Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

HISTORICAL SKETCHES of the TOWN OF PORTLAND

BY H.C. TAYLOR, M.D. Published 1873

There are 258 sketches in this book.

They are arranged chronologically in the book from number 1; James Dunn, who came in 1805: to number 258: Joshua Jackson, who settled in 1830.

I have arranged them in alphabetical order for easier searching. The number following name ( ) is the chronological number of the sketch.

It appears that Dr. Taylor contacted as many of these families as he was able to and received letters from many of the families which gave b. d. and marriages and added information on their trips to P. or their early years in P. Dr. Taylor did much research back when early records were still available. He has also mentioned who now (1873) owns the property. I have put these names in BOLD type. Marriages also give clues as to what other families were here after 1830.

I have also added some NOTES: on some of the families, usually with the source of this additional information.

Please be aware that these sketches may not always contain accurate information try to use another source for confirmation.


FARLIN, David (15)

Came to P. from eastern N. Y., bought of James Parker ten acres of land adjoining the farm of D. Eaton, pt. lot 37, T. 5, in 1809. He sold in 1827 and bought part of lot 14, T. 5, near the farm of Wm. Case, north of Brocton. His aged father committed suicide in the woods near his house.

FAY, Elijah (34)

Was the son of Nathaniel and Ruth Rice Fay, and was b. in Southborough, Mass., Sept. 9, 1781. He m. Lucy Belknap of Westborough Jan 20, 1807. Mrs. Fay was b. Dec. 1, 1785. They came to P. in the fall of 1811. The experiences of Mr. and Mrs. Fay leaving their home in New England and seeking a home in the western wilds is so truthful and so well sets forth the experience of so many others that it is inserted as furnished by Mrs. Fay and others of the family, together with many incidents of early life in P.

"They came to P. in a wagon drawn by a yoke of oxen and one horse, and were forty-one days on the road. Tearful and sad was the good-bye of loved ones, for the Holland Purchase was thought to be beyond the possibility of a return. Prayers and the blessings of endeared friends followed them. Last but not least, was the early call of the aged father of Mrs. Fay. He came bearing a Bible, his last and parting gift to a loved daughter. He spoke kindly, comforting words, and in humble faith as he traveled on beside the wagon to an adjoining town, reluctant to bid the final adieu. But it must come; the heart must yield the treasure to stern realities of frontier life and return to its place to rest in hope of a future meeting in other and better climes. Their household goods and farming implements were packed into the strong, well-built wagon that boasted no spring seat, but in place the well-filled old red chest did service. Their slow plodding ox team drew its slow length along until Buffalo was reached, and in due time Canadaway, and soon Portland, the Eldorado of their hopes, and the comforts of a lodge in some vast wilderness were greatly received and appreciated."

Mr. Fay had located the whole of lot 20, T. 5 179 acres his article bearing date May 10, 1811. His deed from the Holland Company bears date May 10, 1820. The price paid for the lot was $547.97. No road has as yet been laid out through that part of the town and Mr. Fay reached his purchase by a path across the now farms of Chester Skinner and Linus Burton. The /first log house was occupied on the first of January 1812. It stood west of the house now on the farm, was without a door or window for a time, a blanket answering the place of the former against which a barrel was set at night. The pantry was but a single shelf against the logs. There was no chimney but a hole in the roof for the smoke. Chairs were not introduced for about three years, but in their place stools were used made of slabs split from a tree, hewed out with . an ax and into which three legs were fitted by means of an auger. Kettles were suspended over the fire by a chain fastened to a pole overhead. Within a year a better house was built, the old one converted into a barn and the space between the two closed up for a threshing floor. Three years later another house was built which the family occupied until 1831 when the house now on the farm was built. "The land was thickly covered with trees over the whole town except the patches of clearing here and there. Roads were few and bridges among the things yet to be. No churches were formed or houses of worship erected. For many years when the settlers assembled for worship it was at some private dwelling. Under other circumstances it might have been amusing to watch the people assemble for worship. Much greater pains were taken to get to meeting than now. They would come for miles around, some on foot, some on horseback, mothers riding with their little ones behind them, some with ox sleds and some on mud boats. But their worship was none the less sincere. Now and then Lo! The poor Indian, with a sad look, might be seen stealing a longing lingering look at his much beloved but now lost hunting grounds. The deer and lawless bear still disputed the right of possession. Many were the scenes grandmother passed through before becoming accustomed to frontier life and troublesome neighbors.

Occasionally we get a glimpse of their early doings for at times some incident will come into her mind and she will drop her knitting to relate it. Shopping then, she says, was not a mere pastime but a stern matter of fact and necessity. Going to the store was not a matter of every day occurrence. On such a day the work must be done up at an early hour and all things placed in order for leaving. The horse would be brought to the door, on which the woman would be seated with a little one and perhaps two, taken along for safe keeping. In this condition a ride of from seven to ten miles was necessary to procure the articles needed. It occupied a whole day and was the hardest day of the year. So for a friendly visit this was the usual mode of conveyance. These visits were a luxury. It did not matter if the social meal was partaken from off the lid of the family chest as a substitute for a table, it was as good and perhaps better than some others in better circumstances. Grandmother says that the most delicious teas she ever enjoyed were those when all had to be prepared while visiting. The molasses or maple sugar cake was baked before the fire and a pumpkin pie in the spider. She says: "You dont know how well you can get along if you only think so. After I came out here I was a dress -maker, tailoress and milliner; and such bonnets! Well, they were all right then. What a job I had to make the first coat. Where to commence I did not know, but it must be done, and in due time it was finished, pressed and called a coat. The next time a similar garment was needed I exchanged works with a neighbor, she making the coat and I braiding straw sufficient for her a bonnet, not a sham top piece but a capacious covering for the head, requiring a hundred yards of fine seven strand braid.

I lived in constant fear for a year or more, with no neighbors nearer than a mile and no roads but a winding footpath. This fear was in no sense diminished by the presence of the tracks of bears and other wild animals near our door nearly every morning. In fact an old bear at one time carried away a pig from our yard in the daytime. The Indians were a constant terror to me. The first that visited our shanty so frightened me that I left everything and with my child under my arm ran a mile through the woods to the nearest neighbor, but to be told when I got there that I was foolish . But after a while my fears subsided and I enjoyed my life in the forest as well as I could so far from my early home and friends." The above incidents, furnished me by the family, are not given as anything peculiar in the history of the family of Mr. Fay but as setting forth as well the experience of all the early settlers. The hospitality of Mr. and Mrs. Fay in early as well as after life was proverbial. No traveler was ever sent on his way unfurnished. More or less this was a characteristic of all the early settlers.

Mr. Fay was a farmer. He was not in the war of 1812, but furnished a substitute by the name of Huram Haines, paying him a bounty of $30. Mr. and Mrs. Fay were members of the Baptist church in P., uniting in Oct. 1819. For many years Mr. Fay held the office of deacon in the church. In politics he was a republican. The west portion of the village of Brocton is situated upon lands sold by him at various times to facilitate the settlement of the town and village. He was much in town office in those early years. It is scarcely possible to conceive of a man more prompt and methodical in all his business transactions. His old account book is a perfect diary of facts, events and dates. A few are here presented, not merely to show the character of the man in this particular, but the various shifts and modes of trafficking the early settlers were obliged to resort to:

Nov. 17, 1812 Elisha did begin to take newspapers with me.

Dec. 7, 1813 I did begin to take newspapers.

Dec. 30, 1814 I paid Mr. Haines $30. in full for his son Huram going as a substitute for me a-soldiering as a volunteer.

Oct 28, 1816 Hollis went to cut a road to his lot.

Aug. 25, 1817, then Hollis and Elijah did begin upon the sawmill.

Nov, 21, 1818, Henry Delong moved into my house at the lake lot. I agreed with him to chop for me a certain piece of woods, supposed to be four or five acres; to chop it fit for logging for eight dollars per acre, or that worth in produce, or he take a cow in part pay.

June 9 or 10 1823 I agreed with Chester Skinner to build me a barn 16 x 20 feet and finish it for use. The pay is as follows: I am to pay 20 lbs. Of salt pork when the building is finished. I am to let him have a small black cow, two dollars in money and forty-five apple trees more; the work to be done by 10th of Oct. next.

Thus every transaction is recorded and much of it very minute. Mr. Fay d. Aug. 23, 1860 and was bu. in the grounds at Brocton which were donated by him for burial purposes in 1820. Mrs. Fay d. Jan. 17, 1872, and was bu. by her husband.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Fay

    1. CLINTON SNOW: b. in Mass. June 25, 1810; m. Almira A. Clark Feb 13, 1842 settled and still lives on a portion of the old homestead. He is a deaf mute from disease in early life.
    2. LYDIA E.: b. in P. May 28, 1815; m. Lawrence F. Ryckman Aug. 27, 1833; d. July 22, 1873; bu at Brocton.
    3. JOSEPH B.: b. in P. May 17, 1817; m. Maria M. Sage, dau. of Isaac Sage, Oct, 8, 1837; 2d Martha Haywood March 15, 1843; settled on a portion of the old homestead, but in 1872 sold out and now lives in Topeka, Kansas.

FAY, Hollis (33)

Was the son of Nathaniel and b. in Westbury, Mass., April 10, 1793. He came to P. in 1811 in company with his brother Elijah. He first articled the lot of land on which the east portion of Brocton is situated, N. W> pt of lot 13, T. 5, but in 1815 sold to Moses Sage and articled pt of lot 42, T. 5, in the N. W. corner of the town. For three years he lived alone in a small log cabin, the stones of the chimney of which can still be seen. In 1818 he returned to Mass., m. Phebe Mixer, dau. of Raymond Mixer, on June 16. Mrs. P. was b. in Mass. Jan 21, 1793. They at once started for their home in the west with an ox team and covered wagon. Their wagon was their sleeping apartment and the roadside their kitchen and dining room. The journey lasted six weeks. They lived upon their farm until 1851 when they removed to Concord, Erie Co., Pa., where Mr. Fay d. July 27, 1868. Mrs. Fay d. there the 19th of Oct. following. They were bu. in W. & P. U. Cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Fay were members of the West Baptist church. Mr. F. was a whig and afterward a republican and never failed of voting at an election from the time he was old enough to vote. He was a brother of Elijah, Elisha and Nathaniel.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Fay

They had a family of three ch., one only surviving infancy, ROXANNA E., who was b. Dec. 20, 1822; m. Edmund Ellis Sept. 18, 1841; Mr. Ellis d. Oct 6, 1857; Mrs. Ellis now lives in Concord.

FAY, Nathan (2)

Was the son of Nathan, and b. in Southbury, Mass. He m. Batsey Clemens, who was b. in Hopkinton, same state. In 1805 Mr. Fay and David Eaton passed through P. on a prospecting tour, on foot, with their knapsacks on their backs, and on their return passed through the south part of the county. In May, 1806, Mr. Fay removed with his family of a wife and six ch. to P., settling on the farm now owned in part by Lincoln Fay, p't of lot 25, T5. His first house was a log but standing on the s. p't of the lot, nearly in front of the residence of E. Dension. Afterward he built a log house on a ridge of ground north of the house on the farm of Jonas H. Martin. In 1807 he built a log house near a spring in the rear of the present residence of S. S. Jones, on p't of lot 25, on land he purchased of James Dunn, the deed of which was the first executed in town. The article of his land bears date June 6, 1806. In 1807 Mrs. Fay d___ the first death in town and the first bu. in Evergreen Cemetery. In the fall of 1809 Mr. F. m. Miss Mercy Groves in Oneida Co., this state. He lived but a short time after this marriage, dying in June 1810. He was bu. by the side of his (1st) wife. Mr. Fay was a Deist, and in politics a "republican or its equivalent."

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Fay

(1) HATTIE:: m. Simeon Guyle; settled in Wisconsin : Mr. G. d. there : Mrs. G. is living with a son in Cleveland, Ohio.

(2) JOHN: m. Nancy McClintock; settled in Westfield, N. Y., but d. in Fulton, Ill.

(3) NATHAN: went to Michigan; m. and d. there.

(4) CUTTING: went south; supposed to be dead

(5) WILLARD: left home and was never heard from.

(6) ESTHER: lived in Ripley, this county: d. there about 1865.

(7) BETSEY: only one b. in P.; m. Samuel Moorhouse in 1829; now lives in Clark County, Missouri.

FAY, Elisha (4)

Was the son of Nathaniel Fay and Ruth Rice, his wife, and was b. in Framingham, Mass. June 2, 1783. He came to P. from Westbury, Worcester county, that state, in June 1806. He was then a young man and came in company with his brother Nathaniel, also a young man, and Nathan Fay and family. Mr. Fay located the E. p't of lot 25, T. 5., and erected his log cabin about ten rods east of the stone house now upon the premises and owned by Geo. Smith. He has lived upon this purchase 67 years, though some years as a boarder with his sons. His article bears date July 30, 1806. In 1807 he returned to Mass. and in Sept m. Sophia Nichols, who also was born in Framingham, in 1785. He came to P., a second time in company with James Parker, arriving in Nov. Mrs. F. walked long distances during the tedious trip, and all the way from Buffalo. A new log house was at once built. Mr. Fay was in the War of 1812 at Black Rock and Buffalo. He is the oldest actual settler in town now living (1873). Mr. and Mrs. F. became converts to the Christian faith in 1817, and became members of the M.E. church and afterward of that division known as Wesleyan, and were zealous and influential members. Mrs. Fay d. in Oct 1850, and was bu. in Evergreen Cemetery.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Fay-

(1) LINCOLN: b. Aug 15, 1808; m. Sophronia Peck Dec. 31, 1835, and now lives upon the farm located by Nathan Fay in 1806, p't lot 25, T. 5.

(2) EDDIE: b. April 9, 1811; d. March 11, 1834.

(3) CHARLES: b. March 24, 1813; m. Laura A. Hall; lives upon a part of the old homestead.

(4) OTIS N.: b. Feb 5, 1820; m. Emeline Vantassel; lives in P. S.W. p't of lot 19, T. 5.

FAY, Nathaniel (8)

Came to P. in company with his brother Elisha. He was the son of Nathaniel, and was b. in Westborough, Mass. Jan. 25th 1785. He located pt. of lot 12, T. 5, 200 acres, June 17th 1810. It is now owned by his son Franklin. July 17th 1816-he m. Lydia Barnes, dau. of Calvin Barnes, of P. Mrs. Fay was b. in Norway, Herkimer County, N. Y., Jan. 17th 1798. They took possession of their first log house Dec. 2d 1816. The house now on the farm was built in 1841. Mr. Fay was a man of sterling integrity; was much in town office, and at the battle of Black Rock and Buffalo. He was a farmer. In religion Mr. Fay was a Universalist; in politics a Republican, though in early years a Democrat. He d. May 15th 1853. Mrs. Fay d. Sept. 4, 1872.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Fay

    1. MARY ANN: b. Mar. 23d 1818; m. Orrin Brainard, Mar 1 st 1841; first settled in Arkwright, afterward in Pomfret, where she d. Dec. 17th 1854. NOTE: they had 2 daus. And 3 sons.
    2. FRANKLIN: b. June 4th 1820; m. Catharine Bowdish, Jan. 22d 1845; now lives on the homestead. NOTE: he d. 20 Dec. 1895 survived by 4 ch. Frank, Fred and Carl Fay and Mrs. Ecker. Catharine d. 1893.
    3. NATHANIEL: b. July 14th 1822; m. Nancy Bowdish Dec. 17th 1845; settled in Stockton, this county; is now a clergyman of the M. E. church and stationed at Emlenton, Pa.
    4. LUCY: b. Oct. 23d 1830; d. Mar 6th 1847; bu. in Evergreen Cemetery.

FELLOWS, Abigail (206)

Came to P. with a large family from Stillwater, Saratoga County, in 1825. Mr. F. d. in that county in 1820. Mrs. Fellows maiden name was Light. The year previous she had purchased the Richard Williams farm, now owned in part by Lincoln Fay, pt of lot 25, T. 5. The house then occupied was a long narrow frame, unfinished, and now occupied as a barn on the farm of J. H. Martin on the same lot. She kept a tavern here for six or seven years and about 1837 exchanged with Wm. Clark for a farm in the town of Westfield, where she d. Nov. 28, 1857. She was bu. in Brocton cemetery.

Family of Mrs. Fellows

    1. JOHN: b. March 20, 1805; m. 1st Barbara Correll Aug. 25, 1829, who d. July 23, 1838; 2d Olive Twing June 9, 1839; lives in P. on pt of lot 36, T. 5.
    2. ANDRUS: b. April 5, 1806; m. Charlotte Davison; was a blacksmith and lived for several years at Portland Center; d. in Ill.
    3. GEORGE: b. in March 1808; m. Drucilla Bean; settled in Michigan.
    4. DEBORAH: b. in 1810; m. Luther D. Harmon; settled in Westfield.
    5. JESSE: m. 1st in Canada; 2d in Ill., where he now lives; names not remembered.
    6. ELIZABETH: m. Sidney S. Lake in P.; d. in California.
    7. MARY: m. Chandler Persons; lives in Westfield.
    8. EPHRAIM: m. Susan _____; lives at Gowanda, Catt. County.
    9. LEVI: m. Prudy Selkrig; lives in North East, Pa.
    10. JAMES HENRY: d. young
    11. EZRA: m. Martha Spurr; lives in Ill.

The family were all born in Saratoga county.

NOTES: Mrs. Abigail Fellows married Abel Thompson 28 Feb. 1828 at Portland by Rev. Mr. Dakes: Groom of Stockton Bride of Portland. Fredonia Censor dated 3/12/28

John Fellows d. 25 Jan 1889 from obit Fredonia Censor 30 Jan 1889. Deborah Fellows m. on 18 March 1832 at Portland by Elder Hiram Whicher = from Fredonia Censor 3/28/32 Elizabeth as Betsey Fellows married 31 Dec. 1835 at P. by Rev W. Luce. Fredonia Censor 1/13/36.

FISH, Hiram (42)

Was the son of Nathan Fish, and came to P. from Oneida County, N. Y., in 1813. His mothers name was Sarah Hendricks. She was b. in Providence, R. I., and d. in Stockton, this county. Mr. Fish, like most settlers came on foot. He articled pt. of lot 54, T. 5, built a cabin of poles, cleared and sowed to wheat a few acres, and returned to Oneida county. In Apr. 1814 he came again to P. sold his claim, and bought a pt. of lot 53, where he has ever since lived. Mr. F. is protestant in religious belief; politically a Republican.

FLINT, Abial (95)

Was the son of Arkalis and Betsey Elmer Flint and was b. at East Windsor, Conn., Sept. 5th, 1768. He m. Mary Brown in Rome, Oneida County, this state, Sept. 26th 1802. Mrs. F. was b. in Coventry, Conn. Nov 30th, 1780. About 1812 they emigrated to Forestville, this county, and from there to P. in 1817, and settled on pt. of lot 36, T. 5, the farm now owned by his son Henry. He occupied a log house until 1833, when he built the frame house now upon the farm. Mr. Flint was a tanner and currier and shoemaker; but the great business of life as with every settler was clearing the land of its excessive growth of timber. It is surprising with what cheerfulness the settlers labored. The prospect of the blessings of a home wrought out by their own hands from the wilderness was an inspiration that softened every toil. The family speak of hardship and privations but they were the inevitable lot of every early emigrant. Mr. F. occupied his farm forty-three years, dying Jan. 15th 1860, at the age of 91 years. Mrs. F. preceded him, dying May 5th 1849 aged 68. They were bu. in Evergreen Cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. F. were Methodists, and members of the first class formed in town. Politically Mr. F. was a whig.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Flint

    1. DANIEL E : b. Aug. 22d 1805; m. Eliza Goddard and settled in Shipman, Ill. in 1863.
    2. MARY B.: b. Apr. 23d 1807; m. John Wilbur in P.; settled in Elgin, Ill. NOTE: marriage announcement in Fredonia Censor 2/17/1826 but no date of marriage given they were m. in P. by Rev. Mr. Kent.
    3. JONATAHN T.: b. Nov. 30th 1809; m. Harriet Shumway in Genesee county; settled in Buffalo in 1840.
    4. ABIAL jun.: b. May 25thg 1813; m. Jane Cook in P.; settled in Missouri in 1857.
    5. HENRY: b. Jan. 18th 1815; m. Nancy A. Hall in P.; lives on the old homestead. NOTES: Henry and Althea Hall were m. 20 May 1846 in P. by Rev Mr. Norton from Fredonia Censor 9/25/46.
    6. HARRIET: b. Oct. 6th 1816; m. James Wilson of Hanover; is living there
    7. JOHN W.: b. Aug. 26th 1819; m. Lovina McGaffan of Youngstown, this state; settled in Brant, Erie county.
    8. CAROLINE: b. Dec. 3d 1823; m. Ephraim Ballard of Westfield, this county; settled in Silver Creek.

FORD, Almon (97)

Came from Southbury (Southborough), Mass. In 1817 or 18; lived with A. Pierce (No. 96) on lot 34, T, 5., and went west with him in 1820.

FREEMAN, George (98)

Was the son of Jonathan and Nellie Bazley Freeman and b. in Delaware county, this state, Oct. 20, 1795. He m. Elizabeth Conner, dau. of John Conner, who was b. in Ulster county. They came to P. from Ulster in Feb. 1821, with an ox team and sled, and were a month on the road. He settled on the McCabe farm, S. pt. of lot 27, T. 5, and in 1832 upon the farm he now owns, pt of lot 42, T. 5. Mr. F. was in the war of 1812, from Ulster county. He is a member of the West Baptist church in P.; politically a republican.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Freeman

    1. MARY ANN: b. in Ulster county; m. John Caldwell.
    2. JANE: b. in P.; not m.; lives with her parents.
    3. EMILY: b. in P.; m. James Caldwell.
    4. ROBERT: b. in P.; m. Eliza House; d. in P. 1862.
    5. HELEN: b. in P.; m. Erastus Ellis; lives in P.
    6. LUCY: b. in P.; m. Lysander Vanleuven; lives in P.

FREEMAN, Robert (190)

Was a brother of George (No. 98) and came to P. from Ulster County, N. Y., in 1824. He lived upon various farms, and among them a lot purchased of the religious societies in town, pt of lot 11, T. 5. After a few years he removed to Coldwater, Michigan, where he d. in 1849. Mr. F. m. in Delaware County, this state.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Freeman

    1. AMANDA:
    2. JANE:
    3. BETSEY:
    4. JOHN:
    5. GEORGE:
    6. ELIZA:

All the family m. in Michigan.

FULLER, Asa (73)

came to Portland in 1816, and settled on pt. of lot 48, T 4, farm now owned by Abram Woleben. The next year he sold to Martin Quigley and left town.

GATOR, Richard (74)

RICHARD GATOR was a deserter from the British army, some time during the war of 1812, coming to Portland near the close. He married Rebecca, a daughter of Capt. James Dunn, and for some years lived on S. pt. of lot 30, T 5. Mrs. G. died in 1828. Mr. G. married for second wife Mrs. Humason, and for many years lived N. pt. of lot 33, T 5, lot now owned by Jerome Curbans. Mr. G. died here Mar. 9th 1861. Mrs. G. died in Indiana. Mr. G. was a blacksmith, and politically a Democrat. He had a large family.

GEER, Samuel (48)

Came to Canadaway from Oneida county, N.Y., as early as 1806, and to P. in 1814 or 15. He located the N, pt. of lot 8 T. 5, near the N. E. corner of the town, where he lived until 1830 when he sold to James Goldsmith. The farm is now owned by Alvaro Wilson. His wife was ---- Barnes. They were m. in Oneida county.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Geers

    1. CYRUS:
    2. SAMUEL:
    3. ESTHER:
    4. LUCY:
    5. ALANSON:
    6. HENRY:
    7. FRANKLIN:
    8. SALLY ANN
    9. FRANCIS:

Esther and Lucy were residents of Fredonia for many years and will be remembered by the older citizens as milliners and dressmakers from 1827 to the day of their deaths. Esther dying Sept. 6, 1869, aged 73. Little is known of the balance of the family. Mr. G. d. in Fredonia Jan. 7, 1860, aged 99 years.

NOTES: Alanson Geer m. Clarissa E. Hutchins in 1830. The 1865 census lists Ester as age 63 Single and owns; Lucy is age 56 and single- living with them is a niece Mary E. R. Geer age 24 born Pa. So one of the brothers must have gone to Pa.

GIBBS, Joseph (38)

In 1812 settled on pt. of lot 14, T. 5, N. of Brocton; and in 1824 on pt. of lot 42, T. 5, near the farm of Hollis Fay. He was a farmer and spinning wheel maker. Such wheels were then much in use by the wives and daughters of the settlers, but they have become nearly obsolete. What became of Mr. G. is not known.

GIFFORD, David (245)

Came from Warsaw, Wyoming county, this state, to P. some time previous to 1830. Jan 5, 1831, he articled pt. of lot 2, T. 5, farm now owned by V. G. Farnham. The article was assigned to Patty Farnham Dec. 9, 1836, and Mr. G. went west soon after. He has relatives of the same name now living in Mayville, this county.

NOTE: Samuel Gifford age 70 in Mayville 1875 census may well be one of the relatives.

GILL, Amos (191)

Came from Cooperstown, N. Y. to P. in 1824. For some years he lived on a farm now owned by John Lawson, pt of lot 10, T. 5. In 1845 he sold and removed to Wisconsin where he d. several years since. Mrs. G. is supposed to be still living. Mr. G. was a member of the Baptist church in Brocton.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Gill

    1. JOHN:
    2. MARY: m. Ezra Burdick
    3. HARRIET: m. David Burdick
    4. JANE: never m.; d. in Wisconsin.

GOLDSMITH, Roe (55)

Was a brother of James Goldsmith, so long a citizen of Portland, and was born in Litchfield County, Conn., Jan 20, 1786. He emigrated to Oneida Co., N.Y., in 1812 and in 1813 married Esther Hurd, daughter of Moses Hurd of that county. The next winter he removed to Chautauqua county and located part of lots 48 and 56, T own 5, Range 12, land afterward owned by Capt. J. Sprague, but sold within a year and purchased 517 acres in Portland, part of lots 5 and 6, Nov 14, 1814. The next year he sold to Hezekiah and Barzilla Barker and bought part of lot 63, T 5 R 12, where he lived twelve years and kept a tavern, eventually selling to Nathan Wood. For a year he owned the place where the writer now lives, and for two years kept a tavern, the Williams stand on lot 25, T 5(see taverns).

He was of a restless disposition and seldom remained long upon the same p-lace. While living upon the Wood farm at Milford, he was the subject of a slight yet exciting adventure. One Sabbath morning in early fall he strolled from his house to the flat north of the road to examine a field of corn, and after passing around it he discovered a cub, or a young bear on the opposite side of the fence, and at once formed the project of securing and taming it. Springing over the fence he seized it, placed it under his arm and started for home. The cub not relishing the new relation, set up a cry which attracted the attention of its mother not far distant, who immediately gave chase, and Mr. G. noticing the presence of danger over his shoulder, started into a rapid run, with the old bear bent upon the rescue, not far behind, and evidently gaining upon him every moment. It was a closely contested race, and as in many another race, the danger, the excitement, and the glory of victory were far in excess of the prize to be won. Mr. G. held fast to the cub, and dashed into the door of his dwelling with mother bruin scarcely a yard in the rear. Not daring to follow him further she turned aside and left for her "native wilds" The cub in the efforts to escape had torn from Mr. G. nearly every part of his clothing, and in a fearful manner lacerated the flesh upon his chest. A dearly bought success. Mr. G. died at Conneaut, Ohio, Apr. 7, 1870. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. Mrs. G. is still living.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. GOLDSMITH
(1) ORTON: married and went to California; died there.

(2) RENA

(3) JAMES: a sailor on the lakes for many years; died in California

(4) CLINTON: also a sailor; died in California

(5) LEVERETT: is a sailor on the lakes; now lives in Conneaut, Ohio

(6) BETSEY ANN: married ________ Bartholomew; settled at Conneaut.

GOODWIN, Tyrus (174)

Was b. in Hartford, Conn., May 6,1789. He m. Anna Bassett about 1811 or 12, who was b. in the town and county of Litchfield, Conn., June 17, 1790. He settled in Ticonderoga, N. Y., afterward in Warsaw, Wyoming county, from whence he came to P. in Feb. 1821, and settled on pt of lot 16, T. 5, on the lake road, occupying a log house on the S. side of the road as now located. Being a hatter by trade, he built a log shop on the N. side of the road, near the lake, the site of which was long since washed away. The land is now owned by Horace Skinner. In 1825 he purchased the N. E. corner of lot 27, T. 5, upon which he lived until two or three years previous to his death, which occurred July 2, 1860. Mrs. G, d. in April 1855. In earlier life M. G. was a Methodist, but later a Universalist. In politics he was an "old line whig" until the know-nothing excitement, which left him in the ranks of the democracy.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Goodwin

    1. DAVID: b. in Ticonderoga Aug. 17, 1813; m. Catharine Freleigh; d. at Dunkirk, this county, Feb. 19, 1855; bu. at Brocton.
    2. CAROLINE: b. at Ticonderoga Sept. 25, 1815; m. Henry Conner; lived for several years near Riceville, Pa., but since in P. Mr. C. d. some years since.
    3. EUNICE: b. at Warsaw March 2, 1819; m. J. E. Harris; lives in P.
    4. BUSHROD: b. in P. May 28, 1824; m. Margaret Ely; for some years lived on the old homestead, but now in Westfield, this county.
    5. HENRY: b. in P. Feb. 13, 1831; d. July 19, 1850; bu. at Brocton.

NOTES: In 1865 Tyrus Goodwin was residing with his son-in-law Henry Conner. Tyrus was the age 76.

GRANGER, David B. (22)

Was a native of Vermont, and b. March 7, 1787. He m. Martha Munson, dau of Samuel Munson of New Hartford, Oneida County, N.Y. Mrs. G. was b. in Oneida county March 11, 1792. They removed to P. in 1810 and occupied a log house on the McKenzie farm, on lot 41, T. 5, but soon purchased a claim to pt of lot 63, T. 4, farm now owned by James Kelsey. He remained on this claim but a short time, next buying a claim to pt of lot 37, T. 5, where he lived until his death. He occupied a log house until 1831 when the house on the farm was built by him. He was a farmer and a brick maker. He d. in Buffalo June 26, 1849, and bu. there, but was subsequently removed to P. Evergreen Cemetery. His widow occupied the homestead until her d., which occurred Oct. 4, 1862. She was bu. by her husband. Mr. G. was in the war of 1812; was a "Jackson democrat and a Harrison whig." Mr. and Mrs. G. were true to the command, "Be fruitful and multiply", and had a family of sixteen ch.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Granger

    1. MORGAN L.: b. Dec. 2, 1812; m. Asenath Wright Sept. 8, 1836; lives in P.NOTE: Morgan L. died 1 April 1889 and Asenath d. 24 March 1884 both buried P. Evergreen Cem.
    2. MARTHA C.: b. Dec. 12, 1813; m. Daniel P. Bowdish; settled in P.; Mr. B. d. in 1861; Mrs. B. now lives in Mayville, this county. NOTE: Martha d. 10 Oct 1894 in Claremont, Va.
    3. Buried in P. by her husband one dau. Named in obit Mrs. Dwight Dutton of Fredonia.

      Obit in Fredonia Censor 17 Oct. 1894.

    4. JANE E.: b. Nov. 5, 1815; m. Thomas Hill; settled in town of Chautauqua; d. April 25,1868.
    5. SAMUEL M.: b. Dec, 20, 1816; m. Orpha A. Wright; lives in P.
    6. DAVID: b. March 22, 1818; m. Juline Webster; now lives in Westfield, this county.
    7. LAURA: b. June 27, 1819; m. Joseph Odell in June 1846; settled in Carroll, this county.
    8. HENRY A.: b. Nov. 7, 1820; d. in the U. S. army at Jalapa, Mexico, Jan. 19, 1848.
    9. LOUISA: b. March 3, 1822; m. Thomas Thompson; settled in P. ; d. Aug. 31, 1852
    10. LUCY: b. July 20, 1823; m. Abram Correll; settled in P.; d. in 1872.
    11. HARRIET: b. Feb. 24, 1825; m. David Holenbeck in 1871(sic) ; settled in Oneida county, N. Y.; now lives on the Granger homestead in P.
    12. LOVISA: b. July 18, 1826; m. Leonard Tisdale; settled in Iowa.
    13. JULIETTE M.; b. Aug. 30, 1827; m. S. W. Davis; settled in Chautauqua, this county.
    14. MARY ANN: b. July 29, 1829; d. Aug. 21, 1864.
    15. MARGARET M.: b. Dec. 20, 1830; m. Charles M. Fellows; settled in Buffalo, N. Y. NOTE: Margaret m. on 21 June 1849 in P. by Eld. M. Roberts Fredonia Censor 7/3/1849
    16. ALICE W.: b. July 29, 1832; m. Oscar Hall; settled and lives in P.; NOTE: married 2 June 1853 in P. by Rev. Beers- Fredonia Censor 6/14/1853.
    17. PAMELIA: b. Oct. 30, 1835; m. Norman Goodsell; settled in P.; now lives in Mayville, this county.

GUYLE, Joseph (59) [Note: proper spelling of this surname is GUILE]

Was b. in Connecticut and m. Sally Hunt of whose nativity nothing is known. They removed to P. in 1815 and lived with their son Simeon, who with his bro. Henry had purchased forty-six acres of land now owned in pt by S. S. Jones, pt of lot 25, T. 5, where they d. within a week of each other about 1825. [Note: Joseph died April 21, 1827 in Portland according to Obit in Western Star newspaper published May 4, 1827 in Westfield his wife Sally died eight days later on April 29, 1827 at age 61 years 8 days.]

Mr. G. was a soldier of the Revolution from Conn. And for some time was stationed in R. Island. While in the service he suffered many hardships and had many adventures. He participated in the bold and hazardous enterprise related below, and often repeated the leading features with a good deal of enthusiasm. In the summer of 1777 a British force was quartered in R.I. under the command of Gen, Prescott. Prescott was harsh and tyrannical with the inhabitants, and his presence with his troops was felt to be oppressive. The inquiry was often made, "How shall we rid ourselves of them." Wm. Barton, a Col. Of a regiment of Militia, a native of Providence, that state, formed the daring design of surprising and capturing Prescott. The General was then quartered at the house of a Quaker five miles from Newport. On the night of the 10th of July, having selected a few bold fellows and among them Mr. Guyle, he embarked in "whale boats with muffled oars, crossed Narragansett Bay and landed on the island. They were unobserved, though so near the British guard-boats that they heard the sentinels Alls well In two divisions they silently approached the house." Seized and silenced the sentinel, and ere the chivalrous general who held the Yankees in utter contempt, was aware, he was a prisoner and on his way to Warwick Point, where they landed. "Not a word had been spoken since the capture until the landing, when Prescott said, Sir, you have made a bold push tonight." Barton simply replied, " We have been fortunate."

[Notes: his date of birth was 1753 as he was 66 years of age when he filed for pension on 16 Feb 1819. See also Patriot Soldiers 1775 1783 by Frederick Ward Kates pages 251-252 and 517-518 Joseph and Sally buried in Evergreen Cemetery but place of gravesite not known]

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Guyles [Guiles]

  1. SIMEON Guyles [Guiles] in company with his bro. Henry came to P. in 1815 and purchased the farm now owned in part by S. S. Jones . Their log house was built by Nathan Fay in 1807, near the spring north of the house of Mr. Jones. He m. Hattie dau. of Nathan Fay, and some years later removed to Illinois, and d. at Waukegan, that state, in 1855. Mrs. G. is living with her son W. B. Guyle [Guile], in Cleveland, Ohio. Their children were: W. B. Guyle, John F., Susan M., and Hester Ann.
  2. HENRY: came to P. in 1815 with his bro. Simeon and purchased with him 46 acres of land [See Simeon G.] In 1825 his bro. removed to Ill., and in 1827 he disposed of the farm to Asa Thornton and for several years followed the lake as a sailor, but eventually bought land near Detroit, Michigan, upon which he lived alone in a log shanty. Whether now living is not known. He never m.

HAINES, Sanford (40)

Was a native of Dutchess Co., N.Y. He m. Hannah Gould, and in 1809 or 10 removed to Guilford, Chenango Co. He removed to P. with his large family in Jan. 1812, in company with Jonathan Burch. He settled on pt. of lot 62, T. 4, land previously located by Leonard Vibbard . Mr. and Mrs. H. d. here, and were bu. in W. & P. U. Cemetery. Mr. H. was in the war of 1812; also a son as a substitute for Elijah Fay. He was not a religionist of any form; in politics was a Clintonian.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Haines

Were all born in Dutchess Co., and were named as follows:

    1. RACHEL:
    2. SOPHIA
    3. HIRAM
    4. LUCY:
    5. HURAM:
    6. SAMUEL:
    7. REBECCA:
    8. JAMES:

The last named now lives in North East, Pa.

NOTES: Tombstone for Sanford reads Haynes, Sanford died Jan 3, 1819 age 54.

His wife Hannah Haynes died June 29, 1819 age 56. according to her tombstone.

A Sophia Haines m. Ornon Hilton in Clarence, NY in 1821.

HALL, Aaron (151)

Came to P. from Mass. In 1819 and settled on pt. of lot 60, T. 4. His wife Rebecca was from New Jersey. He was the father of Josiah Hall of Brocton. He d. at Brocton, then Salem X Roads, in 1840. His wife d. in 1852.

Note: Josiah died 28 Oct. 1873 in Brocton, age 57 yrs.

HALL, Ahira (64)

Was the son of James and Huldah Hall, and was b. in the town of Croydon, N. H., Dec. 21, 1784. When a young man he emigrated to Charlotte, Vt., where he m. Laura Palmer Oct. 18, 1807. Mrs. H. was b. in that town Sept. 13, 1790. In 1811 he removed to Massena, St. Lawrence County, N. Y., and settled near the bank of the St. Lawrence river in the midst of an almost unbroken wilderness. In 1812 Mr. Hall was among those first drafted into the service, and Mrs. H., rather than remain alone and unprotected, packed what of their effects she could upon a horse and with their two ch. Returned to her father in Vt., where Mr. H. joined her at the close of his term of service. After the close of the war they removed to the Holland Purchase, arriving at the tavern of Daniel Barnes, after a trip of forty-one days, in Oct 1816. He soon occupied a log house on a piece of land owned by Abel Palmer (No. 61), which came into his possession on the death of Mr. Palmer. In 1821, he sold his claim to this land and purchased a claim to the S. pt of the land of Daniel Barnes, N. E. pt pf lot 3, T. 5, on which he lived to the day of his d., Feb. 24, 1838. Mrs. H. d. Dec. 18, 1863. They were bu. in Brocton cemetery. In the early years of his life in P. Mr. H. was a Universalist but later a Methodist, himself, wife and twelve ch. Eventually becoming members of that order. Mr. Hall was a man of more than common ability and for many years was a leading spirit in town, and in civil and political trusts shared largely the confidence of the people.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hall

    1. JOHN PALMER: b. in Massena, N. Y., 1809; m. Jane Ann Miller in Sherman, this county, Oct. 24th 1841; d. Aug. 2d, 1871; bu. in Fredonia.
    2. ALBINA: b. in Massena, Oct. 17th , 1810; m. Nancy Quigley in P. Oct. 13th, 1835; is a Methodist clergyman.
    3. RUTH: b. June 14th, 1812; m. Richard Reynolds at P. Apr. 29th, 1838; lives in P.
    4. JAMES AHIRA, b. in Vt., April 4th , 1815; m. Caroline Herrick at Sedgwick, Me.; d. Apr. 8th, 1866.; bu. in Brocton Cemetery.
    5. LAURA ANN: b. in P. Oct. 17th, 1817; m. Charles Fay in P. Nov 25th, 1841; lives in P.
    6. SAMUEL P.: b. in P. Apr. 1st, 1820; m. Miranda Kip at Sherman, this county, Mar. 1848; lives in Sherman.
    7. RALPH H.: b. in P. Nov 3d 1821; m. Caroline Hall at Newport, N.H., Apr. 1852; living there.
    8. NANCY ALTHEDA: b, in P. Feb. 21st , 1824; m. Henry Flint, in P. May 20th, 1846; lives in P.
    9. LIVIA PAULINA: b. in P. Nov. 28th , 1826; m. John T. Greene, Jan 7th, 1852; lives at Sherman,. This county.
    10. LODOISKA MATILDA: b. in P. Oct 1st 1828; m. William Martin, Apr. 2d, 1862; lives in P.
    11. SARAH MALINDA: b. in P. Mar. 24th 1831; m. John D. Merritt Oct. 7th, 1865; lives at Forestville, this county.
    12. LURA JANE: b. in P. Feb. 11th, 1833; m. Frank Ellis, Sept. 3d, 1867; lives in Forestville.
    13. CHLOE: b. in P. May 4th 1835; d. Dec 4th 1836.

HALL, Perry (24)

Was the son of Aaron, b. in Mass., and in early life emigrated to Springfield, Otsego Co., N. Y., from whence he came to P. in 1810. He located pt. of lot 62, T. 4, upon which he built a log house. For reasons not known to the writer he returned with his family to Otsego County; but in 1816 or 17 he again came to P. and settled on pt. of lot 32, T. 4. He again changed to lot 52, T, 4. He removed with a team of horses, and experienced the usual vicissitudes of those making a home in the wilderness. It is stated "that often on the journey they were obliged to lay their two youngest children down at the foot of a tree while with poles they pried their wagon out of the mud." Mr. Hall m. a dau. of Thomas Klumph, a native of Germany. He was a carpenter, millwright and farmer. He d. in P. Sept. 4th , 1852, aged 67, Mrs. H. d. Mar. 6th 1864, aged 66.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hall

    1. DELOS: b. April 26th 1807; m. Eunice Ely; settled and now lives in P. on the Ely homestead.
    2. LOUISA: m. Brewer Hubbell
    3. MARY: m. Lawson T. Bigelow; now lives in Minnesota.
    4. FERDINAND: m. Louisa Ely; settled in town of Chautauqua, where he d.
    5. PERRY jun: m. Janette Sikes; 2d Arvilla Armstrong; d. June 19th 1860.
    6. HENRY: b. in P.; m. Sarah Newcomb
    7. FANNY: b. in P. ; d. May 30th 1825.
    8. HAMILTON: b. in P.; m. Louisa Shuff; settled in S. W. P.
    9. HARRIET: b. in P.; m. Stephen Vanscoy; 2d Bennett Swetland.

HALL, Samuel (228)

Came to P. from North East, Pa. as early as 1827. He bought a small farm in part of Jacob Light, east of Brocton, farm now owned by D. P. Benjamin, pt of lot 4, T. 5. In 1835 he sold to Sela M. Benjamin and removed to Salem X Roads, now Brocton, and for a year was engaged in mercantile pursuits with E. R. Southwick. [See Merchants] Early in 1837 he purchased the house now owned and occupied by D. T. Taylor in Brocton, then standing near the house of H. A. S. Thompson west of Brocton, which he occupied until 1849 when he sold to Dr. T. Cushing and removed to the central part of the state. He was for many years postmaster at Salem X Roads. Mr. and Mrs. Hall were members of the Congregational church in P. They had no family.

HARRIS, Absalom (20)

Came to P. about 1808. He articled the E. pt of lot 33, T. 5, Feb. 5, 1810. He m. Polly Kane, dau. of Peter Kane, in 1810. but soon died, leaving her a widow, the first becoming so in present town of P. He was bu. in Evergreen Cemetery.

HARRIS, Ebenezer (99)

was the son of Joshua and Clarissa Scott Harris, and was born in Halifax, Windham county, VT, April 4, 1799. He emigrated to Chautauqua county in 1817, stopping first in Hanover, then in Sheridan, and the same year came to Portland and located in connection with Isaac Baldwin part of lot 40 Town 5, owned now in part by Wm. Renouard. In 1818 he occupied his land and in the fall of the same year built a frame house, supposed to be the first of its class, upon the lake road, in town. The frame is still standing and occupied by Mr. Renouard. He harvested the next year two hundred and fifty bushels of wheat from ten acres. Wheat was worth $2.50 per bushel but a rapid decline in prices took place and the next March it was worth but 50 cents per bushel. The decline in prices extended to real estate, so that in 1825 land with improvements would not sell at the office price in 1817 and interest. He sold his claim and bought of Jesse Dunham part of lot 32, T 5 land now owned in part by J.E. Harris. Upon this farm he lived twenty-five years. He married Rachel Baldwin, daughter of Isaac Baldwin, Oct. 22, 1820. Mrs. H. was born in Vt., in 1800 and emigrated to this county with her father and family in 1812. In early life Mr. H. was a Baptist, but became identified with the Universalist element in Portland in 1823. Politically he was a "Clintonian, anti-Mason, whig and republican." He was a man of considerable prominence and always in town office. {see Town Officers} He removed to Sheridan, this county, in 1850, where he and Mrs. H. still reside.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Harris:

    1. CLARISSA: born in Portland September 3, 1821; m. James Quigley Feb 23, 1848; settled in P. Mr. Q. died May 31, 1852. Mrs. Quigley m. 2nd Wm. Wait Aug. 1869.
    2. FILEY: born June 3, 1823; m. John F. Arnold Oct 30 1844; now lives in Nebraska.
    3. OLIVE C.: born May 4, 1824; m. Ephraim Jones Aug 13, 1842; settled in P. Mr. Jones died at Dunkirk Feb 10, 1862, and Mrs. Jones three days later. The death of Mrs. Jones was occasioned by injuries received by being thrown from a wagon by a passing locomotive. Both lower limbs were horribly mangled and were amputated the next day. The death of Mr. Jones was occasioned by the rupture of a blood vessel on first witnessing the awful condition of his wife. They were buried in Sheridan.
    4. FIDELIA R.: born in P. April 9, 1826; m. Hiram A. Reid in Fredonia, this county, July 1, 1860. Mrs. R. is a graduate in medicine, having attended lectures at Cincinnati, Ohio, and is now practicing in Nebraska.
    5. LYDIA: born Oct 17, 1827; m. Lasell Bryant, Nov. 2, 1850, at Binghampton (sic) N.Y. Mr. B. died Oct 10, 1853; Mrs. B. m. Martin Carey in 185
    6. JOSEPH ADDISON: born April 29, 1831; m. Delia A. Skinner; settled in Minnesota; died in Sheridan
    7. EMILY: born Nov 29, 1829; m. Geo. S. Robinson; settled in Minnesota.
    8. MARY L.: born June 27, 1835; m. Wm. K. Bush April 11, 1854; 2d David Convis March 19, 1860.
    9. MANLEY S.: born June 11, 1837; m. Lodoska Cary Jan 1, 1866; lives in Dunkirk, this county.

HARRIS, Joseph (167)

Son of William Harris (No. 53,) lived on pt. of lot 18, T. 5, land now owned by Ed Underhill. His article bears date Oct. 26, 1821. About 1828 or 29 he sold to T. Judson and removed to Buffalo, this state. He m. Flora, dau. of Roswell Beach.

HARRIS, Samuel (178)

Samuel Harris was a brother of Ebenezer and J. E. Harris and came to Portland from Vt. In 1821, but died on the first of Sept. 1822 He lived on the lake road on part of lot 32, T. 5. His family returned to Vt.

HARRIS, William (53)

Came to P. from Rensselaer Co., N. Y., in the spring of 1814. In 1817 he purchased the tavern built by David Joy in 1814, where the house of William W. Pettit now stands, on lot 19, T. 5, which he kept for several years. He was a soldier of the Revolution and was taken prisoner by the British and confined in the "old sugar house" in N. Y. city for six months and suffered untold hardships. He removed to Buffalo, this state, about 1827, and d. there

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Harris

But a part of the family of Mr. Harris came to P. with him as follows:

    1. WILLIAM jr.: m. Sophia Williams, dau. of Richard Williams [See No. 54}
    2. GEORGE: m. Marilla Hill.
    3. JOSEPH: m. Flora Beach.
    4. LORETTA: m. Joel Smith.

HARRIS, William (54)

Was the son of William (No. 53) and b. in Rensselaer county, N. Y. and came to P. with his father in 1814. Oct 26, 1821, he purchased fifty acres of land, pt of lot 18, T. 5, since for many years forming a part of the Judson farm. In 1822 he m. Sophia Williams, dau of Richard Williams and lived in town until 1827, when he sold and in Oct. of that year removed to Buffalo, where he lived until 1862, then removing to his farm five miles from the city, where he still resides.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Harris

    1. RICHARD W.:
    2. SALLY S.
    3. MARY JANE:
    4. WILLIAM H.:
    5. CYRUS C.

The oldest two were b. in P.

HART, Josiah (12)

Settled on part of lot 41 T. 5in 1808. But little is known of him. He left town after a few years.

HEDGLINE, John (164)

Some time previous to 1820 came to P. and purchased a claim to pt of lot 19, T. 5, farm now owned and occupied by Richard Reynolds. He sold to Nicholas Lake in 1820 and left town.

HEFRON, William (118)

Came to P. in 1818 and was in the employ of Zadoc Martin until the following spring. Nothing is known of his early life. In 1819 he m. Olive Hill, dau. of Lewis and Polly Hill, and two years later he purchased a claim to 50 acres of land, S. E. pt of Lot 3, T. 5now owned and occupied by Landais Lathrop. About 1829 he sold his claim to Albina Halland removed to Michigan. He was Infidel in his religious views.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hefron

    1. Myron
    2. Lewis
    3. Almira
    4. HIBBARD, Eleazer (179)

      Came to P. in 1822 and bought a claim to pt. of lot 21, T. %, occupying a log house a little east of Brocton station, L.S.R.R. How long he remained or what became of him is not known.

      HILL, Lewis (75)

      Was a brother of Zimri and came to P. with him in 1816. He first settled on pt. of lot 4, T, 5, afterward known as the Patch Farm; then on the farm S. of it, now owned by Orrin Brainard. pt of lot 3 T. 5. He built the house and barn now standing on the farm. Mrs. H. d. while living on the Patch Farm and Mr. H. m. again but the name of his w, is not remembered. He d. on his farm a few years since.

      Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hill

    5. OLIVE: m. Wm. Hefron; settled in P. but removed to Michigan in 1828 or 29.
    6. NORMAN: m. Susan King; for many years lived at Versailles, N. Y.
    7. BETSEY: m. David Skinner; settled in P.; d. Dec. 22d 1836.
    8. DAVID: m. Louise Matthewson.
    9. The children were all by the first marriage.

      HILL, Zimri (60)

      Was the son of John and was b. in Conn. in 1762. He m. Malinda Palmer, dau. of John Palmer in Ferrisburg, Vt. He removed from there to P. in company with Zadoc Martin, in Oct. 1815. He settled on pt of lot 12, T. 5, now owned in part by H. Patch and W. A. Strong his log house standing where the house of Mr. Strong now stands. He sold in 1836 to Samuel Brown and removed to the town of Pomfret; but during the last years of his life lived with Jason Martin, a son-in-law. He was nearly blind for over twenty years. He was a revolutionary soldier, and was a volunteer in the war of 1812 and was at the battle of Plattsburg, N. Y. In religion he was orthodox and in politics a democrat. He died Nov 15th 1844 and was bu. in Evergreen Cemetery.

      Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hill

    10. PATTIE: b. in 1798; m. Moses Joy; d, in Michigan in 1864.
    11. LOREN: b, in 1801; m. Almira Graves in 1829; settled in P.; d. in Michigan in 1855.
    12. CHAUNCEY: b. in 1803; m. Nancy Squares, adopted dau. of Daniel Barnes, in 1823; settled in P.; d. in Ohio July 24th 1863. brought to P. for burial.
    13. ALMA: b. Jan, 30th 1807; m. Jason Martin Jan, 1827; settled in P.; d. Oct. 12th 1870.
    14. HEMAN: b. in 1809; m. Lydia Delong in 1835; settled in P.; now living in the west.
    15. MARILLA: b. 1811; m. Geo. Harris, son of William Harris in 1828.
    16. CALVIN: b. in 1813; m. Anice Mead in 1836; settled at Marengo, Ill.; still living.
    17. JERUSHA: b. in 1815; m. Henry Lake in 1835; settled in P. at first; still living.
    18. The ch. were all b. in Vt.

      HITCHCOCK, G. A. (149)

      Came to P. from Warsaw, Wyoming county, N.Y., in 1819 and settled on pt. of lot 16, T. 5, land now owned by Horace Skinner, near the lake. He was a preacher of the Methodist order and was known over the country as the barefooted preacher, from the fact that he attended his appointments during warm weather barefooted. He left P. for Ohio in 1835.

      HODGE, Alfred (21)

      Settled on the central part of lot 41, T. 5, in 1809. Nothing definite is known of him. He remained in town but a few years.

      HOLENBECK, John (148)

      Originally from Ticonderoga, N. Y., came to P. from Warsaw, Wyoming County, with James Charter in 1819. He settled on pt. of lot 16, T. 5, land now owned by Wm. Martin. His house stood on the opposite side of the road from the present residence of Mr. Martin. He removed to Ohio in 1835.

      HOUGHTON, Silas (153)

      Came to P. from Erie County, N. Y. in 1820. He was the father of MRS. NICHOLAS LAKE. He purchased a claim to 53 acres of land, pt. of lot 19, T. 5, opposite the present residence of Richard Reynolds, in 1821. He built a distillery near the falls in Slippery Rock creek N. of Brocton, in 1824 or 25. He sold his claim to Lemuel Crane and in 1836 left town.

      HOWARD, Henry (145)

      Came to P. as early as 1819 and for several years lived with Richard Williams. He m. a dau. of Oliver Barnes, many years since living near Fredonia, this county. In 1821 he settled on pt. of lot 4, T. 5. R. 13, and pt. of lot 62. T. 5. R. 12, farms now owned by D. P. Benjamin and E. B. Walden. About 1830 he sold to Eli Graves and went to the south part of the county.

      HOWE, Isaac (183)

      Was the son of Samuel and Sarah Rose Howe, and was b. at Brantford, Conn. He m. Hannah Mallory in Columbia County, N. Y., and settled in Oneida Co. He removed to Cayuga County in 1812, and came to P. in 1823, the family coming in 1824, and settled on part of lot 10, T. 5, land now owned by his son Isaac and John Lawson. He was a carpenter by trade. He d. in Sept., 1839 and was bu. at Brocton.

      Family of Mr. and Mrs. Burton

      (1) JOSIAH M.: b. July 8, 1811; m. Cornelia Randall May 20, 1845; settled on pt of homestead. Now lives in Fredonia.

      (2) MARY ANN: b. in Cayuga county: d. in P. in March 1840.

      (3) ISAAC: b. in Cayuga county Oct. 23, 1814; m. Marilla Rositer March 14, 1849; lives on the homestead.

    19. EZRA: b. April 4, 1816; not m; lives in P.
    20. HANNAH: b. Aug 4, 1820; m. Ambrose Burt; settled in Michigan.
    21. LOVINA; m. Seth Blackmer in 1847; settled at Pine Grove, Pa; d. there.

HOWE, William (132)

Was the son of Samuel and Sarah Rose Howe, and was b. at Brantford, Conn. He came to P. from Oneida county, N. Y., in 1818, and settled on the farm now owned and occupied by E. Denison N. pt lot 24, T. 5, but in 1821 he sold the east half of his claim to Jacob Bump 2d and bought a claim to pt of lot 17, T. 5, land now owned by J. W. Scott and Noah Titus. In 1822 he sold the east half of his claim to Jacob Bump 1st, who sold to Ithuel Churchill in 1833 or 34. In 1825 he sold the west half to John Potter, who sold to Dana Churchill in 1833. Soon after Mr. H. removed to Buffalo, Erie county, but soon d. Mrs. H. returned to P. and m. Lemuel Crane , and lived for a few years on pt of lot 19, T. 5, farm formerly owned by Silas Houghton and now by Richard Reynolds; afterward on central pt of lot 33 T. 5, farm now owned by Daniel Britcher. From there he removed to North East, Pa. where he d. Mrs. C. returned to P. and lived with Wolcott Colt a nephew. A few years since she was living in Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. H. had no family but an adopted dau.

HUBBARD, Isaac (144)

Came to P. from Genesee County, N. Y., in 1819. He m. Orpha, sister of Wm. Thayer.

[see 152] For some time he owned the Pratt farm, pt. of lot 223, T. 5. "He was a restless character," and seldom remained long in the same locality. He d. in Indiana but a few years since. His wife d. in Iowa.

HUBBELL, Brewer (85)

Came to P. from the eastern part of this state and settled on the farm now owned and occupied by Alanson Woleben, N. pt. lot 40, T 4. His article bears date Nov. 10, 1817. His second wife was a dau. of Perry Hall (No. 24) He sold in 1832 to Woleben and went to Illinois.

HULBURT, David (230)

Rev. David Hulburt was the son of David and Dorcas Mallory Hulburt, and was b. in Vt. May 28, 1770. He m. Elizabeth Barnes at Orwell, Vt., Nov 24, 1792. He was ordained a minister of the Baptist order at Orwell in 1795. He labored in the ministry at various places in Vt., Genesee County, NY, and Crawford County, Pa. He removed to P. from Crawford county in 1822 and settled on pt of lot 18 T. 5, on the old Erie road, occupying a log house until 1834 when he built a frame house, which is still standing on the farm. After coming to P. he preached only as a supply, not having again the care of a church, preaching in Mayville, Westfield, Stockton, and some other places. He was a man of an iron constitution and retained his natural vigor in a good degree to his 90th year. Often at the age of 89, and for some years later, he would walk four miles, preach a discourse and return, and after his 90th year he would walk two miles and return and once after his 93rd year. During the latter portion of his life he could read and write without the aid of glasses so well as in younger years. As a minister he baptized nearly eleven hundred persons, m. two hundred couples, and preached five hundred and fifty funeral sermons. In politics he was a whig and republican. He d, April 18 1864 , aged 93 years 10 months. Mrs. H. d. April 7, 1852. They were bu. in Brocton cemetery.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hulburt

    1. CEPHUS: B April 11, 1794; m. Sarah Ellsworth in Vt.; settled in Genesee county, this state; d. a soldier in the Mexican war in 1848.
    2. DAVID: b. Feb 11, 1798; m. Betsey Arnold in Yates county, this state; settled there.
    3. ELIZABETH: b. April 16, 1800; m. Lemuel Logan of Crawford county, Pa.; settled there.
    4. JAMES H: b. July 8, 1802; m. Lydia Peters of Genesee Co/; settled in P/ in 1824; Mr. H. first came to P. in 1820.
    5. HENRY: b. June 18, 1804; m. Ruby Webb in Yates county; settled in Mich; d. there March 26, 1867.
    6. & (7) FANNY and PHILA; twins; B. Nov 26, 1806; m. at the same time and place, the former Jason Wilson and settled in Ohio; the latter Wm. Tucker and settled in Ohio, but afterward removing to P.
    7. JARVUS: b. Dec 7, 1808; m. Abigail Chamberlain and settled in Pa.
    8. & (10) PHILETUS and CLEMANIA, twins: b. Jan 8, 1811; the former m. Esther Scriptur and settled in Wis.; the latter m. Joel Burch and settled in Rushville, this state.

(11) CHAUNCEY: b. Aug 14, 1813; m. Lucy Whipple; settled in Albany, NY.

(12) PERRY: b. June 25, 1816; d. in 1854.

HUNT, Obadiah (227)

Came to P. from Cayuga County, N. Y., in 1827. His wife was Clarinda Simmons. The family of Mr. H. were originally from Vt. He settled on pt of lot 31, T. 4, farm now occupied by Roscoe Granger. Mrs. H. d. here in 1830. Mr. H. d. at the house of Bela Burroughs in P. April 12, 1855. He was a farmer and shoemaker; politically a whig, and a member of the Presbyterian church.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hunt

    1. ZUBEL: m. Sally Hopson; lived for some years on the farm now owned by ------ Guest, pt of lot 31, T. 4, and d. there Jan. 3, 1850. Mrs. H. is still living.
    2. SYLVIA: m. Bela Burroughs; lived for a many years in P. on S. pt of lot 13, T. 5; d. Oct. 1, 1872. Mr. B. d. in Nov 1872.
    3. POLLY: m. John Henderson; lives in Syracuse, N. Y.
    4. ORRIN: m. Margaret Thayer; lived on "Thayer hill", N. E. part of lot 32, T. 4; d. there in Feb. 1864.
    5. EBENEZER: m. Sally Cole; lives near Meadville, Pa.
    6. BERTAH G.: m. Jane Shaver; d. in Jamestown, N. Y. in 1854
    7. JOHN: m. Nancy Rider; d. in 1868.
    8. HIRAM: m. Eliza Hamlin; lived in Chautauqua; d. there in 1854.
    9. VIOLETTA: m. Freeman Allen; lived in Pa.; afterward in P. and d. here in 1844.
    10. PHILENA: m. David Burdick; lives in Conneautville, Pa.
    11. CHLOE: m. Charles Cole; lives at Spring Corners, Pa.
    12. AMOS: m. Maria Burroughs; lives in Charlotte, this county.

NOTES: From the Fredonia Censor newspaper dated 29 Apr. 1829 obit: Clarinda Hunt died in Portland on 18th , of apoplexy, age 50. No obit for Obadiah in FC. Perhaps the Westfield Republican carried it. Did not find their place of burial. (2) Sylvia Hunt Burroughs had at least three children to whom she gave birth (1865 census) and two adopted children Anna S. and Henry both born Sweden. 1865 census says Sylvia born in Warsaw Co., NY; According to a query in Jamestown Journal natural children of Sylvia were: Clarinda, James H., Mary J. and Amos. H. Amos Hunt is on the 1865 census listed with wife Anna M. and 10 children. Henry, Chas., Willard, Melissa, Mary, James, Adin, Rosetta, George, and Lucy.

HUTCHINS, Benjamin (2)

Was born in the town of Pawlet, Vt., Aug. 21, 1766, and came to P. from Otsego Co., N.Y., in 1805; located pt of lot 41, T. 5, farm now owned by the heirs of George W. Arnold. In 1806 he removed his family to his new purchase. His article bears date June 5, 1806. Mr. H. m. Elizabeth Rice, dau. of Peltiah Rice, in Otsego Co., in 1796. Mr. R. afterward removed to Westfield. In 1817 Mr. H. sold his farm to John Druse and removed to Westfield. Mrs. H. d. in 1818, and Mr. H. in Aug. 1855. They are buried in W. & P.U. Cemetery. In religion Mr. H. was Protestant, and in politics a democrat.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hutchins

    1. PELTIAH: m. Mariah Dutcher; settled in Michigan and still living.
    2. CHARLOTTE: m. Coach Minegar of Westfield; is still living; Mr. Minegar d. Feb. 19, 1871.
    3. CLARISSA: m. Alanson Gear; Mr. G. d. in Canada; Mrs. G. m. Stephen Ludlow; removed to Iowa; d. there in 1868.
    4. JOHN: b. in P. Nov 17, 1809; m. Jane Ludlow Jan 19, 1837; lives in Westfield.
    5. LOSYLVIA: m. Samuel Covey; lives in Westfield.
    6. MARY: lived with Mrs. Covey; d. in 1865.

HUTCHINS, Calvin (120)

Came to P. in 1818 and settled on pt of lot 46, T. 4. Little has been learned definitely in regard to him. His eldest dau. m. Collins Bradley (No 119) and is now living in Summit county, Ohio, a widow.

HUTCHINS, William (35)

Came to P. from Otsego Co., N. Y., in 1810. His article bears date May 10, of that year, for the W. pt of lot 29, T. 5. July 2, 1811 he articled pt of lot 41, T. 5, farm now owned by David Granger . He lived on this farm until 1815 when he sold to Moses Joy and removed to Westfield, where he lived until 1836 when he went to Ohio.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Hutchins

Four only of the children are remembered viz:

    1. ASENATH:
    2. LORENZO:
    3. SAMUEL:
    4. CALVIN:

INGALLS, Daniel (198)

Came to P. from Springville, Erie Co., N. Y., in 1824 and bought the property of Walter Mumford, the house standing where the house of T, S, Moss now stands in Brocton, and the one now owned and occupied by M. P. Barber. His purchase extended to and included the S. E. pt of the village of Brocton. In 1830 he built the front portion of the store building in Brocton now owned by J. E. White and occupied by C. O. Furman, and for one or two years was engaged in mercantile pursuits in connection with Joseph Lockwood. He sold the main portion of his land and lived in a small house where the house of Dr. H.J. Dean now stands. N 1834he built the main portion of the house of Dr. Dea and n 1840 old to James Budlong. He removed to Pittsburg in 1841, and d. while on business at Buffalo in 1842. He was bu. at Springville. He was for many years a practicing physician in town and an energetic businessman. He had but one ch., MARYETTE, who m. Thomas Howard and moved to Pittsburg, Pa. In after years Mr. H. became a lawyer and a prominent citizen of that city. Mrs. H. d. there a few years since. Mr. H. is still living. [See Physicians.]

INGERSOLL, Peter (13)

Came to P. in 1809. Of his nativity nothing is remembered. He was the first settler upon the McKenzie Farm) pt. of lot 41, T. 5. His article was dated July 14th 1809. He built a large double log house on the opposite side of the road from the house now on the farm, in which he kept a tavern until 1816. In this house on the Sabbath religious services were held for some years. [see Cong. Church] In 1811 he built a frame barn, the first frame building of any description built in town. It is still standing on the farm, but newly silled and covered. He sold in 1816, to Joseph Cass, and left town.. He had two sons in the war of 1812, John and William.

JACKSON, Joshua (258)

Was b. in Conn. His parents d. in his early childhood. He m. in Conn. Abigail, dau. of Walker and Sarah Lewis, and emigrated from Brookfield, that state. To Gerry. Now Charlotte, in this county, in June 1818, and from there removed to P. in Jan. 1828, occupying a log house standing upon the site of the present residence of this writer, on pt of lot 13, T. 5. In 1830 he purchased the N. E. corner at the corners, now Brocton- five acres of land upon which was a tannery and a small dwelling. He was engaged in tanning and shoemaking for several years, with changes of residence to within a few years of his death. Mr. J. was not a religionist. He was an ardent democrat. He was an excellent citizen and universally respected. He d. in Brocton in April [14] 1857. Mrs. J. d. in Brocton with in a week of the death of her husband. They were bu. in Brocton cemetery. A son of Mr. Jackson writes under the head of "Incidents:" "As I referred in my letter to the incident of the cow and the hollow tree. I will give you a detailed account of it, though it may not belong to P. strictly. "About 1818, directly after my father arrived in Charlotte, in this county, he purchased a small cow which was expected to give us ample rations of milk. Feed being short, a bell was suspended to the cows neck and she was sent out as Noah's dove, and like it did not return and could not be found. There was weeping among the juveniles of our family, of whom I was the youngest, for the milk of that cow with the Johnny - cake crumbed in was the staff of life with us, and we were sorely afflicted. After three days, the search being given over, the two boys of the family were sent into the woods to gather bean poles; and while we young hopefuls, not having the force of wholesome discipline before our eyes or in our hearts, were playing upon a large sycamore that had fallen to the ground, strange and almost unearthly sounds, as we thought, seemed to issue from the tree immediately beneath us, that so frightened us that beanpoles and all things else were forgotten but personal safety., and we made tracks for the house at a speed that was marvelous Coat tails would have been at a discount if we had had any. We told our story as soon as we were able and my father started for the woods at once. On arriving at the spot and looking in at the end of the tree where broken, he beheld with delight his long lost cow. She had crawled into the hollow so far that she could not get back. She had probably stepped in to avoid the sun and flies and other cattle had probably driven her in so far that she was unable to avail herself of the alternative in a bad scrape- backing out. Some neighbors kindly came to the rescue and by the aid of axes, in a short time a door was opened in the side of the tree twenty six feet from the broken end and the cow was taken out and driven home, to the great joy of all of the little Jacksons. The tree was six feet in diameter and a mere shell. The incident was not one to be soon forgotten, and it was repeated until it had become much improved, and it was seriously averred by many that the cow passed up the tree sixty feet, thrust her head through a knot hole and called for help. The facts, however, were as I have stated them" W. H. J. [William H. Jackson] The incident found its way into public print and was noticed in a historical lecture at Fredonia some years since. {NOTE: and this is still a favorite story nearly 200 years after the incident.}

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Jackson

    1. LEWIS: b. in Conn. In 1806; d. in Gerry, this county, in 1819.
    2. EDMUND L: b. in Brookfield, Conn. In Aug. 1898; never m.; lives near North East, Erie County, Pa.
    3. ELIZA: b. in Conn. In Jan 1810; m. Milton Jones in 1833; settled in P.; now lives in Ripley, this county.
    4. SARAH: b. in June 1811; m. Loren Shattuck in March 1830; settled in P.; afterward in Ripley, where Mr. S. d. Mrs. S. now lives in Fredonia, this county.
    5. WILLIAM: b. April 1814; m. Clarinda Bennett of Niles, Michigan, July 1851; now living at that place.
    6. LEWIS: b. in Gerry, this county, about 1820; d. 1822.
    7. AMANDA J.: b/ in Gerry in 1821; d. in Brocton in 1853.
    8. MARIA J.: b. in 1825 in Gerry; d. in Brocton in 1854.

NOTES: Marie B. McCutcheon, Town historian of Ripley in her booklet Golden Glow of History Past pages 70-72 relates details of the Eliza Jackson and Milton Jones family.

There were numerous obituaries for this family in the Fredonia Censor abstracts of which appear in Death Notices 1819 1899 reported in the Fredonia Censor compiled by Lois Barris. The Westfield Republican newspaper also carried many obituaries these are available through the Patterson Library in Westfield.

JORDAN, Benajah (124)

Was a native of Coos County, N. H., and came to P. in April 1818. His wifes maiden name was Brainard. He settled on pt of lot 61, T. 4, after a few years residence in town, buying a claim of Andrew McAllister. Some years later he built the house now standing on the farm owned by Walter Buss. Mr. J. was a Protestant in his religious faith, though not a professor; and in politics a democrat. He d. July 19, 1845, aged 88. Mrs. J. d. Jan. 10, 1857, aged 70.

JOY, David (27)

"Old Capt. Joy" came to P. from Vermont in 1810. He built a log shanty in the woods near where the house of M. J. Munson now stands, on pt of lot 33, T. 5. He left this claim the next year, and returned to Vermont. Early in 1812, having removed his family to P. he rented the log tavern house of Wm. Berry, standing near where the house of Lincoln Fay now stands, on lot 25, T. 5, and continued the tavern. Within the next two or three months the house was burned, but a frame house was at once built and a public house continued. Early in 1814, Mr. Joy and his son Moses erected a large frame building, on pt. of lot 19, T. 5, where the house of W. W. Pettit now stands, and opened as a tavern. It was sold to Wm. Harris, sen. In 1817, and a double log house was built on the N. pt. of the lot, where the house of H. A. S. Thompson now stands, and opened as a tavern. [See TAVERNS} Sometime previous to 1831 the house now on the farm was built. In 1831 the farm was sold, and the farm now owned by Linus Burton, S. of Brocton, S. pt. of lot 13, T. 5, purchased. In 1837 Mr. J. removed to Michigan, where he d. many years since. Mrs. Joy d. in P. June 1st, 1831, aged 69. Mr. Joys aged father d. in P. about 1816. As before hinted, Mr. Joy left his family in their home in Vt. until he could prepare for them a place in the wilderness. After building his shanty on lot 33, as stated he furnished it with a bed of straw in one corner on the bare earth, a brown earthen pan or two, a bowl of some material, and one wooden spoon. Chairs or stools were of no account, and were not used, a block of wood answering every purpose. A fireplace was built of two or three boulders, in one corner, and an old blanket was hung at the doorway. The inventory of cooking utensils was not large, including but one iron kettle. He purchased a small cow and turned her into the woods to browse; a half-bushel of corn meal and a pound or two of salt. After the labors of the day he would drive home his cow, secure her milk, and cook mush sufficient for his supper and two meals next day. The mush and milk thus prepared and eaten from his brown bowl with his wooden spoon he described as delicious. On certain occasions while at his work, his faithful cow came about the cabin, and finding the door easy of removal, pushed it aside and made her way into the best apartment the cabin afforded. A slight exploration discovered to her the mush kettle, and claiming an interest in the property of her master, she soon cleared it of its entire contents; then going to the bed of Mr. Joy very complacently laid herself down in it. When Mr. Joy came in for his dinner he was not a little surprised to find his mush kettle empty, and the intruder very quietly chewing her cud in his bed. He had not the heart to eject her rudely, but quietly drove her out, and took good care that she did not again thus deprive him of "his bed and board.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Joy

    1. MOSES: m. Patty Hill; settled in P.; but removed to Michigan in 1837, where he d. some years since.
    2. EZRA: M. _______; for some time lived on N. pt; of lot 25 T. 5; afterward removed west.
    3. DORREL: never m.; went west with family in 1837.
    4. DIAH: m. Sophia Everden; lived in P. for some years; eventually removing west.
    5. Anna: m. Asa Brooks; lived on the lakeshore; afterward went west.
    6. --------; m. James Wilder. [See Biog. Sketches No. 41]
    7. POLLY: m. Wm. Miller

JUDSON, Timothy (242)

The ancestors of Mr. Judson were from Yorkshire, England, and immigrated to Concord, Mass., in 1634. In 1672 a portion of the family were members of the first colony settling in Woodbury, Conn. Noadiah and Clarinda Kirtland Judson emigrated from Woodbury to Westmoreland, Oneida County, N. Y., about 1798, where the subject of this sketch was b. Nov 2, 1801. He and his father came to P. in 1827 and purchased a claim of Lyman Doolittle to the S. E. pt of lot 19, T. 5, and returned. In March 1828, Mr. J. came again to P. with a team and the necessary implements for farming. He purchased that year and the next pts of lot 18, T. 5, land now owned by F. Griswold and others. Sept 15 the same year he m. Nancy Dalee, dau, of Waterman and Anstis Dalee, who was b. in Cambridge, N. Y., June 27, 1807. They occupied a log house on lot 18 for two or three years, then building a small frame house on lot 19, which is now standing, enlarged and improved. Mr. J. was a framer, surveyor and conveyancer, and for nearly the whole period of his residence in P. shared largely and deservedly the confidence of the people. In 1839 he represented this county, with Waterman Ellsworth and Almer Lewis, in the lower branch of the state legislature. He was supervisor of the town twelve years, and at various times filled most of the offices in town in the gift of the people. He was always a faithful and efficient officer. Mr. and Mrs. J. were members of the Presbyterian church in P. In politics Mr. J. was a republican. He d. March 10, 1872, and was bu. in Brocton Cemetery. Mrs. J. is still living in Fredonia, with her dau. Mrs. L. L. Riggs. NOTE: Nancy Dalee Judson died in Fredonia on 10 March 1883.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Judson

    1. CHARLES K.: b. in June 1829; m. Lucy Ingersoll May 3, 1853. He was educated at Hamilton College, graduating in the class of 1851, and followed the profession of an editor for fifteen years, publishing in connection with C.W. McClure the Freeport (Ill.) Journal, for ten of the fifteen years. Now lives in Fredonia, this Co.
    2. MARYETTE: b. Nov 2, 1831; m. Luther L. Riggs Sept 20 1853; resides in Fredonia.
    3. JUSTUS D.: b. May 4 1834; m. Mary Daily Aug 2 1853; d. Nov 20, 1860 in Fredonia, and bu. in Brocton cemetery.
    4. Ann ELIZA; b. Sept. 26, 1836; d. Dec. same year.
    5. ALBERT H.: b. Sept 21, 1838; m. Sarah Fairman of Elmira, N. Y. June 12, 1867; lives in California; is a lawyer by profession.
    6. WILLIAM A.: b. Feb. 17, 1842; lives in Fredonia.

KANE, Peter (6)

Came from some point in the valley of the Mohawk. His father was Irish and his mother Dutch. His wife was also Dutch. He settled on the S. part of House Farm part of lot 30, T4, R. 14, in 1804 and kept a tavern for two years. He was a justice of the peace in 1805. In 1806 he purchased of James Dunn the farm owned for many years by the late Mrs. Margaret D. Leech, part of lot 38, T. 5. Upon this he built a log house, on the road surveyed by McMahan in 1805, midway between the north and south roads, where he lived until his death, Jan 7th 1818. The well from which they obtained their supply of water is still to be seen, After the death of Mr. K., his wid. Lived with her dau. Clara in Erie, Pa., where she d. a few years later. Mr. K. was a revolutionary soldier, and of the war of 1812. He was buried in Evergreen Cemetery.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Kane

    1. POLLY: m. Absalom Harris in 1810. Mr. H. soon d. leaving her a widow, the first in the present town of P. She now lives near Union, Pa.
    2. CLARA: m. _______; settled in Erie, PA., and is still living , as far as is known.
    3. PHILIP: m. Sophia Anderson; occupied the farm until 1824; sold to Robert Leech; now lives in Iowa.
    4. ANN: m. Luke Drury; settled in Westfield; Mr. D. committed suicide by cutting his throat; Mrs. D. is now living at Spartansburg, Pa.

NOTES: For further information researchers should consult Patriot Soldiers of 1775 1783 compiled by Frederick Ward Kates. Published by Chautauqua County Historical Society.

KELSEY, Andrew (25)

Was the son of James and Catharine Brown Kelsey, and b. in Tyringham, Mass., May 17th 1789. In 1811 he came to P., performing the journey in eleven days on foot. Like most emigrants he was under the necessity of exercising the strictest economy and laid in a supply of provisions to last him the entire journey. His capacious knapsack strapped upon his shoulders, was like the load that Pilgrim carried in his flight from the city of Destruction. His outlay in cash for the eleven days was sixty-eight cents. He returned the same season, but in 1812 removed his family to P. and settled on pt. of lot 63, T. 4. He m. Elizabeth House, dau. of Dea. John House. Mr. and Mrs. K. lived on this and an adjoining farm until 1832, when he removed to Elm Flats where he lived until 1837; afterward living in the town of Westfield until his d. May 22d 1868. Mrs. K. d. Jan. 12 th 1864. Mr. K. was a man of strict honesty and great energy of character.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Kelsey

    1. JOHN H.: b. July 27th 1821 in P.; m. Philinda Vanguilder, Apr. 8th 1847; lives in P.
    2. CATHARINE: b. July 21st 1823; m. Emery L. Titus, July 1st 1847; lives in P.
    3. JAMES: b. Oct 7th 1825
    4. RHODA A.: b. Sept. 23rd 1827
    5. ANDREW: b. July 18th 1829.
    6. MARY E.: b. June 16th 1831; m. W. A. Crossgrove, Nov 14th 1850; Mr. C. d. Oct. 18th 1861; Mrs. C. lives in Westfield.
    7. MALVINA P.: b. Dec. 30th 1833; m. H. B. Crandall, Sept. 3d 1858; lives in Brocton.
    8. ABBY N.: b. Jan. 24th 1836.

James, Andrew, Rhoda A. and Abby N. live upon the farm first settled by Mr. K. in P.

KINNE, Erastus (210)

Came to P. from Nova Scotia, probably in 1825, and lived on a lot of 5 acres in Brocton now owned by Linus Burton, H. Haight, and others. He was a tanner by trade and established a tannery on his lot. He sold to Joshua Jackson in 1830 and went west.

KINNE, Rufus (211)

Came to P. from Olean, N. Y., about 1826. He was a shoemaker and occupied a small house on the spot where the tavern of D. Morey now stands, in Brocton. The building is still standing and forms a part of the dwelling of Mrs. Louisa Bowdish in that village.

KLUMPH, Augustine (26)

Was the son of Thomas K. and Margaret Davis his wife, and was b. in the town and county of Otsego, N.Y., June 15th 1768. He m. Sarah Simpson Jan. 31st 1795. Mrs. K. was b. Jan 17 th 1778. They came to P. from Springfield, Otsego county, in 1810, and settled on the piece of land now owned by Chester Munson, N. pt. of lot 37, T. 5. His log house stood nearly on the ground now occupied by the dwelling of Mr. Munson. He lived upon this land until the death of Mrs. K. Apr. 5th 1828; after which he lived with his ch. until his own death, Jan. 16th 1837. Mr. K. taught the first winter school in town, in winter of 1810-11.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Klumph

    1. THOMAS: b. in Otsego Co., Oct. 3d 1796. He kept the first store in P. in 1817. He afterward kept a tavern at various places in the county, and amongst them at the old McKennie place in P> where his father d. He m. Polly Couch, dau. of Dea. Wm. Couch, Jan 14th 1821. Mrs. K. d. Apr. 28th 1823. He m. 2d Eliza Eby in P. He removed to Illinois in 1827, where he opened a store and tavern, was elected justice of the peace, and appointed postmaster. IN 1848 he removed to Cedar Rapids, Iowa where he d. Dec. 15th 1856. Mrs. K. d. Dec. 1855.
    2. HARRIET: b. Oct. 8th 1899; m. Asa Andrews Oct 20th 1821; settled on the homestead; now lives in Pomfret, this county.

KLUMPH, Jacob W. (127)

Was the bro. of Jeremiah (No.126) and was b. in Albany or Otsego county, this state, about 1765. He m. Catharine Bowhall, who was b. in Herkimer county in 1786. They came to P. in 1816 and settled on pt of lot 39, T. 4, land now owned by T, McWhir and others. Mr. K. d. in P. in 1823, and by his directions was bu. on his farm a short distance from his house between two large rocks, where he still rests. The family remained upon the farm until 1834 or35, when they sold and removed to Michigan.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Klumph

    1. BENSON:
    2. JERRY:
    3. AUGUSTINE:
    4. EKIZABETH:
    5. ALFRED:
    6. AMELIA:
    7. JOSEPH:

Jerry died in P. in 1833.

KLUMPH, Jeremiah (126)

Was the son of John Thomas Klumph, a German and a soldier in the English army in the French and Indian war, and Margaret Davis, his wife, and b. at Albany, N. Y., about 1763. He came to P. from Otsego county, this state in June 1818, and settled on pt of lot 47, T. 4 land now owned by Wm. Finley and others. He first located (in 1809) all of lot 19, T. 5, and in 1812 all of lot 37, T. 5, but never occupied them. His wife was Amanda Norton. Mrs. K. d. in Otsego in 1817. Mr. K. while a youth was in some capacity attached to the army of Washington, then occupying a position above New York city on the Hudson. He was a Methodist; politically a whig. In 1836 the family removed to Detroit, Mich., where Mr. K. d. in Oct. 1855.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Klumph

    1. MARGARET: m. John Bowhall; d. in Painesville, Ohio in 1868.
    2. PHILIP: d. in P. in 1819; bu. on the farm. {Note: he died at age 17yrs. on Aug 6 1819.}
    3. ELON: d. in P. in 1827; bu. in W. & P. U. cemetery.
    4. NELSON: m. ____Stevens; d. in Michigan in 1863.
    5. Louisa: m. ____ Wilson; lives in Mich. {note: m. Phineas Willson 13 Aug 1829 in Fredonia by J. Crane Esq. Fredonia Censor 3/19/29}
    6. MARY: m. ____ Wilson; lives in Mich.
    7. ERASTUS: also lives in Mich.
    8. AMANDA: m. _____Vansickle; d in VanBuren county, Mich., in 1839.

KLUMPH, Thomas (17)

Brother of Augustine, Jacob and Jeremiah came to P. from Springfield, Otsego county, N.Y., in 1808, and located 200 acres of land, pt. of lot 41, T. 5, now owned in part by H. J. Blowers. Mr. Klumph was b. in 1778; m. Sally Rice in 1808, who was b. in Otsego county in 1791. In 1810 they removed to their purchase in P. His log house was located near a spring east of the house now on the farm. Two years later his house was burned and he occupied the log school house elsewhere spoken of as the first built in town. He sold to Asa Thornton in 1815, and located pt. of lot 32, T. 4, where he lived for about fifteen years, then removing to Conneaut, Ohio, where he d. in 1858. Mrs. K. is still living. Mr. K. was a Methodist; politically a Federalist.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Klumph

    1. ALEXIS:
    2. LESTER:
    3. JACOB:
    4. JOHN:
    5. LAFAYETTE:
    6. ALMA:
    7. CHARITY:
    8. CHARLOTTE:
    9. CORNELIUS:

Most if not all of them live near Conneautville, Pa., except the youngest, who was wrecked on Lake Erie, 1861, but succeeded in getting ashore only to perish from the cold in the woods near the mouth of Cattaraugus creek.

NOTE: There is a Klumph Family Genealogy available at Patterson Library in Westfield and at the Barker Library Museum.

LAKE, Nicholas (157)

Was the son of Henry and Jemima Waldo Lake, and was b. in Plainfield, N. Y. He m. Eunice Houghton, dau. of Silas and Sarah Wyman Houghton, who was b. in Lisbon, Vt. He came to P. in 1820 from Clarence, Erie County, N. Y. He settled on pt of lot 19, T. 5, land now owned and occupied by Richard Reynolds, purchasing a claim of John Hedgline . Mrs. L. d. here in 1830 and was bu. in Evergreen cemetery. He m. for his second wife Mrs. __ Barmore of Pen Yan, this state. He built a frame house, the one now standing back of the house of Richard Reynolds, about 1846. Mr. L made several changes of location in town, but eventually removed to Albion, Orleans County, this state, where he d. Mrs. L. d. and was bu. there. Mr. L. was an ardent Methodist; a whig and republican.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Lake

    1. SIDNEY S.: m. Betsey Fellows; d. in California.
    2. WALDO W.: m. Addie Herriman; now lives in California.
    3. LUCIA: d. in P.
    4. SARAH W.: m. James H. Minton; now lives at Westfield, this county.
    5. ROSE A.: m. Jared Brocket; now lives in Milwaukee, Wis.

LEAVITT, Robert (231)

Was the son of Robert, and was b. near Portland, Me., Jan 31, 1775. He m. Sally Brown in Vt. Sept 2, 1801. Mrs. L. was b. in Me. Sept/ 21, 1784. After several changes he settled in Ellery, in this county, in 1824, and came to P. from there in 1827. He purchased a claim to pt of lot 38, T. 5 of Sylvester Churchill, and occupied a log house on the old Erie road. In 1829 he built a sawmill now known as the Goodsell mill, and in 1830 the frame house now standing on the farm, and opened a tavern. In 1831 or early in 1832 he sold to Rodolphus Brown and removed to Portland Center and built the house now occupied by G. W. Munger as a blacksmith shop, in which he kept tavern about two years. In 1834 he removed to Wattsburg, Pa., where he d. April 25, 1840. Mrs. L. d. in P.April 29, 1830. Mr. L. m. for a second wife Mrs. Hannah Morey, a sister of Asa Blood, now of Westfield. He was a farmer, blacksmith and general mechanic, and in religious sentiment a Methodist.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Leavitt

    1. GUY; b. Oct. 8, 1805; now living at Vernon, Ind.
    2. GEORGE: b. Jan. 15, 1808; d. at Bloomington, Ill.
    3. HEPSIBAH: b. in Canada Sept. 20, 1809; is a wid.; lives at Richfield, Ohio.
    4. RALPH: b. Dec. 19, 1811; lives at Pittsford, Mich.
    5. CHARLES: b. in Seneca County, this state, Aug. 8, 1815; lives in Cleveland, Ohio. Is a real estate broker.
    6. ELI: living at Jaynesville, Wis.
    7. ROBERT: b. in Pembroke, this state, Nov. 17, 1822; lives at Vernon, Ind.

By the 2nd marriage

    1. SARAH: b. May 19, 1831; now living at Vernon, Ind.
    2. WARD: b. Oct. 13, 1833; living at Vernon, Ind.

Mrs. L. had a dau. by her first m. DIADAMA [MOREY] of whom nothing has been learned.

LEE, James (87)

Located part of lot 47, T. 4. He had no family but lived with Martin Smith. His article bears date May 26, 1817.

LEECH, Robert (219)

Was b. in Northumberland County, Pa., Nov. 4, 1768. His fathers given name is not remembered, but his mothers maiden name was Sally Shaddon. Mr. L. lived for eight years in South Carolina and for some time in Cayuga and Genesee counties, in this state, after his majority. He m. Mrs. Margaret D. Goldsborough, wid. Of Joseph Goldsborough, dau. of Hugh and Mary Smith Campbell, and sister of Hon. Thomas B. Campbell of Westfield, this county, march 26, 1811, at Scipio, Cayuga County. Mrs. L. was b. at Alexandria, Grafton County, N. H., May 3, 1781. They removed to this county from Batavia, this state, in 1823, and lived for a year and a half on the Vorce farm, west of Westfield, a part of that time keeping tavern, but removed to P. in March 1825, settling on pt of lot 38, T. 5, buying of Philip Kane. They occupied a log house midway between the north and south roads, on the line of McMahans road. Mr. L. d. there Oct. 21, 1830, and was bu. in Evergreen cemetery. The first marble stone placed in these grounds was at the head of his grave. After the death of Mr. L., the family built a frame house on the north road where they lived for many years. Mrs. L. d. there May 21, 1873, aged 92 years, lacking three days. Mr. L. was Presbyterian in religious sentiment; in politics a whig and anti-mason.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Leech

    1. MARY ANN GOLDSBOROUGH: a dau. by Mrs. Ls first m.; b. in Scipio, Cayuga Co., Aug. 18, 1803; m. John S. Coon in P. May 5, 1837; settled upon the homestead; d. there April 28, 1873.
    2. SALLY LOUISA: an own dau.; b. in Genoa, Cayuga county, May 1, 1812; still living upon the homestead, the only remaining member of the family.

NOTE: Robert kept a tavern and was a storekeeper. After his death, his wife Margaret kept a journal, which is at the Chautauqua County Historical Society in Westfield. Also the account book of Robert Leech is deposited at CCHS. Mary Ann and John S. Coon had adopted son Francis McGennis bc 1845 in Ireland. Sally Leech is on the 1875 census as Sally LUCH residing with her brother in law J S Coon and a male servant- R. McFadden.

LEWIS, Pardon T. (170)

Came from Chenango County, N. Y. to Sheridan, this county in 1817. He lived with Jeremiah Baldwin for several years; m. his dau. Esther, and moved to P. in the spring of 1821 and purchased a claim to pt. of lot 32, T. 5, farm now owned and occupied by B. F. Pecor. He sold this in 1824 to Orris Perkins and removed to the now town of Dunkirk and afterward to Sheridan, where he died in 1850.

NOTE: he died 1 April 1850 age 50 years.; had son who died 18 July 1846 at abt. Age 17 yrs.

His wife Esther died 9 Sept. 1856 age 59.

LEWIS, Walker (194)

Came to P. from Conn. In 1824 and purchased a claim to the place in which the writer now resides, pt of lot 13, T 5, known as the Elmore farm. He d. here July 17, 1826. The farm was sold to James Aldrich in 1830 and Mrs. Lewis removed to Fredonia where she d. March 23, 1845. They were both buried in Brocton cemetery. The writer remembers calling at the log dwelling of the widow Lewis in the spring of 1827, which was then surrounded by a small forest of peach trees in full bloom.

LIGHT, John (141)

Was formerly from Stillwater, Saratoga County, but came from Butternuts, Otsego County, to P. in 1818. He settled on the farm now owned by Ed Underhill, S. pt lot 27, T. 5, where he d. about 1827- was found dead in the filed. Mrs. L. d. the next day. Mr. L. was seven years in the Continental army. All of his sons were in the army in the war of 1812. Mr. and Mrs. L. and most of their family were members of the Baptist church in P.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Light

    1. ABIGAIL: m. Ezra Fellows in Saratoga County, where Mr. F. d. in 1820. Mrs. F. came to P. in 1825 and purchased the Nathan Fay farm, pt of lot 25, T. 5.
    2. JACOB: m. Rachel ______: lived for some time on the farm now owned and occupied by D. P. Benjamin; he d. in Michigan.
    3. JOHN: m. Prudence ____; d. at Butternuts, N. Y.
    4. WILLIAM: m. Ruth Allen; was afterward twice m.; lived on the farm now owned by A. A. Moon, in Pomfret; d. in Westfield, this county. NOTE: d. 1891
    5. ELIZABETH: m. 1st Samuel Ketchum; 2d, Calvin Wooden; lived on pt of McCabe farm.
    6. ISRAEL: m. Polly Price, dau. of John Price. Mrs. L. is living in Hanover, this county, and Mr. L. near Flint, Michigan.

LILLY, Leonard (150)

Came to P. from Onondaga Co., N.Y. in 1819. He m. Vesta, a dau. of Lemuel Thayer, before coming to P., and settled on pt. of lot 23, T. 5, north pt. of the Michael Fuller farm. After a few years he sold and moved to Ohio. Mrs. L. d. there and about 1867 Mr. L. returned to P. in indigent circumstances, and d. at the house of Wm. Thayer in 1870.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Lilly

    1. LEONARD:
    2. ORRIN:
    3. WILLIAM:
    4. ELIZA:
    5. MARY:

LOGAN, Cyrus (154)

Came to P. from Warsaw. Then in Genesee county, now Wyoming, about 1820. He settled on a small place now owned and occupied by Matthew Seely, S.W. pt of lot 30, T. 5., where he lived ten or twelve years when he removed to Union, Pa. He was a carpenter by trade, and built the house now standing on the Marsh farm. Mrs. L. d. before the family removed to Pa.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Logan

    1. JEREMIAH:
    2. HORACE:

Both sons removed to Pa. with their father.

LOGAN, John (212)

Came to P. about 1825 and for some time lived on a piece of land belonging to Silas Houghton, on lot 19, T. 5. He afterward built a log house on the ground now occupied by the house of Salmon Burton, on lot 14, T. 5. After a few years he went west.

MARTIN, Zadoc (76)

Was the son of Reuben and Sally Williams Martin, and was b. in Conn., June 17,1777. He m. Sally Hill, dau. of Samuel Hill, in Jan. 1800. Mrs. M. was b. in Conn. June 10, 1779. They removed from N. Ferrisburg, Vt., to P. in the summer of 1816. "He started with a horse team, but one horse failing he traded for a yoke of oxen, for which he was offered six acres of land near the foot of Main street, Buffalo; but he was not trading oxen, for hemlock swamps." They had much difficulty in crossing Eighteen-mile creek and were obliged to swim their teams across and ferry the family and goods upon the back of a horse. It was a habit with the settlers on arriving at their destination to make an inventory of their effects, and Mr. Martins was as follows: Wife and three ch.; a yoke of oxen so poor that they could stand with difficulty; an old wagon, and sixteen cents in money. He settled on W. pt of lot 3, T. 5, farm occupied by his son Jason at the time of his d. Mr. M. was a carpenter by trade. From 1841 to 1845 he kept a tavern in Brocton. He was a man of great energy and decision of character, and manifested in a large degree the peculiarities of the early settler. He d. Oct. 30, 1850. Mrs. M. d. Dec. 28, 1860. They were bu. in Brocton cemetery. Mr. M. was a volunteer in the war of 1812. In religion he was a Universalist, and in politics a democrat.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Martin

    1. HIRAM: b. Sept. 22, 1899; m. Salome Dunham March 18, 1828; settled in P. on lands now owned by Geo. Churchill, pt. of lots 30 and 31, T. 5; was killed on L. S. R. R. some years since.
    2. LOVINA: b. March 1, 1802; m. Russell Fitch March 20, 1820; settled in Pomfret; afterward in P.; d. Aug. 29, 1848, at Brocton.
    3. JASON: b. July 9, 1805; m. Alma Hill Jan. 1827; settled on the old homestead. Mrs. M. d. Oct. 12, 1870; Mr. M. D. Nov. 3, 1870. They are bu. in Evergreen cemetery.
    4. ELIZA LANGWORTHY: an adopted dau. b. July 24, 1809; m. Harvey Fitch Jan. 15, 1829; lives in P.

NOTES: Hiram Martin was found on railroad track at Centerville on morning of July 5th 1863. he was last seen alive on the 4 th Fredonia Censor 8/8/1863.

MATTHEWSON, Andrew (253)

Came to P. from Norwich, Chenango County, N. Y., about 1827. He lived for one or two years on the farm of Erastus Taylor, and from 1829 to 1831; kept a tavern in the "old Joy House," on lot 19, T. 5 on the South road. He subsequently removed to Canada.

McALLISTER, Andrew (125)

Came from Coos County, N. H., and came to P. in April 1818, and settled on pt of lot 61, T. 4, occupying a small log house. He lived in town but a few years. He sold his claim to Benejah Jordan.

McGREGOR, David (129)

Was the son of Robert, and was b. at Mansfield, Mass., in 1744. his wife was Elizabeth Holland. He was educated at Dartmouth College, N. H., and followed teaching school for most of his life. He was a soldier of the revolution and was promoted to Captain and served during the war. He removed to P. from Watertown, N. Y., in the spring of 1818, and occupied a house on the farm of Lemuel Munson. The remains of the stone chimney are still to be seen. He taught school in p., Mayville, and Ripley. For s few years he lived in Fredonia in a house a little west of the store of Todd & Douglas, now the bank of H. J. Miner. He returned to P. and lived with his son Stephen on the Peck farm, pt of lot 29, T. 5. He d. in Mayville July 4, 1828, aged 84, and was bu. with Masonic honors. Mrs. McG. D. the same year. They were bu. at Mayville. Mr. McG. was a member of the Presbyterian Church.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. McGregor

    1. STEPHEN: b. in Mansfield, Mass.; m. Huldah Jones in 1819; settled on pt of lot 29, T 5, in P.; d. at Dewittville, this county, Feb. 26, 1841; widow m. Elijah Thayer, and d. Aug. 1860 in Tompkins County, this state; bu. there.
    2. DAVID: b. in Mass.; m. Clarissa Munson in Utica, N.Y., in 1813; settled in P. in 1818, on pt of lot 48, T. 4, farm now owned by S. A. Hatch; d. in P. May 26, 1842; wife d. in Pomfret in April 1868; both bu. in Evergreen cemetery. NOTE: see also Samuel Munson (130). Clarissa d. April 16, 1868 in Laona, town of Pomfret.
    3. MARY: b. in Mass.; m. Wm. Vandresser; removed to Genesee county, this state, and d. there.

NOTES: David McGregor is buried in Mayville Cemetery; see also Patriot Soldiers of 1775 1783 compiled by Frederick Ward Kates; and Sketches of the Alumni of Dartmouth College by George L. Chapman; The History of Londonderry by Edward L. Parker; They also had 1 st born child ELIZABETH who d. as infant.

McINTYRE, John T. (107)

Was the son of Amos and Lena McIntyre and b. in Charlton, Mass., in 1790. He m. Nancy Anderson, dau. of Samuel Anderson, who was also b. in Mass. He came to P. from Cherry Valley, N.Y., in Feb., 1817. He settled on W. pt. of lot 55, T. 4, farm so long owned by Warren Couch and now by Silas Aldrich. His first house was a log one, but he built a frame one he says " the year the Thayers were hung. A part of this house is still standing. He sold to Warren Couch in 1835. Mr. McI. Was in the war of 1812 and at the battle of Queenstown. In religion he is a "Freethinker." Mrs. McI. is a Presbyterian. Politically he says: "The good old republican doctrines I endorse and long may they wave." "I built my log house and moved into it inside of a week. I was first in this county in 1810, and was at the first frame barn raising in the town of Ripley. A frame barn was a wonder in those days. It belonged to a Mr. Cochran. It took all day, and the most notable feature of the whole affair was the large provision of whiskey. Times were hard, but whiskey was meat and drink.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. McIntyre

    1. MORGAN L: b. in 1820; lives at Marengo, Illinois.
    2. HENRY: b. in 1823; m. Mrs. Bascomb at Marengo, Ill. in 1860; now lives at Steamboat Rock, Iowa.
    3. MARIA: b. in 1827; lives at Marengo.

McMANUS, (113)

Christopher, Samuel and Lewis McManus came to P. about 1818, but from where is not known. They lived for a few years on the farm now owned in part by Linus Burton, pt of lot 21, T. 5. Lewis was killed in 1822 by the fall of a tree near his house and was bu. at Brocton., the second bu. there. Of the others little is known, except that Christopher d. in Hanover, this county, June 14, 1849, aged 96 years. NOTE: There is a printed Genealogy on the McManus family available at Barker Library Museum.

MERRITT, Felix (109)

Emigrated from R. Island to Schoharie County, this state, in 1795. From there with his wife, Hopia, he removed to P. in 1817 and settled on pt of lot 48, T. 4, the farm now owned by G. M. Arnold. He had a family of 19 children- 12 by a first marriage, and all then living in Schoharie County, and 7 by a second marriage. Mr. M. d. in P. in the house now owned and occupied by Lorenzo Powell at Portland Center, in 1827. The family removed to Michigan in 1828. Mrs. M. d. there soon after.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Merritt

Those by the second m. were:

    1. HOPIA
    2. FELIX
    3. JOHN
    4. JEMIMA
    5. DAVID
    6. LONA
    7. JONATHAN

MILLER, William (160)

It is not known when or from where Mr. M. came to P. He m. Polly, a dau. of David Joy, and for some years lived in a log house on S. pt. of lot 19, T. 5, nearly opposite the present residence of Wm. Becker. About 1839 he removed to Indiana.

MILLET, Samuel (101)

Was the son of Ebenezer and Katharine Millet, and b. in Woodstock, Vt. He came to P. from Rochester, N. Y., in 1817. His wife was Margaret, dau. of Simon Burton {67};

b. July 25, 1787 in Vt. They settled on lot 22, T. 5, on the lake shore, occupying a log house for many years. A frame house built by him some years later and a new one built by O.W. Powell on the premises a few years since were burned about 1869. Mr. M. was a farmer. He was in the war of 1812 from St. Lawrence County, this state, and was wounded in the wrist. In religion he was a Universalist, and in politics a republican. Mr. M. d. June 1863, and Mrs. M. d. in Dec. 1859.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Millet

    1. VASHNI: m. Betsey Winter; lives in Wisconsin. NOTE: On 6 Sep 1854 Simon S. Millet died in P., son of Vashni & E. B. Millet- aged 3y 1m 4d Fredonia Censor 12 Sep 1854
    2. ALMIRA: d. at 12 years of age.
    3. LYMAN: d. at 4 years of age.
    4. ALVAH: m. Nancy Richardson; for many years lived in P. on pt of lot 22, T. 5; now lives in Corry, Pa.
    5. SUSAN: m. John Conner; lives in Crawford County, Pa.
    6. EBENEZAR: d, young
    7. EBENEZAR: d. young.
    8. LUCY ANN: m. Amos Burton; now lives in Ohio.
    9. KATHARINE: m. Philo Cutler; Lives in Ohio.
    10. SAMUEL: d. young
    11. SIMON: d. at 26 years of age. NOTE: he died 22 March 1849 in Portland age 25 according to Fredonia Censor dated 27 March 1849.
    12. MARY JANE: m. Owen W. Powell; lives at Portland Center.
    13. MARTHA M.: drowned at 12 years of age below the falls in Slippery Rock Creek north of Brocton. NOTE obit says she died summer of 1841.
    14. SAMUEL: died young.

MILLS, Deforest (162)

Settled on the central pt. of lot 16 T. 5, land now owned by Harvey Fitch, about 1820. He was a turner of woodenware, of use to settlers when crockery and brown ware were hard to get and hard to pay for. What became of him is not known.

MOORE, Rufus (193)

Came from Ripley, in this county, to P. in Jan. 1824, and settled on the central pt. of lot 11, T. 5, farm until recently for some years owned by Mrs. James. He sold in 1836 and removed to Franklin County, Ohio. He had a family of but one ch.

MUNSON, Samuel (130)

Was b. in Conn. July 9, 1762; He m. Martha Barnes, who was b. July 6, 1761. They removed to P. from New Hartford, Oneida County, N. Y. in the winter of 1818-19. They were a month on the road and a full week from Buffalo to P. Owing to the severity of the weather the family suffered severely. At one point the wagon became frozen into the slush and sand on the beach of the lake and he was obliged to unload it and chop it out with axes. He settled on pt of lot 41, T. 5, occupying a log house until 1828, when the frame house now on the farm was built. It is now occupied by his son Samuel. Mr. M. was a farmer, but from the necessities of the times occasionally engaged in mechanical pursuits, "He was a believer in the Christian faith; in politics a 76 whig." He d. in P. Feb 27, 1841. Mrs. M. d. Dec. 5, 1845. They were bu. in Evergreen Cemetery. All the ch. were b. in Oneida County and came to P. at different times, four only coming with their parents. NOTE: He was a Revolutionary War Veteran See Patriot Soldiers of 1775 1783 by Frederick Ward Kates pgs 255-256.

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Munson

    1. LUCY: m. John Tower {See No. 131}; settled in P. Oct. 1818; d. in P. Sept. 1838.
    2. DAVID: came to P. in 1830; never m. ; Bought and lived on pt of lot 8, T. 4, where he d. in 1860.
    3. LEMUEL: came to P. in 1814; m. Clarissa Thomas; settled on pt of lot 48, T. 4, in 1819,; where he d. in 1870.
    4. MARTHA; m. David B. Granger [See No. 22]; settled in P. in 1810; d. there Oct 4, 1862.
    5. CLARISSA: b. Feb 22, 1795; m. David McGregor [No.129} Jan 11 1818; settled in P.; d. April 1828
    6. BETSEY: b. April 1800; m. Wolcott Colt in 1824; [See No. 123] d. in P. Oct 7, 1856.
    7. SAMUEL C.: b. March 14, 1803; came to P. with his father in 1818; m. Mrs. Polly Shuff March 16, 1823; settled on pt of lot 41, T. 5, the old homestead, where they still reside.
    8. CHESTER: b. July 1804: came to P. with his father in 1818; m. Lovisa Hulburt in 1836 and settled on the farm on which he now resides, pt of lot 37, T. 5, in 1849.

NOTE: Frederick Ward Kates gives 9 children: HANNAH born June 2, 1797 and m. Ezra Ensworth should be number 6 on list above followed by Betsey, Samuel and Chester.

MUMFORD, Henry (142)

Came to P. from Jefferson County, N. Y.; about 1819 and for a short time occupied the place now owned and occupied by this writer in Brocton. He bought the Pitt Crandall farm, pt. of lot 15, T. 5, where he lived for some years, but becoming interested in the Mormon faith, with the larger portion of his family went to Kirkland, Ohio in 1836. He d. soon after. A son m. Hannah Crosby, a dau. of Joshua Crosby, and joined the hegira for the promised inheritance, and as far as now known is living in Utah.

MUMFORD, Walter (84)

Was the son of Henry, and came to P. about 1816. Like many of the early settlers he had a restless spirit and seldom remained long on any given piece of property. In 1819 he purchased the land comprising the S. E. pt of Brocton, which he sold in pt to Dr. D. Ingalls in 1824, and purchased the farm S. of Brocton now owned by Linus Burton pt lot 13, T. 5; in 1831 or 32 sold to Moses Joy and purchased the farm now owned by Wm. Becker, pt of lot 19, T, 5.; sold in 1848 and built the house at Brocton owned by Mrs. Morris Burr. In 1856 he removed to Wisconsin where he d. in 1859. Mrs. M. d. there also. Mr. M. was a man of some prominence, and much in town office. He was a carpenter by trade. [See biog. Sketches Fred Owen]

Family of Mr. and Mrs. Mumford

    1. MARY:
    2. NANCY:
    3. SARAH ANN:
    4. JANE:

NOTES: (2) NANCY m. Hosea Williams 27 March 1830 in P. by Rev. T. C. Eaton as published in the Fredonia Censor April 3, 1830. (4) JANE: m. A D L F Utley 25 April 1850 at Salem X Roads she youngest dau. of Capt Walter. m.by L. Payne as published in Fredonia Censor April 30, 1850.



Go To A-E
Go To N-Z