Failing, Clarence E. (page ), (page 481), one of Lake Township's most progressive farmers, was born at Granby, Oswego County, New York, April 29, 1856, son of Simon and Sarah (Munger) Failing. He was a few months over five years old when he accompanied his parents to Wabasha County, Minnesota, and settled with them on the farm on which he is now living. Of this, at the age of 21, he became the manager, and subsequently the owner by purchase, since which he has added 11 acres, making a farm of 171 acres. He has spent many years in its development and has something to show for his labor. One hundred and sixty acres are now under the plow and produce good crops, and he has greatly improved the place by the erection of new buildings, which include a comfortable frame house; a frame barn 40 by 62 by 14 feet, a 120-ton stave silo, machine shed, granary and other necessary structures. With a good operating equipment he carried on stock raising and dairying, keeping grade Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China hogs, and a visible evidence of his prosperity, is a good automobile. For 35 years he has served as clerk of the school board, and for 10 years he was town assessor. Mr. Failing is a member of the M. W. A. of Lake City, and a stockholder in the Lake Pepin Co-operative Creamery, and in the Farmers' Elevator, both of Lake City, and is a member of the Farmers' Shipping Association of Lake City, In all things he has proved himself a good American and useful citizen. In his upward career has had the help of good wife, having been married April 5, 1882, to Ida, daughter of George and Margaret Watson, of Lake Township. Seven children have been born to then: Herbert, Clarence, Florence, Isabella, George, Ernest and Jesse, the last mentioned of whom has the misfortune to be a cripple. Herbert is working as a farm hand. Clarence took part in the World War, serving about four months in France. He returned home on the steamer Northwestern, which met with an accident on the trip, being stranded, but he got ashore and is now a member of the police force in Seattle, Wash. Florence is now Mrs. Harry Beck of Lake City. Isabella is the wife of Lloyd K. Johnson of Weaver, this county. George, who served in the recent war, was for several years located in Winona as dairy inspector. He is now a veterinary surgeon in Lewiston, Minn. Ernest is working on the home farm with his father. Mr. and Mrs. Failing are prominent members and workers in the Methodist Episcopal church at Lake City. Politically he is a Republican.
Failing, Simon (page 481), who for a brief period was numbered among the pioneers of Lake Township, and whose descendants are now prominent here, came of Puritan stock, and spent a part, at least, of his early life in Oswego County, New York. Seeking to better his fortune in the Northwest, he came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, in 1861, accompanied by his wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Munger, and four children, Clarence Eugene, Charlotte, William and Emma. To pay the expenses of the journey and provide capital he had sold the little farm he owned in New York State, but it brought no large sum, and it cost something to move the family of six persons, so he began here with but little. They arrived July 4th, and doubtless celebrated the day in true American fashion. Of "Dick" Fitzsimmons, a pioneer, they bought 160 acres in section 19, Lake Township, three and a half miles south of Lake City. It was mostly wild grub and prairie land, but Mr. Fitzsimmons had cleared about 18 acres, and there was a small board house and one or two log structures for barns. There Mr. Failing began the laborious task of developing a farm, but misfortune soon overtook him and his family. Two of the children, William and Emma, died of diphtheria, and in 1868, seven years after their settlement, death called Mr. Failing, and he passed from this life leaving his widow with two children, Clarence Eugene and Charlotte. Confronted with this situation, Mrs. Failing hired help and kept her family on the farm, which she improved. Subsequently she married John O'Brien, a farmer of Lake Township. She is still living, being now 84 years old and a resident of Lake City. The daughter, Charlotte, became the wife of William Watson of Lake Township, but is now deceased. Clarence Eugene is now a prominent farmer of Lake Township, the owner and operator of the old home farm.
Fanning, E. S. (page 639), was born in Leydon, Lewis County, New York, and Hannah fanning, his wife, was also born in New York State. In 1855 they came from Illinois to Wabasha County and lived here sixteen years, and here their seven children were born: Mary L., who now lives in Havre, Mont.; a son who died in infancy; Elizabeth E., who died October 4, 1887; James H., residing at Nemaha, Iowa; Ezra E., of Anoka, Minn.; Adelbert E., who lives at Storm Lake, Iowa; and Edmund S., Jr. who lives at Nemaha, Iowa. In the fall of 1871 Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Fanning moved to Sac County, Iowa, where Mr. Fanning died Jun 25, 1888, aged 55 years, nine months and two days. He was converted two years before he died, joined the M. E. church, and was appointed class leader. Hannah, his wife, died in Sac County, Iowa, December 17, 1907, aged 74 years, four months and 22 days.
Fanning, Samuel (page 639), formerly a well known farmer in Gillford and Zumbro Townships, was a native of New York State. After coming west he was married in Wabasha County, Minn., to Mary A. Baldwin, who was born in St. Louis, Mo., and they settled on the George Oliver farm at Hyde Corners in Gillford Township. Some years later they took a homestead in Zumbro Township, which, however, they later sold, moving back to Hyde Corners on the David Fanning farm. There, on December 28, 1874, Samuel Fanning died. In 1882 his widow sold the farm and moved onto the Albert Ellison farm in Gillford Township, on which she resided until 1909. She then sold that place and moved to Madelia, Minn., where she remained until 1916, since which time she has resided with her daughter, Mrs. Trella Oney, in Rochester. Mr. and Mrs. Fanning were the parents of ten children: George L. and John D., now of Madelia, Minn.; David, deceased; Edmund, of Rochester, Minn.; Walter Scott, of Madelia; Sherman, deceased; Wallace, deceased; Trella A., now Mrs. John Oney of Rochester; Ella E., wife of Frederick Johnson of Plainview, and Samuel, of Rochester. Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Fanning were very active in social life. He taught the first singing-school in his locality, and furnished accommodations for the minister and his family in order that a church might be maintained in the community.
Ferber, Louis (page 734), who is extensively engaged in farming in Mazeppa Township, was born in Olmsted County, Minn., October 13, 1893, son of Jacob and Lizzie (Miller) Ferber. The father, Jacob Ferber, was born in Germany and came to America in the early sixties, locating in Goodhue County, Minn. His wife was a native of Wabasha County. After residing for some time in Goodhue he removed to Olmsted County, where he was engaged in farming until a few years ago. He and his wife are both living and now reside in the Village of Oronoco. They are members of the German Lutheran church. Their children were Philip, Minnie, William, Tena, Louis, Anna, Tillie, Albert and Bertha. Louis Ferber acquired his education in the district school and was trained to agriculture on the home farm. Until 1914 he worked for his father, and after that for several years was engaged in farm labor in the vicinity of Mazeppa. On February 25, 1917, he was drafted into the U. S. Army and subsequently served 12 months in France, during five months of that time being under fire at the front. He was a member of Company 1, 130th Infantry, 33d Division. Escaping casualties, he returned in good health to the United States, and was honorably discharged May 29, 1918. In 1919 Mr. Ferber rented 520 acres in sections 28, 32 and 33, Mazeppa Township, where he now resides, profitably engaged in general farming and stock raising. He was married September 3, 1919 to Emma Mueske, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gust Mueske of Mazeppa Township. She was born April 27, 1900, in Wabasha County, Minn., and was educated in District School No. 54.
Ferguson, Frank H. (page 515 ~ transcribed by Paul J. Hanson, grandson), an enterprising farmer of Elgin Township who is a prominent town official, was born in Elgin Township December 30, 1867, son of Daniel F. and Emma (Dodge) Ferguson. The father was a native of New York state, where he was educated. In 1856 he came west to Illinois, where for three years he remained engaged in farming. In 1859 he came to Wabasha County, Minn., and from that time until 1898 he was engaged in farming in Elgin Township. Then retiring, he moved to Elgin Village, remaining there until the death of his wife on February 18, 1906. The remainder of his life was spent at the home of his son, Frank H., where he died September 16, 1911. His marriage to Emma Dodge took place November 27, 1855. They had two children: Frank H. and Roy A., the latter of whom is now living in the state of Montana. Frank H. Ferguson was educated in the Elgin Village school. He worked with his father until 1895, in which year he became manager, and afterwards owner, of his present farm of 160 acres in sections 17 and 22, Elgin Township, on which he is successfully carrying on general farming, including stock raising and dairying. His equipment includes a B. L. K. milking-machine, in addition to the full complement of the usual farm machinery. His herds of Guernsey cattle and Duroc swine have full-blooded sires at their head. He has made some valuable improvements on his place, having erected a basement barn 34 by 50 feet, a large cow barn, and other outbuildings. Mr. Ferguson served served nine years on the Elgin Township school board, and since 1911 has held the office of town treasurer, the affairs of which he has administered to the satisfaction of the community. Fraternally he belongs to the Masonic order, including the Eastern Star Chapter: also to the Modern Woodmen of America. He was married May 27, 1895, to Maude Dickerman, daughter of Mr. And Mrs. O.T. Dickerman, and of this union have been born eight children: Hazel E., July 4, 1896; Milva E., November 12, 1897; Herbert L., June 13, 1899; Elmer R., February 10, 1901; Mabel L., May 9, 1903; Neil C., September 14, 1906; Carol H., November 23, 1910; and Kenneth F., March 4, 1912. Hazel E. is now a student at Hamline University. Milva E. is the wife of Melvin Gilberts, of Rochester, Minn. Elmer R. died when nearly five years old, on January 27, 1905. Herbert L. and all the younger children are residing on the home farm. The Ferguson family is one of high standing in this community, where Mr. Ferguson is recognized as an enterprising and public spirited citizen.
Fetzer, Amos (page 732), who is helping to develop the agricultural resources of Wabasha County, as the owner and operator of a farm of 291 acres in Zumbro Township, was born in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, Minn., November 14, 1875, son of Perry and Martha (Speed) Fetzer. The father was a native of Pennsylvania and the mother of Maine. They settled in Glasgow Township, this county, in 1865, and spent the rest of their lives there in farming, the father dying in 1896 and the mother in 1910. They were members of the Baptist church. Of their ten children, nine are now living, the full list being as follows: Alice, Anna, Edward, Mamie, Amos, William, Bertha, Susan, Clara and Perry. Edward is now deceased. Amos Fetzer was educated in the district school, and subsequently worked at farm labor until 1896, when he started in for himself by renting a farm in Glasgow Township. On that farm he remained two years, after which he spent eight years on a farm in Hyde Park Township. In 1910 he bought 160 acres in section 31, Zumbro Township, which is a part of his present farm, he having bought the additional 80 acres in 1919. He has erected all the buildings except the residence, and is profitably engaged in general farming, raising good stock. While living in Hyde Park he served five years on the school board of his district, and he has filled a similar position for three years in Zumbro Township. He is a member of the Catholic church and is fraternally affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Felzer was married March 24, 1896, to Josephine Gilsdorf, daughter of Andrew and Mary (Matier) Gilsdorf, farmers of West Albany Township, this county. Andrew Gilsdorf, the father, came to the United States from Germany about the year 1865, Mrs. Mary Gilsdorf (Mary Matier) coming to this country from France about 1858. She was one of the earliest white women to settle in Wabasha County. At one time she owned 160 acres of land which is now included in the site of the City of St. Paul. She was first married to a Mr. La Point, who died, and she subsequently married Andrew Gilsdorf, whom she survived several years, Mr. Gilsdorf dying in 1890 and she in 1893. They had ten children, Andrew, Edward, Henry, Fred, William, George, Nicholas, Thomas, Josephine and Emma. Mr. and Mrs. Fetzer are the parents of three children: Bertha M., born October 30, 1898, now Mrs. Andrew Rosch; Hazel L. born July 15, 1904, and Thomas A., born Mary 26, 1910.
Fick, Bernhard C. (page 600, photo available), a well-to-do resident of Lake City, who has achieved marked success in several lines of industry, is a native of Wabasha County, having been born in West Albany Township, March 22, 1865, son of Frederick and Mary (Danckwardt) Fick. The scene of his birth was the famous "Scotch Settlement," in which his parents were pioneers. There he attended school to the age of sixteen, subsequently spending two winters in the St. Paul Business College, at St. Paul, Minn. After completing his studies there he was associated with his father on the home farm till 1884. In that year he came to Lake City and obtained a position as clerk with the grocery firm of Moore & Dobner, with whom he remained until March, 1885. From their employ he entered that of R. Hannish, proprietor of a general store, for whom he worked until the fall of 1890. His next employers were Seely & Buck, dry goods and clothing merchants of Lake City, whom he left in the spring of 1891 to become clerk for Grondahl Bros., conducting a dry good business in Red Wing. In July, 1891, having by that time gained considerable mercantile experience, he returned to Lake City and engaged in business for himself in partnership with Anthony Krall, erecting and occupying a brick block on Center street. The firm of Fick & Krall, general merchants, was continued for one year, at the end of which time Mr. Krall sold his interests to Edward Wise, the style of the firm becoming Fick & Wise. Five years later Mr. Fick bought Mr. Wise's interests, becoming sole proprietor of the business, and buying two stores across the street. As sole proprietor he conducted the business for fourteen and a half years, or until 1906, when he exchanged it, together with the store property, for 1,600 acres of raw land in Billings County, North Dakota. Previous to this he had bought 320 acres in section 1, West Albany Township, and to this property he now moved, establishing the "Mountain Ash Stock Farm," where he engaged in the breeding of full blood Percheron horses, being the first breeder of them in this section. After continuing in that industry there until 1910, Mr. Fick sold out to John Danckwardt, and once more took up his residence in Lake City, where he has a fine home at No. 423 S. Oak street. He is still breeding some full blood horses, but is also giving his attention to the real estate and loan business. He was an alderman of Lake City for two years, in politics being a Republican. Mr. Fick was married May 22, 1892, to Magdalena Wise, daughter of Edward and Anna (Kraus) Wise, of Lake City. Mr. And Mrs. Fick have had three children, the first of which, born June 3, s894, died on the day of its birth. Of the other two, Clara Adeline, born August 10, 1898, is a student at Carleton College, Northfield, Minn.; Lela Emily, born September 11, 1901, died April 19, 1904. Mr. And Mrs. Fick are people of wide acquaintance and are socially popular. Both as merchant and horse breeder Mr. Fick made a fine record, and his activities have been a factor in the advancement and development of the county.
Fick, Frederick (page 600), a former resident of West Albany Township, now deceased, was a typical pioneer of this region. He was born in Germany, where he married Mary Danckwardt. In 1855 he brought his family to the United States, settling first in Illinois, where he arrived with eight cents in cash. There he remained for two years. Of the members of the family his brother-in-law, John Danckwardt, was the first to come to Wabasha County, Minnesota. This relative took a claim of 160 acres in section 10, West Albany Township, the locality being then or later known as the "Scotch Settlement," from the number of Scotch immigrants who settled there. In 1857 Frederick Fick came also with his family, making the journey overland with a "block" wagon of his own construction, drawn by oxen. He and his brother-in-law divided the 160 acres between them. But having little or no money, he first had to seek employment, which he found for the winter cutting cordwood on the Wisconsin shore, opposite Read's Landing. During the harvest season he worked for others at cradling, receiving his pay in grain, one bushel of rye or one bushel of wheat daily on alternate days, which he sold for 40 to 50 cents a bushel, that amount representing a day's wages. On his own tract of 80 acres he erected a pole house with a straw-thatched roof, which was occupied by him and his family as a residence until he later built a hewn log house, after which the earlier structure was used as a smokehouse. From this modest beginning, with the help of his wife and children, he gradually developed a good farm, the area of which he increased by an additional purchase to 240 acres. All necessary buildings were also erected. All this took time and plenty of hard work, but Mr. Fick was a good worker, and his wife and children also did their part. To each of the latter ~ four sons and one daughter ~ he finally gave a farm for a home or the equivalent in money. After a long and successful career, he died in Lake City, June 4, 1903. His wife survived him a number of years, passing away on the old home farm December 29, 1918. Mr. Fick was a man who "built better than he knew." In carving out his own fortune he laid the foundation for others, and today his heirs and descendants collectively own 4,233 acres of land in Wabasha county, their possessions being like a sturdy oak that has grown up from the little acorn planted by him 63 years ago. Mr. Fick was a handy man with tools, and the first chair he owned he made himself out of black walnut with a drawshave and axe. This chair is still in an excellent state of preservation and is owned and used today by his son, B. C. Fick, for a desk chair, being highly cherished by him.
Fick, Frederick (page 550), one of the hardy pioneer settlers of Wabasha County, who took an active part in its agricultural development, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, April 5, 1820. In his native land he was married to Mary Danckwart, a native of the same province, born November 19, 1825. They came to the United States in March, 1856, locating first near Joliet, Ill. In June, 1858, they came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, and settled on 80 acres of wild land in section 10, West Albany Township, where Mr. Fick put up a little shack to house himself, his wife, and their infant son, Henry. Early progress was slow, and Mr. Fick had to work out at anything he could find to do to earn a subsistence for his family. In harvest time he found work near Red Wing for 50 cents a day, and in the winter of 1858-59 he cut 126 cords of wood on an island in the Mississippi, opposite Reed's Landing, for which he received 50 cents a cord. His sole capital when he reached Wabasha County was $40, but in course of time through unremitting industry and frugality, he became one of the most prosperous men of his locality, and had so increased his land holding that before his death he had given farms to three of his sons and started another in the mercantile business in Lake City. He died June 13, 1903, and his wife on December 28, 1918. They were both reared in the German Lutheran faith, but joined the German M. E. congregation in West Albany Township. Their children were: Henry T., born in Germany, now a prosperous farmer in Polk County, Minn.; William, engaged in farming in West Albany Township Mary, now Mrs. Gottlieb Moechinig of West Albany; Benjamin C., a retired merchant of Lake City; and Edward L., residing in West Albany.
Fick, Fred C. (page 569), who is doing an extensive business in automobile repairing in Lake City, was born in West Albany Township, this county, May 16, 1877, son of Henry and Sophia (Schmidt) Fick, and a grandson on both sides of Wabasha County pioneers. He was reared in Lake Township, to which his parents moved when he was an infant. There he attended school, and as a young man was employed at farm work, both at home and among the neighboring farmers. In 1900 he established a well-drilling business, and in 1902 came to Lake City as an employe of Bartron & Schmauss, dealers in farm implements. For two years he operated their well-drilling outfit, and then for nearly four years was in their warehouse. In 1908 he purchased the implement business of Wise & Redding at Lake City, and operated this for ten years. In the fall of 1912 he opened the Central Garage on Washington street, where he has built up a big business in automobile repairing. He has worked hard and has built up a big business, and is regarded as one of the substantial men of the city. He has a pleasant home and takes his part in all progressive movements. Mr. Fick was married April 16, 1906, to Margaret Burfiend, daughter of John and Margaret Burfiend, of West Albany Township, and this union has been blessed with one daughter, Dorothy Amelia, born October 19, 1912. The family faith is that of St. John's German Evangelical Lutheran church of Lake City.
Fick, William (page 551, photo available), proprietor of a large and excellent farm in section 5, West Albany Township, was born in this township June 24, 1860, son of Frederick and Mary (Danckwart) Fick. As a boy he attended the district school up to the age of 15, and remained with his parents until 1883. On November 28,, that year, he was united in marriage with Christina, daughter of Christian and Dorothy Prueter, of Lake Township, and he then began farming for himself on a farm of his father's in section 10, West Albany Township, where he remained until 1897. In that year he bought 200 acres in sections 5 and 8, West Albany, known as the James Wheelan farm. There was a poor set of building, to replace which he has built a modern, two-story, ten-room house; a frame barn, 24 by 30 by 76 by 16 feet with full basement of 9 feet; a "young stock" barn, 24 by 30 by 10; a granary, 20 by 36 by 12; machine shed, 16 by 48 by 8, and a wagon shed, garage and pump house. He has also purchased a second farm, of 160 acres, in section 4, West Albany Township, adjoining the home farm, and has in all 360 acres under the plow, all very productive land and well tilled. He is engaged in diversified farming, his place being well stocked with high grade Shorthorn cattle, of which he has a herd of from 50 to 60, including 12 to 15 milch cows. He is also a breeder of Percheron horses, being a member of the Percheron Society of America, and aside from these interests, which are highly developed and profitable, he is a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator at Lake City and the Farmers Terminal Packing Co., of Newport, also a member of the local Shipping Association. In short, Mr. Fick is an excellent type of the successful farmer of today, who keeps up with the march of progress and knows how to draw wealth from the soil, whence all wealth, except that derived from the fishing industry, originally springs. He is a man highly respected, a good husband and parent in the home, and a reliable citizen in all things pertaining to the general welfare. To him and his wife five children have been born: Benjamin E., August 4, 1884; William C., March 20, 1886; Harry V., April 3, 1888; Ella J., August 14, 1890; and Albert, July 30, 1894. Benjamin E., who assisted his father on the home farm till 1920, when he purchased 160 acres in section 33, Lake Township, and in the fall engaged in farming on his own account, was married September 4, 1912, to Mary Ellen Huddleston, of Glasgow Township, and they have one child, Margery Mae, born June 4, 1913. William C., who married Frances C. Cooper, of Central Point, Goodhue County, traveled for the Jewell Nursery Co., of Lake City, until the spring of 1920, when he purchased 67 acres in Central Point and is engaged in farming for himself. Harry V., who was county superintendent for 8 years, is now engaged in the real estate business. Ella J. is the wife of William Grobe, of West Albany Township, and has one child, Ruth. Albert, who assists his father on the farm, married Martha Oak, of Lake City, June 28, 1919. In the fall of 1920 he rented 160 acres from his father in section 4, and engaged in farming on his own account.
Fick, Henry (page 568), for many years a successful farmer of Wabasha County, was born in Mecklenberg, Germany, October 19, 1849. At the age of seven years he came to America with his parents, who settled first at Galena, Ill. There the family remained one year, at the end of which time they came to Wabasha County, and homesteaded 160 acres of wild land in West Albany Township. There they underwent many of the hardships of pioneer life, breaking their land with the aid of a yoke of oxen, living the first years on corn, potatoes and bacon, and working hard to establish for themselves a home in the wilderness. Under these conditions young Henry grew up, picking up a little schooling as he found opportunity, and working the parental acres with his father until reaching the age of 24. He then began an independent career, buying a tract of 80 acres in West Albany Township, near the old home, and about the same time, or in October, 1873, he married Sophia, daughter of Gottleib and Dora Schmidt, of West Albany. Her parents had come with their family directly from Germany to West Albany Township, this county, and had likewise endured many hardships in establishing themselves here. Mr. And Mrs. Fick lived about ten years on their original farm, at the end of which time Mr. Fick sold the place to his father, and bought 160 acres in Lake Township, section 34. There they farmed for about 29 years, or until 1912, by hard work and frugality developing their property and acquiring a competence. Then they removed to Lake City, where they resided until 1916, retired. In the year last mentioned they bought a farm near Lockhart, Minn., and are now living there with their son Henry, enjoying the fruits of their former labors. Mr. And Mr. Dick are the parents of children, Edward, Fred C., Minnie, Henry, Alfred, Mattie and Mabel. Edward, born April 16, 1875, is now on the farm at Lockhart. Fred C., born May 16, 1877, is in the automobile repair business at Lake City. Minnie, born March 24, 1879, is the wife of Anthony Lang, of Lake City. Henry, born May 9, 1881, is operating the farm at Lockhart. Alfred, born July 31, 1884, is a resident of Lake City. Mattie, born February 2, 1891, is residing at Lockhart. Mabel , born July 17, 1890, is the wife of Peter Pauley, of Austin, Minn. Mr. Fick is a Republican in politics, and for a number of years served Lake Township as clerk. He and his wife are German Lutherans in religion, and were formerly members of St. John's congregation at Lake City, which he served as trustee. They now belong to the congregation at Lockhart.
Fieck, Jr., Otto (page 773), Fieck, Jr., a well known young farmer of Plainview Township, where he is engaged in operating his father's farm, was born in Prussia, Germany, January 28, 1892, son of Otto, Sr., and Louise (Rarberg) Fieck. His education was begun in his native land, and he subsequently attended district school in Plainview Township after coming to this county with his parents in 1905. After beginning industrial life he was engaged in farm labor near the village of Lewiston, Winona County, Minn., until 1915, since which time he has worked for his father.
Fieck, Sr., Otto (page 773), proprietor of a good farm of 110 acres in section 33, Plainview Township, was born in Prussia, Germany, May 30, 1863. He was there educated and married Louise Rarberg. With his wife and family he came to the United States in 1905, taking his present farm, where he is successfully engaged in general farming and stock raising. He has made improvements on his place, including the 4erection of a good cow barn, and has shown himself to be a man of industry and enterprise of the same type as those who laid the foundation of this country's prosperity. In the work of the farm he is ably assisted by his son, Otto Fieck, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Otto Fieck, Sr., are the parents of ten children: William, now in North Dakota; Emma, wife of Charles Boetke of St. Charles, Minn.; August, residing in North Dakota; Anna, wife of Frank Fieck; Otto, already mentioned as working on the home farm; Louise, wife of James Lemon of North Dakota; Gust, a resident of Winona; Helen and Herman, who are living in North Dakota; and Eleanor, who is at home. The religious affiliations of the family are with the Lutheran church.
Fieck, Sr., Otto (page 773),
Fisk, Blake C. (page 560 ~ photo available), member of the board of county commissioners of Wabasha County, and a popular citizen of Plainview, was born in Plainview Township, this county, May 22, 1873, son of Chauncey and Sarah (Finch) Fisk. His education was acquired in the Plainview public school, and he remained on his parents’ farm until 25 years old. Then starting out for himself, he bought a farm of 360 acres in Glasgow Township, which he operated for two years. Then he removed to another farm, one of 160 acres in section 10, Plainview Township, but retained his ownership of the other, and operated both for seven or eight years. At the end of that time he sold them and purchased the old home farm in section 8, Plainview, where he is still carrying on general farming and stock raising, keeping full blooded Shorthorn cattle, of which he has a fine herd for breeding purposes. He has leased 21 acres of his farm for 15 years to the Wabasha County Industrial Fair Association. Mr. Fisk was elected county commissioner from the First District in 1916, and for one term was chairman of the board. He also previously served on the Plainview Township board. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Masonic order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Redwing Lodge, No. 845, B. P. O. E. On December 28, 1898, he was married to Grace Landon, who was born February 9, 1874. They have five children, who were born as follows: Millard L., April 15, 1903; Wyman B., March 25, 1905; Charles S., February 15, 1909; Russell A., May 17, 1911; and George H., September 18, 1916. The family attends the Congregational church, and in politics Mr. Fisk is a Republican. He has, however, always placed the public interests before party, and his vote and influence are cast in support of progressive measures, subject only to such modifications as may be rendered necessary by economical considerations, and his public actions has been in accord for the most part with that of his colleagues and endorsed by the great mass of citizens.
Fisk, Chauncy S. (page 663), one of the sturdy farmers who helped to build up the agricultural resources of Plainview Township, of which for many years he was a prominent citizen, was born in Sullivan County, N. Y., March 27, 1843. On August 15, 1862, he entered the army, and served with Company H, 143rd Regiment of New York Volunteer Infantry, until July 20, 1865, when he received an honorable discharge at Alexandria, Va. He attained the rank of sergeant and was detailed for special duty as orderly in General Slocum's escort. After the close of the war he came west, but returned to claim as his bride, Sarah E. Finch, of Wawarsing, Ulster County, N. Y. They were married March 27, 1867, and came west to Plainview, Minn. For eight or ten years they resided with his uncle, at the end of which time Chauncey S. Fisk began his independent career, buying a farm of 160 acres in section 8, Plainview Township. Subsequently he increased the area of his farm to 214 acres, and effected extensive improvements, which made it one of the best farms in the township. There he resided until his death on February 16, 1907, widely known and respected for his character and achievements. His wife died April 23, 1913. Their children were as follows: Minnie C., born January 16, 1869, now deceased; Blake C., born May 22, 1873, who resides in Plainview, Minn.; John T., born July 4, 1876, now a resident of Kellogg, Minn; Grace, born March 19, 1880, now Mrs. M. M. Grove of Dell Rapids, S. D.; Lana, born August 18, 1882, who died February 22, 1883; William Ira, born August 8, 1884, a resident of Kansas City, Mo.; and Roscoe Roby, born June 11, 1888, now a physician at Flandreau, S. D.
Fisk, John T. (page 664), was born July 4, 1876, the third child in a family of seven born to Chauncey S. and Sarah E. (Finch) Fisk. His parents were natives of New York state and pioneer settlers of Greenwood Prairie, where they reared their family in their home one-fourth of a mile north of Plainview, now owned and occupied by their eldest son, B. C. Fisk and family. It was here that John T. Fisk grew to manhood receiving his education in the Plainview high school and assisting his father with the farm work. At the age of 22 he took charge of the I. J. Cutler farm in Cook's Valley, which had been recently acquired by his father and brother, B. C. Fisk. On June 18, 1902, Mr. Fisk was married to Mary V. Albertson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George B. Albertson. Her parents were natives of Pennsylvania and came to Wabasha County in the early sixties, locating in Cook's Valley on land adjoining the Cutler homestead. The Cutlers and Albertsons were related, I J. Cutler marrying one of the Albertson daughters, a sister of Mrs. J. T. Fisk. Here were born to Mr. and Mrs. Albertson five children: Anna V., now Mrs. J. G. Armand of Duluth, Minn.; Gertrude L., now the widow of G. A. Cooke, and residing at Delpine, Mont.; Robert C., also of that place; Edmund, of Martinsdale, Mont., and Mary V., now Mrs. J. T. Fisk. Mr. Albertson died in 1891 and is survived by his widow. After Mr. Albertson's death, Mrs. Albertson leased the farm to various tenants though continuing to make her home there. In the winter of 1904 she suffered a severe illness from which she never fully recovered. She has since resided in Montana with her second son, Edmund, on his ranch at Martinsdale. In this mountain air Mrs. Albertson, though well advanced in years, still enjoys a fair degree of health. She occasionally travels alone back to the old home, and so this pioneer woman of Wabasha County lives to enjoy and to participate in the pioneer life of a more western country, where she has acquired considerable property, a part of which she homesteaded. In the year 1904 Mr. Fisk purchased the Cutler place from his father and brother. Two years later he sold this farm, consisting of 380 acres, to the present occupant, and purchased the Frank Wells farm of 106 acres in Plainview Township. Here he lived four years and then sold, and bought a home in Plainview. In 1912 he became a stockholder in the First National Bank of Plainview, where he was assistant cashier until 1916. In the summer of 1916, having disposed of his bank stock to George Vermilya, Mr. and Mrs. Fisk took a trip to the western coast. While en route they visited Mrs. Fisk's people in Montana, where they arranged the purchase of Mrs. Fisk's childhood home, the Albertson place. Here they have spent busy happy years of reconstruction. Though there still remains much to testify of the pioneer builder having "builded well," there was at the time Mr. Fisk acquired his wife's old home, much evidence of the neglect that followed in the wake of many tenants during the period of 25 years since Mr. Albertson's demise. The interior of the house has been partially reconstructed and rearranged, electric lights have been recently installed in the buildings; a modern log house of hollow tiles, and a tile silo with a capacity of 325 tons, are some of the major improvements made by Mr. Fisk. Here Mr. Fisk is profitably carrying on diversified farming and stock raising, specializing in pure bred Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China swine. The farm now embraces 422 acres, and gives evidence of the enterprising spirit and good management of its owner, who is a man of influence in the community, where he and Mrs. Fisk enjoy a high social standing.
Fitschen, Diedrich (page 424), one of the self-made men of Wabasha County, proprietor of a fine 235-acre farm in Mt. Pleasant Township, was born in Hanover, Germany, November 18, 1868, son of Fredrick and Anna (Rigger) Fitschen. He had a somewhat limited education in his native land, where he remained until 1885, when he came to the United States, and directly to Wabasha County, Minn. For nine years he worked as a farm hand in Wabasha and Goodhue Counties, practicing economy and saving his money with an eye to the future. At the time he was ready to start in for himself, he chose a life partner in the person of Anne Marie Mojen, daughter of Christopher and Engel Mojen, who had come with her parents from Hanover, Germany, in 1891; and at the same time he rented the Moren farm in Lake Township. There he and his family remained for five years, and then in the fall of 1897 Mr. Fitschen bought 160 acres in Gilbert Valley, section 3, Mt. Pleasant Township, five miles west of Lake City, the same being the farm on which he now resides. He has, however, increased its size, by an additional purchase of adjoining land, to 235 acres , and as the soil is rich it is a fine agricultural property. Mr. Fitschen has improved it by the erection of new buildings, including a comfortable eight room, two-story house, a barn 36 by 60 by 16 feet, with full stone basement of eight feet; a granary, machine shed, two double corn cribs, poultry house, and a steel windmill. He has 90 acres under the plow, the rest of the land being in pasture and timber, and his tools and equipment are fully adequate to all purposes of modern farming, which Mr. Fitschen follows in its various branches. He is improving his Shorthorn cattle and Chester-White swine by the use of full-blooded sires, and achieving good results, with the resultant prosperity that marks him as one of the successful men of his township. As he began with nothing this success is the more to his credit. Politically he is a Republican, and has served as clerk of the school board of District No. 8 for 20 years. Mr. and Mrs. Fitschen are the parents of five children: Emma Catherine, born November 15, 1893, who is residing on the home farm; Anna Catherine, born December 12, 1895, now the wife of John Hinck of Mt. Pleasant Township; Frederick William, born October 24, 1898, who is assisting his father to operate the home farm; Minnie Matilda, born June 23, 1901, and Freda Meta, born June 23, 1908, who are residing at home. The family are members of St. John's congregation at Lake City.
Fitzgerald, Bartholomew (p. 622), a former resident of Highland Township, where he cleared and improved a farm, was a native of Wabasha County, and the son of Irish parents, his father being among the earliest settlers in this county. The latter's home, situated between Kellogg and Weaver in the Watopa Township, was in early days a house of entertainment for travelers. There Bartholomew grew to manhood. He was subsequently married in Wabasha to Mary Burk, and about 1878 they moved to Highland Township, where they bought 209 acres of wild land, on which was a log shack. In time he developed this place, building a good frame house and two frame barns, together with other necessary buildings. The rest of his life was spent on the farm, where he died in 1892. His wife is also now deceased. The farm subsequently came into possession of their son, Edward J., the present sheriff of Wabasha County. In addition to this son they had two others, and also three daughters: Thomas, now living in Portland, Ore.; Daniel, married, and living in Spokane, Wash; Mary and Katherine, who are deceased; and Bridget, who is residing in Chicago.
Fitzgerald, Edward J. (page 622), the present sheriff of Wabasha County, was born in Watopa Township, this county, August 5, 1877, son of Bartholomew and Mary (Burk) Fitzgerald. He was but a year old when he accompanied his parents to a farm in Highland Township, where he grew to manhood, acquiring his education in the country school, which he attended up to the age of 15 or 16 years. Then, on account of his father's death, he had to assume the responsibility of operating the farm, his mother residing with him until her death. On that event he bought the interests of the other heirs and subsequently operated the place as sole owner until 1911, when he rented it and moved to Wabasha city, where he went to work in a garage. There he was employed until the fall of 1918, in which year he sold his farm to Klees brothers, the present owners. During his agricultural career he made many improvements on the place, and successfully carried on general farming, dealing to some extent in horses. In 1915 Mr. Fitzgerald became a candidate for sheriff, but on that occasion was defeated by Julius Boehlke. He was popular throughout the county, however, and on his second candidature in 1918, he was elected over Mr. Boehlke, taking office January 7, 1919. Politically he has always been a Democrat, and while on the farm in Highland Township served as town supervisor for four years. On November 22, 1915, Mr. Fitzgerald married Anna Kohn, daughter of Matthew and Barbara Kohn of Wabasha, Minn., who was born in Wabasha August 31, 1899. He and his wife are the parents of two children: Mary, born September 4, 1916; and Edward, born February 9, 1918.
Fitzgerald, Garrett (page 624), a pioneer of Wabasha county, was a native of Ireland, and came to the United States in the early fifties with his parents and three brothers, the family locating at Reed's Landing, Wabasha County, Minn. Later the parents settled on land in Watopa Township, this county, the father, with the assistance of his sons, being for a number of years actively engaged in land development and farming. Both he and his son, Garrett, served in various town offices and were stirring and useful citizens. The home farm was in section 2, and contained 160 acres. Garrett Fitzgerald was married in this state to Margaret Costello, who died in 1877. He survived her a number of years, passing away in 1904, a man of wide acquaintance, who had been a successful farmer and patriotic citizen, and whose loss was deeply felt. Mr. And Mrs. Fitzgerald were the parents of eight sons and two daughters, the daughters and five of the sons being now living, namely: Garrett, section foreman at Weaver; Helen, who married John Dixon, and lives in Columbus, Ohio; Mary, wife of Henry Herring, and a resident of Iowa; John J., who is chief of the fire department at Grand Forks, N. D.; Michael, an electrician at Grand Forks, N. D.; William, living on the old home farm; and Edward, a grain buyer at Minneiska. Those deceased are: Ned, John (first), and Thomas.
Fitzgerald, William (page 624), a well known farmer of Watopa Township, son of Garrett and Margaret (Costello) Fitzgerald, was educated in District School No. 37, and has always lived on the home farm, except for six years spent in North Dakota. It now contains 280 acres, he having purchased 160 acres since his parents died. An experienced farmer, he is conducting it with profitable results and is numbered among the well to do citizens of his township. He has served in school office, but is independent in politics. He is a Catholic in religion and belongs to the Knights of Columbus and to the Modern Woodmen. Mr. Fitzgerald was married at Kellogg, Minn., November 12, 1907, to Mary Hager, who was born and reared in Watopa Township, this county, daughter of H. H. and Caroline (Kopland) Hager. Their home circle has been broadened and brightened by the birth of three children: Paul William, Mary Margaret and John Eugene, the two elder of whom are attending school. H. H. and Caroline (Kopland) Hager, the parents of Mrs. Fitzgerald, were born in Hanover, Germany, and came to the United States in 1882, settling first in Glasgow Township, this county, but moving to Watopa Township in 1884. Their occupation has always been farming. They have had ten children, those living being: Joseph, of Grand Forks, N. D.; Henry, who is farming in Watopa Township; Barney, a farmer in the same township; August, who lives with his parents; Carrie, who married Andy Gilcreast of Plainview; William, at home; Mary, wife of William Fitzgerald, and Rose and Lizzie, at home.
Foelsch, Albert J. (page 382), a representative farmer of Plainview Township, residing in section 23, was born in Sanilac County, Michigan, November 30, 1858, son of William and Sophia (Nurnberg) Foelsch. The parents were natives of Germany, in which country they were married in 1853. Coming to the United States the same year, they located in Sanilac County, Michigan, where for six years William Foelsch worked in sawmills. In 1859 he moved with his family to Buffalo County, Wisconsin, taking 40 acres of land, which he grubbed and cleared, erecting a log house, and subsequently other buildings, until he had developed a farm. At the age of 62 years he retired, and in 1905 he passed away, at the age of 73 years. His wife died in 1914. They were the parents of six children: Louisa, who married Nick Heck, but is now deceased; Albert J., the direct subject of this sketch; Gusta, wife of Charles Heck, of Lake City, her husband being now retired; John L., who is residing on the old home farm in Buffalo County, Wisconsin; Annie, wife of Henry Dorman, residing near Minneiska, Wabasha County; and Julius, who is living in Winona County. Albert J. Foelsch in his boyhood attended school in Buffalo City, Wis. He remained on the home farm until attaining his majority, after which for a number of years he worked on farms except one summer, which he spent on the river. In 1898 he came to Wabasha County and bought his present farm of 160 acres in section 23, which was then but slightly improved. The other improvements, including fences, have been made by himself, and he has brought the farm into good condition. He keeps grade Durham cattle and follows general farming with profitable results, being now numbered among the prosperous citizens of his township, which he served one term as path master. Mr. Foelsch was married, November 1, 1888, to Mary Baab, who was born in Minneiska, Wabasha County, Minn., April 3, 1870. He and his wife have had three children: Dorothy, born July 31, 1889; Elsie, born June 20, 1894, who died October 31, 1918; and Estella, born April 23, 1897. Dorothy married Fay Wood, of Plainview village, and has three children, Stanley, Leolo and Marie. Estella is the wife of Clarence Roen, of Owatonna, Minn.
World War ~ Active Volunteer on the Home Front
Foley, John Robert (page 662), county attorney for Wabasha county, and a man who has established a high record as a useful and patriotic citizen, was born at Barry, Traverse County, Minn., November 1, 1890, son of Daniel and Ellen (Dunn) Foley. He belongs to that sturdy Hibernian race which has taken so prominent a part in the development and progress of the United States and the British colonies along professional, business and industrial lines, and which has always maintained its faith and hope for the future in spite of oppression and unjust restrictions upon its natural ambitions. The father, Daniel Foley, who was born in Ireland about 1850, emigrated to the United States at the age of 29 years, leaving his native land April 29, 1879, landing at New York, and reaching St. Paul, Minn., May 12. There he found employment in the Great Northern Railway shops, and several years later, on April 1, 1883, was married to Ellen Dunn, who was born in Ireland about 1858, and had come to this country. While in the employ of the railroad Mr. Foley assisted in building the Milwaukee Short Line railway between St. Paul and Minneapolis, In 1883 he moved to Traverse County, Minn., and homesteaded 160 acres of unbroken prairie land three miles north of the village of Barry, which tract he subsequently developed, erecting good buildings, raising chiefly grain, and becoming one of the most successful farmers in that country. By 1908, he had accumulated 800 acres, all under good cultivation. On his retirement in that year he took up his residence in Graceville, where he is still living. His wife, Ellen, died on the home farm near Barry, October 25, 1893, and on April 7, 1896, he married for his second wife Mary Wall of De Graff, Minn. The family are Catholic in religious faith, and Mr. Foley is a member of the Knights of Columbus and the Ancient Order of Hibernians. All his children were by his first wife, and were as follows: Thomas and Michael (twins), born February 1, 1884, of whom Thomas is now a resident of Graceville and Michael of Minneapolis; Patrick, born September 23, 1885, who is unmarried and lives at Billings, Mont.; Daniel, born August 1, 1887, who died August 18, 1889; John R., the direct subject of this sketch, born November 1, 1890; and Agnes, born August 18, 1892, who is a teacher in the Morris (Minn.) Public schools. John R. Foley, after attending the country schools and the common school in Barry, Minn., up to the age of 12 years, entered St. Thomas Military College at St. Paul, Minn., where he received an academic and military training, remaining there six and a half years, and being graduated June 11, 1909. At the time of his graduation he held the rank of Lieutenant-adjutant. In the fall of 1909 he entered the law department of Minnesota University, where he was graduated in the spring of 1912, and on June 14 the same year he was admitted to the bar of the state. He at once entered the law office of Mathias Baldwin and Joseph Murphy in Minneapolis, and was with them until March 1, 1913, after which he was associated for over a year with Thomas C. Daggett of St. Paul. On May 13, 1914, Mr. Foley came to Wabasha, where on the following day he opened an office. Her he has since remained and has built up an extensive practice, being now one of the leading attorneys in the county. In May, 1916, he was appointed city attorney of Wabasha, and held that office until January 7, 1919. In May, 1918, he became a candidate for the office of county attorney, to which he was subsequently elected, entering upon its duties January 7, 1919. His record in this office is one of earnest work and honorable achievement, and, among other things, has resulted in the breaking up of a formidable gang of automobile thieves operating between Chicago and the Twin Cities, the glory of which Mr. Foley shares with Sheriff Ed. Fitzgerald. Confronted with the ring of clever manipulators, who managed for a long time to cover up their tracks, and hampered at times by numerous obstacles that seemed at times well nigh insuperable, County Attorney Foley and Sheriff Fitzgerald accomplished that which was said could never be done and precipitated the collapse at Chicago of the notorious auto ring which kept the authorities of many states on the jump for years. With grim determination and fearless aggressiveness these two officials tackled the big job, undaunted by repeated failures, until they finally succeeded and won the admiration, not only of the people of Wabasha County, but of the officials of other places who assisted them in the difficult task. As a result, three men are now serving sentences in this state and nine other persons, including one woman, have recently been indicted in Chicago. A thoroughly patriotic American, Mr. Foley took an active and effective part in home war work. He served as county publicity chairman of all Liberty Loan drives, and local member of all Liberty Loan and War Savings Stamp drives; also as county chairman of the Christmas Red Cross drive of 1917; as draft board, and as one of the "four-minute men," making a great many war addresses throughout the state. His fraternal society affiliations are with the Ancient Order of Hibernians of Kellogg, Minn.; the Knights of Columbus, of Wabasha, in which order he has served as grand knight, two terms as district deputy, and as delegate in 1916 to the supreme council at Davenport, Iowa, and delegate in 1918 to the supreme council at New York City. On June 23, 1915, Mr. Foley was united in marriage with Ellen M. Brennan of Centralia, Penna. He and his wife are the parents of four children: Ellen Mary, born April 11, 1916; John R., born October 16, 1917; Robert Langdon, born February 17, 1919; and Catherine Langdon, born April 15, 1920. The family are members of St. Felix parish of the Catholic church in Wabasha.
Foley, Michael (page 295), well known for a number of years as one of the enterprising and successful farmers of Highland Township, but now living retired in Plainview, was born in Ireland, October 31, 1845, son of Jeremiah and Catherine (Murphy) Foley. He attended school in his native land, but seeking a wider field of opportunity than he could find there, in 1864, at the age of 19, he came to the United States. His first six years in this country were spent in railroad work in Michigan., Wisconsin and Nebraska. Then he came to Wabasha County, Minn., and engaged in farming, at first on rented land. Subsequently he bought 80 acres in section 354, Highland Township, on which a small house was standing, into which he moved. There he lived for ten years, at the end of which time he removed to an 80-acre farm in the same section, which he had purchased some time before. As he retained the original place, he thus found himself in possession of a quarter section of land, which he developed into an excellent farm, being a very enterprising and successful man in his vocation. He also increased his land holdings at intervals until he had 360 acres, all in section 35 except one quarter located in section 36. He followed general farming in all its branches, raising both grain and stock and doing considerable dairying. In 1914, having acquired an ample competence, he retired and took up his residence in Plainview, where he and his wife have a comfortable home and are surrounded by many old-time friends. The farm he sold to his sons Jeremiah and Thomas in 1918. Mr. Foley was married, July 16, 1876, to Mary Griffin, who was born in Ireland, in August, 1849, daughter of Thomas and Mary (Flanigan) Griffin. Her parents subsequently died in that county, which was their native land. To Mr. and Mrs. Foley nine children have been born: Ella, April 6, 1877, who died November 12, 1914; Patrick, born March 6, 1879; Mary, January 19, 1881; Jeremiah, December 31, 1883; Thomas, February 21, 1887; Katie, June 7, 1888; Agnes, July 2, 1889; Michael V., July 8, 1890, and John, July 24, 1891, who died May 14, 1910. The family are members of the Catholic church.
Ford, Edwin L. (page 546), for a number of years
a leading business man and prominent citizen of Mazeppa, was born in Madison
County, N. Y., in 1851, and was four years old when he accompanied his parents
to Mazeppa, Minn. Here he grew to manhood, as a boy attending the village
school, where he acquired the elements of knowledge. His education was supplemented
by an attendance of two or three years at the University of Minnesota, and
by a course at the Commercial College of Minneapolis, where he was graduated.
On returning home in 1873 he established with his father, Orville D. Ford,
a boot and shoe store, which was conducted under the firm name of E. L. Ford
& Co. This enterprise was started on a small scale, but grew in size,
and finally developed into a large general mercantile business, dry goods,
clothing, crockery, hats and caps, and other lines being added from time to
time. Later other parties became interested in the business, including Orville
G. Nichols, who when young had lived with the Fords, and later worked in the
store, and who in 1912, four years after Mr. Ford's death, bought out the
other partners, and became proprietor of the business. Mr. Ford died June
3, 1908. He was an excellent business man, a model citizen, and a devoted
husband and father. Besides, developing a large mercantile business above
mentioned, he also successfully operated a lumber yard, of which he was proprietor
at the time of his death. He was twice married: first in 1875 to Hattie Barnard,
of Minneapolis, who died June 28, 1881. In 1884 Mr. Ford married Annie L.
Fricke, a resident of Plainview, and daughter of Julius and Annette (Tebbens)
Fricke, who were natives of Germany, from which country they came to Plainview,
Minn., at an early date. In the Fricke family there were five children, one
son and four daughters. Of the five there are four now living, namely: August,
who married Mathew Owens of Humboldt, S. D.; Minnie, widow of J. H. O'Connell,
of Plainview, Minn.; Annie, widow of Edwin L. Ford, and A. J. Fricke, of Plainview.
By his second wife, Annie, Edwin L. Ford had three children: Paul L., Elizabeth
E., and Edwin H. Elizabeth E. is the wife of H. S. Fairley of Fairmont, Minn.
Edwin H. served two years in the U. S. Navy during the world war.
Ford, Joseph (page 545), pioneer of Mazeppa, was born in Delaware County, N. Y., in May, 1800. His father was a cloth-dresser, of whom he learned the business, and afterward moved to Madison County, N. Y., where he established and carried on the same business for a number of years. Subsequently he turned his attention to farming, which occupation he followed in his native state until 1855, in the fall of which year he came to Minnesota, locating on the site of Mazeppa. He at once pre-empted 160 acres of land in the north half of section 6, which he improved and for a number of years carried on farming operations, supervising his entire business in person until he was about 80 years of age, after which his son Orville D. took over its management. He died September 28, 1882. He was a highly esteemed member of the community, which he had done much to advance, having with his son, Orville D., platted the village of Mazeppa, including the water-power. He was a man of strong convictions, and with a reputation for probity and fair-dealing above reproach, and his life was that of a sincere Christian, a good neighbor and an active and useful citizen. He married Olive Lindsay, who died October 14, 1881, less than a year before his own demise. Their children were: Hattie, who died June 28, 1881; Devillo C., who died May 2, 1862; and Orton D., who is also deceased; Orville D., deceased; Adelia, widow of Louis B. Mathews of Lake City; Annette I. lives in Chicago, and Acsia, now Mrs. Wesley Kinney, of Lake City.
Ford, Orville D. (page 546), who with his father, Joseph, platted the Village of Mazeppa, was born in the Town of Lebanon, Madison County, N. Y., in August 1827. He acquired a common school education in his native town, where he resided until September, 1855, when he came to the site of Mazeppa, Minn. Here he pre-empted 160 acres of land in section 30. Subsequently he bought three eighties and settled on the south half of section 6. The land forming the site of the village, which he and his father platted, was purchased by them of Judge Welch of Red Wing, who owned it under the original patent. Orville D. Ford spent his life after coming to Minnesota, in Mazeppa and Wabasha. Besides carrying on a farm, he was engaged in general merchandise and milling, and when the Bank of Mazeppa was started he became one of its stockholders. For a number of years he served as county treasurer. From his purchase of three eighties he sold a number of town lots. In 1873, in connection with his son, Edwin L., he established a boot and shoe store under the firm name of E. L. Ford & Co., and together they developed the enterprise into a large and prosperous business, adding groceries, clothing, dry goods, hats and caps, and other lines to the original stock. He took a lively interest in the growth and welfare of the town and took an active part in shaping its destiny. He and an associate built and operated the first mill in Mazeppa. In 1880 he sold his interest in the mill and retired from business. He was the first president of the village council after its organization in 1856, and held the office of register of deeds for Wabasha County for five years. In 1858 he was elected to represent his district in the legislature of Minnesota and served until 1861, with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. He died in Mazeppa, May 9, 1909, honored and respected by the entire community and having been for more than half a century a prominent citizen of this county. Orville D. Ford was married in New York State, August 3, 1850, to Orille A. Day. The children born of this union were: Edwin L, Addie F., the last mentioned whom married, first, June 21, 1888, John C. Gilman, and secondly, May 18, 1897, William D. Kirkpatrick. Mrs. Orille A. Ford, wife of O. D. Ford, was a daughter of Marvin and Eliza (Dunham) Day, the father born in New York State December 26, 1802, and the mother June 30, 1805. He died March 17, 1888 and she, December 31, 1890. Their children were: Jerusha, born December 16, 1827; Orille A. (Mrs. O. D. Ford), born October 22, 1829; Cornelia E., May 3, 1831; Wallace W., March 23, 1833; Charles E., April 13, 1835; Betsey H., October 16, 1845 (died September 24, 1895), and Eliza, who is also deceased.
Ford, Paul L. (page 547), a prosperous man of Mazeppa, was born in this village, February 11, 1885, son of Edwin L. and Annie (Fricke) Ford. He was educated in the public schools and at Carlton College, Northfield, Minn. His early industrial experience was gained in his father's lumber yard, and during 1906-07 he was in the State of Washington. From 1908, the year of his father's death, the latter's estate was conducted by the administrator of the estate, who turned it over to Paul L. Ford in 1912, and the latter conducted it until 1915, when he sold it to Theo. Maas. Each spring and fall he is engaged in buying and selling produce. He also owns 130 acres of land within the city limits, which is operated by a tenant. Mr. Ford was married December 29, 1910, to Eva A. Franklin, daughter of George and Alice (Black) Franklin. Her parents came to Minnesota from New York and Illinois at an early day, settling in Mazeppa, where the father died. The mother is still living. In 1916 Mr. Ford erected a nice modern bungalow of seven rooms, in which he and his wife now make their home. They are people of wide acquaintance and popular members of Mazeppa society.
Foreman, George (page 296), who has built up a business in the purchase and sale of hides at Plainview, was born in East Prussia, July 1, 1871, son of Jacob and Rosa Foreman. He was one of a family of five children, three of whom are now deceased. One sister is still residing in Prussia. The subject of this sketch came to the United States in 1890, thirty years ago, his brother Joe having preceded him by six years. The latter died in Baltimore, and another brother, Simon, died in Chicago in 1918. George Foreman first settled in Hagerstown, Md., where he remained for two years. From there he went to New Hampton, Ia, where he engaged in buying hides and handling junk, and was thus occupied in that place for 14 years. In 1895, leaving his family in Iowa, he came to Plainview, and established a business here. He brought his family to Plainview June 5, 1909, since which time he has made this village his home. He was married in Berlin, East Prussia, to Pearl Stern, daughter of Fred and Toba Stern, who came to that German province from East Russia. Mrs. Foreman came to the United States three years after her marriage. She and her husband are the parents of three children: Fred, born April 24, 1896; Anna, November 10, 1901; and Sara, August 20, 1903. All reside with their parents. The son Fred served in the recent world war, enlisting in the 112th Ammunition Train, Co. D. 37th Division, on April 8, 1918. He was ten months in France serving 45 days at the front, and was honorably discharged at Camp Grant, April 16, 1919. He is now engaged with his father in the hide business. Both are Blue Lodge Masons and belong also to the Odd Fellows.
Foster, Alonzo P. (page 259), member of the Territorial Legislature, farmer, stock fancier, town builder and educator, was for many years a commanding figure in Wabasha County life. He was a man of good principle, sound judgment, and one of those men who are of benefit to any community in which they live. He will live in history as one of the founders of the historic but now deserted Greenville, and as the platter of additions to Winona and Plainview. In the story of the economic development of the state, he will take his place as one of the pioneer breeders of fine stock. At one time he owned one of the best Jersey herds in the state, sold prize cattle throughout the Mississippi Valley, and won premiums at the Columbian Exposition at Chicago in 1892-93 as well as at State and County Fairs. Alonzo P. Foster was born in Orange, Orange County, Vermont, May 5, 1816, son of Lemuel and Cloe (Powers) Foster, and descended through several notable New England families from Scotch ancestry. He was the youngest of nine children, all of whom lived to an advanced age, and all of whom he survived. His parents were early settlers of Orange, where with great industry and economy, and with many privations they conquered the forest and secured for themselves and their children a farmstead of stony, ungenerous soil. The father dying while the subject of this sketch was yet in his early youth, and the elder brothers going forth in their early manhood to make homes of their own, it fell upon Alonzo, as he attained suitable years, to assist his mother and the other children, in wresting a livng from the backwoods farm. Being strong of limb and of industrious habits, he succeeded in this endeavor and in time came into possession of the place. The educational opportunities of the neighborhood were limited, but being a natural student, with keen observation and acute perceptions, he acquired a fund of information that placed him far ahead of his neighbors. In 1854, he decided to seek broader opportunities in a wider arena. He had some idea of devoting his life to the educational field, and with that end in view became preceptor of the Troy Conference Academy, at West Poultney, Vermont, over which his cousin, Rev. Jason F. Walker, presided. But interested as he was in education he determined to try his fortunes in agricultural fields in the great Northwest. Accordingly in the spring of 1855 he came to Minnesota, and located on the southeast quarter of section 11, in Plainview Township, this county. This was within the Half Breed tract and was not open to settlers, but afterward arrangements were made by which the squatters perfected their titles. With three others, Mr. Foster platted the village of Greenville, at one time a rival of Plainview, but now remembered only in the annals of the early settlers. His farming operations, however, proved more profitable than the village project, and he early accumulated a competence. In 1864 he sold his holdings here, and decided to make another venture at town building by platting an addition to Winona, which is still known as Foster's addition. In 1878, he returned to Plainview, and platted an addition to the village. In this addition he made his home, at the same time managing his large farm in section 36, Oakwood Township, where he specialized in Jersey cattle and Norman-Percheron horses. From its foundation he was active in the affairs of the Greenwood Prairie Old Settlers' Association, served as one of its officers, and delivered some of its most eloquent and valuable speeches. After a long and useful life, he died at Winona, December 17, 1897. In politics Mr. Foster was first a Whig, later joined the Abolitionists, and still later became a Republican. In 1855 he sat as a member of the last Minnesota Territorial Legislature. Of him it has been said: "As a citizen he was a bright example in every way, temperate and moral at every point. In all matters of popular and higher education he was an earnest and constant promoter, and an ever-ready help and contributor to every good enterprise. He was tolerant of every man's thoughts and beliefs, even when opposed to his own; dignified in his dealings with men and affairs, honest in all his transactions, and abounding in helpfulness, benevolence and charity, even to the limit of his personal means. Mr. Foster married Harriet Thompson, a native of Orange County, Vermont. She died in 1851, leaving one daughter, Ella, who married Thomas G. Bolton.
Foster, Charles O. (page 606), an active and prosperous farmer, residing in section 34, Watopa Township, was born in this township July 13, 1885, son of Samuel E. and Alice A. (Murray) Foster. His parents have for many years resided on a neighboring farm, having settled here 36 years ago at the time of their marriage, and the family is now one of the best known and most influential in the township. Charles O. Foster's elementary education was obtained chiefly in the district school. Later he attended school in Plainview village for two years, and subsequently took a business course of one year in the Rochester Business College. He worked for his father until 1907, in which year he rented the home farm operating it until 1915. He then bought his present farm of 120 acres in section 34, Watopa, and has improved it extensively by erecting the house, barn, outbuildings and silo. He is engaged in truck farming and stock raising, giving his chief attention to Holstein cattle and Poland-China swine, and his operations are being conducted on a profitable basis. For five years he has served as clerk of school district No. 82. Mr. Foster was married June 30, 1915, to Lena Waldburger, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Waldburger. Her parents were natives of Switzerland who came to America in 1884, settling in St. Paul, Minn., where the father worked in a furniture factory. In 1894 he moved with his family to Wabasha, and now resides there, being a section foreman on the C. M. & St. P. railway. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Waldburger were: Lena, Margaret, Anna, Rose, Fred, Magdalene and John. Anna and John are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are the parents of three children: Elmer M., born August 1, 1916; Robert C., born August 6, 1918, and a daughter, born September 2, 1920. Mr. Foster and his family are affiliated religiously with the Methodist Episcopal church.
Foster, Ernest V. (page 645), a farmer located in section 33, Watopa Township, is a native of this township, having been born on his parents' farm, lying chiefly in section 33, on April 13, 1887, son of Samuel E. and Alice A. (Murray) Foster. He was educated in the schools of this township and of Plainview village, and being trained to agricultural pursuits on the home farm, worked for his father until reaching the age of 21 years. He then began farming on his own account, renting a farm from his uncle, which he operated for a year. After that he worked in a pop factory for eight months, then rented the Burnham farm for a year, and after that the Starr farm for the same length of time, all these farms being in Watopa Township. At the end of that time Mr. Foster moved to Hudson, Wis., where he had charge of a dairy farm for four years. He next spent four years in Remer, Minn., where he engaged in buying stock and also filled engagements as an auctioneer. In 1919 he returned to Watopa Township, Wabasha County, and bought his present farm of 112 1/2 acres in section 33, where he expects to make his future home. He raises pure bred live stock, giving particular attention to pure bred Duroc-Jersey swine, a branch of the business into which he is entering on a large scale, and as an auctioneer conducts farm sales. Mr. Foster was a member of the town board of Remer two years, and also acted as town treasurer, showing public spirited activity in local affairs. He belongs fraternally to the Modern Woodmen of America. On August 7, 1908, he was united in marriage with Frances White, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert White of Watopa Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Foster two children have been born: Howard W., November 25, 1910, and Doris W., December 25, 1914. The family are affiliated religiously with the M. E. church.
Foster, James Emery (page 318), manufacturer of cement blocks and other cement products, at Plainview, was born in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, Minn., February 11, 1858, son of William Henry and Emeline (Griffith) Foster. The father was a native of Ohio, and the mother of New York State, but both were reared in Ohio, in which state they were married. William Henry Foster preceded his wife to Minnesota, coming here in 1856 to look up a location for a home. The land he selected was in section 36, Plainview Township, on or near the southeast corner, which is also the corner where the three counties of Wabasha, Winona and Olmsted touch each other. His wife joined him in the following year, and for a short time Mr. Foster worked on his farm. Instead of continuing in that occupation, however, he took up his trade of carpenter and contractor, which he followed subsequently for most of his life. In 1866 he moved to the village of Elba, in Winona County, where he spent nine years. He next took a homestead in Clark County, Wisconsin, which he later sold, moving thence to Cumberland, Barron County, that state, where he died March 10, 1893. His wife, who survived him, died in Wabasha County in October, 1917. They were the parents of nine children, six sons and three daughters. Four of them are now deceased, namely: Melissa, who married Daniel Hall, and died in Iowa in 1911; Charles, who died in 1893; John in 1886, and Alice, who died at the age of two and a half years in Ohio. The living are: Sam, who resides on a farm in Winona County; Laura, wife of William Stegman, residing in Seattle, Wash; James E., of Plainview; Amos, who is farming in Clark County, Wisconsin; and Julius, who lives in Washington. James E. Foster was educated in the common schools of Wabasha County. At the age of ten years he left home and began working for others, doing chores for his board and continuing his attendance at school, his work for awhile being done out of school hours. As he grew older he became a regular farm hand, drawing the usual wages. In the winter time he worked in the woods lumbering. He also learned the trades of carpenter and mason, at which he worked when not engaged in farming or lumbering. On September 14, 1887, he was married at Portage, Wis., to Christina S. Curtis, daughter of Charles and Harriet Curtis, who were natives of New York and Massachusetts respectively. Mr. Foster and wife located on a dairy farm of 80 acres in the township of Colby, Wis., on May 4, 1888, and on that farm they resided for three and a half years. In October, 1891, they moved to Columbia County, Wis., where they followed dairy farming until 1897, when Mr. Foster gave up that occupation and took up mason and concrete work as a business. On September 20, 1899, he bought a home in Poynette, Columbia County, and moving there continued work at his trade. On April 27, 1904, he bought the first concrete block machine in the state, and the second machine sold after being patented. In the fall of 1907 he built a concrete block manufacturing plant in Lodi, Wis., and in March, 1908, sold to Caldwell and Christler, operating the Poynette machine until the fall of 1909. He then moved the machine to Minnesota and built a house for S. E. Foster on Hoosier Ridge. On June 10, 1910, he moved to Plainview and established his concrete business here, beginning the manufacture of cement blocks and other building products in a factory that he has since developed into a thriving institution. His machinery is operated by steam powere and a large part of his product is sold in local territory. The enterprise is an important one, being one of the few successful manufacturing plants in this agricultural county. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are the parents of four children: Charles H., born March 18, 1889; Christina Elmira, April 11, 1893; Edith E., April 6, 1896; and Ray E., October 11, 1898. Charles H. resides in Plainview. Christina Elmira is the wife of Roy Batty, of Decora, Columbia County, Wis. Edith and Roy are residing at home, the former being a teacher in the public school. The family are members of the Methodist church, and Mr. Foster belongs also to the Woodmen and the Equitable Fraternal Union. Charles and Harriet Curtis, parents of Mr. James E. Foster, were pioneers of their locality in Wisconsin, arriving there at an early day, and hauling their supplies from Milwaukee by ox team. They remained on the farm they selected until the death of Mr. Curtis, April 14, 1902. His wife is still living and makes her home with her daughter Martha in Michigan. They had five children, three of whom are now deceased: William H. died in November, 1859, aged five years; Lupton W., born September 21, 1856, died May 12, 1905; Francis E., born May 10, 1860, died May 8, 1898. The two living are Christina S., born September 18, 1867, now Mrs. James E. Foster; and Martha E., born January 3, 1873, who lives in Michigan.
Foster, Samuel E. (page 673), one of the leading farmers of Watopa Township, was born in the town of Menter, Lake County, Ohio, December 28, 1851, son of William Henry and Emeline C. (Griffith) Foster. His great grandparents on the paternal side were natives of Wales, another strain of Welsh blood being derived through the Griffith family, and his maternal grandmother was a Skinner. His mother's family settled in Youngstown, Ohio, where there is a considerable Welsh colony, though Emeline C. Griffith was born in New York State, as was also William H. Foster, her husband. The latter went to Ohio to learn the moulder's trade, and remained in that state from the early forties until 1863. After working for some time as a moulder, he conducted a spoke and hub factory for some time in Lake County, Ohio. In 1856 he came with his family to Olmsted County, Minnesota, where he took a tract of wild land and developed it into a farm. Subsequently he sold that farm and took another in Clark County, Wisconsin, where he remained for five or six years. Again he sold, going to Barron County, Wisconsin, where he farmed until his death in March, 1893. He was about 70 years old, having been born in 1823. His wife, who was born in 1828, died in 1917, at the age of 89 years. They were the parents of six sons and three daughters, of which children five are now living. The record in brief is as follows: Charles, who married Charlotte Pierce, died at the age of 49 years; Melissa, who married Daniel Hall of Fillmore County, Minn., died about nine years ago at the age of 63; Alice died in infancy; Samuel E. subject of this sketch, was the next in order of birth; Laura is the wife of Herman Stegeman of Seattle, Wash; Emery lives in Plainview, Minn; Amos in Colby, Clark County, Wis.; John died unmarried, and Julius, who married Sarah Thornton is now a resident of Colfax, Wash. Samuel E. Foster acquired his education in a district school in Olmsted County. Until arriving at the age of 14 years he assisted his father on the home farm, and then began working out, sending his money home. He followed various kinds of farming, including threshing, working by the month and day, until 1884 when he started in for himself, buying the first "eighty" of his present place of 400 acres, most of which lies in section 33, Watopa Township. He has erected all the buildings and fences the entire farm, when he first took possession there being only a log cabin on the place. The original part of his present house was built 27 years ago, and Mr. Foster has since put up three additions to it, transforming it into a long and commodious structure. The front part, facing the road, is constructed of cement blocks, the other parts of the building being frame. His first barn was a straw shed, which has long since been replaced with a large and substantial structure. As a general farmer and stock raiser Mr. Foster established a good record and is now in comfortable circumstances. He increased the area of his farm to 480 acres, and on his retirement from active work in 1907, rented it to his son Charles, who operated the farm until 1915, when Mr. Foster rented it to his son-in-law, Nobel Evans, who is still conducting it, Mr. Foster and his wife retaining their residence on the place. He is a stockholder in the creamery at Weaver and in the Greenwood Prairie Telephone Co. Formerly for two years he served on the school board of district No. 82. Fraternally he belongs to the M. W. A. and he and his family are affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Foster was married, Janury 9, 1883, to Alice Arvilla Murray, who was born in Cook's Valley, near Kellogg, Minn., daughter of John and Marie Elizabeth (Klausen) Murray, her parents being early settlers in that locality. Her father was a native of Scotland, after coming to this country, settled first in New York, subsequently moving to Wisconsin and helping to build the first sawmill in Eau Claire. Later he came to Lake City, Wabasha County, Minn. His wife came to this county in 1855, and they were married, December 12, 1858, after a short residence in Wabasha making their home in Lake City. They had three children, of whom two grew to manhood: Ovid, of Plainview, and Alice A., wife of Samuel E. Foster. She was born December 12, 1860, and when six months old accompanied her parents to a farm next to the present Foster property. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have had four children, all of whom are now living, as follows: Charles, born July 13, 1885, now a farmer, who married Lena Walberger of Wabasha, and has three children, Elmer, Robert and an infant as yet unnamed; Ernest Verne, born April 13, 1887, who married Frances White, and has two children, Howard and Doris; Ethel Elizabeth, born October 15, 1893, who married Noble Evans, now living on the Foster farm, and has one child, Wayne Foster; and Inez Mabel, born March 20, 1889, who is the wife of Frank Fritzloff, a farmer residing near Plainview.
Freer, Warner Whitney (page 304), one of those sturdy pioneers who found their way to the Upper Mississippi region in the early days and settled on that rich stretch of land now known as Greenwood Prairie, was a familiar figure throughout this region for some six decades, and took his full share in its growth and development. A man of broad and tolerant views and of genuine goodness of character, he was a friend beloved by all. His always pleasant and genial disposition, with kind words for all, endeared him to all, young and old alike, and his presence was always an inspiration. He was held in high regard by three generations and his life was a part of the community's history. Warner W. Whitney was born on a farm in Seneca County, N. Y., June 17, 1828, the son of William and Mabel (Whitney) Freer, and descended from substantial stock on both sides of the house. As a boy he moved with his parents to Trumbull County, Ohio, and there he was reared to manhood, and married. In 1856 they determined to come to Wabasha County, and locate on Greenwood Prairie, where several friends had preceded them. Crossing the state of Illinois by rail, they reached Galena, and there boarded the old "War Eagle" for the trip up the Mississippi. They disembarked at Winona for a few hours, and then continued up the river to Wabasha, where they landed their goods. From there they made the trip to Greenwood Prairie by ox team. Arriving here, they began, under the most primitive circumstances, to establish their home, enduring many hardships, but meeting all discouragements with staunch hearts and undaunted faith and fortitude. After the outbreak of the Civil War, he enlisted in the First Minnesota Battery, Light Artillery, with which organization he first went to Ft. Snelling and then to Memphis, Tenn., where he remained for some two years. After his discharge he returned to Greenwood Prairie, and for several years continued to develop his farm. In 1869 he moved to Plainview, and here established the first dray line. His one-horse dray, drawn by a handsome sorrel mare, with the proprietor himself calling greeting to farmers and villagers alike, and smiling indulgently on the small boys who sought free rides, constituted a sight which was apart of the daily life of Plainview and one that will be long remembered. In 1900 he retired. The afternoon years of his life were spent with his son, J. W. Freer, of Winona, and his daughter, Mrs. G. E. Crossman of Wessington, S. D. He died at the home of the latter November 25, 1917, and is laid at rest in Plainview, among his old associates. Mr. Freer was married at Warren, Ohio, December 8, 1853, to Lucy Maria Bowen, of that place. This union was blessed with seven children: Jennie, wife of George E. Crossman, of Wessington, S. D.; Effie, wife of Henry D. Wedge, of Plainview; J. W., of Winona; May, wife of E. G. Dodge, of Santa Barbara, Calif.; Grace, wife of G. W. Smith, of St. Paul; Hortense, wife of W. J. Thompson, of Orting, Wash.; and Jeanette, who died at 18 years of age. Mrs. Freer died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Crossman, in Wessington, S. D., six weeks after her husband, by whose side she is laid to rest.
Freese, John (page 756), a prominent representative of the farming interests of West Albany Township, where he has resided for over 40 years, was born in Hanover, Germany, March 6, 1866, son of Joseph Bernhardt and Mary Elizabeth Freese. As a babe he accompanied his parents, together with a sister and four brothers, to the United States, journeying on a sailing-vessel to New Orleans, and thence up the river to Bellevue, Iowa, where he attended the common school, and where the family remained until the fall of 1879, when they came to Wabasha County, Minn. Here his education was supplemented by three months in the Sisters' school at Wabasha, and was afterwards associated with his father on the home farms, first on Wabasha Hill, and then in section 13, West Albany, where he now lives, until the father's death in 1902. He then bought the farm, which his father had rented, and has since remained its proprietor, carrying on general farming and successfully breeding Shorthorn cattle and Duroc-Jersey hogs. The farm, which is now one of the best in the township, has been made so largely by his own exertions. It contains in all 216 acres, of which 100 acres are improved land in section 13, and the other 56 acres timber land on the Zumbro bottoms, near by. The original buildings were poor, the house being partly of frame and partly of log construction. Mr. Freese has replaced it with a large two-story frame house, consisting of an upright and wing, and has built a good frame barn, a machine-shed, double corn crib, hog house and other necessary structures. He raises from 40 to 50 head of cattle annually and about the same number of hogs, and is doing a prosperous business. His operating equipment includes the usual farm machinery and some eight or ten horses, and he owns a fine Oakland auto. In politics Mr. Freese was formerly a Republican, but has joined the Non-partisan League. He has served his township several terms as supervisor, is still serving in that office, and has been a member of the local school board for years. In addition to his direct farming interests, he is one of the directors of the Theilman State Bank, is treasurer of the Farmers' Elevator Co. of Theilman, and is a stockholder in the Terminal Packing Co. of St. Paul, and in the Wabasha "Leader" (now his party's organ), and of the "Daily Star" of Minneapolis. He is also a member of the Equitable Fraternal Union of St. Paul. Mr. Freese was married October 7, 1902, to Augusta Markus, who was born in Trout Creek Valley, Glasgow Township, this county, June 29, 1876, daughter of Henry and Mary (Krull) Markus. Of the six children born to him and his wife, one died in infancy. Those living, with their birth dates, are as follows: Marie C., February 14, 1904; Gertrude, March 8, 1908; Arthur J., March 19, 1910; Elizabeth B., May 16, 1912; and Clarence J., May 26, 1914. Mr Freese was reared a Catholic, and he and his family are members of St. Joseph's parish at Theilman, he also being a trustee of the parish.
Freese, Joseph Bernhardt (page 756), who settled 36 years ago in West Albany Township, where he began agricultural improvements that have since resulted in a good farm now conducted by his son John, was born in Germany, February 23, 1830. He grew to manhood in his native land and was there married. In 1866, with his wife, Mary Elizabeth, and six children ~ five sons and one daughter, the youngest, John, being then only eight months old ~ he took passage on a sailing vessel for New Orleans, reaching that port safely, and then came by boat up the Mississippi river to Bellevue, Iowa, which place the family reached November 14, the same year, owing $60 for transportation. In his native land Mr. Freese had been a farmer, and in Bellevue he engaged in ordinary labor, whatever he could find to do. He and his family remained there until the fall of 1879, when he came to Wabasha County, Minn., locating on a farm on Wabasha Hill, three and a half miles from Wabasha village, which he rented from Charles Roemer. There he remained four years, engaged in agricultural pursuits. In the fall of 1884 Mr. Freese rented the Henry Curry farm in section 13, West Albany Township, to which he and his family moved. He continued to operate it until 1889, when he retired, and it was purchased by his son, John, the present owner. Mr. Freese died January 9, 1902. His wife, who was born October 24, 1838, passed away only three days before him. They were the parents of eight children: Clement, now of Breckenridge, Minn.; Bernhardt, a retired farmer living in Wabasha; Theresa, now Mr. Bernhardt Kreye of Pepin Township; Joseph, a prosperous farmer of West Albany Township; Henry, who is farming in Glasgow Township; August, a farmer in West Albany Township; Mary, now deceased; and John, residing on the old home farm.
Freese, Joseph H. (page 626), who for the last nine years has been conducting a good-sized farm in Watopa Township, was born in Greenfield Township, Wabasha County, Minn., November 25, 1885, son of Clem and Sophia (Grass) Freese. The parents were natives of Germany, where Clem Freese was born in 1856. He came to the United States in the early sixties, at the age of seven years, settling in Iowa, whence he moved to Wabasha County, Minn., in 1885. Here he bought 160 acres of land in Watopa Township, later another tract of the same size, and afterwards one of 98 acres, making a total of 418 acres. On that farm he resided until 1911, in which year he moved to Breckenridge, Minn., and is now living on a farm which he purchased there. He aided in the development of Watopa Township, improving his place here by the erection of good buildings and bringing most of his land under cultivation. His marriage to Sophia Grass, who was born in Germany, took place February 15, 1884. They became the parents of 11 children: Joseph, Mary, Theresa, Bernard, Anestasia, Frances, Clara, Albert, Lloyd, Lawrence and James. Mary is now Mrs. Lawrence Schanhara; Theresa is the wife of A. L. Flock; Anestasia is the widow of Ben Wild; and Frances the wife of Patrick Curren. Mrs. Sophia Freeze, the mother of these children, died April 15, 1917. Joseph H. Freese acquired his education in the district school in Watopa Township and the St. Felix high school at Wabasha. He was reared on his parents' farm and worked for his father until 1911. He then began his career as an independent farmer by renting his present farm of 418 acres in sections 4, 8 and 9, Watopa Township, which he expects to purchase later. Among his contemplated improvements for this summer (1920) are the erection of a good silo. His operations as a general farmer and stock raiser have been carried on energetically and intelligently and he is making good financial progress. For 10 years he has been a member of the school board of district No. 69. In religion he is a Catholic and he belongs to the order of Knights of Columbus. Mr. Freese was married February 15, 1911, to Cecelia Plein, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Plein, and the children born of this union are as follows: Edwin C. January 8, 1912; Leona F., May 30 1913; James J., September 2, 1916; and Viola E., November 16, 1918.
John Plein, father of Mrs. Joseph H. Freese, was born in Highland township, Wabasha county, Minn., August 12, 1864. After growing to manhood he farmed in Highland Township until 1905, and then moved to Kellogg, where he and his wife, whose maiden name was Anna Schoweiler, now reside. They have had four children: Cecelia, Theresa (Mrs. John Schierts), Ferdinand, and Clarence.
Fremo, Edwin S. (page 355), a representative farmer of Oakwood Township, operating 218 acres in section 15 and 22, was born in Lake City, Wabasha County, Minn., and acquired his education in the district schools, and subsequently took up farming with his uncle, Evan C. Fremo, with whom he was associated until the latter's death on April 6, 1918, when he inherited his present farm, of which 160 acres lies in section 25 and 40 acres in section 22. He has made a number of improvements on the place, having erected barns and other buildings and built fences. He practices general farming but gives his chief attention to stock raising, breeding Durham cattle and Duroc-Jersey swine. Progressive and enterprising, he is a member of the Millville Co-operative Shipping Association, and takes an active interest in all projects for the good of the general community. Mr. Fremo is as yet unmarried, his mother keeping house for him. Their religious affiliations are with the Swedish Lutheran church.
Fremo, Evan C. (page 355), who for 46 years was a well known and respected citizen of Oakwood Township, where he was engaged in the farming industry, was born at Melhus, Thronjhem, Norway, March 20, 1841, and emigrated to this country in 1870, going first to Menomonie, Wis. After spending two years there he came to Minnesota, settling on the farm in Oakwood, which was his subsequent home until his death on April 6, 1918. Through industry and perseverance he built up a good farm of 218 acres located in sections 15 and 22, being assisted in its operation for a number of years by his nephew, Edwin S. Fremo, to whom he left the property. For several years he had been in poor health, and when the end came it was sudden, as he was found dead in bed on the morning of Saturday of April 6. Mr. Fremo was married in 1879 to Mrs. Sarah Olson, who died on February 28, 1900, and whom he had survived 18 years. Mr. Fremo left no children. His funeral services were held in the M. E. church in Oakwood, and he was laid to rest in the cemetery of that religious organization. He was a man highly esteemed and of large acquaintance throughout this part of the county. Besides his nephew above mentioned, he was survived by two brothers, Ole C. Fremo, of Hartland, Minn., and one who still resides in Norway; also two sisters, Miss Ellen Fremo, of Aberdeen, S. D., and Mrs. Christ Erickson, of Long Prairie, Minn.
French, Andrew (page 248), a former citizen of Plainview, who was a potent factor in the organization and development of various local enterprises, and who is now engaged in a wider sphere of action as a land dealer, residing in St. Paul, was born in Green Lake County, Wisconsin, near Markesan, December 10, 1859. His parents, D. R. and Emily (Pond) French, were natives respectively of Vermont and New York. Andrew was four years old when he accompanied them to Wabasha county, Minnesota, the family settling on a farm of 160 acres on the famous Greenwood Prairie, in Plainview Township. There he was reared to manhood, acquiring a district and public school education, and under his father's mentorship becoming an excellent farmer. After relinquishing his studies, he taught school for nine years in the rural districts of the county, and for five summers during that period was engaged in farming in Big Stone County. In the spring of 1885 he became associated with his father as a partner in the home farm, carrying on general agriculture, and this association was continued harmoniously for many years, or until the father's death in 1909, when Andrew became sole owner of the estate. This farm he sold in 1912. In the meanwhile he had become interested in other business enterprises. He was one of the organizers of the Plainview Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance Company, which he served as secretary from 1889 until December, 1908. Always progressive, especially in agriculture, he was one of the first in the community to use the silo, and was probably the first dairyman of the county to use upon his farm the modern cream separator. He also helped to organize the Plainview Co-operative Creamery Company, serving as its secretary and manager from 1899 to 1908. In 1902 Mr. French moved to Plainview, where he at once became one of the leading spirits in the affairs of the village, being one of the organizers of the Greenwood Prairie Telephone Company, of which in 1903 he was elected secretary and manager, which positions he held until 1908. He was also a member of the board of directors of the First National Bank of Plainview, and served as its vice president for two years. Aside from these business enterprises, he rendered efficient service in public office, being a member for several years, and chairman part of the time, of the Plainview Township board of supervisors. He also served for two years as mayor of Plainview, and also served his legislative district in the State Legislature in the sessions of 1891 and 1898. In December, 1908, Mr. French was appointed by Governor Johnson as State Dairy and Food Commissioner, and, moving to St. Paul, performed the duties of that office for two years. In 1911 he purchased large tracts of land in Cass County, Minnesota, and engaged in the land business, with offices at No. 345 Endicott Building, St. Paul. By enterprise and honest dealing he has built up a large trade as head of the Clover Belt Land Company, and is realizing satisfactory financial returns. He is a member of the St. Paul Association of Commerce and is widely known and respected as one of the leading business men of the state capital. Mr. French was married, March 5, 1885, to Adelia Struble, daughter of Stephen and Emily (Graves) Struble, of Plainview. He and his wife are the parents of two children: Stanton Graves, born January 2, 1896, and Stephen Rollin, born August 14, 1901. Stanton Graves, who was a student at the Central high school, St. Paul, in May, 1917, entered the navy of the United States, and is still in the service at the Great Lakes Station, Illinois. Stephen Rollin, who was graduated from the Central high school in the class of 1919, is now a student at the Minnesota State University. Mr. French and his family are members and loyal supporters of the St. Paul Universalist church, which he is serving in the office of treasurer. The family home is located at No. 2117 Dayton Avenue, St. Paul.
French, Daniel R. (page 247), now passed away, but who for 45 years was an honored citizen of Plainview Township, one whose death left a void in the community not easily filled, was born in Mt. Holly, Rutland County, Vermont, March 31, 1828. When he was nine years old his parents moved to Warren County, Pennsylvania. There he received a thorough education, and in 1848 was married to Emily P. Bond. In 1851 they moved to Green Lake County, Wisconsin, where they remained until 1864 engaged in farming. In that year they came to Minnesota and bought the farm in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, three miles east of Plainview village, on which they made their permanent home. There Mrs. French died in 1894. She was a high minded woman, a devoted wife and mother and true Christian, showing her faith by her works, and was loved and respected by everyone. Mr. French survived his wife about 15 years, continuing his residence on the old homestead. He took an active interest in all public affairs, and, having the full confidence of his fellow citizens, was often called to positions of responsibility, the duties of which he performed with fidelity and efficiency. He served many years on the board of supervisors. He opposed on principle bonding the town for railroad purposes, and it was due to the persistent opposition of himself and one or two neighbors that the bonds were finally defeated in the courts and the town relieved of the great burden. In politics Mr. French was independent, in religion liberal. Of upright character and sterling worth, he had firm convictions, and his influence was ever on the side of right, as it was given him to see the right. His neighbors and children bear witness to his kindness and constancy in every relation of life, and his memory will live in the hears of those who knew him. He and his wife were the parents of twelve children, seven of whom are now living: Corwin of Orland, Cal,' Hayden of Ortonville, Minn.; Andrew of St. Paul; Mrs. Florence Carpenter of Milaca, Minn.; George W. of Carlton, Oregon; Mrs. Emily Peake of Remer, Minn.; and Mrs. Horense Douglass of Plainview.
Fricke, A. J. (page 271), was born February 22, 1864, at Plainview, Wabasha County, Minn. He is of German parentage. He has grown up with the town, and neither he nor the town have grown to be very large. From babyhood until about 12 years of age he was in very poor health; so was the town. Then they both began to get well and started to grow. The doctor said he could not live, as his head was too large, and the people said the town had no head at all; but leave that as you will, they both grew. He wears a 7 1/8 hat at the present writing, and the town is estimated at 1,500 population, so both have survived. His boyhood days were spent in going to school, fishing, and wishing he had a gun. He has stood and watched the countless thousands of pigeons fly over this place, and driven the prairie chicken from her nest on the ground now called Posz Addition, and the spot where John Keough resides was a great promenade for them in the spring. He has seen ducks shot on what was called Silver Lake, now the grand stand and ball park occupy the same lake bed. He has carried wheat bundles together for A. J. Foster on the ground where William Lyons and Dr. Smith reside. He has seen them wash sheep and baptize people in the same swimming hole at the Whitewater on the same Sunday. He has seen 25 to 40 games of chuck-your-luck and poker going on in Plainview right back of the old post office building on a Sunday afternoon. Plainview was wide open in those days, but not disorderly. The boys were all lumberjacks and spent their money for the things they wanted. Wages were $3 to $3.50 or $4.50 a day in harvest, but not for six or eight hours work. He has watched the crooked politician for 40 years or more, and there is little change in their methods; the only thing that he can see is that they keep within the law. He was a great lover of the National pastime and played for many years on the home team. He can remember the first game of ball he ever witnessed, and most of the players, 47 years ago or better. They were Charles Donaldson, Sr., Jerry Baldwin, Sell Washburn, Theo. Washburn, George Smith, Frank Halleck, George Fuller, and one more whom he cannot remember. The ball park was where Adolph Stoltz now resides. Their uniforms were red flannel pants and white or grey shirts. He cannot remember as to the caps. The next team was: Lon Pomeroy, catcher; Ernie Eddy and Charles Hardy, pitchers; George Purvis, first base; F. Wilson, shortstop; J. Cline, second base; H. Thurston, third base; George Huntley, left field; A. Maxwell, center field; John Vincent (colored), right field. It is sad to look back and wonder where the old bunch have gone-Leo Redding, Charles and Bert Potter, Newton Groves, Albert Reifkogel, Grant Norton, William Giem. Some of them have joined the "big top," and perhaps the rest are playing one-night stands, we cannot tell. But, God bless them wherever they are. Oh, for a reunion of the old bunch, just one more sociable at the old school hall. But not for us; it has passed for all time, and we can only see it in fancy. In politics Mr. Fricke is and has been a Democrat, casting his first vote for Grover Cleveland. He was married, February 22, 1890, to Jennie Dufield of Plainview. To them were born three children: John, Jessie and Florence. John is now an electrician at Rochester; Jessie a teacher at Jefferson, Minn., and Florence still at home.
Fricke, Julius L. (page 272), was born September 21, 1829, in the province of Hanover, Germany, near Hamburg. In 1852 he immigrated to America, landing at New York, where he engaged in the trunk and bag business, working for John A. Ketrick, Factory at No. 9 Thomas street, office corner of Wall and Broadway. On October 5, 1853, he was married to Annetta Tebbens. He continued to follow his trade in New York until the fall of 1857, when he and his family, consisting of his wife and two children, came to Wabasha, Minn., landing there October 28, 1857, from the steamboat Northern Light. With his savings, consisting of gold coin-the amount does not matter-he purchased a lot in what is now known as South Wabasha, erected a small house with boards running up and down, and battens to cover the tracks, and in this he prepared to pass the winter of 1857-8. Leaving his wife and children, he walked to Danlect, Wis., where he was employed at Willson & Tainter, lumbermen. Returning in the spring of 1858 to Wabasha, he worked at paper-hanging and upholstering, opening a small shop on Pembroke street, on the spot or very near to the site of the telephone exchange. There was little work and no money and times were very hard, but I have often heard him say that he was very poor but did not know it. He continued by saying we were all poor in South Wabasha, but we managed to get along. Then came the half-breed script, and he was compelled to give up all his possessions, meager as they were, to General Sharpe, as he was called at that time. But through the influence of Mr. Oliver Cratte (God bless his memory), Sharpe consented to let the "Dutchman" stay if he would make him a fine riding-bridle and quilt his English riding-saddle with buckskin. This Mr. Fricke consented to do and thereby received title to his home. Mr. Fricke has often told me that Mr. Cratte was the best man that he ever came in contact with. In the spring of 1860 Mr. Fricke and family came to Plainview, landing here with everything on one wagon, (owned and driven by Peter Nelson, another of God's good men). He and his family arrived in Plainview, June 28, 1860. It was raining, and the mud was as bad and sticky as it is this day (November 10, 1919). But nothing in the way of pioneer life could stop the people in those days. They turned out with the Golden Rule ever before them, and thanks to the kindness of the dear old mothers of those days, Plainview gradually became a settlement, and then a town. Everyone was happy and poor. One of the things long to be remembered and never forgotten was the sure sign of spring directly in front of Mr. Fricke's harness shop, and exactly in the center of the village. This was a spot of earth that would dry out sooner than any other part of the street. Just as soon as the spot bore evidence of dry dirt, one could look out and see a crowd of men standing around it-George R. Hall, William S. Baxter, big Charles Sargent, Hollis Hall, James Butts, High Butts, William N. Y. Robinson, Dan Sweeze, William Hardy, John Bingham, and many more. First on the program-jumping, then wrestling, and as the dry spot widened, pitching horse shoes; then foot races, 100 yards; and I wish to state that it took a very good man to put George Hall on his back, out-jump Hollis Hall, or defeat William Hardy at the horse-shoe game. The crowd of interested spectators was very enthusiastic, and, as for number, everyone was there except the women. They were busy looking after their youngsters, for in those days mothers had to make their shirts and pants out of Dad's old ones, and we kept the dear old hands busy patching, darning and washing. Mr. Fricke was a man who had very little chance to attend school outside of the regular Lutheran teaching preceding confirmation; but while in New York he did attend Cooper's Institute at night, walking five miles to do so. He mastered the English language, as we called it, in reading and writing; then, as he advanced in that, he subscribed for magazines and papers. Books were purchased freely, if they suited, but never novels or stories. He never forsook his native language, as he was a constant reader of the New York Statz Zeitung for over 40 years; and the Illustrated World, printed in Stuttgart, Germany, was a regular caller. He also read English papers and magazines including the St. Paul Globe, Chicago Record Inter-Ocean, Scribner's, Harper's, Wabasha County papers and also the Plainview News. In politics he was a Democrat, but he did admire James G. Blaine, and I think he voted for him, but I cannot say for sure. He also admired Judge Thomas Willson and was a personal friend of his. He often took an active part in the county campaigns. Seven children were born to this home: Augusta, New York City, 1855; Minnie, New York, 1857; Anna, Wabasha, Minn., 1859; Julius, Jr., Plainview; George, Plainview; Alfred J. 1864; Orlena, 1869. George, Julius, Jr., and Orlena have passed to the Great Beyond, George and Julius, Jr., in 1862, Orlena in 1887. Mr. Fricke passed away January 29, 1903, Mrs. Fricke November 12, 1903. Both are buried in Greenwood Cemetery on the family lot, marked with a plain but very substantial granite monument. Thus the law of nature has been fulfilled, and removed from this community two people long associated with the pioneer days of Wabasha County. (By A. J. Fricke.)
Fuerstnau, Albert F. (page 759), a prominent business man of Hammond, where he is engaged in the hardware and agricultural implement business, and also, with his wife's assistance, operates a hotel, was born in Germany in 1866, son of William and Eva (Ristau) Fuerstnau. The parents were born in Germany, where the father died in 1873. Thirteen years later, in 1886, his wife came to this country, settling in Indiana, where in time she died. She left two sons and two daughters: William Herman, Gusta, Henrietta and Albert F. Gusta is now Mrs. Ed Werner of Thief River Falls, Minn. Henrietta is the wife of F. Dickman of Hammond. Albert F. Fuerstnau came to the United States in 1882, settling first in Indiana, where he remained three years. Then coming to Hammond, Wabasha county, Minn., he farmed in this vicinity for six years, after which he opened a hardware store. After working four years in the creamery he became a partner with Peter Ilgen in the hardware and machinery business, being thus occupied for six years. After that he was connected for a short time with the Roberts general store, and was then employed for some time in the Kitzman hardware store. Subsequently he worked 18 months for the Standard Oil Co. Mr. Fuerstnau then bought Albert Kreinbring's interest in the hardware store of which he is now proprietor. In the fall of 1919 he opened a hotel of nine rooms, which his wife takes care of. Besides ordinary hardware he carries everything in the line of farm machinery, and is doing a flourishing business, based on honesty, courtesy and prompt service. Mr. Fuerstnau was married in October, 1903, to Anna Dosdall, daughter of Fred and Rosa (Gneiser) Dosdall of Hammond. He and his wife are the parents of four children: Eva, Alden, Leona and Helena, all living at home. Eva attends school at Rochester.
Fuhrman, Carl (page 370), one of the early settlers in West Albany Township, long since deceased, was a native of Germany, and came to this country and to Minnesota at a very early day in the history of Wabasha County, accompanied by his widowed mother. On their arrival in West Albany Township, Mr. Fuhrman homesteaded 160 acres of rough land in section 15, and on the farm which he developed spent the rest of his life. The land was not only rough but wild and he had a pioneer's work to perform. Besides bringing his land to a high state of cultivation, he built a fine frame house, which was one of the best in the county when first erected, and also made other valuable improvements in the way of buildings. Though he began poor, he in time became the owner of 321 acres, 53 of which he sold to a neighbor, Carl Goihl, and at his death, which occurred in 1882, he owned 268 acres. Mr. Fuhrman was in his day a well known and popular citizen of West Albany, and was seldom called by his real name, Carl, but was familiarly known as "Charley." He was married in this country to Ida Neuman, who survived him 22 years, dying on the home farm in November, 1904. They were members of the West Albany Lutheran congregation. In early days when new immigrants were frequently arriving, Mr. and Mrs. Fuhrman were noted for their hospitality, and during their first winter here gave temporary shelter to no less than eight different families. They had six children: Minnie, who is now Mrs. Henry Pries of Maiden Rock, Wis.; Emma, wife of Fred Horning, of Stone, Canada; Frederick, who is deceased; William Charles, now on the old home farm in West Albany Township; Anna, wife of John Couter of Theilman, this county; and Alvina, who is the wife of Robert Halpans of Williams, Minn.
Fuller, Henry T. (page 429), a prominent representative of the agricultural industry in Watopa Township, was born in Mankato, Minn., June 17, 1855, son of Timothy and Josephine (Cratt) Fuller. The father was a native of New Hampshire who came west in 1852, settling in Wabasha County, Minnesota, where he worked for the government, running a store at Traverse De Sue for two years, and afterwards conducting one for himself. Finally selling out in that place, he returned to Wabasha village, where he operated a store and saloon until 1860, when he again sold out. After that he was employed at the carpenter's trade until 1896, when his activities were brought to a close by his breaking his hip. He died in Wabasha in 1901, having then been a widower for 24 years. He and his wife had eight children, Henry T., Frank B. Lenora T., Martha, Dave, Mary, Charles and Rebecca. Lenora and Martha are deceased. Henry T. Fuller was educated in the district school. He remained at home until the death of his mother in 1877, and then helped his father, working at the carpenter's trade. After that he operated a rented farm for seven years in West Albany Township, and at the end of that period bought his present farm of 280 acres in sections 10, 15, 16 and 17, Watopa Township, on which he is profitably engaged in general farming and stock raising. His improvements on the place include the erection of a barn 42 by 56 feet, besides repairing the other buildings and fencing. He is a member of the Episcopal church. On February 13, 1883, Mr. Fuller was united in marriage with Matilda Burns, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Burns. Her parents were natives of Germany who came to the United States in 1853, settling in the town of Zumbro, this county, where they farmed for a number of years. Later for 25 years they conducted a hotel in Millville. Mr. Burns died May 16, 1918, and Mrs. Burns August 17, 1905. Their children, five in number, were John, Emma, Matilda, Minnie and Clara. Mr. And Mrs. Fuller have been the parents of eleven children, who were born as follows: John H., May 8, 1884; Josephine S., April 10, 1886; Harry H., September 29, 1888; Elmer C., October 17, 1890; Ervin M., November 8, 1892; Mary C., December 5, 1894; Dave T., September 30, 1896; Lenora M., May 26, 1900; William E., December 20, 1903; Ethel B., August 17, 1907; and Viola G., July 12, 1908. Josephine S. is now the wife of Harry Maginiis. Harry H. was drafted for service in the war with Germany, September 19, 1917, on the first draft, and became a member of the 464th Engineers' Pontoon Train. He sailed for France August 9, 1918, and died from accident, February 7, 1919, being buried in France. Mary C. is the wife of George Kleiber. Dave F. was drafted for war service June 24, 1918, but failed to pass the physical examination at Camp Grant. Lenora M. is now Mrs. Bernard Sheehan.
Funke, Christopher (page 608), a Wabasha County pioneer now residing in Wabasha City, was born in Germany, August 16, 1836. He came to the United States about 1860 and soon found his way to Wabasha County, Minnesota, arriving here with a cash capital of four hundred dollars. For two or three years he followed rafting on the Mississippi; then after leaving the river he worked at grubbing for his brother Nicholas in Glasgow Township. The county was then but thinly settled and contained plenty of wild game and animals. One day Mr. Funke started out into the woods with his white bulldog and soon encountered a lynx. Both man and dog knew what it was and were anxious to get it, but Mr. Funke had no gun or any weapon, and the lynx got away, which was probably lucky for both him and the dog, as if cornered it might have killed them both. A few days later it was killed by Roscoe, a half breed, and was found to measure six feet "from tip to tip." On June 9, 1866, Christopher Funke was married at Read's Landing to Wilhelmina Schierlitz, who was born in Preisen, Germany, March 28, 1850, and who had come to this country at the age of 13 with her parents. She like himself, was industrious, and had worked in Wabasha for a Mr. Moore and later for Lucas Kuehn. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Funke made their residence in Glasgow Township, where he bought 160 acres of wild land on section 16, erecting on it a small log cabin. Later he built a log house of larger proportions. He and his wife worked together in the fields with oxen, which his wife drove, grubbing and developing the farm, and making such progress that after awhile they built a comfortable brick house. In 1883 Mr. Funke bought and removed to the Herman Witte farm adjoining his own, where he and his wife resided until 1917, in which year, having acquired a competence, they retired and took up their residence in Wabasha. They still own 270 acres in Glasgow Township. The children born the Mr. and Mrs. Funke were as follows: Robert, a resident of Highland Township; Bertha, now Mrs. Nicholas Schones of Hollywood, Cal.; Augusta, now Mrs. August Fitzer of Minneapolis; Pauline, now Mrs. Hubert Hoffman of Highland Township; Lawrence Henry, now owner of the home farm; Louisa, deceased; Mary, wife of Jacob Schones of Hollywood, Cal.; Wilhelmina, deceased; Margaret, deceased; Frances, now Mrs. John Balow of Sabula, Iowa; Thomas, deceased, and Lovina, wife of Harry Hanson of Wabasha.
Funke, John L. (page 573), who is farming on the outskirts of Wabasha, was born in Glasgow Township, this county, April 23, 1861, son of Nicholas and Catherine (Leirsch) Funke. He was reared on the home farm and attained such education as he could, being the oldest boy in the family it was necessary for him to help his parents in the summer, and in the winter it was often impossible for him to get to the school which was three miles away. In 1883 he came to Wabasha, and clerked in the store of his brother-in-law, Michael Jacoby., but in less than two years returned to the farm. Upon his parents' retirement in 1893 he took entire charge of the place and in time became its owner. He was most successful in his farming operations, and by careful saving and shrewd buying, he was able in time to acquire 1,100 acres, all in one tract. In addition to carrying on his farm, he also operated a portable sawmill. But his strenuous work impaired his health, and he was on the verge of a complete breakdown. He was advised by physicians to seek another climate for the benefit of his health. But feeling that his ailment was simply a case of his being tired out, he decided that a comparative rest would do him as much good as a change of climate. Accordingly in 1903, he purchased forty acres on the outskirts of Wabasha. Gradually his health improved, and as he increased in strength, he increased his farming operations, and added to the tract until he had 240 acres. This he farmed until January, 1916, when he sold 160 acres to his son-in-law, Louis Nipp, leaving himself eighty acres, to this he has added by additional purchases until he has 107 acres. In 1918 he rebuilt the house, so that he now has a modern nine-room dwelling, finished in stucco, and well arranged. He now carries on general farming, raising the usual crops, and breeding good graded cattle, swine and poultry. He his good wife stand well in the community. They have worked hard, have done their share in life, and reaped industry's just reward. Mr. Funke was married April 23, 1890, to Theresa Graden, daughter of Nicholas and Margaret Graden, of Pepin Township, this county. She was born November 3, 1869. This union has been blessed with three children, Veronica, Rose and Elizabeth. Veronica was born January 1, 1891, graduated from the St. Felix high school at Wabasha and the Winona State Normal School, taught eighth grade studies for eight years, and is now the wife of Louis Nipp, a Wabasha farmer, and has one son John H. Rose was born May 25, 1892, graduated from the St. Felix high school at Wabasha and the Stout Institute, Menomonie, Wis., taught domestic science for four years, married Fred Horihan, of Houston County, this state, and has one child, Bernice E. Elizabeth was born July 4, 1893, and graduated from the St. Felix high school at Wabasha, and St. Catherine's College at St. Paul, Minn., and is now a student of Pratt Institute of Brooklyn, N. Y. The family faith is that of St. Felix Catholic Church, Wabasha.
Funke, Lawrence Henry (page 608), a prosperous general farmer of Glasgow Township, was born in this township, on section 16, February 14, 1876, son of Christopher and Wilhelmina Funke. He acquired his education in the common school of his district, and has always resided on the home farm, which he helped to develop, and which he purchased in 1917. It contains 180 acres and has a good set of buildings, and Mr. Funke is successfully carrying on general farming and stock raising. He keeps a good grade of Shorthorn cattle, and Poland-China and Chester-White hogs, and with an adequate equipment is making his property pay, aside from which he is a stockholder in the Farmers' Telephone Co. Mr. Funke was married June 30, 1909, to Theresa Harder, who was born in St. Paul, Minn., September 25, 1887, daughter of Charles and Anna (Arlt) Harder. Before her marriage she was employed as linotype operator by the West Publishing Co. of St. Paul. Two children have been born to them: Cortland Albin, April 18, 1910, and Loraine Chryscinthia, August 16, 1919. Mr. Funke was reared a Catholic and his wife a Lutheran. They affiliate with the Lutheran church, in which both the children were baptized.
Funke, Nicholas (page 573), an early settler of Glasgow Township, was born in Germany, and there married Catherine Leirsch. For some years he was an itinerant salesman, traveling from place to place with his wares. In 1858 he and his wife determined to better their fortunes in the New World. Accordingly they set sail, landed at New York, took the railroad to Dubuque, Ia., and from there boarded a ship to Reed's Landing, in Wabasha County. Proceeding ten miles south of Reed's Landing, they secured 160 acres of wild land in Glasgow Township. This was in 1858. They built a small log house, and with the help of a yoke of oxen, started to break the land. Here they underwent all the hardships of pioneer life, sometimes being almost without food. The trading point was at Read's Landing, from which Mr. Funke often brought provisions on his back. Gradually the farm was improved, good buildings were erected, and the family prospered. In 1893 they disposed of the place to the son, John L. and moved to Wabasha, where they died, Nicholas Funke in the spring of 1902, and his wife in the winter of 1906. They were the parents of nine children, all born in Glasgow Township: Rose, John L., George (first), George (second), Anna, Joseph, Clara, Louis, Clarence. Rose is the wife of Michael Jacoby, now deceased, and lives at Duluth, Minn. John L. farms on the outskirts of Wabasha. The first George died in infancy and the second at the age of three years. Anna, Joseph and Clara are dead. Louis is a bank cashier living at St. Leo, Minn. Clarence is dead.
Funke, Robert (page 766), who is extensively
engaged in farming and stock raising in Highland Township, and is financially
interested in several important industries more or less related to agriculture,
was born in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, Minn., April 19, 1869. His parents,
Christ and Wilhelmina (Reichenbach) Funke, were natives of Germany, the father
coming to the United States at the age of 21, and the mother at the age of
12 with her parents. He came directly to Wabasha, Minn., where he lived for
six or seven years, being engaged in rafting on the Mississippi river, during
which time he made several trips by raft to St. Louis. At the end of that
period he came to Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, and homesteaded 160 acres
in section 21. There he farmed for about fifty years, or until he retired
and moved to Wabasha, where he is now living. He still owns the farm, renting
it out to a tenant. Of the twelve children born to him and his wife, eight
are now living: Bertha, a widow residing in California; Gusta, wife of Gust
Fitzer of Minneapolis and California; Pauline, wife of Hubert Hoffman of Highland
Township; Lawrence, who is on a farm in Glasgow Township; Mary, wife of Jake
Schones of California; Frances, wife of John Balow, a button cutter of Iowa;
Lavina, wife of Harry Hanson of Wabasha, and Robert of Highland Township.
Those deceased are Thomas, Louisa, Maggie and Minnie. Robert Funke was reared
on his parents' farm in Glasgow Township and educated in the district school.
After remaining at home until 25 years old, he began farming for himself,
buying 200 acres in section 6, Highland, to which he has added until he now
owns 530 acres in sections 5, 6, 7 and 8, having 250 under cultivation, with
the balance in woodland and pasture. He has remodeled the frame house which
stood on the farm, has built a barn 36 by 102 feet with 16-foot posts, a cement
floor in the basement, and with Franklyn stanchions capable of holding 60
head of cattle and horses; also a granary and hay shed. As a general farmer,
stock raiser and dairyman, he is doing a large and profitable business. When
19 years old Mr. Funke bought a threshing outfit and subsequently followed
threshing for 32 years, doing work for others until recently, though now he
only threshes for himself. He cleared and grubbed 50 acres of his farm. Some
years before he came to his present place, there was an old flour mill on
the creek, known as Hanby Mill, which was operated by water. This mill burned
down, and two years later, when Mr. Funke came to the place, he built a new
mill, operated by the water power from the creek, for grinding feed and meal,
which he operated for twelve years. He is a stockholder in the Theilman Bank,
the Theilman Creamery, The Wabasha County "Leader," and the Farmers'
Terminal Packing Co. of St. Paul. He is also president of the Theilman Elevator
Co. His forceful and energetic character has placed him in the front rank
of Highland Township's most respected citizens, and for four years he was
a member of the board of supervisors. He also served on the school board for
20 years and is now school treasurer. On October 30, 1894, Mr. Funke married
Bertha Wagner, daughter of Gottlieb and Mary Wagner of Kellogg. She was one
of a family of eleven children, of whom eight are now living. Mr. and Mrs.
Funke are the parents of six children: Ervin C., Viola, Wilfred, Irene, Elmer
and Emil, all residing on the home farm, which Ervin is helping to cultivate.
Mr. Funke and his family are members of the Catholic church, and he belongs
also to the Modern Woodmen and the Modern Brotherhood of America.