Timaru Herald, 9 November 1870, Page 2
A large and influential meeting was held last Saturday evening at the Geraldine Hotel, convened to receive the report of the Committee appointed at the last meeting, and also to petition the Government as to the main line of road from the Rangitata bridge to the Waihi Crossing [Woodbury]. Mr Tancred took the chair. ... Mr Megson then stated the second object of the meeting to take into consideration the advisability of petitioning the Government, to induce them to bring the main line of road through Geraldine from the new Rangitata bridge to the Waihi Crossing and he thought the present was a good opportunity for applying to the Government, as he believed there was a committee now sitting in the Provincial Council to determine upon the routes of the main roads of the province and that a petition be presented to his Honor the Superintendent, praying that a sufficient sum be placed upon the supplementary estimates to make and put in repair that line of road passing through Geraldine, by Coopers Creek, and then in a direct line to the Rangitata bridge. He (Mr Megson) then pointed out the great claims in favour of this proposed line of road. It would pass through a populous and rapidly improving district, and also though the Government township of Geraldine. Dr Fish stated he had been authorised by Mr Macdonald to say that be highly approved of the course of action about to be taken.
Talbot St and Pine Street Corner, Geraldine. Morrison Bros. to the left. The chimney of the Crown back left. The Geraldine Hotel to the right.
Dear Geraldine! We know you well;
What is in a name?
In 1849 Charles Obins Torlesse, pioneer surveyor, made a thorough exploration of South Canterbury. He went along the foothills hoping to discover coal. He was probably the first European to visit the area known as Raukapuka Bush and Talbot Forest. In England John Chetwynd Talbot (1806-1852) was an officer of the Canterbury Association which planned and executed the settlement of Canterbury as was Rev. Charles Martin Torlesse. The `Canterbury Block' did not extend to South Canterbury but the names of some of the Association's members were given to features here. In NZ C.O. Torlesse was an assistant surveyor along with Thomas Cass so Torlesse probably named the bush after the member of the Canterbury Association. Thomas Cass recommended the reservation of a town site at Talbot Forest in 1854. This forest 2000 acres in extent was on the downlands at the foot of which the town of Geraldine was later laid out by Samuel Hewlings. An area was set apart in 1857, but was not gazetted until 26 July 1866. The town was surveyed in 1862 and later resurveyed. In 1886 much of the town area was leased in large homestead sections. The name Talbot Forest appears in the Lyttelton Times 5th May as early as 1855. Peel Forest was named the bush Gurdon by Torlesse, but it was later changed as a memorial to the British Prime Minister, Peel. From
Raukapuka - the native name for the leaf of the broad leaf
trees which abound
Rau Kapuka means a hundred Kāpuka trees. The Kāpuka is a broadleaf tree. Before the area was settled by the early runholders, Raukapuka was mainly forest and swampland.
Raukapuka is virtually a suburb of Geraldine with just the river separating them. "The Bank of New Zealand building was completed, and the saleyards transferred to Raukapuka."
A run - Raukapuka station first owned by Cox.
A convenience store
Know a town's street-names and you know half its history.
Lyttelton Times, 22 November 1856, Page 2
A map of the Town of Timaru may be seen at the Survey Office, Talbot Forest. Persons wishing to have sections put up to auction on the above day must apply to the Waste Lands Board, on or before the 29th December, 1856, and pay to the Treasurer a Deposit of 10 per cent, of the upset price. The Board sits Mondays and Thursdays. By order of the Superintendent, JOSEPH BRITTAN, Provincial Secretary
Lyttelton Times, 9 May 1857, Page 8 Provincial
Council Wednesday May 6th.
TOWN AT TALBOT FOREST.
Message No. 8, relating to a reserve of a town site at Talbot Forest, was then considered in committee. Mr. Packer moved the following resolution:— "That his Honor be requested to make the following reserve, viz., 320 acres of land for a town to be called ________ at Talbot Forest. Mr. Brittan moved that the blank be filled up with the name of Godley. The gentleman who bore that name had been the greatest friend to the province it was possible to have had and it would be a due mark of respect to take this opportunity of naming the town after him. A lengthened discussion arose upon this proposition, many names being suggested, which were all considered in succession, and rejected finally, on the motion of Mr Moorehouse, seconded by Mr. Thomson, the name of 'FitzGerald' was adopted by a large majority.
Lyttelton Times, 13 May 1857, Page 5 TALBOT FOREST
The House went into Committee for the reconsideration of the Resolution respecting the reserve for town site at Talbot Forest; Mr. Hall in the chair. The following resolution was agreed to: That his Honor the Superintendent be requested to make the following reserve, viz., 320 acres of land for a town at Talbot Forest, as described in His Honour's Message No 8, and the plan thereto annexed. Such town to be called Geraldine. The resolution was reported and adopted by the Council.
Lyttelton Times, 24 April 1858, Page 5
For the Timaru District — The Resident Magistrate's Office, Timaru and Mr. MacDonald's station, Talbot Forest. The Provincial Council Chamber, Christchurch. By his Honor's command, T. B. KEELE, for the Provincial Secretary. Provincial Secretary's Office, Christchurch, April 21st, 1858.
Press, 16 April 1864, Page 2
Mr. Cox then moved—''That the Council recommends his Honor the Superintendent to make the following reserves for the purpose of Public Gardens and Recreation Grounds, viz.:— 1. Nine acres two roods twenty-four perches at Geraldine, bounded on the N.W. by Talbot-street, on the S.E. by High-street, and on S.W. by Cox street. 2. Forty acres at Arowenua, bounded on the north by High-street, and on the south and west by the bank of the Opihi, being at the S.E. corner of the township." Mr. Hall said, he thought the Provincial Engineer ought to give his opinion as to the sites of the reserves for the purposes mentioned, he was not aware himself of how far they were suited to the purposes mentioned. The motion was withdrawn, after some discussion.
The Temuka river is called the "Umnkuba," this Maori title signifying that it was a place for flax. The Hae-Hae-Te-Moana was then called the ''Hare'' the name that was subsequently given only to the north branch. This river was most probably named after the Ven. Archdeacon Hare, one of the vice-presidents of the old Canterbury Association.
Philip Lloyd FRANCIS came to NZ in the "Steadfast" in 1851, a fellow passenger being Dunbar Douglas MUTER. In 1853 they took up Raukapuka Station, 20,000 acres each, but sold the license to Alfred COX in 1854. Francis was partner with George MATSON (another "Steadfast" passenger) in Hunters Hills Station - partnership dissolved in 1858.
In Geraldine district, there were two classes of pioneer settlers who were first tempted to make their new homes near the splendid Raukapuka Bush. They were the bushmen and the pastoralists.
the first man to settle on the east side of the Waihi river at Geraldine and wrote
in in his "Recollections" in 1884 about his 1854 trip to South Canterbury. "being within a short distance
of Mr William Hornbrook's station, [which was
taken up in 1854. This Arowhenua run was between the Opihi and Hae-Hae-Te-Moana
rivers.] We called upon
him. Staying a day only in the neighbourhood, we steered for the lower end of
the Raukapuka bush. We camped here, and quickly made up our minds that the
future head-station should be planted in the immediate locality. The exact spot
where our tent was pitched was where a blacksmith's shop now stands, at the
junction of the roads near Geraldine on the left or north bank of the river
Waihi. In the immediate vicinity of the Raukapuka bush were some Maori huts,
occupied by natives belonging to the pa at Arowhenua. After our occupation of
the country they frequented the spot but seldom." Cox inspected his run and left
William du Moulin there as a manager. Cox arrived
back in 1857. Mr Cox sold out his interest in Raukapuka
to Sir Thomas Selby Tancred in 1870 and the station was divided. In 1879 Tancred
transferred it to his younger son, Clements Tancred, who sold it a year or so
later to Jack Barker. It is known as the Waihi Estate. The other section was
sold to William Postlethwaite in 1875. In 1891 he leased the Raukapuka estate to
Mr. M.C. Orbell for 14 years but sold the place
to J. Campbell in 1901.
Lyttelton Times Saturday 5 October 1878
POSTLEWAITE - William, sell 2000 acres, RAUKAPUKA Estate, also 55 acres, adjoining the Scotch Church, Geraldine.
Mr W. K. Macdonald settled on the north bank of the Orari, the railway line now running through the homestead paddocks, the date of the original license of his holding being October, 1854. His brother, Mr Angus Macdonald, took up his run adjoining, at the same time, and subsequently built his residence, Waitui, on its well-known site on the Geraldine Downs. Mr Edward Cooper settled at Cooper's Creek, north again of Mr Angus Macdonald's run, having purchased Mr F. Jollies interest in a run taken up in 1861. Messrs Walker Bros, and Clogstoun took up part of the Four Peaks run in 1856, adding to it in 1860 ,and 1861, but some twenty years later they disposed of their interest in the back part of the run known as Clayton to Messrs Hamilton. A portion of Mr Cox's run was on the west side of the Hae-Hae-Te-Moana river, and north of Mr Cox, Messrs Studholme, Banks and Wigley subsequently held the country between the Hae-Hae-Te-Moana and Opuha rivers. The Mount Peel and Orari Gorge runs, including the Four Peaks range, was taken up by Mr J. B. A. Acland between 1858 and 1861.
Press, 24 January 1914, Page 8
A good example of the preservation of native bush is the very fine reserve belonging to the township of Geraldine. This bush has, however, always been kept in its natural state, and the undergrowth was never allowed to be destroyed by stock.
Samuel Hewlings' totara tree which he planted to mark the birth of his daughter still stands on the site today in Talbot Street, opposite the police station.
Press, 3 March 1911, Page 9 SOME REMINISCENCES
The late Caleb Maslin, who with his family was a passengers by the Maori to Lyttelton in 1858, was the next after Mr Hewlings to make a permanent home in Geraldine, first of all living in a bark and manuka hut on the bank of the river, where a motor garage now stands. He first went to Geraldine in 1860, and, with Mr Phillip Dale, built the homestead at Raukapuka for Mr Cox. Mr Maslin afterwards built on a section next the Geraldine Cemetery, but twelve months later Mr Cox bought Mr Maslin's property as a site for a Church of England parsonage, the first occupant of which was the Rev. L. L. Brown. In 1862 Mr Maslin was killed while sinking a well on the property where his family afterwards lived for many years, in the lower part of the township. Previous to this he had started pit sawing in the Raukapuka bush, and supplying split material for fencing purposes. The carting was done by Mr Maslin's eldest son, Mr W. S. Maslin, and Mr F.R. Flatman, who, after being a short time at Mr Cox's, joined Mr Maslin. In those early days Mr Flatman used to drive a team of three harness bullocks. Among other early settlers in the Geraldine district were Messrs John Dean, Robert Taylor, Reuben Johnston, Geo. Taylor, David Radcliffe, J. Kallaugher, W. Guildford, and J. Hancock, who were more or less engaged in bush work; Mr John Huffey, who was a carpenter and bricklayer; and Mr John Pizzey. The first steam sawmill was started in the Raukapuka bush by Messrs McKissock and McKenzie, close to where the traffic bridge over the Waihi river now stands.
It was was not till a few years after the bushmen were at work that any business premises were erected. Stores had to be obtained direct from Timaru; or from Messrs Mendelson and Morris, who had commenced business in Pleasant Valley, in a building that existed until three or four years ago. This store at Pleasant Valley was the nucleus of what afterwards became a large business, Mr Mendelson opening and taking charge of a branch at Temuka, and subsequently opening other branches at Pleasant Point and Ashburton. It was with this firm that the Messrs Friedlander Bros, were first associated on their arrival in the Dominion, and they subsequently took over the Ashburton branch. The original business at Pleasant Valley was somewhere about 1880 transferred to Geraldine, including a new building that had been erected as a store. Before the days of shops in Geraldine the following were the prices paid for some of the necessaries of life:
Tea 3s 6dper lb
coffee 2s 6d,
candles 1s 9d
flour £4 to £3 10s per 2001b
bar of soap 2s 6d
tobacco 9s per lb.
At the same time the usual rate of wages was £1 per week. It may be mentioned that the first oats grown in Geraldine put in by Mr W. S. Maslin and Mr F. R. Flatman were sold at 24s per sack. The ploughing was done by a bullock team, the grain cut with a scythe, threshed with a flail, and winnowed with a tin dish. Mr Robert Morrison opened a store in Geraldine in 1867, but sold out Messrs Brown and Plante, whose head business place was. in Temuka. Subsequently Messrs R. Morrison and N. Dunlop purchased the business, and now it is carried on by Mr Morrison's sons. Mr W. Grimmer opened a store and butcher's shop on the opposite side of the road, and later on Mr W. S. Maslin started a store at the lower end of the town. This business was afterwards taken over by Mr N. Dunlop, and later by Mr T. Sherratt, who still carries it on. Mr R. Taylor opened the first hotel in Geraldine in 1865, and Mr W. Dawson was for a number of years the licensee, the Bush Inn and Crown Hotels were opened some years afterwards. Mr D. Taylor, at Orari, was the first blacksmith in the district, and later on Mr J. Kennedy commenced business in Geraldine, Mr D. Clouston being the first wheelwright.
Geraldine is the headquarters of two large local bodies. besides its own municipal council. The Geraldine County Council has its offices there and originally this body had jurisdiction over the greater part of South Canterbury. The first Geraldine County Council was elected in 1877, and held its first meeting on January 4th, 1878, the members being Messrs W. Postlethwaite, Geraldine; C. G. Tripp, Orari Gorge; E. Acton, Pleasant Point: E. Cooper. Peel Forest, J. McIntosh, Levels; P. H. Russell, Timaru; J. Mendelson and Alex. Wilson, sen.. Temuka. Mr Postlethwaite was elected chairman, and also acted as secretary till Mr W. Wills was appointed to that position in 1878. Mr F.W. Stubbs was elected clerk in 1880, a position he still holding in 1911. In 1883 the Mount Cook Road District seceded from the Geraldine County and formed the Mackenzie County. The Levels district took similar action in 1894, and the Geraldine County now comprises the Road Districts of Geraldine, Temuka, and Mount Peel. The 1911 members of the Geraldine County Council are Messrs G. J. Dennistoun (chairman), B.R. Macdonald, A. Metcalf, D. Grant, W. G. Armitage, W. Dixon, and A. Kelman. The Geraldine Road District first went under the name of Raukapuka, but this was only retained for a year after the district was constituted. The first meeting of the road board was held on February 14th, 1871, the members being Messrs W.K Macdonald (chairman), Geo. Taylor, J. Roberts. R. Rae, and W.U. Slack. Mr C. E. Sherratt was the first clerk and overseer, a position he occupied for a number of years. He was succeeded by Mr W. Shiers, who also did lengthy and good service. Mr O'Malley followed and in 1911 the clerk and and overseer is Mr Thos. Dyer. In June 1884, the Geraldine Town District was constituted, and the first commissioners were Messrs R. H. Pearpoint (Chairman), W. S Maslin, R. Taylor, J. Mundell, N. Dunlop, Thomas Farrell and J. Huffey. Mr C.E. Sherratt was appointed clerk and Mr R. Annan overseer. A further step in local government was taken in 1904 when the town district was formed into a borough, the first Council being Mr W. S. Maslin (Mayor) and Councillors R. Taylor, E. H. Logan, J. Maling, J. Farell, Dawson, and Hislop, and, Mr A. Herlihy was appointed town clerk an overseer, and still occupied this position in 1911. The 1911 Council consists of Mr F. R. Flatman (Mayor), and Councillors T. Sherrrat, W.A. Sherrat, J. Kennedy, R. Taylor, J. M. Sutherland and Dr. Paterson.
In 1911 the township was nearly two miles long.
Timaru Herald, 23 December 1878, Page 2
A meeting of the electors of the Raukapuka riding of the Geraldine County will be held in the Road Board office, Geraldine, on Friday next, at 6.30 p.m., to take into consideration the question of constituting the riding a County in itself. Really there must be something very rotten in the present Geraldine County when the ridings are so eager to desert it in this way. Mount Cook and the Levels have already decided to secede, and if Raukapuka separates, so must Mount Peel, which will leave Temuka all alone in its glory.
Otago Witness 27 January 1888, Page 17
January 19 — Beautiful, I say; for is not Geraldine known, far and near, as being one of the prettiest little country townships in the whole of Canterbury? Geraldine is situated about 24 miles to the north-east of Timaru, and is accessible by an excellent macadamised road which is, with the exception of two or three miles near Timaru, almost on a dead level. It can also be readied by taking the train to Orari, and thence travelling by Messrs J. Mundell and Co.'s coach a distance of five miles. Very pretty indeed does the little township look on the mounted on the box of the coach beside that most genial of drivers, Bob Scott. Directly behind the town lies the bush covered hill, and flanking it on the left are rolling downs of corn and pasture land. Close under the hill nestles the little township, its one or two church spires and its various buildings showing up clear and distinct against the dark background of native foliage. On the right of the town, but a few yards away, runs the Waihi river, a small stream, almost dry in summer, but during the wet season rolling a good body of water to the see. Upon entering the township one of the first things that strikes the visitor is its length. Years ago, when the bush was being worked and the sawmills were turning out thousands of feet per day, the bullock drivers and waggoners generally found that the firmest track was to be obtained close to the river's bank. Thus the road got marked off and houses were erected. The close proximity to the river on one side prevented the township going back that way, and houses were placed side by side down the main road till the town is little more than a single row of buildings of over a mile in length. Here and there a few houses have been carried back on the left-hand aide, but there is no other street running right through parallel with the main street, and the majority of the houses face the main thoroughfare. Having got over his surprise at the folly of trailing out to such an absurd length a number of buildings that would, if bunched together, have made a really compact township, and having had time to look around him, the next thing that will strike the visitor will probably be the extreme neatness and cleanliness of the main street. Two winters ago the unemployed difficulty was rather prominent in Geraldine, and the Town Board— there are two boards, a town and road board—having some funds in hand determined to strike a shilling in the £ rate, and asphalt the footpath on one side of the street. This was done, a concrete kerbing being laid at the same time. The Government subsidy of £ for £ on the amount of rates collected was obtained, and the whole work of a mile in length was carried out in a satisfactory manner, under the direction of the board's overseer. The horse-posts and lamp-posts have been painted uniform whiteness, and the streets are well kept, giving the little place an appearance quite in unison with its naturally pretty surroundings. Geraldine boasts of two banks the New Zealand and the New South Wales, a post office, three considerable sized hotels, a police depot, two auction rooms, large saleyards, several general stores, and other places of business.
Eleven years ago Geraldine was in the height of its prosperity. The bush was being worked, and the whirr and bum of the sawmill was to be heard continually. The roads in the district were teeming with bullock and other waggons conveying the timber away and bringing back loads of general merchandise. The road board, which in those days was possessed of ample funds, was spending thousands of pounds annually in the construction of roads and bridges, and the place rang again with the sounds of life and activity. Now, however, all this is changed. The mills have long since ceased to work and have been burnt or pulled down. The remainder of the bush no inconsiderable portion— is vested in the domain board and has been fenced off for a park and pleasure ground. The road board are now carefully husbanding the funds still remaining to them, and content themselves principally with keeping in repair the really excellent roads of the district, and over the town itself has come a deadness and stagnation that contrasts most vividly with its former vitality. Geraldine, however, being the natural outlet to an extensive and rich agricultural district will always have a certain amount of business to be carried on within it, but the hey day of its youth and vigour seems to have departed, and hence forward it will, apparently, jog along with the steadier pace of middle life.
Timaru Herald, 10 December 1888, Page 2
Some stir was caused in Geraldine on Saturday morning by a runaway. Mr Fred Warner, in the employ of Mr E. Hammond, butcher, was serving a customer, having the tail-board of the cart down for the purpose, when the horse, which had wrenched one of the blinkers off with the end of the shaft, became frightened and cleared out leaving a portion of the contents of the cart behind it. Cleverly steering its mad course round the Geraldine Hotel corner the horse galloped down the main street, various joints of meat marking its track, and then apparently tried the almost impossible feat of depositing the balance of the meat in its master's shop. Unfortunately the wheels came in contact with the stone kerbing, and in the gutter was left the meat, while the horse and cart disappeared round the corner. Having once more recovered its rational senses the racer allowed itself to be walked back to the shop. No damage was done beyond "dusting" the meat of the morning's round.
Wairarapa Daily Times, 12 October 1906, Page 4
The Geraldine Borough Council, owing to numerous complaints about the excessive speed at which motorcars and motor cycles are driven through the town, has decided to strictly enforce the by-law restricting the speed to not more than ten miles per hour.
Star 20 October 1909, Page 1
Mr Walter Maslin, mail-carrier, met with an accident yesterday morning while driving out of Geraldine. In the main street one of the gig wheels came off and the horse bolted, colliding with a milk-cart and knocking the top of that vehicle off the axle. Mr Maslin and a passenger, Mrs Jones, sen, were both thrown out, but escaped serious injury. The mail-cart was kicked to pieces, and the horse was badly cut about the head and legs.
Press, 26 October 1911, Page 3 Geraldine
(Before Mr V. G. Day, S.M.) Charles Orr, of Christchurch charged with riding a motorcycle through the main street at a dangerous speed, and also with having his registered number obscured, was fined 40s and 28s costs on the first charge, and on the second he was convicted with costs 7s.
Press, 18 January 1912, Page 3
Geraldine. (Before Messrs J. Kennedy and H, Banner, J.P.'s.) Heaton Rhodes, charged with riding a motor-cycle through the main street at an excessive speed, was fined 40s and costs 14s.
Press, 26 February 1913, Page 7 Geraldine.
(Before Messrs W. A. Sherratt and J. Kennedy, J.Ps.) Excessive Speed. —B. Hart was charged with driving a motor-car through the main street of the borough at a speed exceeding 10 miles an hour. Defendant did not appear and was lined 40s and costs 7s.
Press, 11 September 1913, Page 3
Geraldine was the scene of a number of exciting incidents yesterday morning, primarily caused by a wheel becoming detached from a trap. A son of Mr Burdon, Woodbury, was driving in a four-wheeled phaeton, and when near the traffic bridge at the entrance to Geraldine, a wheel came off, startling the horse, and causing it to bolt. It managed to break from the phaeton and. after clearing a few fences, badly cutting itself with barbed wire, it dashed down the main street, and ran into a dray with two horses, which stood unattended outside Morrison Bros.' store. The impact terrified the horses, and they bolted. Mr Burden's horse then made for the pavement, and galloping under the verandah, it passed the Bank of New South Wales, knocking over Mr R. Morrison, senr., fortunately without injuring him. The runaways continued their wild career towards the bottom end of the town, and the leader of the horses yoked to the dray, breaking loose, collided with a butcher's cart and knocked the driver from his seat. Another horse in a butcher's cart belonging to Mr Craig scared by all the noise, also did an independent gallop, and taking a turn into a side street near the Methodist Church, horse and cart were overturned with injury to both. After several hairbreadth escapes on the part of pedestrians, the other runaways were eventually stopped by Messrs Skiers and G. Sherratt in Pleasant Valley road.
Press, 15 January 1914, Page 3 Geraldine.
(Before Messrs T. Sherratt and G. A. M. Macdonald, J.P.'s.) Francis Shearer and Robert Charlton —owners of motor-cars—charged with driving at a greater speed than ten miles an hour through the main street of the borough, were each fined 40s and costs.
Christmas at Geraldine
Timaru Herald, 24 December 1886, Page 3
In this district we are experiencing very Antipodean weather to that generally associated with Christmas-tide, it being very hot, with parching nor'-wes'erly winds. Christmas-tide in the up-country townships in New Zealand is but little taken advantage of by merchants or storekeepers, with whom, generally speaking, one day is as good as any other. But they are now realising the fact that, unless they bestir themselves at this season of the year, the "iron horse" will be the means of driving business away from their respective establishments, and their customers will take advantage of special inducements offered them, and obtain their Christmas supplies in the city nearest to where they reside, and where articles may be obtained at even "below cost." Accordingly, this Christmas, the merchants and storekeepers have been very busily engaged renovating their window displays. That of Mr R. H. Pearpoint must be specially noticed, his display window bearing most favourable comparison with similar establishments in larger towns. His other window is tastefully laid out with china, glassware, &c, suitable for Christmas and New Year gifts. Mr J. S. Waite's display of drapery is also of a recherché character, and his stock of fancy articles should suit the most fastidious in their choice of Christmas presents. Messrs N. Dunlop and Co., and Mr R. Morrison have not gone m for any extra window displays, but their stock is also of sterling worth. Yesterday afternoon the Christmas tree announced to be exhibited in the Good Templar Hall, was open for private view by Mrs Hoskins. There were a large number of toys, etc., most temptingly laid out m the hall, and the Christmas tree itself was literally loaded with pretty things, most of them being the work of Mrs Hoskins herself, and of ladies residing m the district.
Saturday, 28 December 1889, Timaru Herald Christmas at Geraldine
Christmas Eve was a busy time among the various tradesmen in Geraldine. The butchery establishments of Messrs N. Dunlop and Co., and F.W. Warner were gaily festooned with flowers and greenery and the display of Christmas meat was of a good description. Mr Lawson showed a fat heifer, turning the scales at 987lbs. It was of extra good quality, bred and fattened by Mr John Crippe, of Winchester. The lambs were from Mr W. Taggart, of Grapes' Valley. Some sheep, bred by Mr Turton, of Woodbury were also of good quality, weighing an average of 80lbs. Mr Worner's beef came from Mr Fugene, of Peel Forest and Mr H. Dierck, of Ruakapuka Bush, the two bullocks weighing 900 to 800lb respectively. The seven prize lambs exhibited weighed over 40lbs each and were bred and fattened by Mr J. Robertson, of Pleasant Valley. Of the storekeepers' establishments, that of Mr R.H. Pearpoint must bear off the palm, the grocery window being the admiration of all passers-by. The drapery and fancy goods shop of Mrs Gibson also attracted many people. At Mr J.W. Pye's drapery establishment the window presented a most tasteful display, the fancy items being of a varied nature. In the evening crowds of people perambulated the street to witness the shops lighted up. The illuminations consisted of Chinese lanterns of various shapes. Mr A. Fisher's shop was very effectively lighted with coloured lamps, fairy lights and Chinese lanterns. Santa Claus was liberal in his purchases and on Xmas morning the children of Geraldine must have been surprised at the numerous gifts left by him in their stockings. During the night the members of the Primitive Methodist choir drove to the dwellings of the principal residents, and sang selections of Christmas carols and sacred music. The Geraldine brass band also paraded the street during the night and discoursed sweet music. On Christmas Day, the weather was 'all that could be desired. At 7 am the local corps of the Salvation Army had knee drill in the Good Templar Hall, which was well attended, and the Primitive Methodists held a prayer meeting in their church at 10 am. At St Mary's Anglican Church there was a crowded congregation, the Primitive Methodists, the Salvation Army and the Presbyterians attending. The church was most tastefully decorated by the lady members and friends. The cross over the altar had a splendid wreath of flowers suspended over it. In the centre panel at the back of the super-alter was a large cross of St Joseph lillies, and on either side of the cross there were some beautiful white lillies in vases on the super-alter. The lancet windows recesses were festooned with flowers and evergreens, as also were the chandeliers and side lights. The special service commenced with the united chorus from the Presbyterian and Primitive Methodist Churches, and one to the church, singing the Xmas hymns "hark, the herald Angels sing," following with the carol "Good Christians Rejoice." Jackson's Te Deuin" was most effectively rendered. The anthem was "Glory to God in the Highest," and the hymns No 59 and 295, ancient and modern, also the carol "The First Noel." The Rev. J. Preston, incumbent of the parish preached from St Luke's Gospel on "The day-spring from on high." The whole service was much enjoyed by the large congregation present. Boxing Day was observed as a holiday. Many of the residents proceeded at an early hour to Temuka to witness the Caledonian Sports. The primitive Methodist annual Sunday School picnic took place, but owning to a thunder storm commencing just as the youngsters marshalled together, to proceed to the park, the Volunteer Hall was utilises instead, where a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon was spent. The Primitive Methodist band at Temuka took a considerable part in the proceedings, their performance being much admired. Heavy rain continued till far into the night, most beneficially affecting the crops and grass pasture that were beginning to feel the effects of the heat of the past fortnight or so.
Press, 26 December 1890, Page 6
Christmas, as usual, passed off quietly at Geraldine. Messrs N. Dunlop and Co., G. H. Pearpoint, and A. Morrison, each made a display in draperies and groceries, and Mr J. W. Pye in drapery only. The hot weather was against anything like a great display being made by the butchers, but Messrs F. Worner and W. Lawson both made very attractive shows. In fancy goods and stationery Mrs B. Gibson, Mrs D. McIlraith, and Mr A. Fisher divided the honors for display. Most of the hotels and shops were decorated with evergreens, titree and ferns, and lighted with Chinese lanterns.
The Bridge "Nobody's child"
Timaru Herald, 15 December 1875, Page 1
From Mr John Kennedy and a number of ratepayers, calling the attention of the Board to the state of the cutting into the Waihi river, opposite the Geraldine Hotel. Resolved that the matter be left with the Overseer to make the road passable.
Timaru Herald, 14 July 1886, Page 3
From the Clerk to the Geraldine Town Board, covering a copy of a resolution of the board declining to contribute towards the cost of repairing the bridge over the Waihi, near the Geraldine hotel, on the ground that the bridge was outside the Town Board's boundary.
Mr Flatman and Mr Grant did not see how they could erect a bridge on Town Board property. The bridge was no use unless it came to land, and they had no right to land it in the town limits. It was decided to take no action in the matter further than to advertise that the bridge was unsafe, and that the board could take no responsibility in case of accident.
Press, 20 July 1886, Page 3
Stretching across the Waihi river, and leading from the main road toward the Raukapuka estate, the of W. Postlwhwaite, Esq., there is a footbridge erected some few years ago by the Geraldine Road Board. A little while ago it became out of repair, the hand-railing became rickety, and the decking unsafe. Subsequently the overseer reported during a meeting of the Board as to its condition, and it was decided that the Town Board should be asked to defray half the cost of renovating it. The latter repudiated any liability in the matter, on the score that the bridge was not within the town boundary, and consequently declined having anything to do with it. Whilst correspondence was going on backward and forward between the two Boards the condition of the bridge became worse, portions of the side railing, &c, being carried away not by flood, but by some midnight marauders. The Road Board—between whose members and those of the Town Board no love is lost; —at its last meeting: decided to abandon its offspring, and have publicity announced their non-liability in case of accidents, in the daily papers. The result is that the bridge will ere long become perfectly useless, and persons desirous of crossing the river will have to travel some little distance up the stream before they can do so with safety in time of flood.
Timaru Herald, 15 December 1886, Page 3
From Mr C. E. Sherratt, clerk to the Geraldine Town Board, in reply to letter from the Road Board, re repairs to Geraldine footbridge, and stating that his board had taken legal opinion in the matter to the effect that they could not expend their funds outside their district. The overseer was instructed to put up a notice board at the bridge informing the public that the bridge was unsafe for traffic.
Timaru Herald, 10 March 1887, Page 3
From Mrs Kennedy and others, requesting the board to take the necessary steps to cause the footbridge over the Waihi, opposite the Geraldine Hotel, to be put in a state of repair in that it could be used. The board is willing to accede to the request of the petitioners and pay half the cost of the work if the petitioners on the Town Board would contribute the other half.
Peel St. bridge with Mundell's livery stable in the background.
Timaru Herald, 15 January 1894, Page 4
Some years ago a footbridge was erected by the Geraldine Road Board over the Waihi river opposite the Geraldine Hotel, to enable pedestrians to cross the river at a more convenient spot than by the traffic bridge. The footbridge has been carried away or damaged many times when the river was in flood, only to be either repaired or a new bridge erected. On the creation of the Geraldine Town Board this footway over the river became "Nobody's child," and when the last was washed away neither the Road Board nor the Town Board considered it came under their special care, consequently the public have been greatly inconvenienced, until at last both the boards were petitioned to have another bridge built at the same spot. The result Was that both boards agreed to pay half the cost of a substantial one, which is nearly completed. The bridge consists of two spans of 50ft each, and with the exception of the anchor piles at each and, and the floor, is built entirely of iron and wire. The piles are double headed railway irons driven down into the riverbed to an average depth of twelve feet. On the bend of each pile an iron sheave is fixed over which the cable wire for suspending the roadway is passed, so that each span counterbalances the load on the next one. The bridge being intended for foot traffic only, the roadway is but two feet m width. This is found to be ample for pedestrians, and the width was restricted for economical reasons, as a limited amount was voted for the bridge. It has a light, airy appearance, and having wide spans with slight iron piles, oilers no obstruction to flood water or floating debris coming down the river, and is quite a new departure from the old system of short spans of timber piles, which offer so much obstruction to the free course of a river m flood time. The bridge was designed and its erection superintended by Mr William Shiers, overseer to the Geraldine Road Board, Mr F. Billings being the contractor. The Town Board pay one half the cost of the work on completion.
Swing bridge, R. Scott & Co., Livery Stables, Talbot St, and the sale yards 1910.
Timaru Herald, 18 April 1883,
This Day. By Messrs Morrison and Dunlop, at their Yards, Geraldine Sheep and Cattle.
By Messrs J. Mundell and Co., at their Yards, Geraldine, at twelve o'clock — Sheep, Cattle, Horses, &c.
Ashburton Guardian, 2 July 1909, Page 3 GERALDINE'S
The Geraldine correspondent of the Lyttelton Times says that there was some rowdiness in Geraldine on Wednesday night when the hotels were closed. A portion of the Geraldine district was included in the Ashburton electorate at the last revision of boundaries, and the borough of Geraldine has had to go over to No-license, three hotels being closed, while Orari, Rangitata:, and Arundel have each lost a license. Wednesday being market day in Geraldine, the place was well filled with visitors, and the streets presented an animated appearance during the afternoon. There was no rowdyism or excitement until after ten o'clock, when the bars were closed; but from then on to midnight a number of young men made some demonstration at the upper end of the town by indulging in a lot of noisy rowdyism. Two policemen were on duty, and they were subjected to a great deal of chaff and hooting, but they made no arrest. A fight appeared imminent between two individuals during the evening, and they crossed the swing bridge over, the Waihi river to settle their quarrel in a quiet road. The crowd followed, and when the majority of them reached the middle of the bridge it suddenly collapsed, and some of the men fell into the icy water. No one was injured, and the incident was considered a huge joke. The fight did not proceed, and the crowd quickly dispersed. It was remarked that the rowdy element was largely composed of half-grown men who had evidently taken more liquor than was good for them. By midnight the streets were practically deserted.
Geraldine traffic bridge, April 2014, across the Waihi.
Stones Directory 1940, Talbot St. Geraldine Anderson George bank clerk Bank of N.S.W. John Campbell Templer manager Bank of NZ P Kane mgr Bean Frederick Walter bank manager Bell Angus Jameson cycle dir Bennington Alex James baker's asstnt Bennington Leonard Jas. gents outfitter, Talbot st; p.r. Raukapuka Bennington Leslie Joseph baker & tearooms Bennington Murray baker's asstnt Burridge Mabel Miss (of crown Private Hotel) C.F.C.A. G.F. Lyons manager Crown Private Hotel Symington & Burridge prop Davies William Wallace acctnt & sec. Talbot st; pr 63 Cox st Fifield Arthur Jonas tearooms Fifield Ella Sylviva, Mrs tea rooms & cnfctnr Kettle H L & Son (Frederick W.) bakers, 322 Talbot st Kettle Fredk William G (of H L Kettle & Son), 322 Talbot st Morrison Bros (R Morrison) drapers, grocers, etc. Morrison Angus Wallace line foreman Morrison Hanmer Woodward shop asstnt Morrison Jack Lancelot shop asstnt Morrison Louisa Mrs Morrison Robert (of M Bros) Public Library J J McGuigan secy PGG H W Williamson acting manager Pye Roy Willcock hairdresser & tobacconist Reid John jun. bank clerk Robertson Herbert Arthur P.O. clerk Shearer Frederick James postmaster reg b.d.& m Symington Alex Cunningham of Crown Private Hotel Union Bank of Australia, Ltd F.W. Bean mgr Wilkes Francis Edward bank clerk Willcocks John G Douglas mgr Dalgety & Co. Williams Lewis Morris chemist
Fire - A fire raged in the forest from November 15 to 23 1878.
Timaru Herald, 16 November 1878, Page 2
Our special correspondent at Geraldine telegraphed at eight o'clock last evening as follows: "A fire broke out in the Raukapuka bush between 12 and 1 o'clock to-day, on Mr Whittaker's section. It is supposed to have originated from some old stumps being burnt off on the new road now being formed by contractors named Jorgenson and Gripp. The fire had covered about 50 acres up to 6 o'clock. It is still making head-way through Mr W.K. Macdonald's maiden bush. Gore's bush is still all clear so far."
Grey River Argus, 19 November 1878, Page 2
Timaru, Nov 18. The fire in M'Donald's bush, Geraldine, destroyed a deal of valuable timber, and the other damage done to the Waimate bush was enormous.
Grey River Argus, 22 November 1878, Page 2
The fire in the Geraldine bush is still burning, and is gradually approaching the township. No correct estimate of the damage can yet be made. Whitaker, Barker, Postlethwaite, M'Kenzie, Maslin, and Gibson, have suffered and besides the loss of the Government bush, a large quantity of stacked firewood has been consumed.
Timaru Herald, 19 November 1878, Page 3 BUSH FIRES AT WAIMATE AND GERALDINE.
The heavy north-westerly gale which sprang up yesterday morning, and continued all day, fanned the smoldering embers of the fires in the Waimate and Geraldine bushes into flames again, and these soon recommenced their work of destruction. Our Geraldine correspondent wrote at 4 o'clock yesterday afternoon that the fire in the bush there, was raging with graater fury than ever and that Barker's, Postlethwaite's, and McKenzie's bushes had suffered more or less. A dense smoke hung like a pall over Geraldine township and rendered the air most suffocating. The flames in the Geraldine bush and the glare of the fire in that at Waimate, were plainly visible from the high ground behind the town last evening. As a result of these conflagrations, the price of fire-wood in town advanced five shillings per cord yesterday.
Timaru Herald, 26 November 1878, Page 2 Geraldine
The fire in the bush has, fortunately for the inhabitants of the township, burnt itself out. Report says that it originated with some road contractors, who were forming a road through or near the bath, and that the sufferers of the fire intend to claim compensation for damage done, from the Road Board.
Timaru Herald, 22 November 1878, Page 2
The picturesque piece of bush at Geraldine, one of the prettiest natural features in all Canterbury, has also suffered severely, and, unless some such means as those we have mentioned are adopted to protect it, will soon be a thing of the past. Apart from the mere £ a. d. point of view, the destruction of the scanty remnants of the native forests in this district is a thing to be grievously regretted on public grounds and if private owners will not go to the necessary expense to preserve their property from fire or natural decay, we think the authorities ought to step in and do so.
The bush that covered the eastern slopes of the downs was formerly known as the Raukapuka bush or Talbot Forest had giant totaras and white and black pines.
Timaru Herald, 15 November 1887, Page 3
On Sunday morning last heavy black clouds rose over Mount Four Peaks and the chain of mountains at the rear of the Geraldine district, portending a thunderstorm. At about 1. p.m. it burst forth with great violence over the township. Shortly afterwards it began to hail, tins stones being unusually large. Mr J. W. Pye, draper, has been a great sufferer through the water pouring through the roof of his establishment spoiling a quantity of his new summer stock. He left his residence to go to Messrs N. Dunlop and Co.'s stores to assist in removing goods. On his way he called at his own shop, but did not then observe any water coming in through the roof. He proceeded to Messrs Dunlop's where he stayed some little while rendering valuable assistance. On returning towards his home he found to his dismay on again entering his shop, that a large portion of his goods wore saturated with water. With the assistance of many willing hands the roof was speedily cleared of the accumulated hail and the goods seen to. Mr Pearpoint's and Mr R. Morrison's general stores were also flooded, and a large quantity of goods damaged. Mr Sutherland's blacksmith's shop was converted into a creek on a small scale, but no great damage was done. The thunder storm continued till 7 p.m., the lightning assuming a beautiful rosy hue. A perfect deluge of rain fell throughout the night and yesterday. The rivers in the district, of which there are five, were all in very high flood.
Otago Daily Times 17 January 1896, Page 3
A fire broke out in Dunlop and Co.'s large store at Geraldine at about 6.30 this morning, the building being completely burned to the ground. Owing to a strong breeze the other buildings were in danger. The fire originated near the boot department. The building and contents were insured.
Star 7 November 1896, Page 7
Valedictory.— Mr N. Dunlop with his wife and family were accorded a send off at the Volunteer Hall, Geraldine, on Thursday night, when towards of three hundred ladies and gentlemen were present. During the evening, on behalf, of the residents, Mr F. E. Flatman, M.H.R., presented Mr Dunlop with a purse of sovereigns. Complimentary speeches were made by Messrs Flatman, A. E. G. Rhodes, A. Kelman, A. Sherratt, W. Shiers, Philp, B. E. Macdonald, Archibald, J. Allan and Pearpoint. Mr Dunlop, who has resided in Geraldine for nearly twenty-five years, is leaving with his family for Auckland.
Press, 7 February 1903, Page 7
A private telegram has been received stating that Mr Nathaniel Dunlop died suddenly in Wellington on Thursday. Mr Dunlop was for many years in business in Geraldine, and for some time past has resided at Wellington. He was well known as an energetic business man, and while at Geraldine he took a prominent part in all local affairs, including the town board, school committee, and Presbyterian Church, of which he was an active member. His genial nature made him many friends, who will regret his decease. He leaves a widow and grown-up family of one son and three daughters.
Agnes and Nathaniel Dunlop: Children
1875 Dunlop Maggie Kennedy
1877 Dunlop Williamina
1881 Dunlop Nathaniel Frederick
Timaru Herald, 26 March 1897, Page 3
WEBBER CHARGED WITH ARSON.
An inquiry was held yesterday, at the Magistrates Court, Geraldine, touching the fire at Webber Bros, store, The inquiry was held before, Mr Bishop, S.M., and a jury of six, of whom Mr W. H. Maslin was chosen foreman. Mr Raymond appeared to watch the proceedings on behalf of Mr W. H. Webber, and Mr Cooper on behalf of the insurance companies - Winford Henry Webber, draper, deposed that he recently purchased the assigned stock of Mr R. H. Pearpoint from Messrs Cook and Gray for the sum of £934 8s 9d, which was 12s in the £, on the value of the stock. He received from Cook and Gray a covet note of £1000 insurance on the stock in the Victoria office, which would run out on March 27th, 1897. His sales, since commencing business on February 25th ult., amounted to £400. On the night of the fire he returned to his shop about 7.45 p.m. and lit two lamps, one he carried, into the office, and one he left on the grocery side of the shop. After writing a letter he carried the lamp from the office through the shop and round the counter to the hosiery shelves. He was carrying the lamp - a hanging Rochester by the top carriage when the top came out of the groove and the font and lighted wick fell down, igniting a calico curtain hung along the shelves at night to keep out dust. The oil from the lamp ran about 6 feet. He tried to put the fire out but failed, and there was absolutely nothing handy with which he could smother the flame. He jumped over the counter and put the grocery lamp out and then went out of the front door and closed it behind him. A few yards from the shop he met two young men and asked them to run and ring the bell. He then called out Mr Borrows, next door, and informed him of the fire.
Alfred Erskine, book-keeper and storeman, deposed that there were several hanging Rochester lamps in Mr. Webber's shop, and two or three stand lamps. Charles Moore, draper
Robert Angus Borrows, chemist, deposed that he was called out of his house on the night of the fire by a knock at his door. When he came out he saw a man outside the gate smoking a cigarette on cigar. It turned out to be Mr Webber who said the store is on fire.
Robert Henry Pearpoint, merchant, deposed that hearing the firebell ring he and his family went to the gate to see whereabouts
The Rochester lamps had been in use for some time. Witness had once dropped one by picking it up by the top, but it went out at once. If the top was out of the groove it would be impossible to carry the lamp, but the lamp would, no, doubt fall, if the, top shifted out of the groove.
Ray Pearpoint, son of last witness
Robert Henry Pearpoint, recalled, stated that he saw Webber take the key out of the door when he ran down the road. John Slattery, senior officer in charge of the brigade on Monday, gave evidence, said that he hardly would have expected the fire to spread from near the shop front to the back by the time he arrive on the scene. The jury after deliberation returned a Verdict that the fire was willfully caused by W. H. Webbber; Webber was afterwards brought up before the Magistrate and remanded, till Tuesday, bail being allowed, himself in £00, and two sureties. [Winford Henry Webber died in 1932, aged 69 years, so he was 34 at the time of the fire]
The tower is one of two old fire bells that used to be in Geraldine. They had two ropes attached to the clapper and were rung by pulling each rope alternatively. One was placed at the Talbot Street-Maslin Street corner (just up from the Hairdresser) and the other at what was the Jollie Street - Pine Street corner.
Dominion, 17 July 1920, Page 1
PEARPOINT- On June 30, 1920 at his residence, 37 Denbigh Street, Feilding, suddenly. Robert Henry Pearpoint, late of Geraldine and Christchurch in his 69th year. [Adelaide died in 1935 aged 78 years]
Children of Adelaide and Robert Henry Pearpoint
1879 Pearpoint NR a son probably Robert John Henry
1881 Pearpoint Ina Elspeth Kaye died in 1948 aged 67
1883 Pearpoint Signa Beatrice Halbertson
1885 Pearpoint May Eveline died in 1959 aged 72
1888 Pearpoint Horace Lionel died in 1957 age 69 married Mary Bloomfield in 1918
1890 Pearpoint Harold Stuart died in 1916 aged 25
Called to Colours 1915-1918
H. S. Pearpoint, Feilding
Born: Geraldine 16.12.1890 in Geraldine
Religion: C of E
Occupation: Shepherd at Lansdowne
Height: 5' 4"
Harold Stewart Pearpoint killed in action 18 Oct. 1916, died aged 25
25/565 - Army. Co. c., 3rd Battalion, 3rd New Zealand Rifle Brigade
Caterpillar Valley (New Zealand) Memorial, Caterpillar Valley Cemetery, Longueval, Somme, France
Harold Pearpoint was the s/o Robert Henry and Adelaide Pearpoint,
NOK: Adelaide Pearpoint, of 38 Denbigh St., Feilding, NZ later Seddon.
Alexander John Bennington
Serial No. 6/413
First Known Rank Lance Sergeant
NoK James Bennington (father), Geraldine, bootmaker
Marital Status: Single
Born: 4 April 1891
Last employer: R. Morrison, Geraldine
Body on Embarkation Main Body, Canterbury Infantry Battalion 16 October 1914
Where soldier landed: Gallipoli
Died of wounds, GSW, head received in action 1st - 2nd June 1915 Dardanelles
Died: 24 June 1915 1st Aust. Casualty Station
Ayling, George Stanbury, Talbot street, Geraldine, motor mechanic
Beavan, William Alexander, labourer, Talbot street, Geraldine
Bell, Angus Jamieson, cycle business, Talbot street, Geraldine
Bennington, Leslie Joseph, coachbuilder, Talbot street, Geraldine
Bennington, Spencer Charles, plumber, 184 Talbot street, Geraldine
Bird, Andrew Boswell (Mrs. Eliza Herdman, Talbot street, Geraldine) wounded 1916 - Canterbury Battalion
Burborough, Herbert Robert, grocer's assistant, 343 Talbot street, Geraldine
Feely, James, plumber, Talbot street, Geraldine
Fenn, William Henry, Talbot street, Geraldine
Glover, George Hepwood, private hotelkeeper, Geraldine
Hansen, Pte. Carl Christian No. 6/2153 NoK, Mr. Christen N. Hansen, 432 Talbot St. (father) (wounded chest 1915) CIB
Jones, Samuel Keane, machinery salesman, 194 Talbot street, Geraldine
Knuckey, Robert, carpenter, Crown hotel, Geraldine
Scroggie, Robert John, clerk, 476 Talbot street, Geraldine
Sherratt, Zante Osborne, machinist, Talbot street, Geraldine
Turner, Stanley Arthur, grocer's assistant (Mrs W. T. Turner, Talbot street, Geraldine) 6/2304
Ward, Harry, gardener, 240 Talbot, street, Geraldine
Geraldine had six places of worship - double the number of hotels, unusual in small town New Zealand
Geraldine was a ‘dry’ area for about 40 years from about 1908 when the town became part of Ashburton No-license electorate. Although they had no liquor licences for those years, the two hotels continued operating as boarding houses.
The Geraldine Licencing District's Hotels:
Spur Hotel, Waitohi, est. June 1881 - burned down August 1885
Hilton Hotel, Hilton, est. 1878 - burned down November 1891
Pleasant Valley Hotel, est. 1866 - closed 1874
Orari Hotel, est. 1858 - lost licence 1908 (prohibition) closed c1940
Star of the South Hotel, Rangitata, est. 1860 - lost licence 1908, closed 1918
Rangitata Hotel, Arundel, est. 1864 - lost licence 1908
Sawyers Arms Hotel, Woodbury, est. March 1866 - closed c1887
Crown Hotel, Talbot St Geraldine, est. 1872 - lost licence 1908 - reinstated 1952
Geraldine Hotel, Talbot St Geraldine, est. 1868 - lost licence 1908 - closed 1912 - demolished c1940s
Bush Inn, Talbot St Geraldine, est. 1874 - closed c1898 - building relocated to Raukapuka
Commercial Hotel, Talbot St Geraldine, est. 1883 - lost licence 1908 - closed 1912 - demolished c1950s
Timaru Herald, 11 August 1866, Page 2 Geraldine Road
A meeting of the above Board was held at Taylor's Hotel, Geraldine, on the 6th instant. Present— Dr Rayner (chairman), Messrs Slack, and W. K. Macdonald. Mr R. Taylor was allowed £5 for a cutting in front of the Geraldine Hotel, to be done to the satisfaction of the Engineer.
Timaru Herald, 26 October 1867, Page 2
There were no cases at the Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday, except one police case, and the transfer of the license of the Geraldine Hotel from Robert Taylor to Reuben Johnson.
Timaru Herald, 7 May 1873, Page 4
The following licenses were granted CONDITIONAL LICENSES.
Rueben Johnson, Geraldine Hotel Geraldine
Edmund Perry, Bush Hotel, Geraldine
Transfers of licenses were granted from R. Johnson of the Geraldine Hotel to J. Marshall.
Bush Hotel was on corner of Kennedy and Talbot Street where the old barber shop is now.
Bush Inn - this hotel was at the lower end of Talbot Street then the most populated part of the township. It was almost opposite the road to Pleasant Valley. When the Geraldine borough became included in the Ashburton electorate in 1909 it became a "dry" area and liquor licenses were cancelled . The Bush Inn property was bought for 50 pounds by William Thomas Heran and part of the building was removed to Mackenzie Street, Raukapuka and made into a dwelling.
Timaru Herald, 22 April 1874, Page 4 Country Hotel
Reuben Johnston, Crown Hotel, Geraldine
Frederick Dawson, Geraldine Hotel
Edmund Perry, Bush Hotel, Geraldine -Wine and Beer
Timaru Herald, 25 November 1879, Page 2
The Geraldine Hotel, recently in the occupation of Mr J. F. Dawson will shortly become a thing of the past. The proprietor Mr R. Taylor, has taken hotel into his own hands, and having pulled down the old building has commenced the erection of a splendid hotel on its site. Judging from the plans the building which the enterprising proprietor intends to erect will be second to none in Geraldine in point of accommodation and architectural beauty. It will have a frontage of 51ft in the main street (Talbot Street) and will run back into the section having a frontage of 64 feet in Pine street. The front elevation is to be very neat and substantial looking. It will be 26ft from ground to parapet, with an 18in cornice running round the building. There will be three entrances to the hotel, one from Talbot street, one from Pine street, and a central one at the angle of the two streets. This last will lead into the bar. The house, which will consist of two storeys, will contain altogether about 30 rooms. The bar, a room of 24ft x 10, line been so placed that the barman can attend to several different rooms without leaving the bar. Behind the bar are three bar parlors about 12ft X 12ft. At the rear of these are two large dining rooms, one 18ft 6in x 16ft, and another 22ft 6in x 17ft. At the rear of the building will be a kitchen 20ft X l4ft, with pantry and scullery 20ft x 9ft. At the back of the house there will be a verandah with concrete floor. A cellar 16tt x 16ft with concrete floor should prove very serviceable. The hall and staircases leading to the second floor are very large. The bedrooms, which will number about 20, will be lofty and large, the single bedrooms averaging about 12ft x 8ftin size. The front part of the house will be occupied by two sittingrooms, adjoining which will be bedrooms with fireplaces and other conveniences calculated to render them comfortable and suitable for families. It is the intention of the proprietor to use gas for lighting purposes. In the kitchen will be a range capable of cooking for from 15 to 200 persons, and which will, if required, supply hot water to every room m the hotel. The building will be of wood, with concrete foundation, and when finished will doubtless prove a most desirable addition to hotel accommodation in Geraldine, as well as an ornament, to that part of the township in which it is erected. Mr M. De H. Duval is the architect and Messrs Lundon and Bands, of Temuka, are the contractors.
Press, 31 August 1886, Page 2 Dancing in Licensed
A sitting of the Resident Magistrate's Court, Geraldine, was held in the Courthouse yesterday, before H. C. S. Baddeley, Esq., S.M., Esq., G. Barclay, Dr. Fish, and H. W. Moore, Esq., J.P.'s. The Resident Magistrate stated that in regard to the case brought by the police at a former sitting of the Court against R. Taylor, of the Geraldine Hotel, re dancing held in his licensed house, and adjourned at request of Mr White, for him to consider whether he could take evidence in the case, he (the Magistrate) was still of opinion that it was a matter that should be dealt with by the Licensing Court, and would therefore dismiss the information. The police did their duty in bringing it forward.
Timaru Herald, 3 August 1886, Page 3
Geraldine.— Monday, Aug. 2nd. (Before H. O. Baddeley, Esq., S.M., H. W. Moore, and A. H. Brisco, Esq.'s, J.P.'s.) DANCING IN A HOTEL. Robert Taylor, licensee of the Geraldine Hotel, was charged with permitting a dance to be held on his licensed premises on the 22nd July. Mr White appeared for the defence. Before the case was opened, His Worship said he would not ask accused to plead. In the clause in the Licensing Act bearing upon the charge, there was no penalty provided. The matter should be brought before the Licensing Committee, and he would advise the police to withdraw the charge, and bring it before the committee at their next meeting. Mr White did not think the committee had any power to go into the evidence. Was it not a question for the Resident Magistrate's Court to decide, and then if there was a conviction, the committee could act upon it as they thought fit. His Worship thought he had no power in the matter at all. The penalty for the offence was taking away the license, and he had no power to do so. If Mr White could give any precedent, he could hear the evidence. Mr White could give no precedent. Constable Willoughby said that there was no charge of disorderly conduct against Mr Taylor. He was merely proceeding against him for not having a permit. The Licensing Committee had resolved to grant no permits for dances in hotels, there being plenty of halls obtainable. Mr White said that the facts were these -Mr Taylor happened to be absent in Christchurch on the day in question, which was his youngest daughter's birthday. A few personal friends had been invited to spend the evening with Miss Taylor, and dancing had been carried on privately. His Worship spoke of Mr Taylor's high character, and said that no doubt such an explanation would be satisfactory to the committee. At Mr White's suggestion, the matter was adjourned until next court day.
Timaru Herald, 2 June 1887, Page 3
The annual meeting of the Licensing Commissioners for the Raukapuka district was held in the Courthouse, Geraldine, on Wednesday last at noon. Present Messrs W. U. Slack (chairman), W. S. Maslin, C. G. Tripp, A. H. Brisco. In regard to the drainage from the Geraldine Hotel, a conversation ensued thereon. Mr Tripp speaking against the present system of a sump that had been sunk and used since the hotel had been built. It was ultimately proposed by Mr Tripp, and seconded by the Chairman- "That Mr Taylor's attention be drawn to the drainage from his hotel being turned into a sunken cess-pit on his premises, and having no surface outlet for the water, the accumulation of which we consider is dangerous to the public. A copy of the above be sent to the Chairman of the Local Board of Health, and that a suggestion be made to the Town Board that open concrete channels be made through the town, and a supply of water be brought into the town to sluice the same." The following hotel licenses were then renewed R. Taylor, Geraldine Hotel; R. Johnson, Crown Hotel, David McIlraith, Bush Hotel. Accommodation house licenses were renewed to T. Clayton, Star of the South Hotel, Rangitata; D. Denoon, Rangitata Hotel J. Dean, Woodbury Hotel, and Mrs Tindall, Hilton Hotel. It was decided that all the conditions of licenses be framed and hung up in the bar of all the accommodation houses in the district and signed by the chairman of the Licensing Committee.
Star 22 November 1887, Page 3
A three-stalled stable, situate at the rear of the Geraldine Hotel, the property of Mr R. Taylor, was yesterday afternoon discovered to be on fire. At the time there were fortunately no horses therein, but a quantity of hay, &c, was destroyed. Assistance being readily at hand the fire was confined to the one building, there being another range of stables a short distance from it. There was also an ample supply of water. At the time of our correspondent at Geraldine closing his despatch no clue as to the origin of the fire was obtainable. The stable was built of wood with corrugated iron roofing.
Timaru Herald, 9 June 1888, Page 4
The annual meeting of the Geraldine Licensing Committee was held in the com house on Thursday. The members present were Messrs W. S Maslin (chairman), N. Dunlop, J. W. Pye, W. Coltman and M. Connolly. Robert Taylor applied for a renewal of hi license for the Geraldine Hotel and also for an extension of the time for closing from 10 p.m. to 11 p.m. Some discussion ensued as to the time to closing hotels, the chairman stating that he knew for a fact that in many hotels liquor was sold long after the doors had been close so that any recognised hour for closing was in effect, a mere nothing. He had also hear that card-playing went on, to a great extent. His remarks, however, he said, did not apply to the houses in Geraldine, as he was of opinion that they were kept very orderly an quietly. He also knew the difficulty the police had in getting a conviction. In reference to card playing in hotels, Constable Willoughby said that it might go on all night and the police would be powerless to prevent it, provided that no drink was served. The renewal was granted, also the extension of time. Thomas Markham, of the Crown hotel, and Michael Spillane of the Bush hotel, applied for and were granted publicans' licenses for their houses, thr hour of closing being fixed at 11 p.m.
Press, 10 June 1890, Page 6 Geraldine
At the annual meeting of this Committee there were present— Messrs A. White (Chairman), J. Riordan, D. C. Couston, and F. Wooner. Renewals were applied for and granted as follows:—
A. W. Post Geraldine Hotel
J. Farrel Crown Hotel
P. Kyre Bush Hotel
The licenses were in each case made for 11 o'clock.
Timaru Herald, 13 December 1890, Page 2
A word of praise is due to the caterer, Mrs Post of the Geraldine, Hotel, for the excellent table provided.
Timaru Herald, 4 June 1891, Page 2
A. W. Post, Geraldine Hotel
John Farrell, Crown Hotel
Esther Holloway, Bush Hotel
Press, 10 June 1893, Page 5
The annual meeting of the Geraldine Licensing Bench was held yesterday at noon. Present— Messrs M. C. Orbell (in the chair), H. B. Webster, J. Riordan and F. W. Warner. Renewals of eleven o'clock licences were granted to the following:— Crown Hotel, John Farrell; Geraldine Hotel, Thomas Reseigh; and Bush Hotel, Mrs Holloway. A transfer of license for the Bush Hotel from Mrs Holloway to J. M. Kane was also granted, and permission was given to the new licensee to change the name of the house to the "Commercial Hotel."
Ashburton Guardian, 7 June 1894, Page 3
The first annual meeting of the new Rangitata Licensing Committee was held in the courthouse, Geraldine, yesterday at noon. Present—o. A, Wray, Esq., S.M. (chairman). Messrs A. White, D. Thomas, R. Thew, T. Sealy, M. C. Orbell, J. McQuilkin, D, McLean, and G J. Dennistoun. The chairman read a certificate received from the Returning Officer that the number of licenses in the district; continue as at present. TRANSFER, PUBLIC HOUSES. John Dore, Commercial Hotel, Geraldine - The transfer was confirmed, and renewal license Was granted, Robert W. Hood, Geraldine Hotel. Transfer confirmed, and renewal license granted. RENEWALS, PUBLIC HOUSES. John Farrell, Crown Hotel, Geraldine. Samuel Breadly, Orari Hotel.— Renewals granted.
Timaru Herald, 5 June 1896, Page 4
The annual meeting of the Rangitata Licensing Committee took place on, Wednesday at the Courthouse, Geraldine, when there were present: Mr. C.A. Wray, S.M. (chairman), Messrs M. C. Orbell, G. J. Dennistoun, D. McLean, T. J. Sealey, J. McQuillam, T. Taylor and R. Thew. The report of the police on all houses the district was favourable, and the following renewals were granted :—
Geraldine Hotel, John Dooley
Crown Hotel, John Farrell
Commercial Hotel, Timothy Connolly
Orari Hotel, W. Quirk
Winslow Hotel, Peter Kelleher
Waterton Hotel, Samuel Donnan
Tinwald Hotel, Michael Laggan
Timaru Herald, 15 September 1897, Page 2
The well known licensed victualler, Mr H. Rothwell, announces this morning that he is now proprietor of the Geraldine Hotel, Geraldine. Mr Rothwll's experience is lengthy, and he can be relied on to make all his patrons very comfortable. He intends to dispense the best of liquors, and has made very complete arrangements for horse-owners and farmers in the way of loose box accommodation.
Timaru Herald, 16 November 1898, Page 2
Geraldine hotel— Wants boy as boots.
Star 17 January 1899, Page 1
A stable at the rear of the Geraldine Hotel was destroyed by fire at one o'clock on Sunday morning. The building was owned by Mr R. Taylor, and was not insured. Mrs [Annie Gertrude] M'Lean, the licensee of the Geraldine Hotel, lost a quantity of wheat, oats and chaff and two tons of bran.
Timaru Herald, 9 March 1899, Page 3
The monthly meeting of the Geraldine Town Board was held on Tuesday night. Members present— Messrs J. W. Pye (chairman), J J. McCaskey, R. Y. Ferguson, R. Taylor, and J. O'Malley. Permission was granted to Mr W. Pearce, contractor to erect a new gospel hall building, and also to remove and re-erect the Geraldine poundkeeper's house. Mr R. Taylor was granted permission to erect stables on sections adjoining the Geraldine Hotel. The chairman's action in procuring a new hose for the Fire Brigade was approved. The clerk was authorised to demand a license from all hawkers, including vendors of fruit and vegetables. The registrar of dogs was authorised to sue all owners of unregistered dogs in the town. Mr M. Hansen's tender of £32 was accepted for lighting street lamps for six months.
Timaru Herald, 30 September 1899, Page 2
At midnight on Thursday a fire was discovered in the Geraldine Hotel sample room, between the lining and weatherboards. Mr G. MacDonald who was passing at the time, saw the smoke and immediately ran to the fire station and gave the alarm. The-brigade turned out promptly, but before their arrival the fire was extinguished with a few buckets of water. The origin of the fire is a mystery. The sample room, which was totally detached from, the hotel, is insured in the Victoria Office for £40,
Timaru Herald, 6 June 1900, Page 3
The annual meeting of the Geraldine Licensing Committee was held at the Courthouse, Temuka, at noon yesterday. Present— Mr C. A. Wray, S.M. (chairman), John Talbot, A. Mee, R. R. Macdonald, and E. Richardson, junr. The committee agreed to extend the licenses, voting upon each case seriatim. Renewals of existing licenses were then granted as follows
John Farrell, Crown hotel; John Angland, Commercial hotel; A. McLean, Geraldine hotel, all of Geraldine.
Publican's licenses were granted to T. Langdon, Wolseley hotel, and Angus McKay, Winchester hotel, both of Winchester.
Press, 10 June 1908, Page 7
The annual mooting of the Geraldine Licensing Committee was hold at Temuka yesterday afternoon. Present—Messrs C. A. Wray, S.M. (chairman), Janice Blyth, John Opie, T. Buxton, and B.R. Macdonald. The following renewals were granted:—
Crown Hotel, Temuka, Chas. Coombes
Temuka Hotel, Temuka, Matthew Crannitch
Orari Hotel, Orari, Wm. Quirke;
Commercial Hotel, Geraldine, R. J. Sharpe
Geraldine Hotel, Geraldine, Juo. Mullan
Royal Hotel. Temuka, Hy. Lee;
Point Hotel, Pleasant Point, C. Byrne
Railway Hotel, Pleasant Point, F. Nelligan
Ashburton Guardian, 1 June 1909, Page 3 LICENSING
A statutory meeting of the Ashburton Licensing Committee was called for to-day, but the only member of the committee who attended at the Courthouse, the place of meeting, was Dr Handcock. Apologies for absence were received from Messrs F. H. Choat and T. E. Upton. Constable O'Grady represented the police, and Mr C. Dixon appeared on behalf of the No-License party. Messrs Smithson and Raymond forwarded applications for licenses for the following houses:
Star of the South Hotel, Rangitata, accommodation license for Daniel Brick McSweeney;
Rangitata Bridge Hotel, Arundel, accommodation license for William Newton Jones;
Geraldine Hotel, Geraldine, publican's license, for John Mullan
Commercial Hotel, Geraldine, publican's license, for Joseph George Gehrig
Crown Hotel, Geraldine, publican's license, for Sarah Mulhern
Orari Hotel, Orari, publican's license, for William Quirke.
Ashburton Guardian, 7 February 1912, Page 4
Mr J. Mullan (formerly of the Ashburton Hotel), and who has resided in Geraldine for some years, and who conducted the Geraldine Hotel prior to the Locality, being placed within a no-license area, is about to leave for Christchurch, where he has purchased an hotel. He is to be given a send off to-morrow night.
Crown Hotel, 31 Talbot Street, on Wilson Street corner, in the centre of town
The Crown Hotel was originally a wooden structure and was shifted to the rear of the site to enable the later Crown Hotel of 1906 be built. The Crown Hotel, Talbot St. Geraldine is more than 100 years ago and has Category B heritage status. The Edwardian hotel, built in 1906, was an asset of the community-owned Geraldine Licensing Trust from 1950, and had a capital value of $690,000 in June 2008 when it was sold to a confidential buyer. The trust still retains substantial assets within Geraldine including the Westpac Bank building and the Village Inn Sports Bar, Super Liquor Bottle-store and the Village Inn cafe. In 1998 The Geraldine Licensing Trust decided to lease the Crown Hotel after 47 years of managing the hotel itself. Thirty staff are given redundancy notices. That hotel is now the known as the Geraldine Heritage Hotel.
26 March 2008 Timaru Herald
A casual interest in brewing has led to an intriguing discovery beside the Waihi River in Geraldine. Beer systems serviceman Jeremy Sutherland has discovered hops growing wild on the riverbank behind the Crown Hotel. Mr Sutherland was collecting some tasty looking blackberries when the hops caught his eye tangled in the bush. After rubbing the hops in his hand, the aroma confirmed it was the base plant for brewing beer. Hops it seems are an unusual plant to be growing wild. Having made the discovery Mr Sutherland made some inquiries as to how they might have got there. The most likely scenario is they have descended from a brewery established in 1876 by Edward Perry about a kilometre from where the hops were found. It operated for around a decade before likely many others moved to the Nelson area where hop growing was more prolific. Mr Sutherland said he believed it was the remnants of that hop garden. "The DB Mainland Brewery is going to analyse them to confirm where they are likely to have come from by the variety." Another option was the publican of the Crown Hotel may have planted them around 1908 to make home brew. Mr Sutherland said about that time seven hotels in Geraldine closed due to pressure from the Temperance Society so it seemed unlikely. Mr Sutherland said he recognised the plant having spent time in England and visited the hop gardens in Kent. The beer connoisseur believed there were enough hops in the riverbed for a small brewery to operate. His mother, however, suggested an alternative they could also be used by flower arrangers as dried hops were 'prized' because they were uncommon outside commercial operations.
6 November 2004 Timaru Herald
The Geraldine Licensing Trust was established by act of Parliament in 1948 and its area gazetted at that time. The rules under which the trust operates and the gazetted area have not basically altered since that time. The Crown Hotel, which had operated as a boarding house during the "dry" era in Geraldine of 1908-1950, became the town's first liquor outlet when the trust began trading in 1950. Sir Norman Blakiston, well respected in the local community, was the first chairman, 1950-1956. Under his leadership, and that of subsequent trust boards through the years, the Geraldine community now enjoys the present facilities. This shows successive boards have exercised vision for the future and business acumen in growing the trust. The rules the trust operated under in 1950 are the same it operates under today. Twenty liquor outlets in the trust area, only seven of which are connected to the trust, is hardly the actions of a body that is "stifling business". Elected trust members roles are to see the trust is operated according to legislation and act as stewards on behalf of the owners, the Geraldine community.
The Geraldine Hotel was operated as a boarding house by George Hipwood GLOVER (1879-1946) & wife Priscilla, nee SHANKLAND (1885-1940). He was not the prohibitionist. There was another GLOVER in the area at the time - on the 1905 electoral roll, Thomas William GLOVER was a Wesleyan minister in Temuka and I suspect he was the prohibitionist. GHG got married in Kaikoura in 1905 to Annie Shankland. This couple moved to Geraldine before 1910 when their first child was born in Geraldine. George was a tobacconist in Talbot St. He must have soon taken over the Geraldine Hotel as he is on the WW1 Census CD and electoral rolls as a boarding-house keeper in Talbot Street and Wise Directories show him at the Geraldine Hotel. George died in Geraldine in May 1946; his death certificate describes him as a Hotelkeeper. He was cremated in Chch. GHG's father was also called GHG and GHG senior came to NZ with one of his brothers.
Press, 1 February 1912, Page 5 Geraldine.
(Before Mr V. G. Day, S.M.) A lengthy, list of cases was heard by the Magistrate at the Geraldine Court on Tuesday, principally arising from breaches of the Licensing Act. "For failing to supply; a written statement of their names and addresses when ordering, liquor to be taken into a No-license district, seven men were fined 5s with 7s costs. The Magistrate remarked as it was the first occasion the charges had been before the Geraldine Court, he would deal leniently with the offenders, but warned them that a heavy penalty would be inflicted if they appeared again.
George Glover was charged with keeping liquor for sale in a No-license districts Mr Inglis appeared for defendant, and Sub-Inspector Phair conducted the case for the police. After hearing evidence on both sides his Worship said that he would accent defendant's explanation as to the quantity of beer consumed, and the case was dismissed.
Auckland Star, 16 April 1938, Page 11
Timaru, this day. At the Police Court to-day George Glover, of Geraldine, was charged with carrying on business as a bookmaker. He pleaded guilty, and was fined.
Timaru Herald, 28 July 1887, Page 2
On Tuesday evening last a large and enthusiastic audience assembled in the Oddfellows' Hall, Geraldine, for the purpose of listening to a lecture delivered by Mr T. W. Glover, the well-known temperance reformer and organiser for the New Zealand Alliance.
Otago Witness 15 October 1902, Page 32
The Elections. Only two candidates are out for Geraldine electorate— viz., Mr F. R. Flatman (the sitting member) and Mr W. S. Maslin (ex-Leftwinger), who announces himself as an 'opponent of Seddonism." It is expected to be a "walk-over" for Mr Flatman. Both candidates are prohibitionists. The prohibition campaign in the Geraldine electorate this election has so far been a very tame affair. Mr Glover, agent for the New Zealand Alliance, lectured to very small houses in the district, and in one village in the back-blocks he and his driver were received with a shower of stale eggs the first signs of awakening on the part of those opposed to the temperance cause.
A dry district
Press, 28 October 1914, Page 4 NUT FOR REV. HAMMOND
To the Editor of "The Press."
Sir, — I wish to thank Mr Gordon for the courteous reference to myself, and to assure him that a candle box is a more self-respecting rostrum than a beer barrel, and also for the opportunity his "nut," as stated in your issue of to-day, gives me to expose the unfairness of his argument.
No-license was carried in Ashburton in 1902 by a majority of 101 over the three-fifths majority. At this poll the large club in the town with a liquor license was not affected, and it is reasonable to suppose many of them voted for No-license because it gave the club an absolute monopoly, and drinking men who hated No-licence saw that for them it had a local advantage.
In the year 1906, by an alteration of the electoral boundary, Geraldine, Orari, Rangitata, with 5 hotels, were included in the Ashburton No-license electorate. This gave the liquor folk a big pull, but they failed to win back license, and their failure cost them 5 bars.
In 1908 they failed again, being 347 votes short. In 1911 another big effort was made, hope being inspired in the liquor stomach (liquor folks haven't got hearts) by a further alteration of the boundary. But they lost by 355 on this occasion. This result was due to the improvement in the vote in the township of Ashburton.
In the 5 polling booths in the town and suburbs in 1908 restoration had a majority of 231; in 1911 it had fallen to 78.
Mr Nordon should not speak of my meetings, of which he knows nothing. I have repeatedly explained these figures at my meetings, and they have never failed to convince my audiences that No-License has not had a fair deal, that the area in which, the vote was taken in 1911 only one-third of the original voters, and that the liquor folk are still knocking in vain at the door of No-license areas. - Yours, etc., ROBERT B. S. HAMMOND, Candle Box Orator.
Auckland Star, 2 January 1907, Page 6
The licensed houses of Geraldine having been taken into Ashburton, a no-license district, continue to hold their licenses until June 1909, when they will expire.
Auckland Star, 2 March 1909, Page 5 Ashburton
The following nominations have been received for the Licensing Committee for the Ashburton electorate, which is under No-license:— F. R. Flatman, T. E Upton, B. R. McDonald, F. R. Stubbs, and F. H. Choat. As there are only five nominations a poll is unnecessary. Although the electorate is under No-license, a committee is required to administer the Act until June 30, on account of six licensed houses existing in the Geraldine portion of the electorate, which was added to Ashburton by the Boundary Commissioners.
NZ Truth 26 February 1910, Page 5 THE FAMILY BEER IN
Mrs Catherine Scully is a well-known and respected settler at Orari, near Geraldine, and doesn't belong to the I.O.G.T.., Nor has she any truck with the Y.M.C.A. or the Band of Hope. Mrs Scully has raised a family of ten on a farm acquired by industry and thrift, and has done her duty by the State. Something of a sensation was therefore caused in the Geraldine district when she was charged at the S.M.'s Court, before Magistrate Day, with keeping liquor for sale on her estate at Orari Bridge and her son Michael (who imported a keg, with other young fellows, to celebrate Christmas) with sly grog-selling. Astonishment reached the roof when the Geraldine agent of the National Mortgage and Agency Company, Timaru, from whom the liquor was bought, was also charged with sly grog-selling, although he didn't know it was ordered and merely received the cash in the prohibited area for the company in a non-prohibited area. John Kennedy was the agent in question, and was paid £1 and 1s 6d carriage by Michael Scully for a 10-gallon keg of beer. It was a matter of legal argument, and Magistrate Day adjourned the case to Timaru to hear it. Catherine Scully, represented by Solicitor Tripp, pleaded not guilty to the charge of keeping liquor for sale.
Peeler Bingham was accompanied by Copper Murphy to the Scully ranch on January 29, when elderly Catherine said she had no liquor excepting that to which she was justly entitled. She accompanied the law in its search and superintended the discovery, under a bed, of two cases containing whisky, beer, and stout. A number of empty bottles, such as are seen in almost any self-respecting establishment, were pencilled down in the official note-book, and the lady, without hesitation, mentioned that she bought the refreshment from the N.M. and A. Co., at Timaru. Bingham remarked that it was a large quantity to have m the house at one time, and Catherine replied that she found it economical and necessary to replenish her cellar m bulk. Living in the house at the time was Mrs Scully, a grown-up son and daughter, several children, and a young man working on the farm. The police took possession of the liquor and deprived the inmates of their daily tonic, which in one case at least had been recommended by the doctor.
The bobby, replying to Solicitor Tripp, didn't recollect the lady mentioning that the liquid had been placed under the bed to be out of the way of the youngsters.
Speaking in her own defence, Catherine said she was a widow and owned a farm of 300 acres at Orari Bridge, the only encumbrance on the property being a mortgage of £20. Besides cattle and pigs she had 350 sheep, and was financially removed from the necessity of sly grog selling, which she wouldn't take on if she were starving. She was quite entitled to order liquor if she wanted it, and could pay for it, and on January 28 had sent for six bottles of whisky, six quarts of stout and six quarts of ale. The consignment arrived on January 25, and was paid for on February 14. She took delivery of the refreshment in the broad light of day.
In reply to Sub-Inspector Green, Mrs Scully said she had ordered a similar amount of liquor before Christmas, and it was consumed with the help of friends who were visiting her from the North Island. His Worship held that there was no evidence to show that the liquor had been kept for sale, to prove which numbers of people and strangers must have visited the establishment. That had not occurred in this instance. He did not consider the liquor seized by the police an extravagant quantity to have in the house in the circumstances related by the woman. "The first lot was ordered for Christmas," said his Worship, "and we all know the failings of some of the Irish people. They like a jollification at a time like Christmas. The information is dismissed." The verdict was received with loud applause in the court. So hearty was the demonstration, in fact, that his Worship sternly rebuked the multitude and ordered the court to be cleared.
Michael Scully then pleaded not guilty to selling liquor in the No-license district of Ashburton. It would appear that the young fellows of Orari are in the habit of holding a dance every Christmas and import a keg of beer for the occasion. The liquid also does duty at the Boxing Day picnic, and is obtained by the young bloods pooling the chase. It was understood that the first person who went to Geraldine was to collect the keg and the others were to pay their quote. Mick Scully told the boys he was due in Geraldine (where they held two golden weddings recently), and then ordered the brown nectar from the Mortgage Company at Timaru, and later obtained it from Kennedy, the company's Geraldine agent, to whom £1 l1s 6d was paid. John Macdonald collected the cash and handed it to William Rose, who passed it on to Scully, and it thus reached Kennedy, who paid it into the Timaru company's account. The only thing in Scully's, disfavor was that this settlement was effected after the beer was ordered and .paid for. Also Scully told the police that the others had nothing to do with it. In court he said he was flurried at the time, and wished to keep the names' of other people out of it. It is the penalty of brutal wowser legislation that the names of respectable, law-abiding people and dragged through the courts in this manner, and is responsible for ill-considered but generously-actuated deception of this sort. The beer was used at a dance on Christmas night, a picnic on Boxing Day, and another dance on Boxing night, and there was still some left, so it was evident nobody made a beast of himself. There were about thirty men present at the first dance. His Worship said that if the collection of the money had taken place before the purchase of the beer, the case of the police would fail, and although not a case of sly-grog selling there had been a technical breach of the Act, for which Scully was convicted, but no penalty was inflicted. The decision excited much enthusiasm outside the court..
Ashburton Guardian, 13 September 1910, Page 2 SLY
MRS MULHERN FINED. September 13. Mr V. G. Day, S.M., delivered his reserved judgment to-day in the case against Mrs Sarah Mulhern, charged with selling liquor in [Geraldine on August 9th] the No-license district of Ashburton. The accused was fined £30 and costs.
Colonist, 8 May 1912, Page 6
Timaru, May 7. At the Magistrate's Court at Geraldine to-day. Bernard Kennedy, a farm labourer, was charged with selling beer without a licence at Mayfield, which is within the Ashburton no-license area. The police gave evidence of complaints about young men being made drunk at the accused's place, also the finding there of two men under the influence of liquor, one 18-gallon keg tapped, another untapped, and two empty ten gallon kegs. The defendant stated that he made the plant and brewed the beer himself on the premises, filling the four kegs. He denied having sold any. This was his first brew at Mayfield. A Government analyst reported that a sample of the beer contained 5.6 per cent of spirit. The Magistrate convicted and fined defendant £50, and gave defendant a fortnight to raise the money.
Nelson Evening Mail, 23 June 1914, Page 5 POSITION OF
Timaru, June 22, A deputation from the Licensed Victuallers' Council met Messrs Craigie (M.P. for Timaru) and Buxton (M.P. for Temuka) and laid before them resolutions which had been adopted in this and other districts. Special reference was made to the case of Geraldine, which lost licenses through being-brought into the "dry" Ashburton electorate, though the local option poll did not give a majority for no-license, but did not give the three-fifths required for restoration.
Improvements in Geraldine
Timaru Herald, 19 February 1875, Page 4
It must be acknowledged that Geraldine is making rapid steps in the march of improvement. For a good while, and indeed until within the last few years, it was neglected by all but a few, who, either from a love of retirement or disinclination to take the trouble of seeking a fresh residence, preferred to remain in its peaceful seclusion, "the world forgetting, by the world forgot." Once in a couple of months, perhaps, the village would be enlivened by the meeting of the Geraldine Road Board, which, at the time I speak of, was somewhat of a peripatetic institution; but I should imagine that this was about the utmost amount of dissipation indulged in. Then, some enterprising persons discovered that Geraldine afforded a good opening for a steam saw mill, which accordingly was set to work ; and then the Sleepy Hollowifces began to waken up. Then Geraldine petitioned, and successfully, for "separation," and became a road district on its own account. Then followed other adjuncts of civilisation — public houses, churches, and a school. Not that the place had been entirely neglected in any of these respects previously, St Mary's Church and an hotel having been in existence from a very early period, while various attempts had been made to instil the rudiments of the English language into the youthful part of the community. Nothing of a permanent nature, however, was done in this direction until some two years ago, when the Government school was opened, which is now a large establishment conducted by a master and assistant. Indeed so numerous is the attendance that an extension of the school building has become necessary — towards the expense of which a special rate of 11d in the pound is now being collected — to the great annoyance of many persons.
What English-speaking community ever thought itself on the high road to fame and prosperity unless it had its annual races? For three years past this meeting has been duly held, and largely attended, in a paddock belonging to Mr Tancred, and admirably suited for the purpose.
The District Road Board for several years after its establishment conducted its business m a modest cob hut some, 10ft square, but has recently removed to a more pretentious building, erected for its use by Mr Currie, architect, of Temuka, which, besides being more commodious, is infinitely more ornamental to the locality. The former office has just been taken down.
The new Telegraph and Post-office, also situated close to St. Mary's Church, is being proceeded with rapidly, and when finished will be an ornament ns well as a convenience to the town. Not by any means that the present postmaster has omitted anything that could make the office under his charge a great convenience to the public, but it is an evident fact that in a rising town like this, there ought to be an office and a person specially devoted to the purpose. It is to be supposed that telegraphic operations will be shortly commenced, as the past week has witnessed the advent of the party entrusted with the fixing of the poles and stretching of the wires, whose proceedings in the conduct of that operation have been the cause of most intense wonder on the part of the juvenile members of society, totally unacquainted hitherto with the apparatus.
Another token of the interest taken by Government in our wellbeing as a community, is the pretty little building recently erected and now in use as a police station. Happily, the occasions for police interference in this district are at present unfrequent.
The Mechanics' Institute, so long in contemplation, at length offers a promise of speedy completion. Many, but at the same time unavoidable, have been the obstacles to its progress, but they appear to be now surmounted, and we are looking forward to this Institution being the medium of much information, as well as recreation in the form of lectures, concerts, &c.
Active steps are being taken towards clearing the Reserves, appropriated for public recreation, under the title of the Geraldine Domain. It is to be hoped the Commissioners will be successful in attaining from Government such grants of money as will enable them to make it as it ought to be, a rural retreat, where pleasant half-hour may be spent in forgetfulness of the busy world outside.
The Good Templars hare a lodge in Geraldine, now of about twelve months standing. I believe there are a good number of names on the roll of members, but many persons are somewhat doubtful as to the ultimate success of the movement.
Press, 28 June 1880, Page 3
Despite the hard times Geraldine can best an accession of new buildings during the past twelve months which, considering its population, equals the progress made by other townships in the same period. As the town is approached from the railway, immediately adjoining- the Oddfellows' Hall an imposing structure of concrete, with pediment of etene, oatchee the eye. This is the new Masonic Hall, recently erected by the craft, and it reflects every credit on the Masons of Geraldine and its vicinity that Masonry- has so substantial a temple in their midst. The building is 15 feet in the clear, from floor to cornice, its area being 32 feet by 25 feet. Attached is an anteroom 25 feet by 15 feet. The appointments are very complete. The sacred Boob of the Law is a magnificent volume, and was presented to the Lodge by Mr C.G. Tripp, of Orari. It is satisfactory to state that Masonry is in a flourish— condition in this district, the Lodge roll numbering between fifty and sixty names. A little further on is a large brick building, at least 100 feet deep. This is the new business premises of Messrs Mendelsohn, and possesses every modem improvement. Compared to it, the old corrugated iron store, which stands alongside and till lately did duty as the place of business of the firm, looks dwarfed indeed. On turning the bank corner a building, which is a small counterpart of the well known "Tattersall's," arrests attention. This is a horse repository and auction mart, erected for Messrs J. Mundell and Co. It possesses the well-known dome roof, covered with bent corrugated iron. Its details have been well carried out. Nor is this the only accommodation of the kind, for opposite to the well-known Rolleston Hotel a neat and commodious auction and sale room, with ample stock yards, have been built by Messrs T. Corbett and Co., who need no introduction, as travellers from the Waitaki to Dunedin in the coaching days will remember the coach as tooled by that most obliging of Jehus, Tom Corbett. He it is who, having resigned the ribbons for the rostrum, will in future deal with horses in a different manner to his old habit. One old landmark in the town has disappeared, and given place to a truly handsome building. The old Geraldine Hotel, with its low ceilings and smoke begrimed walls, has become a thing of the past, and its commodious successor boasts twenty-five bedrooms, beside private rooms, bar and bar parlor, commercial and dining rooms, these latter each, about 23ft. and convertible into one large room if required. This has led to emulation on the part of the proprietor of the Crown Hotel, who has added four magnificent rooms to his house, with private apartments en suite, besides entrusting the painting and re-decoration of the whole to Messrs Cooper and Gapes, of Temuka. Some few smaller buildings have been erected by private owners, and when the tide of returning prosperity sets in, ample provision will be, found made for it in this rising South Canterbury township.
Timaru Herald, 25 November 1879, Page 2
The building which is about to be erected by this now but enterprising firm, will no doubt prove a most desirable acquisition to Geraldine and though surrounding district. The site is near Mr R. Taylor's Hotel, in the northeast end of the township, and in good position for the business. The dimensions of the auction room will be 66ft x 40ft. The building will be constructed of wood, with a concrete foundation. The exterior appearance, from the plan will be very neat. The interior arrangements consist of the ordinary wide passage down the centre of the building lengthwise, with offices, &c., on each side, as under: The front part of the building abutting the street will consist of an auction room on the one side, with saddler's shop and small office on the opposite side of the passage. Behind the saddler's shop is a harness room, whilst on the opposite side, well behind the auction room, will be an auctioneer's office. At the rear of this office are two loose boxes, and five stalls for horses, the arrangement being the same on the opposite side of the passage. The roof will be of corrugated iron, semi-elliptical in shape. This enterprise on the part of Messrs Mundell and Co. deserves to meet with every encouragement. Since the establishment of the firm the business has been conducted with great energy and success, as it shown by the present venture. It is to be hoped the enterprise will meet with the patronage which it merits. The contractors for the building are Messrs Scroggie and Walters, Geraldine, and the contract price £437. The architect is Mr M. De H. Duval, of Timaru.
On the completion of the Upper Rangitata traffic bridge in the early seventies Cobb and Co.'s coaches from Christchurch ran through Geraldine until the railway line was completed, and the first local coach services were started by Messrs Kennedy and Mundell.
Timaru Herald, 25 November 1879, Page 2
NEW MASONIC HALL. The members of the Lodge Southern Star, 619, with praise worthy energy, have made all the necessary arrangements for building n lodge to be devoted to the purposes of their Order. The site chosen is m the main street, the section being the next one to the on which the Oddfellows' Hall stands. The main hall is to be 32ft long by 24ft broad, with 14ft, between the floor and ceiling; Tyler's room, l2ftxl3ft ante-room, l4ftx 13ft in the clear. The design is composite. The building will be about 21ft from the footpath to the top of the pediment, and 27ft wide. The pediment is filled in with a device representing a star, composed of two triangles in ring, with scroll work diminishing towards the extremes, and the whole front has in very tasty appearance. The interior will be plastered, and has an ornamental cornice running round, supported by four pilasters on each side, and four on each end. The ceiling will be ornamented by two large flowers, from which the chandeliers will drop. The hall will be lighted by gas, the building being provided with a patent gas machine for that purpose. The ventilation will be effected by two ventilating shafts through the roof, from over the gas jets. The contractors for the building are Messrs Harney and Blackwell. The contract price is £360, so that the whole cost, including gas, will be something under £400. When finished the hall will be an ornament to the township. The architect is Mr Thomas Machin, of Timaru.
Timaru Herald, 8 July 1886, Page 3
The monthly meeting of the Geraldine Town Board was held on Tuesday evening. Members present. Messrs Pearpoint (chairman), Taylor, Huffey, Farrel, Maslin, and Dunlop. From the Geraldine Road Board, asking the Town Board to pay half the expense of reconstructing the upper part of the footbridge across the Waihi river opposite the Geraldine Hotel. Resolved— "That the board regret they cannot accede to the request, as the bridge in outside the town boundary." From the Geraldine Rifle Corps, asking for a footpath to be formed in continuation of that ending at the Anglican Church as far as the drillshed. Resolved that the work be done as far us the pound. From the Rev. Father Keane, asking further consideration of the matter of the Catholic Presbytery being exempted from rates. It was resolved that this board having refused similar applications from other religious denominations regret they cannot accede to the request. The board's ranger handed in his monthly report, which was read and approved. Mr Maslin considered that as much damage was being done to the footpaths by stray cattle the ranger should be instructed to look after them. Mr Huffey asked the board to complete the asphalting in front of Mr Waite's shop and dwelling house, in consideration of the extra length of kerbing, of which he had paid moiety to the Board Board, which payment had saved the Town Board several pounds. Mr Mundell proposed, and Mr Dunlop seconded "That the work be done as requested."
Timaru Herald, 8 November 1892, Page 3
It has not been our lot for some time past to have to record building improvements in Geraldine, but within the last month or so two enterprising shopkeepers have been making extensive preparations for the summer season. In the first place we note that Mr James W. Pye has had a shop and premises erected next the Oddfellows Hall, suitable and most convenient in every respect for him to carry on his drapery business therein. The building was designed by Mr A. White, architect, and the contractor was Mr W. Waters, the latter having in a very faithful manner carried out the architect's designs. The building is 56ft in depth by 27ft in width, the shop being 32ft, x 27ft with a 12ft study. The show room and fitting room is 24ft X 12ft, and the workroom 11ft x 24ft. On Friday night, at the invitation of Mr Pye, the shop was visited by many of the townspeople, the display of summer drapery, fancy goods, etc., being most tastefully arranged. The shop windows, two in number, are lighted with the latest improved Rochester lamps, one of the largest make being placed in the shop near the doorway. The shop is also lighted with three smaller Rochester lamps.
Messrs N. Dunlop and Co. have had a spacious millinery show room erected on the south side of their business premises, Mr E. Prouting having carried out the work. It is most conveniently situated to that it can be entered from the drapery department. The room was designed for the special purpose of giving artistic effect to their millinery display. The room used hitherto was found to be far too small for the requirements of their extensive business.
Looks like the photographer was up the newly installed power pole with people watching him. All the poles down the left side of the street do not have cross arms or cabling on them, but that must have been only a matter of a few months away as power wasn't reticulated to Geraldine until 1925. The poles on the right of Talbot Street are telephone lines. The hotel, middle photo, is the Geraldine Hotel, aka Glover's Hotel and was in later years the NMA, or National Mortgage Association with the Talbot Street frontage. The original NMA building was in Wilson Street, being burnt down in the early 1940s at a guess about 1942. The old shell of the building which is concrete was retained and the rebuilt building is now 'The Giant Jersey'. Dating the b/w photo. The main street in Geraldine after April 1922 as that was when the War Memorial was unveilled. The Town Hall (Cinema) had the foundation stone showing 1924 and the completed building is quite evident and can be seen on the right distance with it pagoda ventilator above the projection box, but there would not have been any projection equipment there until after the Dunedin (South Seas Exhibition) in Dec 1925 to early 1926. The RSA rooms at left were originally the Commonwealth Bank of Australia and a Hairdresser. There was access then to the river just before Morrison's and there used to be a Swing Bridge for pedestrians there. It is also interesting to see the movements of the cars they park any way you like and cut corners (car turning right on the right side of the road at Glover's Hotel.) Gladys Goodall colourchrome postcard, Talbot St. Geraldine, W.T. 5112 early 1960s.
Otago Witness 9 October 1907, Page 40 Geraldine
The contractors hare made a start with additions to Messrs Guinness and Le Cren's premises on the main street, a building permit for the work having been granted at the last meeting of the Borough Council. Messrs Ogilvie and Fyfe have also started on the foundations of the new school so things are going along nicely here at present.
9 October 1907, Page 40 Geraldine
The contractors hare made a start with additions to Messrs Guinness and Le Cren's premises on the main street, a building permit for the work having been granted at the last meeting of the Borough Council. Messrs Ogilvie and Fyfe have also started on the foundations of the new school so things are going along nicely here at present.
The photo would have been taken from the top of the new Post Office looking north. On the right side of the street you can see the Crown Hotel which was built around 1906/8 era with houses on the right foreground. The Post Office was built about 1908. On the left of the street is the Jeweller, and I don’t know who would have been there then, but it was owned in early days by a Mr. McElroy. In later years (1950s) it was owned by a Mr. Albert Barker and the business was known as ‘Sheldon House’. The business immediately past the Jeweller with no veranda, was Pyne Gould Guinness Ltd. That building was demolished somewhere in the 1970s and the new building is in it’s place, still PGG. The original old building was under the name of Guinness and LeCren. After the PGG building there is a veranda again. I don’t know who was there in the 1906 era, but in later years the ‘Electric Kitchen’ was the business next to PGG. It was a cake shop with a tea rooms behind, their busiest day being the Geraldine sale days of the 50s. The Crown Hotel is an obvious landmark. The high building with the eight windows. In the left hand corner – see the chimney on the Jeweller shop. Look at the top of the chimney and the weatherboard home there. Does it look like a green iron roof and a wooden fence? Possibility that Doug McKechnie’s house. I know there is some sort of Historic Places significance re that place. Some sort of plaque I think on the veranda. The little cottage in the lower right corner – that must be where the Police Station is now.
Taken by Alfred Barker in 1872. It is Talbot Street and it appears to have been taken from Cox St. in font of the Post Office. The old bark huts with thatched roofs on the left may have been built by Samuel Hewlings and there is a tree now on the site.
Timaru Herald, 31 January 1918, Page 9
Mr and Mrs C.P. Cox, whose son, Mr C.W.S. Cox, is manager of the Geraldine branch of the Bank of New Zealand, are staying at Orari Gorge. On motoring into Geraldine yesterday Mr Cox remarked that when he first visited the locality in 1857, there was only one building where Geraldine now stands, a bark hut which stood opposite the present post office. Well-appointed motor cars were passing where in the early days there was flax and bush.
You know you're in small-town New Zealand when the biggest store on the main street is the rural merchandiser. Police Station with the police car in front, beside the old post office. PPG across Talbot St. with the Hewlings totara tree marking the spot of the bark hut behind. Dec. 2009.
Timaru Herald, 14 August 1888, Page 3
Rain commenced to fall in the Geraldine district on Wednesday night and steadily increased until on Saturday it was coming down in torrents. It was flowing in very strongly on the south bank, and several of the town sections appeared to be in imminent danger of becoming smaller. At Huffey's corner the river had overflowed its banks, washed through the willow plantation, an artifical protective embankment alone preventing it from washing down the main street of the township. The Waihi River, by the Geraldine township, was at its height between 6 and 7 o'clock on Saturday evening, when the river was running bank and bank and was washing very strongly under the southern bank towards the lower end of the town. The footbridge over the river beside the crossing opposite the Geraldine Hotel was washed away during the afternoon, and piles and other parts of bridges, were seen washing down the river.
Press, 14 July 1903, Page 5 Snowstorm at Geraldine.
About a month's ideal spring-like weather was broken up at Geraldine on Friday night by a heavy downpour of rain, which was followed on Saturday morning, with one of the heaviest snowstorms experienced in the district for years. Although there was very little snow on the ground at 5 a.m., it was quite nine to ten inches in depth on the main street by 8 a.m. The weight of snow on bushes and trees was so great that old decayed monarch, of the forest could be heard crashing down in the bush reserve at intervals all the morning, while very few houses escaped damage to roofs or spouting. Telegraph communication was cut off with all outlying stations, and Christchurch and Timaru could not be picked up by the local telegraphist, the lines having given way under the pressure of snow. The mail coach—owing to the flooded state of the rivers—was unable to reach Orari at midday, and had to retain and try Winchester, and the country mail man had to abandon his tri-daily trip to the outlying districts. It was reported in Geraldine that the Orari river was running bank to bank, and had broken over into Dobbie's creek at the same spot that it broke out at in the last great flood. Business in Geraldine was practically suspended on Saturday.
Timaru Herald, 10 November 1873, Page 1 GERALDINE ROAD BOARD.
The usual monthly meeting of the above Board was held on Tuesday last. From Mr Reuben Johnson, requesting permission to erect horse posts at the inner side of the footpath opposite his Hotel. Resolved That permission be granted. "Resolved That the Overseer be instructed to arrange with Mr Thompson to lay down the levels of the town on both sides of Talbot-street, from the Geraldine hotel down to the bend near the English Church."
Colonist, 6 February 1882, Page 3 A Caution to
Persons Stopping at a Strange Place.
An inquest was held touching the death of John Anderson. It appeared from the evidence of the licensee of the Geraldine Hotel that the deceased recently called there and asked for a bed. He retired to rest in a perfectly sober state. Some hours afterwards when everybody had gone to, bed Anderson was found in a doubled-up condition on the stairs, lying face downwards. He was removed to bed, and he could hardly speak a doctor was summoned and he was removed to the Hospital. The poor man was in a paralysed state. He had, it appeared, attempted to go downstairs in the dark and being unacquainted with the house fell and injured his spine. The accident terminated fatally.
Press, 21 June 1888, Page 6 THE
There is a general impression (says our Temuka correspondent), that Jonathan Roberts has made his way in the direction of Temuka again, and that otherwise dull township has been favored with the visits of a number of policemen lately, who, in various disguises, have made a thorough search of the town and neighborhood. The average swagger has rather a hard time of it just now, and two of them who had taken refuge in an unoccupied shed at the back of the Geraldine Hotel, were astonished at an unexpected visit from two constables, who entered their place of retreat without the ceremony of knocking. As a matter of fact the door had no hinges, and the entry of the constables was more abrupt than dignified. A brief examination convinced the police that neither of the men were the party wanted, and they retired somewhat disgusted. It is also stated that a rather tall young woman was startled by a summons from a constable to surrender while she was crossing her father's farm at Rangitata. This story, however, wants confirmation. That Roberts has made his way to the Plains is now looked upon as a certainty.
Timaru Herald, 16 March 1887, Page 3
William King was charged with allowing one cow to wander at large in Talbot street, on the 4th March last. The accused pleaded guilty and was fined 10s and costs.
Press, 23 May 1888, Page 4
Accident. On Tuesday afternoon as Mr Robert Scott, coach-driver for Mr Mundell, of Geraldine, was proceeding along Talbot street, opposite the Post Office, riding a young horse, it suddenly shied, throwing him to the ground, and kicked him on the head, inflicting a nasty wound. Luckily the horse was not shod, or the injury inflicted might have proved fatal. Assistance was readily at hand, and Mr Scott was conveyed into the Post Office. Dr. Fish was speedily in attendance on the sufferer, who had not lost consciousness. He is now progressing favorably.
Timaru Herald, 11 November 1892, Page 4
An adjourned monthly meeting of the Board was held on Tuesday evening last, there being present— Mesars A. White (chairman), J. M. Sutherland, It. Taylor, J. Williams, H. T. Ferguson, R. Hammond, and W. S. Maslin. — Referred to the Works Committee. the water race on the western side of Talbot street, the chairman stated that the Works Committee had taken the question of carrying the water along the race into consideration. Mr Sherratt had offered. to repair the channels from the Geraldine Hotel to Dunlop and Co.'s corner and maintain same till third Wednesday in September, 1894, for the sum of £1. It was decided that if the ratepayers affected pay for the repairs and maintenance of the channels, the water would be turned on.
Timaru Herald, 19 May 1893, Page 2
Yesterday morning a serious accident occurred to a little son of Mr F. W. Worner, butcher, at Geraldine. He was playing about on the river bank at the back of Mr Lawson's, when by some means or other he fell from a height of 15ft into shallow water. On being rescued he was taken to the Geraldine Hotel close by and Dr Craig was sent far. It was found that the boy bad received two nasty wounds on his head. Falling such a distance it is a wonder that he was not killed.
Press 1 November 1893, Page 6
Tuesday, October 31. (Before Mr C. A. Wray, R.M., and Messrs H. W. Moore and W. M. Moore, J.P.'s.) A Juvenile Thief. For stealing five pipes and three bottles of citrate of magnesia, the property of Nathaniel Dunlop, storekeeper, Geraldine. William Lord, eleven years of age, was ordered-to pay 14s, and was severely reprimanded by the Bench and discharged.
Timaru Herald, 7 May 1896, Page 2
The monthly meeting of the Geraldine Town Board was held on Tuesday, and attended by Messrs A. White (chairman), W. S. Maslin, R. Taylor, G. Ward, and J. McCaskey. Messrs W. A. Sherratt and Co. were granted leave to erect a verandah in Talbot street in front of their shop.
The Town Hall / Cinema site about to be built on. The building on the right was E. H. Undrill's Garage, later part of what became Jas. E. Thomas's garage. When Thomas had the garage it was a GM dealership. The photo was probably taken in the late autumn of 1924. Ernest died 25 Sept. 1970 aged 93, born 1877 Ashburton area. He married Annie Butxon in 1904. John Kirk Brown was an apprentice motor mechanic there before he went away with the 27 Machine Gun Battalion during WW2. He was KIA 2 July 1942 and is buried at EL Alamein. S/o Mr Robert William Brown and Jane Cathcart Brown, Schoolhouse, Woodbury. His name is on the war memorial.
Ashburton Guardian, 28 December 1904, Page 3
A popular wedding took place in the Baring Square Church yesterday, the contracting parties being Mr E. Undrill and Miss Annie Buxton, third daughter of Mr S. Buxton, formerly of Rangitata and now of Allenton. The bride who was attired in a handsome costume, was given away by her brother, Mr T. Buxton. Miss T. Smith (a niece of the bride) was in attendant as chief bridesmaid. The little Misses Buxton and Undrill acted as flower girls, Mr W. Y. Purchase officiating as best man. The Rev. A. Peters performed the ceremony, and a strong orchestra played a wedding march as the bridal party left the church. A wedding repast was served in the Templar Hall, the customary toasts being proposed and duly responded to Mr and Mrs Undrill, who left by the afternoon's express for Invercargill, were the recipients of many costly presents.
Ashburton Guardian, 26 October 1911, Page 5 Farewell Social
Mr Undrill has been an active worker in connection with the Baring Square Methodist Church choir for a great number of years, and his services especially in connection with the Sunday school will be much missed. Mr and Mrs Undrill are leaving Ashburton in a few days, for Woodbury. Geraldine, where Mr Undrill is going into business on his own account.
Ashburton Guardian, 3 March 1916, Page 4
A Ford car, which was originally sold to an Ashburton gentleman, and has since been sold to Mr E. Undrill, of Woodbury, has been doing an average mileage of 36 miles per gallon on benzine.
Cottages Lower Talbot St.
Timaru Herald, 8 May 1874, Page 4 GERALDINE ROAD
The usual monthly meeting was held on Tuesday last, in the road Board Office, Geraldine. Present — Messrs Tripp (chairman), Kelman, Bell, Hardcastle, and Tancred. Dated April 15th, relative to the erection of immigrants' cottages at Geraldine. Resolved—" That the Clerk inform the Secretary for Public Works that the Board have accepted Mr John Huffy's tender for erecting two four- roomed cottages, and would recommend that two more two roomed cottages should be erected on the Reserve 1193, on the Geraldine-road." Caleb Sherratt, Overseer to the Board.
Timaru Herald, 19 February 1875, Page 4
Of course, a great impetus has been given to Geraldine by the influx of immigrants that has taken place during the past six months, as they must all be supplied with clothes to wear, food to eat, and houses to dwell in. With regard to this last requirement, the considerate action taken by the Government in providing them with the means to erect cottages cannot be too highly praised, as it not only assists the immigrants at first starting as a colonist, but it, in a manner fixes him as an inhabitant of the place, in whose prosperity he will of course, as a unit in its population, feel himself interested. These cottages are now to be seen in every direction, imparting to Geraldine the appearance of quite a populous township.
Timaru Herald, 15 December 1875, Page 1 The usual monthly meeting of the Board was held m the Road Board office, Geraldine, on Tuesday, December 7th, at 10 o'clock, a.m. Present — Messrs Thomas Hardcastle, Jas. Hay, J. Megson, and Wm. Grimmer. From the Secretary for Public Works, dated 19th November, in reference to the immigrant's cottages, Geraldine, and authorising the expenditure of £15 on fencing in the front and lining the cottages, and that all rents collected must be paid into the Provincial Treasury, unless expended on the cottages, and further stating that the charge of these cottages for the future will be placed in the hands of the Immigration Department.
In 2013 there are only two immigration cottages left standing in lower Talbot Street, they were built in the 1870s. No. 136 is a four-room cottage, a single cabled cottage which features a corrugated salt-box roof and a lean to at the rear. The aluminum windows were replaced with timber double hung sash windows in the original style of ten cottage. It was clad with "wide rough-sawn" weatherboards which have been replaced, a veranda and still has the original brick chimney. The neighouring cottage at No. 138, has three bedrooms, with a kitchen, living room and dining room. The Council purchased the cottages in 2006 - 2009 to place a land convent on the title protecting their historic exterior material and forbidding demolition or removal and to preserve their heritage. This action was completed in 2013 now they are going to be sold.
Across the road in fronting lower Talbot St. is "Balmoral"
Cottage, the red brick. No. 137 is a single story double bay cottage with
ironwork. It is double brick with the bricks being made locally from
Brickwork and reputedly built as a gentleman’s residence in the 1880s. It
originally had 11 rooms, including a sample room for the use of commercial
travellers, stables, buggy and cow shed, on ½ acre. Mary Quinn occupied it in
the late 19th century and ran it as an accommodation house for men only, 14
shillings a week in 1902. James Michael FAHEY married Mary Bowden QUIN in 1902
so Mary had to sell the property.
James Michael FAHEY died in 1940 aged 80 years and Mary Bowden FAHEY died in
1918 aged 64 years.
Lower Talbot St. 136, 137 and 138 Talbot St., Geraldine. The red brick cottage is seen in the right front corner of the b/w photo taken some time before 1925 (as there are no power poles, only telephone poles in the picture.) This photo was as far as I can work out was taken from the roof of what was the Methodist Church. The photo is looking up Talbot Street and you can see Angus Bell's original Cycle shop at left which was on the southern side of Huffey Street with its junction with Talbot Street. About the centre of the picture is a two storied building with a Hall, The Independent Order Of Odd Fellows lodge and immediately North of this, the veranda of Angus Bells new bike shop. The IOOF Hall is where the present day Fire Station is located. article
Timaru Herald, 9 November 1894, Page 1
PRIVATE BOARD AND RESIDENCE. Terms moderate. Apply Mrs Quinn, Talbot St., Geraldine.
Timaru Herald, 13 April 1887, Page 3
On account of Mr James Gabey — One Quarter-acre section and well-built 4 roomed Cottage, in Talbot Street, Geraldine, adjoining Mr J. W. Pye's property. Easy terms. W. S. MASLIN, Auctioneer.
NZ Truth 9 December 1922, Page 10
Mrs. W. COTTRELL, 257 Talbot St., Geraldine
Geraldine today. Look for the
pole people near the
Barker's Berry Barn and the campground.
Farmer's Market St. Mary's Carpark, Talbot St. Geraldine 9am to 12.30pm Saturday's.
Driving through Geraldine north & south
Talbot St. 1960s