Sanders, Otto (page 615), the present proprietor of the old Sanders farm in Glasgow Township, was born in section 4, this township, October 10, 1876, son of Henry and Caroline (Sass) Sanders. The parents were natives of Germany who were married in Wabash county in the early sixties. Henry, the father, arrived first, at Read's Landing, and for two or three years was engaged in rafting for the Knapp-Stout Lumber company. He arrived in Wabasha about the time of his marriage, when he gave up river work, settled on a partly improved farm of 160 acres in Glasgow Township, near Dumfries. The original buildings were log structures, but a frame house was later erected and occupied. There Henry Sanders died August 7, 1901, and Mrs. Caroline Sanders, March 6, 1906. He was never a very robust man, but worked hard and was ably assisted by his wife. They were members of the Lutheran church in Wabasha and liberal in its support. They reared a family of seven children: Alfred, now deceased; Hulda, now Mrs. Conrad Johns of Eau Claire, Wis.; Etta, wife of George Gillis, a farmer near Plum City, Wis.; Margaret, wife of D. Zevley of Minneapolis, Minn.; Otto, on the home farm; Lena, wife of Theodore Miller of Highland Township, and Emma, wife of James Safford, a dairyman at Port Atkinson, Wis. Otto Sanders acquired his education in the district school, which he attended winters, in the summers his services being needed on the farm. He became his father's helper and has always remained on the old home, which he bought in 1906, and has since been engaged in general farming and stock raising on his own account, his stock consisting mainly of Shorthorn cattle and Duroc swine. The farm, which is situated six miles southwest of Wabasha, has adequate buildings and a good operating equipment and Mr. Sanders is conducting it with profitable results. Aside from his interests therein he is a stockholder in the Greenfield Farmers Telephone Co. Mr. Sanders was married September 8, 1908, to Rose Elizabeth Wilde, who was born in Theilman, Wabasha county, January 7, 1890, daughter of August and Rose Wilde, of West Albany Township. Of this union three children have been born: Joseph Otto, January 21, 1911; Violet Rose, April 23, 1913, and Richard Donald, April 28, 1920. Mr. Sanders was reared a Lutheran but is a member of the German Reformed church of Wabasha. Politically he is a Republican.
Sass, Frederick (page 337), an early settler in West Albany Township, who took effective part in the agricultural development, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, June 7, 1833. The first thirty years of his life were spent in his native land, and he was the married in the spring of 1863, to Mary Prueter. He and his bride at once came to America, arriving in Wabasha County, Minn., in June the same year, practically destitute of funds. Their object was to found a home, and accordingly, Mr. Sass homesteaded 120 acres of wild prairie land in section 21, West Albany Township. Strict economy was necessary, and even with that it was hard to get along, but progress was gradually made, and both worked together looking forward hopefully to a prosperous future, which in due time was realized. Mr. Sass broke and developed his land, also buying 80 additional acres, and erected a good set of buildings, and he continued to reside here until his death October 4, 1915. His wife is now living with their son, Louis, on the old farm. The other children of Mr. and Mrs. Sass were: Amelia, now Mrs. Peter Schwirtz, her husband being a farmer at Theilman, Wabasha county; Augusta, wife of Charles Struckmyer, a farmer of West Albany Township; Mary, who married F. W. Moechnig of West Albany Township, and is now deceased; Edward, a resident of Lake City; Frederick A., a prosperous farmer of section 13, West Albany Township.
Sass, Frederick A. (page 337), of West Albany Township, who has attained prosperity through enterprising effort in the development of farms, was born in this township April 8, 1870, son of Frederick and Mry (Prueter) Sass. He was educated in the common schools, which he attended up to the age of 15, and outside of school hours he worked for the most part on his parents' farm, remaining at home until 1890. On January 15, that year, he married Amelia Moechnig, daughter of Frederick and Carol Moechnig of West Albany Township. He then rented the Tracy farm in the same township and operated it for two years, afterward moving to the Abbott Smith farm in Gillford Township, where he remained until 1901. His next removal was to the Hentze farm in West Albany, which was his home for five years. In 1905 Mr. Sass bought 120 acres of improved land in Glasgow Township and for some time rented it out to a tenant. In 1906 he bought a 160-acre farm in section 13, West Albany, which had fair buildings, and operated this in connection with the farm of 120 acres in Glasgow Township, building on the West Albany farm a good frame barn 36 by 76 by 16 feet, with full 9-foot basement; two machine sheds, 24 by 40, and did diversified farming until the fall of 1918, when he leased the place to his son, Lawrence. This farm is well stocked with grade Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China swine, with full-blooded sires; and in addition has a first-class operating equipment. Mr. Sass owns a five-passenger Dort auto car, and also a nice residence at No. 522 South High street, Lake City. He and his wife have five children: Elsie, born March 3, 1891, now Mrs. Ferdinand Brunkow of Gillford Township; Lawrence E., born March 22, 1894, who is operating the home farm in section 13, Albany Township; Caroline, born November 21, 1895, who is the wife of Arnum Zickrick of West Albany Township; Grace, born October 5, 1897, now Mrs. Earl Jones of Weaver, this county; and Esther, born February 4, 1905, who is a student in the high school. Mr. Sass is a Republican in politics and has served six years as a member of the district school board. He is a director of the Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance Co., and he and his family are members of the German M. E. church of West Albany, of which they are liberal supporters. In November, 1919, Mr. Sass moved to Lake City, where he now lives retired.
Sass, Lawrence E. (page 337), an active and enterprising young farmer who is operating his father's farm in section 13, West Albany Township, was born in this township March 22, 1894, son of Frederick A. and Amelia (Moechnig) Sass. He was educated in District School No. 1 in the Scotch Settlement, and has always been associated in agricultural work with his father. On the latter's retirement in 1918, he leased the farm from him, but owns the stock and operating equipment. He is carrying on diversified farming very successfully, keeping grade Shorthorn cattle, and has a herd of 30 to 40 swine. In 1917 he was engaged in operating the Christ Fick farm in Lake Township. Mr. Sass was married March 4, 1919, to Odelia Catherine, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Witte) Wallerich, of Glasgow Township. They have one son, Lyle E., born April 5, 1920. He and his wife are members of the catholic church of Theilman.
Schad, August C.
Schad, Christian (page 484), a well known retired farmer residing with his son August in Plainview Township, was born in the province or state of Hesse, Germany, March 1, 1845, son of Michael and Margaret Schad. He was educated in his native land and in 1860 came to Minnesota, locating in Highland Township, Wabasha County. Here he spent several years at farm labor, and then went into the pinery at Chippewa Falls, subsequently working in sawmills and as a raftsman on the Mississippi river. At the close of one of his trips down the river as far as Dubuque, he bought a team of horses and drove to Plainview Township, Wabasha county, where he traded his tem, harness and wagon for 80 acres of land in Elgin Township. After a while he sold that tract and bought 160 acres in Highland Township, later buying 160 more, which gave him a farm of 320 acres. This he sold in 1872 and went to Texas, where he bought a ranch of 816 acres, which he had his son August operate for him for some years. In 1884 he sold the ranch and bought a farm of 340 acres in sections 19 and 20, Plainview Township. Here he was engaged in general farming and stock raising until 1914, when he retired after a successful career. During his residence on the farm he erected a fine barn and outbuildings and built an addition to his house. Mr. Schad was a prominent citizen of his locality. He served seven years on the Highland Town Board and four years on the school board of the same township. Later he served four years on the Plainview Township school board, in every position showing efficiency and an intelligent regard for the interests of the community. He is a member of the Catholic church and of the Knights of Columbus. He was married January 8, 1870, to Celia Ruffas, who died January 7, 1912. They were the parents of eleven children; Mary, John, August, Frank, Louisa, William, Frona, Francis, Tillie, Edward and Clara. Two of them, Mary and John, are deceased. Mr. Schad is now retired from active work.
Schad, Joseph J.
Schandel, August G.
Scheer, Kaspar (page 548), an early settler in Mazeppa Township, where he made a good record as a pioneer farmer, was born in Germany in 1837. He grew to manhood in his native land, where in 1872 he married Mrs. Susanna Seivert, widow of Pierre Seivert, and soon afterwards they came to the United States, accompanied by the two Seivert children, John and Nicholas. On arriving at La Crosse, Wis., they found they had to wait there a week before they could get a boat bound up the river, and when they finally disembarked at Lake city, Mr. Scheer had but twenty-five cents left in cash. They were met, however, at Lake City by relatives with an ox team, who lived in Mazeppa, and who brought them to the latter township. About ten days later they began housekeeping in a log house in the woods, the building being in such poor condition that when they awoke in the morning they had to shake the snow off the bed before they could get up. After working for others for two or three years Mr. Scheer and his family moved into the village, where he bought three acres of land and built a house. There he resided for the rest of his life, passing away in 1917. At the time of his death he had been a widower for sixteen years, his wife having died in 1891. They had four children, three daughters and one son. One of the daughters, Anna, died when four years old. The surviving children are: Katherine, wife of Cal Raymond, of Brainard, Minn.; Mary, wife of Frank Bunde, of Duluth, Minn., and George, who resides in Mazeppa. Mrs. Scheer's sons by her first husband, Pierre Seivert, are both living, John being a resident of Spokane, Wash., and Nicholas Seivert of Mazeppa.
Schierts, Joseph (page 484), a leading citizen of Kellogg, where he is carrying on a profitable furniture business, was born in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, Minn., June 7, 1876, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Rohler) Schierts. The father, who was born in Austria, came to the United States in 1854 with his parents, who first settled in Wisconsin, but in the following year he came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, and engaged in farming in Glasgow Township, continuing in that occupation until 1900, when he retired and took up his residence in Wabasha, where he is now living. His wife was born in Germany. Joseph C. Schierts in his boyhood attended district school in Glasgow Township, and was employed on his parents' farm until 1900, then farmed two years for himself, then clerked one year for M. A. Odink, then one year for George Dickman at Plainview. In 1904 he came to Kellogg and engaged in the lumber business as manager of the Wabasha (now Bottsford) Lumber Co. He was also engaged in the sawmill business with Jake Howe for eight years, and followed threshing for 13 years. In 1913 he started his present furniture store in Kellogg, and in the seven years that have since elapsed has built up an excellent trade and established a reputation as a progressive and square dealing business man. He is also a stockholder in, and a director of, the State Bank of Kellogg, and a stockholder in the John Costello Co. (mercantile), of which he was treasurer until April, 1920, when the business was sold to the Kellogg Co-operative Store Company. For a considerable period a part of his time has been devoted to the public service. For many years he was assessor of Glasgow Township, and for several years clerk of Greenfield Township. Elected treasurer of the village of Kellogg in 1913, he has since continued to hold that office, having been re-elected every two years: and for six years he was clerk of Consolidated School District No. 31. He is a member of St. Agnes Catholic church of Kellogg, of which he was secretary several years, and belongs also to St. Joseph's Society, the Knights of Columbus and the Catholic Order of Foresters. He owns the farm of his parents, on which he was born, and which has remained in the family since they settled on it, having been only twice transferred. Mr. Schierts was married October 11, 1904, to Sarah M. (Calvin) Odell, widow of Bert Odell, of Kellogg, and daughter of George and Frances (Canfield) Calvin, her father being a native of Pennsylvania and her mother of Pennsylvania. The latter was one of the early school teachers in Wabasha County, and was one of the ten children of John and Margaret (Greer) Calvin, natives of Pennsylvania, of Scotch descent, who settled in 1855 at what is now called Canfield Springs, in Cook's Valley, Wabasha County, Minn. After the death of her first husband, George Calvin, she married, in 1876, Martin H. Tobias, of Kellogg, Wabasha County. Mrs. Sarah M. Calvin Odell, by her first husband, Mr. Odell, had two daughters, Vera M. and Bessie, the latter being now the wife of Matthew Arens. Vera M., a graduate of the Minnesota State Normal School, was a school teacher for four years, after which she entered the office of her step-father, Joseph C. Schierts, where she is now employed.
Schmeidberg, John M.
Schmidt, Henry (page 421, transcribed by Cathy), now living retired in section 29, Pepin Township, on a large farm which he did much to develop, was born in Wabasha village, October 15, 1855, son of Joseph and Barbara (Feister) Schmidt. The parents had settled in this county in the previous year, being among the first white settlers here. Henry spent the first 11 years of his life on their first farm, near Theilman, and then accompanied them to the large tract of 1,120 acres in Pepin township which the father bought, subsequently purchasing 160 acres more. He helped the other members of the family to clear and develop 500 acres of this tract into an excellent farm, and as always remained on the homestead, which he finally purchased from his father, beginning independent farming in 1879 or 1880. At that time he built a small frame house, which is the wing of the present residence and for three years lived a bachelor life. On July 23, 1883 He married Mary Gludt, daughter of John and Annie Gludt of Lake City. She was born in Iowa, August 26, 1863, and came with her parents to Reed's Landing, Wabasha County, Minn., when two years old, in 1873 moving with them to Lake City, where her father engaged in the hotel business. Mr. Schmidt followed agricultural pursuits for 33 years on the same farm, and had a successful career. His early education was limited, but in his boyhood he acquired those habits of industry which were responsible for his success, at an early age driving the oxen which pulled the breaking plow for many days, weeks and months: also sometimes driving the ox team hitched to the old-fashioned two-wheeled cart which creaked so as to be heard a mile away. In later years he supplied himself with good modern machinery and equipment, adopting all improved methods of agriculture as fast as they were introduced. In 1916 he retired from active work, leasing the farm to his six sons. It is well stocked with a good grade of horses, cattle and swine, and has three sets of buildings. The situation on the table-land commands a fine view of the Mississippi river, Lake (missing some words) Wisconsin bluffs. Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt have had a family of nine children: Harry Leroy, born July 5, 1884: Ethel May, September 10, 1885; Gertrude Frances, July 25, 1887; Fred Joseph, August 27, 1889; Clarence William, June 28, 1891; Arthur Louis, July 25, 1893; Irene Mary, November 27, 1895; George Allen, February 28, 1898; and Edward Albert, May 18, 1900. Harry Leroy, now residing on a part of the home farm, was married October 3, 1912, to Augusta, daughter of George and Augusta Kuhfus, of West Albany Township, and has three children: Florence Augusta born August 10, 1913; William Leroy, born November 4, 1916, and Mildred Marie, born August 27, 1918. Ethel May is the wife of Jacob Meyers, a farmer of Pepin Township. Gertrude Frances died October 8, 1888; Fred Joseph, who lives in the old stone house built by his grandfather, and works 200 acres of the home farm, was married February 22, 1915, to Della, daughter of Frank and Lena Meyers, of Wabasha City. He has one child, James Frederick, born January 28, 1917. Clarence William is residing on the home farm. Arthur Louis was one of the young men who served their country in the recent war. He was drafted August 6th, 11918, and left Lake City for Jefferson Barracks, at St. Louis, MO., remained there one week, and was then sent to Camp McArthur, Waco Texas. He left there September 16, for Camp Merritt, N.J., and on September 23 sailed on the S. S. Gen. Grant for Frances, landing at St. Nazaire October 7; was assigned to the 116th Ammunition Train, and transferred to the 5th Division, known as the "Red Diamond." He saw service on the Meuse and at Luxemberg in that division until July 8, 1919; sailed from Brest for the United States on the S. S. Zelander, landing at Brooklyn, N.Y., July 31, 1919, and was discharged at Camp Dodge, arriving home August 12, 1919. While abroad he was in Germany, Luxemberg, France, Belgium, Italy and the Alps Country. He assisted in the burial at sea of 200 victims of the "flu," and was himself seriously ill from the same disease on the return voyage. Irene May, George Allan and Edward Albert, the three youngest children, are residing on the home farm. The family are members of St. Mary's parish, Lake City, Mr. Schmidt being a liberal supporter of the church.
Schmidt, John Bernard (page 336, transcribed by Cathy), a well known merchant operating a general store at Theilman, was born in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, Minn., January 19, 1880, son of Charles and Anna (Wolfe) Schmidt. The parents were natives of Hanover, Germany, and came to Wabasha County, Minn., in 1870. They were married here and engaged in farming in Glasgow Township, where Mrs. Anna Schmidt is still living. Her husband, Charles Schmidt, died in Pepin Township, November 11, 1895. Their family contained nine children: Louise, now Mrs. Frank Passe, of Wabasha City; Cristina, wife of Anton Passe, a farmer of Pepin Township; John Bernard, subject of this sketch; Anna, now deceased; Elizabeth, wife of William Goihl, a farmer of West Albany Township; Henry, who is residing on the old home farm with his mother; Mary, wife of Bernard Schmidt, a truck farmer of Wabasha City; Helen, wife of John Ramer, a farmer of Pepin Township; and Josephine, who is living on the home farm. John Bernard Schmidt in his boyhood attended public school at Read's Landing up to the age of 14 years. Then on his father's death, he being the eldest son at home, he left school to work the farm for his mother and remained on it until August 1, 1912. He then opened his present store at Theilman, and is carrying on a successful general mercantile business, occupying a commodious brick building. He is also a stockholder in the Greenfield Farmers Telephone Company. While residing on the farm he served six years as a member of the town board, for two years being chairman. He has also served as a member and treasurer of the school board. Politically he is a Democrat, and in religion a Catholic, being a member of St. Joseph's parish, of which for a time he was a trustee. On August 27, 1912, Mr. Schmidt was united in marriage with Clara Louise, Daughter of Nicholas and Anna Reil, of Theilman. She died of influenza November 18, 1918, leaving two children, Margaret, born August 31, 1914 and Victor, born June 30, 1917.
Schmidt, John C. (page 339, transcribed by Cathy), a pioneer of Wes Albany Township, now deceased, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, September 7, 1833, He grew to manhood in his native land and was there married to Julia Lange, who was born March 5, 1831. For some years after their marriage he and his wife continued to reside in Germany, and there three children were born to them. In 1857 they emigrated to Minnesota, and entering Wabasha County at Read's Landing, proceeded to West Albany Township, where they took a claim of 160 acres of wild land. To these adventurous pioneers newly arrived from a highly populous and civilized land, their surroundings must have seemed strange, and at time depressing, or even sinister. The tangled wilderness lay before and around them, to be subdued and tamed to man's use only by long and herculean labor; their white neighbors were few and widely scattered, but the mysterious Red Man, of whom they had heard or read strange and terrible stories, was ever present of not far away; and when the evening shadows lengthened and night cast its mantle o'er glade and forest, the howling of wolves in the timber so close at hand, must have caused them to exchange many an uneasy glance, accompanied perhaps by inward forebodings. Such, doubtless, were their first impressions, but the human spirit is elastic, and men and women, and even children soon adapt themselves to their environment. Necessity and ambition spur them onwards in the healthful stimulus of work and the accomplishment of the daily task. So it was with the Schmidts. They had cut loose from all artificial support, had left their friends behind in a distant land, and were dependent solely upon their own resources. No stronger tonic was necessary. The children were as yet too young to be any aid, but their vary helplessness furnished an additional stimulus to the parents. They had taken their resolution to wring a living from the soil on which they stood, and immediately they went at the task. Their most pressing needs were food and shelter, and Mr. Schmidt erected a shanty, in which task he was doubtless aided by such white neighbors as he may have had, for the pioneers were helpful to one another, and especially to newcomers. He then began the task of clearing and breaking his land, which was not so quickly done, being the labor of years, but as fast as it was broken crops were sown, and in time the harvest reaped. A hard worker, Mr. Schmidt made gradual progress, and was ably assisted by his wife, and later by his children as they grew to the age of usefulness. On their original claim the remained until 1868, in which year they sold out and bought 160 acres in section 34, Lake Township. This second farm was their home until 1876, in which year they rented it and moved to Lake City, where, having accumulated a competency, they built a comfortable residence. It is no small tribute to their industry that they had been able to accomplish so much in a new country, and in an era of low prices for farm products, within the space of 18 years, and shows them to have been possessed in a high degree of the qualities of courage, self-reliance, industry and frugality. Mrs. Julia Schmidt enjoyed their new life of ease in a settled community for eleven years, and then passed to the world beyond the grave. John C. Schmidt subsequently remarried, and survived his second wife, passing away in Lake City on October 19, 1907 at the age of 73 years. He had well done his part as a builder up of this county, and was a man widely known and respected, enjoying the confidence of his fellow citizens to the extent that he was elected a county commissioner, in which office he served for ten years. Politically he was aligned with the Democratic party. Of his children but three are now living: John E., born in West Albany Township, July 13. 1864; August G., born in West Albany Township, April 25, 1866; and Julia, born in March 30, 1887, in Lake Township, who is the wife of George Mohr, a traveling salesman of Sibley, IA. The two sons above mentioned are now engaged in the business in Lake City.
Schmidt, John E. (page 340, transcribed by Cathy), who with his brother, August G. is conducting a prosperous business in Lake City, was born on a farm in West Albany Township, Wabasha County, July 13, 1864, son of John C. and Julia Schmidt. His parents were pioneers of that township, but when he was four years old, moved to Lake City Township, and in 1876 retired and took up their residence in Lake City, where John E. attended the common school, and subsequently entered the ranks of industry. In 1884, at the age of twenty, he went to St. Paul, where he learned the plumber's trade, at which he worked there until 1896. In the latter year he returned to Lake City, and , forming a partnership with his father, John C., established the business here which they successfully conducted. On October 10, 1907, Mr. Schmidt became county commissioner to fill out the unexpired term of his father on the latter's death, and he has since continued to serve as a member of the board through election. In politics he is independent. As a business man he has been prosperous and owns a good home on the corner of Center and South Garden streets in Lake City. He was reared in the Lutheran faith, to which he still remains attached. Mr. Schmidt was married April 10, 1886, to Augusta B., daughter of Gustaf A. and Augusta Rieman of West Albany Township, she, herself, being born in Germany, February 4, 1863. Her father was an Evangelical Lutheran pastor in Germany, who, on account of his health, came with his family to Wabasha County, Minn., in the early seventies, and took up farming here. After following that occupation for fifteen years he returned to the ministry. He died a Lake Elmo, Minn., in 1908, being survived by his wife, who passed away at St. Paul, Minn., in 1914. Mr. and Mrs. John E. Schmidt are the parents of two children: Franz W., born September 22, 1886, who is an employee in the U.S. customs office at Baudette, Minn.; and Lillian J., born March 31, 1888, who is the wife of George Eggert and lives in Chicago.
Schmidt, Joseph (page 411), now living practically retired on a farm in section 25, Pepin Township, was born in Germany, April 20, 1852, son of Bernhardt and Mary Schmidt. The father was a blacksmith by occupation and was in poor circumstances. Joseph attended the common school up to the age of 14, and resided with his parents until he was 20. He was then obliged to shift for himself, and having an uncle at Belleview, Iowa, in the summer of 1873 he came to the United States. He resided six months in Belleview, and then came to Wabasha County, Minn., where he had a brother living. Of his parents’ family living being Joseph and Henry, the latter a resident of Wabasha City. On arriving in this county Joseph settled in Glasgow Township, where he spent three years, working for farmers, especially in grubbing land. In 1877 he bought 160 acres of partly improved land in the same township, and started in for himself. There was a small house on the land and some log sheds for cattle, and the farm lay in three sections, 18, 19, and 20. On April 29, 1879, he married Elizabeth Kolker, daughter of Gerhardt and Elizabeth Kolker, of Glasgow Township, and they began housekeeping in the small dwelling above mentioned, in which they lived for ten years or more. At the end of that time Mr. Schmidt built a better house, and in subsequent years he cleared and developed the farm. In 1895 he sold it and bought his present farm of 166 acres in section 15, Pepin Township, a mile and a half from Wabasha City on the Lake City road. This property also he has improved, having a very comfortable house, and instead of the log stables which stood on the farm when he came here, he has today a good frame barn, 34 by 50 by 16 feet in size, with full stone basement; a good granary, hog house and other buildings. On the farm is also a fine orchard with over 100 trees. Mr. Schmidt retired from active work a few years ago, and since then the farm has been operated by August Drees, a son-in-law. Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt have two children: Elizabeth, born August 25, 1883, now Mrs. August Drees; and Mary, born October 27, 1885, who is the wife of Theodore Oenning, and resides on a farm in Pepin Township. Mary and her husband have three children, Marietta, Gerhardt and Theodore. Mr. Schmidt served the township as supervisor for several years, and has always taken a warm interest in the welfare of the community in which he lives. He and his family are members of the Catholic church, belonging to St. Felix congregation at Wabasha. August Drees was born in Germany February 5, 1876, son of Bernhardt and Theresa Drees, and came to the United States in 1892. He was married to Elizabeth Schmidt in 1912, and since 1913 has operated the Schmidt farm, being a practical and successful farmer, and also a man highly esteemed as a citizen. He and his wife have three children: Joseph, born February 21, 1914; Mary, born December 26, 1915; and Margaret, born December 22, 1918
Schmidt, Joseph (page 420), one of the sturdy pioneers of Wabasha County who made a notable record in his day as a developer of wild land, was a native of Germany, where he grew up and was married. With his wife, Barbara, he came to America about 1846, locating first in Iowa, where a son, Louis, was born. Mr Schmidt had learned the trade of cooper in Germany and followed it in Iowa until 1864. He was evidently a man of enterprise, not afraid of hard tasks, for he next invested in 1,120 acres of grub land in Pepin Township, seven and a half miles southeast of Lake City. There he built a small frame house and began the work of clearing, a task which he kept up until, with the aid of his wife and children, he had grubbed and cleared over 500 acres and developed a fine farm. In the early seventies, moreover, he built on his property a substantial stone house, consisting of a large upright and wing, and which is now occupied by his grandson, Fred Joseph Schmidt. He also bought another tract of 160 acres adjoining the larger one, thus becoming the owner of 1,280 acres, and successfully carried on general farming. His work kept him too busy to engage in politics, but on election days he usually voted the Democratic ticket. His first wife, whose maiden name was Barbara Feister, died on the Thielmann farm, and he subsequently married Hannah Trother, of Reed’s Landing. Of this second union there were no children, but of the first there were eight: Louis, Henry, Mary, Jacob, Lucinda, Joseph, John and Addie. All except Addie, who married John Kievel, of Fergus Falls, Minn., came to the Pepin Township farm and assisted to clear and develop it. Henry is now a retired farmer residing in section 19, Pepin Township. John is farming in Pepin Township. Lucinda is the wife of Horace Borst, a farmer in the same township. Louis, Mary, Jacob and Joseph are now deceased. Mr. Schmidt died in 1902 or 1903, having previously sold his farm to his son, Henry. As a pioneer farmer and developer of land he had made a fine record. In religion he was a Catholic, as are all the members of his family.
Schmidt, Julius (page 387, transcribed by Cathy), who was for more than thirty years one of the leading business men of Wabasha, a public spirited citizen taking an active part in almost every movement connected with the good of the community, was born in Milwaukee, Wis., June 17, 1857, the eldest child of John and Catherine (Schreck) Schmidt. The father was a merchant tailor, who established himself in business in Wabasha in 1864, his wife and three sons, including the subject of this sketch, joining him here in the following year. Both the parents died some years ago. Young Julius, who was only eight years old when he arrived in Wabasha, attended the public schools of the city up to the age of sixteen. He began industrial life in the employ of H. H. Jewell, hardware merchant, under whom he learned the tinner's trade, remaining with him for eight or nine years. Then going to St. Paul, he became traveling salesman for the hardware firm of Strong, Hackett & Co., and was thus occupied until November, 1882, when he returned to Wabasha. Here he entered into partnership with H. B. Jewell, son of his former employer, and having purchased the interests of the elder Mr. Jewell, they established the firm of Jewell & Schmidt, and operated the concern together until 1893. In that year Julius Schmidt bought his partners interest and became sole proprietor of the business, which he remained until his death on April 7, 1915. During his highly successful business career Mr. Schmidt was also active in civic affairs, in other enterprises aside from his hardware store, and in several fraternal lodges. For two year he was president of the Minnesota Retail Hardware Association. He served as secretary of the Wabasha Building & Loan Association, was president of the Wabasha Creamery Association, vice-president of the Community Center Association, and a stockholder in the Masonic Association, as well as in the Building, Loan and Creamery Associations. He was a member of Wapahasa Lodge No. 14, A. F. & A.M., and of White Oak Camp, No. 2077, M. W. A., in both of which he held high office, and was active in promoting lodge interests. The welfare of the city occupied a prominent place in his thoughts at all times, and he was ever ready to lend his aid to a worthy cause. His charities were numerous and liberal, both individual and institutional, and won for him a warm place in the hearts of his fellow citizens. Mr. Schmidt was united in marriage December 8, 1887, To Emma, daughter of Henry and Christina (Frank) Amerland, of Greenfield Township, Wabasha County. She was born November 20, 1858. Mr. Schmidt built a substantial home on Second street, near the court house, where he and his wife began housekeeping, and in which Mrs. Schmidt still resides. After her husband's death, Mrs. Schmidt continued his benefactions, presenting to the city of Wabasha land adjoining their home for a public park, which is now known as the Julius Schmidt Memorial Park. Mr. Schmidt was reared a member of the German Lutheran Church, but that denomination not being represented in Wabasha, he and his wife worshipped with and supported the Episcopal Church of this city.
Schmidt, Paul E. (page 231), one of the prominent farmers of Plainview Township, was born in Germany, December 3, 1878, son of Fred and Minnie Schmidt. The father died in Germany and the mother later became the wife of Carl Fick. Paul E. Received a good education in his native land and also in America. His instruction in languages was especially thorough, and he can read and write in German, English and Spanish. Mr. Schmidt came to this country in 1891, locating first on Oak Ridge, Winona County, Minn. In 1900 he enlisted in the Fifth Cavalry Troop of the U. S. regular army and subsequently served three years in the Philippine Islands, being honorably discharged in 1903. In 1905 he bought his present farm, or, rather 30 acres, later adding ten acres more, thus making a farm of 40 acres. Fifteen acres, including the residence, lie in section 35, Plainview Township, the other 25 acres being in section 2, Quincey Township, Olmsted County. On this land Mr Schmidt is engaged in diversified farming, his principal stock consisting of Durham cattle and Poland-China hogs. Though his farm is small it is highly cultivated, and he has made many improvements on it. He is energetic and industrious, a good, practical farmer, and is highly respected. Into his life has entered more of adventure than falls to the lot of the average man. He has seen some interesting parts of the world, and taken an active and honorable part in making world history. Mr. Schmidt was married January 15, 1908, to Hanna Zimmerman, who was born in Minnesota City, Winona county, Minn., April 29, 1889. He and his wife are members of the Lutheran church.
Schmidt, William C. (page 486), a progressive farmer of Plainview Township, who by hard work and perseverance has accomplished excellent results in the development of a farm in section 54, was born in Germany, September 28, 1871, son of Fred and Minnie Schmidt. He was educated in his native land, where he grew to manhood. In 1891 he sought the United States as a land of greater opportunity than his own, and coming directly to Minnesota, settled on Oak Ridge, Winona County. For seven years thereafter he worked as a farm laborer, practicing economy and saving his money. He then took another step in advance, purchasing his present farm of 80 acres in section 34, Plainview Township, Wabasha county. The land was covered with heavy timber, and the task of clearing it was not easy, but he went at it with energy, working early and late felling the timber and grubbing and breaking the land until he has developed his present excellent farm. In 1914 he remodeled the residence, which stands in a fine yard, has erected a modern barn, 36 by 56 feet, with a basement fully equipped for stock, and has also put up a number of outbuildings and installed a full set of modern farm machinery. These achievements have placed him among the representative citizens and agriculturists of his township. In his labors he has considered comfort and artistic effect as well as utility, having laid out a fine lawn ornamented with flowers and shrubbery, the house being protected by a wind-break of Norway pine and spruce. The farm is well stocked with grade Durham cattle, and Chester-White swine and Poland-China swine. Mr. Schmidt was married March 2, 1899, to Lizzie Hoffmann of Plainview Township, and daughter of Louis and Anna Hoffmann, old settlers of Wabasha County, who carried on a farm near Potsdam, until they retired in 1916, and moved to the village of Elgin where they now live. Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt have been the parents of five children: Anna, born March 14, 1900; Albert, June 16, 1901; Clara, August 24, 1903; Velva, July 2, 1907; and Arthur, born July 24, 1911, who died May 15, 1915. The family are members of the Lutheran church, and have a high standing in the community.
Schmoker, William J. (page 561), a large land owner and well-to-do citizen of Greenfield Township, now living retired, after a successful career in agriculture, was born in Fountain City, Wis., September 8, 1863. His parents, Paul and Rose (Staill) were natives of Pennsylvania who settled in Wisconsin in 1853, and who spent the rest of their lives in farming. They have both died within recent years, the mother in 1905 and the father in 1906. They had eight children, Jacob, John, Anna, Mary, William, Paul, Frederick and Lora, of whom Jacob and Anna are now dead. William J. Schmoker was educated in the district school, and subsequently worked a number of years for his father. After that he rented the home farm for two years and worked it on his own account. He then went to South Dakota, where he remained six years engaged in similar pursuits. Returning to Minnesota at the end of that time, he located in Winona, where he worked six years in the Chicago & Northwestern railway shops. He then spent a year in Plainview as an agent for agricultural machinery. At the end of that time he determined to resume farming, and accordingly bought 160 acres in section 30, Greenfield Township, Wabasha County, on which he made his start. Since then Mr. Schmoker has accumulated more land until he now owns 500 acres, on which he has erected all the buildings, besides fencing. He continued actively engaged in general farming and stock raising until 1919, when, having acquired a competency, he retired, turning over the management of the place to his son Paul, who is now operating it, Mr. and Mrs. Schmoker retaining their residence on it. They are Lutherans in religious faith, and Mr. Schmoker formerly served three years as a member of the Kellogg school board. Mr. Schmoker was married May 2, 1882, to Helen Martin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Christian Martin. Her parents were natives of Germany who came to this country in the fifties and engaged in farming in Wisconsin, whence they came to Glasgow township, Wabasha county where they spent the rest of their lives, Mr. Martin dying in 1886 and Mrs. Martin in 1896. They were consistent members of the Lutheran church. Their children, eight in number, were Frederick, Albert, Herman, Ernestina, Helen, Minnie, Emma and Clara; Minnie is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. William J. Schmoker were the parents of seven children, the living ones as follows: Paul, born March 3, 1884, now working the home farm; Clara, born February 23, 1885, who is the wife of Joe Schurhammer; William, born July 9, 1888, who owns a farm in Greenfield Township; Ralph, born July 15, 1894, of Indiana; Earl, born October 17, 1896, of Kellogg; and Vernie, born September 30, 1904. Vernie resides on the home farm. The family are members of the Lutheran church.
Schouweiler, Nicholas (page 396), one of the leading business men of Hammond, engaged in the sale of lumber and building material, was born in Highland Township, Wabasha County, in 1861, son of John and Anna (Mumper) Schouweiler. The parents were from Germany, coming to the United States about 1860, and taking a homestead of 160 acres in Highland Township, this county, where they resided for the rest of their lives. The father died about 1882 and the mother on July 28, 1918. There were ten children in the family, one of whom died in infancy. The others were Nicholas, John, George, Bartel, Michael, Frank, Anthony, Mary and Katharine. Michael, Frank, Anthony and Katharine are now deceased. Mary is the wife of Nick Brucher. George lives in Highland Township. Bartel is on the home farm in the same township. John resides on a farm in Glasgow Township. Nicholas Schouweiler was reared on his parents’ farm, and was educated in the district school and the Wabasha high school, in which latter he was a pupil for one winter. Besides following the ordinary routine of farming, for some time he operated a threshing-machine. In 1888 he came to Hammond and engaged in the hardware business. Later he became a grain buyer, which occupation he followed for twelve years. Then in 1902 he opened a lumber yard in Hammond, of which he is still the proprietor, also handling coal, brick, lime, cement and all kinds of building material. He is also president of the Hammond State Bank, in which he is a stockholder. He has taken a helpful part in local affairs, having formerly served for three years as village clerk, then three years as a member of the village board of trustees, also as a member of the school board and as president of the village, showing efficiency and devotion to the public interests. His reputation as a citizen is among the best, and his success as a business man has proved him an asset to the village. Mr. Schouweiler was married, June 24, 1890, in Highland Township, to Eva Peters, daughter of Adam and Johanna (Leonard) Peters. Her parents, natives of Prussia, arrived in Wabasha County in 1855, among the pioneer settlers of the county, having previously resided for a short time in Michigan and then in Iowa. On coming to Wabasha County, they homesteaded a farm in Glasgow Township, which is now owned by their son John. They had eleven children, of whom seven are now living, namely: Garrett, Katherine, Margaret, Eva, Peter J., Theodore and John. Mr. and Mrs. Schouweiler are the parents of three children: Laura A., Veronica J., and Arthur P. Laura and Veronica are teaching school, the former in Hammond and the latter in Okmulgee, Oklahoma. Arthur P. is attending school in Minneapolis.
Schroeder, Henry G. (page 453), a prominent young farmer of Elgin Township, operating 219 acres of land, was born in Waupaca County, Wisconsin, October 11, 1886, son of Emil and Josephine (Brandt) Schroeder. He was educated in the village school of Elgin, Wabasha county, Minn., and became industrially active as a farm laborer, following that occupation in this vicinity until 1916. Then, with a laudable ambition, he started in for himself, renting the Campbell farm in Olmsted County, which he operated for three years. At the end of that time he bought his present farm of 219 acres in sections 26 and 35, Elgin Township, where he is successfully carrying on general farming and stock raising. He keeps good cattle and swine, the latter bing of the Chester-White variety, with full-blooded sires at the head of his herds. He has a good house, silo, barns and outbuildings and his farm is well improved. Fraternally Mr. Schroeder is a member of the Masonic order, including the Eastern Star Chapter, while his religious affiliations and those of his family are with the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Schroeder was married, February 21, 1907, to Mary E. Dunn, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Dunn. He and his wife are the parents of four children: Lincoln D., born February 12, 1909; Wayne A., March 13, 1911; Doris L., October 23, 1913, and Mary E., July 9, 1915. Emil Schroeder, father of Henry G. Schroeder, was born in the State of Wisconsin in 1860, and spent all his life in that state, where he died in 1893. His occupation was that of a farmer. His wife Josephine subsequently married Fred Dosdale and now lives at Hammond, Wis. By her marriage with Mr. Schroeder she had two children, Henry G. and Bertha. The latter is now the wife of Henry T. Swanson of Rochester.
Schroeder, Herman C. (page 401), dealer in automobiles, and proprietor of a garage and repair shop in Elgin village, was born on a farm in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, February 13, 1886, son of Henry and Louise (Scheer) Schroeder. The father, Henry Schroeder, was a pioneer of the township and county, settling here when the land was covered with timber, which he cleared from the farm, making improvements, and residing on his property until his death in 1905. His wife died in 1904. They had a family of eight children, all of whom are now deceased but two, Herman C. and Alice. The latter is the wife of Otto Streich, a farmer of Elgin Township. Herman C. Schroeder attended district school until arriving at the age of 13 years, after which he continued his studies in the Elgin common school and high school. After residing on the home farm until reaching the age of 27 years, he moved to the village of Elgin, and for two years drove a car for Dr. Hugh Slocum. Then bought a barn and established a garage, thus beginning an independent business career. In 1919 he erected a tile and brick fireproof garage, 50 by 84 feet, where he conducts a repair shop, and also handles the Hudson and Essex cars and accessories. In addition to this occupation he also operates the village water and power plant. Mr. Schroeder was married in 1907 at Hammond, Minn., to Emma Schalinske, of that place, daughter of Mitchell and Pauline Schalinske. Her mother died in 1918, and her father now resides in Farmington with a daughter. Of their seven children, six are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Schroeder are the parents of two children: Della, born in September, 1908, and Lavern, born in June, 1911, both of whom are attending school. The religious affiliations of the family are with the Evangelical Association at Farmington.
Scruby, Levi E.
Schultz, Edward J.
Schultz, Ernest E.
Schultz, John E.
Schumann, Frederick C. (page 640), the proprietor of a 240-acre farm in Gillford Township, was born in section 2, this township, November 25, 1877, son of John and Marie (Will) Schumann. The parents settled here in the early seventies and Frederick C. was educated in district school No. 19, at Jacksonville, which he attended to about the age of fourteen. Up to the age of 22 he remained on the home farm, assisting his father. Then on August 31, 1899, he married Catherine Ehlers, who was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, July 16, 1880, her parents being among the earliest settlers here. Mr. Schumann began farming for himself on the Henry Schlichting farm on section 2, Gillford Township, renting the place for ten years. In 1910 he removed to his present farm, which he rented up to 1913, buying it in the fall of that year. It contains 240 acres, all improved, and when he came into possession it had a good house but the other buildings were poor. Mr. Schumann has erected a frame barn, 40 by 86 by 14 feet, with a full nine-foot cement-block basement, provided with a steel equipment and with room for 75 head of cattle; a garage; a combined milk and washhouse; a hog house 22 by 34; corn cribs, an icehouse, machine shed, and a tile silo 12 by 35 feet. He has also installed a hot-air heating plant in the house and made other modern improvements. He is successfully carrying on diversified farming, giving considerable attention to stock raising. His present herd of high grade Shorthorns numbers 60 head and includes about 20 milch cows, and he has a herd of 35 to 40 grade hogs. His buildings are provided with running water and equipped with the Delco electric light system, and his operating equipment includes a Case thresher and two auto cars, a Ford and a Chevrolet. In addition to his direct farming interests Mr. Schumann is a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator of Lake City, the Lake Pepin Creamery, of Lake City, in which he is also a director, and the Shipping Association of Lake City. For a number of years he has served on the school board of his district, No. 19; politically he is a Republican. Mr. and Mrs. Schumann are the parents of eight children, who were born as follows: Lucina M. Augusta, August 16, 1900; Lawrence Deidrich Heinrich, August 30, 1901; Harry Herman Frederick, October 12, 1902; Helen Mary Johanna, March 19, 1904; Leona Marguerite Catherine, Oct. 9, 1905; Isabella Martha, January 28, 1907; Luella Henrietta Sophia, September 12, 1908; and Evelyn Anna, March 29, 1910. The Schumanns are one of the prominent families of Gillford Township and are affiliated religiously with the Jackonville congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran church. All the children reside at home except Lucina, who is now Mrs. John Wiebush, her husband being a farmer of Gillford Township.
Schumann, John (page 639) who was a respected resident of Gillford Township for over 40 years, but has lately passed away, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, February 1, 1837. He grew to manhood in his native land and was married there, November 1, 1867, to Marie Will, also a native of Mecklenburg, born January 31, 1843. In 1873 Mr. Schumann with his family emigrated to the United States and coming to Wabasha County, Minnesota, settled in Gillford Township, where he engaged in farming. He and his wife then had three children. For the first year Mr. Schumann worked as a farm hand for others, having arrived here very poor. At the end of that time he rented the Lippert place in West Albany Township and operated it three years. He then bought 80 acres in section 2, Gillford Township, on which farm he and his wife spent the rest of their lives, Mr. Schumann, after a successful career, being killed in an automobile accident on July 13, 1919. He had been a widower for more than a year, his wife having passed away April 16, 1918. They were the parents of the following named children: Fredericka Sophia, now Mrs. Claus Holst of Lake City; Caroline, who died in infancy; Minnie, wife of Ferdinand Brunkow of Herman, Minn.; Louis, Ida and John, who are deceased; Frederick C., a farmer in Gillford Township; William, deceased; August, who is on the home farm in Gillford Township; and Mary, who is now Mrs. Charles Abraham of Herman, Minn. Mr. and Mrs. Schumann were members of the Jackonville congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran church, he being a charter member and a liberal supporter of it.
Schurb, Joseph Henry (page 453), who owns and operates a fine farm of 231 acres in section 33, Minneiska Township, was born on a farm in Iowa, a few miles south of Dubuque, November 29, 1851, son of Matthew Joseph and Elizabeth (Trout) Schurb. The parents, who were natives of Feltzen, Germany, were married in their native land, and came to the United States in 1850, settling at once in Iowa, where an uncle of Mrs. Schurb resided. After remaining there two years, they removed to Minneiska, Wabasha County, Minn., and homesteaded the quarter section of land on which the subject of this sketch now resides (Range 9, Township 109). The land was all wild, and the numerous Indians in the vicinity went about in summer time in a state of nature, having no use whatever for clothing. The Schurb family began operations with no stock but one cow and one or two pigs. From a man named Burns, who lived in Mt. Vernon Township, Winona County, they hired a team of oxen to drag the logs with which to build a small house, erecting it on a piece of table land some distance back from the river, and in the immediate vicinity of a small spring. A number of years afterwards, about the time the railroad was in process of construction, this house burned down, and the family then moved into a granary which they had recently built and in which they made their home for a time, until a new house could be erected. During the early period they possessed no machinery, and all the work, even the hardest, had to be done by hand, including a considerable amount of timber felling and grubbing. Still they mad gradual progress, though suffering many hardships unknown to the younger generation, and barns and other buildings were in course of time erected. With the advent of machinery they made better progress, though this advantage cost them something in addition to the money spent, as about 1890 their barns were burned down, being ignited by a spark from a threshing-machine. They were, however, rebuilt, and the house improved and enlarged, and today the farm presents all the appearances of thrift and prosperity. In addition to the house, to which two L’s have been added, there is a good cow barn 24 by 50 feet, with 16-foot posts, a basement barn for horses, 24 by 40 feet, with 12-boot posts, a good granary, milk-house, hay shed, machine-shed and corn-crib, and a stave silo, built five years ago, 14 by 50 feet. Matthew J. Schurb, the father, who established the place and developed it into a fairly good property, died some twenty years ago, being survived by his wife, who passed away about 1907. They had in all nine children, all of whom, however, died young but three, and of these three the subject of this sketch is the only one now living. He, Joseph H. Schurb, now one of the leading farmers of his township, obtained such education as he could in the district school, when he was able to attend it, but his agricultural training was very thorough, and he learned many things which the farmers of the present day are not called upon to perform, and of which the younger generation knows nothing. In course of time he came into possession of the home place, which he has still further improved, with the help of his wife and children, who are fully endowed with habits of thrift and industry. He is a man who has always fulfilled his obligations, and who takes pride in the fact that his word is recognized to be as good as his bond, his verbal promise being taken for all that it implies by those who know him. He was married January 7, 1879, to Dora Heaser, who was born in Trout Valley, Winona County, Minn., April 8, 1860, daughter of Joseph and Anna (Westline) Heaser, her parents, of German origin, coming to this country from Alsace, France, about the middle of the last century. In their family were eight children, of whom four are now living: Anna, residing at Lake City, Minn., who is the widow of Mat Berg, and who has had nine children, one being now deceased; Dora, wife of Joseph H. Schurb; Joseph Frank, residing on the home farm, who married Frances Theis, and has five children; and Theresa, wife of John Siebenaler, and the mother of three sons and one daughter. To Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Schurb have been born five children: Anna Elizabeth, January 11, 1881; Frank Joseph, September 1, 1882; Theresa Mary, March 4, 1884; Elizabeth Matilda, December 3, 1888, and Olivia, May 2, 1891. Anna Elizabeth, who is single, resides at Mazeppa, Wabasha County. Frank Joseph, who lives on and now manages the home farm, married Mary Ilgen, of Hammond, Minn., who was born September 17, 1893, daughter of Peter and Mary Ilgen, has one child Bernard P., born August 18, 1919. Theresa Mary married Peter Marx, of Mazeppa, Minn., now resides in Olmsted County, this state, and has two children, Cecelia Anna and Monica Faviola. Elizabeth Matilda is the wife of Louis Welch, of Oak Ridge, Beaver Township, Winona County, and has three children, Dora Elizabeth, Theresa Viola and Beatrice Mary. Olivia married Edward Welch, brother of Louis, and has one child, Annabelle Theresa. Mr. Schurb and his family are members of the Catholic church, attending St. Mary’s at Minneiska. He belongs to St. Joseph’s Society, his wife to that of St. Anne, and their son Frank to the Knights of Columbus and the Catholic Order of Foresters. As one of the men who have aided largely in developing the agricultural resources of Minneiska Township, Mr. Schurb is widely known and respected, and his record is well worthy of preservation in a volume devoted to the history of this locality. Though his early advantages with respect to education were limited, he possesses keen intelligence and easily recognizes the desirability of providing the younger generation with better opportunities than he himself enjoyed in his youth.
Schurhammer, George (page 455), who for 36 years has been engaged in farming and stock raising in Greenfield Township, of which he is now a well to do citizen, was born in Baden, Germany, April 21, 1852, son of Joseph and Madeline (Trechler) Schurhammer. The parents, born in Germany, came to America in the early fifties, and settled in Greenfield Township, Wabasha County, Minn., in 1855, Joseph Schurhammer subsequently being engaged in agriculture here until his death July 2, 1901. His wife had passed away before him, in 1896. They were members of the catholic church. They had nine children, of whom the three first born, Andrew, Andrew (second) and Albert, are deceased. The survivors are George, Joseph, Christ, August, Minnie and Lawrence. George Schurhammer acquire his education in the district school. For some years he worked for his father on the home farm, and later was employed on the river. In 1876 he began farming for himself, buying 80 acres in Greenfield Township. This farm he later sold and went to Montana, where he remained several years. In 1884 he purchased his present farm of 500 acres in Greenfield Township, lying in sections 13 and 18, on which he has erected all the buildings, in addition to fencing it. He has pursued an industrious career and made good financial progress. He has also rendered public service as a member of the school board of his district. In religion he is a Catholic. Mr. Schurman [sic] was married February 12, 1876, to Anna Braun, daughter of Mr. and Mr. Simon Braun. Her parents, natives of Baden, Germany, emigrated to America in 1852, landing at New York. After spending three years in New Jersey, they came, in 1855, to Wisconsin, settling in Stockholm, where Mr. Braun worked as a wagonmaker for two years. In the early sixties they bought a farm north of Pepin, where they resided until 1871. They then came to Wabasha county, Minn., purchasing 160 acres of land in sections 11 and 12, on which Mr. Braun erected buildings and fences and engaged in general farming an d stock raising. In 1908 he sold the farm, but continued to reside in Greenfield Township until his death in 1913. His wife died in 1915. Their children were Simon, Bertha, Anna, Emma, Ida, Richard, Robert, Katherine and Otto. Richard and Otto are now deceased. R. and Mrs. Schurman have a family of seven children, who were born as follows: Louisa J., October 28, 1876; Gustav G., February 16, 1878; Simon H., April 7, 1880; Boda W., December 14, 1881; Roy W., June 13, 1888; Phillip H., July 30, 1890, and Reuben C., March 4, 1892. Louisa is now the wife of Robert Sutter; Gustav resides in Minneapolis; Simon H., and Reuben in Wabasha; Boda and Phillip in Greenfield, as well as Roy, who is on the home farm.
Note From Webmaster: I don't have a clue as to why Mr. Schurhammer's name changes to Schurman halfway through the biography. It is notable that he is referred to not once but twice as Schurman. It is also notable that there are no Schurmans listed in the index of this book, thus ruling out the possibility of two biographies being mixed. Possibly this is a typo, but a typo times 2 doesn't seem probable. Possibly, Mr. Schurhammer "Americanized" his name to Schurman at some point in his life. This seems like a more reasonable explanation to me.
Schurhammer, Joseph (page 676), now living retired in Kellogg after an active career devoted chiefly to agriculture, was born on a farm in Greenfield Township, Wabasha County, Minn., September 8, 1856, son of Joseph and Mary M. (Trichler) Schurhammer. The parents were born and married in Germany and came to the United States in 1855, settling first at Dubuque, Iowa. Thence in the spring of 1856 they came to Wabasha County, locating on a farm in Greenfield Township, where a few months later the subject of this sketch was born. After following agriculture here for a number of years, both parents died. They had nine children, six of whom are living, namely: George, Joseph, August, Minnie, Christ and Lawrence. Minnie is the wife of Thomas Herschberger of Polk County, Minnesota. John and Andrew are deceased and also one other child who died in infancy. Joseph Schurhammer in his boyhood attended the district school and at an early age began to make himself useful on his parents’ farm. There he remained until 1879, by which time he was a good practical farmer. For two years subsequently he worked out. Then in 1881 he bought a farm of 400 acres, together with his brother-in-law and his wife’s sisters and brother. It was the hoe farm of his father-in-law, John Huber, and they operated it together until Joseph Schurhammer, after buying the interests of some of the others in succession, became the sole owner of 300 acres. There he farmed until 1906, when he gave up that occupation and removed to Kellogg. During the first two years he resided here he was engaged in railroad work and other occupations. Then he entered into the saloon business, which he carried on until January 10, 1920, when he retired. Mr. Schurhammer served for several years as supervisor of Greenfield Township and as roadmaster. He is a member of Teutonia Lodge No. 19, and for nine years has belonged to the Odd Fellows’ lodge in Wabasha. In 1879 Mr. Schurhammer was married, in Wabasha, to Sarah Huber, daughter of John and Caroline Huber, who were natives of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Schurhammer had nine children, of whom six are now living, namely: Caroline, wife of Con Quigley, who lives on a farm in Greenfield Township; Joseph, Jr., of Kellogg; Valentine, on the home farm; Mary M., wife of Paul Schmoker of Greenfield Township; Leonard, of Minneiska, and Marie, wife of Frank Spooner, living on a farm in Buffalo County, Wisconsin. Those deceased are Minnie, Andrew and Emil. Emil, who was a steel worker in Chicago, met a tragic death in 1918 by falling nine stories off a building. Mr. Sarah Schurhammer, the mother, died in Wabasha in March, 1920.
Schuth, Anton (page 667), of Greenfield Township, a good representative of that sturdy class who have developed the resources of Wabasha County by the cultivation of the soil, was born in Hanover, Germany, February 13, 1862, son of Christian and Margaret (Kealer) Schuth. The father died in Germany, his widow subsequently coming to the United States. Anton acquired a part of his education in his native land and subsequently attended school in Wabasha County, Minnesota, having come here in 1878 and become a resident of Wabasha County. For a number of years thereafter he worked in Greenfield County and Glasgow Township, and by the exercise of economy saved some money. In 1883 he bought 160 acres of land on section 9, Greenfield, which tract he has since developed into a good farm, having erected all the buildings and put up a full line of fencing. He is profitably engaged in general farming, including the raising of stock, and is recognized as one of the township’s prosperous citizens. He has serve 15 years on the school board of district No. 5, and was for six years a supervisor on the Greenfield town board. He is a member of the Catholic church and of St. Joseph’s Society. Mr. Schuth was married May 29, 1888, to Caroline Evers, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Evers, her parents being natives of Germany. Twelve children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Schuth, namely: Henry, May 1, 1889; Mary, May 5, 1891; Augusta, November 2, 1893; Anna, November 20, 1895; Regina, February 23, 1899; Christina and Joseph (twins), March 9, 1901; Leo, January 10, 1904; Caroline, February 14, 1905; Lucy, March 21, 1907; Matthew, April 3, 1910, and Agnes, February 23, 1915.
Schwantz, Alfred J.
Schwantz, Emil (page 451, photo available),
a prominent representative of the agricultural interests of Elgin Township,
of which he is a well known and respected citizen, was born in Dodge County,
Wis., September 7, 1864, son of Fred and Augusta Schwantz. He was educated in
the schools of his home locality and subsequently worked for his father until
1885. During the next four years he worked on farms in Elgin Township, Wabasha
County, Minn., but in 1889 he rented a farm and engaged in agricultural operations
on his own account. Later he purchased his present farm of 240 acres in section
15, Elgin Township. On this he has made some valuable improvements, having built
two large barns, a large and comfortable residence and a number of substantial
outbuildings. His land is fertile and produces good crops, and as a stock raiser
he is successfully breeding full-blooded Durham cattle and Duroc swine. Mr.
Schwantz was united in marriage, December 6, 1888, with Augusta Reiter, who
was born November 1, 1866, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Reiter. Of this union
eleven children have been born, as follows: Lydia E., born February 21, 1890,
who was married, November 28, 1918, to William Kurth of Plainview, and has one
child, Donald W., born November 26, 1919; Alfred J., born March 19, 1892; Arthur
F., born February 14, who died December 8, 1912; Leo, born July 25, 1896, who
died August 21, 1896; Theodore W., born September 2, 1897, who died October
6, 1919; Leola H., born December 2, 1899; Annette A., born April 12, 1902; Walter
G., born January 9, 1905; Reuben E., born April 18, 1908; Lester V., born February
14, 1910; and Elbert E., born June 1, 1912. As will be seen from the above dates,
both Arthur F., and Lester V., were born on St. Valentine's Day.
Alfred J. Schwantz (see previous), on May 28, 1918, was drafted for service in the war with Germany. He reported at the court house at Wabasha at 2:00 o'clock P. M., and at 8:00 o'clock A. M. the next day left Wabasha for Camp Lewis, Wash. He rode three days, arrived in camp at 6:00 o'clock, did some drilling at this camp, and on June 19, 1918, left for camp Kearney, Calif. In his own words: "We rode on the train three and a half days till we arrived in the camp. Here we were assigned to Company C, 160th Infantry; we lived in tents. This was the best camp that I was in. It was fine in California all the time that I was there. Here I got considerable training. On July 27, 1918, I left Camp Kearney, Calif., for Camp Mills, N. Y. This was quite a ride across the United States. I saw all kinds of country when riding. It took six and a half days to get to this camp. While riding on the cars some of the boys broke out with measles. Then we were put in the detention camp at New York. Here we stayed for twelve days, and our company went across. August 17, 1918, we left Camp Mills for Camp Merritt to get equipped for overseas duty. August 18, 1918, left Camp Merritt for Camp Mills, N. Y. August 21, 1918, left Camp Mills on the train for Hoboken, N. J., for the ship. Here we were assigned to Company G, 156th Infantry. August 22, 1918, the transport left at 10:30 P. M. for the overseas trip. The ship I went across in was a captured German ship, the second largest ship that they had. This ship was named President Grant. The eats that we got on this ship surely were good. Were on the water twelve days. On the morning of September 3, 1918, could see the coast of France. Left the ship at noon. Hiked out of Brest, France, about two miles and here we camped for a week in dog tents; here we got some of the first spring wine. September 8, 1918, left Brest, France ~ this was on a Sunday ~ in box cars. We rode two and a half days; then we got off the train and lay outside that night in the rain, near some French village. Next morning we hiked about 30 miles, hiking till ten o'clock that night, all tired out and hungry. Here we stayed in a French farm house in the barns from September 11, 1918, to October 17, 1918. We had to drill every day. Then we left again on box cars on a three days' ride. After we got off the train we were transferred to the 32d Division, Co. A, 125th Infantry, and the same evening hiked toward the front, where we were in reserve for several days. November 1 we started to hike and followed up back of the lines as the grounds were gained by us. This was on the Verdun front in the woods. In the evening of the 10th we hiked to the front, lay low all that night, supposed to go over the top the next morning. At midnight orders came that we should wait till the next day and see which way the armistice was going; didn't do any fighting, only trying to keep out of the way from being hit by bullets. After eleven o'clock everything was quiet ~ seemed like a different world; then we hiked up to the German line, stayed around a few days, and were put into the army of occupation. On November 17, we started to hike to Germany, hiked a few days and came to Lonwy, France, where we rested two days. Then we started to hike and went into Belgium and Luxemburg. Here we stayed and rested up for a week at a farmer's place, sleeping in barns and dog tents during the hikes so far. In Luxemburg we spent Thanksgiving day. December 1st we crossed the German line, hiked to Andernacht, Germany, where we got shoes and clothes and whatever we needed. After we got fixed up we were like new soldiers again. Had a two days' rest here; then we hiked again and crossed the Rhine river, and hiked a few more days till we got to a dorf named Gullishiem (Germany), which finished our hike to December 14, 1918. All we had to do was guard duty, which was good pastime. I was promoted from a private to a first-class private while in Germany. Stayed in Gullishiem, Germany, till April 20, 1919, on Easter. Then we left for Niederberg in trucks, and loaded into box cars, they putting 21 boys to a cart. Left April 21, 1919, and arrived in Brest, France, April 24, 1919. Here we stayed till May 2, and left for the ship at Brest, homeward bound for America. We came back in five and a half days on the "Great Northern," unloaded on May 9, 1919, in Hoboken, H. J., then went to Camp Mills, N. Y., where we stayed several days. Here we received passes to go and see the City of New York. On May 18, 1919, left Camp Mills for Camp Dodge, Ia., and on May 21, 1919, I received my discharge."
Scott, Alexander (page 504), for 40 years a prominent business man of Elgin Village where he died May 6, 1919, was born in County Donegal, Ireleand, November 10, 1850. He was educated in his native land and at the age of 16 years came to America, locating first in Boston, Mass., where he resided for about two years. From that city he went to Woburn, Mass., where he worked on a farm. Then removing to Cambridge, Mass., he took up the trade of carriage maker, at which he worked until 1871. The next two years of his life were spent in Amesbury, Mass. Then in 1873 he came west, locating at Windom, in cottonwood County, Minn., from which place he moved to Elgin, Wabasha County, where he arrived on July 12, 1873. In the fall of the same year Mr. Scott became a partner with H. G. Hale in the wagon making business, and they were associated together until 1875, in which year he purchased Mr. Hale’s interests, and for 40 years thereafter successfully carried on the business, his shop being known to all the farmers for many miles around, and his reputation as a mechanic and business man being of the best. As a citizen he was active in the affairs of the village, serving efficiently on the school board for a number of years, and for ten years being secretary of the village council. He was a member of the Masonic order, including the eastern Star, also of the Old Settlers Association of Elgin, and attended the M. E. church. Mr. Scott was married December 25, 1878, to Ida A. Rollins, daughter of Irvin W. and Ellen (Keith) Rollins, of Elgin Township, and their home was blessed by the birth of five children: Jettie I., born October 16, 1879, who died April 30, 1888; Winnifred E., born May 26, 1882, who died March 9, 1883; Irwin E., born April 6, 1886, who is living in the old home just east of the Village of Elgin; Ethel M., born March 5, 1893, now employed in the art departments of the Thompson Lumber Company at Minneapolis; and Florence E., born January 26, 1895, who is teaching school at Worthington, Minn. For a number of years Mrs. Scott was an active member of the Eastern Star chapter of Elgin.
Scott, Briney (page 720), the proprietor and operator of a farm of 249 acres in Zumbro Township, was born in West Albany Township, Wabasha County, March 8, 1867, son of Patrick and Mary (Lane) Scott. The parents came to Wabasha County from Ireland in the early sixties, settling on a tract of 200 acres in West Albany Township, a part of which the father cleared, also erecting buildings and carrying on general farming. He died in 1912, having survived his wife Mary, who passed away in 1905. Their children were Mary, Briney, Michael, Richard, Margaret and Annie, the last three mentioned of whom are now deceased. Briney Scott was educated in the district school and after beginning industrial life worked for his father until 1892. He then bought a threshing-machine that he operated for several years. In 1894 he purchased 180 acres of land in West Albany Township, on which he built a residence and outbuildings, and was engaged in farming and stock raising there until 1899, when he sold the property. After that, for a number of years, he operated rented farms in Wabasha County. Then, in 1916, he bought his present farm of 249 acres in section 11, Zumbro Township, on which he has made some improvements, and where he is successfully carrying on a general farming business. He was formerly a member of the school board in Highland Township, is fraternally affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America, and is a member of the Catholic church. Mr. Scott was married June 16, 1893, to Anna McNulty, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Cormick McNulty, her parents being natives of Ireland who came to America in the early sixties and settled in Oakwood Township, Wabasha County, Minn., where they spent the rest of their lives. Mr. and Mrs. Briney Scott are the parents of 11 children, all of whom are living, namely: Florence, born November 3, 1894; Richard, March 8, 1896; Theresa, October 23, 1897; Irene, August 14, 1899; Bernard, August 17, 1901; Ralph, July 11, 1903; Alice, September 10, 1906; William, September 26, 1907; Lloyd, February 12, 1909; Vincent, September 19, 1911, and Arthur, August 30, 1914. Florence is now Mrs. Frank O’Donald, Richard resides in Gary, Ind., Theresa is now Mrs. Walter Canfield of Kellogg, Irene is a teacher in the Smithfield district, and Lloyd is a student in the high school at St. Paul.
Searles, De Wane (page 510), postmaster at Elgin, of which place for a number of years he has been a prominent business man, was born in Farmington Township, Olmsted County, Minn., April 22, 1858, son of William and Mary Ann (Smith) Searles. He was educated in the district schools of his neighborhood and in the Elgin public school, and resided on his parents’ farm until the winter of 1895. He then came to Elgin and for one year was in the employ of Richardson Bros., merchants. On September 12, 1886, he bought a half interest in the hardware business from E. O. Ordway, becoming a partner with J. W. Bryant under the firm name of Searles & Bryant. At the end of one year Mr. Bryant sold his interests to T. W. Mathieson and the style of the concern was changed to Searles & Mathieson. As such it remained for two years, and then Mr. Searles became sole owner of the business, which he conducted alone for three years. At the end of that time he sold a half interest to J. D. Siem, Jr., who was his partner until 1907. During the next eight years Mr. Searles was expert and salesman for the International Harvester Co., with headquarters at Elgin. In 1915 he was appointed by President Wilson as postmaster of Elgin, the office then being of the fourth class. In 1916 he was appointed for a period of four years and the post office was raised to a third class office. In this position he is still serving, having proved a very popular official. For several years Mr. Searles was a member of the village council, for two terms acting as president. He also served several years as village treasurer, and in every position has shown himself a capable man of business with a keen eye to the public interest. He is a member of Elgin Lodge, No. 115, A. F. & A. M., and of the Scottish Rite lodge at Winona. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. Searles was married January, 1884, to Susan Selina Richardson, who was born in Elgin Township, March 11, 1862, and who died July 20, 1916. After her student days she followed teaching for three years, two years in Viola and one in Elgin Village, teaching the primary department and first year after the present school building was erected, after the cyclone in 1883. From young womanhood she had taken an active interest in all the affairs of the town, social and public welfare alike. In religious belief she was a Universalist, although she never united with any church, as there was no Universalist organization here. She was an active worker in the M. E. Ladies’ Aid and the Ladies’ Cemetery Association. A charter member of the order of the Eastern Star, she held the highest office to which her associates could elect her, that of Worthy Matron, in 1912, and always had been an active member. She had always been interested in the progress of the schools, and even during her last illness she followed the agitation of a bond issue for a new school building with great interest and was highly elated at the result. While she had been in poor health for a t least ten years before her death, she had until July 4, two weeks before her death, been able to be about and attend to her household duties. A severe cold, which developed into pneumonia, led to the fatal termination, and she passed away deeply mourned by her family and a wide circle of friends.
Searles, John E. (page 693), an early settler in Minnesota, for a number of years a resident of Chester Township, Wabasha County, and later of Mazeppa village, where he died in 1914, was born in Willis, Cambridgeshire, England, October 13, 1838, son of George and Ann (Clippold) Searles. The parents lived and died in their native land, where their son, John E., remained until 1865. Then coming to the United States, he made his way west to Pine Island, Goodhue County, Minn., where he found employment on the farm of John Hardie, of which he became the manager after Mr. Hardie’s death. On his marriage in 1873 he bought a farm near Lena, Goodhue County, which he operated until 1883. He then sold it and went to California, but soon returned from that far distant state and resumed general farming, buying 160 acres in Chester Township, Wabasha County. Later he enlarged his farm by the purchase of an additional 80 acres, and continued there until his retirement in 1903, when he moved to Mazeppa. He served as a member of the school board, and was a citizen of value to the community in which he lived. His widow is now the owner of the farm, but resides in Mazeppa. Mr. Searles was married January 3, 1873, at Pine Island, to Harriet Hallaway, who was born in Sussex, England, in 1848, daughter of John and Ruth Hallaway. Her ancestors belonged to a noble or high born English family, her grandfather being”lord of the manor” in his locality, and the proprietor of 750 acres of land. John Hallaway, father of Mrs. Searles, was born in England in 1819, and his wife in 1818. They came to the United States about 1861, when their daughter, Harriet, was 13 years old, settling on a farm in Pine Island, Goodhue County, Minn. There they made their home until 1893, when they came to live with their daughter, Mrs. Searles. The father died in 1897 and the mother in 1902. Of their eight children three are living, the two in addition to Harriet being: Julia, wife of Charles Crouch, living on a farm in Goodhue County, four miles from Mazeppa; and Frederick, who is a farmer at Holloway, Swift County, Minn. Those deceased are John, Thomas, Mary, Harry and Elizabeth. Mr. and Mrs. John E. Searles were the parents of two children: George W., who married Laura Majerus, and is engaged in the real estate business in Mazeppa; and Pearl, wife of S. J. Hopper, of Portland, Ore.
Searles, William (page 509). On the morning of Saturday, December 20, 1919, there passed from this life one of the best known and most highly respected pioneer settlers of Wabasha County ~ a man whose loss was deeply deplored by his family, friends and the entire community. William Searles was born in Barton, Cambridgeshire, England, parents were natives of the same county, where they were married. In 1853 they came to the United States, and in 1856 took a claim in Viola Township, Olmsted County, Minn. After remaining there a few years they removed to Kandiyohi County, this state. In 1877 they returned to the home of their son William, where they remained until their death, that of Mrs. Elizabeth Searles in 1878 and Joseph Searles in 1898. They were the parents of seven children: William, Stephen, Mary, Martha, Eliza, Joseph and Elizabeth. William Searles spent the first 22 years of his life in his native land. There he was married, October 21, 1852, to Mary Ann Smith, who was born in Melbourne, Cambridgeshire, England, May 5, 1826. He and his wife, in company with his brother Stephen, set sail for America, landing at New York, after ten or twelve weeks on the water, January 3, 1853. Mr. Searles went first to Troy, N. Y., where he worked in the railroad shops until 1854, then came to Illinois, working in the Illinois Central railroad shops at Amboy until 1856, when he decided to come to Minnesota, to which territory a considerable stream of emigration had already set in. On his arrival here he pre-empted the farm in Haverhill Township, Olmsted County, now known as the Charles Wolfgram place. Four years later he exchanged it for the farm in Farmington Township, the same county, on which he lived for 40 years, and which he still owned at the time of his death. After settling on the latter farm he became an extensive land owner, and added to the original area of 80 acres until he was the owner of a full section of land. In 1878 he raised as high as 11,000 bushels of grain, of which about two-thirds was wheat. During Mr. Searles’ early career as a farmer he was badly handicapped by rheumatism and suffered other trying experiences. In 1883, while driving his team to Rochester, he was overtaken by the cyclone which caused such havoc in this vicinity, and one of his horses was killed, he, himself, being thrown from the wagon. In spite of all drawbacks, however, he successfully pursued his vocation until 1901, when he retired and purchased a residence property in the Village of Elgin, which was his home subsequently until his death. During his active career he took a great interest in all public affairs, and served the community as a member of the town board and as a member of the school board for a number of years. He was also interested in the Farmers Elevator Company and the Creamery Association. He was a member of the Odd Fellows’ fraternity which he joined at Troy, N. Y., and had been a member of the local Masonic lodge since October 1, 1887, serving as one of its earliest masters. He also held the Royal Arch and Knights Templar degrees, being affiliated with the Commandery at Rochester. Mr. Searles enjoyed good health for [every?] one of his years until the day previous to his death, when he suffered a slight stroke. From this he soon rallied, but at supper time another attack came on and he remained unconscious until his death at 5:30 a.m., on Saturday. He had been a widower for nearly 30 years, his wife having passed away on April 8, 1899. They were the parents of six children: William S., DeWane, Arthur, Anna M., Sidney S., and Helen B., of whom the following is a brief record: William S., born December 15, 1853, died June 30, 1896. DeWane, born April 22, 1858, is now postmaster at Elgin, Minn., and is given a separate mention in this volume. Arthur, born September 17, 1860, is now a resident of Farmington Township, Olmsted County, Minn. Anna M., born July 26, 1863, for some time followed the occupation of teaching, but in later years, with her sister Helen, looked after the welfare of the home and together they cared for their father in his declining years. She is associate matron of Vesper Chapter, No. 196, O. E. S. Sidney S., born February 14, 1866, is now living retired at Rochester, Minn. Helen B., born January 26, 1870, is a graduate of the Winona State Normal School, and for 7 years was a very successful teacher. She also filled the position of superintendent of public schools, both at Eyota and at Byron, Minn., and was a teacher of the piano for several years. She is a member of Vesper Chapter, No. 196, O. E. S., serving as worthy matron in 1916, and for the year 1918 was chairman of the Elgin branch of the Red Cross.
Seivert, Nicholas Pierre (page 548), the present postmaster of Mazeppa, was born in Itzig, Luxembourg, April 10, 1863, son of Pierre and Susana (Kauder) Seivert. The father was for a number of years a private tutor to children of rich parents, but later engaged in general mercantile business. He fell a victim to the cholera in 1870, and his widow subsequently married Kaspar Scheer, with whom, and her two sons by her first husband, John and Nicholas, she came to the United States about 1872, the year of her marriage to Mr. Scheer. They settled in Mazeppa Township, this county, where for several years they endured pioneer hardships, living in a log cabin in the woods, while Mr. Scheer worked out for others. At the end of that period they moved into the village, where they had a better house, with three acres of land. There Mrs. Scheer died in 1891, and Mr. Scheer in 1917. Nicholas P. Seivert was nine or ten years old when he accompanied his mother and step-father to Wabasha County. After arriving in Mazeppa Township he went out among strangers, working for his board, and also for a while attending school. At the age of twelve he hired out to a farmer, who paid him $50 for the first years’ work, and $75 for the second year, after which he received $15 a month. Later he gave up farming and went to work in a cooper shop, learning the trade, which he subsequently followed for a number of years. He also worked five years in a flouring mill at Mazeppa and Wabasha. He then returned to the cooper’s trade, which he followed three years in Wabasha, where he also engaged in closing out a stock of groceries for a Mr. Gross. After finally closing out his interests there he came to Mazeppa, where for nineteen years he was a clerk in the store of E. L. Ford. At the end of that time he engaged in the mercantile business for himself, conducting a store for five years in Mazeppa, or until August 24, 1916, when his place was destroyed by fire. In September, that year, he was appointed by President Wilson postmaster at Mazeppa, which office he still holds. He has been town and village clerk for several years, and has served as a member of the school board as clerk and president. Mr. Seivert was married January 10, 1887, at Mazeppa, to Catherine Bechen, daughter of Theodore and Catherine Bechen. The parents of Mrs. Seivert were both natives of Luxembourg, the father born in Kehlem. They came early to this country, as Mr. Bechen served in the Civil War as a private in an Iowa regiment. He and his wife had two sons and one daughter. Mr. and Mrs. Seivert have had five children, four of whom are living. The one deceased was Mary, who passed away in February, 1918. The living are: Susan, wife of Joseph B. Threinen, of Watertown, S. D.; Theodore A., employed in a wholesale shoe concern at St. Paul; Kathryn, who is at home; John, a signal engineer associated with the Western Electric Co. of Chicago, who is assistant postmaster at Mazeppa. Theodore and John both served in the recent war with Germany. Theodore enlisted as a private in the Minnesota infantry, and was stationed five months at Camp Grant. John, who enlisted in the signal corps, also served five months in the United States. Mr. Seivert and his family are members of the Catholic church, and he belongs also to the Catholic Order of Foresters and to the Central Society. The family is one highly respected for neighborly qualities and good citizenship.
Sell, Emil J.
Sexton, John (page 654 ~ photo available), one of the pioneer settlers of Hyde Park Township, now deceased, was born in county Limerick, Ireland, May 12, 1827, son of John and Nora (Flynn) Sexton. In the early fifties, leaving his parents in the old country, he came to the United States, finding employment in Pittsburg, where he remained for five years. In 1858 he came on to Wabasha County, Minn., and bought a homestead of 160 acres in section 1, Hyde Park Township, the land being all wild. After taking possession he returned to Pittsburg, where he married Catherine Flannigan, and in the spring of 1860 he brought his wife to Wabasha county, coming up the river by boat to Read’s Landing, and from there with an ox team to Hyde Park Township. Beginning the work of Improvement, he broke the land and erected buildings which were good for that period. About 1868 his wife died, leaving six children, among whom were tow pairs of twins. All these children are now deceased. Mr. Sexton remained unmarried for several years, or until November 8, 1873, when he took for his second wife Mary Elizabeth Becker, daughter of Joseph and Wilhelmina (Fox) Becker of Wabasha. She was of German ancestry but was born in West Virginia, July 5, 1853. Her mother subsequently dying in Maryland, the father remarried, and with him and her stepmother, she came to Wabasha, Minn., where she was reared to womanhood. Mr. Sexton was a sturdy type of man, made of the right material for a pioneer. He had attended common school in Ireland when a lad, but was a worker rather than a scholar, and in time he developed a good farm. In addition to his original farm of 160 acres he bought 16 acres of woodland in Oakwood. He was a Catholic in religious faith, while politically he voted for the man rather than with any particular party. By his second wife Mr. Sexton had 12 children: Wilhelmina, born December 19, 1875; Honora, March 9, 1877; John, January 19, 1879; Johanna, August 7, 1880; Sarah, July 11, 1883; Thomas P., April 25, 1885; Edmund W., January 9, 1887; Rose, November 19, 1888; Josephine, December 19, 1890; Walter M., April 25, 1893; Clara, August 2, 1895, and Francis Leo, July 13, 1898. Wilhelmina is now Mrs. Leonard Voyer of St. Paul, Minn., and Honora, the wife of John Thornton of Guillford Township. John died October 23, 1890, in his tenth year. Johanna is now Mrs. Frank Hall of Hyde Park Township. Thomas P. resides in Gillford Township. Edmund W., is one of the younger successful farmers of Oakwood Township, owning a farm of 160 acres. He was married, September 19, 1916, to Agnes Laqua, and has two children: Richard, born November 11, 1917, and Rose, born June 20, 1919. Rose Sexton (daughter of John and Mary Sexton) IS NOW Sister Venentia in a convent at Jamestown, N. D., (O. S. B.). Sarah, Josephine, Clara, Walter M. and Francis Leo are on the home farm. Walter M. served in the world war, being inducted into the United States’ service, August 27, 1918. He trained at Camp Grant, Ill., and was a member of the 20th Company, 161st Depot Brigade. Later he was transferred to the U. S. Base Hospital at Camp Grant, being attached to the Medical Department. While in the service he suffered from influenza. He was discharged June 13, 1919. Thomas P. Sexton was married February 10, 1915, to Helen Miesen, of Minneapolis, who was born in that city March 16, 1892, daughter of Nicholas and Gertrude Miesen. He owns a good farm of 160 acres in Gillford Township, and is enjoying a successful career, raising grade stock in addition to the usual crops. He and his wife are the parents of a son, John N., who was born November 8, 1917. The Sextons are all members of the Catholic church, and stand well in the community for their industrious habits and good neighborly qualities.
Shade, John C.
Shields, Patrick (page 330), was for many years a familiar figure in Wabasha County life. All who knew this genial old man of Erin's soil were charmed with his lovable personality, and his wont was to scatter sunshine in the daily lives of all with whom he came in contact. He was one of the few remaining pioneers of this section. It is said that when he first came here there were but a few buildings in Plainview, and those small and primitive. During his early life on Greenwood Prairie he endured many hardships. But though he was in no better circumstances than his neighbors, he believed n a full observance of all the amenities of cultured life, and he took pride in presenting a neat and trim appearance. For his was a will full of courage, and he labored incessantly until he had accumulated a competence. No one knew Pat Shields, as he was lovingly called, but to honor and respect him. He was a man among men, honorable in all his dealings, and honest to a fault. Best of all he was of that happy, jovial disposition that spread happiness, and brightness wherever he chanced to be. A true friend who never forgot a kind act or word, ever ready to assist the needy, and do for others in less fortunate circumstances, he could not countenance a wrong. Although he had nearly attained his eighty-seventh birthday, those who were not aware of the fact could not realize his advanced years. Spry, active and buoyant, it was his pleasure to announce that he was still young and active. That he is missed by young and old need not be said. There are few who can number more friends than he. He was a devoted member of the Catholic church, independent in politics, thought and deed. He died January 1, 1918. His time had come and he was willing to go, for he had often expressed the desire that when he became feeble he might not linger longer on this earth. Patrick Shields was born in Daylstown, County Galway, Ireland, in 1831, son of Stephen and Bridget (Laylor) Shields, who lived on a small farm. The original family name was Shiel, several of that name having taken a prominent part in the early history of Ireland. Patrick was reared as a farmer. At the age of twenty-two he came to the United States and found employment at the cotton mills of Manchester, N. H. In 1858 he came west to Fox Lake, Wis., where he resumed his former occupation as a farmer. At about the outbreak of Civil War he came to Wabasha county, and bought out a squatter on section 30, Highland Township. By strenuous effort and self sacrifice, he developed this farm until four years later when he was enabled to sell it for $2,000 in cash, a very comfortable sum in those days. Then he purchased a farm in section 29 in the same township. To this he later added an eighty-acre tract in sections 20 and 21. With the passage of the years he acquired a competence, and was held in high regard by his neighbors and associates as a man of honesty and uprightness, rich in the possession of an untarnished name. Patrick Shields was married in Manchester, N. H., to Margaret Beegan, also a native of County Galway. This union has been blessed with five children: Elizabeth, John, Margaret, Hanore and Mary. Elizabeth was born in Manchester, N. H., January 14, 1855, married Thomas Rodney, and died November 17, 1884; John was born in Fox Lake, Wis., February 5, 1858, and died November 7, 1918. Margaret was born at Fox Lake, Wis., October 12, 1859, and married John Curran, now of Highland Township. Hanore was born in Highland Township, July 30, 1861, and married G. L. Carpenter, now of Oakwood Township. Mary was born in Highland Township, September 29, 1867, and is the wife of Philip Welti, of Plainview. Mrs. Shields attended faithfully to the duties of her household, and was her husband's sympathetic helpmeet in all his undertakings. She was a faithful wife and a dutiful mother, and her death July 9, 1895, was sincerely mourned.
Shierts, Jr., John (page 781), who owns and operates a farm of 160 acres in section 35, Glasgow Township, was born in this township June 17, 1884, son of John and Susia Shierts. The father, a native of Germany, was an early settler in Wabasha County, coming to America in the early fifties, and locating on 120 acres in section 26, Glasgow Township. He cleared most of the land on his farm and engaged in raising both crops and stock until his retirement in 1916, when he rented the place to his son-in-law, Al Boden. He and his wife have been the parents of six children: Mary, Frank, Lizzie, Katie, John, Jr., and Clara. John Shierts, Fr., acquired his education in the district school and was reared on the home farm. After working for his father until 1908, he began farming for himself, buying his present farm, which he has since improved by the erection of a new set of buildings, besides fencing. As a general farmer and stock raiser he has met with success. His cattle are of the Shorthorn variety, which he is improving by means of a full blooded sire, and his other stock is also of good grade. Through enterprise and industry he has taken his place among the prosperous citizens of his township and enjoys the respect of all. He is a Catholic in religious faith and a member of the Knights of Columbus. On November 17, 1917, Mr. Shierts was united in marriage with Theresa Plein, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Plein of Kellogg. She was one of four children, Celia, Ferdinand, Clarence and Theresa.
Shore, Chalmer S.
Siem, C. H.
Siem, John D.
Siercks, Otto C. (page 720), proprietor of Twin Mounds Stock Farm, situated in sections 26 and 27, Zumbro Township, of which township he is one of the leading citizens, was born in Clay County, Ia., February 28, 1872, son of Hans T. and Doris (Stark) Siercks. The parents were natives of Germany who came to the United States in the early sixties, settling in Zumbro Township, Wabasha county, Minn. Later they removed to Clay County, Ia., there taking a claim of 40 acres on which they resided five years. They then returned to Wabasha County, Minn., and for several years rented a farm in Zumbro Township. Mrs. Doris Siercks died August 28, 1888, and Hans T. Siercks resided for some two years in Plainview Village, afterwards returning to Zumbro Township, where he again engaged in farming and continued in that occupation until he finally retired. He now resides with his daughter, Mrs. E. Schuchart of Zumbro Township. He and his wife had six children, Fred, Ottod C., Emma, Anna, Minnie and Helen. Fred and Helen are now deceased. The parents were members of the German Lutheran church. Otto C. Siercks acquired his elementary education in the district school and also attended school for a while in Plainview Village. For several years he worked for his father and then went to Winona, Minn., where he was engaged in the butcher’s business until 1893. In the year 1893 he conducted a butcher’s shop at Tyler, Minn., after which he returned to Winona and was there again for a year. In 1896 Mr. Siercks moved to Hammond, Wabasha County, and was engaged in the hardware and Machine business there until 1900. In that year he engaged in farming on his present farm, containing 160 acres in sections 26 and 27, Zumbro Township, which is known as Twin Mounds Stock Farm and which he purchased in 1911. Here he has erected a complete set of buildings, including a basement barn, 36 by 80 feet, installed with the James equipment, and including a Pine Tree milking machine. It is lighted with electricity. Mr. Siercks does general farming but gives special attention to stock raising and dairying. He is raising Holstein cattle, keeping full-blooded sires, and also breeds Percheron horses and Chester-White hogs. He has served seven years as a supervisor on the town board and several years as a member of the school board of his district and is a man of public spirit who takes an active interest in whatever concerns the general good of the community. He is also president of the Hammond Co-operative Creamery. On October 17, 1895, Mr. Siercks was united in marriage with Mary Schulz, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Schulz of Faribault, Minn. Of this union six children have been born: Pearl L., born July 27, 1896, now Mrs. Howard Ranstead of Faribault; Charles L., August 21, 1899, who is on the home farm; Doris E., July 1, 1903, who is attending the high school at Faribault; Wilbur L., August 28, 1905; Judson K., December 12, 1908, and Marion L., April 5, 1910, the three youngest members of the family, like Charles L., residing with their parents.
Siewert, Alfred J.
Indian Wars and Civil War
Sinclair, Colin (page 778), an early settler in Wabasha county, who was for 38 years engaged in the lumber business in Lake City, was born in Ontario, Canada, January 6, 1846. He came to Wabash County, Minn., in 1861. In July, 1862 he enlisted here in Company G, Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, and from Fort Snelling went with his regiment to the frontier to take part in quelling the Sioux uprising. In November, 1864, he returned to Fort Snelling and was sent to Murfreesboro, Tenn., soon after taking part in the Scully Expedition and the Nashville campaign, serving until the close of the war. He was mustered out at Fort Snelling in August, 1865, and on his return to Wabasha County went to live with a brother in Mt. Pleasant Township. Later buying a farm in Lake Township, he followed agriculture there until 1870. In that year he entered the employ of a lumber company operating up the Chippewa Valley in Wisconsin and remained with them subsequently until 1872. Having thus gained a fundamental knowledge of the business, he now opened a lumber yard in Lake City on the site of what is now Oaklyn Park, and this business he conducted subsequently until his death on July 12, 1916. His career was successful and he was long numbered among the leading merchants of the city. On July 14, 1876, Mr. Sinclair was united in marriage with Margaret M. Glider, who was born near Mazeppa, Wabasha County, and who since Mr. Sinclair’s death has become the wife of W. B. Gordon of Lake City. The religious affiliations of Mr. Sinclair were with the Congregational church.
Sinclair, Leon Chester (page 778), the enterprising proprietor of a successful moving picture theatre in Lake City, was born in this city July 24, 1887, son of Colin and Margaret M. (Olider) Sinclair. He was educated in the local schools and subsequently took a course in pharmacy in Wisconsin. For several years he resided in La Crosse, taking up his residence there in 1907. Three years later, in July, 1910, his father, proprietor of a lumber business in Lake City, died, and Leon C. and his brother Earl subsequently conducted the business together until 1914, when they sold it. Earl then engaged in the grocery business in Lake City, and for two years Leon worked for him as clerk. In 1916 the subject of this sketch entered into the moving picture business in Lake City, and since that time has been proprietor of a theatre on the corner of Lyon avenue and Main street. Mr. Sinclair is a York Rite Mason, and has advanced in the order as far as the Commandery, being also a noble of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs in the Odd Fellows, in which order he has passed through the chairs. Politically he is a Republican. On October 9, 1911, he was united in marriage with Maude Cook, daughter of Edward and Mary Cook, of La Crosse Wis.
Slawson, Arthur W. (page 533), a prominent citizen of Greenfield Township, where he is successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits, was born in Janesville, Wis., April 7, 1859, son of Dwelling and Lucinda (Dudley) Slawson. The father was a native of New York state and the mother of Adams, Mass. They cam e west to Wisconsin in 1857, and from there to Minnesota in 1860, settling in Greenfield Township, Wabasha County. Here they made their home for the rest of their lives, Mr. Slawson dying in 1890 and Mrs. Slawson in 1908. They were consistent members of the M. E. church and were esteemed as industrious people and good neighbors. They had nine children: Arthur, Curtis, Olive, Scott, Willis, Ely, Cora, Susan and Charles. Dwelling Slawson was considered one of the best deer hunters in Minnesota, having killed as high as 14 deer in one week. Arthur W. Slawson was given a district school education. At an early age he became busy on the home farm and subsequently worked for his father until 1882. He then went to Janesville, Wis., the place of his birth, and resided there for a year. At the end of that time he returned to Greenfield Township, Wabasha County, and rented and for four years operated the L. O. Cooke farm. He then purchased his present farm of 296 acres, 96 acres of which lie in Greenfield Township and the rest in Glasgow. He has cleared most of the land, erected an entire set of buildings, and put up all the fences, transforming the place into an excellent farm. He is raising the usual farm products, including stock, with profitable results and has gained rank among the substantial citizens of his township. He has served a number of years as a member of the school board of his district, and is a member of the Odd Fellows’ fraternal order, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Old Settlers’ Association of Plainview. He and his family are religiously affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Slawson was married March 28, 1889, to Louisa Graner, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Graner. Her parents, who were born in Germany, came to this country in the early fifties, settling in St. Louis, Mo. In 1852 they came to Minnesota, being among the earliest settlers in Cook’s Valley, Wabasha County, where they spent the rest of their lives in farming. Mr. Graner died in 1916, and his wife in 1908. Mrs. Arthur W. Slawson died on May 4, 1919, and Mr. Slawson now makes his home with his son, Willis, who was born February 2, 1890. The other children of Mr. and Mrs. Slawson ~ all younger ~ were: Lila A., born August 24, 1892, now Mrs. James R. Fairchild; Raymond A., born October 12, 1894; and Gladys F., born January 15, 1899. Raymond A., on August 7, 1918, was drafted into the United States service, and on September 23, the same year, sailed for France, where he was stationed six months, being a member of the 101st Ammunition Train, Company !. He was not in action and was discharged at Camp Dodge, Iowa, May 6, 1919. Mr. Slawson is one of the old and well known residents of Wabasha County, his recollections going back almost to pioneer days. In the coolie in which his farm is situated cattle and horse thieves at one time had a corral where they concealed their booty, and another evidence of early lawlessness was an old still which he found in the woods. He has witnessed many changes for the better, and has himself achieved prosperity, in addition to his farm owning a summer cottage at West Newton.
Slauson, Daniel C. (page 660), a respected citizen of Glasgow Township, who is at present operating the Thomas Huddleston farm, besides occasionally active in other industrial pursuits, was born at Nappanee, Ind., November 25, 1899, son of Albert and Elizabeth (Hughs) Slauson. On his father’s site he is Pennsylvania Dutch, his mother’s family being Irish. In his boyhood he attended the common school at Nappanee, and at the age of 14 had to go out into the world for himself. In the summer of 1908 he came to Dumfries, Wabasha County, Minn., being then a young man of 18, and soon after his arrival here he took a business course at the Southern Minnesota Normal College at Austin, Minn. On entering the ranks of industry he learned the carpenter’s and cement worker’s trades, and having also picked up a knowledge of farming, has worked more or less at all three occupations. As a farm hand he worked six years in Glasgow Township, and is now operating the farm of 120 acres belonging to his father-in-law, Thomas Huddleston. Mr. Slauson was married October 14, 1914, to Edna L., daughter of Thomas and Sarah (McIllreavie) Huddleston. Her father, who is still living in Dumfries, is an old pioneer of Wabasha County, and a veteran of the Civil War, of whom a sketch appears elsewhere in this volume. Mr. and Mrs. Slauson have one child, Wilbur Thomas, who was born August 14, 1915. Mrs. Huddleston, Sr., being now deceased, Mrs. Slauson presides as housekeeper for her father and her own family. Mr. Slauson is a member of the Masonic order, belonging in Wapahasa Lodge, No. 14, at Wabasha. He attends the Presbyterian church, of which his wife is a member, and politically is a Republican. Enterprising and industrious, he has made financial progress and is esteemed by his fellow citizens, his wife also being socially popular.
Smith, Augustus (page 242), son of Milo and Mary Smith, was born in Chautaugua County, New York, February 11, 1837. With his parents he moved to Michigan and later to Indiana. In 1862 he married Mareb Electa Robinson of Michigan. They came to Minnesota in 1865, settling on their homestead which joined with the homesteads of his brother, Hiram and Milton. To this union seven children were born of whom six are now living. Mrs. Alice Gearey and Mrs. Harriet Tupper of St. Paul; Milton of Roosevelt, Utah; Mrs. Minnie Bear, wife of Dr. H. C. Bear of St. Charles, Minn.; Carroll S. of Portland, Ore.; and Leroy R. who is Chief Accountant of Stations for the Great Northern Ry. At St. Paul. Mrs. Smith died March 2, 1888. December 5, 1889, Mr. Smith married Miss Elizabeth Leininger who is still a resident of Plainview. Mr. Smith died June 2, 1909, at his home in the village where he had resided for the past eight years. Mr. Smith was a charter member of Illustrious Lodge No. 63, A. F. & A. M. and served wight years at various times as Master of the Lodge. He was also a charter member of Plainview Chapter R. A. M. No. 16, and a member of Home Commandery No. 5, Knights Templar of Rochester. Mr. Smith was a member of the Masonic Veterans Association and for many years never missed a meeting of this body and the Grand Lodge session. He was a Masonic student and took a great interest in the organization of which he was a member so many years.
Smith, Ervin E.
Smith, Frank F.
Smith, Harry D. (page 242), the popular and efficient postmaster of Plainview, is one of the active and progressive men of the community. He has been active in public life, has taken considerable interest in politics, and has been a sincere worker in behalf of the up building of his village, his community, and his county. He is a native of Greenwood Prairie, having been born in Plainview Township, July 23, 1879, son of Milton and Margaret (Leininger) Smith, the pioneers. After attending the graded and high schools of Plainview, he devoted his time exclusively to farming for some three years after which he learned the barber’s trade, which he likewise followed for three years. Then he associated himself with his father in farming, and continued in that occupation for eighteen years. During this period his operations were most successful, and he not only won a name for himself as a capable and progressive agriculturist, but also assisted materially in the rural development of the township. In 1911 he again resumed his trade as a barber. Since early manhood he was interested in politics, and as the years passed he became more and more influential in county political affairs. In the old convention days he was a delegate to many conventions, and a member of many delegations and committees. For some years he has been a leader in the affairs of the Democratic County Central Committee, and has assisted in dictating many of its policies. May 13, 1914, he was appointed by President Woodrow Wilson to his present position as Plainview postmaster. The appointment met with the approval of the entire community and the choice has proven a wise one. In the years since then he has shown his ability, progressive spirit and fitness, and has made many improvements in the service. His unfailing courtesy and obliging manner have won him popularity with all those whose business brings them to the office, and his worth as a man is an important factor in the high esteem in which the local postal service is held. Mr. Smith is as well known in fraternal as in political circles. In the Masonic world he is a member of the Blue Lodge at Plainview, and Consistory at Winona, and the Shrine at St. Paul; while in Elkdom he is a member of Rochester Lodge No. 1091, B.P.O.E., at Rochester. In addition to his duties as postmaster, Mr. Smith has the management of a large farm in Plainview Township, owned by him and his family, to the supervision of which he gives the best of his long years of agricultural experience, together with his keen business judgment and a thorough knowledge of the latest methods of farm enterprise. Mr. Smith was married April 23, 1894, to Mary Marshall, twelfth of the sixteen children of Joseph W. and Elizabeth (Cram) Marshall. This union has been blessed with two children, Victor and Eva. Victor was born January 5, 1895, graduated from the Plainview High School in 1913, and served eighteen months in the World War and received his commission as 2d Lieut. He now holds a fine position with the Washburn Lignite Coal Co. at Wilton, N. D. Eva was born November 2, 1896, graduated from the Plainview High School in 1914, and from the Stout Institute at Menomonie, Wis., and taught three years in the Wilton, N. D. Schools. She was married August 6, 1919, to M. R. Thomas of Wilton, N. D., and now resides at that place.
Smith, Hugh R.
Smith, Robert G.
Smith, Russell M. (page 506), in former years a well known pilot on the upper Mississippi river, was born in Buffalo, N. Y., November 17, 1833, and grew to manhood in that locality, acquiring his education in the common school. When a young man he found occupation on the Lakes and in time became a captain, being there employed for some years. In 1859 he came to Read’s Landing, Wabasha County, Minn., and for a number of years thereafter was engaged as a “floating pilot,” bringing lumber cribs down the Chippewa river to the Mississippi. For some years he operated the steamer Alvira, which was the first boat to take a raft from La Crosse and the second to take a boat from Read’s Landing. He was also pilot of the steamer Union when it took the first raft from Read’s Landing. Captain Smith was engaged in river work up to the time of his death, which occurred at his home at Read’s Landing, April 7, 1890. He was a man of good reputation as pilot, neighbor, and citizen, and in his home a model husband and father. Politically he was a Democrat. At the time of his death he owned a nice residence and other property at Read’s Landing. Capt. R. M. Smith was married at Nauvoo, Ill., May 14, 1861, by Joseph Smith, then justice of the peace and later head of the Church of Latter Day Saints, to Laura E. Allen. Mrs. Smith survived her husband nearly 18 years, passing away at her home at Read’s Landing, January 18, 1918. They were the parents of seven children: Maria Minnesota, born September 19, 1862, who is now Mrs. G. G. Tuttle of Tacoma, Wash.; Allan Rufus, born November 16, 1865, who died September 19, 1875; Russell Ninevah, born February 12, 1869, now residing at Alma, Wis.; Missouri M., born August 4, 1871, who was married March 4, 1890 to E. L. Hustleby of Read’s Landing; Harry Hendricks, born November 13, 1876, who was married July 18, 1906, to Margaret Tarnutzer, and resides at Read’s Landing; Laura Elizabeth, born October 30, 1879, who was married December 25, 1897, to Homer Thompson of Minneapolis, Minn., and Jessie Lucinda, born February 9, 1885, who was married to John Westling of Minneapolis.
Smith, William H. (page 244), now living practically retired in the village of Minneiska, was born in Plainview Township, this county, June 25, 1858, son of Milton and Margaret (Leininger) Smith. He was educated in the district school, and during his early years assisted his father on the home farm. Then for a number of years he was engaged in the grocery business at Plainview. Later he took up carpenter work and was thus occupied in Plainview until 1904. In that year he came to Minneiska, and, in order to have some occupation, started boat building, in which business he has continued until recently, having a convenient shop near the bank of the river, in the north end of the village. Physical ailments, however, have now compelled his retirement, as since the age of 19 years, his left hand and arm have been partly paralyzed as the result of an accident, and for several years past he has also been troubled with rheumatism. In spite of these disabilities, he has achieved results worth while, and is in the enjoyment of a fair competency. A man of advanced thought, he has pursued studies in occultism, a subject that is interesting some of the most prominent literary and scientific men of the day.
Spaulding, Addison R. (page 630), an early settler in Wabasha County, was born in Lewis, Essex County, N. Y., November 15, 1837, son of Luke and Rosina (Densmore) Spaulding, who were respectively of English and Scotch descent, and who lived on the farm which has belonged to the Spaulding family since the year 1800. There he attended school and spent the first 19 years of his life. In 1856 he came to Wabasha County, locating in Lake City. Here he first found employment at teaming, there being considerable work of that character to be done in freighting merchandise and goods from the foot of Lake Pepin before the construction of the railroad. He was married December 25, 1868, to Mrs. Lamoile Dawley, whose maiden name was Lamoile Sanborn. She was born at East Hardwick, Vt., June 1, 1831, and had come to the State of Wisconsin in the late fifties as a school missionary. At the time of her marriage with Mr. Spaulding she resided at Clinton Junction, Wis. She passed away on September 5, 1901. She had borne her husband one daughter, Addie May, born May 22, 1870, who is now the wife of Menzie T. Cliff, and resides with her husband and only son, Ivan, on the old Spaulding farm in section 17, in Lake Township. In 1873 Mr. Spaulding purchased from the Indians 126 acres on the bluff overlooking Lake Pepin and Lake City. In the letter inclosing the deed to the property from Frank Hurd, then of Oak Dale, Neb., was written, "My grandmother saw the girl who leaped from Maiden Rock." About four or five acres of the tract had been cleared, and he continued the work of improvement until he had developed the place into a valuable farm, erecting a fine two-story frame house, which is picturesquely surrounded by large native oaks. He also erected other buildings, planted a number of trees and did everything to make his farm a place of beauty as well as of utility, and today it would be hard to find another farm that exceeds it in either respect. Mr. Spaulding was widely known for his shire sheep. At the World's Columbian Commission and International Exhibition in 1893, held in Chicago, he was awarded a diploma of specific merit for his wool exhibit, and also a bronze medal in commemoration of the four hundredth anniversary of the landing of Columbus. Mr. Spaulding had a successful career as a general farmer, and, with the exception of five years, which he spent in North Dakota as superintendent of a cattle ranch belonging to the Jewell Nursery company of Lake City, he resided on his farm in Lake Township until his death, which occurred April 15, 1902. Mr. Spaulding was a man of wide reputation, both as a capable farmer and active and useful citizen, his character being unusual in justice and honesty. He served his township and county in responsible public offices, and was appointed administrator of a number of estates. Mr. Spaulding and wife were members of the Baptist church at Lake City and were always liberal in its support. Divided in death my only eight short months, they were both laid to rest in Lakewood Cemetery at Lake City.
Sprenger, Jacob J. (page 764), one of the leading citizens of Chester Township, where he owns and operates an excellent farm, was born in La Crosse County, Wisconsin, June 8, 1867, son of Jacob J., Sr., and Catherine (Scholer) Sprenger. The father was born at Zurich, Switzerland, January 3, 1824. He was reared to manhood in his native land and there married his first wife. With her and their two children, Mary and Anna, he came to the United States in 1854, in April of that year settling in La Crosse County, Wisconsin. There his wife died in the spring of 1865. Of the two daughters mentioned, Mary is deceased, and Anna is now Mrs. F. Sugg, of Zumbro Falls, Wabasha County. By his first wife Jacob J. Sprenger, Sr., also had a son, Henry, who is now residing in Tacoma, Washington. In 1866 Mr. Sprenger married for his second wife Catherine Scholer, of Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, Minn. For nine years longer he continued his residence in La Crosse County, and then, on October 2, 1875, he moved with his family to Wabasha County, Minnesota, locating on a homestead in Chester Township, near Zumbro Falls. There he died September 5, 1877. He had three children by his second wife, Catherine, namely: Jacob J., Jr., subject of this sketch; Christina, who died in infancy, and Emil, who is now living on the old homestead. Mrs. Catherine Sprenger survived her husband many years, passing away on the old home farm in Chester Township, on July 29, 1906. Jacob J. Sprenger (Jr.) Attended district school in Chester Township to the age of 16 years, and pursued additional studies for one winter at Galena, Ill. In 1902 he took an extended short course in the Minnesota Agricultural College. Previous to this, however, he had married, having been united January 19, 1891, with Louisa W. Moechnig (pr. “Mack-nick” ~ webmaster), who was born in West Albany Township, October 2, 1868, daughter of Frederick and Caroline (Deppa) Moechnig. For ten years he and his wife resided on his parents’ homestead. In 1895 Mr. Sprenger had bought a farm of 232 acres in section 36, Chester Township, to which he moved with his family in the fall of 1901, and in the same year (1901) he purchased 100 additional acres. The land was improved, but the buildings small and poor. He has since bought other land, now owning 500 acres all in one body. In 1902, the year after he moved onto the farm, Mr. Sprenger began a series of improvements, erecting a modern barn, the main part of which measures 38 by 80 by 16 feet, with a full stone basement of nine feet, and with a wing 26 by 60 feet, used for hay. In 1908 he built a fine two-story brick residence of eleven rooms, and with modern equipment: in 1909 he erected a tile silo of 180 tons’ capacity, and in 1911 a second silo of 150 tons’ capacity. He has also a good set of other buildings, including toolsheds, a granary, poultry-house, and corn cribs. The farm lies one mile west of Zumbro Falls, in sections 25 and 36. Mr. Sprenger is operating 200 acres of his land, carrying on diversified farming, another part of the farm, containing 180 acres, being operated by his son-in-law, Albert Starz. Still another section of it ~ 120 acres ~ is seeded and fenced for stock. At one time Mr. Sprenger was extensively engaged in dairying, milking as high as 30 cows. He raises high grade Holstein cattle to a yearly average of 100 head; also from 30 to 50 head of pure blood Duroc-Jersey hogs. His horses are all pure bred Belgians, and his farm equipment includes a tractor, threshing machine and clover-huller, with all other necessary tools and machinery. For the past twelve years Mr. Sprenger has been actively engaged in Farmers’ Institute work in Minnesota, the first three years as an assistant and the last seven years as conductor. He is a director and stockholder in the Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Zumbro Falls; a stockholder in the Farmers’ Co-operative Creamery and the Farmers’ Elevator Company of the same place, being a director in the latter Company of Zumbro Falls. In addition to these numerous activities, Mr. Sprenger has devoted a part of his time to public affairs. He served four years in the office of county commissioner, was chairman of the county board two years, and is treasurer of School District No. 80, consolidated schools. He and his wife have been the parents of seven children: Clara C., born December 28, 1892; Henry F., February 2, 1894; Anna May, April 4, 1898; Bessie L., August 10, 1901; Ruth E., May 9, 1903; Edwin L., September 23, 1905, and Joyce J., February 18, 1908. Clara C. was married, December 19, 1912, to Edward Starz of Chester Township, and died June 16, 1919. She was the mother of three children: Ruth, born December 23, 1913; Elmer, born February 23, 1915, who died in infancy; and Elvin, born May 10, 1916. Ruth and Elvin Starz are residing with their grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Sprenger. Henry F. Sprenger died in his fourth year, October 5, 1897. Anna May was married, May 28, 1919, to Albert Starz, a farmer of section 55, Chester Township, who served in the World War. They have a son, Alfred G., born February 18, 1920. Mr. Sprenger and his family are members of Zumbro Falls M. E. church, of which he is a trustee. He also teaches a Sunday school class which has a membership of forty. He has for many years been a strong advocate of Prohibition, though politically a Republican. As a man of enterprise who has achieved marked success in his personal affairs, and has taken helpful part in the governmental matters of his township and county, he is well known throughout this section, and he and his family highly respected.
Sprick, Fred (page 466), who died June 24, 1920, on his farm in section 30, Mt. Pleasant Township, was a good example of the value of industry and self-reliance, as through the possession of those qualities, together with patience, he rose from a condition of poverty to one of comparative affluence. He was born in Hanover, Germany, September 10, 1848, son of Gustav and Sophia Sprick. His early life up to the age of about 28 years was spent in his native land, where he attended school and subsequently became a farm hand. When he was 14 his mother died, and twelve years later the father, who was a brick-maker, followed his wife to the grave. In the meanwhile, in 1870, the subject of this sketch had assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, marrying Adeline Ehlers. In 1876, with the view of bettering his condition, ne came with his wife and three children to the United States, landing in New York City, July 4, just 100 years after this country became a nation. Four days later he and his family arrived in Red Wing, Minnesota, whence they proceeded to Belvidere Township, Goodhue County. There Mr. Sprick found employment for a while at grubbing and general farm work, turning his hand to anything he could find to do, as he was very poor, the expenses of the journey having used up all his funds. He and his family at first lived in a little shack, and when he had contrived to get a cow he had to cut a hole in the side of the bluff to shelter it, covering the entrance with hay and straw. He often walked five or six miles to and from his work and split rails and chopped wood for fifty cents a day. Two more children were born to him, and with the advent of the youngest child, Lydia, the mother took her flight to the spirit land. Mr. Sprick drowned his sorrow as well as he could in hard work, and made gradual progress to a more prosperous condition of life. In the fall of 1881 he went back to Germany, where he found another wife, being married May 21, 1882, to Margaret Klein. With her and her parents he returned to the United States soon after his marriage, and continued to reside in Belvidere township, Goodhue County until the fall of 1887. He then rented the Follett farm in Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, and was engaged in its operation until 1891. By that time he was becoming prosperous and attracting attention as a man bound to make his way in the world. His next move was to buy the farm on which he died, an improved farm of 160 acres in section 30, Mt. Pleasant Township. There was a fairly good house, but after he had lived in it a while it burned down, and he then erected the present residence, a good, two-story frame structure, substantial and commodious. Other improvements, which he added from time to time, and which now stand on the place, were a frame barn, 30 by 40 by 18 feet in dimensions; a horse barn, 30 by 76 by 16; a granary, 24 by 30 by 12, with a lean-to for tools, 16 by 30; a stave silo, garage, and ice-house, and another residence, 18 by 26, in which his wife’s mother now lives, the father, Mr. Klein, having died about 1905. As a general farmer, stock raiser and dairyman, Mr. Sprick made a good record, and continued at work until 1911, when he rented the farm to his son, John, and until his death he and his wife enjoyed a well-earned leisure. Though not a strong party man, he usually voted the Republican ticket, and he and his family were members of the Zumbro Falls M. E. Church, and widely known as useful and respected members of the community. Mr. Sprick was no advocate of race suicide, but, on the contrary, obeyed the scriptural command to “increase and multiply,” having been the father of eighteen children, five by his first wife and thirteen by his second. All those by his first wife, except one, are now living. They were: Fred, a resident of Lake City; Metta, wife of Henry Luckow of Red Wing; Claus, of Lake City; Minnie, now deceased, who was the wife of Albert Smith of Minneapolis; and Lydia, now Mrs. John Weick of Mt. Pleasant Township. The children by the second Mrs. Sprick have been as follows: Christopher, born June 9, 1883, who died January 13, 1895; Sophia, born October 10, 1884, who is the wife of John Heitman of Mt. Pleasant Township; Margaret, born April 2, 1885, who married Fred Holst of the State of Washington, and died January 31, 1913; John, born April 22, 1887, who is operating the home farm; Henry, born February 8, 1889, now a carpenter residing at home, who was in the World War, serving in France, and in Germany in the army of occupation, and who returned home June 22, 1919; Anna, (no birth date given in the book) now Mrs. John Fick of Zumbro Falls; Lillian, born August 15, 1892, who is the wife of Arthur Belmont, of Lake City; Raymond, born July 12, 1894, a farmer and engineer living in Mt. Pleasant Township, and who is married; Amanda, born May 14, 1896, now Mrs. Clarence Klenwood of Dumont, Minn.; Emma, born November 19, 1898, now Mrs. Harold O’Brien of Mt. Pleasant Township; Alfred, born January 6, 1901, who died April 10, 1903; Harry, born April 6, 1903, and Elda, born April 25, 1905, the two last mentioned residing at home. The fact that so few have died out of so large a family gives evidence of good stock on both sides, and it may be added that all the children were well brought up, the survivors reflecting credit on their parents.
Sprick, Henry (page 338), in former years an industrious farmer and esteemed citizen successively of Mt. Pleasant and West Albany townships, was born in Hanover, Germany, where he worked both as a farmer and distiller. About 1881 he came to the United States with his wife, whose maiden name was Adelheid Bramer, and their only son and child, Christopher, then six years old. After arriving at Red Wing, Minn., Mr. Sprick settled with his family in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County, and for a few years worked as a farm hand. By 1885 he had saved up $500, and that year he rented the Wood farm in Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, which he operated up to 1896. He then bought 160 acres in section 7, West Albany Township, this county, on which tract were a few buildings, including a small house. There he labored industriously and continued in agricultural pursuits until his death on October 24, 1905. His wife survived him a few years, passing away on the farm, October 5, 1912. Their son, Christopher, now owns the old home, which he has improved and developed.
Sprick, Christopher (page 339), proprietor of a productive farm in section 7, West Albany Township, of which he is a substantial and respected citizen, was born in Hanover, Germany, October 9, 1875, son of Henry and Adelheid (Bramer) Sprick. He was six years old when he accompanied his parents to the United States, the family first settling in Blevidere Township, Goodhue County, and after that operating farms in Mt. Pleasant and West Albany townships, Wabasha County. Both are now deceased and he owns and resides on the last farm which they occupied, one of 160 acres, of which he has 110 acres under the plow, the balance being in timber and pasture. Mr. Sprick raises both grain and stock, having a herd of 20 to 30 Shorthorn cattle, including eleven milch cows, and a herd of 20 to 25 Duroc-Jersey swine, with full-blooded sires for both herds. He has a good operating equipment and also owns a Chevrolet five-passenger car. As an enterprising farmer, Mr. Sprick has made some valuable improvements on his place, having remodeled the house, which now contains nine rooms and is gas-lighter; built a barn, 38 by 50 by 20 feet, and a tile silo of 110 tons capacity. Through industry and frugality Mr. Sprick has conquered success and is one of the prosperous and respected citizens of his township. He has served efficiently in the office of school clerk. He was married September 25, 1906, to Margaretta, daughter of Henry and Catherine (Eckoff) Ehlers, of Lake Township, this county. She was born January 14, 1886, in Hay Creek Township, Goodhue County, and her parents are now living near Mazeppa, in Zumbro Township, Wabasha County. Mr. and Mrs. Sprick are the parents of five children, born as follows: Alvin Henry Peter, May 6, 1907; Walter Christopher William, February 19, 1909; Henrietta Wilhelmina Anna, December 8, 1911; Albert John Frederick, June 26, 1913; and Margaretta Alfrida Louise, August 23, 1916. Mr. Sprick and his family are members of the German Lutheran church, worshiping with the Jacksonville congregation in Gillford Township, which Mr. Sprick has served as trustee.
Springer, John C. (page 436), a representative citizen of the village of Millville, where he is engaged in the implement business, was born on a farm in Oakwood Township, this county, November 10, 1873, son of William and Caroline (Becker) Springer. He was educated in the common school and worked on the home farm until 29 years old. Then moving to Millville, he engaged in the meat business, in which he continued here for 13 years. His next two years were spent on the farm and one winter in California. In 1916 he engaged in the lumber and implement business at Millville, and is thus occupied at the present time, carrying a full line of farm machinery, buggies and wagons. He is a stockholder in the Millville State Bank, and one of the enterprising and well-to-do citizens of the village, of which he is now president, having formerly held that position for three years, resigning it when he went to California. His present term of office dates from his appointment in November, 1919. His fraternal affiliations are with the Modern Woodmen, and he is a member of the Evangelical Lutheran church of Millville, and is now serving as its president. Mr. Springer was married, April 5, 1898, to Louisa Schleicher, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Schleicher, of Millville. He and his wife have six children, Florence, Lucy, Dorothy, John, Margaret and Charles, all living at home.
Springer, Louis (page 716), for a number of years a well known agriculturist of the town of Oakwood, but now retired was born on a farm in the town of Zumbro, Wabasha County, Minn., February 28, 1867. His parents, William and Caroline (Scheibe) Springer, were natives of Germany who came to the United States in the early sixties, locating first in Winona, Minn., where they remained six months. They then bought a farm of 120 acres in Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, which they operated for a while, and then moved to the town of Elgin. Later they took a farm in Oakwood Township, where they made their home for 48 years, William Springer dying in 1914 and his wife in 1913. They had six children: Eliza, wife of Julius Muckelberg of Rochester, Minn; Sophia, who married John Core and is now deceased; Louis, subject of this sketch; Minnie, wife of Fred Langer, residing in Texas; Dora, wife of Henry Wurst, who lives on a farm in the town of Elgin; and Gusta, wife of Charles Schleicher, residing in Los Angeles, Calif. Louis Springer was reared on the home farm, accompanying his parents in their different removals to Elgin and Oakwood Townships. He acquired a district school education and became industrially active as his father’s assistant. On starting in for himself he bought a farm of 210 acres, which he subsequently operated for 31 years, carrying on general farming, stock raising and dairying. Finally having acquired a competence, he retired January 12, 1920, and went to California, where he spent the rest of the winter. It is his intention to reside temporarily in Lake City. The farm is now rented to his son, Frank. During his active career Mr. Springer devoted a part of his time to public affairs and served in various offices. He was town clerk, town chairman for six years, was a member and treasurer of the school board and a side supervisor. Mr. Springer was married in 1889 to Lena Blattner, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John H. Blattner of Oakwood Township, where her parents, natives of Germany, were early settlers. Mr. Blattner died in 1915 at the age of 85 years. He was twice married, having six children by his first wife, four sons and two daughters. Five are now living, namely: Herman, Julius, William, Louisa (widow of Peter Reiter), and Lena. By his second marriage, to Amelia Hartle, he had four sons and one daughter, Fred, August, John, Edward and Anna. The daughter Anna is now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Springer five children have been born, four sons and one daughter: Frank, Henry and Albert, who are on the home farm; Adlina, wife of John Vilwock of Lake City, and Carl, residing at home.
Springer, William (page 436), for many years an active and successful farmer of Oakwood Township, was a native of Germany, w3here he grew to manhood and married Caroline Becker. They came to the United States about 1865, locating first at Winona, Minn., and then removing to Oakwood Township, Wabasha County, where Mr. Springer bought a farm and engaged in general farming and stock raising. He and his wife remained on that place for the rest of their lives, and both died in the year 1911, Mrs. Springer on February 18, and Mr. Springer in December. They were the parents of eight children: Sophia, wife of John Cour; Louisa, wife of Julius Muckeburg of Millville; Louis, a farmer in Oakwood Township; Minnie, wife of Fred Sanger of Bovina, Texas; Dora, wife of Henry Wurst of Elgin Township; Augusta, wife of Charles Schleicher of Los Angeles, Calif.; John C., engaged in the implement business in Millville; and one who died in infancy.
Squire, George H. (page 713), President of the Peoples State Bank of Mazeppa, was born in Madison, Wis., August 8, 1865, son of William H. and Mary (Ingamells) Squire. The parents came to Minnesota in 1866, settling at Mazeppa, Wabasha County, where they remained three years. They then moved to Zumbrota, where they subsequently resided for the greater part of their time until their death, William H. Squire dying August 26, 1913, and his wife in May, 1916. The former was a Civil War veteran, having enlisted at Beloit, Wis., in Company E, 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry regiment, and served three years. While in the service he had a stroke of paralysis from which he never fully recovered. George H. Squire acquired his education in Zumbrota, Minn., and subsequently learned photography, which he followed as a business for several years. In 1891 he came to Mazeppa and for three years he was employed in a general store here. Then for two years he was engaged in the livery business. In 1896 he was appointed postmaster, which position he held for 15 years, during 14 of which time he also conducted a furniture business. He is a member of the firm of Squire & Halgerson, conducting a general store, in which he owns a half interest. In 1909, when the Peoples State Bank of Mazeppa was organized, Mr. Squire was made president, which office he still holds. As a business man and financier he has attained a solid reputation in the county, founded upon honesty and ability. Mr. Squire was married May 6, 1890, to Rachel Phillips, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Simon A. Phillips of Mazeppa. Her parents were early setters in this village, arriving in 1876, and for many years Mr. Phillips was a prominent merchant here. He died in 1907. His wife was a native of Germany and they were married in Illinois in 1865. She died January 31, 1910. Mr. and Mrs. Squire have been the parents of one child, Yale H., who was born April 6, 1894, and who lost his life while serving his country in the great World War.
Squire, Yale H. (page 713), was educated in Mazeppa, his birthplace, and at Pillsbury Academy, Owatonna. He soon engaged in journalistic work, first on the Mazeppa Journal, later as conductor of a paper in northern Michigan, and then as a reporter on the Minneapolis Daily News. After some further experience in Duluth and Atlanta, Ga., he returned to Minneapolis and in the spring of 1914 was engaged by the Minneapolis Tribune. After making a good record and scoring one of the biggest “scoops” known for some time in the newspaper field of that city, he was transferred to the sporting news department of the paper as assistant sporting editor and qualified himself as the golf expert of the Tribune. When it became probable that war would be declared he offered his services to the Norton-Harjes Ambulance Corps and left Minneapolis April 15, 1917, with Joe McDermott and others. A few days later, on April 21, he sailed for France, which county he reached after his vessel had narrowly escaped being torpedoed by a German submarine. In Paris he enlisted in Section 21 of the French army and served four and a half months as an ambulance driver, donating not only his services but his expense in this work, as the French government paid the men only three cents a day. When American forces got to France the ambulance service was disbanded, and young Squire might have returned home, but with his friend Robert G. Browning of Minneapolis, afterwards captured by the Germans, he elected to volunteer for the aviation service, and on September 15 he began training. On February 18, 1918, he received his commission as first lieutenant. After having one narrow escape from death, from which he saved himself by his presence of mind, he finished training and was made an instructor. It was but three days later, on June 26, while instructing Norman D. Hughes of Philadelphia, that he met his death, together with his pupil, owing to the fall of his plane. He survived until 12:10 a.m., June 27, and was buried in the officers’ section of the American cemetery at Tours, France. He was one of the first young men from Wabasha County to offer his services, his loyalty to the country was firm and unshakable, and he took a great pride and interest in his work. His parents and his numerous friends can take pride in the thought that he did his full duty with unflinching courage and met his fate like the brave soldier he was.
Stage, Julius E. (page 450), a prominent representative of eh agricultural interests of Elgin Township, was born in Posen, Germany, September 17, 1869, son of Paul and Minnie (Paul) State. He was educated in his native land, where he remained until 1885, when, as a boy of 16, he came to the United States, locating in Wabasha county, Minnesota. For a year he resided near Plainview, and subsequently worked on farms near Plainview and Elgin until 1894. In that year he began farming on his own account, renting 80 acres in Plainview Township, which he operated for a year. He then rented a farm of 100 acres in Elgin Township for about two years, and after that for some time lived in Elgin Village, doing farm labor in the vicinity. Then going to Olmsted County, Mr. Stage rented a farm near Eyota, which he operated for five years, and after that for an equal length of time he worked a rented farm near Potsdam. In 1913 he bought his present farm of 200 acres in section 18, Elgin Township, on which he has made substantial improvements, having in 1916 built a good barn, and in 1919 a ten-room modern residence, electrically lighted, as are all the principal buildings on his place. He is successfully engaged in general farming and stock raising, and as a citizen stands high in the community. Religiously he is a German Lutheran. On January 21, 1894, Mr. Stage was united in marriage with Minnie Gusa, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Gusa of Elgin Village. Eleven children are the issue of this marriage, who were born as follows: August R., June 2, 1896; Alvina B., November 8, 1897; Edna F., July 22, 1899; Alma E., February 17, 1900; Lillie L., October 17, 1901; Albert F., April 8, 1904; Nora M., January 24, 1906; Minnie S., March 25, 1907; Reuben G., born March 11. 1909; Leona M., August 30, 1911; and Mildred E., February 9, 1917.
Stamchror, Anthony V.
Staudacher, Gustave (page 479 ~ photo available), who is numbered among the prosperous agriculturists of Plainview Township, was born in Canada, July 7, 1868. He was educated in the district schools of the Dominion and in Minnesota. At the age of nine years he came to the States with his parents, Leonard and Augusta (Demm) Staudacher, who took a farm in Watopa Township, Wabasha County, which they operated until 1908, when they retired. The father died in 1919, but the mother is still living on the home farm with her daughter, Mrs. Annie Rollins. Gustave Staudacher remained at home with his parents until arriving at the age of 21 years. During the next nine years he was in the employ of R. C. Wright and others at farming, working steadily and practicing economy, so that at the end of that period he was able to rent the Murray farm, which he operated on his own account for three years. He then bought his present farm of 160 acres in section 11, Plainview Township, on which he has made a number of improvements, and operating with profitable results, raising the usual crops, and breeding Shorthorn cattle and Duroc-Jersey swine, having blooded sires at the head of his herds. As a citizen he takes an active part in local affairs, and is now serving as supervisor on the town board. For fourteen years also he has been treasurer of School District No. 71, having the confidence of his fellow citizens in all matters of public trust. Politically he is a Republican and fraternally a member of Odd Fellow Lodge No. 16, of Plainview. Twenty-four years ago Mr. Staudacher assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, being united in marriage, February 15, 1896, with Gertrude Wood, who was born May 21, 1877, daughter of Orren and Ester (Smith) Wood, of Plainview Township. He and his wife are the parents of three children: Esther, born December 13, 1897; Merle, born January 19, 1902; and Naoma, born January 28, 1903. Esther is a graduate of the Plainview high school. All the children are residing at home, Merle and Naoma attending high school at Plainview.
Stegner, Jacob M. (page 681), an early settler in Oakwood Township, was born in Indiana in 1825, of English and German descent. He was there reared and in 1851 married Rachel N. McGuffin, who was of Scotch and Irish descent. In 1866 they came to Wabasha County and bought 160 acres of wild land in Oakwood Township. The county had then been settled for some years and had a considerable population, but conditions were still quite primitive. Mr. Stegner set to work to build for himself and family a comfortable log house and to wrest a living from the soil, gradually breaking more and more land. When the railroad came through the tracks were located so near his house that the roadbed extended practically to its foundations. In 1881 a more suitable location was selected and a comfortable dwelling built. The family prospered with the years and won an honorable place in the community, residing there until 1886. They then moved to Zumbro Falls, where the father engaged in the general mercantile business, being thus occupied until his death in 1898. Soon after that event Mrs. Stegner removed to Lake City, where she resided with her daughter, Mrs. William Potter, until her own death, which occurred in the spring of 1908. In the Stegner family there were ten children: Benjamin F., Edwin J., Robert I., Johanna, Shannon M., and Clara, all born in Indiana; and Mary, Lorenzo D., Theodore and Rachel Ella, born in Oakwood Township. Benjamin F. was born in January 1, 1852, and now lives on a farm near Beardsley, Big Stone County, Minn. Edwin J. was born in 1854 and died at St. Paul, August 2, 1917. In early life he had been a farmer and at the time of his death was a traveling salesman for the McFadden Candy Co. of St. Paul. Robert I. was born in 1856 and was a farmer; he died in 1900 at Aurora, S. D. Johanna was born in 1858; she married Mason Brandt, a miller, and later a farmer at West Albany, this county, and died at Rochester in 1912 after undergoing an operation. Shannon M. was born May 27, 1862, and is now a barber in Lake City. Clara, born in 1864, is now Mrs. William Potter of Minneapolis. Mary was born in 1867, and is now Mrs. Charles E. Winter of Minneapolis, Minn. Lorenzo D., born May 7, 1870, is a traveling salesman with headquarters at Minneapolis. Theodore, born August 17, 1872, is now register of deeds of Wabasha County. Rachel Ella, born in May, 1875, is now Mrs. B. H. Deters of St. Paul.
Stegner, Theodore (page 682), register of deeds in Wabasha County, and formerly a well known railroad man, is a native of this county, having been born in Oakwood Township, August 17, 1872, son of Jacob M. and Rachael N. (McGuffin) Stegner, early settlers. He attended the common schools of his neighborhood, and at the age of 14 entered the village schools of Zumbro Falls. As a youth he was employed in farming operations. He started his business career in the winter of 1892-93 with a course in the Darling Business College at Rochester. The following spring he entered the office of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway at Zumbro Falls, and there learned telegraphy. In 1894 he was sent to Durand, Wis., and in 1895 was promoted to the position of agent at Theilman, in this county. In 1901 he occupied a similar position at Langdon, in Dakota County, Minn. In 1902 he was made a clerk in the freight department of the railroad at Lake City. In 1906 he entered into partnership with Russell Parson, of Lake City, in the contracting and building business, but in 1908 returned to the railroad in his former position at Lake City. His years of association with the public established his reputation as a man of ability and worth, and in 1912, though he had never aspired to office, he was persuaded to run for register of deeds. To this office he was elected by a comfortable majority, and took up the duties of his position January 1, 1913. He at once proved his ability, and his willingness to serve the public to his fullest power. Since then he has twice been re-elected, the first time without an opponent. Upon taking office here, Mr. Stegner established his home here. His real estate holdings include a quarter section of wild timber land in Beltrami County, this state. Fraternally, he is associated with the Masonic order, being a member of Wapahasa Lodge, No. 14, A. F. & A. M., of Wabasha, and Hope Chapter, No. 12, R. A. M., Lake City. He is also a member of the Equitable Fraternal Union. Mr. Stegner was married February 2, 1897, to Annie E., daughter of Joseph and Henrietta Rahrman, of West Albany Township, this county, and they began homemaking at Theilman, this county. Mrs. Stegner was born in West Albany Township July 23, 1879, and died at Wabasha, May 2, 1916, leaving four children: Erwin J., born April 11, 1898; Arthur F., born October 5, 1899; Marguerite, born July 12, 1901; and Edna R., born December 15, 1904. The first three were born at Theilman, and the youngest at Lake City. Mr. Stegner was married January 18, 1919 to Emma Koelmel, born July 19, 1885, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Koelmel, of Wabasha. The family faith is that of the Congregational church.
Stehr, John (page 716), proprietor of one of the best farms in Chester, of which township he is a leading citizen was born in Featherstone Township, Goodhue County, Minn., son of Jacob D. and Metta (Quast) Stehr. The parents, natives of Hanover, Germany came to America in 1867, settling in Goodhue County, Minn., where they were engaged in farming until 1897. In that year Mrs. Metta Stehr died, and her husband, Jacob D. Stehr, moved to Chester Township, Wabasha County, where he lived until 1907. After that he moved to Lake City, where he resided until his death on January 27, 1920. He had contracted a second marriage, and his second wife is now living in Lake City. He was a member of the German Lutheran church. By his first wife, Metta, he had six children: Dietrich (deceased), Margaret, John, Metta, Mary and Henry. John Stehr acquired his elementary education in a district school in Goodhue County and subsequently attended a business college at Red Wing, in which place he also worked in a shoe store for a year and a half. After that until 1896 he was associated with his father, for whom he worked. He then rented the home farm for two years. After that he removed to Chester Township, Wabasha County, where he rented the old homestead of his wife’s grandparents, Ernest and Julia Radke, a place on which the grandparents had lived for over 50 years. Ernest Radke died in 1893 and his wife in 1916. Mr. Stehr then bought the interests of the heirs to this property, containing 160 acres in section 2. He also acquired other land, inheriting 120 acres in section 1, Chester Township, and in 1919 bought 80 acres in section 11, making a total of 360 acres that he now owns. He has build a good silo on his property, and repaired the original buildings, and is carrying on a prosperous business as a general farmer and stock raiser. As a good citizen he has taken a helpful interest in local affairs, having served seven years as clerk on the town board and 18 years as clerk of school district No. 65. Like his father, he is a Lutheran in religion. Mr. Stehr was married December 2, 1896, to Pauline Sprikes, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick W. Sprikes of Chester Township, this county. Her parents were early settlers in Wabasha County, the father coming here from Germany in 1868. The mother was born in Wisconsin, and they were married in Chester Township, Wabasha county, Minn. Mr. Sprikes is still living, at present residing in Minneapolis. Mrs. Sprikes died in 1893. They had five children, Pauline, Sophia, Edward, Frank and Edward (second), the last mentioned being now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Stehr nine children have been born, as follows: Ernest E., August 10, 1898; Rudolph H., March 19, 1900; Henrietta M., August 10, 1902; Albert J. February 8, 1905; Ida S., April 20, 1906; Florence P., July 15, 1908; John W., May 31, 1911; Lenora E., August 6, 1914, and Herbert D., June 22, 1919. All the children reside with their parents on the home farm, and the family is one of high social standing in this part of the county.
Steinke, Mrs. Elizabeth
Stephan, August G.
St. Jacque, Prosper (page 451), one of the earliest settlers in Wabasha Village, and for many years a farmer in Greenfield Township, where he is still residing a respected pioneer of this county, was born in Montreal, Canada, July 30, 1837, son of John and Florence (Buche) St. Jacque. He was educated in Canada and remained there until 1856, when, as a young man of nineteen, he came to Wabasha County, Minn., with the vanguard of the pioneers, settling in Wabasha Village. There he worked in a factory for a number of years, afterwards engaged in contracting for a few years, and later was employed on the river. In the year of his arrival in this county he had bought some land in Greenfield Township, and subsequently at various times he bought other tracts until he owned in all 800 acres. After giving up river work he was employed in farming and stock raising until he retired from active work. He has disposed of nearly all his property, deeding the last 90 acres to his son Woodruff. Mr. St. Jacque has been twice married: first on July 3, 1856, to Hilma La Point, who died January 12, 1872. By her he had six children, Xavier, Henry, Prosper, Jr., Rose, Helen and Philip, of whom the two last mentioned are now deceased. On March 4, 1878, Mr. St. Jacque married Mary Shank, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Shank, of Minneiska. Of this second marriage also six children were born, Florence, Clara, Benjamin, Charles, Leon and Woodruff. Florence is now deceased. Woodruff, who is now on the home farm, taking care of his father and mother, was educated in the district school and in the school at Kellogg. When 18 years old he went to Canada, where he remained until 1913. After that he spent a year on the Pacific coast in Washington and Oregon, and then, in 1914, went to South Dakota where he remained until he enlisted in the U. S. army, December 1917, becoming a member of the 495th Aero Squadron. He left for France, March 4, 1918, and was engaged in aero repair work near the front lines until he left France for home January 11, 1919, was discharged January 25, 1919, at Camp Dodge.
Stodart, George J.
Stohrman, Frederick (page 641), a Wabasha County pioneer who had a notable and adventurous career, was a native of Hanover, Germany. He emigrated to the United States at an early day and took part in the rush to the California gold fields, where he met with more success than fell to the lot of the average adventurer. At last, not caring to stay there any longer, he returned east to Minnesota and settled at Funk's Ford on the Zumbro river in Glasgow Township, Wabasha county, where he engaged in farming. He died quite well to do about the close of the Civil War period, his loss being greatly regretted. Having more money than almost any of his neighbors, he was not only able, but willing, to assist new arrivals, and a number of the pioneer settlers here owed much to his friendly help. Mr. Stohrman married Mary Ending, who survived him many years, dying October 10, 1900, in Lake City. They reared a family of four daughters and one son, the daughters who are now living, being: Emma, who married Frank Hoppe and has been a widow for twenty years, being now a resident of Breckenridge, Minn.; Eliza, who is the widow of Peter Peters and lives in Lake City, Mr. Peters having died 14 years ago; Anna, now Mrs. Joseph Rolandt of Gillford Township; Clara who is the wife of William Deifenbrock, and Frank, who is deceased.
Stoltz, G. Adolph
Stowell, Albert D. (page 760), who was one of the early arrivals in Mazeppa, and for many years a prominent figure in this part of the county , was born at Platteville, Wis., August 5, 1851, son of Francis A. and Eunice L. (Deming) Stowell. He was only four years old when he accompanied his parents to Wabasha county, locating with them on a farm near Mazeppa. Subsequently he attended school in Mazeppa, and spent a year and a half at the Minnesota State University. During the rest of his life he followed farming in Chester Township. He served in various local offices, being justice of the peace and at different times town treasurer, a member of the board of supervisors, and a member of the school board. In 1863 he enlisted in the army for service in the Civil War, and was discharged September 27, 1865, at Nashville, Tenn., with an honorable record. Mr. Stowall was married September 19, 1873 to Melinda Philley, daughter of David L. and Clarissa L. (Eaton) Philley, her parents being natives of New York state who settled in Chester Township, Wabasha County, Minn., in 1868. Her father subsequently acquired over 3,000 acres of land in this state. He died March 18, 1903. His first wife, Clarissa, died December 23, 1893, and on December 19, 1894, he married Mrs. Elizabeth Campbell, of Lac Qui Parle County, who survived him, and resides in Mazeppa. Albert D. Stowell died June 25, 1905, and was survived by his wife, who is also a resident of Mazeppa. Mr. Stowell was to all intents and purposes a pioneer of this county, and left a good record of duty well performed and valuable work accomplished as a builder up of the county. His name will occupy an honorable place in its annals.
Stowell, Francis A. (page 760), one of the pioneers of Mazeppa, was born in Paris, Maine, April 18, 1816, a son of Daniel Stowell. His first ancestors in this country came from England to New England at an early day. In 1849 or 1850 he came west to Platteville, Wis., and there married in September, 1850. In 1855 he came with his family to Mazeppa, Minn., taking a claim near the village, where he resided until 1870. For seven years he served as justice of the peace in Mazeppa. In 1870 Mr. Stowell removed to Lac Qui Parle County, settling in a farm hear the village of the same name, where he lived until 1903. He died at Cashmere, Wash., November 20, 1906. His wife died January 9, 1901. They had a family of eleven children, of whom nine grew to maturity, and six are now living, namely: Elmer E., April 8, 1861; Addie M., born March 6, 1863; Winona M., February 16, 1865; Samuel F., December 1, 1867; Francis Eugene, May 28, 1871, and Alice E., October 7, 1873, who married Evan Taylor. Those deceased are Albert D., Louis F., Irene, Eunice, Louis Francis and Leslie B.
Webmaster’s note: since the six living and six deceased add to twelve instead of eleven children, I suspect that Louis F. and Louis Francis of the deceased list are the same person.
Stranberg, Ernest J. K.
Strauss, Henry F. (page 692), a well to do farmer of Chester Township, where, and in which vicinity, he is well known and personally esteemed, was born in the township November 22, 1877, son of Henry and Katherine (Prom) Strauss. The parents were natives of Luxemburg, who came to America in the early sixties, first locating in Wisconsin. After remaining in that state for a number of years, they came to Wabasha County, Minn., settling in Chester Township, where they bought 160 acres of land in section 4, on which Henry Strauss erected a new set of buildings and put up fences. There he was engaged in general farming, including stock raising, until his death on April 24, 1904. His widow now resides in the village of Belle Chester. They had 11 children: John F., Henry F., Stephen, Frank, Rose, Cecelia and Christina, who are living, and Stephan (first), Anton, Nicholas and Mary, who are deceased. The family are members of the Catholic church. Henry F. Strauss was educated in the Catholic school at Belle Chester. After becoming industrially active he worked for his father for a number of years. In 1908 he rented the home farm of his mother and operated it under rental until 1915, when he purchased it. He has followed general farming with good success, raising both grain and stock, and is one of the representative farmers of his township. On June 16, 1908, Mr. Strauss was united in marriage with Katherine Delva, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Delva of Cheer Township. Her parents came from Luxemburg to America in 1871, settling on the farm in Chester Township, this county, on which they now reside. Like the Strauss family, they are members of the Catholic church. They have had eleven children: Michael, Anna, Clara, Katherine, Elizabeth, John Nicholas, Joseph, Mary, Peter and Nicholas (second). The first Nicholas died young. To Mr. and Mrs. Henry F. Strauss four children have been born: Hildegard K., May 6, 1910; Alfred S., born August 1, 1911, who died at the age of four and a half months, on December 17, 1911; Loretta E., born March 27, 1913; and Alvin H., born July 18, 1919. The family of Henry F. Strauss are members of the Catholic church.
Strehlein, George V.
Sullivan, Michael J.
Sundquist, Louis O.
Swanson, Albert L.
Swanson, Charles A.
Sylvester, Byrl E. (page 223), holder of the French Croix de Guerre, bearer of an honorable record in the World War, and an inspiration force in volunteer recruiting in southeastern Minnesota, gave his life in the cause of humanity at the threshold of his manhood's career and left the memory of a noble and wholesome life that will be an incentive for good deeds to the youth of this vicinity for a generation to come. He was born in Plainview, October 28, 1892, the son of Edwin L. and Hettie L. (Dillon) Sylvester, passed through the graded schools of Plainview, graduated from the Plainview High School in 1914, entered the University of Minnesota, and there studied three years. While at the university he was popular with his associates, and was admitted to fellowship in the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. Returning to his home, he started what he planned as life work as a financier by becoming an assistant in the Plainview State Bank. He was thus employed when the United States entered the World War. Thrilled with a patriotism, which was the heritage from his long line of sturdy pioneer ancestors, he left his position in the bank, and on April 24, 1917, with a number of his college mates, entered the Norton-Harjes Ambulance Corps, Leaving for France, where he spent five months in active Red Cross service, as an ambulance driver, until he was wounded in action September 12, 1917, the wound resulting from acts of great valor which won him the Croix de Guerre. After returning home to recover from his in juries, he had but one aim, that of returning to France to do his part in the great struggle. From the time of his return he was a changed man. That buoyant spirit he had carried all his life had left him. The stern realities of war and what it meant to the people of Belgium and France seemed always to be his foremost thought. He maintained a serious attitude, feeling that he owed a duty in returning to those war-ridden countries to aid in securing a permanent peace. As he regained his strength his chief thought was upon the war, and the sacred duty of doing all in his power for suffering France and Belgium. While still suffering from his weakness, he toured Minnesota, talking on the war, and inspiring many to enlist and do their share. After his recovery, though he was acquainted with all the horrors of war, and well knowing his possible fate, he could, nevertheless, remain home no longer. Consequently he re-enlisted for service, this time in the United States forces. Entering the Dunwoodie Institute, at Minneapolis, with the nominal rating of chief quartermaster. From the Dunwoodie Institute he went to the flying field of the Boston School of Technology, studying aviation as a member of the Naval Flying Corps. Later he was transferred to the Naval Aviation Station at Pensacola, Florida, where he would have completed his course and received his commission June 22, 1918. He was killed by a collision in mid-air, 700 feet from the earth, June 19, 1918. His body fell into the bay and was recovered. It was brought back to Plainview, and is laid to rest here. He was accorded full naval and military honors, and the sorrowing concourse which accompanied him to his last resting place embraced substantially the whole population of the vicinity, as well as distinguished people from all over the state.
The papers teemed with eulogies of his life and work. As a boy he had been studious, courteous, courageous and kindly, his unfailing cheerfulness and never flagging enthusiasm in study and work and play being a distinguishing characteristic. Lively and full of spirits, he was loved by his elders, and liked by his boy companions among whom he was a natural leader. As a young man, the esteem and liking of his friends and associates was deepened. Cut off as he was so early in life, nevertheless the span of his years held much of real benefit to his fellow man, and the world is better for his having lived.
Among the tributes is that of Will G. Mack in the Plainview News of June 28, 1918:
"We would be glad if we could say all that there is in our heart to say, but how shall a man enumerate the virtues of a friend or catalogue the factors of his affection? Yet we would like to have the world know him as we knew him. It is true he is gone, but his memory remains. What he was to each of us and what he was to his home will abide as a gracious recollection throughout all coming years. He will continue with us as a part of our experience and of our lives. In no other calling or pursuit do men learn so keenly and justly to appraise each other and to know and value them. Character in the arena is always subjected to the acid test and nowhere else are such warm and enduring friends formed as these which develop out of this great world struggle we are now experiencing.
"The extreme test now asked of our young men reveals not alone what flaws and defects there may be in life and character, but it brings out the strong qualities and the noble qualities of character as well. It is in that same test the record and character of Byrl E. Sylvester shine stainless and flawless. He was one of the strong young men, industrious, studious, tireless, a high type of American soldier. His life must serve both as an example and as an inspiration to the young men of America. He was considerate and courteous, sympathetic to a degree, and rejoiced in the service of his country. In his quiet way he was eager and anxious to do his bit.
"There was no man to whom this community turns with more profound respect than to our war hero. In all his efforts he was exact and painstaking and never spared himself. Few of us will ever forget his last appearance in Plainview. Though he had seen much of the great conflict and suffered from its pain, he gave no sign. He was cheerful, patient, polite through all. His devotion to duty, his stern sense of responsibility, his obedience to conscience, were so complete that all other considerations gave way for the task which he felt it was his duty to complete. He was modest and unobtrusive in his demeanor, but resolute and unswerving in maintaining a decision arrived at after reflection, and always ready to give a reason for the faith that was in him. He was a delightful and interesting companion, as well be attested by all who knew him well. He was an optimist, hopeful, not despondent. His whole philosophy of life was sweet and wholesome, and he lived up to his philosophy. Whether it was stormy or whether the sun was shining, his attitude was one of complacency, for he lived daily as one who did daily his daily task and left the consequences with God.
"We say he is dead, which is to say his soul has parted company with the tenement of clay; but the impulses he imparted to us shall continue to live in us and bear fruit, each after its kind; and we, in turn, shall pass them on to those that follow us. Our friend's body is gone, but his dreams of service and of human duty remain.
"His death not only brought the deepest sorrow and sadness to the paternal home, but has cast a gloom over the entire community. We are reminded in the sacrifice of this young man's life for his country that we live not in years, but in deeds, and the influence of his brave sacrifice upon our citizens and those of the state cannot be estimated. Realizing the sorrow it has brought in this home, and feeling the loss it has brought to our country, all extend heartful sympathy."
Another tribute was that in the Rochester Bulletin of June 25, 1918:
"To realize danger and then to fearlessly face it, that is heroism. Byrl Sylvester, returning to the conflict after he had received the scars of war and the honors of a nation, did not rest on these laurels, hard won as they were. The greatest thing in a life that was full of lessons was this young soldier's return to service that he might have still greater share in the world struggle to make men free. Undaunted and unafraid, he remained at home only long enough to recover from his wounds, then he was off to give his last full measure of devotion. What greater tribute can his parents have than that of the officer who observed his spirit and testified his worth: He offered his services without compensation or reward, but for the good he might do. He richly deserved all the honor and credit that can be bestowed upon him.' The awful scenes of carnage on the fields of France, instead of inspiring dread and fear, but kindled a sort of divine fire in his soul ~ and he gave his all for the cause to which his country is committed. Such was the mettle of Byrl Sylvester, man and soldier."
Among the official documents in regard to Byrl E. Sylvester, two are of every-increasing importance, and are here given in art, the first being the announcement of his death, and the second a translation of his citation:
Sylvester, Edwin L. (page 221), president of
the Plainview State Bank, and one of the leading citizens, as well as one of
the prominent financiers of this region, is a native of Wabasha county, and
descended from pioneer stock on both sides of his house. His early career as
agriculturist and educator gave him a splendid foundation for his later banking
career which started when he was but little past the age of reaching his majority.
Under his able guidance, his bank which is the oldest in the county, has also
become one of the strongest. Mr. Sylvester has felt from the first that the
interests of the bank and of the community were identical, and his constant
efforts have been along the lines of the still further development and progress
of the surrounding rural districts. Unostentatious in manner and retiring in
disposition he has not cared to assume a prominent position in political life,
but his good advice and keen judgment have exerted a powerful influence on the
affairs of the community in which he has made his life-long home. Mr. Sylvester
possesses those qualities which would have made him a leader in whatever sphere
of life his duty might have called him to. Fate cast his lot in a pioneer community
with whose growth to a prosperous, commercial and agricultural region he became
identified, and in whose progress he has had a part. Here he has been content
to live and labor, establishing an ideal home, giving his children a tender,
intelligent, fatherly guidance, helping his fellow man as he has found the opportunity,
taking up the tasks that have been nearest at hand, and shedding over the community
the light of his kindly personality.
Edwin L. Sylvester was born in Plainview Township, March 16, 1859, son of George W. and Matilda A. (Cook) Sylvester, the pioneers. He attended the district schools of his neighborhood, and studied three years in the Plainview High School, supplementing this education with home study, wide reading and keen observation. With this preparation he taught school for two years. In the meantime his spare time had been spent in working on his father's farm. June 1, 1882, he became a clerk in the Plainview State Bank, and with the destinies of that institution, his name and personality have since been connected, so much so in fact, that the Plainview State Bank is more commonly known as the Sylvester Bank. He was promoted from clerk to teller and then to cashier, and in 1905 was elevated to his present position as president. Mr. Sylvester is a prominent Mason, belonging to the Blue Lodge at Plainview, the Chapter, Commandery and Consistory at Winona, and Osman Temple at St. Paul. He has also passed through the chairs of the Odd Fellows' Lodge at Plainview. His religious faith is that of the Christian Church, in the affairs of which he has taken a leading part. Edwin L. Sylvester was married November 22, 1885, to Hettie L. Dillon, and this union has been blessed with five children: Nettie, Meta, Park D., Byrl E. and Edwin L., Jr. Nettie is the wife of James P. Caldwell, a physician and surgeon of St. Paul, Minn. Meta is the wife of Roy J. Holmes, a well-known educator. Byrl E., after a distinguished army record, gave his life in the cause of humanity in the world war. Park D. and Edwin L., Jr., are at home.
Sylvester, Hettie L. Dillon (page 222), now Mrs. Edwin L. Sylvester, was born at St. Lawrence, Jefferson County, N. Y., daughter of Albert and Helen P. (Goodenough) Dillon, April 6, 1863. Albert Dillon served in Co. E., 186th New York Volunteer Infantry, attained the rank of corporal, and was killed at the Battle of Petersburg, April 2, 1865. Thus left a widow, Mrs. Dillon later married R. W. Chapman, who brought the family to Minnesota in 1869, and settled on a farm near Elgin in this county. The young daughter, who was six years old when the family arrived, attended the schools of her neighborhood and graduated from the Plainview High School. Mrs. Sylvester has been active in all those lines which made for helpful motherhood and helpful womanhood. Her first interest has been her home, and to her family she devoted the major part of her time until the children began to reach more mature years. But this has not been the compass of her work. She is a pillar in the Christian Church, prominent in its various interests, superintendent of the Sunday school and president of its Ladies' Union. In the Eastern Star, the Rebekah Degree and the Ladies' Circle of the D. A. R. she has occupied the highest local offices. One of the founders and a charter member of the Travelers club, she helped shape its policies, as chairman of the entertainment committee for many years. In pursuing these various interests she has kept well abreast of those movements which are tending to enlarge woman's scope of influence, and the granting of suffrage rights to women has brought to her the high historical honor of being the first chairman of the Republican Ladies of Wabasha county.
Sylvester, George F. (page 228), a prominent business man of Plainview, cashier of the Plainview State Bank, was born in Plainview Township, Wabasha County, July 20, 1862, son of George W. Sylvester. After acquiring his education in the Plainview public schools, he went to Madison, Wis., where he learned telegraphy. From 1882 to 1886, he was employed as telegraph operator at various places for the Great Northern Railroad. On June 6, 1886, he became station agent at Milaca on the Fergus Falls Division of the Great Norther, and was thus employed until March 17, 1897. In that year he became associated with his brother in the Plainview State Bank, and as such is conducting a safe, conservative and profitable business, Mr. Sylvester's ability and personality being among its assets. Mr. Sylvester is also interested in other important enterprises, among which are valuable farm holdings, and his position as representative for the New York Life Insurance Company. He was one of the organizers of the Wabasha County Fair Association, of which he was secretary for fourteen years and is now an honorary member. He is a member and trustee of the First congregational Church at Plainview, and for twenty years has been a member and secretary of the Board of Education of Plainview, and as such is still serving. On January 1, 1886, Mr. Sylvester was united in marriage with catherine M. Whilt, who was born in Maywood Township, Benton County, Minn., in March, 1869, being the first white child born in that township. She was well educated in the public schools of her home county and was also a student in the Northfield public schools. After her marriage to Mr. Sylvester she took up and learned the art of telegraphy under her husband, and for six years subsequently was operator at Milaca, proving her efficiency by completely handling the business pertaining to thirty trains a day. Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester have been the parents of five children: Leon C., Anna S., Beatrice, Kathryn S., and Marian F. Of these Leon C. and Beatrice are now deceased. Anna S., after graduating from the high school, took a course at Oberlin College. She is now the wife of R. J. R. Baker, a prominent farmer of Rock Island County, Ill. Kathryn S., after graduating from the Plainview high school in the class of 1918, was a student for one year at Hamline College, and is now doing laboratory work in the Mayo clinic at Rochester, Minn. Marian F. is a senior in the Plainview high school. The business achievements of the subject of this sketch, together with the educational and social acquirements of the members of his family, have placed the Sylvesters on a high plane in the community, of which they are useful members.
Sylvester, Geo. W. (page 221), was one of that worthy band of pioneers who helped develop this region from an almost untrodden wilderness into the prosperous and productive farming country that it is today. He did his share of the hard work, he and his family took their share of the privations, hardships and inconveniences, and his name will long be held in honored remembrance. He performed efficient service on the town board in the early days, he took an active interest in public affairs, and his influence was ever on the side of those things which he believed to be just and right. George W. Sylvester was born at Phillips, Maine, the son of Caleb and Joanna (Whitney) Sylvester. Caleb Sylvester was a sturdy Maine farmer who achieved something of a name for himself as a mathematician and surveyor. In 1844 he brought his family to Wisconsin, took a farm near Platteville, and there devoted the remainder of his long and useful life to farming. Two of the sons, Charles and George W., the subject of this sketch, assisted their father on the farm, and when they attained suitable years, secured employment in the near-by lead mines. In 1851, thrilled with the story of the gold finds in California, the two brothers set out across the plains with an ox team bound for the pacific coast. Three years of strenuous work in the gold fields netted them each $2,000. There were many opportunities for them in that western country, but life so far away from home and kindred did not appeal strongly to them, so they started back to Wisconsin. With the memory of that long, dangerous trip across the wild plains clearly in their mind, they decided to make the return trip by way of the Isthmus of Panama, and accordingly set out by that route, but it was not until several months later, and after encountering many thrilling adventures, including a shipwreck, that the young men were once more at the parental fireside. A year later, in 1855, the two brothers came to Minnesota, and secured land in this county, George W., Claiming the southeast quarter of section 25, in Plainview Township. That winter he spent with his parents in Wisconsin, was there married, and in the spring of 1856, with his bride, settled on his claim in this county. He built a house, started to develop his farm, and worked at his trade as a wagon-maker. In addition to this he also worked for his neighbors as a carpenter, so that many of the pioneer homes of the township still standing are the work of his hands, and a tribute to the skill, permanency and ability with which he wrought. In 1860 he erected on his farm the biggest barn in the neighborhood and painted it red, this "Big Red Barn" being a landmark in the township for many years. In 1875 he replaced his first home with the commodious farm house, which, enlarged and remodeled, is still standing. When the Woodland post-office was established at his home he was made the first postmaster. As already mentioned, he was one of the early officers of the town. Fraternally he was affiliated with the Odd Fellows and the Masons. His religious faith was that of the Methodist Episcopal church. After a useful and well spent life he died September 6, 1876. His wife died in 1905. Mr. Sylvester was married March 18, 1856, to Matilda Cook, born in Waterloo Township, Province of Quebec, Canada, November 5, 1838, daughter of John Cook, a Canadian of Irish ancestry, who settled in Wisconsin in the early days. Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester were the parents of five children, Edwin L., Hattie A., George Franklin, Electa A., and Nellie M. Edwin L. and George F. are Plainview bankers. Hattie A. and Electa A. are dead.