From "The Casket" article - The Acadian Connection - Larrys River & Lundy
By M. Perle Connolly - 2000

Lundy History - by M. Perle Connolly

Lundy is a small settlement eight miles from Larrys River, on the west side of Donahue Lake. Settled by Acadians who moved from Larrys River because fuel for their stoves was abundant. Lundy was named after an early settler, and was also called the Junction and Lundy Junction, In the mid 1870s, the only building was Joseph Girroir's Halfway House, a stopover or resting place for travelers who frequently walked or traveled by boat. The Girroir family was the only family listed on the Junction Road at that time. A school building was completed in 1915.
Lundy is nestled in dense woods, surrounded by lakes, streams and ponds. When it was founded, lumbering was the main industry. Today Lundy has a population of 18 families and its residents are served by St. Peter's Church, Larrys River.
In Lundy, visitors will find families of Avery, Girroir and Petitpas.
All these families can trace their ancestry back to Chezzetcook, from where they came after the expulsion of 1755.