Search billions of records on

NDGenWeb Project USGenWeb Project Morton County NDGenWeb Project

Morton County North Dakota History


We would like to begin collecting a little of the history of the towns and people of Morton County. If you would like to volunteer to write an article about a particular town, person, or family, please email Michelle Savre. Articles of any length will be accepted. You will receive full credit for your contribution, and the satisfaction of knowing you made a worthwhile contribution to your fellow Morton researchers.

Morton County was created by the 1872-1873 territorial legislature. It is named for Oliver Hazard Perry Throck Morton, Governor of Indiana during the civil war and a US Senator at the time the county was established. The government was organized Mar 23, 1878, but the 1879 legislature attached the eastern portion of Morton County to Burleigh County. This effectively nullified the organization of the Morton County government. The 1881 legislature returned the detached portion to Morton County and the government was reorganized on February 18 of that year.
County seat: Lincoln 1878-1879, Mandan 1881 - present.
Area 1980 square miles.
2000 population -- 23,700.

Return to NDGenWeb Project's Morton County Home Page