The Guyana / British Guiana Genealogical Society

About Us  |   Home    |   Contact
History | Gov. Officials | 6 peoples | Maps | Historical News | Timeline
Books | Laws & Misc. | Libraries | Research | Researchers | Sources | Transcriptions
Photo Gallery
Links | Biographical | Genealogy | General
Transcriptions | Transcriptions
What's New

Guyana Timeline

The original inhabitants (now referred to as Amerindians) of the northern area of South America known as the Guianas and are related to other tribes of the continent.

1565 - Sir Walter Raleigh's exploration discovered the land now known as Guiana.

1594 -Sir Robert Dudley lands in Trinidad and makes inquiries about the ingenious myth created to make explorers go elsewhere, the Empire of El Dorado

1598 - First voyage to Guiana by the Dutch.

1621 - A charter for the Essequebo is received by the Dutch West India Company

1640 - First African slaves arrive in the colonies

1666 - War between England and Holland.

1763 -The Berbice (then a separate Dutch colony) Slave Rebellion

1781 - The colonies of Demerara, Essequebo, and Berbice taken by the English.

1782 - Under the command of the Marquis de Lusignan, the French allies of Holland, take the three colonies. The French build a new town called "Longchamps" near the mouth of the Demerara

1783/4 - The colonies are restored to Holland and they choose Longchamps as the capital and rename it "Stabroek".

1796 - Another war between England and Holland and the English again take the colonies

1802 - A treaty at Amiens returns the colonies to the Dutch

1803 - The war between England and Holland continues and the Dutch, once again, turn over the colonies to the English

1812 - Capitol city of Stabroek is renamed 'Georgetown' by the British

1814 - As a result of the great peace, the three colonies of Demerara, Essequebo and Berbice are assigned to England

1822 - A new town named New Amsterdam is constructed in Berbice

1835 - As African slaves gain freedom, labourers from Portugal are imported

1838 - On August 1, 1838, "Negroes were fully liberated"

1838 - The first East Indian indentured labourers from South India, arrive in Guiana.

1838 - By a new ordinance, the Colony is divided into three counties of Demerara, Essequebo, and Berbice.

1843 - Many labourers from India return to their homeland when the period of indenture ends

Mid 1840's - England suspends the indentured labourer system but allows labourers from India, Madeira Portugal and China under Government control.

1870 - Kaieteur Falls on the Potaro River in central Guyana is discovered by a geological survey team

1874 - The last contract Chinese labourers arrive in Demerara.

1879 - The Botanical Gardens are constructed at the eastern end of the Georgetown's city limits

1880's -Inspired by Dutch architecture, Stabroek Market is constructed.

1899 - The country's borders are established by an International Tribunal

1946 -The population of Guiana established as 375,819 by census

1961 - As a prelude to independence from England, elections are held under Internal Self-Government Constitution with the PPP Party as winner

1966 -On May 26, 1966, British troops leave the colony of British Guiana. The new independent country changes it name to "Guyana".

1970 - Guyana restructures the government and becomes the "Republic Of Guyana".

Home | Contact | ©2005 S Anderson