NJGenWeb ~ Morris County, New Jersey

Miscellaneous 1875-6 Directory
Morris Co. Up


Morris County Officers

President Judge Vancleve Dalrimple
Common Pleas Judges B. O. Canfield, John L. Kanouse, Freeman Wood
County Clerk William McCarty
Surrogate Edwin E. Willis
Sheriff Jesse Hoffman
Collector Louis A. Vogt
Prosecutor of the Pleas Frederick A. DeMott

Holding Courts (Circuit)

Third Tuesday in January
First Tuesday in May
First Tuesday in October


Morristown City Officers

Mayor Alfred Mills
Recorder Edward L. Taylor
Aldermen John Bird, Philip H. Hoffman
Councilmen J. G. Arnold, James S. Adams, Wm. R. McKay, George L. Hull, Thomas B. Pierson
City Clerk and Treasurer John D. Canfield
City Marshall William Montgomery
Street Commissioner Samuel Muddell
City Surveyor R. M. Stites

Police Officers

Marshall Wm. Montgomery, B. W. Dempsay, L. H. Hannas, J. W. Cory, C. H. Lewis, D. Y. Johnson

Fire Department

Chief Engineer R. M. Stites
First Assistant
Alfred Cranston
Second Assistant
Charles McCullum
Washington Engine Co. No. 1
J. W. Hays, Foreman
Niagara Steam Engine Co., No. 2 S. W. Stalter, Foreman
Resolute Hook & Ladder Co., No. 1 Wm. H. Halstead, Foreman
Independent Hose Co., No. 1.


First Presbyterian Park, Rev. J. A. French, Pastor
South St. Presbyterian   South, Rev. A. Erdman, Pastor
Episcopal, St. Peters South, Rev. R. N. Merritt, Rector
Episcopal, of the Redeemer Morris, Rev. Mr. Hall, Rector
M. E. Park, Rev. D. W. Bartine, D. D., Pastor
Baptist Park, Rev. J. H. Gunning, Pastor
Roman Catholic Maple av cor Madison, Rev. Jas. Sherin, Pastor
German Presbyterian Rev. Hans Richelsen, Pastor
M. E. Colored Spring, Rev. Mr. Boyer, Pastor

Secret Societies

Cincinnatti Lodge F. & A. M. No. 3, Meets in Masonic Hall every Monday evening.
Roxiticus Lodge No. 98 I. O. of O. F., Meets in their Hall every Wednesday evening
Good Intent No. 80, M. & M. Lodge, Meets in Odd Fellows Hall every Friday evening
Eureka Temple of H. No. 5, Meets in Templar's Hall, Banner Building, every Wednesday Evening
Fidelity Social No. 14, Meets in Templar's Hall, Banner Building, every Friday evening.


National Iron Bank Capital $200,000; H. O. Marsh, President; D. D. Craig, Cashier
The First National Bank of Morristown Capital 250,000; Theodore Little, President; Joseph H. VanDoren, Cashier
Morristown Institution for Savings Washington St., incorporated April 9th, 1867. Bank open daily from 9 A.M. to 4 P.M. And on Tuesday and Saturday evenings from 6 1-2 to 8 1-2 o'clock. President, Louis B. Cobb; Vice President, Joseph W. Ballentine; Secretary and Treasurer, J. H. VanDoren.
The Morris County Savings Bank Morristown, in National Iron Bank. Bank open from 9 A.M. to 4 P.M. and on Tuesday and Saturday evenings from 6 1-2 to 8 1-2. Wm. L. King, President, John B. Byram, Treasurer.
Morristown Gas Light Co. Corner of the Park and Bank Streets. William C. Caskey, President, Edward Pierson, Treasurer.
The Proprietors of the Morris Aqueduct Corner of Park and Bank Streets. H. C. Pitney, President; Edward Pierson, Secretary.


Dover City Officers

Mayor George Richards
T. R. Crittenden
Isaac Hance, C. Beach
Thomas Jarvis, Dr. H. B. Chambre, S. R. Bennett, Charles F. Gage, Isaac W. Searing
City Clerk
Wm. H. Lambert
City Treasurer
Wm. H. Lambert
John Armitage
Police Justices
Freeman Wood, C. B. Gage


Presbyterian Church Blackwell street, Rev. B. C. Megie
Episcopal Church
Essex street, Rev. E. E. Butler
Methodist Church
McFarlan St., Rev. S. B. Rooney
Free Methodist
Sussex St., Rev. John Glen
St. Mary's Catholic Church
Port Oram road, Rev. Pierce McCarty

Secret Societies

Acacia Lodge No. 20, A. F. & A. M. Meets in Masonic Hall, 1st and 3d Wednesday evenings of each month
Randolph Lodge No. 130, I. O. of O. F. Meets every Tuesday evening in Odd Fellow's Hall
Bethlehem Encampment No. 50, I. O. of O. F. Meets 2d and 3th [stet] Friday evenings of each month
Star Lodge No. 42 K. of P. Meets every 1st and 3d Monday in McDavit's Hall
Dover Council No. 6, O. U. A. M. Meets every Tuesday evening in McDavit's Hall
True Blue Lodge of St. George Meets every 2d and 4th Monday evenings in McDavit's Hall

Fire Department

Chief Engineer Wm. H. McDavit
First Assistant
Wm. H. Worthen
City of Dover Steamer No. 1
S. R. Bennett, Foreman
Protection Hook & Ladder Co. No. 1 F. H. Lindsley, Foreman
Vigilant Hose Co. No. 1 W. H. Lambert, Foreman

Copyright 1999-2017 by Brianne Kelly-Bly, all rights reserved.