Search billions of records on


St. Clair County Missouri



Wright's Creek Baptist Church

Wright’s Creek Baptist Church

Partial History from Lowry City Centennial Book 1871-1971

The Wright’s Creek Baptist Church was organized in February 1866, by Rev. William P. Wright and Rev. C.V. Maddox. It was first called Mt. Zion Baptist  Church. The building, of log structure, was burned shortly after the church was organized. After the building was destroyed, the members met in the Wright’s Creek School House. The name of the church was changed from Mt. Zion to Wright’s Creek Baptist Church.

 There were seventeen charter members whose names are as follows:
W.H. Sibley, Sarah Sibley, Susan Wright, James Foster, Lucinda Commons, Amanda Foster,
James McClain, T.W. Wright, T.J. Ferrier, A.J. Dood, C.F. Moran, J.W. Maddox, Morgan Wright, Arvilla Foster, Elizabeth McClain, Elizabeth Hogan and Jane Maddox.

Submitted by: Mary Zeiler