US Genweb  Benson Logo 


Benson Querys
 Benson Family Histories
Benson Obituaries
Benson Churches
Benson Cemeteries
Benson Resources

  Benson County

1895 Benson County Map

1888 Territorial Map


GenealogyLooking for Information!

The goal of this website is to be of assistance to those people seeking information regarding people who lived in Benson County. This goal can only be accomplished with the help of fellow genealogists who share information that will be helpful to others as they search for their Benson roots.

Types of information requested:

  • Names of previous and current churches in Benson County including addresses and contact information. Histories of churches would also be welcome as long as they have a focus on people.
  • Old confirmation, baptism, and marriage records
  • Military records
  • Old High School Graduation records
  • Histories of early settlers to the county
  • Old obituaries
  • Names of individuals who have family history for specific surnames to share.
  • Early information for county or townships
  • Names of individuals who would be willing to be local resources to genealogists searching from a distance.


Please contact Colleen Goltz prior to submitting any information.

About Benson County

Benson County North Dakota was created by the 1879 Territorial legislature. It was named for Bertil W. Benson, a Valley City North Dakota merchant and land dealer who served in the House of Representatives. The government was organized June 4th 1884. The County seat is located in Minnewaukan. More Info

When North Dakota became a state in 1889, one half the population was foreign born and one third of these were from Norway. In 1910, Norwegians comprised 18% of the state's population with the dominant Scandinavian population of 123,000 residents. Swedes numbered 27,000 (3.9%), Danes 12,500, Icelanders 2,800 and Finns 2,500. The Scandinavian's came late into the settlement process with the first arrivals coming by rail and river in 1869 and 1870. While many other ethnic groups settled in enclaves, the Norwegians washed across the state, leaving a residue of farms in almost every locality. Fort Totten, was established in 1870 for the Sioux tribe.

Towns still in existence are Brinsmade, Esmond, Knox, Leeds, Maddock, Minnewaukan, Oberon, Warwick and York. Other communities in Benson County are St. Michael and Tokio.

If you wish to submit data for this county, please contact Colleen Goltz Benson County Coordinator since 12 Jul 2008
If you have problems with this site, contact the State Coordinator or Assistant State Coordinator for the NDGenWeb Project

Thanks for stopping by!

About the North Dakota GenWeb Project

This site is generously
Hosted by RootsWeb

Updated 01/16/2014