney assumed the responsibilities of domestic life on November 5, 1902, when he was united in marriage with Ethel V. Drinkwalter, daughter of Pratt and Lena Drinkwalter, of Zumbro Falls, who were early settlers in Wabasha County. Mrs. Disney's father was born in Newark, Wayne County, N. Y., and her mother in Wabasha County, the former being engaged in farming until his death in 1914. Mrs. Drinkwalter is still living, being a resident of Zumbro Falls. They had four children: Ethel, Laura, May and Howard, all of whom are now living. To Mr. and Mrs. Disney three children have been born: Lawrence, Lois and Everett. Lawrence is at present attending the Lake City high school. The two others are residing at home.
Disney, William J. (page 494), a surviving pioneer of Wabasha county, residing in the village of Zumbro Falls, was born in Utica, N. Y., July 22, 1842, son of John C. And Louis (Clark) Disney. At the age of 15 he accompanied his parents to Wabasha County, Minn., settling with them on a farm in Gillford Township, it being one of the first farms taken up there. There he spent 44 years of his life, carrying on the place after his father's retirement, and remaining on it until 1891, when he came to Zumbro Falls. Here he became interested in various business enterprises, buying stock, conducting a lumber yard, and also opening and carrying on a hardware store, in association with his three sons and his daughter. The business was carried on under the firm name of W. J. Disney & Sons until April, 1919, when it was sold out, and Mr. Disney retired from active business. He was one of the organizers of the Zumbro Falls State Bank, of which he is still a stockholder and director. In 1897 Mr. Disney was appointed postmaster of Zumbro Falls, and held the office subsequently for 17 years to the satisfaction of his fellow townspeople. He is a member of Ford Post 156, G. A. R. of Mazeppa, and stands high in Masonry being a Shriner and member of Lake City Commandery No. 6 of which his three sons also belong. His successful career was due to qualities of industry and self-reliance, cultivated from his earliest years, as when only eight years old he worked on a Virginia plantation for 15 cents a day, and subsequently accompanying his parents in their wanderings from one locality to another, in New York State and elsewhere, relieved them of much of the burden of his support. These early industrial habits precluded the opportunity of his acquiring a regular education, but in his scanty hours of leisure, as he grew older, he supplied to a large extent this deficiency by private study, mastering the ordinary branches of knowledge. The first meeting of the town board of Gillford was held at his house on the farm he purchased in 1868, adjoining that of his parents which he carried on while he also was managing the home farm, and his aid and influence have always been on the side of good government and the progressive development of the community in which he resided. He stands now among the few survivors of the "old guard" of pioneers who opened up and brought civilization to this region. Not only that, in his younger days he shouldered a musket and went forth to defend the Union form the attack of those who wished to destroy it, enlisting in 1864, in Company E, Eleventh Minnesota Infantry. His regiment was assigned to the Third Division, Fourth Brigade, of the Twentieth Army Corps, under the command of General Thomas, and under that able and stalwart leader he took part in the bloody battles of Franklin and Nashville, Tenn., besides a number of skirmishes, serving until the close of the war. He was one of the veterans who marched through cheering thousands in the streets of Washington in the grand review at the close of the great struggle, when President Lincoln and his cabinet, with most of the great northern generals present ~ an inspiring occasion never to be forgotten by those who witnessed or took part in it. The ranks of the veterans are now thinned, but their memory will forever survive and their deeds be written on their country's roll of honor. It was some five years after the close of the war, on March 9, 1870, when Mr. Disney chose a bride in the person of Sarah M. Ward, daughter of Josiah and Roxana (Carrier) Ward, who were natives of Connecticut. The early ancestors of the Ward family in this country came from England and were among the first settlers in New England, being numbered among the Pilgrims who fled to America to escape religious persecution. An ancestor of Mrs. Disney, Joshua Ward, served in the Revolutionary War, entering the American service in 1776; and several others of the name were prominent in that struggle which won for this country its independence. Mr. and Mrs. William J. Disney had four children: Nellie, who is now keeping house for her father and mother; Burton W., cashier of the Zumbro Falls Farmers and Merchants State Bank; Erwin C., and Leonard W. Amidst a large gathering of friends and neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. Disney celebrated their golden wedding on March 9, 1920.
War of 1812
Disney, John C. (page 493), a pioneer of Gillford Township, was born in New York City, March 17, 1803, son of John and Catharine Disney. The parents were natives of Ireland who had emigrated to this country in about the closing years of the eighteenth century. Mrs. Catharine Disney died in New York City in March, 1805, at the age of 44 years, and her husband then returned to his native land, where he died in December, 1815, at the age of fifty-nine. Their son John remained with a sister at Richmond, Va., till twelve years old, when he ran away and joined the American army as a drummer, taking part in the War of 1812-15 with Great Britain. He subsequently traveled about the country, residing for a while in various places, but regarding New York as his home. On June 9, 1823, he married Lola Clark, and they made their home in Utica, N. Y., till about 1850, when Mr. Disney with his family moved to Virginia, where for several years he found employment on a plantation. They then returned to New York, which state continued to be their home until 1857. A considerable emigration from the East to Minnesota and other parts of the Northwest had set in a year or two previously, and Mr. Disney resolved to seek his fortune in the promising territory, which was soon to become a state. In 1858, therefore, he arrived with his family in Gillford Township, Wabasha County. There he took land and developed a farm, on which he resided until the fall of 1878. He then retired and bought a residence in Lake City, where he subsequently made his home until his death, October 27, 1880. His wife, Lois Clark Disney, died March 15, 1848, leaving four children: Robert T., John C., William J. and Mary L., who became the wife of Edwin Bowen, of Joliet, Ill. All are now deceased except William J. On June 23, 1849, John C. Disney married for his second wife, Mary Sweetman, nee Wall, by whom he had four children: Kate, who married Albert Field, of Zumbro Falls; Louis, who married Byron Miller, and went to reside in Mexico, Oswego County, N. Y.; Charles, who became an attorney at Hudson, Wis.; and Alice, who married Charles Colby, of Lake City. By her first husband, Samuel Sweetman, Mrs. Mary Disney, had a daughter, Henrietta, who married Daniel Edwards, of Lake City. John C. Disney was a member of the Methodist church, and politically a Republican. The first school opened in the town of Gillford, was held in the kitchen of his house. All his sons by his first wife, served in the Civil and Indian Wars. He was a sturdy and patriotic America citizen who did his full share in the development and civilization of this region.
Donaldson, Charles J. (page 321), until recently proprietor of an up-to-date jewelry establishment in Plainview, was born in Plainview Township, December 7, 1875, son of Charles W. and Nancy C. (Cheatham) Donaldson. His elementary education was acquired in the district school near his parents' farm, and he subsequently continued his studies in the high school in Plainview. Until 1901 he was engaged in farming, but in that year he entered the jewelry store of H. G. Austin, with whom he learned the jewelry business and engraving. He also spent three years in the employ of Alfred Beinhorn, a well known jeweler of Winona. In 1905 Mr. Donaldson went to Seattle as salesman for Hardy & Co., and was thus employed for eight years. Then returning to Plainview, he remained here two years, at the end of which time he went back to Seattle and was salesman there three years for Sutter & Co. In 1914 he again returned to Plainview and purchased the jewelry store of H. G. Austin, which he conducted as sole proprietor, carrying a full and complete line of jewelry, clocks, watches, cut glass, silverware, and everything usually found in a good modern jewelry store, his stock being valued approximately at $7,000. As a capable business man and reliable dealer, he gained recognition, and did a prosperous and increasing business until January 23, 1920, when he sold out the business and is now looking after farm interests and dealing to some extent in real estate. He is the owner of a farm of 130 acres in Elgin Township, which he rents out. The Commerical Club numbers him among its active and useful members. Mr. Donaldson was united in marriage, September 25, 1906, to Alma M. Schroeder, of Grand Meadow, Minn., born April 15, 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Donaldson are affiliated religiously with the Congregational church, while his political opinions identify him as a member of the Republican party. He and his wife are well known and poplular residents of the village. Both are members of the Eastern Star Chapter, and Mr. Donaldson belongs also to Illustrious Lodge No. 63, A. F. & A. M.
Donaldson, Charles W. (page 266), now living retired in Plainview, has been a resident of Wabasha County for nearly 60 years, during which time he has seen it develop from a wilderness into perhaps the richest agricultural county in the state-a transformation which he himself helped to effect. He was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., November 25, 1841, son of William and Eliza J. (Biles) Donaldson, whom he accompanied at the age of about six years to Cincinnati, where he attended school. In 1861, a young man in his twentieth year, he came with them to Wabasha County, Minnesota, and to their farm in section 31, Plainview Township. There he helped his father with the preliminary improvements on the place; but events were in progress which interrupted his home pursuits for awhile. Not only was the Civil War being fought, but in 1862 occurred the desperate outbreak of the Sioux Indians, and the attack on New Ulm, Hutchinson and other places in Minnesota, and troops were called for to defend the white settlers. To this call Mr. Donaldson responded, enlisting in the Wabasha Rangers, with whom he saw service until the outbreak was quelled. Early in 1865 he enlisted as a private in the First Minnesota Light Artillery, expecting to get into the struggle between the North and the South, but the war soon after came to a close, and he was discharged the same year, at St. Paul. On his return home, he resumed work on his parents' farm, which he worked for his father, and subsequently purchased. He increased its area to 180 acres, having 80 acres in section 32 and 100 in section 31, and made many other improvements, remodeling the house, building a good barn and milk-house, erecting a wind-mill and digging a well. There he followed diversified farming, keeping and raising good grades of hogs, sheep, horses and cattle, his operations, conducted with energy and experience, bringing him a good financial reward. In 1899 Mr. Donaldson rented the farm to his son, Wilson, but continued to reside on it, until 1901, when he bought the house in town in which he has since lived. It was on February 14, 1867, that Charles W. Donaldson was united in marriage with Nancy E. Cheatham, at his bride's home in section 31, Plainview Township. She was born November 24, 1840, daughter of Winston and Margaret (Wilson) Cheatham, natives of Kentucky who removed to Illinois, and from there came to Wabasha County in 1862. Both parents are now deceased. Seven children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Donaldson, as follows: Zula E., born January 19, 1868, is now Mrs. H. A. Weikel of Plainview; Lillian E., born April 22, 1870, is the wife of George Cotterell, of Dover, Minn.; Jennie C., born April 15, 1872, died July 13, 1916; Charles J., born December 7, 1874, and now a jeweler in Plainview, married Ann Schroeder; Ellen, born May 15, 1876, is the wife of Ed Messerschmidt; Winston R., born January 8, 1879, now farming in Elgin Township, this county, married Goldie B. Yandon; John N., born February 11, 1881, married Winnifred Woodward. Mr. Donaldson is a member of Austin D. Carroll Post, No. 107, G. A. R., of which he was commander for six years. Since June, 1870, he has been a member of the Masonic order, and took his thirty-second degree at Winona. Politically he is identified with the Republican party. Though not active in the affairs of local government, he has always taken a good citizen's interest in the welfare and progress of the community in which he lived and his aid and influence can be relied on behalf of any worthy project. Mrs. Donaldson died January 2, 1897.
Donaldson, John N. (page 264), now living retired in Plainview, comes of a prominent family in Wabasha County, of which he is a worthy representative. He was born February 11, 1881, in Plainview Township, on the farm of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Donaldson, and was educated in the district school and the Plainview high school. Until he was 21 years old he remained on the home farm, assisting his father. After that, for five years, he was engaged on his own account in conducting both the home farm and another one adjoining it. He then rented a farm in the vicinity, which he conducted for two years. Then moving to Plainview, he followed teaming for a year and a half in the village. At the end of that period farming again claimed his attention, and he purchased a farm of 160 acres in Quincy Township, Olmsted County, on which he made considerable improvements, remodeling some of the buildings, and erecting new ones, and putting up fences until he had brought the place into admirable condition. There he followed general agriculture successfully until the fall of 1919, when, as a result of his industry he found himself in a position to retire from farming, and accordingly moved to Plainview, where he purchased his pleasant residence on Jefferson street. While engaged in agriculture he served on the school board of his district, and has always shown an intelligent and helpful interest in public affairs. To some extent he still keeps occupied, occasionally dong a little carpenter work. Mr. Donaldson was married, June 19, 1907, to Winnifred Woodward, who was born in Elgin Township, July 26, 1885. Two children have come to brighten their home: Marian D., born February 3, 1910; and Glenn H., born March 10, 1915.
Donaldson, William (page 265), one of the pioneer settlers of Plainview Township, of which for 30 years he was a well known and respected resident, was born in Canonsburg, Washington County, Pa., February 16, 1805. In 1830, in Washington, that county, he was married to Eliza F. Biles, who was born in Monroe County, Pa., June 30, 1806, and who had crossed the mountains with her people and settled in what was then the western frontier, the Ohio River Valley, near Pittsburgh. In 1845 Mr. and Mrs. Donaldson moved to Cincinnati, which was their home until 1861, when they came to Minnesota, and located in section 31, Plainview Township, Wabasha County, Mr. Donaldson having a land warrant which he exchanged for 80 acres of wild land. This, in course of time, he improved and developed, erecting buildings, and carrying on agriculture there until his death, July 27, 1891. After that event, Mrs. Donaldson continued on the old homestead with her son Charles until July, 1893, when she went to live with her daughter, Mrs. E. M. Evans, in Plainview, at whose home she died May 12, 1901, having survived her husband nearly ten years. Although in her ninety-fifth year, she was comparatively active and retained all her faculties until entering into her last long sleep. Before her marriage she united with the Baptist church, in which she always retained her membership. She was a woman of strong character, possessing many admirable traits, and at the close of a long and useful life she left more than the usual number of friends and acquaintances to mourn her departure. Her sojourn of forty years in the communtiy had been marked by many acts of kindness, deeds of charity, and the end was peaceful , as she had been in her usual health up to Saturday evening, May 11, only seeming a trifle restless when she retired, saying good night to the members of the family, and falling into a sleep from which she did not waken. Mr. and Mrs. Donaldson were the parents of nine children: only four of whom survived her, namely: Mrs. E. M. Evans and Charles W. Donaldson, of Plainview; Mrs. Hester J. Cheatham, of Seattle, Wash., and Mrs. Anna E. Cheatham, of Aberdeen, S. D.
Donohue, John (page 666), who, with his brother Michael owns and operates a farm of 160 acres in section 24, Watopa Township, was born in Minneiska Township, Wabasha County, Minn., February 9, 1873, son of John and Lenora (Considine) Donahoe. The parents, who were born in Ireland, came to the United States in 1854, settling at West Newton, Minneiska Township, where John Donahoe, the father was engaged in farming and stock raising until his death, April 17, 1877. He and his wife were the parents of six children: William, Mary, Margaret, Helen, John and Michael, of whom the last two mentioned are the only ones now living. John Donahoe, Jr., was educated in Minneiska Township, in his boyhood attending the district school. He acquired a good practical knowledge of agriculture on the home farm, and after his father's decease, worked for his mother until her death in 1905, when he and his brother Michael came into possession of 800 acres of land in Minneiska and Watopa Townships. The greater part of this property they have sold, retaining the farm of 160 acres already mentioned. Neither are married. John Donahoe served 16 years as a member of the school board of district No. 33, Minneiska Township, and he was also a member of the town board for 15 years, serving a part of the time as chairman. He and his brother are well known throughout this part of Wabasha County, and stand high in public regard. They are members of the Catholic church, and the subject of this sketch also belong to the Catholic Foresters and the Modern Woodmen of America. Michael Donahoe was born on section 6, Minneiska Township, August 9, 1866, son of John and Lenora (Considine) Donahoe. He was reared on the home farm, and attended school in his district and also at Wabasha. He helped carry on the farm with his parents, and since the death of the mother in 1905, he and his brother John have kept house for themselves. He belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America, being a member of the Weaver Camp.
Dosdall, Fred (page 760), a well known and respected citizen of Hammond, where he is engaged in the carpenter's trade, was born in Germany in 1849, son of Michael and Wilhelmina (Johns) Dosdall. The parents came to the United States from Germany in 1863, first locating near Princeton, Wis., where they remained for about four years. They then moved to Olmsted County, Minn., and engaged in farming. Family differences caused them finally to separate, and Mr. Dosdall subsequently died in the state of Washington. His wife afterwards became the wife of Mike Johnson and died at Ripon, Wis., February 4, 1914. Of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Dosdall, three sons and two daughters are now living, namely: Christ, Mike, Fred, Amelia and Bertha. Amelia is the wife of E. N. York of Hammond. Bertha is the widow of Charles Uhl and lives at Ripon, Wis. Fred Dosdall was reared on the home farm, and in his boyhood attended district school. On reaching the age of 17 he abandoned the farm to learn the carpenter's trade, which he has since followed, as an additional occupation running a threshing machine during threshing time. He owns 80 acres of timber land in Hyde Park Township. Mr. Dosdall has resided in Hammond for 34 years, having taken up his residence here in 1886, at which time there were but three houses in the village, so he is well know here and throughout the vicinity and enjoys considerable popularity. He was married at Ripon, Wis., June 4, 1876, to Rosa Gneiser, a native of that state, who died February 28, 1895. They had been the parents of eight children, of whom six are now living, namely: Anna, wife of Albert F. Fuerstnau of Hammond; Laura, who married Ernest Brown of Menominie (sic), Wis.; Lillie, wife of Will Wegner of Zumbro Township; Ella, wife of Fred Dittmer of Hammond; Charles, who is married and lives in Hammond, and Fred E., a painter and decorator of Hammond. In 1889 Mr. Dosdall married Josephine Brandt-Schroeder, who was born in Wisconsin, daughter of George and Mary Brandt, her parents being natives of Germany who settled in Wisconsin in the early fifties.
Dose, Fred H. Dose, Fred H. (page 552), of Section 20, Mt. Pleasant Township, is a prosperous representative of the agricultural class which has had the chief part in developing the resources of Wabasha County. He was born on his present farm, July 27, 1890, son of Fred and Margaret Dose, and this place has always been his home. In his boyhood he attended district school to the age of 15, and was trained by his father to agricultural pursuits. In 1910 he rented the farm, and operated it under rental for some time, buying it in 1917. Its area is 160 acres, of which 120 are under the plow. The buildings include a good, two-story frame house, with an adequate barn and other necessary structures. Mr. Dose follows general farming with profitable results, keeping high grade cattle and grade Chester-White swine. He makes a specialty of raising "baby beef," for which he finds a ready market at good prices. To improve his stock he keeps blooded sires for his herds, and in the management of his farm shows a practical knowledge that makes for success. Politically he was formerly a Republican, but has since joined the Non-Partisan League. In March, 1920, Mr. Dose was elected treasurer of Mt. Pleasant Township. He is a member of the Farmer's Elevator Co., of Lake City, and the Farmers Shipping Association, and the Oak Center Creamery in Gillford Township. Mr. Dose was married September 12, 1912, to Emma Wiebusch, who was born November 24, 1892, daughter of John and Anna Wiebusch, of Goodhue County. Their home circle has been broadened by the birth of two children: Velma, on April 16, 1915, and Rubie, on June 12, 1918. Mr. Dose was reared in the Lutheran faith and he and his family are members of St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City.
Dose, Lenhard C. (page 536), an energetic young farmer of West Albany Township, was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, Minn., April 3, 1892. His parents were Fred and Margaret (Meincke) Dose, early settlers in that township, who became prosperous farmers there. The father is now deceased, but the mother is still living, being a resident of Lake City. They had a family of seven children: Mary, now Mrs. D. Reincke, of Oak Center, Minn.; Anna, wife of J. D. Henn, of Pierce County, Wis.; Emma, wife of W. Heise, of Mt. Pleasant Township; Fred, who resides on the old home farm in Mt. Pleasant Township; Lenhard C., of West Albany Township; George, a farmer at Oak Center, and Margarine, now Mrs. Adolph Isense, of Goodhue County. Lenhard C. Dose was educated in the rural schools and remained on the home farm until attaining his majority. Then in 1913 he went to Goodhue County, where for three years he operated the old Charles Burfiend farm. In 1916 he bought 160 acres of improved land in section 16, West Albany Township, with buildings, on which farm he has since resided. He has rebuilt the house and improved the other buildings, and in the summer of 1920 let the contract for a barn 36 by 84 feet with 14-foot posts, with full 8-foot basement equipped with modern appliances, and now has 148 acres under the plow. The land is fertile and produces good crops, and Mr. Dose has it well stocked with grade Shorthorn cattle and Chester-White hogs, milking from 12 to 15 cows. His equipment is good and includes an auto car. A thoroughly capable farmer, he is also a hard worker, and is making good financial progress. He has served as clerk of his school district for three years, and in politics is independent. Mr. Dose was married September 23, 1913, to Katherine Wiebusch, daughter of John and Anna Wiebusch, of Belvidere, Goodhue County, where she was born July 29, 1894. He and his wife have two children: Victor George, born October 17, 1915, and Vivian E., born February 8, 1917. The family are members of St. John's Lutheran congregation of Lake City.
Doty, Eldon B. (page 529), one of the pioneers of Zumbro Falls, who took a leading part in the development of the village, of which for many years he was one of the leading citizens and business men, was born in New York State, March 21, 1847, son of Baxter and Sarah A. Doty. He was a descendant of Edward Doty, who came to New England on the Mayflower in 1620, his grandfather, Marcus T. Doty, being a great grandson of Reuben, who was a son of Samuel, who was a son of John, who was a son of Joseph, who was a son of Edward Doty, the Mayflower pilgrim. Eldon B. Doty was 14 years old when he came to Wabasha County with his parents, who took a farm in Gillford Township. There he resided until he came to Zumbro Falls as a young man, full of vim and enterprise. The village was then little more than a plat of land, and he was one of the men who transformed it into a community settlement and place of business, he starting the first store here. At the same time he owned and carried on a farm about two miles out. He afterwards erected other store buildings and a residence on Main street. Mr. Doty was a man of varied accomplishments, able to turn his hand to many things. He did most of his own carpenter work and being also a good mason, he laid the walls of the two-story brick building in which he carried on his general store. He was also a druggist, and conducted the first drug store in Zumbro Falls. After carrying on his store for a number of years he sold the business and engaged in selling coal. Later he restocked his general store, which he subsequently operated until his death, November 30, 1912. It was then continued for three years by his widow, who then sold the store and business and rented out the building. Mr. Doty served as treasurer of the village and of the school board and was in many respects a highly efficient and useful citizen whose work and influence made for good in the community. He was a prominent member of the Masonic lodge, and man of high character and exemplary home life. In 1899 Mr. Doty was married to Laura M. Adams, daughter of Robert C. and Mary A. (Door) Adams, who came to the northwest from Kingsbury, Maine, in which state the family had been settled for some generations. It was in 1867 that they located on a farm near Hammond, Wabasha County. Robert C. Adams died at Zumbro Falls in 1917, and his wife, now 88 years old, is residing with her son, Eugene. Mr. and Mrs. Adams had 12 children, of whom there are six now living: Eugene of Zumbro Falls; Hannah, now Mrs. Frank Albright, residing in North Dakota; Mary, who married Robert Jarrett, and lives in Rochester; Margaret, the wife of Amond Hanson of Rice Lake, Wis.; Walter, who lives in the state of Washington; and Laura, the widow of Eldon B. Doty. To Mr. and Mrs. Doty three children were born: Marie B., Robert E. and Walter R. Marie graduated from Carlton College at Northfield, Minn., and is now a teacher in the high school at Byron, Minn. The two sons reside in Zumbro Falls with their mother.
Doughty, Asa B. (page 684), for many years president of the Lake City Mill Co., was born on Long Island, N. Y., in 1826, son of Samuel and Betsey (Nelson) Doughty. He lost his father in early life, and in 1857 came west to Bloomington, Ill., with his mother, his brother Edward and his sister Alice. The last named was the wife of Henry Coleman, who established a plant for the manufacture of plows, and with him Asa B., learned his trade. In 1855 he made a visit to Lake City and in 1857 he located here. After a time he engaged in the grain and commission business with a partner under the firm name of Bessey & Doughty. In 1863 this firm, in order to handle the financial requirements of its increasing business, established a banking business which, however, was discontinued in 1866. Some years later Mr. Doughty established a factory for the manufacturing of wagons, plows and harrows. In 1880 he bought the Lake City Flour Mills, entirely remodeled the plant, and, established the Lake City Mills Co., , of which he was made the president. Mr. Doughty was married in 1849 to Ellen McClung, a native of Virginia, and an early settler of Illinois. She died in 1862, leaving two children: Lillie, who married William C. Water; and Lulu, who married B. Y. McNairy. In 1864 Mr. Doughty married Sue Johns, a native of Pennsylvania.
Doughty, Frank Harper (page 685), municipal judge of Lake City, was born in Bloomington, Ill., August 17, 1854, son of Samuel and Hannah (Rider) Doughty, who brought him to Lake City in 1854 when he was but a few months old. He passed through the Lake City schools and as a young man went to St. Cloud, in this state, to learn the jeweler's trade. After a year and a half, however, financial depression necessitated a discontinuation of the apprenticeship, and being unable to find another place in which to continue his training, Mr. Doughty came back to Lake City in 1872 and entered the mill of Doughty & Selover. There he had the misfortune to lose his right arm. Thereafter he was variously employed for nearly three decades. Standing high in the estimation of his fellow citizens as a substantial, reliable man, he served the city for some years as constable. He was also for a while State Oil Inspector for this region. December 10, 1900, he was appointed by Governor John Lind as municipal judge of Lake City, which position he has since retained by successive re-elections. In this capacity he has combined strict justice with a keen and sympathetic insight into human nature, and his work has been an important factor in maintaining the respect in which the enforcement of the law is here held. In addition to his judicial duties, Mr. Doughty holds the local agency for several fire insurance companies, and along this line does considerable business. Fraternally his affiliation is with the Independent Order of Foresters and the Modern Brotherhood of America. Mr. Doughty was married December 25, 1898, to Minerva Nought, daughter of James C. and Mary Ann (Gowdy) Vought. The family residence is that formerly occupied by Aza B. Doughty, and is one of the most substantial homes in the city.
Doughty, John C. (page 588), one of the founders of the Jewell Nursery Co. and for many years actively identified with the commercial progress of Lake City, was born at Rockaway, Long Island, July 4, 1846, son of Samuel and Hannah (Rider) Doughty. He came to Bloomington, Ill. With his parents in 1852, and to Lake City, this county, in 1855. After due preparation in the public schools and at home, he entered Oberlin College at Oberlin, Ohio, where he took a two years’ course. In May, 1864, when not yet 20 years of age, he responded to the call for “100 Day Men” and enlisted in Co. K, 150th Ohio Vol. Inf. Serving in the Defense Before Washington during the Early Raids, after which he was duly discharged. In 1866-67 he went to Minneapolis with the view to learning the hardware business, working a year with Nichols & Bean and a year with Hedderly & Vroman. In 1869 he returned to Lake City, and became a construction contractor, specializing in bridge and warehouse work. In 1875 he formed a partnership with F. Hachett under the firm name of Hackett & Doughty, which continued until 1879 when Mr. Doughty became the sole owner. W. H. Hobbs became a partner in 1882, and on February 4, 1884, the establishment was sold to Anson Pierce. At that time it was said to be the best business house in the city. In the meantime the agricultural interests of the county had been constantly increasing, and the commercial horticultural possibilities had been fully demonstrated. It was therefore felt that the time and location were both suitable for the growth of a large nursery. As early as 1868, D. P. A. Jewell had started a small nursery, which was largely under the care of his brother-in-law, Joseph M. Underwood, who at the time of Dr. Jewell’s death in 1879 became the sole owner. A year later Sloan M. Emery became Mr. Underwood’s partner, and the two conducted a fine stock farm in addition to the nursery. Conditions were thus ripe for a decided increase in the scope and plan, when in 1884 John Coleman Doughty, the subject of this sketch, associated himself with these two gentlemen, and with them on February 26 of that year incorporated the Jewell Nursery Co., each holding a third interest. For some years Mr. Doughty acted as secretary and treasurer of this company. Of recent years he and his wife have led a retired life, making their home in the family residence on High street. The public service of Mr. Doughty has been considerable. For six years he aided the cause of education as president of the Lake City school board. For two terms he did satisfactory work as city recorder. For five years he had most responsible duties as president of the public board of Water and Light Commissioners. Fraternally he is a member of Carnelian Lodge, No. 40, A. F. & A. M., Hope Chapter, No. 12, R. A. M. and Lake City Commandery, No. 5, K. T., all of Lake City. He has been active in all three, and in the Chapter has passed through the chairs. Mr. Doughty was married March 24, 1869, to Mary C. Herron, daughter of Samuel and Nancy Herron, of Lake City. She died January 11, 1874, at Brazil, Ind., leaving two children: Mary Emma, who was born December 18, 1860, and is now the wife of Leo Henschel, of Kansas City, Mo.; and Kate D., who was born March 26, 1872, and is now the wife of Henry Stoes, of Las Cruces, N. M. Mr. Doughty was married September 23, 1877, to Mary F. Brill, of Lake City, who died October 27, 1880, at Lake City, leaving one son, Jesse Edward, born July 13, 1879, secretary of the Gillette, Eaton & Squire Foundry & Machine Co., Lake City. Mr. Doughty was married November 20, 1890, to Mrs. Lucy C. Hill, of Lake City.
Doughty, Samuel (page 588), for many years president of the Lake City Bank, was born at Rockaway, Long Island, September 22, 1816, son of Samuel and Betsey (Nelson) Doughty, and grandson of Henry Nelson, a veteran of the Revolutionary War. The family on both sides was of English descent, and early settlers on Long Island. Although he was but 18 miles from New York City, there were no public schools in the neighborhood, and he was therefore educated at home under the watchful supervision of a cultured and educated mother. As a youth he learned the blacksmithing trade, and before he was 20 years of age had set up a shop of his own. Even at that early age he took a deep interest in the welfare of his community, and it was mainly through his earnest and shrewdly directed efforts that a free school was established in his native hamlet. A little later he was elected a member of the school board, and served most efficiently. In 1852 he removed to Bloomington, Ill., where he established a shop, worked at his trade, and assisted in the up-building of that place. But he longed for a wider field of usefulness in a still newer community, so in 1854 he came up the Mississippi river looking for a suitable location. He was favorably impressed with the Lake Pepin region and decided to locate here. The following year he brought his family to Wabasha County, and was thereafter an important factor in hits progress. In 1856 in company with Abner Dwelle and Abner Tibbetts, he platted the city of Lake City, and thereafter devoted his time and attention to the promotion of the growing hamlet. In 1876 he succeeded Joel Fletcher as the president of the Lake City Bank, and in this capacity he remained until a short time before his death. He died in Lake City October 9, 1893, and his death was sincerely mourned. Mr. Doughty was married at Bellport, Long Island, N. Y., July 22, 1838, to Hannah Rider, who was born March 4, 1820 and died in Lake City March 4, 1908. They were the parents of ten children: Phoebe, J. Edward, Henrietta F., Calvin Mott, John Coleman, Mary E., Asa B., Franklin A., Franklin Harper and Charles. Phoebe died in infancy. J. Edward was born July 2, 1841, became a leading Lake City attorney, and died July 14, 1884. He served through the Civil War as captain of the 2nd U. S. Sharpshooters (Co. L, 2nd Minn. Vol. Inf.) and was brevetted Major, a title which he afterward continued to bear. Henrietta F. in infancy. Calvin Mott was born January 22, 1844, and is now living retired at Heron Lake, Minn. John Coleman was born July 4, 1846, and is now a leading citizen of Lake City. Mary E. died in childhood. Asa B. died in infancy. Franklin A. died in infancy. Franklin Harper was born August 17, 1854, and is now municipal judge of Lake City. Charles died in infancy.
Drees, Herman (page 413), who after an active career of forty years or more in this county, has arrived at prosperity by the hard but ready road of agricultural activity, was born in Hanover, Germany, July 14, 1848, son of Henry and Mary (Williams) Drees. His parents were farmers who lived and died in their native land. There Herman also remained until 1875, attending school to the age of 14, and out of school hours being obliged to work, with little leisure for play. When he was 27 years old letters received from a brother, Benedict, who had emigrated to Nova Scotia, contained such a glowing account of this country that he resolved to emigrate also, and accordingly in 1875 he set out, landed in Baltimore, and came direct to Wabasha County. Here for six or seven years he worked as a farm hand, being mainly employed in grubbing. During this time he saved most of his earnings, and was finally able to buy 80 acres of land on Zumbro Bottoms, back of Wabasha. In about a year he sold that tract, and for six years or more subsequently was engaged in the saloon business at Wabasha and Reed's Landing. In 1880 he returned to farming, buying his present farm of 180 acres in section 23, Pepin Township, four and a half miles west of Wabasha. The land was but slightly improved, most of it being in timber, and Mr. Drees began operations by erecting a small board house, in which he lived for some years. His subsequent career has been similar to that of other hard-working and successful farmers, and he has today a well developed farm, with a good two-story frame house, a barn 36 by 56 by 14 feet, with full stone basement, and other substantial buildings, including a tool shed, corn crib, machine shop and poultry house. He engaged in general farming, finding a ready market for all his produce, and continued active work until several years ago, when he turned over the management of the farm to his son, Bernhard, though still residing thereon. Mr. Drees was married in 1883 to Mary Jennings, daughter of Henry and Helen Jennings, and a native of Hanover, Germany, their wedding taking place at Wabasha, to which place she, with her sisters, Theresa and Helen, had come in 1882. Six children have been born to Mr. And Mrs. Drees: Paul, born at Reed's Landing in June, 1884, died in infancy; John, born at Reed's Landing June 1, 1885, who is a farm laborer residing at home; Emma, born September 10, 1887, who is now Mrs. Anton Voskar, of Arkansaw, Pepin County, Wis., and has two children, Dorothy and Marcella; Bernhard, born April 30, 1891, who is operating the home farm; Mary, born March 15, 1895, who died May 3, 1919; and Clara, born August 3, 1899, who resides at home with her parents. The family are of the Catholic faith and members of St. Felix parish at Wabasha. In politics Mr. Drees is a Republican. Though not active in public affairs, he is a well known and respected citizen.
Dubbels, John H. (page 366), who is successfully engaged in general farming and stock raising in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, was born in Viola Township, Olmsted County, April 13, 1884, son of John and Mary Dubbels. John Dubbels, the father, was born in Hanover, Germany, May 15, 1846. He was educated in his native land and came to the United States in 1864, settling in Viola Township, Olmsted County, Minn., where in the following year he bought 80 acres of land. Later he bought another tract of 150 acres, fenced his land, erected buildings, and developed a good farm, on which he carried on agriculture and stock raising until 1919. He then sold the farm to his son Charles and moved to Elgin Village. On April 21, 1875, he was married to Mary E. Bierbaum, who was the first white child born in Viola Township, Olmsted County. They became the parents of eight children: Carl, Mary, Anna, Elizabeth, John H., Joe, Charles and Elsie. John H. Dubbels in his boyhood attended district school in Viola Township, Olmsted County. He worked for his father until 1909, then he and his brother Joe bought 820 acres of land in Morrison County, Minnesota, where he did general farming until 1917, when they sold the land. In 1917 John H. bought 200 acres in section 18, Elgin Township, which he sold after residing on it three years. In 1919 he bought his present farm of 280 acres in sections 30 and 31, Elgin Township, on which he is carrying on general farming and stock raising with profitable results. He keeps Holstein cattle, with full-blooded sires, and a high grade of hogs. Mr. Dubbels was married September 2, 1909, to Alma Tradup, and he and his wife have four children: John A., born September 6, 1910; Gerald M., September 16, 1911; Melvin C., May 20, 1915, and Genevieve E., March 18, 1918. The family are united in membership with the Lutheran church.
Duerre, George F. (page 274), proprietor of a fine hardward store in Plainview, who has also rendered efficient service as a county official, was born at Read's Landing, Wabasha County, Minn., May 16, 1865, son of Henry and Pauline (Lutz) Duerre. He acquired his literary education in the public school of his native village, and was subsequently a pupil for two years in a business college at Minneapolis. In 1892 he became a candidate for the office of county treasurer, and was elected for a term of two years. His service in that office giving general satisfaction, he was re-elected and filled out another term. Then in 1901 he came to Plainview and engaged in the hardware business, in which he has since demonstrated his ability as a merchant. He has enlarged his store and carried a complete and modern line of shelf and heavy hardware. He is a member of the Masonic order. Mr. Duerre was married in 1895 to Mabel Cassidy, daughter of William W. and Jane (Blair) Cassidy. He and his wife are the parents of six children: Paul, Donald, Lucy E., William George, Thomas Henry and Charles L. Paul, who married Nan Napier, is now a resident of Chicago. During the recent World War he trained five months at the Great Lakes station, and was 22 months on the battleship Nebraska, in the quartermaster's department. Donald, during the war, took a course in the student's training school at Hamline. Lucy E., is a student at Stout University, Menominie, Wis. William George is attending the Plainview public school.
Duerre, Henry (page 292), pioneer hotel keeper,
early merchant, Civil War officer, and useful citizen, was for many years
a familiar character at Reads Landing, not only to the pioneers of this county,
but also to the boatmen, who in those days swarmed the Mississippi. He was
born in Brunswick, Germany, February 30, 1830, and was given an excellent
education, acquiring a mastery of the French, German and English languages,
to which in America, as a pioneer, he later added a smattering of the Sioux
Indian. In 1852 he emigrated to the United States, and after residing for
awhile in Ohio, he came in 1857 to Read's Landing, Wabasha County, Minn. For
awhile he found employment cutting cordwood in a camp across the river near
Alma, Wis. A man of religious tendencies, and well versed in the Scriptures,
he was accustomed to preach in camp on Sundays. On July 30, 1859, Mr. Duerre
was united in marriage with Pauline Lutz, who was born December 8, 1839, daughter
of George and Wilhelmina Lutz, of Calmbach, Wurttemburg, Germany, and had
come to this country with a sister when in her "teens." Mr. and
Mrs. Duerre began housekeeping in the old St. Julian Hotel, afterward, called
the "Bullard," at Read's Landing, which they conducted successfully
up to 1862. When the Civil War broke out Mr. Duerre was on the high road to
success. As time went on the general ill success of the Union arms showed
the people of the North that the Southern Confederacy was not easily to be
put down. Filled with loyalty for his adopted country, he enlisted September
1, 1862, in Company K, Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry. Entering the service
as a private, he was soon assigned as a lieutenant to the Commissary Department,
and at Ft. Snelling and Ft. Ridgeley served as clerk in the court martial
office, receiving the highest commendation from the then governor of Minnesota,
with recommendation for promotion. After his return home, with an excellent
record, Mr. Duerre engaged in the general mercantile business at Read's Landing
with Joseph Netzer as a partner, and the business was thus continued for a
few years, after which Mr. Duerre became sole proprietor and so remained until
his death on April 24, 1880. As a merchant he met with well merited success.
His position as storekeeper in a boat-landing town, where so many of the early
settlers disembarked, and where so many of the pioneers came for provisions,
gave him a commanding influence, and his ability as a linguist brought joy
to many a lonely immigrant beginning life in a strange, wild country. His
benefactions were many, his charities were unlimited, and many of the people
of the county were kept from actual want by his generous help, given so freely
that it retarded his own financial prosperity. He left his memory deeply graven
on the hearts of those whom his mercy had blessed. As a citizen he was interested
in everything calculated to benefit the community in which he lived. On April
24, 1880, Mr. Duerre died, and after eight years, on July 3, 1888, his wife
followed him to the grave. Both were earnest and faithful members of the Lutheran
church. Their union was blessed with eight children: Wilhelmina, born June
8, 1860; Augusta, September 21, 1862; George F., August 16, 1865; Edward Richards,
October 3, 1867; William P., November 2, 1869; Harry J., October 21, 1873;
Lottie, September 22, 1875; and Mathias T., October 2, 1877. Of these children
three are now deceased: Wilhelmina having died June 25, 1861; Harry J., November
23, 1909; and Lottie, September 8, 1877. George F., formerly county treasurer
of Wabasha County, is now a successful hardware merchant in Plainview. Augusta
is the wife of Edward Stokes, of Reads Landing. Edward R. resides in Wabasha.
William P. is a well known dentist of Lake City. Mathias T. is now in the
insurance business with headquarters at Plainview. Mr. Duerre was always a
Republican in politics, but not a strict party man, exercising the right of
private judgment to casting his ballot.
Duerre, Mathias T. (page 320), for several years a prominent Plainview banker, and former auditor of Wabasha County, is well known throughout the county, and his wide acquaintances, his reputation for sterling worth, his experience, and keen business ability were important factors in the success of the institution he assisted in guiding. Being possessed of energy and enthusiasm, he coupled progressive ideas in modern banking with a thorough appreciation of the conservative policies necessary in the maintainance of financial integrity and solidity. Born at Read's Landing, this county, October 2, 1877, he is the son of Henry and Pauline (Lutz) Duerre. He was educated in the public schools of Read's Landing and Wabasha, and in 1897 was graduated from the business college at La Crosse, Wis. That year he started his business career as a hardware clerk in the store of his brother, George F. Duerre, at Plainview. In this capacity he rapidly won friends and the confidence of the people, as the result of which his entry into politics was well received. Urged by his friends to run for county office, he announced himself as a candidate for auditor in the fall of 1906 and was elected by a substantial majority. He proved a most efficient officer, and affairs of his office were well conducted, and he maintained the confidence and trust of the voters. On January 1, 1911, he retired from office and accepted a position as cashier of the First National Bank. In this capacity he made himself decidedly popular with the depositors, his unfailing courtesy and obliging manners adding to his already large list of friends. In January, 1920, he resigned his position with the bank and is now engaged in the life insurance business. He is well and favorably known in fraternal circles, belonging to the Masonic order and the Odd Fellows at Plainview, and the Elks at Red wing. As a public spirited citizen he has taken his share in every movement that has for its object the betterment of the entire community, and his influence is always on the side of progress and development. Mr. Duerre was united in marriage,August 13, 1918, at Elgin, Minn., to Iva D. Whipple of that village.
Duerrwaechter, William P. (page 227), who for 17 years was numbered among the hard-working and thriving farmers of Plainview Township, was born in Kiel, Wis., November 13, 1863. He was educated in his native state, where he subsequently learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked for 11 years at Colgate, Wis. In 1897 he came to Wabasha County, and a year later bought a farm of 80 acres in section 34, Plainview Township. The buildings consisted principally, or entirely, of a small log house and small barn, which he utilized for some years, working hard to develop the place. By 1910, having made considerable progress, he found himself able to provide a better residence, and accordingly erected a nice eight-room frame house, equipped with the most essential modern conveniences. In 1915 he built a new barn, 30 by 50 feet, with basement. Besides carrying on the farm he worked at intervals at his trade of carpenter, building a number of houses, barns and other structures throughout this part of the county, the quality of his work bringing him plenty of contracts. His labors were terminated by his death on July 27, 1915, when he was in his fifty-second year, and with his passing Plainview Township lost one of its worthy and respected citizens. Mr. Duerrwaechter was married December 30, 1886, to Sarah Marshman, who was born in Richfield, Washington County, Wis., April 11, 1867. The issue of this marriage was nine children: Fred, born February 1, 1890; Viola, January 18, 1892; George, February 11, 1894; Helen, October 9, 1896; Clara, February 28, 1899; Mamie, August 2, 1902; Lydia, December 7, 1904; Eugene, July 17, 1907; and Edna, December 28, 1909. Of these nine children seven are now living, the five youngest, together with George, residing on the home farm. Helen died October 6, 1901, when nearly five years old. Fred, who served in the recent war with Germany as a member of Company B, 350th U.S. Infantry, died in France of pneumonia on January 21, 1919, his death adding one more name to the list of those brave American youths who perished in the service of their country. Mrs. Duerrwaechter and the surviving members of the family are affiliated religiously with the Methodist Episcopal church. They are well known and enjoy a high degree of social popularity.
Duffus, John A. (page 530), a thriving farmer of West Albany Township, comes of good pioneer stock, and was born in section 3, this township, May 14, 1875, son of William and Anne (Wilson) Duffus. He acquired his literary education in the district school, which he attended up to the age of 17, and a practical knowledge of agriculture on his parents' farm, in the operation of which he was from an early age associated with his father. During the winter of 1894-95 he attended the Minnesota Agricultural College. At the age of 21 he rented the home farm from his father, and subsequently operated it until the father's death in October, 1908. Owing to the disposition of the property by the elder Mr. Duffus, the subject of this sketch now owns the north 80 acres of the home farm, on which the house stands, and operates two other "eighties' adjoining for his mother and sister, to whom they respectively belong. He has remodeded the house, which is now a two-story modern structure, gas-lighted, and has a good complement of substantial buildings. In 1916 the former barn was destroyed by lightning, and Mr. Duffus has replaced it with another, 40 by 80 by 16 feet, with a full 9-foot basement, and equipped with modern steel stalls and stanchions. He has a good machine shed 16 by 72 by 10 feet, with a granary, milk and ice-house, double corn crib with 8-foot driveway, poulty house, garage and steel windmill. He is successfully conducting general farming and dairying, milking 18 cows, and the farm is well stocked with high grade Shorthorn cattle, some 40 to 50 head Shropshire ewes and Red Duroc hogs. He also owns a complete Nichols and Shepherd threshing outfit, with other first class equipment, the farm in all respects being one of the best in the township. Mr. Duffus is also a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator Co. of Lake City, and a member of the Farmers' Shipping Association of Lake City, and is interested in the U. S. Mexico Oil Co. He has served eight years as a member of the school board, being a Republican in politics, while his fraternal affiliations are with the Modern Woodmen of America at Lake City. Mr. Duffus was married September 20, 1899, to Julia Ann, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (McIllreave) Huddelston, of Glasgow Township, this county, where she was born March 18, 1877. Mr. and Mrs. Duffus have three children: Allan Wilbur, born June 22, 1900; Mildred Aurilla, May 20, 1903; and Margaret Catherine, August 20, 1916.
Duncan, George (page 499), whose recent death deprived the town of Mazeppa of one of its old and respected pioneer citizens, was born in Kergill parish, Perthshire, Scotland, November 22, 1830. He was reared to farm labor, and not long after attaining his majority, in March, 1852, he set out for the United States. Here he spent three years in farm labor in Monroe County, New York, and in Pennsylvania pineries. In 1855 he joined the stream of emigration to Minnesota, on June 8 that year locating land in the township of Mazeppa, Wabasha County. Four years later he sold out and settled on section 28, Chester Township, where he remained until 1876, when he moved to section 27 in the same township. There he established a farm of 120 acres, also becoming the owner of a similar tract in section 26. In 1872, though not desirous of public office, he was persuaded to serve as town supervisor, on account of receiving a unanimous vote. In politics he was a Republican. Mr. Duncan butchered and sold the first beef so handled in Mazeppa, in the fall of 1855. He arrived in this state with a very limited amount of capital, but through industry and sagacity finally became prosperous and well to do, being able to retire with a competence. His death occurred July 29, 1919. Mr. Duncan was married in June, 1858, to Martha A., daughter of Lewis Blunt, one of the pioneers of Mazeppa. Mrs. Duncan died March 16, 1875. She had born her husband ten children: Minnie, Cynthia A., George J., Ulysses Grant, Samuel, William L., Verona, Stella May, Libbie, and one that died in infancy. Minnie, who married William Lincecum, of Fort Worth, Texas, is now deceased. Cynthia became the wife of H. H. Judd, of Chester, this county, whom she survives, being now a resident of Mazeppa. She has had four children, Earl, Bradford, William and Cassie, the last mentioned being the wife of Fred Frederickson of Zumbrota. In addition to Minnie, Libbie, Ulysses G. and Samuel are deceased.
Duncan, William L. (page 499), a land proprietor and prosperous citizen of Mazeppa, was born in Chester Township, Wabasha County, March 4, 1866, son of George and Martha (Blunt) Duncan, who were pioneer farmers in that township. He was educated in the district school and reared to agricultural pursuits, working on his parents' farm until he was 28 years old. He then began operations on his own account, working a farm formerly owned by his grandfather in Bear Valley, and was thus engaged until 1912. He then sold the home place, which had meanwhile come into his possession, and bought 120 acres in Chester Township, which he still owns. For two years he has been engaged as foreman on the state road. Mr. Duncan was married December 24, 1895, to Georgie A. Davis, daughter of Robert and Maria (Corser) Davis, and a grand-daughter, on the maternal side, of Benjamin Corser, who served in the War of 1812-15 with Great Britain. Her early ancestors in this country came from Scotland. Robert Davis, her father, was born in Nova Scotia, and came to Minnesota in 1856, taking a farm in Chester Township, Wabasha County, which he operated until his death in 1901. He served two years in the Civil War, enlisting from Minnesota, and also took part in suppressing the Indian outbreak. His wife is still living, and is now 92 years old. She resides with her daughter in Mazeppa. Mr. and Mrs. Davis had two sons and four daughters: Fred, Frank, Sadie, Mary, Gladys and Georgie, all of whom are now living, except Fred, who died in 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Duncan are the parents of four daughters: Estella, assistant cashier in the Bank of Mazeppa; Frances, wife of C. R. Brown, of Kansas City, and Jessie and Jean, who are attending school.
Dunn, Walter (page 401), who died at his home in Elgin, December 18, 1916, was for many years one of the leading stock breeders in Wabasha County, of which he was a pioneer settler. He was born in Great Valley Township, Cattaraugus County, New York, November 27, 1846, and there resided with his parents until he was 9 years old, when he came west with them to Dixon, Ill. Ten years later, when he was 19, his parents decided to move to Minnesota, and the family made the trip by team from Dixon to Wauseca. Three years later Mr. Dunn came to Elgin to live, and on December 2, 1874, he was united in marriage with Helen Seeley, daughter of Alfred E. and Louise E. Seeley. She was born at Topsham, Vt., June 16, 1856, and when very young had accompanied her parents to Wisconsin and a number of years later to a home near Elgin, Minn. When married to Mr. Dunn she was residing with her uncle and aunt, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Richardson. Mr. and Mrs. Dunn began housekeeping in the little house of Mrs. Seeley's, at Seeley Corners, two miles east of Elgin. In the spring of 1876 they moved to the Gould farm, just south of the Corners, where they made their permanent home. For many years Mr. Dunn was a breeder of blooded stock, his efforts along that line being of great benefit to the farmers of this section. He was prominent in township affairs, holding the office of supervisor for several years, and was an active member of the local creamery association. In the home he was a loving husband and father, a man who took great pleasure in his home life. He was an active member of the local Masonic lodge, and a charter member of the Woodmen lodge of Viola, for a number of years being consul of the order. He was always interested in the progressive move in the community, usually taking an active and leading part therein, and his integrity and sterling qualities won the respect and esteem of a large number of friends and associates. His death came as a result of a severe attack of pneumonia, he having taken cold while attending a cattle show in Chicago the week before. But a few weeks before he had lost his wife who, after being an invalid for many years, passed away on October 11, 1916. She had been long identified with the order of Royal Neighbors at Viola, and her usefulness as a member and entertainer had secured her a warm corner in the hearts of all. Though not a member of any church, she had warm sympathies with church work, and her life had been an example of unselfish devotion to her family, and her time and energies for the good of the community in which she lived were given with a prodigal hand. Mr. and Mrs Dunn had six children, all of whom survive, namely: Mrs. J. D. Siem and Mrs. Clyde Richardson of Elgin; Mrs. C. W. Woodruff, of Chatfield; Mrs. Henry Schroeder, of Viola, and Mrs. Carl Houghton and George Dunn of Elgin.
Dushek, Forest W. (page 419), one of the leading hardware men of southern Minnesota, located in Elgin Village, was born in Quincy Township, Olmsted County, this state, May 10, 1883, son of Perry and Lucy (Smith) Dushek. The father was a native of Austria, who came to America at the age of seven years, and to Plainview, Wabasha County, in 1865. For several years he broke land here with an ox-team. In 1873 he and his wife, the latter a native of this country, located in Olmsted County and engaged in farming in Quincy Township, where they are still living. They are the parents of five children: Forest W., subject of this sketch; Mattie, now Mrs. Bert Hein; Harry, residing on the home farm in Olmsted County; Wealthy, wife of Gust Miller of Olmsted County; Pearl, wife of Frank Muirhead, who is principal of the high school at Davenport, Ia. Forest W. Dushek was educated in the public school of Elgin. In 1906 he bought a farm of 400 acres, located in sections 19, 20 and 29, Elgin Township, and was there engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1910. He then sold the place and moved to Elgin Village, where he purchased a half interest in the hardware firm of Siem & Bartz, Mr. Siem retiring from the firm, the business for the next four years being conducted under the style of Bartz & Dushek. Mr. Dushek then purchased the interests of Mr. Bartz, and since then has been sole owner and proprietor of the business, which he has considerably developed, at present carrying about $16,000 worth of stock, including a full and complete line of shelf and heavy hardware. His store is modern and is fully equipped for handling an immense trade, the floor space amounting to 25 by 118 feet. His sales are on the increase and amount to a large sum annually. Mr. Dushek has won the reputation of an honest and upright business man. He is a good buyer, and energetic in all his dealings, prompt to ascertain the public demand and quick to supply it at prices comparing favorably with those in the large cities. He has recently erected the finest residence in the Village of Elgin, it being thoroughly modern in every respect. The house is large and spacious, measuring 30 by 36 feet. The main building has nine rooms, with a full set of closets. There is also a sleeping-porch, a large verandas, the inside finish being in quarter-sawed white oak. The residence is electrically lighted, and provided with hot water heat, and with a domestic ice plant. Mr. Dushek is a member of Elgin Lodge, No. 115, A. F. & A. M. He was married February 22, 1906, to Clara Lamprecht, of Plainview, who was born September 2, 1882, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Lamprecht. He and his wife are the parents of one child, Willa W., who is a student in the Elgin public school.
Dwelle, Abner (page 341), an early settler, was born in Kalamazoo County, Mich., September 12, 1840, son of Abner and Electa C. (Lawrence) Dwelle, with whom he came to this county as a boy in 1854. At the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted in Co. I, 1st Minn. Vol. Inf., and served with the Army of the Potomac. At the Battle of Ball's Bluff he received a bullet wound in the shoulder, from which he was disabled, and as the result of which he was discharged in February 7, 1863. Then he returned and devoted his life to farming. He acquired a good farm, partly in the city limits, and carried on a profitable agricultural and dairy business. Mr. Dwelle was married in October, 1877, to Laura M. Sears, born in Racine Co., Wis., daughter of William Sears. This union has been blessed with two children: Addie Pearl, born April 28, 1880, and Arthur Sears, born August 13, 1885.
Dwelle, Glenn M. (page 599), well known in Minnesota and Wisconsin as a telephone man, president and manager of the Dwelle Telephone Co., and the Lake Pepin Telephone Co., and the Lake Pepin Telephone Co., was born in Lake City, this county, March 3, 1875, son of G. Merrill and Julia (Patton) Dwelle. He received a good education in the Lake City public schools, and as a young man was employed in a clerical capacity in the general mercantile business. In 1897 he inaugurated public local telephone service in this county by establishing central exchanges at Lake City and Wabasha, with home and business telephones in the homes and business houses of these two cities and the surrounding rural districts. In 1905 his father became a partner, and in 1906 the company was incorporated as the Dwelle Telephone Co. And the lines extended. Later he became interested in the Lake Pepin Telephone Co., operating in Pierce and Pepin Counties, Wisconsin, with central exchange at Pepin, Maiden Rock and Plum City. In 1917, the Dwelle Telephone Co. Erected a fine modern exchange at Lake City. This building, constructed of pressed brick, is well equipped in every respect and will be adequate for its increasing business for years to come. Mr. Dwelle is an active citizen, and has taken his share in the development of the Lake Pepin region. Mr. Dwelle was married September 7, 1899, to Mary Satori, daughter of Joseph and Bertha Satori, early settlers of this county. This union has been blessed with four children: Joseph Merrill, born March 29, 1901, a graduated of the Lake City High School; Florence Lucille, born June 15, 1903; Bertha Mary, born July 12, 1906; and Margaret Julia, born September 28, 1909. The family residence is a neat structure at 422 South Oak Street.
Dwelle, G. Merrill (page 598), Civil War veteran, Indian fighter and merchant, was born in Onondaga County, N. Y., March 13, 1835, son of Abner and Electa C. (Lawrence) Dwelle, who brought him to Kalamazoo County, Mich., in 1837 and with whom he came to Lake City, this county, in 1854. He devoted his time to agricultural pursuits. At the outbreak of the Civil War, he enlisted December 17, 1861, in the 2nd U. S. Sharpshooters, attached to the 1st Minn. Vol. Inf. as Co. L. He went south with his company, and served through the Peninsula campaign under General Geo. B. McClellan. At the battle of Antietam, September 17, 1862, he was wounded and taken prisoner, was later paroled, and sent to a hospital. February 4, 1863, while still in the hospital he was commissioned second lieutenant, and assigned to the 3rd Battery, Minn. Light Artillery, then stationed at Ft. Snelling, Minn. The surgeon, however, would not at that time allow him to make the trip, so it was not until March 15, 1863, that he reached his new command. For a time he was detailed with a detachment of infantry to act as guard on the steamers carrying supplies to Camp Pope, on the upper Minnesota. In June, 1863, his battery was ordered to Camp Pope, and from there joined the expedition of General H. H. Sibley against the hostile Indians, pursuing across the Minnesota and Dakota prairies. In October of that year Lieutenant Dwelle was detailed to accompany Gov. Alexander Ramsey as commissioner to negotiate with the Chippewas for the cession of certain lands in Northern Minnesota. In the summer of 1864 he joined Gen. Alfred Sully's expedition against the hostile Indians, pursuing them across the Missouri River into the "Bad Lands" of Montana. In 1865 he engaged in Devil's Lake expedition under Col. Minor T. Thomas. He spent the winter of 1865-66 at Fort Wadsworth, and in February, 1865, was mustered out, having been in the service four years and three months. During the Indian campaigns he had traveled over 3,000 miles, and in addition to the actual engagements with the savages has experience many hardships with cold weather, blizzards, dampness and scanty supplies. Upon his return to Lake City, Lieut. Dwelle clerked for a while in the general store of Mr. Williamson, and for a while in the hardware and lumber establishment of W. A. Doe. Then he formed a partnership with George C. Stout, in the clothing firm of Stout & Dwelle. In the late eighties, his brother Henry Dwelle bought out Mr. Stout, and the firm became Dwelle Brothers. Henry Dwelle died in 1903, but the business continued under the same name until 1905, when the subject of this sketch closed out the establishment, and became interested with his son, Glenn M., in the telephone business. It is interesting to note that despite Mr. Dwelle's distinguished war service, he did not receive a pension until he was about 75 years old. He was then granted one, with $475 back pay, with which he and his wife enjoyed a vacation in California. Intensely interested in public affairs, Mr. Dwelle took an active part in the Republican party, and for one term served the county efficiently as register of deeds. He also did other civic service, and was highly regarded by all who knew him. After a long and useful life, he died at Melbourne Beach, Florida, April 9, 1915. Mr. Dwelle was married October 24, 1872, to Julia Patton, of Lake City, and this union has been blessed with three children, Glenn M., Florence E. and M. Grace. Glenn M. is a leading business man of Lake City. Florence E. of Lake City and M. Grace of Lake City.
Dwelle, Thomas L. (page 341), one of the honored pioneers of Lake City, was born in Greenwich, New York, January 2, 1805, son of Abner Dwelle, born in Massachusetts, and Miriam (Martin) Dwelle, born in New York State, and grandson of Abner Dwelle, a sea captain, born in Scituate, Mass. The family comes of a long line of English and Colonial ancestry, the father and grandfather having both been soldiers in the Revolutionary war. The subject of this sketch was reared on his father's farm, and received such education as the schools of his neighborhood provided. As a youth he learned the wool carding and spinning trade. In 1837 he brought his family from Onondaga County, N. Y., to Kalamazoo county, Mich., where in Texas Township, he cleared a good farm. In 1854 he again set out with his family, this time bound for the newly developing upper Mississippi region. By the laying of half breed scrip, which he had purchased, he secured for himself and his family, three quarter section s on sections 4, 8 and 9, Lake Township, moving into a log cabin purchased from a mixed-blood on section 4. Two years later, in 1856, with Samuel Doughty and Abner Tibbetts, he platted the city. About the same time, a short distance from his log cabin, he erected a good frame house. This house, one of the pioneer structures of the county, is still standing, and still occupied by members of the family. Mr. Dwelle remained on his original claim the remainder of his life, devoting most of his attention to farming. He lived to a good age, and saw the village he platted grow into a thriving little city. During his residence in Michigan, he was an active worker and deacon in the Congregational church, and retained this title the remainder of his life. In his later years he was a Spiritualist. Before the war he was a Whig and an Abolitionist, but with the organization of the Republican party, gave that party his political allegiance. Mr. Dwelle was married in Onondaga County, January 8, 1829, to Electa C. Lawrence, born June 22, 1810, and by this union had nine children, of whom seven survived. Mrs. Electa Dwelle died in Michigan in 1847. February 17, 1849, Mr. Dwelle married Zilpha Knapp, a native of Chase, N. Y. The seven children were: M. Carrie, Elijah, G. Merrill, Henry, Thomas L., Albert and Helen J. M. Carrie was born March 11, 1831, and now lives in the old home at Lake City. Elijah was born April 30, 1833, and died at Lake City, October 8, 1917. G. Merrill was born March 13, 1835, was an officer in the Civil War, died at Melbourne Beach, Fla., April 9, 1915, and is buried at Lake City. Henry was born May 9, 1837, served in the Civil War, died at Chattanooga, Tenn., March 18, 1903, and is buried at Lake City. Thomas L., was born September 12, 1840, served in the Civil War, has devoted his life to farming, and lives in Lake City. Albert was born December 2, 1841, died at Chicago, February 29, 1912, and is buried at Lake City. Helen J. Was born April 26, 1845, and still lives on the old homestead.