Sandford, George D., (page 994), merchant, is a son of J. H. Sandford, elsewhere mentioned in this work, and was born in Topsham, Maine, June 14, 1850. He was brought to Mazeppa with his father's family in the fall of 1855, and has dwelt here ever since. His life was passed on a farm till twenty-one years old, and his education was furnished by the common schools, of whose advantages he made the best use. His natural abilities and energies have made him a successful business man. In 1871 he went to Lake City, where he spent three years in learning and following the wagonmaker's trade. In 1874 he built a wagon-shop near the mill in Mazeppa, which he operated five years and then sold, the advent of the railroad spoiling the location. He has dealt considerable in real estate, and is now the owner of a farm near the village, which he rents. On April 25, 1881, he was deputized as postmaster, and has kept the postoffice ever since. The following year he opened a stock of groceries and boots and shoes in the postoffice building, and does considerable trade in those commodities. He was elected town clerk in 1882, and is now fulfilling the duties of the same office. He is a republican, and a member of the masonic order. He has been twice married, and was robbed of his first mate by death in July, 1875. Jennie Dickey was the lady's name before her marriage to Mr. Sandford, which occurred October 22, 1874. On Christmas day, 1879, he was united in marriage with Miss Alice, daughter of J. B. Miller. They have a son, born December 5, 1880, and christened Frank Burnett.
Sandford, Jas. H., (page 968), retired farmer, was born in Topsham, Maine, August 14, 1814. He was kept at school until fifteen years of age, when, shortly after, his father died, when he went to sea, entering the foreign merchant trade. For about twenty-seven years his principal occupation was that of a sailor. Occasionally, however, he would stop at home for a time, and on these occasions he would make a trip or two in some coasting-vessel. He also made several trips into the western wilds in the employ of the fur traders. In 1856 he immigrated to Minnesota, and settled in the town of Mazeppa, where he pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of land in section 29, on which he continued to reside up to 1882, when he rented his farm and removed into the village of Mazeppa. Mr. Sandford is full of amusing and interesting reminiscences of the early days. He saw much of the Indians, as his place was near the Zumbro, which afforded fine camping-grounds for them, and who frequently called at his house for the purpose of begging. In those days he had to carry his supplies on his back some four miles, and the idea that the lazy Indians had the face to beg of him, when they knew how he had to pack his provisions, was too much for him, so he told his wife, in the hearing of several of them, that he would not give them anything more, whereupon they, seeming to understand, at once left. Shaska, one of the Indians hung for the massacre of settlers, at New Ulm, came to his house one day and said he was sick so Mrs. Sandford offered him a bottling containing No. 6, composed of gum myrrh, brandy and capsicum, a very hot, powerful medicine; but Shaska would not take ti till Mrs. Sandford assured him by appearing to take some herself, where upon he raised the bottle to his mouth and gulped down a good dose, before he was aware of how hot it was; it was down, though, and he had to stand it; but his grimaces and antics were amusing for a few moments. It seems the Indian had faith in Mrs. Sandford's ability as a doctor, for he repeated the dose for several days, till finally one day he came and said he was all right. On one occasion in the winter, when Mr. Sandford was away, a lot of Indians called at his house to warm themselves, leaving their guns outside; finally, when they left, Mrs. Sandford went to the door with her son George, a small boy, when they suddenly drew up their guns and aimed at Mrs. Sandford, who, instead of darting into the house with fear, stood and laughed at them, believing they meant no harm, while her little boy thought it meant business, and was considerably alarmed. Mr. Sandford is now in his decling years, enjoying the fruits of an industrious life as he justly deserves, being the owner of several farms; his means are ample. He has been twice married, and had two sons by his first marriage, one of whom is living. His second wife was Miss Arabella Pierce, of Bath, Maine, by whom he had one son, George, who is postmaster of Mazeppa.
Schad, John, (page 1055), is a prosperous Highland farmer. He was born in Germany, May 23, 1838. His parents were Michael and Margaret (Papper) Schad. Two brothers and a sister preceded him to America, whither he came in 1858. Going first to Fort Wayne, Indiana, he found employment in a brick-yard. In the spring of 1859 he came to Wabasha county, and located a squatter's claim on section 4 in Highland and 33 in Glasgow township. This place he sold in 1868, and immediately purchased one hundred and sixty acres on section 26, in Highland, to which he has since added one hundred and twenty acres, and where he now resides. Miss Lena Ruff became his wife November 24, 1868. She was a native of Iowa, where she was born October 24, 1848. The following children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Schad: Frank, born February 10, 1870; Mary, September 2, 1872; Godfrit, September 9, 1874; John, December 31, 1876; Maggie, October 19, 1878; Henry, September 23, 1880; Lena, August 7, 1882; Theresa, September 30, 1883. Before his marriage Mr. Schad worked several winters in the Wisconsin pineries, and also in St. Louis as a stonemason. His farm is under excellent cultivation, and in 1876 he spent two thousand dollars in the digging of a well and the erection of a windmill, the only one in the township of Highland.
Schermuly, John, (page 1171), native of Germany, was born in Mengerskerchen, May 6, 1844, of German parents. His education was obtained in a common school of his native country. His youth was spent at home, and was employed most of the time as a painter. About the age of twenty-three he moved to America, visited Chicago, St. Paul, Stillwater and Redwing respectively, and finally settled at Wabasha, in 1869, where he commenced in the pop factory business, and continued in same till 1875 with good success. He then engaged in the restaurant business, and has followed same ever since. Mr. Schermuly fought in the Austrian army during the war with Prussia, in 1866, and was sergeant of 4th company in the 1st regiment of the Duke of Nassau. He is a member of the Odd-Fellows and Freemason societies of this city, and also of the Turn-Verein. He was married in 1868, to Fannie Eberwine. They are the parents of nine children, five of whom are living. His present circumstances are fair.
Schilling, Peter, (page 1240), Watopa, farmer, is a native ofGermany, Ballendorf, Prussia, being the place, and November 11, 1843, the time, of his birth. His early life was that of a German farmer's son, and he left school at the age of twelve. When seventeen years old he set out alone for America, and was two months between Antwerp and New York on the sailing vessel Elizabeth Hamilton. The first winter was spent on a stock farm near Buffalo, and next spring went to Sauk county, Wisconsin, engaging in farm labor. In 1866 he came to Minnesota, and during the following winter purchased one-fourth of section 30, where his home has been ever since. He now owns one-half of the section, and the same spirit of enterprise that prompted him to set out for a strange continent in youth still actuates him. He has cleared one hundred and eighty acres of his land of its natural growth of grubs, and is engaged in grain raising. He has been four times elected town supervisor, serving as chairman in 1882-3. His political affiliations are with the democratic party, and all the members of the family are included in the Highland Catholic church. In 1867 he married Elizabeth Howe, a sister of George Howe, whose parentage and nativity are elsewhere given in this work. Their children are christened in order of birth, as follows: Mary, John, Margaret, Peter, Anthony, Jacob and Matthias.
Schmidt, Henry, (page 1126), merchant, was born in Mecklenburg, December 19, 1844, and came with his parents to West Albany township, this county, in 1864. He was one of six children born to Henry and Mary (Henning) Schmidt, deceased. The first few years of his residence here were spent at various employments, and in 1871 he moved to Lake City. His first business venture was the establishment of a bakery, in partnership with C. Kuhn. One year later Mr. Schmidt secured entire control, and continued the business until 1877, when he formed a partnership with Mr. Kemp, and opened a line of general merchandise, on the corner of Washington and Center streets. From this stand they were driven by the fire of 1882, but soon afterward established themselves in their present quarters on Center street, He was married April 21, 1874, to Mary Burfiend, of Hanover. Two children followed this union, one of whom, Albert, is now living. Mrs. Schmidt died February 5, 1879. May 30, 1881, he was married to Clara Phillips (Tabor), a native of New York. In 1883 they opened a neat and commodious eating-house for day-boarders, and in connection with this a choice stock of cigars and confectionery. Mr. Schmidt is a member of Lake City Lodge, No. 22, I.O.O.F., also of Mount Zion Encampment, No. 7, and of Shiller Lodge, No. 7, Sons of Herman. In politics he is a republician.
Note from Fellow Genealogist: I am related to the Henry Schmidt through his wife Maria Burfeind. I would be interested in sharing information with anyone researching this line. Deb
Schmidt, Henry, (page 1126), merchant tailor and dealer in clothing and furnishing goods, corner Main and Pembroke streets. This business Mr. Schmidt established in 1866, and has conducted it successfully for the past thirteen years. He owns the premises he occupies, one lot east of the corner of Main and Pembroke streets, 25x90, and upon this he has erected his shop, a one-story brick, 20x45, the salesroom and Tryon's jewelry store occupying the front thirty feet of the building, with the tailor-shop in the rear. Mr. Schmidt is a native of Bavaria, learned his trade there, and followed it until 1852, when he came to America, settling in Milwaukee, which was his home until his removal to this city in 1864. January 16, 1856, Mr. Schmidt married Catharine Schrick. They have three children: Julius, born in Milwaukee in 1857, and now the junior member of the firm of Jewell & Schmidt, of this city; Emil, employed in his father's shop, born June 5, 1860, and John, born December 26, 1861, at present a conductor on the Midland railroad.
Schmidt, John C., (page 1079), brewer, Lake City. Lake City brewery, now owned and operated by John C. Schmidt & Co., was first started in 1861 by John Mingus in a small frame building, where the present one now stands, on the corner of Gardner and Center streets. He was succeeded by the Wise Brothers, who built the present stone structure, in size 24x75 feet, and twenty feet high. Mr. Schmidt purchased this property in 1876, and in 1877 associated with him his present partner, Mr. Fred Lange. They are now doing a prosperous business; have a first-class outfit, with a capacity of twelve hundred barrels per year. Mr. Schmidt was born in Schweren, Mecklenberg, Germany, in 1833, and was reared on a farm. He was married October 15, 1855 to Miss Julia Lange, a native of the same place. On April 28, 1857, he with his wife and two children sailed from the city of Hamburg on the ship Bremen for America, and landed in New York on June 9. On the 11th of the next April they first set their feet on Minnesota soil at Read's Landing. Mr. Schmidt at once made a claim to one hundred and sixty acres of government land in the township of West Albany, and with his ax and an ox team began to make a home for his family. His land, being covered with a growth of oak timber and grubs, required the incessant labor of years to clear and fit it for use, but his strong arms and determined will were equal to the task, and Mr. Schmidt in time had (what he could not have made for himself in his native land) a good farm. This farm was finally sold, and a prairie farm of a one hundred and sixty acres was purchased in the town of Lake . This he still retains. Mr. Schmidt gave the writer a little of his early experiences in Minnesota, and after repeated solicitations, consented that the following incident pass into history: "of course," said he, "we could not raise all we needed on a new and unimproved farm, and not having money to buy my bread the first year, I took a job of cutting and putting up hay for a man near Read's Landing. Not understanding English very well, and the tricks of trade still less, I agreed to take my pay in groceries, supposing that included flour. When the work was done I called for my pay, and the wily merchant inquired what I would have. I named over the articles, including flour. He gave me all but the flour, saying that article was cash, and he must have cash for it, so I took my groceries and went home to find my family without bread. Of course I could not remain under such circumstances, so I went back to the river and secured a job with a raftsman on a keelboat, and in a few days had the price of one hundred pounds of flour, which I purchased, and carried from Read's Landing to my humble home on my back, a distance of fourteen miles." Such fidelity and devotion to a family is meritorious, and commands their lasting respect and esteem. Mrs. Schmidt also nobly did her part in their struggles to make a home and rear their family, and is now suitably rewarded with comfort and plenty. They have six children living, whose names in the order of their birth are: Mary (now the wife of Lewis Hagen), Edward, August, Julia, Clara and Ida.
Schmidt, Julius C., (page 1126 ~ not listed in the index), is a native of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Came to Wabasha with his father's family in 1865. In 1873 he entered the house of H. H. Jewell (the description of which can be found on Chapter 35 of the 1884 book); learned his trade as tinsmith there, and continued in its employ until November 1, 1882, when the present partnership was formed.
John Schwirtz, (page 1026 ~ listed "Schmitz" in the index), hardware, general merchandise, and farming tools and machinery. This business is located on north side Main street, midway between Pembroke and Alleghaney streets, and occupies two storerooms, fronting fifty feet on Main street and extending one hundred feet toward the river in the rear. The hardware house and farming tools and machinery was established in 1875, and the general merchandise was added two years later, when Mr. Schwirtz married Mrs. John Duke, and the general merchandising establishment she had been successfully conducting since her first husband's death was consolidated with the hardware business. The stock as thus consolidated is a very complete one in all its departments. The general merchandise department is still presided over by Mrs. Schwirtz, who gives her special attention to all the details of the business with which she is so perfectly familiar, having been actively interested in its management for over twenty years. The business gives employment to a force of six persons, and trade is about the same as last year. Mr. Schwirtz is a native of Luxembourg, Europe. Came to America in 1855, and for the past twenty-six years has been a resident of this county, spending the first ten years of his life in Wabasha, on his farm in Glasgow township. The rest of the time he has been a resident of the city. Mr. Schwirtz has been twice married. His first wife, to whom he was wedded in 1858, died in 1876, leaving six children: Emma, born October 27, 1858; George, born December 10, 1860; Lizzie, born October 4, `862; Olillia, born August 29, 1864; John, born October 26, 1866; Anna, born December 13, 1865. April 10, 1877, Mr. Schwirtz married Eliza, widow of John Duke, for many years in business in this city, who died here in 1876.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Schram, M., (page 1217), proprietor and publisher of the "Mazeppa Tribune," is a native of Prussia, Germany. In 1853, when ten years of age, he came with his parents to America and settled in Chicago, when he went to learn the printer's trade of Jule Hays. Before his apprenticeship was completed the war of the rebellion broke out, and in 1862 he enlisted in Co. C., 3d Board of Trade regt., when he served his adopted country three years. On being mustered out in 1865, he returned to his case and completed his apprenticeship. In 1868, for the purpose of gaining extended information in connection with his profession, he commenced his travels, which continued through a number of years. In 1877 he came to Mazeppa (with his family), arriving on October 28, with a determination of making it his home and establishing a permanent business; having, at the time of arrival, a cash capital of three dollars, and a much used outfit for a printing office, which he had purchased in Ripon, Wisconsin, for one hundred and twelve dollars, and the whole of which could be carried in an ordinary sized grip. One can easily imagine the trials and difficulties besetting a person in the endeavor to establish a business with three dollars, that requires cash or credit to a considerable amount. But his case, like innumerable others, proved the old adage: Where there's a will there's a way. Mr. Schram now has a neat and as well an appointed office as can be found in any village. His paper is full of news items, and his selections exhibit care, judgment and a thorough knowledge of the requirements of his patrons. On November 11, 1870, Mr. Schram was married to Miss Anna Lundlinger, of Chicago, by whom he has had five children, three of whom are living, Anna Cary, Michael John and Laura. Mrs. Schram carried on the millinery business and enjoys a good trade. Mr. Schram is marshall and constable of the village of Mazeppa.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Selover, Alexander, (page 1068), carpenter, Lake City, was born near the city of Brunswick, New Jersey, March 27, 1833. John Selover, his grandfather, entered the colonial army in the revolutionary war, was made a prisoner and confined six years on the prison ship Jersey, in New York bay. The family is descended from the early German settlers of New Jersey, and Lewis and Prudence (Obert) Selover, parents of this subject, were born in that state. His life was spent on a farm till he was eighteen years old, when he went to his trade. In the fall of 1856 he went to Illinois, where he spent the ensuing winter. Early in the next spring he set out for Minnesota, and landed at Read's Landing April 17. He walked over the bluffs to this point and soon made a claim near Lone Mound, in Mount Pleasant township, as now known. This land he retained till 1867, renting it a portion of the time. He then took up his permanent residence in Lake City, where he has a half-block and comfortable residence. His domain also includes eighty acres of land near the city in Wisconsin. Many of the best buildings in the country adjacent to the city are Mr. Selover's handiwork. In 1864 he enlisted as a recruit in Co. A. 1st Heavy Art., which was stationed most of the time till the close of the war at Chattanooga. More fortunate than many, Mr. Selover's mess were able to purchase food during a forty days' stress, caused by cutting off of supplies, when most of the garrison was placed on quarter-rations. In 1862 Mr. Selover espoused Miss Ellen, daughter of Dr. Veeder, one of the pioneers of Mount Pleasant, all of New York birth. Three children have been added to the family. Louisa, the eldest, is now in her graduate year at the Winona Normal School; Mary Dora and Frank Marshall are at home. Mr. Selover is a member of the Baptist church and a consistent temperance worker.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Selover, Henry, (page 1068 ~ not listed in the index) superintendent of the Lake City flouring-mill, was born January 19, 1839, and came to Lake City in 1858 (he is a brother of Peter Selover). He began here as a clerk for H. F. Williamson, then conducting a large business here. In 1862 he enlisted in the 8th Minn. Vol. Inf.; was with his regiment till the close of the war. After his return from the army he engaged in the grain warehouse of Bessey, Kellog & Co. till 1872, when he took an interest in the Lake City mill. He was married in 1874 to Miss Emma Doughty, daughter of J. J. Doughty, and has three children, Edgar D., Nelson R. and John A. Mr. Selover is a mason and a member of the A.O.U.W.
Selover, Peter, (page 1068), carpenter, dates his birth November 10, 1830, at the same place as his brother above (Alexander born near the city of Brunswick, New Jersey). His early life was passed on his father's farm, and at seventeen years of age he was apprenticed to a carpenter and builder, whom he served three years. In 1857 he went to Flatbush, Long Island, and participated in the construction of many buildings there. In 1859 he was united in wedlock to Euphemia Vincent, who died in 1866. Of her five children two are living, Mary L., employed in Appleton's bookbindery at Williamsburg, New York, and Lewis Henry, at Clifton, Minnesota. Mr. Selover is connected with the Temple of Honor, the Congregational church, and the republican party. In October, 1868, he married Jennie Howard Duryea, who is the mother of six children, christened as follows, all at home: George H., Arthur W., Jennie H., Martha E., Kate L. and Laura. In 1878 the family removed to Lake City, where the head has since been actively employed in building operations. He has a younger brother, Henry Selover.
Notes from a fellow genealogist: Tonight I came upon your posting of the excerpt from "History of Wabasha County" (Minnesota) published 1884, regarding Peter Selover, born November 10, 1830, and married to Jane Howard Duryea. I want to thank you for taking the time to transcribe this and make it available. Though my research is incomplete, I think I discern a connection between this Peter Selover and the husband below, of "Jennie." Dow Duryea is a bit of a mystery to Duryea family researchers, most especially myself. He appears to be the Dow, or Dowe, Duryee/Duryea who had a sister Jane, who married Joseph Howard. I am supposing that the Jennie Howard Duryea who married Peter Selover is named for the Jane Duryea who married Joseph Howard. Dow Duryea married circa 1815, Maria Neefus [letter B-Ann Morehouse to RAM]. As Maria Duryea, Maria Neefus, of the Town of Flatbush, executed a will on 2 February 1871, with a codicil added on the same day, subsequently proved on 5 April 1871, naming several Neefus relatives, but no Duryea/Duryee kin, suggesting that any children that may have been born to her by Dow Duryee had pre-deceased her. Among the legatees are George S. Neefus, son of David Neefus of the City of Brooklyn, who was to receive payments during his minority. These payments were then to be assigned "for her natural life" to Sarah Gabriel, wife of Albert Gabriel, to revert afterwards to Saraeta, the daughter of Martha Ditmars, of New Jersey. Additional payments were to go to Jane Neefus, wife of Peter Neefus, of New Jersey; Abraham Neefus, "for life, then principal to brothers and sisters; and to " William H. Neefus, my brother." The codicil refers to the mechanisms by which another legatee, Jennie,1 wife of Peter Selour, of Flatbush, was to receive her legacy. The executors named were Henry Syles, Jr.2 and "brother David Neefus." [Kings County Wills. Record courtesy EMG]. While I cannot understand the connections here, I feel that such connections do exist. Dow Duryea and his first wife, Hannah Boerum, had a daughter Jane Duryea born in 1798. She would be born a whole generation before Peter Selover, obviously. In the baptismal records of the Flatbush Reformed Church, 1872, there is the entry for a son Arthur William Selover, son of Peter Selover and Jane Howard. This would seem to be the same Arthur W. Selover mentioned in the biography you have kindly provided. This, in turn, might suggest that Jane, wife of Peter was not born a Duryea, but was rather a Howard who married a Duryea before marrying Peter Selover. Thus the statement in the biography might be read instead, Peter Selover married Jane Howard, widow Duryea." I believe the executor mentioned in the Maria Neefus Duryea will, "Henry Syles, Jr." is actually Henry Lyles. His father Henry Lyles, Sr. married Rensje Neefus, thus Jr. is kin in one way or another. Richard Alan McCool
Seeley, Ira O., (page 1274), retired farmer, was the first to make a claim and build a house in Mazeppa township. Mr. Seeley's parents were of Vermont birth. His father was christened Ajax T., and his mother, born Painter, was called Delight. In 1815 this couple lived in the town of Luzerne, New York, at which time and place the subject was born. While he was yet an infant, the family removed to Ashtabula county, Ohio, where he was reared on a farm till sixteen years old, receiving a limited education at the log schoolhouse of that new region. From the age above named till he came to this state he followed carpenter work. After six years' residence at Berlin, Wisconsin, he came with his family to his county, in 1853. In June, 1854, he set out with three companions to explore the western portion of the county. In the fall of this year he made a claim on the present site of Mazeppa, and built a log pen to signify a claim. During the winter he piloted several exploring parties to the new region, and built a log house, to which he removed his family in April following. This was the first actual settlement in the township, and was not made on his original choice, but on section 5, on the bank of Trout brook, where Daniel Mack now dwells. In 1869 this place was exchanged for one at that time owned by Mr. Mack, in Zumbrota township, near Mazeppa. In 1881 Mr. Seeley removed to Appleton, Minnesota, his present home, where most of his children live. He was elected to the first state legislature by the republicans, and also served several years as chairman of Mazeppa town board. He was a democrat up to the opening of the civil war. His marriage occurred in 1836, the bride being Miss Sarah Loveland, a native of Ashtubula. She died in 1868, leaving eight children, who still survive. The eldest will be spoken of below. The fifth, Emma, married F. L. Bonney and resides in Smyrna, New York. The sixth, Nellie (Mrs. John McClellan), lives at Mazeppa. She was the first girl born in the town. All the others, named in order below, reside in Appleton: Elizabeth A. (Mrs. O. F. Davis), Robert, Elvira (Mrs. Winfield Greenleaf), Albert and Elmer C. Albert is postmaster at Appleton.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Seeley, Major Francis W., (page 1275), postmaster at Lake City, is the eldest son of I. O. Seeley, born at Ashtabula, Ohio, April 12, 1837, and was, therefore, but sixteen years old when he came with his parents to Wabasha. His educational privileges had been limited, but after joining the regular army he prepared himself by assiduous study for the life of a useful soldier and citizen. He enlisted in February, 1855, in Sherman's battery, 3d Art., then stationed at Fort Snelling, and served till the opening of the civil war, as a non-commissioned officer, on the western frontier. On September 19, 1860, he was breveted second lieutenant by President Buchanan, and on February 4 following was made second lieutenant in the 4th Art.; May 14 thereafter he was promoted to first lieutenant, and served as adjutant-general of the department of Florida, where he was then stationed. July 11, 1863, he was made captain, 4th Art. He is the only officer, below the grade of field officer, mentioned by Greeley in his history of the rebellion. May 30, 1863, he was promoted to be a brevet captain, and July 2 following major, for "gallant conduct in the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg." Both promotions were confirmed by the senate. In the first-named memorable battle his battery fired the last Union shot, and he retired, under orders, with heavy loss in both men and horses.
At the conclusion of the battle (Chancellorsville) of Sunday, Captain F. W. Seeley's battery, which was the last battery that fired a shot in that battle, had one officer and forty enlisted men killed and wounded, and in the neighborhood of sixty horses killed or disabled; but being a soldier of great pride and ambition, and not wishing to leave any of his material in the hands of the enemy, he withdrew so entirely at his leisure that he carried off all his wounded men and even the accoutrements from his dead and disabled horses!-See Vol. 1, page 9. Report of the committee on the conduct of the war, 1865.
In his offical report of the battle of Gettysburg, Maj.-Gen. A. A. Humphreys says: "Seeley's battery, 'K, 4th U. S. Art.' was placed at my disposal. * * * The firing of Seeley's battery was splendid, and excited my admiration, as well as that of every officer who beheld it. His loss in men and horses was heavy, including himself, twice severely wounded." Maj. Seeley was twice wounded on this occasion, and was ultimately forced by the effects of his injuries and exposure to resign his commission, which he did on August 31, 1864. Besides the battles above named, he participated in the following engagements: Battle of Santa Rosa Islands, Florida; bombardment of Forts McRae and Barrancas, Florida; siege of Yorktown; battles of Fair Oaks, Malvern Hill, Fredericksburg and others. After leaving the army he returned to Wabasha county and engaged in farming for three years, but was forced to give it up on account of physical disability, the result of his wounds. He was elected to the legislature in 1868. In March, 1873, he was appointed by President Grant to the charge of Lake City postoffice, and has continued to serve the people in that capacity since. He was one of the original members of the Odd-Fellows lodge here. In theological matters he is very liberal. August 5, 1863, he espoused Miss Emily C. Loveland, of Ashtabula. They were given a daughter in 1866, and christened her Frances E.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Seymour, S. Oakey, (page 984), second cousin of Horatio Seymour, ex-governor of the State of New York, and first cousin of A. Oakey Hall, ex-major of the city of New York, is numbered among the early settlers of Minnesota State. He was born December 22, 1823, in Otsego, and attended school for some time in company with A. Oakey Hall in Bleecker street, New York city. For four years after this he clerked in the first store opened at Huntley Station, Illinois, and subsequently from 1844 to 1852 he was engaged for himself in the wholesale and retail grocery business in New Orleans. In the fall of 1856 he settled in Minneiska, and in 1879, in company with his brother, Daniel, bought of one Eddy what is now known as Plainview Bank. Prior to this, in 1872, on May 25, he married Helen M. Watson, and has now four children, two girls and two boys. He was at one time reputed to be in very comfortable circumstances, but Dame Fortune turned the tide, so that he is left now with only a farm of one hundred and twenty acres. In 1861 he enlisted at Fort Snelling in Co. I, 1st Minn. Vols. He served in twenty-two battles, among them First Bull Run, in which he was wounded, Ball's Bluff, Yorktown and others. He lives in the enjoyment of only a trivial pension for his services.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Shaw, Francis W., (page 949), son of Oliver and Jane S., was born in New Hampshire, May 26, 1836. In May, 1855, he came with his parents to this state and township. They were hardly settled when the father died, leaving Francis (the eldest son) the responsibility of caring for a large family. Many were the trials and hardships of those early days. Mr. Shaw settled on a farm in section 3, now owned by Isaac York, and there built the first house and dug the first well in the western part of Wabasha county. He was married July 4, 1856, to Mary A., daughter of William York, and to them have been born two children, William F. and Ethal. In 1861 Mr. Shaw enlisted in Co. C, 4th Minn. Inf., and served three years and eleven days. He was at the siege and battle of Corinth, Mission Ridge, Altona, siege of Vicksburg, and many others. Upon returning to this county he engaged for several years in agricultural pursuits. In 1878 he opened a general merchandise store at Jarrets, and has been doing business there since that time. Mr. Shaw is one of the oldest and most enterprising citizens of the county.
Sheldon, Joel B., (page 1048), farmer, was born in Westport, Essex county, New York, March 20, 1845. His father, Isaac Sheldon, was a pioneer settler in Pine Island township, his residence being three miles from Mazeppa, on the county line. Both the latter and his wife, Lydia Smith, were born in Westport. The subject of these lines was reared on the Pine Island farm, where he was brought shen eleven years old, and got his educational training in the common schools of Mazeppa. In 1864 he bought forty acres of land adjoining his father's, on which he dwelt till 1880. At this time he bought a house and three lots in Mazeppa, and has made his home here since. He also has now sixty acres adjoining his first purchase, in this town, and is employed in tilling his farm. He was married March 12, 1858, to Mary J. Van Schaick, born at Wells, in Indiana, June 15, 1838. Mrs. Sheldon had two children previous to this marriage, one of whom was burned to death. The other, Alpheus, was born May 14, 1857; resides in Mazeppa. Mr. Sheldon's children were born as follows: Lillian J., December 24, 1859 (Mrs. Asa Spicer, here); Joel L. April 25, 1863; Ella M., January 4, 1867; Gertrude, October, 1868; Martha, September 16, 1873; Dick, February 2, 1875. Mr. Sheldon is a member of Mazeppa Good Templars Lodge. In religious faith he is a Methodist; he has always been a republican. He enlisted August, 1862, in Co. H, 8th Minn. Vols. Served on the western frontier, participating in several Indian engagements; discharged on account of ill health, January, 1865. Shortly before entering the service his arm was cut by a scythe, and his army exposure prevented a permanent and full recovery, and he is often troubled and much weakened by the injury.
Shields, Patrick (page 1095), was born in County Galway, Ireland, in the year 1831. His parents, Stephen and Bridget (Laylor) Shields (or Shiel) were small farmers. When twenty-six years old he emigrated to the United States, and found work in the Stark cotton mills at Manchester, New Hampshire. Here he espoused Margret Beggan, also a native of Galway county. In 1859 he removed his family to Fox Lake, Wisconsin, where he worked on a farm until just prior to the breaking out of the great rebellion. About this time he came to Wabasha county, and bought out a squatter on section 30, in Highland township. He now occupies a farm on section 29 in the same township, and has in addition to this place another of eighty acres on sections 20 and 21. His wife is an invalid, but has borne him the following children, viz: Mrs. Elizabeth Rodney, of Highland; John, born February 5, 1858, a young man of good business ability and fine education, residing at home; Maggy Curran, born October 12, 1859; Hanore, born July 30, 1861; Mary, born September 29, 1867. In early pioneer days Mr. Shield used to go barefoot in cold weather, as he was too poor to purchase suitable covering for his feet, and has endured many other hardships, but is now in comfortable circumstances. Four years after his arrival in Highland he sold his original claim for two thousand dollars in cash. He is a Catholic, but in politics independent.
Shurtleff, Rev. James M., (page 1323 ~ deceased) was among the pioneer preachers of this county, and assisted in organizing the first Baptist Church at Wabasha in 1857. He came to this city in 1867, and during the following winter began to hold prayer meetings in his house, and during the following year was the coadjutor of Rev. H. B. Wharton in a successful effort to form a church society. In 1859 his voice failed, and he was forced to abandon his pulpit labors almost entirely. His demise occurred at Wabasha, October 22, 1866. The deceased was the eldest child of James and Dorcas (Lyon) Shurtleff, and was born in Ashfield, Vermont, July 21, 1794. He was reared on a farm and educated in Massachusetts. In 1815 he was converted to God and joined the Christian Church. Next year he was licensed to preach, and ordained in 1817. October 2d, of the latter year, he married Elizabeth L. Gleason, born in Boston, September 9, 1799, to James and Drucilla (Wright) Gleason. In 1820 Mr. Shurtleff went to West Virginia, where for four years he labored with great success. In 1825 he went to Ohio, where he organized many churches, and joined the Free Will Baptists in 1831. In 1837 he moved to Illinois and traveled in that State until he came to Wabasha. It is estimated that he baptized nearly nine hundred persons, and he conducted many quarterly meetings and organized numerous societies. His widow died January 9, 1882, and two daughters survive her. The eldest is the widow of the late C. S. Hendricks, sketched below; the other is Mrs. William C. Piers, of whom other mention is found in this work.
War of 1812
Sibley, Charles H., (page 1157), farmer, set his claim stakes on section 7, Mazeppa, in July, 1856. After a short time he sold his claim, and changed his location several times. He settled on section 8, where he still resides, in 1867. His mother, Lovina Churchill, was one of the first children born in Albany, New York. His father, Caleb Sibley, was born in Salem, Massachusetts, and served through the war of 1812, after which he settled at Albany and married. The subject of this sketch was born here in 1818. His father died when he was nine years old, and he was forced to earn his living from this time. At twenty-three he began masonwork in Livingston county. Here he met, wooed and won Miss Anna, daughter of Jesse Youngs, elsewhere mentioned. Mr. Sibley built the first stone foundation in Mazeppa, and that of the first steam mill in the county at Read's Landing. He is an ardent republican. On February 3, 1862, he enlisted in the 5th Minn. regt., Co. H, under Capt. Morehouse. This regiment served in the western army, and Mr. Sibley was an actor in the battle scenes at First Corinth, where his hip was dislocated by a fall from a bridge, and he was rendered unfit for service. He was accordingly discharged. On August 15, 1864, he joined the 1st Minn. Heavy Art. as cook, and continued with this regiment till the close of the war. Mr. and Mrs. Sibley joined the Baptist church in New York. They have four children living, having lost two, all residing in Mazeppa. Their names are: Lovina (Mrs. John Stull), William, Eliza and Charles. Lucy, the second-born, married Edward Stanton, and died, leaving two children.
Sibley, John J., (page 1012 ~ please note: this biography appears to be mixed with another!) as above related ("above" in book is Jesse Youngs) resides on his father's original claim in Mazeppa. He was born in Sparta, Livingston county, New York, November 12, 1816. He married Almeda Lovell, born in New York, also the grandchild of a revolutionary soldier, and purchased a farm there on which he lived till the spring of 1857. He then came west and located where he is now. Mr. and Mrs. Youngs (???) are Methodists. They have six children: Benjamin, the eldest, served in the war against the Sioux and also at the South. He now resides in Mazeppa. The others reside as follows: George R., Moorhead, this state; Jesse, Mazeppa; Joseph, on father's farm; Henrietta (Mrs. Alvin Sibley), Lake Benton, Minnesota; Phoebe A. (Mrs. Joseph Harrison), Mazeppa. Mr. Youngs is a faithful republican.
Note from fellow genealogist, Bernie Schwindt: Barbara, You are correct in assuming some of the information in the biography is incorrect. The sketch should be that of John J. Youngs, son of Jesse Youngs, rather than John J. Sibley. The Mr. & Mrs. Youngs referred to would be Mr. and Mrs. John Youngs. I have done extensive research on this family as well as that of the Sibley family and have documented the marriage of George Youngs to Naomi Ann Sibley 1874 in Rock Falls, Wisconsin. Henrietta Youngs married Henry Howden Sibley (not Alvin) Jan 21, 1862, Mazeppa, Wabasha county. Benjamin Youngs married Annis Bump June 1868; Jesse married Bernice Owens; and Joseph married Elizabeth Hook. Anyone seeking information on these family members may contact me for more information.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Sinclair, Colin (page 1081), lumber dealer, Lake City, is one of the largest dealers in this line in Wabasha county. His stock, which is full and complete at all times, consists of lumber-in every form and of any class desired, and always at the lowest possible price-shingles, lath, and manufactured doors, sash and blinds; also hair, cement and lime; wood also forms an important part of his trade. He also has one-fourth interest in the planing-mill. Mr. Sinclair has been here in this business since 1872, and has by careful and fair dealing built up a prosperous trade. He is also extensively interested in Minneapolis real estate, besides eighty acres of western land, and many lots in Lake City. He was born of Scotch parents, near Kingston, Canada, January 6, 1846. While he was yet in childhood his parents moved over the lake to New York State, and settled in Brownsville, where they remained a short time, and then went to Watertown, New York. While here his mother died, and the father and family removed to Massachusetts, where they remained till 1859, when they came to Minnesota and located in Lake City. In 1862 our subject, though only sixteen years of age, possessed the manhood and courage to enlist in the cause of his country against an unjust rebellion, as a member of Co. G, 8th Minn. Vol. Inf. He followed the fortunes of war for nearly three years, taking a part in the border warfare on the frontier against the savages, who were attempting to devastate the pioneer Minnesota settlements. After peace was restored, and the army disbanded, Mr. Sinclair returned to his home in Lake City, and soon after was employed in the Minnesota pineries in the interest of large lumbering firms, and so continued till his settlement in business here. He was married at Redwood Falls, July 14, 1876, to Mrs. Mary M. Oliver (formerly Miss Whaley), a native of New York. The name of their only child is Earl C. Mrs. Sinclair's eldest two children are Cora and William Oliver.
Sigler, Adam V., (page 1018), capitalist, Lake City, is the ninth child of Adam and Jemina (Van Horn) Sigler. The latter were born in New Jersey, of Dutch descent, and settled in Decatur, Mifflin county, Pennsylvania. Here was born the subject of this sketch, August 20, 1814, and four children were given to his parents after that. Adam V. Sigler received a limited education in the common schools of Decatur, and began mercantile life at eighteen in a store at Lewistown, in his native county. In 1836 he went into business in partnership with George Patton (elsewhere sketched in this work), at Allenville, same county. After the retirement of his partner, Mr. Sigler continued the business eight years there, and two at Lewistown. Early in the spring of 1856 he became a resident of Lake City, and invested his capital in lots and buildings, which have yielded him a handsome income. His retirement from active life dates at this time, and he is now passing a hale and peaceful old age in the midst of long-time friends and associates. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, and was connected with the Sons of Temperance while a lodge existed here. Politically, began with the whig party and is now republican. In December, 1860, Mr. Sigler took a life partner in the person of Miss Matilda E. Guyer, born in Peoria, Illinois. Of six children born to this couple, only one is now alive, born ten years ago, and christened William Wilberforce. Two died of scarlet fever, within a space of ten days.
Simons, Henry, (page 1185), carriage and wagon manufacturer, Lake City, established himself in business here in 1872 as the partner of George Lemley. He soon after, however, bought out his interest and built a shop on rented ground near the corner of High and Centre street. Four years later he purchased a lot on the opposite side of Centre street, on which he built a shop and put in machinery. On June 17, 1882, this building was destroyed by fire, but fortunately by the exertions of many kind neighbors most of his stock and machinery was saved. Mr. Simons immediately rebuilt, and is now in the market with a full line of carriages, buggies, wagons, sleighs and cutters. He was born in Holland, December 28, 1844, and the following July the family emigrated to the United States and settled in Wyoming county, New York, on a farm where the father (Stephen Simons) died in 1871. The mother Susan (Arrand) Simons still resides on the old homestead. Mr. Simons was united in marriage on June 22, 1873, to Miss Mary Tuck, a native of the State of New York, born of German parents. They have three children, whose names in the order of their birth are: William H., Julia M. and Jennie B. They are members of the Catholic church. Mr. Simons is a member of the Knights of Honor.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Skillman, Evander, (page 1151), miller, has been a resident of Wabasha county since the spring of 1856, at which time he came here with his parents. The latter were natives of Suffolk, Suffolk county, New York. The family is of Dutch descent. The great-grandfather of this subject, Thomas Skillman, had a son, Thomas, whose son, Francis M., married Jerusha Rogers, and dwelt thirty-two in the town of German, Chenango county, New York, where he tilled a farm and taught school during the winter. Here was born Evander Skillman, on May 12, 1838. He was given a common school education, and a farmer's training. In October, 1861, he enlisted in the 3d Minn. Inf., and was made first lieutenant of Co. G. He was soon commissioned regimental quartermaster. At the battle of Murfreesboro, in July, 1862, he was made prisoner with the regiment, but soon paroled. Returning to this state, he went on an expedition against the Sioux, on Red River, and was in several skirmishes with them at Fort Abercrombie. After being exchanged, he returned to the south, and was detailed in the early spring of 1864, as quartermaster of the 113th U. S. regt. of colored soldiers. He participated in the capture of Vicksburg and Little Rock, and in the battle of Fitzhugh's woods, on the White river. After the close of the war of the rebellion, Mr. Skillman served on the Texas frontier, and was discharged on April 6, 1866. In the fall of that year he opened a general store at Mazeppa, which he sold out six years later. In 1873, in partnership with a brother, he built Trout Brook mill, on section 19, Chester, and has operated it ever since. He has thirty-four acres of land where the mill stands, and eighty acres near by, which he tills with the assistance of his sons. When only twenty-one years old, he was elected town superintendent of schools; while in Mazeppa, he was two years village justice; has also been elected justice and town clerk in Chester several terms. His political preferences are republican, and religious ideas liberal. He is a member of the Masonic order. In 1865 Mr. Skillman was united in marriage to Edith, daughter of Elijah Lout, of Mazeppa. They have five sons, born as follows: Francis E., April 28, 1867; Murray E., February 10, 1871; Stephen P., June 22, 1873; Foster, May 10, 1879; Dwight, December 23, 1881.
Slocum, Fitz Gerald, (page 1106), Lake City, is a descendant of Anthony Slocum, who came from England to Massachusetts in 1630, and was one of the founders of Taunton, that state. Capt. Henry Sherman, who served the colonies in the revolutionary war and in Anthony Wayne's campaigns against the Miami Indians, made his home in Providence, Rhode Island. Here grew up and married his daughter Mary and Samuel Slocum, parents of Fitz Gerald Slocum.(?) The latter was born in Bristol, Addison county, Vermont, where he enjoyed limited educational advantages till fourteen years old. His parents then removed to Crawford county, Pennsylvania, and took up the task of opening a farm in the wilderness. At eighteen our subject went to New Jersey in the employ of some stock drovers, who afterward took him into partnership. September 16, 1843, he married Sarah P. Griggs, who was born in East Amwell; her grandparents and parents, John and Catharine Griggs, were, like herself, born in New Jersey. In 1845 Mr. Slocum opened a hotel in Frenchtown, and subsequently engaged in the same business at Flemington, New Jersey. In 1854 he went to Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, and kept a hotel till his removal to Lake City in 1862. For a short time he engaged in the sale of agricultural machinery, and bought produce for nine years; was six years employed at the Boston Mills, and is now with the Lake City Flouring Mill Company. For five years after his arrival he supervised the construction of Lake City streets and roads; was five years constable, one year a policeman, and four years city marshal; has always been a democrat. Was a charter member of the Odd-Fellows' lodge and is a member of the Masonic order. In religious faith Mr. Slocum is a Universalist, while most of his family attends the Episcopal church. Their pleasant home on Elm street is the result of Mr. Slocum's toil and perseverance. His nine children are all in Lake City and were christened as below: Frances C. (Mrs. Erwin Alexander), Sarah, Helen (Mrs. Chas. F. Frost), Catharine, Lucy (Mrs. Arthur B. Hill), Susie, Jennie, Harry L. and Fred Gerald.
Smith, Abbot E. (page 1217), attorney, Lake City, was born in West Cambridge, Massachusetts, September 20, 1855. His father, Samuel Abbot Smith, is descended from a Scotch family that emigrated to Massachusetts about 1700. The ancestors of Maria Edes, who was espoused by S. A. Smith, came from England and settled at Charlestown previous to that time. The Abbots, paternal (Errata page reads "maternal") progenitors of S. A. Smith, came in 1636. The latter, who was a Unitarian minister, died in 1865. His son had every educational advantage. In 1877 A. E. Smith graduated from Harvard university with the degree of A.B. The following year he located in Lake City and opened a loan office. In April, 1883, he was admitted to practice before the state supreme court, and is now giving attention to law, loan and collections. He is a member of the Phi-Beta-Kappa society, of the Unitarian church, and of the great republican party.
Smith, Milton D. (page 1218), was born in Chautauqua county, New York, June 6, 1834. His father, Milo Smith, removed his family to Michigan in 1839, and the following year to St. Joseph county, Indiana. Here Milton had the advantages of a country school, and spent his youth. In the autumn of 1855 he came west in search of a place to build him a new home and fortune. He found the desired spot in a quarter-section of Minnesota fertile lands, viz: the N. W. 1/4 of Sec. 35 in the township of Plainview, and hastened back to his old Indiana home to acquaint the lady of his choice, and make arrangements for the removal of his personal effects hither in the spring. January 6, 1856, he was married to Margaret Leininger, daughter of a St. Joseph county farmer, and as soon as spring opened, with his young wife, came to resume possession of his new home. From the first, prosperity attended the life of the young pioneer and his bride. His fortune grew apace, and in 1879 he bought the E. B. Eddy place, one of the finest residences in the neighboring village of Plainview, and removed to town. His broad acres now aggregate seven hundred and twenty, situated on sections 25, 26 and 35, all in the township of Plainview. Mr. Smith has been the recipient of local public honors, is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and a republican in politics. Six children have been born to him, as follows, viz: Helen (Mrs. F. Leininger), of Plainview; William H. (in the grocery and cigar business), Plainview; Martha F. (Mrs. Fred McArthur), of Ordway, Dakota Territory; and Harry D., Irving and Bessie, living at home.
Smith, H. N. (page 1043), retired raft-pilot. Mr. Smith is a native of Tennessee, from which state he removed with his parents to Illinois when he was a small boy. The family finally settled in Burlington, Iowa, in 1841, at which time H. N. Smith was eight years of age. He came to St. Paul in 1852 as cabin-boy, and the following year made that city his home, remaining three years, during which time he was steward on steamers freighting and carrying passengers up the Minnesota river, the rush for the valley lands along that river at that time being very great. In 1856 Mr. Smith came to Read's Landing, and was for a time with his brother, P. C. Smith, then following rafts down the river. Two years later, 1858, H. N. Smith commenced running the river as raft-pilot, floating until 1868, when he took the wheel of a raft-boat, and was engaged in that business until 1877, when he retired from active service on the river. For the next four years Mr. Smith was deputy sheriff under L. M. Gregg, going out office with his principal in 1881. Mr. Smith married Adeline Roberts at Read's Landing, February 17, 1864. They have five children, all at school in this city. Frances B., born December 6, 1864; Gracie A., born October 24, 1866; Harry A., born July 5, 1870; Gertrude S., born March 25, 1873; Mabel E., born June 5, 1876.
Smith, Henry S., (page 1062), farmer, is a grandson of Joel Smith, who served in the colonial army during the revolution. Asaph, son of Joel Smith, was born in Vermont, and married a native of the same state, viz: Miss Abigail Couch. This couple dwelt on a farm in Poultney, Rutland county, Vermont, where was born on March 14, 1824, the person whose name heads this sketch. The latter was reared on this farm, and was a pupil in the common school adjacent. Arriving at maturity, he settled down on a farm of his own. In 1853 he married Jane S. Franklin, sister of G. B. Franklin, elsewhere mentioned. In 1859 he removed to this county, and settled on the farm he now occupies. The homestead of one hundred and sixty acres lies on section 32, Chester, and twelve acres of timber near by, on section 30. One hundred acres of this is now under the plow, and almost wholly tilled by its owner's individual labor. Mr. Smith is a hard worker, although his right hand is crippled. This is the effect of an attack of black erysipelas, which he suffered in 1875. His eyesight was also injured by this malady. The firstborn of this family, christened Charley, died when eight months old. The next, Volney L., was born May 30, 1856, and is now keeping books at Red Wing; Altie A., 1861, married George Westphall, and resides in Mazeppa; Minnie H., telegraph operator on Midland railway.
Smith, Herbert L. (page 1180), eldest child of Ora (Errata page reads "Ova") N. Smith, was born in Orange county, Vermont, June (Errata page reads "January") 30, 1854. He attended school until fourteen years old, and then began to learn the printer's trade in Michigan. After his parents cme here he was employed in this city and in Minneapolis. He founded the Lake City "Graphic" in 1882, being called upon to chronicle the death of his father in its first issue, September 12, 1882. At this time he had a partner named Russell, but the paper was shortly sold to a stock company and Mr. Smith placed in charge of the business. October 8, 1883, the business passed into the hands of Smith & Messmer, Mr. Smith having associated with himself for its purchase Mr. W. S. Messmer, much of whose work is found in this volume. While the latter looks after the editorial department, Mr. Smith is the active and efficient manager of a prosperous and rapidly-growing business. He is an active member in the Masonic and Odd-Fellows lodges, having taken the highest degrees in both orders. January 1, 1878, H. L. Smith and Mary A. Jones, of Lake City, were united in marriage. One daughter has been given this couple and christened Florence May.
War of 1812
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Smith, Nelson B. (page 1063), farmer, has dwelt since the spring of 1856 on section 29, Chester, where he has four hundred and forty acres of land; his real property also includes twenty acres on section 30. His father, Squire Van Smith, was a native of Connecticut, and married Charlotte Ann Glover, of the same state. After serving in the war of 1812, he settled on a farm in Brookfield, Fairfield county, where was born the subject of this sketch, January 17, 1823. He was reared on the farm there, and completed his education by attending Newtown Academy one term. After teaching school four terms in Connecticut, he removed to New York in 1846, and taught one term there. During this year he met and won for his wife, Miss Margery A. Mix, a native of that state. Next year he bought and began tilling a farm there. In the summer of 1855 he visited Minnesota, and selected a claim south of Mazeppa. Returning to New York, his claim was "jumped" so when he came on with his family next spring he settled on his present location. He has always been a republican; has been assessor two terms and collector one. He is not a believer in the gospel as now taught by any sect. In January, 1862, Mr. Smith enlisted in the 2d independent company of U. S. Sharpshooters, and was with the army of the Potomac from that time till the close of the war. The only engagements he missed were those of the first Bull's Run and Ball's Bluff. He was never in ambulance or in hospital. The only wound he received was in his haversack, a ball piercing a can of meat that was to serve as his rations. Thus his stomach was affected. In February, 1864, he re-enlisted, and received one month's furlough. Mr. Smith was robbed of his life partner by death on May 4, 1881. Their two children still reside with the father. Joseph Ladelle, born in January, 1850, is unmarried. Lottie Ann, born June, 1857, married John McCabe, who assists in tilling the farm.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Smith, Ora (Errata page reads "Ova") N. (page 1179), deceased, son of Jacob and Lovina Smith, was born in Leinster, New Hampshire, February 13, 1828. His paternal progenitors were English and the maternal were Scotch. He assisted his father during early life in the tillage of a farm and at carpenter work, so that when he began business on his own account he was master of a trade, and this occupied his time and yielded his livelihood always. In 1853 he was married in Vermont to Miss A. L. Felton, and removed two years later to Illinois. In 1866 he went to Michigan, and came thence to Lake City in October, 1870. Here he built a house, made a pleasant home for himself and family, and was prepared to enjoy life, but was taken away by the fell destroyer September 9, 1882. The cause of his death at the early age of fifty-four was Bright's disease, and he was disabled for nearly a year before his demise. Two children, besides his widow, survive him. The eldest is mentioned below (Herbert L. Smith). Flora C. (Errata page reads "Flora L."), born in Winnebago, Illinois, April 14, 1860, remains with the mother as a help and stay. A daughter died here in November, 1877, aged nearly fourteen years. Mr. Smith's death was, no doubt, the result of exposure in the United States service. In 1863 he joined an independent company of mechanics' fusileers, then forming for service in the war of the rebellion. After lying in Camp Douglas at Chicago for six months the company was disbanded without being called into service. While here Mr. Smith contracted inflammatory rheumatism, by which he was entirely disabled for some time, and from which he never fully recovered.
Smith, Oscar, (page 1327), of Plainview, was born in Columbia county, Pa., October 8, 1844. His father, Peter Smith, was a farmer, and removed from Pennsylvania to Wisconsin when Oscar was in his tenth year. Here they remained near Watertown until 1855, when they came to Greenwood Praire and located a claim on section 13, in Plainview township. Oscar early manifested a marked fondness for hunting, and during the brief sojourn of the family in Wisconsin he was so unfortunate as to lose his left arm, the result of the accidental discharge of his gun. But this did not check his career as a sportsman, and in 1858 he had become sufficiently acquainted with the Indians that then inhabited Minnesota, as to engage in the fur trade. For three years he followed this business. He next learned the painter's trade, which he has continued successfully to follow more or less closely since, although he has also engaged in farming, and now owns 100 acres of his father's original claim on Greewood Prairie, and a half section of fine land near Canby, Laquinparle county, Minnesota. This latter he acquired in 1879. Since 1880 he has spent most of his time in Fargo and Minto, Dakota. He is thoroughly endowed with the rugged and independent hunting in the northern portions of Wisconsin, Minnesota or Dakota, and has many interesting exploits to relate to his large circle of acquaintances.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Smith, Silas Gerome (page 1292), carpenter and builder, is one of the pioneers of this county and the father of the first white child born in Highland township. His grandfather, Jared Smith, was a native of Maine, was a farmer and settled at Pompey Hill, Oswego county, New York. Here was born and reared Israel Smith, the father of this subject, who followed blacksmithing from sixteen years of age. He married Eliza Richer, who was born in West Monroe, same county. Silas G. Smith was born September 13, 1833, at the same place as his father. For seven years he worked with his father at his trade, and never went to school after he was ten years old. At twenty-five he began carpenter work, having previously been employed for some time as filer and sawyer in a mill. After losing all his possessions by fire, he determined to seek a home in the New West, and came to Wabasha county, locating on land in Highland in the fall of 1854. In the spring of that year he married Ellen S. Jacott, who died May 17, 1876, leaving two children. Julia Ann, the eldest, born January 20, 1857, is the wife of Julius B. Lewis, in Wabasha. Silas Jerome resides with his father, and was twenty years old March 5 last. Mr. Smith made his home on his farm until 1875. August 31, 1864, he entered Co. A., 3d Minn. regt., as a recruit. He was placed on detached service, and remained at Duvall's Bluff most of the time till discharged, July 28, 1865. Since 1875 his home has been in Wabasha, where he owns two lots on the levee. In May, 1877, he married Isabel A. Robinson, who is a native of Oxford, Massachusetts. Despite his meager schooling Mr. Smith has contrived to secure a good fund of general information, and is an intelligent citizen. In political matters he affiliates with the democratic party. He was two years constable in Highland, and subsequently served as deputy county sheriff. He has been connected with a Baptist church which now indicates his religious faith. Mrs. Smith is a member of the Congregational church in Wabasha. Mr. Smith is a member of the Equitable Aged Union. He has been engaged since his residence here in millwright work, and house, boat and pontoon building. The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railway pontoons at Read's Landing and Prairie du Chien show his handiwork; also one at Lacon, Illinois.
Smyth, Charles W. (page 1093), Lake City, was born in Greene county, Illinois, September 20, 1836, and is the son of Francis and Sinia A. Smyth, natives of Virginia and Kentucky, respectively. The former died when his son Charles was about three years old, and the latter was married in 1842, to John McBride, Esq., a respected citizen of this city. She lived till January 18, 1871, when she was accidently killed in attempting to jump from a cutter while out riding with her son, the horse being unmanageable. In 1845, when our subject was but nine years old, he with his parents removed to Council Hill, near Galena, Illinois, where they remained for a short time, and then settled in what is now Lafayette county, Wisconsin. Their stay here, however, was not permanent, as they again went to Stephenson county, Illinois, and engaged in farming for a few years, after which they went to Iowa, and located in Clayton county, where his stepfather published a newspaper till 1861. On the last boat up the river in the fall of that year, our subject came to Lake City, and at once found employment in a lumber yard. This he followed but a short time, and then went into the "Times" office as a type-setter for his stepfather, who was then publishing that paper. One year later he entered the employ of F. W. Hahn, a large clothier of this town as clerk, with whom he remained about two years. His next business enterprise of any importance was his present. He bought an interest in a meat market, and has successfully conducted the butcher business in this city for nearly twenty years. November 17, 1867, he was united in marriage to Mrs. Sarah Corwin, a daughter of Henry Heys, Esq., of Goodhue county, Minnesota, a native of England. They have four children, whose names in the order of their birth are: Libbie T. Corwin, Druzilla A., Julia A and Carrie M. Smyth. Mr. Smyth is a charter member of the Masonic lodge of Lake City, is also a member of the chapter and commandery, and of the I.O.O.F., and an enthusiastic worker in the supporter of these societies.
Southworth, A. D. (page 1171), insurance, office on south side Main street, between Alleghaney and Church streets. This business was established in 1872, by Mr. Southworth. The fire protection represented by him aggregates fifty-eight million six hundred and forty-nine thousand two hundred and sixty-three dollars, and includes the leading companies in Great Britain and America. The assets of the life insurance companies for which he is agent are placed at one hundred and thirteen million three hundred and nine thousand eight hundred and six dollars. Mr. Southworth was born in Oneida county, New York, August 13, 1829, and was variously employed, working on the farm, attending and teaching school, etc., until 1853, when he removed to Illinois and for two years was employed on the survey and construction of the Illinois Central railway. In 1855 he removed to Lodi, Illinois, and was engaged in surveying and real estate until 1862, when he was appointed deputy collector and inspector of liquors for the seventh internal revenue district of Illinois. This position Mr. Southworth held until 1870, when he removed to Wabasha county, and settled on a tract of thirteen acres, which he had purchased within the corporation of the city of Wabasha, in what is known as the west side. This property had been added to from time to time, until it now embraces a tract of one hundred and forty acres of richly productive land, the meadows yielding this season three and a half tons per acre for the first cutting, and his potato and oat fields giving promise of an abundant crop. In addition to the home farm, Mr. Southworth owns three hundred and twenty acres of bottom land just across the river in Wisconsin, and a farm of two hundred acres over on the Zumbro, in Wabasha county. Two years after coming to this city, Mr. Southworth, in connection with W. F. Florer, established the exchange bank of A. D. Southworth & Co., for particulars concerning which see article on "banks." Mr. Southworth was married in 1857, and one daughter, Miss Mary L. Southworth, the child of that marriage, is now attending school at Wellesley, Massachusetts. Mrs. Southworth dying in 1864, Mr. Southworth remarried the following year. Two children of this second marriage survive: George A. and Cornelia H. Mr. Southworth's family residence is in a beautiful spot on the high bank of the Mississippi, about a mile from the business center of the city, and commands a magnificent view of river scenery, from the outlet of Lake Pepin to Alma, ten miles below, on the Wisconsin shore.
Sparrell, John Henry(page 1321 ~ deceased), was born in Bedford, Massachusetts, September 26, 1828. After reaching school age, he attended the common schools and subsequently became a student of Bridgewater Academy in the same state. But at the early age of eighteen he quit school and engaged in the manufacture of furniture in his native town. His parents, John and Sylvia (Turner) Sparrell, were natives of Situate, Mass., and the parents of ten children the only surviving one being Emeline A. Sparrell of Boston. The subject of our sketch came to this country in 18858 and preempted land in Gillford township. In the spring of 1862 he opened up the farm and subsequently purchased adjoining lands until he became known as one of the largest land-holders in that section of the country. Although Mr. Sparrell has no military record, he was very active in securing substitutes for his neighbors who did not wish to serve their country in the capacity of soldier during the civil war. Our subject took an active part in politics, and was often elected state delegate to county or state republican conventions. In short, he was always interested in any bublic work, or anything for the benefit and advancement of the community in which he lived. In 1865 he moved to Lake City, where he became a member of the firm known as Sparrell & Bates, dealers in and manufacturers of furniture. Soon after, they established a branch store at Red Wing, which was conducted by his brother, E. K. Sparrell, the firm being Sparrell, Bates & Co. They did an extensive business until his failing health made it necessary for him to retire from active life. But his brother dying (July 29, 1874), he resumed business for the purpose of settling up his brother's estate. At length, his health again failed and on September 20, 1877, departed this life.
Our subject was a member of Red Wing Lodge No. 8, A.F. and A.M., the Masonic Aid Association, and the Knight Templars, each of which offered resolutions at the time of his death. At a stated conclave of Red Wing Commandery No. 10, K. T., held September 24, 1877, the following preamble and resolutions were adopted:
"WHEREAS, It has pleased Almighty God to remove from our midst our well
beloved brother, Sir Knight John Henry Sparrell; therefore
"Resolved, 1st, That in his death the Commandery has sustained a loss which every member sincerely mourns.
"Resolved, 2d., That we will ever respect and cherish in our memory the manly virtues, the sterling integrity and sincere friendship of our deceased brother.
"Resolved, 3d., That to the bereaved family of the deceased we tender our heartfelt sympathy in this their hour of affliction.
"Resolved, 4th., That a copy of these resolutions be presented to the family of our deceased brother, and spread upon the records of this Commandery."
Fred. Joss, Dwight M. Baldwin, Ira J. Kellogg, Committee
On November 20, 1862, Mr. Sparrell wedded Mazie A. Horr, of Bloomington, Ill. This union was blest with the birth of one child, Daisy S. As it had always been the intention of our subject to have his daughter educated at the Normal School at Bridgewater, Mass., his wishes were carried out by her graduating from that institution in 1882, with high honors.
Springer, John, (page 1149), was the son of a German farmer and butcher, and was born in Cassel, Germany, May 11, 1844. He spent the usual time acquiring a rudimentary education in the common school of the Fatherland, and then learned the trade of blacksmithing, after which he entered the army to serve the allotted time, but at the close of the second year of his military life, he deserted, and took passage at Bremen for America. In the month of December, 1866, he landed at Castle Garden, and at once hastened west to Oakwood township, Wabasha county, Minnesota, where a brother was engaged in agricultural pursuits. He proceeded to erect a shop in Bremen, and worked at the forge here for four years, then worked in Winona for a few years, after which he again resumed his trade in the little shop at Bremen for another period of four years. The spring of 1876 he disposed of his Bremen property, and came to Plainview, where he opened a shop. Five years later he opened warerooms, and began to handle farming implements. He was married in 1870, to Augusta Beyer, daughter of Frederick Beyer, a pioneer farmer of Zumbro township. Five children are the fruit of this union, viz Frank, Willie, Mary, Johny, Bertha. Mr. Springer was postmaster at Bremen under President Grant's administration. Is a republican in politics, a member of the Plainview Lodge of Odd-Fellows.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Stauff, Carl Christian, M.D. (page 989), Lake City, one of the first settlers in the county, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, in 1815; graduated at Rostock Allopathic Medical School in 1836; began practice at Wismar, and in 1840 married Wilhomina Hochman; in 1853 he crossed the Atlantic in the bark Humboldt, and after prospecting for a year he made his home in Cook's Valley, Minnesota, for twelve years, farming; disposing of his property, he moved to Wabasha and engaged in the drug business, which he continued several years. In October 1875, he removed his business to Lake City, taking his youngest son as partner, where a good business and office practice is continued. Three sons and two daughters were given him, all of whom are married. The eldest son, C. J. Stauff, is at present clerk of district court, which office he has held for the past twenty years. F. E. Stauff, second son, resides at Wharpaton, Richland county, Dakota Territory, being county auditor of said county. Was county auditor of Wabasha county two years, also Cass county, Minnesota, six years, after which time he engaged in mercantile business four years at St. Paul. In 1864 he enlisted in the defense of the Union in Co. C, 4th Minn. Vols. F. H. Stauff, junior partner, residing at Lake City, is credited as being the first white child born in the county. Was born August 31, 1855. After leaving school he chose medicine as a business, which he continued for some time; he then was engaged in the wholesale drug house of Wm. H. Torbert, of Dubuque, Iowa. The opportunity thus afforded him to familiarize himself with the complicated knowledge of his business has fitted him for his now responsible occupation, being one of the proprietors of one of the finest drug establishments of any town of its size in the west. Was married September 5, 1883, to Miss Helen S. Brown, of Minneiska. Eliza, eldest daughter, married to Wm. R. Hayes, resides at Argyle, Marshall county, Minnesota. Clara, the youngest, married Capt. Homer Durand, and resides at Toledo, Ohio. Mr. Stauff and wife enjoy the best of health and are proud of their success in rearing a family that is a comfort to them in their declining years.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Charles J. Stauff (page 941), clerk of the district court of the third judicial district of Minnesota, a position he has now held by successive re-election since 1869, is a native of Germany. Attended school there until he was eleven years of age, when he came to America with his father's family (Carl Christian Stauff), who settled in Greenfield township, in this county, on the farm now owned by George Albertson. The date of their arrival at Read's Landing, Wabasha county, was June 20, 1854. Charles was still living on the old home farm when the war broke out in 1861, and on the 13th of February of the following year he enlisted in the 5th Minn. Inf. regt., followed the fortunes of that command until the close of the war, and, having successively promoted through all the intermediate grades, was mustered out as first lieutenant September 27, 1865. Returning to the old homestead he remained one year, then came to Wabasha and was clerk in the general merchandising house of Prindle, Mullen & Co. until 1869, when he was nominated and elected clerk of the court, and still holds that office, his present term expiring in 1886. October 27, 1869, Mr. Stauff married Miss M. I. Durand, of Cook's Valley, in this county. They have one son, Homer C., born December 25, 1874, and now attending school in this city.
Stearns, Ernest (page 974), son of R. E. Stearns, was born in Wabasha August 26, 1860, and has spent his life in his native town, growing up in the schools and business of the town where he was born. In 1877 he began learning the business of photography, and in 1878 commenced for himself. In a short time he had the business of the city and vicinity all to himself. This was a consequence of good work and accommodating methods always practiced by Mr. Stearns. In 1883 he opened and has now in operation one of the most complete photographing establishments in the state. His apparatus, scenery and accessories are of the latest and most improved kind. The establishment is located in the second story of the Hirschy building, a cut of which appears in this work.
Stearns, R. E. (page 974), city recorder and justice of the peace, was elected to these offices in the spring of 1880, and is now serving his second term in each. He is a native of Canada, removed early to the State of New York with his father's family, and was in mercantile business there prior to coming to this city in 1856. Here he took up the trade of stonemason and followed it nearly twenty-five years, until his election to the offices above cited. In September, 1850, he was married in Franklin county, New York, to Miss M. M. Townsend, still living. They have two children, Ernest E., born August 25, 1859, and Charles, born July 22, 1873. (Ernest Stearn's biography shows he was born August 26, 1860)
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Stearns, T. P. (page 1168), agent for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railway, and the Mazeppa Mill Co., at Millville, is a native of Columbia, South Carolina, born in 1848. He is the youngest son of Arba and Catherine G. A. Stearns, the former native of New York and the latter of South Carolina. He resided some in South Carolina and Alabama, but when the war began he joined Gov. Watts' scouts and fought for the country of his birth, a lad though he was. When twenty years old he sought a northern home, his southern one destroyed, and lived with his uncle in Monroe, Wisconsin, for a time. Plainview, this county, was his next home, and after clerking here for five years and then farming for three years he came to Millville, the first express and railway agent and wheat buyer in the place. His present standing shows he has made it a success. He is a Master Mason, Royal Arch Mason and Knight Templar, and has been an Odd-Fellow. He was married in 1883 to Katie A. Holihan, of Wabasha, his second wife. He has one child, Arba L., by his first wife.
Stevens, Henry Albert, (page 1076), barber, Lake City, is a son of F. R. and Angeline Stevens, early residents of this county. Both his parents were born in the village of Osen-obruch, Prussia, and the father died at Wabasha, March 29, 1862, the mother surviving him over eight years, passing away December 28, 1870. They reared three sons and two daughters. Fred R. and John are residents at Uclen, near Crookston, Minnesota. Eliza (Mrs. Joseph Buisson) and Angeline (Andrew Wheeler), dwell at Wabasha. Henry Stevens was born at Petersburg, Rensselaer county, New York, June 3, 1851, and came with his parents to Wabasha in 1858, arriving April 29. His father's death occurred when he was but eleven years old, and upon him devolved largely the care of his mother and sisters. When about fourteen years of age he began to learn his trade, and subsequently worked several years for a liveryman. He was married January 22, 1875, to Miss Mamie Thoney, a native of Switzerland. The same year he came to Lake City and opened the barber-shop he now operates, on Washington street. He now employs two assistants, and in addition a large millinery business is carried on by Mrs. Stevens in the handsome store over the shop. The largest business in both these lines in the city is conducted here. Mr. Stevens was reared under Episcopal tutelage, and affiliates in politics with the democratic party, frequently taking part in its conventions. One child was given him, July 15, 1877, and christened Henry Arthur.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Stocker, Henry Davis, (page 1120), was born in 1936 (Errata page reads "1837"), in Cabot, Caledonia county, Vermont, and inherited from his parents, Rev. Samuel and Jane D. Stocker, the determined spirit and marked characteristics of his New England ancestors. The genealogical history contains also a vein of the rugged Teutonic element, thus combining in the descendants those traits of character which so strongly developed in Capt. Stocker. Most of his education was received in Massachusetts, from which he moved with his parents to McHenry county, Illinois. There in 1858 he commenced the reading of law in the office of Messrs. Joslyn & Hanchett, a prominent law firm of Woodstock, Illinois. In 1861 he left the law for the army, and assisted in raising Co. M of the 16th Ill. Cav., which company he commanded until the battle of Jonesville, Virginia, January 3, 1864, where he and his whole company were made prisoners of war. In this battle Capt. Stocker was so severely wounded, having received two saber cuts on the head, and two bullets in his body, that he could not be removed with his comrades, and he was left at a house near by the scene of battle, where he remained for two months. As his wounds began to heal, he discovered the family under whose roof he was were in sympathy with the Union army, and although he was so ill that a rebel officer stripped him of his clothing, saying as he dragged his overcoat from under his wounded head, "Here, you won't need this much longer, and I shall," yet he longed to escape, that he might die, if indeed he must, under the shadow of the stars and stripes. With the aid of faithful Negroes he was disguised and placed upon a horse, where they conveyed him to the Cumberland mountains and bid him, "Godspeed, Massa." Notwithstanding the reopening of his wounds, and the many difficulties he met with, he reached the Cumberland river in safety, where another Negro, with no small difficulty, obtained a boat for him. Alone the wounded man floated down the stream, until he deemed it safe to cross the country and gain the federal army, where the welcome he received more than compensated for his past sufferings. After a few months furlough, he joined Gen. Sherman's army, in his march to the sea, where he was assigned a position in Gen. Schofield's staff. He participated in the battles of Allatoona and Atlanta, and Kennesaw mountains. Owing to the severity of his wounds, which unfitted him for active field service, he was assigned the position of provost marshall at Nicholasville, Kentucky, which position he held until December, 1864, when on account of the suffering which his unhealed wounds caused him, he was reluctantly compelled to accept an honorable discharge. Directly after his resignation he came to Lake City, where he has not only enjoyed a large and lucrative law practice, but the respect and commendation of his bar associates. Capt. Stocker is a member of all the Masonic orders, In politics is a staunch republican; in religion attends and supports the Congregational church. In 1870 he was married to Mrs. Beulah Grant (also the daughter of a Methodist Episcopal clergyman), the result of this union being three children, Henry Davis, Frederic Henry and Mabel Gertrude, all living.
Stone, Philo ~ limited information available in Chapter 9, 1884 book, "Wabasha and Vicinity."
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Stout, Elijah (page 1284 ~ deceased) was born in Middletown, New Jersey, February 23, 1806. John and Martha Stout, his parents, were also natives of New Jersey. The former served the colonies as a soldier in the revolutionary army, his pretty wife in the meantime attending to affairs at home. One day while she was engaged in boiling soap a passing British officer attempted to kiss her, and received a dab of hot soap in his face for his pains. In early life Elijah Stout went to New York city and engaged in mercantile life. At one time he had two stores in operation there. In 1827 he married here, the bride being Julia A., only daughter of George Cooper, Esq. Thirteen children were the result of this union, six of whom are not living. The mother died in 1850 at Middletown, whither Mr. Stout returned in 1831. He had three stores in Monmouth county, and held the office of assessor from 1831 to 1856, over twenty years, and was judge of the county court over two terms, resigning that office to come west in 1856. July of the latter year found him a resident of Lake City, where his talents and enterprise were needed. He at once took part in the efforts being put forth to establish a city on a moral and business foundation. He was among the first to advocate measures for the general welfare, and was always called upon to preside at public meetings. When the poor or sick needed aid or relief his hand was always ready to minister. When he first came here he served two years as justice of the peace, and afterward till the time of his death as assessor. In politics he was always a democrat, and never forgot his Christian dignity while party strife raged. During the late civil war he was among the foremost and truest supporters of the government. He was a life-long member of the Baptist church, and was among the very few who organized a society here in 1857. He was both an Odd-Fellow and a Mason, and none were more ready to aid in acts of benevolence and charity. He possessed a singularly sympathetic nature, and having once made a friend, held him through life. He was almost invariably requested to conduct the funerals of friends and neighbors. His faith in Christianity continued to the end, and he passed away January 24, 1881, after an illness of nearly three months. In 1854 he married Caroline M., widow of Judge John Murphy, of New York, and mother of Henry C. Murphy, the well-known attorney of New York city. Mrs. Stout still survives, and is resident in New York. Two daughters of Judge Stout were drowned here in June, 1858, under most distressing circumstances, as related elsewhere. Timothy, the second living son, died at Marshall, this state, in the fall of 1883, aged forty-nine years. He served as captain of Co. I, 2d Minn. regt., during the civil war, and was wounded at the battle of Mill Spring. John resides at Minneapolis, Edward in Texas, Caroline (Murray) at Long Branch, Eliza J. (Williamson) at Duluth, and George and James C. in Lake City.
Stout, George C., (page 1285) merchant, Lake City, is the eldest son of Judge Stout, and was born in the State of New York. When quite young, his parents settled in Middletown, New Jersey, and he was reared in that village, receiving the benefit of its advanced schools. He was married in Middlesex county, the bride being Miss Adelaide Perrine, a daughter of Judge John Perrine, of Middlesex county court; the latter came of a long-lived family, having reached the age of eighty-six when he died, in January, 1884. Mrs. Stout's maternal grandmother lived to be over one hundred and one. Mr. Stout became a resident of Lake City April 15, 1857, and has dwelt here continuously since. He engaged in mercantile business, and in 1870 began an exclusive clothing and furnishing goods trade. In 1876 G. M. Dwelle became a partner, and on January 1, 1884, J. C. Hassinger entered the firm. The business is prosperous, and is conducted in a building owned by the firm, corner of Washington and Center streets. It is a double brick, two stories high, and was built in 1882. This structure that stood here April 1, 1882, was totally consumed by fire on the night of the 22d of that month, inflicting a loss of twelve thousand dollars on Stout & Dwelle. There was a partial insurance, and next morning the senior partner started east after a new stock of goods. The present store was at once erected, and stands as a monument to his courage and perseverance. His religion is the golden rule, and his political principles are championed by the republican party. He is at present one of the city council. Three children have been given to Mr. and Mrs. Stout. George, the eldest, is in business in St. Paul. Frances and Ada P. remain to grace the pleasant home of their parents.
Stout, James C., (page 1324) insurance, loan, and real estate agent, Lake City, is a son of Judge Stout, and a brother of George Stout, whose sketches appear on another page, was born at Middletown, New York, August 25, 1840, and came to Lake City with the family in July, 1856. Here he attended the early schools and in 1859 entered the Hamilton University at Madison, New York. On his return to this city he entered the mercantile house of his brother-in-law, H. F. Williamson, and sold out to him in 1866. He then built the brick store on the corner of Washington and Marion streets, at a cost of $8,000, where he conducted a general merchandise business for a number of years, after which he engaged in his present business. For the past year much of his time has been spent in St. Paul, where he is working up an extensive insurance. He was married August 13, 1868, to Miss Agnes Scott, a native of Fremont, New York, and has a family of four children.
Stowell, Albert D., (page 956) farmer, was born August 5, 1851, and has been a resident of this state since four years old. Until eighteen years of age he attended the Mazeppa schools, and afterward spent a year and a half at the state university. He is now engaged in farming in Chester township. September 19, 1873, he was united in marriage to Melinda, daughter of D. L. Philley, named elsewhere. His views on theology are as yet unsettled. In public policy he is a republican.
Stowell, Francis A., (page 956) was one of the pioneers of Mazeppa, taking a claim near the village in 1855. He was seven years justice of the peace in Mazeppa. He is a native of Maine, born in 1818. In 1849 or 1850 he went to Platteville, Wisconsin, and there married Eunice L. Demming. He became a resident of Minnesota, as above noted, and in 1870 removed from Mazeppa to Lac Qui Parle county, settling on a farm near the village of the same name. His eldest child is now a resident of Chester. Besides a son and daughter near Portland, Oregon, six children are with him at home.
War of Rebellion (Civil War)
Stowman, Augustus W., (page 990) farmer, Glasgow, is a native of New Jersey. Beaumont Stowman and Anna Willett were born, reared and married in Philadelphia. They settled on a farm in Harmony, Warren county, New Jersey, where this subject was born to them in May, 1830. His education was supplied by the rate-schools of that day and locality, and when eighteen years of age he went to work in a flourmill. In 1855 he came to Minnesota and took up and made improvements on the land he now occupies, and northeast quarter of section 24. Leaving the land in care of relatives, he returned to Indiana, where his home had been for some time. Here he took a life-partner, March 20, 1860, in the person of Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Squire and Susie Morrison, all of Kentucky birth. In 1861 Mr. Stowman took up his permanent residence here. For four years he was employed as a miller on West Indian creek, in Highland township. He now has a finely-cultivated farm, on which he has erected a comfortable brick dwelling, and is prepared to enjoy life. In February, 1865, he entered the 1st Minn. Heavy Art. as a recruit, and did garrison duty at Chattanooga, Tennessee. His religious faith is represented by the Methodist church, and his political ideas by the democracy. Four children have come to bless his home, and were christened Dora Belle, May, Charles P. and Minnesota.
Stratton, George, (page 1102) was born in Leominster, Massachusetts, March 2,
1827. John Stratton, the father of the present subject, was born in Sherborn,
Massachusetts, and were descended from Samuel Stratton who came to this
country from England in 1652, and located near Watertown, Massachusetts, on
what is now the site of the Mount Auburn cemetery. John Stratton's wife was
Lydia Hyde, a descendant of the Hydes who came to America in 1830, and were
among the first settlers of what is now Newton, Massachusetts. Mr. John
Stratton was a merchant and did business in Leominster, and was also the
possessor of a fine farm. George was his eldest child, and was afforded a good
education, obtained chiefly at the Lunenburg Academy. Not being of a
trafficking turn of mind, young Stratton did not take kindly to his father's
calling, and at the age of twenty-one, having picked up some knowledge of the
house-painter's art, formed a copartnership with Xenophon Adams, of
Leominster, and opened up a shop. Being a clever manipulator of the brush, he
succeeded, and continued to follow the business for several years. He also had
charge of the machinery of a button factory, envelope factory, and other
machinery in turn for several years prior to his coming to Minnesota. In 1861
he came to visit a brother at Plainview, and, being pleased with the county,
and finding plenty of work at good wages, decided to remain here. Although Mr.
Stratton has never taken to himself a wife, he has made himself a nice home in
the village of Plainview. During his life he has found time to use the brush
of the artist, as well as that of the painter, and has several finely executed
works of art as a result.
Transcriber's note: The Hydes must have come to America in 1630, not 1830
Strickland, Edward, (page 1166 ~ deceased) was born in Goosnargh, Lancashire, England, August 2, 1811. He early learned the trade of mason and builder, which occupied most of his life. Married March 27, 1840, the bride being Miss Ann Knight, born December 22, 1820, within nine miles of her husband's birthplace. In 1849 Mr. Strickland came to America and settled at Joliet, Illinois, where he remained eighteen years and followed his trade. In 1863 he bought eighty acres of land on section 13, Zumbro, on which he dwelt from 1867 till his death, July 20, 1879. Besides his widow, four children survive him, as here named: Isabella, born June 2, 1843, married Abram King, resides LaCrescent; Richard (see below-born December 24, 1845); John, December 5, 1848, Zumbro Falls; William, December 2, 1854, this town; James T., November 11, 1859, died August 2, 1883. The parents were reared as Episcopals.
Strickland, Richard, (page 1166) was born in Blackburn, Lancashire, England, December 24, 1845. He was seven years old when he came to the United States, and twenty-two on arrival here. His education was supplied by the common schools of Illinois. Has always followed farming. In 1873 bought forty acres of land on section 23, where he resides. Was married January 15, 1876, to Viola O'Connor, born in Dodge county, Wisconsin, January 15, 1848. Mr. and Mrs. Strickland are members of the Wesleyan Methodist church. Like his father, the former is a democrat. Their children were born as follows: Willis Edward, July 20, 1878; Ethel Irene, June 4, 1882.
Struble, Stephen, (page 1159) one of the wealthiest farmers of Plainview township,
is a native of Ohio, and was born about twelve miles northwest from
Cincinnati, on August 24, 1828. His father, Joseph Struble, was a son of one
of the first settlers in that part of Ohio, and was also born in the same
county. His mother was the daughter of a Hamilton county farmer by the name
of Street, and was one of a family of ten children, all living. Mr. Struble
received a common-school education, and engaged in farming, removing with his
parents in 1846, to Columbus, Indiana. At the age of twenty-one, he and a
brother received the title to three hundred acres of land in Indiana. He
continued to occupy this farm until 1867, when ill health induced him to
dispose of this place, and seek a more salubrious climate. This he found on
Greenwood prairie, where he bought three hundred and twenty acres of land on
section 16, in Plainview, from C. O. Landon, and has ever since continued to
make it his home. His residence, which cost him over four thousand dollars,
and is one of the finest farmhouses in Wabasha county, is surrounded by a
beautiful grove of young evergreens and fruit-trees, and is situated one mile
and a quarter east of Plainview. He makes a specialty of stock-raising-horses
and hogs-and has ample barn accommodations for his extensive business in this
line. His farm buildings, including his house, have cost him more than nine
thousand dollars. He was married to Emily J. Graves, daughter of Lyman Graves,
of New York State, March 17, 1853. The following children have been born to
them: Elva (Mrs. J. C. Pope, of Lac qui Parle county); Alice (Mrs. Hayden
French, of Big Stone county); Edward L., farmer, of Plainview township;
George, Delia, Orlando, Grace, Xenia and Stephen Wayne, at home. Mr. Struble
is a democrat in politics, has been a supervisor, and is at present a member
of the Plainview school-board. His religious views are expressed by the creed
of the Universalists.
Stuetzel, Frank, (page 1191) wholesale and retail dealer in wines and liquors, north side Main street, one door west of National Bank. Mr. Stuetzel is a native of Bavaria, Europe, from which country he came to America in 1871. After spending two years in New York and Missouri, Mr. Stuetzel came to Wabasha, where he was engaged in clerking for John Duke, until the spring of 1876, when he left the county for the Black Hills. Returning to Wabasha the same fall, he entered the grain house of Laurence and Kriek, and was in their employ, purchasing grain, for three years. He then formed a partnership with Mr. J. G. Laurence, for the purpose of carrying on a grocery business, which was managed three years by Mr. Stuetzel, and then sold out to L. H. Whitmore. The same season, spring of 1883, Mr. Stuetzel opened his liquor house, where he carried a stock of about four thousand dollars' worth. October 2, 1879, Mr. Stuetzel married Barbara, daughter of Phillip and Phillippena Reck, born in this city July 20, 1856. They have two children, Phillip, born October 20, 1880 and Phillippena, born September 18, 1882.
Sullivan, Florence, (page 1218) Mazeppa, was born in Madison county, New York, June 25, 1858, and was but three years old when he came to Minnesota. His education was furnished by the common schools, and he remained on the farm till of age. He was married in 1875, to Rachael Woy, born in Jo Daviess county, Illinois. Mrs. Sullivan's father, Enos Woy, was one of the pioneers of Wabasha county, and now resides at Providence, this state. Mr. Sullivan was engaged in farming till 1881, when he settled in this village. He is a member of Mazeppa lodge, I.O.O.F., and in politics is a democrat. He was reared in the Roman Catholic church, but does not now give allegiance to that sect. Two children have been born to him, christened as follows: January 19, 1879, Lillian; January 17, 1883, Frances. Mr. Sullivan's father, Michael, was born in the Parish of Dinmaer, County Kerry, Ireland, in 1830. When of age he came to New York, and was there married in 1852, to Ann Hogan, a native of County Carlow, Ireland. He settled near Mazeppa in 1850. He subsequently removed to Chester, where he now lives.
Sumner, H. S., (page 1247) bookkeeper, son of Timothy and Mary Sumner, was born at Killingly, Connecticut, in 1852. His early life was that of a farmer boy, working on the farm summers and attending district school winters, till eighteen years of age. At this time he visited Providence, Rhode Island, and on becoming engaged in business, remained till 1881, when he became possessed of the idea, "Go west, young man"; so he came west as far as Winona, Minnesota. Since then he has lived in different portions of the state, and has made one short stay in Rhode Island. At present he is in the employ of D. F. Brooks & Co. In politics he is a straight republican. Is a member of the I.O.G.T.
Sylvester, George W., (page 1008) born April 6, 1828, died September 6, 1876. His
father, Caleb Sylvester, was a farmer and surveyor, and resided at Phillips,
Maine, where the subject of this sketch was born, and received a common-school
education. In 1844 the Sylvester family removed to Wisconsin, and located on a
farm near Platteville, in the vicinity of the lead mines, where the boys found
employment. In 1851 George, in company with his brother Charles, crossed the
plains with an ox-team, and found their way into the gold diggings of
California. In 1854 he returned, via the isthmus of Panama, bringing back
about two thousand dollars as the fruits of his three years' toil in the
mines. The fall of the following year he came to Minnesota, and located a
claim on the S.E. 1/4 of Sec. 25, in Plainview township. He spent that winter
at his Wisconsin home, and on March 18, 1856, was married to Miss Matilda
Cook, daughter of Henry Cook, a Wisconsin farmer. This lady was born November
5, 1838, in the township of Waterloo, province of Quebec. The May following
his marriage found Mr. Sylvester and his bride in possession of their new
Minnesota home, and here he spent the remainder of his life in improving and
beautifying his chosen home. Mr. Sylvester was a skillful carpenter, and
devoted most of his time to that vocation. In 1860 he erected a large barn
which he painted red, and was soon widely known as the "Big Red Barn." The
present residence was not erected until 1875. His family now resides in the
village of Plainview, and consists of Mrs. Sylvester and five children, viz:
Edwin L., born March 16, 1859, bookkeeper in the Plainview Bank, educated at
the Plainview High School; Hattie A.; G. Franklyn, telegraph operator at St.
Joseph, Minn.; Electra A., and Nellie M. Mr. Sylvester was from the first
prominently identified with the religious work in Plainview, being a member of
the Methodist Episcopal church; he was also a member of both the Masonic and
Odd-Fellows fraternities of Plainview, and was at one time on the township
board of supervisors, and was more or less prominently identified with county
politics. Mr. Sylvester was the first postmaster of the Woodland office.