Search billions of records on

Ye Olden Time - Chapter Twenty
Coxsackie Declaration of Independence 

Transcribed by Arlene Goodwin. From the book entitled, "Ye Olden Time, as compiled from the Coxsackie News of 1889" written by Robert Henry Van Bergen, together with notations by Rev. Delber W. Clark, and edited by Francis A. Hallenbeck, 1935

Coxsackie Declaration of Independence

A faded, yellow parchment, just found among the old, cast away things usually stored away in an attic, discloses the fact that the inhabitants of Coxsackie drew up and signed a Declaration of Independence one year before the immortal manifesto, written by a Virginian, was given to the ages at Philadelphia. The historic document was discovered in Albany by Mr. John M. Clarke, president of the Albany Institute and Historical and Art Society and by him presented to that society.

The state historian, Dr. Sullivan; the state librarian, Dr. Wyer, and the state archevist, have each examined the parchment and pronounced it unique. Two hundred and twenty-five Dutch signatures are appended to the Declaration.

On the reverse side the parchment is written in diminutive script. "George III, last King of America."

The Coxsackie Declaration of Independence reads:

PERSUADED that the Salvation of the Rights and Liberties of America, depends, under God, on the firm Union of its inhabitants, in a vigorous prosecution of the Measures necessary for its Safety, and convinced of the necessity of preventing the Anarchy and Confusion which attend a Dissolution of the Powers of the Government:

THAT the Freeholders and Inhabitants of Coxsackie District in the County of Albany, being greatly alarmed at the avowed Design of the Ministry to raise a Revenue in America, and shocked by the bloody Scene acting in the Massachusetts-Bay: DO in the most solemn Manner resolve never to become Slaves; and do also associate under all the Ties of Religon, Honour, and Love to our Country, to adopt and endeaver to carry into Execution whatever Measures may be rendered by the Continental Congress, or resolved upon by our provisional Convention for the purpose of preserving our Constitution and opposing the Execution of several arbitrary and oppressive Acts of the British Parliament, until a reconciliation between Great Britain and America on constitutional principles (which we most ardently desire) can be obtained; and that we will, in all Things, follow the advice of our general Committee, respecting the purposes aforesaid, the preservation of peace and good Order, and the safety of Individuals and private property.

Dated at Cocksackie the Seventeenth Day in the Year of our Lord One thousands seven hundred and seventy-five.


John Schuneman V. D. S *(V. D. S. for Verbum Dei Servus)

Casperus Halenbeck

Theunis van vechten

Peter Bronck

Jas Barker

Leonard Bronck

Heny Van Bergen

Abraham Hallenbeck

John L. Bronck

Peter X Vanette *(probably Van Elten)

Jacob X Hallenbeck

Wilhelmus Vanderburgh

William X. Hallenbeck

John X Vannette *(probably Van Elten)

Anthony van Bergen

Wessell Salisbury

John A Witbeck

Casperse Hellenbeck

Saml Van Vechten

John Grogg

Pieter Conyne

Abraham Salisbury

Thomas Hoghtelen *(Thomas Hotaling Captain in the Revolution)

Reyckert Van den berk *(Richard Van Den Berg)

Michael X Collyor

Richard Johnson

Francis Salisbury Jr

John Vosburgh

Johannes X Jansen

Henry Irison

Lambert Van X Volkenburgh

Nikols Yare

Caspar Hollenbak

Matthia Van Con Jan

Myndert V. Schaick

Caper Pare *(Perry)

Arcut X Van Schaick

John Romear

Jacob Van Loon

Benjamin X Essex

Jacob Hallenbeck

John Van Stienburg

William Van Bergen

Gared Peresen

P. Friessouser

James X White

John C. Claus

John X Snyder

Jeremiah X Steenburgh

Nicholas Van Loon

John X Wall

Martin Hallenbeck

John V. Schaick

Abraham Van Loon

John W. Bught

Hendrick X Rose

Nicholas V. Schake

William Rea

Peter Van Burgan

Philip Conyne

John Paree *(Perry)

Reychert van den berk

Isaac X Collyer

Coenraet X Hoghtaline

Jacob X Livingston

Richard X Houghtaline

Thomas X. Templar

Philip Conine Jr

Joseph Nisbit

Baltus Van Slyk

William Groom

John van den berck

Henry Knoll

Jeremiah X Conine

John X Schrader

Peter Conine

Arent X Gooss

Peter Van Slyk *(General Peter Van Sylke)

Hendrick X Smith

Jan, Hearn

William X Smith

Philip Bronck

George Rosa

Benjamen Smith

Marten G. V. Bergen

Marten B. Bargin

Wilhelmis X Dederick

Peter Smith

Jary X Van Loon

Petrus X Brandow

Johan Wesdernich

John X Curby

Saml Allen

Jacob Van Vechten

Abraham Camer

Francis Salisbury

Willhelmas Lampman

Abraham Salisbury

Herman X Becker

Cornelius Dubois

Casper Hallenbeck

Heiybartus Dubois

Nicholas Van Loon

John Dubois

Robert Thomas

Benjamin Dubois

Jacob X Shoup

Richard X Vandenburgh

Peter Van Loon Jr

Henry Wabber

Isaak Witbeck

Frederick Schram

William Wells

Wm. Jones

Sml. Stogeles Salisbury

Reuben Stanton

A. Doonhalten

Andrew Van de berk

Ebenezer Stanton

Wilhelme Sammon

Willn Brandow Jr

Jno Moore

Edward Groom

John X Goes

Haederick X Schram

Corneliis Connine

Clement Overbagh

Rich. Ten X Bronck

Benjamin Van gerdener

John X Hallenbeck

John X Munday

John X Van Housan

James Donny

William X Klauw

Joseph Groom

Jon. Spoor

Albert Van Loon

Johannis Sousa

Joachim X Ryal

Petrus Van Loon

David Rose

Albvertus Van Loon

Gererdus Neukerk

John Rouge

Matthias X Hallenbeck

Pet. X Schram

Storm Rosa

Dirk Spoor

Christian Blodaar

Andros X Eaghlar

John Pesaly

William X Cudney

Burent Abbortsen

Frederick Schneck

Benjamin Cornelius Dubois

John Bronk

Benjamin Dubois

John Van Loon

Solomon X Schut

Casper Hellenbeck *(Hallenbeck)

Nicolas V. Scake *(Nicholas Van Schaack)

Matthias X Boom

Dirk Van Veghton

Peter X Janson

John X Vosburgh

John H X Schurmerhorn

Frederick Dederick

Hugh Deniston

Johan Niew

Laurence Winney

J. Wood

Stephen Haight

Wilhelmus X Oorbagh

Cornelius Spoor

Laurance Dubois

Thos, Garnett

John Ellis

Johannis Conyn

John X Lampman

John Casperus X Van Hoefer (probably Van Hoesen)

Mod. Van Sand *(Van Zandt)

Nicholas X Lantman *(Lampman)

Henry Oothaudt

John X Dryver

Thouny D. Van Veghten

Joseph Horsford

Benjamin X Freligh

Johannas X Planke

William X Brandow

Thomas Burdick

Cornielus Schermerhorn

Abraham Van Garde

Gysbert Oosterhoudt

Arent X Feddor

Jacob Egbertsen Jun.

Jam. C. Van Waganem

Garret P. X Steenbergh

Peter Soufer *(Peter Souser)

Thomas Fish

Richard Conways

Egbert Bogardus

William Schutt

Peter Bogardus

John Tayler

Johannes X Van Garde

Jacob X Cook

Thomas Aston

Goefrie Barndow

John Persan

Coenrad Flaake

Johannes X Brandow



  Home         Table of Contents        History of the Towns Home Page

Ye Olden Time Home Page