American History & Genealogy Project
Homochitto Forest History
The Homochitto National Forest was established in 1936 as the first National Forest in Mississippi. The Forest was named for the Homochitto River, an Indian name for "Big Red River". France, England, Spain, and the United States strongly influenced the area of land around what is now the Homochitto National Forest. It operated as a single district until 1952, then was divided into two Ranger Districts, the Bude and the Homochitto.
The Community Center Pavilion at Clear Springs Lake near Roxie is on the list of National Historic Places.
It was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps and is built entirely of hand-hewn logs and hand-split wooden shingles. It is a simply stunning building and is in use almost every weekend for community activities such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, family reunions and group picnics.
All rights reserved. This information may be used by libraries and genealogical societies, however commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior permission of the owner. If copied, this copyright notice must appear with the information.