Taken from History of Herkimer County by George A. Hardin and Frank H. Willard, published in 1893.
BABCOCK, Calvin G., Newport, was born in Brookfield, Madison county, N. Y., January 7, 1835. His father was Richard C. Babcock, a son of Gideon Babcock, who was an early settler of Madison county. Richard C. was a native of Rhode Island and one of the first settlers of Madison county. He was a sea captain, having crossed the ocean sixteen times and visited all the important places in Europe, but spent his last days in Madison county as a farmer. His wife was Mary C. Perry, a cousin of Commodore Perry. They had six sons and four daughters, Calvin G. being the youngest. Mr. And Mrs. Babcock both died in Madison county. Calvin G. was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools, and in Brookfield and Hamilton Academy. On the 20th of November, 1859, he married Lodema Gile, a native of Oneonta, N. Y., by whom he had three children, Mary C., George H. and Calvin G., jr. In 1869 Mr. Babcock with his family came to Newport and settled on the place he now owns. He is a cheese maker by trade and owns Shedbrook factory of Newport, Sterling Creek factory of Schuyler, North Schuyler factory in Schuyler, and the Newport factory. He and his family are Baptists.
BABCOCK, Stephen E, Little Falls,
civil engineer, is a native of Troy, N. Y., and has spent all of his adult
years in his profession, being known from the Atlantic to the Pacific
as one of the greatest hydraulic engineers of the Union. He has been in
Little Falls seven years and has constructed water-works for Amsterdam,
N. Y., Johnstown,
BACON, Warren H., Dolgeville, was born in Oppenheim. He received his education in the Fairfield Seminary, Clinton Liberal Institute, and the Cazenovia Seminary, and commenced the study of law in the office of Judge Keck, of Johnstown. After three years therein, and upon the death of his father, he left his studies to settle up the estate of his family. Mr. Bacon was elected supervisor of the town of Oppenheim in 1878, 1879, 1880, and in 1883, being chairman of the board for two terms. He is at present trustee of the village of Dolgeville, justice of the peace of the town of Oppenheim, district deputy of I.O.O.F., member of the Royal Arcanum, and identified with all social and benevolemt institutions. He owns the old homestead of 120 acres of dairy land in Oppenheim. Mr. Bacon's ancestors on his father's side came from Dudley, Mass., in 1819, and settled there. His great-grandfather was Jonathan Bacon jr., and his father was George H. Bacon. On his mother's side he is descended from the Davis family, who came to Massachusetts, or Maine, in 1642, of English parentage.
BAILEY, Albert, Winfield, was born in Wales in 1840. He came here in 1842 with his father, George Bailey, who married Mary Clark, in Yorkshire, England. Their only son, Albert Bailey, married Adeliza Irons in 1865. She was a native of Hartwick, Otsego county, and a daughter of Asa Irons and Abigail Roberts. Albert and Adeliza Bailey have two children living: E. Julia May and George A. Bailey.
BAILEY, Squire, superintendent of the Little Falls Knitting Mills, is a native of Batley, England and a son of the president of these mills. He came to America with his father when a child, thirty-five years ago. He was born June 8, 1854. He learned the knitting trade in Utica, and came here when the Little Falls mills were being built, working on them from the foundation up, and then in them ever since. In 1886 he was appointed superintendent. Mr. Bailey is highly popular with all classes, and has held the office of alderman. He is a prominent member of the Elks, and of the Masonic Fraternity.
BAILEY, Thomas, Little Falls, was born and received his education in Little Falls. In 1872 he entered the manufacturing establishment, of which his father is president, in a clerical capacity. He now, in the absence of the president, fills his position, attending to the buying, selling and general outside business. Mr. Bailey has been for a number of years prominent in political and social circles; he served as alderman for four years consecutively, and in the fall of 1890 was elected to the responsible position of county treasurer upon the Republican ticket. His father and brother have also held public office. Mr. Bailey is a member of the Royal Arcanum, Odd Fellows, Elks, and the popular leader of the well known Little Falls band, he being a very accomplished cornet player.
BAIRD, John, Norway, was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, November, 1852. He is the fourth of six children born to John and Elizabeth (McCulloch) Baird, of Scotland, where they lived and died. Elizabeth Baird died in 1855, and Mr. Baird married Mary Gordon, by whom he had ten children. He was a successful dairyman. He died in 1886. In 1871 John and his brother James came to America. James spent the most of his life, after coming here, in Otsego county, as a cheese-maker and school teacher. He died in 1876. John was reared on a farm and educated in the common parish schools of Scotland. He has followed cheese-making since he came to America. For the last ten years years he has been engaged in the White Creek Cheese Factory of Norway. In 1881 he married Ella Fox and they have had three daughters: Grace N., Ella F., and Mildred E. Mr. Baird is a Republican and a member of Newport Lodge, No. 451, F. and A.M. Mrs. Baird is a daughter of Abraham and Sarah (Elwood) Fox of Stark. Mr. Fox is of German descent and his wife is of English descent. They reared eight children and both died in Stark, N.Y.
BAKER, Albert, German Flats, was born in Springfield, Mass., October 15, 1818. He learned his trade in Chicopee Falls and came to Ilion in 1847. He has been a contractor in the Armory for over forty years and has charge of the forging done in the works. Mr. Baker married Julia Manning, by whom he had one son, Franklin A., who married a Miss Davenport. Franklin A. Baker died in 1888, leaving four sons. Mr. Baker is largely interested in orange groves in Florida.
BAKER, Herbert E., Schuyler, is a native of Schuyler, and was born August 15, 1852. He married Agnes Wilmot in 1878, and they have three sons and a daughter. Mr. Baker was educated in Whitestown and Fulton Seminary. His father was Albert and his grandfather was Hiram Baker.
BAKER, Hiram V., Schuyler, was born on the farm he now owns, October 26, 1822. His father, Hiram Baker, was born February 21, 1800, and died in 1887. His grandfather, George Baker, came from Ireland in the last century and his grandmother from Rhode Island. In 1847 Mr. Baker married M. E. Bridenbecker, daughter of Jacob Bridenbecker, a descendant of an old Mohawk Dutch family. Mr. Baker is one of the prominent men of Schuyler and has been highway commissioner and assessor of the town. His father was school commissioner and clerk of the district for many years.
BAKER, J. C., German Flats, was born in Sheffield, England, December 9, 1836. He came to America in 1845 and learned his trade in Waterville, Conn., afterwards moving to Winsted, Conn. He came to Ilion in 1861, and has been in the armory ever since, having been contractor for several years, and latterly being with the typewriter works. In 1855 he married Augusta Truman, and their children are: John T. Baker, jr., Mrs. I. A. Chatteway, and Annette, who is at home.
BAKER, Walter, German Flats, was born in Sheffield, England, June 8, 1837, and came to America in 1847. He was engaged in different shops in Connecticut until 1861, when he came to Ilion, where he was connected with the armory as contractor for twenty-five years. He now does the drop forging and cold pressed work for the Wyckoff, Seaman & Benedict Typewriter Company. In 1856 he married Sarah M. Spencer, and they have seven children, three sons and four daughters. Mr. Baker is a prominent Mason, and has been chief of the Ilion fire department.
BALL, Alpha A., Warren, was born February 28, 1852, in Litchfield, a son of Horatio and Roxey (Manning) Ball. The grandfather, Eleas Ball, was also born in Litchfield, where his father was a pioneer. He twice married, first to Fannie Holding, by whom he had these children: Horatio, Varnum, Fidelia and Celia. By his second wife, Mary A. Wilkerson, he had five children: Ira, Alfred, Jared, Daniel and Sarah. Horatio was born in Litchfield, but has lived thirty-five years in Warren. His children were Alpha A. and Alice C. The former received a district and select school education and came to Warren when seven years of age. When twenty-one he began for himself, working by the month for two years. He then rented 102 acres, where he lived three years, and worked his father's farm two years. He also spent a year in Columbia. In the spring of 1889 he bought fifty-two acres, where he now resides in Warren. March 26, 1875, he married Rose E., daughter of Solomon and Catharine (Walters) Hoke. They have three children; Carrie M., Florence C. and Walter M.
BALL, Elias B., Litchfield, a farmer and grocer, has been overseer of the poor, county commissioner of highways, collector, and assessor of the town of Litchfield, where he was born February 23, 1808. He is a son of John Ball, a native of New Hampshire; he was one of four brothers, Nathaniel, David, Joseph and John A., who came here the next year after the first settler, Elijah Snow, who settled this town in 1786. Elias B. Ball married first Fanny, daughter of Kellup Holden. She died leaving four children: Horatio G., Farnum, Adelia, and Celice L. He married second Mary Ann Wilkenson, by whom he has four sons and one daughter living, Ira E., Alfred J., Sarah D., Eli J. and Daniel E. Mrs. Ball is a daughter of Ira Wilkenson, one of the prominent men of this town.
BALL, Howard H., a farmer, also town clerk of Litchfield for the second term, was born on the farm, where he now lives, May 12, 1856, and married Elisabeth Fish, of Frankfort. They have two children: Florence A. and Felda. Howard H. Ball, a son of Hartley Ball, was also town clerk, and was born on the farm occupied and owned by his son, Howard H. Hartley Ball was a son of Captain Joseph Ball, who came from one of the Eastern States when a boy with his father, who settled on this farm when the country was new. He was appointed captain and served in a military company. He died in 1872, aged ninety-four years. Elisabeth Ball was a daughter of Samuel P. Fish, formerly a resident of this town, and supervisor of Litchfield.
BARDIN, Park M., Winfield, was born in Plainfield, June 13, 1848, and settled in Winfield on the farm where he now lives in 1856. It consists of 150 acres. It is a dairy and grain farm and is part of that formerly owned by Col. Newton A. Wilcox, who was the largest dairy farmer of his time, keeping one hundred cows. He was born on this farm where his father, John Wilcox, settled. Mr. Bardin married, October 13, 1869, Fannie S. Brigham, of Westmoreland, Oneida county. They have three children: Edith L., Earl C. and Ward N. Park M. Bardin is a son of Seth Bardin, who was born in Plainfield but settled on this farm in 1856, and he was a son of Seth Bardin also.
BARNES, Deacon Charles, Litchfield, was born in Ghent, Columbia county, March 26, 1802, and February 18, 1830, married Maria Ludlow in the town of Austerlitz, Columbia county, N. Y. April, 1831, they removed to Jerusalem Hill, Herkimer county, and in 1837 he settled on the farm where his son George now resides. When he came to Litchfield his brother, David Barnes, was pastor of the church at Norwich Corners from 1830 to 1835, and in 1836 David removed to Oneida Lake, Madison county, where he died September 5, 1890, aged ninety-three years. Charles Barnes had four sons: James, Richard, Charles and George, all living. The oldest, James L., was a member of Company E., One Hundred and Fifty-second New York Volunteers, enlisting September \par 6, 1862. He was discharged June 15, 1865, having attained the rank of sergeant. He was severely wounded at the battle of Spotsylvania Court-house, May 12, 1864; was cripped for life. Two of the sons, James and George, live in Litchfield. Richard resides at Fowler, Neb. Charles lives at Sauquoit, Oneida county. Charles Barnes was appointed deacon of the Norwich Corners Congregational Church in 1838. His first wife, Maria Ludlow, died October 31, 1857, and on July 13, 1859, he married Mrs. Maria Strong, of Lenox, Madison county, N. Y. Deacon Charles Barnes died June 28, 1883. His second wife, Maria Strong, died January 28, 1888. Two of the sons are married. Charles married Flora Johnson, of Sauquoit, January 18, 1863, they have four children. George married Ellen Chappell, of Schuyler\rquote s Lake, September 20, 1871. They have one daughter, Ida.
BARNEY, Dr. A.G., Dolgeville, father of F.M. Barney, M.D., settled in Dolgeville in July, 1861. He died here September 2, 1888. F.M. Barney was educated in Fairfield Seminary and graduated from the Albany Medical College March 15, 1888. Dr. Barney married Mattie Broderick of Little Falls. They have no family. The doctor is health officer of the town and is identified with local, social and benevolent associations. His ancestors came originally from Massachusetts.
BARRETT, Murtis A., Dolgeville, was born in Oppenheim September 4, 1868. He was educated in the Oppenheim school and the Fairfield Academy, and worked with his father, Patrick Barrett, on the farm in Oppenheim until 1889, then for two years he worked at the brick business in the east. In November, 1891, he established his present liquor business in Dolgeville, which he has since successfully conducted.
BARRINGER, C. A., German Flats, was born in Ilion December 31, 1845, and has lived all his life on the farm where he was born. His father was Samuel Barringer, and his grandfather Zachariah Barringer. Our subject owns 135 acres of fine farming land, and his two sisters, Mary and Martha, reside with him.
BARSE, Charles I., Little Falls, is a native of Little Falls, and although a young, unmarried man, represents substantial agricultural interests. His father, Charles Barse, was also a native and life-long resident of Little Falls. His mother is still living. Mr. Barse has 175 acres of land and a herd of forty milch cows. He is a member of the Grange and enterprising farmer. The family consists of four brothers and one sister, and is one of the oldest and best known in the county, the grandfather having settled here in the early part of the present century.
BARSE, F., German Flats, was born in Herkimer county, town of Herkimer, October 5, 1830, and came to Ilion in 1863. After filling responsible positions he embarked in the saloon and bottling business fifteen years ago, and in 1882 the firm became Barse & Miller, as it at present exists. Mr. Barse married Mary E. Wildey, and they have one daughter, Kate. Mr. Barse's mother was a Miss Smith, related to the Smiths of Herkimer.
BARSE, Irving, Little Falls, is a native of Little Falls, and has been a farmer always. He is young and energetic, and is making his way to the world successfully, owning at present eighty acres of land, which he utilizes for dairying purposes, and keeping fifteen cows. In 1880 he married Mamie Burt, and they have two daughters. Mr. Barse is a member of the Grange at Little Falls.
BARTLETT, Rush, Winfield, owns a dairy farm of 400 acres and ships milk from the farm to New York. He and his brother have a stock farm twenty five miles west of Topeka. Kan., where they raise horses and ship them here for sale. Bartlett was born in Winfield . June 27, 1849,, where he has since resided, with the exception of thirteen years spent in Kansas. He is the son of Emery Bartlett, who was born here June 24, 1818. His father Jonathan, was one of the first settlers of the town, and first on the farm now occupied by Charles Burgess on the town line. He came here from Massachusetts when the town was a wilderness. Rush Bartlett, married Cora, daughter of Dwight Burgess, March 23, 1881. They had three children, Dwight, Estelle and Carrie. His farm came to him through his father, Emery Bartlett, who purchased it of Dean Burgess.
BARWELL, Henry, Russia, was born in Market Harborough, Leicestershire, England, March 25, 1838, a son of Joseph and Mary (French) Barwell. Mr. Barwell studied medicine and practiced in England many years. He died in 1875. His younger son, the subject of this sketch, was educated in the common schools and at Airedale Academy, graduating thence at the age of fifteen years. At nineteen he came to the United States, locating in the West. About 1866 he came to Poland, where he has since resided. He is a Republican, a member of Newport Lodge, F. and A. M., and has been a Mason since 1860. May 1, 1872, he married Emily C. Cruikshank, of Deerfield, Oneida county, born October 28, 1852, a daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Pierce) Cruikshank, who was a direct descendant of Captain Michael Pierce, who came from England to America in 1646, and was slain in battle by the Indians March 26, 1676, near Pawtucket Falls. Mr. Barwell and wife have two children, Mary E. Larned and Harry Leicester.
BEALS, Rev. Oliver B., Litchfield, was born on the farm where he now lives July 25, 1832, and is an ordained minister of the Unitarian church. He was school commissioner of the second district of Herkimer county, which position he held nine years. He was associated with Judge Graves, of Herkimer, and they were delagates to the New York Constitutional Convention from this district. Mr. Beals was on the committee of education, he being the only school commissioner in the convention. His theory in relation to the enlargement of the canals was adopted by the finance committee and by the convention. He married Emma Champion, and they have four children: Mrs. I.K. Fish, Oliver W., and John D., who are lawyers in New York city, and Morell B., who is a practicing physician in New York city.
BEATTIE, William, Little Falls, was born in Little Falls, Herkimer county, N. Y., March 20, 1858. His father, William Beattie, was a native of Dumfrieshire, Scotland, who came to this country early in the nineteenth century, and settled in Little Falls, where he conducted a brewery for nearly thirty years. William, jr., was connected with his father in the business, and after his death succeeded to the property, which had been, in 1883, transformed to a hotel, the brewery being discontinued at that date. Mr. Beattie is now an extensive real estate owner, besides being the possessor of considerable other property. He owns the Beattie House, as well as many desirable residences; also a roller rink, which is situated upon very valuable land on Main street. He married Libbie M. Keller.
BECKWITH, Clinton, Herkimer, was born in Herkimer, where he has always lived. His business has been contracting, and he is one of the heaviest operators in this part of the State, having completed many notable pieces of work. He is also prominent in the Democratic party, which has nominated him several times for local and State positions. Mr. Beckwith is full of enterprise, and is possessed of much ability.
BECKWITH, E. D., Little Falls, was born in the town of Columbia and educated in the district schools and prepared to enter college in the Winfield and Little Falls academies. At the age of twenty-six he was elected to the Legislature, and afterwards was school commissioner for Herkimer county. He followed farming until the age of thirty, then through endorsing paper became interested in the tannery business, which he has since conducted. He employs about fifty hands. He is a popular speaker in presidential campaigns. Mr. Beckwith\rquote s ancestors are of Revolutionary fame and have been for several generations successively members of the Legislature, besides holding other public offices of note. His grandfather, Alijah Beckwith, was in the war of 1812, served three terms in the Legislature and was from six to eight years in the Senate. His father was also in the Legislature and was presidential elector at the time of Lincoln\rquote s nomination. Mr. Beckwith is at present one of the Cleveland delegates to Chicago. He married Miss E. Robinson of this State, by whom he has had three children, one of whom, J. D. Beckwith, is a graduate of Cornell University and a now prominent lawyer of this village. The other two are daughters.
BELL, Charles, Herkimer, was born in Columbia, Herkimer county. He received his education in the Cedarville High School and Whitestown Seminary, and commenced the study of law with Earl & Prescott, and was admitted to the bar from the office of Steele & Prescott June 20, 1884. On January 19, 1885, he formed a copartnership with J. D. Henderson for the practice of law, which firm still exists, and is one of the most prominent law firms in Herkimer county. Mr. Bell is a member of the police and fire commissioners, which offices he has held since their organization in 1787. He was selected chairman of the Democratic County Committee in 1889 which office he still retains. He is also a member of the Masonic fraternity, having taken his thirty-second degree, and is identified with various social and benevolent institutions. He married Carrie, daughter of J. J. Steele, of German Flats. Mr. Bell's father is Warner Bell, his grandfather Nicholas Bell, and his great-grandfather Philip Bell, the latter having been killed in the Revolutionary War. The ancestry of the family is Mohawk Dutch.
BELLINGER, George P., Danube, was born on the old farm in 1867. He was liberally educated at Fort Plain and at the Clinton Liberal Institute and assisted his father on the farm until the death of that gentleman, when he succeeded to the property, which occurred on the 2d of November, 1888. He married Grace Johnson on the 9th of September, 1891, and they have a daughter, Ruth, born November 18, 1892. Christian Bellinger, great-grandfather to George P., settled here early in the seventeenth century; his great grandfather, Christian Bellinger, was taken prisoner by the Indians. His father, James Bellinger, lived and died on the old farm. He owns about 125 acres of fine dairy land and keeps about forty head of stock.
BELLINGER, Henry H., Herkimer, was born in Herkimer, N. Y., and educated in the schools of Little Falls and Fairfield. He is part owner of a large farm, originally consisting of 292 acres, but has sold off some lots on Bellinger street, and the extension of Church street. His father was born here and was a farmer. He took part in the war of 1812, at Sackett's Harbor. Mr. Henry H. Bellinger enlisted in the 152d N. Y. Volunteers, Company A, and served under Hancock, Dix and Foster. He was subsequently in the adjutant-general's office. His father's name was Fred P. Bellinger, a prominent man of his day, who held seats in both the Legislature and Senate.
BELLINGER, J.C., of Newell & Bellinger, Little Falls, is a grandson and namesake of J. C. Bellinger, one of the prominent characters of the early part of the present century. His great-grandfather was Henry Bellinger; so he represents the fourth generation of this branch of the Bellinger family in this State. J.C. Bellinger is a native of East Bloomfield, Ontario county, N.Y., where he was born in 1866. Although but a young man, he is one of the bright business men of this town. July 1, 1891, he entered into partnership with J.R. Newell. He had formerly been a clerk in the same business. In politics he is a Republican.
BELLINGER, J.M., Mohawk, was born in Mohawk January 20, 1849. He received an excellent education, and was connected with the Remington Armory for twenty-three years. During this time he kept books for Mr. John Hoefler for ten years. Mr. Bellinger followed civil engineering and telegraphy, and was connected with the New York, Utica and Ogdensburg Railroad for two years; was with Beckwith & Quackenbush at the building of the West Shore Railroad at Little Falls and had charge of the night forces. Mr. Bellinger then established his paper box and wood case manufactory in Mohawk, which has steadily increased since its inception. He employs twenty-five hands. For thirteen years past he has been second lieutenant of the Thirty-first Separate Company of the National Guards, and is the third ranking second lieutenant in the State. Mr. Bellinger married Miss Allie M. Harris. They have no family. He is a Mason and identified with local, social and benevolent institutions.
BELLINGER, James H., Little Falls, is a son of P.E. Bellinger, of whom mention is made elsewhere, and although a young man is one of the representative farmers of Little Falls, and probably the most able and successful of all the men who are known under the same name. He is a native of this township and was educated in Little Falls and Utica. He married Eva Brown and they have one child, a son. He owns 162 acres, used for dairy purposes and grain, and has thirty-eight cows. Mr. Bellinger is a Democrat and a member of the Royal Arcanum.
BELLINGER, John, Norway, was born in Remsen September 15, 1820. He is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Ingersoll) Bellinger, who reared three children. Mrs. Bellinger died and Mr. Bellinger married Julia Dibble, by whom he had seven children. Jacob Bellinger was born in Oppenheim, and afterwards settled in Bellingertown, in Remsen, the former named in honor of his uncle and father. During the latter years of his life, Mr. Bellinger lived with the subject in Ohio, where he died in 1874. John Bellinger was reared on a farm. His mother died when he was six years of age, and since the age of nine years he has supported himself. In 1848 he married Lydia Anthony, by whom he has three sons and one daughter. Mr. Bellinger owns 130 acres of land. He is a Democrat in politics. In 1884 Mrs. Bellinger died and he married Lizzie Mullen of Crogan, Jefferson county. He and wife are members of the M. E. Church.
BELLINGER, Joseph H., Herkimer, was born near the village of Herkimer and has been a farmer all his life. He owns 260 acres of land and has forty milch cows. He father was Henry Bellinger. In 1849 Mr. Bellinger married Caroline Christie, and they have three children, two sons and one daughter, all married. The sons are Charles P. and Joseph I. Mr. Bellinger is at present one of the trustees of the town, and has been collector. He is a Mason, a member of the Grange, and in politics is a Republican.
BELLINGER, P.E., is one of the old residents of Little Falls, and was born July 2, 1837. In 1860 he married Lana Catharine Uhle and has a family of six children, three sons and three daughters. He owns 223 acres of land utilized for dairying, hay and grain, and has a herd of thirty-six milch cows. In politics he is a liberal-minded Democrat; his sons sharing the same political faith. His youngest son, Peter A.; his daughter, Mamie M., and the youngest daughter, Ada G., are at home. His oldest daughter, Melissa A., and the two oldest sons, James H. and Frank E., are married.
BELLINGER, P. S., is a native of Little Falls and has passed his entire life here, being now seventy-three years of age. He owns 234 acres of land, all used for dairy purposes and hay. He comes of an old and well known family of historic fame, his grandfather on his mother\rquote s side having served in the Revolution, and his father in the war of 1812. Mr. Bellinger is well known throughout this part of the State, and is a Mason, a member of the Grange and of the Royal Arcanum. He has been commissioner of highways for three years and was assessor for three years. He cast his first vote against the first Harrison, and has been a Democrat ever since, and has never missed but one town meeting.
BELLINGER, Peter, Manheim, was born in this county March 7, 1826. He is descended from Revolutionary stock, and has been a very successful farmer for many years. He has owned as many as five farms at different times. Mr. Bellinger married Miss Mary A. Goodell, a daughter of Andrew Goodell, and has three children living. Mr. Bellinger has held local public office, and is much interested in all measures tending to the progress of this community. He is at present an extensive real estate owner.
BELLINGER, Steward, Little Falls, was born in Little Falls. He received his education in the schools and academy here, and has devoted his entire time and attention since that time to his dairy farm, which contains 193 acres. He has about forty head of cattle, besides other stock. Mr. Bellinger is an active and enthusiastic member of the Grange. He also belongs to the Masonic fraternity, and is identified with local, social and benevolent institutions. He married Elizabeth Sponable, and they have one child, a son, living.
BELSHAW, Thomas, Warren came from Ireland about 1755 with four children, and settled in Connecticut. In 1793 he settled near Fort Herkimer, and soon after he and others took 1,000 acres at Jordanville, where he died in 1827, in his ninety-second year. His wife, Elizabeth, bore him eight children: David, Thomas, John, Elizabeth, Betsy, Lydia, Sallie and Fannie, died in 1808. His son David was born in Connecticut, near Hartford, June 26, 1777, and came to Herkimer county with his father. He died November 6, 1868. He was twice married, first in February, 1801, to Lydia Isham, born in Connecticut, a daughter of Zebulum and Rose (Ellis) Isham, who were early settlers of Warren. His first wife raised seven children: Rose E., Erastus, William, Flavilla, Lydia, Orilla and Sally. His wife died March 26, 1831. His second wife was Betsey Bennett. She died in 1872, aged eighty-one. William T. Belshaw was born October 19, 1804, where he now resides. He has filled minor town offices; and has twice married, first to Mary Rhodes of Brookfield, Madison county, who bore him two children; M. W. of San Francisco, Cal. and Rosetta McLaughlin of Chagrin Falls, Ohio, who died in 1884, aged fifty-two. His wife died January 30, 1833, and he married, second, Hulda Durfee, born at Hamilton, Madison county, a daughter of Wing Durfee. She bore him four children: John T. of Antioch, Ca.; Mary C. Dye who died in Minnesota in 1887, aged fifty; Lucy J., wife of Ira Starkwether, died October 2, 1892, aged fifty, and Violetta H., wife of James Purchase. His second wife died April 17, 1887, she was a Baptist, as were all the children. Mr. Belshaw has been an active Whig and Republican.
BEMISS, Oscar Winfield, one of the representative farmers of Winfield, was born in Richfield, Otsego county, May 1, 1822 and came to Winfield in 1832, with his father Asahel C. Bemiss, who was born May 9,1780 and died December 27, 1848. He married Betsey Harding, born September 20,1792 , who died March 27, 1884.Oscar F. Bemiss married February 20, 1850, Esther A. Bemiss; born September 26, 1822, died September 23, 1892, aged sixty nine years, eleven months and twenty three days. She was the daughter of Jonathan Bemiss, of Edmeston, Otsego county. Oscar F. and Esther A. Bemiss had five children; E. Elizabeth, Martha O., Lyman D., Kate M., and Flora C. Bemiss. Martha married Frank M. Westfall, and they had two daughters, Mabel Bell and Orrilla May.
BENEDICT, Charles, Little Falls, was born in 1827 in German Flats, and for a period of fifty years has been actively engaged in the manufacture of carriages. He began the business in 1844, and located in Little Falls in 1850. His business life has been a pronounced success. He owns the large brick block on the corner of Mary and Main streets, where his factory is located, as well as a handsome residence on Mary street, and other valuable property. Mr. Benedict takes an intelligent interest in public affairs, and has served on the school board twelve years successively, and nine years on the village board. Mr. Benedict began the manufacture of carriages twenty-five years before the introduction of machine-made vehicles, and has shipped his carriages all over the Union and into Europe.
BENEDICT, William C., Russia, was born in Whitesboro, Oneida county, February 13, 1850, a son of William Benedict, whose father was a native of New Canaan, Conn. He had seven sons and two daughters. William Benedict was born in 1814, was apprenticed to a tanner and followed that business. He has been a resident of Whitesboro about fifty years. His wife was Rachel Hogan, a native of New Scotland, Albany county, born in 1818, and they had five sons and one daughter. Mr. Benedict was a Whig and afterwards a Republican. He was trustee of the village in which he lived. Subject of sketch was reared as a tanner and educated in the common schools. In 1870 he married Elizabeth Wimble, a native of Whitesboro and daughter of Jesse and Eliza Wimble, who were natives of England. They came to America and first settled in Vermont, and afterwards in Whitesboro. They had twelve children. Mr. Benedict and wife have one son, Charles G, who resides in Grant. His wife is Libbie A., daughter of John and Catharine (Miller) Jones of Northwood. Mr. Benedict, previous to 1875, was engaged in a tannery with his father at Whitesboro, the firm being known as Benedict & Son. In that year he went to Stittsville and followed his trade three years, then returning to Whitesboro, where he remained two years. He then engaged in tannery five years for Clark Dodge of Grant, N. Y. At the end of that time he purchased the property, and has since carried on a successful business. He is a Republican and has been supervisor of the town.
BENNETT, Howard M., Dolgeville, was born in this town, in the village of Deck, in 1840. His father, Michael Lockwood Bennett, had a family of eight children, seven of whom are living. Howard M. Bennett went West early in life and was engaged in farming for some time. In 1864 he returned to Salisbury Center, and afterward followed his grade in Ilion for ten years. About fifteen years ago he entered the employ of A. Dolge, and is now foreman of the planing-mill and box shop. Mr Bennett is a skillful workman and is identified with various local societies.
BENNETT, R.W., Frankfort, only son of Daniel and Calista (Dyke) Bennett, was born in Frankfort. Daniel, the father, was born in Connecticut. He settled in Frankfort, sixty-five years ago and is now living at ninety-one years of age, his wife Calista also being eighty- seven years of age; his father, Waterman Bennett, was a native of Connecticut; his father was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. R.W. Bennett was married February 6, 1853, to Dorcus R. Cooledge, daughter of Horace and Mary (Buck) Cooledge, of Frankfort. They have one daughter, Flora A. (Mrs. John E. Maynard).
BENNETT, William, Norway, was born in Newport, July 23, 1834. His father was Hiram Bennett, a son of Joshua Bennett, who came from New England at an early date and settled in Ohio, where he died. Hiram Bennett came with his father to Ohio and here his life was spent. He married Almira Churchill, of Deerfield. She bore him six children. By his second wife, Lydia Cavenaugh, he had five. The death of Mr. Bennett occurred in 1861 and that of his wife in 1891. William Bennett married Emily I. Warner, a native of Connecticut, by whom he has had six children, two of whom are living, Gary and Olie. Mr. Bennett enlisted in the eighty-first N.Y.S.V. regiment, Co. C, in November, 1861, for three years; was taken prisoner at the battle of Drury's Bluff, May 16, 1864, taken to Andersonville prison and was paroled February 28, 1865, receiving his honorable discharge at Annapolis, May 16, 1865. Mr. Bennett is a carpenter by trade and runs a saw-mill. He has spent most of his life in Ohio, but during the last eight years has resided in Norway. In 1884 he purchased the Black Creek Western mill. He is a Republican and has been clerk of Ohio three years. He and his wife are Methodists.
BENTON, W.W., German Flats, was born in Andover, Vt., January 26, 1830. He was a blacksmith's son, and learned the trade of blacksmith. After two years spent in the armory at Springfield he came in 1863 to Ilion and has been in the armory ever since, being now one of the contractors. He is a Mason, and has served on the Board of Education. In 1856 he married Meriam L. Huntley; they had one son, W.W., Jr., who died in his seventeenth year, a promising young man, who had already distinguished himself as a student.
BIDLEMAN, Peter M., Manheim, was born in the town of Manheim, July 10, 1839. He received a good education in the public schools of Manheim and Little Falls Academy, and has always followed farming, having inherited from his father a farm of 150 acres, besides which he now owns two other farms. The Bidlemans are of Revolutionary antecedents, and have always been prominent in local affarirs here. Peter M. Bidleman married May Broat, and has had four children, three sons and a daughter. The oldest son, Frank M. Biddleman, died February 1, 1890, aged twenty-four years, ten months and eighteen days.
BISHTON, F., German Flats, is a native of England and came to America in 1876, locating in Ilion. He established his meat-market here in that year and has since conducted it with success. In 1867 he married Miss Sarah Simpson and they have a family of four boys and two daughters. Mr. Bishton is a Democrat in politics and is a member of the Knights of Honor.
BLATCHLEY, James W., Warren, was born where he now lives May 20, 1842, and is a son of Seeley and Anna (Webb) Blatchley. His grandfather was James and his great-grandfather Seeley Blatchley, who came from Connecticut. The subject\rquote s grandfather was born in Saratoga county and came to Warren with his parents. He owned six or seven hundred acres of land. His wife was Elizabeth Keeler, who bore him six children. The subject\rquote s father was born in Warren in 1808, where he died in July, 1889; his widow survives. She was born March 16, 1816, and bore him three children: James W., Ceylon E. and Francis M. He left a farm of 300 acres. James W. Blatchley received an academic education, and has carried on dairying and hop raising as a special feature. He has also been engaged for ten years in the agricultural implement business. He is a Republican and has been supervisor and justice in a Democratic town. He married, February 25, 1875, Ella, daughter of John and Polly (Shaul) Wickoff, who bore him one child, Ella, who died at fourteen. Mrs. Blatchley died March 16, 1877. She was a Baptist.
BLISS, Alvin,Winfield, was born in Cortland county, February 24, 1828, and came to Winfield at eight years of age, where he has since lived; excepting two years spent in Australia. He came to his present farm in 1862. He is a son of Charles Bliss, who married Martha daughter of Captain Lawton. Alvin Bliss married Sarah A., daughter of Edward and Pamelia (Curtis) Wilcox, January 9, 1862. They have one son, Henry E., born November 12, 1862, who married September 6, 1883, Josephine, daughter of Welcome and Deborah (Peck) Manchester, who was born May 3, 1863.
BLOOMFIELD, Charles W., Warren, was born where he now resides December 25, 1854, a son of Allen and Rosalinda (Bell) Bloomfield. His grandfather was Joseph and his great-grandfather Jonathan, who came from Connecticut and settled on the farm where our subject now lives, and which has been in the possession of the family since. Joseph Bloomfield was born July 10, 1790, married Hannah Abbott, and died July 26, 1862; she died December 17, 1887. Allen Bloomfield was born April 24, 1821, and received an academic education. He followed farming until 1872, when he moved to Richfield Springs, where he has been prominently engaged in important business enterprises. He was twice married. Charles W. Bloomfield received an academic education and in 1876 settled upon the homestead. He is a Republican and has held town offices. He married, October 12, 1876, Libbie, daughter of John and Caroline (Filkins) McReady of Stark. They have two children: Allen J. and Russell W. Mrs. Bloomfield is a Universalist.
BLY, Daniel W., Norway, was born in Salisbury April 15, 1852. His father was Horace R. Bly, a son of Daniel Bly. The latter was a native of Rhode Island born in 1782 and an early settler in Norway, where he lived and died in 1823. His wife was a Miss Bennett, who bore him five children. After the death of Mr. Bly she married Mr. Barkley, and had one son, John, who was killed in the late war. Horace R. Bly was born in Norway August 26, 1815. He married Harriet A. Legg of Mendon, Mass., born June 14, 1817, who bore him three sons and two daughters. Mr. Bly was a Republican, was once collector, and he and his wife were members of the M. E. Church at Gray. Mr. Bly died February 22, 1880, and his wife resides with subject. Daniel W. Bly was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. In 1876 he married Jennie E. Wilcox of Norway, born November 10, 1853, a daughter of Parker and Adeline (Hall) Wilcox. Mr. Wilcox was born in Rhode Island in 1816 and he died in July, 1892, and his wife in September, 1858. Daniel and his wife have had three children, Nellie A., Daniel W., and Leah W. When young Mr. Bly worked at the tanner's trade. He afterwards became a farmer, which business he has since followed. For ten years he engaged in the nursery business in Painesville, Ohio. He is a Republican and was supervisor of Norway in 1892. He is a member of Newport Lodge, 455 F. & A. M.
BONSFIELD, John C., Russia, was born in Russia November 7, 1867, and was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools. In 1891 he married Minnie Roberts, a native of Russia and daughter of David and Sarah (Grove) Roberts. Mr. Bonsfield was a farmer until 1887, when he engaged as clerk with French & Ross of Northwood, and was with them three years. He then purchased the store and has since been proprietor and carries a general line of groceries, dry goods, drugs, etc. He is a Democrat and has been justice of the peace one year. John C. was a son of Christopher, who was a son of John, a son of William Bonsfield, a native of Westmoreland. His wife was Miss Shaw. John Bonsfield was a native of England and came to the United States in 1832. His wife was Sarah Grove, a native of Worcester, England, and they had three sons and two daughters. He first settled in Madison county and married Clara Ashley, a native of Chatham, and daughter of Russell D. and Sarah (Gale) Ashley. Sarah, youngest daughter of John Bonsfield, now resides on the farm settled by her father. She married John D. Jones, a native of Wales. Mr. Jones was thirteen years old when he came with his parents to America. He died in 1888. By his first wife Mr. Jones had nine children.
BOOTH , Amanda M., Russia, is a daughter of Elihue, who is a son of Alexander, a native of New Haven, Conn., born December 11, 1767. His wife was Huldah Thompson, born April 22, 1767, by whom he had these children: Elisha, Ness, Elihu, Harvery, Russell, Walter and Mehitable. In 1811 Alexander Booth and all of his sons except Russell came to Russia, and the next year the other members of the family joined them. Mr. Booth was a Democrat and died July 11, 1829, and his wife June 14,1842. Elihu Booth was born in Connecticut December 22, 1795. At the age of 16 he came with his parents to Russia. Here he married Nancy Tiffany in 1820, a native of Cooperstown born March 14,1805. Her parents were Ebenezer and Silence Tiffany, who has five daughters and three sons. He died February 4, 1852, and his wife July 16, 1851. Elihu Booth and wife had four children, Amanda M., Elihu N., Castella C., and CastellaN. Amanda is the only one living, and her home is at Prospect, N.Y. Elihu Booth was a Democrat and Commissioner of highways, also constable for many years. He died May 3, 1859 and his wife December 13, 1877. The wife of Elihu N., was Margaret Caruthers, daughter to William Carauthers. They had one child, Margaret N., who owns and resides on the old homestead. Castella C., married Thomas Smith of Brooklyn and had one son, Thomas E., who died age 2 years. Mrs. Smith died November 6, 1883 at Prospect. Elihu N. Booth died January 10, 1892 and his wife February 27, 1892., in Grant. Elihu Booth was a soldier in the War of 1812, and after its close was a captain and general in militia which had general training each year in different localities of the town. He helped build the first Church in Grant and took an interest in all movements to build up the village and its religious growth. Alexander Booth came to Russia with his family and settled four miles in the wilderness where he built a saw-mill on Black Creek, cleared a small plot of ground and created a frame house for the family to live in. He commenced clearing off the farm, sawed logs at the mill , built a bridge over Black Creek and erected a number of buildings, a post office, established mail once a week. The name of Black Creek was changed to Pottville, and later to Booth after the first settlers. At the time of the assassination of Lincoln it was changed to Grant. After the death of Alexander, Elihu bought out the interest of the other heirs in the saw-mill and farm., and kept the first store , made potash, and took a load to Albany once in two weeks, across the country there being no railroads at that time. At his death, his son, Elihu N. bought out the other heirs and followed his father in religious zeal and interprise. His daughter Margaret N., was the sole heir to the estate which had passed to the fourth generation, and had been in the Booth family possession for nearly 100 years. Mehitable Booth taught the first school in the barn, opposite the house, on the Booth farm. Nine years ago the old saw-mill was carried off by high water.
BOSE, John, Herkimer, is a native of Germany, but has been in this country twenty-three years. He began life in America as a clerk in a store in New York. After two years in this capacity he spent a year in a distillery and then came to the Washington Mills, Oneida county. He spent one year in the Utica factory of Frankfort and then came to the H. D. Elison farm to work it. This farm of 500 acres he works at present and owns sixty acres besides. He has eight children, six boys and two girls. They are Henry J., Wm. F., George L., Fred A., Annie M., Arthur U.G., Cora L., and John M. Mr. Bose takes no sides in politics, but votes for whom he believes to be the best man.
BOYCE, John, Ohio, was born in Ohio March 10, 1858. His father was David Boyce, and he was a son of Henry Boyce, whose father was Elias. Henry was born in Columbia county, where he lived and died. He was drafted in the war of 1812. His wife was Catharine Rowe, by whom he had two children. David Boyce was born in Columbia county in 1818, was reared on a farm and has always followed farming. His wife was Betsey Garrison, of Columbia county, and they had four sons and five daughters. Three of the sons were in the late war, Henry, David E. and George. Henry enlisted in the Eighty-first New York Volunteers, Company C, in 1861, serving a short time. David E. enlisted in the same company in 1862 and served until the close of the war. He was in Salisbury prison about one year, which caused his death in 1865. George enlisted in 1863 and served until the close of the war. He was wounded in one leg while doing picket duty. John Boyce was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. In 1889 he married Hattie Wells, of Ohio, daughter of Charles and Rebecca Wells, of Wilmurt, and they have two children. Mr. Boyce has always been a farmer, and in politics is a Democrat.
BOYER, Horace M., Little Falls, was born in Little Falls, June 6, 1840. His great-grandfather was one of the original settlers (Mohawk Dutch) of the valley and participated in the war of the Revolution. Joseph Boyer, a son of this Revolutionary soldier, and grandfather of Horace M., participated in the Indian wars of 1812. Horace M. Boyer was engaged with his father, Joseph Boyer, jr., in contracting, and upon the death of the senior Boyer, succeeded to the business, which he has successfully carried on before and since the late war. At the out-break of the war he enlisted in the Seventh Independent Battery of Newburgh, N. Y., and participated in many of the most important battles and engagements during that period. Among these were Williamsburgh, Fair Oaks, Chicamauga, Seven Days' Fight, Hatcher's Run, Siege of Petersburgh, Fort Darling, Evacuation of Richmond, etc. He served as orderly sergeant during the four years, and was mustered out at the close of the war. Mr. Boyer married Margaret Varsen, of Fairfield. They have no children. In contracting, Mr. Boyer has erected the larger number of important structures, bridges, etc., in the vicinity, among which we mention the residences of Messrs. Burrell, Richmond, Houghton, Lintner, Bellinger, Metropolitan Hotel, Congress Block, etc.; also the Skinner Opera House and numerous other prominent buildings. He built the stone wall opposite the elevator, which is fifty-three feet high, five hundred feet long, twenty-three feet thick at bottom, four feet at top, etc. Mr. Boyer is a staunch Democrat, but don't want an office.
BRACE, Frank L., Winfield, was born at North Winfield June 6, 1852, and educated at West Winfield Academy and Whitestown Seminary, graduating from the latter in 1872. He engaged in farming and fruit-growing until 1892, when he began the publication of a weekly newspaper in West Winfield entitled The West Winfield Star. Mr. Brace has always been a staunch Republican and active in political work. He was justice of the peace for two terms, supervisor in 1891, and re-elected in 1892 by a majority of 105. He has served as a member of the Republican county committee for two years past. He is also a member of the First Congregational church here, and has been for many years the superintendent of its Sunday-school. He married in 1876, Martha J. McDonald, of Vernon Center. Frank L. is a son of Lucius F. Brace, and he was a son of Asahel Brace, a native of Litchfield county, Connecticut, and one of the first settlers of Winfield. He was a captain in the war of 1812, stationed at Sackett's Harbor.
BRACE, Henry L., Winfield, was born in Winfield January 4, 1827, a son of Azabel Brace, who was born in Hartford, Conn., in 1779. He came with his father, Deacon Abel Brace. to what is now Winfield in 1793. The latter married in 1799 Katy Curtis, by whom he had thirteen children. Asabel was made captain of militia, and in the War of 1812 he went woth his company to Sacketts Harbor. Abel, grandfather of H.L. Brace, died in 1831 at the age of ninety-two. H.L. Brace succeeded his father as proprietor of the homestead farm in 1847. In 1848 he married Pamela Holmes and they have a son and daughter, Ellen H., who married Adelbert Leach and has a son and daughter, Seward A., and Lena A. Leach, and Seward H., who married Mary A. Vincent. They had one son Howard M. Abel Brace was deacon of the First Congregational Church, and his son Charles was a deacon of the same church, as is also Henry L., who was appointed Deacon June 10, 1858, of the church of East Winfield, and retained that office after the removal of the church to West Winfield.. The church was raised in West Winfield , June 2 and 3, 1876. Henry L. Brace sang in the choir over fifty years and has been a member of this church forty-four years. Pamela A. Brace has sung in the choir of this church since 1848.
BRACE, Lucius F., Winfield, is one of the assessors of the town of Winfield, which office he has held for seventeen years. He was aborn August 30, 1822, and has been on the farm where he now lives since 1847. He is son of Captain Asahel Brace, whose father was Deacon Abel Brace, one of the first settlers of Winfield. Lucius F. Brace married Margaret J., daughter of Israel Young, of Columbia. They have one son, Frank L. Brace, editor and proprietor of the West Winfield Star, also supervisor of the town of Winfield. Murray Eleazer Brace was born on the farm where he now lives, the old homestead of Eleazer C. Brace, his grandfather; and after him it was owned and occupied by his son, Parnach P., after him by his son, Murray Eleazer Brace, who still owns and occupies the old homestead of about 100 acres. Parnach Brace was born on this farm January 28, 1838, and died here June 2, 1885. He was married to Lizzie Round December 13, 1864, she was a daughter of James K. Round, a native of this town, who was born June 3, 1809, and died April 16, 1849. He married Barbara Clapsaddle, of Columbia, November 12, 1835, a daughter of Dennis Clapsaddle. Mr. and Mrs. Round had two children, Lizzie and Murray; the latter was born September 25, 1836, and enlisted October 13, 1861, sergeant in Company C, Fifty-eighth Illinois Volunteers. He came home on a furlough on account of disability, and died four weeks later, July 29, 1861.
BRACE, Woodruff A., was born on the old homestead joining the farm where he now lives, April 17, 1816, and has lived on this same farm over fifty years, having bought it with his brother Asahel G., in 1839. He married Julia M. daughter of Isreal Young. of Columbia, May 31, 1843. They had one daughter, Florence A., born June 10, 1850. She married May 15, 1879, Mr. Arlington Spicer. and they have two children, Elsue Eusebia and Bertha Brace Spicer.. They all live as one family at the old homestead. M. Arlington Spicer, was born in Plainfield, Otsego county, February 16,1853, is a son of Minor and Mary Ann (McFarland) Spicer Minor was son of Edward Spicer, a soldier in the Revolution, and one of the first settlers of Plainfield Mary A. McFarland was a daughter of Johathan and Elizabeth (Palmer) McFarland.
THE BRACE FAMILY, Winfield . It was on the year of 1793 that Abel Brace, a man of fifty-three years of age, who had served as captain in the Revolutionary War, and been a member of the State Legislature of Connecticut, left his home near Hartford, Connecticut to make a new home in Central New York. By the aid of marked trees he found his way from Herkimer to the central part of the town of Litchfield (the town of Winfield was not formed until 1816) and built a log house but a few rods distant from the present residence of his youngest great-grandson, Seward H. Brace. He was accompanied by his wife, his aged mother (Mrs. Lydia Woodruff ) and his entire family consisting of nine sons and five daughters, most of whom were married and with their families made an important addition to the population of the new country. One son, James Brace, did not like pioneer life and soon returned to Connecticut. The others settled within the immediate vacinity of their fathers home. After a time, these early settlers did not feel secure in the possession of their farms, and it seemed wise that someone go to Washington and adjust matters. Abel Brace was the man chosen for the hazardous undertaking . Most of the journey must be made on foot. His neighbors and friends met to bid him God-speed. and many earnest prayers were offered that he return in safety. He was for many years deacon of the Congregational church, and when he passed away in 1832 he was carried to his resting - place, a mile away , by the hands of loving friends. As the years rolled on , death claimed some of his descendants , and others followed the tide of emigration westward until there were none left in the town of Winfield bearing the name except the family of Capt. Isabel Brace. He had married Caty Curtis of Farmington, Connecticut, and occupied the paternal home. They raised a family consisting of five daughters and six sons. The daughters married and left their native town, as did the second son James Brace. But for more than forty years Captain Asahel Brace and five of his sons lived within a mile of each other, enjoying peace and plenty. In 1807 change came and Captain Asahel Brace was gathered to his fathers. In 1869, Asahel Gridley passed away leaving no descendants.. In 1871, Eleazer Curtis Brace also died. He left three sons and three daughters. His only descendant now bearing the name is Murry Eleazer Brace who has just attained his majority, and occupies his fathers house. Of the three sons of Captain Andrew Brace now living, the eldest is Abel Woodruff , who lives on the farm that he bought more than fifty years ago. His only child is a daughter, Mrs. M. Arlington Spicer, who with her husband and children reside with him. The next, Lucius F. Brace, has also attained to three score years and ten. He lives on the farm to which he move forty-five years ago, when he left the parental home. His only child is Frank L. Brace, the present supervisor of the town, which for years has been a successful grower of small fruits, and has recently launched an editorial bark in the form of the West Winfield Star. The youngest is Henry L. Brace, who inherited the family home, and did much to make it a model farm . Ten years ago he removed to West Winfield, leaving his place in the care of his only son, Seward Brace. He has also one daughter, Mrs. Adelbert Leach. In religion, the Brace family had been Congregationalists; in politics Republicans; and by precept and example total abstainers from all intoxicating drinks; most of the family also abstaining from the use of tobacco.
BRADFORD, George H., Manheim, was born on the old farm of 130 acres in Manheim, upon which he now lives and owns, it having descended to him from his father. Mr. Bradford has been identified considerably with local progressive affairs, and has three children (two girls and one boy). His family are of Revolutionary antecedents and are much respected in this county. He is identified with the County Grange, Royal Arcanum, etc.
BRADFORD, Hopestill, Newport, was born in Fairfield, November 19, 1812, a son of Joseph and Lovina (Tyler) Bradford, who were natives of Massachusetts. Joseph Bradford settled in Fairfield about 1809 and moved to Newport in 1815. He was a native of Zoar, Berkshire, Mass., and settled in this town in 1826. He followed farming and dairying. He was a son of Elisha and Eunice (Bennett) Bradford, his father having been a soldier in the Revolution. Our subject was the only child, and married January 24, 1843, Rebecca M., daughter of Royal P. and Rebecca (Green) Luther. Rebecca Green was born in Warren in 1804, a daughter of Dyer and Sallie (Eddie) Green, and a native of Massachusetts. Her daughter, Rebecca, was born in Cheshire, Mass., in 1822, May 27, and settled in this town in 1835. Mr. and Mrs. Bradford have three children as follows: George L., cashier of the Oneida National Bank of Utica; Alice C., born January 9, 1842, died March 4, 1867; Lovina C., born September 23, 1854, died April 8, 1861. Our subject is a Democrat and has been assessor and trustee. George L. Bradford married Mary C. Morey, a native of Fairfield and a daughter of David and Elsie (Buchanan) Morey, of Newport. He graduated from the Whitestown Seminary, and was engaged in the Newport Bank for seven years, then with the Oneida National Bank for twenty-two years. He has two children, Reba A. and Florence L., the former born July 6, 1869, and the latter born April 15, 1871.
BRADLEY, H. W., German Flats, was born in St. Lawrence county June 2, 1852, and has been in mechanical lines all his business life. He came to Ilion in 1874 and entered the armory as tool maker. He has been assistant superintendent since 1888. In 1873 he married Anna G. Austin, of Windsor, Vt., and they have had one son, Lester H., who is studying at Norwich University. Mr. Bradley stands high in Masonry, and is one of the substantial men of Ilion.
BRANDON, Rev. Peter, Warren, came from Greene county, N. Y., to a place near Schuyler\rquote s Lake, and thence to Cramer\rquote s Corners, Herkimer county. Most of his time was spent in Otsego county. He married Rebecca Worden, by whom he had five children: Sally, Betsey, Deborah, Catharine and John W. Peter Brandon and his wife died in Otsego county. John W. was born near Schuyler\rquote s Lake, Otsego county, August 11, 1810. He was a carriage-maker and undertaker, and served as justice thirty-two years. He died in Otsego county, August 21, 1884. He married Catharine Connine, born in Springfield, a daughter of Richard and Rebecca Connine, natives of New England. John W. had ten children, several of whom survived: Rebecca, Pinckney, Adaline, Marshall, Ida Young, John W., Alfred, Leroy J. and Amelia Druse. The mother still survives. John W. was born in Springfield, December 31, 1841. He received a common school education, and at fourteen began to earn his own living. In 1868 he located in Warren on thirty-seven acres, farming and running a shop. In 1871 he located in Jordanville and bought a building which he now runs as a hotel. He also carried on a wagon, furniture and undertaking business up to 1885, when he converted the building into a hotel, which he ran for two years, then sold out. He traveled two years for a patent wood-filler, which he manufactures, and which is one of the finest made. He is a Mason and is a Democrat in politics. He married January 6, 1866, Mariah Van Horne, born in Stark, a daughter of Walter and Eliza (Stoughter) Van Horne, and their children are as follows: Lena A., Emma, wife of Ellis D. Elswood, and Ralph Rodney. Walter Van Horne was born in Van Hornesville, July 10, 1806. He lived forty years on his first farm, them moved to Columbia, remaining eight years. Since March, 1892, he has lived with his daughter, Mrs. Brandon. His wife died in 1873. They had seven children, four sons and three daughters. Mr. Van Horne was a son of Richard, who with his brother Daniel, built the first mill where the stone furniture building now stands at Van Hornesville. The present mill was built by Cornelius Van Horne and Acre Fox. The wife of Richard was Cornelia Ten Eycke, by whom he had nine children, seven of whom grew to maturity. Richard was a son of Abram \par Van Horne, who came from New Jersey before the Revolution and settled in Montgomery county, and later was the first settler in Van Hornesville. He married a Miss Hough, by whom he had eight children.
BRAYTON, Stephen, Russia, and his wife, Abigail (Eddy), and their oldest son, Smith, came from Cheshire, Mass., in 1802, and settled at Brayton's or Luther's Corners, where Stephen bought and sold land and followed farming. Their children were Smith (deceased), Stephen (deceased), Lucetta (deceased), wife of Ellis Martin (deceased), and Rensselaer (deceased). They were all residents and farmers of the town of Newport. Smith married Candace, daughter of Aaron Martin, and their children were Louisa (deceased), wife of Jason Ames; Albert W., Abigail, Aaron (deceased), John, Stephen (deceased), Warren A. and Emma, who died when one year old.
BRECKWOLDT, Julius, Dolgeville, was born in Germany, in which country he received a good education. In 1872, at the age of fifteen, he came to New York city, and served his apprenticeship with F. W. Jgunge. About 1877 he became an employee of Alfred Dolge, and has since risen to be general overseer of the moulding departments, and treasurer of the business. He supervises about forty hands. Mr. Breckwoldt is a member of the Dolgeville Board of Education, treasurer of the fire company, president of the Dolgeville Herald Publishing Company, president of the Dolgeville Coal Company, and treasurer of the Dolgeville Building and Loan Association. He is also identified with all social and benevolent institutions. Mr. Breckwoldt married Miss Jennie N. Lambertson. They have two children.
BRICE, Martin, Schuyler, was born in Germany, October 18, 1842, and came to America in 1849. March 27, 1883, he married Mrs. Elmira Baum, one of the wealthy women of Schuyler. The family consists of Horatio R., for two years principal of Richville Union School, St. Lawrence county, Byron H., and Ida Baum. Another daughter is Mrs. Chas. A. Cramer. The farm comprises 210 acres and a dairy of thirty-five cows, with fine substantial buildings.
BRIDENBECKER BROTHERS, Frankfort. Bridenbecker, Judson, one of four children of Alexander and Elizabeth (Sherwood) Bridenbecker, was born on the family homestead (where the brothers now reside) November 7, 1867 Sherwood, the brother, was born December 12, 1869. Alexander, the father was also born on the farm from which place he died January 3, 1885. William Bridenbecker, the grandfather was born in Fort Herkimer during the Revolutionary War. Elizabeth Sherwood was born in Morristown, N.J., she being the daughter of the Rev. B.A. Sherwood and Mary. Mrs. Sherwood is now living at Utica aged ninety. Mr. Sherwood having died January 13, 1893 The great-grandfather was Rev. Abbott Sherwood of New Jersey. The other members of this family now living are Hattie (Bridenbecker) Reid, wife of James T. Reid of Toronto, Canada, Willis A. Bridenbecker, of Mascotte, Florida, and Adelma J., second wife of Alexander Bridenbecker, now living in Chicago. The brothers are both married, Judson having married Minnie S., daughter of the late John Bellinger of Little Falls; and Sherwood, and Emma E. Mason, of Hyndsville, Schoharie county. The Bridenbecker Brothers' Farm of 175 acres ia a fine dairy, stock and fruit farm. They have a dairy of twenty-five cows (of which most are Holstein) own nine horses, noptable amoung which is the notable young and handsome stallion Mortimor Golddust. This horse is by the celebrated trotter "Sprague Golddust" (2:151/4) and is the exact image of his sire. They are to be classed amoung the enterprising young men of the country.
BRIDENBECKER, Amos, Schuyler, was born on the farm where he lives, April 20, 1817. His father, Daniel B., was also a native of Schuyler, and his grandfather came from Germany and took an active part in the War of the Revolution about Fort Schuyler. September 27, 1838, Mr. Bridenbecker married Caroline Pruyn, and they had three children: Mrs. Dr. E. W. Raynor and Mrs. George W. Richardson, and one son, Ezra D., who died September 19, 1851. He married second in 1853, Ann M. Young. Mr. Bridenbecker was in the militia under General Spinner, with rank of lieutenant-colonel.
BRIGGS, A.M., German Flats, was born in Sauquoit, Oneida county, December 8, 1844. He enlisted in the One Hundred and Seventeenth New York Volunteers, August 10, 1862, and served three years in the war. After the war he went into the hotel business at Cassville for five years. He was five years in Whitestown, six years in Herkimer, two years in Clayton, on the St. Lawrence, and has been four years in the Mohawk Valley Hotel, in Mohawk. In 1871 Mr. Briggs married Miss Nellie Ambrose, of Clayville, Oneida county, and he has two hildren, Charles D. and Edith Iona.
BRIGGS, Nathan, German Flats, popularly known as Nate Briggs, was born in Galway, Saratoga county, July 8, 1832. He has been prominently identified with leading hotels for many years, and is the present proprietor of the Briggs House, Ilion. He is and has been United States marshal for many years. He has been deputy sheriff and postmaster at Sprakers, N. Y., and filled other responsible positions. Mr. Briggs married Urella Krouse, and by her had a son, Fernando C., and a daughter, now Mrs. J. H. Gammond. Mr. Briggs married second in 1886 Agnes C. Bevens.
BRIGGS, William, German Flats, was born in Warwick, Kent county, R.I., June 23, 1814. He learned the cotton manufacturing business, which he followed in Rhode Island and New York State, for many years. He was in the Remington Armory for twenty-five years, and for the past nine years has lived a retired life. He has had a varied but successful career. He married Esther Ann Titus in 1839, and they had two sons, George T. and William T., both deceased, and one daughter, Ellen Bradley Briggs, who is prominent in the social affairs of the town. Mr. Briggs' father was William E., his grandfather William, and his great-grandfather came form Bristol, England. Mrs. Briggs died August 27, 1883.
BROAT, Henry, Manheim, was born January 9, 1821, on the farm located on the Salisbury Plank Road in the township of Manheim, which he still owns. His farm contains 200 acres of fine dairy land, upon which he keeps about forty-five cows, twelve head of horses, besides other stock. His first wife was Miss Mary Doxtater, and some time after her death he married his present wife, Miss Margaret Keller, a daughter of Samuel Keller. He has four children living, all of whom are married. Henry Broat\rquote s father served in the war of 1812 at Sacketts Harbor, and his brother, Squire Broat, has settled on the Salisbury road not far from the old homestead.
BROAT, Hiram, Manheim, was born in Manheim, July 21, 1819. He is of Mohawk Dutch descent. His grandfather, Henry Broat, settled here in 1798. His father, John Broat, was born at Stone Arabia, March 6, 1795, and participated in the War of 1812. Esquire Hiram Broat owns 248 acres of fine dairy land, on which he keeps fifty cows, and also has a half interest in a cedar swamp in Norway. He has been an important factor in political affairs for many years, having held the position of assessor two years, justice of the peace forty years, supervisor nine years, justice of sessions three years, etc., and is one of the best informed men in Manheim. December 16, 1840, he married Marietta Snell, and has eight children living, three being deceased.
BROCKETT, Calvin, Dolgeville, was born at Dolgeville, formerly called Brockett\rquote s Bridge, July 15, 1854. His family have been prominent here since the War of the Revolution. Calvin was educated in the common schools, and followed farming until he sold his farm to Alfred Dolge. He married Ione Kible and they have three daughters. Mr. Brockett is a member of the board of education, and is identified with various social and benevolent institutions, the Masonic brotherhood, etc. He is now engaged in the hard and soft wood traffic, and is erecting a saw-mill for the convenience of his trade.
BROCKET, Z. G., Dolgeville, was born at Brockett's Bridge, now Dolgeville, February 19, 1868. He received his education here and at the Albany Normal School, and after clerking and teaching school for a few years, he established about three years since his present grocery and drug business. Mr. Brockett's ancestors for several generations have been located here and identified with the welfare of this vicinity. His grandfather was postmaster for twenty-five years, and his father twenty-six years. Mr. Brockett is identified with the Masonic lodge, the Odd Fellows, etc., besides being associated with local and benevolent institutions.
BROCKETT, Clinton, Dolgeville, was born in the town of Oppenheim, November 6, 1826. His family gave its name to this vicinity (Brockett's Bridge). His father was postmaster for twenty-four years, and his brother for twenty years, while Mr. Brockett has served as deputy postmaster for some time. He married Ruth A. Leek. They have no children. Mr. Brocektt now lives in Dolgeville (formerly Brockett's Bridge), retired from active business, having disposed of his farm. He has held local public offices, and has always been one of the foremost and most public-spirited citizens of the locality wherein his family have been popular and important members of the community since the Revolution.
BRONNER, Alonzo, Warren, was born in Warren, January 11, 1832 and is a son of Peter and Catherine (House) Bronner. His grandfather, Frederick, was born in Stark and after his marriage came to Warren. He served in the war of 1812, and died in Stark, aged ninety-one; his wife died at the house of Alonzo. They had ten children, six of whom reached maturity. Alonzo Bronner has always lived in Warren, except two years in Stark. At twenty-one he began for himself, working by the month, and now owns the farm of 120 acres, where he lives. He is a Democrat and has been assessor. He married January 22, 1861, Hannah M., daughter of Isaac and Leah (Bronner) Maxfield. They had one son, Emery J., who died August 17, 1888, leaving a widow.
BRONNER, Walter, I., Stark, was born where he now resides, September 29, 1864, a son of Isaac D. and Mary C. (Harwick) Bronner. The grandfather, Daniel, was born in Stark and settled on the farm where Walter I. now resides, in 1832, and there he resided until his death, June 4, 1858, aged sixty-three years. He served in the war of 1812, and his father, Christian Bronner, was a native of Germany. Daniel\rquote s wife was Catharine Wager, who died December 28, 1865, aged fifty-nine years. They had eight children: Oliver, Barnard, Isaac D., Daniel, Anna M., Dorothy E.J., Lucy J. and Clarissa. Isaac D. Bronner was born where Walter I. Now resides, in 1832, and lives with his son, Walter I. He had seven children: Catha L., Elmer E., Walter I., Carrie M., M. Enola, Harwick D., F.Fayette, all of which are still living. Mrs. Mary C. Bronner, their mother, died January 19, 1819. Five of the children have been school teachers. Mr. Bronner is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Walter I. Received his education at the common schools and at Richfield Springs, also at Herkimer, and at eighteen he began teaching and has taught during the winter ever since. At sixteen he began life for himself. He has followed cheese-making for two years at VanHornesville. Mr. Bronner is a Granger and a Good Templar, and is active in the temperance cause. In October, 1889, he bought the old homestead, which consists of 107 acres of land. He is a breeder of Jersey cattle. The original stock was the first Jerseys ever owned in the county, brought here by his father in 1867 from New Jersey. Mr. Bronner is also the only breeder of Dorset horned sheep in this county.
BRONSON, O. W., German Flats, was born in Warren, Herkimer county, April 12, 1818, and was at first a carriage-maker and then a farmer. He is now interested in the Mohawk Knitting Mills, and was president of the street railways for ten years. He now lives retired. In 1851 he married Miss E. G. Harter, and they have two children, Arthur W. and Mrs. Rev. J. B. Brundell. Mr. Bronson has been justice of the peace and justice of the sessions many years.
BROOKS, Fred, Ohio, a native of England, was born April 10, 1845. His father, Charles Brooks, was a manufacturer of woolen goods, and his wife was Ann Pugson, by whom he had six sons and seven daughters. In 1849 Mr. Brooks came to American and settled in Vermont, where he remained a short time, then went to Massachusetts. He soon returned to Vermont and there remained until 1855, when he moved to Utica. In 1857 he went to Little Falls, and was foreman in one department of the Mohawk Woolen Mills. He went to Ohio and lived three years, and then went to Albany, Ind., where he died December 23, 1891, and his wife died February 7, 1890. Fred Brooks was raised in Utica and in Little Falls, and was educated in the common schools. February 3, 1864, he enlisted in the Second N. Y. Heavy Artillery and served until the close of the war. He was at the battle of Spottsylvania and the Wilderness, and was wounded and in the hospital six weeks. At the close of the war Mr. Brooks returned to Ohio, where he has since resided. July 3, 1869, he married Annie Ashman of Ohio, daughter of Jacob and Mary Ashman, natives of Germany. Mrs. Ashman died February 16, 1870. Mr. Ashman now resides at Cold Brook. Fred Brooks and wife have two children: Cora L., who married James P. Nellis; and Everett W. Mr. Brooks is a Democrat and has been collector, overseer of the poor, and highway commissioner. He is a member of Ohio Grange No. 686.
BROWN, Arthur T., Litchfield, is a farmer and owns and works about 150 acres. He was born in the house in which he now lives, July 15, 1857. He married Lillie M. Day of Frankfort and they have one child, Earl W. Arthur T. Brown, is a member of Sauquoit Lodge, No. 150, F. & A. M.; of the North Litchfield Grange, and the First Baptist church of Litchfield. For two years was superintendent of the Utica Dairy Farm. His father was Emerson, and he was a son of Thomas Brown, a native of Connecticut, who settled his farm about 1791, the deed being in the possession of Arthur T. Brown.
BROWN, Charles H., Winfield, was born in Columbia, Herkimer county, December 21, 1831, and is a son of James Brown , who came to this country when a child about 1810 with his father, Philip Brown, of Half Moon, N. Y., who was one of the first settlers of Columbia. James Brown had five children, Charles H., Milo H., Eusebia, Euphemia L. and Philip H. Their farm is in the northeast corner of Winfield, a part of the farm being in Columia, also a part in Richfield. Charles H. Brown married, November 11, 1857, Barbara A., daughter of Marks Folts of Herkimer, who was a son of Peter Folts and Barbara Rasback. She was a daughter of Marks Rasback. They were some of the first settlers of the town of Herkimer. Charles H. and Barbara A. Brown have eleven children, three of whom are deceased; James H., Charles J., Leon J. There are eight living; Carrie E., Laura E., Flora E., Mary E., Fanny E., Nettis L., Philip H., and Benjamin G. Marks, and Elizabeth Folts, had ten children, of whom three had died, Mary A., Issac and Saloma A. Seven are living, Catherine, Fanny, Marcus, Joseph M., Barbara M., Elizabeth and Andrew. Mr. Brown is one of the assessors of the town of Winfield, which position he has held most of the time for about twenty years. He is a member of the Pamona Grange of Herkimer county.
BROWN, E.H., of Little Falls, is a native of Union Square, Oswego county, N.Y., and was educated there. He traveled for himself for some years and then started business in Watertown, N.Y., with his brother. April 11, 1880, he inaugurated his present enterprise in Little Falls, and has conducted it most successfully since, his place having the reputation of being the leading fancy dry goods, notion, and millinery house in Little Falls. Mr. Brown's ancestors were natives of New York State for three generations before his time. In December, 1888, he married Harriet Davies, of Cleveland, O., and they have one son. Mr. Brown is a Republican in politics, and the family are members of the Episcopalian church.
BROWN, Edward A., Dolgeville, was born at Turin, Lewis county, N. Y., October 30, 1848. He received an academic education and studied law with his father, the Hon. E. A. Brown, county judge of Lewis county, and was admitted to practice law by the first general term which sat at Rochester, September 3, 1871. After practicing his profession in Lowville for some time, he formed a law partnership with Samuel Earl and Judge George W. Smith, of Herkimer, the firm being known as Earl, Smith & Brown. This firm continued till July 1, 1876, and did a very large business. Then Mr. Brown formed a co-partnership with Judge Mitchell, of Herkimer, which continued till the spring of 1887. Mr. Brown came to Dolgeville in 1890. He does a large business here, having charge of Alfred Dolge\rquote s transaction in this line. In 1888 Mr. Brown was a presidential elector for Harrison and Morton.
BROWN, H. Clark, \ulnone Winfield, operates a grist-mill and is a dealer in feed, flour and grain. He was born in this town April 20, 1828, a son of Hiram who was a native of this town, and a son of Eleazer, one of the first settlers here. The latter was a native of Plainfield, Conn., and a son of Peleg Brown of Connecticut. H. Clark Brown married Alice A., daughter of William Stewart of this town, and they have three children: Alice L., Charles H. and Sherman W. Alice L. was educated at West Winfield Academy and Houghton Seminary at Clinton. She married J. A. Rafter, M. D., of Holton, Kan., and they have one daughter, Lodema A. Charles H. Brown was educated at the Winfield Academy, and then at the Hungerford Collegiate Institute at Adams, N. Y. He read law with Mills & Palmer of Little Falls, and is now practicing law at Belmont. He is serving his second term as district attorney of Allegany county. He married Alice Smith of Adams, and they have two sons, Charles H. Jr., and Harold S. Sherman W. Brown was educated at Winfield Academy and at Hamilton College. He graduated at the latter place and spent three years at Andover Theological Seminary, and is in his third year in the University of Berlin, Germany.
BROWN, Horace, Frankfort, was born in Frankfort March 23, 1839, he being one of thirteen children of J. Z. Brown (son of Darius), who was born in the same town October 6, 1807; he was a farmer and a preacher, being a Methodist minister and preaching for fifty years. He died in his native town July 21, 1887. Darius Brown, a brother of Horace, was a soldier in the War of the Rebellion. He died May 10, 1864, aged twenty-nine years. His life was lost at Spottsylvania, his body not being recovered. Another brother, Burton, served in the war, was honorably discharged on account of ill health, and died about a year later. Mr. Brown has always made his home in his native town.
BROWN, Jacob H., Little Falls, was born in Oppenheim, Fulton county, May 9, 1846. His earlier years were spent on a farm. He kept a meat market in Dolgeville for eight years; then for two years he was located at Ingham\rquote s Mills, engaged in the sewing machine business. Then for a time he was in the employ of the Warren Machine Company, of Little Falls. Mr. Brown then entered the employ of the Central Railroad company, with whom he remained fourteen years, filling many important positions, such as conductor, train dispatcher, detective, etc. Mr. Brown is at present engaged in the grocery business in Little Falls. He also owns two dairy farms near Dolgeville. He is a member of several local social and benevolent institutions. Mr. Brown has a family of six children, three sons and three daughters.
BROWN, Philip H., Winfield, is president of the Board of Education of the West Winfield school and academy, also trustee of the Congregational Church, and president of the West Winfield Cemetery Association. He was supervisor for the years 1884, 1885, and 1886. He was born in this town January 15, 1848, married Nettie L. Green, and they have three children, Daisy P., Goldie M. and Harry P. They lost one son, Fred J., who died April 17, 1879. Philip H. is a son of James Brown, who was born in this town, a son of Philip Brown, who was a native of Rhode Island, and settled her at an early day. Mrs. Nettie L. Brown was a daughter of James F. Green, a native here, and a son of William, who came to this town soon after his marriage and settled. His original homestead is owned by his grandchildren: William J. Green and Mrs. Nettie L. Brown.
BROWN, Roswell E., Little Falls, commission broker for Armour & Company, is a native of Fairfield, and spent his early years in farming. Subsequently he spent some time in the live-stock business. Ten years ago he came to Little Falls to take his present position with Armour & Company, and during this time he has had a large and constantly increasing business. Mr. Brown is well known in the social as well as commercial circles of this part of the State, and is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity. He is also a member of the order of B. and P. Elks and in politics he is a McKinley Republican. Mr. Brown's grandfather came to New York State from Connecticut.
BROWN, William, Russia, was born in Whitesboro, Oneida county, in October, 1839. He was reared by Elias Stanton, for many years a resident of Gravesville, N. Y. In 1859 he married Martha Wilkins, a native of England, born in 1842, and a daughter of Matthew and Elizabeth (Howell) Wilkins, natives of England. They had four daughters and two sons. In 1847 Mr. Wilkins and family came to America, settling in Utica, N. Y. Mr. Wilkins was a blacksmith by trade and died in 1888. His wife died in 1877. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have had four children, Cora, Ida, Frederick and Fannie, all of whom are living. Cora married Stephen Agne, of Utica, and Ida married William Robinson of Russia. When young, Mr. Brown worked on a farm and attended the public schools. For eleven years he worked on the New York Central Railroad, and afterwards for six years he worked in the oil wells of Franklin, Pa. He now works on a farm in Russia. He and his wife are members of the Russia Grange and of the Baptist church of Russia. Mr. Brown is a Democrat.
BUCK, George W., Russia, was born in Russia, 1835, a son of William and Susan Buck. He was educated in the common schools, supplemented by several terms in the Fairfield Seminary, in which he was a member of the Calliop Society. February 14, 1871, he married Georgiana Ashley, a native of Chatham, Columbia county, N.Y., who was a daughter of Russel D. Ashley, a son of Abram, whose father was Abram Ashley, a native of England and an early settler at Ashley's Hill, Columbia county, N.Y. Here he lived and died. Abram Ashley, jr., married a Miss Beebe, by whom he had seven sons and four daughters. He died about 1876. Russell D. Ashley, born in 1810, was a native of Columbia county, was reared on a farm, and early became a painter. In 1831 he married Sarah Gale, a native of New Lebanon, Columbia county, N.Y., born in 1812. To Mr. Ashley and wife were born two sons and two daughters. He was justice of the peace in Columbia county for sixteen years and died June 16, 1889, while residing with his daughter, Mrs. George Buck, of Poland. His wife died August 26, 1839. Mr. Buck is a farmer by occupation, and he and his brother own the old homestead. He also owns another farm of 270 acres.
BUCK, Lyman H., was born in Russia, N. Y., January 2, 1837, a son of William Buck, who was born in Chesterfield, Mass., October 6, 1807. He bought a farm near Poland, where he resided until 1860, when he purchased an adjoining farm, where he lived the remainder of his days. He was the first president of the State Bank at Poland, organized in 1870, and president of the National Bank until his death. He died in 1880. His wife Susan, daughter of Jonathan and Susannah (Buck) Millington, is still living in Poland. Jonathan was born in Shaftsbury, Vt., in 1774, was a son of Solomon Millington, a native of Shaftsbury, who died in 1833, and his wife in 1835. Jonathan Millington had one son and five daughters. He was drafted in the war of 1812. He died in 1854. Lyman Buck was educated in Fairfield Seminary. In connection with farming, he taught school several terms. Afterwards followed farming, exclusively on the old homestead, which he and his brother now own. Mr. Buck with Charles D. Buck, Peter Newman, Felus Prindle and Marcena May, owned for a number of years the Poland cheese factory and manufactured large quantities of cheese. Lyman H. Buck owns land in Herkimer County, and also quite extensively in several of the Western States. He is one of the stockholders and president of the Union Store in Poland. He is a Republican. He furnished a substitute in the Civil War. Mr. Buck has always supported the Baptist Church. His wife is Frances M. Ferris, whom he married February 20, 1865. She is a daughter of the late Col. Timothy H. Ferris, of Russia. Mr. Buck and wife have one child, Harriet Gudrida, at home.
BUDLONG, Capt. A. J., German Flats, was born in Grand Rapids, Mich., December 2, 1844, but removed to Frankfort, Herkimer county, at an early age. He was in the bus business seven years, after which he was conductor on a Wagner car for some time. He then bought a steam packet and has run it on the canal ever since. In 1863 he married Minerva J. Harris, of Frankfort. He has been captain of the Thirty-first Separate Company N. G. S. N. Y. since 1884. Captain Budlong is a prominent Mason and a member of the Knights of Birmingham.
BUDLONG, A.L., Frankfort, the only son of R.P. and Rebecca (Miller) Budlong of Frankfort, was born May 30, 1850, on the Budlong homestead where he now lives. His grandfather was Aaron Budlong, a native of the town, also born on the old family homestead, which was settled by his great-grandfather Aaron Budlong, he being one of the first settlers, when it was a forest. Rebecca (Miller) Budlong, the mother, was a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Miller of Miller's Mills, Columbia. A.L. Budlong was married November 3, 1880, to Julie Marriner, one of three children of Edward and Julia (Frost) Marriner of New York City. They have had three children: Edward Marriner, Fred Eugene and De Elmo P. Budlong (died in infancy).
BUDLONG, John came from Rhode Island about 1780, at the age of nineteen, to this county in 1788. He married in 1793, Zilpha Ladd, of Schuyler, Herkimer county, N. Y., commenced housekeeping in a log house, no fortune except a wife. She lived to the age of seventy-four, he sixty-nine years. They had six sons and two daughters. Two sons died unmarried. The remainder married. All settled in this State. The oldest son, Nathan, remained with his father on the homestead. In 1823 he married Sally Packard, of Wayne county, N. Y. They had five children, two died unmarried. The daughter Chloe married James J. Maurice, of Aurora, Cayuga county, N. Y. They had no children. She died October 17, 1888, at the age of fifty-six. John N., of Schuyler, a farmer and cattle dealer, married September 14, 1864, to Mary A. Bridenbecker, of Schuyler. They had one daughter, Maud. He died in 1873, aged thirty-five years. The widow and daughter reside in Utica. Maud married B. L. Fitch, of Utica, occupation merchant tailor. Ira P. Budlong was born August 7, 1826. On November 16, 1853, he married Mary A. Brown, of Fairport, Monroe couonty, N. Y. They reside on the homestead and own six other farms, all devoted to dairying purposes. They have three children, Clayton, Arthur and Cora Dodge, all married and farming. Farms all join the old homestead.
BULLION, Clark L., Warren, was born in Warren September 21, 1865, a son of James and Phoebe (Cole) Bullion. The grandfather, Andrew, was a son of William, and married Isabella Marshall, both of Scotland, they had five children: James, Andrew, Alexander, Janette and Margaret. The last two named died in Scotland; the rest all came to the United States about 1800, and settled in Warren. Andrew Bullion located on 256 acres west of Cullen, and died in Richfield Springs. His first wife was Geneth Puller, and their children were: John, William, James, Isabel, Anna, Libbie and Mary. James Bullion was born west of Cullen, where he resided until his death in 1877, aged sixty-five. He was twice married, first, to a Miss McCready, by whom he had three children; Monroe of Nebraska, Nettie and Laura Ames. His second wife bore him two children: Jennie, deceased, wife of Curt. Palmer, and Clark L. She died April 16, 1892, aged fifty-nine years. Clark L. received a district and seminary education, and since fourteen years of age has made his own living. He served in town offices as a Republican, and was collector. He owns 100 acres of the homestead, and has added twenty acres since. He married in November, 1884, Ida Bellinger, born at Jacksonburgh, a daughter of Norman and Anna (Baxter) Bellinger. They have one child, Harry J. Subject and wife are Universalists.
BULLOCK, Charles B., Ohio, was born in Norway, N. Y., June 13, 1835. His parents were Ira and Mary (Hodge) Bullock. (See biography of Agustus Odit.) Charles V. was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. He early learned the blacksmith trade, which he followed in Norway and Cold Brook fifteen years. In 1857 he married Mary C. Hall, a native of St. Johnsville, N. Y., and to them were born two daughters, Fannie, who married Samuel Lawton, of Ohio, and has two daughters, Agnes and Myrl; they live at Cold Brook; and Emma. Emma resides with her parents. For the last twenty years Mr. Bullock has resided on a farm in Norway. He and his wife are members of the Baptist church of Norway. Mr. Bullock was drafted in the late war, but furnished a substitute. The parents of Mrs. Bullock were Dennis and Fannie Hall, who were early settlers of Gray, coming there from St. Johnsville, N. Y. They were the parents of four children. Mr. Hall was drum major in the Ninety-seventh New York Infantry and served three years. Mr. Hall was a furrier by trade.
BUNCE, George H. , Herkimer, was born in the town of Russia October 21, 1865. His father is Madison Bunce. He was educated in the schools of Norway and Prospect, and took a Latin scientific course in Fairfield Seminary, graduating as valedictorian of the class of '84. After this he taught school winters and worked summers on a farm until 1887, when he began the study of law with E. A. Brown in Herkimer, and was admitted to the bar in 1891. He was appointed clerk of the Surrogate's Court in January, 1890, which position he at present occupies. He was married in 1887 to Miss Mary E. Curtis, of Ohio, N. Y. Mr. Bunce is identified with local, social and benevolent institutions, such as Odd Fellows, Kappa Gamma Phi Club, Hook and Ladder Company, etc.
BURCH, C.B., German Flats, was born in Otsego county December 7, 1834. His father was Orlo Burch. C.B. Burch was first engaged as a clerk and then in farming. He came to Ilion in 1865 and worked in the armory for ten years. In 1884 he established his present business. Mr. Burch is a Republican and a member of the A.O.U.W. In June, 1863, he married Miss Harriet A. Ross, and they have five children, three sons and two daughters; Seymour C., W.W., and A.W., are the sons.
BURCH, Frederick, Schuyler, is a native of Schuyler, born February 9, 1830. He owns a farm of 138 acres and raises grass and dry stock. He has been town clerk three terms and excise commissioner. In 1860 Mr. Burch married Mary Sterling, and they have four children, one son and three daughters. Lovell, father of Frederick, was a native of Massachusetts.
BURCH, R., Schuyler, is a native of Schuyler, and is a son of George Burch, who was one of the most successful men in this town, past or present. His grandfather, Robert Burch, came from Killingby, Conn. In 1870 Mr. Burch married Sarah Isabella, daughter of Solomon T. Hubbard, of Newport, R. I., and they have one daughter, Belle Louise. Mr. Burch is largely interested in railroad stock, and in farming.
BURCH, S. C., German Flats, was born January 8, 1861, and was educated in the Ilion Academy. After acting as book-keeper for some years, he and his father, C. B. Burch, started in business in 1884. The next year Mr. Burch married Alvira C. Budlong, daughter of William Budlong. Mr. Burch has been village clerk, and a prominent member of the K. of P., Odd Fellows, the Ilion Hook and Ladder Company, and is very highly esteemed in the social circles of Ilion.
BURGESS, Mrs. Sarah A., Winfield, was born in the house where she now lives, and is a daughter of Sanders and Elisabeth (Prescott) Dodge. Her father was born 1803, in Minden, and came to Winfield with his parent at an early age. He settled in Chepachet about 1835, in the stone house now occupied by his daughter. He married Elisabeth Prescott February 29, 1839, and died October 5, 1889, at the age of eighty-seven years. Their children were Dr. Dodge, of Oneida Castle, and Mrs. Sarah A. Burgess. Sanders Dodge was a brother-in-law of the late Amos H. Prescott, formerly judge of Herkimer county, and of Daniel M. Prescott, of Oneida county. Sarah A. Dodge married George W. Burgess, of Otsego county, N. Y., October 26, 1858, he died April 25, 1862, aged twenty-eight years and left one daughter, Eva A., who died October 18, 1888, aged twenty-nine years, she left a daughter, Sophie Smith, who lives with her grandmother, Mrs. Burgess.
BURKE, M.L., German Flats, is a native of Utica and was born September 23, 1837. He learned the locksmith's trade but has been for the last thirty-two years a contractor in connection with the Remington Arms Company. In 1857 he married Miss Annie Fogerty, by whom he has had six children, three sons and three daughters. The sons are William, Fred J., and Frank T., the daughters, Mrs. Charles R. Hubbell of Syracuse, Isabelle and Mary E., now Mrs. Charles H. Munson of Herkimer, H. Ellen T., now Mrs. Charles Fox of Little Falls. Mr. Burke is one of the leading men of Ilion and was elected trustee of the village in 1892. He is a Republican in politics and a member of Knights Templar in the Masonic order of Little Falls Commandery, No. 26.
BURLINGAME, B. W., Russia, was born August 19, 1849, in Minden, Montgomery county. His father was Peter B., son of Benjamin Burlingame of Dutchess county, who married Elizabeth Bice and had four sons and two daughters. His wife died in 1810 and he married a widow Dempster of Kingsbury. She died and he was a third time married. He died near Gray about 1852, aged seventy-six. Peter B. Burlingame was born July 29, 1804, in Dutchess county. November l7, 1834, he married Sarah E. Bonfie, a native of Montgomery county, born February 14, 1812, and a daughter of Barnabas Bonfie, who was a son of Henry, a native of Connecticut, who had seven children. Barnabas Bonfie was born January 13, 1785, in Amsterdam, and married Polly Smith, of Dutchess county, born February 22, 1787, by whom he had seven sons and three daughters. He died in Gray, 1871, and his wife in 1874. Peter B. Burlingame and wife had four sons and three daughters, two of whom are living, subject of sketch and Mary E., who has three children living. Her mother resides with her. Barnabas E., son of Peter B., was in the 117th New York Infantry, Company C., and died May 25, 1863, aged nineteen. Mr. Burlingame died January 14, 1888 in Grant. The subject of this sketch is a carpenter by trade, but his principal occupation has been farming. l He is a Republican. He is a member of Free Will Baptist Church and his wife is a Methodist. She was born June 31, 1853, and died August 29, 188o6. They had two children, of whom one died in infancy, and Frank W., born October 16, 1884. His second wife was Mattie (Hollenbeck) Pardee, born in Salisbury, October 10, 1845. Her father was Francis, son of Jasper Hollenbeck, born near Hudson, who married Miss Van Wormer, by whom he had four sons and two daughters. Francis Hollenbeck was born near Hudson, 1810. His wife was Margaret A. Emery and they had three sons and two daughters. He died October 26, 1872, and his wife in 1881. Subjects wife was first married in 1868 to Joseph Pardee, born 1837, in Russia, a son of Loren and Betsy (Prindle) Pardee of Russia. Joseph Pardee and wife had two children: Merritt J., deceased, and Edith G. Mr. Pardee died in 1871.
BURNEY, F.C., Little Falls, though a young man is distinctly one of the representative business men of Little Falls. He is a native of St. Lawrence county and a descendant of one of the oldest families in the county, on his mother's side. He embarked in the hardware business in 1888 with a Mr. Cooper, but in January, 1891, this firm dissolved and was replaced by Burney Brothers, as it remains at present, the partners being F.C. and J.G. Burney. The subject of this sketch is a member of both Odd Fellows and Masons. In politics he is a Republican. He has three brothers, and all four are Masons; one of the four raised the other three, all at one time. The business of Burney Brothers is large and important, and by honorable methods and superior business management they have become important factors in the commercial life of Little Falls.
BURNEY, J.G., Little Falls. Before the War of the Rebellion broke out there dwelt in St. Lawrence county, this State, a family typical in every way of the best social and national elements. Here were the father and mother, and four sons and two daughters. The truest family ties and sentiments united them, but when the war broke out the spirit of patriotism led the father and eldest son to the front. The son, then only eighteen years of age, is the subject of this sketch. His father, Thomas Burney, took sick at New Orleans and returned home to die in the forty-fourth year of his age, leaving the mother with the care and support of five young children. The men and women into which these children have grown are the highest meed of praise that can be given her, but she is a type of the most suffering mothers of the war times, whose names should be forever perpetuated. J. G. Burney enlisted in December, 1863, and was mustered in January, 1864, in Company M, Eighteenth New York Cavalry. His regiment operated in Louisiana and Texas, and was kept in the vicinity of New Orleans for a considerable time. They were paid off and honorably discharged at Galveston, Texas, in 1866. He was mustered out as sergeant. After the war Mr. Burney worked at his trade of wagon-making for some years and then traveled for about ten years; two for the Warrior Mower company, then for a Utica firm for a time and finally settled in Little Falls in 1885, and on January 1, 1891, became a partner in the firm of Burney Brothers. Mr. Burney is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Grand Army. He helped to organize Thomas Post, at Porspect, and was its commander for several years. He is a man much esteemed in both social and commercial circles for his many qualities of head and heart.
BURNS, Edward M., Herkimer, general manager of the Adirondack & St. Lawrence R.R., is a native of Albany and began his business career as a clerk in a country store, and for some years afterwards was so employed by a merchant in Albany, and at the breaking out of the war as a clerk in the inspector-general's office at the State Capitol in Albany. After some one hundred regiments of volunteers were organized he enlisted as a private in the 97th N.Y. Volunteers, but was at once promoted to a 2d Lieutenancy in the 94th N. Y. Volunteers, then serving as Provost Guard at Alexandria, Va., but very soon afterwards ordered to the field where he served during the campaign of McDowell, Banks and Pope about the defence of Washington and in the valley, doing some staff duty. His health giving out, by reason of the severe labor and exposure, he was for a time a patient in the hospitals about Alexandria, but was finally sent north with but little hope for his life. At the request of his colonel, brigade and division commander, the secretary of war made a special order exempting him from the operation of the order requiring disabled officers to resign and accept pensions. As his health slowly returned his services were required by the government as deputy provost marshal for the 14th Dis. N. Y., comprising the counties of Albany and Schoharie, which position he held during all changes of administration until some eighteen months after the close of the war, at which time owing to the complete and perfect condition of the records under his care, he was offered the opportunity to go to Washington to take charge of all such records there, but declined, preferring to enter active business, which he did as a piano forte manufacturer, succeeding to a business established by his father. In 1867 he married Miss Mary A. Thomas and came to Middleville N. Y., forming a partnership with his brother and continuing the business of tanning calf skins which had been carried on by his wife's grandfather, father and brother. He is a Republican and a 32d degree Mason ("Scottish Rite). Mr. Burns was the projector of the railroad which he now manages. The road was built in 1880-1 and he was elected president and operated the road as a narrow gauge until the property was sold in 1890. The new owners made Mr. Burns vice-president and general manager, which position he held until the road again changed hands and came into the possession of Dr. W. S. Webb, who rebuilt the road, made it a standard guage and extended it to Malone, Mr. Burns retaining his position as general-manager which he still holds.
BURNS, M., German Flats, was born in Fairfield September 20, 1868. After living on his father\rquote s farm at Shell\rquote s Bush for some time he came to Mohawk and spent seven years in the livery business there. He then came to Ilion and bought out the leading livery stable in 1892, which he now conducts. He is an active Democrat.
BURPEE, Nathanial, Litchfield, one of the early settlers of Frankfort Hill, was one of the sons of Moses Burpee, sr., of Jeffrey, New Hampshire. He was born January 1, 1766. He emigrated to this region about 1790, and worked for some years for those that wanted help clearing their land, as it was nearly all a wilderness at that time. In 1795, he married Merab Smith, who was born in Cheshire, Conn., May 2, 1770. In January 1797 he bought of Oliver Prescott (grandfather of the late Judge A.H. Perescott of Herkimer ) 102 acres of land in Whitestown, Herkimer county, (now Frankfort) for 61 pounds and 4 schillings. Here they spent the remainder of their lived. He died August 13, 1819, aged fifty-three. She died March 22, 1844, aged seventy-three. They had five children, four sons and one daughter. Three of them died on the home place: Ephraim, the oldest, died December 11, 1831, aged thirty-five. Susan, the daughter, died August 1873, aged sixty-eight. Ephraim and Susan were not married. Anson B,. the youngest son, married Hannah T, Cary, of Litchfield, Herkimer county. He died September 6, 1850 aged forty-two. He left no children, they died in their infancy. The homestead was sold in 1878 to D. M. Prescott. Nathanial, Jr., the third son married Abagail R. Wood of Litchfield of this county May 17,1825. He bought the Calhoun place near the old homestead. He had three children born here, two daughters and one son. The daughters died in their childhood. The son, Newton N., was born November 30, 1828. Nathanial, jr., died July 7, 1835, aged thirty-three. Newton N., married his step-sister, Mary Wadsworth of New Hartford, Oneida county. They lived a few years on the old homestaed with their aunt , where they had two children born, a daughter Ella and a son Frank. Then they went to DeKalb, Ill., on a farm. Newton enlisted in the army in the late war, served with distinction and was discharged honorably, returned home and died a few years later. Newton's mother married for her second husband, John Wadsworth of Litchfield, this county and is still living in Chicago, Ill., in her eighty-eighth year. Newton's children are both married and they and their mother live in Chicago. Titus Burpee, the second son of Nathanial Burpee, sr., was born in Frankfort, October 10, 1799. He married Olivia Johnson. of Southington, Conn., October 14,1822. She was born in Southington, July 7, 1801. She was the granddaughter of Issac Ingraham. Titus bought a farm near Frankfort village where their children were born: Harriet A., and George W. After a few years he sold his farm and bought the Asa Priest farm in Litchfield, Herkimer county, in 1832 which contains about 100 acres, and is a grain, dairy, and fruit farm. Here they lived until their deaths, his February 20, 1973, in his seventy-forth year, hers March 6, 1884 in her eighty-eighth year. Harriet A., their daughter, was born July 9, 1824. She married Issac Drought , of Camden, Oneida county, November 1848. They have five children: Mervin B., M. Olivia, Harriet E., Susan M. and Herbert. They are all living and have children except Herbert. George W., (Titus's son) was born May 16, 1827. He married Almira McClure of Franklinsville, Cattaraugus county February 25, 1852, who left two children, Emma A., and George H. She died February 27, 1862, aged thirty-two. He married for his second wife Harriet Woodbridge of Trenton, Oneida county, March 18, 1863. She had one son, Edwin T., who died January 8, 1889 aged twenty-one years. She died March 27, 1873 in her forty-fifth year. Mr. Burpee married for a third wife, F. Elizabeth Savage of Saquoit, Oneida county on May 13, 1886 (she is a direct decendant of Miles Standish)had no children. Emma A., Mr. Burpee's daughter, was born October 14, 1854. She married A.C. Paddock, of this town. They have two children, Effie A., born October 24, 1876,; Arthur S., born October 10, 1879. They live on a farm near Saquoit, Oneida county. George H., was born February 24, 1857. He married Florence Rawlings, of Philadelphia, Pa. They live in Jersey City, N.J. Mr. Burpee and his wife still live on his farm in Litchfield.
BURT, Delos M., Little Falls, farmer, is a native and life-long resident of this town. He is forty-seven years of age and has been collector of the town, and commissioner of highways. He is a Democrat in politics and is much esteemed by that party. He occupies his father's farm of 127 acres of land, which is devoted to dairying and largely to the raising of grass. His wife was Mary E. Brown and they have two children, John S. and Katie Belle. The family are adherents of the Universalist church. Mr. Burt is a member of the Royal Arcanum and the Grange and is a leading farmer of Little Falls.
BURTON, David, German Flats, was born in Deerfield, October 12, 1811, and was a farmer all his life, till he retired a few years ago. He lived forty years in Frankfort. His father was Nathan Burton. In 1841 Mr. Burton married Rosina Whitney, and has one son, Nathan. His wife died about forty years ago. Mr. Burton is one of the sterling old men of Herkimer county and holds the highest esteem and fullest confidence of all classes.
BUSHNELL, K. A., M.D., Little Falls, was born at Albany, N. Y., and graduated from the Albany Medical College in the class of '78. He commenced an active practice here in 1879. He is president of the Herkimer County Medical Society, consulting physician of Faxton Hospital, Utica, N. Y., trustee of the village of Little Falls and identified with leading social organizations such as Royal Arcanum, Home Circle, etc. He is also a high-up Mason and enjoys a most lucrative practice in his profession. Mr. Bushnell's family were originally New Englanders. He married Miss Alice Gray of Herkimer.
BUTTON, Gould, Winfield , was born in Brookfield, Madison county, November 12, 1809, a son of John H. and Esther (Bentley) Button. He is a member of the Methodist in which he has been a trustee. He married Thurza, daughter of Thomas and Lucina (Fisk) Adams, and they had one son Henry W. They lost one, Sergeant Samuel Guile, who died on the battlefield May 10, 1864. He was a member of Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-first Regiment, sixth Corps, and died at the battle of Spotsylvania in Virginia. Alonzo Young, born in the town of Winfield March 15, 1835. a son of Hiram W. and Polly (Hay) Young. He was educated in the common schools. He left Winfield in 1847 and settled in Clyde, Wayne county, which has been his residence ever since. He went to California in 1858, and enlisted June 1, 1862 in the Third California Regiment of Infantry, Company I, and served three years. He enlisted at Jackson, Amadora county, Cal. The regiment was ordered to Salt Lake City, and the whole time was served in Utah. He took part in the battle of Big Bend of the Bear River, where four companies killed over 300 Indians, There were thirty-killed in the battle and 140 wounded. He returned from California in 1865.