Search billions of records on

Wells County North Dakota Genealogy

Wells County North Dakota Genealogy

About the North Dakota GenWeb Project

  • Wells County Research Sources

  • Wells County Cemetery Book Index

  • North Dakota State Death Index (New)

  • Indexes to pre 1925 North Dakota marriages--some one line some not

  • Link to Norway Death Index for 1995-2000

  • link to Veteran burials and Nationwide Gravesite Locator

  • 1900 US Wells County Census index and scans

  • link to North Dakota censuses on line--use back key to return here.

  • county BLM records--homesteads etc.

  • link to US Bureau of Land Management--homesteads etc.

  • North Dakota Geographic Information--maps and all kinds of ND data bases

  • Wells County Queries

  • Wells County populated places and early Township names

  • BLM Bureau of Land Management Wells County land records

  • latest Survey of ND Cemetery Books in Print

  • James River Genealogy Club Page

  • link to Harvey, ND home page

  • link to Herald Press county newspaper

  • link of Manfred, ND home page

  • Index to North Dakota entries in the 1885 Dakota Territory Census (this site is closed until early spring 2014)

  • Index to North Dakota Naturalization Papers (this site is closed until early spring 2014)

  • Index to ND Published Biographies 185,000 biographies from 651 publications, at NDIRS, (this site is closed until early spring 2014)

  • link to Western ND Professional Genealogist Home Page

  • link to the North Dakota State Genealogical Society

  • great Germans from Russia links

  • new post of Carlsson information sent from Sweden

  • History of Wells County

    In 1870 two counties, Pembina and Buffalo were created by the Territorial Legislature. Pembina extended west of the Red River of the North to the 9th Guide Meridian, and Buffalo from there to the Missouri River. In 1873 Wells county was created from part of Buffalo County and named Gingras (Jennegra) county in honor of Antoine Blane Gingras of St. Joseph, now Walhalla. In 1881 the county name was changed to Wells, in honor of E. P. Wells, of Jamestown. Wells County contains 36 townships. The two largest cities are Harvey, population 2263, and Fesenden, the county seat, population 655.

    Back to North Dakota GenWeb Project

    George Barron /8399 33rd St. SE, Jamstown, ND

    You are our 39833 visitor since 28 Sep 1997 -- thanks for stopping by!

    This page last updated 13 Aug 2006