Nestled in a beautiful valley, the village is about twenty-five miles up NM52 from Cuchillo and was formerly a mining community named Fairview. In June, 1881, a building boom was underway; twenty-five buildings were being constructed. By 1883 the population reached 500. Frank H Winston had opened a mercantile establishment in 1882, and the name of the town was changed, perhaps as a testimonial to his faith in the community. Winston has been called the "little town that refused to die". Even after the mines failed in the 1890's, the town managed to survive. Flurries of mining activity still occur from time to time, but ranching is the mainstay of the community A community fiesta is held the 3rd Saturday in April and a fall festival the last Saturday in September.