Biographical Sketches of its Prominent Men
J.B. Beers and Co.
by William S. Pelletreau, A.M.
Transcribed by Dianne Schnettler, Arlene Goodwin, Annette Campbell and Ann Clapper
The town of Athens is bounded on the north by the town of Coxsackie, east by the Hudson River, south by the town of Catskill, and west by the town of Cairo. Its greatest length is about seven miles, and its width in the widest part along the river, is about five and one-half miles. The surface, like that of all the towns in this county, is exceedingly diversified. The principal geographical features of the eastern part of the town, are three ranges of hills running from north to south. The first of these, rising from the river, attains its greatest elevation about one and one-half miles from the shore, and bears the general name of Spoorenberg, or Spoor’s Hill, from the name of a family, which, in early times, occupied a homestead at its northern part. West of this range, lie the Athens Flats, a low valley of excellent land, with an average width of three-quarters of a mile. Next comes a range of rocky hills, known to the Dutch settlers as the Myneberg, or Mine Hill, from early attempts made in search of minerals. West of this is another section of low land of great fertility, known as the Vosen Kill Flats, and beyond this rise the high precipitous cliffs of limestone, forming an impassible barrier along its entire length in this town, excepting at two points, where it is crossed by the Athens and Schoharie Turnpikes. This range is known as the Kalkberg or Lime Hill. Beyond this is a high table land, varied by occasional hills, extending nearly to the western end of the town, where there is an elevated extent of land known as the High Hill, or Potick Mountain, whose lofty eminence and steep front form a striking feature of the southwestern part of the town. Potick Creek, at the base of this range, is the western boundary of the town, and at the southern end of the mountain there is a tract of low and fertile land, extending along the Katskill Creek.
The principal streams in this town are the Corlaers Kill, which rises in the flats near the West Shore Railroad station, and empties into the Hudson about two miles below the village of Athens; and the Murderer’s Creek, which has its source in the Myneberg, south of the homestead of Samuel Van Woert on the Kings road, and running from that place to the northern part of the town, then turning south, it reaches the river at the north end of the upper village of Athens. The prevalent idea that this name is derived from a murder committed on its banks in the early part of the present century, is fully disproved by the fact that it was so called long years before. It is first mentioned in early deeds as Mudenaer’s Creek, and sometimes as Mudder’s Creek. Probably from the corruption of these terms, by which it was known to the early settlers, has been derived its present baleful name.
The Hans Vosen Kill is one of the outlets of the sheet of water known as Hollister’s Lake. Near its source, on the place formerly owned by Nicholas Terry, and now in possession of Thomas N. Van Hoesen, on the extreme verge of the Catskill Patent, near the north line of the town, a portion of this stream disappears through an opening among rocks. The remainder of it flows to the south, and is the source of the Hans Vosen Kill. It runs through the valley known as Vosen Kill Flats, and empties into the Katskill Creek, a short distance above the West Shore Railroad bridge, in the village of Catskill. Near the center of the western part of the town is Green’s Lake, a beautiful sheet of water, with exceedingly picturesque surroundings. Its outlet, a small brook, flows to the south and runs into the Katskill Creel at the village of Leeds, between the Leeds Plow Works and the Stewart Mills. In early records it is called Dirck’s Killitje, or Dick’s Little Brook. The ancient name is now seldom heard, and no modern one supplies its place.
Establishment of the town
The town of Athens consists of what was formerly parts of Coxsackie and Catskill. The line which separated these towns ran from the south bank of the mouth of Murderer’s Creek, diagonally across the present town, to near its southwest corner, the course from the first mentioned point being north, 80 degrees west. The project of erecting a new town was agitated for some time, and in the Catskill Recorder of November 16th 1814, and for several successive weeks thereafter, appeared the following advertisement:
“The following resolution passed by the Legislature of the State of New York at their session 1814. Resolved that the further consideration of the bill entitled An Act to erect a part of the town of Catskill, and a part of the town of Coxsackie, into a separate town by the name of Athens, be postponed till the next session of the Legislature, and that the applicants cause notice of their intention to be published for eight weeks, next and immediately preceding the next session, together with a copy of this resolution, to the end that the parties interested may be fully notified of such application.”
“NOTICE is hereby given that the application referred to by the above resolution will be renewed accordingly at the next Legislature. Athens. November 3rd 1814.”
“JOSEPH GROOM, President of the Trustees of the village of Athens.”
The act erecting the new town was passed February 25th 1815, of which the following is an extract:
“Beginning on the west bounds of the Hudson’s river in the town of Coxsackie, near the southerly point of an island called Paddock’s Island at a buttonwood tree, and from thence running north seventy-three degrees west, four hundred and four chains, intersecting the Schoharie turnpike road near what is called the Hoogeberg or high hill, then along the northerly side of said turnpike to a creek called Potick creek, then down the said stream to the corner of the towns of Catskill, Coxsackie, and Canton [now Cairo], near where a fulling-mill formerly stood, owned by Ezekiel Benton. From said corner south, sixty degrees west, along the Canton line, sixty-four chains to the Catskill Creek, then down the said creek one hundred and ninety-six chains to a small buttonwood tree, standing on the east bank of the Catskill Creek, thirty chains above or northerly of the dwelling house of Martin G. Schuneman. From said tree south, sixty-three degrees east, thirty-seven chains, to the Athenian turnpike road, and south fifty-five degrees and thirty minutes east, one hundred and ninety-eight chains, to what is called the Corlaer’s kill, crossing the said stream, then along the said kill forty-seven chains to the aforesaid Hudson river, near the dwelling house of Garrit Pierse, and from thence to the place of beginning. The first town meeting to be held at the house of Joseph Seeley in the village.”
For convenient reference a few landmarks in the boundaries of the town are given. The line at the northeast corner of the town, passes through the farm now owned by Charles Lee, formerly the “Truesdell place,” running just north of the house. The house of John I. Hallenbeck, a little west of the Spoorenberg road, is north of the line. Its intersection with the Schoharie Turnpike is a little east of the Lime Street Methodist church. The turnpike bridge over Potick Creek is partly in each of the three towns of Athens, Coxsackie and Cairo. The point where the “small buttonwood tree” stood on the east bank of Katskill Creek is at the west end of the farm of the heirs of Abraham Newkirk. The line crosses the Athens Turnpike a few feet west of a large maple tree standing on the land of Samuel Dewey, on the north side of the road, and about 150 feet west of the bridge over the Dirck Killitje. It strikes Corlaers Kill south of the north line of the farm of William H. Van Orden on the Kings road.
Original Sources of Title
This town consists of portions of the following patents or grants of land, originally obtained by purchase from the Indians, and confirmed by the royal governors, acting as the representatives of the English crown, and these are the original sources of title to the land: the Loonenburg Patent, the Catskill Patent, the Corlaers Kill Patent, and disputed lands in the Roseboom Patent, which encroached on the bounds of the Catskill Patent. The history of these patents will be given in succession.
The Loonenburg Patent
The tract of land included in this patent was purchased from the Indians in 1665, the following being a copy of the original Indian deed:
“Inasmuch as Jan Clute and Jan Hendrickse Bruyn and Jurian Teunise (Glazemaker), have shown at the sessions of the Court at Albany, the consent at their request of the Governor of New York, and of the Indians to purchase a certain parcel of land lying on the west side of the North river over against the Claverack near fort Albany, so there have appeared before him the underwritten Secretary of Albany, five Indians, namely Sachamoes, Mawinata, alias Schermerhorn, Keesie Wey, Papeuna, Masseha, owners of the above mentioned land, and also having a commission from the owners, who declared in the presence of the after named witnesses, that they had sold, granted and conveyed, as by these presents they do grant and convey, in real and actual possession, to the behoof of the aforesaid Jan Cloet and Jan Hendrickse Bruyn, the said land called Caniskek, in magnitude stretching along the river side from the land of Peter Bronk to the vly which lies on the point of the main land, behind the Beeren island, named Machawamick, and so running into the woods on the south and on the north even to the Katskill path, and that for a certain sum in goods [cargasoen] which the grantors acknowledge that they have received from the buyers, and therewith are completely paid, and [said] grantors waive their former title, and declare Jan Cloet and Jan Hendrickse Bruyn to be the rightful owners thereof, and promise to free said land from all actions, claims, and demands of other Indians who sinisterly lay claim to some portions of the said land or the right to set deer traps. Done in Albany in the presence of Harman Bastianse (Visscher) and Hendrickse Gerritse, as witnesses hereto called, on this 20th day of April A.D. 1665, old style.”
“This is the mark of KEESIE WEY X with his
own hand set.”
“This is the mark of SACHAMOES X with his own hand set.”
“This is the mark of PAPEUNA X with his own hand set.”
“This is the mark of MASSEHA X with his own hand set.”
“This is the mark of MAWINATA X with his own hand set.”
“HERMAN BASTIANSE as witness.”
“HENDRICK GERITSEN (VAN WIE) as witness.”
“Acknowledged before me”
The title to the land thus obtained from the Indians, was confirmed by a patent granted by Governor Richard Nicolls, and recorded in book F of deeds, in the county clerk’s office in Albany, of which the following is a copy:
“Richard Nicolls, Esqr. Governour Generall, and his Royall Highnesse, James, Duke of Yorke and Albany, &c., of all his Territoryes in America to all to whom these presents shall come, sendeth greeting, whereas I did heretofore grant and Lycence unto Johannes Clute and Jan Hendricks Bruyn, that they might make purchase of a certaine parcel of Land from the Indian Proprietors, Lying on the west Side of the north River, over against Claverack, which the said Johannes Clute, Jan Hendricks bruyn and Jurian Theunissen having effected, as by a Certificate from Albany, together with the Indian Proprietors, Acknowledgement to have Received payment and Satisfaction for the same bearing Date, the 20th day of April 1665, Doth at Large Appeare, the Land so purchased as aforesaid, being by the Indians Called Caniskeck, Lying beneath fort Albany, on the west Side of the River, over against Claverack aforesaid, and stretcheth along by the River Side off from Pieter Broncks, his Land to the meadows by the Corner or neck of the maine Land lying behind Barents Island, by the Indyans named mackawameck, So goeth up into the woods, as well on the South as on the north Side till it Reacheth to Katskill path, now for a Confirmion unto them the said Johannes Clute, Jan Hendricks bruyn and Juriaen Theunissen in their possession and Enjoyment of the premisses, Know yee, that by Vertue of the Commission and Authority unto me Given by his Royal Highnesse, I have Ratifyed, Confirmed and Granted, and by these presents do Ratify, Confirme and grant unto Johannes Clute, Jan Hendricks Bruyn and Jariaen Theunissen, their heirs and Assigns, the afore Recited parcell of Land and premisses, with all and Singular their Appurtenances: To have and to hold the Said parcell of Land and premisses, unto the Said Johannes Clute, Jan Hendricks Bruyn and Juriaen Theunissen, their Heirs and Assigns unto the proper use and behoofe of the Said Johannes Clute, Jan Hendricks Bruyn and Juriaen Theunissen, their Heirs and Assigns for ever, Rendering and paying such Dutyes and Acknowledgements as now are or hereafter shall bee Constituted and establisht by the Lawes of this Government, under the Obedience of his Royall Highnesse, his Heirs and Successors.”
“Given under my hand and Seal at ffort James in New York the 25th Day of May, in the 19th yeare of his Majesties Raigne, annoque Domini 1667.”
August 24th 1670, Jurian Teunisse sold his one-third of the patent to Abraham Staats and Johannes Provoost; as the deed reates [sic], “his right of the land that belongs to him in company with Jan Cloet and Jan Bruyn, with a barn thereon erected.” This is the origin of the title which the families of Staates and Provoost had in the Loonenburg patent.
The next transfer is that of Jan Hendrickse Bruyn, who, August 7th 1675, sold to Myndert Frederickse (Smit), “his just third part of land to him belonging in company with Jan Clute and Jurian Teunisen.” It will be noticed in the patent of Governor Nicolls, and the Indian deed, that this tract of land extended north to the “land of Peter Bronk.” This was a narrow tract of 252 acres, running from the mouth of Coxsackie Creek, west, to the Indian foot path. The northernmost limit of the original Loonenburg Patent extended to within a short distance of the mouth of Coxsackie Creek, its northwestern corner being the point where the Indian foot path crossed the “Stony Kill.” The Indian foot path so often mentioned was the trail of the Catskill Indians to the north. It started from near the point where the two creeks, the Katskill and the Kaaterskill, unite, and ran along under the Kalkberg, to the northern part of Coxsackie, and then to Albany. This was the western boundary of the patent. On the east, it was bounded by the river, and on the south by a line running west from what is now called Black Rock, a line which will be more minutely described further on.
The north part of this patent was sold March 28th 1681, by Jan Cloet, Myndert Frederickse and Jurian Teunisse to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen. The fact that Jurian Teunisse joins in this deed, after having sold his part to Staats and Provoost, seems to indicate that a previous bargain had been made for this transfer. The south boundary of the tract thus sold, was a line running east from the spring that flows out of the rocks at the farm of Jonas Collier.
The next sale is one of great importance in our history, and justifies us in presenting the deed in full.
“Appeared before me Robert Livingston, Secretary of Albany colony, Rensalaer’s wyck, and Schenectady & in presence of the honorable Heeren Mr. Cornelis Van Dyk and Mr. Dyk Wessels magistrates of the same jurisdiction, the honorable Mr. Johannes Cloet who declared in true right free ownership to grant, convey and make over to, and for the behoof of Peter Bosie and Jan Van Loon, in his just third part of the land which he, in partnership with Jan Hendrickse Bruyn and Jurian Teunise, possess, which afore said parcel of land lies on the west side of the North river over against Claverack, called by the Indians Caniskeek, stretching along the river from Peter Bronk’s land to the swamp by the point on the fast bank, lying behind Barent’s island, All by reason of the Patent thereof grant to him Jan Cloet, Jan Hend. Bruyn, and Jurian Teunise, by the late Governor Richard Nicolls, of date the 25 May, 1667, to which reference is made. His estate being a just third part of the lands specified in said Patent, which he conveys to Peter Bosie and Jan Van Loon aforesaid. Excepting the land that he had conveyed with his associates to Marte Gerritse [Van Bergen] of date the 28 March last, and the land which he in particular on this day has conveyed to Wyntje Harmense.”
“April 7, 1681.”
The last sentence refers to a deed by which he conveyed to “Wyntje Harmense, daughter of Harmen Thomas Van Hun, a piece of land of 20 morgen, (40 acres) lying upon the Murderer’s Kill stretching south and north, called the roundel of the Murderer’s Kill, with a homestead over the kill next the great swamp, all of which he out of a singular affection and love has donated and given to said Wyntje, as by act thereof of date July 18th 1673.” The deed goes on to recite that as his partners in the patent had each taken possession of a place on the river’s bank, “so it is that he has granted this piece of land to the aforenamed daughter instead of taking possession of the same with the assent and approval of his associates.”
Peter Bosie and Jan Van Loon gave a mortgage to Jan Cloet for “50 beavers” as part payment, and by a deed dated March 2nd 1684, Peter Bosie sold his part to Jan Van Loon, in consideration of the fact that he had paid the mortgage.
Two-thirds of the patent were now owned by Jan Van Loon, Abraham Staats, and Johannes Provoost, the last two owning one-third between them. The remaining third was the share of Jan Hendrickse Bruyn, who, as stated before, sold it to Myndert Frederickse, August 7th 1675. Myndert and his wife Petrie sold it to Cornelius Machielis, October 30th 1685. In these deeds, the land that had been sold to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen is excepted. Cornelis Machielis sold his third to Jacob Caspersen Hallenbeck, and Jochem Collier. The entire ownership in the patent had now change hands, and as Jan Van Loon represented a larger share than any other person, and he and his family had settled here and commenced improvements, the tract thus purchased came to be called by the name of Loonenburg, which it retained until the beginning of the present century.
At the time when New York became a royal province, new patents were obtained for all the larger tracts of land granted by former governors under the authority of James, Duke of York (afterward King James II.), by virtue of a grant made to him from his brother, King Charles II., which grant included the entire province of New York. Accordingly Jan Van Loon, Jochem Staats, and Johannes Provoost, as agents for themselves and the holders of the other third of the patent, applied to the royal governor for a new patent, which was granted in 1688. Although this patent seems to state that Van Loon, Staats and Provoost were the sole owners, this is simply because they were the applicants for the patent. The rights of the Hallenbecks and other representatives of the share of John Hendrickse Bruyn, were fully known and always recognized.
“Thomas Dongan, Governour of the province of New York, &c., to all to whom these presents shall come, sendeth greeting, whereas Richard Nicholls Esq., late Governour of this province, by his patent or grant bearing date the twenty-fifth of May 1667 did give and grant unto Johannes Clute, Jan Hendrix Bruyne, and Jurian Tunissen a tract of land lying on the west side of Hudson’s River in the county of Albany, over against Claverack, extending along the shore of the said river north and south, from thelands of Peter Bronks to the meadows by the corner or neck of the main land, lying behind Barent’s island, called Mackawameck, running in breadth westerly into the woodland to Kattskill road or path, to have and to hold, &c., and whereas the said tract, which is now commonly called Loonenburgh, by divers conveyances is now become into the possession of Jan Van Loon, Jocham States, and Johannes Provoost, who have made request that I would confirm to them the said Jan Van Loon, Jocham States, and Johannes Provoost, their heirs, &c., all that the before recited tract of land called Loonenburgh, with all the appurtenances in free and common soccage, &c., paying therefore yearly to his Majesty 9 bushels of good winter wheat at Albany. Signed and sealed June 2, 1688.”
“Approved in Council at Fort James, New York, July 28, 1688.”
The foregoing is a statement of the facts connected with the title of the Loonenburg Patent. The northern part was sold to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen, in 1681, and the present town line between Athens and Coxsackie cuts off a portion of what is left, so that the southern part only is embraced within the limits of this town. The eastern and western boundaries of this patent are sufficiently well defined, but to locate with exactness the south line, has cost an amount of careful labor, which can be appreciated only by those who may have attempted a similar task.
The landmark, mentioned in the Indian deed as “Machawamick,” was called by the Dutch settlers “Vlugt Hoek,” or “Flying Corner,” and is thus called in the Indian deed for the land included in the Catskill Patent. It is now known by the name of Black Rock, and projects into the river at the south part of the village of Athens. From this rocky point the line runs west, passing south of the house now owned by William Birmingham, striking a black oak tree a few rods north of the house of William Ford. It crosses the Albany and Greene Turnpike at a point some twenty rods east of the place where the road turns south, by the homestead of Peter Gordon Brandow. Thence crossing a lot on the north side of the turnpike, called the “Triangle lot,” it crosses the road running north from the turnpike, and strikes the east end of an old stone wall, beside which two old oak trees are now standing. This is the south boundary of a lot of ten acres belonging to Samuel W. Sprague, known as the Hubbell lot, and was at one time the property of Rev. Joseph Prentiss. It was sold by Peter Hubbell and the rest of the heirs, to George Griffin, from whose heirs it passed to its present owner. In the deed to George Griffin, which is recorded in book 29 of deeds, page 121, in the county clerk’s office, the south line of this lot is mentioned as “the old patent line,” and described as running south 83 [degrees] 15 [minutes] west. It forms the north boundary of the farm of Peter G. Brandow, west of the road. From the point above mentioned, there is a continuous line of fence, mostly stone wall, extending to the Hans Vosen Kill, broken only by the roads crossing it. The line crosses Corlaer’s Kill at the northwest corner of the farm of Ansel Waltz, and the northeast corner of the farm of William H. Van Orden, and is the boundary between the farms of Waltz and Van Orden on the south, and the land of Laban C. Rushmore on the north. It crosses the Kings road at the northwest corner of Mr. Van Orden’s farm, and runs thence through the land of Mr. Rushmore, at a low marshy spot lying near the road. Beyond this it forms the boundary between the land of Walter M. Palmatier on the north, and Bernard Behm on the south, to the Hans Vosen Kill. Here the line of fence ends, as a small part of Mr. Palmatier’s farm was originally bought from persons owning in the Corlears [sic] Kill Patent, but beyond the flats by the kill, under the steep cliff of the Kalkberg, and on the east side of the road is the southwest corner of the Loonenburg Patent. In the survey of the Catskill Patent, in 1767, the corner is described as “a birch tree standing on a rock.” The same tree is there at the present time, presenting every appearance of great antiquity, and standing at the southwest corner of the farm of Walter W. Palmatier.
The history of a very few families comprises all that can be told of this region for more than 100 years. As already stated, the original owners took possession of places on the river bank soon after obtaining the patent. The deed from Jan Clute to Wyntje Harmense indicates a homestead already occupied. Jan Van Loon built his house in the lower part of what is now the village of Athens, a short distance north of the Black Rock, on the ground now occupied by the ship-yard of his descendant, Matthias Van Loon. A stone from the original house bearing the inscription, 1706, J.V.L., gives the initials of the builder, and the date of its erection.
June 18th 1867 [? sic] [1687?], Cornelis Machielis sold to Teunis Tappen, son of Jurian Teunisse, “all that tract of land over against Claverack called Klinkenberg, stretching southward and westward as far as the Murderer’s Creek, and northward till over against the little Nutten Hook, together with all the right and title of Jurian Teunisse in the house and barn, the whole of the new orchard, and half of the old, viz. the three-quarters of all the land at the water side, eastward of Loonenburg, except the place called ‘Korst Veloren’ belonging to the heirs of Major Abraham Staats.” This tract was sold by Teunis Tappen to Jacob Caspersen Hallenbeck, September 6th 1694, and was the original seat of the family of Hallenbecks, now so widely scattered. Klinkenberg (or Echo Hill), is a well known eminence not far from Four Mile Point. The farm called “Korst Veloren,” afterward passed into the hands of the Provoosts, and was occupied by them for several generations. It embraces all the land from the mouth of Murderer’s Creek, north, to the farm lately in possession of Captain John Clough, at the boundary line between the two towns. The first sale of any part of the share of Van Loon was made June 30th 1719, when Jan Van Loon conveyed to Arent Van Schaick a tract of about 100 acres, “beginning at a spring coming out of a hill near where his house stands, and running north 57 chains, and east 30 chains to the creek, then along the creek to the hill where it began”; the consideration being 10 [pounds]. This is the farm now owned by Francis Cochrane, under the Kalkberg, north of the town line. It continued in the possession of the Van Schaik family till within a few years.
January 20th 1698, Jan Van Loon sold “to Jan Albertsen, of Loonenburg, for five shillings, a certain farm or bowery of five and twenty morgen, or 50 acres, situated, lying and being in Loonenberg, on the west side of Hudson River, which said farm, the said Jan Albertsen has lived on for the 12 years last past; bounded east and south by land of said Jan Van Loon, north by lot of Johannes Provoost and the heirs of Major Abraham Staats, west by the woods; this said farm being Lot No. 3, which fell to me, and lies on the east side of ye Hooge Rugge or high bank.” This farm was sold by Jan Albertsen to his son Peter Jansen, January 25th 1728, who sold it to Hendrick Schermerhorn, June 13th 1735. It was sold by his son, Roelif Schermerhorn, to Isaac Hallenbeck, June 16th 1784, and is now the homestead of Prentiss W. Hallenbeck, on the Kings road, (deeds now in possession of Marcus Hallenbeck). He also gave a homestead to his son-in-law, Evert Evertson, October 11th 1743, which lies in the northern part of the town.
The following may be considered a list of the principal inhabitants within the present limits of the town, at the beginning of the last century:
Jan Van Loon and family, Arent Van Schaick, Jacob Hallenbeck, Johannes Hallenbeck, Caspar Hallenbeck, Jan Albertsen, Peter Jansen, Evert Evertsen, Johannes Provoost, Hendrick Schermerhorn, Jochem Collier, Omay Lagrange, Christian Vroom, William Furner, and Michael Collier.
April 9th 1720, Jan Van Loon conveyed all his property in the patent to his sons Jan, Albertus, Matthias and Nicholas. This deed recorded in the county clerk’s office in Albany, recites the procurement of the patent by Johannes Clute and his associates, the transfer to himself of one-third of the same, and the grant of a new patent by Governor Dongan. It also excepts from the transfer the northern part of the patent, which had been sold to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen, the farm sold to Wyntje Harmense, and the land which he had himself conveyed to Arent Van Schaick. This deed is signed in the presence of Pieter Hoogeboom, justice, and Philip Livingston. In addition to this, by another deed he conveyed some land which he had previously bought of Cornelis Michielis (being a part of Bruyn’s share), to the sons mentioned above, and also to his four daughters, Eltje, wife of Omay Lagrange, Neeltje, wife of Johannes Hallenbeck, Maria, wife of Arent Van Schaick, and Catrina, wife of Christian Vroom. The condition of this deed was that they should pay to “His Majesty’s Receiver General” three bushels of wheat annually, which was the quit rent for his share in the patent.
By deed of April 11th 1720, the four sons gave to their father Jan and their mother Maria for life, 100 morgen (200 acres) at the Vlught Hoek and 50 morgen on the flats with all the buildings, and made an agreement between themselves, that after the death of their parents the land should be divided in the following manner: the places that had been settled upon and improved by Jan and Albertus should be theirs; that “the land called the Flats” should be the share of Nicholas; and the land at Vlught Hoek, should belong to Matthias; and as the part of Nicholas was not so good as the rest, it should be made up to him. Jan and Albertus settled in what is now called the upper village. The portion of Matthias (who lived on the homestead of his father) is now the lower village of Athens.
The Provoost Share of the Patent
The third belonging to Jurian Teunisse as has already been stated, was sold to Abraham Staats and Johannes Provoost in 1670. Of this the Provoost family owned one-sixth, that being all they ever owned. Johannes died and left his part to his son Abraham. In the deed from Teunis Tappen to Jacob Caspersen Hallenbeck, which conveyed a large part of the land to the north and east of Murderer’s Creek, the part called “Korst Veloren” is excepted as belonging to the heirs of Major Abraham Staats. This seems to have passed into the possession of the Provoosts at an early day. Abraham Staats had among other children, a daughter Sarah who married Abraham Provoost, and the place may have come to them in that way. At all events, this is evidently the locality where the family had their dwelling place. Their homestead being a tract of land to the north and east of Murderer’s Creek, and running to the north boundary of a farm now owned by Francis G. Adams, a little south of the town line. The stone dwelling house inhabited by the first and last of the race in this town, stood on the bank of the river, about a mile north of the mouth of Murderer’s Creek, and a short distance northeast of what is known as the “Livingston House,” now owned by the railroad company and in possession of Cornell Vosburg. By a deed dated August 10th 1750, Abraham Provoost gave to his son Johannes, all his lands in Loonenburg, with the proviso that certain parts were to be given by him to his brothers, Samuel, Jacob, Hendrick, and Isaac.
The Division of the Patent
It seems that at first each owner selected a place for himself, and also sold certain small tracts or parts of his share, with the acquiescence of his associates. The larger part remained undivided until 1750, in which year a division of the whole tract south of the land sold to Van Bergen was made into lots, which were partitioned among the various owners. This work was done by Charles Clinton, father of Governor De Witt Clinton, who made a map of the whole, showing the lots, which, according to the statements of persons who have seen it, indicated by various colors the lots belonging to each share. The lots belonging to the Van Loons, and which were originally the share of Jan Cloet, were colored yellow. The lots apportioned to the owners of the share of Jan Hendrickse Bruyn were colored red, and the share of the Staats and Provoosts, the representatives of Jurian Teunisse, were in blue. Of this map no trace can now be found, though it has been seen by various persons within forty years. The story that is told concerning it is that three copies were made, one for each shareholder. One of these, when last seen, was in the hand of Leonard Witbeck, a well known man and prominent surveyor. In his old age, conscious of its value, and wishing to preserve it, he deposited it, with other maps, in the vault of one of the Catskill banks, for safekeeping. Of this he is known to have told several persons. A professedly thorough search has failed to find it, and its fate is unknown. Of the other two copies, nothing can be found. A map made by John Van Vechten, a well known surveyor, shortly before his decease, includes the Catskill, Corlaers Kill, and Loonenburg Patents, and represents the latter as divided into lots. A comparison of the location of the lots with statements in many old deeds, indicates that this is a partial copy of Clinton’s map, and the lot lines, as designated on the map of the town attached to this article, are copied from it. The whole number of lots is not known, but the highest number noted is 146. It has been stated that the third belonging to Jan Hendrickse Bruyn, passed into the hands of Jacob Caspersen Hallenbeck, Dirck Van Vechten, Jans Caspersen Hallenbeck and Jochem Collier. The first left his share to his elder son, Jacob Casper Hallenbeck; the second left his part to his eldest son, Teunis Dirck Van Vechten; the third left his share to his eldest son, Isaac Collier. Of this share, small undivided interests had been conveyed to Albertus, Petrus and Mathias Van Loon, and Casper Hallenbeck. In a deed dated August 8th 1750, Abraham Provoost mentions that the share of Abraham Staats was then vested in Sybrant G., Jacob and Abraham Van Schaick, John Beekman and Deborah his wife, and Jacob Roseboom; and after stating that sundry lots had fallen to their share, and that a deed of partition had been made August 7th 1750, he proceeds to release to the parties above, one-sixth part of the same. In the division of Clinton, 43 lots fell to this share, and they divided them among themselves, except 13 lots, which it was agreed should remain undivided. Of these, Lot No. 124 was one.* (*The deed is recorded in county clerk’s office, Albany. For various particulars mentioned, see case Livingston vs. Hallenbeck, 13 Johnson, p. 499.) The deed of partition among the Hallenbecks and others representing the share of Jan Hendrickse Bruyn, is now in possession of Jonas Collier of Coxsackie. The date of Clinton’s division is July 30th 1750, and numerous allusions are made to the map in old deeds.
Abraham Provoost conveyed to his son Johannes all his lands in the patent, on condition of his granting certain portions to his brothers, Hendrick, Samuel, Isaac and Jacob, and in accordance with this, he gave to his brother Hendrick, Lots No. 52 and No. 59; to Samuel, Lot No. 38; to Jacob, Lot No. 22; and to Isaac, Lot No. 39 (Albany county records, book F, page 396). Johannes Provoost died in 1751 and left his estate to his wife Catherine during her widowhood, then to go to his four brothers aforesaid. Samuel had two children, Hendrick and Catherine, who left no descendants. Jacob had a son, Abraham, born in 1755, and a daughter, Eleana, wife of Jacob Van Woert. Abraham, who is still remembered by the older citizens of the town, eventually came into possession of the greater part of the lands owned by his grandfather in the Loonenburg Patent. His dwelling was the old stone house on the farm called “Korst Veloren,” near the bank of the river, and about a mile north of the mouth of Murderer’s Creek. Here he lived until 1795, when he sold his land in that region to strangers and lived for some years in a house now owned by Samuel Odell, on the west side of the road running north from the Schoharie Turnpike, west of the present toll-gate. At a later date he moved to Preble, Cortland county, and there died. He was the last survivor of the family in this town.
Ancient Land Marks
Clinton’s map of Loonenburg having been lost, we can only identify the various lots by allusions and descriptions found in old deeds and wills. The following is an attempt to locate the possessions of our ancestors and to perpetuate the memory of land marks which are fast becoming obliterated. It has been seen that Jan Van Loon, jr., gave to his son-in-law, Evert Evertsen, October 11th 1743, a farm. This is now the homestead of Walter Hallenbeck, on the west side of the Spoorenberg road, north of the upper village, and opposite to the house and farm of Garret W. Tolley. Evert Evertsen died in 1783 and left the farm to his son Hendrick.” (*Evert Evertsen died 1783, leaving five children: John; Rebecca, wife of Matthias Van Loon; Rachel, wife of Jurgen Clow; Catherine, wife of ---- Patterson; Elizabeth, wife of William Van Loon. He leaves in his will “to my youngest son Hendrick the Bowery on which I now live.”)
May 11th 1789, “Abram Staats, Elizabeth Staats, Jacob Staats, Johannes Staats, Abram J. Staats, Mary Staats, and Catherine Staats,** (**Major Abraham Staats, who died before 1731, left seven children: Jochem [who had a son Barent], Johannes, Isaac, Samuel, Abraham, Sarah, wife of Abraham Provoost, and Elizabeth, wife of Col. Johannes Schuyler.) of the district of Kinderhook, Sylvester Salisbury, Nelly Salisbury, and Elsie Granby, and Abraham Provoost and Anna his wife of the district of Coxsackie,” sold to Isaac Hallenbeck “Lot No. 11, known and distinguished on a map of the Patent of Loonenburg made by Charles Clinton in the year 1750,” bounded south by Lot No. 12, north by No. 10, east by No. 20, and west by No. 78, and before it adjoins to Lot No. 78 it is crossed by the ‘highway leading to Albany.’ Price 200 [pounds].[”] This farm was left by Isaac Hallenbeck to his son Caspar J., and he left it to his son, Isaac C. Hallenbeck, who sold it to Levi Kip, the present owner. It is the farm next north of that of Prentiss W. Hallenbeck, and is crossed by the Kings road, which is “the highway leading to Albany: referred to.
Lot No. 78 is the southwest corner of the patent, and is the farm of Walter W. Palmatier. It was owned at the beginning of the present century by John P. Van Loon (a grandson of the first settler), and left to his son John, who, in 1834, sold it to Addison Stratton, since which it has passed by various recorded deeds to its present owner. In the deed, its location in the patent is mentioned, and reference is made to the “ancient birch tree.” This lot is in the town of Catskill, the town line crossing the patent line about half way between the Kings road and the Vosen Kill.
Lot No. 17 is the farm of Samuel Van Woert on the Kings road. This lot was sold to Jacob Van Woert, great-grandfather of the present owner, by Johannes Provoost, August 10th 1750. It is described as bounded north by Lot No. 16, south by No. 18, east by No. 23, and west by Kings road, “and 5 acres on the west of the road for a convenient homestead.” The flat land, although very fertile and well adapted for cultivation, was not suitable for building, and hence it was the custom, when buying a farm on the flats, to purchase a few acres on the ridge adjoining for the house and farm buildings. Of the farm of William Sager, in front of the house, the flat land was Lot No. 18, the homestead itself being Lot No. 134.
Lot No. 19 is included in the farm of the heirs of Richard Clow, as also a part of Lot No. 79. The farm was originally bounded west by the Kings road and south by the Athens Turnpike. Lot No. 136 was at the corner of the Athens Turnpike and Kings road, on the west side. The farm of Isaac Van Loon, near the Athens railroad station, was Lot No. 106. This was sold to Jacob Van Loon, grandfather of the present owner, by Jochem Staats, May 5th 1706. It was bounded north by Lot No. 105, west by Lot No. 23, south by Lots No. 22 and 146, and east by Lot No. 124, “with 5 acres for a homestead out of the said lot 124.” This last lot was one which it was agreed should be left undivided between the heirs of Staats and Provoost. The case of Jackson ex dem. Livingston vs. Hallenbeck, 13 Johnson, P. 499, was an action of ejectment to recover possession of 34 acres of land in Lot No. 124. This lot had been sold to Caspar J. Hallenbeck by John Low, husband of Sarah, daughter and heir-at-law of Jacob Provoost. This case has preserved many important historical points. The land in dispute is on the south side of the Schoharie Turnpike, a little east of the toll gate, and now owned by Martin Hallenbeck. The Athens railroad station is on Lot No. 23. This was the “farm on the Flats,” belonging to Albert A. Van Loon, the last member of the family that occupied the stone house in the upper village. He sold it to George Edwards about 1836, whose heirs sold it to Isaac Van Loon, its present owner.
A short distance northeast of the toll-gate on the
Schoharie Turnpike, and some distance back from the road, is an old stone house.
This was built in 1796, and was the home of Johannes Hallenbeck, son of Caspar
Jans, who lived in another stone house west of the homestead of Leonard Van
Hoesen. The old road ran on the north side of the house first alluded to. It
stands on Lot No. 81, sold to Caspar Jans Hallenbeck by the attorney of Sarah
Low in 1774. A part of the farm is now owned by Martin Hallenbeck, a descendant
of Caspar Jans. Lot No. 141 was a large tract of land north and east of
Murderer’s Creek, and included the homestead farm of the Provoosts, called
“Korst Veloren,” and next north of this was Lot 142. Lots No. 71 and 72 are now
the farm of William Sprague, and were at one time the property of Joseph Groom,
a prominent man in his day.*
(*Upon this farm is the burying ground of the Groom family, overgrown with weeds. A headstone almost level with the ground bears the following inscriptions:
“To the Memory of Joseph Groom, who died Aug. 15 1832, aged 85 years.” This marks the resting place of the man who was president of the village and one of its most influential citizens.
“Wm. Groom died April 18 1812, aged 93.”
“Sarah, wife of Wm. Groom died March 11 1788 aged 40.”
“Rachel, wife of Joseph Groom died Aug. 20 1795 aged 47.”)
It was afterward the home of Rev. Joseph Prentiss, whose heirs sold it to George Griffin, and his heirs in turn sold to the present owners.
The reader will notice in the Indian deed, and in the patent, that the beginning of the tract of land at the river is the point called Vlught Hoek, and by the Indians Machawamick, “lying behind Barent’s island.” There is no trace of an island there at the present time, but there formerly was one, and it is laid down on a map of Athens village, made by John D. Spoor in 1801. It was in the river a little east of Black Rock. It was probably blasted away soon after the founding of the village. In the river, opposite the upper village, was formerly a rocky island called Dooper Island, or Baptist Island. This was where the steamer Swallow was wrecked in 1845, an account of which is given elsewhere.
The flat land between the Kings road and the ridge of hill to the east, was originally a swamp, and was called by the Dutch settlers Beerengat or Bears Run. A small stream running into Murderer’s Creek from the west or north was called Dovegat from the wild pigeons that frequented the place. Lot No. 121 was on the eastern part of Berg Stevesen, or Stevenson Hill, and was bounded on the north by the land sold to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen. It now belongs to Walter Jansen and is north of the town line.
Jan Van Loon, son of the first settler of the name, settled on what is now the homestead of Warren Hallenbeck, in the town of Coxsackie. The stone house standing on it dates back to the first owner. He left the place to his son Albertus, who in turn left it to his daughter Catherine, wife of John C. Clough, by whose son John it was sold to John J. Hallenbeck, father of the present owner.
Directly under the cliffs of the Kalkberg, on the farm now owned by George Edwards, is an old stone house which originally belonged to Jehoiachim Jansen. He died previous to 1767, and the farm of 115 acres was divided between Peter Jansen and Caspar Jans Hallenbeck, who married Fytje, daughter of Jehoiachim Jansen. A finely executed map made by Leonard Bronk 1789, showing the division, is among the papers of Marcus Hallenbeck. The old house now standing is a land mark by which the north line of Expense Lot No. 1, (which is the same as the south line of the Roseboom Patent) can be readily determined. The “cave in the hill” mentioned as the starting point of the latter patent is about twenty rods north of the house. The house and north part of the farm which was Hallenbeck’s portion, was given by him to his eldest son Jehoiachim, who left it to his son John. It passed from him into the possession of Matthias Spoor, who sold it to his nephew, Jacob Spoor, by whom it was sold to its present owner. The south part, which fell to Peter Jansen, was sold to Isaac Collier, who left it to his son John P. Collier, and it was sold by him to Charles C. Abeel it present owner. An old grave yard overrun with weeds contains several graves of the past owners, unmarked by any inscriptions. A few of later date record the decease of Casper Hallenbeck August 14th 1811, aged 65, his wife Elisabeth Egbertson, August 21st 1808, aged 64, Casper G. Hallenbeck, August 12th 1841, aged 43, and his wife Magdalena, March 18th 1843, aged 50.
Albertus Van Loon, son of Jan, the original settler, lived in the upper village where he built in 1724, a house which is still standing, and is one of the few relics of ancient Loonenburg. He died in 1754, and left the house and land attached, to his son Albertus, who died April 30th 1791, aged 62 years. After his death, it descended to his son Albert A., who died a young man August 7th 1799, leaving three sons Albertus, Ezra and John. The last two died without children, and the entire property fell to Albertus who died in 1838, leaving a will by which he bequeathed the homestead and most of his property to an adopted daughter, Cornelia. The will was contested by interested relatives, and when it was presented for probate, James Byrnes, whose father, William Byrnes, had married Polly Van Loon the testator’s mother, presented thirteen objections, which in reality amounted to only two; namely, that he was insane at the time of making the will, and that his habits were so intemperate as to render him incapable of using good judgment. The trial of this case, which is one of the causes celebres of Greene county, occupied 140 days. A large number of witnesses were produced on both sides and on the 7th of November, 1839, Surrogate Malbone Watson sustained the will. The curious in such matters will find the complete record of the testimony in books C and E of surrogate’s minutes, now in the county clerk’s office. The better class of the witnesses disclaimed the charge of insanity, and his habits were proved to be no worse than the average of his neighbors. The homestead and farm were sold to Charles B. Fosdick, March 4th 1845, by A. Sidney Doane, trustee for the adopted daughter Cornelia, who married Charles Hinchman.
A mortgage given for part of the purchase money was foreclosed, and the property sold August 2nd 1847, by James N. Cushman, master in chancery, to Thomas Dunham and Fredrich Dimon. They sold it January 17th 1853, to William R. Fosdick, who sold the house and lots around it to Sylvester Nichols December 3rd the same year. Nichols sold it April 8th 1856, to James H. Sturges, who transferred it to the New York Ice Company April 8th 1858, and by them it was sold to the Knickerbocker Ice Company March 7th 1867, in whose possession it now remains. The deeds recite that upon the lot “is standing an ancient stone building with wooden additions, formerly the homestead of Albert Van Loon.” It stands on the east side of Washington street, at the corner of the alley known as Wheat street. On a stone in the front wall is an inscription representing in a sort of monogram the letters A.V.L. Anno 1724 April 21. The interior coincides with its external appearance, and it is hoped that this relic of the past will stand for long years to come.
The contest over the Van Loon will led to an affray in this house between Anthony R. Livingston, one of the executors, and James Byrnes, in which the latter was stabbed. Livingston was indicted for the assault with intent to kill, and held to bail. His trial was postponed, and bail continued until 1839, when the district attorney entered a nolle prosequi in the charge of attempt to kill, and James Byrnes having confessed “his damages satisfied” the case was dismissed, and the prisoner discharged. About this time, Livingston sold out his property in this place, and went to Tarrytown where he died.
The Korst Veloren Farm
The old homestead of the Provoost family was the tract of land north and east of Murderer’s Creek and extending along the river to the south boundary of what is now the farm of William Lee, lately occupied by Captain John Clow. To this tract was given at a very early day the name of “Korst Veloren,” by which title it is still known to the older citizens. Here the Provoosts lived till the beginning of the present century, their residence being a stone house standing by the river side, about a mile north of the mouth of the creek. Henry Provoost, in 1794, sold to Richard Spellman all his estate in Albany county for 10,000 [pounds], and in 1795 Abraham Provoost and his wife Annatje sold to Richard Spellman “all their title of lands, divided and undivided, on the east side of Murderer’s Creek, being Lot No. 141, and containing 795 acres, more or less, likewise another lot now in actual possession of said Provoost known and called by the name of Korst Veloren.” The greater part of this tract was sold by Spellman to Elihu Chauncey Goodrich, and was described as “bounded north by William Truesdell and Jacob Hallenbeck, or John Oudt’s land.” He also sold him half of “all the lands which Abraham Provoost and John Bogardus had a claim to.” The larger part of this soon passed into the hand of John R. Livingston, who, about 1796, built the mansion which is still standing and known as the Livingston house. It is a very short distance southwest of the place where the old Provoost house stood. John R. Livingston sold or gave this to his son Herman, and he, in 1823, sold to Anthony R. Livingston “178 ½ acres bounded north by the Truesdell land.” This tract was bounded east by the river and south by what was called the “Korst Veloren road,” leading from the old house of the Provoosts, west to Murderer’s Creek, which it crossed at what is now the east end of the farm of Garret W. Tolley, and from thence to the Spoorenberg road. This ancient road is now nearly obliterated, but was the one in general use before the turnpike was made. The river formed its east front, and it extended west to the Albany Turnpike. The deed for this farm with a map attached, may be found in book F of deeds, page 328. In 1838, Anthony R. Livingston sold the north part of this farm, 88 ½ acres, to Nathaniel Barry, “late of Paris, in the kingdom of France, but now of New York.” The south part, with the homestead, he sold to Peter and Josiah W. Groom, the line of separation at the turnpike being nearly opposite the house formerly owned by Moses Jerome. Nathaniel Barry sold his part to William Reed Adams, in 1855, in whose possession it still remains.
The whole of the south part of the farm, at the death of Peter Groom, passed into the hands of his son Josiah W., who sold it to George Coonley, in 1853, and he sold it to John M. Coonley, in 1857, by whom it was sold to Daniel Drew, in 1864, at the time of the building of the Saratoga and Hudson River Railroad. With the rest of the property it passed to the New York Central Railroad Company, in 1867. They conveyed the land outside of the railroad bounds to Edward F. Winslow. He sold it to Harmon Van Woert, by whom it was, in 1882, conveyed to its present owner, Cornell Vosburg. The old Livingston house stands on the railroad company’s land, but is occupied by the owner of the farm.
The tract of 300 acres to the south of this, and running along Murderer’s Creek, from its mouth to the old Korst Veloren road, was sold by Herman Livingston to Robert Titus, a descendant of a prominent family in Queens county. He left it to his sons George and Epenetus, who conveyed it to Daniel Drew, in 1864, and it is now the farm of Harmon Van Woert, the present supervisor of the town. The little enclosure where rest the remains of Robert Titus, is a prominent spectacle from the turnpike, and the name of “the old Titus farm” still clings to the vicinity.
The Provoosts that once owned all this section have vanished, the name is no longer found, and not even a tombstone can be found to indicate their last resting place.
The name Korst Veloren literally means lost crust, but what freak gave this name to the homestead is unknown.
The Corlaers Kill Patent
The southeastern part of the town is included in this patent, which was granted to Jan Bronk and Marte Gerritse Van Bergen by Governor Thomas Dongan, May 23rd 1687, of which the following is an extract:
“Beginning from the property of Guisbert out den Bogart northward from a kill called Piez, to the flying corner, in the Indian tongue called Machawamick, stretching along the property of John Cloet, Jan Hendrick Bruyn, and Jurian Teunisse to the old Catskill Indian foot path. Which the said Martin Gerritse hath bought from the Indians as appears by a bill of sale passed before John Johnson Blecker and Dirck Wessels.”
As the greater part of this patent is in the town of Catskill an account will be found in the history of that town, and this article will deal more particularly with the history of that part which lies in Athens. Jan Bronk sold his part to Marte Gerritse Van Bergen, who left his extensive estate to his three sons, Martin, Gerrit, and Petrus. By a deed January 8th 1726, Petrus released to his brothers all his claim to the Corlaers Kill Patent, and at the same time they released to him all their claim to the lands at Coxsackie. These deeds are recorded in book F, in the county clerk’s office in Albany. Corlaers Kill is near the middle of the patent, and in 1843, by a deed of partition, dated January 30th, the two brothers divided the tracts into two parts, of which Martin had the south, and Gerrit the north. The north part, lying in this town, is thus described:
“Beginning at a certain point at Hudson River called the Vlught Hook or flying corner, and near the house of Matthias Van Loon, and runs from thence westerly along the lands of said Van Loon and others to Catskill road, then along said road till it comes opposite to the south end of a large swamp called the Beerengat. Then with a direct line from the said path to the south end of said Beerengat to Corlaer’s Kill, thence down the stream on the south side thereof to Hudson River, thence to the place where the lot began, including said Corlaer’s Kill, with privilege of building a mill on said kill.”
By a deed dated August 22nd 1849, Gerrit Van Bergen gave “to his son-in-law, John Person, blacksmith,” the southern portion of his share, in consideration of the love and affection he bore to his daughter Deborah, wife of said John Person, the part being thus described in the deed:
“Commencing at the mouth of Corlaer’s Kill, and running along the river to a certain deep valley to a white oak tree in said valley, and from thence westerly so as to include half of the said part as set out for the said Gerrit Van Bergen. Also one-half of all the right he has in the meadow south of the Vlught Hook, and the whole Corlaer’s Kill, with the privilege of making a mill.”
This part remained in the Person family until the early part of this century. John Person had a son, Gerrit, who inherited the property. He gave the north part to Abraham Brandow, who married his daughter, Deborah, the south part he left to his son Gerrit, who sold it to various persons. The old stone house, the home of the first generations of the Person family, stood very near the spot where the house of Herman Hermance now stands, a little north of Corlaer’s Kill, and a short distance west of the ice house. Not far from this was the family burying ground, now entirely obliterated, as one of the purchasers of the soil, not influenced by any feelings of sentimentality, used the rough stones that marked the last resting places of former owners, for building a wall, and the ground for cultivation. The deed from Gerrit Van Bergen to his son-in-law, alluded to above, is now in possession of Peter Groom Brandow. The part given to Abraham Brandow is now divided among several owners, and the houses, with those on the south side of Corlaers Kill, form a village called Hamburg; this name having been given by Jacob Brandow, father of Peter Groom Brandow.
The northern part of the share of Gerrit Van Bergen, was left by him in his will, dated 1758, to his “grand-daughter, Annake Bronk, daughter of Casparus Bronk, deceased.” She married John A. Whitbeck, probably son of Andries Whitbeck, and they sold the eastern part of it to William Brandow, July 7th 1786. In his will, dated July 9th 1788, William Brandow left to his son John, the south part of his farm at Corlaers Kill, “also half of a certain piece of land bounded east by Corlaers Kill, and west by road, and north by the line run by Charles Clinton, Esq., as the south bounds of the patent of Loonenburg.” The north part he left to his sons William and Aaron. The whole is now in possession of his grandson, Peter Groom Brandow. The house now on the estate, was built in 1788. The Brandow family bought at various times, lots in the south part of the Loonenburg Patent which adjoined their own possessions. The removal of old landmarks has caused much difficulty in tracing the original line east of the road running north from the house of Mr. Brandow.
The Catskill Patent
All that part of the town which lies west of the Kalkberg is in the Catskill Patent. An account of it will be found in another part of this work. This article will be confined to that portion which lies within the limits of this town. A survey and division of the patent was made in 1767, by Johannes Sleght, Dirck Wynkoop, and John Dumond, commissioners appointed to divide the same, and a reference to the map will show the lots included in the town of Athens. The north boundary of the Catskill Patent was a circle, or an irregular polygon, the circumference of which was to be four miles distant from the outer lines of five plains on the Katskill Creek. This outer boundary crossed the Catskill Path at a point nearly east from the Kalkberg. The lot of land formerly belonging to Nicholas Terry, a more extended notice of which will be given elsewhere, was at the outer limits of the circle. The lots within the limits of the town are of large extent, and have been greatly subdivided, and it is an object of general interest to locate, as nearly as possible, the original lines.
When the patent was divided, those tracts which were included in grants of prior dates, were thrown out, and were not claimed by the owners of the Catskill Patent. Among those tracts was that portion of the Loonenburg patent which fell within the limits of the circle. After this, the commissioners proceeded to lay out three large lots called Expense Lots, which were to be sold to defray the expense of the survey and division. The first of these was called Expense Lot No. 1, and lies wholly within the limits of this town. The original records described it as follows:
“Beginning on Catskill Indian foot-path about 2 chains Westward of John H. Lydius and Company’s first station of their Patent, and runs thence North 65 [degrees] 45 [minutes] West ninety-eight chains to a stake and stones we erected, then North 29 [degrees] 45 [minutes] West, eighty-six chains and four links to a stake and heap of stones near a white oak tree marked on two sides. Thence South thirty degrees west, 157 chains and 36 links to a large heap of stones erected. Thence running South sixty degrees East, 120 chains to two bass wood trees marked on two sides, three notches and a blaze, standing at the north end of a Rock called the Gladde Clip. Thence continuing the same course South sixty degrees east, eighty-seven chains and sixty-five links to Catskill Indian foot-path.”
Indian foot-paths are not as straight as railroad tracks, and the line along it has ten different courses and distances to the place of beginning. The general course, however, was a few degrees east of north, and the distance about 130 chains. The patent of “John H. Lydius and Company,” alluded to above, is the Roseboom Patent, granted to John Roseboom and others, April 12th 1751. The north line of this lot is the south line of the Roseboom Patent, and as the Catskill Patent bounds extended some distance farther north, there was a tract of Disputed Lands, as very frequently happened in those days when grants for extensive tracts were given with a very limited knowledge of the localities. The bounds of one patent often encroached upon the borders of another. The northeast corner of this Expense Lot No. 1 is at a cove, or hollow in the Kalkberg, a short distance north of the old stone house formerly of Jehoiachim Hallenbeck, and now belonging to George Edwards, a more extended account of which will be found under the heading, “Ancient Land Marks.” This corner is some 20 rods southwest of the place where the Schoharie Turnpike crosses the Hans Vosen Kill. The line between the lands of Henry Brooks and George Edwards, back of the steep ridge of the Kalkberg, is probably the original line. The south line of this lot is well defined, and is the north line of the farm of James Sterritt, back of the Kalkberg. The line crosses the road leading from the Athens Turnpike to Green’s Lake, about half way between the houses of James Sterritt and the heirs of Caspar Van Hoesen. On the west side of the road leading from the lake to Leeds, and about a quarter of a mile from it, is a large rock, presenting a perpendicular surface for some distance along the road. This the Dutch settlers called Gladde Clip, or smooth rock. The line runs on the north end of this rock, and from this point can be traced without much difficulty. The west part of this lot is at High Hill, on its western slope.
Expense Lot No. 1 was sold to Teunis Van Vechten, Johannes Brandow, and Jochem Jansen, October 15th 1767, and the original deed, beautifully written on parchment, is now in the possession of Peter Groom Brandow of Athens. In 1772 the lot was divided among its owners, with four lots, the first on the south side of the lot, being 41 chains and 61 links wide on the west end, and from that point running S. 57 [degrees] 41 [minutes] E. 89 chains 63 links, thence S. 67 [degrees] 31 [minutes] E. 102 chains 92 links, to the Catskill Path. This was Van Vechten’s share.
In a deed of partition between Samuel Van Vechten, Jacob Van Hoesen, and Garret Van Hoesen, made March 30th 1795, this part of the lot is divided into eight lots, of which Jacob Van Hoesen had No. 1, next the Catskill Path, and Nos. 3, 5 and 8. Garret Van Hoesen had Nos. 2, 4 and 7, and Samuel Van Vechten had No. 6 which contained 238 acres. Samuel Van Vechten died intestate, and in the division of his estate among his sons, this lot fell to the share of Jacob and Samuel. The south part of the lake now called Green’s Lake, being 22 acres, lies within the limits of the part thus divided, and according to the deed, this was to remain undivided among the proprietors. The land on the west and south of the lake fell to Jacob Van Hoesen, and the land on the east side fell to Garret Van Hoesen. The whole tract was called Lot No. 1. A second piece adjoining the last mentioned, on the north, and running the whole length of the lot, and about 54 chains in width on the west end, was called Lot No. 2, and fell to the share of Johannes Brandow. He died, leaving it all to his son William, who died in 1789, and in his will he left to his son John, for life, his part of the western portion of this lot “which part I hold in common with my sister,” and after his death, it was to go to his son Wilhemus, and his heirs and assigns. In a petition presented to the Court of Common Pleas April 7th 1801, it is stated that this western part contained about 400 acres, and was owned as follows: John Brandow and Aaron Allen, each one-fourth; John Conine, one-eighth; Jans Brandow, William Brandow, Peter W. Brandow, Abraham Brandow, Elizabeth Brandow, William Overbaugh and his wife Mary, William Rea and wife Catherine, Robert W. Vandenburg and wife Wintje, and John Colson and wife Mary, each one twenty-fourth part.
In accordance with this petition, a survey was made, and this part of the tract was divided into eight lots. A full record of this division is in the county clerk’s office in the volume entitled “Catskill Patent and Other Divisions.” The eastern part of the lot was left by William Brandow to his sons Wilhelmus and Aaron. In a deed from Conrad Jensen and others, to Isaac Hallenbeck, (now among the papers of Marcus Hallenbeck), a deed of partition of the whole lot among the original owners, is mentioned as dated June 18th 1772, but it has not been found. The north part of the lot fell to the share of Jochem Jansen. At his death, it went to his sons Conrad and Peter, and Caspar Jans Hallenbeck, who married his daughter. In a memorandum written by Judge Leonard Bronk, it is said that these sons gave deeds in a reckless manner for parts of this tract, and in 1899, [?1799?] it was divided among the various owners by Leonard Bronk, Josiah Warner, and John Brandow, under an order from the Court of Common Pleas. At the eastern end of the tract, a lot was laid off containing 77 acres, which was called Lot No. 3. The remaining part of the tract was called Lot No. 4. This latter was divided into 10 smaller lots, the following being the owners with the number of acres belonging to each:
Isaac Hallenbeck, 83 acres; Albert Van Loon, 75 acres; Peter Jansen, 126 acres; Cornelius Spoor, 100 acres; heirs of Conrad A. Vlaack, 99 acres; Caspar J. and Peter Hallenbeck, 93 acres.
The tract designated as Lot No. 3 contained 77 acres, and was divided into three lots: No. 1 fell to Caspar Jans Hallenbeck, is at the northeast corner of Expense Lot No. 1, and is now owned by Henry Brooks; No. 2 fell to Isaac Hallenbeck; and No. 3 fell to Peter Jansen. The division of this tract is also recorded in the volume referred to in the county clerk’s office, and a map of the same with its subdivisions, is on file as Map No. 53. A map compiled by the writer of this sketch, showing the whole lot with its divisions, is also in the county clerk’s office as No. 57. The Expense Lot originally contained 2,133 acres.
The Sixth Division of the Catskill Patent consisted of two lots on the extreme bounds of the patent, very near the boundary of the town. Lot No. 1 contained 676 acres and fell to William Salisbury. Hollister’s Lake lies in this tract. Lot No. 2, containing 577 acres, fell to William Van Bergen, and was sold by his heirs to Nicholas Van Loon and Albertus Van Loon, in 1795. On the extreme north bounds of this lot, was a piece of land of sixteen acres, which, previous to the survey and divisions of the patent in 1767, had been sold to Nicholas Parray. This deserves mention as the place where it is supposed the first tannery was started in Greene county, a business which in after years reached such gigantic proportions. The old stone house still stands, a very interesting relic of the olden time. On a stone by the side of the door is the following inscriptions[sic]: “May ye 17, 1767, N.P.E.P.C.P.” showing the date of its erection, the initials of its builder, Nicholas Parray, his wife Elizabeth, and his son Caspar. The place was left to William Van Hoesen, who took care of Mr. and Mrs. Parray in their old age, and it was his dwelling place for many years. It passed from him to his nephew, Thomas N. Van Hoesen, its present owner. It is about a quarter of a mile west of the Kalkberg Chapel, and stands back from the road. The southeast corner of the lot on which this house stands, is where the stream of water disappears in an opening in the rock and marks the extreme limits of the Catskill Patent. The lot is marked A on the map accompanying the history of this town.
Lot No. 28, one of the great divisions of the Catskill Patent, lying south of Expense Lot No. 1, contained 700 acres, and was one of the lots that fell to the Van Bergens. The line between this and the Expense Lot has been described. The south line, which separated it from Lot No. 27, at the Kalkberg or east end, is now the boundary between the homestead of Abraham Hallenbeck on the north and the homestead of Magdalena Van Valkenberg on the south. The deed is recorded in book 96, p. 112. The lines of this lot in the original record are as follows:
“Beginning at a stake on the Catskill Indian foot path at the northeast corner of Lot 27, and running N. 74 [degrees] 45 [minutes] W., 147 chains, to a heap of stones made near a wild cherry, and two nut saplings marked, being the corner of Lot 27 and on the line of Lot 26. Thence running along Lot 26, North 35 [degrees] 30[minutes] E. 71 chains to a stake and stones between two chestnut oak trees, standing on the line of Expense Lot No. 1. Thence south sixty degrees east, 127 chains 65 links, to the Indian footpath.”
Lot No. 27 lies south of Lot No. 28, and is bounded on the south by Expense Lot No. 2, and is described as follows:
“Beginning at the Northeast corner of Expense Lot No. 2, being about one chain and fifty links southeast of John Beaver’s house on Catskill Indian foot path. Thence running along the line of said Lot No. 2, North 80 [degrees] West, 73 chains and 22 links, to a red cedar stake, standing by a small Brook or run of water, being the corner of the land formerly conveyed by the Proprietors to John Bronk, then running west along this line, 48 chains and eighty-three links to a stake in the arrable and Patented land of John Bronk, thence running along said land, North 45 [degrees] 45 [minutes] West, 6 chains.”
The rest of the boundary is given in various courses and distances, too short to be well represented on our map, to the Katskill Creek. This lot did not include the flat land lying by the creek, to the west of Potick Mountain, but wound around it to the southeast corner of Lot No. 26. The south end of Potick Mountain is at the west end of the lot. The course and distance along Lot 26, is N., 35 [degrees] 30 [minutes] E., 56 chains 33 links, to the southwest corner of Lot 28. The line which separates this lot from Expense Lot No. 2 runs between the house and barn of the late Peter Egbertson. This lot in the original division fell to William Salisbury. The north line crosses that singular depression in the land called the “Canoe.” This lot contained 698 acres, and included the farm of John Rouse. The stone quarry lot, sold by the Catskill Stone Company, to Devine Burtis, November 23rd 1872, was on the south side of this lot. (Deed recorded in book 78, page 467).
In the will of Martin G. Van Bergen, dated March 26th 1785, he directed that the part of Lot No. 28, lying east of the Coxsackie road, be sold. This road is the one from Green’s Lake to Leeds, and crosses the northern line of the lot at the rock called Gladde Clip.
Expense Lot No. 2, which was one of the three set apart to be sold to defray the expenses of surveying the patent, lies partly in this town, and partly in Catskill. It is bounded on the east by the Catskill Indian foot-path, and on the north by Lot No. 27, the line of which has been described. The west boundary was the brook called Dirck’s Killitje, and Katskill Creek. The lot contained 998 acres, about one-third of which was in this town. The town line crosses the Dirck Killitje, a short distance south of the Athens and Leeds Turnpike, and strikes the Indian foot-path at the northern end of the farm of Walter Palmatier under the Kalkberg. This lot was sold by the commissioners, who surveyed the patent, to Francis and William Salisbury, by deed dated October 14th 1767. The original deed is now in possession of Luke Van Vechten. A tract of 100 acres including the northwest corner of this lot, and some land in the southeast part of Lot No. 27, was sold to Joseph Groom, by William Salisbury, December 1st 1788.
In his will, dated February 22, 1800, William Salisbury leaves to the children of his son Barent Staats Salisbury, “all my remaining part of the Expense Lot where he lives,” Abraham Salisbury left to his daughter Catherine, “my part of Expense Lot No. 2” she married John P. Newkirk, and her share is now the farm of William Newkirk, the northern line of which is the dividing line between this and Lot No. 27. A map showing the subdivisions of this lot is on file in the county clerk’s office (Map 52[7?].) Others are in the possession of Luke Van Vechten and William Newkirk of Leeds. Of the numbered lots on this map, William Salisbury had Nos. 2, 4, 7, 12 and 13. Eunice Salisbury, Nos. 6. 8 and 11, Margaret Salisbury Nos. 3, [5?], 9 and 10, and they released to each other by deed, December 17th 1811. This is now in the possession of Luke Van Vechten. The Athens and Leeds Turnpike crossed this lot about one-half mile from its north line.
The west line of Lot No. 25 is a continuation of the west line of Expense Lot No. 1. Its south boundary is Potick Creek, and on the north and east it was bounded by Expense Lot No. 1, and Lot No. 26, respectively. This lot contains 466 acres, fell to the Salisburys, and by a deed of partition dated December 4th 1800, it was divided between Francis and Abraham Salisbury, in the following manner:
“By a line run from a heap of stones made on the north bounds of said lot, and adjoining to the Expense Lot No. 1, and 19 chains distant from the northeast corner of said Lot 25, and from said heap of stones runs a course south 31 degrees west, through the lot to Potick Creek, then along the south bounds and along the west bounds to the northwest corner thereof, thence easterly along the same, about 21 chains, to the heap of stones where it first begun.”
The western half fell to Abraham, the eastern to Francis. The deed is now in the hands of Luke Van Vechten. Francis Salisbury sold his part to Martin G. Schuneman, and Garrit and Henry Person, April 23rd 1810. The Shunemans [sic] reserved a few acres of the land next to the creek, and the owners sold the rest of their share to John Sutton, April 4th 1815. It was sold by Jacob Haight, sheriff, May 24th 1819, to Elnathan Gaylord, whose heirs sold it to Harriet Gaylord. She sold the northern part of it to Lewis Weeks, January 19th 1858. The southern part was sold to Moses Palmatier. The western part of the lot, the share of Abraham Salisbury, was left to his daughter Rachel, who married Peter Rouse, and had three sons, Abraham, John, and James. It was left to them, and they divided it into three equal parts, by lines running from north to south. Of these parts, Abraham had the eastern, John the middle, and James the western part. A tract of about 50 acres, of the north end of the share that fell to James Rouse, has been sold to Orlando Hopson, and the northwestern corner of his lot is the southwestern corner of the Expense Lot No. 1. From this point the lines can readily be traced. This lot is on the western slope of High Hill.
Lot No. 23 is mostly in the town of Cairo. The farm of Robert N. Fullager is on the western part. On the east side of the lot is a farm which was sold to Nathaniel Cooper by William M.G. Van Bergen, September 2nd 1794, and is thus described:
“Beginning at a place where a gate formerly stood on the west bounds of the orchard of John Schuneman, and from thence a direct line to a point of a rocky bank, where the road leading to Freehold and another from Tabergat [Tabigicht – Indian name] meet, and in length from the east along the lands of the said John Schuneman, and on the west from the said rocky point, to the northward so far as to include 100 acres.”
This farm is at the southeasterly corner of this lot. The boundary on the east for a short distance is the westerly line of what was known as Van Bergen’s Ten Acres. The old road ran through this farm, which continued in the possession of the Cooper family until recently. Some of the trees in the old Schuneman orchard are still standing, and on the south side of the lot is an ancient burying ground where rest the remains of some of the Van Bergens, once the owners of the land. Their graves are marked only by a few rough stones without inscriptions. Three gravestones of more modern date record the deaths of Nathaniel Cooper, who died January 29th 1821, aged 56 years; Margaret Van Valkenburg, his wife, who died August 17th 1851, aged 84 years; and Eben, a son, who died August 14th 1852, aged 49 years. The present representative of the family is Captain Ira Cooper, of Athens. The farm now belongs to John Van Hoesen. The line of stonewall, extending to the north from the northwest corner of the ten-acre lot of William D. Meade, is the original line between lots 23 and 24. The south boundary is the curved line of the hill which overlooks the plain of Potick.
Lot No. 22 is a large tract of land containing 2,070 acres, of which the part lying east of Potick Creek is in this town, the remainder in Cairo. It was bounded on the east by Expense Lot No. 1, on the south by Lots 23 and 24, and extended on the west, to the outer bounds of the patent. This in the division was one of the Van Bergen lots. By a deed of April 3rd 1795, Garret, Peter, and David Van Bergen, three of the sons of Martin Gerritsen Van Bergen, a grandson of the original patentee, sold to David Van Ness of Rhinebeck, for 258 [pounds] 7 [shillings]:
“One equal undivided half of a certain lot commonly called Lot No. 23, lying and being, or reputed to be, within a certain patent called Catskill Patent, except such part as was sometime ago sold by the said Martin Gerritsen Van Bergen and William, his brother, to Stephen Wynants and John Collins, being 700 acres or thereabouts.”
William Van Bergen sold to William Edwards, March 6th 1794, “50 acres at Potick Creek at the out bounds of Catskill Patent, commencing 8 chains below Cornwall’s Bridge,” and he was probably the first person who established a home in the western part of the town. He afterward owned a large tract of land, now the property of Reuben Jump.
April 8th 1795, Catherine, widow of William Van Bergen, and Mary and Catherine, his grand-daughters, sold to Jacob Van Ness and John V.D.S. Scott,
“One half of the said lot except the 700 acres sold as above mentioned, and 32 acres sold to Seth Tolley and 25 to William Edwards if they have any legal right therein, and except the right reserved by the will of Martin G. Van Bergen to his daughter Ann, deceased, and Nelly, now wife of David Abeel, to cut wood and take stone out of said lot.”
The lot was subdivided into smaller lots, about the year 1800. Scott and Van Ness sold, December 22nd 1801, to Gideon Palmer, Lots 1, 2 and 16. High Hill on its western slope is within the limits of this lot.
Lot No. 26 contained 446 acres and fell to the Van Bergens. It is described in the survey of the Catskill Patent, as follows:
“Beginning at the south corner of Lot 25, on the south side of Potick Creek, thence running along the line of lot Lot 25, north 22 [degrees] 30 [minutes] east, 122 chains and 75 links, to a stake and two stones, set in the ground near a pine tree, standing in the line of Expense Lot No. 1, then running along said lot, 39 chains 75 links, to a stake and stones set between two chestnut oak trees, thence south 35 [degrees] 30 [minutes] west, 127 chains 38 links to a parcel of iron wood saplings, marked, standing on the north side of Catskill Creek, thence to the south side of Catskill Creek, and thence up and along the same to the mouth of Potick Creek, and thence along the south side of Potick Creek to the place of beginning.”
June 28th 1721, the owners of the Catskill Patent divided a small part of it, namely, the lowlands lying on the Katskill and the Kaaterskill, among themselves. The flat land lying between the Potick and the Katskill was divided by an east and west line. The Van Bergens took the northern, and the Saliburys the southern part. This line then established, and still maintained, is easily traced, and is the dividing line between the farms of Robert N. Fullager and James Badeau, on the south, and the farms of William D. Meade and others on the north. The Van Bergens also had in this town two other tracts at that time; the Cripple Bush, called by the Dutch Kreupel Bosch, and five morgens, a tract of wood land near and behind the flat land at Potick.
The Cripple Bush was a tract of lowland on the east bank of Potick Creek, at the point where the stream turns easterly. The part of the creek below this point was called Little Potick. This tract was not of very great extent, and lay at the southern end of Lots Nos. 24 and 25, in the division of 1767.
The Van Bergen’s 10 acres, sometimes mentioned as the homestead, was in the occupation of the Van Bergens until the general division, in 1767, and at that time was laid out by the commissioners as land already divided. The record describes it as “beginning at the edge of a hill, northeastward of Petrus Van Bergen’s dwelling house, at a stone set up in the ground.” The western and northern lines of this lot were straight, the former being a continuation of the west line of Lot No. 24. The other sides were irregular. This tract is now part of the farm of William D. Meade, and lies north of his house. It is crossed near its southern end by a deep gully, which begins at a spring in the farm of John Van Hoesen, next adjoining. A little north of this hollow, and a few rods from the western line, have been seen traces of a house, the memory of which has passed away. The dwelling house of Petrus Van Bergen still standing, is an interesting relic of the past. It is a low, one story building of two parts, one of which is evidently of later date than the other. The northern, or older portion has a double, or gambrel roof. On the western side, in large iron figures, is the date, 1761, and on the east side, are the letters, P.E.V.B. Petrus Van Bergen died in 1789. He was a son of Martin, and grandson of Marte Gerritse Van Bergen, the found of the family. He was doubtless buried in the ancient graveyard previously mentioned. A stone wall runs through it owing to some change in the ownership of the lands, and when the spot was visited, the portion on the Meade farm was in an inclosure [sic] made for swine, a drove of which were rooting among the rude stones which marked the last resting place of the Van Bergens. The old house stands a few rods north of the present mansion of William D. Meade.
Jan Bronk's Land
In January 1675 Jan Bronk purchased from certain Indians named Manneentee (commonly called Schermerhorn by the Dutch) and Siachemoes, the son of Keesie Wey, “a piece of land of about 50 acres lying in Katskill, on the north side of the kill called Paskoecq by the Indians, situate under the hill which stands to (or faces) the west with free range for cattle.” A patent was granted to him for this land by Governor Lord Cornbury July 20th 1705. This tract lies on the north side of the Katskill Creek a few rods above the stone bridge at Leeds. A small rivulet running into the Katskill at the turn of the creek, is the Paskoecq of the Indians, and “the hill that stands to the west” is Potick Mountain, while a hill of more moderate elevation bounds it on the east. To that tract Jan Bronk added by purchase a larger extent of land purchased from the owners of the Catskill Patent. The land thus purchased extended to Dirck’s Killitje. The northern boundary of this tract was the southern boundary of Lot No. 27. Of this whole tract, with the exception of 50 acres above mentioned, only a small portion is in this town.
The town line runs through it from the point where it leaves the Katskill Creek. It now belongs to heirs of Abraham Newkirk. The lands of Jan Bronk, including his patent land and the land adjoining, are thus described in a deed to Martin G. Schuneman, dated August 15th 1793, from Annaatje Witbeck, widow and executrix of John A. Witbeck, and daughter of Casparus Bronk who inherited the land.
“A certain piece of land called Piscahook on the north side of the Katskill Creek, containing 50 acres, bounded on the north and east by a certain hill, and on the south by Katskill Creek, as granted by letter patent to Jan Bronk, by Queen Ann, Date, July 20, 1705. Also another piece of land beginning at the mouth of Dirck Killitje, and stretching along the killitje northward to the extent of the land hereinbefore described, and from thence with a straight line to the northeast corner of that parcel, and so along the east bounds of that parcel of land to the Catskill Creek. Also another parcel of land called the Flackie near to the westward of the parcel first mentioned. Which last two parcels were sold to Jan Bronck, by Francis Salisbury, Garret Van Bergen, Martin Van Bergen, and Petrus Van Bergen.”
Such is the general description of the various tracts of land which make up the town of Athens, and if the recital shall induce any one who may read it, to make more extended researches, the writer will feel that it has not been written in vain.
Previous to the Revolution the number of inhabitants was very small, a comparatively short list would embrace the names of all who inhabited the town at that time. With the exception of the Van Bergens living near Potick, the western part of the town had no inhabitants that can be mentioned with certainty. The Brandows and the Persons were the only dwellers on that part of the Corlaers Kill Patent within the limits of this town, and a few scattered families of Van Loons, and Hallenbecks, with a few others, composed the population of Loonenburg, this side of Fountain Flats. The following is believed to be a list of families living here in 1780:
Isaac Schram, Phillip Conine, Aaron Faulkner, John Coonley, Frans Clow, Petrus Egbertson, Jacob Hallenbeck, Abraham Provoost, John C. Hallenbeck, Jerry Clow, John Clow, John Hallenbeck, Jacob I. Van Loon, John M. Van Loon, Conradt Flaack, Cornelius De Groot, Shadrach Sill, Albertus Van Loon, John G. Voogd, Caspar Jans Hallenbeck, Clement Schram, Petrus Brandow, Jurry Van Loon, Jacob Isaac Van Loon, John Van Loon, Albert Van Loon jr., William Hallenbeck, Conrad Jensen, Arent Van Schaick, John Van Buskirk, William Edwards, John Person, Isaac Hallenbeck, Albertus Van Loon jr., Nicholas Van Woert, Johanis Conine, William Groom, John Person jr., Nicholas Perry, Peter Jansen, Petrus Van Loon, Hendrick Brandow, John I. Van Loon, Hermanus Bunt, Petrus Van Bergen, and perhaps Thomas, Jacob, and Silas Rushmore.
It is very probable that some of them lived in the town of Coxsackie. Of the events that go to make up history, very few indeed are to be found in the annals of Loonenburg. The life of the Dutch burghers was not one of excitement and enterprise. Like the inhabitants of the world before the flood, “they married wives, they planted, they builded,” but they knew little of life beyond their narrow limits. Between the dwellers in the New England villages, and the Dutch settlers along the Hudson, the difference was great indeed, but this difference was caused to a very great extent by their manner of life. The people of New England lived in villages, their life was one of daily contact with other men and all their acts were under the eyes of those who were quick to observe and prompt to criticize; success with them was to a great extent, the measure of merit, and this developed to a wonderful degree that peculiar quality denominated cuteness, and generally considered their most prominent characteristic. The Dutchmen on the other hand, lived alone on his bouwery. His family and his servants composed his social world, except when, on Sundays, he met with the domine of the church, and the few neighbors scattered at wide distances from each other. Separated from the busy world, and contented with his lot, he lived on in quiet repose, until the time when the Yankees came and changed the whole order of things.
The Story of Esperanza
The complete success of the founding of the city of Hudson, and the brilliant promise of its future, caused a company of speculators to lay plans for establishing a rival city on the western bank of the river. To found a city which should be the rival of Hudson; which should be the connecting point between the Atlantic and the central part of our State, known as the “western country;” to have that city the terminus of the great canal, even then anticipated, which should connect the western with the eastern waters; and eventually to have the seat of government transferred to this new metropolis; such was their anticipations [sic], and to this magnificent dream they gave the hopeful name of Esperanza. A tract of land, forming what is now the upper village, then a part of the homestead farm of Albert Van Loon, was purchased, and also two or three small lots which bordered on the river, and which had been given by Albertus Van Loon to his son-in-law, Shadrach Sill. The whole tract is fully described in a deed of partition dated June 18th 1799.
The family burying ground which was reserved in the sale was on a hill, now dug away, on the south side of Turner street, about 100 feet west of Montgomery street, and here rested some of the first generations of the Van Loon family.
The founders of the new enterprise, and the share that belonged to each, were as follows: Edward Livingston, five and one-half twelfths; Elihu Chauncey Goodrich, two twelfths; Brockholst Livingston, one and one-fourth twelfths; John R. Livingston, two and one-fourth twelfths; Ephraim Hart, one twelfth.
The tract thus purchased was laid out into streets and lots. The names of the founders were given to the avenues running west from the river, while to the cross streets were given curious names. The “staff of life,” and the grain from which it is made, had the honor of being bestowed upon two, called respectively Bread and Wheat streets. Other grains also had the same honor, and we find Rye street, Barley street, Corn street and Oats street. The French Revolution occurred about this time, and Liberty and Equality became the names of two streets. Cider and Beer, Rice and meal, had at least the merit of being well known and easily remembered, and the broad thoroughfare laid out along the Hudson River, and which, in the imagination of the founders, was to be the resort of commerce, was given the name Esperanza Key. A large map, made by one P. Pharmix, was engraved, and a few copies are still to be found. In the vacant field, now owned by Nicholas Van Hoesen, northwest of the Catholic church, was laid out in their vivid fancy “Court House Square.” A “City Tavern Lot” was fixed upon near the river, and church lots were liberally provided for; and to crown the whole, upon the margin of the map were pictures of the grand court house, the market, the church and the “City Tavern,”. As these maps are now rare we will give the title and legend that appears upon it.
“A PLAN of the Town of Esperanza, Situated on the West bank of the North River, Opposite Hudson, Laid down in Lots, 25 feet in front, and 100 deep. This Place is situated nearly at the head of Deep Navigation of the Hudson River. It is directly East from the Military lands, & is supposed to possess more important Commercial and local advantages than any other point on the River, the road for some hundred miles west passing through a very fine and improving Country, to which this is the nearest Port.”
The deeds of the original purchase cannot be found, but a memorandum, made by Judge Leonard Bronk, shows that it was in 1794, and beside the homestead and burying ground, a lot where Albert Van Loon had a dock and store-house was also reserved. This tract embraced the land between Union street on the north, and Market street on the south, and going west as far as what is now called New street, and east to the river; excepting the Lutheran church lot, and the land of John G. Voogd.
The whole enterprise was simply a speculation, but many lots were sold to bona fide purchasers. The founders seem to have been hampered by financial difficulties, and in 1799 a partition was made among the original owners. Samuel Osgood, David Gelsten, and John R. Livingston, assignees of Edward Livingston, sold, December 17th 1805, to William Byrnes, portions undivided with heirs of Elihu Goodrich.
The share of Ephraim Hart was sold by Thomas Bridger, master in chancery, “by virtue of an order made in a suit between Benjamin Hart and said Ephraim,” and the lots in this share were bought for him by Herman Hart, and conveyed to him April 1st 1823, one part of which was a block “bounded North by Corn St., West by Hudson St., South by Barley St., and East by Esperanza Key; also the island called Dooper Island, Southeasterly of said block.” * * “and parts of Lots 29, 30, 31 on Esperanza Key, on which the Goodrich wharf is.” The block which included Dooper Island, was sold by Benjamin Hart to Sylvester Nichols, August 13th 1845, and was sold by him to William H. Morton and Nathan Edwards, March 16th 1849, and by them to James Cheeseman September 17th 1857, who sold it to James Sturges September 5th 1858. He conveyed it to the New York Ice Company, and it was sold by them to its present owners, the Knickerbocker Ice Company, March 7th 1867. It was on this Dooper Island that the steamer Swallow was wrecked.
The principal part of Brockholst Livingston’s share was sold to William Byrnes. He sold one-eighth of this to Samuel Haight and Solomon Southwick, mentioning, among other parcels, “a lot 60 feet on the river between the house of Albert A. Van Loon, deceased, and the house formerly of Shadrach Sill, with the red store and dock.” In 1795, one Henry Ritter sold land to Nicholas J. Van Loon, as “agent for the Proprietors of Esperanza.” On July 25th 1798, Edward Livingston sold to James Cochran six blocks of 36 lots each, for the sum of 10,340 [pounds]. James Cochran bought a large number of lots of Levi Thayer, and sold them to Robert Griffiths, of Philadelphia.
At the time of the purchase by Livingston and his company, the only houses standing on this tract were the homestead of Albert Van Loon, and the house of Shadrach Sill, to whom a piece of land had been given by his father-in-law. This house stood on the east side of the street opposite the public square, and near the middle of the ice house. At first, business seems to have been brisk, and houses were built, and the new village flourished. Why it should have been eclipsed by the village of Athens, started some years later, is difficult to explain, but such was the case. One thing is certain; the dreams of its founders were never realized. The court house, the market, and the “City Tavern,” exist only on the map. The streets that were once expected to resound with the hum of business are silent. The “Esperanza Key,” which was to have been the scene of a busy commerce, is covered by a marsh. The very identity of the village has been merged into that of its rival, Athens, and Esperanza is an almost forgotten name.
The following description of this village, as it appeared to eye-witnesses in the days of its beginning, may be of interest to the reader:
“On the opposite side of the North River stands the new town of Loonenburg, to which its founders have also given the modest name of Speranza (Hope). This town, which for a number of years had contained but a single and pitiful house, cannot really date its origin beyond last year. At present there are fifty houses erected in it; shops are opened; merchants are established. A brig is already buildt, and employed in trade between Speranza and New York. This infant town will, beyond all doubt, experience a considerable increase; it enjoys, in common with all the other towns built on the western bank of that beautiful river, the advantage of an extensive back country, which, in proportion as it becomes cultivated, will furnish immense quantities of produce, that cannot find any more convenient or certain vent than the North River. But those countries are yet, for the great part, desert wildernesses, where the houses are few and dispersed. This is a common obstacle which operates against all the towns, and for the present prevents any extraordinary prosperity of their commerce. But, in addition to it, Speranza will moreover have to conquer the habit in which the farmers have been of carrying their produce to the neighboring towns that have been longer established. The owners of the town lands are now engaged in the formation of a road, which joining at the distance of twenty miles the road that leads from Genesee, will render the communication with Speranza more easy than with the other towns, and must when finished, cause a preference to be given to the former; the work is in great forwardness. The proprietors are Messieurs Livingstons of New York. The town lots, each containing a quarter of an acre, already bear the price of two hundred dollars.”
The following description of Loonenburg in 1803 is from Massachusetts Historical Collections, First Series, by Rev. Clark Brown.
“Loonenburg is situated on the west bank of Hudson River, directly opposite to the city of Hudson, commanding a beautiful prospect of its buildings and shipping. It is five miles north of Catskill Landing. It contains near a hundred buildings, including dwelling houses, stores &c. The south part of this village, which goes by the name of Lower Purchase, is in a very flourishing situation. Between this and the Upper Purchase, or the north part of Loonenburg, there is a small distance without any buildings. They are in fact two separate villages at present, though known both by the name of Loonenburg. It is about two years since they began to build on the lower purchase. It now consists of between twenty and thirty buildings, erected mostly with brick, in a neat and well finished manner. It is already a place of considerable business, and is conveniently situated for navigation. Several wharves have lately been built out into the river. To the upper purchase the inhabitants have given the name of Esperanza. This upper purchase has been settled a long time. Several of the inhabitants are Dutch. They are said to possess a litigious spirit, being inclined to have almost every trivial controversy settled by law. The writer of this has been credibly informed, that in this village, forty judgments have been obtained in one day before one justice of the peace.”
Of the early settlers in Esperanza, a few words may be said. Previous to the purchase by the Livingstons, John G. Voogd was living on Lot No. 12, heretofore mentioned. He was a native of Wirtemberg, in Germany. His house, an old stone mansion, stood on what was once a hill but now a hollow, caused by the excavation of thousands of tons of clay, used for brick making. It stood near the south side of Union street, and about 300 feet west of the alley known as Elbow street. He died in 1802, and left considerable property to the Episcopal church. Benjamin Haviland was probably the first person who built a house in the new village. This house lot, purchased of Albert Van Loon in 1795, is the lot next south of the Lutheran church. As one of the witnesses in the contest over the will of Albert Van Loon in 1838, he testified that he was born September 9th 1763, and had lived in the upper village 44 years. He was a native of Paterson, Putnam county, New York. He died about 1838, leaving his wife Anna and four children, Captain Benjamin, John, James, and Hannah.* (* This family presents a remarkable case of longevity. Captain Haviland the eldest son, married Catherine Van Valkenburg and had a daughter Mary who died at the age of 18 years, and 13 other children who are now  living at the following ages: Elsie 80; Lorretta 79; Benjamin 75; Rachel 73; James 71; Sarah 69; John 67; Catherine 65; Edward 63; Henry 61; Emily 57; Louisa 55; and David 53). Captain Benjamin Haviland died May 13th 1862, aged 84.
William P. Alcott was probably the first person who undertook brick making on an extended scale. He was born here in 1796, and his father, David Alcott, whose tombstone in the Episcopal burying ground states that he died April 10th 1826, aged 72 years, was a Revolutionary soldier. William T. Alcott was also a witness in the case mentioned, and stated that “he had been engaged in brick making for 18 or 20 years.”
Joseph Colson kept a hotel in Esperanza and was a prominent citizen. His place was on the north corner of Church and Water streets. He had a son, Joseph B., who died in early manhood, and a daughter, Anna, who married James G. Foster, a prominent man in the early days of Athens.
Samuel Hamilton came from Connecticut, and lived on a portion of the glebe lands of the Lutheran church. He was born November 3rd 1764, and fought in the Revolution. He was appointed magistrate in 1811, and held that office for many years. He died March 16th 1851.
Wreck of the Swallow
One of the most thrilling events connected with the history of this village, was the wreck of the steamer Swallow. She started from Albany for New York at 6 o’clock P.M., April 7th 1845. The steamers Rochester and Express started soon after, and there was evidently a strife as to which should make the quickest trip. Dooper Island was at that time a rock 60 to 70 feet across, and 10 feet above water at high tide. At 8 o’clock the steamer Swallow, while going at the rate of fourteen knots an hour, struck this rock with a violence that sensibly shoot the earth for quite a distance, and the shock was heard at the distance of a mile. The bow of the boat ran to the height of 20 feet above the rock, and broke in two. There were 259 passengers on board, of which number 25 were drowned. The night was exceedingly dark, with a slight snow squall. An investigation made by a committee of the State Senate, seemed to establish the fact that the disaster was wholly caused by the recklessness of the pilot, and the investigation resulted in the passage of an act for the better preservation of life on the Hudson River. A tide-mill once stood on this rock, and at the time of the wreck, there were the remains of an old dock, about 45 feet east of the rock. This little island after this event lost its ancient name, and received the title of Swallow Rock. It has long since been blasted away and a wharf belonging to the Knickerbocker Ice Company stands in it place.
The Beginning of Athens Village
The Northrup Purchase. – In the year 1800 what is now the village of Athens was simply a large farm. At the southeastern part and near the river was an old stone house, built by Jan Van Loon in 1706, and then occupied by his grandson, John Matthias Van Loon. His father, Matthias, gave to his son-in-law, Stephen Van Dyck, a lot at the northeast corner of his river front, or as the deed, dated May 3rd 1764, describes it, “a lot of land on the side of Hudson river, a little north of where a small run of water comes into the river, between the dwelling houses of said Van Loon and Stephen Van Dyck.” This house stood a few feet east of the present post-office, about 50 feet from the northeastern corner of Washington and Second streets, and in 1800 was owned by Marshall Jenkins. South of this was another small lot given to Peter Fonda, whose wife, Christina, was also a daughter of Matthias Van Loon. Upon it was a small stone house, which at that time was owned by Fiderman Hazard, a Quaker, who probably came from Massachusetts with the settlers of Hudson. This house stood on the site of the present mansion of Mrs. Lydia Coffin. Besides these, there were no human habitations on what is called the Northrup Purchase. At the intersection of Washington and Second streets, on the south side, was a swamp or marshy place, from which a small rivulet wound its way to the river. North of this was a rocky bluff sloping to the river, and opposite to Black Rock, which was the southeastern corner of the farm, was a small island mentioned in the patent and Indian deed, as “Beeren Island.” The nearest neighbor on the south and west was William Brandow, who occupied the homestead now owned by his grandson.
This farm of John M. Van Loon was purchased by Isaac Northrup, April 30th 1800. The following being a general description of the premises as contained in the deed:
“All that certain farm, piece or parcel of land, situate, lying and being in the town of Loonenburg and County of Greene, in the Patent of Loonenburg, being the farm on which the said John M. Van Loon now lives, * * * * * containing about 400 acres of land. And also all the right and title of the said John M. Van Loon, to the flat land and island lying easterly of the said tract and adjoining the said Hudson river. Excepting from this said conveyance three certain small lots of land, two whereof are forty-two feet by one hundred feet, and adjoining on the land of Fidderman Hazzard, and one of smaller dimensions granted by the said John M. Van Loon to one Sickles of the city of New York, and also one half of an acre of land where the family burying ground of said John M. Van Loon now is, which is to be for ever reserved for a burial ground and place of interment for such persons as may die upon the said premises.”
The price paid was $3,000. As the patent line runs west, and the Hudson River at this point nearly southwest, there is a narrow strip of marshy land between them. This strip was purchased by Mr. Northrup of Gerard Person, whose title was derived from the deed of Gerrit Van Bergen to his father, John Person, which has been mentioned in the account of the Corlaers Kill Patent. It is described as:
“Lying on the south boundary of the Patent of Loonenburg, on a small creek called the Vly creek, which is the south bounds of the farm sold by John M. Van Loon, and running easterly along said creek, to the south end of an island called in the Dutch language Farker’s island [Hog’s Island], thence easterly to the channel of Hudson river, thence northerly along said channel to the northeast extreme of the Catskill Patent, thence to the point called the Vlught hook, thence westerly along the south bounds of the patent of Loonenburg, being also the boundaries of said Northrup’s purchase, including the said Farker’s island, and all the land between the said Northup’s purchase and Hudson River, 7 or 8 acres.”
The Conradt Flaack Estate
The estate of Conradt Flaack, or the part of it which is in the village of Athens, was a trapezoidal piece of land lying on the river, north of the Van Dyck homestead, heretofore mentioned. The southeast corner is north of Second street, on the river, and the south line of the lot of Dr. H. Wheeler. The southwest corner is about 40 feet from the northeast corner of Second and Warren streets. The northwest corner is at the east end of the Athens Rural Cemetery, and the northeast corner at the foot of Market street, at the river’s side. The whole contained 23 5-7 acres. It was crossed nearly in the middle, from north to south, by the ancient road which led from the house of Jan Van Loon to the flats. This road crossed the south line of the estate a short distance north of the intersections of Washington and Second streets. It crossed Franklin street at the engine house of fire company Resuce No. 1, and left the north line of the estate at a point on Warren street about 50 feet south of Market street, which was the south boundary of Esperanza.
A small brown stone in the Episcopal church burying ground bears the following inscription: “In Memory of Conradt Aaron Flaack, who was born Sept. 6, 1713, departed this life May 4, 1789, aged 76 years, and 4 months.” During his life it seems to have been part of his business to run a ferry across the river, but as a very careful search has failed to find any ferry right granted to him by any authority, it is presumed that it was simply a prescriptive right, which, having been exercised for many years, was not interfered with by the Legislature when granting ferry franchise to the city of Hudson. His homestead, a low gambrel roofed house, stood just above the present residence of Wentworth Allen, on the east side of Washington street, and on the west side of the same street were an orchard and a barn. By his will, which is recorded in the surrogate’s office in Albany, he left his estate to his daughter Lucretia, and his son Hermanus. In 1796, the estate was divided among the heirs by Leonard Bronk, Samuel Van Vechten and Jacob Bogardus, in pursuance of an order from the Court of Common Pleas.
Conradt Flaack’s estate consisted of Lot No. 126, purchased of Petrus Van Loon and a one-eighth share of undivided lands bought of John Van Loon. The deed from Petrus Van Loon is dated July 1st 1761, and the one from John Van Loon, October 7th 1757.
At the time of the division of the estate, the daughter Lucretia, who married Caspar Clough, and the son Hermanus were both dead, and their shares were divided among their children, as follows: children of Lucretia Clough; Catherine, Abraham, John, Annaatje (wife of Hermanus Bont), Leah, (wife of John G. Van Hoesen), Lucretia (wife of Albert Van Hoesen), and Richard; the children of Hermanus Flaack were Richard, Annaatje (wife of William Dow), and Conradt.
Annaatje, wife of Hermanus Bont, being dead, her share went to her children, Richard, Jacob, Conradt, Jane, Hermanus, and Catherine.
In the survey the part of the estate that lay on the eastern side of the old road was divided into lots called the River Lots. The part above the road was also divided into lots. The full report of this division, with maps attached, is now in the county clerk’s office at Catskill, in the volume entitled, “Catskill Patent and Other Divisions.”
The descendants of Lucretia Flaack are numerous. After his first purchase, Northup obtained from Fiderman Hazard and wife, Elbarta, the great part of the homestead that had been Peter Fonda’s, “excepting lots 31, 32, fronting on Water St.” This was probably where the house stood, and, after the death of Mr. Hazard, his widow sold it to Anthony Livingston, who built the house now owned by Mrs. Lydia Coffin. He also bought some lots of the Flaack estate, including a small piece at the southwest corner of it, to make his lots on the west side of Warren street square. November 27th 1800, he bought of Samuel Wiswell two or three “gore pieces,” one “supposed to be a few inches more or less south of Ferry street, and on the west side of Washington St., on the northeast corner of a brick house built by Jedediah Clark.” This is the first mention that is found of any house built on Northrup’s purchase.
In 1801, a map and survey of the whole purchase was made by John D. Spoor. This map is now in the possession of the heirs of Professor Joseph Henry, of Washington. Northrup used every effort to induce men of a superior class to build in his new settlement, and how well he succeeded may be understood by comparing Athens with Esperanza. Among the men who were associated in the new enterprise was Alexander Alexander, a merchant of Schenectady, who became a silent partner to the extent of one-eighth of the purchase. Northrup conveyed to him 72 lots, as his portion of the whole, and he had erected a brick house and store on Lot No. 31, west side of Washington street, at a very early day.* (*Alexander Alexander was a native of Scotland. How long he lived in this village is not known, but probably not long. He died very young, leaving two children, Stephen Alexander, the celebrated astronomer of Princeton, and Harriet, wife of the no less famous Professor Joseph Henry of the Smithsonian Institute.)
Another of the parties interested was Patrick Hamilton, brother of Samuel, who lived in the upper village. He was a large owner of lots, and a prominent man, being for many years one of the judges of the Court of Common Pleas, and connected with many business enterprises. He died, July 8th 1812, aged 60 years, leaving a wife (Wealthy) and six children, Russel R., John, George C., Charles, Wealthy, and Susan. His grave is in the old burying ground. His cousin, Seth Hamilton, in 1803, built the elegant residence now owned by Gen. George S. Nichols.
Probably none of the early residents were better known than Timothy Bunker, a Quaker, who came from Nantucket. His residence was the house, partly stone and partly wood, built in 1800, on the corner of Warren and Market streets, west side. He ran the ferry for some years, and was actively engaged in real estate transactions and other business.
The first hotel was built by Joseph Seeley, soon after the starting of the village. This house stood on the north side of Second street, next west of the hotel now owned by John C. Wormer. It was here that the first town meeting of Athens was held. His son, Castle Seeley, born in 1788, was postmaster here for twenty years, and owned a large amount of real estate in different parts of the town.
James G. Foster came from Taunton, Massachusetts. As one of the witnesses in the Albert Van Loon will case in 1838, he stated that he was “a little over 50 and had been engaged in brick-making and merchandise for 15 or 20 years.” His store and dwelling were where the Osborne House now is, on the southwest corner of Franklin and Second streets.
The first account we have of any manufacturing interest, is that of Russell Leffingwell’s distillery. He came here in 1802, and carried on the business twelve years. His place of business was by the river side where the north ship-yard now is. Mr. Northrup built for himself the house in the lower part of the village, now owned by Miss Georgiana Byrnes, and lived there till the time of his removal from the village. General Samuel Haight, a merchant who had long been one of the most prominent citizens in Catskill, bought several lots, and built the elegant residence now owned by the heirs of Daniel W. Gantley. Abraham Van Buskirk, who bought the house built by Seth Hamilton, was one of the prominent men of the place.
Incorporation of the Village
The village had increased to so great an extent that the following act of incorporation was obtained:
“An Act to invest certain Powers in the Freeholders and inhabitants of the villages commonly known by the names of Athens, Asperanza and Loonenburg, Passed April 2, 1805.
“That the district of country contained within the following bounds That is to say: beginning at the south end of a bridge that has lately been erected across the Murderer’s Kill that empties into the Hudson River near the house of Josiah Warner, thence north sixty degrees thirty minutes west, one hundred and six chains to a stake: from thence south fourteen degrees west, fourteen chains eighty links: thence south twenty-eight degrees west, eighty-nine chains twenty links: thence south thirty-six degrees thirty minutes, east seventy-nine chains or thereabouts, keeping the distance of one chain from low water mark into the channel of said river: thence easterly and northerly along said river as it winds and turns, keeping the distance of one chain from low water mark into the channel of said river, until the same shall intersect the first mentioned line, to the place of beginning shall be hereafter known and distinguished by the name of the village of Athens. And it shall and may be lawful to and for the freeholders and inhabitants qualified by law to vote at town meetings, to assemble on the second Tuesday of April next * * * then and there to choose five discreet freeholders resident within said village to be Trustees thereof.”
The act then goes on to recite that the said trustees and inhabitants are incorporated as a body corporate, by the name of the “Trustees of the village of Athens;” that they shall have a common seal, and have power to buy real estate for the use of the village, and to raise money by tax for corporation purposes, upon a vote of the tax of the freeholders. They have also power to make regulations concerning markets, obtaining fire engines, licensing inns and taverns, draining streets, to regulate ferries, “provided the same shall not infringe the rights heretofore granted to Timothy Bunker and his successors,” and for grading and paving streets.
This act was amended in 1814, 1822, and 1829. In 1857, the various acts were consolidated, and the village was enlarged to its present limits at the time of building the Athens and Schenectady Railroad.
The house of Josiah Warner, alluded to, stood very near the ice house south of the creek.
Isaac Northrup, the founder of Athens, moved to Salina, and from thence to Oriskany, where he died, April 21st 1834, aged 67 years. His wife, Cynthia, was a daughter of Reuben Morton. She died November 1st 1812, aged 46 years, and there is a monument to their memory in the Athens Rural Cemetery. After leaving Athens, Mr. Northrup’s agent was his brother-in-law, William H. Morton, whose parents came to Athens in 1806. Mr. Morton was born in Hudson in 1805, and went into the business of ship-building in this place in 1828, following it during the business part of his life. In 1861 he was appointed postmaster by President Lincoln, and held the office for three years, when he retired from business pursuits. To his care and skill, the Rural Cemetery owes much of its neatness and beauty. Mr. Morton married Miss Marian Wait, and has had a family of thirteen children, of whom six are now living.
The First Town Meeting
The following is a copy of the minutes of the first town meeting of Athens, and a list of supervisors and town clerks to the present time:
“At the Town Meeting held at the House of Joseph Seeley in the town of Athens for the said town on the second day of April 1816 – Voted by the people of Said Meeting –
“$415.63 to pay the expenses for the Support of the Poor for the year Past.
“Voted $75 for the purpose of repairing a Bridg [sic] across the Potoak Creek.
“Voted that the Poor Masters of said town be allowed $20 each for their Serversises [sic] for a year and no more.
“Voted $200, for the support of the Poor for the ensuing year.
“Voted that all horses be prohibited from Running at large in said town for ensuing yeare [sic].
“Voted that no persons shall suffer any Bore or Bores to run at Large in said town under penalty of $1.50 over the age of three Months for the ensuing yeare [sic].”
The supervisors of the town have been: Isaac Northrup, 1815; Henry Wells, 1816; William Tolley, 1817-30; Sylvester Nichols, 1831-34, 1838; Castle Seeley, 1835; Eli Pierce, 1836, 1837; John Clough, 1839, 1840, 1842; Benjamin H. Haviland, 1841; Casper N. Van Loon, 1843-45; William H. Morton, 1846; Henry Van Loon, 1847, 1848; Alonzo Greene, 1849; Isaac Whitbeck, 1850; George S. Nichols, 1851; Isaac T. Whitbeck, 1852; David Whiting, 1853; 1863; John I. Hallenbeck, 1854, 1856, 1859; Isaac Van Schaack, 1855; Prentiss W. Hallenbeck, 1857, 1858; William K. Reeves, 1860, 1861; Dr. John H.Wheeler, 1862; Joseph Robins, 1864; Enos R. Edwards, 1865; John Beardsley, 1866-68; John Pennington, 1869; Henry Stranahan, 1870, 1871, 1873; Harmon Van Woert, 1872, 1874, 1875, 1877, 1880, 1881, 1883; Clark Porter, 1876; William T. Nichols, 1878, 1879; Thomas H. Briggs, 1882.
The town clerks have been: Henry Wells, 1815; Alexander Fasier, jr., 1816-23; Sylvester Nichols, 1824-30; Casper N. Van Loon, 1831-34, 1839, 1840, 1842; Alonzo Greene, 1835-38; Garrett Tolley, 1841; Henry Van Loon, 1843, 1845; Abram Hallenbeck, 1846-50, 1859; Isaac N. Van Schaack, 1851; James Mullen, 1852; S. Hamilton Nichols, 1853; Isaac Hallenbeck, 1854, 1855; Nathan E. Edmonds, 1856; William K. Reeves, 1857; James P. Foster, 1858; Enos R. Edmonds, 1860; Henry Stranahan, jr., 1861, 1863-65; Jonas Orsor, 1862; William T. Nichols, 1866, 1867, 1869-71, 1877; J. Russell Haviland, 1868; Jacob S. Clough, 1872-74; F. R. Lape, 1875, 1876; Orville W. Hervey, 1878; Severine Carley, 1879; Emory E. Briggs, 1881; William C. Brady, 1880, 1882, 1883.
The Lutheran Church
This is one of the oldest churches in the county. It was organized in 1704. At that time and for many years after, it formed one of the stations of a circuit embracing Albany and New York, and the places between. The first minister who officiated among the little congregation at Loonenburg, was Rev. Justus Falkner. The records in the church book in this place, up to the year 1723 are, so far as they relate to the congregation at Loonenburg and vicinity, copies of entries made by Mr. Falkner in the New York church book. Of Mr. Falkner’s history but little is known. The names of his wife Gerritje, and his children Sarah, Benedictus, and Anna Catherina, appear in the church records, in notices of their births and marriages. Mr. Falkner was the author of a little book printed in Dutch by William Bradford in 1709, the subject being the “Christian Religion as Based upon the Corner Stone of Jesus Christ and His Apostles.” A copy of this work is now in the possession of Nicholas Van Hoesen of Athens. He died in 1723.
Mr. Falkner was succeeded by Rev. Willem Christoph Berkenmeyer, who took charge of the church in 1725. The name of his father, and the date of his death are made known by a curious incident. A negro slave, for some misdemeanor, was to be sold to get him out of the neighborhood. Moved by pity for him, Mr. Berkenmeyer wished to baptize his child before his departure, and as he states, “I gave him the name of Jurge, after the name of my father of blessed memory, who died in 1706.” And he adds the pious exclamation, “May the God of my father be the God of this Jurge.” He served five years as an itinerant minister, in the circuit, after which he became the settled minister of Albany and Loonenburg. In 1727, the church of the Palatines at West Camp, agreed, that in his going to and from Albany, he should come twice a year among them, “to minister to us in his holy functions,” for which they proposed to give him the proceeds of the glebe lands. Mr. Berkenmeyer’s wife was Benigna Sibylla, daughter of Rev. Joshua Kocherthal, minster of the Palatines, who came to this county and received letters of designation August 25th 1708.* (* Mr. Kocherthal had wife Sibylla Charlotte, and children Christian, Joshua, Benigna Sibylla, Susanna Sibylla.) No mention is found of any children, and probably his name perished with him. To the end of his life he was a faithful and zealous laborer among a people by whom his labors and virtues were not fully appreciated. With the exception of his register of baptisms and marriages, the only document written by him which has been discovered is the following, written in Dutch and translated by Rev. Herman Vanderwort:
“IMMANUEL. – In order to keep the peace among some of our church people, as far as is possible and Christian, therefore the Lutheran minister at Loonenburg, I Willem Christoph Berkenmeyer, do declare to the Reverend Consistory and trustees there, that in no way, I further meddle, nor shall meddle myself, with that small piece of school ground, about which, through my selling of the school house in 1745, trouble has arisen. Much less shall I prevent or stop it when said Consistory or Trustees shall see fit to present to the buyer of the school house, this small piece of ground. Morover [sic] also I do not care to hold in safe keeping any longer the papers, touching the entire school ground, and all the church and school land, only and above all, with this condition, that if it be not demanded of me, to give any further consent or ratification of the Consistory and Trustees concerning this small piece of school ground: unless I find that the Consistory is sure enough, according to my opinion, to be able to erect a school as heretofore. And if any thing else is desired, I do declare above board, before I will ratify whatever is contrary to a good conscience and before God, that I rather give up both preaching and church, and my house at Loonenburg, as well as the school, as soon as I can get from said Consistory, real satisfaction for my back salary of 1742, and other lawful claims. This is my firm purpose and resolution, in regard to excluding myself from the Consistory and Trustees, at Loonenburg. Agree about the occupied small piece of ground with the buyer of the school house.
“Done at Loonenburg, in the county of Albany, March 30th, 1750, as signed by my hand and seal.
“[facsimile signature] Willem Christoph Berkenmeyer
It seems to have been the custom of Mr. Berkenmeyer to place the word Immanuel at the head of all his writings. He died in the fall of 1751, in his 69th year. His library, which was large for those days, was left to his church, and suffering from neglect, the books were soon scattered. Many of them were finally collected, and for some years stored in the loft of the Episcopal church. They are now in better hands, in the library of Wirtemburg college, Springfield, Ohio. His remains were buried in the church in front of the altar, and a tablet placed over his tomb, bearing an inscription prepared by himself some years before his decease, and evidently with the dates written by him, unchanged. This tablet is now in the front wall of the present church, and the following is a copy of the inscription:
Pio mortalitatis sensu praeparatum
Aetatis, Bodendict in Ducatu
Lunaeburgensi Coeptal LVIII.
Ministerli inter Americanos
Boreales Ambulatorii XVIII.
Officii apud Albanienses
Et Loonenburgenses fixi XIII.
Omnibus omino quot quot fuere sunt erunt que
Solaque in OE ANOPOLION fide obtinendae.
Salutis, _/_ /_ CCXLIIII.
E_E_E_ATO EN XPI_T_I IIPO
OY_EN APA NYN KATAKPIMA
TOI_ EN ZPI_T_I IH_OY
This being translated would read as follows:
“Immanuel. – The resting place of Berkenmeyer, prepared through a pious sense of his mortality, in the year of his life, begun at Boden in the Dutchy of Lunaberg, the 58th; of his itinerant ministry in North America, the 18th; of his settle pastorate at Albany and Loonenburg, the 13th; and in the year of the salvation prepared for all mankind, however numerous, they have been, are, or shall be, and to be obtained through faith alone in the God-Man, 1744.
“Chosen in Christ before the foundation of the world. There is, therefore, now no condemnation for them in Christ Jesus.”
After the death of Mr. Berkenmeyer, there seems to have been no settled pastor for a long time. There is a list of baptisms by Domine M. C. Knoll, up to 1774, when he was succeeded by Rev. Johan Christian Leps. In 1783, Rev. Frederick A. Walberg was in charge and continued until 1791, when a joint call was made, October 1st, to Rev. Frederick Ernst by the combined churches of Loonenburg and Claverack, they agreeing to be served by the same minister. He continued here till about 1800, when he was succeeded by Rev. Frederick H. Quitman, D.D., who remained only a short time. September 19th 1803 a call was given to Rev. Philip F. Mayer, and the church agreed to pay him annually “$400, 20 loads of good wood, and the use of our old parsonage house and lot, and 8 acres of land.” It was also stipulated that he should exchange, as often as convenient, with Rev. Dr. Quitman, in order that that gentleman might preach to them in the Dutch language. Mr. Mayer continued till 1808, and from that time till 1813 there was no settled pastor.
Rev. Adolphus Rumpff was settled here from the spring of 1833 to the spring of 1837. He was a native of Germany, was born in 1806, came to this country in 1828, and at first was assistant to Rev. Dr. Lutrius in Schoharie. After remaining there two years, he moved to West Camp. He is still living, though now a clergyman in the Episcopal church. A very pungent letter written by him to Major Nicholas I. Van Loon, for non-payment of his salary, now among the church papers, shows that he was a man “who knew his rights, and knowing dared maintain.” Rev. Thomas Lape was called March 31st 1838, at a salary of $450, and continued in charge until 1845.
Rev. Lysander Curtis, son of Levi and Elizabeth Curtis, was born in Cumberland, Maryland, and was educated in Pennsylvania College and Seminary. Having finished his studies, he took charge of the Athens church in 1845. He remained here until 1848, when he was called to Berne, Albany county. He subsequently preached in several other places in this State, was at one time in Altona, Blair county, Pennsylvania, and was called a second time to this church in 1874. Mr. Curtis is now spending the evening of his days in the place where he commenced his ministry, and throughout his life has “sought not his own but other’s good.”
Since 1848 the church has had the following ministers: Mathew Walternire, 1848; Augustus L. Bridgman, 1851; Isaac Kimball, 1853; William H. Emerick, 1855; W. N. Scholl, D.D., 1858; Henry Keller, 1865; William Hull, 1866; Phillip A. Stroebel, 1869 (died at Danville, Livingston county, 1882); William H. Emerick, 1872; Lysander Curtis, 1874; William E. Travers, 1875; Philip Graib, 1883. William H. Emerick, who was twice called to minister to this church, was born at West Camp, Ulster county, February 7th 1806. He studied under Dr. Ostrander, and experiencing a change in his belief, he joined the Lutheran church, and studied under Mr. Rumpff. Previous to coming to Athens he was at Sharon, Schoharie county. During his stay in Athens he organized a small congregation at Jacksonville. Coming here in 1855, he found the church in a distracted condition. He left in 1858, going to Livingston, Columbia county, and thence to West Camp. In 1872 he received a second call to Athens. In 1874, after a prosperous term of service, he left Athens, going to Pine Grove, Ulster county. After 20 years of active service in the ministry he was taken suddenly ill, at the residence of his son Benjamin, at West Camp, and died January 2nd 1876, aged 71 years, and was buried in the Lutheran church at West Camp.
The glebe lands of this church are held by a deed given by Jan, Albert, and Matthias Van Loon, three of the sons of the original patentee, to Jacob Hallenbeck, Arent Van Schaick, and Gerrit Van Hoesen. As the deed recites:
“For the all trust and confidence in them and their successors, and the great zeal and good will they bear to the Ministers, elders, and deacons of the Lutheran church at Loonenburg, in the county of Albany, to the intent that the ground and premises hereby to be conveyed, with all the buildings built or to be built, may forever remain to the only, and common, and general use of the Minister, Elders, and deacons of the Lutheran congregation, which now are, or hereafter shall be, at Loonenburg. Have granted and given to the said trustees and their successors. All that certain piece or parcel of land in Loonenburg. Beginning at the north on the Hudson River at the south side of a small creek which is behind the orchard of the said Jan Van Loon, thence running along the said river to a small hill or rising ground near to the house of the said Albert Van Loon, thence westerly from the said river to an oak tree marked by Jan Van Loon near the fence of Albert Van Loon, thence northerly along the common road to the said creek, thence easterly along the same as it runs to the river, where it first begun. Together with 15 morgens of land on the west side of the road which is between the said Albert and Jan Van Loon, and leads from thence to the Flats. 10 morgen thereof to be for the use and behoof of the Lutheran minister for the time being. Also 20 yards square of land at the north corner of the land of Albert Van Loon within the fence thereof for a garden for the use aforesaid, and 5 morgen thereof for the use of a schoolmaster for the time being; with all the appurtenances, &c., to said trustees and their successors to be chosen by the minister and members of the Lutheran congregation at Loonenburg, professing the unalterable Augsburg Confession of Faith, who are in this congregation and communion of the Rev. William Christoph Berkenmyer, present minister. That is to say the church made or to be made, and erected on the said ground, for the public and solemn worship of God, according to the principles of the Augsbury Confession; and the remainder of the said grant for the use of the minister which now is, or at any time hereafter shall be, in said church, except the five morgen for the use of a schoolmaster. Yielding and paying therefor the yearly rent of one shilling on the 25th day of March, if lawfully demanded.”
The Van Loons bound themselves in the sum of 900 [pounds] to defend all suits, and in case of such suits being recovered against them.
“Then they are to refund to each person 4 [pounds] with interest to such as are so much in arrears for building said church. Also to be free if the Patentees of the Flats and the heirs of Staats and Provoost shall release the same for the use aforesaid.” “June 2, 1727.
ALBERT VAN LOON.
MATTHIAS VAN LOON.
JAN VAN LOON.
“In presence of MATTHIAS VAN ALSTYN. ABRAHAM VAN ALSTYN.
On the 29th of June 1744, Johannes Van Loon conveyed to Rev. Willem Christoph Bergenmeyer and the trustees of the church,
“All his undivided right and share in a small hill or rising ground, near the house of Albert Van Loon, as the same is now fenced around the minister’s house, and the place appointed for a church, and also in and to a small swamp, stretching from the garden spot that was given formerly by three brothers Van Loon, to the church, at the north corner of the land of Albert Van Loon, on the west side of the path that leads from Albert Van Loon’s to the house of his brother deceased Jan Van Loon, and beginning from the said garden spot to the path that Albert Van Loon uses to go to the flats, thence along the path up the hill, and church land now fenced.”
Attached to this document is a curious seal. As a sort of a crest appears a man with a high-crowned, pointed hat, with a scythe over his shoulder; below is a kind of shield, having on one side a vessel like a chalice, and on the other something like a graduated semicircle.
January 29th 1785, a new deed, confirmatory of the foregoing, was given by John Van Loon, Albertus Van Loon, John M. Van Loon. Jurry Van Loon and Helena his wife, Johannes Brandow, William Groom, Caspar Van Hoesen, Stephen Haight, John Caspar Van Hoesen, Conradt Flaack, John G. Voght, and Benaiah Strong,
“To Jacob H. Van Hoesen, in trust for the minister and members of the Lutheran Congregation of the Church of Loonenburg, professing the Augsberg Confession of faith, A certain piece of ground within the Patent of Loonenburg, beginning at Hudson river at a fence standing on rising ground to the south of a house called the minister’s house, and running thence westerly along that fence to the road leading from the church at Loonenburg to the dwelling house of John M. Van Loon, thence along the east side of that road till opposite the North east corner of the fence of Albertus Van Loon, standing south of said line, thence to the said corner, then along that fence as it runs, west northwest, north and west, to the east bounds of Lot No. 12, belonging to John G. Voght, then northerly along such east bounds to the road leading from the Flats to the Church of Loonenburg, then to the north side of that road, then up the north side of said road to where that road, and the road leading from the dwelling house sometime ago, of Peter Van Loon join, then along the south side of the last mentioned road to Hudson river, and then down that river to the place of beginning, Excepting the house, barn, orchard, and land heretofore sold by Robert Patterson to Johannes Provoost deceased.”
And on May 18th 1785, Jacob F. Van Hoesen conveyed to the trustees of the Lutheran church, the premises thus conveyed to him in trust. These lands were divided into lots and leased in perpetuity to individuals for a small annual rent, the church having an income from that source of about $200.
In 1703 the church officers were as follows: -- Jan Hendrickse Bruyn and Andreas Van Buskirk, elders; Peter Van Woptom, kerk meester [sexton]; Lawrence Van Buskirk, voor stander; Hand Lagrancie and John Vick, deacons; Samuel Beekman, chorister.
The first church building was erected in 1724. This statement rests upon an entry made by Rev. Adolphus Rumpff, May 29th 1733, at which time it was moved back from the road about 12 feet. There is a picture of it, probably the only one in existence, on the church seal.
It was a square building with four roofs meeting nearly at a point, and supporting a steeple with a spire with ball and vane. It was torn down in 1853, when the present edifice was built. Its internal arrangements were slats running around the walls, with a vacant space in the middle. On the west side was the altar, and before it the tablet that covered the tomb of Berkenmeyer.
There is still in existence a small pocket communion service used by this holy man. It consists of a brass chalice for the communion wine, a box of the same material for containing the wafer, and a plate for use in dispensing it, which also serves as a cover for the chalice. It bears the inscription, “Loon. Kerk 1746.”
Baptismal Records of Zion's Lutheran Church, Athens, NY 1703-1789
This is one of the oldest churches in Greene County. It was organized in 1704. At that time and for many years after, it formed one of the stations of a circuit embracing Albany and New York, and the places between. The first minister who officiated among the little congregation at Loonenburg was the Rev. Justus Falkner. The records of the church up to the year 1723 are copies of entries made by Mr. Falkner in the New York church book. Little is known about Mr. Falkner. His wife was Gerritje, and he had children: Sarah, Benedictus, and Anna Catherina. Mr. Falkner died in 1723.
In 1703 the church officers were: Jan Hendrickse Bruyn & Andreas Van Buskirk, elders: Peter Van Wopton, Kerk Meester (sexton), Lawrence Van Buskirk (voor stander), Hans Lagrancie and John Vick (deacons), Samuel Beekman (chorister).
The dates at the beginning of the lines are those of births, unless otherwise specified. Baptisms are indicated by bp. The name immediately following the date is that of the child. The names of the parents follow the child, and the name of the place following is the birth place or the place of baptism.
REV. JUSTUS FALKNER
Dec Jacob, Michael Collier, Fitje, Flakte
Mar 15 Magdalena, Jan Albersen, Gosche, Flakte
Jul 16 Albert, Arend Van Schaick, Martje, Flakte
Jan 20 Lea, Franz Klawe, Jartje, Kinderhook
Nov 26 Catherina, Johan Van Hoesen, Janike, Claverack
Jurgen, Johan Van Hoesen, Janike, Claverack
Evert, Jacob Evertsen, Elisabeth, Kockshaky
Jun 16 Isaac, Michael Collier, Fitje, de Flackte
Jul 24 Joachim, Johann Albertsen, Gosche, de Flackte
Mar 11 Elizabeth, Lieut. Richard Brewer, Cath'a, Albany
May (No name) a son, Alex. McKasland, Sara, Albany
Sep. 3 Jacob, Jacob Jansen Van Hoesen, Judith, Klaverak
May 1 Anna Maria, Jacob Evertson, Elisabeth, Albany
Jan 21 Jannitje, Jan Jurugsen Van Hoesen, Klaverak
Nov 21 Goschje, Jan Albertson, Goschje, de Flakte
Nov 15 Maria, Jurgen Klaw, Maritje, Kinderhoek
Nov 1 Jacobus, Wm. Turner, Abigail, de Flakte
Feb 26 Elizabeth, Jan Jurgen Van Hoesen, Jantje, Klinkenberg
Apr 27 Gerrit, Cunradus Burchardus, Gosche, Kinderhoek
Aug 9 Herman, Henrich Jansen Salzberg, Cornelia, Klaverak
Apr Gerritje, Hannes Van Hoesen, Williamje, Albany
John Caspersen, Jan Jacobsen Van Huesen, Rahel, Kocksagki
Dec 1 Cornelia, Arent Van Schaick, Maria, de Flakte
Nov 8 Rahel, Jacob Evertson, Elisabeth, Albany
Feb 28 Geisbert, William Turner, Abigail, de Flakte
Feb 1 Johannes, Jurgen Klaeuw, Maria, Kockshagki
Mar 22 Jacobus, Jeremias Muller, Elisabeth, Klaverak
Jan 15 Ephraim, Richard Moor, Goesche, Klaverak
Apr 3 Eitje, Jan Borchard, Catherina, Kinderhoek
Oct Maria, Jan Van Loon, Jr., Rebecca, Kogshagki
Sep 22 Isaac, Michiel Collier, Fitje, de Flakte
Dec 12 Catharine, Jan Kerdick, Maritje, Klaverak
Dec 12 Catharine, Joh Van Aalem, Sarah, Kinderhoek
Feb 11 Nicholaus, Jan Van Hoesen, Jannitje, Loonenburg
Feb Laurens, Jan Dekker
Lea, Eliesabeth Hoogdeeling
Mar 15 Catharina, Nicolaus Stentsel, Elisabeth, Pooter-hoek
Feb 24 Abraham, Pieter Kohl, Jannickt, Kostverlooren
Apr 2 Maria, Ab'm Trueakt, Christina, Normanskill
Sep 1 Jan Casperse, Casper Jansen Halenbek, Magdalena, Kockshagki
Dec 20 Johannes, Johann Van Hoesen, Danike, Klaverak
Jul 15 Petrus, Cunraadus Curchardus, Goschie, Klinkenberg
Feb 14 Elisabeth, Joh. Pieter Fuyck, Anna Maria, Normanskill
Apr 7 Christ, Hans Jurgen Hayn, Veronica, Albany
Apr 24 Jacobus, Hannes Halenbek, Neeltje, de Flakte
Sep 8 Elsje, Jan Van Loon, Rebecca, Loonenburg
Dec 12 Maria, Casper Jansen Halenbek, Madgalena, de Flakte
Jan 3 Nicolaus, Nicolaus Stensel, Elisabeth, de groote nottin-hoek
Mar 29 Martin, Jacob Borst, Maria, de Flakte
Jul Cornelius, Jan Jurianse van Hoesen, Janye, Klaverak
Sep 28 Maria, Hans Halenbek, Neeltje, de Flakte
May 23 Jurgen, Jan Jacobsen Van Hoesen, Rachel, Koekshagki
Nov 12, Maria, Albert Van Loon, Maria, Loonenburg
Dec 26 Alitha, Hans Eversen, Barentje
Dec 21 Hendrikus, Jan Hannissen Van Hoesen, Danike, Klaverak
Feb 18 Hilletje, Jan Hardick, Maritje, Klaverak
Feb 21 Ephraim, Jan Wheeler, Margreta, Kinderhoek
Apr 27 Jacobus, Cunradus Burchardus, Goscheje, Kinderhoek
Oct 11 Michiel, Arent van Schaick, Maria, de Flakte
Sep 18 Johannes, Jan van Loon, Rebecca, Loonenburg
Dec 19 Martinus, Casper Janse Halenbek, Magdalena, de Flakte
Mar 30 Johannes, Jacob Evertson, Elisabeth, Albany
Oct 6 Hanna, Hannes Hallenbek, Neeltjem Loonenburg
Aug 5 Johannes, Simon Haas, Anna, Nootenhoek
Aug 19 Judith, Jan Van Hoesen, Rahel, Koekshagki
Aug 20 William, Jurgen Klaew, Maritje, Kinderhoek
Dec 6 Jacobus, Jacob Halenbek, Mary, Klinkenburg
Nov 24 Gerritje, Hendryk Schermerhorn, Elsye, de Flakte
Sep 30 Christoffel, Gerhard Decker, Gertrud, Tachkanik
Feb 1 Elisabeth, Michael Schauer, Catharina, Taarbosch
May 5 Sara, Justus Falkner, Gerritje, Loonenburg
Jul 29 Elsya or Elisabeth, Thomas Carter, Margareta
Aug Johan Matthias, Jurgen Maurer, Maria, Hunterstown
Nov Hieronymus, Fridk. Schram, Anna Maria, Sopos-trustees-land
Nov Henrichye, Casper Jacobsen Hallenbeck, Maria
Oct 5 Catherina, Johan Rees, Maritje, Claverak
Dec 14 Avi, Conrad Burchardus, Gosche, Kinderhoek
Jan 13 Catharina, Conrad Schmid, Anna Cath., ‘t Taarbosch
Jul 21 Petrus, Jan Hannesen Van Hoesen, Danike, Claverak
Feb 5 Casper, Jan Jacobsen Van Hoesen, Rachel, Koekshagki
Feb 6 Catharina, Philip Kuhns, Maria Elis., Taghkanick
Jan 8 Philip, Henrich Neus, Maria, Taghkanick
Jul 11 Abraham, Solomon Schut, Anna Maria, Taghkanick
Jan Johan Peter, Peter Smid, Elizabeth, Claverack
Mar 3 Anna Maria, Jacob Evertse, Elizabeth,
Apr 9 Wilhelm, Benj. Rees, Gertruyd
Jun Jannitje, Jan Casperse Halenbek, Willemtje, Kockshagki
Sep 22 Jacob, Hans Jurgen Rau, Anna Cath., Gospelhoek "en Claverak"
May 22 Christoffel, Ephraim Rees, Margareta, Tachkanick
Sep 22 Johan Valentin, Adam Schmid, Christina, Claverak
Sep 27 Cornelia, Jan Jurianse Van Hoesen, Jannitje
Oct Jannitje, Joh. Hannesse Van Hoesen, Elisabeth, ‘t Taarbosch
Dec 4 Gertrud Johan Wendel Pulver, Anna Cath.
Nov Sebastian, Jan Wheeler, Margareta, Kinderhoek
Jan 17 Catharina, Jan Van Loon, Rebecca, Loonenburg
Feb Mary, Thomas Archer, Mary, Kinderhook
Mar 18 Henrich, Jacob Jacobsen Halenbek, Mary
Mar 21 Anna, Richard Moore, Gosche, Claverak
Apr Cornelia, Casper Jansen Halenbek, Magdalena, de Flakte
Apr 15 Anna Elisabeth, Cunrad Heller, Maria Barbara, ‘t Taarbosch
Sep 14 Jannitje, Thomas Carter, Margareta, Klaverak
Nov 17 Jacob, Jan Hannessen Van Hoesen, Danike, Klaverak
Dec 25 Jacob, Casper Jacobsen Halenbek, Marytje, Klinkenberg
Dec 20 Maria, Niclaes Van Loon, Rahel, Loonenburg
Jan 17 Henrich, Isaac Aarnheim, Janye, Klaverak
Feb 7 Francis, Wm. Hardick, Anna Catherina, Claverak
Mar 4 Omi, Isaac Lagransie, Maria, Kinderhoek
Apr 11 Benedictus, Justus Falkner & wife
Apr 11 Jannige, Cornelius Schermerhorn, Margreta, Kinderhoek
Here ends the record of Rev. Justus Falkner and the record of Rev. Willem C. Berkenmeyer commences.
Nov 25 Maria Schram, Friderick & Maria Newtown
Nov 25 Anna Margreta Dieterick, Friderick & Eva Newtown
Nov 25 Catherina Ness, Henrich & Maria Judet Taghkanick
Dec 13 Izaak Collier, Jochem Kinderhoek
Jan 11 Pieter Lassing, Willem & Marytje 'tHoogelant
Jan 22 Cathryne Halenbek, Casper Jansen
Jan 25 Johannes Borchard, Johan Peter & Amalia Newtown
Feb 2 Henrikus Halenbeck, Jacob & Mary Klingenburg
Feb 23 Gertrud Junge, Joh. Matt. & Anna Veronica Newtown
Feb 25 Jannetje Van Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd Loonenburg bp
Feb 25 Margareta Lutz, Peter & Margareta Kisketam bp
Mar 5 Henrich Kieffer, Balthasar & Christina
Apr 1 Abraham Van Hoesen, Jan Jac. & Rachel
Apr 1 Isaac Van Hoesen, Jan Jac. & Rachel
Apr 2 Gritje Bond Jan & Jannetje
Apr 10 Omi Lagranzie, Jacob & Engeltje Normans Kill
Apr 10 John Evertson, Evert & Marytje
Apr 28 Gerritje Hardick, Willem & Anna Catharina Klaverak bp
Jun 15 Anna Maria Streid, Frederick & Anna Cath.
Jul 8 Maria Van Hoesen, Gerrit & Marythe Loonenburg
Jul 21 Margareta Worms, Daniel & Cathryne Newtown
Aug 21 Dyrk Van de Willig, Hannes & Catherina bp
Aug 31 Johanna Hallenvek, Hannes & Neeltje
Sep 15 Anna Margareta Kreisler, Johan & Catharina Kiskatom bp
Sep 23 Coenraed Langrangie, Izaak & Marytje Normans Kill
Sep Marytje Vosburg, Abraham & Marytje Pyathak
Sep Isaak Deiritz, Thomas & Mary Albany bp
Oct 1 Johannes Van Loon, Klaas & Rachel
Oct 12 Anna Maria Fuhrer, Valentin & Catharina bp
Jan 2 Rachel Van Loon, Albert & Maria
Feb 27 Helena Van Loon, Jan & Rebecca
May 3 Eytje Van Loon, Matthys & Annaatje
Jun 11 Ariaantye Hogeboom, Dyrk & Marytje Loonenburg bp
Jun 20 Johan Peter Becker, Peter 7 Anna Elis. Kisk.
Jun 22 Mary Halenbeck, Casper Jacobsen & Marytye
Jun 29 Catharina Schmid, Jurgen 7 Catharina Kisketamesy
Jun 24 Hendrddyk Evertsen, Jacob & Lebetje Albany bp
Jul 7 Jacobus Jung, Johan Matthias & Anna Kisketamesy
Jul 19 Lisabeth Overbach, Peter & Lisabeth Kisketamesy bp
Jul 19 Anna Catharina Rau, Hans Jurgen & Catharina Kisk.
Jul 26 Wilhelmus Kreisler, Hannes & Catherina oost-Camp
Aug 22 Henrich Lampmann, Peter & Lisabeth Loonenburg
Sep 26 Johannes Van Hoesen, Jacob Hannesse & Gertruyd
Nov 22 Lawrenz Lassing, Izaak & Sarah
Mar 2 Catharina Schram, Frederich & Anna Maria Kisk.
Mar 18 Jacob Hardik, Willem & Anna Catha.
Apr 8 Johanna Halenbek, Jacob & Mary
Apr 17 Johan Emmerich Plass, Johan Henrich & Liese Catha.
Apr 20 Benjamin Van Hoesen, Jac Hannesen & Janneke
Oct 29 Jan Van Hoesen, Jac. Hannesen & Gertruyd
Nov 28 Volkje Van Hoesen, Gerrit & Marytje
Dec 1 Johannes Kreisler, Joh. & Cath. Eva Loonenburg
Dec 25 Antje Lagrangie, Izaak & Marytje Albany bp
Dec 28 Antje bp
Jan 26 Martene Kreisler, Jurge & Christina Loonenburg bp
Jan 13 Johannes
Jan 26 Anna Maria Plank, Joh. & Maria Christina Loonenburg bp
Feb 7 Jannetje de Duytscher, Christoffel & Gertruyd Loonenburg
Feb 14 Anna Van Schaayk, Jan & Marytje Loonenburg
Mar 2 Lisabeth Spoon, Adam & Anna Maria Kisk.
Mar 11 Anna Catha. Streit, Friderich & Anna Cath. Kisk. bp
Mar 11 Sophia Meyer, Joh. Henrich & Anna Elix. Kisk bp
Mar 22 Feitje Halenbek, Michiel & Christyne Loonenburg
Mar 31 Albertus Van Loon, Albert & Marya
Jul 16 Betty Carter, Thomas & Margreta
Aug 1 Wilhelmus Schmid, Jurgen & Catharina Loonenburg
Aug 16 Lisabeth Van Hoesen, Jan Jacobsen & Rachel Loonenburg
Sep 27 Elisabeth Halenbek, Casper Jacobsen & Marytje Loonenburg bp
Oct 14 Sarah Halenbek, Jan & Cathryne Loonenburg
Oct 31 Hieronymus Brandau, Niclaas & Elisabeth Kisk.
Oct 31 Maria Van Loon, Matthys & Annatje Loonenburg
Nov 1 Marteentje Van Wormer, cornelis & Aaltje Newtown
Nov 28 Johan Michael Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth Kisk.
Dec 3 Christyntje Stais, Joh. Philip & Antje Newtown
Dec 8 Catelyntje Van Hoesen, Jan Hannisse & Janneke bp
Dec 10 (no name) Rau, Friderich & Catharina Kisk
Jan 8 Annatje Kieffer, Balthasar & Anna Christina Newtown
Jan 22 Lisabeth Rau, Hans Jurgen & Catharina
Feb 2 (no name) Junge, Joh. Matt's & Anna Veron Klaver'k
Feb 7 Jan* Hardik, Willem & Anna Catha.
Feb 10 Stephanus Muller, Stephanus & Maria
Feb 16 Henrich Schram, Fridrich & Anna Maria
Feb 27 Johannes Plass, Henrich & Lisabeth Catha.
Mar 3 Lisabeth May, Peter & Susanna
Mar 21 Johannes Van Hoesen, Gerrit & Marytje
Apr 12 Gosche Van Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Apr 30 Anna Maria deWit, Peetr & Anna Maria bp
Nov 22 Petrus Christeann, Pieter & Lisabeth bp
Jan 3 Cornelis Wormer, Lawrenz & Marya
Jan 18 Johann Conrad Loscher, Conrad & Engel bp
Feb 8 Niclas Kreisler, Hans Jurge & Chrystyne
Mar 7 Willim Van Loon, Niclas & Rachel
Mar 19 Samuel Halenbek, Samuel & Marytje
Mar 22 Willem Halenbek, Casper & Sarah
Mar 11 Gertruyd Ros, Benj. & Gertruyd
Apr 11 Michiel Halenbek, Hannes & Neeltje bp
Apr 25 Anna Eulalia Kasmann, Joh. Lawrenz & Mally bp
Apr 12 Petrus Van Hoesen, Jac. & Gertruyd
May 3 Marytje Van Schaak, Jan & Marytje
Jul 20 Rachel Van Hoesen, Jan Casperse & Hendrike
Aug 15 Anna Bronck, Peter, Jr.
Aug 16 Wilh. Christopher Spoon, Adam & Anna Maria
Sep 21 Jan* Halenbek, Casper & Marytje
Sep 30 Johannes Lassing, Joh. & Catharina bp
Oct Catharina Weber, Wynand & Maria Cath.
Nov 11 Johannes Schmid, Niclas & Anna Elisabeth
Nov 18 Jan* Evertsen, Evert & Marytje bp
Nov 23 Justus Herdyk, Will & Anna Catha.
Nov 26 Lisabeth Michel, Anthon & Susanna
Dec 1 Samuel Schurtz, David & Catharina
Dec 10 Eva Schepping, Joseph & Elisabeth
Dec 28 Janneke Van Hoesen, Jan Hannesse & Janneke
Dec 13 Anna Catharina Latz, Ludwig & Rebecca
Dec 25 Marytje Michel, Hendrick & Marytje
Jan 6 Jacob Carteret, Thomas & Margritje
Jan 11 Anna Maria Loscher, Hans Jurge & Elisabeth bp
Jan 12 Balthasar Bauchus, Ernst & Catharina bp
Jan 12 Fytje Van de Karre, Salomon & Helena
Jan 13 Gertrand Bohm, Niclas & Catharina bp
Jan 14 Anna Margreta Miller, Sam'l & Anna Cath.
Jan 16 Fytje Brasy, Gabriel & Jannetje
Jan 20 Johannes Lampman, Joh. Peter & Liesbeth
Jan 21 Christyne Halenbek, Jan & Catharina
Jan 21 Marytje Borghard, Hendryk & Eva
Jan 27 Maria Sitnoeu, Jan & Volkje
Jan 28 Abraham Van Deusen, Matthys & Elisabeth bp
Feb 2 Johannes Haydoon, Henrich & Liese Barbel.
Feb 21 Jacob Johns, James & Lisabeth
Mar 2 Jan. Van Norden, Jan & Theodosia
Mar 6 Joh. Frid. Bohnenstiel, Nicl. & Anna Marg.
Mar 16 Hannes Sachs, Peter & Agnese
Mar 21 Martgrtje Van Loon, Matthys & Hannatje
Mar 14 Jurg Adam Voland, Phil. & Eva
Mar 26 Marytje Berger, Andreas Jr. & Eva
Apr 2 Margreta Schram, Frid. & Anna Maria
Apr 12 Zacharias Vellor, Philip & Catharina
Apr 12 Wilhelmus Rauw, Hannes & Catharina
Apr 15 Anna May, Peter & Catharina
Apr 23 Margreta Bartel, Andreas & Sophia Elis.
May 6 Jurge Smid, Jurge & Catharina
May 9 Josuah Brooks, Josuah & Gesje
May 9 Maria Liese Dings, Adam & Eva
May 9 Gesje Jansen, Jochem Albertson & Eytje
May 12 Rachel Van Boskerk, Lauwrenz Pieterse
May 24 Gerrit Van Hoesen, Gerrit & Marytje
May 30 Zacharias Mynders, Burger & Marytje
May 31 Cath. Sophia Eisebrandsen, Paul & Rachel
May 26 Wilhelm Mollnar, Peter & Nancy
June 10 Jurge Wilhelm Timber, Thys & Anna Maria
June 15 Elisabeth Burnet, Hannes & Elisabeth
Jul 3 Gritje Schermerhooren, Hend. & Geesye
Jul 3 Marytje Wormer, Lauwrenz & Marytje
Jul 8 Marytje Hallenbek, Gerrit & Thomasyntje
Jul 30 Hendryck Rauw, Hans Jurgen & Catherine
Aug 19 Johannes Clapper, Henr. & Margrete
Aug 21 Hannes Winter, Joh. Jurge & Greta
Aug 21 Joh. Hermann Kuhn, Jurge Niclas & Agnese
Aug 29 Matthys Kuhn, Jurge Niclas & Agnese
Sep 1 Andreas Buck, Martin & Gertruyd
Sep 12 Jan. Halenbek, Caspar W. & Sarah
Sep 30 Johanna Brull, Dewald, & Cathar. bp
Sep 30 Cornelis Van Boskerk, Hannes Pieterse
Oct 11 Henrich Frolich, Marten Henr. & Elisabeth Catharina
Oct 15 Catharina Kun, Jacob & Elisabeth Kingston bp
Oct 10 Christina Kieffer, Joh. Balthasar & Christa
Nov 6 Martrets Schneider, Niclas & Annatje
Dec 1 Jeremias Husson, Jno. & Sarah bp
Dec 10 Christyne Lagranzie, Jac. & Engeltje
Dec 18 Jannetje Proper, Peter & Rachel
Dec 12 Wilhelmus Behr, Hermanus & Maria Martene
Dec 29 Petrus Laux, Pieter & Neeltje
Dec 29 Niclas Scherp, Jurge & Barbara
Jan 2 Marytje Evertse, Evert & Marytje
Jan 6 Friderich Maul, Joh. Jac. & Anna Dorothea
Feb 22 Daniel Paree or Prys, Johs. & Annetje bp
Feb 22 Catlyntje Rees, Andreas & Rebekka bp
Feb 26 Johannes Davis, John & Maria Liese
Feb 28 Johannes Miller, Niclas & Anna Dorothea bp
Feb 28 Cornelis Bresy, Wensam & Elsye bp
Mar 8 Hans Velten Fuhrer, Hans Velten & Catharina
Mar 16 Joh. Daniel Lucas, Joh Dewald & Christyne
Mar 18 Gretje VanValkenbrg, Jochem & Elyse
Mar 5 Catharina Kreisler, Hans Jurge & Christina bp
Mar 12 Jacob Lehmann, Clemens & Gertruyd
Apr 6 Elisabeth VanSalzberger, Hannes & Jobye
May 15 Gertruyd Halenbek, Jacob & Mary
May 21 Wilhelmus Valk, Hannes & Maria
May 25 Abraham Lagrangie, Izaac & Marytje
Jun 17 Maria Christiann, Pieter & Lisabeth bp
Jul 10 Friderich Spoon, Adam & Anna Maria
Jul 30 Magdalena Kanik or Klark, Jos & Aledeke
Aug 2 Margreta Kreisler, Hannes & Eva Catharina
Sep 3 Elsje VanLoon, Niclas & Rachelje
Sep 9 Niclaas Van Schayk, Jan & Marytje bp
Sep 17 Magnus Beekman, Samuel & Catharina
Sep 23 Fitye Jansen, Johem & Eitje
Sep 27 Catharina Sachs, Peter & Agnese
Oct 8 Lisabeth Halenbek, Casp. & Marytje
Oct 14 Hendrykye Halenbek, Hannes & Neeltje
Oct 20 Jannetjn Becker, Arend & Catharina
Nov 19 Elisabeth Borne, Joh's & Sara
Dec 3 Johan Jurge Laux, Peter & Neeltje
Dec 9 Arend Wormer, Lawrenz & Marya
Dec 16 Marya Van Hoesen, Jan Casperse bp
Dec 25 Lisabeth Schmid, Jurge & Catharina
Feb 6 Arend Goes, Ephram & Cornelia
Mar 10 Lisabeth Warrels, Jas. & Lisabeth
Feb 24 Jurge Klaur, Kannes & Marytje
Mar 1 Christyntje Van Loon, Matthys & Annatje
Mar 31 Velter Schram, Frider. & Anna Maria
Mar 31 Johann Peter Schram, Frider. & Anna Maria
Apr 30 Lyme Lassing, William & Marytje
Mar 12 Izaac Borne, Joh*s & Elisabeth
Apr 4 Lisabeth Evertse, Evert & Marya
Apr 21 Mary Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Jun 9 Joh. Hendrich Bernhard, Joost & Maria Christina
Jun 4 Jannetje Schermerhooren, Hend. & Elsye
July 1 Cornelis Van Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Aug 18 Maria Liese Rickhard, Conrad & Liesabeth
Aug 3 Anna Margrete Steinberger, Lambert & Catharina
Aug 6 Lydia Wearing, Nehemias & Marytje
Sep 6 Mary Holy or Foly, Edward & Margreta
Oct 13 Petrus Eigener, Joh. Jac. & Anna Marg.
Sep 26 Samuel Halenbek, Casper Willemse & Sara
Nov 12 Frans van Hoesen, Mylburne & Dirkye
Dec 29 Marytye May, Pieter & Susanna
Dec 9 Anneke Schais, Jo. Phil. & Anneke
Jan 6 Velten Frolich, Johannes & Anna Marg.
Jan 6 Martje Jausen, Jochen & Eytje
Feb 16 Dyrk Deutscher, Hend. & Helena
Feb 17 Johannes Bekman, Sam*l & Caty
Mar 5 Willem Janssen, Pieter & Anna Maria
Mar 12 Christina Schmidt, Niclas & Anna
Mar 23 Catharina Kreisler, Hannes & Eva Cath*a
May 13 Christina Behr, Hermanus & Maria Martena
May 24 Christina Kreisler, Jans Jurge & Christina
Jun 15 Zecharias Bohn, Jurgen & Lisabeth
Apr 8 Luycas Salzberger, Hannes & Fabye
July 21 Anna Wormer, Laurenz & Marytje
Aug 11 John Mannay, John & Maria
Sep 18 Anna Elig, Hans Jurge & Catherina
Aug 23 Anna Spohn, Adam & Anna Maria
July 14 Jurge Emmerich Scher, Jurge Emmerich & Anna Barbel
Sep 24 Izaak Lagrangie, Izaak & Maria
Oct 2 Nicolaus Borghart, Pieter & Mallie
Apr 23 Elsje Valkenburg, Johem & Elsje
Sep 23 Eva van Schayk, Jan & Marytje
Oct 13 Lorenz Folk, Hannes & Anna Maria
Oct 2 Thomas Beaver, Robert & Barbara
Oct 12 Elisabeth v. de Karre, Solomon & Lena
Oct 8 Willem Hardyk, Willem & Anna Cath*
Nov 5 Dyrk Dingman, Gerardus & Saartje
Nov 6 Gerritje Carteret, Thomas & Anna Marg.
Nov 15 Marytje Lehmann, Clement & Gertrayd
Dec 21 Cornelia Becker, Arend & Catharina
Nov 1 Sara Kohl, Willem & Sara
Jul Catharina Silbernagel, Adam & Lisabeth
Dec 28 Barbel Schmid, Michiel & Margreta
Jan 3 An*je Frolich, Hannes & Anna Marg.
Jan 12 Kilianus Minckler, Hannes & Catharina
Jan 21 Maria Magdalene Salete, Johan Jurge & Maria
Jan 27 Amalia Brandaw, Niclas & Elisabeth
Jan 31 Matthys - Petrus v. Loon, Klaas & Rachel
Jan 15 Cathryne v. Loonn, Matthys & Annatje
Feb 11 Benigna Schmid, Jurge & Catha.
Feb 29 Cathryne v. Wormer, Cornelis & Aaltje
Feb 11 Willem Dieterich, Jurge Wilh. & Cathryne
Feb 5 Lisabeth Dieterich, Friderich, & Eva
Jan 23 Maria Lisabeth Wolfen, Johan & Anna Marg.
Feb 18 Jannetje Halenbeck, Casper Willemse & Sara
Apr 4 Thomas Brown, Edward & Susanna
Apr 9 Johan Wilhelmus Feller, Philip & Catharina
Apr 2 Matthys Hoes, Ephraim & Cornelia
Apr 5 Lisabeth v. Hoessen, Jan Casparse & Hendryke
Apr 28 Annatje Graad, Gabriel & Caty
May 13 Margareta May, Peter & Catharina
May 16 Marytje Kreisler, Hannes & Eva Cath*a
Jun 3 Margreta Schmid, conrad & Catharina
Jun 3 Jan Decker, Gerrit & Gertruyd
May 3 Catharina Kiefer, Jo. Balth. & Christina
May 14 Annatje Dieterich, Christian & Margreta
Jun 1 Jacob Van Hoesen, Gerrit & Marytje
Jul 20 Catharina Klaw, Hannes & Marytie
Aug 3 Christian Fuhrer, Christian & Maria Lisabeth
Aug 15 Cornelius Schermerhooren, Corn*s. & Marg.
Aug 8 Albertus Halenbek, Hannes & Nelletje
Aug 11 Rebecca v. Loon, Johannes & Jannetje
Sep 5 Henrich Schultz, Caspar & Eva
Sep 12 Jurge Claw, Gerrit & Elsye
Aug 31 Johannes Schmid, Jan & Rahel.
Aug 31 Jan Bond, Hend. & Rebecca
Sep 22 Johannes Planck, Jo. Mich. & Martena
Sep 27 Jan Bond, Matthys & Teuntje
Oct 8 Hannes Borst, Jo. Mart. & Catharina
Sep 1 Joh. Henrich Enten, Jacob & Anna Maria
Sep 29 Margreta Bauch, Christian & Odilia
Oct 17 Johannes Jansen, Jochem & Eytje
Oct 3 Annatje Graad, Henrich & Maria Cath.
Jul 26 Dyrk Halenbek, Michiel & Christyntie
Sep 15 Lena Halenbek, Jan & Trintje
Oct 6 Rebecca Evertse, Evert & Marya
Sep 24 Jacob Rausch, Jo. Nich. & Greta
Oct 15 Lisabeth Rosman, Conrad
Nov 1 Abraham Christianse, Pieter & Lisabeth
Dec 10 Lisabeth Frolich, Hannes & Anna Marg.
Dec 20 Catharina Halenbek, Jan Casperse & Marytje
Nov 19 Lisabeth Sheffer, Joh. Henr. & Maria Liese
Dec 25 Lorenz Deter, Jurge & Anna Maria
Nov 5 Joh. Wilhelm Simon, Balthas. & Lisabeth
Oct 23 Eytje Borghard, Hend. & Eva
Dec 25 Lisabeth Kanick, Joseph & Coileteke
Jan 6 Joh. Wilhelm Simon, Balthas. & Lisabeth
Jan 5 Eyda Bekman, Samuel & Caty
Jan 14 Jan. V. Hoesen, Hannes & Sara
Jan 25 Thomas Boys, Robert & Lisabeth
Jan 3 Margritje Wormer, Lauwrens & Marytje
Jan 24 Jacob van Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Jan 11 Joh. Niclas Schmid, Niclas & Eva
Jan 28 Hannes Janssen, Peter & Anna Maria
Feb 11 Jacob Schmid, Niclas & Anna
Jan 20 Johannes Lagrangie, Jacob & Engeltje
Jan 7 Petrus Sachs, Peter & Agnese
Feb 14 Mattheus Dieterich, Jurge Wilh. & Cath. Elisabeth
Mar 7 Annatje Falkenburg, Hieronym & Maria Lisabeth
Jan 31 Jannetje Wells, James & Lisabeth
Mar 12 Salomon Jeomens, Salomon & Netty
May 11 Maria Lassing, Willem & Marytje
Mar 12 Margretje Lassing, Pieter Hannesse & Marg.
Apr 18 Hannes Netkins, John & Maria Barbel
Feb 28 Cornelia Lassing, Pieter Pieterse, & Anna Maria
Apr 14 John Linsy, William & Agnetje
Mar 13 Peter Jannen, Hannes & Marytje
Apr 22 Andreas Truly, Sander & Lisabeth
May 26 Thys Bond, Evert & Marytje
Jun 5 Adam Snell, Jo. Host & Maria Catha.
Mar 17 Gertryd Conrad, Henr. & Margrete
Jun 5 Lisabeth Kreisler, Hieron & Margreta
Jun 5 Anna Apollonia Seybold, Jurge & Maria Engel
Feb 9 Henrich Bauch, Jo. Fred & Martene
Feb 12 Janneke Saltzberger, Hannes & Tobye
Jun 12 Casper Halenbek, Martin & Annatje
Feb 16 Jacob Klein, Friderich & Rebecca
July 5 Johan Adam Heitzrood, Henr. & Anna Maria
May 24 Johan Henrich Finger, Johs. & Catharina
Mar Annatje Schauer, Adam & Marie Liese
Jul 12 Joh. Henrich Muller, Joh. Jurge Muller & Anna Barb.
Jul 24 Hermanus Fuhrer, Valentin & Catharina
Jul 31 Sara v. Hoesen, Gerrit & Marytje
Aug 13 Matthys Kreisler, Hannes & Catharina
Jul 26 Maria Kreisler, Hans Jurge & Christina
Sep 3 Jan Becker, Arend & Catharina
Jul 17 Joh. Peter Kniskern, Jo. Henr. & Elisabeth
Oct 6 Maria Lisabeth Man, Peter & Anna Margrete
Jul 13 Joh. Friderich Bael, Peter & Anna Margrita
Sep 26 Ludewig Schneider, Jac. & Lisabeth
Oct 5 Marya Ebbersse, Egbert & Rachel
Oct 6 Engeltje Evertse, Evert & Marytje
Sep 29 Gretje Dieterich, Christian & Anna Maria
Aug 31 Catharine Hales, Edward & Margreta
Oct 6 Joh. Wilhelm Rachenfelder, Diel & Anna Cath.
Oct 28 Catharina Diek., Joh. Diet. & Anna Maria
Sep 20 Jochem Van de Karre, Salomon & Lena
Oct 30 Margreta Loot, Balthas & Lisabeth
Sep 22 Anna Maria Rinck, Christoph. & Maria Martena
Oct 8 Catharina Trebe, Peter & Catharina
Nov 8 Catharina Scheffer, Jos. & Rosina
Nov 5 Jacob Petri, Joh. Conrad & Maria Cath.
Nov 8 Catharine Sarty, Jurge & Maria
Nov 29 Margreta Falck, Hannes & Maria
Dec 10 Catherina Frolich, Hannes & Margrete
Dec 27 Christian Haber, Peter & Maria
Dec 20 Joh. Bernhard Minckler, Jo. & Catharina
Nov 22 Anna Margreta Kurtz, Hannes & Ann Elis.
Dec 22 Wilhelm Schneider, Joh*s & Anna Maria
Dec 30 Christina Marten, Jo. Fred. & Maria Eva
Dec 24 Petrus Cook, Pieter (a free negro)
Dec 19 Isaak Rauw, Hans Jurge & Catharina
Dec 4 Anna Liese Plass, Henr. & Liese Catharine
Oct 27 Anna Scheffer, Velten & Maria Barbel
Dec 4 Christina Weber, Weinand & Maria Cath.
Dec 9 Wouter Sluyter, Willem & Margrete
Sep 19 Johannes Kuhn, Philip & Lisabeth
Dec 21 Matthys Rauw, Mich. & Anna Maria
Dec 25 Niclas Schmid, Michel & Anna Marg.
Feb 3 Andreas Elig., Hans Jurge & Catharina
Jan 26 Clement Straub, Jacob & Liesabeth
Feb 2 Cornelis Schermerhoren, Hend. & Elsye
Jan 2 Joh. Casper Lourer, Matt & Ann Marg.
Feb 25 Wilhelm May, Peter & Susanna
Feb 28 Jan Goes, Eph*m & Cornelia
Jan 20 Henrich Buys, Jan & Liesabeth
Mar 21 Velten Kuhn, Samuel & Lisabeth
Feb 9 Anna Margreta Defou, Abraham & Maria Cath.
Jan 20 John Davis, Reis & Abigail
Mar 5 Anna Eva Linck, Niclas & Anna Cath*a
Mar 21 Barbara Lawrence, John & Mary
Feb 7 Rebecca Velter, Philip & Catharina
Mar 22 Jost Henrich Zipperle, Michiel & Regina
Jan 15 Symen Neher, Frans & Rebecca
Mar 19 Johan Niclas Waldorff, Englebert & Gertrand
Jan 25 Petrus Heydorn, Heurich & Barbara
Feb 3 Lena Wibbek, Peter & Christina
Jan 27 Joh. Philipp Bartel, Andreas & Sophia Liese
Feb 26 Levinus Bond, Thys & Teunisje
Jan 1 Liese Gertrud Kuhu, Herman & Anna Gertrude
Mar 27 Catharina Kilmer, Philip & Anna Marg.
Mar 16 Willem Halenbek, Casper Willemse & Sara
Mar 24 Lisabeth Kieffer, Jo. Balthas & Christiana
Mar 30 Annatje Behr, Herman & Martene
Apr 1 Lisabeth Paterick, Jonathan & Lea
Mar 14 Dyek Skuyter, Cornelis & Johanna
Apr 18 Jacob Dingman, Gerhardus & Sara
Apr 18 Debora Knickerbacker, Cornelis & Anna
Apr 18 Jannetje Karrel, Ludewig & Catharina
Apr 19 Geertje Tynhout, Petrus & Rebecca
Apr 19 Anna Marg. Pulver, Peter & Susanna
Apr 19 Jacob Dyk, Hannes & Engel
Mar 6 Jannetje Williamse, Will. & Neeltje
Apr 5 Veronica Loscher, Hannes & Anna Maria
Apr 20 Jannetje Knickerbacker, Herman & Cath*a
Apr 23 Johannes Bacchus, Joh. Jonas & Gertruyd
Mar 20 Maria Klauw, Hannes & Maria
May 3 Jacob Herdyk, William & Anna Cath.
May 7 Maria Bortel, Balthas & Maria
May 1 Luisabeth Neher, Niclas & Maria Barbel
May 6 Velten Loscher, Bastian & Liesabeth
May 6 Frederick Loscher, Bastian & Liesabeth
May 11 Sara Carteret, Thomas & Margreta
May 21 Christina Lagrangie, Izaak & Maria
Aug 22 Gertruyd Tree, Philip & Catharina
Jun 25 Johs. v. Wormer, Laurens & Judith
Jun 8 Leendert v. Hoesen, Hannes & Sara
Jun 23 Conrad Borgard, Peter & Amalia
Jul 2 Gertrand Scherp, Jo. Peter & Eva
May 27 Samuel Proper, Frid. & Susanna
May 25 Anna Michel, Henr. & Marytje
Jun 18 Maria Williamse, Wm. & Mary
Jul 9 Johannes Rausch, Joh. Caspar & Anna Cath.
Jun 29 Anna Wolffen, Joh. & Anna Marg.
Jul 5 Abraham v. Loon, Hannes & Jannetje
Aug 7 Catharina Maccay, John & Marytje
Jul 21 Cornelis Wormer, Fred. & Gritje
Jul 31 Helena v. Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Aug 19 Maria Liese Kopper, Jo. Matthias & Anna Liese
Aug 20 Hans Jurge Premer, Hans Jurge & Anna
Jul 19 Joseph Reichard, David & Anna Elis.
Aug 20 Hannes Peter Magdanel, Chas. & Maria
Aug 20 Niclas Bassaan, Conr. & Catharina
Aug 22 Dyrk Wodkok, Izaak
Aug 22 Luycas v. Arnheim, Izaak & Jannetje
Aug 18 Andries Brasy, Hend. & Elisabeth
Aug 20 Anna Barbel Philip, Michel & Anna Marg.
Aug 7 Johannes Will, Wilhelm & Anna Marg.
Aug 4 Petrus Laux, Peter & Neeltje
Aug 26 Albertus v. Wormer, Lawrens & Marytje
Sep 5 Hannes Graad, Henr. & Maria Catha.
Sep 7 Cornelia v. Shayk, Jan & Marytje
Sep 2 Johannes Lowenstein, Peter & Anna Apollonia
Sep 18 Wilhelmus Brandau, Hannes & Jannetje
Sep 12 Engel Brasy, Christopher & Agnetje
Oct 29 Philip Fuhrer, Christian & Maria Lis.
Oct 20 Lisabeth Schmid, Jo. Thys. & Mar. Susanna
Oct 25 Annatje Rausch, Nicl. & Greta
Oct 9 Robbert Roorbach, Jurge & Tobyta
Nov 5 Marytje Schutz, Hend. & Christyne
Oct 21 Anna Barbel Hagedorn, Wilhelm & Anna Barbel
Oct 7 Eva Schumacher, Philip & Martene
Nov 6 Johannes v. Ostrande, Peter & Marya
Nov 12 Fytje v. Salzberger, Cornelis & Catha.
Nov 12 Janneke v. Hoesen, Jurge & Jannetje
Dec 5 Rachel v. Hoesen, Jan Casp. & Hendrykje
Dec 13 Petrus Halenbek, Jan Casperssen & Marytje
Dec 18 Marytje Herder, Jacob & Marytje
Dec 26 Petrus Maurer, Hannes & Susanna
Dec 15 Carol Michel, Anthony & Margreta
Oct 30 Maria Barbel Diel, Marten & Martena
Dec 5 Andries Rees, Willem & Marytje
Jan 18 Maria Valkenburger, Hans Hieronimus
Jan 13 Johannes Rosman, Conrad & Susanna
Jan 13 Janneke v. Hoesen, Gerrit & Jannetje
Jan 16 Agnese Dieterich, Christian & Margreta
Jan 1 Jo. Jurge Loscher, Conrad & Engel
Feb 4 Veronica Loscher, Jurge & Lisabeth
Jan 21 Henrich Marten, Henr. & Lisabeth
Feb 2 Jan Peers, Abraham & Catharina
Feb 16 Johs. Wilhelm Peltzer, Jo. Thys & Anna Marg.
Feb 9 Johannes Kilmer, Jurge & Anna Marg.
Feb 8 Gabriel Whitbeck, Jan & Annatje
Feb 19 Jacob Brasy, Christophel & Catharina
Feb 19 Wysand Brasy, Christophel & Catharina
Jan 18 Catharina Brandau, Niclas & Elisabeth
Feb 13 Johannes Frolich, Johs. & Anna Margreta
Feb 2 Annathe Neltz, Sam. & Alida
Feb 26 Jacobus Dietrich, Jurge Wilh. & Cathar. Elis.
Mar 2 Jannetje Bond, Thys & Teuntje
Feb 2 Jacobus Bond, Hendr. & Rebecca
Apr 1 Hannes Matestock, Jo. Dieter & Eva Maria
Mar 23 Peter Janssen, Peter & Anna Maria
Mar 3 Lisabeth Brandau, Frid. & Maria
Apr 13 Luykas Taylor, James & Rachel
Mar 22 Mary Halenbek, Jacob, Jr. & Rachel
Mar 21 Lisabeth Kaningk, Joris & Alida
Apr 17 Rachel Evertse, Evert & Marya
Mar 22 Wilhelm Schmid, Niclas & Anna
Apr 26 Niclas Schmid, Jurge & Catharina
May 1 Anna Schurtz, Andr. & Catharina
Feb 27 Anna Hagedorn, Jac. & Mar. Barbel
May 7 Johannes Finger, Hannes & Catharina
May 26 Joh. Wil. Putz, Ludewig & Rebecca
Jan 12 Anna Catha. Weiser, Frid. & Catharina
Feb 23 Anna Maria Dingmans, Adam & An. Eva
Apr 20 Catharina Muller, Martin & Gertryd
Dec 3 Cornelia Silbernagel, Adam & Lisabeth
Mar 1 Jo. Friderich Klein, Frider. & Rebecca
Mar 2 Thys de Duitscher, Henr. & Lena
Apr 28 Coenrad Borgard, Gerrit & Marytje
Apr 19 Willem Sluyter, Niclas & Ariantje
Apr 20 Gerrit v. Salzberger, Hannes & Jobje
Feb 8 Henrich Schauer, Adam & Marytje
May 16 Johannes Kilmer, Simon & Lisabeth
Feb 15 Michiel Halenbek, Jan & Catharina
Jan 5 Andries Schut, Hend. & Gertruyd
Mar 22 Cornelia Halenbek, Michiel & Christyne
Mar 2 Marya Janssen, Dyrk & Cornelia
May 29 John Lewis, John & Anna Cath.
Jun 7 Maria Liese Schultheis, Jan Jac. & Anna Dorothea
Jun 10 Anna Margreta Cassellman, Wilh. & Anna Marg.
Jun 14 Johannes Becker, Arend & Catharina
Jun 27 Annatje Lehman, Clement & Gertrud
Jun 9 Lena Van de Karre, Salomon & Lena
Jul 4 Agnesa Flora Keller, Conrad & Maria Barbel
Jun 21 Dyrk Brasy, Gabriel & Jannetje
Jul 16 Marytje Maccay, John & Marytje
May 12 Johannes v. Wormer, Lauwrenz Louwr. & Judykje
Jul 18 Hermanus v. Salzberger, Casper & Catharine
Aug 20 Wilhs. Marten, Frid. & Maria Eva
Aug 1 Coenrad Janssen, Jochem & Eytje
Aug 1 Lena Janssen, Jochem & Eytje
Aug 25 Hannes Klauw, Gerrit & Elsje
Sep 20 Margritje Schermerhoren, Hannes & Neeltje
Aug 23 Lisabeth Mysick, Thomas & Sibylia
Oct 21 Andreas Schauerman, Emmerich & Anna Maria
Sep 17 Jacob Moon, Hannes & Catharina
Sep 17 Jo. Philip Conrad, Jo. Phil. & Anna Marg.
Sep 24 Henrich Kreisler, Hannes & Eva Cat.
Sep 11 Sara Hicky, David & Marytje
Sep 14 Marya Sluyter, Will. & Anna Marg.
Oct 1 Philip Schur, Willem & Lena
Sep 15 Ephraim Wibbek, Peter & Christyna
Oct 17 Betty Cammel, James & Sara
Jul 25 Aard Binnewe, Jax. & Lisabeth
Oct 17 Jurge Klopper, Henr. & Anna
Oct 19 Johannes Milius, Joh. & Mar. Elis.
Oct 23 Anna Cath. Jacobi. Joh. Wilh. & Anna Eva
Oct 8 Maria v. Wormer, Lawrence Cornelisse & Marytje
Oct 31 Jan v. Hoesen, Niclas & Sara Justa.
Nov 27 Gertruyd Kreissler, Hans Jurge & Christyna
Nov 9 Lisabeth Loscher, Hannes & Anna Maria
Nov 28 Marya Herdyk, Frans & Marytje
Nov 20 Judith Klauw, Frans & Marytje
Nov 22 Magdalena Halenbek, Martin & Annatje
Dec 25 Janneke v. Hoesen Jurge & Jannetje
Dec 22 Arend Brandauw, Hannes & Jannetje
Dec 19 Zacharias Zitzer, Martin & Salame
Dec 14 Eva Lise. Catha. Bauhus, Jo. Peter & Eva Maria
Oct 21 James Welthen, Antony & Lisabeth
Dec 25 Jo. Frid. Bernhard, Jo. Jast & Maria Christina
Oct 31 Anna Marg. Kuhn, Jo. Herman & Anna Cath.
Nov 30 Jo. Christian Dinges, Dietrich & Maria Magdalen
Nov 1 Laaurenz Knickerbacker, Hannes & Jacomyntje
Feb 7 Petrus Dingman, Gerardus & Saartje
Mar 17 Abraham Woodkok, Izaak & Dina
Apr 9 Coenraad Lagrangie, Izaak & Marytje
May 31 Gerrit v. Hoesen, Gerrit Jansse & Jannetje
May 11 Maria Schram, Jo. Wilh. & Maria Liese
Apr 19 Maria Heydorn, Henr. & Barbel
Jun 22 Catlyntje Schermerhoren, Corn*s & Marg.
Jun 22 Maria Brett, Joh*s & Evye
May 31 Rachel Dingmans, Hannes & Goesche
Jun 13 Abraham v. Loon, Claas & Rachel
Jun 16 Catlyntje v. Loon, Hannes & Jannetje
Jul 4 Billetje Cambel, Bernhard & Sara
May 25 Hans Carl Gunther, Hans Carl & Ursula
May 26 Anna Cath Hagadorn, Jacob & An. Barbel
Jan 13 Marytje Plank, Ludovicus & Marytje
Jan 10 Marytje Neher, Frans & Rebecca
Jan 3 Carl Neher, Nicl. & Barbel
Jan 20 Samuel Halenbek, Casp. Willemse & Sara
Feb 16 Maria Emmerich, Johan jr. & Catharina Liese
Feb 1 Anna Marg Fuhrer, Velter & Catharina
Feb 20 Gritje Becker, Christian & Annatje
Feb 27 Jacob Straub, Henr. & Mar. Cathar.
Feb 25 Jacob Faber, Peter & Anna Maria
Feb 29 Sara Rees, Hend. & Jannetje
Feb 20 Jonathan Herdyk, William & Anna Cath.
Mar 5 Johannes Minckler, Joh. & Catharina
Feb 1 Thomas Wells, James & Lisabeth
Feb 11 Hannes Daal, Hannes & Lisabeth
Mar 2 Gertrud Schulthers, Philip & Anna Maria
Apr 7 Christina Philip, Michel & Anna Marg.
Apr 13 Anna Eva Plass, Henr. & Lise Catharina
Mar 14 Jo. Marcus Loscher, Bastian jr. & Lisabeth
Feb 10 Maria Martene Scheffer, Hannes & Rosina
Mar 4 Johannes Spikerman, Philip & An. Barbel
Feb 18 Niclas Michel, Andreas & Susanna
Apr 13 Jacob Schmid, Jurge & Barbel
Mar 29 Maria Barbel Sladerer, Jacob & Maria
Feb 20 Regina Scheffer, Hans Velten & Maria Barbel
Feb 2 Abraham Vosburg, Jacob & Hester
Feb 27 Maria Susanna Link, Nich. & Catharina
Apr 9 Cornelia Hoes, Ephraim & Cornelia
Apr 12 John Wood, Edw. & Susanna
Apr 10 Jo. Balthazar Kieffor, Jo. Balth. & Christina
Mar 21 Margreta Winklel, Jac. & Margreta
Apr 4 Maria Morrison, Ja*s & Lisabeth
Mar 21 Catharina Maurer, Hannes & Susanna
Apr 11 Hannes Elig, Hans Jurge & Catharina
Apr 19 Christina Frolich, Hannes & Anna Marg.
May 15 Niclas Kerner, Ludewig & Catharina
Feb 20 Cornelia Knickerbacker, Cornelius & Annatje
Apr 3 Adriantje v. Deusen, Hend. & Neeltje
Feb 13 Jo. Niclas Laurer, Jo. Matth. & Anna Marg.
Apr 31 Johannes Brasy, Hend. & Lisabeth
Jan 17 Lauwrenz Deutscher, Gabriel & Lisabeth
Feb 7 Jo. Niclas Rausch, Jo. Nich. & An. Margr.
Mar 8 Petrus Sluyter, Cornelis & Johanna
Feb 14 Andreas Rauw, Michel & Ann Maria
Mar 24 Philip Lot, Balthasar & Lisabeth
Apr 20 Jost Henrich Reichard, David & Anna Lisabeth
Feb 25 Michel Beber, Michel & Ann Maria
Mar 12 Maria Christ. Rausch, Joh. & Anna Cath*a
Feb 21 Jacob v. Deusen, Gort & Lisabeth
Mar 25 Niclas Bernhard, Joh*s & Gertryd
May 29 Anna Maria Rinck, Chris. & Mar. Magdaline
May 12 Joh. Niclas Schmid, Henr. & Lisabeth
May 23 Anna Schmid, Michel & Anna Marg.
May 29 Hanna Petri, Joh. & Maria Cathr.
May 23 Thomas Bennet, Joh. & Catharina
Jul 2 Lisabeth Kurtz, Joh. & Lisabeth
Jul 20 Maria West, Wm. & Maria Liese
Jul 20 Friderich Maul, Hannes & Lisabeth
Jul 5 Jacob Schneider, Hans Peter & Anna Mar.
Jul 22 Casper Klauw, Hannes & Marytje
Jul 17 Jan Bond, Thys & Teuntje
Aug 18 Adam Matestock, Joh. Dieter & Eva
Aug 15 Joh. Frid. Marten, Joh. Frid. & Maria Eva
Sep 1 Anna Borgard, Peter & Amatia
Aug 16 Gerrit v. Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Aug 24 Emmetje v. Salzberger, Corn*s & Catharina
Sep 21 Marytje Marten, Henr.
Sep 17 Janneke v. Hoesen, Hannes & Sara
Jul 6 Rosian Michel, Authon & Anna Marg.
Sep 17 Elsje Schermerhoren, Hannes & Christ.
Oct 5 Maria, Tobias, a free and baptized negro
Oct 19 Jacob Dingman, Adolphus & Anna
Oct 10 Jacob Hoogteling, Henr. & Christyne
Nov 2 Joh. Henr. Simon, Joh. & Maria Baron
Nov 2 Elis Will, Will*m & Marg.
Sep 24 Catharina Misick, Thomas & Sibylla
Jul 20 Lizabeth Simon, Balth. & Lisabeth
Nov 2 James Robbijon, John & Janneke
Nov 2 Annatje Schultz, Henr. & Ann Christina
Oct 23 Jacob Eigener, Joh Jac. & Anna Marg.
Oct 7 Arend v. Wormer, Fred & Gritje
Oct 20 Jan Herder, Jac. & Marytje
Oct 27 Christyne Schmid, Conrad & Jannetje
Nov 17 Adam Behr, Herman & Maria Martene
Nov 7 Catharina Carew, John & Marg.
Dec 16 Jacob v. Hoesen, Jac. Jacobse & Cath.
Nov 28 Cath. Moor, Jan & Eytje
May 16 Johannes v. Deusen, Hartmann & Marg.
Nov 16 Catharina Schumacher, Jo. Phil. & Martena
Nov 10 Zacharias Proper, Frid. & Susanna
Nov 6 Marytje Donnaly, Charles & Marya
Dec 18 Conrad Schmid, Jo. Thys & Maria Susanna
Dec 26 Cornelis Sluyter, Claes & Ariantje
Dec 31 Johannes Heitzrood, Henr. & Ana. Maria
Nov 5 Daniel Crosman, John & Lidia
Jan 13 Maria Janssen, John & Maria
Jan 16 Anna Lis. Proper, Peter & Rachel
Jan 19 Annatje Spoor, Jan & Rebecca
Feb 3 Jacob v. Hoesen, Frans & Marytje
Mar 3 Lena Janssen, Jochem & Eytje
Feb 15 Elisabeth Brasy, Christoph & Agnetje
Feb 24 Jannetje Becker, Arend & Catharina
Mar 13 Catharina Laux, Pieter & Neeltje
Mar 29 Petrus Brandau, Nic. & Elisabeth
Mar 23 Cornelis Jansssen, Pieter & Anna Maria
Apr 2 Marytje Schauerman, Peter & Annatje
Apr 7 Jan v. Hoesen, Jurge Jansse & Marytje
Apr 30 Catharina Evertse, Evert & Marya
May 3 Elisabeth v. Hoesen, Jan Casperse & Hendrykye
Jun 4 Marya Herder, Michael & Hilletje
Jun 14 Marya v.Loon, Jan Albertse & Rebecca
Apr 27 Maria Dings, Jo. Adam & Anna Eva
May 22 Jo. Adam Miller, Martin & Gertrud.
Mar 7 Annatje Wilden, Anthony & Elisabeth
Jun 1 Maria Kupfer, Martin & Lisabeth
Apr 7 Willem Ries, Willem & Marytje
Apr 2 Anna Cath Bernhard, Jost & Maria Christa.
Feb 5 Eva Schauer, Adam & Maria
Jun 23 Willem Janssen, Dryk & Cornelia
Jun 16 Anna Cath. Dinnies, Dieter & Maria Magd.
Apr 21 David Deutscher, Henr. & Lena
Apr 22 Rebecca Klein, Frid. & Rebecca
Jun 16 Sara Boys, Robert & Lisabeth
May 2 Jacob Frolig, Hannes & Anna Marg.
Jun 15 Jacob Best, Jac. Jr. & Catharina
May 23 Elisabeth Elig, Joh. & An. Gertrand
May 16 Benjamin Schmid, Nicl. & Anna
Apr 18 Anna Maria Schut, Abm. & Jannetje
May 28 Rachel Ham, Martin & Maria
Mar 18 Anna Combs, Sam. & Martena
Jun 5 Albert Van Schayk, Jan & Marytje
Jul 19 Andreas Blessing, Andreas
Jul 23 Brechje Bond, Hendryk & Rebecca
Jul 13 Martene Halenbek, Jac. jr. & Rachel
Aug 21 Lisabeth Decker, Johs, & Catharina
Aug 21 Lisabeth Schermerhoren, Hannes & Neeltje
Aug 24 Rulof Duytscher, Gabriel & Lisabeth
Aug 20 Esther Hoffman, Zacarias & Mary
Aug 19 Annatje Van Wormer, Laurens & Marytje
Sep 13 John Frees, Jacob & Rebecca
Sep 16 Petrus Becker, Christian & Anna
Sep 28 Johannes & Hannes Jurge Passage (twins), Henrich & Sophia
Oct 7 Anna Maria Scheffer, Hannes & Anna
Aug 20 Jacob Witbeck, Jan & Adriantje
Sep 25 Petrus Esselstein, Izaak & Lisabeth
Sep 16 Cornelis Van Salzberger, Hannes & Tobje
Oct 16 Eva Rockfelder, Dieter & Anna
Oct 28 Lisabeth Buys, Jan & Lisabeth
Oct Martene Lampman, Casper & Lisabeth
Nov 2 Christopher Platner, Jac. & Sybylla
Dec 3 Catherine Schram, Jo. Wilh. & Maria Lise
Dec 15 Catharina Eigener, Jo. Frid. & Christina
Dec 17 Lisabeth Straub, Henr. & Maria Catha.
Nov. 30 Cornelis Witbeck, Pieter & Christyne
Oct 22 Jacob Vosburg, Izaak & Hanna
Nov 4 Abraham Halenbek, Michiel & Christyna
Dec 25 Jurge Valkenburg, Jochem & Elsje
Dec 24 Hendryk Scheffer, Johannes & Rosina
Dec 11 Peter Schmid, Jurge & Barbel
Dec 16 Joh. Jacob Hagedorn, Wilh. & An. Barbel
Aug 9 Rachel Ellin, Izaak & Gritje
Sep 8 Lisabeth Silbernagel, Adam & Lisabeth
Jul 14 Geesche Borghard, Gerrit & Marytje
Dec 14 Johannes Rausch, Nic. & Anna Marg.
Aug 23 Annatje Rees, Andries & Sarah
Oct 5 Martene Kerner, Ludewig & Catharine
Nov 17 Conrad Rausch, Joh. & Catharine
Jan 8 Jan v. Hoesen, Hend. & Anna Cath.
Jan 20 Izaak v. Wormer, Laurenz Lowrense & Judith
Jan 27 Marytje Bond, Thys & Theuntje
Jan 26 Mary Halenbek, Jan & Hendrikye
Feb 4 Christina Elisabeth Stahl, Henr. & An. Margaret
Jan 20 Jacobus Maurer, Hannes & Susanna
Jan 25 Cornelis Halenbek, Casper Will. & Sara
Jan 16 Justus v. Hoesen, Niclaas & Sara Justa.
Feb 13 Jan v. Hoesen, Jurge Jansse & Jannetje
Feb 25 Jacob v. Deusen, Izaak & Fytje
Feb 16 Lisabeth Fuhrer, Hannes & Anna Marg
Feb 28 Hannes Heuser, Uriel & Catharina
Jan 29 Jacob Schermerhoren, Cornelis & Annatje
Mar 22 Anna Schurtz, Andreas & Catharina
Jan 19 John Maccay, John & Marytje
Feb 27 Thomas Rees, Hend. & Jannetje
Jan Christins Kurtz, Hannes & Elizabeth
Feb 2 Catharina Schauerman, Emmerich & Cath.
Feb 3 Margreta Haber, Peter & Maria
Feb 15 Christina Philip, Nic. & Christina
Mar 16 Christina Wefer, Peter & Else Cath.
Mar 4 Tryntje Buys, Arie & Gritje
Mar 28 Tryntje Ostrande, Hannes & Machtel
Jan 22 Catharina Spikerman, Philip & Ann Barbel
Mar 4 Jacob Simon, Michael & Barbel
Mar 25 Abraham v. Hoesen, Jacob & Gertruyd
Apr 5 Abraham Herdyk, Willem & Catharina
Feb 20 Agneta Herdyk, Willem & Catharina
Oct 25 Maria Gertrud Bernard, Johannes & Maria Gert.
Jan 9 Lisabeth Helmer, Bernh. & Lisabeth
Apr 22 Jannetje Bennet, Hannes & Tryntje
Apr 5 Catharina Minckler, Joh. & Catharina
Apr 17 Gertruyd Van de Karre, Salomon & Lena
May 27 Lisabeth Williams, Dan. & Maria
May 27 Abraham v. Deusen, Robies & Catharine
May 27 Simeon Sothwell, Elieser & Maria
Jan 13 Herman Knickerbacker, Hannes & Jaconyntje
Mar 6 Philip Finkel, Jurge Phil. & Lisabeth
May 10 Anna Marg. Zeller, Elias & Maria Barbel
May 10 Anna Barbel Rink, Christoffe & Mar. Marten
May 27 Anna Marg. Weldman, Martin & Anna Maria
May 17 Jacob Bauzer, Anton & Cathar.
Aug 15 Rebecca Bartery, Thomas & Lisabeth
May 30 Myndert Lagrangie, Jacobus & Engeltje
May 21 Jurge Klauw, Frans & Marytje
July 11 Hannes Dingman, Dolphus & Annatje
Jul 4 Michiel Hoes, Ephraim & Cornelia
Jul 23 Petrus Janssen, Jochem & Eytje
Jun 6 Casper and Rachel Huyk, Johannes & Engeltje
Jun 3 Marytje Kieffer, Balthas & Christina
Aug 14 Agnetje Frolich, Hannes & An. Margreta
Aug 10 Jacobus Dieterich, Jurge Wilh. & Cath. Elis.
Jul 31 Willem Springsteen, Abr. & Antje
Aug 11 Jacobus, Petrus (a slave)
Jul 7 Anna Maria Plass, Henr. & Lis. Cathar.
Jul 23 Samuel Miller, Jonal & Elisabeth
Jun 30 Catharina Philip, Michel & An. Marg.
Aug 23 Gertrude Heuser, Peter & Christina
Aug 8 Anna Sliever, David & Catharina
Aug 22 Jacob Hardyk, Francis & Marytje
Jul 31 Richard Moor, Jan & Eltje
Aug 3 Gertruyd Rees, Hend. & Elsje
Aug 23 Lisabeth v. Loon, Hannes & Jannetje
Aug 1 Lea v. Hoesen, Casp. Jans & Maria
Jul 20 Uyte Rosman, Conrad & Susanna
Aug 10 Jacob Keller, Conrad & Mar. Barbel
Aug 22 Jannetje Hoogteeling, Hendr. & Christina
Jul 16 James Brasy, Gabriel & Jannetje
Jun 21 Marytje Brasy, Teunis & Catharinna
Jun 4 Joh. Herman Loscher, Bastian jr. & Lisab.
Sep 4 Anna Barbara Schmid, Michel & An. Mar.
Sep 26 Janneke v. Hoesen, Gerrit Jansse & Jannetje
Sep 16 Marteenje Klauw, Hannes & Marytje
Sep 20 Cornelis Halenbek, Marten & Annaatje
Nov 27 Willem Schermerhoren, Hannes & Christ*a
Oct 20 Jannetje v. Salzberger, Cornelis & Catharina
Dec 9 Jacob Staats, Hanns & Alida
Dec 5 Margretje Eswyn, Wendel & Gerritje
Dec 6 Catharine v. Hoesen, Jurge Jansse & Marg.
Oct 9 Abraham v. Deusen, Hend. & Neeltje
Sep 10 Jacob Prenner, Hannes Jurge & Anna
Jan 8 Francis Macterny, Fr. & Christina
Jan 6 Lisabeth Kreissler, Hans Jurge & Christina
Jan 16 Betty Dossy, Peter & Isabell
Jan 19 Joh. Frans Bartel, Balthasar & Maria
Jan 22 Dyrk Schmid, conrad & Jannetje
Feb 1 Johannes Marten, Henr. & Elisabeth
Mar 5 Lisabeth Funck, Wilh. & Anna Juliana
Feb 28 Joh. Hendr. Miller, Hans Jurge & An. Barb*a
Mar 11 Philipp Graad, Gabriel & Catharina
Feb 18 Elisabeth Scherp, Laurenz & Geesche
Feb 25 Marya Spoor, Jan & Rebecca
Mar 24 Jan Bond, Jac. & Annatje
Mar 23 Eva Herder, Joh. Peter & Lisabeth
Feb 28 Jannetje Schauerman, Peter & Annatje
Jan 25 Jonathan Cauck, Joseph & Alida
Apr 9 Jan Bond, Evert & Marytje
Apr 16 Marya v. Wormer, Lauw. & Marya
Apr 15 Anna Marg. Loscher, Joh*s & Anna Maria
May 7 Willem Torner, Gysbert & Agnete
May 7 Jacob Enters, Henr. & Anna Maria
May 7 Wysand Kohl, Henr. & Marg.
Apr 10 Johannes Loot, Balth. & Lisabeth
May 7 Jacob Miller, Martin & Gertryd
Feb 6 Margrete Rees, Willem & Cathar.
Mar 14 Gertrud Decker, Stoffel & Susanna
Jan 12 John Winniger, Gerrit & Cathar.
Mar 26 Edward Moor, Tetetya & Dorothea
Mar 26 Anna Maria Deichard, David
May 14 Joh. Marx Platner, Jacob
Mar 14 Christina Cath. Wohb, Godf. & Helena Cathar.
Apr 29 Eytje Lagrangie, Christian & Marytje
May 12 Debora Decher, Hannes & Catha.
May 13 Andreas Laux, Peter & Neeltje
May 10 Joost Henr Zipperie, Mich. & Regina
Jun 12 Jacob Evertse, Evert & Marya
Jun 20 Volkye v. Hoesen, Hannes & Sara
July 11 Catharine Borghard, Peter & Amalia
July 9 Jacob Matestock, Jo. Dieter & Eva Mar.
Jun 26 Gretje Schoemaker, Jacob & Lisabeth
Jul 2 Joseph West, William & Mar. Lisab.
Jul22 Izaak v. Loon, Claas & Rachel
Jul 2 John Dorens, Thomas & Mally
Jun 28 Jacob Widerwach, Andreas & Anna
Jun 2 Joh*s Combs, Samuel & Mar. Mart.
Jul 27 William Lawry, John & Marytje
Jul 27 Jannetje Brassy, Christoph & Cath*a
Jun 6 Andreas Brasy, Christoffel & Agnetje
Jul 5 Lisabeth Petri, Johann & Cathar.
May 19 Johannes Kruger, Joh. Jurge & Margr.
Jul 23 Jan Bronck, Peter jr. & Rachel
Mar 2 Michel Stoppelbein, Jac. & An. Margr.
Aug 3 Jan Herder, Michel & Hilletye
July 3 Anna Piels, Michel & Barbara
Aug 8 Anna Schumacher, Philip & Martena
Aug 18 Cath*a Hommel, Jurge & Gritje
Jun 11 Anna Brandauw, Nicl. & Elisabeth
Aug 16 Joh. And Petrus Wolf, Goof. & Gertruyd
Aug 25 Margreta Schmid, Nicl. & Annatje
Aug 26 Conrad Esselstyn, Izaak & Lisabeth
Aug 7 Johannes Schurtz, David & Cathar.
Aug 25 Lisabeth v. Deusen, Gort. & Lisabeth
Sep 2 Henrich Schneider, Conrad & Susanna
Aug 26 Petrus Diez, Johannes & Marytje
Sep 21 Catlyntje Schermerhoren, Hannes & Neeltje
Sep 11 Lisabeth Brandauw, Hannes & Jannetje
Oct 29 Petrus Beels, John (weggeloopen Irishman) & Annatje
Oct 21 Susanna Scheffer, Hannes & Lisabeth
Oct 1 Jo. Michel Laurer, Jo. Matthys & Anna Mary
Oct 27 Jurge Deter, Hannes & Catharina
Nov 6 Salome Rosenberger, Jac. & Regina
Dec 4 Johannes Halenbek, Jan & Hendrykje
Nov 16 Catharina Halenbek, Jacob jr. & Rachel
Dec 7 Maria Frolich, Hannes & Margreta
Nov 30 Wilhelm May, Peter & Cath. Susanna
Dec 10 Petrus Hochenberger, Hen. & Brasilla
Jun 1 Jan Borghard, Gerrit & Marytje
Dec 5 Margrete Izzaksson, Pieter & Ceiltje
Nov 17 Ephraim Halenbek, Michiel & Christyna
Dec 5 Joh. Adam Klein, Jo. Frid. & Rebecca
Dec 9 John Lomer, Thomas & Sara
Oct 24 Cornelia Wyt, Izaak & Lena
Sep 28 Mally Lomes, Jacob & Annatje
Jun 11 Sara v. Deusen, Jacobus & Cath*a
Apr 20 Rachel Ramsey, Jos. & Mary
Apr 29 Dunkyn Macerter, Nil. & Mary
Jul 26 Jacobus Wieler, Jacob & Jacomyntje
Oct 27 Abraham de Deutscher, Henr. & Helena
Jan 1 Bastian Straub, Joh. Henr. & Mar. Cath.
Jan 10 Gerritje v. Hoesen, Hend. & Anna Cath.
Jan 9 Geesche Janssen, Peiter & Anna Maria
Jan 29 Izaak Lassing, Izaak & Sara
Feb 8 Wilhelm Schram, Jo. Wilh. & Maria Lisab.
Jan 31 Wilhelm Halenbek, Jan Casperse & Marytje
Feb 6 Maria Klauw, Gerrit & Elsje
Feb 22 Emmetje Van Salzberger, Hannes & Jobye
Feb 16 Jacob v. Hoesen, Jurge & Jannetje
Feb 3 Jurge Emmerich, Matthys & Marytje
Mar 24 Mary Ophram, John & Emmetje]
Apr 5 Elisabeth Ebbersse, Egbert & Rachel
Feb 28 Jochem Thomas, Benj. & Lisabeth
Mar 24 Hennryk Schermerhoren, Hannes Hendr. & Christyna
Apr 4 Jan Casoerse v. Wormer, Lawrenz jr. & Judith
Mar 17 Jonathan Rees, Hend. Jonathan & Jannetje
Apr 3 Margretje Livingston, Dan*l & Lisabeth
May 3 Joh. Casper Lampman, Jo. Casper & Lisab.
May 3 Wynand Silbernagel, Adam & Lisabeth
Feb 24 Salomon Schut, Abraham & Jannetje
Jan 22 Wilhelm Spikerman, Phil. & Anna Bart.
Feb 18 Izaak v. Deusen, Izaak & Feytje
Mar 15 William Karr, W*m & Catharina
May 3 Jannetje Schut, Willem & Lena
May 3 Hannes Rees, Wm & Marythe
Mar 21 Anna Marg. Schumacher, Jurge Michael & Cath.
Apr 28 Abraham Lagrangie, Omie & Marytje
May 27 Catharina Ducalon, Claudy & Jannetje
May 21 Judith v. Hoesen, Casper & Marytje
Jun 10 Christopher Diel, Wilh. & Anna
Apr 30 Petrus Marten, Dyrk & Annatje
Jun 27 Jacob Hagedorn, Peter & Anna
Jul 15 Catharina Hensen, Jurges Pet. & Christina
Jul 15 Catharina Lyk, Hannes & Catharina
Jun 28 Henrich Hober, Peter & An. Maria
Jul 5 Petrus Overbach, Jurrian & Lisabeth
Jul 12 Jacob v. Loon, Jan & Rebecca
Jul 8 Maria Dingman, Gerardus & Sara
Jul 4 Peter Bauchus, Peter & Eva Maria
Jul 18 Margretje Maurer, Hannes & Susanna
Aug 14 Marytje Dermont, Franc. & Christina
Aug 20 Joh. Jurge Laux, Jan & Lisabeth
Jul 24 Abraham v. Aalen, Adam & Catharyntje
Aug 1 Peter Stoppelbein, Henr. & Else
Sep 2 Eva Philips, Wilh. & Ev
Sep 2 Marg. Pommefield, John & Rachel
Jul 7 Daniel Williams, Dan & Maria
Aug 7 Johannes Hener, Jurge & Catharin
Aug 5 Jacob Kamar, Paul & Elisabet
Aug 1 Antony Beaver, Paul & Cornelia
Jul 29 Eva Scheffer, Hannes & Rosina
Jul 10 Lisabeth Heydorn, Henr. & Barbe
Jul 3 Jacob Finger, Hannes & Catharin
Aug 31 Catha. Scherp, Peter & Eva
Aug 18 Eytje Jansen, Jochem & Eytje
Aug 19 Wilhelmus West, William & Maria Lese
Sep 23 Wilhelmus Hoof, Philip & Cornelia
Sep 10 Marga. Herdyk, Francis & Marytje
Sep 28 Nicholas Truely, Sam. & Lisabeth
Oct 4 Marg. Isay, Jeremia & Rebecca
Sep 20 Cath*a Reichard, David & An. Lisabeth
Oct 19 Jo. Martin Klein, Johannes & An. Margreta
Sep 25 Augustinus Kohler, Augustinus & Cath*a
Oct 3 Marie Liese Entes, Henr. & An.Maria
Oct 5 Elsje Staats, Hannes & Alida
Aug 22 Hendryk Scherp, Peter & Christina
Oct 31 Jan v. Loon, Jacob & Catharina
Sec 17 Jacob Michel, Anton & An. Marg.
Dec 10 Catharine Kells, Hendr. & Marg.
Dec 9 Vyt Mysick, Thos. & Sibylla
Dec 31 Hendrykus Rees, Willem & Catharina
Dec 14 Gertruyd Reese, Andreas & Sara
Mar 7 Abijah Lomes, Josia & Abigail
Dec 7 Marytje Sluyton, Cornelis & Annatje
Nov 16 Philip Schmid, Jo. Matthys & Mar.
Oct 31 James Carr, William & Caty
Aug 1 Lisabeth Bernhard, Jost.& Maria Elis.
Oct 17 Lisabeth Bauhus, Hannes & An. Marg.
Jan 27 Rebecca v. Loon, Jacob & Catharina
Jan 16 Casper Halenbek, Marten & Annatje
Jan 13 Annatje v. Hoesen, Jan Casp. & Hendrikye
Feb 5 Izaak Spoor, Jan & Rebecca
Jan 19 Wilhelm Lehman, Jurge & Agneta
Jan 30 Hermanus Bond, Jacob & Ennetje
Feb 15 Cornelia Hoes, Ephraim & Cornelia
Jan 24 Willem Lodderick, Robbert & Elisabeth
Feb 19 Petrus Eigener, Jo. Frid. & Christyna
Mar 3 Martena Hagedorn, Jac. & Mar. Barbel
Feb 4 Lisabeth Schauerman, Peter & Annatje
Feb 27 Catharina Maccay, John & Marytje
Apr 11 Rulof Van de Karre, Salomon & Liena
Apr 9 Andreas Dingman, Adolph & Annatje
May 2 Friderich Bret, Nicolas & Maria
May 10 Cornelis v. Wormer, Louwrenz Cornelisse & Marytje
May 16 Rebeccah Frees, Jacob & Rebecca
May 24 Lydai Lomas, Ebenezer & Anna
Feb 15 Marytje Harvey, Zabulon & Elisabeth
Jan 15 Elisabeth Weiser, Jo. Fried. & Cathar.
Feb John Frossel, Wm. & Neely
Apr 29 Jacomyntje v. Deusen, Jacobus & Cathar.
Apr 7 Jacobus Weldon, John & Elisabeth
Mar 20 Hanna Ramsy, Joseph & Mary
May 24 Johanna Kennely, Wm. & Nelly
Apr 22 Richard Ryth, Joseph & Annatje
Mar 20 Catharina Bond, Thys & Tennitje
Mar 21 Gertrud Frolich, Hannes & An. Marg.
Apr 18 Anna Maria Bremmer, Joh. Jurg. & Anna
Jan 25 Peter Kruger, Hans Jurge & Margr.
May 28 Jannetje Halenbek, Casper Willemse & Sara
Jun 23 Mally Clerk, Wm & Margr.
Jun 23 Jannetje Scherp, Lawrens & Geesche
Jun 15 Philip Graad, Gabriel & Catharina
Jun 16 Martentje Halenbek, Jan Casperse & Marytje
Jun 8 Jo. Jacob Bernhard, Hannes & Gertrud
May 16 Nicolas Weber, Michael & Anna Lies.
Jul 6 Rachel Ebbertse, Egbert & Rachel
Jul 16 Willem Klauw, Hannes & Marytje
Jul 31 Cornelis v.Hoesen, Niclaas & Sarah
Jul 24 Jan Bronck, Peter jr. & Rachel
Jul 6 Rachel Klauw, Frans & Marytje
Aug 18 Helena Platner, Jac. & Sibylla
Jul 8 Cornelis Daniel, Pieter & Dorothea
Jul 17 Altje Esselstein, Izaak & Lisabeth
Aug 18 Marten Lyk, Hannes & Marytje
Aug 24 Annetje Parce, Niclas & Engletje
Aug 18 Marytje v. Hoesen, Gerrit & Jannetje
Aug 14 Gerrit Lagrangie, Omie & Marytje
Sep 26 Jacob, Heiner, Hannes jr. & An. Maria
Sep 24 Johannes Erginer, Jo. Jac. & Marg.
Oct 20 William Etkins, John & Marytje
Oct 20 Augustinus Schen, Teunis & Ann. Maria.
Oct 27 Cornelis Becker, Arend & Catharina
Aug 22 Catharina Davis, Peter & Isabel
Sep 21 Lydia Rees, Wm. & Marytje
Aug 17 Balthes Lot, Andr. & Christina
Oct 10 Lisabeth Diel, Willem & Hanna
Nov 22 Petrus Bogardus, Petrus & Catha.
Oct 4 Marytje Brandauw, Hannes & Jannetje
Nov 17 Samuel Schneider, Conrad & Susanna
Nov 23 Pieter Roseberger, Jac. & Regina
Dec 12 William Weidmann, Jacob & Lisabeth
Dec 12 Lisabeth Dietz, Joh. & Marytje
Nov 13 Jannetje Spoon, Philip & Jannetje
Dec 22 Johannes Miller, Hans Jurge & An. Barb.
Nov 26 Cornelis Schermerhoren, Hannes & Neeltye
Dec 15 Henrich Neher, Niclas & Maria Barbel
Dec 23 Neeltje Sivers, Niclas & Lisabeth
Jul 10 Marten Moor, Jeddia & Dorothea
Oct 26 Matthys v. Deusen, Gerrit & Lisabeth
Aug 9 Kilian Schut, Abr. & Jannetje
Jan 4 Jurian Decker, Hannes & Cathar.
Jan 26 Evert Janssen, Evert & Marytje
Jan 21 Catharina Candel, John & Sophia
Jan 13 Clement Overbach, Jurian 7 Elisabeth
Feb 4 Cornelius Laux, Peter & Neeltje
Jan 30 Rulof Janssen, Pieter & Anna Maria
Mar 6 Anna Maria Evertse, Evert & Maya
Feb 24 Jacob Evertse, Johs. & Susanna
Jan 18 Dorothea Schumacher, Philip & Anna Martene
Mar 28 Lisabeth Witner, Cristoph & Lisabeth
Mar 15 Marya v. Wormer, Fredryk & Gritje
Apr 8 Thomas Ebbers, Jan & Annatje
Apr 13 Eva Dingman, Gerhard & Sarah
Mar 30 Henrich Lampman, Peter jr. & Elisabeth
Apr 10 Petrus Schmid, Jo. Henr. & Christian.
Mar 28 Jacob Elig, Hans Jurge & Elisabeth
Apr 27 Catharina Canik, Josua & Aleeke
Mar 24 Casper Halenbek, Wilh. & Annatje
Mar 29 Louisa Ducalon, Claudy & Jannetje
Apr 27 Jacob Marten, Dryk & Annatje
Jan 20 Catharina Stiller, Hannes & Marya
May 4 Hans Jurge Wohl, Godf. & Lehna
Apr 7 Johannes Michel, Hannes & Margr.
Mar 30 Jacob Rosman, Conrad & Susanna
Apr 5 Catharina Brasy, Christoph & Agneta
May 4 Johannes Brasy, Cornelis & Dorothea
May 4 Henrich Nellinger, Conrad & Anna
May 4 An. Marg. Wagener, Chr. & Gertrud
May 8 Andries Rausch, Hannes & Catha
Apr 3 Joseph Prentop, Wm. & Sara
Feb 24 Eva Gert’d Miller, Martin & Gertrud
Jan 24 Lisabeth Lomes, Thomas & Sarah
Jan 5 Annatje Sluyter, Nic. & Maria
Mar 7 William Wood, John & Eva
Mar 10 Marya Cath. Silbernagel, Nic. & Ariantje
Feb 20 Rachel Halenbek, Jan & Cathar.
Jan 31 William Volcar, Thos. & Francisca
Apr 20 William Trafford, Wm. & Nelle
Apr 6 Nelie Carter, Nehemia & Mally
Mar 2 Marta Klein, Frid. & Rebecca
May 3 Gerrit v. Hoesen, Hannes & Sara
May 11 Lyntje v. Hoesen, Jurge & Jannetje
Apr 30 Maria v. Schayk, Michael & Lena
Apr 5 Marytje Dieterich, Jurge Wilh. & Cathar.
May 15 Wilhelmus Wulf, Godfr. & Gertrud.
May 31 Wilhelmus Becker, Christian & Anna
May 30 Sara Spoor, Jacob & Fytje
Jun 28 Jan Halenbeck, Jan Han. & Hendrykye
Jun 18 Casper Halenbeck, Jan Han. & Hendrykye
Jun 16 Izaak Staats, Hannes & Alida
Aug 6 Elsje Klauw, Gerrit & Elsje
Jun 10 Jannetje v. Salzberger, Hannes & Jobye
Jun 31 Maarya Reese, Hend. Jon. & Jannetje
Aug 6 Hannes Maurer, Hannes & Susanna
Aug 6 Lisabeth Becker, Pieter jr. & Grit.
Aug 12 Friderich Schram, Jo. Wil. & Cath.
Aug 17 Maria Richtmeier, Jurge Wil. & Antje
Aug 13 Rebecca Thomas, Benj. & Lisabeth
Mar 22 Hermanus Hachenberger, Henr. & Bresilla
Aug 2 Gerrit Bauhus, Hannes & Gertruyd
Aug 30 Janneke v. Hoesen, Hendr. & An. Cath.
Jul 29 James Neel, Richard & Alida
Sep 5 George Becraft, Wm. & Sara
Sep 7 Sara Bond, Matthys & Tuyntje
Aug 23 Jannetje Hoofd, Philip & Cornelia
Sep 20 Marya Graad, Gabr. & Catharina
Jun 19 Johannes Muller, Izaak & Elisabeth
Sep 30 Judithje v. Hoesen, Casper & Marytje
Sep 31 Maarytje Dingman, Hannes & Elsje
Oct 25 Rachel v. Loon, Jurge & Lehna
Sep 21 Lena v. Aalen, Adam & Catryntje
Nov 30 David Schauz, David & Marytje
Nov 29 Clement Lehmann, Wilh. & Jannetje
Dec 17 Johannes Laux, Jan & Elisabeth
Sep 6 Cornelis Wormer, Lauwrence Jurge & Juditje
Nov 9 Geesche Schauerman, Peter & Annatje
Jan 1 Jeremias Wormer, Lauw. & Marya
Jan 6 Lisabeth Overbach, Jurge & Lisabeth
Feb 6 Agnetje Bogardus, Petrus & Leybe
Jan 14 Gertrud Lehmann, Jurge & Agnetje
Feb 3 Hannes Vogler, Jo. Casp. & Susanna
Jan 20 Robert Lodrich, Rob. & Lisabeth
Feb 3 Lawrence Macdermont, Fr. & Christina
Mar 4 Albertus v. Loon, Jacob & Catharina
Mar 19 Marya v. Hoesen, Jac. & Annatje
Apr 10 Jan v. Loon, Petrus & Dyrkje
Apr 5 Johs. Velten Land, Hannes & Sara
Apr 14 Benjamin Frolich, Hannes & An. Marg.
Apr 4 Cornelis Halenbek, Marten & Annatje
May 16 Eva v. Loon, Hannes & Jannetje
May 29 Henrich Schmid, Nic. & Annatje
May 30 Lenhard Plank, Jo. Mich. & Annatje
May 21 Albert v. Loon, Jan & Rebecca
Mar 20 Johannes Borghard, Petrus & Eva
Apr 4 Elisabeth Scherp, Peter & Christyntje
May 11 Eva Lap, Christian & An. Maria
May 12 Hilletje Eswyn, Wendel & Gerritje
July 12 Hendryk Dingman, Ludolph & Annetje
Jul 6 Casper Parys, Niclas & Engeltje
Aug 5 Jannetje Herder, Jac. & Marytje
Jul 31 Elisabeth Combs, Sam & Martentje
Sep 11 Catharina Schmid, Jo. Henr. & Christina
Sep 20 Jan v. Wormer, Henddr. & Lena
Sep 5 Tobyas Bond, Jacob & Emmetje
Sep 11 Rulof Janssen, Jochem & Eytje
Sep 18 Annatje Bronck, Pieter jr. & Rachel
Sep 25 Marya Van de Karre, Solomon & Lena
Oct 1 Jan v. Hoesen, Peiter & Lena
Sep 30 Hendrikus Osterhout, Wilhelmus & Marytje
Nov 3 Clement Schram, Jo. Wilh. & Catharina
Nov 8 Frans Klauw, Hannes & Marytje
Nov 8 John Kenedy, Wm. & Nelly
Nov 1 Marytje Scherp, Lawrens & Geesche
Nov 20 Antje v. Hoesen, Jac Jacobi & Catharina
Nov 8 Marytje Goes, Eph. & Cornelia
Nov 9 Francisca Thomas, Benj. & Lisabeth
Dec 27 Cath. Stilter, Jurge & Marytje
Nov 14 Hannes Rauw, Jac. & Jannetje
Dec 10 Clement Schram, Frid. & Christina
Dec 13 Cornelis Huyk, Andreas & Nelletje
Jan 20 Christyntje Halenbek, Wilh. & Annatje
Feb 3 Gerriche Van Hoesen, Nic. & Sara Justa.
Feb 29 Annatje Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Mar 1 Hendrich Jurge, Jurian & Maria
Feb 27 Annatje Bond, Mathyas & Jeurtje
Feb 28 Jan Van Hoesen, Jan Caspersen & Kenrykje
Feb 34 Cannertje Hallenbek, Jan Casper & Marytje
Feb 6 Marya Klow, Willem & Chrystine
Mar 27 Adam Spoor, Jan Hend. & Catharina
Mar 16 Gerritje Schermerhorn, Hans & Neeltje
Apr 7 Isaac Huyck, Hans & Catharina
Mar 11 Stephanus Ducalon, D.
Jan 31 Mary Ellen, David & Mary
Apr 2 Jacob Halenbek, Jacob & Annatje
May 25 Sara Bekker, Arend & Catharina
Apr 24 Cornelia Dingman, Gerhard & Sara
Jun 5 Jacob Baki, Hermanus & Maria
May 4 Eva Sivers, Nic. & Elisabeth
Jul 5 Nicolas Van Schaack, Michael & Lena
Aug 1 Jurge Rossman, Conrad & Susanna
Aug 28 Catherine Rauw, Hannes & Catherine
Aug 21 Catherine Miller, Andries & Grib.
(Up to this date the entire record has been copied. The following is confined to entries relating to families residing in Coxsackie & Athens.)
Staats, Hannes & Alida
Oct 7 Jacob Hallenbeck, Jacob & Rachel
May 29 Jannetje Van Deusen, Martin & Marytje
Dec 7 Justus Faulkner, Benedictus & Jannetje
Dec 17 Rebecca Van Loon, Jurge & Lena
Dec 22 Annetje Engeltje Hallenbeck, Jan Hans & Hendrikje
Dec 24 Jan Van Hoesen, Jacob & Annatje
Dec 19 Fridrich Hansen, Peter & Maria
Jan 12 Annatje Hallenbeck, Martin & Annatje
Jan 28 Wynsard Van Deusen, Robert & Antje
Mar 5 Judyche Van Hoesen, Levynus & Elisabeth
Mar 5 Catherina Van Hoesen, Han & Sara
Mar 17 Jacob Van Loon, Petrus & Drykje
Apr 8 Justus Van Hoesen, Hend. & Anna Cath.
Feb 28 Zacharias Brandow, Hannes & Jannetje
May 18 Gritje Houghtaling, Hend. & Christina
May 12 Cornelius Van Hoesen, Jurge & Jannetje
Jan 12 Cornelia Hallenbeck, Jan Casper & Marytje
Jan 27 Ephraim Bogardus, Ephraim & Annatje
Aug 27 Anje & Rebecca Spoor, Jan & Rebecca
Aug 24 Peter Lampman, Fred & Catherina
Nov 1 Maria Van Hoesen, Peter & Lena
Oct 27 Elisabeth Dederick, Jurge Wm. & Catherine
Nov 14 Judytje Bronk, Peter jr. & Rachel
Dec 26 Jan Bogardus, Peter & Leybe
Jan 10 Willem Van Hoesen, Nicholas & Sara
Jan 9 Isaac Hallenbeck, Willem & Annatje
Jan 20 Jan Van Loon, Jacob & Catherine
Mar 28 Catherine Van Schaick, Michael & Lena
Apr 28 Rebecca Van Loon, Jurge & Lena
May 18 Jan Caspar Klaw, Hans & Marytje
Jun 4 Nicholas Van Hoesen, Caspar & Marytje
Jul 6 Maria Parys, Nicholas & Engeltje
Sep 17 Jacob Van Loon, Petrus & Dyrkje
Oct 14 Albert Hallenbeck, Jacob Hanse & Annetje
Nov 8 Albertus Van Hoesen, Jan Caspar & Hendrike
Sep 15 Jacob Bogardus, Ephraim & Annatje
Oct 16 Jan Folkner, Benedictus & Jannetje
Nov 29 Jacob Van Hoesen, Hans & Sara
Nov 30 Albertus Van Hoesen, Jacob & Annatje
Nov 24 Nicholas Lampman, Hendrick & Marytje
Dec 6 Annatje Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Jan 9 Wilhelminus Lampman, Fred. & Catharine
Feb 27 Marya Van Hoesen, Jac. Jac. & Catharine
Feb 24 Petrus Van Loon, Hans & Jannetje
Mar 14 Cornelis Hallenbeck, Marten & Annatje
Mar 2 Jacob Hallenbeck, Jan Hans & Hendrike
Apr 21 Fritje Brandow, Hans & Jannetje
May 11 Frans Van Hoesen, Levinus & Elisabeth
Aug 13 Ephraim Brandow, Peter
Aug 16 Frederick Raw, Wm. & Maria
(The last baptism of Domine Berkenmeyer)
Feb 25 Nicholas Van Hoesen, Nicholas & Sara
Mar 24 Jannetje Van Hoesen, Petrus & Lena
Mar 30 Jochem Hallenbeck, Wilh. & Annatje
Apr 22 Margarita Van Schaack, Michael & Lena
Jul 9 Jochem Jansen, Peter & Marytje
Jul 6 Caspar Hallenbeck, Jacob Casparse & Antje
Jul 29 Rachel Hallenbeck, Jan & Henrica
Aug 17 Petrus Van Loon, Petrus & Dirkje
Sep 26 Hannes Lampman, Hend. & Marga.
Oct 8 Rodel Van Hoesen, Caspar & Marije
Mar 8 Catharina Jansen, Peter & Eva
Oct 17 Marya Van Loon, Jacob & Catharine
Oct 30 Rodel Van Hoesen, Jac. & Annatje
Oct 27 Hendrick Evertsen, Hendrick & Maria
Nov 9 Fredrich Lampman, Fredrich & Maria
Nov 20 Rodel Klow, Johannes & Marytje
Dec 12 Caspar Hallenbeck, Jac. Hans. & Antje
Dec 16 Rebecca Paree, Nicholas & Engeltje
Dec 7 Jan Van Schaaick, Aaron & Barendje
Mar 25 Rodel de Groot, Cornelis & Wilhelmina
Mar 28 Jannetje Provost, Jacob & Rebecca
Mar 28 Rebecca Van Loon, Jurgen & Sara
May 31 Marya Jansen, John & Nennie
May 3 Marya Van Hoesen, Jurgen & Maria
Sep 10 Catharine Van Hoesen, Jan Caspar & Henrica
Sep 21 Maria Hallenbeck, Jac. Caspar & Antje
Dec 4 Jan & Agnetje Bogardus (twins) , Peter & Liebke
Feb 8 Petrus Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Mar 27 Mathys Van Duck, Stephen & Eidje
May 11 Gerriche Van Loon, John & Jannetje
May 21 Andries Van Buskirk, Laurens
Jun 12 Nicholas Van Loon, Wilh. & Leibke
Jul 28 Magdalena Hallenbeck, Jacob & Rachel
Aug 25 Nicholas Van Schaick, Aaron & Barentie
Aug 31 Mariche Lampman, Fred & Catherine
Sep 4 Matthias Hallenbeck, Jacob & Anje
Sep 4 Elisabeth Hallenbeck, Jan & Henrica
Oct 14 Rachel Spoor, Hans & Rebecca
Sep 24 Jan Paree, Isaac & Marytje
Aug 28 Petrus Jansen, Petrus & Eva
Oct 25 Joachimyntje Van Buskirk, Abm. & Eva
Dec 21 Arend Van Schaick, Michael & Lena
Dec 16 Janneke Van Hoesen, Nicholas & Sara
Jan 17 Cornelia Klaw, Johannes & Maryer
Jan 26 Abraham Provoost, Jacob & Rebecca
Feb 23 Ebbertje Van Loon, Petrus & Dickje
Feb 27 Abraham & Isaac Hallenbeck (twins), Marten & Antje
Feb 25 Marten Hallenbeck, Wilh. & Annatje
May 10 Jan Caspersen Hallenbeck, Caspar & Fytje
Jan 20 Jonathan & Catherine Jansen (twins), John & Fanny
Jun 5 Nicholas & Christina Brandow (twins), John & Fanny
Jun 16 Rebecca Klaw, Gerrit & Elsie
Feb 22 Fanny Jansen, Dirck & Cornelia
Aug 17 Nicholas Van Hoesen, Caspar & Marytje
Sep 12 Jan Paree, Isaac & Maria
Oct 16 Neeltje Hallenbeck, Jac. & Annatje
Oct 17 Heiltje Van Dyck, Stephen & Idje
Jan 24 Commertje Hallenbeck, Jan Caspar & Marya
Feb 14 Elisabeth Brandow, Hieronymus & Anje
Nov 20 William Ducalon, Claude & Jane
Mar 4 Elisabeth Van Loon, Jacob & Catherine
Feb 29 Nicholas Van Loon, Jurgen & Lena
Mar 7 Evert Van Loon, Mathias & Rebecca
May 27 Elisabeth Lampman, Frederick & Catherina
Feb 18 Abraham Palmatier, Michael & Maria
Jun 28 Maria Van Hoesen, Jac. Hans. & Rachel
Aug 24 Aaron Van Schaack, Aaron & Barentje
Sep 5 Albert Van Orden, Andrees & Annetje
Oct 9 Avent Hallenbeck, Jac. & Anatje
Oct 12 Jan Van Buskirk, Ab’m & Eva
Oct 12 Elisabeth Van Loon, Jan & Rebecca
Oct 17 Jochens Hallenbeck, Caspar & Eytje
Oct 22 Johannes Paree, Daniel & Catherina
Nov 16 Jan Van Hoesen, Caspar & Marytje
Mar 21 Abraham Van Loon, Peter & Dirkye
Mar 26 Annatje Van Dyck, Stephen & Eytje
May 25 Maria Van Loon, Wilh. & Leibke
May 6 Eva Jansen, Peter & Eva
Aug 26 Marytje Spoor, Philip & Marche
Aug 26 Catherine Hallenbeck, Jacob & Anje
Aug 22 Rebecca Bogardus, Peter & Leibke
Sep 30 Jannetje Van Buskirk, Lawrence & Anje
Sep 10 Albert Van Loon, Albertus & Marya
Dec 12 Sara Hallenbeck, Jan & Christina
Dec 26 Jochem Hallenbeck, Caspar & Christina
Dec 29 Anna Maria Paree, Isaac & Maria
May 11 Johannes Lampman, Friedrick & Catherina
May 15 Jannetje Van Loon, John & Jannetje
Sep 1 Elisabeth Lampman, Hendrick & Marytje
Oct 28 Annatje Van Loon, Albert & Marga.
Oct 20 Michael Hallenbeck, Jacob & Anje
Dec 21 Petrus Van Loon, Jac. & Catherine
Dec 21 Elisabeth Spoor, Johannes & Rebeca
Jan 25 Isaac Van Loon, Petrus & Dirkie
Feb 26 Mathjas Bronk, Nicholas & Cathernia
Mar 10 Marytje Spoor, Phillip & Marite
Apr 10 Anja Van Schaack, Aaron & Bareitje
Mar 25 Albert Van Hoesen, Jacob & Rachel
Apr 22 Laurens Jansen, Peter & Eva
Jul 17 Elisabeth Van Buskirk, Laurens & Anje
Jul 16 Rachel Van Loon, Matthias Clauses & Rebeca
Aug 17 Annatje Van Dyck, Stephen & Idje
Oct 10 Marytje Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Dec 10 Catharine Hallenbeck, Marten & Annatje
Dec 4 Cornelius Spoor, Isaac & Clarke
Jan 13 Elisabeth Paree, Nicholas & Engeltye
Jan 3 John Hallenbeck, Jac. Casparsen & Anje
Jan 16 Phillip Wells, W’m & Christina
Mar 19 Rebecca Van Loon, Peter & Dirkje
Mar 27 Stephen Lampman, Fredrick & Catherine
Apr 1 Jacobus Hallenbeck, Jan & Anje
May 12 Jurgen Van Loon, Wilh. & Elisabeth
May 30 Jacob Van Loon, Jacob & Catherine
Jun 10 Marytje Hallenbeck, Jacob & Anje
Jun 16 Wilhelm Hallenbeck, Wilh. & Anje
Sep 14 Nicholas Paree, Isaac & Marga.
Oct Peter Brandow, Hieronymus & Anna
Dec 3 Ftje Halenbek, Caspar & Fytje
Dec 7 Adam Spoor, Phillip & Marga.
Jan 24 Isaac & Jacob Halenbek, Henrica
Mar 1 Maria Van Loon, Albert & Marga.
Jun 26 Aaron Van Dyck, Stephen & Idje
Jun 18 Eva Van Buskirk, Laurens & Anje
May 24 Isaac Halenbek, Jan & Catalyna
Jul 27 Abraham Spoor, John jr. & Catherina
Oct 2 Marga. Van Hoesen, Caspar & Mar’je
Sep Machiel Halenbek, Robert & Lena
Nov 4 Mathias Lampman, Fredrick & Catherine
Jan 12 Lena Van Loon, Mathias & Rebecca
Feb 18 Christina Spoor, Jacob & Fytie
Jan 29 Rhody Spoor, Johannes & Cornelia
Jan 20 Christina Halenbek, Dirck & Marga.
May 3 Jan Casperse Spoor, Johannes & Catherina
Aug 9 Jacob Halenbek, Jacob & Anje
Sep 25 Johannes Van Hoesen, Jan & Cornelia
Nov 28 Jacob Van Loon, Albert & Marga.
Dec 30 Eva Spoor, Cornelius & Lea
May 6 Jan Caspersen Halenbek, Jan & Anje
Jun 19 Albert Van Schaack, Aaron & Borentje
Jul 2 Mathias Van Loon, John & Maria
Sep 11 Christina Spoor, Isaac & Claritje
Aug 19 Willem Halenbek, Robert & Lena
Jan 23 Rachel Van Loon, Wilh. & Joachamina
Feb 11 Rachel Van Buskirk, Laurens
Mar 17 Jan Van Loon, Jurgen & Lena
No date Catharine Lampman, Fredrick & Catherine
Nov 12 Catherine Van Loon, Jacob & Catherine
Dec 2 Johannes Van Buskirk, Laurens & Maria
Feb 2 Lena Van Loon, Jurgen & Lena
Mar 2 Ab’m Bronck, Nicholas & Catharine
Apr 24 Benj. Van Loon, Wilh. & Joachemina
May 20 Jacob Van Loon, Isaac & Catherine
Jun 22 Michael Halenbek, Jacob & An’je
Jul 18 Elisabeth Lampman, Peter & Elisabeth
Aug 15 Peter Bogardus, Peter & Elisabeth
Sep 15 Ydje Van Loon, Albert & Marga.
Sep 18 Joachem Halenbek, Caspar & Fytie
Sep 27 Mar’je Spoor, Cornelius & Lea
Dec 2 Nicholas Van Loon, Mathys & An’je
Dec 5 Caspar Halenbek, Jan & Christina
Apr 15 Susanna Van Buskirk, Laurens & Marga.
Apr 25 An’je Lampman, Fred. & Catherine
May 23 Jan Caspersen Van Hoesen, Jan & Magdalena
Feb 26 Ab’m Halenbek, Jacob & An’je
Feb 26 Jurgen Van Loon, Mathias & Mar’a
Mar 24 Catherina Van Loon, Mathias & Rebecca
Dec 2 Petrus Halenbek, John & An’je
Dec 31 Catherina Halenbek, W’m & Maria
Sep 22 Rachel Halenbek, Jacob & Elisabeth
Jan 10 Frans & Marten Halenbek, Caspar
Jun 4 Caspar Jans Hallenbeck, son of Jan Casperse
Jun 20 Maria Halenbeck, Jacob & Elisabeth
Aug 3 Wm. Halenbeck, Caspar Wm. & Elisabeth
Dec 31 Jan Van Loon, Jacob & Komertje
Dec 31 Caspar Halenbeck, Cornelius & Matgery
May 28 Abraham Van Loon, Mathias & Rebecca
May 26 Marten Hallenbeck, Caspar M. & Rachel
Sep 20 Petrus Van Hoesen, Joh. & Celia
Oct 31 Jacob Van Loon, Albert & Marga.
Feb 4 Dirck Hallenbeck, Jacob & Komertje
Feb 4 Willem Hallenbeck, Samel & Catherine
Sep 22 Lena Van Schaack, Aaron & Lara
Oct 28 Albert Van Hoesen, Jacob Jan & Jurge
Oct 21 Wilhelm Hallenbeck, Martin & Maria
Nov 7 Frans Hallenbeck, Martin Caspar
Jul 20 Jan Hallenbeck, Jacob & Lisabeth
Aug 27 Martin Hallenbeck, Abm. & Maria
Mar 31 Maria Van Loon, Mathias & Elsje
May 4 Wm. Brandow, John & Rachel
May 24 John Frederick Tolley, Henry B. & Henrica
Sep 10 Philip Lampman, John & Maria
Feb 6 Mathias Van Loon, Evert & Antje
Oct 2 Jan Hallenbeck, Martin & Lea
Oct 22 Rebecca Van Loon, Albert jr. & Martena
Oct 22 Rebecca Spoor, Isaac & Rachel
Sep Jan Hallenbeck, Marte & Maria
Sep 9 Mathias Hallenbeck, Jacob I. & Marga.
Sep 9 Wilhelf Tolley, Dr. John F. & Catharine
No dates Jacob Hallenbeck, Jacob & Elisabeth
Sep 15 Barend Spoor, Isaac & Rachel
Dec 9 Isaac Van Hoesen, Jan Caspar & Deborah
No date John Van Doon, John & Annytje
Mar 2 Conrad Hallenbeck, John & Entje
Feb 27 Caspar Hallenbeck, Isaac & Marta
Feb 14 Christina Hallenbeck, Jochem & Anje
Mar 7 Peter Hallenbeck, Jacob & Elisebeth
Jun 2 Jeremiah Hallenbeck, Martini & Maria
Jun 21 Susannah Van Loon, Nicholas & Hannah
Sep 2 Henrich Lampman, Nicholas & Rebecca
Sep 28 Maria Van Loon, Nicholas & Hannah
May 25 Mathias Hallenbeck, Cornelius & Marga.
May 22 Wm. Hallenbeck, Dirck, & Christina
May 22 Albertus Sill, Shadrack & Etyje
Jun 9 Wm. Van Hoesen, Nicholas & Janje
Oct 17 Abraham S. & Isaac Hallenbeck, Joh. Casper & Sarah
No date Caspar Hallenbeck, Dirck & Christiana
Apr 9 Maria Lampman, Nicholas & Rebecca
Dec 23 Joachem T. Hallenbeck
Jan 1 Jan Van Loon, Albert & Magdalena
Feb 9 Wm. Hallenbeck, Isaac & Maria
Jul 28 Caspar Hallenbeck, Martin & Maria
Trinity Episcopal Church
Many of the settlers who founded the villages of Esperanza and Athens, were members of the Episcopal church, and steps were taken at a very early date to organize a society. The first formal notice to be found of this is dated April 19th 1806, at which time a meeting was held in the school-house at Loonenburg for the purpose of choosing two wardens and eight vestrymen. Divine service had been held for two Sundays preceding. At this meeting, Deluana Backus and Edward Hinman were chosen wardens, and Simeon Franklin, Henry Ritter, John L. Lacy, Abraham Van Buskirk, John Thomas Netterville, Henry White, Aaron Reed, and Henry Wells were chosen vestrymen, and it was agreed that Wednesday in Easter week annually, should be the time for choosing their successors. The following letter which is entered on the church records will explain itself:
“I take liberty to introduce to your usual politeness Mr. Joseph Prentice, the young gentleman whose name I mentioned to you, as a candidate in our church, who wishes to confer with you upon the subject of the charge of your Church.
Hudson, Aug. 12th 1806
At a meeting held August 20th, Mr. Prentice was called to officiate for “one year from the first Sunday in Oct. next,” and he was duly notified and accepted the call, and was a delegate to the convention in New York, held September 25th.
John George Voogd, an old resident in the upper village, provided in his will, that a considerable portion of his estate should go to assist in the formation of the new church, and in 1807, the available funds for support of a minister and for building purposes were $6,655.39. Lots of land had been donated, and as the Lutheran church had no settled minister at that time, an effort was made to unite with them. An excellent understanding seems to have existed between the two churches. The trustees of the Lutheran church were authorized, by act of 1813, to apply the whole or part of the proceeds of their glebe land to the use of the Episcopal church. On August 20th 1807, a proposition was made to pay Mr. Prentice $400 per annum and he was to preach at Coxsackie part of the time.
Mr. Prentice was ordained deacon October 7th 1806, and admitted to the priesthood in 1808. a portion of the real estate left to the church by Mr. Voogd was sold in 1809. A committee was appointed to fix upon a site for a church, and agreed October 26th 1810, upon “two lots in Ambrose Spencer’s inclosure, 50 feet south of Goodrich street, and fronting on Montgomery street.” The church building was begun in April 1813, and to raise funds, a portion of the pews were sold in advance, and $1,921 realized therefrom. The highest price paid was $275 by General Samuel Haight. The church was sufficiently advanced to sell the rest of the pews September 2nd 1814. By an arrangement made with the Lutheran church, they were to pay $150 and the Episcopal church $450 toward salary to Mr. Prentice, and application was made to Bishop Hobart to order his institution as rector. Rev. Dr. Quitman, whose services in the Dutch language were so highly appreciated by the descendants of the old settlers, was invited to preach in the new church when he came to Loonenburg. In September 1815, a bell was procured, and in 1817 a committee was appointed to procure an organ. A Sunday-school was organized in 1829. Mr. Prentice resigned his charge September 25th 1831, and a call was extended to Rev. John Grigg of the diocese of Maryland, who accepted, and was instituted June 13th 1832. He preached every other Sunday at Coxsackie. He resigned September 27th 1833, but remained a year longer. For a while the pulpit was vacant, the church having only occasional services.
Rev. Lewis Thibou accepted a call, July 17th 1835 and remained until 1838. The sudden death of Rev. Joseph Prentice who was killed by the overturning of a stage near Coxsackie, was greatly lamented, and a committee was appointed to draft a letter of condolence to his family. Rev. Thomas Malloby was the next pastor, and remained until 1845. He was succeeded in 1846 by Rev. Stephen Douglass, and from 1847 to 1852 the church was supplied by Rev. Norman C. Stoughton. Rev. Jonathan Coe was called July 26th 1852. In 1853 Nathan Clark was appointed a committee “to have the remains of John G. Voogd looked after, and see that they be suitably interred in some suitable place under the body of the church.” This was in accordance with a provision in Mr. Voogd’s will, that the trustees of the church to be built should have his remains interred under the church, and a suitable tablet placed to his memory. This was done and in the vestry room of the church is a tablet with the following inscription, “To perpetuate the memory of John G. Voogd, a native of Wirtemberg in Germany, who died March 4th 1802. From whose liberality important aid was derived, in the organization of Trinity Church in the village of Athens, and in the erecting of this building. The vestry under a sense of gratitude have placed this monument in the year of our Lord 1814.”
We find it recorded, that the thanks of the vestry were given to Mrs. Jane Woolsey for the gift of a fine carpet, and to Edward Clark for the elegant baptismal font now in use. Memorial tablets, bearing the following inscriptions, were also placed in the church to the memory of two men who had been aiders and helpers of the church at a time when friends and assistance were most needed:
“Major Gen. Samuel Haight, born May 26 1766, died Nov. 9 1817, aged 51 years 5 months 14 days. As a private citizen, industrious, charitable and humane. He respected integrity and cultivated the social virtues. In relation to the commonwealth he was an advocate and patron of the principles and institutions of civil and religious liberty. Patriotic in his feelings he connected his own with the prosperity and happiness of his country.”
“In Memory of Abraham Van Buskirk, who died Feb. 15 A.D. 1826, aged 61.”
A very beautiful memorial window has also been placed here to the memory of deceased pastors, with the following inscriptions:
“In Memoriam. Rev. Joseph Prentice, First Rector, and for 25 years serving in this Parish. Born April 2nd 1779. Ordained by Rt. Rev. Bishop Moore 1806. Entered into Life January 7 1836.”
“In Memoriam. Jonathan Coe, Born June 1st 1815. Fell Asleep April 15th 1866. In the 14th year of His Rectorship.”
"In Memoriam. Rev. John Grigg, Born December 9th 1796. Fell Asleep May 27th 1868. Rector from 1833 to 1835.”
The following are the names of the first communicants of this church: Deluana Backus, Edward Hinman and wife, Henry Ritter and wife, Eliza Backus, Laura Hamilton, John T. Nellerville, Sally Prentice, Mrs. Wells, Mrs. Van Buskirk, Ira Canfield, and Mrs. Tinker.
Rev. J.E. Johnston, who was rector from 1869 to 1875, was succeeded by the present minister, Rev. James Wilkens Stewart, who was graduated from the General Theological Seminary of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the city of New York, July 1st 1842. He was ordained deacon the same year, and on the 17th of July took charge of St. Paul’s church, Oak Hill, and remained there five years. During the whole of his life he has been an active and devoted laborer in the service of the church and the Redeemer. He became rector of this church October 1st 1875.
The present officers of the church are, Samuel Hamilton Nichols and Nathan Clark, wardens; W. H. Van Loon, George S. Nichols, Richard G. Low, Elbridge G. Nichols, H. C. Nichols, Frank Beardsley, and Henry C. Van Loon, vestrymen.
This church has always been one of commanding influence in the village.
Dutch Reformed Church
This church was organized May 22nd 1826, the following being the list of original members: David Shaw and wife Mary Debzel, Leonard Whitbeck and wife Rebecca Van Loon, Jane Whitbeck, William A. Brandow and wife, Isaac Collier and wife, Garret W. Sager and wife, Joseph Groom, Magdalena Salisbury wife of John Hamilton, Elizabeth Netterville, wife of John Reed, Elizabeth wife of Caspar Van Loon.
The church lot was given by Isaac Northrup, and the building was erected and dedicated September 9th 1826. The first pastor was Rev. David Abeel, who came here June 11th 1826. He was a son of David Abeel, and was born June 12th 1804. When he commenced his labors here the church was not completed, and services were held in the school-house. He remained here two years and six months. He was the first missionary to China, and after laboring there some years, he returned to his native land. He died September 4th 1846, and his remains rest in Greenwood cemetery, where there is a monument to his memory. A memoir of Mr. Abeel was published in 1848 by Carters, New York.
The next pastor was Rev. C. Von Cleef, who was installed May 6th 1828. His pastorate which was very prosperous, terminated November 4th 1833. Rev. Joseph Wilson, became pastor July 1st 1834, and during his term a lot was procured, and a parsonage erected. He resigned May 9th 1836. Mr. Wilson was succeeded by Rev. Jefferson Wynkoop, October 19th 1836, who remained until April 29th 1840. Rev. Edwin Holmes was pastor from September 15th 1840, to July 21st 1841. Rev. Joseph Watson had charge of the congregation until April 7th 1844. Rev. William A. Cornell succeeded in 1844. During his pastorate a bell was procured, through the efforts of William H. Morton. Mr. Cornell’s pastorate ended January 18th 1849. The next pastor was Rev. J. R. Talmadge, who was here from November 21st 1849 to July 29th 1850. Rev. Mr. Betts was a stated supply for two years, when July 16th 1855, Rev. W. D. Buckalew assumed the charge. The next pastor was Rev. C. Spaulding, who remained until March 29th 1868. He was succeeded by Rev. Alan D. Campbell, who was installed August 30th 1868. During his term the church was repaired and remodeled, and a chapel and new parsonage erected, on a new lot which was bought from Mr. Lewis Wolfe. Mr. Campbell resigned November 6th 1882. The present pastor, Rev. Herman Vanderwort, is a native of Holland, and came to this country with his parents, Jacob, and Catherine Vanderwort, in 1853. He graduated from Albany Normal School, and from Mount Hope College, Michigan, as also from the seminary at New Brunswick, 1876. He was settled first at Scotia, Schoharie county, where he remained seven years, to January 1883, when he took charge of the church here.
The Baptist Church
On the 2nd of October 1832, a meeting was held at King’s school-house to take into consideration the propriety of erecting a Baptist church. A church society was duly organized at a meeting held in the same place, November 12th 1832, at which the 18 articles of faith were read, and G. S. Turner and Ethan S. Fox were chosen deacons. A committee consisting of G. S. Turner, Henry Delanoy, Castle Seeley, William P. Alcott, and Ethan S. Fox, was appointed to fix upon a site. On Sunday the 13th, divine services were held in the Episcopal church, and a vote of thanks was given for the use of that church. At a meeting held November 27th, John, Rachel, Margaret and Amelia Delanoy were received into the church. A communion service was presented by the “Athens Female Baptist Mite Society.” The first immersion was that of the Delanoy family December 9th 1832, “at the river side.” The first trustees, elected December 11th, were John Sanderson, Ethan S. Fox and Henry Delanoy. The church lot is at the west end of Lot No. 7 of the Conradt Flaack estate, and on the west side of Warren street. This was sold December 14th 1832, by George Woolsey to the trustees of the church, the deed being for “parts of lots 7 and 8 in the second tier of lots of the Flaack estate.” In that year the church had 34 members, and a Sunday-school with 70 scholars and 13 teachers. The church edifice, estimated to cost $2,500, was then in progress of erection. The frequent change of ministers in this church forbids more than a simple list:
William Richards, 1834; Samuel B. Willis, 1836; I. W. Gillis, 1837; S. S. Wheeler, 1840; Stephen Jones, 1842; Henry L. Grose, 1844; Henry O. Hagar, 1850; George Syle, 1852; Benjamin Wheeler, 1855; Ashur Day, 1859; A. H. Falwell, 1864; N. Palmer, 1870; George Abrams, 1875; F. H. Rea, 1875; H. W. Wilber, 1882.
This church has recently built a parsonage, and the congregation, though small, is one of considerable influence.
Roman Catholic Church
This denomination has a small, but neat and convenient house of worship. Before it was built services were held in the house of Matthew Breasar, on the northeast corner of Warren and Third streets. Father Kilbride, of Albany, was the first priest who officiated here. A lot was bought April 19th 1871, of David Whiting, by Alexander O. Hamlin, James Brennan, John Gill, and James Dunn, the deed covering “All that irregular shaped block of Lots No. 12, 14, 16, 18, in Esperanza, on the south side of Goodrich St., and between Shingle and Timber streets.” The present membership is about 40, and the present pastor of the church is one whose influence for good is generally acknowledged.
Dr. John Frederick Tolley was born in the Electorate of Hanover, and came to New York August 12th 1753. He was for many years a resident of Hudson, and attended patients in Loonenburg and the new village of Athens. He bought a tract of nearly 500 acres between Murderer’s Creek and the Spoorenberg road, extending on the north to the Albany and Greene Turnpike. A large part of this was sold to Moses Jerome, who built a house on the turnpike, and lived there for many years. The southern part of the tract bought by Dr. Tolley is now owned by his great grandson, Garret H. Tolley. Dr. Tolley built a stone house on the old road (now abandoned) on the eastern part of the present farm of Garret H. Tolley. East of it is a thicket, once a family burying ground, where there is a small tombstone bearing the following inscription: “Dr. J. F. Tolley aged 63 years, 11 months, died 26th August 1799.” Dr. Tolley left four sons: George, who had children, William George, and Catherine; Henry, who had sons, John, Garret, and William; John, who had four children, John, Maria, Francis, and Catherine; and William, who is well remembered by the present generation as Judge Tolley, having been for many years judge of the Court of Common Pleas. He died October 10th 1836, leaving Frederick and Altanah.
Dr. Orange Benton was for many years a well known practitioner, having his residence on the place now owned by Charles Burley, on the west side of Warren street. He died December 24th 1848, aged 82, and left a wife, Rebecca, and two children, Charles and Sarah.
Dr. Aaron Reed was an early resident in the village, and moved away to the western part of the State, where he died about 1824.
Dr. Abraham Spoor, a brother of John D. Spoor, formerly well known as a surveyor, removed to Troy, in 1823.
Dr. Eli Pierce came from Otsego county. In his testimony before the surrogate in the Albert Van Loon will case, 1838, he testified that he had lived in this vicinity for 15 years. He went to Fort Wayne, Indiana, and died there, about 1880.
Dr. John Wheeler, who at present watches over the health of the people, is a son of Justus and Hannah Wheeler, and was born in Rensselaer county, in 1805. He studied with Dr. Pierce, and was graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons, of Fairfield, Herkimer county, and commenced practice here in 1824.
It will be noticed that in the deed from John M. Van Loon to Isaac Northrup, conveying the farm on which the village of Athens now stands, the old family burying ground was reserved. This lot, which is on the east side of Franklin street, and north of the house of John Sanderson, is the last resting place of Jan Van Loon, the founder of the Van Loon family, and many of his descendants, but nothing marks their graves. The only tombstones with inscriptions are those recording the death of Alice, wife of Matthias Van Loon (son of John M.), who died September, 1793, and Marie, wife of John Folger, and her husband.
The old burying ground in the western part of the village, is marked on the map of John D. Spoor, as laid out in lieu of the one thus reserved. This burying ground contains the graves of many of the early residents of Athens.
The Athens Rural Cemetery was originally a part of the Northrup purchase, and was called the Nursery Lot, from its being planted with young trees. This lot was sold by Sylvester Nichols (who, after the death of Judge Northrup, purchased from his heirs all that portion of the village lots that remained unsold), to William H. Morton, John Sanderson, Nathan E. Edwards, and Ethan S. Fox, as trustees, the deed being dated April 1st 1849. This cemetery association was incorporated April 27th 1847. The grounds are kept in the nicest order, and its general management is a credit to the village.
Mount Hope Cemetery is the burial place north of Market street, and consists of three small cemeteries united. These are all on the Esperanza purchase. The largest one, at the south end, is generally known as the Episcopal Cemetery. Adjoining this is a small enclosure known as the Friends’ Burying Ground, containing a few of the very unassuming monuments with which that sect mark the resting places of their dead. To the north of this is an older ground, containing the graves of many of the early settlers, and among them that of Albertus Van Loon, the original owner of the land which formed the village of Esperanza. His tombstone bears the following inscription: “In memory of Mr. Albertus Van Loon born April 11, 1729, departed this life with a cancer, Saturday April 30, 1791, aged 62 years and 9 days.” The date of his birth in the Lutheran church records, is given as March 31st. The change from old to new style probably accounts for the discrepancy in his age.
That a school was maintained in Loonenburg at a very early date is shown by a document written by Domine Berkenmeyer, a copy of which has been given, but of the nature of this school and the names of the teachers we have no knowledge. After the Revolution, the Legislature, by an act passed April 9th 1795, provided for the erection of school districts, and time has preserved the names of trustees, teachers, parents and scholars in the school in Loonenburg as kept in September 1795, of which the following is a summary:
Trustees: John W. Hallenbeck and Isaac Van Woert.
Master: Edward Morrison.
Parents: Peter Hallenbeck, John W. Hallenbeck, Abraham Provoost, Albert I. Van Loon, Peter Schram, John Cook, Thomas Cook, Albertius Van Hoesen, Thaddeus Parker, Henry Evertsen, William Wolford, Isaac Van Woert, Daniel Wolford, Rebekah Van Hoesen, Jacob Valy, Peter Aberson, Andrew Scloover, John Claw, John Cut, Aaron Van Dyck, Richard Van Valkenburgh, Darius Howe.
Children: Catherine Hallenbeck, Camertje Hallenbeck, Fitje Hallenbeck, Mary Hallenbeck, Elisha Provoost, Jane Provoost, Samuel Provoost, Evert Van Loon, Jacob Van Loon, Rebekah Van Loon, Mary Van Loon, Peggy Cook, Hannah Cook, Jacob Cook, Rechal Van Hoesen, Lydia Parker, Hiram Parker, Jacob Evertson, Abraham Van Woert, John Wolford, Daniel Wolford, Jeremiah Van Hoesen, Sally Valy, Polly Aberson, Jeremiah Van Dyck, Rachal Claw, Rechal Cut, Isaac Scloover, Limia Howe, Samuel Huntington, Kelly Van Valkenburgh.
The following gives the number and location of each school district in the town, with the number of children in each:
Children between 5 and 21
Number attending school
Value of school-house and ground
North of Schoharie Turnpike
The school-house lot in district No. 6 was sold by Alice, widow of Nicholas Van Loon, September 7th 1833 (deed in book W. page 362). The school-house lot for district No. 3 was sold by Major Nicholas I. Van Loon, March 3rd 1837 (deed in book 28, page 215), and stated that a school had been there “several years past.”
In 1811 a school was established in the upper village by Ebenezer King, a native of New England. He bought of John R. Livingston Lots 84 and 86, on the east side of Montgomery street, in the block between Barley and Market streets. This school was continued for many years, and is well remembered by the older residents. The building is still standing, and is owned by George Brady.
The village west of the Kalkberg is generally known by this name, and is a small but thrifty place. The Kalkberg chapel was built in 1846. The lot was sold to the Consistory of the Reformed Dutch church of Athens, by Morris Edwards, “in consideration of $50, and a slip in the church about to be built.” The deed is recorded in book Y, page 458. It was sold to the “Consistory of the Second Reformed Dutch Church,” July 23rd 1860. The pulpit is supplied from the church at Leeds.
The Kalkberg Cemetery is incorporated, and its neatness is creditable to the village.
A store has been kept for many years by Leonard Day, a very prominent citizen, who was born in Coxsackie in March 1849. He is a son of George Day, who died in 1863.
The Edwards family have long been land owners in that part of the town. William Edwards, who was born December 21st 1810, and died in 1873, was a well known citizen. He left a wife, Elizabeth, born at Athens April 15th 1823. This family is probably descended from Colonel William Edwards, who was a large land owner.
The old Perry family is represented by Thomas Perry, a farmer in Athens, who was born August 21st 1816, and married Christina Van Valkenberg, who was born April 6th 1821. Mr. Perry is engaged in farming and fruit raising, and has a large family to perpetuate the ancient name.
The family of this name in Athens, trace an unbroken line of ancestry, back to Samuel Clark who came to this country in the middle of the seventeenth century, as follows: Samuel Clark, born 1615, died 1690; William Clark, born 1645, died 1712; Nathan Clark, born March 24th, 1704, died 1755; Reuben Clark, born November 14th 1743, died 1813. Nathan, a son of Reuben Clark, and a native of Cornwall on the Hudson, was born August 10th, 1787. In his youth he learned the trade of potter, and when the new village of Athens was started, he removed with his brother-in-law, Mr. Howe, to this place, and in 1807 he built the pottery and commenced the business, which has been continued uninterruptedly to the present time. It is one of the very few manufactories of the kind which can boast of so long an existence. Mr. Clark was at one time the largest manufacturer of stone ware in the country. It was his custom to select from among his apprentices those who were the most skillful, and when their terms of apprenticeship expired, to set them up in business by starting a branch pottery in some other part of the State, and putting them in charge. Many worthy young men were helped by him into business. Among his partners was Ethan S. Fox, who was founder of the Baptist church in Athens. Among his other enterprises he built a pottery at Mount Morris, Livingston county, and bought out another in Rochester. In addition to his pottery business, he owned two or three farms in this town, which he carried on with success. He was one of the founders of the Episcopal church in Athens, was for many years a church warden, and one of its most active members and liberal supporters. His home in Athens now owned by his grandson, Ogden Clark, was built by Thomas Jenkins. It stands on the east side of Washington street at the top of the hill. Nathan Clark married Julia, daughter of John Nichols. The children of this marriage were Edward, and Nathan who is a well known and prominent citizen of Athens, and who, though possessed of an ample fortune, still carries on the business of his father.
Nathan Clark departed this life January 15th 1880; his wife Julia, December 14th 1873. An elegant monument marks their resting place. Nathan Clark who, like his father before him, is a liberal supporter of the Episcopal church in this village, has been one of the wardens for many years. He married Sarah, daughter of Castle Seeley, who was a very prominent citizen of Athens. He has two children, Ogden, and Nathan E., both residents of the village. His daughter Julia Estelle, died in 1867, at the age of 25. He lives a life of quiet and unostentatious usefulness, and enjoys his fortune, as a man who appreciates the gifts of Providence.
The subject of this sketch was born at Athens, Greene county, NY, December 19th 1811. The earliest school instruction which Mr. Clark can recollect was received from a Mr. Bosworth, a placid old bachelor, who knit his own stockings, and had a talent for teaching very small children. The rudiments of Latin were mastered under the instruction of E. King, Esq., who then kept an academy at Athens. Mr. King was one of the earliest graduates of Williams College, and belonged to the same class as William Cullen Bryant. Subsequently, and when the boy was about twelve years of age, he was transferred to the academy at Lenox, Mass., then under the direction of John Hotchkin, a very thorough and successful teacher. He remained at Lenox about four years, and had beaten into him in the usual way a reasonable amount of Latin and Greek, with the other learning more or less useful. While there he acquired a taste for indiscriminate reading. A small library of about 500 volumes belonged to the academy. The boy read every volume, and it was fortunate that the selection of books was not a bad one.
The abrupt change from home life to the rough experiences of a public school was not at all agreeable. It was not his habit, at that time, to submit quietly to anything disagreeable. Therefore, one day not long after entering school, he departed from Lenox without the formality of giving notice of his going, and took his course, on foot and alone, for home, which he reached safely and in good time. He was received there very affectionately by his mother, but the sterner father quietly remarked, "Edward, you can take your supper and go to bed. Tomorrow I shall take you back to school." The next day, accordingly, he was taken back to Lenox. And this same programme, during a period of one year was repeated over and over again, the disobedient hardihood of the boy being corrected by the patient persistence of the father. Finally, in consequence of new boys joining the school, who were pleasant companions, and perhaps a greater familiarity with things which at first had been unpleasant, the boy became reconciled to the school and its teachers, and the terrible feeling of homesickness was overcome. The beneficial result of the struggle was this: when it began the boy was of slight, delicate frame, and almost sickly in constitution; when it ended his muscles were like steel, and he was a trained athlete.
In the autumn of 1826 young Clark entered the freshman class of Williams College, where he remained the following four years, and graduated with tolerable credit in 1830. Of the facts and follies incident to college life, he was always ready to admit his full share, though he generally exercised sufficient caution not to be found out in any infraction of college laws. He devoted himself more to literature than to science, and was successful in such studies as suited his natural taste, but was deficient in the mathematical branches.
Having selected the law as a profession, in the autumn of 1830 he entered the law office of Ambrose L. Jordan, Esq., at Hudson, NY. After a course of three years' study, and a very extensive experience in the way of copying and preparing law papers, he was admitted as an attorney, and in the autumn of 1833 began the practice of law in the city of Poughkeepsie.
In October 1835 he was married to Caroline, eldest daughter of Ambrose L. Jordan, Esq., and in May 1837, a law partnership was formed between Messrs. Jordan and Clark, which continued about 16 years. On May 1st 1838 Jordan & Clark removed from Hudson to the city of New York, where they soon established a successful practice.
In the year 1848, Isaac M. Singer was a client of Jordan & Clark. He was an erratic genius, having followed various occupations without much success, and having invented valuable mechanical devices, which had brought him no profit. One of these, a machine for carving wood and metal, which had been duly patented, had been involved by some injudicious contracts of Mr. Singer, and Mr. Clark was employed to recover the clear title to the invention. The object was accomplished; but before Singer was able to make his machine available, the bursting of a steam boiler at a shop in Hague street, New York, utterly destroyed it. Shortly after this calamity Mr. Singer made his great invention of the sewing machine. At first this was not profitable, and under the management of the inventor the title to the invention became involved, and was likely to be lost. In that emergency Singer applied to his legal adviser, Clark, to advance the means to redeem an interest of one-third in the sewing machine invention and business, and to hold that share as security for the money advanced. The request was acceded to, and the purchase made. Subsequently, and when it had become apparent that a great amount of litigation would be required to sustain the sewing machine patent, Singer requested Clark to take and hold one-third of the patent, and release Singer from the claim for money advanced.
This arrangement was carried out, and afterward, when an opportunity occurred, another one-third interest in the patent and business was bought by Clark for the benefit of Singer and himself. And thereupon was formed the copartnership of I.M. Singer & Co., in which Mr. Clark was half owner. The business was carried on by this firm with eminent success from 1851 to 1863. But, as was anticipated, Singer & Co. at once became involved in costly and vexatious lawsuits, which were directed and managed by Mr. Clark. During that period of about two years they were menaced by hostile injunctions for infringement of patents which threatened to destroy the business entirely. But the contest was perseveringly maintained, and the business continued to prosper, until finally the time came when a compromise and adjustment of claims could be made, so that defensive litigation was terminated. When that was effected the splendid success of the business of Singer & Co. became an assured fact. All the numerous contracts of Singer & Co. were carefully drawn by Mr. Clark, and a great advantage thereby accrued to the firm, when at a later period, it became expedient to purchase back certain territorial rights for the exclusive sale of the Singer Machine.
In the year 1863, Mr. Clark, wishing to be relieved from active duty, and to secure a continuous good management of the business, formed the scheme of organizing the Singer Manufacturing Company, and although Mr. Singer was very much opposed to the formation of such Company, he was induced to assent to it rather than have an application made to a court of law. The company was organized with a share capital of $500,000. Of this stock four-fifths was retained by Singer and Clark, and the residue was sold to several persons prominently employed in the business at $200 for each $100 share. The capital of this company was afterward enlarged to $1,000,000, and afterward that again expanded to $10,000,000, and the whole of which increase consisted of the accumulated profits of the business. Directly upon the formation of this company, Mr. Clark retired from its active management, though he continued to be a director, and during several years spent considerable time abroad, having on three different occasions occupied a house in Paris, and also passed a winter in Rome. In his travels over the principal countries of Europe he examined whatever was worthy of notice in nature and art, and made extensive purchases of statuary and other works of art, which he brought home to New York.
Mr. Clark passed the latter part of his life at Cooperstown, N.Y., where he died, October 14th, 1882; his wife died, June 27th 1874; of four children one alone survives. One died in Rome where he was studying as an artist, in which profession he exhibited great skill. Alfred C. Clark, his surviving brother and only representative of the family is now a resident of Cooperstown. This sketch is a tribute by Mr. Ogden Clark, to his uncle's memory.
The Hallenbeck Family
In the genealogical department of this work will be found the pedigree of the Hallenbeck family, in which Caspar I. is denoted as number 49, and his nephew, Prentice W. as number 76. (This section refers to genealogies listed at the back of the Beers book - SH)
Caspar I. Hallenbeck was a noted man in his day, though he steadfastly kept aloof from political life. He was a man who was constantly applied to for advice and counsel, and his influence for good in the community was widely felt. He was a surveyor of well known ability, and many valuable maps, made by him, are still in existence. He was an active member and a liberal supporter of the Lutheran church. He died April 6th 1865, aged 82 years 1 month and 10 days.
Prentice W. Hallenbeck was born April 5th 1828. Throughout his life he has been engaged in agriculture, and his lands are extensive and well cultivated. His home, inherited from his ancestor, was built near the Site of the once famous Black Horse Inn. It is built of stone, and bears, in front, the inscription, "June ye 10th 1791. I. H. B. M. H. B.," standing for Isaac Hallenbeck and Maria Hallenbeck. Mr. Hallenbeck has always been a prominent and influential citizen of the town. He has been twice elected supervisor. In 1864 he was elected member of the Legislature by a majority of 860, and in 1876 he was elected sheriff of Greene County by a still larger majority. In politics he is a democrat, and is a practical, thorough business man.
The refugees that were driven by a variety of political, religious and social causes, to emigrate from Scotland to the North of Ireland, gave rise to a race of people known as Scotch Irish, who, in proportion to their numbers, have done more to mould the institutions of the lands where they have made a dwelling place, than any other. Of this race was John Sanderson, who was born near Belfast, Ireland, in 1791. At an early age, he resolved to seek a home in that Western World which has so long been an asylum for the oppressed, and a refuge for the persecuted. About 1821, he landed in America and found his way to the city of Hudson, where he remained for some years, when he removed to Great Barrington, Mass, and subsequently to Athens. His family consisted of himself, his wife, Margaret, whom he married in his native land, October 6th 1812, and their children, Mary Ann, William, Eliza, Sarah, Edward, John, and Howard. These latter have all lived to mature manhood and womanhood, and in social standing, as well as in the accumulation of wealth, have enjoyed an enviable position among their fellow citizens. The father died in the village of Athens, September 28th 1854, and was buried in the Rural Cemetery in that place. His wife, Margaret, survived him many years. She died at the home of her daughter, Eliza Van Schaick, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, November 17th 1876, in the 81st year of her age. Her remains were brought to Athens, where she was buried by the side of her husband. They were both constituent members of the Baptist Church in Athens, and were numbered among its most liberal supporters. Mr. Sanderson was an extensive manufacturer of glue, until near the close of his life, when on account of impaired health, he retired from business, having secured a sufficient competency. As a business man, he was noted for punctuality in meeting his obligations and for honesty and fair dealing in all his transactions.
John, the subject of this sketch, was born in the village of Athens, January 21st 1834. In his early years he attended the select schools in his native place and also the academy in Hudson. He was fitted for college at the academy at Stockbridge, Mass, and entered Brown University, at Providence, R.I. in 1849, over which institution at that time presided Francis Wayland, D.D., one of the most eminent of American educators---where he graduated in 1853. He commenced the study of law with John C. Newkirk in the city of Hudson, and afterward continued the same study with Judge Darius Peck of the same city and with Hon. Ira Harris of Albany. After taking a full course of lectures in the Albany Law School he was graduated in 1855. For a short time he had an office in the city of Hudson, but in 1857 he moved to New York, where he remained for six years and then returned to Athens. Mr. Sanderson found a companion for weal or for woe in the person of Josephine Gantley, daughter of Daniel W. Gantley, whom he married November 2nd 1859. This union was terminated by her untimely death in 1868. His present family consists of his two daughters, Mabel Josephine, and Adelaide Louise.
Mr. Sanderson's life has been one of constant devotion to his business, and he has taken a very high stand among the legal fraternity of the county.
Among the important cases that have been conducted by him, may be mentioned, The People vs. Hallenbeck, in which a young man of inferior mental capacity was indicted for arson. He conducted the case for the defense. After a protracted trial the prisoner was acquitted. As attorney for the trustees, he has managed in a most able manner for the defense, the suit of Power vs. The Village of Athens, a contest involving the validity of a ferry franchise, which is now pending in the Court of Appeals.
The case of Rebecca J. Van Loan vs. Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, involves very important principals of law. The plaintiff was nonsuited at the Circuit. An appeal was taken to the general term of the Supreme Court and from thence to the highest tribunal of the State, where Mr. Sanderson, as attorney for the plaintiff, was successful in recovering judgment for his client. This case may be found reported in Vol. 90, N.Y. Reports.
The case of VanSlyke vs. VanLoan, in which he was again successful, led to the establishment of a very important rule in regard to the order in which mortgaged lands should be sold.
In 1872 Mr. Sanderson was a candidate for the State Senate, having for a competitor Dr. Scoresby of Ulster county. He was defeated by a small majority of nine votes; a result, which in consideration of the general political complexion of the district, is evidence of a wonderful popularity.
In 1882 he was nominated by the republican party for county judge of Greene county. To enter into a contest for the office against so popular a candidate as Judge Mattice, and in a county overwhelmingly democratic, seemed a hopeless task. But, to the astonishment of his friends as well as his foes, he was defeated by the small number of 22 votes. While in college, he took a high stand as a scholar, as was awarded prizes in Latin, in English Literature, and in Metaphysics. In eloquence at the bar he is surpassed by but few of his legal brethren.
Mr. Sanderson is now in the full vigor of mature manhood, and has every promise of a brilliant future. His character may be summed up in a few words. He is utterly incapable of fighting craft and chicanery with weapons of their own kind, but in a fair, honorable and manly contest, John Sanderson is a foeman worthy of his opponent's steel.
Herman F. Dernell
It seems to be a settled point that when the world is in need of something for its welfare and enjoyment, Providence raises up some person to supply its want. And the business of ice storing, which has, within the last few years, attained to such immense proportions, and which supplies the community with what is now not only a luxury but a necessity, has to a great extent depended upon the skill of one man, the subject of this sketch.
Herman Frederick John Dernell is a native of Germany, where he was born in the city of Newbuckow, in the Grand Duchy of Mechlenburg, Schwerin, August 1st 1836. The family consisted of his parents, Peter and Wilhelmina, his brother Helmuth Frederick Mathias, and the sisters Mary, Amelia and Leonora. The original name of the family is Dernehl, which has become Americanized to its present form. Like multitudes of the young men of this land, he resolved to seek a home and livelihood in the western world. He sailed from Hamburg on the bark "Attica" of Boston, and after a long and tedious voyage of seven weeks, he landed in New York, November 24th 1854. In his native country he had learned the trade of locksmith and maker of surgical instruments, which was the trade of his father, and upon his arrival in a strange land, he endeavored to find work at his trade, but without success. After a few weeks of unsuccessful search, he found a man looking for woodchoppers, and, despairing of finding anything better, entered into his employ. Wood chopping may be an honest business, but those engaged in it are not always of the most agreeable manners, and the accommodations furnished them are of the rudest kind. Like the rest, he was obliged to sleep in a rude shanty into which the snow entered without hindrance. Disgusted, both with accommodations and companionship, he resolved to make another effort to obtain work better suited to his tastes, and after some time found a chance in a blacksmith's shop in Clarksville, Rockland county, NY, where he engaged to work for his board. His skill quickly showed itself, and he was soon receiving wages. The whole bent of his mind was to perfect himself in his new trade, and he soon found that in his present place he could learn nothing more. At this time the firm of E. E. Conklin & Co. were engaged in the manufacture of wagons and ice tools at Rockland Lake. To get a place in this establishment was the object of his desire, and he applied to be admitted in any position, his plan being to gain an entrance, and then to let his work do the rest. At length he was employed as a "helper", a position which does not require much skilled labor. The firm were at that time engaged in preparing a piece of work to be exhibited in the Crystal Palace, and he was permitted to try his hand at finishing. His time had come. Finishing the work in a manner which no other in the establishment could equal, his time as a "helper" was ended, and in a surprisingly short time he was foreman of the concern. He remained in this position three years, when, his health failing, he resolved to set up in business for himself in another place. He came to Athens in 1858, hired a shop, and with one man commenced general blacksmithing and the manufacture of ice tools. The rapid growth of the ice business caused him to drop the former, and employing more men and adding a steam engine, his business rapidly increased, and his skill drew many customers from the firm for which he had formerly worked. At the time of the dissolution of that firm, a few years later, he found himself the principal manufacturer of ice tools in the county, a position which he still maintains. He has now about twenty men in constant employment, and the demand for his implements is not confined to this country, but orders have been received from Sweden and Germany, and the demand is constantly increasing. Mr. Dernell is also the inventor of various appliances and improvements, which make it an easy matter to load ice into canal boats and barges, and also for storing it in the immense ice houses. In 1857 his father with the rest of the family came over, and his brother Helmuth entered into partnership in 1870, which continued till his return to Germany, where he now lives. The value of the ice tools annually made at this establishment is from thirty to fifty thousand dollars, and the demand is not likely to decrease.
Like many other men of abundant means, Mr. Dernell has a "hobby" outside of his regular business. Black Rock, a well known promontory on the Hudson River at the south end of the village of Athens, is a noted landmark as the southeast corner of the Loonenburg Patent. Attached to this was a large field of rough swampy land with a few trees, and bearing the name of Black Rock Orchard. Purchasing this worthless tract from the Knickerbocker Ice Company, he commenced making improvements, and at a large outlay has transformed it from a marshy thicket to a park of surpassing beauty, and it is an instance of what skill and labor, backed by ample means, can accomplish in the way of reclaiming waste lands.
Mr. Dernell enjoys the confidence and esteem of his fellow-citizens, as is manifested by his election to the office of president of the village, of which he has also been one of the trustees for several years. He has also been a member of the board of education, and trustee of the Rural Cemetery, and in various positions of trust. His business success is a bright example of what a man can accomplish, even under unfavorable circumstances, who gives his time, energies, and talent to one particular thing. And it is safe to say that his well merited success has created no jealousy and made no enemies.
The family mentioned in this sketch are descended from Casper Clow, who married Lucretia, daughter of Conradt Flaack, who is mentioned in another part of this history. A modest tombstone in the oldest burying ground in the village of Athens bears the following inscription: "The grave of Casper Clow, who died Oct. 28, 1820, aged 90 years." The children of this marriage were John, Abraham, Richard, Hannah (wife of Albert Bartlett), Polly, Lucretia (who married Jan VanHoesen), and Catherine (wife of Abraham Hallenbeck). Richard the third son married Comfort Gay daughter of Barnett Gay. The children of this marriage were 1. Hannah, wife of John Clow of Wisconsin; 2. Casper, now living at Athens; 3. Barnett G., living in Nevada; 4. Rosetta, wife of William G. VanLoon--family in New York; 5. Adima, (wife of Ebenezer Adams), Columbia County; 6. Rachel A., (wife of Casper VanLoon), Wisconsin; 7. Richard, moved to California and died there; 8. Anna M., (second wife of Ebenezer Adams); 9. John, who moved to California and died there; 10. Mary C.; 11. Emeline; 12. Juliet; 13. Conrad Aaron Flack, now in California. Mary C., Emeline, and Juliet are now living on the old homestead in the town of Athens.
Richard Clow the father of this family died August 26th, 1854. His widow, who survived many years, died October 24th, 1874.
The homestead of this family is beautifully situated on the western side of Athens Flats. The farm includes Lot No. 19 in the Loonenburg Patent, and a part of Lot No. 79. This farm was sold to Richard Clow by Samuel W. Dexter, and is described as "Beginning at the northwest corner of the Lot 19, and in the Kings road leading from Catskill to Coxsackie, and running by different courses along that road to the Athens and Leeds turnpike, and thence easterly along the turnpike till it strikes the orchard a little north of an old road."
The whole farm thus described contained 100 acres. Mr. Clow also bought a part of Lot No 122, which lies on the rocky ridge east of the homestead. On this charming spot which is endeared to them by many tender associations the remaining members of the family find a quiet home.
John N. Van Hoesen
The original dwelling place of the VanHoesen family in this county was in Claverack, and the first of the name that lived on this side of the Hudson River was Jan VanHoesen, who lived in Coxsackie as early as 1717. Of the branch that remained at Claverack, was descended Nicholas VanHoesen, who had two brothers, Justus and Cornelius.
Nicholas VanHoesen died January 11th 1818. He had children as follows:
1. Nicholas, whose descendants are now living in Delaware County, New York; 2. John N.; 3. William, who is well remembered by the older inhabitants of Athens as the owner, for many years, of the "old Nicholas Perry place" in the western part of town. He had two sons, John, who lived in Athens, and Justus, a citizen of Albany; and three daughters, Charity, Jane and Margaret; 4. Hannah, who married William Earl; 5. Sarah, wife of Henry Cornwell; 6. Charity, wife of Henry Schoonmaker; 7. Thomas, who had two children, Nicholas T. and Hannah.
N. VanHoesen, the second son, was born February 10th 1785, in Columbia county,
New York. He married Maria, daughter of Leonard Whitbeck (whose wife was Rebecca
VanLoon), December 14th 1816.
The children of this marriage were Nicholas I., who is a prominent citizen of Athens and a skillful surveyor, and well known in his profession; Leonard; Thomas; William Henry, who died April 6th 1862; Rebecca, who married John VanLoon; and Jane, wife of William Brandow of Catskill.
John N. VanHoesen, the father of this family, died March 20th 1873.
The homestead upon which the family were born, and where Nicholas and one of his brothers still live, was originally the farm of Nicholas, son of Jurry VanLoon. It was sold by his heirs to Castle Seeley, a well known citizen of Athens in the early part of this century; and he sold it to John N. VanHoesen, April 1st 1837. The old stone house, the original home of the VanLoons, stood by the spring, a little northeast of the present house.
The three brothers, Nicholas, Thomas, and Leonard VanHoesen, are large land holders, and have by skillful management accumulated an extensive and valuable estate.
Garret W. Sager
On the Kings road, leading from Kingston to Albany, about one mile north of Athens and Leeds turnpike is a substantial frame building erected in 1876 by William Sager. The building rests on the foundation of the old homestead of Garret W. Sager, father of the present owner, and was purchased by him about 1830. Near the center of the building, on the north side, forming a part of the foundation, is a stone with the following inscription: L.V.B. 1759 JUNE 4. The original building was erected by Lambert Van Valkenberg, on a part of Lot 134 (covering about 120 acres), of the Loonenburg Patent.
Garret W. Sager was born in the town of Bethlehem, Albany county, January 18th 1793. His ancestors came from Holland and were among the early settlers of Albany county. His educational advantages were very limited, but his subsequent life, and the prominent positions he filled show how well he improved them. In 1812 he married Elizabeth, daughter of Adam Winne, of New Scotland, Albany county, N.Y., by whom he had ten children: Hannah, born June 3rd 1813; Conrad, born February 14th 1815; Christina, born May 2nd 1817; Susannah, born July 20th 1819; William S., born July 13th 1821; Adam, born August 24th 1823; Eliza Anna, born October 20th 1825; Moses, born February 3rd 1828; Kesiah, born July 5th 1830; Abram, born July 25th 1834; and Francis, born November 20th 1841.
He moved with his family, to Athens in 1822, and bought the Palmatier farm, on the Vosen Kill road, where he resided for eight or nine years, when he purchased from Peter Winne the property since known as the Sager Homestead. As a farmer he was one of the most enterprising in this locality, and was among the first to make use of the hay-press for baling hay, large quantities of which he shipped annually to New York and other points. This was the foundation of his subsequent prosperity. His success as a farmer, his honest dealings with his neighbors, and the ability he displayed in the management of his private affairs, soon brought him into public notice. He was elected to the office of justice of the peace, a position he filled for many years to the entire satisfaction of the community. In 1845, his friends desiring to show their appreciation of his faithful services, nominated him for the Assembly on the democratic ticket. He was elected by a large majority, and gave his constituents no cause to regret their choice.
In 1853 or 1854 (Moses, one of his children, having preceded him,), he moved with three of his children to Boone county, Illinois, and sold the homestead to his son William. The rest of his children with the exception of Hannah and William, soon followed him. He remained there until his death in 1877 or 1878. His wife died about the same time.
His son William, the owner of the homestead property, married Catherine Wolf, daughter of Philip Wolf, formerly of Coxsackie. By her he had five children: Christina, born May 3rd 1853; Amanda, born September 12th 1855; Garret Francis, born March 25th 1857; Moses Mead, born March 3rd 1859, and Abel, born April 18th 1863. Only two are living; these reside with their father.
Abraham H. Newkirk
A man may be thoroughly democratic in his political views, and yet have a laudable pride in the fact that he is able to trace his genealogy through a long line of distinguished ancestors. The Salisbury's were not only identified with the earliest settlement of Greene County, but are descended in a direct line from one of the most illustrious families of England. A. H. Newkirk comes of the Salisbury stock through his mother. Her maiden name was Catherine Salisbury. From her father she inherited a large farm, which formed a part of the Salisbury Patent. She first married Robert, a son of John Black, by whom she had two children, Elsie and Rachel. By John P. Newkirk, her second husband, she had 7 children, viz: Abraham H., Jacob, Anna, Catharine, William, Mary, Caroline and Harriet. The oldest of these, Abraham H., forms the subject of this sketch. He was born at Leeds in the town of Catskill, on the 25th of November 1804. He received a fair education and worked for a time on his father's farm. Soon after he became of age, he started in the mercantile business at Lockport, NY, and did very well. He subsequently returned and worked with his father on the farm, and during a part of that time was clerk with Persons Brothers & Son of Leeds. On the 28th of March 1856, he married Elsie Salisbury, who was born at Leeds in the town of Catskill, March 15th 1819. By her he had children: Hasbrouck S., Alice E., and Anna C., all living.
On the 21st of April 1849, he purchased 300 acres on which his widow now lives. He was a prosperous and successful farmer and a man highly respected in the community. He was a member of Hendrick Hudson Lodge, I.O.O.F., Catskill. He died March 22nd 1881.
The Woolsey Family
George Woolsey, the Father of this family, was a native of Belfast, Ireland, where he was born in 1758. He came to New York and commenced business as a merchant in partnership with Francis Panton, and for many years they were prominent wholesale grocers. At the age of 24 he married Miss Jane Panton, the sister of his partner. He soon after removed to Coeymans, where he bought a farm and kept a country store. In 1820 he came to Athens, where, retired from business, he passed the remainder of his days, and was greatly respected by his neighbors. His death occurred September 12th 1826. He left a family of eight* children.
(* I only count 7 children, unless one died between 1803 and 1814-AC)
1. Francis, born April 16th 1790, entered mercantile business in New York at an early age, and continued it until his decease in 1823; 2. George D., born February 22nd 1792, also lived in New York; 3. Hamilton, born May 11th 1794, killed at the age of 10 years by the accidental fall of a well sweep; 4. Jane Helen, born July 24th 1797, married Isaac DuBois of Catskill, and with her husband moved to Michigan, where she died May 10th 1862; 5. Mary Ann, born July 13th 1799, married Francis Talbot of Lockport NY, and moved to Australia, where she died February 21st 1857; 6. Margaret Panton, born August 28th 1801, died in 1850; 7. Henry, born November 18th 1803, died in New Orleans September 21st 1839, unmarried; 7. Frances Sarah, the last of the family, born July 21st 1814, is now living at Athens a life of leisure, a worthy representative of a highly respected family.
Mrs. Jane Woolsey survived her husband many years and died March 9th 1843, aged 78. This family have been prominent members of the Episcopal church, and have taken a lively interest in all that pertains to its welfare.
Robert N. Fullagar
William Fullagar, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in England in November 1793. He married Rachel Boorman, March 8th 1822, and resolving to make his home in the new world, he sailed for New York, where he landed May 22nd 1822 after a voyage of seven weeks. In 1823 he started to return to England but was wrecked on the banks of New Foundland and returned to New York City, where he owned a house on Charles Street. In 1833 he exchanged his house in New York for a farm known as "The Old Homestead" now occupied by his son Robert N. He died in 1864.
His children were: 1. Mary B., born September 28th 1823, married John Rouse; 2. Charlotte, born February 23rd 1826, married William D. Meade; 3. William L., born December 5th 1828, died young; 4. Elizabeth, born August 13th 1831; 5. Rachel, born April 7th 1834; 6. Emily, born April 21st 1837, married John Puffer; 7. Robert Nelson, born July 1st 1839; Zelina A., born May 20th 1843, married George Thorn.
After finishing his studies at the Ashland Collegiate Institute he directed his attention to the business of farming, and the entertainment of summer boarders.
Mr. Fullagar is prominent in the county as a lecturer, advocating the principals of the "greenback party". His lectures and speeches have elicited much attention, and he is well known as a cogent reasoner and an able speaker. "The Old Homestead," overlooks the beautiful plain which the Indians called Potick--one of the five great plains described in the Catskill Patent. There are few places in the county more beautifully located, and a more delightful resort for persons who wish to flee from the city and its ceaseless din, to the quiet scenes that nature provides, cannot easily be found.
Harmon Van Woert
The ancestor of the Van Woert family in Athens was Jacob Van Woert, who came from Albany, and in 1760 purchased from Johannes Provoost, Lot No.17 in the Loonenburg Patent, bounded as the deed says, "on the north by Lot 16, on the south by Lot 18, on the east by Lot 23, and the Kings road to the west, and 5 acres to the west of the road, for a convenient homestead." Upon this homestead he lived, and died April 25th 1781. It is now owned by his great-grandson, Samuel Van Woert.
Woert had a son Nicholas, who married Mary Staats, April 13th 1764. The children
of that marriage were as follows:
1. Mary, born October 13th 1764, married _____ Whiting, died in 1807; 2. Isaac, born April 20th 1769, died September 5th 1819; 3. Jacob, born November 8th 1775, had a wife Eleanor, died April 19th 1847; 4. Abraham, born May 14th 1780, has descendants at Keyport. Nicholas Van Woert died August 13th 1792.
second child, married Hannah Bunt, December 13th 1801, and died in 1839. Their
Nicholas, born September 16th 1802, died January 18th 1882; Harmon, born November 16th 1804, died January 16th 1864; Maria, born June 20th 1807; Anna, born July 16th 1809, married John Brandow, died 1879; Catherine, born July 11th 1811, married Severine Carley; Elizabeth, born January 15th 1813, died young; Isaac S., born July 4th 1816, died in 1883; his family now live in Athens.
Nicholas, son of Isaac Van Woert, married, in 1829, Rebecca, daughter of William Warner, whose father, Josiah Warner, was a prominent Citizen of Athens in 1800. Their children were Anna Maria, Rebecca (wife of Charles Dubois, of Troy), Isaac (who lives in Rochester), William (who married Emily Everson, and lives at Catskill), Amelia (who died young), Edward (who married Helena, daughter of Peter Spoor, and lives in Athens), and Harmon, the subject of this sketch. He was born in Athens, October 15th 1834, and married Catherine Hollenbeck, November 10th 1858. Their children are Endora, and Catherine Elizabeth.
Mr. Van Woert has always been connected with the republican party. He was elected supervisor of Athens in 1872, and his services are so well appreciated by the people, that he has been reelected seven times. He was the first republican supervisor elected in 14 years, and was the first of his party to hold the position of chairman of the board. He is now one of the committee for building the new county alms house.
Jacob Van Woert, son of Nicholas the first, had a son Samuel, who inherits the old homestead, and has two children, Ella, and John.
Harmon, son of Isaac Van Woert the first, married Juliana Sickles, September 4th 1832, and had three children, Margaret Anna, born September 11th 1834; Samuel, born December 1st 1837; and Harmon, born April 19th 1843.
Mrs. Harmon Van Woert, wife of the subject of this sketch, is the daughter of Derrick Hollenbeck, whose father, John W., was the son of William Hollenbeck, who lived on an old homestead on the east side of the Spoorenburg road, now owned by Ephraim Vosburg. John W. Hollenbeck was born December 20th 1760, and died February 22d 1832. His wife was Eyche Hollenbeck, born December 13th 1761- died April 6th 1842. They were married July 14th 1782, and their children were Abraham, born November 14th 1783; Phebe, born October 8th 1784; Mary, born February 11th 1787; William and Caspar (twins), born December 25th 1788; Commerche, born November 26th 1791; Derrick, born June 25th 1793; Magdalen, born April 20th 1795; Susanna, born June 10th 1799; and John, born August 25th 1803.
Derrick, son of John W. Hollenbeck, married Catherine, daughter of William Dederick, and their children were, Eleanor, John, Elizabeth, Christina, Cornelia, Mary, Henry, Abraham, Derrick, Lucy Jane, George and Catherine, who is the wife of Harmon Van Woert.
Daniel W. Gantley
The subject of this sketch came from Southampton, L.I. On his mother’s side he was connected with the Sayre family, who were among the original settlers of that town in 1640. The house of Thomas Sayre, the first settler, built in 1648 is still standing, and is the oldest English house in the State of New York. His mother’s uncle, Stephen Sayre, went from Southampton to England about the middle of the last century, and became high sheriff of London, but true to the cause of the land of his birth, he sent such valuable information to the leader of the American Revolution, and showed such strong regard for the rights of the colonies as to incur the penalty of being committed to the Tower on a charge of treason. Daniel Gantley, at the age of twelve years, was sent to school in New York. At fifteen he entered the store of Laverty & Co., dry goods merchants on Pearl street, and subsequently became a member of the firm. When he entered the store he was very small of his age and was obliged to stand upon a bench when writing at the desk, but even at that early age he was a remarkably fine penman, and especially prided himself upon the beauty of his figures. About that time an event occurred that must ever be considered an era in the history of the country. Robert Fulton, after repeated efforts and failures, had accomplished the great work of his life, and on the first trip of the Steamboat Clermont up the Hudson, Mr. Gantley was the youngest passenger, an event which one would not be likely to forget, even of he lived to the age of the Patriarchs.
Mr. Gantley retired from business and came to Athens, where he bought the elegant mansion built by Gen. Samuel Haight, where his family still reside. His New York residence was No. 791 Broadway, at that time "out of town". He spent a life of quiet usefulness at Athens until the time of his decease, March 8th 1881, at the age of 94. His remains rest in Rural Cemetery.
Mr. Gantley married Maria, daughter of Prosper Hosmer, of Hudson, N.Y., and had eight children: Adelaide, now deceased; Sears M. H., now residing on his father’s place in Athens; Thomas H., of Hudson, N.Y.; John H., also of Hudson; George C. of New York; Julia H., living at Athens; Catharine, also at Athens; Maria L., wife of John Cranbie of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Josephine, wife of John Sanderson, now deceased.
Mr. Gantley was a man of a very genial nature, and in his business affairs was punctuality and promptness personified. In society he was a general favorite, and the life of any company where he was present. In his younger years, he was a leader in the dance, and throughout his life a social and lovable companion. All who knew him could testify that his word was as good as his bond, and confidence in him was never misplaced. We copy the following obituary:
"Daniel W. Gantley, one of the oldest and most prominent citizens of Athens, died at his residence yesterday, at the age of 94 years. Mr. Gantley was a true gentleman of the old school, and remarkably active one of his years. He served with distinction during the war of 1812-14, and is supposed to be the last survivor of the famous New York Huzzars, who won high distinction for valor and effective service during the war. He acquired a liberal competency in mercantile pursuits, and was widely and favorably known throughout the State. He was progressive in business enterprise, and distinguished for rare social qualities. Although he had passed the allotted span of man, his figure, and face and genial nature had become so familiar to young and old, that his death comes unexpected and his departure is universally mourned."
The Nichols Family
Matthias Nicoll, private secretary of Richard Nicoll, the first English governor of New York, and supposed to be his nephew, was a native of Islip, Northamptonshire, England. In 1672, he was mayor of the city of New York, and from 1683 to 1687 one of the judges of the Supreme Court. He died in Queens county, Long Island. His son William obtained a patent for a tract of land on Long Island, which, in memory of his native place, he gave the name of Islip, now a flourishing town in Suffolk county. William, the second son of the patentee, obtained by purchase and by the will of Giles Sylvester, who was the first proprietor of Shelter Island, a very large estate on that island.
Between Long Island and Connecticut there was from the very first a constant intercourse, and from some member of his family, who removed at an early period, was probably descended Captain George Nichols, who was a resident of Waterbury in the early part of the last century.
John, son of Captain George Nichols, was born in 1748. It is sufficient proof of the ample means and superior station of the family, to know that he was educated at Yale College, at a time when a collegiate education was within the reach of very few. He was graduated in 1773, and being intended for the Episcopal ministry, was about to proceed to England for ordination to holy orders, when the outbreak of the Revolution caused an entire change in his plans. He received the degree of Master of Arts, in 1776, and at the time of his preparation to proceed to England, he was provided with letters of the strongest commendation to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. He married Sarah Horton, March 2nd 1775, and, after some changes of residence, settled at Kinderhook, where he founded an academy which attained some distinction as an educational institution. At one time he numbered among his pupils Martin Van Buren, afterward president of the United States. He removed to Athens about 1800, and lived at first in the upper village, or Esperanza. His children were Isabel, who married Joel Post, of Hebron, Connecticut; Nancy, wife of _____ Rowley; Jane, wife of James Ransom; Grace, wife of Castle Seeley; Prudence, wife of Dudley Watrous; Sarah, wife of Dr. Elbridge G. Dunnell; Harriet, wife of Jeduthan Steele; Julia, wife of Nathan Clark; Henry, who died at an early age; William, who resided at Troy, and afterward at Poughkeepsie; and Sylvester.
Mr. Nichols died December 15th 1815, aged 67, and his tombstone may be seen in the Episcopal Cemetery of this village.
Sylvester Nichols was born in Waterbury, Connecticut, October 11th 1795, and came to this place with his father. Gifted with decided business capacity, he entered at an early age into mercantile affairs. He married Lucy, daughter of Samuel Hamilton, July 19, 1817. In 1834 he was elected to the Assembly of this State, and a second time in 1840. He was judge of the Court of Common Pleas for eleven years, and was repeatedly elected supervisor of the town, and trustee of the village. In his business affairs he was a remarkable exception to the proverbial effect of having "many irons in the fire," for although engaged in carrying on many branches of real estate in Athens, entered largely into the manufacture of brick and lime, and at one time might have been seen at the river front, quite a fleet of steamboats and sailing vessels owned by him, and laden with articles of his own manufacture. In addition to all this he carried on a farm of 300 acres in a most successful manner. He died August 20tyh 1868. Mr. Nichols was the father of eight children: Henry, who died at the age of 14; George Sylvester; Samuel Hamilton; William Theodore; Charles Post, of Troy; Sarah A., wife of Lysander Myers of Kingston; Elbridge Dunnell; and Henry O.
George Sylvester, the second son, was born January 12th 1820. He attended school at Lenox, Mass., then at Fairfield, Herkimer county, NY, and afterward at Kinderhook Academy, founded by his grandfather. He commenced business as a clerk in his father's store, and continued with him in his various branches of business till 1837, when he went as captain of the sloop "Science", in which capacity he continued to act until 1846. He then went to Troy, where he was wharf agent for Colonel I. H. Hooker, who was at that time the largest freighter on the river. The "California fever" found in him a ready victim, and he was one of the passengers on board the Steamer "Crescent City" on her first voyage to Chagres, February 5th 1849. After remaining on the isthmus a month, waiting for a chance to embark, he went to San Francisco, which at that time gave little promise of it's future greatness. He remained in California two years, his place of business being Sutters Mills, now Coloma. He then returned to Athens and purchased the house built by Seth Hamilton in 1803, afterward owned by Abraham VanBuskirk, and later by William Bedell, from whom he obtained it, and since that time he has been a resident of this village. In the war for the Union our country found in him a man ready for the hour. He entered the army as major of the 9th regiment of New York cavalry, November 23rd 1861, and rising through the various grades, he became colonel of the regiment June 11th 1864, and was engaged in all the important battles fought by the army of the Potomac, among which may be mentioned Yorktown, the second battle of Bull Run, Fredericksburg, Culpepper, in which one quarter of the regiment was destroyed, the battle of the Wilderness, the Trevillian Station, in which the colonel, William Sackett was killed and he succeeded to the command. He took an active part in more than sixty engagements, and his regiment was never off duty. At the close of the war he received the commission of brevet brigadier general, and once more engaged in the pursuits of peace. He was in the New York custom house six years, and is at present time special examiner of the pension department. He was elected to the State Senate in 1855, in which body he served on the committee on Indians and on insurance. In 1852 he was supervisor of the town. In all walks of life, General Nichols richly merited and justly received the confidence of his fellow citizens.
Samuel Hamilton, third son of Sylvester Nichols, has been during life a prominent resident of Athens, and for the greatest part of the time, he has been closely connected with its business affairs, having been for twenty years justice of the peace, and having held other important offices, which are mentioned simply as proof of the confidence the community reposed in him. In 1882 he was elected member of Assembly and was on the committees on insurance, villages, and agriculture. Of quiet and unassuming manners, which veil, but do not conceal, superior business capacity, he may well be considered one of the representative men of the town and village.
Henry O. and Elbridge D. are well known business men of the place and have been connected with various enterprises with a good degree of success.
William T. has twice represented his town in the board of supervisors.
Samuel H. married Cornelia, daughter of Captain John B. Coffin, and the children are Edwin, Franklin, John & Minerva. General George S. Nichols married Ann Nettenville, daughter of James G. Foster, and their children are Mary, Foster, Sylvester, Charles and Arthur.
The Van Loon Family
Jan Van Loon, the first settler of the name and ancestor of a very numerous race, and who gave the name to the Loonenburg Patent, is supposed to have come to this country from Holland about 1686.He had a wife, Maria, and a family of four sons and four daughters. The sons were Matthias, Albertus, Jan and Nicholas. The daughters were Eltje, who married Omay Lagrange; Neelje, who married Johannes Hallenbeck; Maria, wife of Arent Van Schaack; and Christina, wife of Christian Vroom. In 1720 he gave all his lands to is sons, and he probably died about 1841. Of these sons, the oldest, Matthias, kept the old homestead, at the south part of the Village of Athens; Albertus lived in what is called the upper village; Jan probably located at Klinkenberg, on the place now owned by William Reed Adams; and Nicholas lived on the flats, on the farm now owned by Marcus Hallenbeck.
Matthias Van Loon married Annaatje, daughter of Hans Lagrange, July 1st 1721, and had daughters Eytje, wife of Stephen VanDyke; Christina, wife of Peter Fonda; and Catherine, wife of John VanBuskirk; and a son of John M., who was born 1722, and died in 1823 at the age of 100 years. It was on his farm that the present village of Athens stands.
John Van Loon had a son Matthias, who died before his father. He married 1st, Alice VanHoesen; 2nd Susanna Haight; 3rd Judith Bogardus.
The children of the first marriage were, 1. Maria, who married John Folger, and whose daughter Elsie is the widow of Capt. David Winne, a brave soldier of the War of 1812, whose family now live in Athens; 2. John; 3. Casper, who married Elizabeth, daughter of Peter Coeyman's Bronk, and had nine children, Henry, Bronk, Andrew, Mary, Alice, Catherine, Sarah, Helen, and Caroline, most of whom are living in Athens.
The children of the second marriage were, Samuel, whose family removed to other parts of the State; Henry, who has a son Lyman; Matthias; Elsie, wife of Jeremiah Clough; Elizabeth, wife of John R. Wheeler.
The children of the third marriage were, Jacob, who has a son Ezra, of Athens, and others abroad; and Rebecca, who was unmarried.
Matthias, the third son of Matthias Van Loon and Susanna Haight, was born August 16th 1797. He married Maria, daughter of John Tolley, brother of Judge William Tolley, and his children were, Susan, John, Matthias Staats, Catherine A, and Henry T., who married Anna Macy, and has three children, Ella, Jessie and Charles. He is very extensively engaged in grape raisding with good success.
Matthias, the third child of this family, was born August 26th 1822. He married first, Susan Everts, daughter of George Everts, September 21st 1846; second, Sarah A., daughter of John Terry, of Coeymans, June 24th 1863; third, Ellen, widow of Leander Kenney, and daughter of Walter Howland, January 27th 1879. He has two children, Herman and Elizabeth. The residence of Mr. VanLoon was built in 1872.
About 1843 William I. Coffin and some others came up the river and set up a dry dock and ways on land that belonged to Timothy Bunker, and where he had established chemical works. They sold the dock and ways to William H. Morton, C. Haddon, and Emory Edwards, in 1848. Mr. Haddon retired from the business, but afterward bought back his interest and took Matthias Van Loon as a partner and also Lewis R. and John R. Wheeler. The concern was carried on for four years, when it was sold to a company of seven, of which Mr. Van Loon was one. It was afterward sold to Mr. E. R. Edwards, who carried the business for ten years. Mr. Van Loon went to New Baltimore during this time, and in 1871 he returned, and with Peter Magee as a partner, bought the ship yard, and the business has ever since been conducted by them.
The ship yard of Van Loon & Magee has such an established and extended reputation that it is sufficient to state that no ship yard on the river has so far proved its superior. The following list of boats at this yard is all that is needed to attest the claim:
Barge "G.L. Hardy"; three masted schooner "A.H. Peary"; steam yacht "Marriquita"; tug boats "G.. Harding", "G.H. Pratt". "Walter Betty", "Lafayette", "Gen Newton", "Thomas Purcell, Jr.", "Richards", "Excelsior", "Millard", Groton". and "Exchange"; steamboats "Minnie Cornell", "New Brunswick", "Belle Horton", "City of Catskill", "Kaaterskill", "Pierie C. VanWyck", and "Flushing"; yacht "Isabella"; ferryboat "A. F. Beach"; annex boat, "Silliman"; tug boats "Fuller" and "H.W.Temple"; yacht "Dashaway"; ice barge "Robert Scott"; and tug "Z.W. Wilson".
Of the branches of the VanLoon family who are descended from the brothers Nicholas, Jan, and Albertus, sons of the first settler, our limits forbid more than a brief notice.
Nicholas VanLoon married Rachel Clow at Claverack November 19th 1721, and had children: Maria, born in 1722; Jurge, who had a son Nicholas; Elsie; Johannes, born in 1726; Matthias and Petrus (twins), born in 1736; William, born in 1731; Abraham, born in 1740; Isaac, born July 22nd 1743, who married Catherine Hallenbeck 1763, and had two sons, Jacob, and Major Nicholas I. Van Loon, who was a very prominent citizen of Athens. He married Hannah, daughter of Isaac Hallenbeck, and had children; Isaac, Casper, William Prentiss, Catherine, Mary A., Cornelia and Jacob, who has a son Van Ness of Catskill. His descendants are very numerous.
Major Van Loon was killed by being caught on a picket fence which he was endeavoring to get over, near the upper village of Coxsackie. Being unable to extricate himself he was found dead in the morning. This occurred in 1846. A tombstone with the inscription "N.I. Van Loon, aged 80," marks his last resting place in the Athens Cemetery.
Jan Van Loon, the second son of the first settler, married Rebecca, daughter of Johannes Hollenbeck, March 2nd 1709. He had children: Rachel, who married Evert Everson (to whom his father-in-law gave the farm now owned by Walter Hallenbeck, in Athens); Elsie; Maria: Jan (who married Janetje, daughter of Abraham Valkenburg); Helena; Catherine; Johannes; and Jacob, born July 12th 1744, died in 1823; and Albertus (who died at Klinkenberg, on the present homestead of Mr. William Reed Adams). Jacob had a son John, who had sons; Isaac (now living near the railroad station in Athens), John, Joseph, and Jeremiah. Isaac has children; Parnelia, Sarah, Rebecca, Charlotte, and John J., who has children, Henry J., and Anna Maria.
Albertus, the forth son of the first settler, had a wife, Maria Caspersen, married April 12th 1709. He had children: Albertus (born March 31st 1792)--(I question this date--AC), Maria, Rachel, Jan, Jacob and Hendrica, wife of Jan Casperse Van Hoesen.
The father of this family died in 1754. His son Albertus died April 30, 1791, had a wife Maria, and left children: Eytje, wife of Shadrach Sill; Maria, wife of Cornelius DeGroot; and a son Albert A., who died in 1799, aged 28, leaving three sons, John and Ezra (who died young), and Albert, who died unmarried, and was the last of his race who lived in the old stone house in the upper village of Athens.
Peter Magee, the partner of Mr. Mattias Van Loon, was born in Baltimore, MD, November 23rd 1838, and learned the business in the ship yard of John J. Armstrong, a great shipbuilder. His wife was Mary Jane McCabe, whom he married August 10th 1870. They have children, Joseph, Francis, Mary Jane, and Annie. He worked at first in New York, and afterward went to Port Royal SC, where he was in the quarter-master's department, two years. He spent one year in Illinois, at Mound City. He came to New Baltimore in 1866, and to Athens in 1871, and he is prominently known as a skillful workman and a good citizen.