Hager, Bernhardt (page 739), a member of the popular mercantile firm of Hager & Markus at Dumfries, Glasgow Township, was born in this township March 20, 1878, son of Herman and Mary (Kelter) Hager. Both parents were natives of Germany, in which country the father had been previously married. His first wife dying, he came to America, and to Wabasha County, Minn., where he married Mary Kelter, and they settled on a farm in Glasgow Township, which they made their home for the rest of their lives, Herman Hager dying in 1912 and Mrs. Mary Hager February 6, 1920. They had seven children: Bernhardt, the subject of this sketch; Louisa, now Mrs. William Riester of Greenfield Township; George, a prosperous farmer in the same township; Joseph, who is deceased; William, residing on the home farm in Glasgow Township; Elizabeth, now Mrs. Harry Austin, who is on the home farm; and Arthur, also residing there. Bernhardt Hager was educated in the district school, and remained at home until the age of 22. After that he worked as a farm hand, operated the cream skimming station at Dumfries for four years, and then became buyer and manager at Dumfries for the Western Elevator Co. of Winona, which position he held up to 1914 in the employ of that company, and for two years in that of their successors, the R. E. Jones Co., who bought out the business. In 1907 Mr. Hager entered into the mercantile business at Dumfries with A. V. Stamschror, being for seven years subsequently a member of the firm of Hager & Stamschror. In 1914 Mr. Stamschror sold his interest to Peter L. Markus of Highland Township, and since then the business has been carried on under the style of Hager & Markus. The firm deals in groceries and general merchandise, and are buyers and shippers of cream. They have the only store in Dumfries and have built up a thriving business. Mr. Hager is a Democrat politically and for two years served as town clerk. He was married October 18, 1904, to Louisa, daughter of Bernard and Theresa Schmidt of Glasgow Township, and owns a comfortable home at Dumfries. To him and his wife five children have been born: Leo H., October 14, 1905; Rocelia Theresa, March 30, 1907; Margaret Louise, April 20, 1909; Florence Caroline, October 4, 1911; and Dorothy Christine, October 28, 1918. Hr. Hager is a Catholic in religious faith, he and his family belonging to St. Felix parish at Wabasha.
Hager, William (page 612, photo available), who is engaged in operating the farm formerly belonging to his parents in section 16, Glasgow Township, was born on this farm September 2, 1887, son of Herman H. and Anna M. Hager. The parents, who were born in Germany, came to Wabasha County, Minn., in the early seventies and were here married. They settled first on section 12, Glasgow Township, but in a short time removed to section 16, where they took 180 acres of land with few improvements and no buildings. For temporary purposes they erected a small frame house and log barn, but later built a better frame house and other buildings. Here Herman H. Hager died April 9, 1912, having suffered the affliction of blindness during the last 20 years of his life. He was survived by his wife, who passed away February 6, 1920. Mr. and Mrs. Hager reared a family of seven children: Bernard, now a merchant at Dumfries; Louisa, wife of William Riester of Greenfield Township; George, a farmer in Greenfield Township; Herman, who died in childhood; Joseph, who died in 1909; William, the subject of this sketch; and Elizabeth, who is the wife of Henry Austin of Glasgow Township. William Hager was reared on his parents’ farm, and attended district school No. 25 up to the age of 14, except one summer, during which he remained on the farm with his brother, Henry. After the father’s death he operated the farm for the estate until September, 1920, when he became the sole owner. He has a good herd of grade stock and follows diversified farming. A practical man in his line of industry, he has been successful and is numbered among the industrious and useful citizens of his township. He was married June 26, 1918, to Sarah Elsie, daughter of John F. and Etta J. Van Houten of Glasgow Township, but who was born in Knox County, Neb., April 2, 1899. The issue of this union is one child, Helen Elisabeth, who was born August 28, 1919. Mr. Hager and his family are members of the Catholic church, belonging to St. Felix parish at Wabasha, he being also a member of St. Joseph’s Society. In politics he is independent.
Haggerty, Albert W. (page 741), farmer and stock raiser and manager of the shipping association at Hammond, was born in Farmington Township, Olmsted County, Minn., April 22, 1879, son of Joseph R. and Jane (Bailey) Haggerty. The father was born in New Jersey, whence he came to Minnesota in 1856, among the pioneers. He was married in this state and settled on a homestead in Olmsted County. The mother came to the United States when nine years old, locating with her parents near Manchester, Iowa. From there they came to Minnesota in 1856. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph R. Haggerty had a family of nine children, of whom six are now living, the others dying when young. Those living are: Andrew R., of Rochester; Euphemia J., who resides on the home farm with her mother; Aaron B., residing in Yuba, Calif,; John A. who lived on a farm in Olmsted County; Bailey A., also a resident of Olmsted County; and Albert W., of Hammond. Joseph R. Haggerty, the father, died July 12, 1883. His wife is still living on the farm, being now 88 years old. Albert W. Haggerty was reared on the home farm and acquired his education in the district school and the high school at Rochester. Agriculture was his occupation out of school hours and he subsequently farmed the old homestead, on which he still lives, and carries on general farming and stock raising, breeding registered Percheron horses, registered Shorthorn cattle, Poland-China hogs and Shropshire sheep. For several years he has shipped all his own stock, and also bought stock in Hammond. He is now manager of the shipping association here, which was organized August 24, 1918. Formerly he was for one year assessor of his township. Mr. Haggerty was married in Olmsted County in 1901 to Emma R. Kenitz, daughter of Herman and Elizabeth (Schacht) Kenitz. Her family came to the United States from Germany, locating first in Chicago, whence they removed to Wisconsin, from which state they came to Minnesota at an early day. Mr. and Mrs. Haggerty are the parents of two children: Aaron K., born June 6, 1905, and Jenette, born December 6, 1917. Aaron K. is attending school at Rochester, while Jenette is residing at home. Mr. Haggerty is a man of high standing in the community, a good business man and farmer, and a reliable and patriotic citizen. He has been identified during his active career with the leading interests in Wabasha County, which which has brought it wealth, and he, himself, has participated in the general prosperity of the agricultural class of which he is a typical representative.
Hall, Edward (p. 377), a former resident of Oakwood Township, where for a number of years he was engaged in agriculture, was a native of Ireland. After emigrating to Canada, he was there married to Maria Elems, and together they came to the United States, stopping for a while in New York State, and later in Michigan, where Mr. Hall found employment in the copper mines at Rockland. In 1866 he came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, buying a farm of 160 acres in section 25, Oakwood Township. Here he left his family and returned to Silva Island, Canada, where he worked for two years, earning and saving money. He then returned to his farm in Oakwood Township, this county, and was subsequently engaged in general farming here until his death on July 4, 1893. His wife is still living and is now a resident of Plainview. They were the parents of nine children: Catherine, who married Charles Harlan, of this township, both she and her husband being now deceased; James E., who lives in North Dakota; Marie, wife of J. H. Harlan, of Langdon, N. D.; John M., who died in North Dakota in March, 1915; Theresa, who was the wife of R. H. Tombs and died in California in 1903; Thomas F., of Oakwood Township; Bird J., who married R. O. Halelelid of North Dakota; Frances E., wife of J. P. Waste of Plainview; and Edward R. Hall of Winona.
Hall, Edward Charles (p. 582), a well known and respected citizen of Wabasha, engineer of the Buena Vista Sanitorium, and also proprietor of a truck farm, was born in Highland Township, Wabasha County, Minn., May 10, 1883, son of Thomas and Jane (Burns) Hall. The farm of his parents, where they settled at an early day, lies four miles northwest of Plainview. At the time of their advent in this country they were very poor, but in time they developed the farm, erecting on it a fair set of buildings. The father died June 6, 1894, and the mother in 1911, in Wabasha. Their children were: Katherine, now deceased; James, of Lake City; Bridget, wife of Fred Wolfe of Sioux Falls, S. D.; Thomas, of Millville; Edward Charles, of Wabasha; Jane, wife of Fred Schmauss, of Lake City; Margaret, deceased; John, deceased; and John (second), of Sioux Falls, S. D. Edward Charles Hall had to take a man's place on the farm when only 10 years old. He resided at home until 1905, in which year he went to Pocatella, Idaho, where he found employment as railroad man on the "Oregon Short Line." In the fall of that year he was called home to Wabash (sic) County and resumed his old place on the home farm. On June 12, 1906, he was united in marriage with Nora, daughter of Edward and Mary McKeefery, of Wabasha, and for the next two years he resided on the farm of his wife's parents, just on the edge of Wabasha city. For five years he was employed in the round-house and shops of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway at Wabasha. He then bought the farm of his wife's parents, which contained 40 acres of which he sold 14 acres for the site of the Buena Vista Sanitorium, of which institution he became engineer in 1917. Besides attending to his duties in that position, he carries on a small truck farm with profitable results. Mrs. Hall was born on her parents' farm May 6, 1878, her parents being early settlers in this region. Her father has passed away, but her mother is still living. Both the Hall and McKeefery families are Catholic in religion, and Mr. Hall and his family are members of St. Felix parish, Wabasha. Mr. Hall has always been a Republican politically. He and his wife have had six children: Donold (sic), now deceased; Margaret, Dorothy, Mildred, Ann, deceased, and Charles.
Hall, Thomas F. (p. 377), acquired his elementary education in the rural schoold and was a student for one year in the Plainview high school. His early industrial experience was on the river, and he also spent two years in the woods at lumbering. In 1890 he took up farming on the home farm, but later bought the home farm, on which he carried on agriculture for some years, and where he still lives, though for the last ten years he has rented out the place to a tenant. He has made a number of improvements on the property, including the erection of a barn, 36 by 80 feet, with full basement, and all outbuildings. These structures were all built from timber which grew on his farm. He has also rebuilt and stuccoed his house and added to it a large screen porch. Mr. Hall is a member of the Catholic church and also of the Independent Order of Foresters. He has served two years as chairman of the town board and for a number of years was school clerk. He was married June 2, 1903, to Caroline C. Gessner, who was born in Highland Township, February 26, 1876, daughter of J. M. and Theresa M. (Noll) Gessner. Her parents, natives respectively of Wisconsin and Indiana, settled in Wabasha County about 1865. The father died October 29, 1908, and was survived by his wife, who is now a resident of Plainview. To Mr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Hall eight children have been born: Theresa M., April 10, 1904; Inez L., September 2, 1905; Myrtle F., April 16, 1907; Lester E. January 29, 1909; Thomas C., January 2, 1911; Ralph J., March 4, 1913; Mildred M., October 26, 1915; and Mary E., October 2, 1917.
Hampe, Henry (page 585), a pioneer of Wabasha County now deceased, who was for many years a farmer, and later a merchant at Theilman, was born in Hanover, Germany, and came to the United States when a young man, locating first at Milwaukee, which was then a very small place. From there he went to the Lake Superior Copper region, where for some time he worked in the mines. It was in 1855 that he came to Wabasha County, taking 160 acres of wild land in Glasgow Township. After spending eleven years in its development, he traded it for a 200-acre farm on West Indian Creek in Highland Township, near Theilman. This land was partly improved, and Mr. Hampe continued the improvements, operating the farm until 1897. He also erected a flour mill on this farm which he operated in connection with farming. He then gave up agricultural work, and removing to Theilman village, opened a general mercantile business, conducting his store for three years, when he retired. He died in July, 1907, having had a successful career and won the respect of his neighbors by his sterling qualities as a man and citizen. He and his wife were Catholics in religion. Mr. Hampe was married in 1860 to Mary Fisch, a native of Luxemburg, who had come to Minnesota alone in that year to visit a sister, and her meeting with Mr. Hampe resulted in her marriage and permanent residence here. She died several years before her husband, on August 11, 1904. They had five children: Nicholas and Peter (twins), born February 17, 1861; Theodore, now a merchant at Theilman, Minn., Bertha Catherine, born January 13, 1866, who died unmarried August 9, 1888; and Mary, born March 13, 1872, now Mrs. John Bouquet of Caledonia, Minn. Nicholas, who was for 27 years in partnership with his brother Theodore in the mercantile business, at Theilman, is now a prominent business man of Rock Rapids, Ia. Peter is living retired in Denver, Colo.
Hampe, Theodore (page 586), head of the prosperous mercantile firm of Hampe Bros., of Theilman, also president of the Theilman State Bank, and postmaster, was born in Cook's Valley, Wabasha County, Minn,, April 4, 1864, son of Henry and Mary (Fisch) Hampe. He was educated in the district school and at LaCrosse Business College, and was employed on his parents' farm until November 26, 1889, when he came to Theilman and entered into mercantile business with his brother, Nicholas, and for 27 years they were associated in the business together. Nicholas is now engaged in the real estate and banking business at Rock Rapids, Iowa. The mercantile business at Theilman, however, is still conducted under the firm name of Hampe Bros., and it is in a flourishing condition, an extensive trade being carried on. Theodore Hampe was one of the organizers and incorporators of the Theilman State Bank, of which, as above mentioned, he is now president, while his duties as postmaster are carried on in connection with his store. He has served on the school board for a number of years, and has been an active factor in many things making for the advancement and prosperity of the village. In religion he is a Catholic, being a member of St. Joseph's parish at Theilman, and a liberal supporter of the church. For the past ten years he has been a member of the Knights of Columbus lodge. Mr. Hampe was married June 6, 1899 to Louise Riester, who was born in West Albany Township, Wabasha County, May 12, 1867, daughter of Christian and Dinah (Krull) Riester. He and his wife have three children: William G., born May 6, 1900; Albert E., born November 6, 1901; and Walter N., born December 29, 1902. Wm. G. was educated in the common schools, at St. Mary's high school, Winona, St. Mary's College, and at a Winona business college, and is now associated with his father in the store. Albert E., after leaving the common school also attended the Catholic educational institutions above mentioned, as also did Walter N. Thus Mr. Hampe has given his sons a good education which has well fitted them to take a worthy and useful part in life. Mr. Hampe owns a beautiful modern residence in Theilman, where the family enjoys an ideal home life.
Hampel, Joseph (page 411), was one of the pioneer settlers in Elgin Township, who has long since passed away, was born in Vienna, Austria, September 11, 1811. There he was married to Marie Prince, a native of the same historic city. For some time he gained his living as a mechanic, manufacturing the woodwork for clocks and accordions, and was thus engaged until 1850, when, with his family, he set out for America, on the arrival in this country locating in Coshocton County, Ohio. There he was occupied for several years in farming. In March, 1856, he joined the tide of emigration to the Northwest, reached Winona, Minn., and remained there with his family for the winter. Coming in the following spring to Wabasha County, he took a claim of 160 acres in section 6, Elgin Township, and having built a log shanty, started to develop a farm. During those early days he and his family endured all the hardships which usually fell to the lot of the pioneer settler, but endurance, patience and work carried the day, and they made gradual progress toward a better condition. After living on the farm a few years Mr. Hampel built a frame house, and later substantial barns and outbuildings were erected by him. During the first two years of their pioneer life the family were without wheat bread, but had to depend on corn and buckwheat as their staple breadstuffs, but in time they enjoyed an abundance of everything, raising all the principal crops on the farm, in addition to stock, and becoming prosperous and respected. In 1877 Mr. Hampel suffered a bereavement in the death of his wife, whom he survived for years, passing away in 1884. Eight children had been born to them, but two of whom, however, reached maturity, namely, Ferdinand, now residing in Elgin village and Christina, who married Henry Schenkel, and went to Groton, Dakota (now South Dakota). The family were members of the Lutheran church.
Hampel, Ferdinand (page 412), manager of the Elgin Co-operative Creamery, is a man whose present occupation is but the culmination of a long career of practical achievement in the realms of agriculture, business and politics. He was born in Vienna, Austria, September 16, 1843, son of Joseph and Marie (Prince) Hampel, and was there a boy of about seven years when in 1850 he accompanied his parents to the United States. His first English education was acquired in the public school of Coshocton County, Ohio, where the family remained for some years, operating a farm. In the fall of 1856 migration was made to Minnesota, and during the following winter, while his father was working as a teamster, young Ferdinand occupied a position as clerk in a hotel, earning money to aid his parents get started on a farm. The start was made in the spring of 1857, the land chosen lying in section 6, Elgin Township, Wabasha County. This he helped his father to clear, cultivate, develop, and supply with the necessary buildings. In 1867 he became owner of a part of the farm on which there were no buildings, and he therefore had to make a beginning for himself by erecting a log shanty and some straw sheds. This was soon done and he then proceeded with other improvements. After a while he became manager of the home farm, and after his father's death its owner. In time he enlarged its area to 400 acres, all in section 6; also built a fine modern farm residence, and two large and well equipped barns, one 34 by 46 feet and the other 34 by 64 feet, as well as a chicken-house, granary and machine-shed. All this work was well and thoroughly done, and Mr. Hampel was recognized as one the most enterprising and successful farmers in the township, and also one of its foremast citizens in general reliability and grasp of public affairs. In 1883 he was elected to the lower house of the State Legislature, in which he served from 1884 to 1886. After following diversified farming until 1913, Mr. Hampel retired and purchased his present residence in the village of Elgin, where he has since made his home. He still owns 240 acres of his farm, which he rents to a tenant; the other 160 acres he gave to his sons, Joseph and Edwin. It was he, with six others, who organized the Elgin Co-operative Creamery Association, and he has been manager of the plant for the last five years. For 26 years he was vice president of the Rochester Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance Co., and for the past ten years he has been its president. For many years he was a member of the Elgin town board, serving ten years a chairman, and he was also for a long time a member of the school board. Such long and varied service gives evidence both of ability and reliability, qualities which his fellow citizens have recognized belong to him in a high degree. Religiously he is affiliated with the Lutheran church. Mr. Hampel was united in marriage July 4, 1867, with Augusta Wendorf, who was born in Prussia, near the city of Culberg, October 6, 1850, and who came to the United States in 1862. After a happy married life of 45 years, she passed away on the farm March 12, 1912, leaving the memory of a lovable Christian woman who was faithful in all the duties of life. Twelve children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Hampel, as follows: Joseph, born January 22, 1870, now residing at home; Clara, born August 11, 1872, who was married November 25, 1897, to Walter Hein, and now resides at Braham, Minn; Edwin E., born March 13, 1874, who married Louise Benike, and is now a farmer in Farmington Township, Olmsted County, Minn.; Bertha, born March 19, 1876, who was married September 8, 1898, to Max Hein, and resides in Elgin; Adella, born March 1, 1883, who was married October 25, 1915, to Albert A. Smith, and is now living in Clearwater, Florida; Walter F. A., born March 15, 1886, now residing in Elgin Township, who married Anne Hofmann on March 26, 1914; Elmer B., born August 20, 1889, who was married March 16, 1915, to Clara B. Fahrman, and is now living at Viola, Minn.; Ella, born June 29, 1891, who married March 26, 1914, to Henry Hofmann, and is residing in Farmington Township, Olmsted County; Erma, born December 22, 1893, who was married October 2, 1916, to John Hofmann, and lives at Viola; Paulina, born April 27, 1881, who died November 5, 1895; and two others who died in infancy. Such is the record, briefly narrated, of one of the prominent families of this county, typifying the qualities of manhood and womanhood which have made it what it is-one of the foremost in wealth and agricultural development.
Har, John W. (page 271 ~ photo available), a leading contractor and builder of Plainview, was born in Plainview Township, December 9, 1866, son of Felix and Katie (Marnach) Har. He acquired his education in the rural schools in the vicinity of his parents' farm and at the Wabasha public school, where he was a pupil for one year. Until reaching the age of 21 years he remained an inmate of his parents' house. Then for two years he operated a part of the home farm on his own account, leading a bachelor's life on the place. In 1889 Mr. Har went to Wheaton, Minn., where he engaged in the clothing business, and there and at Fargo he learned the builder's trade. In 1891 he sold his interests there and, returning to Plainview, launched out as a general contractor and builder. His entry into this line of industry was signalized by no flourish of trumpets, but was a modest beginning, he depending for success on honest and durable work, executed at a reasonable price. This policy brought its reward in a gradually increasing business based on the confidence of the public, and many of the substantial business blocks and fine residences of Plainview are his handiwork, as also many structures in the surrounding towns, villages and county. The comfortable residence he now occupies was erected by him in 1903. He also owns four acres of land, on which he raises produce for himself and family, selling the surplus. On July 18, 1892, Mr. Har was married to Annie Hart, who was born in Allamakee County, Iowa, August 1, 1864, daughter of Patrick and Jane (Tracy) Hart, who were natives respectively of Ireland and the United States, and who were married at Dubuque, Iowa. In 1856 Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Hart located on a farm in Allamakee County, and for many years were successfully engaged in its operation. There Mr. Hart died in 1902, and in the following year Mrs. Hart came to Plainview, where she is still living. To Mr. and Mrs. John W. Har three children have been born: Walter Leo, August 5, 1893; Cecelia J., May 14, 1899; and William L., October 1, 1902. But two are now living, Walter Leo having died March 31, 1901. Cecelia J. is now Mrs. Lester Spring, of Rochester, and William L. is associated in business with his father. The family are members of the Catholic church, while in politics Mr. Har is a Republican.
Har, Felix (page 270), an early settler in Plainview Township, was a man who, through energy and perseverance, achieved success in spite of serious initial misfortunes and discouragements which might have broken the spirit of a man of weaker fibre. He was a native of Germany who came to America when young, and who was married in this country to Katie Marnach. After their marriage they settled on a claim in East Indian Creek valley, this county, and by dint of arduous toil early and late, within a few years Mr. Har, with his wife's assistance, had made numerous improvements. Future prospects looked rosy, when all at once a stroke of misfortune descended upon them, as everything on their farm ~ their barns, hay and stock ~ except their little house, was destroyed by fire. During the following winter they lived in the house, planning how to make a new start, but Mr. Har had hardly commenced work in the spring when he received a letter from a lawyer in Rochester, informing him that he would have to vacate his land, as it was legally the property of the railroad company. Upon investigation the fact was verified, and he and his family quit their claim, with its little shanty, and sought shelter elsewhere, perhaps congratulating themselves that, owing to the fire, they were not leaving much behind. For awhile Mr. Har worked for a firm by the name of Timmerson & Schwartz, grain dealers at Minneiska, saving what he could of his wages in order to get the wherewithal for a new start in life. In 1864 he bought in company with his brother-in-law, Nick Marnach, a farm of 160 acres in Plainview Township. This they later divided, each taking 80 acres, and Mr. Har again began his task of home building. In time he enlarged the area of the farm to 117 ½ acres, and erected a good set of buildings, residing on the place until his later years, when he sold it to his widowed daughter, Mrs. August Steinke, who now lives there, and went to live with a son in Winona, his wife having passed away in 1887. With the son mentioned and his family he moved to Marshalltown, Iowa, where his death occurred in October, 1906.
Harlan, Carl R. (page 556), a prosperous young farmer of Oakwood Township, where the Harlan family has been established half a century, was born on his parents' farm in this township, February 23, 1894, son of Charles and Catherine (Hall) Harlan. He acquired his education in the rural schools and his agricultural training on the home farm, on which he resided until 1919. He then rented the Paul Polson farm of 200 acres in section 22, where he is now following general diversified farming and stock raising, keeping grade Durham cattle, Duroc-Jersey swine and Percheron horses. The cattle he raises both for beef and dairy purposes. He owns 120 acres of the home estate willed to him by his father and in the spring of 1920 bought 160 acres which his grandfather homesteaded, making in all 280 acres in a body. He is a member of the Catholic church and of the Knights of Columbus. On June 13, 1918, Mr. Harlan was married to Mae Lyon, daughter of G. H. and Mary (Ryan) Lyon, of Highland Township, and early settlers in Wabasha County. They had a family of eight children, five of whom are now living: Patrick, George, Edward, Margaret, wife of Joe Langer of Texas, and Mae, wife of Carl R. Harlan. Those deceased are: Rebecca, Lawrence, and Theresa, who married Herman Wempner. Mr. and Mrs. Harlan are the parents of one child, Catherine, who was born April 7, 1920.
Webmaster's Notes: This biography always seemed very confusing to me. One would think that the Mr. Harlan married to Mae Lyon is the subject of the biography, but it goes on to say that one of their children is married to a man with the same name as her father. Then, after all that, it names a new Mr. and Mrs. Harlan, parents of one child! But thanks to Dan, whose wife's Grandmother was Loretta (Harlan) Gessner, we have a clarification. Mae (Mary) married Robert Ham. The fourteenth child in the biography below is none other than Carl R. Harlan, subject of this biography.
More Clarification: Jack writes: I was looking again the other day at the collection of Wabasha County Biographies and noted the need for further clarification on the bio. of Carl R. Harlan (my grandfather). At the point of the bio. that begins "They had a family of eight children..." this is in reference to the parents of Mary (Mae) Lyons, who married Carl R. Harlan. It was Mary Delores Harlan (daughter of Carl and Mary ~ Mae) who married Bob Ham. And the 14th child of Charles and Catherine Harlan is not Carl...it was Mae Harlan, who was married to Henry Rheingans and farmed in Oakwood township at the time of the Bio. To further confuse matters, Carl R Harlan's real name was Charles Raphael Harlan, but he was better known as Carl.
Harlan, Charles (page 556), one of the early settlers of Oakwood Township, arrived in the township about fifty years ago, taking 80 acres of land in section 23, which he began to improve and develop. Not satisfied with a small farm, from time to time he purchased more land until he owned 320 acres, in the meanwhile erecting buildings, including a good house, barns and outbuildings, fencing and otherwise improving his property until he had developed an excellent farm. After an active and successful career he died March 25, 1918, one of the best known and most respected citizens of his township. Mr. Harlan married Catherine Hall, who preceded him to the Great Beyond by only a few months, passing away in September, 1917. They had been the parents of a numerous family numbering 14 children, namely: Edward, who lives in California; Agnes (first), deceased; Clara, now Mrs. J. J. Ryan; Harry, a resident of Lake City, Minn., Arthur, who lives in Montana; Catherine, wife of E. R. Holzer, of Elgin Township; Loretta, now Mrs. Julius Gessner, of Highland Township; Genevieve, widow of L. W. Lyons; Angela, now Mrs. Paul E. Cruser, of Minneapolis; Eva, wife of Phil Abrahamson, of Plainview; Carl, of Oakwood; Ralph A., of Oakwood, and Agnes, residing in Plainview.
Webmaster's Notes: The biography mentions 14 children but only lists 13. According to Dan, the 14th child is Carl R. Harlan, subject of the previous biography.
Harlan, Charles (page 647), one of the early settlers of Oakwood Township, arrived in the township about 50 years ago, taking 80 acres of land in section 23, which he began to improve and develop. Not satisfied with a small farm, from time to time he purchased more land until he owned 320 acres, in the meanwhile erecting buildings, including a good house, barns and outbuildings, fencing and otherwise improving his property until he had brought it into excellent condition. After an active and successful career he died March 25, 1918, one of the best known and most respected citizens of his township. Mr. Harlan married Catherine Hall, who preceded him to the Great Beyond by only a few months, passing away in September, 1917. They had been the parents of a numerous family of children, namely: Edward, who lives in California; Agnes (first) deceased; Clara, now Mrs. J. J. Ryan; Harry, a resident of Lake City, Minn.; Arthur, who lives in Montana; Catherine, wife of E. R. Holzer of Elgin Township; Loretta, now Mrs. Juius Gessenor of Highland Township, Genevieve, widow of L. W. Lyon; Angela, now Mrs. Paul E. Cruser of Minneapolis; Eva, wife of Phil Abrahamson of Plainview; Carl, of Oakwood; Ralph A., of Oakwood, and Agnes, residing in Plainview.
Webmaster's Notes: This appears to be a duplicate of the Charles Harlan biography on page 556, although it is not identical.
Harlan, Ralph A. (page 647), who owns and operates a part of the old Charles Harlan farm in section 23, Oakwood Township, was born on this farm February 16, 1896, of Charles and Catherine (Hall) Harlan. He was educated in the district school and, as his father's assistant, acquired a good knowledge of agriculture. His industrial career was temporarily interrupted by the war with Germany, for on January 1, 1918, he enlisted in the First Regular Division Motor Supply Train, and was soon on his way to Camp Johnson at Jacksonville, Fla. On May 1 he left for overseas, made a safe crossing, and quickly found himself at the front, and taking part in the battles and fighting at Champagne-Marne, Alsne-Marne, St. Mihiel and Meuse-Argonne. Though he escaped death and wounds, he was slightly gassed. He had entered the service as a private and was discharged with the rank of 1st class sergeant on July 12, 1919. On his return home he took charge of the farm and he is here carrying on general and diversified farming with good success. He is a member of the Shipping Association and of the Co-operative creamery at Plainview. Mr. Harlan married Mildred Sullivan, daughter of Michael J. and Nellis (Sweeney) Sullivan of West Albany Township, and he and his wife have a son, Edward. The family are Catholics in religion and Mr. Harlan belongs fraternally to the Knights of Columbus.
Harney, Daniel (page 568), a farmer and considerable land owner residing in section 31, Lake Township, was born in section 29, this township, February 28, 1873, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Doley) Harney. His education was acquired at intervals in the district school and his agricultural training on the home farm under his father's direction. In 1899 he came into possession of the property, and now owns 700 acres in Lake Township, besides having large land possessions in North Dakota and Saskatchewan and Alberta, Canada. He is farming on an extensive scale, breeding pure-blooded shire horses, Shorthorn Durham and Poll Angus cattle, Poland-China hogs, and Shropshire sheep, having large herds of each. He has a good modern equipment and is numbered among the most prosperous men in Lake Township. Formerly a Democrat in politics, Mr. Harney is now a member of the Non-Partisan League. He has served in all the town offices and for a number of years has been clerk of the school board. In religion he is a Catholic, and a member of St. Mary's parish, Lake City.
Harney, Thomas (page 567), who is well remembered by the old and middle-aged residents of Lake Township, was in certain respects a remarkable man, one who conquered the favors of fortune to a greater extent than most of his contemporaries in this region, and who, beginning with nothing, acquired wealth beyond his early dreams through innate force of character. He was born in Waterford, Ireland, April 4, 1833, and had good educational advantage which doubtless sharpened his wits and increased his natural capacity. Dissatisfied with the limited opportunities afforded him in his native land, he resolved to seek advancement in the Land of the Free, and in 1850, with a sister, Catherine, he took passage in a sailing vessel, and some weeks later landed in New York. For five years he remained in the East, then in 1855 he followed the Star of Empire westward, and arrived in Rochester, Minnesota, when there were only three houses there, and about three weeks in advance of Patrick Rahilly. There he bought land and remained until 1861. Then he made an exchange of land with a brother of Mr. Rahilly who had located in Lake Township, Wabasha County, and came here to live. The land was new and wild, but he gbegan improvements, and for some years led a bachelor's life. Then, in 1867, he married Elizabeth Doley of Rochester and they began domestic life on the farm. At times he worked out for very low wages, but he spent less than he earned and got along. His ruling passion was the acquisition of land. He bought, sold and traded it at every opportunity, and is said to have owned at one time or another nearly every foot of land in Lake Township. One of his early ventures was the purchase of 80 acres of wild land in section 31, where he established his home, and on which he erected a fine two-story frame house and other good buildings, also grubbing and clearing the land and converting it into a fine farm. There he resided until a few years before his death, those last years being spent in Rochester where he owned a good house. He passed away in 1909, at which time his wealth was rated at $250,000. His wife survived him several years, dying in Rochester in 1912. They were both faithful members of the Catholic church. Their family numbered ten children: John, now living in Los Angeles, Cal.; Mary, wife of John O'Connell, a farmer of Benson County, N. D.; Jerry, who is farming near Millville, Wabasha County, Minn.; Thomas, deceased; James, a farmer in Benson County, N. D.; Catherine, now Mrs. Thomas Lawler of Rochester, Minn.; Daniel, a prosperous farmer and land owner, residing in Lake Township; Elizabeth, a resident of Rochester; William, a banker in Benson County, N. D.; and Ambrose, who is also a resident of Benson County, N. D. The children, like their parents, are all Catholics.
Harrington, Dean D. (page 295), a substantial citizen of Plainview, was born in Barre, Vt., May 17, 1850, the son of George W. And Martha Ann (Walker) Harrington. He came west with his parents and brother Frank in 1856, and was reared on the home farm three miles east of Plainview. At the age of twenty-one he went to the pineries of the Black River district in Wisconsin and was employed for several years in the lumber business at Humbird, in Clark County, that state. Then he returned to Wabasha County and purchased 80 acres in section 14, Plainview Township. To this he later added another 80 acres. On this tract he successfully farmed until 1909 when he retired and moved to the Village of Plainview. Here he has done considerable public service, giving general satisfaction as justice of the peace for five years, and as a member of the school board for a similar period. In politics, Mr. Harrington is a Republican, and the family faith is that of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Harrington was married November 30, 1876, to Ellen Carpenter, who was born in Franklinville, McHenry County, Ill., July 17, 1853, the daughter of Timothy and Emmaline (Webster) Carpenter. This union has been blessed with two daughters. Mabel was born December 14, 1878, and died in infancy. Nettie was born March 16, 1881, graduated from the Plainview high school, spent three years at the University of Minnesota, and is now a successful teacher of fourth grade studies.
Harrington, George W. (page
294), was one of the early settlers who made himself decidedly felt in the
life of the community. A man of profound convictions and decided opinions,
he was a picturesque figure in the days of strenuous party politics, and he
dearly loved the enthusiasm of public life. Though set in his own opinions,
he never denied his opponents the right to theirs, and a strong antagonist
on one subject might find him working by his side in friendliness on another
subject. Perhaps his greatest work was his opposition to the issuing and paying
of the railroad bonds, his judgment in the end, long after his death, being
ratified by the United States Supreme Court. For many years he served on the
town board and in 1888 was elected to the State Legislature. Mr. Harrington
was born at Barre, Vt., January 31, 1827, the son of David Harrington, who
lives in history as the first man to get granite for architectural purposes
from the now famous granite quarries of Barre. it was he who quarried the
large pillars which ornament the State Capitol at Montpelier, in his native
state, the pillars being not only an architectural feature of wonderful beauty
and strength, but also a splendid exemplification of the texture and quality
of the famous Barre granite. George W. grew to manhood on his father's farm
not far from the famous quarries. There he married Martha Ann Walker, by whom
he had two sons, Dean D., a well known resident at Plainview, Minn., and Frank.
In 1856 he brought his family to Minnesota, and settled on Greenwood Prairie,
this county, where he spent the remainder of his years in agricultural pursuits.
He was a Mason in Vermont, and became one of the charter members of the Plainview
Blue Lodge and Chapter. In the affairs of the lodge he was very active, and
seldom missed attendance at its communications. After a long and useful life
he died August 10, 1891, and was sincerely mourned by a wide circle of friends.
His wife died in 1909.
Harrison, Baker (page 513), a former resident of Lake Township, where for a number of years he was profitable engaged in agricultural pursuits, was a pioneer settler in Minnesota. He was born in Kalamazoo county, Mich., September 4, 1841, son of Stillwell and Myra Harrison, the parents being of old Kentucky stock. With them, he came to Minnesota in 1854, locating at Central Point, Goodhue county, where his father conducted a hotel. In 1861 he enlisted for service in the Civil War, in Company G, Eighth Minnesota Volunteers, and was in the army three years. Returning to this region at the close of his military service, he took a homestead at Wells Creek, near Frontenac, Goodhue County. To that farm he brought his bride, being married July 4, 1871, to Mary, daughter of Tillinghast and Laura Merrill, of Lake Township. There they lived three years, and then Mr. Harrison sold out, and bought the farm of his wife's parents, in section 6, Lake Township, which he conducted for a number of years, dying there on June 23, 1891, when in his 52nd year. His experience in the army had undermined his health, for he was never very strong afterwards. His wife, who was born in Otsego County, New York, February 12, 1851, came to this section with her parents when about four years old. She is still living, and a woman of bright intellectual faculties, though now has almost lost her sight. Mr. And Mrs. Harrison had two children: Charles B., born October 7, 1875, now residing in section 6, Lake Township; and Laura, born June 9, 1872, who died in infancy.
Harrison, Charles B. (page 513), a prominent farmer of Lake Township, residing in section 6, was born in this township October 7, 1875, son of Baker and Mary (Merrill) Harrison. He was trained to agricultural pursuits. When starting in for himself he started on his father's farm, which is his inheritance. At the time it came into his possession it contained 80 acres, but he has increased its area to 120 by the purchase of adjoining land. It is well provided with buildings, the residence being a comfortable frame house. He has built a barn 30 by 68 feet, with a full basement of eight feet for cattle, and a lean-to 16 by 28 for horses, the barn being fitted up with steel stanchions and a Sharpless milking-machine, and with running water in every stall. He has also erected a silo of 125 tons capacity. Since 1902 Mr. Harrison has devoted his chief attention to dairying, milking from 25 to 30 Guernsey grade cows. He also breeds Guernsey cattle, and does enough general farming to furnish food for his animals, feeding to them everything that he raises on the farm, except what he and his family use. In this line of business he has achieved good results, and is numbered among the prosperous citizens of his township. He is a stockholder in the Lake City Co-operative Creamery and is now its president. Mr. Harrison is a man of good mechanical ability and erected all his own buildings. Politically he is a Republican and has served as school director. He was reared in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal church. It was on December 23, 1899, that he assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, being united in marriage with Minnie, daughter of Louis and Sabra Burg, of Mt. Pleasant Township, who came to Wabasha County in the early sixties. Of this union two children have been born: Claude, December 17, 1902, who is a student in the Lake City high school, and Ruth, born May 31, 1906, who is attending school. Mrs. Charles B. Harrison, who was born May 12, 1875, acquired her education in the Lake City high school and the high school at Colfax, Wash.
Hart, Matthias J. (page 712), a retired farmer and stock raiser, residing in Mazeppa, was born in Chester Township, this county, September 10, 1869, son of Marcus and Elizabeth (Olinger) Hart. The parents were natives of Gravenmacher, Luxemburg. Marcus, the father, came to Erie County, New York in 1856. In the fall of 1865 he returned to Luxemburg, and was married January 1, 1866, to Elizabeth Olinger, a native of the same village as himself. With his wife, and his brother, Michael, he returned to the United States, and for a while resided in New York. In 1869 he came to Chester, Wabasha County, Minn., and bought 120 acres of land on sections 19 and 20, where he started farming. A few years later, on March 16, 1872, he died, leaving two children, John M. born in 1867, and Matthias J., the date of whose birth has been already given. In 1873 his widow married her first husband's brother, Michael Hart, who owned an interest in the farm, which he had assisted in working. Michael was born June 22, 1839, and became a cripple at the age of 16 years, his leg being broken by a wagon. From the age of 19 to 27 he operated a stationary engine, and then, as already stated accompanied his brother Marcus and the latter's newly wedded wife, to America. After arriving in this country he lived four years in Pewaukee, Wis., for most of the time operating an engine. In 1870 he came to Chester, Wabasha County, Minn. After marrying his brother's widow, they conducted the farm together, and about 1883 they enlarged it by the purchase of an additional tract of eighty acres. They had two children: Annie, born in 1875, and William, born in 1877, both of whom are now deceased. Mrs. Michael Hart died April 20, 1902. Her husband died April 6, 1909. Matthias J. Hart was reared on his parents farm, and in his boyhood, attended the district school, which was locally known as "Trout Brook College." Besides working on the farm, he gradually came to do most of the housework, on account of his mother's failing health. In the meanwhile he bought land as he found opportunity, and in 1899 moved to his own farm, one mile from the old home, where he engaged in general farming and stock raising on his own account, doing a prosperous business. After being thus engaged for about twelve years, in 1911 he retired and moved to Mazeppa, where he has since made his home. During the war with Germany, Mr. Hart took a patriotic part, assisting in all the drives for Liberty Loans, Red Cross, and stamp sales in the township. As a successful farmer and useful and patriotic citizen he is widely known and respected. Mr. Hart was married September 17, 1898, at Belle Chester, Minn., to Anna M. Bartholome, born in Chester Township, September 8, 1878, daughter of Nicholas and Katherine (Jacobs) Bartholome. The parents were natives of Luxembourg, Belgium, the father coming to the United States before the Civil War, landing at New Orleans, and proceeding thence to Iowa, where he settled. After a while he went back to Germany, but later returned to the United States and located on a farm in Chester Township, Wabasha County, Minn., where he spent the rest of his life, dying June 29, 1918. His wife is still living and is a resident of Belle Chester. They were the parents of eleven children; of whom ten are now living: Dominic, of Belle Chester; Rev. John N. Bartholome of Wabasha; Anna, wife of M. J. Hart; Elizabeth, wife of Frank Kippert of McVille, N. D.; Justine, wife of George J. Dobner of Faribault, Minn.; William, a resident of Spokane, Wash; Nicholas and George (twins), of Dickerson, N. D., and Regent, N. D.; Catherine, wife of John Huneke of Malta, Mont. and Peter W. (second), who is now the Rev. Peter W. Bartholome, a teacher in St. Mary's College at Winona, Minn. The first Peter W. died in Wisconsin in 1893. Mr. and Mrs. Hart have one son, Lawrence Marcus, born September 7, 1902, who is attending St. Mary's College at Winona. In 1917 Mr. Hart became a member of the village council, and in the spring of 1918 was elected mayor, being re-elected to the same office in 1919. He has been a stockholder in and a director of the Peoples Bank since it was organized, and is also a stockholder in the Farmers' elevator. He is fraternally affiliated with the Knights of Columbus, the Ignatius Benevolent Society of Belle Chester, and the United Workman. He and his family are faithful members of the Catholic church.
Harvey, Clyde F. (page 446), one of the younger farmers of Elgin Township, who is making rapid progress on the road to prosperity, was born in this township, June 29, 1894, son of John and Hattie (Bigelow) Harvey. As a boy he attended district school in the township, and also the Elgin village school. Brought up on the home farm, he early acquired a practical knowledge of agriculture in its different branches, and was associated with his father, for whom he worked until 1919. In that year his parents retired, and Clyde F. rented the home farm, containing 280 acres in section 29, which he is now operating as a general farmer and stock raiser. The place is well improved, having substantial buildings and a full equipment of modern machinery, and by Mr. Harvey is being worked with good financial results. Mr. Harvey has quite recently assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, having been united in marriage February 21, 1920, with Ava Cunningham, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Cunningham. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Fraternally he is a Mason. He is a man who takes an intelligent and helpful interest in all matters concerning the good of the community. Though he has but lately started out on an independent career, he has the qualities that compel success, and that are bound also to make him a factor in the development and improvement of this county should he continue his residence here.
Harvey, John (page 492), now a wealthy resident of Rochester, Minn., where he is living retired, but who during his long and active career was identified with the agricultural interests of Wabasha and Olmsted Counties, was born in Demore, County Down, Ireland, August 10, 1866, son of Alexander and June (Titterington) Harvey. In 1882, a youth of 16, he came to the United States, taking up his residence with his uncle, James Titterington, in Elgin Village, Wabasha County, Minn., and for a while attended school in the village. Subsequently until 1890 he did farm labor in the vicinity, after which he started in for himself, renting a farm in Elgin Township. In 1896 he removed to a farm of 160 acres which he had purchased in section 31, and on which he made improvements in the shape of additions to the house and barn. During that period he also bought 40 acres in section 29, Elgin Township, and 100 acres in Farmington Township, Olmsted County, which increased his possessions to 300 acres. Of this land he sold a quarter section, but bought 240 acres in section 32, 40 acres in section 32, and 40 acres in section 29, Elgin Township. In 1907 he moved to the farm in section 29, and continued agricultural pursuits there until his retirement in 1919, when he took up his residence in Rochester. On the farm last mentioned in 1915 he built a basement barn 40 by 80 feet, also a chicken house, and erected a windmill. His landed possessions in Elgin and Farmington Townships include 540 acres, the result of nearly thirty years’ hard and successful work as a general farmer and stock raiser. Mr. Harvey served three years as a member of the Elgin creamery board, and is a member of the Old Settlers’ association of Greenwood Prairie. He is affiliated fraternally with the Masonic order, including the Eastern Star chapter, of which Mrs. Harvey is also a member, and religiously with the Methodist Episcopal church. On April 21, 1892, Mr. Harvey was united in marriage with Hattie Bigelow, daughter of Frank M., and May (Hopson) Bigelow. To him and his wife nine children have been born, as follows: Clyde F., June 29, 1894; Ethel M., January 30, 1896; Cora L., March 16,. 1901; Alex W., March 22, 1903; Alice R., February 1, 1906; Howard J., January 28, 1908; Ruby L., November 5, 1910; Helen, January 30, 1913; and Grace E., May 7, 1915. Clyde F., is now living on the home farm in section 29, Elgin Township. Ethel M., is the wife of John Spreck, and Cora L. the wife of Wayne Cunningham. The other members of the family are residing at home, the children of suitable age attending school.
Hassig, George F. (page 286), a well-to-do citizen of Plainview, where he is now living retired after an active life of many years as a farmer and stock raiser, was born in Winona County, Minn., March 13, 1864. His parents, Napoleon and Fiannah (Sloth) Hassig, were natives of Indiana. The father, Napoleon Hassig, came to Winona County, Minn., in 1861, but in the following year he returned to Indiana and was married, in 1862, at once bringing his bride to the new home location in Winona County, where he had taken a claim of 160 acres of wild land. The home itself had to be developed, but all things were in time accomplished, not, however, without many hardships being suffered, such as practically all the pioneer settlers in this region were familiar with. But all difficulties encountered were happily surmounted. Mr. Hassig built a comfortable residence and substantial out-buildings, broke and cultivated his land, and in time became a prosperous and influential citizen. He continued farming until his death on March 14, 1918. His wife, Fiannah, passed away many years before him, on May 31, 1884. They had nine children: George F., Alice, Minnie, Mary, Lillie and William (twins), Gertrude, Aaron and Edna. Gertrude and Minnie are now deceased. George F. Hassig acquired his education in the district schools of Whitewater Township, Winona County. He grew to manhood on the home farm, and was associated with his father in its operation until reaching the age of 39 years. Then, about 1903, he bought a farm of his own, containing 160 acres, and which was situated near that of his parents. Two additional purchases, each of 40 acres, increased its total area to 240 acres. There he followed diversified farming and stock raising, breeding full blooded Durham cattle of the beef type, which he shipped to market. In this manner he was profitably engaged until the fall of 1919, when, having acquired a reasonable competency, he sold his farm and purchased a fine modern residence on High street, Plainview, where he and his wife are now enjoying a well earned leisure. For three years formerly Mr. Hassig served as treasurer of his school district. He was married, September 2, 1903, to Lillian Brownell, who was born in Pleasant Grove, Olmsted County, Minn., April 13, 1864, daughter of Truman and Lucy (Curtiss) Brownell. He and his wife attend the Methodist Episcopal church. Mrs. Hassig's parents were natives respectively of Vermont and New York State, and came west to Olmsted County, Minnesota, in the early fifties. There they resided until 1868, when they removed to Ottertail County, Minn., where Mrs. Lucy Brownell died in 1898. Mr. Brownell subsequently moved to North Dakota, then to South Dakota, and after that to Douglass County, Minn., where he died in 1912. There were six children in the Brownell family, Hattie, Ida, Gifford, Lillian, Helen and Chauncey, all of whom are now living.
Hassig, Willie D. (page 386), the proprietor and operator of a profitable farm in Plainview Township, where he stands high as a citizen, was born in Winona County, Minn., August 4, 1873, son of Napoleon and Fianah (Schlott) Hassig. The parents were natives of Stark County, Ohio, they were married in Indiana in 1862, immediately afterward coming to Winona County, Minn., where Napoleon Hassig had taken a claim of 160 acres of wild land the previous year while on a prospecting trip. He and his wife passed through the usual pioneer hardships and experiences, but in time developed a good farm. Mrs. Fianah Hassig died May 31, 1885, and Napoleon Hassig on March 14, 1918, he having survived her nearly 33 years. They had nine children: George F., Alice, Minnie, Mary, Lillie May and Willie D. (twins), Gertrude, Aaron and Edna. Gertrude and Minnie are now deceased. Willie D. Hassig acquired his elementary education in the Honey Hill district school, Winona County. As he grew older he became active and useful on his parents' farm, and subsequently attended the agricultural school at St. Paul for two winters. In 1902 he rented the home farm, Plainview Township, Wabasha County, having purchased 80 acres of land in section 25. He has since operated the home farm. Also by additional purchases he has increased the area of his farm to 239 acres, 139 of which are in section 26. He also owns 200 acres of the home farm in Winona County. Since taking possession of the property Mr. Hassig has made some valuable improvements, having erected a good barn, 40 by 74 feet, with full basement and modern equipment, and put up a silo. He follows diversified farming, keeping Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China swine, and is doing a large and profitable business. On Oct. 14, 1908, he was married to Amelia Carleton, who was born in Plainview Township, October 1, 1878. She was graduated from the Plainview High School in the class of 1899, and in the following year took up teaching, an occupation in which she was engaged for about seven years in the rural schools of Wabasha and Winona counties. In 1905 she was graduated from the School of Agriculture at St. Paul. Mr. and Mrs. Hassig are the parents of four children: Helen A., born August 6, 1909; Deane C., September 17, 1912; Beth M., October 11, 1913, and May E., May 23, 1915. The family are religiously affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. Politically Mr. Hassig is independent.
Hazlett, Rev. Silas (page 388), pioneer preacher, and for many years one of the best known and most respected citizens of Lake City, of which at the time of his death, Thursday, November 6, 1919, he was the oldest resident, was born in Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, May 12, 1824, son of William and Ann (Wilson) Hazlett. On the father's side he was of Irish descent, the mother's ancestry being Scotch. Of the family of eleven children, he and his brother John entered the Presbyterian ministry, both attending Jefferson College, Pennsylvania, and the Theological Seminary at Pittsburgh where they were graduated. Silas Hazlett was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of Oxford and Synod cf Cincinnati in October, 1850, being then a young man of 26 years. His first charges were at Harmony and College Corner, Ohio. On January 14, 1851, he was married, at Cincinnati, to Eliza Jane Patton. Somewhat less than five years later, on March 1, 1856, with his wife and daughter (now Mrs. J. B. McLean, of Lake City), he left Oxford, Ohio, on a trip to St. Paul, Minn. The journey was made mostly by boat, and on reaching Lake City, April 18, on his way up the river, he landed here with his family, in order to stop over for the Sabbath. There were but twelve persons here at the time, and to them on the following Sunday, April 20, he delivered the first sermon ever preached in Lake City, the services being held in a log shanty owned by Abner Dwelle. Impressed with the natural beauty of the location, and anticipating a prosperous future for the little settlement, Mr. Hazlett determined to remain here, a resolution, which he never regretted, and for 65 years thereafter he was one of the leading figures in the community. He not only preached the first sermon, but also married the first couple, baptized the first child, taught the first public school, and organized the first Sunday school in the history of Lake City. He also performed the wedding ceremony for the first white child born in Wabasha County, namely, F. H. Stauff, of Lake City. The first marriage ceremony was that of George W. Hathaway and Abigail J. Langley, in November, 1856; and it is interesting to note that years after he performed the funeral services of both husband and wife, those of the husband in 1878, and those of the wife in January, 1914, fifty-seven years after he had united her in happy wedlock. The first child he baptized in Lake City was the infant daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Boody, and the first person over whom he performed the burial rites was Mary Doughty, a pioneer of that city. Mr. Hazlett's most active labors were those connected with the Presbyterian ministry. After his initial sermon he held services every Sunday in the second story of a frame building until more suitable accommodations were secured a few months later. It was in the same building that he opened the first public school here, in November, 1856, starting with about thirty pupils. By that time the city had a population of about 300, many new settlers having come in since his arrival seven months before. The lower floor of the building was used as a carpenter shop, and there was no regular stairway, the upper floor being reached by a ladder. On December 31, the same year, the Presbyterian church was organized, with Mr. Hazlett as acting pastor, and B. C. Baldwin, A. V. Sigler and Mrs. Hazlett as members. Its more detailed history may be found on another page of this volume. Mr. Hazlett was pastor of the church for about ten years, and then turned his attention to other fields, and to the organization and erection of two other churches in the county-one in the township of Mt. Pleasant, and the other on Trout brook, in the midst of the "Scotch Settlement" in Glasgow Township. For more than 35 years he tended and cared for the needs of these two country congregations, making his headquarters in Lake City. Both churches are now closed, the organizations having disbanded owing to deaths and removals. Mr. Hazlett's first wife, Eliza Jane, who had accompanied him to this region, died on March 3, 1865, leaving but one child, the daughter previously mentioned. After remaining a widower for four years, Mr. Hazlett married, in May, 1869, Mrs. Sarah Jane Greer, mother of Allan J. Greer, attorney and former state senator, Charles W. Greer, of Minneapolis, and Mary Greer, deceased. Mrs. Hazlett died a few years ago. After 1894 Mr. Hazlett lived in practical retirement at his home in Lake City, though even after he had passed his ninetieth year he officiated frequently at weddings and funerals. He taught a class in the Congregational Sunday school, and was an earnest Bible student. One of the most public spirited men in the city, he took great pride in its growth and prosperity. He lived to enjoy the fruits of his early labors, and to rejoice in the successful work of others. His death at the ripe age of 95 years and six months deprived Lake City of one of its most honored citizens. His life, rich in memories and achievements, was a blessing and benediction to the community in which he lived, and to all those with whom he came into personal contact.
Heagerty, William B. Jr. M.D. (page 474), who for the last ten years has been successfully engaged in medical practice in Mazeppa, was born in Cork, Ireland, June 25, 1876, son of William and Elizabeth (McBride) Heagerty. The parents came to the United States with their family in 1900, settling in Minneapolis. In 1910 they went to Long Beach, California, where they have since resided. They had six children-four sons and two daughters. Those now living are: George, residing in Tacoma, Wash.; Harry, of Oakland, Calif; Maud, wife of Franklin Miller, of Pasadena, Calif.; William B., of Mazeppa; and Marian, residing with her parents at Long Beach, Calif. A son, Kingston, died in 1905. William B. Heagerty was 23 years old when he came to Minneapolis with his parents. He was equipped with a good education, the foundation for which had been laid in the common schools of his native land, and supplemented by a course at Queen's College, at Cork, Ireland. He had been subsequently graduated M. D. from Edinburgh University, Scotland, and after coming to Minnesota he took a post-graduate course in the University of Minnesota. In the year 1900 he commenced the practice of his profession at Lander, Wyoming, where he remained one year. Then returning to Minneapolis, he practiced there six years, coming to Mazeppa in 1910. Here he has demonstrated his ability as a competent physician and surgeon, built up a good practice, and won a wide personal popularity. On June 6, 1917, Dr. Heagerty enlisted in the American service, as first lieutenant in the medical service; was promoted to captain November 7, 1917, and to major, March 6, 1918. Assigned to the 89th Division, he was first stationed at Camp Funston, went abroad with his division in June, 1918, was at the front in France, in command of Field Hospital No. 355, and returned home in 1919, being honorably discharged on June 18. He then resumed medical practice in Mazeppa. He is a member of the Masonic order, in which he has advanced as far as the Commandery. Since coming to Mazeppa he has identified himself closely with public affairs, and proved himself a man of force and useful activity. He was four years president of the village council, during which period the municipal electric light and power system was installed, with 24 hour service. This was in 1916, and in March, 1920, Dr. Heagerty was again elected president of the village over M. J. Hart. In 1920 also he was a delegate to the Wabasha County Convention, and to the Minnesota State Republican Convention at St. Paul. On June 16, 1919, Dr. Heagerty was united in marriage with Dora E. Schwitz, of Wabasha, daughter of George and Elisa Schwitz, who were early settlers in this county. She is one of a family of six children, those now living, in addition to herself, being Ann, Elise, Margaret and John, the last mentioned being a student at Carleton College. There was another son, who died in infancy. The father, George Schwitz, died in 1914, but his wife is still living, and is a resident of Wabasha.
Heise, Frederick (page 376), who, after a very successful career in agricultural pursuits, is now living retired in section 13, West Albany Township, was born in Hanover, Germany, June 29, 1849. He grew to manhood in his native land and was there married in November, 1872, to Johanna Schaffer, who was born in Hanover, August 30, 1853. For twelve years after his marriage he remained in Germany, where he followed the time-honored occupation of a farmer, and then, with his family, he emigrated to the United States, coming directly to Wabasha County, Minnesota. For 20 years he rented different farms in Gillford, Hyde Park and Lake Townships, but at last, in 1903, he bought the farm of 160 acres in section 13, West Albany Township, on which he now lives. It then had very ordinary buildings and afforded plenty of room for improvement, which work he undertook with zeal and industry. He built a fine two-story modern frame house, a frame barn, 40 by 80 by 14 feet, with a 9-foot stone basement for cattle and horses, and modern equipment, and has put all his other buildings into good shape. His industry and good judgment brought him financial success and he is now in the enjoyment of an ample competence. Mr. Heise personally operated the farm until 1918, in which year he retired from active work and leased it to his son August, who owns the stock and operating equipment. The entire farm in under cultivation. Mr. Heise has been able to give all his sons a good start in life. He is well known and highly respected in West Albany Township and the vicinity, and though now 71 years old, is still hale and hearty, with good prospects of enjoying life for a number of years to come. He and his wife have had six children, as follows: Frederick and Charles, who are farmers in Gillford Township; Johanna, who married Charles Krett, a farmer of Gillford Township, and died April 27, 1919; Gustav, who is farming in Gillford Township; August, born October 30, 1882, who is now operating the home farm on his own account; Lillian, born March 10, 1893, who is residing at home. The five elder children were born in Germany, and Lillian in West Albany Township. August, in addition to his interest in the home farm, is a stockholder in the Farmers' Elevator Co. of Theilman, and the Terminal Packing Co. of Newport. He is a member of the Non-Partisan League. Mr. Heise and his family are members of the Jacksonville congregation of the Lutheran church.
Helgerson, Cyrus G. (page 472), a member of
the well known mercantile firm of Squire & Helgerson, of Mazeppa, was
born in Freeport, Iowa, August 4, 1879, son of Hans and Rose (Olson) Helgerson.
The parents were natives of Christiania, Norway, the mother coming to the
United States in 1866 with her parents. At about the same time her future
husband, Hans Helgerson, settled on a homestead with his parents on Greenwood
Prairie, near Plainview, Wabasha County, Minn. He was a Clergyman and subsequently
went from this county to Iowa, to take charge of a Methodist church there.
It proved to be his last charge, as he died at Freeport, that state, in 1882,
leaving two children: Anna, now the wife of A. F. Polson, of Minneapolis;
and Cyrus G., of Mazeppa. After Hans Helgerson's death his widow married J.
A. Olin, of Belvidere, Goodhue County, Minn., and in 1886 moved with her husband
to Millville, in which vicinity she now resides on a farm. By her marriage
with Mr. Olin she has two children, Phoebe and Edna. Phoebe is the wife of
C. A. Polosn, and Edna resides on the Olin farm with his (?) mother and step-father.
He attended the district school and subsequently took a course in commercial
college at Lake City. He remained on the farm engaged in agriculture until
arriving at the age of 21, and then became clerk in the store of E. N. York
at Hammond. In 1902 he came to Mazeppa and became clerk with Phillips &
Co., remaining with that concern until Mr. Phillips sold out his business.
The next three years, Mr. Helgerson spent in Canada, and then returning to
Mazeppa, entered the employ of Herman & Squire, for whom he worked as
clerk until 1917. He then purchased a half interest in the store, which has
since been conducted under the style of Squire & Helgerson. The firm carries
a full line of dry goods, shoes, men's furnishings, ladies' "ready-to-wear,"
and groceries, and enjoys a good patronage. Mr. Helgerson was married at Zumbrota,
Minn., in June 1913, to Elizabeth Stecher, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Theodore
Stecher. Her parents, who were early settlers in the town of Whamming, Goodhue
County, are now living in Virginia. They had six daughters, Elizabeth, Emma,
Edna, Alma, Laura and Esther, all of whom are now living.
Hendricks, Marquis (page 564), of Greenfield Township, one of the early settlers of Wabasha County, with a Civil War record, was born in Illinois, March 20, 1840, son of Coleman and Clarice (Shurtlauf) Hendricks. The parents were natives of Virginia, who removed to Illinois, and later to Wabasha County, Minnesota, taking a farm in Cook’s Valley, where they made their home until death, the father passing away in 1880 and the mother in 189-. Their son Marquis attended school in Illinois and later in Wabasha village and his early industrial years were spent in assisting his father. He then worked for ten years on the Mississippi river. After the breaking out of the Civil War he joined the First Minnesota Regiment, enlisting in Co. I in 1861, and was the first to enlist from Wabasha and the sixth from the county, and for four years was an active participant in the great conflict between North and South. The war over, in 1866 he turned his attention to farming, buying 100 acres on Sand Prairie. In 1876 he sold that farm and moved to Wabasha village, where he engaged in teaming. Then, in 1883 he bought 56 acres in section 2, Greenfield Township, on which he erected buildings and fences, and engaged in mixed farming and stock raising. On this farm Mr. Hendricks is still residing, one of the best known and respected citizens of his township. He is a member of the grand Army of the Republic and of the congregational church. Mr. Hendricks was married January 1, 1865, to Asenath Hitt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Norris Hitt. Her parents were born in this county and lived for a number of years in Greenfield Township, their last years, however, being spent in Kellogg, where both died. To Mr. and Mrs. Hendricks nine children were born: Lillie, Charles, Gertrude, Arthur, Clara, Mary, Bessie, Julia and Frederick. Julia is now deceased.
Herman, Conradin W. (page 327), a well known and popular citizen of Plainview Township, where he is successfully engaged in diversified farming, was born in Whitewater Township, Winona County, May 21, 1874, son of George and Caroline (Ebner) Herman. The parents were born in Germany, and were married after coming to this country in the state of Michigan, after which they settled in Whitewater Township, Winona County, Minn. Their son, Conradin, was educated in the rural schools of Winona County and began industrial life on the home farm. In 1897 he began farming for himself on the Manuel Heissig farm at Beaver Creek, Winona County, where he remained five years. He then removed to Verndale, Wadena County, Minn., in which locality he farmed four years. After that he spent a year in Rochester, subsequently taking the Matt Wood farm in Plainview Township, which he operated five years. In 1912 he bought his present farm of 136 acres in sections 23 and 24, Plainview Township, where among the improvements carried out by himself are a windmill, silo, hay barn, hen house and extensive fencing. He is profitably raising Durham cattle and Chester-White hogs, besides the usual crops of this section. He served one year as justice of the peace, and for the last five years has been a director on the school board. His fraternal affiliations are with the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Herman was married October 25, 1899, to Minnie Klavetter, who was born March 4, 1878, daughter of Paul and Amelia (Grepentrog) Klavetter, of Plainview Township. The home circle of Mr. and Mrs. Herman has been enlarged by the birth of six children: Donald A., born November 7, 1900; Ida E., April 12, 1904; Mabel A., July 28, 1906; Verne E., July 25, 1911; Edgar R., July 14, 1913; and Dorothy M., March 11, 1918. Donald A. is now engaged in assisting his father on the home farm. Ida E. is a student in the Plainview high school. The family if affiliated religiously with the Methodist Episcopal church.
Herman, Edward A. (page 746), who is prosperously engaged in operating a farm of 320 acres in Zumbro Township, was born in Tacoma, Wash., August 19, 1891, son of William and Mathilda (Scholer) Herman. The father was a native of Trempealeau County, Wisconsin, born in 1867 of German ancestry, the grandparents, William and Mary (Springer) Herman, coming to the United States and settling in Wisconsin in the early fifties. The family came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, in 1880, locating on a farm in Gillford Township, which the grandparents carried on until their retirement in 1893, after which they resided at Zumbro Falls until their death. William Herman (Jr.) worked for his father until 1888, when he went to Tacoma, Wash., where he resided four years. After his return to Wabasha County, Minn., he operated rented farms until he purchased one in Zumbro Township, in sections 11 and 14, where he now lives. He was married to Mathilda Scholer in 1890. Edward A. Herman acquired his education in the district school and was trained to agriculture on his parents' farm. For a few years he worked for his father and afterwards did farm labor for others near Zumbro Falls. In 1915 he rented his present farm of 320 acres in sections 14 and 15, Zumbro Township where he is engaged in general farming and stock raising with profitable results. Mr. Herman was married November 24, 1915, to Grace Parkinson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James W. Parkinson of Zumbro Township, her parents being prominent and well to do farmers. Mr. and Mrs. Herman have one child, Ralph William, who was born April 1, 1917.
Herman, Henry H. (page 745), a general farmer and stock raiser of Zumbro Township, a member of a well known and respected family, was born in Tacoma, Washington, November 10, 1892, son of William and Mathilda (Scholer) Herman. The father was a native of Trempealeau County, Wisconsin, who came to Wabasha County with his parents in 1880. The mother was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Scholer, who were early settlers in Glasgow Township. After returning in 1892 from Tacoma, Wash., where he had spent four years, William Herman engaged in farming in Gillford Township, but since 1907 has been proprietor of a large and finely equipped farm in Zumbro Township. Henry H. Herman was educated in the district school and worked for his father until 1917. He then rented 187 acres in section 24, Zumbro Township, a farm which he has since operated, doing diversified farming and stock raising. He expects to move to his father's farm in the fall of 1920. On September 29, 1917, he was united in marriage with Mina E. Pencille, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William D. Pencille, of Zumbro Township. He and his wife are the parents of one child, William H., who was born July 5, 1920.
Herman, William (page 732), of Zumbro Township, a good type of the enterprising and modern farmer, recently retired, was born in Trempealeau County, Wis., March 16, 1867, son of William and Mary (Springer) Herman. The parents were natives respectively of Germany and Switzerland, who came to the United States in the early fifties, settling in Wisconsin, where the father was engaged in ordinary farm labor for several years. Later he took a farmstead in Trempealeau County, but subsequently sold that property and in 1880 came to Minnesota, locating on 120 acres of land in Gillford Township. He improved that place and carried on general farming there until his retirement in 1893, when he and his wife took up their residence at Zumbro Falls. There Mrs. Herman died in 1898 and Mr. Herman in 1903. They had eight children: William, Albert C., Edward, Anna, Lizzie, Fred L., Emil and Ida. Anna and Lizzie are now deceased. The parents were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. William Herman (Jr.) in his boyhood attended school at Zumbro Falls. He worked for his father until 1888, and then went to Tacoma, Wash., where for four years he followed the carpenter's trade. In 1892 he returned to Wabasha County, Minn., and for two years rented the home farm of his father. Subsequently he operated other rented farms in this county. In 1907 Mr. Herman bought 120 acres in section 14, 80 acres in sections 11 and 14, and 40 acres in section 11, making a farm of 240 acres, which he operated for 13 years. He erected all the buildings, installed acetylene lights and the James barn equipment, and carried on general farming to modern methods and with profitable results. He bred high grad Holstein cattle and Duroc-Jersey hogs, having full-blooded sires at the head of his herds. In addition to these interests, Mr. Herman became president of the Zumbro Falls Shipping Association, also of the Zumbro Falls Co-operative Creamery, and treasurer of the Farmers Elevator Company of the same place. On October 1, 1920, Mr. Herman retired from the farm and is now living in the Village of Zumbro Falls, where he has bought some village property, including besides the land and old house and building. He has now under construction a new barn and garage and will soon erect a new modern residence. For 12 years he has been chairman of the school board of his district. His religious affiliations are with the Methodist Episcopal church, while he belongs fraternally to the Modern Woodmen of America. On July 9, 1890, Mr. Herman was united in marriage with Mathilda Scholer, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Scholer. Her parents are natives of Germany who settled in Glasgow Township, this county, later moving to the vicinity of Zumbro Falls. Both are now deceased, the mother having died in Zumbro Falls in 1888 and the father in Chester Township in 1895. Their children were John, Andrew, Edward, Charles, Albert, William, Christie, Rose, Emma, Lena and Mathilda. Mr. and Mrs. Scholer were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. and Mrs. William Herman have had ten children, all of whom are now living but one. They are as follows: Edward A., born August 19, 1891; Henry H., born November 10, 1892; Emma D., born March 2, 1894; Esther M., born October 19, 1895; now Mrs. George Reppe of Zumbro Falls; Lydia M., born April 11, 1897, died June 21, 1898; Ethel M., born January 3, 1899, now Mrs. Carl Walker of Olmstead County; Alfred W., born July 23, 1900; Lottie M., born August 26, 1902; Clarence F., born April 9, 1905, and Marion I., born June 23, 1909.
Hilger, Nicholas J. (page 719), at different times a resident of Mazeppa village, and for several years a merchant here until his recent death, was born at Bellevue, Iowa, January 30, 1873, and was a boy when he came to Mazeppa with his parents. He acquired his education in the village school, and after entering the ranks of industry was occupied in painting and paper- hanging in Mazeppa and the vicinity until 1902. He then moved to Red Wing, where for four years he was engineer in the Red Wing Mill. In 1906 he entered the Red Wing Linseed Mill, where he was chief engineer for 11 years. In 1917 Mr. Hilger returned to Mazeppa and bought the G. H. Squire furniture business, later expanding his business by adding an undertaking department. He received an extensive patronage and was enjoying a well earned prosperity when he was called away by death on April 28, 1920. For some months previously he had been seriously ill. A contemplated operation was abandoned because it was found that the disease from with he suffered had progressed too far for aid. He endured the long wait for the end with exemplary courage, and his cheerfulness aided his family to overcome the despondency which might otherwise have affected them at the suffering of a loved one. Mr. Hilger served one term as a member of the village council of Mazeppa. He was a member of the Catholic church and of several societies, including the Knights of Columbus at Red Wing; the Catholic Order of Foresters, of which he was secretary at the time of his death, and the SS. Peter and Paul Society. He was held in universal esteem as a business man eminently fair in all his dealings and a useful and friendly neighbor and citizen. To his family he was a loving, thoughtful and provident husband and father. Mr. Hilger was married June 27, 1900, to Mayme H. Reding, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Adam Reding of Mazeppa village. Of this union three children were born: Clarence J. A., April 3, 19032; Wilfred N., November 8, 1907, and Bernard G., July 28, 1911. Clarence is now a student at St. Mary's College, Winona. Since her husband's death Mrs. Hilger has operated the furniture store. While residing in Red Wing she passed through all the chairs in the Degree of Honor, and has served as vice president and adviser of the Ladies' Catholic Aid Society of Mazeppa. In addition to his wife and children, Mr. Hilger left seven brothers and three sisters: Michael, Alexander, Dan, William, Kate and Mrs. George Sand, of Mazeppa; Mrs. Clara Huberts, of Pine Island; John, of Wabasha; George, of Weaver; and Dr. J. M. Hilger, of Ione, all of whom were present at his funeral.
Hinck, Hein D. (page 375), who is a successfully engaged in agriculture in section 17, West Albany Township, was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, Minn., June 22, 1894, son of Peter and Engel Hinck. The parents were among the early settlers in this region, their farm being located in Gilbert Valley. Hein D. was educated in the district school and acquired his agricultural training on the home farm, where he resided up to the age of 22 years. He then removed to his father's farm in section 17, West Albany Township, which he has since been engaged in operating. It contains 160 acres, of which 110 are under the plow, the balance being in timber and pasture. He owns the stock and operating equipment, including all necessary machinery, together with four good horses, and is carrying on general farming on a profitable basis, being a practical man in his line and a hard and steady worker. Politically he is a Republican. Being unmarried, his household is presided over by a sister. Mr. Hinck was reared in the faith of the Lutheran church and is a member of the Belvidere congregation. He has a wide acquaintance and is popular among his fellow citizens.
Hinck, John J. (page 775), a representative farmer of Mt. Pleasant Township, residing on the old farm of his parents in section 8, was born here May 27, 1891, son of John Peter and Engel (Holtz) Hinck. He had but little schooling in his youth, having to begin industrial life at an early age, but his training in agriculture was thorough and the right preparation for the career he has followed. He has always remained on the home farm, up to the age of 22 years being associated with his father. In 1913 he began operating the place for himself and is thus occupied at present, with profitable results, doing a good business as a general farmer. The farm is one of the best in the township, and contains 180 acres, with 120 acres under the plow. There is a fine set of buildings, including a two-story frame house of eight rooms; a frame barn, 36 by 60 by 14 feet, with an 8-foot stone basement and modern equipment; a granary 22 by 30 by 14; a double corn-crib with an 8-foot drive, together with a tool shed and a garage for Mr. Hinck's five-passenger auto car. There is also a triple-walled silo, 14 by 26, with a 7-foot base. Mr. Hinck keeps Shorthorn cattle and Hampshire and Chester-White hogs, and his operating equipment is modern and complete. He is a member of the Non-partisan League, and he and his family are members of the Belvidere congregation of the German Lutheran church. Mr. Hinck was married November 1, 1916, to Anna Margaret Fitchen, who was born December 21, 1895, daughter of Deidrich and Mary Fitchen of Mt. Pleasant Township. He and his wife are the parents of two children: Elsie Marie born October 26, 1917; and Alvin Deidrich, born January 26, 1919.
Hinck, John Peter (page 774), a thriving farmer residing in Mt. Pleasant Township, was born in Hanover, Germany, April 1, 1859, son of Heine D. Hinck and wife, his parents being farmers. He had a common school education in his native land, and in 1882 came to Wabasha County, Minn. For the first five or six years here he worked as a farm hand and saved all he could of his wages, so that in 1889 he was able to buy 160 acres of land in sections 5 and 8, Mt. Pleasant Township. All the land was broken, but there were no buildings. Mr. Hinck erected a fine frame house, a frame barn, silo, and other necessary structures, and developed the farm, conducting it successfully and raising both grain and stock. In 1901 he leased it to his son John and bought 240 acres in sections 4 and 9, in Gilbert Valley, four miles west of Lake City, which is the farm on which he has since resided. He has 110 acres under the plow, and the soil is good and well tilled. It is also well stocked with Shorthorn cattle, Duroc-Jersey swine and Shropshire sheep. The silo is triple-walled, and the other buildings in good condition. Mr. Hinck has been a hard worker and by industry and economy has become prosperous. He was married September 2, 1887, to Engel, daughter of Joseph and Rebecca Holtz of Belvidere Township, Goodhue County. Their children are as follows: Ella, now Mrs. Henry Quelle of Florence Township, Goodhue County; Anna, wife of Richard Peterson of Mt. Pleasant Township; John J., a prosperous farmer of Mt. Pleasant Township; Emma, residing in West Albany Township; Heine, of Mt. Pleasant Township; Henry, of West Albany Township; and Edward, Lillie, Clarence and Louis, who are residing on the home farm. Mr. Hinck and his family are members of the German Lutheran church, worshiping with the Belvidere congregation in Goodhue County.
Hodge, Arthur J. (page 491), cashier of the Peoples State Bank of Mazeppa, and one of the leading business men in this part of the county, was born in Lake City, Wabasha County, Minn., in February, 1857, being the first male white child born there. His parents were William W. and Mary M. (Teller) Hodge, who came to the Northwest from New York. The early settlement of the family in this country dates back to colonial times, the first ancestors here coming from England. William W. Hodge arrived at Lake City, Minn., in the early fifties, when this part of the country was a wilderness, and the white settlements were few and far between. He started the first nursery at Lake City, and also followed building and contracting until 1861, when he moved with his family to a farm in Olmsted County. There he and his wife spent the rest of their lives. Arthur J., who was their only child, was reared on the farm, and in his youth acquired a knowledge of agriculture. His elementary education was acquired in the district school, and he subsequently attended the high school at Rochester. Farming occupied his attention until 1908, in which year he came to Mazeppa. Prior to that, however, he was a director of the Hammond State Bank, and his subsequent career has been along financial lines. He was the organizer of the Farmers State Bank of Hammond in 1915, becoming a stockholder in the institution, and serving for a while as vice president. He organized and became cashier of the Peoples State Bank of Mazeppa in 1909, and he is interested in numerous banks in North Dakota. He also deals in farm lands, and still owns the old homestead of his parents. Mr. Hodge was married in 1882 at Rochester, Minn., to Mary M. Herrick, daughter of George and Satina Herrick, natives of New York State, and a descendant of General Herrick, who served on the American side in the Revolutionary War. Her parents were early settlers in Minnesota and farmers by occupation. Both are now deceased. Of their seven children, five are now living: Frank, of Hammond; Minnie, a resident of Chatfield; Martha, widow of Mr. Banneman, residing at Faribault, Minn.; Georgie, wife of Thomas Robinson, of Rochester; Lena, wife of Will McDermott, of Luverne; and Mary M., who married A. J. Hodge, of Mazeppa. Mrs. Mary M. Hodge died very suddenly of pneumonia, December 12, 1919. To Mr. and Mrs. Hodge five children have been born, four of whom are living, namely: Josie, wife of Bert Mitchell, of Gardner, N.D.; Frank A., cashier in the Hammond State Bank; Gertrude, wife of Grover Mitchell, residing on a farm in Hammond; and Arthur, assistant cashier of the Peoples State Bank of Mazeppa. The one deceased was William, who died in 1909. He married Maud Rolph, of Hammond, and they had four children, Merna, Wilda, William and Neva, all of whom are living with their mother at Jarrets, Wabasha County. Although Mr. Hodge spent so many years of his life in farming, he has shown a business and financial ability that has placed him on a level with many bankers of long experience and made him a power in the community, for the good of which his talents and influence have been exercised. Though enterprising, he builds on a safe and sure foundation, and is sufficiently conservative to take no unwise risks. Since coming to Mazeppa he has proved an asset to the business interests of the place, and has a high reputation as a man and citizen.
Hodsdon, Thomas W. (page 714), a well known farmer of Chester Township, and one of its leading citizens, has resided here since his birth, which took place January 15, 1863, his parents being Charles and Harriet (Everson) Hodsdon. Charles Hodsdon, the father, was born in Waterville, Maine, and his wife Harriet in Syracuse, N. Y. They came to Wabasha County, Minn., in 1855, having been married at Menomonie, Wis., where Mr. Hodsdon had worked for the Knapp-Stout Lumber Company. The land they homesteaded consisted of 160 acres in section 7, Chester Township, and was all wild, and at that early day there were numerous Indians in the vicinity. Mr. Hodsdon at once began the work of improvement and in time developed a good farm, erecting all necessary buildings. Here he and his wife spent the rest of their lives as industrious farmers, Mr. Hodsdon dying August 30, 1909, at the age of eighty years, and Mrs. Hodsdon September 7, 1902, at the age of seventy. They had three children: Flora, who married A. D. Simpkins of Beltrami County, Minnesota, her husband being now deceased; Charles F. of Bowman, N. D., and Thomas W., of Chester Township, Wabasha County. Thomas W. Hodsdon was educated in the district school and worked for his father until he was 22 years old. Then, in 1885, he rented the home farm in Chester Township, which he operated as a renter until 1909, in which year he purchased it. Here he has since resided, carrying on general farming and stock raising. The farm is situated in section 7 and contains 114 acres, being provided with adequate buildings, and Mr. Hodsdon is operating it on a profitable basis. For 15 years he has been a member of the school board of district No. 66, and he also served three years as supervisor on the Chester Town Board. He is fraternally affiliated with the Masons, including the Eastern Star Chapter, the Workmen and the Degree of Honor. On July 3, 1884, Mr. Hodsdon was united in marriage with Katherine Barnish, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Barnish. Her parents, who resided at Brookville, Wis., are now deceased. They had eleven children, four of whom are now living: Elizabeth, wife of Fred Becker, of Aberdeen, Wash.; Fred, of Woodville, Wis.; Jessie, wife of William Page, of St. Paul; and Katherine, wife of Thomas W. Hodsdon. Mr. and Mrs. Hodsdon have had seven children: Lela M., born October 23, 1885, now Mrs. Bert Rice, of Zumbrota; Jessie E., born June 26, 1887, who is the wife of Earl Lang of Cogswell, N. D.; Charles J. born June 25, 1889, who died September 10, 1889; Cassie J. born August 11, 1890, who is the wife of Henry Raasch of Zumbrota; Lucy H., born August 22, 1892, who is the wife of Olof Lindskog of Faribault; Frederick J., born May 5, 1895, who is living in St. Paul; and Harold T., born May 12, 1899, who is residing on the home farm with his parents. Frederick enlisted in July, 1917, in Company D., Third Minnesota Infantry, and was stationed at Camp Cody, in New Mexico. He was discharged December 18, 1917, on account of disability.
Hoffman, John (page 648) who ranks among the enterprising and successful agriculturists of Highland Township, was born in Germany, December 20, 1874, son of Theodore and Margaret (Tentis) Hoffman. The family came to America in 1879, proceeding directly to Wabasha County, Minn., and buying a farm of 200 acres in Highland township, which they made their permanent home. Mrs. Margaret Hoffman died in 1895, being survived by her husband, who passed away in 1908. They were the parents of nine children, all now living, namely: Hubert, John and Nicolas (twins), Christ, Susie, Emma, Jacob, Frank and George. Susie is the wife of William Laqua, and Emma, the wife of John Nye. Jacob resides in Minneapolis; Frank, who is an engineer, lives in Canada, and George is farming on the home place in Highland Township. John Hoffman was five years old when he accompanied his parents to the United States. He attended district school here and remained on the home farm until attaining his majority, assisting his father. Afterwards he worked out for others until 1912, in which year he bought his present farm in section 19, Highland Township. Here he carries on general farming and stock raising, including dairying, and raises graded cattle, hogs and Shropshire sheep and is making good progress along financial lines. Mr. Hoffman was married in Highland Township, in 1911, to Katie Waterson, who died November 18, 1912. On October 12, 1915, he was married at Theilman, this county, to Clara Schones, of Oakwood Township, daughter of George and Mary (Prigge) Schones. She was one of 11 children, of whom eight are now living: Pearl, May, Arthur, Harry, Lizzie, Gabriel, Bertha and Joseph. Those who died were Hazel, Francis and Nora. To Mr. and Mrs. Hoffman four children have been born: Vigil, Mildred, Clara and Esther, all residing at home.
Holst, Carl M. (page 483), who passed from this life at his home in Plainview Township, January 19, 1920, was a man who had achieved a good measure of success along agricultural lines, and developed a valuable property and a comfortable home. He was born in Germany, November 20, 1864, son of Christ and Louise (Raatz) Holst. As a youth he attended school in Germany, but in 1886, in his twenty-second year, came to Minnesota, locating in Plainview village. For a year he worked out at farming, and then for a few years operated farms under rental. Industrious and economical, he saved his money until he was able to buy a farm of 240 acres in section 20, Plainview Township After operating it for three years he sold it and bought one of 200 acres in section 27. In 1918 he sold 125 acres of that property and moved onto his farm of 160 acres in section 28, which he had bought ten years before, and this he continued to operate until his death. Since that event the farm has been successfully conducted by his two sons, Carl and Herman. The property includes a new modern house of eight rooms, provided with a hot air furnace. Mr. Holst was married February 2, 1888, to Gusta Schwartz, who was born in Germany, December 7, 1867, and came to America in 1886. The issue of this marriage was eight children, all now living, namely: Amanda, born June 15, 1889; Carl W., December 15, 1890; Alvina, September 1, 1892; Herman, February 2, 1895; Mabel, March 13, 1899; Alta, June 26, 1902; Reuben, April 2, 1904; and Robert, June 15, 1906. Alvina is the wife of Henry Miller, of Plainview Township, and has three children: Ellen, Luetta and Milton. Herman married Anna Schultz. Mabel is the wife of Jonathan Loppnow, of Plainview Township. The family are affiliated religiously with the Lutheran church. In April, 1920, Mrs. Holst moved to the village of Plainview, where she now resides with Alta, Reuben, Robert and Amanda.
Holst, Louis (page 740), who was for a number of years engaged in farming in Plainview Township, but is now residing in the environs of Winona, was born in Mechlenburg, Germany, June 27, 1862, son of Christ and Louisa (Rott) Holst. He was educated in his native land and came to America with his parents, the family settling in 1887 near Beaver, Winona County, Minn. The next year, being then 25 years old, he rented 200 acres in Watopa Township, Wabasha County, and did general farming there until 1891. His next move was to buy 240 acres in section 29, Plainview Township, where he put ups a new set of buildings, including a house, barn granary, other outbuildings, and a windmill, in time developing the place into a fine and profitable farm, which he worked to good advantage, until November, 1919. He then sold his farm to Miller Bolton of Plainview and removing to Winona, bought 22 acres of land within the city limits, where he engaged in truck farming. His son, Lewis; has recently taken over 20 acres of the farm and will carry on the truck farming business. Mr. Holst has retired, retaining two acres of the farm on which he has erected a new residence for his own occupancy. He is a member of the Old Settlers; Association of Elgin, and in religion is a German Lutheran. Mr. Holst was united in marriage June 9, 1888, with Marie Schwaak, who was born in Germany February 16, 1864, and came to the United States in 1887. Six children have been the issue of this marriage, as follows: Ella, born February 13, 1889, now Mrs. W. C. Eggers, of Dover, Minn.; Hulda, born February 21, 1892, wife of Henry Haas of Quincy Township, Olmsted County; Marie, born December 21, 1894, wife of W. F. Sell of Plainview; Helen E., born January 20, 1896, who died March 2, 1896; Lewis A., born December 3, 1899, now residing at home; and Lydia A., born December 6, 1902, who died August 21, 1915. Lewis was married September 29, 1920, to Arlene Wenke of Midway, Wis.
Holton, Fred A. (page 398), druggist, and a well known and popular resident of Elgin, was born in this village, September 19, 1886, son of William P. and Frances F. (Dickerman) Holton. He was educated in the Elgin public and high schools, graduating from the latter in the class of 1905. He at once entered his father's drug store in Elgin, where he has since continued employment, being now the assistant pharmacist. In the winter of 1909 he took a course at the Drews School of Pharmacy, Minneapolis. He is a member of the Elgin board of education, and is a Mason, belonging to Winona Consistory, Scottish Rite, and Osman Temple, Mystic Shrine at St. Paul. He was married June 23, 1909, to Grace Resler, who was born in Elgin, Minn., Nov. 23, 1884. Mr. and Mrs. Holton have one child, Robert Vincent, who was born December 4, 1915. They attend the Methodist Episcopal church.
Holton, Vincent (page 398), editor and proprietor of the Elgin Monitor, was born at Viola Township, Olmsted County, June 11, 1882, son of William P. and Frances F. (Dickerman) Holton. He acquired his primary education in the public school of Elgin, was graduated from the Elgin high school in the class of 1901, and was subsequently a student for one year in the pharmaceutical department of Minnesota State University. Then returning to Elgin, he entered his father's drug store. In 1905 he became acting postmaster under his father, and so continued until 1914, when he was appointed postmaster by President Taft, and so served until 1916. In 1905 Mr. Holton purchased the Elgin Monitor, of which he has since been sole owner and editor. For the past twelve years he has been village recorder and is still serving in that office. He is a member of the Masonic Blue Lodge at Elgin, the Winona Consistory, Scottish Rite, and of Osman Temple of the Mystic Shrine, St. Paul. Mr. Holton was married July 26, 1905, to Lenore Resler, who was born in Elgin, Minn. He and his wife attend the Methodist Episcopal church and re popular members of Elgin society.
Holton, William Putnam (page 397), who for more than thirty years was one of the leading business men of Elgin, proprietor of a large and well equipped drug store, and also handling paints, wall paper and other accessories, was born at Orfordville, Rock County, Wis., February 12, 1854, son of Samuel James and Euphemia Ellen Addie Holton. The father was a native of Ellington, Tolland County, Conn., and the mother of Ireland. William P., who was one of a large family of thirteen children, at the age of seven years accompanied the family to Menomonie, Dunn County, Wis., and attended school there until the spring of 1868. In the following spring, the family having removed to Missouri, he went with his mother to Marysville, Nodaway County, that state. But at the end of one season, not liking Missouri, the family came north, making the trip by team from Marysville to the Thomas Richardson place in Viola Township, Olmsted County, Minn., where they arrived October 12, 1869. The following year the family settled on the farm in Viola Township, southwest of Elgin, which has since been known as the Holton farm, and for two years William worked on farms in the neighborhood. During the winter of 1871 he attended a telegrapher's school at Oberlin, Ohio. On returning home he took means to improve his general education by attending country school and Niles' Select School at Rochester. With this additional mental equipment, he later began teaching, following that occupation in the Woolley district, Viola Township, in 1880; in the Kincaid district in 1881; in Oronoco in 1881-82, and in the Cora district, Viola Township, in 1883-84. In the summer of 1884 he went to Minneapolis, where for a short time he was engaged in the commission business with his brother, Albert, but in December, that year, he came to Wabasha County and went to work in the drug store of Dr. W. T. Adams at Elgin. In 1888 Mr. Holton bought the store of Dr. Adams, and conducted it with market success, having built up a large and profitable trade. In 1895 he with Dr. Adams, built the present brick store block for a store and doctors' offices, and he owned the entire building, including the stores and offices. From 1905 to 1914 he served as postmaster of Elgin, and for ten of fifteen years he was secretary of the school board. For twenty years he was treasurer of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he was a member. A Free Mason of high degree, he belonged to the Winona Consistory, Scottish Rite. Mr. Holton was married, July 17, 1881 to Frances F. Dickerman, and he and his wife are the parents of four children: Vincent, Ava, Fred and Ezra. Mr. Holton died April 27, 1920.
Holzer, Adolph D. (page 328), whose former enterprise as a developer of farm lands secured him an ample competence on which he is now living in the Village of Plainview, was born in Baden, Germany, April 6, 1847, son of Alois and Sophia (Stehle) Holzer. At the age of about nine years he accompanied his parents to the United States, and remained with them on their farms in Watopa and Elgin townships until 1875, his education in the meanwhile having been continued in the district schools. In 1876 he bought a farm in Elgin Township, an improved tract of 120 acres in section 7, which he still further developed, and finally sold at a profit in 1883. His next farming venture was in section 5, Oakwood Township, where he bought 80 acres, to which he added 120 acres of wild land in Oakwood and 160 in Elgin, uniting all the land into one farm, on which he erected a complete set of substantial building, put up fencing, and installed modern machinery. There he engaged in general farming, continuing to develop the property until 1905, when, finding himself in comfortable circumstances, he retired and bought a comfortable residence in Plainview, where he has since made his home. He rents the farm to his two sons, Clayton and Edgar. It will thus be seen that Mr. Holzer has been the architect and builder of his own fortunes, and that what he has he owes to his own foresight and individual exertions, plus the assistance of his wife and children. His has been the guiding hand, and his the larger part of the actual labor, but the reward has been commensurate with the exertions put forth. He has always been noted as a good citizen, and though his private concerns made heavy demand upon his time, he served for 13 years in school office. Mr Holzer was married December 5, 1875, to Chloe A. Marshall, who was born in Elgin Township, this county, November 20, 1857, being the eldest member in a family of sixteen children. Mr. And Mrs. Holzer have had six children: Clayton L., born September 9, 1876; Mary A., April 27, 1878; Flora E., April 30, 1880; Ella D., September 12, 1881; Edgar R., December 8, 1883; and Harry E., July 30, 1890. As already mentioned, Clayton L. and Edgar R. are now engaged in operating the old home farm. Clayton married Theresa Simon, and has two children, Kenneth and Franklin. Mary A. is residing with her parents. Flora E., who married Albert Koening, died November 13, 1918. Ella D. is the wife of John Simon and resides with her husband on the old Marshall place in Elgin Township. She has two children, Ward and Mabel. Harry E. is now living in eastern Saskatchewan, Canada, where he is following the occupation of a barber. The family attends the Congregational church, and Mrs. Holzer is a member of the Eastern Star Chapter and of the G. A. R. Circle in Plainview.
Holzer, Alois (page 328), one of the pioneer settlers in Watopa and Elgin townships, was born in Baden, Germany, and there grew to manhood. After his marriage to Sophia Stehle, he set out with his wife, in 1856, for the United States, and on arriving in Minnesota, located in Wabasha village. In his native land he had learned the trade of cooper, but his mechanical acquirements in that line being of little or no use to him here at that time, he took a claim of 160 acres of wild land in Watopa Township, and began to carve out a living from the soil. After three years he removed to Elgin Township, where he bought 160 acres of land that was partly broken. Continuing the improvements, in time he developed a fine farm, on which he lived until about 1885, when he sold it and retired, subsequently making his home in Wabasha, where he died November 25, 1899. His wife survived him several years, passing away January 8, 1904. Their children, five in number, were: Elizabeth, now Mrs. Joseph Fugina, of Fountain City, Wis.; Wilhelmina, now deceased, who was the wife of Lyman Gregg; Adolph D., a resident of Plainview; and Mary, who married W. F. Hobbs and lives in Eau Claire, Wis.
Holzer, Clayton L. (page 376), of Oakwood Township, is a good type of the modern farmer; industrious, enterprising, scientific, and, it may be added, successful. He is a native of Wabasha county, having been born in Elgin Township, September 9, 1876, his parents, Mr. And Mrs. Adolph Holzer, being proprietors of Maple Leaf Farm. He was educated in the rural school, and acquired his agricultural training on the home farm, for a number of years thereafter being associated with his father in its operation. In 1904 he rented the farm, which contained 200 acres, 80 of which were in section 35 Oakwood Township, 40 in section 36, Oakwood, and 80 in section 1, Elgin Township, and has since been engaged in its operation on his own account. He raises Shorthorn cattle for beef and dairy purposes, and also Duroc-Jersey hogs and Shropshire sheep, while his land is fertile and under the expert cultivation he gives it produces good crops. Mr. Holzer is a member of both the Shipping and Creamery Associations. He takes an interest in the general welfare of the community, and for the past 14 years has been treasurer of School District No. 43. On November 24, 1904, he was married to Theresa Simon, who was born in Mt. Vernon Township, Winona County, Minn., January 31, 1885, daughter of Mr. And Mrs. Jake Simon. Mr. And Mrs. Holzer have had three children: Maude, born September 30, 1905, who died August 10, 1907; Kenneth S. Born February 1, 1907, and Franklin L., born June 18, 1911.
Holzer, Edgar R. (page 361), who is obtaining good financial results from the energetic cultivation of a farm of 160 acres in section 2, Elgin Township, was born in Oakwood Township, Wabasha County, Minn., in December, 1884, son of Adolph and Chloe (Marshall) Holzer. He was educated in the school of his district in Oakwood Township, and subsequently until 1906, worked for his father. He then rented 280 acres of the home farm, which he operated as a general farmer for two years. After that he took a farm of 120 acres in Oakwood Township, which he operated under rental for a year, at the end of that time coming to his present place, which also he rented. In section 1 he intends to make his home for the future. He has begun a series of improvements, having erected a fine basement barn, 38 by 76 feet, the erection of a house being planned by him for next year. He was married November 20, 1907, to Catherine Harlan, daughter of Mr. And Mrs. Charles Harlan. The issue of this marriage is five children: Byrl A. born August 17, 1909; Eunice M., December 25, 1910; Ruth R., May 25, 1912; Harlan M., October 8, 1914, and Thomas E., January 20, 1919.
Hoops, Henry L. (page 703), a prosperous citizen of Gillford Township, engaged in agriculture, was born in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County, Minn., November 20, 1873, son of Hans and Mary (Clare) Hoops. The father, Hans Hoops, was also a native of Hanover, Germany, born April 20, 1847. He came to the United States at the age of twenty, locating first in Osakee County, Wis., where he remained two years. He then came to Goodhue County, Minnesota, where on March 13, 1872, he was married to Mary Clare, who was born in Hanover, Germany, April 14, 1853. In Goodhue County Hans Hoops engaged in farming, which he carried on there for 23 years. He then moved to Gillford Township, Wabasha County, where he took a farm on which he lived until 1908, when he retired and moved to Lake City. He and his wife had three children: Henry L., subject of this sketch; Martha, now Mrs. Charles McCroden of Lake City; and one who died in infancy. Henry L. Hoops acquired his education in the district school in Goodhue County, and remained with his parents until 1897. On September 15, that year, he married Julia Burfiend, who was born in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County, July 3, 1877, daughter of Henry and Lena Burfiend. At the same time he bought 80 acres of his father's farm in section 3, Gillford Township, and started in for himself. His father had erected a good set of buildings, which he still uses, and include the following: a barn 40 by 68 feet, with a stone basement 8 1/2 feet; a tool shed 16 by 40; granary 28 by 40 by 12; a poultry house 16 by 24; tile silo 14 by 41, and a steel windmill. Mr. Hoops has enlarged the area of his farm and now operates 160 acres at his original location, where he resides, and 100 acres more on the Schafer farm, or 260 acres in all. With a good equipment he follows general farming, breeding grade Shorthorn cattle, having a pure blooded sire, and Poland-China swine. He is enjoying a prosperous career and is a stockholder in the Oak Center Creamery, the Farmers' Elevator at Lake City and the Terminal Packing Plant at Newport, and is a member of the Lake City and Zumbro Falls Shipping Association. Politically he is a Republican. He and his wife were parents of seven children, who were born as follows: Amanda M., June 22, 1898; Fritz H., December 10, 1899; Albert H., December 19, 1901; Henry, September 11, 1903; Ena I., May 23, 1906; Emory W., September 18, 1908; and Chester M., December 4, 1911. The mother, Mrs. Julia Hoops, died February 11, 1913. On May 14, 1920, the daughter, Amanda M., was married to William Tiedemann of Gillford Township. Mr. Hoops and his children are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Trinity church, known as the Lincoln congregation.
Horn, John (page 476), a well known and highly respected resident of Plainview, who was an early settler in Wabasha County, was born in Harrison County, Ohio, March 11, 1836, son of James and Eleanor (Davidson) Horn. The parents, who were natives of Pennsylvania, and farmers by occupation, came west at an early day to Viroqua, Monroe County, Wis., making the journey with an ox team and wagon, and accompanied by their six children. Their son John, then a boy of ten years, rode horseback, driving the stock. After the family had become settled at Viroqua he attended school there, and remained in Wisconsin until 1865, in which year, being then 29 years old, he came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, locating on land three miles east of where Plainview village now stands. There he endured the hardships common to the pioneer settlers, conditions improving, however, with the lapse of time, and as he developed his farm. On that farm his father died in 1898, the mother having passed away thirty years previously, in 1866, a year after her son John had left the old Wisconsin home. John Horn continued actively engaged in farm work until 1903, when he retired and moved to Plainview, where he has since made his home. He was married at Viroqua, Wis., February 23, 1860, to Arvilla Powers, who accompanied him to Minnesota. She died here in 1867, leaving a daughter, Hulda E. Mr. Horn subsequently married Nancy J. Hurd, daughter of James and Eleanora Hurd, of Erie County, New York. Her parents were early settlers at Waterloo, Jefferson County, Wis., where they engaged in farming. By his second wife Mr. Horn had six children, three sons and three daughters, of whom one of the sons died in infancy, and a daughter, Addie, who on December 24, 1900, married George Christison, a farmer of Plainview Township, died in October, 1919, leaving three children: William, George and Everett. The survivors are: Melvina, who married Frank O. Wood, resides on a farm in Plainview Township, and has two sons and two daughters; Jennie, who since the death of her mother in 1913, has kept house for her father in Plainview; Merritt J., a prosperous farmer and stock raiser of Elgin Township, who married Emma B. Lyon, and has a son, Herbert A.; John, who resides in Pasadena, Cal. John first married Viola Cole, who died in 1906. The then married her sister, Addie Cole, who died April 14, 1920, leaving a son, Eliot, and a daughter, Winifred. For the last 17 years Mr. Horn has enjoyed a well earned leisure, surrounded by his children, friends and old acquaintances. He can take pride in the fact that he was one of the men who helped to build up this county and lay the foundation of its agricultural wealth. In former days he was an active member of the Grange, and also served efficiently in minor public offices. He is a member of the Old Settlers' Association of Greenwood Prairie, also of the Methodist church. His political principles are those of the Republican party.
Horn, Merritt J. (page 477), proprietor of the "Woodland View" farm in sections 25 and 36, Elgin Township, where he is doing a large and profitable business in dairying and stock and poultry raising, was born in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, January 16, 1873, son of John and Nancy J. (Hurd) Horn. His primary education was acquired in the common school, after which he attended the high school and the Winona State Normal School. Thus provided with a good mental equipment, he taught for a while in the eight and ninth grades of the Plainview school. In 1902 he went to Pine Island where, until 1906, he was engaged in the general mercantile business. At the end of that time, on account of poor health, he went to New England, Hettinger County, North Dakota, where he took a land claim which he proved up. Three years later he removed to Canon City, Colo., where he became superintendent for one of the large stores of the Rocky Mountain Fuel Company, a position which he held for three years. In 1912 Mr. Horn returned to Wabasha County, Minnesota, and rented the 160 acre farm of his father-in-law, William Lyon, in Elgin Township, which he carried on until 1917, the year in which he purchased his present place. Here he is successfully breeding registered Holstein-Frisian cattle, Poland-China swine, also registered and a high grade of poultry. He is a member of the Farmers' Co-operative Creamery Company; also of the Greenwood Prairie Old Settlers' Association, of which for a number of years he has been toastmaster. He is also president of the Six Oaks Pleasant Valley Farmers' Club of Plainview, and has done great work in the promotion of better farming and living. While living in Pine Island he served on the City Council and on the board of education, and at all times he has been ready to do his full duty as a loyal American citizen, actively interested in the welfare and advancement of the community in which he resides. His religious affiliations are with the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is a member, and for two years he was president of the Epworth League in the Winona District, being an active religious worker zealous for the promotion of God's kingdom on earth. Mr. Horn was married August 2, 1898, to Emma B. Lyon, who was born May 9, 1873, in Elgin, daughter of William H. Lyon. Mr. and Mrs. Horn are the parents of one son, Herbert A., born August 14, 1900, who was educated in the common and high school of Plainview, and is now associated with his father in the work on the farm. He was in the S. A. T. C. service of U. S. during the World War.
Hostettler, John (page 689), a respected resident of the village of Kellogg, where he is living retired after an active and successful career in farming, was born in Switzerland, August 11, 1857, son of Christ and Hannah Hostettler, the father being a butcher by trade. Both parents died in their native Switzerland, neither coming to his country. They had four children, of whom John was the only son, and the only one to come to America, which he did in 1881. From Wabasha, which was the first place he reached in this country, he came to Highland Township, where he located, and for ten years subsequently worked out on farms. After that he rented a farm, later buying a place of 40 acres in the woods, but not liking the latter place, he sold it and in 1905 bought 240 acres in sections 12 and 13, Highland. This place had a house on it and there was some timber, which he cleared. Since then he has improved and cultivated the farm, erected a barn 32 by 62 feet, and other outbuildings. His early labors on the place were carried on under difficulties, as it was in the winter, there being no roads, and the ground was heavily carpeted with snow, but conditions have improved and his latter years on the farm were spent in comparative ease. He was successful in all branches of farm work, raising grain, cattle and hogs and doing some dairying. In 1920 Mr. Hostettler retired and took up his residence in Kellogg on account of the poor health of himself and wife. The farm is now operated by his son, Winfield. Mr. Hostettler was married in Switzerland to Elizabeth Zwallen, a native of that country, who came to the United States after him, in 1882. Her parents, John and Lizzie Zwallen, both died in Switzerland, never having come to this country. Mr. and Mrs. Hostettler have eight children, all living, namely: Alben, of Kellogg; Ernest, who is helping his brother Winfield on the home farm; William, who is employed on the Fox farm in Lake City; Clara, wife of Andrew Shouweiler of Kellogg; Winfield, previously mentioned; Matilda, who is keeping house for Winfield; Fred, residing in Kellogg; and Olivia, who is clerk in the Kellogg Co-operative store. All the members of the family are religiously affiliated with one church or another, dividing their membership between the Methodist and Lutheran churches.
Houghton, Carl V. (p. 445), proprietor of Oakdale Stock Farm in section 26, Elgin Township, was born in the village of Elgin, Wabasha County, Minn., August 1, 1878, son of David E. and Helen R. (Cameron) Houghton. He acquired his education in the village school, and at the age of 15 did farm labor in the vicinity, continuing to work on farms until 1902. He then obtained a position as clerk in the general store operated by Mrs. H. E. Gates in the village of Elgin, and subsequently followed a mercantile career for 14 years, or until 1916. By that time he found that inside work did not agree with him, and for the sake of his health, which was failing, he concluded to take up some branch of farming. He accordingly bought the Oakdale Stock farm of 240 acres in section 26, where he is now engaged in breeding Shorthorn cattle, high grade hogs, and Percheron horses, with profitable results. Mr. Houghton was married February 12, 1908, to Flora S. Dunn, who was born and reared in her present residence. Mr. and Mrs. Houghton have four children: Herold D. born June 23, 1909; Philip C., May 23, 1911; Helen L., May 10, 1913; and Dunn W., April 13, 1917. The older children are attending school in the village. Mr. Houghton is a member of the Elgin Lodge, No. 115, A. F. & A. M., and both he and his wife belong to the Eastern Star and worship at the Methodist Episcopal church.
Houghton, David E. (p. 446), was born in Boston, Mass., in 1845. He was educated in the East, in which section of the country he remained until reaching the age of 20. Then coming West, he made his home for two years on a farm at Beaver Dam, Wis. At the end of that time he came to Elgin village, where he worked at the carpenter's trade until 1867, helping to build most of the business part of the village. At the end of that period he located on a farm of 80 acres in sections 34 and 35, Elgin Township, and for about five years was engaged in agriculture there. He then went back to his trade, which he followed for twenty years thereafter, or until 1902, when he retired and took up his residence in Plainview village, where he died in December, 1910. David E. and Helen R. (Cameron) Houghton were the parents of three children: John R., now residing at Grass Lake, Mich.; Walter D., deceased; and Carl V., of Elgin Township.
Howatt, William (page 378), now living retired in Lake City, after a long and successful career in agriculture, was born in the parish of Rothiemay, county of Banff, Scotland, September 14, 1842, son of John and Ann (Christie) Howatt. He lived at home until the spring of 1869, when he emigrated to the United States, coming directly to Lake City, Minn., where he has acquaintances, and arriving here May 1. In the Scotch Settlement in West Albany Township he entered the employ of William Perry, for whom he worked one year, being paid $200 for the year's work. About this time he received news of his father's death and returned to Scotland, while, being the eldest son, he took part in arranging the family affairs. Of the other four children-Ann, John, James and Christina-only one came to America, namely, John, who died in 1910. Ann is living, the others are dead. After his return to Scotland, William remained there about 14 years. He was there married August 7, 1874, to Isabella, daughter of Alexander and Jessie Lobban, who resided in the same neighborhood as the Howatt family. In 1884, Mr. Howatt returned to Wabasha County, Minn., accompanied by his wife and family, and bought an improved farm of 200 acres near Smithfield post office. This farm was located about six miles northeast of Plainview, and had fairly good buildings. After operating it until 1895, he sold it to William Koenig of Plainview, and moved to Mt. Pleasant Township, buying the George Watson farm of 280 acres in sections 25 and 36. On that place he farmed for eleven years, or until his retirement in 1905, when he took up his residence in Lake City, buying a home on the corner of Lyon avenue and Oak street, where he is now living. On his retirement he rented his farm to his son William, retaining its ownership until 1920, when he sold it to Henry Geppert of West Albany township. While residing in Highland Township, (near Smithfield) Mr. Howatt served as a member of the school board, and he has also rendered service in the same capacity in Mt. Pleasant Township. Politically he is a Republican, while he is fraternally affiliated with Carnelian Lodge, No. 40, A. F. & A. M. Both he and his wife were reared in the faith of the Free Church of Scotland, but subsequently united with the First Congregational Church of Lake City, of which they have long been active members and liberal supporters. They have been the parents of five children: William I., born May 3, 1875; Jessie Ann, born August 12, 1876; Isabella, born August 24, 1878; John, born October 21, 1880, and Alexander, born August 14, 1883. The last mentioned, who was a bank employee in Minneapolis, died August 28, 1908. Jessie Ann is now the wife of Henry Young, of Dairy Brook Farm, Lake City. She is the mother of eight children: Clarence, Gladys, Violet, Roy, Marion, Harold, Alice and Genevieve. Isabella is the wife of Mellville Coulter, a dentist of Mankato, and has three children, Preston, Melva, Jean and James (=4?). John, who is chief engineer for the board of education of Chicago, married Della Freckholm, and has had two children, William, now deceased, and Gordon. In 1898 Mr. and Mrs. Howatt went to Scotland on a visit, and arrived home just a week before the death of their son Alexander. The winter of 1919-20 they spent at Long Beach, California. They have many friends in Lake City and elsewhere in Wabasha County, and are as highly respected as they are well known.
Howatt, William Ingraham (page 537), a well known and respected citizen of Mt. Pleasant Township, engaged in operating a good farm in section 25, Mt. Pleasant Township, was born in Banffshire, Scotland, May 3, 1875, son of William and Isabella (Lobban) Howatt. There he first attended school, his education being continued in Highland Township, Wabasha County, Minn., after his parents' final settlement here. They removed in 1895 to the farm on which he is now living and where he has since remained. In 1902, he rented the farm and started in for himself, and the progress he has made proves him to be thoroughly conversant with all the various branches of agriculture and stock raising. In 1909 he purchased 80 acres in section 31, Lake Township, and in 1914, 80 acres in section 36, Mt. Pleasant Township, which adjoined the Lake Township tract on the west so as to make one farm of 160 acres, and this he leased to James Zeimetz, after having operated the 80 acres first purchased, in connection with the home farm, from 1909 to 1914. On the latter he is engaged in diversified farming, keeping Shorthorn cattle, of which he has from 40 to 50 head, with about an equal number of Poland-China swine. For both herds he has full-blooded sires, and is constantly improving his stock. His operations have been thoroughly and carefully conducted and he is now numbered among the substantial men of his township. Politically a Republican, he is a member of the town board, and during the recent war served on all the Liberty Loan drives, his thorough Americanism prompting him to take the most active part of which he was capable in helping to win the war. He was reared a Scotch Presbyterian, but he and his family are members of the Congregational church at Lake City. Mr. Howatt was married September 6, 1905, to Laura, daughter of Rhodes and Josephine (Webster) Merrill, of Central Point, Goodhue County. She was born November 28, 1880. They are the parents of three children: Dorothy Evelyn, born December 5, 1906; Lester Alexander, August 18, 1909, and Isabelle Josephine, February 4, 1912. v
Howe, Frank and John (page 423), who are engaged in the implement business and other lines of industry in Kellogg, were born in Glasgow Township, this county, sons of Jacob and Katherine Howe. The father, a native of Germany, came to Wabasha County, Minn., at an early day with his parents, being only four years old at the time. He has since resided in Glasgow and Highland townships, and is now well to do. He and his wife Katherine, who was born in Highland Township were married in this county. They have had six children, Frank, John, Andrew, Matilda, Ed and Apolona, all of whom are now living. Ed enlisted in the United States service and took part in the world war, serving eight months in France in the Second Headquarters Division. Andrew also enlisted, his service, however, being in this country. Frank and John Howe, the direct subjects of this sketch, were reared on their parents' farm and worked on it till May, 1918, when they came to Kellogg and engaged in the implement business handling everything in the lines of machinery, wagons and buggies. They also operated a well driller, and have done saw mill work for John Dietz of Cameron Dam fame. They won the property which they now occupy, and with their father are also the owners of 1,000 acres of land in Wabasha County. Their business is prospering and they enjoy an increasing trade. Both were educated in the district schools and are members of the Woodmen's lodge. In religion they are Catholics.
Howe, Jacob (page 425), a leading farmer, extensive land owner and public official of Highland Township, was born in Germany, January 16, 1857, son of John and Susan (Leisen) Howe. The parents were natives of Germany, where they were married. On coming to the United States in 1857 they settled first in Iowa, in which state they remained four years. At the end of that time they came to Wabasha County, Minn., taking a homestead of 160 acres in Glasgow Township. The land was wild and covered with timber, and as there were no buildings John Howe's first task was to build a log house. That accomplished, he entered upon the work of clearing his land, in which he was aided by his wife and sons, and which he kept up until his death in 1873. After that Mrs. Howe and her sons continued the work together until her death in 1880. The farm then came into possession of the son Jacob, who has since remained the owner. With untiring industry and enterprise, he has continued to make improvements, and has increased his landed-possessions by successive purchased, until he now owns over 900 acres, two-thirds of which is tillable, the rest being in timber and pasture. Of the tillable land he farms 100 acres, the rest being rented and seeded down. Mr. Howe carries on general farming, including stock raising and dairying, keeping from 25 to 30 cattle. He also has a herd of fifty or more sheep and some swine of mixed breeds. In 1894 he moved to section 2, Highland Township, and erected his present frame residence of eleven rooms, which is electrically lighted, and the kitchen provided with running water. He has two good barns, one for horses and the other for cattle and hogs, and both these and other outbuildings are substantial structures in good condition. Aside from his direct farming interests, he is a stockholder in the local telephone company and in the Kellogg co-operative store. Though a busy man, Mr. Howe has devoted some part of his time to the public service. For 30 years he has been school clerk of his district, and for several years, town clerk and justice of the peace, and is a man who enjoys the respect and esteem of his fellow citizens. Mr. Howe was united in marriage February 10, 1879, with Catherine Shouweiler, daughter of Frank and Eva (Lehnertz) Shouweiler. Her parents were natives of Germany, the father born in Luxenburg and the mother in Prussia. They came to the United States in 1857, settling on a farm in Highland Township, this county, and for the remainder of their lives were engaged in agriculture. Both are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Howe are the parents of six children: Frank, a resident of Kellogg; John, also residing in Kellogg, where he is engaged in the implement business; Matilda, wife of Bartley Schouweiler, of Highland Township; Andrew M., who is engaged in a printing and electrical supply business in Kellogg; Edward P., who is assisting his father on the home farm; and Appolonia C., also residing at home with her parents. In the family of John and Susan Howe, the parents of Jacob, there were seven children-five sons and two daughters-and five of these children are now living, namely: George, a resident of Wabasha; Elizabeth, who is the widow of Peter Schilling, of Plainview; Peter, president of the State Bank of Kellogg; John, of Waudena, Minn; and Jacob, the subject of this sketch. The two deceased are Mary, who was the wife of John Plein, of Watopa, and Mathias.
Howe, John (page 551), an early settler in Glasgow Township, where he developed a farm, was born in Prussia, Germany. There he grew to manhood and married Susanna Leison, with whom he came to the United States in 1858. They first located at Dyersville, 28 miles west of Dubuque, Iowa, where they engaged in farming. In 1861 they came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, settling on a homestead of 160 acres in Glasgow Township. There Mr. Howe farmed for ten years, or until his death in 1871. His wife survived him but a few years, passing away in 1876. They had six children: Mary, George, Matthew, Eliza, Peter, John and Jacob. Matthew is now deceased, as also is Mary, who was the wife of John Plein, of Highland, and left five children. After the death of Mrs. Howe, Jacob, the youngest son, came into possession of the farm.
Howe, Peter (page 552), president of the State Bank of Kellogg, was born in Germany in 1851, son of John and Susanna (Leison) Howe. He was seven years old when he accompanied his parents to the United States, and the next three years of his life were spent on their farm at Dyersville, Iowa. In 1861 he came with them to Wabasha County and to a farm in Glasgow Township, where he preceded to make himself busy as soon as he was old enough to be useful. This early industry was a matter of necessity, as the farm supplied an abundance of work for every able-bodied member of the family, so that Peter was able to attend school but one summer. By home study, however, as he found opportunity during the passing years, he largely supplied the defects in his education and to some extent of other subjects, being a quick learner. In 1874, three years after the death of his father, and two years before that of his mother, he purchased a farm of his own, of 150 acres, in the town of Greenfield, where he was engaged in general agriculture until November, 1909, or for a period of 35 years. During that time he proved himself a capable farmer and made good financial progress, so that at the time last mentioned he was able to retire and take up his residence in Kellogg. It was in 1909 that the private bank at Kellogg, established in 1905 by C. C. Hirschey, Linn Whitmore and John Costello, became a state bank, with Mr. Howe as one of its stockholders, and in 1913 Mr. Howe was elected its president, which office he has since retained. In 1910 he was elected trustee of the village and served one year; was again elected, and for 3 years he was village trustee, and for 3 years he was a member of the town board of supervisors, serving one year as chairman. In these various positions, official or otherwise, Mr. Howe has shown himself a capable man of affairs, and stands high as a citizen. He is a Catholic in religion and belongs to the Knights of Columbus. In 1874 Mr. Howe was married at Wabasha, Minn., to Otilla Baker, daughter of John and Anna (Miller) Baker, her parents being natives of Germany, where they spent their entire lives, both being now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Howe have had seven children, Katie, John, Lizzie, Mary, Celia, William and Susanna, the last two mentioned being deceased. Katie married Peter Scheirts, of Helena, Mont., and has two children, Paul and Viola. John married Ruba Parson, of Mankato, resides at Stevensville, Mont., and has three children, Warren, John and George. Mary is a school teacher at Stevensville, Mont. Lizzie married Peter Steiner and is living on the old home farm. Celia is the wife of Linn Pheilsticker, of Wabasha, and has one child, Kendall.
Hubbard, Clarence A. (page 335), president of the Lake City Bank from 1907 to 1919, and who for half a century had been connected with that institution throughout its various phases, was born in Ingham County, Mich., November 4, 1844, son of John I. and Lucy L. (Smith) Hubbard. The parents, natives of New York state, were descended from old New England stock, and both families had members who figured prominently in the Revolutionary War. In June, 1853, the subject of this sketch accompanied his parents to Winona, Minn., thereby becoming a youthful pioneer of this state. In 1858 he returned to Michigan and for two years was a pupil in a school in Lansing, taking an academic course. In 1860 he was back in Winona, where he entered the normal school. The breaking out of the Civil War put an end to his studies there, as he soon enlisted in the Eighth Minnesota Infantry, as a member of which organization he served on the frontier during the Sioux uprising, and was later on the staffs of Generals R. N. McLean and H. H. Sibley. Honorably discharged at the close of the war, he settled in Lake City, where, until 1869, he was engaged in the grain and commission business. In that year he entered the banking business with C. W. Hackett & Co., as cashier, and on the organization of the Lake City Bank in 1871, an outgrowth of the previous institution, he became one of its directors, and was subsequently connected with its fortunes until his death on April 4, 1919, the last twelve years of his life being spent as its president. His record was clean and honorable, and for many years he was a potent factor in the development of the community in which he made his home. An ever-ready worker, he lent his aid and influence to the furtherance of all practical plans for the benefit of the city, whether moral or material, and his charities were numerous and liberal. He was for many years a consistent member of the Congregational church, and was affiliated fraternally with the Masons and Knights of Pythias. His work had great and permanent results, and he will long be remembered as one of the notable pioneers and upbuilders of this community. Mr. Hubbard was twice married, and by his first wife had one son, William Adelbert, who was long associated with him in business and is now the president of the Lake City Bank of Minnesota. The only child of the second marriage was Florence Blanchard, now residing in California with her mother.
Hubbard, William A. (page 336), president of the Lake City Bank of Minnesota, was born in Lake City, Minn., August 9, 1867, son of Clarence A. Hubbard. His literary education was acquired chiefly in the public and high schools of this city, and was supplemented by a course at the Hoboken School of Technology at Hoboken, N. J. He then took up the machinist's trade, which he followed for five years at Brooklyn, N. Y., after which he returned to Lake City and entered the employ of the Lake City Bank as clerk. In 1907 he was tendered the position of cashier, which he accepted, and filled efficiently until May 1, 1919, when he was elected president, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of his father, Clarence A. Hubbard. He is also interested in several other local enterprises, and is an active member of the Lake City Commercial Club, which he served both as vice-president and treasurer. During this country's participation in the World War, he took an active part in all the loan drives and other war work, and was county chairman for the sale of treasury certificates of indebtedness during and since the war. He is also one of the prominent working members of the Congregational church. In short, Mr. Hubbard's career has been one of intense activity along various lines bearing directly on the welfare and progress of the community, and he has accomplished some valuable, and in all probability, permanent results. Fraternally he is a member of Carnelian Lodge, No. 40, A. F. & A. M., of Lake City, of which he is past master; and is also a Knight Templar and thirty-second degree Mason, being past commander and past high priest. In addition to the above mentioned branches of the order, he belongs to Lake City Chapter, No. 75, O. E. S., of which he is past patron. Mr. Hubbard was married June 9, 1897, to Mabel Schmitz of Winona. He and his wife have had two children: Anna, born May 31, 1910; and Lincoln, who died in infancy.
Huber, Albert (page 643), a native of Wabasha County, for many years engaged in farming in Greenfield Township, but now deceased, was born July 6, 1859, son of John and Caroline (Wacholtz) Huber. He received a district school education, and for a number of years worked on his parents' farm, assisting his father. After that he engaged in agricultural pursuits on his own account, for a few years operating a rented farm. In 1883 he bought 80 acres in section 9, Greenfield Township, which place he improved by the erection of a house, and he subsequently followed general farming, including truck raising, and keeping some stock, until his death on May 29, 1907. Since then the farm has been successfully operated by his wife, who has put up a new barn and other buildings. Mr. Huber was married December 3, 1878, to Bertha Birkly, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Birkly. Nine children were the fruit of this union, as follows: Elizabeth, born May 26, 1880, now Mrs. Victor Gustavson, John, born May 24, 1881, who died August 24, 1882; Caroline, born June 26, 1882, now Mrs. Hubert Marking; Albert, born July 3, 1884; George, born September 19, 1885; William, born June 30, 1886; Frank, born March 2, 1888, who died October 4, 1889; Louie, born July 28, 1892, who died August 26, 1892; and Louisa, born July 28, 1894. The last mentioned is now Mrs. Cyrus Hylmer of Deer Park, Wis. The religious affiliations of the family are with the Catholic church.
Huddleston, Alexander (page 629), who is numbered among the prosperous farmers of Glasgow Township, is a native of Wabasha County, having been born in Glasgow Township, April 16, 1862, son of Thomas and Sarah (McIllreavie) Huddleston. He acquired his elementary education in the district school and subsequently took a course in stenography and bookkeeping in the Lake City Commercial College. During his early manhood he was associated with his father in operating farms in Glasgow Township, but for three years, from 1903 to 1906, he was employed in the construction department of the Dwelle Telephone Co. of Lake City. In 1907 he returned to the home farm in section 10, Glasgow Township, which he has since operated. It contains 225 acres, and is provided with a good residence, two modern barns, one 40 by 80 by 16 feet with an ell, and the other 10 by 60 by 16 feet, with a good basement for cattle and full steel equipment; also a triple-wall silo and substantial outbuildings, all electrically lighted. Mr. Huddleston follows general farming and is a successful breeder of pure-blooded Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China hogs. He is a man of activity and enterprise, not only in matters pertaining to his business, but in others of public concern. He was chairman of the meeting held for the purpose of organizing the Wabasha County Farm Bureau Association and is now the first vice president of the Wabasha organization. He served on the school board of District No. 68 for nine years, and was town treasurer seven years. During the participation of the United States in the world war he took a leading part in patriotic work, serving as chairman of the Glasgow Township liberty loan drives; as a member of the Public Safety Commission for Wabasha County; as federal food administrator for Glasgow and West Albany Townships; with the Villages of Theilman and Dumfries; he took part in the war saving stamp drives and was a member of the Minnesota Motor Corps. In politics Mr. Huddleston is a staunch Republican. He is a member of the Republican State Central Committee and a member of the Agricultural Division of the Republican National Committee. Religiously he was reared a Presbyterian. His fraternal affiliations are with the Masonic order, he being a member of Wapahasa Lodge, No. 12, R. A. M., of Lake City; Lake City Commandery, K. T., No. 6 and Osmun Temple of the Mystic Shrine at St. Paul. Mr. Huddleston was married August 6, 1907, to Maude J. Grimm of Wabasha, in which place she was born January 4, 1886, daughter of William and Lovina (Cratt) Grimm. The domestic circle of Mr. and Mrs. Huddleston has been broadened and brightened by the birth of four children: Neil Alexander, May 5, 1908; Helen J., February 28, 1911; Sarah Lovina, November 2, 1916, and Margaret Esther, February 7, 1920.
Huddleston, Sr., Thomas (page 618), an elderly resident of the little hamlet of Dumfries, is one of the oldest living pioneers of Wabasha County, and is a man with a notable experience as an early lumberman, Civil War veteran, and farmer. He was born at Westfield, Chautauqua County, N.Y., August 15, 1839, the eldest of the twelve children of David and Jane (Cochrane) Huddleston. His parents were natives of Ireland who emigrated to the United States in the early thirties, resided awhile in New York City, and subsequently on a farm in Erie County, New York. Then coming west to Wisconsin, they remained there a year, and then located near St. Charles, in Winona County, Minn. After farming for many years, they retired, and both died in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, the father in 1892 and the mother in 1894. Of their 12 children, seven are now living, namely; Thomas, David, James, John, William, Jane and Margaret. Thomas Huddleston was a boy of 15 years when he came west with his parents in 1854. The journey was made via the Great Lakes to Milwaukee, and for about a year the family resided at a point half way between Beaver Dam and Fox Lake, Wis. In the fall of 1855 they came with an emigrant train to Minnesota, being obliged to stop for a week at La Crosse on account of the limited ferry accommodations and the size of the party. Other immigrants were also arriving, and the ferry proprietors issued numbered tickets, or designated each family by a number, and the family was transported across the river when its number was called. On a hill close to La Crescent young Thomas shot his first deer, and at once conceived himself to be a mighty hunter, which opinion was apparently shared by the other members of the party, for they delegated him as a committee of one to procure meat, but unfortunately for his too easily won reputation, he failed to secure another deer during the remainder of the journey. In the fall of 1856 his parents settled on land one and a half miles south of the thriving village of Utica in Winona County. Thomas, himself, soon grew big and strong and went to work for the Knapp-Stout Lumber Company, of Menomonie, Wis., being engaged in rafting on the Chippewa and Mississippi rivers. Those were the days of romance and adventure, and he enjoyed them all with all the capacity of a bold and adventurous youth. He remained with the lumber company two seasons, receiving $13 a month and his board. In the year after he came of age the Civil War broke and opened up a new and exciting sphere of action for the patriotic youth of the land. Thomas Huddleston was among those who went to the front. Enlisting in the First Minnesota Battery, he was mustered into the service October 5, 1861, and spent a part of the following winter at Benton Barracks and the arsenal at St. Louis, Mo. In January, 1862, his company was moved to Pittsburg Landing, Tenn., aboard the Ohio River steamer "Himalaya", and assigned to Sherman's command, and not long after he took part in the bloody battle of Shiloh, known to the Confederates as "Pittsburg Landing." As readers of American history know, the first day's battle was practically a defeat for the Union forces, which were taken by surprise, and by night the situation had been saved from total rout chiefly by the desperate resistance of Sherman's command. Re-enforcement early the following morning turned the defeat into a victory and the enemy was driven back. Afterwards Private Huddleston was in action at Hornet's Nest, the siege of Corinth, the siege of Vicksburg, under General Grant, and still later fought under Sherman at Atlanta, and was on the March to the Sea, accompanying that great commander all through his victorious campaign. At the close of the war he took part in the grand review at Washington, one of the most notable occasions and grandest scenes in the history of our country, and was mustered out there not much the worse for the thrilling experiences through which he had passed. On his return to Minnesota Mr. Huddleston again entered the employ of Knapp-Stout Company on a salary of $75 a month, holding the same position that he had previously got $13 a month for, and so continued for three years, in the performance of his duties following dim and half obliterated trails through the dense forest. At the end of that period he returned to Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, where on February 23, 1868, he was united in marriage with Sarah McIllreavie, of Reach, Province of Ontario, Canada, the pastor who united them being the well know pioneer preacher of Lake City, the Rev. Silas Hazlett, who founded the Presbyterian church there. Mr. Huddleston and his wife began housekeeping in Chester Township, where they resided for nine years. They then moved to Mazeppa, which place was there home until 1882. In that year Mr. Huddleston bought a farm in Trout Brook Valley, section 16, Glasgow Township, on the site of the present hamlet of Dumfries. He also branched out extensively in the purchase of land, acquiring over 700 acres in one body. In 1896 he moved from section 16 to section 10, where he and his family made their home until 1906, when he took up his residence in Dumfries village, where he now lives, owning a good residence property. He also still owns some three or four hundred acres of his farm land. He may be called the father of the village, as it was through his influence and efforts that it was founded and a post office established, the post office, however, being discontinued on the coming of the railroad. The village now posses a store, town hall, blacksmith's shop, and other buildings. It was here that Mr. Huddleston's wife died on December 5, 1917. Besides doing all he could to advance the interests of the little settlement, Mr. Huddleston served for a number of years on the Glasgow town board. He belongs to the Masonic lodge at Mazeppa, and in religion is a Presbyterian. HE and his wife were the parents of 12 children, namely: John, Catherine, Alexander (first), Samuel, William, Sarah, Julia, Alexander (second), Grace, Mary, Edna, and Thomas Neil, Jr. Of these children, John, Alexander (first), Samuel and William are deceased. Catherine, who is unmarried, resides at home with her father. Sarah is now Mrs. A. J. Henze of Minneapolis. Julia is the wife of John Duffus of West Albany Township. Grace is the wife of Albert Zillgitt of Lake City. Mary is the wife of Ben E. Fick of Lake City. Edna is the wife of Daniel Slauson of Dumfries. Mr. Huddleston's career has been contemporaneous with that of Wabasha County. As a boy he saw it in its infancy; later watched it developing its rich resources, as he himself developed into ripe manhood, and now in the evening of his life he is spared to witness its fullness of achievement as an organized part of the great commonwealth to which it belongs. In that wonderful growth and development he, himself, took an active part, and the life of ease and leisure he now enjoys has been well earned.
Huddleston, Jr., Thomas N. (page 618), who is engaged in truck farming and poultry raising at Dumfries, Glasgow Township, was born in this locality May 13, 1892, son of Thomas and Sarah (McIllreavie) Huddleston. His education was begun in District School No. 68, Glasgow Township, which he attended up until the age of 15, and was continued at the Southern Minnesota Normal School at Austin, Minn., he also taking a two-years' preparatory course at Pillsbury Academy at Owatonna. In the two latter schools he studied music and became a fine violinist, subsequently playing four years in orchestras employed by the Strechfus Steamer Line on the Mississippi river. He also played with other musical organizations in various places. In 1914 Mr. Huddleston returned to Dumfries and engaged in his present business of truck farming and poultry raising, which he has found profitable. He owns a comfortable home in the village. On March 18, 1914, he was married to Otilia Creuzer, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Creuzer of Wabasha City, where she was born June 11, 1891. One child has been born to them, Mary Dorothy, on January 2, 1920. Mr. Huddleston was reared a Presbyterian, but there being no church of that denomination at Dumfries, he affiliated with the Congregational church at Lake City. He is a member of Wapahasa Lodge No. 14, A. F. & A. M., of Wabasha.
Huddleston, William (page 654), a well-to-do resident of Lake City, widely known and respected, is one of the few remaining pioneers of Wabasha County and of Minnesota. He was born in Erie County, N. Y., November 8, 1848, son of David and Jane (Cochrane) Huddleston. The parents were natives of Ireland, in which country the father was born in 1805 and the mother in 1815. David Huddleston became a farmer, which he remained while in his native land, where he married Jane Cochrane. In the early thirties they emigrated to the United Sates, resided for a time in New York City, and then settled on a farm in Erie County, N. Y. In 1852 they came west to Wisconsin, in which state they remained for a year. At the end of that time a further migration brought them to Winona County, the journey being made overland with five yoke of oxen, one horse and four cows. They settled on land now the site of the City of St. Charles, and also at one time owned what is now the site of Utica, Minn. David Huddleston helped to build the first log house in Rochester, and at the time they arrived in Minnesota there was not a house between Rochester and Winona. After farming for many years, he died April 19, 1892, at the home of his son William in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County. His wife died in Donnelly, Minn., at the home of her daughter, Mrs. John Hartung, on August 19, 1894. Of their children, three died in infancy. Eliza, born January 27, 1835; Margaret, born May 18, 1837, and James, born August 18, 1838, are also deceased. The survivors are: Thomas, born August 18, 1839, now residing at Dumfries, Wabasha County; David, born July 27, 1841, a resident of Lake City; James (second), born February 8, 1843, now of Ladysmith, Wis.; John, born February 23, 1846, living in Denver, Colo., William, born November 8, 1848, of Lake City, Minn.; Margaret, born March 4, 1851, now Mrs. John Hartung of Lake City; and Jane, born September 4, 1854, now Mrs. John Cochrane of River Falls, Wis. When William Huddleston was ten years old, his mother removed with him and two of his sisters to Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, buying a homestead right of 160 acres, which she proved up, and on which she resided until her death. Upon William she depended to a large extent to manage the farm, a task for which he proved competent, as at the age of 13 he was drawing a man's wages of $13 a month, and was driving seven yoke of oxen on a breaking-plow. The men for whom he drove, Mike Redman and James Strain, paid him, however, in reciprocal labor, building a fence for him on the farm. Of this farm he came into full possession and increased its original area to 260 acres. Besides erecting a good set of buildings, he brought 250 acres under the plow, and followed general farming successfully until 1900, when he sold his Glasgow property and moved into Lake City. Here he owns five houses and lots and has other investments. For over 20 years he bought and shipped cattle from this section, and was an active factor in building up the agricultural and stock raising interests of the county. A Republican in politics, he served for a number of years on the Glasgow Town Board, and was a man to whom his fellow citizens, felt they could safely entrust public interests. Mr. Huddleston was married March 25, 1885, to Margaret, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Sweat) Hope, of Glasgow Township. He and his wife attend the Congregational church.
Huffman, Waldron, M. D. (page 413), who, after service in the recent World War, has established himself in the practice of his profession at Elgin, was born at Barth, Ontario, Canada, September 27, 1873, son of Cyrus and Angeline (Miller) Huffman, who also were Canadians by birth. The mother died in 1875, but the father is still living at Barth. Ralph W. Huffman was graduated from the Napanee high school in Ontario, in the class of 1897. He then entered the Queen's University at Kingston, Ontario, from which he was graduated in the class of 1899. The next eighteen months of his life were spent in Nicaragua, Central America, where he was engaged in the practice of medicine. In 1901 he came to Minnesota, locating at Georgetown, Clay County, where he followed his profession for four years. Then for two and a half years he followed it in Chatfield, Fillmore County, and for three years subsequently in Stewartville, Olmsted County. A sense of duty to his native land then caused him to return to Canada, where he entered the Canadian army as captain in the medical corps, and in that capacity he spent eight months on transports, crossing over to England four different times. Having escaped the submarines and other dangers, and with an enlarged and varied experience, his service came to an end, and he was honorably discharged September 11, 1919. He then came directly to Elgin, where he is already enjoying a lucrative practice in medicine and surgery. He is a member of the Olmsted County Medical Society and of the State Medical Association, also of the Masonic order and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.
Hurd, Eben (page 303), who in former years was actively engaged as a farmer in Watopa and Plainview townships, successively, but is now deceased, was a native of New England, having been born in the state of Maine, March 1, 1841. He married Hattie Stillings, who was born in the same state, August 6, 1847. In 1867 they came west to Wabasha County, Minn., and bought 80 acres of wild land in Watopa Township, which Mr. Hurd broke, cleared and cultivated, and on which he and his family resided for several years, at the end of that time removing to a farm of 160 acres in the vicinity. Their new place was partly improved, and Mr. Hurd subsequently carried the improvements to a high point, building up a fine farm, Later he bought 50 acres more of adjoining land. That place continued to be the home of the family until 1903, in which year they rented it out to a tenant and bought and moved to what was known as the Pickett farm in Plainview Township. After an active career of five years more on the last mentioned place, Eben Hurd passed away in June, 1908. His wife survived him until March 14, 1914. They had two children: George E., born October 23, 1863; and Carrie Belle, born March 22, 1872. The latter is now the wife of George Burnham, of Olmsted County.
Hurd, George E. (page 303), now living retired in the Village of Plainview, after an active career of many years as a farmer, was born in Burnett, Me., October 22, 1863, son of Eben and Hattie (Stillings) Hurd. He was a child of but two or three years when he accompanied his parents to Wabasha County, Minn., and his education was acquired here in the district schools. Brought up on the farm, he early became useful to his father, while he ultimately worked in partnership, and after the father's death in 1908 he continued to operate the place until the death of the mother, in March, 1914, at which time he retired from active work and took up his residence in Plainview. During his active career he followed diversified farming, and being a good, practical agriculturist, the place throve under his hands and proved profitable. Mr. Hurd was united in the bonds of matrimony April 14, 1909, to Lena Moldenhaur, who was born in Woodland Township, April 24, 1885, daughter of August and Amelia (Klaveter) Moldenhaur. Her parents were natives of Germany who settled in Olmsted County, where they engaged in farming, and where Mr. Moldenhaur died July 8, 1911. He was survived by his wife, who is still living on the farm. Their children were Minnie, Emma, Lena, Ida, and Ervin, all of whom are not living. Mr. and Mrs. Hurd are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. They have a large acquaintance in Plainview and the surrounding country, and belong to that class of people in the village whom it is a pleasure to meet.
Husby, John (page 325), the typical pioneers of the Northeast were the lumberman and the farmer. They it was who laid the foundations of civilization in this region and were the developers of its chief sources of wealth. Each was a hardy class, for there was no room for weaklings. The work was strenuous and could be carried on only by stout hearts and strong arms, with the courage to risk accident and the ability to endure privation. Many fell by the wayside, or sought easier employment in the settled communities; but those who had the strength of body and mind to persevere, and the force of character to resist the temptation to dissipation, in time reaped a fair reward. That the long life and continued health is evidenced by living examples, one of the most prominent of whom in Wabasha County is the subject of this sketch. John Husby, than whom few men in the northeastern part of the county are better known. Mr. Husby was born in Trondjen, Norway, May 6, 1835, son of Ingebright and Ingeborg Husby. The father was a well-to-do farmer, owning a farm of 300 acres, and handling stock on a large scale. There the subject of this sketch was reared, and was given good school advantages. He was about to enter college when he and his brother Ingebret decided to seek their fortunes in America, and, carrying out their plan, arrived in Quebec, Canada, in June, 1867. From there John Husby came directly to Reed's Landing, Wabasha County, Minn., where he arrived nearly penniless, the expenses of the journey having used up the funds with which he had set out. There was plenty of work here for busy hands, however, and he was idle only two days when he obtained employment with Knute Johnson, who owned a farm just back of Reed's Landing. With him he remained until November, and while working on the farm, or conversing with the villagers, he learned something about the lumber industry, the wild and romantic occupation followed during the winter season in the forest, when there was nothing to be done on the farms, and the money to be made at it. Being young and strong, with a vigorous constitution, it was just the work for him, and as the season was then opening, he sought a job and found it with the Knapp-Stout Lumber Co., of Eau Claire, Wis., being sent to their camp about 40 miles northeast of that point. All that winter he worked as a chopper, returning to Reed's Landing in the spring of 1869, and being retained by the Knapp-Stout Company as the man in charge of their warehouse at the mouth of the Chippewa river. His duty was to receive and check goods from the Mississippi river packets, which were shipped up the Chippewa river on the boats of the company. During the winter of 1869-70 Mr. Husby chopped cordwood above Alma, Wis., for his own use. In the spring he re-entered the employ of the Knapp-Stout Lumber Co., checking and coupling lumber cribs for transit down the Mississippi to Dubuque, St. Louis and other points. In 1873 Mr. Husby went with the Carson-Rand Co., otherwise known as the Valley Lumber Co., of Davenport, Iowa, checking and coupling lumber cribs for them as he had for the other company, and at the same point. With both companies he held the position of superintendent of that branch of the business. With the Carson-Rand Co. he remained until 1884, and then went back to the Knapp-Stout Co., with who he remained until they went out of business about 1899. By that time, Mr. Husby, through industry and thrift, had accumulated a fair competency, and found himself able to retire from active work, which he accordingly did. In 1880 he build a good house at Reed's Landing, where he has since made his home, being well known to every man, woman and child in the community. Though 85 years old, all his faculties are well preserved; he has never been sick a day or had a doctor for himself, and is a man highly respected, and probably envied by those less favorably circumstanced as to health and prosperity. He is a Republican in politics, but has held no office except that of school trustee, in which he served for a number of years formerly. A member, with his wife, of the Lutheran congregation at "Reeds," he served as its trustee for some years. Mr. Husby was married in 1871 to Mary Solberg, who was born in Tronjan, Norway, in 1840. Mrs. Husby was a woman of frail body, but of a patient, kind and amiable disposition. She died much lamented at Reed's Landing, April 20, 1919, leaving two children: Ida Sophia, born February 28, 1873; and Elizabeth C., born November 6, 1879. Ida Sophia married John La Craft, a jeweler of Plainview, who died April 10, 1919, and whom she survives. Elizabeth C. is the wife of Harvey C. Keys, a traveling salesman, residing in Minneapolis. She has had two children: Marion, born March 14, 1907, who died December 10, 1914; and Harvey Spencer, born February 21, 1910. Both Mr. Husby's daughters received good educational training and were teachers for some years in public schools in this state. Since their mother's death they have resided alternately with their father, attending to his domestic comforts. Mr. Husby is now residing in Plainview.
Husser, Henry (page 538), was born in Canton Argau, Switzerland, in 1861. After completing his school years he learned the printing trade and stood with that profession until 1884. A printers' strike cased him to lose a well paying job. According to the custom of those days, the single fellows of the striking unions had to leave and look for work elsewhere, but only for schedule wages. His travels brought him to Bremen, where he desired to leave for America. Not having any money for transportation, he worked as coal pusher on a boat. In this country he earned his first money on an oyster schooner on Chesapeake Bay by Baltimore. After that he worked on a German newspaper in Chicago, but found a dictatorship and collections run the same way as in the old country. He decided to work further on in the country under more free conditions. In 1886 he sent for the rest of the family ~ his mother, one brother and two sisters. The father had died before that. The brother is now in California, one sister married in South Dakota; the other sister and mother died here. In 1891 he bought a small place in the town of Mt. Vernon and grubbed a home out of it. In 1895 he married Mrs. Mary Farnsworth of Barabbo, Wis., born in 1861. She was the daughter of William Farnsworth and Mary Sherf. Her father was an old pioneer from Pennsylvania; her mother was from Saxony, Germany. In 1901 Mr. Husser bought his present place of occupation, near Minneiska, from Mr. Val Jacob, an old pioneer form the fifties and a veteran of the Civil War. The place had been rented before for many years, since Mr. Jacob was old. It was all run down and very unprofitable, but was close to school, to church and to the railroad. With the help of his wife and growing-up son, John Husser (born in May, 1896), he improved the place, making it highly productive. The swamp land was improved. The hilly land, formerly all washed out, was planted to orchard fruit of many kinds and turned out profitable. His experiments show that the Wabasha County climate and soil are very favorable for a high class orchard fruit raising. Many kinds of berries are also raised. A herd of nice and productive Guernsey cows roam in pasture in summer and are well housed for winter. The family belongs to the Catholic church, and both father and son belong to the Catholic Order of Foresters. Mr. Husser thinks this country is all right for everybody that is willing to work and not inclined to squander.
Hustleby, Edward L. (page 505), who after a long experience in the river transportation of industry, is now conducting a profitable mercantile business at Read's Landing, was born in Vienna Township, Dane County, Wis., June 24, 1861, son of John C. and Sarah A. (Beedle) Hustleby. The father was for many years a pilot on the Mississippi river, which occupation he left for a time to engage in farming in Dane County, Wis., After a while he resumed work on the river, and died at the wheel at Quincy, Ill., in 1896. He and his wife had six children: Clara, now deceased; Hiram C., who is customs officer at Niagara Falls, N. Y.; Edward L., subject of this sketch; William A., residing in Tacoma, Wash., and Lucian and Eugene, of Rochester, N. Y. Edward L. Hustleby received a common school education, and at the age of 18 began working on river boats as roustabout, fireman and in general work, being thus occupied for two years. In the meanwhile he took every opportunity to acquire a knowledge of marine engines and in 1892 was granted engineer's papers. For 31 years he was employed on "raft boats," but from 1913 to 1917 was engineer on the steamer Frontenac, once belonging to Laird & Norton of Winona, but in later years sold to St. Charles people and by them operated as an excursion boat. While Mr. Hustlby was still running on it, the Frontanac collided with the Burlington railroad bridge at Winona and sunk, and this ended Mr. Hustleby's career on the river, as no other suitable job was then available. In June, 1918, Mr. Hustleby entered the mercantile field, opening a general store at Read's Landing, which he is now successfully operating, keeping a well assorted stock of general merchandise, and also holding the position of postmaster. A man of steady and reliable character, he has made many friends and is respected in the community, and well known for many miles around. He has been president of the school board for several years, and politically is a Republican. On March 4, 1890, Mr. Hustleby was united in marriage with Missouri Smith, who was born at Read's Landing, August 4, 1871, daughter of Russell M. and Laura E. (Allen) Smith, and they began domestic life here, where they have since resided. They have three children, William E., Garnet E., and Gladys S. William E., born September 12, 1892, is now living in St. Paul, in the employ of the State Railway Commission. He married Isabel Zurbus, of Melrose, Minn., and has one child, Jean C., who has graduated from the Wabasha high school and the Minneapolis Business College. Garnet E., born November 16, 1895, graduated from the high school, and subsequently spent three years at Hamline College. He is now his father's assistant postmaster and clerk. (Note: Russell, contact below, points out that Garnet is a daughter, not a son!) Gladys S., born September 22, 1897, graduated from the Wabasha high school, had one year of normal school training, and is clerk in the Great Northern office at St. Paul.