Search billions of records on

            Chief Tishomingo Chapter DAR                                      

Iuka, Mississippi                                                                                                                       

 Chapter Officers

Regent: Cindy Whirley Nelson
Vice Regent
: Eunell Skinner Handy
Treasurer: Freddie Rorie Sanderson
Registar: Vicky Bolton Durham
Recording Secretary: Barbara Sweeney

: Cindy Whirley Nelson

These are the names of the Revolutionary War Soldiers of our Chapter Members:

Robert Bean, NC
William Beard, SC
John Blakeney, SC
Benjamin Cleveland, SC
Samuel Dean, SC
George Fisher, PY
John Glazier, SC
John Knott, NC
John Little, NC
Alexander McAlpin, SC
Allegany McQuire, VA
Moses Meek, SC
Thomas Ratliff, NC
Samuel Skinner, NC

Historic Preservation



Origin of Chapter Name

Tishomingo, a chief of the Chickasaws, was a legend in his own time because he lived for more than a century (from about 1737 until about 1838). He, as a prominent member of this civilized tribe, helped to form the destiny of the United States.

As a young warrior, he fought beside the colonists in the Revolution, serving under General Anthony Wayne. In the War of 1812, he served under Andrew Jackson. His war record included nine battles. He was paid a veteranís pension for many years.

The Treaty of 1816 gave Chief Tishomingo the right to confiscate the goods of the white traders who came into Indian lands illegally. When the old chief was jailed and tried for enforcing this treaty, Chickasaws decided to sign a new treaty and move to the Arkansas Territory which is now known as Oklahoma.

Because the Chickasaws wished to move gradually, Tishomingo, who had been granted a pension in the Pontotoc Treaty of 1832, did not sell his land and leave until 1836.

It is commonly believed that he died on 5 May 1841, at Fort Caffee on the south bank of the Arkansas River. He was at least 100 years old. In his possession was his commission from George Washington. He received burial with full military honors for his service to the United States of America.

Our county, one of our towns, and one of our two state parks were named for the Chickasaw Indian Chief, Tishomingo.  He was an important Chief whose image is today prominent on the flag of the Chickasaw Nation. 

This chapter has chosen this name in honor of a true patriot of our country.

Chief Tishomingo Chapter of the Mississippi Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, was activated on 2 December 1979. Mrs. M. Tate Thigpen, State Regent; Mrs. Fred Wicker, who assisted members in filling out application papers; and Mrs. Dale Tapp, Organizing Regent, of the new chapter were instrumental in organizing the chapter.

The organizational meeting was held in the Iuka Baptist Church with Mrs. Dale Tapp presiding. Scripture was read and prayer was offered by the Reverend Charles Dampeer, Pastor of the church. Mrs. Fred Wicker led the Pledge of Allegiance and Mrs. Walter Lee Hall, Director of District II, led the American’s Creed. Installation of officers was conducted by Mrs. M. Tate Thigpen. The following officers were installed: Regent, Mrs. Dale Tapp;  Vice Regent,  Mrs. Sue McBee; Secretary, Mrs. Terry Lambert; Historian, Mrs. Annie Byrd; Registrar,  Miss Rayma Biggs; Chaplain,  Mrs. Hershal Harris; and Librarian,  Mrs. Merle McNeil.

Membership included 21 charter members. Four members transferred from other chapters: Lynn Reid Daniel, Pansy Tibbets Reid, Dorothy King McBee, and Edna Daughtery Tapp. Seventeen became new members of MSSDAR: Rayma Leone Biggs, Grace Timbes Bostick, Margaret Yarber Byran, Annie Ruth Byrd, Lela Timbes Clark, Betty Yarber Dickinson, Irene Hudson Harris, Linda Claunch Lambert, Barbara Tackett McNeil, Patsy Clark Pace, Quay Timbes Rushing, Minnie Elizabeth Shockley, Barbara Rushing Sweeney, Lucille Nash Vickers, Elizabeth Heard Williams, Mary Patterson Williams, and Mae Bess Greene Yarber. Nine members were added during the year 1979-1980: Daisy Daughtery Biggs, Eufra Owens Blunt, Linda Karen Gilliam, Lula Frances Greene Herring, Charlotte Biggs McVay, Cleo Owens, Vonnie Leath Tackett, Mildred Nixon Hill, and Helen Marquerite Nixon.

Past Chapter Regents

Mrs. Edna (Daughtery) Tapp (Dale) 1980-1983
Mrs. Barbara (Tackett) McNeil (Merle) 1983-1986
Mrs. Linda (Claunch) Lambert (Terry) 1986-1989
Mrs. Mildred (Nixon) Hill (Martin) 1989-1992
Mrs. Martha (Johnston) Dobbins (Jarrett) 1992-1995
Mrs. Helen M. Nixon 1995-1998
Mrs. Vickie Durham 1998-2000
Mrs. Barbara Sweeney 2000-2002
Mrs. Marquita (Carver) Mathis 2002-2004
Mrs. Fredda (Rorie) Sanderson 2004-2006


About Us | Contact Us | Webmaster | Last Updated: October 22, 2008
Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.