Old Loyalist (Anglican) Cemetery
Called "OLD LOYALIST BURYING GROUND" in this transcription made by The Charlotte County Branch of the New Brunswick Genealogical Society Corner of King and Prince of Wales Streets, St. Andrews
This picturesque cemetery, situated at the head of King Street and surrounded by an iron fence, is the resting place of many of the founding Loyalists who came to St. Andrews. The land was given to the Church of England in 1794. The cemetery is currently maintained by the local Anglican Church. The earliest stone is 1788, possibly a reburial. Transcribed in 1996.
Overviews of parts of the cemetery:
View 1 - Entering gate at right, down towards Carleton St.
View 2 - Standing in the Carleton St end, looking towards the middle
View 3 - Looking from the King Street side toward the read (School in background)
View 4 - From beside the Weir stones towards the Carleton St end of the school
View 5 - From lower center towards the gate
Click on the camera for a photo of the stone
Photos donated by:
|Jo-Ann Croft||added 23 Jul 2001 (McLachlen stones / non-related)|
|Cleadie B. Barnet||added 06 Oct 2001 (non-related) & Jul 2002|
Legal Disclaimer: © 2005 All Rights Reserved