From "A Reprint of Goodspeed's 1888 History of Lawrence County; Reprint Lawrence County Section of Goodspeed's Newton, Lawrence, Barry And McDonald Counties History; published by the Goodspeed Publishing Co., in 1888; Reprinted by Litho Printers Of Cassville, Missouri In 1973." as transcribed by Judy Johnson Reustle.
Go to Goodspeed Pages 1-89
Back to Lawrence County Histories
Cumberland Presbyterian.--When Revs. A. A. Young and T. M. Johnston arrived in the Southwest, in May, 1836, they found Revs. Greenfield Buchanan, John W. McCord and Jonathan Blair in possession of the ministerial field. In the fall of that year the Ozark Presbytery, of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church was held at Alford Moore’s house, on Spring River, in Barry County. In the spring of 1837 Mr. Young moved to a point near Verona, with Ann Steel, whom he married in February, and resided there until his death, March 13, 1880. Rev. Abel Burton came about the same time, and also settled in the valley of Spring River. The Centre Creek Church, in Jasper County, was the nearest church building, and this, with New Providence Church, near Springfield, were the first Cumberland Churches in Southwest Missouri. Out of Centre Creek Church have grown the societies of Clear Creek, Peirce City, Ritchey, Mount Comfort, Newtonia, Sarcoxie, Bethel and Spring River; the latter organized October 9, 1838, with A. A. Young, pastor. Out of this grew the societies of Mount Vernon, Big Spring, Verona, Aurora, Mars Hill, Marionville, Ozark Prairie and smaller organizations.
The Cumberland Church, of Marionville, dates back to 1860, when thirty-two citizens of that neighborhood petitioned the Ozark Presbytery to establish a congregation here. The petitioners were Jared Ryker, Bythinia Ryker, Mary Ryker, Henry P. Gill, Sarah A. Gill, Martha Haun, Jane Gillispie, Susan D. Gillispie, Nancy Amos, W. K. Shook, Elizabeth and Nannie F. Shook, Margaret and Martha M. Jarrett, Mary, Mary B. and
Sarah Adams, Margaret Torbit, Eliza Fonville, Delila Smith, James N. Ford, N. W. Haun, Olive Wilson, Eliza A. Hight, Sarah A. Haile, Andrew Baine, Matilda Alexander, Marcina Torbit, Martha Torbit, Sarah J. Williams, Sarah Hix and Margaret Baine. Revs. D. W. Amos and Robert Waters were the organizers. April 4, 1860, N. W. Haun and James N. Ford were elected ruling elders; W. K. Shook, deacon; Jared Ryker and H. P. Gill, ruling elders in older societies, were chosen elders here, and Robert Waters was selected to fill the pulpit. Before the storm of war broke over Missouri this young congregation had a house of worship completed. On July 22, 1860, the church session was held in the old Baptist Church near Marionville.
The Cumberland Church, of Aurora, dates to May 12, 1877, when Rev. A. A. Young organized a society here. The names of original members are David Wheat, Rachel Wheat, George W. Rinker, Mary L. Rinker, George W. Wheat, Sarah Wheat, Rache V. Hughey, Charles Wheat, Jared Ryker, Bythinia Ryker, Maria White, P. E. Ryker, W. P. Hemphill, M. C. Parker, P. E. Sullivan and Louisa Wright. Rev. James D. Springer was the first pastor. Rev. W. H. Wilson is the present incumbent. George W. Rinker has served as recording steward since the establishment of the church. There are now 129 members, owning a house of worship valued at $1,500. Of original members only one is dead. Seven were dismissed by letter and eight are still in communion; but one case of expulsion is known, and only two members have been suspended. The growth has been gradual and the work pleasant. The Sunday-school numbers 120.
In the fall of 1864 Preachers C. C. Williamson and R. J. Simms advertised a revival meeting at Mount Vernon, but owing to Price’s raid they failed to appear, when Mr. Young took charge and conducted the services (the male members of his congregation being all armed), and won 100 converts, together with raising $1,000 to pay a debt then due on the church at Mount Vernon. At the close of the war he was the only Cumberland Presbyterian preacher in the Neosho Presbytery. In October, 1867, J. B. Woods, J. W. Moore, J. H. Woods and William A. McCanse called a meeting of the Cumberland Church to consider the question of organization. On November 9 F. M. Lebow, R. H. Lan-
drum and S. E. Roberts, with the other incorporators, organized. In later years Rev. W. M. Freeze and J. A. Dunlap presided over this church.
The Cumberland Presbyterian Church, of Peirce city, one of the oldest churches in the city, has for eighteen years kept up its organization, in spite of the fact that a number of its principal members have either passed to the “great beyond” or have moved from the city. The Rev. S. R. Shull is now pastor.
The Cumberland Church, of Verona, was organized in 1872, with Elders J. M. White, Elijah Browning, R. C. Lewis and John F. Marbut, members. The pastors, in the order of service, were H. D. Kennedy, W. C. McBride, James F. Gracy, H. L. Dickey, N. T. Marlow, F. A. Dunlap, J. J. Henry, J. D. Springer. John F. Marbut is secretary. The membership is fifty-three. Their church building, erected in 1872, is valued at $2,500.
The question of building a Cumberland Presbyterian Church at Peirce City was decided affirmatively in August, 1870. Mount Zion Cumberland Presbyterian Church building, five miles southeast of Mount Vernon, was completed in 1868. The contract for building the Presbyterian Church and Academy, at Mount Vernon, was awarded to Benjamin & Russel, of Marionville, for $3,840, in April, 1888.
Methodist Churches.--The Methodist Episcopal Church South, of Sarcoxie, may be said to have been founded in 1837, by Rev. Sam Colburn. In 1838 it was made a circuit station, with H. K. Armitage in charge. He was followed by C. F. Dryden. In 1847 this circuit was divided into Mount Vernon and Carthage, with Rev. Charles Boles in charge of the latter, and from that date the name does not appear on the records until the division of the Carthage circuit into Carthage and Peirce City. The latter changed to Sarcoxie prior to 1877, over which W. M. McAllister presided that year as preacher. In 1877 a church was built at Red Oak, also a parsonage, while preparations for buildings were made at Peirce City and Dry Valley. In 1877 this circuit embraced the churches of Joplin, Webb city, Orongo and Harmony Grove. At Carthage there was no organization of Southern Methodists in 1877. Webb City, then two years old, was without a church. Rev. H. G.
Joplin was one of the first Protestant ministers in Southwest Missouri. In his honor Joplin Creek was named, and from this creek the town takes its name.
In July, 1881, the colored Methodists took measures to rebuild their church on the site of their first building, which was destroyed by the storm. F. H. Small was then presiding elder.
The Methodist Episcopal Church at Peirce City is modern. Although the preacher was here in the days of the old Mount Pleasant, his work only materialized a few years ago, when seventeen members joined together to build the present brick house of worship, and completed it at a cost of $4,500. The membership at present is about 100, sixty-three of whom were added during the pastorate of Rev. R. T. Smith.
Concerning Wesley Chapel it is known that the first regularly appointed preacher at Peirce City was J. H. McGehee, in 1871. The organization of the society was perfected under the pastorate of J. A. Swift, in 1872. The present house of worship, an elegant frame, with a seating capacity of 250, was built in 1881, while G. H. Williamson was pastor. The dedicatory sermon was delivered by Dr. C. C. Woods in May, 1881. The present pastor, D. B. Price, was appointed to this station October 1, 1886, and re-appointed October 1, 1887. Harmony and peace characterize all of the operations of the church. Since the present pastor entered the work a cozy parsonage has been erected, at a cost of $750. The present membership is 105.
Methodist Episcopal Church of Marionville was organized in 1870, by Rev. R. W. McMaster. David T. Bruck was received December, 21, 1870; in 1871 W. A. Hubbard, D. N. Netherton, W. L. Cowden, J. D., S. J., Eliza, E. J., F. P., Charles B. and Dorcas Williams, of Crane Creek; in 1872 J. W. Kennedy, W. W. Prichard, Eliza Kimberlin, Cal. Stewart, George Wallace (colored), Eliza Grummet, Harriet Maples, Emily Swadley, Eliza Frazier, Martha C. Johnson, H. Wallace, Susan E. Weise, Isabell Lill and Rosetta Craft. In September, 1872, Rev. A. J. Stewart was pastor, who served until April, 1874, when Rev. J. A. Smith took charge. On the record of pastors are the names of J. W. D. Ensey, 1869; John Garner, 1868; James M. Jones,
1866-67. After Mr. Smith’s term, George W. Murray was pastor, in 1876; A. N. Fields, 1877; A. N. Odell, 1878; B. F. Pool, 1879; G. W. Murray, 1881; Jacob Miller, 1883; J. J. Martin, 1886-88. In 1886 the society worshiped in the college chapel, and continue so to do. Some time after Mr. Martin’s appointment steps were taken to build a house of worship. Rev. T. H. Haggerty (who subscribed $250), J. H. Dameron, John H. Jarrett and others responded so liberally to Mr. Martin’s appeal for aid, so that he was enabled to begin work October 28, 1887, and push the building forward to its completion in July, 1888, free of debt.
In January, 1870, work on the new Methodist Episcopal Church at Mount Vernon was begun, and the building dedicated December 25, that year.
The new Methodist Episcopal Church on Rock Prairie, near Judge Harshbarger’s, was dedicated March 14, 1875.
The corner stone of the Methodist Episcopal Church building at Peirce City was placed October 6, 1881.
The German Methodist Church on Spring River, six miles southwest of Mount Vernon, was dedicated August 16, 1885.
The Methodist Episcopal Church building at Phelps was dedicated June 7, 1887, by Rev. W. V. Hamel, P. E. , and T. H. Knease, pastor.
In September, 1887, the church at Lawrenceburg was dedicated.
The foundation of the new Methodist Episcopal Church at Marionville was placed in November, 1887.
Mount Vernon Circuit comprises New Liberty, Shilo, Munsey, Mount Vernon, Oak Grove, Northfield, Onward, Verona, St. Elmo, McNeal. The official members are: Trustees--B. K. Turk, W. R. Harley, Gleaves Turk, H. L. W. Hill, Dr. W. C. Wilkerson, I. J. West, I. J. Brown, Giles Collier, William McNeal, M. J. Faris, William Lowe, James E. Grant. Stewards--B. K. Turk, district steward; Dr. W. C. Wilkerson, recording steward; M. J. Faris, William Lowe, I. J. Brown, Wash Williams, James Nickle, William Mc-
Neal, J. Arnheart, Robert Friar, W. Irby, B. Tatum, J. M. Hagard, A. Turn and James Beck. Class Leaders--Mark Cochran, D. W. Mason, Grant Ruark, Charles Collier, Ira McIntosh, H. Hope and M. Gillilan. Sunday-school Superintendents--M. J. Morgan, Frank Smith, Fate Paris, William McNeal and Glanvil West. Church Secretaries--Wood Paris, Robert Box, H. L. W. Hill, Charles Collin, B. K. Turk, William Turk, Frank Smith and John Cavner. Committee on Sick and Poor--Sister M. J. Faris, Giles Collier and wife, Brother I. J. West and wife, John Yingst and wife, Ira McIntosh, Miss Mary Smith and A. Turk and wife. The present pastor is W. H. Morehead, formerly of Ash Grove, succeeding J. A. Matthews.
Mountain Home Church, one-half mile from Lawrenceburg, held a revival in October, 1887, during which fourteen members were added. Elder, B. M. Neil.
The Big Spring Church is four miles west of Mount Vernon.
The Methodist Church of Phelps was organized in May, 1875. The names of original members are Levi H. Tarter, Nancy Tarter, Betsy Ruby, William T. Robinson, Mary E. Robinson, Emma Robinson, William Hinshaw, Elizabeth Smith, John R. Elmore, Catharine Elmore, H. Wooten, Mary J. Wooten. The names of Pastors: T. B. Tennall, James Barber, J. M. Darby, H. H. Ashbaw, Thomas H. Knease, Rev. Smith. Names of Secretaries: J. M. Pennington and William T. Robinson. The present number of members is forty, owning property valued at $1,000.
In 1886-87 Neosho District comprised the following circuits and preachers: Neosho Station, W. C. Bewley; Newtonia Circuit, J. W. Ezell; Exeter Circuit, J. J. Kellar; Pineville Circuit, W. A. Derrick; Sarcoxie Circuit, T. M. Shirron; Peirce City Station, D. B. Price; Red Oak Circuit, J. M. Kennett; Webb City Station, J. D. Wood; Carterville Station, R. W. Reynolds; Carthage Station, J. N. Huggins; Jasper Circuit, R. G. Flummer; Sheldon Circuit, C. A. Emmons; Nevada Station, C. C. Woods; Nevada Circuit, V. J. Sevier; Hume Circuit, L. H. Vandiver; Sprague Circuit, A. B. Donaldson; Rich Hill Station, H. S. Shangle.
Neosho District, with Joseph King, P. E., comprised the following circuits and preachers in 1877-78: Neosho Station, J. D. Wood; Newtonia Circuit, L. H. Davis; Exeter Circuit, J. R. Har-
gis, supply; Pineville and Southwest Circuit, B. M. and W. P. Barrett; Seneca Circuit, B. H. Gragg; Peirce City Station, D. B. Price; Red Oak Circuit, J. J. Kellar; Webb City Station, W. 0. Bewley; Carterville and Sarcoxie, R. W. Reynolds; Carthage Station, J. H. Todd; Jasper Circuit, R. G. Flummer; Sheldon Circuit, C. A. Emmons; Nevada Station, C. C. Woods, M. Duren, supply; Nevada Circuit, V. J. Sevier; Hume Circuit, I. A. Thomas; Sprague Circuit, A. B. Donaldson; Rich Hill Station, H. S. Shangle; Montevallo Circuit, Ben. V. Alton.
Baptist Churches.--The old Baptist Church (Regular Baptist) was established on Spring River prior to 1838. Some time later the association was organized, and for the last ten years Col. Allen has been clerk. The first log building, about four miles below Verona, gave place to the present building, erected in 1868.
The society furnished the Christian Church at Verona with seats, and, in consideration thereof, claim certain days on which to worship therein. W. B. Allen is clerk. Elder W. R. Davis has been preacher here continuously since 1842 or 1843.
The forty-third annual meeting of the Clear Creek Regular Baptist Association was held in September, 1887. Spring River Church was represented by messengers Elder William R. Davis and brethren John D. Allen, John Ogle and William B. Allen. The statistics of the church show a total number of twentv-six. William B. Allen is church clerk.
Clear Creek Church was represented by messengers Henry Alberty, Jorday Snider, William Pryor and D. P. Williams. Statistics of the church are as follows: Died, one; total membership, twenty-one. D. P. Williams is church clerk.
The Baptist Church (Clear Creek) of Peirce City was established May 11, 1840. The names of the original members are Samuel Hulett, Alberty Brite, John Jackson, Harold Hammons, David Guthrie, Abigail Hulett, Polly Brite, Elender Jackson and Elizabeth Hammons. Elders Abel Lee, Greenville Spencer and A. May composed the presbytery that constituted the church.
The names of the pastors are Rev. A. May, ten years, first pastor, 1842; second pastor, C. C. Riley, one year, 1850; third pastor, William B. Taliaferro, ten years, from 1851 to 1861;
fourth pastor, F. J. Oliver, one year, 1866; fifth pastor, Israel Harris, one year, 1867; sixth pastor, D. P. Morris, five years, 1868 to 1870; seventh pastor, J. K. Northcut, four years, 1873 to 1877; eighth pastor, F. M. Bowman, 1877 to 1880; L. E. Martin, 1880 to 1883; C. R. Stephens, 1883 to 1886; F. Menebee, 1886 to 1888; T. G. Hendrix is supplying, subject to call.
The names of the secretaries are David Guthrie, 1840; Cary Boucher, 1844; Festus Stark, 1844 to 1872; G. W. Stark, 1872 to 1877; J. W. Brite, 1877 to 1881; S. P. Brite, 1881 to 1885; A. G. Brite, 1885 to 1888; J. C. Pike, five months, 1888; A. D. Key, present clerk.
The old building was erected in 1855, and used until 1884, when the present house of worship was erected. The value of this property is $4,000, while the membership is 160.
Round Grove Baptist Church was organized in September, 1865, with the following original members: Jonathan Hunt, Joseph Poland, Atlanta Crouch, Martha S. Poland, Daniel Hunt, John Hunt, Indianda Poland, Elizabeth Poland, Sarah E. Poland, Mary Hunt, Malinda S. Hunt, Joseph Alison, Sarah J. Higgins, John H. Higgins, Reuben Poland.
The pastors have been H. C, Lollar, Elder Barns, L. S. Collins, William Jones, Elder Land, Z. T. Eaton, L. E. Cannady, L. Jordan, J. B. Horn, A. J. Alexander.
The names of the secretaries are Reuben Poland, J. M. Hunt, D. J. Hunt, J. W. Hunt, U. H. Glasscock, J. Hogland. The present membership is 160, and the value of the property $600.
The Baptist Church of Aurora was founded in November, 1870, the membership being taken principally from the old Baptist Society of Buck Prairie. The first members were G. W. Morris, J. W. Parker, Eppy Sullivan, C. Seburn,. David Seburni, Preston Sullivan, Claburn Sullivan, Ellis Neece, Elisha Landers, Amon Carr, S. P. McKinley, A. M. Qualls, James Askins, Harrison Neece, Mary Neece, Sarah Sullivan, Salemma I)errick, Elizabeth Sullivan, M. J. Seburn, Mary Sullivan, Esther Sullivan, Sarah Mills, Jane Alexander, S. W. Sullivan, Mary Neece, Sr., Rebecca Carr, Sarah Askins, Elizabeth Qualls. The present membership is 100, owning property valued at $800. The pastors in order of service are named as follows: Ellis Neece, Isaac Stanley,
J. G. Moss, C. W. Keelin, W. J. Linsey and W. H. C. Lollar. The clerks have been J. W. Parker, B. Wheeler, I. Irby, L. G. Mattingly, and the first named now serving.
The Marionville Baptist Church dates its foundation from February 22, 1879. The names of original members are S. R. Stafford and wife, W. R. Mahurin and wife, Nancy Elsey, T. J. Tyler and wife, Nancy A. Gardner, E. B. Robinson and wife, Theodosia Robinson, Mary Perryman and Mary Casey; J. G. Lemmon, clerk. Names of pastors: F. M. Bowman, H. C. Lollar and H. G. Youngblood; and the names of secretaries: J. G. Lemmon, E. B. Robinson, C. D. Turner, William Logan, Rufus Newman, R. H. Fite. The membership is 100, owning property valued at $2,000.
In April, 1875, Rev. McCord Roberts located at Verona as pastor of the Baptist Churches at Billings, Verona, Newtonia, Granby and Neosho. Mr. Sills was here for seven years. Rev. H. C. Lollar, who succeeded Mr. Sills in 1887, is now taking steps to build a house of worship at Verona. There are three Baptist societies at Verona--one Swedish one Regular and one Missionary. In the fall of 1868 the new meeting-house of the old Baptists on Spring River was begun. The Baptists at Mount Vernon began work on their church building in July, 1869, Ira Creech being contractor. The Missionary Baptist Church of Mount Pisgah is three miles north of Mount Vernon. The Baptist Sunday-school at Mount Vernon was organized in April, 1874, with Elder Powell, W. M. Peak, John Cecil, W. N. Davis and William Decker, officers. At this time the Methodist Sunday-school was re-organized, with E. H. Hinshaw, president.
The stations, preachers, clerks and number of members represented at the eighth annual meeting of the Lawrence County Association of Baptists, held in 1878, are given as follows: Aurora, Rev. Isaac Standlee; H. Neece, clerk; sixty members. Bethel, Rev. L. Allen; J. W. Lee, clerk; forty. Big Spring, Rev. James K. Pruitt; J. P. Johnson, clerk; --. Charity, Rev. Isaac Standlee; Thomas Newman, clerk; ninety-eight. Center Creek, Rev. J. K. Northcut; --, clerk; --. Fellowship, Rev. L. E. Cannady; R. P. Colley, clerk; sixty-nine. Marionville, Rev. Isaac Standlee; E. B. Robinson, clerk; forty-seven. Mount Olivet,
Rev. J. K. Pruitt; Lamon Pruitt, clerk; eighty-four. Mount Vernon, Rev. H. C. Lollar; J. W. Davis, clerk; fifty. Mount Pisgah, Rev. H. C. Lollar; A. N. Bridges, clerk; ninety-five. Macedonia (no letter or messenger). Pleasant Ridge, Rev. F. Haddock; S. B. Arms, clerk; sixty-seven. Pleasant Grove (no letter or messenger). Prosperity, Rev. R. C. Gilmore; J. W. Smart, clerk; seventy-one. Round Grove, Rev. Z. T. Eaton; D. J. Hunt, clerk; 111. Spring River, Rev. James Spain; Daniel Lee, clerk; seventy-five. Sycamore, Rev. J. H. Glasscock; J. F. Hopper, clerk; forty-six. Smyrna, Rev. J. H. Glasscock; H. Edington, clerk; thirty-six. Verona, Rev. J. C. Sills; G. C. Kelley, clerk; forty.
Congregational Church.-- The Congregational Church of Peirce City was founded May 12,1872, with the following named members: C. H. Halstead, Mrs. C. H. Halstead, L. L. L. Allen, Mrs. L. L. L. Allen, E. Skewes, Mrs. E. Skewes and Mrs. A. L. White; first deacon, C. H. Halstead. The names of pastors are T. A. Wickes, M. Smith, O. Brown, James McLean, James Deighton, S. Stone and George S. Ricker. (Since November, 1885.) The clerks of the church since Major Skewes' time are given in the following list: Mrs. A. L. White, B. H. Ager, L. L. L. Allen, C. O. Brooks, H. C. Shoemaker and C. E. Allen. The membership of the society is 140, and of the Sunday-school, of which L. L. L. Allen is superintendent, 200. The church building, erected in 1875, is valued at $5,000, and the parsonage, built subsequently, $3,300.
Catholic Church.--The first Catholic mission established in this district is known as the old church of Sarcoxie Prairie. Early in the seventies Revs. Fathers Noon, H. H. O'Rielly, M. Mackin, James O'Rielly and William McCormick were priests of the mission.
The church at Peirce City is contemporary with the beginnings of the town; but not until thirteen years ago were there regular services held, when Father Graham, now of St. Joseph, and Father Kussman, of Booneville, visited this missionary district. As a parish it was first presided over by Father --, next by Rev. A. M. J. Hynes, succeeded by Rev. Daniel
Healy, the present pastor. The old church building, known as St. John's, is now St. Patrick's school-house. The new church building, begun May 2, 1887, is l00x50 feet, outside measurement; the basement cost over $5,000, and the completion of the building is estimated to cost $15,000 or $18,000 more. The number of families forming the congregation is 150, and the number of members 1,000. In the spring of 1888 the large bell for the new church was received. The members of the bell committee were Miss B. Woulfe, Elizabeth Banahan, Little Mary Larkin, Mary Randall, Mary Cass, Anna Larkin, Mary Murphy, Catherine Murphy, Angeline Stuckey, Dorothy Stuckey, Veronica Stuckey, May Stuckey, Mary McCurry, Mary Holland, Ellen Holland, Margaret O'Brien, Anna O'Brien, Stasia O'Brien, Elizabeth O'Brien, Mary Kiley, Honora Kiley, Mary Noonan, Caroline Schwartz, Louisa Schwartz, Nora Burke, Mary Fitzgerald, Teresa Anthoney, Ellen O'Brien, Mary N. O'Brian (C. D.), Mary Tole, Sarah Kane, Nettie Allen, Mary Cotton, Mary E. Murray (H. D.), Mary Murray (Monett), Sarah Crowell, Anna Connolly, Catherine O'Keefe, Josephine Zerboni, Anna Kane, Mary Woulfe, Anna Driscoll, Elizabeth Woulfe, Catherine Woulfe, Lusan Woulfe, Sarah Tole, Lilly Banahan, Julia Martin, Catherine Lannigan, Catherine Murphy, Rev. D. Healy, Anna Lyons, Catherine Kelly and Elizabeth Winn.
The other contributors, including Catholics and non-Catholics, were G. A. Purdy, L. L. Allen, I. P. Linzee, Joseph Smith, A. L. White, Mrs. John Cass;, Mrs. James Ryan, Francis Quinn, B. Guinney, James Murphy (Monett), Michael Murphy, (Monett), John McGrath (Monett), John Murray (Monett), Thomas Murphy, Mrs. Thomas Murphy, Mrs. Wentworth, Mrs. James Mansfield, Mrs. Henderson, Mrs. John Martin, Mrs. A. Clark, Dr. Quigley, O. H. George, B. Mulrenin, C. Cowan, F. Pfaff, J. Thielen, Heisserer, Alice Stuckey, A. Newman, J. B. Wright, J. P. Stollenwerk, W. Thielen, Z. Pratt, Miss Julia Barry, Miss Maria Barry, Miss Margaret Carey, Frederick Alberts, Mrs. O'Daniel, Mrs. C. Cary, Mrs. E. Fagan, Spilman & Schoen, H. C. Mills, Mrs. P. Martin, Mrs. Michael O'Brien, Mrs. McNamara, Cummings, Mrs. Sharpey, G. Lopp, Dr. H. V. Worley, B. H. McNamaro, R. W. Jones, Brite & Wicks, Saunders & Biddlecome, Mrs. Madden,
Mrs. John Casey, Mrs. Powers, Velton (Arizona), James Baker, Joseph Beaumont, F. R. Fay, A. LeGrand, Callaway, Mrs. Seufert (Talmage), J. P., (Talmage), C. Featherstone (Talmage), Mrs. John Breman (Talmage), Mrs. McGalligan, Mrs. E. Sweeney, E. Sweeney, F. D. Cunningham, John Higgins, O'Connor, Williams, H. Byrne, Miss A. O'Brien, J. C. Prickett, Dann Brothers, C. A. Funk, Tarpey, P. Ryan.
The Catholic Church of Verona may be said to have been established by Father.Kausman in 1873. In 1876 St. John's Parish was founded. Rev. John Henness was the second priest here. He was succeeded by Father Heinz, or Hynes, of Peirce City. In February, 1883, Rev. Joseph Beck took charge of the parish, and served until the coming of Rev. Francis Becker, in 1886. He was succeeded by Rev. Basil Odermatt, 0. S. B., in February, 1888. The congregation is made up of 400 families. Among the first members were A. Lommer, M. Francka, I. Pfitzner, John Koehler, Sr., Paul Probstfield, I. Schembera, I. Schweda, Frederick Odekoven, S. Irick, J. Seitnater, F. Riedle, Joseph Irick, Joseph Greener, F. Oprawill, Michael Bembridge and John Kendrigan, and their wives. The church at Monett dates back to the winter of 1887-88, when Rev. Daniel Healy, of Peirce City, visited the Catholics of this new town. Early in 1888 the Town Company donated a lot and Mr. Callinan another lot, upon which it is intended to erect a large church building.
Christian Church.--The Christian Church of Aurora was founded in 1871, with the following named original membership: John C. McNatt, Judy McNatt, Frank Clayton, J. R. Woodfill, William McNatt, John Stuart and others. The names of pastors are Revs. Joe Roberts, Kirk Baxter, Clark Smith, W. B. Cochran for the last ten years. The present membership is 150, with property valued at $1,000.
The church at Verona is a strong organization. At Peirce City there is another large society, while scattered throughout the county many smaller organizations of this denomination are to be found.
At a meeting to consider the question of building a Christian house of worship at Mount Vernon, held August 1, 1876, at Mrs.
J. P. Porter's house, Elder E. P. Cake presided, with John T. Teel, secretary. Mrs. S. Boothe reported that subscriptions in cash and labor amounted to $1,014.80. A building committee was appointed, comprising R. H. Landrum, John T. Teel, Porter Jones, J. F. Hargrove and A. Erickson. Later, Mrs. Boothe, Mrs. Millie Porter, Mrs. Clay Wear, Miss Fannie Catts and Thomas H. Jones were instructed to collect all the promised moneys.
Among the first preachers of the church here were Elder E. B. Cake, 1875-76, succeeded in 1879 by Elder W. B. Cochran. Kirk Baxter and N. B. McGee were here successively.
The foundation of the church building was laid in November, 1876, and the building completed in 1878. John Ryan preceded J. D. Whaley as clerk, The membership today comprises twenty-eight males and fifty-seven females, with property valued at $2,000.
Lutheran Church.--The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Freistatt, near Peirce City, was organized September 8, 1874, with the following named original members: Aug. Friz, David Friz, John Friz, William Schoen, Ernst Schoen, Ferd Malzahn, Louis and Gottlib Kruger, William Zempke. The names of pastors are Rev. H. Grupe from April, 1875, to June, 1878; J. E. Roschke from August, 1878, up to this day. The clerks who have served the church are Aug. Friz, J. Janzon and W. Voskamp. The membership is eighty-three, with property valued at $6,000.
The Evangelical Lutheran Church House, on Spring River Prairie, was dedicated July 1, 1883. This building cost $4,000. The old church house was converted into a schoolhouse for denominational purposes.
Holiness Association.--The Southwest Missouri Holiness Association commenced the organization of classes in Lawrence and Newton Counties in the fall of 1881.
Sunday-schools.--The first Sunday-school in the four southwest counties, or west of Springfield, was started in 1840 by Mr. Corley, of Philadelphia. He advertised a $10 library for the first school, and this one at James M. White's got the prize.
The statistical report presented to the twelfth annual conven-
tion of Sunday-school workers credited the county with seventy schools, 576 teachers and 3,726 scholars in 1881.
In June, 1876, the following Sunday-schools were established by W. J. Haydon, missionary of the American Sunday School Union: At Heaton, with H. H. Neece, superintendent; Phelps, H. Cockrum; Centre schoolhouse, D. Cassitty; Colley schoolhouse, T. C. Hooten; Cherry Grove, G. Messick; Fairview, N. B. Withrow; Sycamore, J. F. Hopper; Felter, P. H. Simmons; Hall, Peter Runyan; Lawrenceburg, W. P. Booker, and Salem, C. W. Garrutte.
There were in Jasper County, in June, 1879, ninety-three Sunday-schools and 5,195 Sunday-school pupils, while the children of school age numbered 11,457. In Lawrence County, in June, 1879, there were twenty-one Sunday-schools, attended by 1,336 scholars, while the common school enumeration was 5,561.
Since 1879 religious industry has accomplished wonders in the Sunday-school cause, and among the noblest of modern workers is L. L. L. Allen, of Peirce City. Judge Landrum, in his reminiscences, states that James M. White, better known as Uncle Jimmy, who still lives in the county, at Verona, organized the first Sunday-school that was organized in the county, near his present residence. A brief history of the government of Sunday-schools in those days would perhaps be of interest to the people of the county at the present day. Sunday-schools were looked upon as schools of learning to both old and young, who had not the time or opportunity for attending schools through the week. On Sunday morning the families of the neighborhood (and a neighborhood in those days extended for miles around) would rise early, have breakfast and get ready for Sunday-school. They would prepare and take with them their dinner, and such books as perchance they had; the Bible and Webster's blue-backed spelling-books, as a general thing, being the stock on hand. When at the schoolhouse, which had been hastily erected of logs, they took their seats upon benches which were made of small trees split open, with wooden pins in the round side for legs, and began their studies. At noon they would have about one hour “play-time" for the children. During this recess
the old people would talk about their Bible lessons, occasionally giving their opinions as to “new-comers,” who had not yet joined them in their Sunday-school enterprise, and other topics of the day. At the proper time in the evening they would “turn out," with the understanding that they would all meet again the next Sunday morning. Uncle Jimmy White still remains a zealous worker in the Sunday-school cause.
Christian and Bible Societies.--Lawrence County Evangelical Alliance held its first meeting November 5, 1874, with Rev. A. Barber, secretary, and Rev. S. G. Elliott, president.
The Christian Alliance, on January 6, 1876, elected Rev. W. L. Miller, president; J. D. Springer, Ellis Neece, G. W. Brim, S. P. Newman, B. K. Turk, Royal Rinker and W. C. Cole, vice- presidents; William Cochran, secretary; J. M. White, treasurer. Among other preachers were S. G. Elliott, I. P Solomon and A. Barber.
In April, 1875, the Bible Society held the ninth annual meeting. The officers then elected were Elder H. C. Lollar, president; W. A. Moody and J. L. Holt, vice-presidents; William McCanse, treasurer; E. P. Linzee, secretary; Rev. A. A. Kiran, Rev. A. Barber and W. L. Miller, executive board.
MEDICAL, AGRICULTURAL, ETC.
Roll of Physicians.--The physicians practicing in Lawrence County in 1873-74 are named as following: Samuel A. Saunders, E. H. Reese, E. P. Hansard, H. J. Maynard, D. Cunningham, A. A. Keran, T. W. Nichols, T. J. McCord, V. B. Young, P. S. Deafsitz, John Kerr, E. D. Griggs, E. Browning, N. T. Clevenger, William H. Means, W. Wilson, Marsh Jonathan, Peter R. Moore, J. W. Filler, J. E. Wilson, M. B. Smith, William C. McNatt, J. T. Bruton, J. C. Starr, W. C. Wilkinson, F. H. Moore, H. C. Moehler, R. B. Archibald, D. T. Bruck, John D. Carter, Hiram Waller, N. B. Hocker, Thomas W. Kelton, T. W. Nickle, S. L. Scott, Cyrus Pearce, Granville L. Knapp (the same who in 1870 was appointed inspector of liquors), Westley Wright and J. B. Ensey. The physicians of 1875-83 were W. W. Updegraff, Andrew Wilson, Stephen Britton, R. H. D. Long, J. L. Rober-
son, in 1875; David C. Gore, T. R. Crane, J. R. Harding, in 1876; W. J. Rutledge, Andrew Woolsey, in 1877; Almon A. McGill, J. M. Titterington, in 1878; Edward M. Hendrick and S. W. Hopkins, in 1879, George H. Smeltzer, Samuel Johnston and Henry V. Worley, in 1880; Jonathan Flattery and L. L. Boynton in 1881; F. D. Wright, J. E. Bell and R. S. Crabbs in 1882; J. M. Allison in 1883. Mrs. Eliza P. Bearr was accoucheur here prior to 1881, and registered that year under the act of 1883; Mary Gillingham, Ruth E. Petty, Sarah Merrill, Nancy Manley, Nancy Pendleton, Mary E. Neece, Sarah E. Smith, Mary M. Hover, Margaret MeNeall and Eliza Pritchell, accoucheurs, registered prior to July, 1866.
Among the physicians registered under the act of May 29, 1883, whose names are not given in the previous list, are Coleman Z. Denney, G. L. McDarnall, George Coyle, E. D. Grigg, J. C. Herriford, E. Browning, J. J. Gulick, T. B. Young, Charles Moore, C. P. Powley, T. H. Scott, R. A. Sayers, P. J. Jack, W. J. Montgomery, C. T. Dusenbury, John Oakes, J. M. Allison, H. C. Sams, Lafayette Henson, George Adam, H. C. Barnard; Eugene Maynard, T. J. Gossett, Ira A. Collingham, J. R. Brewer, I. H. Smith and Alex. J. Stark.
Dentists.--The roll of dentists contains the following names: E. M. Hendrick, W. F. Fenton, L. L. McLeskey, H. R. Young, in 1883, and George Coil, prior to 1887. Jasper Blackwell's name is of record in January, 1887, and Samuel Coleman‘s name in March, 1888.
Societies.--Lawrence County Medical and Surgical Society was organized March 12, 1870. T. W. Kelton was elected president; P. M. Slaughter, vice-president; W. C. Wilson, secretary. Dr. Landis, Dr. Hendrick and Dr. Hocker were among the first members.
The Lawrence County Agricultural and Mechanical Society was incorporated February 27, 1857, with fifty members.
The Lawrence County Agricultural Society was organized June 15, 1867 with Joshua L. Holt, president, and Robert Kelly, secretary; John D. Allen, J. M. Filler, John B. Woods, G. H. Moore, H. Childress, A. J. Durnell, D. T. J. Colley, R. Henson and T. R. Whaley, directors. Of this board John D.
Allen was president. Judge Cherry donated land, as in the case of the old society, and bound with the same conditions.
The Lawrence County Agricultural and Mechanical Society was incorporated May 21, 1867, on petition of E. G. Paris, William Orr, G. A. Orr, R. H. Landrum, W. L. Morgan, W. Anderson, A. G. McCanse, A. Dobyns, Edward Ragan, J. B. Thomlinson, J. H. Woods, J. L. Holt, D. T. J. Colley, Robert Castiller, A. L. Phariss, B. K. Turk, T. R. Whaley, T. J. Guthrie, G. W. Jones, Z. T. Newman, J. M. Kellogg, T. W. Kelton, Hiram Waller, N. B. Hocker, B. R. Matthews, G. H. Moore, F. M. Marsh, J. M. Etter, J. W. Moore, P. M. Wear, B. L. Hendrick, W. H. Overstreet, John D. Allen, J. M. Moore, Henry Childress, W. A. McCanse, D. E. Gibson, L. A. Gibson, Daniel Lester, J. W. Leathers, Elmo Faucit, W. J. Johnson, Jonathan Jones, R. S. Wilks, Nathan Bray, C. A. Williams, P. F. Clark, J. S. Jones, H. George, S. E. Roberts, J. M. Filler, J. B. Woods, N. C. Spillman, Wyatt Harris, A. J. Durnell and James C. Martin. In August, 1869, the county appropriated $150 to be expended in the purchase of premiums.
The County Fair Association was organized August 23, 1879, with S. E. Roberts, president; John Cecil, secretary, and W. E. Wright, treasurer. The other officers then elected were W. C. Whinery, William Schoen, W. D. Garrison, James J. Cherry, John A. Orr, John A. Tennis, John T. Teel, Charles Lawson, John W. McCanse, A. J. Little, John H. Cherry, W. H. Johnson, John Henson, R. H. Landrum, G. B. Moore and J: B. Davis.
On May 27, 1874, the Grangers' great picnic was held at Mount Vernon. Col. Colman delivered the address. One hundred and twenty wagons formed in the procession, in which 2,000 persons participated.
The seventh anniversary of the order of Patrons of Husbandry was celebrated at Zion Church, five miles south of Mount Vernon, December 4, 1874. The granges represented were Pleasant Grove, Buck Prairie, Ozark, Union, Shady Grove, Elm, South Bend and Zion. Alfred Davis was marshal, and E. D. Bobbett, Jeff Pannell (master of Shady Grove), William Cochran, of Ozark, and H. S. Hammers, orators. Dry Valley Grange was organized later.
The County Grange elected Warren Vertrees Worthy Master in February, 1877. The other officers were W. H. Cannady, W. S. Goodman, N. S. Elton, T. B. Turk, Elijah Hillhouse, S. R. Allen, W. N. Gray, Joseph Young, Belle Vertrees, Eliza Goodman, Lydia Roberts and J. J. Spillman.
The granges of Lawrence County in 1876 were South Bend, 937, William S. Goodman, master, and James W. Patton, secretary; Mount Vernon, Home Circle, 1,130, John Paxton and T. B. Turk; White Oak, 1,108, E. T. McCune and J. T. Epperson; Bower's Mills, Unity, 936, W. Sparks and O. N. Hoshaw; Bower's Mills, Rural, 443, Peirce City, William Boucher and F. R. Spillman; Dry Valley, 1,129, K. Armstrong and Fannie H. Woods; Fireside, 1,696, M. B. Brite and A. Brite; Shady Grove, 1,109, M. Browning and J. F. Marbut; Elm, 1,088, W. R. Hillhouse and J. C. McCracken; Buck Prairie, 1,385, J. C. McNeal and W. N. Gray; Chesapeake, 1,340, J. F. McCall and T. P. Robertson; Zion, 1,087, G. W. Moore and A. A. Young, Jr.; Ozark Union, 938, James Miller and J. A. Orr; Pleasant Grove, 938, James Woods and E. P. Perry; Siloam, George Ward and -- Hendricks; Stahl's Creek, 1,894, H. H. Neece and Jasper B. Davis; Round Grove, 1,321, J. M. Hunt and Daniel Hunt; Logan, John Logan and J. B. Milliken; Phelps, J. Goss and A. Tarter, master and secretary respectively. W. R. Goodman was master of the County Grange.
In 1881 James W. Patton succeeded Master William Cochran, of the County Grange, but in 1882 Mr. Cochran was reelected master.
The Lawrence County Grange was presided over in February, 1888, by M. R. Allen, with M. J. Needham, secretary.
The Short-Horn Breeders' Association of Southwest Missouri was organized at Peirce City, September 1, 1883, with John Hornback, president, and B. K. Turk, secretary. Among the present members of the Southwest Breeders' Association are Ritchey & Duvall, of Newtonia; Jones & Armstrong and J. A. Kirkpatrick, of Peirce City; B. K. Turk, John T. Teel and W. G. Moore, of Mount Vernon; O. N. Hoshaw and B. W. Johnson, of Bower's Mills; Mrs. H. Northern and Travis Woods, of Talmage; John Manlove, of Marionville; J. Reinmiller & Son, of
Thurman; 0. J. Vimont & Co., of Ritchey; Missouri Land & Stock Company, of Neosho; B. F. Stemmons, of Golden City, and F. Ennis, of Red Oak. The above named are interested in the breeding of Short-Horns, Herefords, Holsteins, Galloways;, Polled-Angus, Jerseys and red-polled cattle, draft horses, Poland-China and Berkshire hogs, sheep and poultry.
In November, 1869, T. M. Stringer, buyer for the Lawrence County Fine Stock Company, brought hither from Kentucky nine bead of thoroughbred cattle and some pure-blood Southdown and Cotswold sheep.
The Lawrence County Stock Co. elected the following officers in May, 1871: John W. Moore, president; Robert Kelly, secretary; George W. Kendall, treasurer; S. E. Roberts, A. G. McCanse, J. J. Spillman, G. H. Moore, James Patton, John W. Moore, William Orr, John Cherry and R. H. Landrum, directors.
In the spring of 1882 N. Crist established his fenced sheep ranch, four miles northeast of Verona, having 800 sheep to begin. The first modern barn of the modern ones now common in Lawrence County was built for Knox Gibson, of Ozark Prairie, in 1875. At that time his cattle could not be induced to go nearer to it than 120 feet.
The Anti Horse Thief Association was organized at Mount Vernon May 29, 1880, with the following members: W. S. Goodman, B. K. Turk, H. S. Worsham, W. B. Allen, James W. Patton, S. C. Patton, G. B. Moore, J. W. Shipman, James W. Curtiss, Thomas Ray, P. Johnson, J. D. Jones, J. R. Hillhouse, Z. T. Newman, T. R. Isbell, A. M. Burgess, Page Woods, Ezra Fowler, A. G. McCune, Hiram Gatton, P. L. Hobbs, J. C. Jennings, M. B. Johnston, G. L. Bowers, Stephen Hite, G. L. Knapp, John T. Teel, John A. Tennis, W. H. Johnson, C. H. George, J. H. Cherry and T. B. Turk.
The Union Soldiers of Lawrence County organized August 2, 1879, with S. E. Roberts, president; Robert Crockett and John Pointdexter, vice-presidents; W. N. Davis, secretary; John W. Hopper, treasurer; Boon A. Stephens, J. H. Barber, J. J. Spillman, William Querry, C. D. Lanier, W. J. Ruark, A. S. Bereman, John S. Coleman, A. R. McNatt, R. Crockett and W. N. Davis, a committee on company rosters.
The first Immigration Society was organized July 2, 1878, with H. Brumback, president; A. McKinney, vice-president; W. N. Davis, secretary; E. P. Linzee, corresponding secretary; W. E. Wright, treasurer; with W. E. Wright, Dr. R. Green and J. T. Teel a committee on constitution, and A. McKinney and R. H. Landrum a committee on topography. As a result of this organization, Judge Landrum prepared a lengthy topographical and historical paper, much more complete than Capt. Harris' Centennial History.
The second County Immigration Societv was organized at Aurora, April 5, 1888, with Judge Landrum, of Mount Vernon, president; Col. Crumb, of Aurora, vice-president; John A. McCullough, of Marionville, secretary; J. W. Brite, of Peirce City, treasurer. The board of directors comprised George Wilson, Mount Vernon Township; George Hafford, Buck Prairie Township; J. R. Woodfill, Spring River Township; Thomas Carlin, Peirce Township; Judge Rinker, Aurora Township; Richard Clements, Greene Township; Robert Kimmons, Ozark Township; William Cochran, Lincoln Township; R. P. Colley, Vineyard Township; August Fritz, Mount Pleasant Township; W. H. Maybery, Turn- back Township. The Board of Directors elected Judge Rinker, president; T. Carlin, secretary, and J. W. Brite, treasurer. Capt. E. P. Linzee was recommended to reappointment as a member of the board of the Ozark Association.
The delegates to the Springfield convention of March 16, 1888, were W. M. Frazier, L. L. Allen, C. Parr, W. A. Roberts, J. F. Wicks, E. P. Linzee, J. D. Scott, W. T. Lecompte, G. C. Jones, D. S. Flowers, G. H. Schoen, William Wallace, F. Pfaff, J. Wilson, W. D. Crane, J. W. Vance, Joseph Newman, P. S. Sinclair, F. C. Johnston, William Biddlecome, A. L. White, G. H. Hill, P. J. Lehnhard, Thomas Carlin, Dr. Quigley, A. McKinney, J. B. Jones, W. J. Linzee, A. J. Gregory, P. O. Snyder, J. H. Cary, I. P. Linzee and J. H. Wooldridge.
The Temperance Union, of Lawrence County, was organized January 15, 1878, with 305 members; W. S. Hubbard presided. C. T. Wear was elected president and B. Hocker, secretary.
In 1887 the Woman's Christian Temperance Union, of Lawrence County, was presided over by Mrs. M. S. Gregg, with Mrs.
H. C. Shoemaker, secretary, and Mrs. C. A. Mitchell, treasurer.
Rev. C. W. Keeling, organizer for Lawrence County for the Farmer's Alliance, has organized twenty-three alliances in this county, recently. He is an energetic worker, and is very earnest in the cause. The west side of the county is well organized now, and since the first of May, 1888, attention has been given to the organization of alliances in the remaining portion.
An act to incorporate the Pacific Railroad was approved by the governor of Missouri March 12, 1849. Sundry acts relating to the building of this road were subsequently passed until December 25, 1852, when the act accepting the congressional land grant to further railroad building, including the Pacific road, became a law. At this time this railroad company was authorized to construct a road from any point on the main line east of the Osage River to any point on the State line South of that river. The congressional act approved June 10, 1852, granted to the State of Missouri right of way from St. Louis to any point on the western line of the State which the State might designate. This right of way consisted of every even-numbered section, for six sections in width on each side of the road, except such as had been sold or pre-empted before the passage of the act. Bound with these conditions, Missouri made the grant to the Pacific Railroad. Prior to June, 1853, the railroad company accepted the grant, and surveyed the Southwest Branch from the town of Pacific to Seneca. On February 19, 1866, the act of the Missouri Legislature granted the Southwest Branch to the Southwest Pacific Railroad Company, and the latter company completed the road from Rolla to Jerome, and graded several miles west of Jerome prior to January 1, .1867. The Missouri act of March 17, 1868, created the corporation known as the South Pacific Railroad Company, and to it all the rights, etc., of the Southwest Pacific Company were granted. This company had the road completed to Springfield May 1, 1870, where this road connected with the Atlantic & Pacific, which was then built to the western boundary of the State.
The Atlantic & Pacific Company was incorporated July 27, 1866, with authority to build a road from Springfield to the Canadian River, and thence to the Pacific coast. The grant to the Southwest Branch, or its successors, the South Pacific Railroad Company, was found to be on the line of the Atlantic & Pacific. On March 24, 1870, the Legislature passed a general purchase act for through lines chartered by the United States, and under this act, on October 26, 1870, the Atlantic & Pacific purchased the rights of the South Pacific Company, and prior to November 1, 1871, the road was opened to Vinita. The act of Congress April 20, 1871, enabled the new company to mortgage the road, and on November 1, 1871, a series of bonds was given to Oliver Ames for several millions. On November 3, 1876, the St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Company purchased the Atlantic & Pacific Company's interests. A few years later this company built the Arkansas & Texas division from Monett South.
In July, 1854, an election on the question of voting $50,000 or $25,000 to the Pacific Railroad Company was ordered. The question was carried, when C. F. Wilson and S. M. Grant were appointed agents to subscribe $50,000 of the internal improvement road and canal funds of the county for such purpose.
In May, 1870, a petition from thirty-eight tax payers of Mount Vernon Township set forth their desire to contribute $60,000 to the stock of the Spring River Railroad Company, and asked that a vote be taken on the question. A similar petition naming $25,000 was presented from Buck Prairie Township, also one from Greene.
Election Precinct No. 2, of Mount Pleasant Township, was authorized September 1, 1871, to vote on the question of subscribing $10,000 to the Memphis, Carthage & Northwestern Railroad.
Pierce Township, formerly Election Precinct No. 2, of Mount Pleasant, and as such authorized to vote on the question of subscribing $50,000, carried the proposition by a vote of 205 for and 66 against. On October 6, 1871, the county board ordered bonds to be issued for that amount, and thus commenced the troubles which were only compromised in 1887.
On November 21, 1871, a special election was ordered to be
held throughout the county, to vote $150,000 to the stock of the Fort Scott & Memphis Railroad.
In February, 1 72, the people of Spring River Township voted on the question of taking $50,000 stock in the Verona, Cassville & State Line Railroad.
In April, 1872, Mount Vernon Township was authorized to vote on the question of granting $40,000 aid to the Fort Scott Memphis Railroad.
The assessment of the Atlantic & Pacific Railroad Company's property in 1873 gives $4,600 for buildings; $202,541 for 81,016 1/2 acres of land, at $2.50 per acre; 22 9/10 miles of road at $15,000 per mile; $343,500 town lots, and other real estate valued at $7,600, being a total of $558,241. On this valuation $2,522.96 was levied for county purposes, $252.29 for bond tax, $504.59 for poor tax, $504.59 for jail tax, $3,532.15 for school tax, or a total of $7,316.58. The Memphis, Carthage & North-Western Railroad Company was taxed $373.
In December, 1871, the question of building a road to be known as the Verona, Cassville & State Line Railroad was brought before the people of Cassville. T. W. Ham, representing Verona, stated that the village had subscribed $22,275 of the $34,000 promised. At this meeting a further sum of $8,200 was subscribed, while individuals increased their subscriptions so as to complete the total, $34,000. The directors appointed were R. H. Green, G. A. Purdy, J. M. Grammer, N. S. Clasidy, J. M. Gregory, T. W. Ham and J. W. Hansard, all of Verona; Charles S. Bryan, John H. Moore, W. S. McConnell, Joseph Cravens, J. P. Waldon and John Ray, of Cassville. On the organization of the board R. H. Green was elected president; Joseph Cravens, vice-president; G. A. Purdv, treasurer; F. J. Mills, secretary; T. W. Ham, manager; J. M. White, engineer; W. M. Dye, attorney, and William Ogle, general agent.
The Kansas City, Monett & Southern Railroad Company was chartered March 21, 1888. The proposed route is from Kansas City, Kas., southerly through the counties of Wyandotte, Johnson, Miami, Linn, Bourbon and Crawford, in the State of Kansas, and the counties of Jackson, Cass, Bates, Vernon, St. Clair, Cedar, Barton, Dade, Lawrence and Barry, in Missouri.
The estimated length of the road is 250 miles. The headquarters of the company will be located at Kansas City, Kas. The directors named in the charter are F. E. Doubleday, W. E. Seymour and D. Ramsey, of Crawford County, Kas.; R. C. Kerens, C. H. Smith, B. F. Hobart and E. B. Loveland, of St. Louis; Logan H. Roots, of Little Rock; Powell Clayton, of Eureka Springs, Ark.; Stephen B. Elkins, of New York City; George T. Sparks, of Fort Smith, Ark. The capital stock is placed at $5,000,000.
NEWSPAPERS AND JOURNALISTS.
In a letter addressed to Euphrates Boucher, April 27, 1880, by L. Lamkin, then editor of the Democrat at Gallatin, Mo., he speaks of the first paper of Lawrence County (the Lawrence County Register) as follows: "It was in the fall of 1856 some of the people of Mount Vernon thought they needed a paper, and asked me to start one. I received some encouragement, and went to St. Louis to buy material. When I got there United States Marshal Bryant put me on a jury, and kept me about six weeks. I finally got out, bought my press, shipped it to Jefferson City, whence it was hauled by wagon to Mount Vernon. I soon got the paper under way, flying an independent flag with Democratic leanings. The title was ‘The Lawrence County Register.' Finding the paper was not receiving a living support, I sold it to a junior in the office, but parties who had claims against me would not let the rule stand. In order to get out of it I went to Cassville, got up a subscription and moved it there, where I sold it to Joseph Cravens, now judge of the Neosho District. The time had hardly come for newspapers in that isolated country, and there was little money in the business."
The Watchman was published at Mount Vernon in 1856 or 1857 by West & Owen.
The Missouri Reporter was issued in 1856 by Editor Lampkins. In 1858 he sold the office to Joseph Estes, who published the paper regularly until the beginning of the war.
In August, 1867, the Southwest Vindicator was started by Joe Carter. It survived but a short time, but what time it did was very Democratic in politics.
The first copy of the Spring River Fountain was issued by Robert Kelly and Daniel Biddlecome February 28, 1867. In Editor Kelly's salutatory he says: “By the force of circumstances we have been borne upon the current and drifted to Mount Vernon for the purpose of starting and maintaining a radical paper devoted to the interests of the county. When we consider that two unsuccessful attempts were made of a like enterprise at this place, the lateness of the time for the harvest of legal advertising, * * * we confess that the inevitable darkness at all times, of the future, becomes intensely so to us in this undertaking." J. S. Drake received the Washington hand press and material for this office. On May 2, 1867, D. Biddlecome retired from the Fountain, selling his interest to J. H. Carter, but owing to political disagreement with Kelly, Carter sold out to J. M. Henderson May 30. In August L. N. Andrews' name appears as a proprietor, and in July, 1868, Kellv & Pearson were publishers, and in October, Kelly.
The Lawrence County Journal was issued September 21, 1872, by H. Lick. In his salutatory he says: “The Journal will be Democratic in the fullest sense of the word. It will bear record of the sacred and never-dying teachings of Washington, Jackson, Webster, and support in its whole strength ALL the regular nominees of the Democratic party."
On October 2, 1873, Mr. Leck gave notice of the consolidation of his paper, and that on October 16 the Fountain and Journal would be issued. However, to observe the current number a one-page paper was issued on October 9. On October 2, 1873, Robert Kelly issued his valedictory as editor of the Spring River Fountain.
The Fountain and Journal was issued by the Mount Vernon Publishing Company, October 16, 1873, with R. H. Landrum, Daniel Sloan and John Cecil, directors. The principles of the directory were Republican. In one paragraph of the address they say: "If $50,000 will insure the success of the paper you now read, the company are ABLE." George H. Smeltzer edited the school column in March, 1874. John Cecil and M. F. H. Smeltzer took charge of the Fountain and Journal July 23, 1874. Euphrates Boucher and John Cecil were proprietors of the Fountain
and Journal March 4, 1875. Mr. Cecil in introducing his new partner says: "Mr. Boucher is too well known in Lawrence County to require anything more than a formal introduction at our hands." John Cecil, after a term of five years, retired February 10, 1876. In his valedictory he says: "It is my intention to quit the journalistic field for only a brief space, when I expect to set sail in a new craft of my own concerning!" The salutatory of R. H. Fite appears in the issue of February 24. R. H. Fite issued his valedictory September 28, 1876, as one of the editors. In July, 1881, John S. Drake, after being connected with the Fountain almost since its beginning, accepted a position on the Vidette, of Greenfield. Mrs. Kelly, wife of Robert Kelly, was the first female typo in Lawrence County. Miss Breckenridge began work on the Fountain and Journal in 1878, and is still in the office. Miss Gillingham, now in the Chieftain office, was here in 1882, and Miss B. Boyd succeeded her in this office.
The Chieftain was issued March 1, 1876, by John and William H. Cecil. In their greeting to the people they say: “The policy of this paper will be to uphold those principles which emanated from Jefferson, were uphold by Jackson and to-day hold together such a large portion of American voters--the principles of the Democratic party." In July, 1886, John Cecil sold his interest to his brother, William H., who has continued publication down to the present time.
The Rural Educationist was issued in 1876 by W. M. Simpson, who served in the Second Missouri department of the Federal army during the war. This was a Prohibition journal.
In December, 1881, Euphrates Boucher and R. H. Landrum purchased the office of the Immigrant's Guide, and moved the material to Mount Vernon from Peirce City, where publication was resumed in January, 1882.
The Empire was issued May 5, 1875, by Thomas Carlin. This was a small paper, a three-column folio, printed on a job press, or, as Henry J. Curtice expressed it, " a thumb paper published on a monkey-wrench.” During the campaign of 1876 the Empire was enlarged. On February 26, 1877, the office was destroyed by fire; but on March 31, same year, publication was resumed, and continues to the present time.
The Daily Empire was issued in 1879, continuing regular issue about fourteen weeks, when publication was suspended until May, 1881, since which time it has been issued on every working day.
For some time prior to May 5, 1875, the Fountain and Journal was the only paper in Lawrence County. At this time the Empire was issued by Thomas Carlin, at Peirce City. The "Only Paper in the County," in noticing this journalistic venture, said: “It is very small, in fact the smallest paper ever upon publication in this county, but as every dog has been a purp, it may grow big like our paper."
The Peirce City Star was published soon after the beginning of that town was made, in 1869, by H. Lick. This paper he merged into the Jacksonian, with Col. B. F. Massey, editor.
The Peirce City Herald was issued March 11, 1871, by Graves & Lick. No. 1, Vol. 3, Peirce City Herald, was edited by E. Skewes, and bears date March 8, 1873. A year later this Republican paper suspended, the office was sold, and from it the Southwest Immigrant was issued; but this journal had only a few months' existence. The Immigrant was issued by Hibble S. Phillips, December 6, 1873, and ceased publication in February, 1874.
The Lawrence County Democrat was issued October 5, 1871, at Mount Vernon, by Cloud & Kelly. Under date of April 27, 1872, W. Cloud and G. C. Jones gave Peirce City as the place of publication. In April, 1873, J. S. Drake purchased G. C. Jones' interest in the Democrat. In January, 1875, S. & O. Armstrong were editors. They began ignoring knowledge of its early existence, by giving Vol. 1, No. 1, as their new number.
The Peirce City Record, published by R. J. Alexander, was issued at Peirce City, July 24, 1875. In June, 1884, Washington Cloud purchased the Peirce City Record, and changed its name to the Peirce City Democrat. In October, 1887, the Democrat was sold by Ed. Starks to J. C. Smith and Mrs. M. A. E. Alexander. Gabe C. Jones is now managing editor.
The Peirce City Herald was established March 1, 1871, by E. F. Phelps. It will be remembered that H. Lick and Col. Ben Massey started a paper at this place called the Jacksonian. Mr.
Phelps bought this office and changed the name to the Peirce City Herald. He ran this paper for several months, when he sold it to George Graves, who afterward sold it to Maj. Skewes, now of Carthage. The Herald ceased publication in March, 1874. Mr. Phelps says he moved from Southwest Missouri to Galesville, Ill., and bought the Daily Republican of that city,,. and ran it several months at an average loss of $100 per month. This disgusted him with the newspaper business, and he has since devoted himself to life insurance.
H. Lick commenced the publication of the Southwest Commercial July 4, 1872, at the low price of 50 cents per year. It was non-political, and it survived only about two months.
The Immigrant's Guide was published in 1878, by Thomas Carlin, issuing 5,000 copies per mouth, the Frisco Company purchasing 2,000 copies, and Peirce City the balance. In 1881 R. H. Landrum and Euphrates Boucher purchased this journal.
The College Visitor was issued at Peirce City in April, 1881,. in the interest of the Baptist College. For the last two years this has not been published.
The Daily Independent was issued at Peirce City, February 14, 1881, by Dockery & Boucher. It was a twelve-column folio of four pages. The advertisers were L. L. L. Allen and Charles E. Allen, of the Lawrence County Bank; R. Keith, of the Central Hotel; Ed. B. Weymouth, cigar, confectionery and notion store; Polsgrove & Mollering, dry goods; Hansard & Jones, clothing store; Inglis, jewelry store.
In February, 1885, the Congregationalist was issued from the Empire office for the First Congregational Society, of Peirce City, and still continues publication as an annual.
The Quid Nunc was issued from the office at Sarcoxie, by J. W. Wagner, in April, 1881.
The Sunday Annual is published by Lewis L. Allen, secretary of the State Sunday-school Association, and one of the leading Sunday-school workers of Lawrence County. This journal, is also issued from the Empire office.
The Journal, the first paper started at Marionville, was edited by Flavius J. Miller. It was independent in politics. The first number was issued May 5, 1872, and continued to be issued until August 24, 1872, when it suspended.
The Blade, edited by J. Mitchel, independent in politics, was started in the spring of 1873, and suspended in the same year.
The Marionville Messenger was issued by J. A. Smith, October 1, 1876, as a monthly journal, devoted to the interests of the Institute. Publication was suspended March 31, 1877.
The Southwest Missourian was issued at Marionville, September 27, 1877, by A. N. Odell & Co. J. A. Branch and E. Osborn were subsequently editors.
The Commercial was issued by James W. Barton, January 12, 1884. In August, 1885, R. H. Fite purchased the office and published the paper alone until October 1, 1885, when J. A. Houghton purchased an interest in the office. On January 1, 1886, he purchased Mr. Fite's interest, and changed the name in March following to that of Marionville Buzz-Saw. The Commercial was Democratic under Barton, Republican under Fite and Democratic under Houghton.
M. C. I. Record is a bi-monthly journal, issued in the interest of the Collegiate Institute, in July, 1886, with Charles A. Mitchell, editor.
The Pioneer Democrat was issued in March, 1886, and continued until July; W. B. Watts and W. A. Robinson, publishers.
The Marionville Advertiser was started in the fall of 1887, by W. C. Spann, and continued publication here until February, 1888, when the office was moved to Aurora, where he published the Aurora Advertiser.
The first paper started at Verona was the Verona Gazette, by Dye & Ham, in 1873. It was Democratic, and in a short time suspended.
The next paper was started by one Mills, under the title of the Verona Banner. It was also Democratic, and followed the suspension of the Gazette in 1873, both papers only living about six months.
The publication of the Verona Republican was begun August 31, 1878, by J. S. Drake. It was Republican in politics, and, issuing ten numbers, it suspended November 9, 1878.
On December 13, 1878, W. F. King and W. F. McCullah began the publication of the Verona News, as a Republican paper, and with the twenty-second issue under date of May 9, 1879, it suspended.
The Verona Independent was issued May 7, 1885, with H. W. and M. T. Wright, editors and publishers. In the salutatory they say: "The name of this paper speaks for itself, independent in politics, expecting every man to think as he pleases, and reserving the same right for ourselves.” The first issue of the fourth volume was issued May 3, 1888, the publication being continuous from 1885.
The Whig was issued at Springfield, Mo., September 10, 1848, by Fisher & Swartz, with Littleberry Hendrick, editor. He was the father of Judge B. L. Hendrick and Dr. E. M. Hendrick, old settlers at Mount Vernon.
Revs. J. B. Fly, of Logan, and L. A. Dunlap, of Mount Vernon, wrote the history of the pioneer preacher, A. A. Young, and issued the book in August, 1881.
The account by Capt. Wyatt Harris, of his unsuccessful escape from the rebel prison known as Camp Sorghum, S. C., was published in 1884.
Clem. Drake, who married Eva Lebow, and, going to Texas, started the Clifton
Express, was at one time a resident of Lawrence County.
In February, 1888, F. M. Hicks published the Aurora Daily Gazette. Editor Spann, who started the Advertiser, at Marionville, moved the office to Billings, thence removed to Marionville, and in February, 1888, established the office at Aurora. The Galena Times office was also moved to Aurora, and the name changed to the Aurora Republican. Editor Robinson published the Times at this place in February, 1888.
Aurora Daily Gazette, Vol. I, No. 48, is dated April 2, 1888, F. M. Hicks, manager.
Conclusion.--During the period of railroad construction along the south line of the county, murder and rapine were common crimes. So clear was this fact that travelers were thoroughly armed and watchful. W. H. Johnson, county collector, and R. H. Landrum, deputy, left Peirce City about this time, with a large sum of money collected that week. They were aware they were watched, but on Saturday evening mounted their fast horses and reached Mount Vernon--seventeen miles by road then--in one hour and thirty minutes.
On July 13, 1871, the following heading to a descriptive article appeared in the Spring River Fountain. It tells the history of those days:
“Rum Davis and James Wood engage in the cattle trade.-- Go to St. Louis with a car of stock.--Sell.--Get the money.-- Return safe to Verona.--Take the hack at that point for Mount Vernon.--Six miles from town become alarmed.--Believe they are about to be attacked by robbers.--Become demoralized.--Leave the hack.--Take to the brush.--The hackman takes a scare and comes to a halt.--The consternation of inhabitants of Mount Vernon on account of the failure of the mail to arrive on time.--Davis and Wood arrive and are interviewed.”
First Press Convention.--The Press Convention of Southwest Missouri assembled at Springfield, October 7, 1869. Col. James Dumars presided, with W. H. H. Judson, of Granbv Independent, secretary; D. C. Kennedy, corresponding secretary; Robert Kelly, Mount Vernon Fountain, T. M. Garland, Carthage Banner, S. S. Thompson and Perry Barricklow, vice-presidents, and E. Skewes;, Neosho Tribune, treasurer. Among others present were Maj. William McCaffrey, Stockton Tribune, E. F. Phelps, Neosho Tribune, H. E. Havens, W. J. Teed, M. Talbut M. W. Gustin and H. E. Harbert. There were added to the roll H. C. Henney, of Carthage; F. A. Spring, Lamar;, R. J. Alexander, Nevada; J. S. Drake, Cassville; A. W. Carson, Marshfield; and E. H. Benham, of Neosho. Letters were read from J. S. Drake, of the Cassville Banner; S. W. Smith, Warsaw; J. A. Richardson, Ozark. This convention adopted the following score of prices:
*Per square, 280 ems, 1 insert...........$1.50 Final settlement notices...........$3.00 Each subsequent insertion ..................75 Stray notices, 1 animal ........... 3.00 Adminrs' and Exec'rs' notices.............4.00 Each subsequent notice ............ 1.00
The price of each advertisement to be placed at the end thereof.
Early Schools.--The first school in the county was that near Verona, in an 18x13 log house, presided over by a German teacher ________________________________________________________________________
*Obituary notices and proceedings of benevolent and religious societies were to be charged for at the rate of 75 cents per square, and announcements of candidates $5 each. Special notices were to be charged for at the rate of 15 cents per line.
named Harth. At that time there were but six families in the neighborhood. Springfield was the nearest post-office and black-smithing point, with Jack Campbell, postmaster, and Billy Full- bright, blacksmith.
School Townships Organized.--School Township No. 1, or Township 26, Range 25, was established in May, 1847. The election was ordered to be held at William Robertson's house, with Ellis Crease, commissioner; William Robertson and Jeptha White, directors.
School Township No. 2, Township 27, Range 25, was organized in July, 1847, at the house of Thomas Polks, with R. B. Nicholas, commissioner, and James Samill and J. M. Moore, directors.
School Township No. 3, Township 29, Range 25, was established February 14, 1848. The first election was held at Rock Prairie meeting-house, with Daniel Wan, commissioner; Washington Williams and John Dunkle, directors.
School Township No. 4, or Township 28, Range 26, was established February 14, 1848. The first meeting was held at the courthouse, with Thomas Hash, commissioner; Robert B. Taylor and Thomas, J. Williams, directors.
(James M. Moore was sheriff in 1848, vice Wade H. Stroud, deceased. Ephraim Gaither was appointed his successor as county seat commissioner,)
School Township No. 5, or Township 27, Range 28, was organized in May, 1848, at Thomas Cunningham's house, with Watson B. Lamb, commissioner; W. H. H. Younger and Thomas Cunningham, inspectors.
School Township No. 6, Township 29, Range 26, was organized in May, 1848, at Lumley's old place, then Morgan's, with James Estill, commissioner; William Ruark and Sol. Brown, inspectors.
School Township No. 7, Township 29, Range 28, was organized in August, 1848, at the house of W. B. Hamilton, with James W. Guinn, commissioner; Charles Day and Thomas Colley, inspectors.
School Township, No. 8, Township 28, Range 27, was established that day, and later organized at the old schoolhouse with
James Guthrie, commissioner; V. S. Young and J. M. Moore, inspectors.
School Township No. 8, Township 28, Range 27, was organized in June, 1851, at the Whig school-house, with Richard B. Lewis, commissioner; Thomas Marsh and William Auxier, inspectors.
School Township No. 9, Township 28, Range 25, was organized in August, 1848, at John Moore’s; house, with J. R. McFall, commissioner; John McCall and J. T. Richmond, inspectors.
School Township No. 10, Township 27, Range 26, was organized at Rev. A. A. Young's house, in September, 1848, with Charles R. Berry, commissioner; Elisha Browning and E. B. Hillhouse, inspectors.
School Township No. 11 was established November 14, 1848, and organized at J. M. White's house, with --- White, commissioner; Joseph Batesel and T. R. Maxwell, directors.
School Township No. 12, Township 29, Range 27, was organized in, January, 1849, at George Wintons' house, with R. P. Anderson, commissioner; William K. Spillman and George Winton, directors.
School Township No. 13, Township 27, Range 27, was organized in March, 1849, at the schoolhouse near John M. Fillers, with Samuel M. Phariss, commissioner;, John W. Allen and J. W. Ellis, directors.
School Township No. 14 was established in August, 1849, and organized at Jacob Fisher's house, in September, with Benjamin F. Massey, commissioner; John Guthrie and Peter M. Swatzell, directors.
School Township No. 15, Township 26, Range 27, was organized in September, 1853, at Abel Lee's house, with David H. Lambert, commissioner; Seth Whaley and Frank Rose, inspectors.
There were twenty school districts in the county in 1851, all of which were organized except Township 28, Range 29.
In Township 26, Range 25, were 71 children; in Range 26, were 107; in Range 27, were 24; in Range 28, were 68; and in Range 29, were 13; or 283 children in these townships, receiving from the State $123.34.
In Township 27, Range 25, were 138 children; in Range 26, 71 children; in Range 27, 105 children; in Range 28, 88 children; and in Range 29, 69 children; or a total of 471, the State moneys apportioned being $203.58.
In Township 28, Range 25, were 103 children; in Range 26, 217 children; in Range 27, 223 children; and in Range 28, 174 children; or a total of 717. The apportionment was $307.86.
In Township 29, Range 25, 196 children were enumerated; in Range 26, 130 children, in Range 27, 68 children; in Range 28,90 children; and in Range 29, 90 children; or a total of 503. The apportionment was $217.42.
The total apportionment in 1853 was $723.80.
Enumeration and Apportionment.--The number of school children reported in Lawrence County, in 1860, was 3,942, and the amount in 1864, of apportionment, $1,731.48.
In 1866 there were 2,063 white male, and 1,968 white female children; 12 male and 6 female teachers; 1 brick, 4 frame and 21 log school-houses. Joseph W. Ellis was superintendent of Lawrence County schools in 1866. Mount Vernon organized a school district that year. The houses were hewn log, with the exception of 1 brick and 2 frames. There were 30 colored male and 28 colored female children. The apportionment for 1868 was $2,160, and the county and township school fund $9,521.36, or a total of $11,681.36.
The increase in the school fund of Lawrence County, from 1877 to 1886, from fines, penalties and swamp land sales, amounted to almost $9,000.
In 1881 the revenue of the schools, including $8,735 over 1880, was $30,561.49, and the expenditures $17,660.78.
The enumeration of Lawrence County, in 1883, was 6,342, and the amount of school moneys apportioned $4,757.25. The respective figures, in 1884, were 6,797, and $5,307.05; in 1885, 7,165, and $5,318.75, plus $742.70; in 1886, 7,659, and $6,600.10; and in 1887, 8,072 (including 143 colored), and $7,267.75. The figures for the year ending June 30, 1888, show a marked increase in enumeration and duration of schools.
The school statistics of Lawrence County for 1886 show an enumeration of 3,858 males and 3,673 females, or a total of 7,631
pupils, exclusive of 63 colored males and 65 colored females, bringing the total up to 7,659, while the enrollment was 6,115. The State moneys were $742.70, county moneys $137.81, town- ship moneys $327.55, direct tax $22,084.32; total receipts, including balance, $37,337.26, of which $29,690 was expended. The county funds amounted to $12,475.70; the township funds to $18,958.86; dog tax, fines, etc., to $1,808. There were 125 teachers employed, receiving an average salary of $33.50; school property was valued at $56,000, while the total assessed valuation ,of the county was $3,270,221. During the year there was $2,726 paid for new buildings and repairs.
Before the war there were but few school-houses in the county, and what few there were, were generally constructed of logs, without any furniture except a few rough plank benches, and in almost every instance without maps or blackboards. The school-houses were illy ventilated and in many instances the only opening in the housee was a door on one side for egress, and a single log sawed out on the opposite side for light and ventilation; and each schoolhouse usually contained a huge fireplace in one end of the building to heat up the whole room with.
The Teachers' Institute held the twelfth regular session March 31, 1871. Rev. Joseph W. Ellis was elected president; R. Kelly, Dr. P. M. Slaughter and J. W. Black, vice-presidents; J. H. Woods and W. F. King, secretaries; J. A. McCullah, J. W. Black, S. W. Benage and John Wilson, directors.
Teachers' Literary Association of Lawrence County was organized October 11, 1870, with W. N. Davis, superintendent of schools, president; W. F. King, vice-president; T. J. Plater, secretary; John Ryan, treasurer; G. H. Smeltzer, superintendent, and John A. Cochrane, George W. Watterson, Thomas Coleman, Anna P. King, J. B. Underwood, D. K. Wenrick, B. F. Bray and Stephen Hyde, members.
The tenth annual session of the Southwest Missouri Teachers’ Institute was held at Marionville in December, 1887, Prof. John Turrentine presiding, with J. A. Riley, secretary.
The Normal Institute was organized by Prof. C. E. Greenup, in July, 1886, with Mr. Greenup, president; Profs. J. W. Barton, I. J. Smith, E. E. Brackney, J. C. Curry, Loren D. Woods and
I. M. Lebow, directors; Miss M. Kirby, treasurer; Dr. M. Taylor and Miss M. Stockton, secretaries.
CITIES, TOWNS AND VILLAGES.
Mount Vernon.--The county seat was located May 4, 1845, on Section 30, Township 28, Range 26. The land was purchased by the county, and a part of the town was surveyed and laid off into town lots by John D. Allen. On May 6,1845, the county court by its order of record named the county seat Mount Vernon, and appointed Wade H. Stroud commissioner of the seat of justice, whose duty it was to sell and convey the town lots to purchasers. The following incident will show how plenty game was at that date: While the surveyor and his assistants were eating their dinner in the woods, near where the court-house now stands, they heard the report of a rifle near by, and, upon looking around to see whence the sound came, found that Robert Jennings (who is still a citizen of the county) had shot and killed a fine large deer but a few paces from where they were sitting. The land on which Mount Vernon is situated was, at that date, thickly covered with post-oak, hickory and black oak timber and underbrush.
The first building in Mount Vernon was a framed house, ,one-story, and about sixteen feet square, erected by James M. Kellogg, who opened here a country store on June 1, 1845. Mr. Kellogg died December 19, 1884, in his seventy-fifth year.
On July 4, 1845, our national birthday, it was considered by the settlers an appropriate day on which to celebrate the new county. Accordingly almost the entire population of the county, men, women and children, even from the most remote parts, assembled at Mount Vernon, then containing but the one house above mentioned, to celebrate the day by a “barbecue" and a bran dance, where a bountiful and sumptuous repast was provided for all, consisting of whole roasted (or “barbecued " as it is called) oxen, sheep, pigs, etc., and all other good things then pro- curable. The 4th of July oration was delivered by Buck Whann, who was at that day an itinerant school teacher. After the oration and dinner were over the “bran dance" was inangurated, in which the elite of the new county took part. Here is the preparation
made for the “bran dance:" A plat of ground was cleared off and leveled down hard and smooth, after which a laver of one or two inches of wheat bran was scattered over the surface, and the "ballroom" was declared completed, and ready for the dancers; and perhaps at no other time or place, either in the grand palace of the rich or unpretentious dwellings of the humble and poor, was a dance more universally enjoyed and appreciated. The music consisted of a single violin, and Dick Chitwood was the per- former thereon. The violinist could play but two airs, and those he executed alternately, the “rye straw“ and “chicken pie.” In 1845 the “Union Hotel“ was built and opened by William M. Matthews, and has been continually used as a hotel and kept by Mrs. Sallie Matthews, widow of the original proprietor. During the same year Major P. M. Wear, Dr. J. S. Williams (now a resident of San Diego, Cal.), Mrs. P. Porter, Dr. Kelly, Daniel Bradford, Van Young, Harrison Haley, James McCallay, T. B. Whaley, John W. Payne, Ephraim Gaither and many others settled in Mount Vernon, which soon became a thriving village.
When Robert Mullins came to the county, in 1838, he settled on the point of the hill, 300 yards east of the steam mill, and the house then erected stood until 1880, when it was torn down. On the site of Mount Vernon was the primeval bush; deer, turkey and game were abundant. In 1838 a man named Landers resided where T. J. Fenton lives; Alfred Moore lived where the Neely dwelling was; a stranger dwelt where Ed. Ragan's house is; Samuel Williams, three miles west of town, and John Williams on the John W. McCanse farm.
B. K. Turk, in his reminiscences, speaks of M. B. Philips, who came here in 1846. At that time Mount Vernon contained the families of William Matthews, Dr. Kelly, Pleasant M. Wear, T. R. Whaley, J. M. Kellogg, E. Gaithers and himself. Turk erected a black-jack cabin south of the square, where P. Jones' store was in 1873; there, for four years, he shoed horses with steel-toed shoes for $1, and plain shoes for 75 cents. Judge Williams and Alfred Moore were the only slave-holders he remembers. M. B. Phillips and one other were the only readers, they receiving the New York Tribune.
The business directory of Mount Vernon, as published in the Fountain, of March 14, 1867, gives the following names: Daniel Biddlecome, public administrator, third block, east side; H. Brumback, attorney, southwest corner Second, corner of court- house; McCanse & Paris were general merchants, corner of the square and Main Street; T. W. Kelton's drug and dry goods store was on the south side of square; Jones & Hocker's grocery, notions and shoe store, close by; Ullman & Phariss sold groceries, medicines, paints, etc., on the west side of South Main Street, two blocks from square; Hendrick & Bray's law office was in the court-house; Joseph Estes had also his law office here; also A. G. McCune; Charles A. Williams was attorney, claim and real estate agent, with office in court-house; there also was the office of Williams & Stephens, war claim agents; Wyatt Harris, county clerk; and Henry C. Lollar, circuit clerk. Price & Leather's livery was on the west side of Main, third block south of square; George Haley's hotel was just established; John Leathers' stage office and hotel, second block east of square; Wright & Co., general merchants, northeast corner of square; Matthew & Guthrie's general store was on the southeast corner, where Millsap's store now is (in 1869 Guthrie moved to Jollification); T. B. Whaley's general store was on the west side of Main Street, two blocks south of square; Lebow & Bro. carried on a general store on southwest corner of square; and C. S. Hill was agent of the S. W. P. R. R. Co. here. Odd Fellows lodge and Masonic lodge were quartered in the third story of the court-house, while religious societies worshiped in the present brick Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Later, in 1867, B. L. Hendricks' real estate office, Woods' book store and Brackenridge's grocery were established.
The American House, owned by Mrs. Gaither, was burned in September, 1867, the owner losing $1,400. Mrs. Matthew's Union Hotel was advertised in April, 1868. In August, 1877, H. B. Overton advertised his hotel.
The new roller mills at Mount Vernon were opened October 19, 1887, with --- Rinaman, miller, and William Ragan, engineer.
The merchants of Mount Vernon who paid tax in 1888 are Tully Cecil, A. J. Carter, George T. Collins, M. F. Conklin, H.
S. Fowler, Hickman & Kendall, J. H. Kirby & Son, J. L. Lebow, C. V. Landrum, W. C. McCanse & Co., McCanse Bros., Millsap & Bro., Munday & Porter Lumber Co., Perigo & Fenton, B. R. Peden, M. K. Pruitt, Ryan & Whaley, J. C. Stone, Skinner & Skinner, W. H. Sloan, John B. Smith, George Wilson, Wright & Co. (who pay $108 direct tax), H. S. Whaley and Mrs. M. M. Whaley.
The town of Mount Vernon was surveyed May 19, 1845, by John D. Allen, for Wade H. Stroud, commissioner of the county seat, who acknowledged the plat June 7, that year. Water Street is shown running east and west north of the square; Dalles Street paralleling it on the south side of the square, with Centre Street between, running east and west from the square. Hickory Street intersected the streets named on the west side and Market Street on the east side, with Main Street dividing the large blocks on the north and south sides.
Hash & Crawford's Addition was surveyed by John W. Wilkinson May 2, 1854.
The town of Mount Vernon was incorporated February 9, 1848, on petition of two-thirds of the tax-paying residents within the original survey of May 19, 1845, of the addition of June 30, 1845, and December 19, 1846, and Hash & Crawford's Addition of January 19, 1848. Dosier C. Gill, N. B. Hocker, Thomas Hash, Ephraim Gaither and P. M. Wear were appointed trustees.
The city of Mount Vernon was incorporated under the act of November 4, 1857. N. B. Hocker was named as mayor; R. Haynes, B. Wellman, Lewis Lamkins, W. Matthews, P. M. Wear, and J. C. Wan, councilmen. In 1884 J. M. Skinner was elected mayor; M. Duke marshal; Charles Harvey, Jo. K. Matthews, T. S. Boyd and L. K. Wright, aldermen.
In April, 1886, J. W. Leathers was elected mayor; W. H. Cecil, S. D. Gray, W. E. Wright, aldermen, and J. T. Boyd, marshal. The officers of Mount Vernon elected in April, 1888, were George Wilson, mayor; Oscar Wear, marshal; W. E. Wright, M. P. Kirby, J. L. Whaley and Charles Hocker, aldermen.
In February, 1867, there was no Sunday-scbool organization at Mount Vernon. There were two public schools, one presided over by Mr. Wood with eighty-five pupils, the other by Mrs.
Wilson, at her residence, with thirty pupils, while Mrs. Stringer's subscription school was also well attended.
The churches at Mount Vernon in 1876 were the Baptist, presided over by Elder H. C. Lollar; the Methodist Episcopal, by M. H. Smith; the Cumberland Presbyterian, by W. M. Freeze; the Christian, by E. B. Cake; the Cumberland, on Spring River, by W. M. Freeze, and the Evangelical Lutheran, on Spring River, by Henry Grupe.
In August, 1867, the Mount Vernon Cemetery was cleared of the heavy brush which spread over it during the war. At this time the church building was painted and repaired.
The Mount Vernon Christian College was in existence in 1878, with J. R. Woodhill, president. Miss Ella Counts, one of the early female typos in the Fountain and Journal office, moved to Barry Countv in June, 1878, to take charge of the King's Prairie school.
The first colored Sabbath-school, at Mount Vernon, was organized with W. Whipple, superintendent; Alexander Sprigmore, assistant; Edward Crump, secretary, and Jackson Stone, secretary. Judge Wellshear and wife, Robert Kelly and wife, and Woods, originated this organization.
In April, 1886, W. H. Sloan was re-elected director, and J. T. Potter, to fill Judge Hopper's place, on the school board. At this time the district voted to build a $6,000 school-house on the old site.
Up to October 12, 1868, Mount Vernon received a mail only three times per week. On that day the new daily stage line between Springfield and Neosho, via Mount Vernon, was an established fact. At this time Robert Ryan was appointed postmaster, vice T. B. Samuel, resigned. T. H. Jones, who succeeded Robert Ryan, held the office for nine years--1870-79. On October 1, 1879, Euphrates Boucher succeeded him.
On July 1, 1885, John Cecil took charge of the post-office at Mount Vernon, vice Euphrates Boucher, who was commissioned in September, 1879, and served to that date.
On March 7, 1886, the first Sunday mail between Verona and Mount Vernon was established.
The telegraph line between Peirce City and Mount Vernon
was completed November 12, 1883, by C. Parr, the contractor. Frederick Parr was the first clerk, and John Cecil sent the first message from the Chieftain to the Empire. About fifteen months later the telephone took the place of the telegraph.
Societies.--Mount Vernon Lodge No. 99, A. F. & A. M., dates its first record book January 26, 1853. D. D. G. M. Truslow was present. On January 27 the following officers were installed: W. H. Burns, W. M.; E. Gaither, S. W.; Thomas Hash, J. W.; D. R. Bradford, Treas.; C. F. Wilson, Sec.; J. B. Worsham, S. D.; P. P. Brickey, J. D., and S. M. Anderson, Tyler. Among the other names on the record at this time were Thomas Nickle, M. P. Philips, J. C. Wan, J. F. Everett, Lewis Hottell, John S. Bradford, Henry S. Lollar and J. R. Yancey. John C. Price was a visiting member. Later M. W. Buster, J. M. Wines, S. A. Garner, E. A. Mason, Jehu Steel, H. Haly, W. H. Duff, Alexander Brown, A. Winters, R. W. Crawford and H. W. Wright were among the early members. In February, 1854, Charles George and S. W. Walcott were appointed a financial committee on proposed brick building. In April, 1854, resolutions were passed on the death of Nathan Wilkinson. In October, A. B. Simms died. In 1855 Walter Robinson was master, and S. K. Cotter, secretary. About this time the names of Pleasant M. Wear and S. W. Walcott appeared as presiding.
On September 6, 1855, John M.. Price, a member of Neosho Lodge, died near Mount Vernon and was interred by Lodge 99. In the spring of 1856 a large number of petitions for membership were granted. In this year E. Gaither presided. He was re-elected for 1857 with John Britton, secretary; succeeded in 1858 by Charles George and William M. Gay, respectively.
John Guthrie was buried by the lodge August 5, 1858, and C. H. Crawford died in California. Daniel Biddlecome was master in 1859, with W. W. Gay. Secretary Edward Hale died this year, also Col. Jesse H. Duncan, Jonathan Smith and C. F. Wilson. In 1860 J. R. Cox presided with L. B. Whaley, secretary; succeeded January 1, 1861, by Daniel Biddlecome, master, and L. B. Whaley. D. B. Bradford died in February that year, he being at that time the oldest mason at Mount Vernon, and in March H. F. Williams died. Daniel Biddlecome and H. C.
Young were elected master and secretary, respectively, in December, and re-elected in December, 1862. W. M. Gay was chosen secretary in December, 1863, and the record of this election ends the history of the antebellum lodge.
The lodge was reorganized January 23, 1867, under dispensation with Daniel Biddlecome, W. M. ; Henry George, S. W. ; William E. Wright, J. W.; N. B. Hooker, Treasurer; Wyatt Harris, Secretary, Charles A. Williams, S. D; S. E. Roberts, J. D., and Edward Rajain, Tyler. This organization was carried out under direction of A. M. Long, D. D. G. M.; Porter Jones succeeded Hocker as treasurer; S. E. Roberts, D. H. Biddlecome, H. C. Lollar and others were soon after admitted; so that when the new charter, bearing the old number 99, was given to the lodge in October, 1867, there was a large membership. At the time D. Biddlecome was W. M; Henry George, S. W., and W. E. Wright, J. W. On November 5 the first meeting under charter was held. The elections of December resulted in the master and secretary retaining their positions. Norman Gibbs was chosen master for 1869; W. W. Whaley was elected master for 1870, Wyatt Harris still retaining the secretaryship. In December, 1870, William E. Wright was chosen master, re-elected for 1871, and succeeded Wyatt Harris as secretary in December, 1872, his place being taken by Willis A. Moody; J. P. Porter was secretary in 1874-75, while W. E. Wright was chosen master for 1875, succeeded by W. W. Whaley, master, and T. H. Jones, secretary, for 1876; Granville L. Knapp was W. M. in 1877, and Joseph P. Porter, secretary, succeeded in 1878 by John L. Whaley and Thomas H. Jones, master and secretary, respectively. The master for 1879 was G. L. Knapp, and Joseph P. Porter, secretary; for 1880, Joseph P. Porter and Thomas K. Kay; for 1881, Charles Harvey, master, and J. S. Stansill, secretary; for 1882 G. T. Collins, master; 1883, John T. Teel; 1884, W. P. L. Kirby; 1885-86, George T. Collins; 1887-88, Joseph P. Porter; J. S. Stansill has served as secretary since 1881. The membership at present is sixty-seven, with lodge property valued at $1,500.
Loren K. Wright has served as treasurer of the Masonic lodge almost since his admission to the lodge here.
In November, 1853, Masonic Lodge No. 99 was authorized to build a three-story on the court-house, the only condition being that the lodge would complete a jury room in their part of the building.
Red Oak Lodge, No. 468, A. F. & A. M., Mount Vernon, was organized October 17, 1873. The original members were George H. Finley, David Hunter, L. D. Hagler, J. T. Guin, J. T. Apperson, J. D. Patton, John Hagler, John F. Hagler, S. N. Griffith and E. F. Oliver. The names of Masters with dates of service are George H. Finley, 1873-74; L. D. Hagler, 1875; David Hunter, 1876-77; H. W. Boyd, 1878-79-80; James Gowanlock, 1881-82; Samuel Richards, 1883-84; J. T. Apperson, 1885-86-87; L. D. Hagler, 1888. The Secretaries leave been J. T. Apperson, George W. Ernest, H. W. Curry and James Gowanlock. The present number of members is thirty-six. The value of property is about $800.
Mount Vernon, R. A. M. No. 81, was instituted under dispensation March 17, 1874, with the following officers, with A. M. Long, M. E. H. P.; John D. Parkinson, E. K.; W. H. Hitch- cock, E. S.; W. E. Wright, C. of H.; W. W. Whaley, P. S.; George H. Smeltzer, R. A. Capt.; Henry George, M. of Third V.; Jacob A. Flournoy, M. of Second V.; R. B. Taylor, M. of I. V.; Henry George, Secretary, and W. E. Wright, Treasurer. At organization under letter, Norman Gibbs was H. P. On October 8, 1874, a charter was issued to this lodge, under which Norman Gibbs was elected H. P., and re-elected for 1876; Joseph P. Porter was secretary in 1876; L. K. Wright was H. P. in 1877; G. L. Knapp, 1878, with E. Boucher, Secretary; E. P. Linzee, 1879, with M. F. H. Smeltzer, Secretary; W. E. Wright, 1880; Joseph P. Porter, Secretary; G. L. Knapp, 1881; E. Boucher, Secretary; L. K. Wright, 1882, with J. S. Stansill, Secretary; Joseph P. Porter, 1883; Loren K. Wright, 1884-85; W. W. Whaley, 1886; W. E. Wright, 1887-88; John S. Stansill has served as secretary since January, 1882. The chapter claims thirty-two members.
Mount Vernon Lodge, No. 151, 1. 0. 0. F., was presided over in 1875-76, by J. G. Wear, with J. H. Matthews, secretary. In 1877, S. L. Elliott, J. M. Filler, with A. R. Conklin and W. F.
King, secretaries. R. H. Landrum was N. G. in December, 1879, with M. L. Gaither, secretary. The latter was N. G. in 1880, with A. R. Conklin, secretary.
In December, 1875, the following named were officers of Roberta Chapter, Eastern Star: L. K. Wright, W. A. P.; Mrs. Mary Gibbs, W. H.; Mrs. Mary J. Roberts, A. M.; Willis A. Moody, Treasurer; Joseph P. Porter, Secretary; Mrs. Emma J. Jones, Con.; Mrs. Susan Harvey, A. C. In 1875-76 Mrs. Mary Gibbs was W. M. of Roberta Chapter, Eastern Star 89, succeeded in 1878 by Mrs. Emma Jones, and she in 1880 by Mrs. Mary Gibbs. In July, 1880, Mrs. Millie Porter was W. M., with T. K. Gay, secretary.
A Council of the Grand Army of the Republic was organized at Mount Vernon in February, 1868.
Jewell Post, No. 118, G. A. R., was organized under charter October 29,1883, by Jesse Rhodes, commander of the Post at Carthage. The officers elected were W. N. Davis, C.; J. D. Whaley, S. V. C.; J. D. Jones, J. V. C.; J. W. Shipman, Chaplain; M. V. Walshe, Surgeon; W. W. Cushing, O. of D.; George A. Hiles, Q. M.; John W. McCanse, O. of G.; Euphrates Boucher, Adjutant; Thomas B. Marsh, S. M.; Z. T. Newman, Q. M. S. In January, 1885, W. N. Davis was installed Commander, and Euphrates Boucher, Adjutant.
In December, 1886, R. O. Davis, John D. Jones, J. W. Shipman, T. S. Kelly and J. F. Hargrove were appointed to report unmarked graves. The graves of soldiers decorated in May, 1887, were as follows: H. B. Overton, Fifteenth Missouri; Dr. John Hocker, Second Arkansas Cavalry; Henry George, Seventy-sixth East Missouri Militia; Joseph M. Beard, Fourteenth Missouri; William C. Price, Fifteenth Missouri; James M. Trolinger, Forty-sixth Missouri State Militia; Anderson Stroud, Fifteenth Missouri State Militia; David M. Freeman, first lieutenant, Missouri State Militia; A. G. McCune, Third Wisconsin Cavalry; Robert Crockett, lieutenant, Sixth Missouri State Militia; Frank M. Gaither, Second Missouri Artillery; E. Gaither, lieutenant, Seventy-sixth East Missouri Militia; L. B. Landis, Tenth Kansas; J. W. Davis and L. C. Nelson, Fifteenth Missouri State Militia; E. B. Burton, Seventy-sixth East Missouri Militia. G. S. Milsaps and Ham Gaither died in 1888.
The Library Association was organized October 30, 1876. Miss M. L. Spillman was elected president; J. G. Elkins, vice-president, F. M. Harrison, secretary; Miss Hattie Lollar, treasurer; Miss Hattie Fairburn, librarian. The financial committee comprised Miss Maggie Overton, Misses Lollar and Fairburn, Miss Myrtle Gaither and Miss Jennie Overton.
The Alpha Literary Society was organized in September, 1877, with G. H. Smeltzer, president; Emily Man, secretary, and Nora Hewlett, treasurer.
The Mount Vernon Colored Temperance Club was organized in January, 1878, with thirty-two members.
Union Lodge, I. O. G. T., No. 434, was in operation at Mount Vernon, in 1884, with John S. Stansell, James P. Colley and C. T. Massey, Executive Committee.
A. O. U. W. Lodge was established at Mount Vernon, January, 4, 1879, by H. W. Busse, Grand Master of the State. The officers installed were Willis A. Moody, P. M. W.; Joseph P. Porter, M. W.; John W. Leathers, G. F.; G. T. Collins, O.; T. K. Gay, R.; E. P. Linzee, Receiver; Z. C. Denny, F.; S. W. Taylor, Guide; J. L. Whaley, I. W., and Isaac Bard, O. W.
In June, 1868, the first Mount Vernon base ball club was organized. Star of the West base ball club was in existence in 1874. The members were Smeltzer, McCanse, Boothe, Kelton, Gaither, Whaley, Elkins, Counts and Hocker. In November they beat the Ozark Club. The second nine of that club comprise B. Hocker, A. Whaley, W. Cecil, J. Stone, H. Fowler, M. Gaither, C. Thompson, C. Warren and P. Gaither.
The Centennial base ball club was organized in November, 1875, with J. Sloan, A. Whaley, W. H. Turk, J. E. Gaither, A. T. Boothe, H. P. Gaither, F. W. McFall, Z. Phillips, C. H. Warren.
The Mount Vernon brass band, as organized in 1880, comprised J. H. Matthews, Dan Fenton, William Catts, Onis Whaley, George King, William Fisk, A. R. Conklin, James Phillips and John Phillips. The Mount Vernon cornet band was organized in the fall of 1885.
Mount Vernon Council, Sovereigns of Industry.
Bank, etc.--Mount Vernon Bank was incorporated by the State
Secretary, December 22, 1885, with following members: James P. Potter, of Stockton, Mo.; John D. Porter, of Jericho, Mo.; W. W. Whaley, W. E. Wright, J. T. Teel, W. H. Sloan, of Mount Vernon; J. E. Hartley, M. B. Loy and T. T. Loy, of Stockton, Mo. The capital stock was $25,000. James T. Potter was elected president and John D. Porter, cashier. The directors are the president and cashier, W. E. Wright, W. W. Whaley and T. T. Loy.
In the summer of 1886 contracts were sold for the erection of the two-story brick block, now known as the Bank Building and McCanse Store. The banking house and safe cost $3,800. The safe was brought here by Arch. Simms, whose intention was to start a banking house.
The official statement of the Mount Vernon Bank, dated December 31, 1887, shows resources, $90,141.96; liabilities, $61,762.52, including about $56,000 deposits.
The Mount Vernon Building and Loan Association was organized with a large number of stockholders, in March, 1888. W. R. Harley is president, and John Cecil secretary.
Peirce City*.--This city is situated within 8,000 feet of the site of the first town established southwest of Springfield-Mount Pleasant--the county seat of Barry from 1836 to 1840. A reference to the church and pioneer history of Newton, Barry and Lawrence will point out the settlement of the Clear Creek Valley, and bring up before the reader a thousand names and events connected with this particular district, from 1832 to 1868, or the year prior to that in which enterprising men looked on the place and said, “Here is the location of a future city, and on this western slope of the Ozarks we will build one.” The elevation is 1,215 feet, or 180 feet below that of Marionville, or 150 below that of Springfield, fifty miles east. Here a division of the 'Frisco road turns toward “Bleeding Kansas,” leaving the main line to follow its iron way through the Indian country on to the Pacific. A little less than five miles eastward the Texas branch runs south, so that in the matter of railroads the city is favorably located.
Peirce City is surrounded by a large number of mammoth springs. Lawn Lake is fed by hundreds of them, and the Good-
*Peirce City and Pierce Township are spelled in this work as here given, the records being followed as authority.
man Spring, just east of the city, is never-failing, and the volume of water that flows from these springs, even in the driest seasons, would turn any mill, or supply many manufactories. No city is better supplied with water. In the southwestern district of the city a mineral spring has been discovered, which at one time had quite a reputation, but the busy citizens have had no time to push this matter. In April, 1888, however, Jerry Guinney, being guaranteed a stated price for fire-plugs of $2,000 per annum, introduced a system of water works, taking the supply from the dam near the springs of Clear Creek. This system is guaranteed in return to supply the residences and public buildings on the plateau, as well as the business houses in the valley, with water from the little crystal lake.
The quarries around Peirce constitute not the least important present and prospective source of revenue of the city. To the north and south of the city there are immense beds of the finest stone in the world. The supply is almost inexhaustible.
The Peirce City Mining and Prospecting Company are now sinking a shaft with most excellent indications of mineral.
The Stellhorn Mining Company, of Peirce City, have been at work for some time. They are sinking a 4x6 shaft, and boxing it as they go down. They have had several chances to sell, but refuse all. Every old miner who has examined the indications of the country surrounding Peirce have said that there are better surface indications of rich mineral here than at either Aurora or Granby. Doctors Howe and Richardson, who prospected for mineral on the farm which Barney Mulrennan purchased from the railroad company, state their belief in the mineral wealth of the district.
In April, 1870, Peirce City was in embryo. The Baptist Church and cemetery, covering seven acres, for long years known as “Clear Creek Grave Yard," was even dedicated to the uses of progress.
The original town of Peirce City was surveyed on the north half of the northwest quarter of Section 2, and the northeast quarter of the southwest quarter of Section 21, and the northeast quarter of the northeast quarter of Section 29, and the south half of the southwest quarter of Section 21, Township 26, Range
28. The plat was acknowledged April 8, 1870, by Henry C. Young and Charles B. McAfee, before T. H. B. Lawrence, a notary of the county.
Elm Street Addition to Peirce City was acknowledged by John B. Perkins, president of the Peirce City Real Estate Company, August 28, 1877. Allen's First Addition was acknowledged December 28, 1882.
East Peirce City was surveyed for John and Ellen White, who acknowledged the plat June 3, 1883. A. M. Parr's addition was made February 15, 1883. The Second Elm Street addition was made for the Peirce City Real Estate Company, July 19, 1883, and acknowledged by George A. Purdy, secretary. Gibb’s Addition was made in December, 1883, and ac- knowledged by Norman Gibbs and J. B. Perkins, of the real estate company.
Linzee's addition to Peirce City was made for Jacob and Susan Linzee, May 23, 1884.
On May 23, 1870, a petition from two-thirds of the inhabitants of Peirce City, asking that the town be incorporated, was granted, and Robert M. Reed, C. L. McClure, J. A. Monahan, William T. Booth and James Wolfe were named trustees. One year later another petition was presented and granted, when J. B. Perkins, J. Linzee, A. Morrison, Richard T. Cowan and A. L. Knight were appointed trustees, under a later city charter.
In April, 1878, Joseph Newman was elected mayor, John H. Barber, marshal; B. F. Seaver, H. J. Maynard, N. H. Smith, J. K. Saunders, William Buckner and R. J. Seaver, aldermen; A. L. White was appointed clerk.
In April, 1879, J. A. Beaven, L. S. Rhea and T. W. Rackerby were elected aldermen. In April, 1880, L. L. L. Allen was elected mayor; J. W. Deaton, marshal; M. D. Hansard, N. H. Smith and R. P. Osborn, aldermen.
In 1882 J. A. Beaven was elected mayor; J. W. Deaton, marshal; J. A. Inglis, J. K. Saunders and J. W. Vance, aldermen. In 1883-84 the council was made up of members who had served during the preceding years. The council of 1885 comprised W. Cloud, mayor; John Cass, R. H. George, J. Guinney, W. T. Lecompte, Joseph Newman and G. W. Wilson, aldermen;
R. C. Bernard, clerk; R. J. Chappell, marshal, and W. G. Rice, street commissioner.
The election of April, 1886, which gave a majority to P. O. Snyder was contested, when P. O. Snyder was re-elected, but the election was declared illegal, when G. W. Wilson was appointed. R. J. Chappel, marshal; G. W. Solomon, R. T. Brite, Enoch Judkins, J. T. Meredith, H. B. Lipscomb, elected aldermen, with Messrs. Newman, Guinney and John Cass holding over.
W. S. Johnson was street commissioner in 1886-88, and A. Starkey, city clerk. The election of 1887 resulted in the choice of J. A. Bevins, A. J. Gregory, John Cass and E. P. Wright, aldermen, R. T. Brite, William Buchner, W. C. Trimble and J. T. Meredith holding over; J. W. Leake, clerk.
The election of April, 1888, gave G. R. Armstrong a majority for mayor; R. J. Chappell, marshal; A. H. Hill, F. D. Wright, A. A. Legrand, H. B. Lipscomb, aldermen, with Messrs. Bevins, A. J. Gregory, John Cass and A. P. Wright holding over.
Peirce City in April, 1869, gave employment to from 50 to 100 carpenters, and as a result the middle of May saw Fallis' Hotel open, and the mercantile houses of James Fall, of Neosho, Wolf & Moore, and McClure, of St Louis, Keet, Perkins & Co., James Matthews and other smaller houses ready for business.
Peirce City in June, 1870, boasted of 700 inhabitants. At that time the business houses of Fall, Perkins, Wooldridge, Pfaff, Clark & Popejoy, J. G. Cowan and a dozen of smaller stores, Halstead’s; lumber mill, hotels and other enterprises were in successful operation--all within three months after the first stake was driven by the surveyors of the original town. In September, 1872, the business and professional circles comprised Keet, Perkins & Co., P. Pfaff, Aumoth, Northcutt & Co., J. R, Wooldridge, A. B. Wooldridge, A. B. Charles, E. P. Linzee and F. B. McCurdy, dry goods merchants on Commercial Street, the latter on Walnut Street; White & Co., P. B. Sigler & Co., A. B. Carlin, --- Duncan and Thomas Duncan, grocers, on Commercial, Walnut and Elm Streets.
J. E. Wilson and A. Woolsey & Co., druggists, on Commercial Street; Pfaff & Lowere and Fall & Flowers, hardware, also on that street; H. B. Lamb & Co., books and fancy groceries, in
post-office; Raupp & Bros., furniture, on Commercial Street; F. Moore & Co., wines and liquors, J. Linzee & Sons and C. P. Cook, livery, Main Street; James H. Barton and W. J. McCarthy, lumber dealers; Doctors J. E. Wilson, A. Woolsey & Co., S. A. Saunders, E. P. Hansard and J. M. Quigley, physicians; W. Cloud, Vance & Carlin and J. W. Wellshear, attorneys; L. L. L. Allen, banker.
In June, 1870, work on the South Pacific Railroad from Peirce City to Neosho was begun. At that time a construction train was running from the East into Peirce City.
Among the leading tax-paying merchants of the county in 1872 were Aumoth, Northcutt & Co., who paid $300; Keet, Perkins & Co., $250; F. B. McCurdy, $220, all of Peirce City; Jones & Johnson, Marionville, $168; J. A. Grammer, Verona, $150; Wright & Co., $150, Kellogg & Whaley, $135, and McCanse & Paris, $125, of Mount Vernon.
The largest tax-payers on real and personal property were Norman Gibbs, $250; William Orr, $183; Jacob A. Flournoy, 8180; Benjamin Stone estate, $180; J. H. Cherry, $160; W. D. Tillottson, $138; O. H. Moore, $137; Dr. A. Wilson, $120, and O. P. Johnson, $110.
A traveler, giving a description of Peirce City as it was in 1870, recited the following story, told him by an old traveler: He asked the latter what sort of a place was the new city? “Well, stranger,” said the old gentleman, “about the hardest kind of a place you ever did see. I got there one night, and a man had just been shot, and they had picked him up and thrown him into a small room and left him there. There was a dim light burning, and from the window I could see the poor wretch writhing in agony, and sometimes getting up and then tumbling down. I tried to get in but the door was locked, and I left him three hours later in that position. This was all bad, but while I was there, men would occasionally pass, look in, and say: ‘By gosh! that follow ain't dead yet.‘ A pretty hard place, stranger, one canvas house, 100 feet long, filled with billiard and gaming tables; but, plenty of good business houses besides.”
The Decatur House, Peirce City, was opened in June, 1872, by Capt. Peterson. Wallace & Son took charge of this hostelry
in 1879, and have made its name well known. They have sixty rooms, and also occupy the second and third story of Guinney's adjoining brick. They refurnished the house at a cost of $11,000. The New Windsor was erected in 1884 by F. Pfaff, at a cost of $60,000. It is 100x126 feet, a three-story brick structure; large office, commodious dining room, seventy bedrooms, with offices and store rooms. The furnishing of the house cost $10,000. In 1875 E. Heffernan opened the Emmett House on Commercial Street. Scott House is presided over by an old citizen, W. F. Scott. Frisco House, F. M. Gifford, proprietor, is a two-story brick, twenty-four rooms. The Duncan House and a few smaller hotels are established here.
Peirce City of to-day is not a nominal city. Within itself it possesses all the attributes of an important municipality and a large enterprising commercial population. The manufacturing circle is made up as follows:
The lime business has been of incalculable wealth to Peirce City. Some years ago J. H. Barton started the first kiln. The superior quality of the lime so won for it an enviable reputation, that Mr. Barton sold his kiln to C. A. Raupp, & Co., who, failing with one kiln to supply the demand, erected another. But the demand was so great that it was still far beyond their output. To fill this demand, J. Wilson & Son purchased a portion of the lime stone bluff south of the city, and erected two large kilns at a cost of over $15,000, which have been worked almost constantly for over two years. The Peirce City lime stands superior to the Alton lime in the markets. The capacity of the Raupp & Co. and J. Wilson & Son kilns is 15,000 bushels per twenty-four hours, and they find a ready market.
The Peirce City Roller Mills, Vance & Perrott, proprietors, was built by Stanton & Miller in 1873, at a cost of about $25,000. When Vance & Perrott purchased it they added a new sixty-horse power engine and patent rollers to their French buhrs, and also elevator facilities that have a capacity of $50,000 bushels; capacity of mill, 200 barrels of flour per day. This is a superior quality of flour, and is shipped to many markets. Present value of property, $60,000.
George A. Purdy started the Peirce City Pottery in 1882.
Equipped with a twenty-horse power engine, with six-ton crushers, it employs twelve hands and turns out 85,000 gallons of ware per month. Eckert & Leo, proprietors of the Peirce City Grist Mill, purchased it last year. It has a capacity of 100 bushels of flour, meal and chop feed per day, and runs early and late.
G. W. Wilson is proprietor of the Peirce City Wagon Factory, that turns out about twenty wagons per month. This factory was established in 1872.
John O'Brien, saddler and harness, commenced in 1876, and carries a general stock in that line. J. J. Hafley, black-smith, carriage and wagon manufacturer, established 1874, employs four smitbs and two wood-workmen. C. E. Bruff, black-smith, carriage and wagon maker, commenced business in 1880, and has a good trade. J. T. Meredith, blacksmith and wagon- maker, runs two fires and a wagon-maker. William Buchner, manufacturer of saddlery, harness, etc., came to Peirce City in 1870, and is still in the business; the firm at present is Buchner & Son. Abel Hines, blacksmith and horseshoer, is kept busy. A. Stephens, boot and shoemaker, settled here in 1882.
The cigar factories are Parr & Sons, cigar factory No. 101. C. Hellweg, of cigar factory No. 53, began in 1880; he employs three hands, and his famous Log Cabin brand is known all over the west. F. Stoltz owns cigar factory No. 122, and employs two hands, with strippers. This was established in 1887.
The professional circle is made up as follows: Physicians: E. P. Hansard, F. D. Wright, J. M. Quigley, H. N. Worley, W. F. Richardson, Dr. Kimball, Dr. Woolsey. Dentists: F. A. Vincent, J. D. Hannah. Attorneys: Cloud & Rutledge, F. C. Johnson, French & Leake, J. N. Davies, A. Starkey.
The mercantile circle is made up as follows: J. K. Saunders commenced business in 1877, and a few years ago became associated with William Biddlecome in the clothing business; they carry a $25,000 stock. George T. Rhoades, of the City Bakery, is doing a good business, and carries all goods in the confectionery line; this house has been established about ten years. A. M. Chandler, wholesale and retail dealer in hard-
ware, began in 1875; built in 1880; he carries about $15,000 stock, and has been very successful in business. Spilman & Schoen formed a partnership in the grocery business in 1887, Schoen purchasing Stark's interest; they carry a $4,000 stock, and do an extensive business. Mrs. M. C. Taylor began business ,in 1870; in 1881 she opened a millinery store with a general stock of ladies' and children's goods, and the goddess of fortune has prospered her ever since. R. P. Osborn, who lately purchased his partner, J. F. Stark's, interest in the general dry goods and mercantile business, started in 1879; he carries from $8,000 to $9,000 stock, and has always prospered. Anheuser-Busch Brewing Association has a depot in Peirce City with a capacity of 150 tons of ice, and ship about seventy-five cars of beer to this point every year; Charles Stollman is the agent for the association at this point. A. L. White, grain dealer, has an elevator of 50,000 bushels capacity; he also is a general dealer in hides, plaster, hair, etc.; he commenced business in 1870, with the town, on a small scale, and to-day is one of the capitalists of the city. Frank Wicks has been in business since 1875, and became associated with R. T. Brite in 1880; they do a general wholesale and retail grocery business, and carry a $10,000 stock; they have shipped $30,000 worth of produce in the last year. The wholesale and retail grocery house of Johnson & Frazier commenced business in 1882; they carry a stock of $10,000 in groceries and $20,000 in produce, having a branch house in Wichita, Kas.; are doing an immense business. E. J. Sherlock, drugs, medicines, notions, books, etc., has a $9,000 stock. P. O. Snyder, jeweler and dealer in silverware; began in 1881 with a $700 stock. J. A. Burns has lately established himself here in the shoemaking business. E. L. Gerome, confectioneries, fruits, cigars, tobacco, etc., post-office stand. G. W. Estes is doing a thriving trade in second-hand goods and shoemaking. Robert Bros., barbers, began business in 1886; have two chairs in the Decatur House. W. F. Sawyer is proprietor of the Decatur billiard hall, and runs two tables. James Kyle, shoemaker, took his seat in 1880, and keeps pegging away at his last. The Misses Heisey & McAllister have just opened a nice stock of millinery and notions. R. H. George, general dealer in groceries and produce,
began in 1883; he carries a $4,000 stock. W. A. Duncan has been taking the physiognomies of the people for the last twelve years. John Quinn opened business in 1882, and closed last De- cember on account of local option. Joseph Newman, “the old reliable“ clothing house, was opened in 1871, and carries a $40,000 stock. S. A. Brown & Co., lumber dealers, opened their yard in 1884, and carry a $12,000 stock; A. J. Gregory is manager. C. A. Raupp, wholesale and retail dealer in furniture, commenced in 1871, and carries a stock of $10,000. Mrs. M. F. Pratt, milliner, began business in 1876, and now carries a $3,000 stock; she does a good business. The Langrell meat market has been running eight years under different management; Z. A. King now owns it. The Peirce Waters Oil Company have an iron tank here of 10,000 capacity, and will add another tank in a short time. Locke & Hayden opened the first exclusive glass and queensware store in the city in 1886; they carry a $5,000 stock. J. W. Brite, general dealer in fine and fancy dry goods, boots, shoes, etc., carries a $15,000 stock and does a good business. H. C. Shoemaker, R. M. Callaway and Hines & Briggance are the artistic and decorative house, sign and carriage painters of the city. I. P. Linzee, dealer in agricultural implements, began in 1880; he carries a stock of all improved machinery of $15,000, in addition to wagons, carriages and buggies.
G. Pritchett is proprietor of the old Western Meat Market. A. C. Moore, of the Western Restaurant, is doing a good business. Ed. Heffernan opened the Emmett House, on Commercial Street, in 1875. Ed. Fleming opened up in the grocery business a few years ago, and is doing well. Wallace Ward has been dealing in second-hand goods for some time, and is doing a fair business. F. C. Stellhorn began business in 1881, and carries a stock of drugs and medicines worth $4,000. S. W. Shyrock is proprietor of the variety store, and carries a good stock of. notions and assorted goods. Ed. Sweeney opened a general dry goods house in 1881, and carries a select stock of about $5,000. In 1884 A. Walters bought the old established Star Bakery and Restaurant; he does a good business. Mrs. Bockius, opened a first-class millinery store in 1884, and has been increasing her business ever since. Jones & Taylor are now proprietors of the
old established west end furniture house; they carry a fine stock. C. Rudolf & Son, who opened a new grocery in 1886, are doing a good business; they carry about $5,000 stock. McConnell & Key have purchased the firm of John Dwyer, in the grocery business, and carry a first-class stock. G. N. Bennett, druggist, established in 1874, carries a $5,000 stock, and owns a fine brick business house that cost $5,000. J. H. Barber, dealer in groceries, opened in business in 1876; he carries a general stock of goods in that line, and enjoys a good trade. William Standerfer, of the marble works, has been in the business for a number of years; he carries a good stock, and is a first-class designer. Montgomery, Maggard & Crain, livery business, have twenty buggies and fifty-two horses, and frequently cannot supply the demand. The Wright Dry Goods Company began business in 1886; they carry a stock of $10,000, and have lately enlarged their store room to double its capacity. D. T. Wainwright commenced business in the city in 1887; carries $4,000 stock in dry goods, boots, shoes, etc., and is building up a good trade. James Kiley arrived in 1872, and farmed successfully for several years; he has been in the grocery business about three years, and carries a $3,000 stock. Cary & Co. are dealers in books, stationary, notions, etc.; carry a $3,000 stock: opened in 1887. McPherson began business in 1879; in 1887 entered into partnership with Maxey, in meat market and groceries. J. Guinney, dealer in jewelry and silverware, musical instruments and sewing machines, carries a stock of $10,000. Geo. Ph. Schaffer is an old son of St. Crispin, who settled here in times that tried men's souls and is still doing their soles good. There are six transfer teams that give employment to twelve horses and fifteen men, delivering goods to the merchants. T. J. Lopp's livery and sale stable keeps twenty-four horses and nine carriages; do a good business, and cannot always supply the demand. G. W. Brown, butcher, began business in 1886, and disposes of five beeves per week; they also pack and have a large lot of cured meat on hand. Pfaff & Co. began business in 1870, in dry goods, boots, shoes, carpets, and carry a general stock valued at $25,000; the oldest house in the city. Jones & Beaven, the oldest lumber dealers in Southwest Missouri, have a large stock here
and at other points, where they have branch yards. Nicholas Heisserer has bought the entire interest in the old established grocery house of Thielen & Heisserer; he carries a stock of about $4,000. Allen & Sons, insurance agents, are the oldest established firm in the city, and do a good, safe business; their field of operation is very extensive. D. S. Flowers began with the town in 1870, in the general hardware business, and now carries a $20,000 stock, and owns a building that cost $15,000. P. J. Lehnhard, dealer in agricultural implements, buggies, etc., opened his present house in 1884; carries a $15,000 stock; Mr. Lehnhard is one of our most successful fine stock raisers, and has a good herd of registered Polled-Angus and Short-Horns on his farm north of town, besides, a lot of fine mares and stallions. H. N. Walquist, tailor. Tom MeGir, barber, two chairs. J. P. Stollenwork, barber, two chairs. D. A. Smith, jeweler, post-office building. Francis Troilett, merchant tailor, does a good business. J. G. Kelly, barber, commenced in 1877, and runs two chairs. Dann Bros., butchers, have been in business about six years.
Banks.--The Lawrence County Bank was established at Peirce City, in October, 1873, being the second new bank organized in Missouri since the beginning of the panic. The capital stock was $50,000. Jacob Linzee was first president, and Lewis L. L. Allen, cashier. At this time the population of Peirce City was only 300. In April, 1881, its resources were $117,156; deposits about $97,000, and stock and surplus about $20,000. Peirce City Bank, of which John D. Scott is president, and L. A. Chapman cashier, was established in September, 1887. The capital stock is $10,000.
The Building and Loan Association was organized in this city July 18, 1883, with 1,000 shares of stock, on which has been paid $1.00 per month. It is now in a most flourishing condition. At the start as high as 34 per cent. premium was paid for loans, and now there is no premium asked, but money is loaned straight. This is a most splendid showing. There is now strong talk (and it will doubtless be done) of issuing a new series of stock to accommodate the great number of the poorer class of people. The book value of the old stock is now about $92.
Public Buildings:--The public school building was erected early in the seventies, at a cost of $15,000. It is well arranged inside, containing four large school-rooms, with a professors' room and artists' studio. Besides this there are two other ward schoolhouses of minor proportions.
The Baptist College is situate on a wooded knoll overlooking the business portion of the city, just east of the schoolhouse. It was established in 1878, and has been most successfully conducted since its establishment by an able faculty.
The subscriptions toward the college building at Peirce City, up to April, 1879, were $510 from Mount Vernon church, $210 from Marionville, $260 from Neosho, $201 from Rocky Comfort, $180 from Washburn, $160 from Cassville, $176 from Mount Olivet, $200 from Roundgrove, and $1,000 from Peirce City. The college corner stone was placed September 3, 1879, and the institution was opened October 7,1880, with Prof. C. S. Sheffield, presiding.
The college building is a handsome three-story brick structure, consisting of thirteen rooms, one of which is an elegant chapel, with a seating capacity of over 300. The building is situated on the plateau overlooking the town, and commanding an extended view of the surrounding country. Prof. W. A. Wilson is the president.
C. A. Raupp's Opera House, built at a cost of over $30,000, is one of the handsomest in the Southwest, and so well is it arranged that the Congressional conventions for several years have held their meetings in this city to avail themselves of its commodious and well accoutred advantages. The Armory Hall is also one of the largest rooms in the city, and is in great demand for festivals and other gatherings of the people.
The City Hall, with jail attached, was erected a few years ago at a cost of about $5,000. It is well arranged, the jail being constructed of huge stones with patent cement. The lower part of the hall is used by the fire department of the city, and the upper story by the city officials and the police court, and also for political and other mass meetings.
The Congregationalists and Baptists have very large and elegant churches; also the Methodist Episcopal and Methodist Epis-
copal, South. The Christian and Cumberland Presbyterian Churches are tasteful structures.
The German Catholics have a good edifice, with a residence for their pastor.
The St. Patrick's Catholic Parish commenced the erection of one of the finest cathedrals in the Southwest, the basement of which has cost over $5,000. It is beautifully situated on an eminence west of the school-house, overlooking the city.
Streets.--The streets are all graded and most of them graveled, making handsome drives. Elm Street, running north and south, and Commercial and Washington Avenues, running east and west, are fine thoroughfares. By ordinance, all of the streets have broad sidewalks, and on most of the older streets shade trees of various varieties have been planted, making pleasant promenades. The streets are well lighted with patent lamps.
Societies.--The Peirce National Guard completed an organization in August, 1877, with Capt. J. B. Perkins, president, and J. W. Brite, secretary. J. W. Pennington was elected captain; George A. Purdy, first lieutenant, and R. J. Alexander, second lieutenant. The following is the roster of the company, which turned out sixteen muskets strong on the 4th of July, 1885: F. A. Stellhorn, captain; George W. Hill, first lieutenant; J. A. Gillett, second lieutenant; J. H. Barlow, orderly sergeant, with the following rank and file: W. A. Duncan, M. L. Duncan, J. N. Davies, W. M. Dockery, Albert Weidman, J. L. Johnson, W. P. Johnson, Will Johnson, Henry Tutt, L. Miller, Will Rhea, A. F. Clark, C. A. Morgan, J. K. Saunders, Ben. LeGrand.
The Young Men's Christian Association, the first of the name in the southwest part of this State, was organized November 29, 1879. The beginning was small, and the encouragement was not as it should have been. For two years gospel meetings for men only were hold at the different churches, with an occasional song service. The second annual meeting of the Young Men's Christian Association of Peirce City was held December 31, 1881, when Charles E. Allen was elected president, and L. L. Allen secretary. At this time steps were taken to establish a reading- room and gymnasium, and the venture was attended with success. The present officers are president, Dr. F. D. Wright; vice-presi-
dent, J. H. Cook; secretary and treasurer, L. L. Allen; assistant secretary, J. C. Smith; librarian, Joseph N. Davies; gymnasium superintendent, Ben. C. McMinney; executive committee, Dr. F. D. Wright, Charles E. Allen, J. H. Cook, J. C. Smith and L. L. Allen. Decatur Lodge, No. 400, A. F. & A. M., was chartered in 1870. It has kept pace with the growth of the city, and is now in a flourishing condition. Regular meetings have been held every two weeks during the eighteen years, and the lodge is out of debt and has money to meet all the demands made upon it, which have been numerous, owing to this place being such a prominent railroad center. One feature worthy of special mention is, that the president of the Lawrence County bank has been treasurer of the lodge for eighteen years.
Campbell Lodge, A. F. & A. M. (colored), holds regular meetings and has a good working membership.
The I. 0. 0. F. lodge was organized in Peirce City, November 30, 1871, with twelve members. The lodge now shows a membership of forty resident members. It is in a most flourishing condition, owning the lots on which the armory hall stands, with a surplus of $800 on interest.
The A. 0. U. W. was established in 1878, with twenty-seven charter members. Their present membership is forty-five. This lodge is in a flourishing condition. There have been four deaths in the lodge, whose insurance has been promptly paid.
The Knights of Pythias have one of the most interesting, as well as largest lodge in numbers, of any society in the city. It was organized September 24, 1887, and has now a membership of over eighty. They are in a thriving condition, and in a most healthy state, financially.
The Knights of Labor also have an organization in the city.
The Peirce City Chess Club was organized in November, 1887, with Thomas Carlin, president; F. C. Stellhorn, secretary, and L. A. Chapman, treasurer. ‘Squire Sinclair’s house was the place of organization.
Miscellanea.--Peirce City Cemetery Association was incorporated by the Circuit Court of Lawrence County, November 8, 1873, with L. L. L. Allen, W. Wooley, E. Skewes, A. L. White,
J. B. Perkins, J. A. Vance, Thomas Carlin, D. Silversmith, A. D. Sharp and William Budmaear, incorporators.
Postmaster Lamb served from 1871 to March, 1873, when C. P. Cass was appointed, and he was followed by W. G. Rice, who, served until 1882, on reappointment of February, 1879. Thomas Carlin was appointed postmaster April 11, 1882, and served until August, 1885, when E. P. Linzee was commissioned by the present administration. The office of 1870-71 took the place of Clear Creek or Mount Pleasant office, the first in the four counties.
In February, 1877, the fire at Peirce City destroyed two dwellings, George Hansard's meat shop and Thomas Duncan’s grocery store; the photograph gallery and the Empire office, then over Duncan’s store, were completely destroyed.
The school board elected in 187,5 comprised W. G. Rice, who, received 108 votes; J. J. Hafley seventy, and J. Newman forty- six. In 1876 Thomas Carlin, J. K. Northcutt and J. B. Perkins were elected.
In 1877 J. B. Perkins, L. L. L. Allen, J. K. Northcutt and W. G. Rice formed the board of education. In 1878 the names of L. White and D. S. Flowers appear. In 1877 E. P. Hansard was president, with Thomas Carlin, secretary. In 1879 W. Cloud and W. G. Rice were elected, and with their associates were reelected in 1880. In 1882 W. G. Rice and George A. Purdy were elected.
In January, 1878, the Court ordered the election of a financial agent for Pierce Township, to compromise the railroad bond claims. There were 219 votes cast, James M. Williams receiving 163, and A. L. White, 56. The Pierce Township election of January 15, 1880, on the question of compromising bonds issued to the Carthage & Memphis Railroad Company, at 25 cents per dollar, and of funding the bonded indebtedness at that rate, was carried by 142 votes for 38 against. On February 28, 1883, the proposition to compromise and fund the bonded indebtedness at 50 cents per dollar was voted down, receiving only 4 votes in 240 cast. In February, 1887, the question of compromising bonds in litigation at 75 cents, and bonds not in litigation at 55 cents, was carried, 436 votes being cast for and 199 against. In June, 1884, Deputy United States Marshal served another mandamus on
the county court against Pierce Township, for $11,302.62, payable to the Ninth National Bank, New York.
Peirce City shipped, in 1881, 129 cars of live stock, 248 cars of lime, 84 cars of flour, 143,245 bushels of wheat and 11,962,747 pounds of merchandise.
The shipments for March, 1888, amounted to ninety-three cars, made up as follows:
Merchandise......................30 Coal..............................11 Lumber...........................10 Clay.............................. 1 Beer............................. 2 Corn.............................. 2 Household goods.................. 6 Woodenware........................ 1 Furniture........................ 1 Pipe..............................11 Agricultural implements.......... 3 Fruit jars........................ 1 Barbed wire...................... 3 Cement............................ 2 Flour............................ 3 Tiling............................ 1 Staves and heads................. 2 Coal Oil.......................... 2 Hay.............................. 3
The total number of cars shipped during the year ending May 1, 1888, may be placed at 1,080 cars.
The Big Spring, seven miles north of Peirce City, is where the first grist-mill in Lawrence County was established. It was only 100 yards below where the spring burst through the hillside; the mill was a corn-cracker fifty-three years ago, and ground the enormous amount of thirty bushels a day, supplying the country for forty miles around. Marionville.--This town dates back to 1854, or about the time the old Atlantic & Pacific Railroad excitement spread out westward from St. Louis, and extended its beneficial influence to one of the land owners at this point. Although the town is the highest point in the Ozark Mountains along the line of railroad between Springfield and Sapulpa--1,395 feet--it enjoys a most equable climate, and the advantages of being the center of a magnificent agricultural district. Here are the great yellow-brown sandstone quarries, and fair prospects of rich mineral. The stone quarries have been worked for years, while the mineralogist waited for ages to take his part in the development of the hidden ore beds. In April, 1888, the Marionville & Wheeler Branch Mining Company was organized, and the following officers elected: Sol. Frazier, president; B. Logan, secretary, and W. H. Bradford, treasurer. This company leased eighty acres
and purchased forty acres south on Wheeler's branch. A rich strike of blue lead and silver has been struck in paying quantities at a depth of only twelve feet. The company proposes to put in machinery and a large force of hands. They also propose to erect smelters. In 1887 a mineral well was discovered here.
In the forties the site of Marionville was known as the Log School-house, the church settlement of Spring River winning all the fame and notoriety there was to spare a half century ago. In 1856 the population did not exceed fifty persons, in the Centennial year it was about 400, and now the number of inhabitants is placed at 1,000.
Education is represented by the public school and the Marion Collegiate Institute; religion by the Methodist, Baptist, Christian and Presbyterian societies.
S. R. Stafford, the present proprietor of the Commercial, took charge in 1887, succeeding J. L. Bartlett, who succeeded A. N. O’Dell. Johnson Neff, who built the house about 1868, carried it on as a hotel until 1883.
Seventeen years ago, when Mr. Stafford came, he found Jones & Johnson, J. H. Dameron, and G. T. Ladd, general merchants; John M. McCullah was postmaster and druggist, while the old buhr mill was owned by J. S. Coleman, Mr. Stafford buying from him a half interest in the concern that year.
The brick business block now owned by Jones & Smith was built in 1870 by Jones & Johnson, being the first brick business house erected here. In 1871 J. M. McCullah had built two houses, one for his drug store, now the Cannady & Means store, and the J. H. Dameron store; S. W. Bennage built his hardware house in 1874, followed by the Odd Fellows and the block owned by Coleman Bros., C. M. Youngblood, E. J. Malton, S. W. Bennage. During the last fourteen years a few large business blocks were erected, such as the Odd Fellow Hall. The residence streets present a number of substantial dwellings, and in a few instances architectural mansions.
Marionville‘s $10,000 fire, of November 23, 1887, destroyed five business houses.
The merchants of Marionville, who were assessed on stocks in
1888, are named as follows: E. T. Brewster, L. J. Bennage, J. J. Baker & Co., S. W. Bennage, Coleman Bros., N. T. Clevenger, Cannady & Means, J. C. Clark, J. H. Craven, J. H. Dameron, A. H. Grover, A. G. Heltemes, Hafford & Son, George R. Gillette, G. T. Ladd, J. T. R. Ladd, Logan & Stafford, J. L. McPherson, C. C. Matlock, James Nelson, Robinson Bros., O. J. Rogers, E. Sinclair, Stafford Bros., Mary J. Smith, S. H. Veatch and C. M. Youngblood. In one instance the direct tax was $79.50.
The Bank of Marionville is managed by the following named officers: J. F. G. Bentley, president; C. C. Matlock, vice-president; J. H. Barham, cashier; J. F. G. Bentley, C. C. Matlock, B. F. Hobart, R. B. Gillette, J. H. Barham, directors; J. L. Perryman, T. Doolin, J. H. Dameron, Granville Smith, Edward Sinclair, D. D. Seaman, T. W. Carney, additional stockholders.
The town of Marionville was surveyed by John W. Wilkinson, January 2l, 1854, on Section 35, Township 27, Range 25. Washington, Benton, Water and College Streets are represented running east and west; Main, Market and Jefferson, running north and south. Twenty blocks are shown, separated by thirty-three feet streets, and the whole bounded by the commons. James M. Moore, the owner, acknowledged the plat January 28, 1854. Normal addition, surveyed January 3,1869, was acknowledged by James W. Black, vice-president, and S. P. Waller, secretary, of the Teachers’ Institute of Lawrence County.
College addition to the town of Marionville was platted for the trustees of the Collegiate Institute, July 13, 1877, and acknowledged by Jasper A. Smith, president of the board of trustees, before Notary Edward Sinclair.
A. N. and Frank O'Dell’s addition acknowledged November 22, 1879. B. Logan's addition to Marionville was acknowledged in August, 1886. O'Dell & Falkner's addition was platted April 15, 1884. Jeffries' addition was made October 29, 1886, A. B. Watterson being the surveyor. Gammill's addition was also surveyed by Watterson. Charles L. and Mary A. Collier's addition was made in April, 1887; McCullah's second addition, August 10, 1887; and J. M. Jeffries’ in December, 1887. Gammill’s second addition to Marionville was surveyed by A. B. Watterson, January 4, 1888; Youngblood's addition on January 5;
Chichester's on February 21; J. S. Coleman's on February 22.
Under the act of June, 1885, authorizing re-organization as a city of the fourth class, D. Robinson was elected mayor; Benjamin Musgrove, marshal; W. L. Jerome, John Manlove, R. B. Gillette, and W. H. Bradford. This board was re-elected in April, 1886, with L. J. Bennage marshal, A. H. Grover still continuing in the clerk's office. In 1887 John Manlove was reelected, and A. H. Grover was chosen to fill Mr. Jerome's place, whose term expired. John Turrentine took Mr. Whann's place as clerk. D. P. Russell and Thomas Stacy were elected aldermen in 1888, vice Gillette and Bradford. John A. McCullah was chosen mayor and Thomas Grammer, marshal. A great interest centered in the election of mayor, the candidates being J. A. McCullah, Republican, and J. J. Baker, Democrat. J. A. McCullah was elected by one majority.
In December, 1867, the Marionville Teachers' Institute was incorporated by the circuit court, and the first meeting under charter was held December 26, 1867.
The contract to build the Missouri Normal University was sold by the trustees of the teachers' institute, May 30, 1868, to Booth, Erickson & Co., of Mount Vernon, for $9,600. The contract called for a building 64x56 feet, with projections at each side 16x32 feet. On July 4 the corner stone was placed, L. M. Andrews presiding. The teachers' institute in April, 1869, was made up of seventy-five life members, thirty ten-year members, twenty five-year members and twenty-five one-year members. The library, located at Mount Vernon, contained 283 volumes. In the report made to the institute in April, 1869, Director L. M. Andrews noted the fact that in June, 1868, work on the normal school building at Marionville was commenced, but by some mistake the walls were not all placed on the packed stone-filled trenches, and so the committee refused to accept them. After some negotiation the board settled with Booth & Co., agreeing to buy from them their building material, but subsequently found that the brick supplied was useless, and being so, refused to accept them. The executive committee at this time comprised G. W. Rinker, Mrs. Walker and L. M. Andrews. The examining committee comprised Euphrates Boucher, T. B. Samuel and D. N.
Woods. In June, 1871, the institute transferred to the Methodist Episcopal Church agents the title to their lands at Marionville, where the college was located.
A sketch of the educational establishment known as the College Institute, was prepared in 1876 by Prof. Williams. He refered to the teachers' institute as the founder of the college about 1868. It was designed at the time as one of the State normal schools then contemplated in Missouri. Failing to be adopted by the State, the undertaking proved to be a failure so far as completing the building or establishing a school is concerned. In 1871 it was transferred to the St. Louis Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1874 the walls were completed, in 1875 the roof was put on, and on January 4, 1876, the school, which had for several years past occupied a church, was moved into the college building. The attendance in 1873-74 was 102; in 1874-75, 112; in 1875-76, 103. The first principal was Rev. Jasper A. Smith, who was succeeded by John Turrentine, H. C. Leavell and E. T. Brewster. The secretaries, in order of service, are named as follows: Rev. E. H. Baird, S. C. McCullah and John A. McCullah. Of the staff are four literary teachers and one musical teacher. The property of the institute is now valued at $10,000.
The Marionville branch of the County Teachers' Circle was organized in October, 1885, with J. W. Barton, president, and S. C. Leavell, secretary. The members were Misses Lizzie Baird, Sallie Poor, Alice B. Cline, Mrs. M. E. Robinson, W. M. Taylor and I. J. Smith.
Marionville Sabbath School was organized January 31, 1868. In celebrating the second anniversary, Mayor P. S. Sinclair, Dr. P. M. Slaughter, G. W. Brim, Frank Moore, Fannie Logan, George Wooley, Amelia Phariss and Susan Stacey were the officers. Societies.--The Woman's Missionary Society of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, at Marionville, was organized in February, 1882, with fifteen members, and reorganized in February, 1884, as the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society, with thirteen members; Mrs. M. L. Gammill as president, and Nannie Wilson, secretary.
Marionville Lodge, No. 390, under summons of Right Worthy Brother J. C. Gaston, D. D. G. M., Thirtv-second District of
Missouri, met November 21, 1870, A. L. 5870, and set at work by R. W. M. T. Morris under dispensation. M. T. Morris, W. M., G. A. C. Wooley, S. W.; P. S. Sinclair, J. W.; J. P. Steel, Treas.; T. C. Mitchell, Sec.; P. M. Slaughter, S. D.; J. Pendleton, J. D.; Isaac Daniels, Tyler. Officers elected under charter, November, 1870, for the Masonic year 1871: M. T. Morris, W. M.; G. A. C. Wooley, S. W.; P. S. Sinclair, J. W.; J. P. Steel, Treas.; T. C. Mitchell, Sec.; P. M. Slaughter, S. D.; William Hubbard, J. D.; I. H. A. Daniels, Tyler. 1872: M. T. Morris, W. M.; G. A. C. Wooley, S. W.; P. S. Sinclair, J. W.; J. L. Hight, Treas.; J. F. Seaman, Sec.; P. M. Slaughter, S. D.; William Hubbard, J. D.; I. H. A. Daniels, Tyler. 1873: M. T. Morris, W. M.; William Youngblood, S. W.; P. M. Slaughter, J. W.; J. L. Hight, Treas.; J. F. Seaman, Sec.; W. I. James, S. D.; William Hubbard, J. D.; C. M. Youngblood, Tyler. 1874: William Youngblood, W. M.; J. L. Hight, S. W.; William Hubbard, J. W.; P. C. Berry, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. I. James, S. D.; P. F. Cassity, J. D.; C. M. Youngblood, Tyler. 1875: William Youngblood, W. M.; J. J. Jones, S. W.; W. O. Butler, J. W.; G. G. Gillett, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. P. L. Kirby, S. D.; J. B. Milliken, J. D.; C. M. Youngblood, Tyler. 1876: J. L. Hight, W. M.; J. J. Jones, S. W.; T. T. Anderson, J. W.; G. G. Gillett, Treas.; B. R. Pedan, Sec.; J. A. Smith, S. D.; William Norman, J. D.; C. M. Youngblood, Tyler. 1877: William Hubbard, W. M.; C. M. Youngblood, S. W.; J. A. McCullah, J. W.; G. G. Gillett, Treas.; B. R. Pedan, Sec.; J. A. Smith, S. D.; D. R. Hursh, J. D.; J. B. Millikin, Tyler. 1878; J. A. McCullah, W. M.; J. A. Smith, S. W.; William Norman, J. W.; G. G. Gillett, Treas.; W. W. Cushing, Sec.; D. R. Hursh, S. D.; J. D. Parks, J. D.; A. H. Baker, Tyler. 1879: L. Robberson, W. M.; C. M. Morris,, S. W.; W. O. Butler, J. W.; G. G. Gillett, Treas; B. R. Pedan, Sec.; J. A. Smith, S. D.; G. W. Short, J. D.; R. K. Sexton, Tyler. 1880: J. A. Smith, W. M.; William Youngblood, S. W.; D. R. Hursh, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. O. Butler, S. D.; C. M. Youngblood, J. D.; B. K. Sexton, Tyler. 1881: E. Sinclair, W. M.; C. M. Youngblood, S. W.; F. P. Bennage, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. W. Cushing, S.
D.; J. W. Johnson, J. D.; J. M. Jeffries, Tyler. 1882: E. Sinclair, W. M.; W. W. Cushing, S. W.; S. H. Veatch, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. H. Means, S. D.; F. M. McCord, J. D.; William Hubbard, Tyler. 1883: W. W. Cushing, W. M.; William Youngblood, S. W.; J. L. Downing, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; W. H. Means, S. D.; J. H. Dameron, J. D.; J. W. Hixon, Tyler. 1884: William Youngblood, W. M.; W. W. Cushing, S. W.; S. H. Veatch, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. A. McCullah, Sec.; D. Robinson, S. D.; J. H. Dameron, J. D.; C. A. Mitchell, Tyler. 1885: W. W. Cushing, W. M.; C. M. Youngblood, S. W.; W. C. Spann, J. W.; G. Smith, Treas.; C. D. Turner, Sec.; D. Robinson, S. D.; W. T. Flournoy, J. D.; William Henson, Tyler. 1886: Edward Sinclair, W. M.; John A. McCullah, S. W.; W. W. Cushing, J. W.; D. Robinson, Sec.; G. Smith, Treas.; W. H. Means, S. D.; J. M. Jeffries, J. D. 1887: Edward Sinclair, W. M.; John A. McCullah, S. W.; W. W. Cushing, J. W.; A. H. Grover, Sec.; G. Smith, Treas.; W. H. Means, S. D.; T. M. Flournoy, J. D. 1888: Edward Sinclair, W. M.; W. C. Spann, S. W.; James H. Barham, J. W.; A. H. Grover, Sec.; G. Smith, Treas.; J. M. McCullah, S. D.; W. W. Cushing, J. D.; Henry Eckhardt, Tyler. The lodge embraces sixty-five members. The hall is in the J. M. McCullah building.
Marionville Lodge, 299, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted July 2, 1873, under charter dated June 10, with A. J. Sprague, N. G.; J. J. Jones, V. G,; R. B. Gillette, Sec.; J. W. Black, Treas., and W. R. Mahurin, I. G. In September, 1873, J. J. Jones was elected N. G. and J. W. Johnson, secretary. The election of 1874 resulted in the choice of W. R. Mahurin, N. G., and Dr. W. H. Means, secretary, succeeded in September by R. B. Gillette, with J. W. Johnson, secretary. In the spring of 1875 W. H. Means and J. H. Jarrett filled the respective offices. In the fall of 1875 J. H. Jarrett was elected N. G. and C. F. Biggs, secretary; succeeded in April, 1876, by A. J. Hendricks and W. D. Simmons, respectively. In October, 1876, R. B. Gillette was chosen to preside, with J. H. Jarrett, secretary; succeeded in 1877 by W. H. Means, with W. A. F. Lester, secretary. The Noble Grands since 1877 were R. B. Gillette and W. H. Means, 1877;
Dr. N. T. Clevenger and C. R. Allen, 1878; A. J. Hendricks and W. H. Means, 1879; J. A. Smith and J. L. Downing, 1880; G. A. Sprague and J. B. Browning, 1881; W. H. Means and R. C. Jarrett, 1882; J. L. Downing and L. J. Bennage, 1883; B. Logan and W. D. Simmons, 1884; B. Logan, 1885; M. Benjamin and P. E. Grammer, 1886; B. Logan and C. F. Porter, 1887; W. A. Noel, 1888. Secretaries: J. H. Jarrett, 1877; R. B. Gillette, 1878; J. H. Jarrett, 1879; S. H. Veatch, 1881; J. H. Jarrett, 1882; R. H. Landrum and John Shurley, 1883; T. H. Whann and J. B. Selby, 1884-85; A. J. Hendricks and C. F. Porter, 1886; W. A. Noel and S. Henson, 1887; and W. A. Hafford, 1888.
Daughters of Rebecca Lodge, Leoni No. 10, was organized February 14, 1888, with Mrs. J. L. Hafford, N. G.; Mrs. Fannie Means, V. G.; B. Logan, Treas.; Seigel Hinson, Sec. G. W. Haltamas is a member of Encampment 87, chartered November 17, 1880.
The Odd Fellows building, on Washington Street, was begun in June, 1886, by Benjamin & Russell, of Marionville, who were awarded the contract. The building committee comprised R. B. Gillette, Dr. Means, L. J. Bennage, P. E. Grammer and B. Logan. The cost of the building was $3,000, and the lot was donated by the Seaman estate. The upper floor is devoted entirely to lodge uses, while the elegant store-room below is rented to W. H. Hafford & Son at $300 per annum.
Marionville Post, G. A. R., was organized February 23, 1884, with W. A. Robinson, C.; Joe. B. Browning, S. V.; S. C. McCullah, J. V. C.; J. H. Schoot, Q. M.; Dr. J. G. Robberson, Surgeon; J. S. Colemam, Chaplain; W. M. Youngblood, O. of D.; George Owens, O. of G.; Adjutant Stanhope and Sergeant-Major, John F. Ray. Wade Post, Sons of Veterans, was mustered in April 9,1887.
In December, 1885, the brass band was organized.
Verona is situate in the beautiful Spring River Valley, one mile from the head of the famous Spring River, which makes it one of the best watering towns in the State. The soil surrounding the town is rich and productive, and crops were never known to fail. The price of land ranges from $5 to $35 per acre. There
have been of the last crop of wheat 150,000 bushels shipped to other points. Lead mines are being opened up, and prospects are good for a large strike. No more promising spot can be found inside of Missouri than is here presented to the tiller of the soil in search of health, wealth and happiness. There are eight churches and a large schoolhouse. It has about 500 population; four dry goods stores, two grocery stores, two drug stores, one hardware store, two hotels, two blacksmith and machine shops, two elevators, one livery stable, besides other business, such as boot and shoe shops, tin shop, harness shop, etc. The village of 1876 contained a population of 300, had a good school, churches, several stores, mills, shops, etc., and was, even then, a very neat little town. James M. White, one of the first settlers of Lawrence County, who settled where Verona now stands in 1831, still lives at the same place. The first postmaster was Judge J. M. White. Leon Williams succeeded him, and held the office until 1885, when J. N. Fly was appointed.
Religion is represented by Cumberland Presbyterian, Southern Methodist, American Baptist, Swedish Baptist, Catholic, Christian, Missionary Baptist and Swedish Methodist. Verona dates settlement back to 1867, although it was not platted as a town until 1868. The altitude of the town is 1,279 feet. The town of Verona was surveyed May 2, 1868, by James W. Black, on parts of the four forties composing the southeast quarter of Section 17, Township 26, Range 26. A public square 330x330 feet, or two and a-half acres, with First, Second, Third and Fourth Streets running east and west, and North, Dora, Ella, Main, White and South Streets running north and south, are shown. Spring River forms the extreme northwest corner, and the railroad line, as surveyed, the northeast corner. This town was surveyed for James M. White, who acknowledged the plat that day. The first survey was made by Col. John D. Allen in 1867, parallel with the railroad; but the plat was not recorded, as the new plat of 1868 took its place. Oliver P. West’s addition to Verona was surveyed by J. W. Black in May, 1870. The first railroad addition to Verona was platted May 23, 1870, for Andrew Pierce, Jr., and James M. White. In August, 1874, a part of the first railroad addition to Verona was vacated on peti-
tion of the railroad company and James M. White. Browning's addition to Verona was made June 29, 1887.
In 1880-81 trade was represented by J. M. Grammer, J. T. Ham, J. M. Hunt, Elizabeth A. James, A. Miller & Son, W. W. Munday, T. E. Whaley and Lawrence & Co., general merchants; Young & Co., J. W. Nelson, J. H. Munday and J. A. McCullah, druggists; R. L. Good, J. W. Munday, A. Smith and George Wilson, grocers; White & Norbut, W. B. Patton, J. M. Hoover & Son, millers; Misses Counts and King, milliners; D. L. Walker, commission merchant; J. W. Gregory, Doling & Miller, grain dealers; George Brown's bakery; T. Armstrong, J. Colclasure, T. Elsey, G. Nicholls, Nordyke & Gray and M. West, blacksmiths; J. A. Williams, jeweler; W. R. Wright, John Seitnater, boots and shoes; E. Davis, meat market; G. N. McGhee & Co., hardware; W. P. McNair, railroad and express agent; Thomas Lumley, furniture and T. J. Plater, livery. The professional circle comprised Elisha Browning, W. N. Gregory, E. D. Grigg, H. Walker and J. B. Young, physicians, and R. H. Green, dentist. F. Odekoven was proprietor of the hotel.
The merchants of Verona in 1888, whose stocks were assessed that year, were Allen & Co., William Collins, Coppedge & Browning, J. H. Dierker, J. T. Ham & Co., Munday & Burns, R. J. McIntyre & Co., W. W. Munday, E. Mahaffey, J. M. Miller & Co., Miller Bros., Allen Murphy, C. J. Matlock, August Smith, A. M. Sherwood, Trolinger & Miller, C. Unzer, Thomas E. Whaley and J. B. Young.
In 1878 Mayor Nance erected his new mill and gin at a cost of $30,000, near Verona.
The Verona Mining Association was organized in February, 1888, with Allen Miller, president; A. M. Sherwood, treasurer, and J. H. Dierker, secretary.
Agent Armstrong, who, it is said, opened the station, was succeeded by J. W. Frey, about 1878, now of Rogers. W. P. McNair in June, 1879; J. R. Woodfill took charge in July, 1882; in October, 1886, F. B. Reed took charge. Verona shipped 75 cars of cattle, 97 of hogs, 7 of sheep, 302 of wheat, 35 of oak lumber, and 2,487,055 pounds of sundry freight in 1881.
The town of Verona was incorporated May 3, 1870, with
Aaron Ryland, Joseph Masters, Leonard Williams, Marion West and Joseph Gibson, first trustees; Joseph Batesell, mayor; and H. B. Collins, marshal. The corporation went into effect on the 30th of May, 1870.
In 1875 T. J. Walker and J. M. Gregory were elected school directors for three years, and J. F. Marbutt and S. W. Nordyke for one year; in 1876, R. H. Green and William Good.
In March, 1872, the railroad aid question, involving a matter of $50,000, was placed before the Veronians, and resulted 120 for, 115 contra. A two-third vote being necessary, the question was lost.
The rain storm of May 26, 1872, swept away all the culverts and much of the railroad track between Peirce City and Verona, and the tank tender at Verona, with his wife and child, was drowned. The railroad bridge on Spring River was swept away. The electric fluid, rain and wind each took a part in making the scene dreadful in the extreme. The Verona fire of December 5, 1877, destroyed J. W. Wagner's and George Wilson's grocery stores, Wilson saving a fourth of his stock, and Wagner all his stock except a soda fountain. John A. McCullah's drug store in the brick building was dam- aged, and H. C. Moehle lost his dwelling and butcher shop.
The German colony of Spring River Prairie neighborhood erected a Lutheran Church building in the spring of 1875, and on April 11 the first German sermon ever preached in Lawrence County was delivered therein. Later, Mr. Grupe was preacher there. There are now three church buildings.
In July, 1875, the Waldensian Colonists arrived at Verona, six families of the forty families forming the colony made their home here at that time, coming from South America, whither they emigrated from Piedmont. Mr. Solomon was the religious head of this colony.
Societies.--Verona Lodge 452, A. F. & A. M., was chartered May 22,1872, with the following members: Hiram Bates, E. D. Grigg, George A. Purdy, R. H. Green, D. Walker, J. M. Gregory and F. M. Moore. The names of masters are as follows: Hiram Bates, from May, 1872, to November, 1872; J. M. Gregory, from November 1872-73; E. D. Grigg, from November, 1873-
74; George A. Purdy, from November, 1874-75; J. M. Gregory, from November, 1875-76; J. M. Gregory,, from November 1876-77; E. D. Grigg, from November, 1877-78; A. N. Calhoun, from November, 1878-79; E. D. Grigg, from November, 1879 to June, 1884; F. E. White, from June, 1884 to December, 1885; E. D. Grigg, December, 1885-86; J. W. Gregory, 1886-87; E. D. Grigg, present master.
The secretaries have been: G. A. Purdy, T. R. Armstrong, H. Waller, J. W. Gregory, W. F. McCullah, J. M. Gregory, W. F. McCullah, Perie Lemuel, John A. Williams, M. A. Branstetter, J. A. Williams, F. C. White, and J. N. Fly, present secretary. The present membership is twenty-four.
Verona Lodge, I. 0. 0. F. 229, was presided over in 1875 and 1876 by J. A. Ryker and Leonard Williams, with J. W. Hansard, secretary. In 1878 John Petts was N. G., succeeded by A. J. Campbell.
(The Verona school-house and Odd Fellows hall were completed in 1869.)
Spring River Lodge, No. 13, K. of P., installed officers January 8,1877, at Verona. J. W. Hansard, D. D. G. C.; was installing officer; J. A. Irwin, P. C.; John A. Williams, C. C.; W. F. McCullah, V. C.; J. A. Ryker, Prelate; M. A. Branstetter, M. of F. ; J. W. Hansard, M. of Ex.; J. C. Pearce, K. of R. & S.; L. I. Branstetter, M. at A.; G. G. Clements, I. G.; T. J. Plater, O. G.; R. S. Young, G. G. Clements, L. I. Branstetter, Trustees.
In February, 1870, a literary society was organized in the neighborhood of the old Baptist Church on Spring River, with Alvah R. Sutton, president; J. M. Nance, vice-president; John W. Filler, secretary; Lottie J. Allen, treasurer, and J. J. Sitton, editor. Verona Temperance Club was organized January 21, 1878, with sixty-eight members. W. W. Munday was elected president; J. R. Woodfill, V. P.; W. F. McCullah, secretary; and Mrs. Nancy White, treasurer.
Captain J. M. Beard Post, G. A. R., was mustered at Verona in April, 1887, with twenty-four members. The officers elected were Col. J. D. Allen, C.; E. J. Van Tuyle, S. V. C.; E. Ellis, J. V. C.; H. W. Wright, chaplain; I. B. Young, surgeon; A. M.
Sherwood, Q. M.; W. Trolinger, O. D.; T. Trolinger, O. G.; H. B. Collins, adjutant; B. A. Stephens, S. M.; and E. Browning, Q. M. S.
Verona Post G. A. R. installed the following officers in January, 1888: Dr. I. B. Young, C.; G. A. Browning, V. C.; C. P. Perry, J. V. C.; W. Saunders, chaplain; Dr. Browning, surgeon; William Trolinger, Q. M.; Thomas Trolinger, V. D.; G. Banchman, D. G.
The first lodge of Sons of Veterans at Verona elected the following officers in January, 1888, with Capt. S. M. Trolinger, first lieutenant; W. E. Copeland, second lieutenant; G. W. Trolinger, C. C.; Ceorge R. Hall, L. C. Weeks and A. B. Chumley.
The soldiers reunion of Verona was held October 12 and 13, 1887, when the following posts were represented: Jewell Post, Mount Vernon, 30 members; J. M. Beard Post, Verona, 42 members; Marionville Post, 19 members; John A. Rawlings Post, Peirce City, 13 members; A. H. Blake Post, Mineral Springs; Ash Grove Post, Roaring River Post, Eagle Rock Post, Purdy Post, Republic Post, and representatives from other military organizations, and the Verona Sons of Veterans, to whom Gov. Foraker, of Ohio, presented a flag that month. Camp Sigel, of Republic, and W. H. Wade Camp, of Marionville, were also present.
Aurora.--This modern mining town was a village of 600 or 700 persons less than two years ago. In April, 1888, the population was placed at over 2,000. The cause is easily accounted for, as Aurora is fast becoming one of the best lead mining towns in the west, and every week ships as much zinc and lead ore as Joplin. The town is rapidly improving, new houses being started every day; everything is work, push and bustle, that indicates business. The total lead ore turn in of the camp for the week ending April 21, as reported by the outside buyers and the two local smelters, was as follows: Outside buyers 79,200 pounds, Aurora smelter 15,000 pounds, and Dwight smelter 29,534 pounds; total 123,734 pounds. The zinc ore turn in was 325,080 pounds. This is the heaviest turn in of zinc ever made in the camp, and is an encouraging indication of what is to come. The beginnings
of mining at this camp are related in the pages devoted to Lawrence County mines, where George Haley is credited with making the first prospect. On October 11 and 12,1887, the richest lead deposits ever hitherto discovered in the Aurora mining district were found on the Brinkerhoff and McCoy lands, at East Aurora, north of the railroad.
In January, 1887, the Aurora Syndicate Mining Company was formed and commenced work on the Boyd farm adjoining the town. During the fall of 1887 and the spring of 1888, the quiet village of former days was converted into a veritable mining camp with diggings, derricks, pumps and miners mixed up promiscuously, all characteristic of a new and prosperous camp. The Bank of Aurora followed closely on the development. It is presided over by Carr McNatt, with M. T. Davis, cashier.
Aurora is located 269 miles southwest of St. Louis. Its altitude is 1,378 feet. The town was platted in 1872.
In May, 1873, Aurora claimed the general store of John C. McNatt & Son. J. R. Woodfill was county superintendent of schools, railroad agent, telegraph operator, grocer, tie contractor and farmer, while the Lawrence County Mining Company, numbering eight members, under the management of George Haley, had three shafts down from six to twelve feet in the lead deposits on Charles A. Reed’s farm.
The business interests of the village of 1880 were represented by Davis & Miller and J. C. McNatt, general merchants; C. E. Gibson and J. M. McNatt, druggists; W. W. Queen and R. H. Turner, grocers; J. R. Woodfill, express and station agent; D. L. Wright, L. Robinson, Sculling & Brim and F. B. Elsey, blacksmiths; H. W. Hawley and J. Hembrey, wagon-makers; J. M. Tatterington, physician. Revs. W. B. Cochrane, of the Christian Church; Z. T. Eaton, of the Baptist; S. G. Elliott, of the Congregational, and E. Neece, of the Baptist, were the preachers.
The merchants of Aurora who were assessed for stocks in 1888 are Berry & McNatt, John H. Crawford, John Davidson Lumber Company, Evarts & Hunt, J. W. Gregory & Co., W. L. Gray, D. Greenhagen & Co., Loy Bros., Liles & Moore, W. W.
Munday & Co., C. D. Rearick & Co., W. J. Ryan, Russell & Brown, G. C. Shaw, F. S. Stevenson, D. F. Tindall, Towers & Waltz, Charles Wallick, Wilson Bros., and J. M. Wilks.
The town of Aurora was surveyed May 9, 1870, by J. W. Black, for Stephen G. Elliott, and acknowledged by the owner before Notary George W. Rinker the same day. The town of North Aurora was surveyed in June, 1886, by A. B. Watterson for Carr McNatt. Cline’s addition thereto was made January 29, 1886. Elliott’s addition to the original town was acknowledged February 16, 1887; Williams' addition to North Aurora, March 22, 1888. Wilson’s addition March 7, for A. J. Minard, D. L. Griffith, S. H. Wilson and their wives. Rinker & Elliott’s addition to Aurora was surveyed July 28, 1886; Wheat's addition, March 29, 1888; the Bonanza addition, March 29, 1888.
In October, 1886, Aurora organized as a city of the fourth class, with Carr McNatt, mayor; Charles Wallich, marshal; A. R. Wheat, J. D. Conrad, Warren Vertrees and Henry Woods, aldermen.
In April, 1888, W. B. Cochran was elected councilman of the First Ward, W. A. Robinson for the Second Ward, and Warren Vertrees for the Third Ward. James L. Coleman was elected marshal by seventy-five majority.
The school directors then elected were Judge G. W. Rinker for one year, W. A. Robinson and Dr. N. M. Gardner for the three-year term. The Board employed Prof. F. C. Miller, of Mount Vernon, as principal, and Mrs. F. C. Miller and Miss Logan as assistants, for the full term of their school.
Logan was settled in 1871, at a point on the railroad 262 miles southwest of St. Louis, and on the greatest elevation on that road between Springfield and the State line, or 1,390 feet. Here, in 1881, Logan & Bros., G. M. Wrightsman and J. M. Doling & Co. were general merchants; Doling & Vinton, grain dealers; J. W. Frey, railroad agent, and J. B. Milliken, postmaster.
The town of Logan was surveyed for William and Hetty E. Logan, who acknowledged the plat April 8, 1870. On the same day Andrew Pierce, Jr., acknowledged the plat of his part of the town.
The freight received at Logan, in 1881, was 3,9131,545 pounds; and shipped, 6,403,931 pounds. For some years this was the shipping point for Mount Vernon, and even for Marionville. George M. Morgan and John Wall paid direct merchants’ tax in 1888.
Round Grove.--The town of Round Grove, Section 5, Township 28, Range 27, was surveyed June 12, 1872, by William J. Ruark, deputy surveyor, for Jonathan Hunt. The location is eleven miles northwest of Mount Vernon, and claimed seventy-five inhabitants at the beginning of this decade. John B. Hunt was then postmaster and merchant; F. M. Compton, blacksmith; Wesley Wight, physician; L. E. Cannady and Isaac Hoagland, Baptist preachers.
J. B. Hunt was assessed for mercantile stock in 1888.
Heatonville, seven miles northeast of Mount Vernon, was the post-office center of the district until 1881. The population of the little hamlet in 1881-82 was about fifty. Heatonville was platted in 1868, by Daniel Heaton. It comprised, in November, 1869, ten dwellings, one store and a blacksmith shop, but the post-office was not yet established. In October, 1881, the post-office was discontinued, owing to there being no applicant to take the place of J. A. Tennis, resigned. In April, 1888, Robert H. Williams was appointed master here.
In 1888 Robert W. Irwin and B. W. W. Richardson paid tax on mercantile stocks.
Red Oak Lodge No. 468, A. F. & A. M., was presided over in 1877-80 by David Hunter, with George W. Ernest, secretary.
Hall Town was surveyed by A. B. Watterson, April 28, 1887, on Section 26, Township 29, Range 25, for P. R. Downing. The merchants of Hall Town, who paid tax on stocks in 1888, were E. C. Chamberlain, J. R. Julian and D. M. McCray.
St. Martha was surveyed on Section 30, Township 26, Range 28, for William R. Wild, his wife, Martha Ann, and Emil Wild, who acknowledged the plat May 9, 1870.
Kendallville.--A subdivision of part of the west half of the southeast quarter of Section 20, Township 26, Range 28, was surveyed August 14, 1886, by T. J. Smith for H. R. Kendall, Amos Saunders, Reuben Thomas and their wives, and Charles
Simmons. Oet Yingst, C. H. Yingst carried on a general store in 1888. S. M. Whaley, the only merchant at Forest Home, paid a direct mercantile tax of $11.60, in 1888. John H. Lowe, of Lowell, was the only merchant assessed there in 1888.
Freistatt is located eight miles north of Peirce, on Spring River prairie, in the midst of a thriving German community, having a fine Lutheran Church, a parsonage and an English and German school in the district. The German school is supported by donations, and the English school by taxation. The pupils attend the district school three days in the week, and the German two days. H. Bierman, the merchant at Freistatt, paid $26.52 direct tax in 1888. In June, 1887, the Swedish or Freistatt band and the German band were actual facts. In November, 1887, the Brinkerhoff post-office at Zion Church was petitioned for. Williams & Mayberry, of Chesapeake, paid a direct tax on stock for 1888 of $27.12.
Paris Springs is the new name of the old settlement of 1855, known as Johnson’s Mills. Clever Creek affords a good power, which is utilized by the Cherry & Johnson, J. R. Johnson and W. F. Likens flouring mills, the O. P. Johnson saw and woolen mills and E. L. Davis’ chair factory. In 1882 Oliver P. Johnson was postmaster; B. F. Johnson, general merchant; E. G. Paris, hotel proprietor; F. M. Johnson, wagon-maker; Henry Berry, blacksmith; B. F. Bowker, shoemaker; Marshall Willson, live-stock dealer, and Robert Kimmons, attorney. The chalybeate springs here are among the noted ones of the many in Southwest Missouri. In October, 1872, a post-office was established at Chalybeate Springs with Postmaster Rex in charge. About this time, October 3, the hotel was opened by H. V. Waring, manager for Paris, the owner.
Spencer was the name given to a post-office six miles north east of Mount Vernon. The schoolhouse at that point had long been the rendezvous for Christian, Baptist and Methodist societies, and here on the head waters of Sac River the flouring mills of Cherry & Johnson and John Johnson were carried on. In 1882 Isaac Richmond, a farmer, was postmaster, Rev. Clark Smith, of the Christian Church, and Mr. Eten, of the Methodist, resident preachers. In 1888 J. M. Foster and O. P. Johnson, Jr., formed the mercantile circle.
Phelps, eight miles northwest of Mount Vernon, claimed a population of eighty in 1882, supporting a school and three religious societies--United Brethren, Methodist and Baptist. Lawson & Clements and Wiley & Co. were general merchants; Cartly Brothers, druggists; James M. Cartly, hotel proprietor; S. P. Gatz, wagon-maker; J. M. Neal and L. B. Johnson, blacksmiths; Drs. M. Taylor, J. P. Galick and E. H. Rees, physicians; G. C. Stakely and J. B. Underwood, school teachers. The people of Phelps, in April, 1882, subscribed $905 as a reward for the arrest and conviction of the person who burned their school-house on April 20. The merchants at Phelps, assessed in 1888, were S. W. Goss and Lawson, Clements & Co., each paying a direct tax of $62; Richards, Samuel and Pennington, $46; and Taylor Brothers.
Lawrenceburg.--This small village is situated in the north-eastern part of the county on Rock Prairie. The Wear, Aurora Company, and Metzger & Thompson shafts at Lawrenceburg were worked in August, 1887. The town of Lawrenceburg was surveyed on Section 3, Township 29, Range 25, by J. W. Black and William J. Ruark, April 21, 1870, and acknowledged by John W. Wilkerson, April 11, that year. The merchants of Lawrenceburg assessed on stocks in 1888 were Collins Bros., who paid a merchant’s tax of $30.71; G. C. Merrick, D. A. Radley and William C. Wilkerson. In August, 1876, the directors of Lawrenceburg district for short term were M. H. Morris and James Wan; for one year, J. A. Hollingsworth and W. C. Allen; and for two years, John W. Richardson and W. C. Wilkerson. In September, 1876, Henry Hendricks and M. H. Morris were elected. Rock Prairie Lodge, No. 267, was organized October 15, 1868, with the following named members: M. H. Gilliland, Joseph C. Stinson, Louis Thomas, J. G. Morris, William Gammon. J. W. Wilkerson, Richard Buckner and W. C. Wilkerson. The names of Past Masters are M. H. Gilliland, 1869 and 1882; Joseph C. Stinson, 1870; W. G. Dunkin, 1871-73; J. G. Morris, 1874; W. A. Miller, 1875-76; J. McCray, 1877; R. T. Johns, 1878; J. H. Wan, 1879; William Gammon, 1880; Dr. Charles Moore, 1881; J. W. Nickle, 1883; John A. Troxell, 1884-88; William Gammon, 1869; T. J. Ingram, 1870; Gid. Stark, 1871;
W. B. Garrotte, 1872-74; J. H. Wan, 1875; R. T. Johns, 1876; D. A. Radley, 1877-79; B. W. Stinson, 1880; John Cotter, 1881; D. A. Radley, 1882-85; O. H. Hamsted, 1886; B. W. Stinson, 1887-88. The membership at present is forty-three, owning the hall which the society erected in 1878.
Bower’s Mill, in the northwest part of Lawrence County, was settled in the thirties by "Uncle Billy" Bowers. It is located on Spring River. The hills are covered with the best growth of timber in the county. This timber strip is about three miles wide. On the south, and stretching away toward Sunset and the Rookies, is Sarcoxie Prairie. On the north is the rich and fertile Golden Grove prairie that extends to the northwest through Missouri and Kansas to Nebraska.
On the head waters of Spring River, on which the village is located, John Adam’s flouring-mill, Forsythe Bros.’ flouring, saw and woolen-mills, and J. Henry & Co.’s saw-mill were flourishing industries in 1880. Dr. R. H. D. Long and W. M. Weaver were general merchants; S. Stusay, a dealer in meat and hides; R. W. Crain, a wagon-maker; N. Finley, a blacksmith; L. Wheeler, a cooper and wagon-builder; C. Helsel, a shoemaker; Drs. Long and Harvey, physicians, and G. W. Ernest, a justice of the peace. Dr. Long was postmaster. The school-house and Methodist Church building were here. In the spring of 1886 this old trading point began to assume the airs of its ante-bellum days. At that time T. E. Whaley and W. P. Dawson opened a general store in the Odd Fellows building, and the then completed roller mill was in operation. The following named merchants paid direct tax in 1888: C. J. Langstreth & Son, Whaley & Dawson and William M. Weaver. The settlement contained in 1882 a population of about 120; it has now about 150 inhabitants.
Bower’s mill, at present owned by the Forsythe Bros., of Peirce City, was erected in 1838. To-day it is a 200-barrel roller mill with all modern improvements, and, besides having sufficient water power with turbine wheals to run it, has lately added a sixty-horse power Corliss engine.