Obituaries are full of the usual praise heaped on early settlers, telling of courage, determination, education and respectability
Star 5 January 1905, Page 3
Timaru, January 5 Mr Edward Acton, of Pleasant Point, one of the oldest South Canterbury settlers, died last night, after a lingering illness, aged seventy-one. Deceased took an active part in public life for many years, and was greatly esteemed for his many sterling qualities.
Temuka Leader 3 March 1923 Page 3 JOHN AIRAY
It is with regret that we record the death of Mr John Airay, a well-known and highly respected resident of South Canterbury, and one of the pioneers of Australia and New Zealand, which occurred at his residence, Studholme street, Temuka, at an early hour on Thursday morning. The late Mr Airay was a native of Yorkshire, being born at Hawes in 1843. He .emigrated to Victoria in 1863, travelling in the s.s. Great Britain, one of his shipmates being the late Hon. R. J. Seddon. He joined an uncle, who was farming in Victoria, and was at Yackandandah when the notorious bushranger Morgan was shot. After three years in Victoria the late Mr Airay came to New Zealand, landing at Hokitika in 1860. Here fortune was against him, and on the West Coast he lost his all. He then made his way to Canterbury, and worked for a time at Leeston. In 1870 he removed to Orari, and two years later purchased a farm at Orton. It is interesting to recall that ‘‘Orton” is named after a village in Westmoreland, England, where the late Mr Airay lived for a time before he left the Old Land for Australia. As a farmer the late Mr Airay had the usual vicissitudes of the early settlers, who often had bad times and poor prices to contend with that he persevered and succeeded, and at length he had a holding of 1752 acres which he held until his death. In 1908 be let this farm and retired from farming, and a year later came to live in Temuka, having bought a home in Studhohne street. In 1878 the late Mr Airay visited the Old Country, and was at the Paris Exhibition. Since then he paid four more visits to the Homeland, the last being in 1913, shortly before the great war. He was contemplating another visit in 1922, but abandoned it when be found that his health was failing. While living at Orton he was a member of the local School Committee for a number of years, acted as postmaster, and represented his district on the Temuka Road Board. At Temuka he served as a member of the vestry of St. Peter’s' Church, and was elected one of the directors of the Timaru Milling Company, Ltd. At, the time of his death he held the position of Chairman of Directors of the Company. The late Mr Airay was a kind-hearted man, always ready to give generously to any charity or deserving cause, but by nature he was very retiring and disliked any sort of ostentation. His word was his bond, and he earned the respect and esteem of all who-knew-him. He enjoyed remarkably good health throughout’ his long life, and was very active and energetic. His health began to fail during last year, but the illness that proved fatal was of very short duration, and he was actually confined to his bed for a very short time. He married Miss Hughes, a daughter of the late Mr Thomas Hughes, of Brookside, North Canterbury, and she survives him. He leaves two sons and three daughters—Mr James Airay (Orton), Mr John Dinsdale Airay (Temuka,), Mrs L. R. Ellis (Loburn, North Canterbury), Mrs L. H. Brown (Bluecliffs), and Miss P. Airay (Temuka). The funeral took place yesterday afternoon and was a private one. The service was conducted by the Rey. A. M.. Norris, the bearers being Messrs John Cain (Orton), Win. Morrison (Tycho), and Donald Robertson (Temuka), old employees, Mr L. R. Ellis (son-in-law), and Messrs G. W. Armitage and S. McCully. old friends.
Press, 7 November 1939, Page 5 MR ROBERT AITKEN
After an illness of several weeks the death occurred at the Kaikoura Hospital on Friday of Mr Robert Aitken, of Swyncombe, in his seventy second year. Mr Aitken, who was the eldest son of Mr and Mrs Aitken, of Naseby, came to Kaikoura in 1921, and took un farming at Swyncombe, where he had since resided. Though of a retiring disposition, Mr Aitken took a keen interest in all local activities, and he was well known in the Rangitata, Waimate, and Timaru districts. Mr Aitken married the second daughter of Mr and Mrs Richard Coles, of The Levels, Timaru. His wife died in 1923. There were four sons of the marriage—Messrs Victor Aitken (Leeston) and Clarence Oliver and Stuart Aitken (Kaikoura). In 1926 Mr Aitken married Miss Maud Coles.
Press, 28 December 1906, Page 7 Alexander ALLAN
A very sudden death occurred at Hawarden yesterday, about 2 p.m., while the stock sale was in progress. Mr Alexander Allan, a well-known and highly-respected farmer, living at Waikari, was looking over the rails, when he suddenly collapsed. He was attended to by several bystanders and Dr. Baldwin, who happened to be present. Mr Allan, who for some time past had suffered from heart trouble, never rallied, and expired almost at once. Business at the sale was suspended for a time, and a feeling of gloom was cast over the subsequent proceedings. Mr Allan was a native of Dunbartonshire, and was educated at Cumbernauld, being brought up to agriculture on his father's farm. Along with his brother, Mr John Allan, who is a member of the Canterbury Land Board [appointed 1903, owned Park View at Waikari], and who also resides at Waikari, he arrived in Canterbury in 1874 [in the ship “Crusader“]. The late Mr Allan was for a time manager of the farming at Horsley Downs and at the Albury Estate, and also had an estate of his own at Geraldine. In 1882 [sic. 1883] he purchased part of the Glenmark property at Waikari [for £12 per acre], where he had a capital farm. In 1885 he married Miss McDonald, of Geraldine. He leaves a widow and young family [three sons & two daughters]. [Alexander Main Allan married Margaret Macdonald in 1885] [John Allan arrived in the ship “Opawa” in 1878 and in 1876, to a daughter of the late Mr. Joseph Forrester, of Hall Farm, Cumbernauld, and has six sons and three daughters. John died in 1925]
Press, 2 January 1907, Page 7
The Waikari Caledonian Society. As soon as the pipers reached the ground, the Scottish flags were lowered to half mast and Pipe Sergeant Hopping played a lament for Mr Alexander Allan, a vice president, who died suddenly a few days ago.
Evening Post, 2 June 1944, Page 3 Wounded
ALLAN, Alexander E., Dvr. Mr. A. Allan, Waikari Hills, Peel Forest, Rangitata (F).
[Captain John Alexander MacDonald Allan was the son of Alexander Allan and
Margaret Macdonald Allan, of "Rockvale", Waikari, North Canterbury died 20 May
1918 in an aircraft accident.]
Evening Post, 6 September 1918, Page 6
Flight-Lieutenant J. A. Macdonald Allan, R.A.F., of Rockvale, Waikari, has been killed in an aeroplane accident in the British Isles. Mr Allan came to England at the end of 1915, and went to a flying school shortly afterwards, getting his commission in the R.N.A.S. He spent more than a year in France, and was wounded-in July of last year.
Press, 20 May 1919, Page 1
ALLAN— In loving memory of Captain .J.A. Macdonald Allan. Royal Air Force, and of Rockvale, Waikari, killed in aero accident at Redcar, Yorkshire, May 20th, 1918; aged 23 years. Inserted by loving mother, sisters, and brothers.
ALLAN — In loving memory of Captain J. A. Macdonald Allan, R.A F. who was accidentally killed at Redcar, Yorkshire, on May 20th, 1918. Inserted by Hazel West.
Star 27 December 1906, Page 3
HAWARDEN, December 27. Mr Alexander Allan, a well-known farmer, of the Waikari district, fell dead at the Hawarden Saleyards this afternoon during the progress of the sale. Heart disease, from which he suffered, was the cause.
Star 28 December 1906, Page 3
ALLAN. December 27. Alexander Allan, beloved husband of Margaret Allan, Rockvale, Waikari; aged fifty-nine years.
Press, 31 May 1917, Page 3 MILITARY SERVICE BOARDS.
CANTERBURY No. 1. SITTING AT RANGIORA. The Canterbury No. 1 Military service Board sat at Rangiora yesterday. The Board comprised Messrs J. S. Evans (chairman), J. D. Millton, and E. C. Studholme with Captain Pilkington as military representative. NOT A BALLOTED MAN. Alexander Allan, shearer, Waikari, appealed on the ground that his calling up would be contrary to the public interest. He was married, and was 33 years old. He had five brothers in the First Division and two were serving. He had been a shearer for eight years. Appellant casually stated that he was not drawn in the ballot, but had enlisted in March. The Gazette giving the list of those drawn in the fifth ballot was produced, and appellant's name was not included. The chairman then pointed out the Court had no jurisdiction. Appellant stated after he had enlisted his attention was drawn to the fact that there was a scarcity of shearers, and he communicated with the Shearers' Union, which advised him to appeal. The case was adjourned for further consideration.
Star 20 June 1892, Page 3
Timaru, June 20. Mr Robert Allan, an old colonist, died this morning at the age of sixty-three. He was a partner of the late firm, Allan and Stumbles, railway and harbour works contractors, and had previously been in business as a mason and quarryman at Dunedin.
Timaru Herald, 23 May 1916, Page 11 Mr W.G. Allen
On Sunday morning at Rathmore Street, Timaru, the death occurred of Mr W.G. Allen, at the age of 50 years. The late Mr Alien, who was born in England, arrived at an early age in New Zealand by the Charlotte Jane in the fifties. He first settled in Christchurch and for some time was engaged in carrying the mails between Christchurch and Timaru. Later on he entered the hotel business in Timaru and was for some years proprietor proprietor of the Royal and late of the old Commercial Hotel. He relinquished hotel-keeping and entered the employ of Mr W. Evans of Timaru, with whom he remained until his retirement into private life 38 years ago. In 1857 he married Miss E. Toombs of Christchurch who pre-deceased him 13 years ago. For many years Mr Allen was blind. He leaves a family of four sons, one of whom is Mr P.G. Allen of Timaru, the well known seed merchant and florist.
Evening Post, 10 July 1929, Page 13 J. F. ARNOLD, EX-M.P.
The death is announced from Timaru of James Frederick Arnold, aged 70. The late Mr. Arnold was first elected to the House of Representatives as one of the members for Dunedin in 1899 and was re-elected in 1902. Mr. Arnold was born in Guernsey in 1859, and in 1804 he came to New Zealand with his parents. He began work in a boot manufactory, remaining at the trade for eight years. In 1882 he removed to Dunedin and was employed by Sargood, Son, and Ewen, with which firm he remained until he entered Parliament. As an advocate for bootmakers he became known as the "bootmakers' lawyer," and in 1899 was elected president of the Bootmakers' Union. Mr. Arnold interested himself actively in technical and primary education. For six years he was a member of the Mornington Borough Council and in 1901 successfully piloted through Parliament a Bill to enable that council to acquire the property of the Mornington Tramway Company. He was also a member of a Parliamentary party which visited the Cook Islands to familiarise themselves with the needs of the group. Mr. Arnold was an Oddfellow and also a member of the Masonic Order. Of late years Mr. Arnold has resided in Timaru, where he held the position of Inspector of Labour.
Timaru Herald 23 June 1948 - Death
AUSTIN - On June 22, 1948, at his residence, King Street, Temuka, George Frederick, beloved husband of Matilda Austin, in his 74th year. Private interment. (S. Erwod)
Ellesmere Guardian, 5 October 1937, Page 7 MR FRANK BAILEY
Mr Frank Bailey, who recently passed away at his residence, Straven road, Riccarton, and who was a very old and highly respected resident of Canterbury, was born in Gloucestershire, England, and at the age of seven years he came to New Zealand with his parents, Mr and Mrs Samuel Bailey, who settled on land in the Temple ton district. Mr Bailey was of a quiet disposition, and a member of the Anglican Church of St. James, Riccarton, but was keenly interested in farming. He had been a very successful farmer, having farmed at "Mostyn," Springston, after which he purchased the homestead block of "Waikakahi," Morven, South Canterbury, from which he retired to reside at Riccarton. He was in his 79th year at the time of his death. Mr Bailey married Edith, a daughter of Mr and Mrs Joseph Powell, pioneer farmers of Springston South. He is survived by his widow, three sons and three daughters—Mrs W. Davison (Wanganui), Mrs H. Watson (Methven) and Mrs A. C. Muir (Riccarton). The sons are Messrs Percy V. Bailey (Springston), Stanley and Oscar Bailey (Morven). There are 71 grandchildren and two greatgrandchildren, and five brothers Messrs William, George, Arthur, James and Joseph Bailey. The interment took place in the churchyard at St. Mary's Springston, where a large number of residents met to pay their last respects. A service was held in the church, the ministers officiating being the Revs. De Lambert and Cooper (Riccarton). The bearers were Messrs Colin, Orton and Keith Bailey, George and Desmond Watson (grandsons) and A. C. Muir (son-in-law). Many floral tributes were received, including the following:—His wife; sons and daughters; grandchildren and great-grandchildren; wee Betty; Joy, Peter and Graham; Mr and Mrs J. A. Powell and family; Mr and Mrs Blyth and Doris; C. N. and J. Powell and Iris; Mr and Mrs T. J. Kimber and family; Charlie and Millie; Mr and Mrs A. Bailey; Jack and Jane Bailey and family (Brookside); Jim and May; St. James's Mothers Union; Mr and Mrs A. Heinisch and family; Floss and Bill Bowers; Vera Moffat; Mr and Mrs A. Muir; Mr and Mrs Ascott and family; Bid and Amy; Minnie, Lilly and Clarice; Mr and Mrs Snell; Maclachlan and family; Una and Charlie; Lincoln Masonic Lodge; Mauri, Ina and family; Mrs G. Hampton Rhodes; Wright, Stephenson and Co., Lid.; Charlie and Nellie; Allan and Doris.
Press, 3 January 1930, Page 7
By the death, at his residence, Morven, of Mr Samuel John Bailey, on Sunday last, at the age of 56, the Waimate district has lost a resident whose public services have for many years taken a wide range. Mr Bailey was a member of the Waimate County Council on which he represented the Waihao riding for four years. As a member of the Morven Domain Board, he was instrumental in bringing about the beautifying scheme at present in progress, while as vice-president of the Waimate branch of the New Zealand Farmers' Union he was delegate to the South Canterbury Centre. In Friendly Society affairs, Mr Bailey was recognised as the father of Oddfellows in the Morven district, and was Past Provincial Grand Master for the South Canterbury district. For many years he had taken a keen interest in church matters, being president of the Church of England's Men's Society for the Waihao district, and he was also lay preacher for a time. He was chairman of the Morven School Committee until pressure of other public services compelled him to relinquish the position. The funeral, which took place last Tuesday, was one of the largest that has taken place in the district, practically every public body in the district being represented, and the cortege was from two and a half to three miles in length. Archdeacon Russell (Oamaru), assisted by Canon Cox (Waimate), the Rev. G. Nelson Watson (Temuka), and the Rev. E. Wilson (Waihao Downs), conducted the service at the Morven Anglican Church. The service at the graveside was conducted by the Rev. G. Nelham Watson, and the Oddfellows' service was read by P.G. Bro. J. V. Riach, of the Loyal Heart of Friendship Lodge. Mr Bailey is survived by his widow and three of a family Mr Francis Bailey, Mrs E. Marshall, Miss Clarice Bailey and four grand children, all of whom reside four grand-children, an at Morven.
North Otago Times 22 April 1911, Page 2
In our obituary notices to-day is recorded the death of Mr Adam Baillie, who some 24 years ago left Oamaru for Temuka. Mr Baillie came to Oamaru in 1867, and was on Totara in 1868, at the time when a disastrous flood swept a number of people away. He followed the calling of a saddler in this district for many years, and at one time had a business at Ngapara. He was a prominent mason, and in 1874 and 1875 was W.M. of the Waitaki Lodge. He left Oamaru in 1885, but during the time he resided here was a much respected resident.
Star 5 October 1907, Page 5
Timaru, October 5. Major Bamfield, who for twenty-two years was secretary of the South Canterbury Education Board, but retired two years ago on superannuation, died last night. Deceased was a native of Falmouth, and was educated for the Army. In 1857 he served with the 72nd Highlanders in India, under General Roberts, taking part in the capture of Kotah and numerous other battles, putting in twenty-three years active service. He came to New Zealand in 1875, first going into business in Christchurch, and then coming to Timaru as secretary of the Education and High School Boards.
Press, 22 September 1928, Page 5
Old residents of Temuka and South Canterbury will learn with regret that Mr Charles Bates, a man who for the past 40 years had been closely identified with the affairs of the town, passed away on Thursday afternoon at his residence, King street, Temuka, after a long illness. The late Mr Bates was born in Birmingham, England, 75 years ago. On August 30th, 1879, he and his wife set sail for New Zealand, arriving in Lyttelton in December. Mr Bates at once set up in business in Christchurch as a painter and decorator. This business was relinquished in 1887, and Mr and Mrs Bates became officers in the Salvation Army, their first station being at Masterton. Other stations were: Napier, Oamaru, Gore, Mosgiel, Waimate, and Temuka. Failing health, caused Mr Bates to give up the work, and he again entered business,, till his premises were destroyed by fire in 1323. Mr Bates carried out' the decorations in Temuka for the Peace celebrations in July, 1919. He was a prominent member of several societies, including the St. George Masonic Lodge. The funeral will take place at Temuka this afternoon, the interment being at the Temuka cemetery. The service will be of a Masonic nature, officers and members of the St. George Lodge being invited to take part.
Otago Daily Times 29 May 1905, Page 4
Mr J. E. Beckingham, head of a well-known furnishing house in Timaru, passed away in that town a few days ago, in his sixty-eighth year. Mr Beckingham arrived in Outgo in 1860, and took port in the Gabriel Gully rash. On leaving the goldfields two years later Mr Beckingham end a companion just missed being stuck up by Garrett, a notorious bush ranger. On the occasion in question a party of four left Gabriel's Gully about two hours before Mr Beckingham and his comrade, and when the latter reached Gresson's (well-known in Timaru) accommodation house that night the four other travelers had not arrived. Later on word came to hand that they had been stopped and "gone through" by Garrett while working their way through the bush, and it was owing to the (not that he was busy on this band that Mr Beckingham and his friend escaped Garrett as they came through the bush. After "relieving" them of all they possessed in the way of valuables Garrett tied them to trees, and there left them. It was in this predicament that the four unfortunates were found. Mr Beckingham, on his first visit to Timaru, walked the whole way from Dunedin, having to swim the Waitaki River. The return trip was made the same way.
Evening Post, 25 August 1937, Page 12 MR. ROBERT BELL
Ashburton, This Day. The death is announced in London of Mr. Robert Bell, chairman of directors and principal proprietor of the "Ashburton Guardian," managing director of the "Timaru Post," and president of the Press Congress of the world. The late Mr. Bell was born in Timaru in 1888 and was educated there and in Ashburton. He joined the "Ashburton Guardian" in 1903, and remained with that newspaper, serving on the literary as well as the commercial staff, until February, 1916. He became manager of the "Guardian" in 1908, and a director in 1911. He joined the New Zealand Expeditionary Force as n.c.o. in April, 1916, and served in France with the Canterbury Regiment, being seriously wounded in February, 1917. From 1918 to March 1922, he was advertising manager of the "Dominion," and he was managing director of the "Ashburton Guardian" and the "Timaru Post" since April, 1922. He was also a director of the Grey Valley Collieries, Ltd. Mr. Bell was president of the Ashburton High School Old Pupils' Association (1913-14), deputy chairman of the Ashburton Shakespeare' Club (1911--16), a member of the New Zealand "Round Table" Group, a member of the Dominion executive of the New. Zealand Returned Soldiers' Association (1919-25), and Canterbury provincial president (1923-25), representative of the rank and file of the New Zealand Expeditionary Force on the New, Zealand Canteen and Regimental Fund Trust Board, president of the South Canterbury Chamber of Commerce (1926-27), a member of the executive of the New Zealand Newspaper Proprietors' Association (1927--30). He was one of the New Zealand delegates to the fourth Imperial Press Conference in London in 1930.
Ashburton Guardian, 15 June 1894, Page 2
The pioneers of Canterbury who settled here in the early days, when the country was nought but tussock and stone, and who have spent their lifetime in the service of the colony, are one by one passing away, and all too soon we shall find that those who have made our province what it is are no more. To-day we regretfully chronicle the death of two who were numbered amongst the early Canterbury settlers —Mr T. H. Anson and Mr John Bilton. Mr Anson has ever been most assiduous in promoting the public interest as a member of various public bodies, and his death will be a great lose, more especially in the Courtenay district where he resided. His death was comparatively sudden, his illness being less than a week's duration. Last Friday he attended a special meeting of the North Canterbury Education Board, from which he had to retire owing to illness occasioned through a chill he had caught when coming in from the country. The cold turned to pleurisy, of which disease he died at 8.30 p.m. yesterday. Mr John Bilton, died at Timaru on Thursday after a long illness. His age was sixty-four. Deceased came out in the Sir George Seymour as selected teacher of the church schools in the early settlement, and was the first Organist at St Michael's He was subsequently a master at Christ's College and a private tutor. In 1866 he settled in Timaru in business, with which he combined the profession of music. He was of a retiring disposition, well liked and respected for his amiability. He leaves a widow and ten children all grown up.
Otago Witness 29 October 1902, Page 56
The death of Mr G. Bird, one of the old settlers of Waimate, is announced. Mr Bird came out to the colony in the ship Ballock Myle [sic Ballochmyle] in 1874, and ever since he had lived in the Waimate district, where he has a wide circle of friends.
Evening Post, 19 February 1942, Page 9 MR JOHN BLACK
There passed away at Eastbourne recently Mr. John Black, J.P. Born at Sunderland, England, in 1865, he came to New Zealand in 1884 in the sailing ship Canterbury and commenced farming six years later at Oxford. In 1900 he bought a sheep run at Takitu, Waimate, and sold out twelve years later. During this period he served on the Hospital Board, the Timaru High School Board, and the Harbour Board, and as Mayor of Waimate. He was also a lieutenant in the Army Motor Reserve. He retired from public life in 1915, when he removed to Blenheim, and where he purchased the Leatharn sheep station. In 1929 he settled in Eastbourne, and was custodian of the borough tennis courts for thirteen years. Mr. Black was a student of medicine, for he came of a family which included eleven doctors. He was twice married. There were four children by the first marriage. His second wife and their daughter Hazel survive him.
The Press 7 November 1929
A Canterbury pioneer of nearly eighty years' standing, Mr. John Blacker, died at his residence, Tuesday night at the age of 84 years. Mr Blacker was born in Tiverton, Devonshire, England, in 1845, and came to New Zealand at the age of six years with his parents, who first settled in Christchurch. Many of the main roads in the City to-day were formed out of the swamp under the direction of Mr Blacker, who later took up farming in the vicinity of Doyleston. He married Miss Jessie Doyle, of Leeston.
Timaru Herald, 17 March 1892, Page 2
Our renders will regret to learn that Mr J. Blackmore, of Woollcombe's Gully, was found dead in bed at his residence yesterday. He had been in delicate health for a long time for long suffering from Bright's disease and the cause of his sudden death was uremic poisoning. Ho was attended by Dr Lawson. Mr Blackmore was 52 years of age, leaves a wife and grown up family of sons and daughters. He was a resident of Timaru for 30 years, and had for 20 years lived at Woollcombe's Gully. Till lately he carried on active business as a dairyman, and was esteemed by his many friends as a man of the highest probity, and of a quiet retiring disposition. Deep sympathy is felt for Mrs Blackmore and family in their sudden loss. The funeral takes place tomorrow.
Star 17 March 1892, Page 3 BLACKMORE
Obituary. Mr Joseph Blackmore, who has resided in the Timaru district for nearly thirty years, and was greatly respected, was found dead in his bed yesterday morning by his wife. Mr Blackmore for many years conducted a large dairying business, but a short time ago he disposed of it owing to ill-health. As he had been attended by a doctor, an inquest will not be necessary.
Nancy Victoria and Joseph Blackmore possible children:
1867 Blackmore Annie
1869 Blackmore Frederick
1871 Blackmore Joseph William
1873 Blackmore Emma Jane
1875 Blackmore Alfred Baxter m. Charlotte Ellen Dale in 1901
1877 Blackmore Henry John
1880 Blackmore Ernest
1882 Blackmore Ethel m. Arthur Richard Theodore Brunsden
1883 Blackmore Cissy m. John Victor McKeague in 1909
Blackmore Walter - he had an adopted son Lawrence Edgar Blackmore in 1907
Timaru Cemetery- A returned soldier
Private Henry John Blackmore 3/1824 served his country in the war against Germany 1915-1918. Died August 3rd 1918. NZMC (He died of sickness in NZ and is buried in Timaru)
Annie Blackmore died 21st July 1952 aged 85 years.
Alfred Baxter Blackmore died Oct. 11 1946, aged 72 years
Joseph Blackmore died March 16th 1892 aged 51 years.
His wife Nancy Victoria died Feb. 5th 1914, aged 73 years.
Otago Daily Times 7 August 1918, Page 5
A Press Association message from Timaru states that a military funeral was accorded yesterday to Harry John Blackmore, N.Z.M.C. He had been on the Maheno on two trips, and returned seriously ill (sarcoma of kidney). He was 40 years of age.
Press, 17 August 1935, Page 6
A much respected resident of the Morven district, Mr J.K. Blair died recently in his sixty year. Mr Blair who was a drafter for the waitaki Farmers' Freezing Company, took an active interest in all farming pursuits, and was immediate past president of the Waimate Agricultural and Pastoral Association. He had also been a judge at the North Otago Agricultural and Pastoral Association's shows for several years. Alter being engaged in shepherding, Mr Blair settled in Morven where, with his brother, he conducted a butchery business. He married Miss Park, daughter of Mr George Park, of Glenavy, and sister of Mr A. D. Park, C.M.G. He leaves a widow and family.
Evening Post, 26 December 1942, Page 6
Mr. A. C. Blake, a well-known educationist, died in Wellington yesterday morning after a brief illness. Mr. Blake, who was born in Bangalore, India, in 1862, was the eldest son of the late Rev. Alexander Blake, M.A., Presbyterian' minister, and grandson of the late Rev. Benjamin Rice, of Bangalore, who for fifty years was a missionary in Mysore. The late Mr. A. C. Blake was educated at Otago Boys' High School and Canterbury College. For sixty years his life was devoted to education. From 1880 to 1928 he served in the teaching profession at the Sydenham, Waimate D.H.S., Timaru Main, Mount Cook, Te Aro, and Lyall Bay Schools, being headmaster of Lyall Bay School for 19 years. At various periods he was a member of the Dominion executive of the New Zealand Educational Institute and a president of the Wellington branch of that body. After his retirement from the teaching profession he was for twelve years a member of the Wellington Education Board and of the Technical College Board of Governors, and for five years a member of the Victoria College Council; and he was also a member of the Educational Broadcasting Advisory Committee. While in Timaru he was a past master of St. John's Masonic Lodge and an officer of District Grand Lodge. Mr. Blake always took an active interest in the work of the Presbyterian Church and was a member of St. Giles Church, Kilbirnie, for over thirty years. In his younger days. Mr. Blake played senior cricket and Rugby football in South Canterbury and he always maintained a keen interest in Rugby. He was a veteran bowler, having played for 40 years, and was a member of the Hataitai Bowling Club for over 25 years. , In 1898 Mr. Blake married Miss Emma Vale Rowley, daughter of the late Mr. T. G. Rowley, of Timaru. He is survived by his wife, his daughter, Mrs. James Stokes, of Wellington, his son. Second Lieutenant G. C. Blake, of Palmerston North, and four grandchildren. The late Mr. E. M. Blake F.R.1.8.A., Wellington, was a brother. The funeral will leave the residence, 15 Crawford Road. Kilbirnie, et 10.30 a.m. on Monday.
Timaru Herald, 15 August 1892, Page 2
Scotch papers record the death on May 14th of the Rev. James Largie Blake, M.A. minister of the parish of Langton, Berwickshire, in the 72nd year of his age, and 42nd of his ministry. Deceased was a brother of the Rev. A. Blake, M A. of Tinwald, and uncle of Mr Blake, of the Timaru Main School. Deceased was one of five sons, four of whom became ministers of the Gospel. At the time of the Disruption, when the Free Church of Scotland separated from the Established Church, deceased elected to remain with the Established Church, while the others became Ministers of the Free Church. The Rev. Mr Blake, of Tinwald, formerly a distinguished Indian missionary, is now the only surviving minister of the family. Deceased was at one time editor of the Church of Scotland "Missionary Record," and was of his literary attainments.
Timaru Herald, 11 February 1907, Page 6 CHARLES BOURN
The news of the death of Mr Charles Bourn, [aged 77] which, is announced this morning, will be received with regret by a large number of people in South Canterbury, amongst whom the deceased was a familiar figure and a popular acquaintance some years ago. He was one of the pioneers of North Canterbury, and was occupied in farming there for many years. He then bought a farm in the Hunter district, South Canterbury, and held this for some years, and giving up this property he engaged in business in Timaru. When he relinquished this, owing to advancing years, and retired to live among older friends near Christchurch, business people of Timaru and farmers of the surrounding districts, showed their respect for him by entertaining him at a large farewell gathering. He was a most cheerful optimist, a most good-natured man, and he made himself popular wherever he went. He had several sons, one of them, Mr Arthur H. Bourn, is auctioneer for Messrs Guinness and LeCren of Timaru. The funeral takes place at Timaru to-morrow afternoon. [wife Amy died March 9th 1896 aged 61]
Timaru Herald, 13 February 1907, Page 6 MR CHAS. BOURN.
The funeral of the late Mr Charles Bourn look place yesterday. He remains were brought down from Christchurch for interment in Timaru by the 2.45 train, and the funeral procession, moved off front the railway station at about 3 o'clock. The hearse was followed by the deceased's sons, six of whom acted as bearers, and a long train of mourners on foot and driving; amongst whom were representatives of various local bodies, profession and trades, whose members thus paid their last respects to the dead. Among those following were Messrs M. Mullin and T. Harney (Borough Councillors); W. Priest (ex-Councillor); T. D. Young, D. C. Turnbull and C. Bowker (Harbour Board); J. Mee (Levels County Council); S. G. Raymond and M. J. Knubley (legal); W. A. Bristol, H. B. Kirk, M. White, C. H. T. Sterndale, R. R. Bowie, A. P. Hamilton, D. Stuart and about 150 others. The Ven. Archdeacon Harper conducted the last offices for the dead at the cemetery. The late Mr Bourn came to the colony in the Randolf [sic], one of the first four ships, arriving at Lyttelton in December 16th, 1850. In the early days he was engaged in contracting and agricultural pursuits, first at Riccarton, then at Springston, Southbridge, and Makikihi, and finally at Timaru. He afterwards went into commercial business in Timaru, being associated with R. Wilkin and Company, and then with Jonas and Bourn who bought Wilkin and Company's Timaru business. Mr Bourn was next connected with the New Zealand Produce and Provision Company, and then with the Boiling Down Works at Washdyke which business he afterwards ran on his own account, keeping it until he retired. Five years ago he went, to live with one of his sons in Riccarton, where he remained until his death. He always took a very great interest in public matters, and the advancement of the colony generally. For some time he was chairman of the Springton and Southbridge Road Boards, and for a number of years was chairman of the Southbridge School Committee. He was a native of Northamptonshire, England, and was married at St. Michael's Church, Christchurch, in 1852. His wife predeceased him a little over ten years ago. He leaves a family of eight sons and seven daughters, several of whom are scattered in various parts of the world. One of his sons, Frank, went out with the Second Contingent and lost his life in South Africa. Mr Bourn, had a peaceful ending after an illness extending over five weeks, and was in his 78th year. He was a Mason, and at one time was a member of St. John's Lodge, Timaru.
Amy Smart married Charles Bourn in 1852. He met Amy onboard the Randolph, she was 16 in 1850.
1853 Bourn Amy Maria
1854 Bourn Eliza Elizabeth Ann
1855 Bourn Charles William
1856 Bourn John Thomas
1858 Bourn Sarah Jane
1859 Bourn George Alfred
1862 Bourn Frederick Edward
1864 Bourn Horton Smart d. 1918 aged 54
1866 Bourn Henry
1867 Bourn Ida Emily
1869 Bourn Arthur Henry
1870 Bourn Frank Percey d. 13 June 1900 of enteric fever at Johannesburg, his name was wrongly listed on the 2nd contingent as Brown. No. SA501
1872 Bourn Herbert Louis
1874 Bourn Caroline Alice
1877 Bourn Minnie Louisa
1878 Bourn Walter Lionel d. 1961 in Fairlie aged 82. (Wally Bourn). Married Edith Hannah Haggerty in 1899. Had 2 children.
1882 Bourn Edith Gertrude m. Percy Coleman Roberts in Timaru, June 1920
Press, 18 December 1918, Page 9 MR A. H. BOURN
Yesterday afternoon Mr Arthur Henry Bourn, one of the best-known and most popular auctioneers of Christchurch, and a man who was known and esteemed throughout Canterbury, passed away after an illness lasting over four months. The late Mr Bourn, who was in his fiftieth year, was the sixth son of the late Mr Charles Bourn, a Canterbury pioneer, and was born at Burnham. He received his education at the Southbrook School and the Timaru District High School. After leaving school he took up a position with Messrs Moss Jonas, of Timaru, and then went to Melbourne, where for six years he worked for Messrs John Sharp and Son. On returning to New Zealand Mr Bourn joined the firm of Messrs Guinness and Le Cren, of Timaru and for soma time acted in the capacity of auctioneer. Thirteen years ago he was appointed to the auctioneering staff of the New Zealand Farmers' Co-operative Association he first acted as assistant and then as chief auctioneer until two and half years ago, when the growth of the wool business was such as to necessitate the whole of Mr Bourn's, time being devoted to it. His heart was thoroughly in his work he was enthusiastic in all matters relating to wool, and it was recognised that he had no superior in New Zealand in this particular line. At the time of his death Mr Bourn was chairman of the Christchurch Wool Committee. In the realm of sport Mr Bourn chose bowls as his sphere, and he put as much energy and enthusiasm into this as he did into his business. He was an excellent player and a good organiser and held the position of president of the Canterbury Bowling Association for some time. The late Mr Bourn married Miss Edith Bowie, second daughter of Mr R. H. Bowie, of Timaru, and leaves a family of two young children.
Star 29 May 1918, Page 8
The death took, place in Christchurch yesterday. of Mr Horton Smart Bourn, one of the best known business men of this city. Throughout his life Mr Bourn was a hard worker, and he had enjoyed excellent health until about six years ago. He, was attacked by illness then but recovered to a large extent. He became ill again a fortnight ago, and the end, which was not entirely unexpected, and the end came yesterday. Mr Bourn was the fifth son of the late Mr Charles Bourn, who arrived at Lyttelton in 1850 on the Randolph, one of the historic first four ships. He was born at Riccarton in 1864, being one of a family of eighteen, comprising nine sons and nine daughters. He was educated at Springston, Southbridge and Christ’s College. On leaving the last named institution in 1880 he went to Timaru, to which town the family had removed. He joined the firm of Robert Wilkin and Co., merchants and auctioneers, in which Mr. Bourn, sen., was a partner, and was- manager. After a few years he went on the land and about twenty years ago joined the, staff of the National Mortgage and Agency Company as a stock agent, in South Canterbury, Three years later he was transferred to the Christchurch office of the Company. With the keen eye of the business man, he saw opportunities ahead and started the auctioneering department of the company. Under Mr Bourn's able work this department soon assumed big proportions, and about eight years ago he was appointed manager of the company, a position he retained for five years. In 1915 he retired from the company and took up land at Rakaia, which he continued to work until the time of his death. ... Mr Bourn was a single man. Mr A. H. Bourn, a brother of the deceased, is a well-known citizen of Christchurch. [Sun, 29 May 1918, Page 8 ... the surviving members of which are living in Africa, Australia, and different parts of New Zealand. He was a single man. In days he was a prominent cricketer and a keen sportsman. The funeral will be held to-morrow. ]
Press, 1 July 1935, Page 8
The death occurred recently at the home of his niece, Mrs J. Sheil, of Mr William Breen, who has been a resident of Temuka for the last 20 year 3. Born in County Wexford, Ireland, in 1840, he came to New Zealand 63 years ago, after having spent one year in Melbourne. The gold mining activity in the Dominion at the time attracted him and he settled in Athol Southland, where for the next 15 years he worked on the diggings in that district. Becoming interested in farming he took up land there, and for 30 years he farmed his holding with considerable success, eventually retiring to live in Temuka. He was particularly interested in stock, and retained his interest even in his retirement. He did not marry, but leaves a nephew, Mr F. Breen (Temuka), and two nieces, Mrs Sheil and Mrs P. Finnegan (Rolleston). The funeral took place at the Temuka cemetery, following Requiem Mass by the Rev. Father Outtrim. which was celebrated at St. Joseph's Church. The service at the graveside was conducted by the Rev. Father Outtrim assisted by the, Rev. Father Kimbell. and the bearers were Messrs T. and J. Buckley, D. Collins, and P. Lynch.
Press, 14 June 1935, Page 14 MR MARTIN BROPHY
The death has occurred at Temuka of Mr Martin Brophy, who was widely known among farmers in South Canterbury. He was born in Queen's County, Ireland, 85 years ago, and came to New Zealand as a young man, landing at Lyttelton and went south to Geraldine, where an elder brother had settled some years before, where he began farming. He married Miss Ellen Corkery also from Ireland, and later the family removed to, Orari, where they lived for a number of years. Going next to St. Andrews, and a short time afterwards to Sutherlands. The family took over a small holding in Milford which Mr Brophy farmed very successfully for 10 years, retiring three years ago to reside in Temuka. He was very proficient at all kinds of farm work and was a successful competitor at the ploughing matches in South Canterbury. While at Orari be was a member of the school committee, and at St. Andrews he was secretary of the Saleyards Company for some time. He leaves two sons, Messrs. Martin and Thomas Brophy (Te Kuiti). and seven daughters, Mesdames J. Stack (Otaio). H. Shea (Makikihi). Misses M. and F. Brophy (Temuka), Miss E. Brophy (Christchurch). Miss B. Brophy (Greymouth), and Miss N. Brophy (Methven). Before the funeral, which took place at the Temuka cemetery, Requiem Mass was celebrated at St Joseph's Church by the Rev. Father Price (Methven), assisted by the Rev. Fathers Outtrim (Temuka), Bartley and Murphy (Timaru), Fogarty (Geraldine). T. Hanrahan and Kilgour (Riccarton), and J. Hanrahan (Papanui). The service at the graveside was taken by the Rev. Father Outtrim. The bearers were Messrs K. J. and M. Brophy (nephews), of Geraldine, R. Mills (Milford), and A. Scott and P. Friel (Pleasant Point).
Press, 15 August 1935, Page 12
Timaru, August 14. Mr L. T. Brosnahan, who died at Dunedin recently, was a resident of Timaru for some years. For eight years he was assistant engineer at the Smithfield works and only 12 months ago was appointed construction engineer at the Burnside works. Mr Brosnahan was associated with the Timaru Catholic Club for many years, and when he left for the south was president of the club, being an enthusiast for literary and debating work.
The funeral took place at Timaru, the Rev. Father Peoples officiating at the graveside. The chief mourners were the widow and son, and Mr E. L. Brosnahan (Gisborne), a brother. The pall bearers were Messrs E. L. Brosnahan, J. and J. James (brothers-in-law), J. Batchelor, and J. J. McErlane (Timaru Catholic Club), and D. Heggarty (Burnside works).
Press, 3 October 1927, Page 5
The death occurred on Friday night of Mr Elijah Brown, at the age of 87 years. He was one of the very earliest settlers in this district. For many years the late Mr Brown carried on commercial pursuits in Temuka, his principal venture being a wood and coal business on the site where the C.F.CA.'s establishment is now situated. From this he retired into private life about ten years ago. Since then Mr Brown lived a very quiet, retired life, but took a very keen interest in bowling. He has had several turns of illness in the last few years.
Timaru Herald, 11 June 1919, Page 11 MR THOMAS BROWN
The death occurred on Monday night in Timaru of Mr Thomas Brown, who was one of the founders of the firm of Messrs Brown, Ewing, and Co.. Dunedin. He was born in Wooler, Northumberland, in 1840, and was apprenticed to the soft goods trade at Berwick-on-Tweed. Shortly after completing his apprenticeship he decided to emigrate to the colonies, and arrived at Bluff early in 1863 by the ship Sir William Eyre, after a long passage of five months. Soon after reaching Invercargill he joined Mr Henry Reed, under the style of and Brown, in a general store, and two years later removed, to Dunedin where he has since been, connected with the well-known drapery business of Messrs Brown Ewing and Co. In the year 1893 the late Mr Ewing withdrew from the firm, leaving Mr Brown the sole proprietor. In 1913 the business was floated into a company with Mr Brown as chairman of directors, a position which he held at the time of his death. Mr Brown took part in the municipal government of the borough of Mornington for several years, and was Mayor for one term. He was one of the promoters of the Scenery Conservation Society, now better known as the Amenities Society. This society was established in 1887 to assist, both by advice and practical support, in beautifying the breathing spots, or "lungs" of the city. Mr Brown was married in 1865, in Dunedin, to a daughter of Mr James Lamb, of Kelso Scotland, by whom he had three children, two of them dying in infancy. His son Thomas took up farming at and later at, Temuka and Hakataramea, and died in August. 1912, leaving no family. Mr Brown's first wife died in November 1910, and in June, 1916, he married Miss Pugh, by whom he is survived.
Press, 11 December 1931, Page 5
A popular scholastic figure in South Canterbury and latterly of Timaru, Mr William Browne, died at, his home, Orbell street, Highfield, on Sunday. He was born at Donaghadee, Ulster, and was trained as a teacher in Belfast. As a young man he came to New Zealand, about 50 years ago, and was appointed master of the Kingsdown School soon after it was built. He was in this position for nine years, during which time Mr James Craigie was associated with him as chairman of the School Committee. Mr Browne resigned this appointment to revisit his native land, but afterwards returned to Now Zealand. He later, became headmaster of the Springbrook School — a position which he held for 28 years, until he retired seven years ago on superannuation. He is survived by his widow, a son, and a daughter.
Press, 11 March 1937, Page 7 MR ALBERT J. BRYANT
Mr Albert Joseph Bryant, whose math occurred at Temuka on Tuesday, at the home of his daughter. Mrs W. B. Sutcliffe, was born at Chipenham, Wiltshire, England, in 1859. As an executive officer of the Great Western Railway during the Great War he was in close contact with the Western Command, and was also well known to many colonial and Dominion troops. He is survived by his widow, Mrs Amelia Bryant two daughters, Mrs Walter Sutcliffe (Temuka) and Mrs Frank Uren (Melbourne, Victoria), and five grandchildren.
Press, 13 July 1940, Page 4 MR JOSEPH BUCK
The death of Mr Joseph Buck has removed one of the most respected residents of the Temuka district. Born at Dunmamway, Ireland, in 1860, Mr Buck came to New Zealand in the sailing ship Dover Castle in 1872. After living in the Springston district for four years, he accompanied his father to the Rangitata district. In 1884 Mr Buck became a farmer himself. While at Rangitata he served on the school committee for many years. He was a staunch Methodist, and a supporter of the temperance movement all his life. Failing health caused his retirement, and since then he had lived at Temuka. He leaves a widow, two sons, and two daughters.
Timaru Herald, 1 March 1913, Page 2 Mr. BUTCHERS
People of this district will regret to hear of the demise of the late Mr E. Butchers, the oldest resident of Fairview; Mr Butchers, who was 72 years of age, had been in ill-health for the past eight months. He was born in Kent, and as a young man went to America for a short time, after which he came over to New Zealand in the ship "Canterbury" in 1864. He worked at Longbeach for over eighteen months, later shifting to the West Coast. In 1868 he arrived in Timaru, where he purchased land. For a time he was contracting for the late Mr Double (Timaru), between Timaru and Waimate. He eventually settled down at Fairview where he worked with Mr Tregenza, the two doing a considerable amount of the early fencing in that district. Both had farms adjoining one another. In 1874 the deceased was married to Miss Lawrence, of England. Mrs Butchers died about six years ago. From this period Mr Butchers commenced fruit-growing in a small way, and now the orchard is one of the largest and most favourably known in the district. The deceased leaves three sons, two of whom are married, and one married daughter. The funeral leaves his late residence at Fairview to-morrow, at a quarter to two, for the Timaru Cemetery.
Timaru Herald, 19 February 1919, Page 9 Mr SEARBY BUXTON
Mr Searby Buxton, who passed away at his residence, Allenton, Ashburton, on Monday in his 87th year, was very well known throughout South Canterbury, being one of 'the early pioneers in, the district. He came to New Zealand fifty-two years ago and settled first at Springston, where he commenced farming, and later removed to West Melton. He subsequently settled on Rangitata Island, where he was engaged in farming pursuits for over thirteen years. The late Mr Buxton then went to Totara Valley, and during recent years retired in Ashburton. Mr Buxton was one of the most prominent men in his district. He opposed the late Hon. W. Rolleston in the parliamentary elections for the Gladstone district and after being elected held the seat for several years. He took an active interest in all public matters, and was a prominent member and local preacher in the Presbyterian and Wesleyan churches in the several districts in which he resided during his lifetime. The deceased leaves four sons and three daughters to, mourn their loss, his wife having pre-deceased him by four and a half years. His sons are Mr J Buxton, Muline, West Australia; Mr T. Buxton, grain merchant, Timaru, Mr R. Buxton, manager of the Vacuum Oil Co., Timaru: and Mr F. Buxton, of Messrs Buxton and Thomas, Ashburton. His daughters Miss M Buxton, Allenton, Ashburton; Mrs J. Smith, late of Wanganui and now of Auckland: and Mrs E. Undrill, of Geraldine.
Otago Daily Times 14 February 1896, Page 3 John CAIRN
The Timaru Herald reports the death of Mr John Cairns, an old resident. Mr Cairn arrived at Port Chalmers by the Nicol Fleming in 1878. He leaves three sons, four daughters, and 52 grandchildren;
Evening Post, 3 September 1938, Page 11
Timaru, September 2. The death occurred on Thursday of Constable Daniel Joseph Callanan, who had been in charge of the Geraldine Police" Station for more than 20 years. Constable Callanan, who was in his fifty-eighth year, took a keen interest in all sport; and two of his sons were Rugby representative players. He joined the force in Dunedin, and was later stationed in Invercargill, Queenstown, and Nightcaps.
Press, 3 December 1935, Page 12 MR A. R. CARTER
The death occurred recently at Templeton of an old and highly-respected resident of the district, Mr Andrew Richard Carter. Mr Carter was born at Chester in 1868, and worked on his father's farm near that city. At the age of 24 he was one of a party of young men who decided to emigrate to New Zealand. Arriving ai Lyttelton with a letter of introduction to Mr Charles Rudd, of Greendale, he found work on Mr Kudd's farm. After working in the Greendale district for a number of years he took up farming on his own account in the Geraldine district. He married Miss Fanny Skinner, eldest daughter of Mr and Mrs Henry Skinner, of Selwyn, Canterbury. From Geraldine Mr Carter moved to Springston, where he was employed by the Springs County Council until he joined the staff of Mr A. L. Joseph, who was then dealing on a large scale in the lamb and mutton export trade. After a number of years droving for Mr Joseph, Mr Carter was appointed manager of his farm at Courtenay and later at Balmoral. In June, 1917, he acquired a property at Templeton. Mr Carter took a keen interest in ploughing matches. He was a member of the Templeton Domain Board for a number of years and until the time of his death. He is survived by his widow and two sons, Messrs J. G. Carter and H. D. Carter.
Press, 22 May 1933, Page 10 MR D. T. CARTER
The death of a South Canterbury pioneer, Mr David T. Carter, aged 80, of Mount Gay. Pleasant Point, occurred recently. Born in London and educated mainly in Devonshire Mr Carter came to New Zealand in 1873. In 1874 he bought "Rockpool," on the Opihi river. Some years later he married Miss E. M. Collins. Mr Carter's block of virgin country became a thriving farm. He did not seek public life, but neglected no opportunity of showing good citizenship and advancing the welfare of his district, especially in his care for education, and in the extension of Church work in a young province. Mr and Mrs Carter were strong supporters of the Pleasant Point Anglican Church. They passed their last years at Mount Gay, where their golden wedding was celebrated. Mr Carter leaves a widow, three daughters—Mrs W. H. Talbot (Opuha), Mrs E. Inman (Fairlie), and Mrs J. J. Collins (Christchurch)—and two sons—Mr F. J. Carter (Fairlie) and Mr J. Q. Carter ("Rockpool"). The two younger sons, Robert and Roger, were killed in the Great War. There are eleven grandchildren.
Press, 24 May 1921, Page 7
Captain Edwin T. Chapman, an old and highly respected resident of Temuka, died at his home on Friday 'afternoon. The late Captain Chapman was born at Peel. Forest in 1866, and went with his parents to Temuka in 1880. He learned the tailoring business with Mr W. Storey, and. being incapacitated for such work by an accident, he was employed for some years as Truant Inspector by t)he South Canterbury Education Board. The deceased was most widely known through; his close connexion with the volunteer movement. He reached the captaincy of the Temuka Rifles 20 years ago, and when the Territorials replaced the Volunteers he became O.C. of the local (B) Company, South Canterbury Regiment, and was on the Reserve list at his death. Captain Chapman frequently had command of South Canterbury drafts going to Trentham. He married in 1888, and leaves to mourn their loss a widow, two sons (Mr St. Clair Chapman, Lyttelton, and Mr H. J. Chapman, Little River), and two daughters (Mrs H. Hutcheson, Temuka, and Mrs L. G. Donehue, Otaio).
Ashburton Guardian, 5 August 1912, Page 6
Mr James Baird Chisholm, an old colonist, and brother of Mr R. Chisholm, who was manager of the Bank of New' Zealand at Timaru, died at Kaiapoi on Friday night. He leaves two sons. One of Mr Chisholm's sisters was the wife of Mr Horton, of the original firm of Wilson and Horton, Auckland.
Otago Witness, 23 January 1896, Page 17 Alister
Mr Alister Macintosh Clark, who has been resident in the South Canterbury district for the past 20 years, died on Sunday morning. The Timaru Herald says:" Mr Clark came to South Canterbury from Mount Linton station, near Athol, Otago, in 1876, as manager of the Arowhenua estate and superintendent of the estates in South Canterbury then belonging to the Bank of New Zealand. He was a typical Highlander, belonging to one of the best families in Scotland, and was the greatly honoured president of the Temuka Caledonian Society, and previous to its formation had been of great assistance to the Timaru Society. A year or so ago he resigned the position he had so long held as manager of the estates, being succeeded by Mr Bain, and retired to his farm, Blair Athol. His health had been failing for a long time past, and though his death is not unexpected, his disease at the age 60 will be deeply regretted by a very large circle of friends in Canterbury and Otago. When in Otago, the late Mr Clark married a daughter of Mr Lowe, a then well-known, station owner, who with her son and four daughters survives him.
Ashburton Guardian, 24 November 1915, Page 5 MR RICHARD HENRY CLARKE
Another of the old identities of Timaru's pioneer days has passed away in the person or Mr R. H. Clarke, who died at the residence of his daughter, Mrs Chas. Brown, Ashburton, on Saturday morning. Mr Clarke left Cornwall, England, for New Zealand with his wife and family, in October, 1863 in the ship, Tiptree, arriving at Lyttelton three months later and came on direct to Timaru in the steamer City of Dunedin, and from the open roadstead were brought ashore in surf boats Timaru, was only just beginning in those days, the hardships were great, and food was scarce and very dear, but those early settlers were a noble band of workers, who toiled long and arduously to make a home for themselves and their families. After some time Mr Clarke got a position in a store owned by Messrs Cain and LeCren, which afterwards became Miles, Archer and Co.'s business, where he worked himself' up to be head storeman, and was universally respected by all who did business with the firm. He remained in the firm's employ for 32 years, when the business was wound up. He then entered into business on his own account as; a grocer, which he worked for eight years, and then had to retire owing to ill-health. Mr Clarke leaves a family of four daughters- and one son, the daughters being Mrs H. B. Courtis, of Dunedin, Mrs G. Watts, and Mrs A.R. Rule, of Timaru, and Mrs Charles Brown, of Ashburton, and the son. Dr. R. E. Clarke, of Birmingham, England. His wife predeceased him by 10½ years.
North Otago Times, 20 September 1898, Page 1
At 3.30 a.m. on Tuesday, the 13th of September, 1898, Mr Thomas Cleary died at his late residence, Waimate ; and by his death the working men of New Zealand have lost from their ranks a man as truly respected and trusted by the employer as he was honored and looked upon as a model for the emulation by his fellow-workers in this vale of tears. True and loving to his wife and family, honest and faithful to his employers, and at all times ready to aid in the trouble of his follow working men, then surely Thomas Cleary was one of those whom we can ill afford to lose, and one whom we cannot permit to bid us a last farewell without placing on record a small tribute to the memory of one for whom everybody that came in contact with had nothing but good to say. The late Mr Cleary was born in Ballingarry, County Tipperary, Ireland, in the year 1861, and at the age of 18 left his native land for New Zealand, arriving in this colony in the year 1879. Shortly after his arrival he obtained employment from the late Mr Conlin, of Ngapara. It was during his stay in the Ngipara district that the writer had the extreme pleasure of making the acquaintance of young Cleary, and on leaving him on that occasion I, like many others since, had reasons to acknowledge my depth of gratitude to our departed friend for the kind, genuine hospitality and practical assistance I received at his hands. Shortly after this Mr Cleary came to Waimate, and was at once employed by Mr Thomas Middleton, for whom he worked five years. During the time he was in the employ of Mr Middleton some thousands of pounds of that gentleman's money passed through his hands, and in no instance, said Middleton, talking of deceased to me the other day, had he the slightest reason to doubt the honesty of Thomas Cleary ...After leaving the employ of Mr Middleton, he was engaged by Mr John Dooley, for whom he worked seven years for Mr Dooloy leaving Waimate, and his brother, Mr P. Dooley, taking over the business, his services were retained, and here he continued to work up to within a few weeks of his demise. During the seventeen years Mr Cleary resided in Waimate his good acts, charitable nature, neighborly friendship, and unostentatious bearing won for him the admiration of all who had the pleasure of his acquaintance. ...
Timaru Herald, 7 July 1896, Page 2 William CLOSE
It is with deep regret that we have to chronicle the death of one of the earliest settlers m the Fairlie district, Mr William Close, who died in Dunedin Hospital on 30th June, after undergoing an operation performed a few days previously. Mr Close was an old colonist having been on the West Coast in the early days. He came to Fairlie, in 1875, and in partnership with Mr C. Wederell opened the first hotel in Fairlie, and afterwards opened the first general store there. In connection with prospecting for gold in Mackenzie Country he will be long remembered. For the past nine or ten years he has spent a few months each year on the ranges at Sherwood Downs and Clayton, looking for the precious metal, and although he did not up to his death find gold in payable quantities, yet the specimens he did find warrant a more thorough search. For his pluck single-handed in following this matter so far the public owe him a debt of gratitude. The sudden and unexpected death of such a genial and respected resident has caused genuine and widespread regret throughout the whole district. Mr Close, who was 51 years of age, was a native of Leeds, in the North of England, and leaves a widow and seven children to mourn his death.
Press, 11 November 1935, Page 12 MR ARTHUR COLES
GERALDINE, November 9. Geraldine lost one of its oldest residents this week through the death of Mr Arthur Coles, who was in his ninety-first year. Born in Oxfordshire, England, on November 10, 1844, Mr Coles came to Now Zealand in August, 1874 and settled in Geraldine. Shortly after his arrival, he bought a property in Healey street, where he built his home. His first work was on the construction of the railway between Timaru and Ashburton, and later, he contracted for fences and roadmaking. He then purchased a chaff-cutter and carried out this class of work throughout the district. Later he started in business in Geraldine as a seed merchant and grain-buyer, and retired from business about 11 years ago. Mr Coles was a keen member of the Anglican Church. He did not engage in many public activities, but was one of the most highly respected residents of the district. Mr Coles was twice married, both his wives having died. He is survived by a daughter. Mrs Booker, of Christchurch, and a son, Mr W. A. Coles, of Geraldine.
Press, 11 November 1935, Page 12 MR G. L. COLLINS
TEMUKA, November 10. The death occurred at the Timaru Hospital of Mr George L. Collins, an old resident of Temuka, who for many years had taken a keen interest in the sporting and social organisations of the town. Mr Collins was a son of Mr Isaac Collins, and was born in Temuka in 1873, and had lived in the district all his life. He received his education at the Temuka District High School, and after leaving school he learned the trade of a wheelwright, for many years following that occupation in the employ of Mr A. C. Watson. Later he started business on his own account, and continued in that line of business till within a few weeks of his death. In his younger days he was an enthusiastic member of the Temuka Rifle Volunteer Company, and also a member of the old Temuka Brass Band. In the early days of volunteering Mr Collins was one of the crack rifle shots on the Temuka rifle range, and was a prominent member of the Temuka Football Club. When the present Temuka Municipal Band set up a management committee, Mr Collins was elected a representative of the citizens. Being an early member of the Temuka Caledonian Society, he always took a prominent part in the management of the Boxing Day sports. By his death the Temuka Bowling Club loses one of its outstanding players. In 1914-15 he won the South Canterbury singles championship. For many years he held a position on the staff of the South Canterbury Picture Company. At the time of his death he was a member of the Winchester Masonic Lodge and also of the Lily of Temuka Druids' Lodge. He married Miss Alice May Swaney, of Hitlon, in 1899, who survives him, together with two daughters. Misses Rene and Hazel Collins, and one son, Mr Stewart Collins, all of whom Jive m Temuka. The funeral took place at the Temuka public cemetery. Among those present, were; brethren from the Winchester and St. George Masonic Lodge (Temuka) members of the Lily of Temuka Druids' Lodge, and officals and members of the Caledonian Society, the Mayor and councillors, and representatives of several of the sporting organisations of the town.
Ashburton Guardian, 16 October 1916, Page 4
MR W. H. COLLINS
The news of the sudden death of Mr W. H. Collins on Saturday afternoon was received with very deep regret by a very large circle of friends in Ashburton and in the County. The deceased was confined to his bed on Tuesday last, having contracted pneumonia, which resulted in his death. The late Mr Collins was born in Wendrun, Cornwall, England, in 1846. After leaving school he learned the engineering trade at Redruth. At the age of 19 years he sailed for New Zealand in the ship Glenmark and on his arrival at Timaru he followed his profession. In a short time a boom in gold-mining took place on the West Coast, and Mr Collins, with his brother, carried their swags over the ranges to Ross, where they stayed for three years. Mr Collins then returned to Timaru, and commenced business as a sawmiller in Waimate and Timaru districts, both on his own account and later with partners. He arrived in Ashburton 38 years ago to take charge of a timber business owned by Mr Hayes of Waimate. The business was afterwards transferred to Mr McCallum, timber merchant and ironmonger, and Mr Collins later acquired it...
Timaru Herald, 17 October 1916, Page 2 MR .W. H. COLLINS
Very deep regret was felt throughout Ashburton on Saturday, when the death of Mr W. H. Collins, a prominent resident, was announced, after a brief illness. Ho was born in Wendrun, Cornwall, England, in 1846, and having learned engineering at Redruth, set out for New Zealand at the age of 19 years in the ship Glenmark. He landed at Timaru, and was engaged here engineering for a short time, when he left for the Otago goldfields. When the West Coast mining boom commenced he, with his brother, tramped from Otago over the ranges to Ross, carrying his swag, returning at the end of three years. Having an extensive knowledge of sawmill machinery, he commenced business in Waimate and Timaru. Mr Collins represented the Ashburton district on the Education Board, Christchurch, for a number of years. He was also a valued member of the Technical School Board, High School Board, and Patriotic Committee, being one of the trustees of the Wounded Soldiers' Fund. He was Mayor of Ashburton from 1900 to 1902, and was a borough councillor for a number of years previous to becoming Mayor. He leaves a wife, three sons, and three daughters, one of his sons having been killed in action in France in July last. One of the daughters is Mrs Herbert Holdgate, of Timaru.
Press, 14 June 1935, Page 14 MR ASHLEY G. COOPER
The death occurred on Wednesday after a brief illness, of Mr Ashley Griffith Cooper, public accountant, of Christchurch. Born in Timaru. Born in the year 1870, Mr Cooper was the eldest son of Mr Charles Edward Cooper, who was the first Collector of Customs at Timaru. Completing his education at the Timaru Boys' High School, Mr Ashley Cooper took up the profession of accountancy, and when the New Zealand Society of Accountant was incorporated in 1908, he was one of the foundation members and he was still an active member at the time of his death. He was well known for his kindly disposition and happy nature. He is survived by his widow (nee Ellen Frances Mayne), one daughter, Mrs C. G. M. Boyce, of Christchurch, and two sons, Mr A. Ashley Cooper, of Christchurch, and Mr Selwyn A. Cooper, of Fairlie.
New Zealand Tablet, 21 June 1900, Page 15
Mr. THOMAS CORKERY, GERALDINE.
Many people in this district (says the Temuka Leader) will hear with regret of the death of Mr. Thomas Corkery, who was widely known both in North and South Canterbury, and especially in Geraldine, where he had resided off and on for the past 25 years. The deceased was present at the last Geraldine live stock sale apparently in his usual state of health, and last Saturday he went to Christchurch to undergo an operation as he was suffering from an abscess in the ear. The operation, it appears, was unsuccessful, for the relatives of the deceased were shocked at receiving a telegram from Christchurch informing them of his death on June 12. Much sympathy is felt for Mr. and Mrs. E. Burke and family in their trouble. The deceased was very popular with all who had the pleasure of his acquaintance. The late Mr. Corkery was a brother of Mrs. E. Burke. R.I.P.
Press, 9 June 1928, Page 5
Temuka. About nine o 'clock on Thursday evening Dr. Henry Morris Cowen died at his residence, King street. On Wednesday Dr. Cowen was in Timaru on business, and during the evening he sat with his two sons before the fire, retiring, about nine o'clock. Early on Thursday morning he was awakened by one of the boys, who said he thought someone was at the front door. Dr. Cowen went to the door, and, returning, told the boys to go to sleep, himself getting into bed again. As he did not rise at his usual hour, his housekeeper, knowing him to be indisposed, did not call him. About 11 o'clock, however, she entered his room and, failing to rouse him, summoned Dr. Scannell, who pronounced him to be sinking from heart failure. He did not regain consciousness, but died about 9 p.m. The late Dr. Cowen was well known in Wellington, but prior to taking up a practice in that city he had been a medical officer in Canadian Pacific ships. Subsequently he had a post under the Colonial Office in the Tongan group, which he relinquished in 1915. On coming to New Zealand he accepted a position as captain in the New Zealand Medical Corps at Featherston, and in England during the war. Later he entered into practice in Wellington, and for health reasons came to Temuka about three years ago.
Press, 19 August 1935, Page 12 James CRAIGIE
By the death of Mr James Craigie, which occurred at his home, "Craigielea," Kingsdown, South Canterbury loses one of its best-known residents, and Timaru one of its greatest public benefactors. A successful business man, Mr Craigie also had an outstanding public career, having been Mayor of Timaru, chairman of the Timaru Harbour Board, and a member of the South Canterbury Hospital Board, besides which he was member of Parliament for Timaru from 1908 to 1922, later being called, to the Upper House, from which he retired in 1929 after seven years' service. Except for occasional visits to Britain, Mr Craigie had lived continuously in South Canterbury for more than 60 years, during which time he had seen the district make great strides and Timaru grow from a very small town to its present position of importance. Born in Perthshire, Scotland, in 1851, James Craigie came to New Zealand with his parents, landing from a sailing ship [Glenmark] at Lyttelton when 15 or 16 years of age [in 1867]. Coming to Christchurch and later going to Timaru with his parents, he subsequently went on to Dunedin, where he was apprenticed to a firm of painters and paperhangers. On his return to Timaru at the age of 21, he founded the firm of Craigie's with which he was associated till his death. After being chairman of the Kingsdown School Committee for some years, Mr Craigie was elected to a seat on the South Canterbury Hospital Board, a position which he held for eight years. On taking his seat on the Timaru Harbour Board in 1907, he was appointed chairman the same day, retaining the position for four years, when he voluntarily withdrew because of added public calls on his time. During his chairmanship the progressive policy pursued by successive boards was begun and important works were put in hand to add to the safety and to the accommodation of the harbour. For many years he was a member of the Timaru Borough Council, on which he sat for only a few months before being elected Mayor, holding that office for 10 years and declining further nomination because of urgent demands on his time in other ways. His occupancy of the mayoral chair was marked by greater municipal activity than had characterised any period of the previous history of the borough. In 1905, Mr Craigie inaugurated a scheme for a municipal library in keeping with the importance of the town. He approached Mr Andrew Carnegie, the American multi-millionaire, who agreed to give £3000 toward the erection of a building and in June, 1908, Mr Craigie laid the foundation stone of the block of buildings in which the library is now accommodated. Later, when the accommodation of the library was found to be inadequate, he again got in touch with Mr Carnegie, who gave another £1500, and the improvements thus enabled to be undertaken were carried out shortly afterwards. During Mr Craigie's mayoralty, the present substantial block of buildings housing the municipal offices was erected. It was necessary to seek the authority of the ratepayers for the required money, but thanks to Mr Craigie's organisation the necessary amount was forthcoming. The land on which the chambers stand was also acquired during his occupancy of the mayoral chair. An extensive policy of roading, kerbing, and channelling was carried out under his jurisdiction and in Timaru park an important scheme of improvements was completed. Also the borough water supply was greatly extended. Mr Craigie was quick to realise the great potentialities of electricity, and he was not long in office before he decided that an improvement in the lighting of the streets was necessary. The result was that the borough entered into a contract with Messrs Scott Brothers, of Christchurch, by which the council acquired the firm's power house, in consequence of which the lighting of streets, shops, and residences was greatly improved. He was also an early advocate of the policy of introducing hydro-electricity to South Canterbury, and obtained a ministerial promise that supplies from Coleridge would be sold in Timaru and Christchurch at one price, Mr Craigie was among the earliest to realise the possibilities of Carolina Bay. When the harbour extensions resulted in the formation of the bay he interested himself in the beautifying of the seaside, making it additionally attractive to visitors. During his mayoralty the Borough Council raised a loan of £2500 to carry out reclamation work, and he took an active part in collecting the money for the erection of the band rotunda and other buildings on the bay. He played an important part in various patriotic movements marking the history of South Canterbury. He was a liberal giver and took a keen interest in those who went from South Canterbury on active service. The returned soldiers always regarded him as a friend. As a private citizen Mr Craigie displayed great generosity. The statue of Robert Burns, which stands at the entrance to the park was one of his treasured gifts to the town, another being Craigie avenue, consisting of 60 chains of beautiful trees. He founded the art gallery and was its most generous patron. He was also the donor of the chiming bells which for many years were hung in the post office, afterwards being removed to the tower in the municipal buildings. Mr Craigie was a well-known public lecturer on literary subjects and his addresses on Burns in various parts of the Dominion caused him to be regarded as the first authority of the national poet of Scotland in the Dominion. He had an almost equally extensive knowledge of the writings of Shakespeare, Byron, Emerson, and others, besides a profound knowledge of the Bible. He was a member of Lodge of St. John, No. 1137, E.C. (Masonic), his membership extending over 50 years, which was marked last year by the presentation of a jewel to him. Mr Craigie is survived by his widow, a son, Mr A. O. Craigie (Wellington), and six daughters, Mrs J. Glass (Timaru), Mrs W. Coulson (Wellington), Mrs R. Fildes (Wellington), Mrs E. Hume (Kingsdown), Mrs R. Kennedy (Tahora, Taranaki), and Mrs J. Bartholomew (Kingsdown).
Colonist, 26 May 1906, Page 4 James Field Crawford (1815 -1906) [b.
Steeple Aston, Oxfordshire, England]
Oamaru, May 25. Captain J. F. Crawford, aged 91, died yesterday. He came to the Colony in 1868, and was three years manager of the old Christchurch Brewery Company. Subsequently he was Harbormaster at Timaru, where he built the first breakwater. He was also Mayor. He settled in this district thirty years ago, being the first wharf master here. He entered the railway Service, and received the Appointment of stationmaster at Hampden in the seventies.
Taranaki Herald, 26 May 1906, p 5
Captain J. F. Crawford, aged 90, died at Oamaru on Thursday. He came to the colony in 1868. He was for three years manager of the old Christchurch Brewery Company, and subsequently harbourmaster at Timaru, where he built the first breakwater. He was also Mayor of Timaru. He settled in Oamaru thirty years ago, being first wharf master there. He entered the railway service and held an appointment as stationmaster at Hampden in the seventies.
Press, 18 December 1931, Page 4
The death occurred on Wednesday evening, after a brief illness, of a highly respected and popular Timaru business man, Mr Timothy Cronin, aged 68. A native of Ireland, Mr. Cronin was born in Cullen, County Cork, in 1863. He came to New Zealand at the age of twelve, and for two years attended the Temuka school. On leaving, he was employed with his uncles, the late John and William Fitzgerald, of Arowhenua, on contracting work for a number of years. About thirty years ago Mr Cronin entered business on his own account as an insurance representative, and actively carried on until a few weeks ago, when illness compelled him to undergo an operation from the effects of which, he did not recover. Mr Cronin was a prominent worker in the interests of the Sacred Heart parish, to which he devoted considerable energy. He leaves a widow, a son, Mr Patrick Cronin, and three daughters, Mrs Corcoran and Misses Ann and Eileen Cronin.
Press, 20 May 1927, Page 16
Mr Sampson David, who met his death as the result of a railway accident in Timaru on Tuesday night, was born in Montrose, Scotland, in 1851. He arrived in New Zealand in the Crusader in 1378, although prior to that he had made several trips to this country. Mr David settled in Lyttelton, and whilst there was engaged in business in partnership with a Mr Grubb. Later he relinquished business to take up a position in the Railway Department as inspector of bridges. In the performance of his official duties he travelled throughout both Islands, but later he was engaged as bridge inspector for South Canterbury from Tinwald to the Waitaki. Mr David was a resident of Timaru for the past 22 years, and retired on superannuation in September, 1919. He married In 1879 a daughter of a former stationmaster at Lyttelton, Mr Thomas Bradley, and brought up a family of three sons and three daughters, a son having been killed in the Great War. Mr David was a charter member of the Manchester Unity Lodge, Lyttelton, and was also for several years president of. the South Canterbury Carpenters' Union. He was universally popular and esteemed throughout the Dominion. He leaves a widow, three daughters, and two sons.
Press, 11 October 1928, Page 9 Mr Charles DASH
The death occurred on Tuesday evening of Mr Charles Dash, manager of the South Canterbury Power Board, at his residence in Rolleston street Mr Dash had not been feeling well but had attended the monthly meeting of the Power Board on Tuesday, and conducted the business as usual. He left for his home about 4 o'clock in the afternoon and appeared to be quite all right, until between 8 and 9 o'clock when he became worse and died before the doctor, who had been called, arrived. Several months ago Mr Dash met with a serious motor accident, and it is thought that this accident undermined his general health. Deceased, who was born in Essex was a son of the late Mr John Dash! He came to New Zealand with his parents in 1867 when he was eight years of age. He was educated in Waimate, and in his early twenties he went to Australia, but returned a year later. On his return he set up in business in Waimate, until for health reasons he was compelled to seek a different occupation. He studied accountancy, and became Town Clerk of Waimate, following which he was Town Clerk of Sumner, and later Town Manager at Rangiora. His next appointment was as manager of the South Canterbury Power Board, a position he has held since the inception of the Board. The late Mr. Dash married Miss Lindsay, of Dunedin, by whom he is survived. He is also survived by a son and a daughter.
Press, 20 May 1927, Page 16 Mr Sampson DAVID
Mr Sampson David, who met his death as the result of a railway accident in Timaru on Tuesday night, was born in Montrose, Scotland, in 1851. He arrived in New Zealand in the Crusader in 1878, although prior to that he had made several trips to this country. Mr David settled in Lyttelton, and whilst there was engaged in business in partnership with a Mr Grubb. Later he relinquished business to take up a position in the Railway Department as inspector of bridges. In the performance of his official duties he travelled throughout both Islands, but later he was engaged as bridge inspector for South Canterbury from Tinwald to the Waitaki. Mr David was a resident of Timaru for the past 22 years, and retired on superannuation in September, 1919. He married In 1879 a daughter of a former stationmaster at Lyttelton, Mr Thomas Bradley, and brought up a family of three sons and three daughters, a son having been killed in the Great War. Mr David was a charter member of the Manchester Unity Lodge, Lyttelton, and was also for several years president of. the South Canterbury Carpenters' Union. He was universally popular and esteemed throughout the Dominion. He leaves a widow, three daughters, and two sons.
Evening Post, 27 November 1945, Page 8
The death has occurred in Wanganui of Mr. Ivan Davidson, of Timaru, who lived for many years in Wellington. On leaving school, Mr. Davidson joined the staff of Murray, Roberts, and Co., Ltd., and he served with this firm for 48 years, being appointed Wanganui manager in 1925. Mr. Davidson was a former chairman of the Wanganui Wool Brokers' Association and the Manawatu and West Coast Live Stock Auctioneers' Association. He saw active service in the South African War. For some years while in Wellington he was an active member of the Star Boating Club. His wife predeceased him two years ago. Mrs. R. C. Millward, New Plymouth, is a daughter.
Timaru Herald, 25 January 1909, Page 6 MR JOHN DEAN
One of the old identities of South Canterbury, who occupied a place of honour in the leading car in the jubilee procession on the 14th inst., as one of the oldest, Mr John Dean, died at Geraldine on Thursday, just a week after the celebration. It was observed when he was in Timaru that he looked very aged and frail. The deceased arrived at Lyttelton in 1851 and came to Timaru in 1852, under engagement to Mr G. joining his brother Mr Joseph Dean, who came down in 1851. After working on the Levels for four or five years the brothers went sheen farming on their own account in North Canterbury for some years, and then returning to South Canterbury they settled John at Geraldine, Joseph at Woodbury. The deceased was a quiet unassuming man, well thought of by all who knew him. He leaves a widow, five sons and two daughters.
Bush Advocate, 11 September 1905, Page
Wellington, this day. Rev. Wm. John Dean, Primitive Methodist Minister, who had been stationed in various parts of the colony, including Auckland, Invercargill, Timaru, and Geraldine, aged 80. He arrived in the colony in 1867.
Press, 2 December 1933, Page 8
The death occurred yesterday morning of Mr B. A. de Lautour, at his residence, Victoria street, Timaru. Mr de Lautour was for some years a music teacher in Timaru. He was the eldest son of the late Dr. B. T. de Lautour of Dunedin. He is survived by a widow and grown-up family.
Otago Witness 4 December 1901, Page 21
New Zealand Tablet, 5 December 1901, Page 15
Timaru papers record the death of an old identity in the person of Mr Thos. Dillon Deceased had resided in Timaru for 33 years and was widely known. He came to the colony from America, landing at Port Chalmers, and was for some years engaged it driving sheep from Otago to the Mackenzie Country. He was in in 59th year.
Timaru Herald, 2 December 1916, Page 15 Mr ROBERT
On Thursday morning there passed away at his residence, Hunt Street, Timaru, one of the pioneers of South Canterbury in the person of Mr Robert Donn at the age of 80 years. The late Mr Donn, who was a native of' Caithness-shire, Scotland, followed in his early days farming arid fishing pursuits. He arrived in Lyttelton by the ship Indiana in 1857. Shortly after his arrival he drove a conveyance from Christchurch to Timaru, and he was probably one of the first persons in New Zealand to undertake this journey. For some time he was engaged in stock droving in the Mackenzie Country and Central Otago. Later on he joined the surveying staff of Mr S. Hewlings (the first Mayor of Timaru), and assisted to lay out the town of Timaru, which at that time was practically a wilderness. He carried out a similar work at Oamaru and Waimate, and then took up farming. His first farm was in the Woodlands and was located where the Timaru Girls' High School now stands. Later on, Mr Donn took up a farm at Temuka, which he worked for some time, and then returned to Timaru in 1882, where he remained until his death. The late Mr Donn was an enthusiastic Oddfellow, having been for 50 years a member of the Order. He was for some years an elder of Trinity Church, Timaru, and he was also a member of the Timaru Scottish, Society being for some years treasurer. In 1863 Mr Donn married Miss Jessie Craigie. Eleven children were born of the marriage, six sons and five daughters, all of whom are living. He is survived by his widow, his children, 29 grandchildren, and several grandchildren.
Timaru Herald, 5 June 1909, Page 6
News has been received of the death of Mr J. F. Douglas, of Darling Downs, New South Wales. The deceased was the son and successor of the original owner of Waihao Downs station, for some years chairman of the Waimate County Council and president of the Waimate A. and P. Association, and for a short time a resident of Timaru selling Waihao Downs to Mr Richards. He was a very popular man in the Waimate county and borough, and the news of his death has been received with great regret. He leaves a widow and two daughters.
Timaru Herald, 1 July 1909, Page 2 John Fleming Douglas
Mr R.H. Rhodes, chairman of the Waimate County Council said Our late chairman was a New Zealander, and obtained his earlier education in Oamaru, subsequently going Home to finish his education in Glasgow, where, in view of his future career as a farmer he underwent a course of training in veterinary science. To what, use he put this knowledge afterwards many of his farmer friends can testify, the Waihao Downs becoming a recognised hospital for stock, where advice, and help were willingly giver gratuitously. In 1892, Mr Douglas came out and took charge of the Waihao Downs for his father. He married a daughter of the late Mr John Rankin, and the great hospitality and kindness of Mr and Mrs Douglas gave the Waihao Downs a permanent place in the hearts of their many friends, my own amongst others. Mr Douglas was elected a member for the Waihao Riding in 1898, and shortly afterwards became chairman, which office he held until he severed his connection with the Council some four years after wards. Some of the present members will remember him in this capacity. He was a keen and active member of the Waimate A. and P. Society's Committee, also a regular exhibitor of horses and Border Leicesters, of which he was a prominent breeder in this district. He was also chairman of the local Farmers' Union and did good service in promoting the of the farming community. He was also mainly, instrumental in obtaining and maintaining the public school, and telephone service at Waihao Downs, and for years ran the public mail coach at own expense between Waimate and Waihao Downs.
Timaru Herald, 29 December 1898, Page 2
Mr J. F. Douglas, of Waiho Downs, was the victim of a nasty accident on Saturday last. He was riding his bicycle with a long rope in his hands when, the end of the rope became entangled around the chain, with the result that Mr Douglas was thrown heavily on the road and his right arm broken above the elbow. Dr Barclay attended to the injury.
Press, 4 October 1927, Page 5
The death occurred on Saturday in the Timaru Hospital of Mr James P. Douglas, a very old and respected resident of the Temuka district. The late Mr Douglas was born in Ballydorn, Ireland, about 86 years ago, and arrived in New Zealand in the ship Gallant Oak in 1564. He obtained employment in the Christchurch district. A year after his arrival he was married to Miss Elizabeth Gibson, of Christchurch. For a time he was engaged in hotelkeeping, and was licensee, at different times of the Garrick and White Hart hotels. After selling out, he bought a property at Ellesmere, which he farmed very successfully, but a J this time his wife died, leaving three young children. Later on he married Miss Eliza Cousin. He disposed of- his farm at Ellesmere, and returned to Christchurch for a few years, and then ho came south, and was for a time in the Temuka and Geraldine districts engaged in his trade of engineer; He was afterwards 011 the Midland railway for a period of 13 years, and about 20 years ago he came to Temuka, where he has lived practically a retired life ever since. He leaves a widow and eleven children, who are as follows: Mrs T. Washington (Temuka), Mr S. Douglas (Temuka), Mr J. Douglas (Temuka), Mr James Douglas (Auckland), Mrs Johnson (Oxford), Mrs T. Washington (West Coast), Mr W. Douglas (Khandallah), Mrs Swanston (Christchurch), Mrs Collins (Christchurch), Mrs J. Fisher (Temuka), Mr R. Douglas (Christchurch). There are 45 grandchildren and 20 great-grandchildren. The late Mr Douglas was a staunch supporter of the Presbyterian Church.
Press, 14 May 1894, Page 2 THE LATE MR W. DU MOULIN.
We have to record the death of Mr William du Moulin, a well-known and respected resident of Rangiora, who had attained over the age of three score and ten. In 1823 at seven years of age, the deceased gentleman went out to Sydney with his father, who was surgeon to one of the regiments. As he grew up Mr du Moulin visited the many goldfields, and after a varied experience he came to Canterbury in 1853. Becoming acquainted with Mr Alfred Cox that gentleman engaged Mr du Moulin to select land for him. He left Christchurch with a bullock dray, and after seven weeks crossing the Plains he name to Geraldine and selected the Raukapuka station, of which he became manager. Mr du Moulin was also afterwards manager at Racecourse Hill station, and subsequently Lochinvar. Whilst at this station there was a severe snow storm, which snowed all hands in for three months. He became manager of St. Helen's in Amuri district, and in 1871 retired to a less active life in Rangiora, where, with his wife, daughter and two sons, who lament his death. Mr du Moulin was a man of considerable intelligence and shrewdness and generally respected by all who knew him.
Press, 7 February 1920, Page 8 MR JOB EARL in his
Sixty-eight years ago, Mr Job Earl, who was then a young man of 20, arrived in Melbourne from his native place in the County of Wexford, Ireland, attracted to the goldfields, and later on he came to New Zealand, and at Gabriel's Gully, at the Coromandel, and on the Nelson gold fields he continued his search for gold. In the district between Nelson and the West Coast he, took up contracts, but fifty years ago he bought land at Kakahu, near Geraldine, and entered upon farming pursuits. In their latest home, Mr and Mrs Earl brought up their family, and won the esteem of all their neighbours. About three years ago Mr Earl lost his wife, whom he married in Victoria. This week he himself passed away at his Kakahu residence. He leaves three sons, Messrs William, R., and J. Earl, and eight daughters—Mesdames J. Kennedy, P. Lysaght, C. Lysaght, A. Lysaght, F. Charles, T. Charles, H. McShane, and P. O'Connor.
Observer, 21 February 1920, Page 10
In the year 1852 there landed at Melbourne amongst the searchers for gold, a young Irishman from County Wexford, Mr. Job Earl, who was then twenty years of age, and during his residence in Victoria was married. Some time later he came to New Zealand, and was attracted in turn to Gabriel's Gully, to the Coromandel, and to the Nelson goldfields. Fifty years ago he visited South Canterbury, and bought land at Kakahu, near Geraldine, and, utilising the knowledge he had gained in his earlier days, he became a successful farmer. Mrs. Earl predeceased her husband by about three years, and within the past few days Mr. Earl has joined the great majority while in his eighty-ninth year. He has left three sons and eight daughters. In 1872 married Augusta Hart who died in 1894. Lived at Orari and Winchester.
Press, 29 December 1933, Page 10 MR JOHN ELDER
Mr John Elder, who died at his residence, "Stormount,"' Mount Grey, on Tuesday, was born in Fifeshire, Scotland, in 1853, being brought up on his father's farm. He had experience for two years in a legal office, but then devoted his attention to farming. In 1830 he arrived in Lyttelton by the ship Norfolk, and was for four years on Clydevale Station, Otago, the property of the New Zealand Land Company. For seven years subsequently he was agricultural manager of the Waihao Downs Station. In 1899, Mr Elder took up a grazing run of 4000 acres on the Hunter range, Timaru, which he farmed for 12 years. Later he went to Kaikoura, and acquired the Waipapa property, farming it successfully for many years. On his retirement, owing to ill-health, he lived for a time in Christchurch, and later settled in Amberley. His death followed a short illness. He is survived by his widow, two sons. Messrs R. M. Elder (Temuka), and J. Elder (Amberley), and four daughters, Mrs A. V. Baker (Culverden), Mrs A. J. McDowall (Greymouth), Mrs W. Squire (Timaru), and Miss L. Elder (Amberley).
Alfred William Ensor died at Temuka. Born in 1843, being the third son of the Rev. Edmund Ensor, Vicar of Rollesby, in Norfolk. He came to NZ by the barque Mersey, landing at Lyttelton in Sept. 1861. Lived at Orari and Winchester. married Miss Augusta Hart in 1872. She died in 1894. He leaves three sons, Messr Ensor (principal X-ray expert in Pretoria Hospital), Leonard Ensor of Pendle Hill, and Charles Ensor -North Island; and three daughters Mrs C. Blathwayt (Winchester). Mrs Pemberton (Clandeboye), and Mrs William Eichbaum (Timaru). Burial service at St. John's Winchester, and the Temuka cemetery being read by the vicar of the parish. Has two brothers: Edmund and Charles.
Star 23 February 1901, Page 8 MR CHARLES
A very wide circle of friends, extending far beyond the province in which the deceased gentleman spent the greater part of his life, will regret to hear of the death of Mr Charles Ensor, which, occurred at Mount Grey, yesterday. Mr Ensor was born at Rollesby, in Norfolksbire, in 1842, and after receiving a liberal education, at Embury College, came to New Zealand, in the ship William Mills, in 1861. Shortly after his arrival he took up a sheep run at Burkes Pass, which he named Rollesby, after his Norfolk birthplace. He remained there for about ten years, and after disposing of the property confined his attention to smaller farming operations until he secured the Mount Grey Station, in the Balcairn district. Here he devoted himself with great zeal to the development of the estate, and soon succeeded in making it one of the most attractive properties in North Canterbury. When he had achieved this he turned his attention to other departments of business, and about twenty-five years ago, in conjunction with a number of other pastoralists and agriculturalists, established the New Zealand Farmers Co-operative Association. He had since devoted the major part of his attention to this institution, and the success it has obtained is largely due to his untiring efforts in the interests of the shareholders. Mr Ensor also achieved a colonial reputation as a breeder of merino sheep, and representatives of his stud stock have been, successful at most of the principal agricultural shows in the colony. He always took a deep interest in public questions, but found himself too much occupied with other matters to take an active part in politics. He was an enthusiastic cricketer, and in his early days an excellent player, and while at Mount Grey did a great deal to encourage any form of wholesome recreation among the young people of the district. He was extremely popular among his neighbours, and highly esteemed by the farmers throughout the length and breadth of Canterbury. He leaves a widow, three sons and two daughters. The funeral will take place at 2.30 p.m., on Monday, at Balcairn.
Press, 8 August 1932, Page 8
A pioneer settler in New Zealand, Mr John Frederick Ericson, died at his home, Le Cren street, Timaru, on Friday, at the advanced age of 90. He was a native of Schleswig-Holstein. He went to sea at an early age. After leaving the sea he lived in Adelaide, and later came to New Zealand, arriving on the West Coast prior to 1863, and before the great gold rush. Mr Ericson was known as "Fred the boatman," as he used to operate the ferry across the Grey river in the days, before the Cobden bridge was dreamt of. "Fred the boatman" was intimate with the Et. Hon. Richard J. Seddon. Lighthouse keeping was then Mr Ericson's next calling, and he held the position at Cape Foulwind, Farewell Spit, and Puysegnr Point. He was a man wrapped up in his family, and his cosmopolitan and broad outlook on life were among his chief characteristics. The funeral took place yesterday afternoon.
North Otago Times, 18 April 1917, Page 2
Christchurch. April 17. The Rev. P. W. Fairclough, a well known Methodist minister, died tonight. He went into a private hospital on Saturday to undergo an operation for gall stones, The operation was very successful, and Mr Fairclough promised to make n good recovery; but to-day he was seized with heart failure which resulted in death. The Rev. P. W. Fairclough, F.R.A.S., came to New Zealand from Victoria when a boy, followed gold-mining of the West Coast for some years, and became a member of the, Methodist Church at Stafford, eight miles from Hokitika, where he was then mining. When about seventeen years of age he to preach in that mining town. After some years of study he was duly received into the ministry, and in 1874 went to his which was Timaru. He had thus been forty-three years in the active work of the ministry, and intended retiring at the end of the present year. ...He leaves a widow, one daughter and three sons.
New Zealand Tablet, 12 October 1888, Page 31 Thomas FARRELL
In our obituary column is announced the Death of Mr. Thomas Farrell, at his residence the Winchester Hotel, late of Carnew, County Wicklow; aged 37 years, late proprietor of the Winchester Hotel. - Requiescat in pace.
Mr. Farrell came to the Colony some thirteen years ago, and having settled in the Geraldine district as a farmer became proprietor of the Bush Inn, which he conducted for three years. Removing to the more populous part of the township, he soon became landlord of the Crown Hotel, where he established himself a popular and genial host. Here Death removed from him his first wife (the eldest daughter of Mr. Thomas Connelly, of Winchester) whose loss caused him to relinquish business for a time. He then took a trip to the Old Country where he spent a sojourn of some twelve months. Having re-established himself in business once more as landlord of the Crown, which, jointly with his brother, he now acquired by purchase, he married his second wife, who happily survives him. About twelve months ago he entered into possession of the Winchester Hotel, which he was carrying on at the time of his Death. His illness was comparatively short, only two months having elapsed from the first symptoms till the fatal hoar. He was attended from week to week by the good and pious Father Fauvel, whose spiritual consolation was all the more cheering from the fact that the earnest and zealous pastor had recognised in his penitent, one who had frequently served at Mass for him in years gone by, when junior acolytes were limited in number. Father Bowers, too, made frequent friendly visits to his late parishioner, so that spiritually his wants were fully attended to Dr. Hayes, of Temuka, was also constant in his attendance, but from the first gave but little hopes of ultimate recovery. The funeral which took place on Sunday, the 30th, was the largest ever seen in the district, being attended by friends for many miles around The procession, which included 80 vehicles and 110 horsemen besides a mate number on foot, was over a mile long. The interment took place at Temuka, alongside the grave of his first wife. The coffin was carried from the church to the grave by pall-bearers, relatives of the deceased, the "De Profundis" having been chanted in the church by the Rev. Father Fauvel, who completed the burial service at the grave. Mr Farrell, was a warm-hearted and generous Irishman, a staunch patron. He was a shrewd far-seeing business man. His widow and three children have the sympathy of a large circle of friends by whom their departed bread winner was well known and respected --RIP
Taranaki Herald, 31 August 1904, Page 4
Timaru, August 30. A cable from Sydney advises the death of Father L. Fauvel, parish priest at Temuka for about 25 years. He was previously a missionary in Fiji for ten years, till his health broke down under hardships and hard fare. He built the fine stone church at Temuka and another at Pleasant Point, and established convent schools in both places under the Josephine nuns. He was very greatly respected at Temuka. He had been in failing health for some time, and was visiting Australia to recuperate. He was a native of Normandy, France, and 71 years of age.
Taranaki Herald, 4 August 1908, Page 7
A Wellington telegram announces that the Hon. Henry Feldwick, M.L.C., died there last evening. The deceased legislator had taken part in the political life of New Zealand almost continuously since 1878. In that year he was elected to the House of Representatives as member for Invercargill. He again represented this constituency from 1882 to 1884. In 1892 he was called to the Legislative Council by the Seddon Ministry. Mr Feldwick was born at Norwood, Surrey, England, in 1844. He arrived in Canterbury with his parents in 1858 and for a time was occupied with them in farming at Kaiapoi. He then became engaged in journalism, and was on the staffs of the Lyttelton Times, Timaru Herald, and Canterbury Times. In 1876 he removed to Invercargill, becoming part proprietor of the Southland Daily News. For twenty-two years Mr Feldwick was in the volunteer forces. In 1900 he received the V.D. In 1903 he retired with the rank of colonel.
Press, 30 July 1927, Page 6 [Mary Ann Batterby married James
Findlay in 1873]
The death occurred at Spreydon on Thursday or a pioneer of the Temuka district in the person of Mr Findlay. The late Mr Findlay was born in Scotland 77 years ago, and with his father, came to New Zealand by the ship Mermaid in 1862, landing at Lyttelton. They immediately came to Temuka and settled, When in his prime, the late Mr Findlay took an active part in the affairs of the town, and was a member of the Town before Temuka became a borough, He joined the Volunteers in 1869, and held the commission of lieutenant from 1874 until his retirement in 1896, when he was placed on the honorary unattached list. He was an enthusiastic Mason, being one of the very early, if not one of the foundation members of Lodge St. George, rising to the position of W.M. He married Miss Mary Batterby, a daughter of the late Mr John Batterby, of Temuka, in 1874. He is survived by a widow and two children- Mrs E. L. Scott (Spreydon), and Mr Albert Findlay (Temuka). His oldest son, James, died about a few ago.
Evening Post, 28 January 1944, Page 3
The death has occurred in Hamilton, of Mr. Albert Ernest Firman, aged 69. Mr. Firman was born in Christchurch and joined the Railway Department as a youth. He became stationmaster at Nelson and he retired when he was stationmaster at Timaru. Mr. Firman served with the New Zealand Expeditionary Force in, the Great War, rising to the rank of captain. He served for a considerable period with the Army of Occupation in Germany. Mr. Firman was a member of the Masonic Lodge. Before going to Hamilton he lived at Lower Hutt. Mr. Firman is survived by his wife and a family of three, Mr. J. Firman, of Oamaru, Mrs. L. Styles, of Te Horo, and Mrs B. H. Wood, of Hamilton.
Colonist, 8 June 1904, Page 3
Timaru, June 7, Mr G. G. Fitzgerald died in the Hospital here this morning, aged 70. He was well-known in journalistic circles, and was editor of the Timaru "Herald" since 1885. He was at one time member for Westland, and in the early days occupied the position of Warden and Magistrate at Hokitika. He was a brother of the late Controller-General.
New Zealand Tablet, 3 November 1904, Page 19
MR. MICHAEL FITZGERALD, Timaru October 31. Mr. Michael Fitzgerald, one of the old Canterbury pioneers, passed away at his residence, Church street, on Thursday last, after a long illness, in his 64th year. He died fortified by all the Rites of Holy Church, of which he had always been a practical and devoted member. The funeral took place yesterday afternoon, and was one of the largest that has left our parish church for many years, many friends being present from as far north as Geraldine and as far south as Waimate, the representative attendance showing the esteem and respect in which the deceased was held. He was one of the founders of the Hibernian Society in this district, and despite the threatening state of the weather the members turned out some 80 strong, and marched before the hearse, the officers acting as pall-bearers. Mr. Fitzgerald was a native of the parish of Cullen, County Cork, Ireland, and left the Old Land for the Colonies in 1858. He first visited the goldfields and then spent some time in Christchurch and Geraldine, and finally settled in Timaru, starting business as a nurseryman. He did most of the forestry work for the Mackenzie county Council, and other South Canterbury public bodies, in fact the future forests of this district were planted under his direction. He always evinced the keenest interest in parish matters and was for many years a member of the Catholic school committee. He leaves a widow, two sons, and four daughters to mourn their loss , also two brothers, Mr. M. Fitzgerald, J.P., Arowhenua, and Mr. W. Fitzgerald, Dirrah Farm, Pleasant Point Road.— R.I.P.
River Argus, 22 September 1911, Page 6
OBITUARY. F. R. FLATMAN.
Timaru. Sept. 21. F. R. Flatman, ex-M.H.R. for Geraldine, died to-day. He was a very old settler in the district, arriving in 1862. He was sawmilling and storekeeping from 1865 to 1892, subsequently farming, and represented Geraldine in four Parliaments. He served on most of the local bodies including the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works and the Timaru Harbour Board.
Evening Post, 22 September 1911, Page 7
The late Mr. F. R. Flatman, ex-member of the House of Representative for Geraldine, whose death was reported yesterday, was a native of Suffolk, England, and was educated at High School House, Oulton. He came out to New Zealand in 1862 as a passenger in the ship Mary Ann, for Lyttelton. In South Canterbury Mr Flatman, after storekeeping and sawmilling, went farming. For nineteen years he was a member of the South Canterbury Board of Works, and for eight years served on the Timaru Harbour Board. He belonged to the first Geraldine Lodge, of Freemasons. He defeated Mr. A. E. G. Rhodes for the Pareora seat in Parliament in 1893. In 1896 the name of the electorate was altered to Geraldine, when Mr. Flatman again beat Mr. Rhodes. He was returned in 1899 and in 1902, but was beaten on the second ballot in 1908 by Mr. Nosworthy. In 1906 he was Deputy-Chairman of Committee in the House.
Otago Witness, 27 November 1907, Page 33
Mrs Flatman, wife of the member for Geraldine, is recovering from the severe operation she underwent last week. Mr Flatman is still in Geraldine, and may not be able to return to the House before the close of the session.
Press, 22 September 1911, Page 8
The late Mr Flatman resided at "Summerlea," about four miles from Geraldine, where he had a farm of close on 1000 acres. He was born in the county of Suffolk, England, in 1843, educated at High House School, Oulton, and was brought up to farming on his father's farm, where he remained till he left for New Zealand in 1862, when he came out by the "Mary Ann" to Lyttelton. Shortly after his arrival he went to South Canterbury, and was on Mr Cox's station for some months.
Timaru Herald, 22 September 1911, Page 2
Mr F. R. FLATMAN. In the northern side of South Canterbury no man has been more widely known, more respected for his straightforward character or better liked for his genial disposition than Mr Frederick Robert Flatman, therefore the news of his death circulated yesterday was received with very great regret, lessoned somewhat perhaps by the knowledge that he had been seriously ill for some time past. Latterly his health had become more and more unsatisfactory; on Tuesday an attack of general paralysis hastened the end, which occurred at 11.45 a.m. yesterday, at the house of his son, at his farm at Woodbury.
Mr Flatman had led a busy and useful life in the district. A native of Suffolk, born in 1843, brought up on his father's farm, he came to New Zealand in 1862, a youth of 19, and began his colonial experience on Sir Alfred Cox's Rankapaka station. At that time Geraldine scarcely existed as a town. The fine bush which then covered the northern face of the downs was almost wholly preserved by the owners, and Pleasant Valley, on the opposite side of the downs, was the busier place and contained more inhabitants. Alter spending a year or two at Raukapaka. Mr Flatman opened a small store in Geraldine, but a few months later entered into partnership with Mr Robt. Taylor in a sawmilling venture at Woodbury. The Woodbury bush was then a magnificent block of timber, and Messrs Taylor and Flatman's steam sawmill situated at the eastern end of it hummed and whirred for many years; a village was planned, laid out, and occupied by the mill hands; Messrs Taylor and Flatman added a store, the provincial Government provided a school and mail, Mr John Mundell a coach service, and Woodbury was given a place on the map thanks mainly to the business initiated by Messrs Taylor and Flatman, and later competed in by other sawmillers. From the profits of sawmilling the firm bought land and carried on farming also, until the bush was worked out, and the partnership was dissolved in 1892. Mr Flatman then devoted himself to his farm when at home. For many years previous to that date he had been a member of various local bodies, including that sub-provincial Council, the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, whose substantially built office still bears its original title, though devoted now to various Government departments, opposite Ballantyne's. He was for many years a member of the Harbour Board, and longer still a member of the Geraldine Road Board. On relinquishing the sawmilling business, Mr Flatman had more time to spare for public duties, and his wide acquaintance with local affairs and with the people of the district, and the respect in which he was held for his business capacity, integrity and bonhomnne, suggested to his friends that he would make a good Member of the House of Representatives for his electorate (then called Pareora). He consented to stand and was elected in 1893, defeating Mr A. E. G. Rhodes. He was returned again in 1896, 1899, 1902 and 1905, and in 1908 was defeated by Mr Nosworthy. Mr Flatman was a useful member of House Committees, and served on several Royal Commissions, and was appointed on one or more since he ceased to be a Member of the House. As a Member he was a supporter of No-License legislation, and this question was made much of in some of the elections for Geraldine Of late years, until recently when his health began to fail, he resided in Geraldine, and became a member of the Borough Council and Mayor of the Borough. Only a week or two ago Mr Flatman was elected a member of the Geraldine County Council in a contest with another old settler and well-known public man, in succession to the late Mr Alex. Kelman.
The late Mr Flatman was a popular man among his neighbours, as he was always genial and kindly, and Flatman was in this respect a particularly good help meet. Both were noted for their hospitality in the days when hospitality was the rule in upcountry places. His widow, son and daughter (Mrs Williams, Ashburton), will have the sincere sympathy of a very wide circle of friends, made through nearly half a century's residence in the Geraldine-Woodbury district.
AN APPRECIATION. Mr John Mundell, who was a very old friend of the late Mr Flatman. Mr Flatman was a man who hold strong opinions on the subject of right and wrong; he was a devout churchman, and always did what ho believed to be right no matter at what cost. For instance he became an ardent prohibitionist, and no sooner was he convinced that this was the right thing than he closed the hotel which he had at that time at Woodbury. He was a good business man, but never pushed a bargain so as to get the last penny for himself. He believed in the principle of live and let live, and acted up to it. In politics, too, he had a very desirable trait in that he never entertained bitterness towards an opponent. Taken all through, the late Mr Flatman was a man in the best sense of the word, and his death would mean a distinct loss to the district.
Timaru Herald, 13 September 1920, Page 3 MR M. FOLEY
Many Waimate people were sorry to hear of the death of Mr Maurice ("Moss Foley", son of Mr and Mrs J. Foley, of Douglas Settlement, which occurred after a brief illness illness. He had long suffered weakness, but was able to afford pleasure to others with his violin, especially in the playing of dance music. Ten or twelve years ago, when learning the violin under Miss Sinclair, he was a member of the Waimate Orchestra when Rev. Father Aubry was conductor.
Timaru Herald, 24 November 1896, Page 3 Dr FOSTER
The Christchurch papers announce the death of Dr Foster, which took place on Sunday morning, at his residence at Sumner.. The deceased gentleman had attained his seventy-ninth year. The following obituary notice, is taken from the Lyttelton Times Dr Foster's connection with Canterbury dates from 1864, in which year he arrived at Lyttelton in the ship Mystery. Previous to that he had lived an energetic and eventful life in England, where he took a very prominent part in the movement for the liberation of religion from State patronage and "control." He was born, it should be stated, at Cambridge, and took his degree of D.C.L. at the University, of London. ... In 1881 he went to South Canterbury. He returned to Christchurch six years afterwards, and for the last two years resided at Sumner. While in England Dr Foster wrote several works in connection with the movement in which he took such a prominent part. In New Zealand he wrote a handbook of the practice of the Supreme Court of the colony. He had been in feeble health for a considerable time, but the immediate cause of death was an attack of pneumonia. Buried Linwood.
Press, 25 August 1932, Page 6
Mr Donald Fraser, who died at Pareora West at the age of 88, was born at Stratherick, Inverness, Scotland in 1844. As a young man he received an appointment with the Falkland Island Company, where he remained for six years engaged in shepherding and cattle work. He came to New Zealand in 1879 and obtained employment on the "Rugged Ridges" station, where he stayed for several years. From thence he went to Timaru, where he obtained a position with Mr Edward Elworthy as head shepherd on "Holme" Station, which position he held for many years. After leaving there he bought a farm at Pareora West, where he lived up to the time of his death. Mr Fraser was married to Miss Clara Brown, who died 31 years ago. Ho leaves one son and two daughters—Mr Donald Fraser (Pareora West), Mrs Blaekmore (Cannington), and Mrs Ivey (Mount Somers).
Timaru Herald, 17 April 1893, Page 2 Mr John FRASER
We publish this morning the funeral notice of the late Mr John Fraser. Mr Fraser was one of the earliest settlers in South Canterbury, and was well and favourably known by a large circle of friends. He landed in Nelson from one of the first ships to the colonies in 1841, and after a stay there of about ten years went to Marlborough, and then on to South Canterbury. He was among the first to settle in the Mackenzie Country, he and his son being principally interested in the Mount Cook, Black Forest and Braemar stations. The old gentleman had lively experiences in those early days, and had seen the district become settled, the railway built to Point, Albury and Fairlie, and the district he had made his home in become one of the most sought after from a traveller's point of view in the colony; On leaving the Mackenzie Country some time ago, Mr Fraser settled at Pleasant Point, being principally engaged in cattle dealing. It is in the cemetery at this township that his remains will be laid to rest this afternoon.
Press, 25 August 1932, Page 6
Mr Donald Fraser, who died at Pareora West at the age of 88, was born at Stratherick, Inverness, Scotland in 1844. As a young man he received an appointment with the Falkland Island Company, where he remained for six years engaged in shepherding and cattle work. He came to New Zealand in 1879 and obtained employment on the "Rugged Ridges" station, where he stayed for several years. From thence he went to Timaru, where he obtained a position with Mr Edward Elworthy as head shepherd on "Holme" Station, which position he held for many years. After leaving there he bought a farm at Pareora West, where he lived up to the time of his death. Mr Fraser was married to Miss Clara Brown, who died 31 years ago. He leaves one son and two daughters— Mr Donald Fraser (Pareora West), Mrs Blaekmore (Caunington), and Mrs Ivey (Mount Somers).
Auckland Star, 1 October 1928, Page 10
MR. HUGO FRIEDLANDER. The death occurred to-day at his residence, Remuera, of Mr. Hugo Friedlander, well known in business and horse-racing circles. Mr. Friedlander arrived in New Zealand from Kolmar, in Prussia, as a lad in 1869, and was employed with a firm of grain merchants in Temuka, who recognising his ability in a few months started him in a branch business at Ashburton. Some years later he took over this business in conjunction with his brothers, Rudolph and Mav, and it became one of the largest grain agencies in New Zealand. Early in the 'seventies Mr. Friedlander met with an accident through a sack of wheat bursting and causing a stack to slip. Prior to that time he was one of the smartest amateur horsemen in the district, and always had a great love for horses. Among the horses he raced successfully were.: —Gladisla, Kamo, Rose Shield, Cyrus, Ropa, Kelburn, Gladstone, Kilmarnock, and Ardenvhor (who won the New Zealand Cup in 1916). One of Mr. Friedlander's horses, The Lover, was successful at the Pakuranga Hunt Club meeting on Saturday. For many years Mr. Friedlander was & member of the Lyttelton Harbour Board
Grey River Argus 12 July 1911, Page 6
Timaru July 1. A pioneer farmer, named Michael Gabaney, of Arowhenua, died to-day aged 75 years. He was a native of Derbyshire and came to New Zealand 58 years ago. He worked for Rhodes at the Levels for some years. He was the first to drive a horse team to the Mackenzie Country and first to put a plough into the Levels plain. He brought up a very large family.
Evening Post, 29 November 1941, Page 11
Timaru, November 28. After a serious illness, the death occurred today of Mr. T. B. Garrick, a prominent sheep farmer of Totara Valley. A bachelor, the late Mr: Garrick was elected to the Levels County Council in 1904 and had been chairman since 1924. He was elected to the Timaru Harbour Board in 1919 and was chairman from 1935 to 1937. He was a member of No. 15 District Highways Council since its inception and a director of the Canterbury Farmers' Cooperative Association Limited for a great many years.
Grey River Argus, 9 July 1912, Page 6
Timaru, July 8. Mr T. Gildman, for 30 years accountant to the New Zealand, Loan Co., and who retired on pension two years ago, died suddenly yesterday.
Press, 18 December 1923, Page 11
MR. M. J. GODBY. The death occurred in London on Friday of Mr Michael John Godby, a former resident of Timaru and father of Mr M. H. Godby, of Christchurch. The late Mr Godby, who came to New Zealand in the seventies and practised as a solicitor in Timaru till 1887, had been resident in London for the past twenty years. He was 74 years of age and is survived by two sons and three daughters: Mr M. H. Godby (Christchurch), Flying Officer Robert Godby (Umbala, India), Mrs P. R. Croft (Ware, Hertfordshire), Mrs W.G. Sharrock (Lytham, Lancashire), and Miss Joan Godby (London).
Ashburton Guardian, 11 May 1909, Page 1
Timaru, May 10. Mr John Goldie, senior, a highly respected farmer, of Totara Valley, died on Sunday, aged eighty-one. He had been twenty years m the district, and was a valued member of the A. and P. Association and an elder of the church.
Timaru Herald, 11 May 1909
JOHN GOLDIE, SENR. At his son's residence, Totara Valley, on Sunday morning, Mr John Goldie, senr., who had attained the ripe age of 81 years, passed peacefully away. Mr Goldie was born in Ayrshire in 1828. He came to New Zealand at the age of 30 and landed in Auckland in 1858. A year later he removed to Otago, and successfully carried on farming in the Moeraki district. In 1874 he revisited his native land, and on returning lived for a while in Timaru. In 1879 he resumed farming at Washdyke, and after being there ten years, he bought a farm at Totara Valley, where he has resided since in the home of his only son. The late Mr Goldie had spent 20 years in this district, and was widely-known and highly respected. Mr Goldie was a valued member of the Timaru Agricultural and Pastoral Association, and his services were, frequently availed of by kindred Associations, as a. judge of Ayrshire cattle and draught horses. He was an elder in Pleasant Point Presbyterian Church, and when he resided at Seadown he held the same position in Trinity Church under the Rev. Wm. Gillies. Of a kind and gentle disposition Mr had a wide circle of friends, and his death has left a gap that will not soon be filled. His wife predeceased him by about twenty years, and he leaves an only son to mourn his loss, and receive the sympathy of the people of the district. A memorial service will he conducted by the Rev. George King in the Totara Church next Sunday.
Grey River Argus 14 October 1911, Page 6
Timaru. Oct. 13. John E. Goodwin, one of the earliest farmers of the Fairlie District, who has taken much interest in the progress of the town and the conveniences of the townspeople and a member of the Timaru Harbour Board died to-day, aged 56.
Wanganui Herald, 4 October 1900, Page 2
Timaru, October 3. An old resident, about 80 years of age, William Gosling, was killed last evening. He was out driving, when the horse bolted, and in turning a corner sharply Gosling was thrown out. His head struck a telephone post, badly fracturing the bones of the forehead and face. He lived only a few minutes.
Star 3 October 1900, Page 3 FATAL ACCIDENT TO AN EARLY SETTLER.
Timaru, Oct. 3. The late Mr Gosling, the victim of the fatal accident yesterday, was a native of Cheshire, and was born on April 13, 1820. He was an engineer by profession, and owned large engineering works at Macclesfield. He arrived in New Zealand in the Randolph, one of the first four ships, accompanied by his wife and two or three young children. He spent two years in Lyttelton, and then removed to Christchurch, where he carried on an engineering business. In 1863 he bought the freehold property near Temuka, which is now Mr Guild's farm, Trevenna. In 1874 he sold out and purchased Coonoor, west of Timaru, where he resided until a few years ago, when he retired to Timaru. In his prime he took much interest in public affairs. He was a member of the Provincial Council for Geraldine, and a member of the local Road Boards and other bodies. He always took an interest in horses, and at one time owned some well-known racehorses. His wife died nine years ago, alter being a worthy helpmeet for nearly fifty years. His surviving children are one son, Charles, a farmer at the Levels, and five daughters, Mrs Reid, a widow, three others married, Mrs Haskins, wife of the Town. Clerk at Christchurch, Mrs C. M. Smith, of Wai-iti, and Mrs Saunders, wife of the Clerk to the Levels County Council. His youngest daughter is unmarried. [Clementina married Charles Michael Smith in 1878.]
Timaru Herald, 5 April 1916, Page 4 MR A. P.
Yesterday morning there passed peacefully away at his residence, Elisabeth Street, Archibald Peacock Grant, in his seventy-fifth year. The late Mr Grant came to New Zealand about 1862, and first settled in Blenheim. After some time he went to Hakataramea, and finally settled in Duntroon, most of his time being devoted to the pastoral industry. He was a well-built robust man, and was a typical stamp of the early pioneer. Apart from school committees, he did not take active part in public affairs, he being of a quiet and retiring nature. Some seven years ago he came to Timaru, and made his home in Elizabeth Street. His son, the late Major Grant, was one of the first New Zealanders killed at the war. Mr Grant leaves a widow and three sons. W. S. Grant, of Grant and Seaton, Timaru, Archie Grant, of Melbourne. P. E. Grant, now in Egypt, and five daughters, Mrs H. Donn, Port Chalmers, Mrs W. Quirk, Excelsior Hotel, Timaru, Mrs C Henchcliff, Duntroon and two daughters unmarried, to mourn their loss.
Press, 13 August 1934, Page 12 MR L. GRANT
The Heath occurred on Saturday of an old pioneer. Mr L. Grant, of 138 Leinster road, St. Albans. Mr Giant was born at Rhymore, Inverness shire. Scotland, in 1844, and came to New Zealand in the ship Indian Empire, landing at Lyttelton in 1864. He spent a short period in the Prebbleton district, and after a visit to Dunedin took up farming in South Canterbury. He was the fist settler to take up land on the Orari Flat, near Geraldine. He married Miss Anne Clarke in 1872, and later was, chiefly instrumental in securing a school for the families of the later settlers of his district. He canvassed for and obtained sufficient funds to purchase land for a school ground, which was then handed over to the Education Department. He was elected chairman of the first school committee and re-elected during the five following years. He also interested himself in the dairy industry, being a member of the first directorate of the Geraldine Dairy Factory. He was on many occasion a member of county council and road board committees. After leaving the Geraldine district, Mr Grant farmed for a few years at Seadown, near Timaru, and later purchased a farm at Waiau in the Culverden district. He retired from this farm and took up his residence in Christchurch in 1920. Mr and Mrs Grant celebrated their golden wedding in March 1922, and their diamond wedding in 1932. He is survived by a widow and the following members of the family: Messrs J. Grant (Dunedin), C A. Grant (Palmerston North), R. G. Grant (Rangiora), and Mesdames G. Candy (Timaru), S. Nicole (Wellington), K Ayrton (Christchurch), F. Breekon (Auckland), and 22 grandchildren.
Star 3 September 1912, Page 1 MR PETER GRANT
Timaru, September 2. The death occurred yesterday of Mr Peter Grant, who belonged to a family which is very well known in South Canterbury. Mr Peter Grant was the first member of the family to come to New Zealand, taking a position with Mr T. H. Lance at Horsley Down, North Canterbury, in the early days of the settlement. He liked the country so much that he induced Mr William Grant and Mr Andrew Grant, his brothers, to follow him to New Zealand. After spending some years in North Canterbury Mr Peter Grant settled in Ashburton, where he was occupied as a dealer for many years.
Press, 13 August 1928, Page 8 MR WILLIAM JAMES GRANT
The death occurred on August 2nd of Mr William James Grant; eldest son of Mr and Mrs Lewis Grant,. 138 Leinster road, He was the first European child born on the Orari Flat, and was 53 years of age. After finishing his school career, he worked on his father's farm at Geraldine and also at Washdyke. In 1900 Mr W. Grant and Mr Jack Grant bought the Premier Cycle Works from Lucas Brothers, and commenced business at 18 Victoria street, Christchurch. This they carried on successfully, and a branch was opened in Stafford street, Timaru, in 1903. The Christchurch business was sold out about 1910 to Mr Wm. Oldman, of Waiau. Following this, Mr Wm. Grant took over his brother Jack's interest, in Timaru, carrying on successfully until the time of his death. He married Winifred, third daughter of Mr and Mrs McArthur, Papanui, on June 24th 1914. He leaves a widow and six children to mourn their loss.
Timaru Herald, 31 August 1916, Page 11 MR R. GRIGG
Mr R. Grigg, for many years past a, well known and much respected farmer in the Pareora district, passed away at his home, Otipua, on Monday. Mr Grigg was born at St. Columb Major, Cornwall, on May 26, 1837. He left Liverpool for Australia in the s.s. Phoenix which arrived at Hobson's Bay, Victoria, after a passage of 127 days. The diggings at' Goiden Gully and Friar's Creek were visited, and he was afterwards at Moonlight Flat, Forest Creek, and Cast'ernaine. In 1856 he went to Whits Hill, Bendigo, and was on the diggings at Crooked and Snowy Rivers in Gippsland in 1860. He next came over to New Zealand to visit Gabriel's Gully in Otago, but returned to Sydney the same year to attend the Lachlan rush. In 1862 he returned to New Zealand for the Dunstan rush, and followed goldmining till 1865 when he went to the Old Country. There he was married in 1872 and left Liverpool the same year for America. He was in Pennsylvania for three years and then left for Virginia City, Nevada, where he was for two years engaged in silver mining in the Six Mile Canyon. He returned to England in 1877, and the same year he left Plymouth for Timaru in the s.s. Opawa. accompanied by his wife and two children. For some time after his arrival here Mr Grigg was employed on the Timaru breakwater. He afterwards took up farming in the Pareora district in 1890, and followed this occupation successfully up to the time of his death. Two sons and a daughter have predeceased him, and he leaves a widow and two daughters (Mrs C. H. Besley, of Melbourne, and Miss Grigg). Mr Grigg and his family were kind and well beloved neighbours.
Press, 20 June 1934, Page 6
The death has occurred of Mr Charles Groves, of 8 Gibson street, Timaru. Born in Christchurch 73 years ago, Mr Groves came to Timaru in his early boyhood. He was educated in the old school opposite the drill shed, before the Main School was built, and resided and worked in Geraldine for some years. In 1909 he joined the staff at the Timaru Gardens and retired in 1926. He was a keen horticulturist. In 1894 he married Miss J. Annan, and is survived by his widow and seven children: Mr Richard Groves (Foxton), Mrs T. Mallett (Tangwiakau), Mrs Williams (Oamaru). Mrs; Whittaker (Oamaru), Mr Charles Groves, Miss Janet Groves, and Miss Isabella Groves (Timaru). The funeral was held yesterday, the services at the graveside and at the house being conducted by the Rev. E Llywelyn Williams of Chalmers Church. The bearers were Messrs R. Smith, J. G. Duncan, J. McLean, and B. Williams.
Press, 17 August 1938, Page 7 MR M. GUDEX
[Jane McCully married Michael Gudex in 1884]]
Through the death of Mr M. Gudex, of Temuka, yesterday, in his ninety third year, the small band of surviving pioneers has been further reduced. Mr Gudex landed at Lyttelton in 1867, and after working in the Fairview district, near Timaru, he settled at Raincliff in 1873. Having made a farm out of the land covered by manuka and cabbage-tree, he retired to Timaru in 1903. In a few years he started farming again, buying part of the Hayhurst estate at Temuka. At the age of 76. Mr Gudex retired once more, and lived in Temuka, devoting his attention to his garden, vinery, and books. He leaves two children, Mr M. C. Gudex, of Hamilton, and Mrs A. D. Crossman, of Milford.
Press, 21 June 1932, Page 2 MRS JANE GUDEX
The death occurred recently of Mrs Jane Gudex., wife of Mr Michael Gudex, of Temuka. Mrs Gudex was a keen member of the Temuka Women's Division of the Farmers' Union and theo Presbyterian Church. Born in 1856 at Newtonards, County Down, Ireland, Mrs Gudex came to New Zealand in 1880 in the ship Elizabeth Graham, the journey out taking 122 days. Immediately on arrival she went to Raincliff to act as housekeeper for her brother, Mr William McCully, and in 1884 married Mr Gudex, who was farming at Raincliff. In 1903 Mr and Mrs Gudex retired from farm life and went to live in Timaru, but in 1910 they purchased a farm at Milford, Temuka, from which they retired a few years ago to live in Temuka. Of a cheerful and kindly disposition Mrs Gudex had many friends. She is survived by one daughter and a son, Mrs A D. Crossman, of Milford [Albert Dennis Crossman married married Anna Elizabeth Gudex in 1918], and Mr M. C. Gudex (Hamilton) [Michael Christian married Emilie Isabella Sinclair in 1911]
Timaru Herald, 13 August 1914, Page 7 MR JAMES GUILD
After an illness extending over some months Mr James Guild, of "Travenna," Temuka, passed away yesterday. He had attained a good age, being in his 78th year. Mr Guild was born in Perthshire in 1836, and after being educated at Greig and MacNeil's Academy he was brought, up to farming. He came out to New Zealand in the ship Mystery in 1859, landing at Lyttelton. His first engagement was as manager of the Kaituna and Ahuriri stations a position which he filled for eleven years. He then bought land out at Springston, and then at Ohoka. After holding this for some years and improving it, he sold it to the late Mr Isaac Wilson, of Kaiapoi. He next purchased the " Trevenna" estate near Temuka, from Mr John Greig, and has Jived on it ever since. By draining and working the land to the best advantage he improved its productive capacity to a very great extent until to-day it is known as one the best farms in South Canterbury. When in North Canterbury Mr Guild gave up a good deal of his time to-public affairs, but since coming to Temuka his big holding occupied most of his attention. He was a very successful breeder of stock and was a valued judge of cattle, particularly Shorthorns at A. and P. Shows. The deceased leaves a wife, and a family of four grown up children: The funeral will take place to-day.
Former Presbyterian church hall, 49 Halley Tce. Temuka. To the Glory of God and in memory of James Guild, 'Trevenna' The building was erected by his family 1916. Dec. 2009. The nearby church was demolished March 2012
In memory of Troopers William Gibb Monahan aged 19 and six months [NoK Hugh Monahan, Temuka]
and David William L. Roddick aged 22 years late members of this a Sabbath School and also members of the seventh New Zealand Contingent killed in action at Langverwacht, Bothasberg, S. Africa Feb 22nd 1902. [NoK Mrs H. B. Roddick, Burkett Street, Temuka]
James RODDICK married Helen Brown in
1870 Annie Bain . george William Higginbotton in 1891
1872 Sarah Hill m. William King in 1896
1879 David William Langmuir
1881 Joseph Alexander Gallie m. Elsie Emily Marion Storey in 1907
1884 Walter m. Alice Ethel Wakefield in 1906
Timaru Herald, 6 December 1916, Page 5 GUILD MEMORIAL SCHOOL.
On Monday evening a concert and presentation was held in the new Presbyterian Sunday School. The Rev. C. MacDonald presided over a very large attendance. The concert was given by Mr Purcell Webb and party from Timaru, and was a great treat, almost every item being encored. During an interval, the Rev. MacDonald, after mentioning with regret that Mrs Guild was not well enough to be present, and that Lieutenant Guild and Private M. Guild could not be present as they were serving their country, expressed the warmest thanks of the Presbyterian Church and Sabbath School to Mrs Guild and family for their magnificent gift of the building, they were in for Sunday school work, and as a memorial to the late Mr James Guild. Mr Andrew Guild replied in fitting terms. Mr S. Cain delivered a short address, and then Mr Bust presented Mrs Isaac Smith, widow of their late superintendent, with a substantial cheque and a handsome framed teachers' certificate, Mr J Smith having been connected with the school for 38 years. Mr Horace Smith in a neat little speech replied, on behalf of his mother. After the concert, refreshments provided by the ladies were dispensed, and the evening concluded with the singing off the National Anthem.
North Otago Times, 18 December 1914, Page 4
One of Timaru's most valued citizens has passed away in person of Mr. William Gunn, who died on Wednesday afternoon after an illness extending over six weeks. Mr Gunn was widely known New Zealand, and his demise at the age of 61 years will be deeply, deplored. Born in 1850 at Helmsdale, Sutherlandshire, Scotland, the late Mr Gunn came to New Zealand as a young man to an elder brother in Dunedin. He learnt his business as a chemist in the north of Scotland and in Edinburgh. From Dunedin Mr Gunn came on to Timaru and started business here as a chemist, buying out a Mr Thomson, whose shop adjoined the Theatre Royal buildings. Some years later Mr Gunn went to America to study dentistry at the University of Pennsylvania and there he obtained his degree as doctor of dental surgery. On returning to Timaru he practised his profession for some years until his eldest son, Dr. W.A. Gunn, dental surgeon, returning from America and took over the practice. On retiring Mr. Gunn went to Australia for an extended holiday, after which he returned here and has since lived in retirement. Always taking a keen interest in sport the late Mr Gunn will be missed by several sports bodies in South Canterbury, notably the South Canterbury Jockey Club, The Timaru Bowling Club, Timaru Golf Club and the South Canterbury Caledonian Society. The last named institution he helped found and was president of it for some years... Mr Gunn was a live member of the Timaru Bowling Club and was one of the original members of the Timaru Golf Club. For a time he served on the Timaru Borough Council. He was the proprietor of the Timaru Theatre Royal as well as of Olympia. Besides these two big buildings Mr Gunn had some other property and was one of the biggest rate payers in Timaru.
Dr. W. A. Gunn, dentist, Timaru
Dr Gordon Gunn, dentist, of Watford, England
Mr Jack Gun, of Queensland
Dr. Elizabeth Gunn, of Wellington
and Missses Nellie and Alice Gunn.
Timaru Herald, 24 January 1920, Page 14 Mr. Robert GUTHRIE
Quite unexpected by his friends, the death occurred, in Timaru yesterday morning of Mr Robert Guthrie, one of the pioneers of the Mackenzie Country, who for the past few years had lived retired in Timaru. Latterly he had been unwell, and had spent some weeks at Lake Pukaki in the Mackenzie Country, from which place he returned to Timaru about ten days ago. He appeared to be improving in health, but this week an operation was deemed necessary. He underwent this, but passed away yesterday morning, in his sixty-fourth year. Born in Ayrshire, of Scotch parents, Mr Guthrie was essentially a hill country man, and it is probably safe to say that there was never in the Mackenzie Country (where he spent the greater part of his life) a more capable man for dealing with sheep in the mountain fastnesses or in times of snowstorm. Possessed of an intense love of Nature, he was never so happy as when at work in the wilds of the Mackenzie, and he was a recognised authority on the pastoral industry in all its branches. He was one of the first to see the possiiblities of closer settlement in the Mackenzie Country, and he worked aggressively and not unsuccessfully for it. After a university education, Mr. Guthrie's parents intended him for the law, and he was articled in Edinburgh to this profession. But he found that the indoor life did not suit him, and for a time he travelled, going first to Canada, and later to the Malay Archipelago. Returning to Scotland, he came out to New Zealand in 1876, in the ship Corlic with eleven others who paid their own passage money, and on arriving here they each received a grant of land from the Government. Subsequent Mr Guthrie went to Australia, but he returned to New Zealand and took employment on the Wolds Station. After remaining there four years he was appointed to manage Blainslie Station, in the, Albury district. His next appointment was as manager of Mistake Station, in the Mackenzie, for Mr John Rutherford. This was a run of 80,000 acres, and Mr Guthrie managed it successfully for ten years. In 1893 he took up run of his own, known, as Airies, at Burkes Pass, and lived this till be sold it a few years ago. Subsequently he acquired the Mount Nessing homestead block, which he farmed till his retirement. He was a first-class man among sheep, and made a success of everything be undertook in connection, with them. Possessed of a strong personality, Mr Guthrie was a very able man, and he did his share of public work. For many years he was a member of the Burkes Pass School Committee, of the Mackenzie County Council, the Mackenzie Caledonian Society (to him there was no music like that of the pipes), and of the Mackenzie A. and P. Society. Since coming to live in Timaru he was one of the most enthusiastic members of the South Canterbury Development League, in which be took a keen interest, for be always held the firm conviction that there were great possibilities before South Canterbury. He took a very real interest in politics and all matters pertaining to the welfare of the district and was a frequent contributor to the Press. Mr Guthrie married Miss Rolleston in 1880. and they had a family of seven sons and three daughters, four of the sons served at the war where they were all were wounded. Mr Guthrie had in contemplation a trip Home, where he many relatives, one of his brothers being president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. The funeral will take place at 2 p.m. to-morrow, at the Timaru Cemetery.
Press, 2 March 1928, Page 6
By the death of Mr William Hally, the Temuka district has lost one who had gained the confidence of a large section of the community. Mr Hally was born at Waitohi in 1870, and educated in Temuka. For some years he was with the Massey Harris Company in Timaru and later lie was promoted to the position of manager at Invercargill. About this time he married Margaret, third daughter of the late Mr Michael Gaffaney, of Arowhenua. He was only in Invercargill about twelve months when he removed to Temuka and commenced business as a cycle agent, and a few years later he entered the motor trade. Until quite recently Mr Hally had taken no active part in public life, but in August last took a seat on the Temuka Borough Council. He had been ill since November. He is survived by a widow and one son. The funeral took place yesterday morning, there being a large and representative gathering of all sections of the community. The service at the graveside was conducted by the Rev. Father Hartley, S.M. The pall-bearers were Messrs T. Hally, James, Joseph, and Peter Gaffaney, J. Quinlan, and F. O'Neil.
Temuka Leader 1 March 1928 Page 3
By the death of Mr William James Hally, of Temuka, the district has lost one of its most highly respected residents, and one who had in an unostentatious way done a area deal to further the interests of the district which had known him sine., his birth. Mr Hally was the eldest son of the late Mr Daniel Hally, of Waitohi, who was born in County Tipperary, Ireland, in 1836. This pioneer of the Waitohi district landed in Melbourne in 1860 from the ship “Champion of the Seas," and crossed the Tasman Sea m the early days of the Gabriel’s Gully gold diggings, and later visited various gold mining centres in the South Isand. After re-visiting Victoria, he returned to New Zealand, and, in 1861, purchased and immediately settle on the farm so long associated with his name. It was here that Mr William J. Hally was born in 1870. All the members of the Hally family continued to work on the farm until William was 23 years of age, preferring a commercial life. He joined the how well-known Massey Harris Company of manufacturers at Timaru, as traveller, and was subsequently transferred to Southland. Later, he was promoted to the position of manager of the Invercargill branch of m Massey-Harris Company, and proved himself thoroughly successful in this responsible position. About the time he married Margaret, the third daughter of late Mr Michael Gaffaney of “Belper Farm", Arowhenua. After being in Invercargill for twelve months, Mr and Mrs Hally removed to Temuka, the former entering into business as a cycle agent here. A few years later when motor cars were coming on the market Mr Hally was appointed agent for the Ford car in this district, and it is worthy of note that he was the first Ford agent in the South Island, and this agency is now the oldest in the South Island. Mr Hally’s business grew rapidly, and is one of the best Ford service stations in the Dominion, outside the principal centres. Deceased is survived by a widow and one son, Mr Albert Hally, who will continue the business so ably carried on by his late father. Deceased’s mother, who is now 80 years of age, is still alive.
Timaru Herald, 19 June 1916, Page 3 MR JOHN HAMILTON
An old resident of Timaru, one who did much useful work here, died at Wanganui last week. This was Mr John Hamilton, who had attained the advanced age of 83 years. The deceased came to Timaru over 40 years ago, and was a member of the firm of Hamilton and Olivers, builders. He had to do with a number of the biggest buildings in Timaru, after which he became Clerk of Works to the Timaru Harbour Board, and superintended much of the first break-water construction work. Mr Hamilton was a staunch Presbyterian, being a member of Trinity Church, and he also took a, very real interest in local and Dominion politics. He was a man whom to know was to respect, and when he left here for Wanganui, he left behind him a lot of friends. [A family of one son (Mr J. M. Hamilton, who is now at the front) and three daughters are left to mourn their loss. Cable advice was received on. Saturday that Sergeant J. H. Hamilton (son of the above) was killed in action on June 5th. The deceased leaves a widow and an infant daughter a few days old.]
Press, 28 June 1923, Page 4
There passed away, on Monday Mr. William Gourlay Hamilton, son of Mr and Mrs Alex G. Hamilton, of College road, Timaru, after a very short illness. The late Mr Hamilton, who was twenty years of age, was a popular young man. He had recently been promoted to the position of cashier of Messrs Dalgety and Company, Ltd., and was at business on Saturday morning. Pnoumonia, following on a severe cold, overtook him on Saturday night, and he died on Monday. The funeral took place yesterday afternoon, and was one of, the most largely-attended; in Timaru for many years for so young a man. Practically all the business houses and athletic bodies in the town were represented, also the Defence Department. Mr Hamilton's death came as a great shock, but it was a matter of consolation to his parents and relatives that the high, esteem that he had engendered in the minds and hearts of all with whom he came into contact was so markedly shown. A very large number of wreaths were placed on the grave in respectful tribute. Out of respect flags were flown at half-mast at the Y.M.O.A. and Dalgety's on Tuesday and yesterday.
Press, 27 November 1933, Page 3 MR W. M. HAMILTON
The death occurred early yesterday morning of Mr William Milne Hamilton, a member of the legal firm of Raymond, Stringer, Hamilton, and Donnelly. Mr Hamilton was born at Geelong, Victoria, in 1861, and was the only son of Mr W. S. Hamilton, one of the first masters at Wellington College, where he received a large part of his education. He studied for the law, and in 1888 began practise on his own account at Waimate, where he later took Mr S. I. Fitch into partnership. In 1916 he left Waimate for Christchurch, becoming a member of the firm now known as Raymond, Stringer, Hamilton, and Donnelly, though retaining his connexion with Hamilton and Fitch, of Waimate. Although he did not appear very much in court work, Mr Hamilton had a considerable reputation as one of the old type of scholarly lawyer, being particularly known for the depth and breadth of his legal knowledge, and for his keen sense of legal propriety. He was at one time president of the Canterbury Law Society. Mr Hamilton was always interested in educational matters, and at Waimate was chairman of the school committee, and later of the High School Board. For many years he was a member, and also chairman, of the South Canterbury Education Board, which was later merged with the Canterbury Education Board. After coming to Christchurch, Mr Hamilton became a member of the Canterbury College Board of Governors and was still acting in that capacity at the time of his death. In 1930 he became chairman of the Christchurch branch of the Wellington College Old Boys' Association. In his younger days Mr Hamilton was a keen cricketer and tennis player, though his sports activity was latterly confined to his membership 'of the Christchurch Golf Club. He was also a member of the Canterbury Club, which yesterday flew its flag at half-mast. Mr Hamilton is survived by a widow, two sons—Mr H. W. Hamilton (Malay States) and Mr A. M. Hamilton (London)—and by a daughter, Mrs E. D. Pullon.
Press, 26 August 1927, Page 6
The death of Mr Thomas Harris, 84 years of age, occurred at his residence, Beverley road yesterday .morning. The late Mr Harris, who had been living in retirement for a number of years, was in the early days a. dairyman and held considerable property near Buchanan street and where the Girls' High School house now stands. Mr Harris took an active interest in Friendly Societies' work and for over 25 years was secretary of the Court Southern Cross, No. 3123, A.O.F., and the South Canterbury District. In earlier years Mr Harris was interested in educational matters, and for a time was a member, of the Main School Committee, and filled the positions of chairman and secretary. He was one of the founders and for many years, a director of the Timaru Permanent Building Society. Mr Harris was predeceased by his wife in 1914, and he leaves a grown-up family of six daughters and two sons.
Press, 14 July 1923, Page 4
The death occurred in Timaru yesterday of a widely known and respected citizen, in the person of Mr R. N. Hawkes. Mr Hawkes, who was 68 years of age, was educated at the Otago Boys' High School, and entered the teaching profession. He had been associated with South Canterbury for the past 30 years, having been a master at the Milford and St. Andrews Schools. He left the teaching profession owing to bad health. During the war period he served in the Base Record Office in Wellington, and later returned to Timaru, being associated with the business of his brother-in-law, Mr A. Washer, until about 12 months ago 7 when he went into business as a land agent on his own account. He was a prominent Mason, holding the office of Past Warden in the Provincial Grand Lodge of Canterbury, and he was also chairman of the Pioneer Building Society. He was widely known in sporting circles, particularly in connexion with fishing, golf and shooting.
The Press 5 April 1924
The late Mr. A.G. Hart died at the age of 52 years on Thursday night. Mr hart was one of the most successful farmers in Canterbury. He was born and bred at Winchester and in his youth was an enthusiastic footballer. For some time he was chairman of the Timaru branch of the farmers' Union, and was last year's president of the Timaru A. and P. Association. A fortnight ago he was taken ill and died of pneumonia.
The chairman of the Association, Mr C.L. Orbell, said that personally he had known Mr Hart for twenty years, ever since he had been a farmer at Rosewill.
Evening Post, 12 May 1944, Page 6
MR. W. HARTE, Napier, This Day. The death has occurred of Mr. W. Harte, Clerk of the Court at Napier, aged 59. Mr. Harte was born at Winchester, South Canterbury. He served at Dannevirke, Balclutha, Timaru, Christchurch, Oamaru, Masterton, Wanganui, and other places. He was a former president of the South Canterbury Rugby Union.
Temuka Leader 3 April 1920 Page 3 ARTHUR JOSEPH HAWDON
The roll of South Canterbury pioneers lost another of its fast diminishing numbers on Monday, when the late Mr A. J. Hawdon, of “Underwood,” Peel Forest, passed away at the advanced age of 77. The late Mr Hawdon was the eldest son of the Hon Joseph Hawdon, M,L.C., New Zealand, a well-known early explorer and pioneer in Australia, where he was the first man to make the overland journey between Adelaide and Melbourne, The late Mr Hawdon was born in 1844 at Heidelburg, Melbourne. When seven years of age his family sold their Australian home and went back to England, residing for ( some years at Kildare Hall, Yorkshire. While in England the late Mr Hawdon was educated at Ha now' and Trinity College, Cambridge, and v in 1866 he came to New Zealand and two runs his father had purchased, “Grassmere” and “Craigieburn " on the West Coast road. In 7l his father died, but he continued to live at “ Grassmere ” till ’77 when he moved to South Canterbury, where he resided at, his beautiful “ Underwood ’’ up to the time of his death. Mr Hawdon used to be proud of the fact that he was the first County Councillor to be elected in the world, in that he was the first councillor to be elected on the Selwyn County Council, a position be later on resigned in favour of Sir John Hall. The deceased gentleman was a great racing enthusiast, and a fine horseman. He was known at Cambridge as “ hard riding Joe." and he carried his love for horses to his colonial home when he at one time kept a racehorse. He was greatly interested in forestry, and was instrumental in getting the Government to set aside a large area of native bush as a scenery reserve at Peel Forest. At Underwood also he possessed about 30 acres, and planted extensive areas in English trees. The late Mr Hawdon married the eldest daughter of the late Dr Barker, of Christchurch, in 1872, and leaves a widow and one daughter. His son, the late Captain Kynard Hawdon of the 21st Cavalry “ Prince Aldert Victor’s Own,” was a soldier and explorer, and was the hero of the Quetta journey of 1904. He died at Srinaqar in 1910, falling a victim to cholera. About 10 months ago the )ate Mr Hawdon purchased a property at Geraldine, but he was not destined to reside there long for his death occurred two days after his sale at Underwood.” He was of a genial disposition, and his death will be mourned by a large circle of friends who will extend to his widow and daughter heartfelt sympathy in their bereavement.
Press, 15 July 1920, Page 10 Mr William HAWKE
Another pioneer. Mr William Hawke, of Lingodells, Geraldine, passed away on July 5th in his 82nd year. The late Mr Hawke was born at Loughten-en-le-Morthen, Yorkshire. England, in 1539, and was brought up to farming. In 1864 he came to New Zealand in the ship William Miles. After two years in Temuka he took up "Lingoclells" farm, on the Geraldine road, and later on bought two other farms near the homestead. He took a keen interest in everything likely to advance the district and in the Anglican churches in Geraldine and Orari. He married, in Sheffield parish church, before coming to New Zealand, and had a family of seven sons, five daughters, forty grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren. He was widely known, and highly respected by all who knew him.
Poverty Bay Herald, 30 November 1911, Page 3
Timaru, last night. News has been received of the death m Sydney, after an operation, of Mr Jas. Hay, M.A., L.L.B., solicitor, of Timaru. He was expected home next Saturday from a trip to the Old County. His age was 50. He was a son of John Hay, one of the pioneer Hays, who finally settled on a farm near Temuka in 1866. Deceased was born m Christchurch, and taken to his father's station at Lake Tekapo, as an infant. His mother was the first lady born beyond Burkes Pass. Deceased had a brilliant school and University career, and was admitted to the Bar in 1883. He was a member of the University Senate -since 1888, and became prominent at the Bar in connection with Thos. Hall trials. He married in 1897 a daughter of the late H. J. LeCren. He had no children.
Timaru Herald, 9 March 1899, Page 3
Yesterday we published a telegram announcing the death of a well known and esteemed figure m South Canterbury, Mr Alpheus Hayes, of Centrewood, Waimate. His family received news on Tuesday by the Vancouver mail that his death occurred on January 3rd, in St. Mary's Hospital, Dawson City, Canada, the cause of death being typhoid fever. The late Mr Hayes was born in Halifax, m the year 1847, his parents being descendants of the old Acadians. He was educated m his own city m the commercial and normal schools, and afterwards went to Montreal to study for the ministry, but owing to ill-health he left Canada and crossed over to Scotland where he spent some years studying at Greenock and Glasgow. He left Glasgow m 1871, and came to New Zealand in the Patrick Henderson liner the Wild Deer. He was first employed at the Rangitata bridge, where his knowledge of the timber trade soon put him into a good position, and he was frequently sent to the Waimate bush to obtain timber. Seeing an opening at Waimate he went there at the end of 1871 and at once commenced bush work, and steadily prospered till the year 1878 when the bush fires gave him a serious check. Nothing daunted, however, and with that pluck, business ability, and perseverance that were his characteristics, he kept the business going, and as the Waimate bush was practically ruined, he opened mills at Mabel Bush in Southland, and set up branches of his business at Timaru and Ashburton, still keeping the Waimate bush going. At this time he built the brigantine Lady Mabel, which with a schooner he employed in running timber from the south to his various branches. Later on Mr Hayes sold out of the timber business and embarked m farming and station pursuits, and was during his last few years engaged on his runs at Centrewood, Waimate, and Normanvale, Hakateramea. On the 31st March last year Mr Hayes left Waimate for a trip to Klondyke, and was expected to return in May, but it was fated otherwise. One of his party was present at his death, and a minister of the Wesleyan Church, who was also present, writes confirming the sad news. Mr Hayes was a Justice of the Peace, had been a member of the Borough and County Councils and High School Board, and was chairman of the Timaru Harbour Board when he left the colony. Flags were flying at half-mast at Waimate and Timaru yesterday, and the family have the sympathy of the district with them in their bereavement.
Press, 26 February 1938, Page 18 MR F. J. HEDGES
The death occurred recently of a very old and respected resident of the Harewood district, Mr F. J. Hedges, who was born in the Hutt, Wellington, in 1872. Mr Hedges was a son of the late Mr George Hedges, who was the founder of the basket willow industry at Temuka in 1890. Mr Hedges joined his father in this business in 1890. In 1905 he acquired a property at Waimak road, where he lived, taking an active interest in affairs until his death. The funeral took place at the Waimairi cemetery, the service being conducted by the Rev. E. A. Osmers, and was attended by many .relatives, friends, and members of the A.O.F Lodge, Papanui. Mr Hedges leaves a widow, one son, Mr Arthur Hedges, and three daughters, Mesdames Smith, Carr, and Case, all of Papanui.
North Otago Times, 20 August 1892, Page 3 Death of MR JAMES HENDERSON
Another old identity, ripe in years, and respected by all, passed away yesterday morning at the age of 78. Mr James Henderson came to Port Chalmers 18 years ago in the Wild Deer, and has resided in this district ever since. He was a native of Bridge of Allan, Stirlingshire, and previous to coming to this colony was well known in the parishes of Carnwath and Lesmnhagow, Lanarkshire, where he resided for many years. He has enriched the colony by the fact that eleven sons and daughters are settled in New Zealand, and their offspring and their children's offspring add considerably to our industrious population. His grand-children alone number nearly 80, and the tree has therefore borne many branches. Nine of his children are settled in this district, and are well known, one resides in Timaru, and another (Mr David Henderson) is settled in the North Island. The funeral will leave his late residence, Coquet street, to-morrow, for the Oamaru Cemetery.
Press, 22 April 1935, Page 12 MR JAMES HENDERSON
The death has occurred in Christ church of Mr James Henderson, late of Timaru and St. Andrews, and an old and respected resident of Canterbury. Mr Henderson was born at Rakaia in 1870, and was the sixth son of Mr and Mrs David Henderson, a pioneer family which arrived in New Zealand in the ship British Empire. While he was still at an early age the family moved to Methven, where he carried on farming with his father and brothers until 1005, when he left for the St. Andrews district in South Canterbury and engaged himself in farming on his own account. Mr Henderson was one of the founders of the St. Andrews branch of the New Zealand Farmers' Union, and right up to the time of his death took a keen interest in farmers' affairs. During the organisation period of the New Zealand Wheat Growers' Cooperative Association. Lie Mr Henderson was actively engaged in the work and made many friends amongst the wheat growers, not only in Canterbury, but in Otago and Southland, where he was well known. Mr Henderson leaves a widow and a family of four sons and one daughter. Mr Mungo Henderson, of Aylesbury, is his only surviving brother.
New Zealand Tablet, 14 January 1898, Page 17 Death
Hennessey.— At the Timaru Hospital, on December 20th, John Hennessey, native of Youghal, County Cork. Ireland ; aged 50 years. —R.I.P.
New Zealand Tablet, 14 January 1898, Page 19
We regret to have to announce the Death of Mr. John Hennessy, which took place at the Timaru Hospital on the l9th of Dec. The late Mr. Hennessy was a native of Youghal, Co. Cork, and arrived in New Zealand by the ship Northumberland about twenty years ago. During that time he resided in the Timaru district, principally at Fairlie Creek, and was well known and highly respected by all classes in these places. He was of a quiet and unassuming disposition ; a staunch and patriotic Irishman, and a devoted member of the Church, to which he was always most generous, giving a bright example to the younger generation in these respects. During his illness, which only lasted a two weeks, he was constantly visited by the Rev. Fathers Lewis and Tubman, and received all the consolation of the Church of which he was such an exemplary member. He leaves two sisters to mourn his loss, both being married — Mrs. Kersey, and Mrs. Moynihan, the popular hostess of the Club Hotel, Shannon, Manawatu, for whom much sympathy is expressed by a large circle of friends, and in which we sincerely join. Mr. Hennessy was 50 years of age, and the cause of Death was dropsy of the heart, there being no hope of his recovery from the commencement of his illness. — R.I.P.
New Zealand Tablet, 27 July 1899, Page 19
An old and respected resident of Ashburton, in the person of Mr. John Henry, passed away on the evening of the 19th inst. Mr. Henry was a native of Coupar Angus, Scotland, where he was born 57 years ago. He arrived in New Zealand in 1863. He resided for a time after his arrival in Christchurch, and then in Geraldine. Later on he took a farm at Woodbury, and was at the same time curator of the Temuka domain. In 1885 he became proprietor of the Commercial Hotel, which he kept for about eight years. About three years ago he retired from business and settled down in private life. The funeral took place on Friday. The cortege (says the Mail) left deceased's late residence at about half-past ten for the Church of the Holy Name, where the appropriate service was held, the church being well filled, not withstanding that snow was falling thickly when the service began. After Mass the coffin was carried from the church to the hearse, and the procession proceeded on its mournful way to the cemetery, between forty and fifty vehicles following the hearse. The deceased was laid in a grave beside his late wife, son, and daughter, the Very Rev. Canon O'Donnell conducting the funeral service. — R.I.P.
Temuka Leader 28 April 1908 Page 2
Another of the dominion's old settlers — Mr James Heron—died at Temuka on Sunday morning last, at the residence of his son in-law (Mr Thos. Ginnion) at the ago of 72 years. Mr Heron was born in County Down, Ireland, in 1837. He left for New Zealand by the "Indiana" in 1857, landing in Lyttelton, and was for about three years in the Halswell district, afterwards going Smith to Lake Wanaka, and started farming, and also undertook contract work, including the cutting of a drain from Springston to Lake Ellsmere for the Government. There he met with an accident, which incapacitated him for 12 months. He then did some farming at Malvern and Longbeach being very successful, and afterwards took up a farm of 200 acres at Waitohi. This he carried on for some years, and about eight years ago retired to live in Temuku. For the last few years he has lived with his son-in-law and daughter, Mr and Mrs T. Gunnion. His health has been precarious for some time, and his death was not unexpected. His wife died in 1897. He leaves a family of eleven sons and daughters, all grown up.
Evening Star 37 August 1919, Page 4
The death occurred on Saturday morning, at Waimate, of Mr Harry Neville Hertslet, aged 64 years, one of the county's best known farmers. He was also well-known as a valuer of land, having done much special work for the Government and local bodies and in arbitration cases. His only son, Trooper Charles Hertslet, returned from Palestine, after four years' absence, about 10 days ago.
Press, 16 July 1923, Page 4 Mr George Heywood
Mr George Heywood, who died in Timaru on July 3rd at the age of 93 years, was born at Macclesfield, England, in 1830. At the age of fifteen years he went to sea, and had a varied and interesting career, visiting many parts of the world, lie went to Australia in 1857, and there followed the occupation of goldminer with varying success. In 1861 he came to New Zealand and secured his first work in this country at Port Chalmers. The following year he went in a cutter to Stewart Island, and is said to have brought the first oysters from there. After remaining in Dunedin for two years, Mr Heywood went to Lyttelton, where he worked on the railway for twenty years. In 1905 he paid a visit to England, where he remained for four years. On his return to the Dominion he was engaged by the Lyttelton Harbour Board for work on their wharves, and continued in this occupation until advancing years compelled him to retire six years ago, when he came to Timaru, and has since lived with his nephew, Mr William Darling, of Oxford street.
Timaru Herald, 8 November 1912, Page 2 MR B. D. HIBBARD.
Timaru has lost another old identity by the death of Mr Benjamin D. Hibbard, late secretary to the Timaru Gas Company, at, the ripe age of 79. Mr Hibbard was a native of London, and came to New Zealand in 1856. He had some experience of storekeeping on one of the Otago goldfields, and then came to Timaru and carried on store-keeping here for some years. In. 1892 he was appointed secretary to the Timaru Gas Company, and filled that position until ailing health compelled him to relinquish it some months ago. Mr Hibbard was an energetic man when young and in his maturity, and was a volunteer when, in Otago, and a member of the Borough Council of Timaru after coming here. He was a well read man with a taste for the fine arts also, and was extremely well liked with those who were intimate with him.
Star 24 November 1899, Page 3
Mr Jacob Hill, one of the oldest residents of Timaru, died in Dunedin Hospital on Wednesday. Mr Hill arrived in Lyttelton in 1859, in the Zealandia. He was for several years a member of the Timaru Harbour Board and Borough Council, and for three years was Mayor of the borough. He leaves a widow, three sons and five daughters.
Timaru Herald, 29 January 1909, Page 5 MR JOHN HITCH, SENR.
An old identity of Timaru, Mr John Hitch, passed away yesterday at the age of 72. Mr Hitch arrived at Lyttelton in the Zealandia in 1858, and after working at his trade in Christchurch for a time he caught the gold fever, and took part in the rush to Gabriel's Gully in 1861. Returning thence he started in business in Kaiapoi, but presently removed to Timaru, and became, it is understood, the first tinsmith in the infant town. At the time of the big fire of 1868, Mr Hitch had a shop somewhere about where Ballantynes now are, and was one of those burned out. He did not at once re-establish his business, but went farming at Otipua or Pighunting Creek as it was then called. He then returned to Timaru and to metal working again, and after carrying on for some years transferred the business to his son, who has pursued it since. The deceased resumed farming, this time in the Raincliff district, and finally retired from active life and came to live in Timaru seven or eight years ago. He leaves one son and seven daughters, all married except two daughter's.
Timaru Herald, 20 September 1920, Page 8 W. B. HOLE
Mr William Bruton Hole, whose death was recorded on Saturday, was the only son of Mr John Hole. The deceased, who was 40 years of age, was born in England, and was two years old when he arrived in New Zealand with his parents. He was educated at the Timaru Main and the Timaru Boys' High Schools, and had since been resident here, except for a period when he was serving his country in the South African War. He married in 1910 the eldest daughter of the late Mr Walter Beckingham and Mrs Beckingham. He leaves his wife and three children to mourn their loss.
Press, 30 December 1926, Page 6 Mr William John Hopkinson
After a lingering illness, Mr William John Hopkinson died at his residence, Wilkin street, Temuka, on Tuesday. Mr Hopkinson was born on August 10th, 1868, and was educated at Temuka, and at the time of his decease was in his fifty-eighth year. Thirteen years age he had a fall, and since then he has been more or less in ill-health. He is survived by a widow, one daughter, Miss Hazel Hopkinson, and three sons, George, Daniel, and Wallace Hopkinson. He was the eldest son of the late Mr William Hopkinson. who died on June 6th, and the late Mrs Hopkinson, who died on December 28th, 1880. His four brothers survive him, viz., Daniel, George, Hartley, and Ernest, and his three sisters are Mrs, Alfred Hope (Temuka), Mrs D. O'Keefe (St. Andrew's), and Mrs E. Smith (Oamaru).
Temuka Leader 8 June 1926 Page 2 WILLIAM HOPKINSON
Yesterday morning, at the residence of his daughter, Mrs Alfred Hope, Fraser street, Temuka, there passed peacefully away at the age of 90 years a very old identity of Temuka in (he person of William Hopkinson. The late Mr Hopkinson was horn on the 4th February, 1830. and left Manchester at the age of 20 years to come out to New Zealand, in 1856, in the “Zealandia.” He went first to Kakahu and than to Fairfield, on the Ist January, 1866, he married Mrs Mary Quaid, nee Ferguson. Later he removed to Georgetown, but returned to Fairfield, retiring to Temuka about 22 years ago. Mr Hopkinson was an industrious worker, and in the early days did a lot of contracting in this district. He built a number of bridges, including the Point bridge, and was a noted figure at carting, wool and timber. In those days the firewood for Temuka came from Geraldine, and Mr Hopkinson did his share of that work. Later he was joined in a threshing plant by Mr J. Goldsmith, under the. partnership of Hopkinson . and Goldsmith. The firm also had a timber sawing plant. In the gold rush days Mr Hopkinson carted many a mining outfit and stores for miners, it is reported, to Gabriel’s Gully and the Molyneaux, and the story is told of how, on one occasion when he was summoned to sit on a jury at Christchurch, having no other means of transport, he set out and walked there and back. In December, 1904, be married Eliza Ellen Double, who survives him. His first wife was born on the 9th,November, 1842, and predeceased him on the 28th December, 1880. Of the nine children of the first marriage, eight are still living, namely, Mrs E. S. Smith, of Oamaru: W. J. Hopkinson, of Wilkin street, Temuka; Mrs O’Keefe, of St. Andrews; D. F. Hopkinson, Hartley Hopkinson, George B. Hopkinson, Ernest Hopkinson and Mrs Alfred Hope, all of Temuka. The funeral takes place this afternoon.
Press, 4 August 1923, Page 4
Mr Samuel Horrell, of Selwyn street, who was at one time a member of the Timaru Borough Council, passed away on Thursday, at the age of 73 years. He had been ailing for some time, and his death was not unexpected. The late Mr Horrell was born in Devonshire, and was brought by his parents to New Zealand in the ship Charlotte Jane, when he was three months old. After residing for thirteen years at Papanui and Woodend the family moved to the Eyreton Plains, where the deceased resided for a number of years. During this time he served as a member of the Waimakariri Harbour Board and the School About 12 years ago be removed to Timaru, and lie had been living in retirement during the past few years. In 1912 he was elected to a seat on the Timaru Borough Council, and remained in office till 1917. He was married in 1885 to Miss Alexander, who was killed in a motor accident in Timaru some time ago. The flag was flown at half-mast on the Municipal Chambers yesterday, as a mark of respect to the deceased.
Ashburton Guardian, 27 May 1914, Page 4
Timaru, May 26. Mr William Barker Howell died tonight, aged 72. Deceased for many years was engaged in farming at Totara Valley, Pleasant Point. He came to Timaru in 1894. He took a great, interest in educational and church matters.
Grey River Argus 29 May 1914, Page 5
Timaru, May 28. An old identity, W.B. Hawell, [sic] aged 72, has passed away. He came out in 1864 and has taken a prominent part in the administration of education, primary and secondary, and was familiarly spoken of as "The Father of Timaru High School." The funeral to-day was largely attended, representatives of the Borough Council, Education Board, Farmers' Cooperative Association, (of which deceased was an original founder and director) being amongst those present.
Timaru Herald, 27 May 1914, Page 7 MR W. B. HOWELL.
The death occurred .at his residence "Marston,'' last night of Mr William Barker Howell, at the ripe age of 72. The late Mr Howell was born in Devonshire, in 1842 and after receiving his education at Marlborough College, Eastman's Naval School at Portsmouth, and Camberwell Collegiate School he spent four years in Green's Merchant Service. Mr Howell came to New Zealand in the ship Mirage, landing at Lyttelton in 1864. He came direct to South Canterbury and took up a farm in Totara. Valley, near Pleasant Point, where he resided until 1894 when he came to Timaru to live a more retired life. The deceased gentleman has been a very prominent figure in educational circles for many years past. He has been a member of the Timaru High School Board of Governors since inception, and was chairman for a number of years. He has been popularly known as the "Father" of the Boys' High School. He was also a member of the South Canterbury Education Board, being chairman until quite recently. He occupied a seat also on the Waimate High School Board, and was a School Reserves Commissioner. Mr Howell was an ardent supporter of swimming for the school children and it was mainly through his efforts that the Century swimming baths were established. Mr Howell was a prominent member of the Anglican Church and thanks to his practical sympathy the new church at Kensington was erected a short while back. The sympathy of a large number of friends will be extended to the sorrowing family.
Press, Monday 14 March 1921, Page 8 MR J. E. HURDLEY
The death occurred at Timaru on Saturday night of a well-known resident in the person of Mr John Edward Hurdley, principal of the firm of J. E. Hurdley and Son, Indian art importers, of Timaru and Christchurch. The deceased was a native of Shrewsbury, England, and arrived when a young man in the Canterbury province. In the late seventies and early eighties he was engaged in the railway service, being signalman at the Heathcote Valley station. He subsequently resigned from the service, and engaged in farming pursuits in the Ashburton district, removing to Timaru over 20 years ago. There he engaged in the land business, being identified with the purchase and cutting-up for residential purposes of a number of suburban properties. He took a keen interest in public affairs, and was a councillor of the Timaru borough for a number of years. His health had been failing for some time, and his death followed on an operation. He was twice married, and leaves a grown-up, family by the first wife, and widow and young family by the second. The deceased was a typical Englishman bluff, breezy, and good-hearted—and was well known by the older generation in the Timaru, Ashburton, and Christchurch districts. He died on his 66th [65th] birthday. [Martha Martin married John Edward Hurdley in 1878. Martha died 31 January 1907] [Mary Groundwater married John Edward Hurdley in 1909]
Press, 28 March 1932, Page 9 MR WILLIAM HUTCHISON
The death of Mr William Hutchison occurred in Timaru on Wednesday. Mr Hutchison was born at Hatton of Crudon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, and on leaving school at the age of 12 years he spent a few years as a farm hand. Entering the London Metropolitan Police Force, he was attached to the S. Division, near Regent's Park, where lie remained until his promotion as sergeant, when he was transferred to the Gosport Division of the Portsmouth Dockyard. His next transfer was to the Powder Magazines at Southampton, followed by a transfer back to London on promotion to Belief-Sergeant, and attached to the L. Division, Lambeth. Daring the 26 years of service in the Police Force his duties brought him into contact with many historical events, notable among which was Queen Victoria's Jubilee in. 1887. While stationed at Gosport it was part of Mr Hutchison's duty to see the Queen safely escorted from the Royal train to her yacht, which conveyed her to the Isle of Wight, and vice versa. On the occasion of the Queen's death Mr Hutchison was on official duty at Westminster when the body was lying in State awaiting the funeral. A further distinction was conferred on Mr Hutchison when, on the occasion of the Coronation "of King Edward' VII., he was selected for duty at Westminster Abbey, and a similar distinction fell to his lot nearly a decade later when the King's body was lying in State in tie Abbey. Following that Mr Hutchison was on special duty at Westminster at the Coronation of King George V. Twenty-one years ago, for health reasons, he resigned, with the intention of going to New Zealand. On arrival in Timaru he went into business immediately, first in the Arcade Cafe, winch he carried on for a year or two, after which he took a lease of Worry's private hotel. At the expiration of the latter lease Mr Hutchison acquired a section in George street upon which he built what is now widely known as the Balmoral Hotel. N It is interesting to recall that While Mr Hutchison was in the St. George Hospital, London, where he underwent a serious operation shortly before his retirement from the Force, the King paid him a personal visit, and on numerous occasions Royal messengers came to the bedside to enquire about the patient. Amongst Mr Hutchison's keepsakes was a photograph which was presented to him by King George. Mr Hutchison married shortly after his arrival in New Zealand, and is survived by Mrs Hutchison, two sobs, and two daughters. He" also leaves two brothers, Mr John Hutchison (Timaru) and Mr A. Hutehison (Christchurch), and a sister, Mrs O. Feeney (Timaru).
Press, 7 August 1936, Page 12 MR H. A. INNES-JONES
By the death of Mr Humhrey Arthur Innes-Jones, which occurred suddenly on Wednesday at his residence, 37 Sefton street, at the age of 68, Timaru has lost a well-known figure. The fifth son of the Rev. Francis Innes-Jones, Mr Innes-Jones was born at Darley Abbey, Derbyshire, England, and arrived at Wellington with his parents in 1880 in the Northumberland. He received his early education at a preparatory school at Southsea and completed it at the Nelson Boys’ College. For some time he was in the service of the Eastern Extension Cable Company, and was stationed at Cable Bay, Nelson. Later he represented the company in India, Singapore, Borneo, Java, Western Australia, and in Northern Australia.
He took up sheep farming at “Netherleigh,” Arno, South Canterbury, in 1897, and while in the district was a member of the Waimate Agricultural and Pastoral Association, besides which he was associated with the Studholme Mounted Rifles. Later he purchased a farm at Cricklewood, near Fairlie. Selling this, he entered into partnership with Mr E. Howden as commission agents, the firm carrying on till 1916, after which Mr Innes- Jones continued on his own account. In 1928 he entered into partnership with Mr J. M. Jenkins, with whom he was associated at the time of his death. Mr Innes-Jones had been a member of the Timaru Borough Council, and at the time of his death was borough assessor. He was a justice of the peace. Previously a member of Lodge Mackenzie of Freemasons, he later joined Lodge St. John. one time he was secretary of the South Canterbury branch of Real Estate Institute and was a member of the council of the Automobile Association (South Canterbury). He had been a member of the Timaru Golf Club and the Timaru Bowling Club.
Mr Innes-Jones was chairman of the Timaru Cemetery Board. He was a director of the South Canterbury Brick Company, and for some time was a director of the Timaru Continuous Pictures, Ltd. He was a member of the Advisory Board of- the Young Women’s Christian Association, and had been district commissioner of the boy scouts in Timaru. Mr Innes- Jones was an active churchman, being a staunch supporter of St. Mary’s Anglican Church. In 1898 he was married in Wellington to a daughter of Mr C. W. Moss, who survives him, and there are two sons, Messrs Athol Innes-Jones and Geoffrey Innes-Jones.
Press, 13 March 1916, Page 9
The death occurred at Timaru on Friday of Mr Edmund James, a well-known Temuka resident. The late Mr James was born in South Australia in 1849, and was educated at Christ's College, Christchurch. In 1879 he joined the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company. In 1887 he was appointed manager of the Hakataramea Downs Estate. Some years later he purchased a run further north, and retired about 11 years ago. Since then he had resided at Temuka, where he took a lively interest in public affairs. He was noted for his liberality, from which practically every institution in the town has benefited.
Press, 25 July 1934, Page 13 MR ROBERT JENKINS
The death occurred yesterday of Mr Robert Jenkins, a well-known Timaru business man. He had been ailing tot about three years. Mr Jenkins was born in Glasgow 68 years ago, and coming to New Zealand with his parents, settled in Invercargill, where he was engaged in business for many years. He was a member of the Invercargill Garrison Band for a long period, and of the Timaru Operatic Society and Orchestral Society and Choral Union. Mr Jenkins went to Timaru in 1920 and was actively engaged in business there until recently. He was a well-known member of the Savage Club and was also a member of the Masonic Lod£4» and a member of the Timaru Bowling Club. He is survived by his widow and three daughters, Mrs Allan Timpany (Invercargill), Mrs Clarence Schrader (Timaru), and Mliss Dorothy Jenkins, and one son, Mr Gilbert Jenkins, of Christchurch.
Ashburton Guardian, 30 June 1921, Page 4 CAPTAIN D. C.
Timaru, June 29. The death occurred to-day of Captain David Cownie Johnstone, aged 45 years. For the last ten years he had been superintending stevedore there for John Mill and Co. Previously he was well-known in the intercolonial trade as master of sailing vessels, especially the King Edward and the Rio. He was well-known and respected on the New Zealand waterfront in those days. He became ill six weeks' ago, a chill developing into congestion of the lungs. He leaves a widow and seven young children. He was a member of the Masonic and Druid Lodges.
Evening Post, 18 April 1945, Page 7 MR. H. B. S.
Timaru, April 17. The death occurred at Waimate today after a short illness of Mr. Harry Bell Spearman Johnstone, at the age of 62. Mr. Johnstone, who was born in Melbourne, was educated at Clifton College, England. For three years he was an articled clerk with A. E. G. Rhodes barrister, Christchurch. In 1905 he settled at Otaio, taking over the management of 'the Spring Bank Estate, which he afterwards purchased. He was a member of the Waimate County Council from 1918 and chairman from 1923 to 1928, and again from 1934 to 1936. He also served for some years on the Timaru Harbour Board and- South Canterbury. Power Board, and took part in other public activities. He represented South Canterbury on the Electoral College of the Meat Producers' Board for some years, but resigned a few months ago when appointed a member of the New Zealand Wool Council. Two of his four sons are serving in Italy and a third recently returned on furlough from the Fleet Air Arm. The eldest son is farming at Hook. One daughter, Mrs. P. Martin, lives in England, and the other, Mrs. J. Studholme. resides' at Christchurch.
Timaru Herald, 30 April 1908, Page 5 JOHN E. JONES
Much regret was expressed in Timaru yesterday when it became known that Mr John Rainsley Jones had died suddenly. Mr Jones was verger of St. Mary's Anglican Church and while engaged in his duties there yesterday morning was seized with a fit. The deceased, who was a married man but had not family, had formerly been in the British Army, was also for many years captain of the Timaru Fire Brigade and was a prominent mason, holding office in St. John's Lodge. The flag at the Hall was lowered yesterday to halfmast as a mark of respect; and a Masonic funeral will be accorded the late brother on Saturday.
Press, 12 November 1932, Page 5
The death occurred at his home on Thursday of Mr George Roderick Joyce, aged 83, who, for 25 years, was a prominent figure in the printing business in Timaru. Mr Joyce was born at "Plaistlow Station," Joyce's Creek, Victoria, where his father owned a large sheep run in the early days, as far back as 1839. After being educated at a private school, Mr Joyce received his early training in the printing trade in Adelaide. On landing in New Zealand in 1874 he spent two years in the printing business in Hokitika, and was then appointed to the "Southland Times" staff, rising to manager of the printing department two years later. Coming to Timaru in 1907, Mr Joyce assumed the managership of the "Timaru Post,'' holding this position until 1913, when he launched out as a commercial printer on his own account. He conducted this business with marked ability and success until 1929, when, on retiring from the firm, he disposed of his interests to his partner, Mr J. Stevens. Mr Joyce was a very devout Presbyterian and was an earnest churchman. He was a prominent Freemason of 56 years standing and was one of the foundation members of Lodge Timaru, in which he held the office of secretary for some years. Mr Joyce also took an interest in the activities of the Timaru Horticultural Society, of which he was a committeeman, and also in the work of the Caroline Bay Association. Mr Joyce is survived by his widow, one son, and two daughters, Mrs F. A. Joynt (Temuka), and Mrs J.G. Duncan (Timaru). Four other sons Messrs G. A. L., R.H., N. P., and N.S. Joyce died before their father, the last-named being killed in the Great War.
Timaru Herald, 31 October 1917, Page 5 JAMES P. KALAUGHER
There passed away at his residence, Geraldine, yesterday, one of. the oldest inhabitants of the district, James P. Kalaugher, who was born at Drumshannon, Ireland, on March 12th, 1836. He arrived in South Canterbury in 1859, having previously seen service in the Royal Navy. For a time he worked on the Levels run, and then he entered the employ of the late Mr Alfred Cox of Geraldine. In 1866 he married Miss B. O'Reilly. He was one of the oldest Oddfellows in South Canterbury. In addition to his widow he leaves one son, Mr J.. P. Kalaugher, agricultural inspector at Auckland, and two daughters, Mrs Clements of Auckland, and Mrs Gilliam of Temuka. Until some six weeks ago he lived an active life and his familiar face will be much missed by those who frequent the Geraldine saleyards, and by many others, for be was widely known and highly esteemed.
Ashburton Guardian, 21 January 1910, Page 3
Timaru, January 20. Mr Peter Keddie, who was well known in commercial circles in Otago and Canterbury, died suddenly this evening. He had until lately beer Inspector of Factories, but he retiree owing to failing health.
Otago Daily Times 21 June 1919, Page 10 Ashburton
Guardian, 23 June 1919
On Saturday there passed away at Hilton, a South Canterbury pioneer in the person of Mr John Kelland. Mr Kelland was born in Devonshire in 1840. He came to New Zealand by the ship British Empire in 1864, landing at Lyttelton. He first went on to a station in the Ashburton district, now known as the Springfield estate, and remained there for two years. From Ashburton he went to Timaru, and spent some time on his late father's' farm at Gleniti. Subsequently he bought a farm at Kakahu. He was there during the flood of 1868, and eventually sold out to his brother William. From Kakahu Mr Kelland went to Smithfield, where he remained for seven years, after which he acquired a sheep and grain-growing farm at Temuka known as Puke Mara, and remained there till failing health compelled him to go to Timaru and retire. He also owned the Woodside estate at Geraldine at one time. Mr Kelland was for 23 years a member of the Geraldine Road Board, and in 1893 was chairman of that body. He was at one time a director of the Canterbury Farmers' Co-operative Association, a member of the Timaru Harbour Board of the Winchester and Hilton School Committee, and for many years was a vestryman of the Geraldine Anglican Church. He married Miss Poole, of Devonshire, who predeceased him four years ago. He leaves a grown up family of six daughters and two sons.
Timaru Herald, 9 June 1911, Page 2 MR ALEXANDER KELMAN
Yesterday morning the death occurred at his residence, Annfield Farm, Geraldine, of Mr Alexander Kelman, one of the oldest and best known residents of Geraldine, and whose age' was close upon four-score years. For some time past ho had been in failing health, but his death came quite unexpectedly to most of his friends. Deceased was a native of Aberdeenshire, where he worked as a plasterer. He came to New Zealand, in 1864, and for a short time was employed by the late Alex. Wilson on the farm now occupied by Mr De Renzy at Winchester, and was probably the first to put a plough into the country between Waihi Crossing and Geraldine. He soon acquired a piece of laud a little nearer Geraldine, and by industry and thrift ho became possessed of a considerable property in the district. In the seventies he occupied' a. seat on the Geraldine Road Board,, and at the time of his death he was a member of the Geraldine County Council. He was regarded as a shrewd, hard-working and careful man. He leaves a widow, and five sons and three daughters, one of the latter being Mrs C. Hewson, of Belfield. Of his sons, Mr J. Kelman lives at Seadown, and Mr A. Kelman at Lowcliffe, near Ashburton. The remainder of the family reside in Geraldine. The sympathy of a large circle of friends will be with the family in their bereavement. The funeral will take place on Sunday afternoon at 2 o'clock at Geraldine.
Star 27 April 1907, Page 5
Mr P. Kippenberger, the well-known in Christchurch solicitor, died last evening. He was a native of Bavaria, having been born at Kindenheim in 1858. He was educated at Timaru, and was For some time employed in the "Timaru Herald" Office. He was articled to Mr J. White, Crown Prosecutor, at Timaru, when twenty years of age, and later joined Messrs Joynt and Perceval as common-law clerk. After passing his examinations with honours he was admitted to the bar in 1883. Four years later he joined Mr W. Acton-Adams, with whom he remained till 1900, when the firm was dissolved. Since then the practice has been carried on by Mr Kippenberger alone. He had been German Consul for Canterbury since 1895. Mr Kippenberger has left a widow and several children.
Timaru Herald, 31 August 1914, Page 9 C.B. KNIGHT
The hand of death has removed from our midst another well-known citizen of Timaru, in Mr Cuthbert Bernard Knight. The deceased was the second son of the late John Cuthbert Knight, one of the early pioneers of South Canterbury. He was born at Timaru in 1871, his parents at that time residing in a house where the Assembly Rooms now stand. Educated at the Timaru Main School, he joined the firm of Quelch and Co., ironmongers, and from there removed to Ashburton, where he joined the firm of David Thomas and Go auctioneers. This firm he left a few years later for a better position with H. Matson and Co.. of Christchurch later joining the firm of Common, Skelton and Co., Gisborne. It was here that his health began to fail him and he returned to Timaru in 1906, obtaining a responsible position with Dalgety and Co.. with whom he served till the time of his death. Mr Knight has been in very bad health for the last five months and he passed away peacefully on Thursday night at the age of 43 years. Although he took no active part in public affairs he always had the interests of his native town at heart. Quiet unassuming in his manner, and courteous and kind to all, he was much respected by all who knew him. He leaves an aged mother, a wife, and several brothers and sisters to mourn their loss.
Timaru Herald, 18 February 1910, Page 6 JOHN CUTHBERT KNIGHT
Another human link between Timaru of the old days and of the present was broken yesterday, by the death of Mr John Cuthbert Knight at the age of 71. The deceased (born at Birkenhead, Lancashire on 9th June, 1839), came to South Canterbury in 1859 per ship Tornado to Auckland, and then down the coast to join his brother Harry Alfonso Knight, who had taken up a sheep run near the Cave, which he called Cannington, after their old homestead near Bridgewater, in Somerset. After a time they disposed of the run, Mr H. A. Knight returned to England, and Mr J. C. Knight joined Mr Cramond in running a line of Cobb's coaches, north and south from Timaru, Mr Knight attending to the Timaru office. Old identities will remember the busy stables on Beswick street —then no street except on paper. When the opening of the railways destroyed the coaching business Mr Knight went into business as a commission agent. This he relinquished some years ago on account of advancing years, and growing physical infirmities, since when he has led a quiet and retired life, occasionally filling a gap usefully in times of pressure of clerical work on the wharf. He leaves a widow and family of four sons and seven daughters to mourn his loss.
Press, 22 November 1926, Page 5
The late Mr John Knight, who passed away at Christchurch recently, some years ago carried on business at Temuka. He was 65 years of age, and was born in Wales in 1861. He came to New Zealand with his parents in 1866. The family settled at Kaiapoi, but at the age of 14 he came to Timaru, afterwards removing to Seadown, where he married Miss Hannah Carroll. Subsequently he resided at Cheviot and Temuka, ill-health compelling him to relinquish business, settling in Shannon in the North Island, About two months ago he came to Christchurch to be nearer his sons. The late Mr Knight leaves a widow and two sons, Mr T. Knight (Temuka) and Mr L. Knight (Christchurch), to mourn their loss.
Press, 25 November 1918, Page 9
Mr J. H. Lane, who died in the Temuka pneumonia hospital on Thursday, spent a considerable period of his life in the gold mining industry at Klondyke, Australia, the West Coast and in Central Otago. He retired a few years ago, settling in Timaru, and on purchasing a portion of the Greenhayes estate, settled in Temuka. He leaves a widow and two children. [Lane, John Henry died aged 44, Murray St., Temuka m. Isabella Cunningham in 1902. Son Charles died June 15 1917, aged 14. Isabella died in 1965 in Wellington. All buried in Temuka.]
Evening Post, 2 April 1931, Page 10 MR. JOHN LANE
The death is announced by the Press Association from Ashburton of Mr. John Lane, of Messrs. Lane, Walker, and Rudkin, proprietors of the Ashburton Woollen Mills, and formerly one of the owners of the Timaru mills, at the age of 81. The late Mr. John Lane was one of the principals of the firm of Lane, Walker, and Rudkin, woollen and hosiery manufacturers, of Ashburton and Christchurch. Mr. Lane came from Scotland to New Zealand with his wife and family in. 1881, making the voyage in the old sailing ship Nelson. He soon obtained employment with the Dunedin firm of Boss and Glendining, proprietors of the Roslyn Woollen Mills, as wool classer and wool buyer. In the nineties he joined with five others in the purchase of the Timaru Woollen Mills, which were very successfully operated. At the end of the partnership period of ten years Mr. Lane, with one of his partners, Mr. Pringle Walker, retired from the Timaru concern and acquired the Ashburton Woollen Mill. This property has been considerably enlarged, and its operations were extended by an amalgamation with Rudkin's hosiery factory in Christchurch. For a long period Mr. Lane was a familiar figure at wool sales in various parts of the Dominion, but it is some years since he retired from active participation in business. He was a staunch member and office bearer of the Presbyterian Church, in the affairs of which he was an ardent worker and generous supporter. He was one of the founders of St. Andrew's (Presbyterian) College in Christchurch, and for a period was a member of the Board of Governors of that institution. He was twice married, and is survived by his widow, six sons, and one daughter. Mr. A. B. Lane, manager of the Press Association, Wellington, is his second son.
Press, 17 June 1927, Page 7
One of the most widely-known and deeply-respected residents of the Winchester district, Mr Alfred Thomas Langford, has passed away, at the age of 71 years. The late Mr Langford was born in Dungate, Cambridgeshire, in 1855, and arrived at, Christchurch, New Zealand, 45 years ago. He lived fur 2-5 years at Christchurch, and for the last 20 years at Winchester, being in business there. Mr Langford took a keen interest in the Waihi Football Club, of which he was a vice-president. He was also a member of the Hall Committee and the Domain Board, of The Geraldine Racing Club, and the Timaru Trotting Club. He was a keen follower of the light harness sport. The late Mr Langford has left to mourn their loss a widow, one daughter (Mrs J. S. Lee, of Temuka), and four sons: Messrs A. C. Langford (Gisborne), H. C. Langord (Rakaia). T. H. Langford (Winchester), and E. H. Langford (Dunedin).
Akaroa Mail and Banks Peninsula Advertiser 8 September 1896, Page 2
Star 5 September 1896, Page 7
Press, 5 September 1896, Page 7 MR E. C. LATTER
Our readers will regret to see the announcement of the death of another of our pioneer settlers in the person of Mr E. C. Latter, after an illness which really dates from the sudden death of his wife about two yean since. He was devotedly attached to her and if he possibly could help it never went anywhere without her. He was born at Wicken, near London, in December, 1829. After spending some time in a merchant's office in London he resolved to come to New Zealand, and took his passage in the Travancore, arriving in Lyttelton in 1851, when he was 22 years of age. After a short stay there he joined the late Mr Innes in a run south of Timaru. About this time he and Mr George Rhodes were the first to drive sheep from the northern to the southern parte of the province, and as an illustration of the difficulties then encountered, Mr Latter has said, that it was no unusual thing to be camped on the banks of a flooded river for upwards of a week crossing sheep. After spending a few years as a sheep farmer Mr Latter bought section at the foot of the hills, the place now in the occupation of Mr Charles Clark, where he established a dairy farm and worked a quarry on the hillside. Bringing the stone into town was then a difficult process, many a load having to be thrown into holes before the road could be made passable. About 1862 he sold his farm and went to Akaroa, where he commenced business as a merchant. Shortly afterwards Mr Latter purchased from the representative of Mr Robinson, the first Resident Magistrate here, the property known locally as Wagstarfs Hotel (sec. 39). The original building had been burned down while in the occupation of Mr John Watson, Mr Robinson's successor as local magistrate, and on the beautiful site now occupied by the new home of Mr E. E. Lelievre, Mr Latter erected the building so long known as his home, and where most of his children were born. When Mr Latter first arrived in Akaroa the outlet for its magnificent timber was uncertain and spasmodic. To him belongs the credit of organising a commercial system of putting in the market the then almost interminable supplies of totara and white and black pine, To place these timbers in the markets of the colony it was of .course necessary that vessels should be ready to carry them, and, at once noting this fact, Mr Latter had bottoms constructed from the native bush to carry what was then so much, wanted sawn timber for building purposes. One of his first ventures was the Foam, built in Red House Bay from the timber of the hills above, followed by the topsail schooner Breeze, at Duvauchelle's Bay, and finally by anticipating by over thirty years the idea of steam communication round the Peninsula, the s s. Wainui was built at the Head of the Bay for the trade between Lyttelton, Akaroa, and Timaru. In 1873 he removed from Akaroa to Barry's Bay, then covered with magnificent timber. He started a large sawmill, before which the virgin forest quickly disappeared. In 1882 Mr Latter was appointed District Commissioner for the Property Tax, which he held until the office was centralised in Wellington. We next see him in the position of managing, for Messrs Miles and. Co., the Australian Land Company. About 1886 he was appointed Official Assignee in Bankruptcy, a position he resigned to take the Managing Trusteeship of the estate of the late Mr R. H. Rhodes, which he held up to the time of his death. He was of a most generous and charitable disposition and a loyal, true-hearted friend. During the time he was resident on the Peninsula he held the position of Chairman of the Akaroa County Council and Chairman of the Lake Ellesmere Trust to the time of the expiry of the Trust. He was for many years a Justice of the Peace. We could not close this notice without bearing testimony to the energy and generosity which he always displayed in church work. He was a good musician and used his skill for the benefit of the church, for, during the whole of his sojourn on the Peninsula, he acted as organist in the churches as well as Church Warden. At Barry's Bay he made quite a revival, for taking into consideration the sparsity of the population of the district he raised a large congregation where there had previously been no place of worship. He was a member of the Synod, and took great interest in its proceeding; During the time of his residence at Fendalton he continued to work unceasingly for the benefit of his Church, being organist and Church Warden. He leaves a family of five sons and five daughters to mourn his loss. His eldest son, Mr Robert Latter, lives in his father's late residence at Barry's Bay. Two of his daughters are married, one to Mr Arthur Templer, now of Auckland, and one to Mr Robert Inwood, of Southbridge.
Latter, died age 66. In 1854 he married Mary Elizabeth Grundy]
[Robert Heaton Rhodes married Sophia Circuit LATTER , a daughter of Robert Latter, in Lyttelton in 1858. Sophia St. and Latter St. in Timaru named after her. Latter St. was one of the original Rhodes Town Streets surveyed by Edwin Lough. Robert H. Rhodes was Edward's brother-in-law. Robert Latter died 25 January 1865 in Oamaru]
North Otago Times, 26 January 1865, Page 2
On the 25th inst, in the house of his son-in-law, at Oamaru, Mr Robert Latter, J.P., of Lyttelton, in the 73rd years of his age.
Children of Mary Elizabeth and Edward Circuit LATTER
1855 Latter Elizabeth Martha
1857 Latter Robert Mary
1859 Latter Edward Samuel
1861 Latter Francis
1863 Latter Sophia Mary Christina married Arthur Templer in 1888
1865 Latter Arthur
1865 Latter Charles
1867 Latter Edith Mary married Augustus Robert Inwood in 1889
1870 Latter Ernest Clifford
1873 Latter Kate Mary Elizabeth
1881 Latter Margaret
1881 Latter Emma]
North Otago Times, 9 January 1908, Page 1
The Timaru Herald of yesterday, referring to this sad event, writes "Quite a shock was caused among the Timaru friends of Mr W. Lawson, he well-known auctioneer of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, when the news went round on Monday evening that he was suffering from an acute attack of pneumonia and was not likely to recover. As au active and popular member of the S.C.J.C, and, Caledonian Society, he will also be missed, and doubtless the esteem in which he was held among the farming community will bring many of them from far and near to attend the funeral to-morrow. The deceased was a native of Oamaru, and joined the staff of the Loan Company in that town an junior clerk, working his way up to the post of auctioneer at Timaru, which he had filled very capably for eight or ten years. Mr Lawson was well known in Oamaru, where as a lad he joined the staff of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company. Mrs Lawson, with her four children, was absent at Invercargill, and Mr Lawson, temporarily lodging at the Empire Hotel, fell ill there on Saturday. Mrs Lawson was sent for, and returned on Monday evening.
Feilding Star, 15 April 1902, Page 2
News was received in Feilding on Thursday of the death of Mr Frederic Le Cren, of Timaru (father-in-law of Mr Blundell manager of the Feilding branch of the Bank of New Zealand) who, (reports the Press) held the position of manager there of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company from April 1876, to December last, when he resigned owing to ill-health. Mr Le Cren, who was 67 at the time of his death, was educated at the Blue Coast School, London, and after some time spent in Melin the days of the diggings, came to Lyttelton in the early days. His brother, the late Mr H. J. Le Cren, had arrived in Lyttelton prior to the arrival of the first four ships, and acted as agent for the owners of the historic vessels who had chartered them to the Canterbury Association. He established himself in business in Lyttelton when Mr Frederic Le Cren came from Australia; Subsequently Mr F. Le Cren took over the management of the ferry over the Heathcote, which was then the only means by which the earlier settlers could cross on their way to Christchurch, and was afterwards appointed Postmaster at Lyttelton. He again took over the ferry, and married whilst at Heathcote, Miss Mills. In 1855 Mr H. Le Cren removed to Timaru and entered into business as a merchant and general agent. Subsequently, about 1864 Mr F. Le Cren also went to South Canterbury, and became a partner in the firm of Cain, Munro and Co. On the dissolution of the partnership he carried on a part of the business and then sold out. On H. Le Cren going Home Mr F. Le Cren acted as his agent, and took an active part in the formation of the Timaru Landing and Shipping Company. In 1875 he became the Timaru manager of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, and at the time of his retirement he was the senior manager in Australasia, having held that post for twenty-six years. He was a director of the Timaru Gas Company, and of the Timaru Building Society, and was elected a member of the first Town Council. On Timaru being proclaimed a Borough he was elected a member of the first Municipal Council. He was also a member of the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, the Harbour Board and the Hospital Board. During his term of office as a member of the latter the present Hospital building was erected, and one of the wards was named after him. Mr Le Cren leaves a widow, six sons and two daughters.
Evening Post, 21 May 1895, Page 2
Timaru, 20th May. Mr. H. J. Le Cren, one of the pioneer merchants of Timaru, died this afternoon, aged 68 years.
Star 21 May 1895, Page 2
Mr Henry John Le Cren, one of the earliest settlers in Canterbury, died yesterday afternoon at his residence. Craighead, Timaru, aged sixty-eight. Mr Le Cren bad been ailing for some time, but his end came suddenly and unexpectedly. Mr Le Cren will be well remembered by some of the oldest settlers of Lyttelton and Christchurch, and by the " Pilgrims " as having arrived in the colony in advance of them to represent the owners of the "first four ships." A native of London, he learned the routine and the habits of business in the office of Messrs Frubling, Goschen and Co., where he was fellow-clerk with the ex-Chancellor of the Exchequer. He came out to the colony in the Barbara Gordon, to act as agent for the first ships despatched to Port Cooper, and then, with Mr Longdon, carried on in Lyttelton for many years a general merchant's business. Mr Le Cren afterwards established a branch business in Timaru, erecting the first store in the township, and himself remaining in Lyttelton. The late Captain Cain managed the Timaru store. The business was sold to Messrs Miles and Co. about 1867, and Mr Le Cren went to London. While there he joined Mr G. G. Russell, in the firm of Russell and Le Cren as colonial merchants, who were represented in the colony by Messrs Russell, Ritchie and Co. Twelve or thirteen years ago, both the Home and colonial businesses were sold to the National Mortgage and Agency Company, and Mr Le Cren came out to New Zealand. He erected a large residence at Craighead, the grounds and gardens of which are one of the show places of Timaru, and, except for an occasional trip Home, resided there until his death. The deceased gentleman was always most highly respected as an upright businessman. He leaves three sons and four daughters, all of whom are grown up.
Press, 11 April 1930, Page 6
After an illness extending over a lengthy period there died yesterday morning a resident in Temuka, in the person of John Sunckell Lee, who has been associated with the business life of the town and district for many years. Ho was the third son of the late Mr Henry Lee, and arrived in Temuka years ago. He was twice president of the R.S.A. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, Winchester, No. 1737 E.C Seven years ago he was married to Miss Langford, and his widow and three children survive.
Timaru Herald 23 June 1948 - Funeral
LEIGH - The friends of the late Edward Leo Leigh are respectfully informed that his Funeral will leave the Church of the Sacred Heart this day Wednesday, June 23, at 2. p. for the Timaru cemetery. requiem mass 7 a.m. (C.H. Barrie)
Star 26 April 1899, Page 1
Mr T. W. Leslie, land and estate agent, Timaru, died very suddenly from heart disease on Monday evening, at the age of fifty five. The deceased had been many years in the district, engaged in farming pursuits, and latterly had acted as a commission agent.
Press, 11 November 1935, Page 12 MR R. C. LITTLEJOHN
TIMARU. November 9. Mr Robert Carr Littlejohn, aged 53, died suddenly at Timaru yesterday. Born and educated in Milton, he entered the service of R. Wilson and Company, Dunedin, in his early youth, and in 1905 he was transferred to Timaru as country representative, a position held by him till his retirement because of ill-health last year. fie was an active member of the Commercial Travellers' and Warehousemen's Association, and was well known for his activities as leader or community singing for charitable objects. He was a keen Rugby player m his youthful days, and later he officiated as referee. Mr Littlejohn was a member of the Korauga Lodge or Freemasons, of which he was past master. He was also a past provincial grand warden. At the time of his death he was in business on his own account.
Press, 15 August 1928, Page 4 Mr Robert James LOVE
Mr Robert James Love died suddenly on Saturday, in his 73rd year, was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, and was educated for the medical profession. He did not take kindly to the study of medicine, and came out to New Zealand, being among the earliest settlers, in Temuka. For many years he was the owner of a chaff-cutting plant, but for some years had lived in Gammack street, and occupied his time in poultry keeping. He was a kindly disposed man, but lived very much the life of a recluse. A few months ago he was knocked down by motor-cycle, and since then had been practically under medical observation. The funeral took place yesterday afternoon at the Temuka Cemetery.
Star 16 April 1894, Page 1
Mr Lovegrove, an old South Canterbury settler, formerly of Makikihi, and later of Hilton, died on Saturday morning at Timaru. The deceased was a brother of Dr Lovegrove, of Timaru, and was widely known as a breeder and judge of stock.
Press, 12 July 1940, Page 3 MR H. J. LOVELL
Mr Henry Jesse Lovell, who died at Geraldine on Sunday at the age of 60, was born in England. He went to sea at the age of 12 and later joined the Royal Navy in which he served during the Great War. For many years Mr Lovell took an active interest in the Geraldine District Band as a player and officer, but ill-health compelled him to resign. He was a member of the Geraldine Returned Soldiers’ Association. He leaves a widow and a young family of three boys and two girls. The funeral, which took place at Geraldine, was attended by the president of the Geraldine Returned Soldiers’ Association (Dr. L. C. Mail) and former servicemen, and the casket was covered with the Union Jack. The services at the house and graveside were conducted by Canon A. H. Norris. The pall-bearers were' Messrs F. W. Grayburn, R. Clements, G. Cruickshank, E. J. Williams, A. Wills and J. Johnson, members of the Returned Soldiers’ Association and Geraldine District Band. “Last Post” was sounded at the graveside by Mr C. J. Ashby.
Press, 27 September 1929, Page 7
By the death of Mr C. McAuliffe, Temuka loses another of its pioneers. He was born at Castle Island, County Kerry, Ireland, on May 25th, 1839. In 1861, he was married to Miss Mary Ahearn, of his native town, and she predeceased him eight years ago. With his wife and family he landed in Timaru in 1874, and settled in Temuka, where he followed the occupation of a fencer and drainer. Of a family of nine, the survivors are:—Mr Michael McAuliffe, of Invercargill; Mr Daniel McAuliffe, of Temuka; Mrs P. Lynch, Milford; and Mrs T. Orr, Timaru. There are also 24 grandchildren, and 23 great-grandchildren. The funeral, which took place on Tuesday was largely attended by relatives and friends from all over the district, including the Mayor (Mr T. E. Gunnion). The pall-bearers were his two sons, Messrs M. and D. McAuliffe; Mr P. Lynch, and T. Greelish. The Rev. Father Moynihan celebrated Requiem Mass, and the Rev. Father McBreen officiated at the graveside.
Press, 18 February 1935, Page 12 MR J. C. L. McBRATNEY
The death occurred at the Christchurch Hospital recently of Mr John Cuthbert Leat McBratney, of Winchester. Mr McBratney was born at Temuka in 1895 and was educated at the Temuka primary and District High School. After leaving school he worked at Mr G. Nottingham's boot shop. He left to take part in the war in 1915. After two years' service at the front he was invalided home, and spent the next five years for treatment in the Christchurch and Timaru Hospitals before he was discharged. He afterwards worked for some time on a threshing mill. When the Waihi woolscouring works commenced operations he was appointed second engineer, and eventually was appointed first, a position he held at the time of his death. Mr McBratney was at one time a member of the Library and Victoria Hall Committee, and he was interested in the women's basketball and hockey clubs. His chief interest was in his work as secretary of the local school committee, a position he held for eight years. He largely assisted in making the Winchester school ground a beauty spot on the main highway. He was also secretary of the Country Schools' Association.. In 1922 he was married to Miss Bessie Hughes, and a widow with one daughter survive him. The funeral was conducted by the Rev. A. C. K. Harper, of Temuka.
Press, 11 March 1927, Page 18
In the death on Wednesday of Mr Robert Macaulay at his residence, "Beach Farm," Milford, South Canterbury lost one of its most popular and respected citizens. After some months of illness his death was not unexpected, and when ho died he was 111 his seventyfirst year. The late Mr Macaulay came to New Zealand over forty years ago, commencing farm worked with Darroch Bros, at Waikari, and after a year or two came to Milford an a tenant to the late Colonel Hayhurst. He bought the farm seventeen years ago, and took a keen interest in local affairs, being the chairman of the Milford School for a number of years. For many years he was a member of the Temuka Caledonian Society, holding office as president., and afterwards- as patron, until the time of his death. He was especially interested in pipe music and dancing, and was a judge for over twenty years for Caledonian Societies in South Canterbury. Seventeen years ago he was appointed a member of the Canterbury Land Board, which position ho held until his death. He was a P.M. of Lodge St. George, trustee of the Temuka Pipe Band, a member of the Temuka and Geraldine A. and P. Associations, and also a member of the South Orari River Board and Temuka Road Board, until these bodies became merged into the Geraldine County Council, when he became a county councillor. He leaves a widow, four sons, and four daughters, two of the latter being Mrs J. R. Edgar (Seadown), and Mrs A. Bisdee (Clandeboye). He is also survived by two brothers, Mr J. Macaulay (Albury) and Mr A. Macaulay (Upper Waitohi), and a sister, Mrs J. Dick (Timaru).
Timaru Herald, 13 April 1918, Page 11 MR PATRICK McCARTHY
Another old and highly respected resident of South Canterbury, in the person of Mr .P. McCarthy, farmer, of Bluecliffs, passed away at the public hospital, Timaru, after a very short illness, on March 21st. Born in County Kerry, Ireland, in 1853 the deceased, landed here 45 years ago in the ship "The Star of India." He was married in Timaru three years later and lived at Bluecliffs until the time of his death. For 26 years he was road ganger to the Waimate County Council, after which he followed farming pursuits. Deceased was a popular man and a keen sport. He was a judge of National music and dancing for many years at the Caledonian sports in Timaru and Waimate. His genial manner and uprightness of character earned for him a very large circle of friends amongst the farming community in and around St. Andrews. The funeral cortege, which left the residence of Mr F. McTague, Otipua, was a very large one. The deceased leaves a widow; and a family of five boys and six girls. The married daughters are. Mrs M. Rooney, Adair, Mrs F. McTague, Otipua, Mrs Wm. Rex, Wellington, and Mrs L. Robinson, Hakataramea. The married sons are Messrs P. and J. McCarthy, of Havelock North'. The single members of the family are Miss E. J. McCarthy, on the staff of the Public Hospital, Timaru, Quartermaster R. J. V. and Private R. L. McCarthy, who are at present on active service with the New Zealand Expeditionary Forces, and Mr M. McCarthy, of Bluecliffs.
Press, 8 June 1922, Page 13
Mr William Mac Donald, who died at Glenlyon station as the result of an accident, was a well-known and popular figure m the Mackenzie Country. Born at Pleasant Valley, Geraldine, he was the third son of Mr and Mrs Alexander Mac Donald, and only 30 years of age but had crowded into his short lifetime a worthy career. The late Mr Mac Donald was educated at Te Mona and Tengawai Schools, and started sheep work on Sherwood Downs in 1901, when only fourteen years of age. Thereafter, he was employed on Haldon, Block Forest, The Grampians, Rollesby, Wolds, Ben Ohau, and number of other stations. At the beginning of 1912, he realised one of his ambitions, and became manager of Ben Ohau station for Mr J. E. P. Cameron. At Ben Ohan Mr Mac Donald did exceptionally well, and in August, 1916, he left with the 20th Reinforcements for France. In 1918 he was wounded in the face at Passchendaele. However, he soon recovered, and was at Cologne at the declaration of peace. Returning immediately to New Zealand, he went straight back to Ben Ohau manage again for Mr Cameron, in July 1919. In this position he remained until Ben Ohau was subdivided for soldiers. After the sale, Mr Mac Donald and Mr J W. Preston negotiated with Mr Joseph Preston, and from him they purchased Glenlyon station, a property of 75,000 acres. On behalf of his partner and himself he assumed the managership. Two exceedingly successful years resulted, and when on the threshold of even better and bigger things, the late "Billy" MacDonald, as he was widely known, met with his untimely death.
Star 30 December 1898, Page 3
Timaru, Dec. 30. Mr Daniel McGuinness is dead, aged sixty. He was for many years a popular hotelkeeper here, and retired from business a few years back.
Press, 21 July 1932, Page 13 Mr D. McINNES
The death occurred at Temuka on Monday afternoon of Mr Daniel McInnes, a well-known building contractor and a former Mayor of Temuka. Born in Rotherseay, Isle of Bute, Scotland, in 1866, he was early apprenticed to the carpentry and joinery trade. In 1883 he left Glasgow by the ship Wild Deer. The ship went ashore on the coast of Ireland, but all the passengers were rescued and returned to Glasgow, where they later set out again by the Caroline, arriving at Port Chalmers on May 23rd, 1883. Other members of Mr McInnes's family had settled at Milton, but he came to Temuka and commenced business as a builder. Most of the principal buildings in the township Were erected by Mr McInnes, who also secured big contracts in all parts of South Canterbury. He took a keen interest in local politics, and was a member of the Temuka Borough Council for 24 years. During his term of office as Mayor he was the principal advocate for a high-pressure water supply for the borough. He served long terms both as member and chairman of most local Boards and committees, including the South Canterbury Hospital Board, Temuka School Committee, Board of Managers of the Technical School, Building Society, Domain Board, and Caledonian Society. He was a Justice of the Peace and president of the football and bowling clubs. In 1891 Mr McInnes was married to Miss Lucy Harriet Benbow, of Waitohi. He is survived by his widow, a daughter and three sons.
Otago Witness, 1 February 1894, Page 15 Donald McINTYRE
The Timaru Herald of the 27th says .— "The many friends whom Mr Donald McIntyre had made during the six years he was manager of Ashwick station took advantage of a flying visit he was paying to the district for the purpose of bringing his family to Wairnna station, Otago, to which he is now manager, and met him at the Silverstream Hotel on Monday evening last to present him with a handsome chronograph, suitably inscribed, as a token of the esteem in which he was held in the district. The presentation was made by Mr M. M'Leod, who referred in eulogistic terms to Mr McIntyre a kind and genial manner, and to the irreparable loss the Caledonian societies of South Canterbury would suffer by his departure. He considered Mr M'lntyre's claims to the premier position as judge of bagpipe music were paramount, as he was a first-rate piper himself, and his awards at keen competitions were never questioned. It would be impossible to find a more ardent admirer of this popular mode of observing the antiquities of his forefathers than Mr McIntyre. Messrs Macintosh, Ross, Stock, Leitch, Shaw, and O'Donohue also testified to Mr McIntyre a good qualities. Mr McIntyre feelingly responded and cordially thanked the donors for the agreeable surprise they had given him. The rest of the evening was taken up by a semi-musical and dramatic entertainment. Another old resident and very old colonist) has (says the Cromwell Argus) gone from among us in Mr George Partridge, aged 75, who has been so long and favorably known in the district.
The deceased came to Victoria in 1848, and settled near Geelong, taking up a piece of ground there and going in for farming. On the first ,gold discovery in 1851 he went to Ballarat, leaving his wife and family on the land, and did exceedingly well. He alternated between the diggings and his farm until the gold discovery in Otago. He then came over here with his eldest son, Mr H. Partridge, and after the Dunstan rash went up to Quartz-reef Point and started a store, doing fairly well. After the .first excitement was over he went back to Geelong and brought over his wife and family I in 1865, and settled at Quartz-reef Point and Lowburn, and since that time has been continuously working in the district rearing his family, who are all now comfortably settled. Some years ago he lost his wife, and before that a daughter, who were both buried in the old cemetery at Cromwell. His remains were yesterday laid by the side of his wife and, daughter. The funeral was largely attended, almost all the residents of Quartz-reef Point and Lowburn and a goodly number of the Cromwell residents paying their last respects to one who had been so old a resident and so well respected.
Star 2 September 1897, Page 1
Mr J. C. MACINTYRE. The many friends of Mr J. C. Macintyre, station-master at Lyttelton, will regret to hear of his death, which occurred at Lyttelton early yesterday morning. Mr Macintyre had been in ill-health for sometime, and had been confined to his room, but it was thought that he was improving until yesterday, when he became worse, and gradually sank. The deceased gentleman joined the railway service in 1878, and occupied many positions of trust on the Dunedin section, including that of chief clerk at Oamaru. Subsequently he became relieving-officer, and then station master at Kaiapoi and Timaru. From the latter place he was removed to Lyttelton in June of last year. During the fifteen months he was stationed at Lyttelton he made a wide circle of friends by his courteous and genial disposition, and when the news of his death became known yesterday the flags on the shipping and business places were all lowered to half-mast. While he was stationmaster at Kaiapoi the deceased was so popular that when he left a handsome clock and other articles were presented to him. At the Kaiapoi station yesterday a flag is flown at half-mast. Our Timaru correspondent says that the news of Mr Macintyre's death reached Timaru yesterday morning by private telegram, and occasioned great regret. Mr Macintyre had been station-master at Timaru before being transferred to Lyttelton, and he was universally liked and respected. He suffered a long and severe illness before leaving Timaru. The widow of the deceased is a daughter of Mr E. H. Lough, Town Clerk, at Timaru.
Press, 16 November 1915, Page 5
Mr Alexander MACKENZIE. The death occurred at his residence, Riverford. Geraldine on Sunday, of Mr Alexander Mackenzie, who was an esteemed resident of the district. Born in the parish of Urray in the county of Ross in 1838, he was, as a young man, engaged in agricultural pursuits in his native country. In 1863 he arrived at Lyttelton in the ship Brothers Pride, under engagement to the late Mr Angus, Macdonald, and proceeded to Geraldine. Later on he took, up land between Geraldine and Winchester, and he farmed his several properties until 12 years ago, when his son, Mr Colin Mackenzie, took them over. The late Mr Alexander Mackenzie took no part in public life, but was a staunch and liberal supporter of the Presbyterian Church, and it was his generosity that made it possible to build the Presbyterian Hall at Geraldine. Mr Mackenzie leaves three sons and a daughter Colonel Mackenzie, of Stover, Geraldine; the Rev. J. Mackenzie, of Toorak, Melbourne, formerly of St. Andrew's Church, Christchurch; Mr Colin Mackenzie, of Riverford, Geraldine, and Mrs Mitchell, of Gisborne.
Ashburton Guardian, 23 July 1912, Page 6
Gore, July 22. Mr David M. McKenzie, 35 years of age, who had been employed in the Postal Department for nearly 20 years, died on Sunday morning from inflammation, of the longs. He was at one time in the Timaru and Dunedin post offices.
Timaru Herald, 24 August 1886, Page 3
We learn from a private letter received by a friend in Timaru that Mr D. McKenzie, who for many years past has been a resident of Geraldine, and was publicly known as the genial and courteous Secretary to the Geraldine Racing Club, died at Geraldine about 3 a.m. on Sunday last. The deceased gentleman had been ailing for months past, and though he took a special trip to Dunedin some weeks ago to seek the best medical advice, he by it but put off the end for a few hours. His death was, therefore, not entirely unexpected, but now it has occurred his many friends feel and regret his loss very keenly. The late Mr McKenzie and family arrived from the sister shores of Australia some twenty-four years ago, and cast in his lot with the early settlers at Timaru. He very soon entered into partnership with the late Mr P. D. McRae, and the firm quickly established itself as one of the best then in Timaru. As contractors and builders the late Messrs McRae and McKenzie built the Government Landing Service, and the Stables in Beswick street, which one time presented such an animated scene in the "good old coaching days " when Cobb and Co. ruled the road. Besides the buildings mentioned the late firm put up several others, which are lasting monuments to this day of the genuine kind of work then turned out. Desiring a change, and the Raukapuka Bush being at that time much talked about, Mr McKenzie shifted his home to Geraldine ; erected sawmills in the bush named, and soon had many men working for him. The timber trade in time declining in prosperity, he, but a few years ago, gave up the business and commenced practising as an architect, his practical knowledge as a master builder standing him in good stead. He found plenty of opportunity for work, and designed and successfully superintended the erection of many buildings, among which might be mentioned a new and handsome block of shops for Mr Lawson, of Geraldine, and a drillshed for the Geraldine Rifle Volunteers, both of which have just left the contractors' hands. In addition to his architect's duties, Mr McKenzie also found time to carry out the work of secretary to the club named,-and it is due to his energy, combined with the assistance of a good committee, that the club mainly owes its present proud position in sporting circles in the colony. In conclusion, we may add that the deepest sympathy is felt for Mrs McKenzie and her family in their bereavement.
Press, 26 September 1935, Page 7 MR MURDO MCLEOD
The death occurred at his home, Clyde road, Fendalton, of Mr Murdo McLeod, who was for many years a well known farmer in South Canterbury. Mr McLeod, who was in his ninety-first year, came to New Zealand from Scotland in 1874, and settled in Methven, where, for more than 20 years, he managed the Double Hill station very successfully. The station, which, at that time, had a carrying capacity of 40,000 first-class merino sheep, was then owned by Mr William Gerard. When Mr McLeod left Double Hill he bought a farm at Gapes Valley, Geraldine, which he farmed for three years and then sold. He returned to Methven, where he purchased a farm from Mr John Gunn, comprising about 1000 acres, and later bought an adjoining property of 500 acres. Mr McLeod was a very successful sheep farmer, and produced some of the best prime Canterbury -lambs in the district. Two of his sons, Messrs Angus and Donald McLeod, went to the Great War and on their return, the former took over his father's farm, Mr McLeod purchasing another property of 750 acres for the latter. After this he retired from active work, and came to Christchurch, where he lived up to the time of his death. He is survived by his widow, two sons, Messrs Angus and Donald McLeod (Methven), and one daughter, Mrs C. G. Craw (Bayfields, Hororata). The Rev. T. W. Armour conducted the funeral, which took place at the Waimairi Cemetery. The pall-bearers were Messrs C. G. Craw, A. McLeod, Colin Urquhart, J. Boa. A. McDougall, and R. McDonald. Wreaths were sent by his widow, Mr and Mrs Angus McLeod, Mr and Mrs Donald McLeod, Mr and Mrs Charles Craw, Joyce, Jim and Ian (grand-children), Jean, Allah, and Billy (grandchildren). Mr and Mrs Colin Urquhart, Mr and Mrs D. Macdonald, and Miss Macdonald, Miss Gerard, manager and staff, Dalgety and Company; Sims, Cooper and Company, Ltd.; Mrs Renwick and family, Mrs Craw, Jean and Ella, Mrs Walker and Ivan, Mr and Mrs J. Boa, Mr and Mrs Frank Palliser, Mr and Mrs Barnes, Miss Hislop, Miss L. Legg, Mr and Mrs A. J. Wilson, and members of the Methven Gun Club.
Timaru Herald, 25 March 1905, Page 4 THE LATE DONALD
By the death of Mr Donald McMillan at Burke's Pass on Wednesday, the Mackenzie Country loses one of its best known, and oldest settlers, and the travelling public, and especially the tourists lose one of the most popular of country hotelkeepers in the colony. It is safe to say that if a handled tourists were asked who was the most obliging host they had met with in New Zealand, quite a large proportion of them would say "Donald McMillan," and many of them have put that opinion on record in letters to him. He had had a varied career. Born on a farm in far off Stornoway, Ross-shire, in 1844, he went to sea in his youth and like many of he contemporaries from that part of Scotland, he went through a Royal Navy training and belonged to the reserve. It was probably to this reason of discipline that he upright carriage which he retained during his life. He came Zealand first as a seaman in 1865 and after two or three trips he ran away from his ship in Dunedin in 1868, and made his way to the Mackenzie Country. He there as shepherd on several stations —Sawdon, Rollesby, and others till 1881, when he went Home again. Returning, in 1882, he took the Tekapo Hotel, and from that time, onward, with a short interval he continued to hold a license first for the Tekapo and then for the Burke's Pass Hotel. He purchased a farm, "Rona," a few miles this side, of the Pass and lived there while, and then sold the farm, and resumed the occupation of hotelkeeper, in which he had always been popular, adding the keeping of sheep on a small grazing, run of 5000 acres near the Pass. He was rough diamond, but a diamond of the first-water, for his disposition was of the kindliest, presenting too a quaint mixture of merriment and seriousness which together with persistent Highland modes of thought and expression, made him an unique character in the Mackenzie Country. He was particularly popular with tourists, whom he left do no stone unturned to serve. He will greatly missed, and his memory will long be preserved as that of a shrewdy kindly, well-meaning man, who helped to make the world more cheerful while he lived. Mr McMillan leaves a widow, four daughters and two sons to mourn their bereavement.
Press, 1 May 1933, Page 19 MR ALEXANDER M'RAE
The death of Mr Alexander D. McRae, well-known in Mackenzie County, took place at Sherwood Downs recently. Mr McRae arrived in New Zealand from Rothshire, in Scotland, 45 years ago. For a number of years he worked on the Benmore sheep station. From there he went to the Grampians as manager. Later, in partnership with his brother and sister, he owned Rhoboro Downs station, and after selling that property, he purchased Godley Peaks. When he sold Godley Peaks Mr McRae retired for a few years. Later he purchased a property on Sherwood Downs, where he lived until his death. Mr McRae was a recognised authority on sheep. He is survived by his sister, Miss K. McRae.
Timaru Herald, 6 February 1894, Page 3 Peter Henry McSHANE
We regret having to record the sudden death of Mr Peter Henry McShane, farmer, Geraldine Flat, on Sunday morning. It appears that Mr McShane went from his house to the stable in order to get his horse and trap ready to take the family to church m the township, end on it appearing to some of the members of the family that their father was a long while about it, Mrs McShane went to the stable only to discover the body of her husband lying dead,. Assistance was sent for as speedily as possible. It is supposed that the deceased ruptured a blood vessel in the head. An inquest was to have been held yesterday afternoon.
New Zealand Tablet, 16 February 1894, Page 19 DEATH OF AN OLD COLONIST
The following is taken from the Geraldine Guardian, Thursday, February 8. "The funeral of the late Mr Peter Henry McShane took place on Tuesday, the procession leaving his late residence, Geraldine Flat, at 9. a.m. The funeral was held in the forenoon, and not at the usual conventional hour, we understand, at the express wish of the deceased. Strange to say, only about a week before his death the matter of funerals was being discussed in his family circle and deceased then said that at his death his wish was to be buried in the same manner and same time as was the custom in the country where he was born. This wish his relatives have dutifully carried out. The funeral procession arrived at Geraldine about 1015 a.m., and was one of the largest ever seen in the district. The cortege comprised about 80 conveyances, and a large number of people followed on foot on the street. The pall-bearers were W. Earl, E. Burke. M. Burke T McQuilken, J McQuillen, and Neil O'Boyle. On arrival at St Marys, Roman Catholic Church the coffin was carried in, and High Mass for the Dead was celebrated, the Rev Father Hyland; of Ashburton officiating, assisted by the Rev Father O'Donnell (Ashburton) the Rev Fathers Fauvel and Malone (Temuka), and Rev Father Bower (Geraldine). The clergy walked at the head of the funeral procession to the cemetery, where the Rev Father Bowers read the burial service at the grave.
I may mention as one who has known the deceased for a great number of years and heard him tell a good many anecdotes of his colonial life, that he left his native place (County Antrim) in the year of 1859 and came out to Melbourne. For some years he followed cattle dealing, and made several visits to New Zealand for that purpose. He was also for a time on the West Coast gold diggings. Then he married and settled down in Halswell in 1871. He only remained there a few years, till he finally cast in his lot with many more of his own countrymen in South Canterbury the place where he died. As a farmer few were his equal and as a Catholic the Church will lose in him one of its strongest supporters. He was always ready and willing to help any charitable purpose. He was a good husband and kind father. He leaves a widow and six children (the eldest is married), all well provided for, to mourn his loss.
New Zealand Tablet, 31 October 1901, Page 19
The many friends in Wellington and elsewhere in the Colony of Constable John Madden, of Pleasant Point, will hear with regret of his death which occurred in the early part of last week at the comparatively early age of 53 years. Deceased had been for a number of years Rationed at Clyde Quay, Wellington, and was a transferred to Pleasant Point in 189 C. lie was a native of the South of Ireland, and when a young man engaged in farming In 1880 he joined the armed constabulary, and took part in Major Gudgeon's expedition to Parihaka and the arrest of Te Whiti. In 1883 he joined the police, and his career since then gained the approval and esteem of his superiors. He leaves a widow and 11 children, most of whom are grown up. One boy is a student at St. Patrick's College, having been a successful scholarship winner from the Timaru Marist Brothers' School.— R.I.P.
Ashburton Guardian, 13 March 1911, Page 3
Mr John Manchester died at Waimate on Sunday aged 77. The deceased gentleman, who was the father of Mr G. Manchester, of Ashburton, was for many years Mayor of Waimate, and the representative of that district on the Timaru Harbour Board for upwards of twenty-five years. Mr Manchester took a deep and intelligent interest in local government and was a highly respected member of the community; he was born in Leicestershire, England, in 1833. In 1859 he arrived in Timaru by the ship Strathallan, and passed a few years on a sheep station in South Canterbury. In 1863 Mr Manchester and his partners started business in Waimate as general storekeepers and merchants. Mr Manchester served on the Waimate County Council and on the Road Board that preceded it, for over thirty years, and was chairman of these bodies for a considerable time. He was also a member of the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, the first local body in South Canterbury. He was a member of the Timaru High School Board of Governors, and a governor of the Waimate School Board. Mr Manchester was one of the founders of the Methodist Church in Waimate, and held every office that a layman could hold in connection therewith. In addition to being frequently a member of the New Zealand Methodist Conference. Mr Manchester was a representative of the general Conference of Australasia. In 1867 Mr. Manchester married a daughter of the late Mr James Thomas Pain, of Queensland, and leaves a family of two sons and two daughters.
North Otago Times 14 March 1911, Page 2
He was born in Leicester in 1833, and arrived in Timaru in 1859 in the ship Strathallan. He spent some years on a sheep station, and, with the late Mr G. W. Goldsmith, entered business pursuits in 1863 in the then small township of Waimate. The business grew to large dimensions, and is now one of the largest in the town. Mr Manchester served on the Waimate County Council and on the Road Board that preceded it, for over thirty years, and was chairman of these bodies for a considerable time. He was also a member of the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, the first local body in South Canterbury. For several years he represented a portion of the Waimate County Council on the Timaru Harbor Board, and was also a member of the Timaru High School Board of Governors, and a Governor of the Waimate High School Board, he was one of the founders of the Methodist Church of Waimate and held every office that a layman could hold in connection therewith. In addition to frequently being a member of the New Zealand Methodist Conference Mr Manchester was a representative at the General Conference of Australasia. The deceased was the first Mayor of Waimate, which position he held with intermissions till 1908. For fifteen years he held the position of Waimate representative on the Timaru Harbor Board. On his retirement from the position of Mayor in 1908 a large and representative public meeting bore testimony to the esteem in which he was held; but in every position he, has held he has been looked up to as a conscientious help to all he had dealings with. His connection with the Wesleyan community in Waimate has been one of great advantage to the church, in whose interests he, worked diligently and faithfully, and his removal will sunder n tie that has been over a beneficial one. In whichever light the services of Mr Manchester to Waimate may be viewed the general feeling must be that a public benefactor has fallen out of the ranks of its foremost men. His advice was always looked upon as reliable, and he has departed leaving a void that will be hard to fill.
Ellesmere Guardian, 27 September 1927, Page 5 MR. WILLIAM
The death took place at the residence of Mr F. Gulliver, Taumutu, on Sunday, of Mr William. Matthews, at the age of 84 years. Arriving in New Zealand in the early sixties by the ship Indian Empire, he was a resident of Lakeside during the seventies, afterwards going to the Hook, Temuka, arid other parts of South Canterbury. He returned to Sedgemere about two years ago. The late Mr Matthews, who was never married, is survived by a sister, Mrs Anthony, of Cashmere. He was also an uncle of the Wallace and Mellraith families (Lakeside), Patterson family (Sedgemere), and of, Colonel Allan Bell, M.P. for Bay of Islands. The interment took place privately yesterday.
Sun, 6 July 1914, Page 1 Death
MATTHEWS.— On July 5, at the residence of Mr R. Wallace, of Lakeside, Robert Matthews, late of Waimate; in his 80th year.
Star 10 July 1914, Page 6 ROBERT MATTHEWS
A pioneer of the Ellesmere district, Mr Robert Matthews, died on Sunday at Lakeside. In the early days he was well known, and was much respected by all his neighbours and acquaintances throughout the district. He came to New Zealand in the sixties, first landing in Auckland. On the outbreak of the Maori, war he left for the South Island, making Otago the scene of his endeavours, but after a while he came to Canterbury. Then the discovery of gold on the West Coast allured him thither, where his efforts were fairly successful. But the life of a gold miner was not to his taste, so be made for Canterbury once more, suffering great hardship in crossing the trackless mountains. Mr Matthews was attracted to the Lakeside district where he bought land, and farmed it successfully for a number of years. Ultimately he sold out and went to South Canterbury, where he continued until the weight of years compelled him to give up farming, and he resided with his sister, Mrs Wallace, up to the, time of his death. He was a noted breeder of draught horses. He was also successful in the show ring with his stock, and men in a position to know regarded him as having been a judge of no mean order.
Timaru Herald, 19 June 1916, Page 3 Mr JOHN MEE
Still another link with the early days of Timaru was broken on Saturday night, when Mr John Mee, the well known merchant of Strathallan Street, died. Mr Mee arrived in New Zealand in 1863 with his brother, Mr George Mee. Soon after his arrival, he joined the firm of Miles and Co., in Christchurch, and was shortly afterwards appointed to represent them in Timaru. Later, he bought; out the extensive wool, grain, and seed business of Miles and Co., which he carried on successfully. He was well-known throughout South Canterbury as a business man, and his happy disposition made him well liked. In his younger days he took an active interest in various athletic pursuits of which ho was very fond. His wife died some years ago, hut he leaves a grown-up family of sons and daughters, the eldest son being Mr J. P. T. Mee of Levels.
Press, 21 August 1918, Page 10 Mr Richard MEREDITH.
There passed away at Waimate yesterday, Mr Richard Meredith, in his 76th year. The late Mr Meredith was born in Tullow, County Carlow, Ireland, in January, 1843, and was educated to follow the teaching profession. He came to New Zealand in the ship Accrington, landing at Lyttelton on September 9th, 1863. In the same month he commenced teaching, which he continued for three years at Woodend, eleven years at Fernside, and 11 years at Cust. In 1867 he married Miss Louisa Willis, daughter of the late Mr James Willis, proprietor of the "Canterbury Standard," one of the early newspapers of the province. In 1888 Mr Meredith gave up teaching, and engaged in farming, which he carried on successfully at North Moeraki, Darfield and Waihaorunga. The farm at Waihaorunga, some four years ago, was sold to the Government for settlement purposes, and is now known as the Tara Settlement. The deceased gentleman had since lived in retirement at his town residence, Park Villa, Waimate. In the year 1999 Mr Meredith successfully contested the Ashley seat, and represented-that electorate in Parliament for twelve consecutive years; during which time he was appointed to the chairmanship of the M to Z Public Petitions Committee, and other important offices. Ho was a member of the Canterbury Land Board for eleven years, a member of the North Canterbury Education Board for six years, and; chairman of the Board for one year. He was also an active member of the Farmers' Union, Technical School Committee, A. and P. Association. Timaru High School Board, and and been a J.P. for 25 years. Mr Meredith was an active supporter of the Methodist Church, and served on its various committees of management, and for over fifty years was a valued local preacher, not only of that church, but willingly gave his time and assistance to other churches requiring it, regardless of personal inconvenience and long journeys frequently into the back-blocks. He was always a liberal supporter of benevolent institutions, and was for eleven years president of the Waimate branch of the British and Foreign Bible Society. He was a prominent Orangeman, and was Right Worshipful Grandmaster of the Orange Institution for the Dominion for two separate terms. Mr and Mrs Meredith celebrated their golden wedding at Park Villa on Easter Monday of last year, when there was a large re-union of the members of the family, and a few very old friends. The whole function passed off under very happy conditions. The deceased gentleman is survived by a widow, four sons, Messrs R. Meredith (Waipukurau), E. J. Meredith H. H. Meredith (Waikakihi), and G. S. Meredith (Waimate): four daughters, Mrs Hitchens (Waimate), Mrs Black (Waimate), Mrs G.R. Robertson (Christchurch), and Mrs P. Meyers (Geraldine), and 22 grandchildren. One child died in infancy, and a third daughter, Mrs W. Bridgman. of Hastings, died some seven years ago. In mourning their loss the widow and family will have the sympathy of a wide circle of friends.
Timaru Herald, 7 May 1907, Page 4
Mr Henry Middleton, an old resident of Waimate, and proprietor of the Royal Hotel, was found dead in bed by his daughter, Mrs Henderson, on Sunday morning. He had been ailing for about three years with heart trouble, and his death was therefore not unexpected. Deceased was born at Tipperary in 1843, and followed the trade of a blacksmith. He came to New Zealand in 1861, and had a shop in Kaiapoi till an accident to his hand led him to take over a hotel there. He sold out three years later and bought the Royal Hotel, which he had run till lately, when he handed over control to his son-in-law. Mr Middleton was well liked, and his death removes one of the old landmarks. The town flags are flying halfmast out of respect to his memory.
Ashburton Guardian, 21 February 1912, Page 4
Mr John Millichamp, of Tinwald, an old and greatly respected resident of the district died at his home last night, the cause being diabetes. The fact that death was unexpected makes the event more sad. The late Mr Millichamp, who was 66 years, of age, was born in Herefordshire, England, and as a young man migrated to New Zealand, arriving here 41 years ago; He spent some time in Christchurch, Timaru and Temuka, but for the last thirty years' of his life he resided in the Ashburton district. Mr Millichamp lived a useful life and was popular among; his large circle of acquaintances. At the time of his death he was, with his sons, owner of an extensive nursery at Tinwald. Though he did not take a prominent part in public life, for the past few years he had been a member of the Tinwald Domain Board. He leaves a widow and three sons and one daughter, all residents of the district.
Press, 8 June 1927, Page 8
The death occurred at Timaru last week of a very highly respected resident of Orakapaoa, Temuka, Mr John James Mills. He was born at Broadfields. North Canterbury, 62 years ago, but while he was still very young the family removed to near Rakaia. On leaving school Mr Mills took up farming pursuits, and in 1899 he married. Miss Pither, eldest daughter of Mr J. Pither, of Waddington. They settled down on a small farm at Greendale, and worked it very successfully until, about seven years ago, the family removed to the present farm at Orakapaoa. Mr Mills was a member of the Baptist Church, and a few years ago was an active Sunday School teacher. He .leaves a widow and a family of seven, who are as follows:—Mr Frank Mills (Temuka), Mr C. Mills (Dunedin), Mrs H. Wood (Albury), Mrs L. F. Boon (Christchurch), Mrs M. G. Allenby (Temuka), Mrs A. Baker (Christchurch), Miss Sylvia Mills (Temuka).
Timaru Herald, 3 August 1909, Page 5
A man named John Minnis, well known in the Pleasant Point district, a labourer, died suddenly yesterdays at Mr J. Medlicott's farm, where, he was employed. Deceased was 63 years of age, a native of Pendnen, Penzance, Cornwall, and he had been living in and about Pleasant Point for the last thirty years.
Ashburton Guardian, 21 February 1912, Page 4 Death
Millichamp —On February 20th, at his residence, Carter's Terrace, Tinwald, John, beloved husband of Eliza Emma Millichamp ; aged 65 years.
Press, 13 January 1910, Page 9 Mr. James MOFFAT
Mr Jas. Moffatt, an old identity of Mackenzie Country, died at Fairlie on Sunday, aged 74. He came to New Zealand about 40 years ago, and after shepherding at Mt. Somers for some time and then farming at Kakahu for a while, he went into the Mackenzie Country, and was employed for many years on Haldon station.
Timaru Herald, 15 October 1919, Page 4 Mr Hugh MONAHAN
An old and highly, respected resident of Temuka; Mr Hugh Monahan, died last Thursday, after an illness which had incapacitated him for three months. Mr Monahan was a native of Kiiburnie, Scotland. In 1878 he married and came out to New Zealand, landing in Otago. Five years later he came to Temuka, and has resided there ever since for a time he carried on rope making, and then took to general contracting, making a specialty, of asphalt work; footpaths, etc. He laid down about forty tennis courts, and asphalted the bicycle track of Temuka, Geraldine, and Timaru. Another of his jobs was the excavation of clay for the site of the C.F.C. A. woolstores at Timaru. He was a total abstainer and an active worker in the temperance cause. He was for a time a member of the Temuka Borough Council; and was a keen member of the Temuka Bowling Club. He leaves a widow, two sons and four daughters; two sons lost their lives at the war. The funeral on Friday was attended by many old friends arid many tokens of sympathy were received by the family.
Star 19 June 1916, Page 5 ALEXANDER MONTGOMERY
The death is announced .of a very old Timaru resident, Sir Alexander Montgomery, who for the past twenty four years has held the position of Deputy Official Assignee and also that of registrar of births, deaths and marriages. The late Mr Montgomery was born in Ireland and on arriving in Timaru he was employed by Messrs Moodie and Ziesler, but left them to join Mr K. F. Gray, founding the Temuka auctioneering firm of Gray and Montgomery. He was for some time secretary of the Timaru Building Society, and held a seat on the committee of the Main School. Mr Montgomery had been in indifferent health for some time.
Press, 12 June 1934, Page 5
Mr David Moore, who died at his home, Arthur street Timaru, on Thursday last, was born in Coleraine, County Derry, Ireland, 82 years ago. Arriving in New Zealand nearly 60 years ago, he settled at St. Andrews, where he engaged in carpentering and general contract work. Later, he joined Mr Melville Grey and was a travelling salesman for the Brantford reaper and binder, the machine being taken over later by Massey, Harris Co., Ltd. Mr Moore managed that company's business in South Canterbury, when it had premises in Timaru, on the site now occupied by the Majestic Theatre. When the Massey, Harris Co. relinquished its branch in Timaru, Mr Moore became associated with the firms which held its agency. During the years in which he was connected with the agricultural business he travelled extensively throughout the district and was a well-known figure at farmers' gatherings. In recognition of his services, the Massey, Harris Co. selected him to take charge of its exhibit at the Canadian court at the last Dunedin Exhibition. Mr Moore also travelled to England and Australia. He is survived by a widow, a son, George, who lives in Gisborne, and four daughters, Mrs F. Morgan (Timaru), Mrs K. Mclllwraith (Mount Parker), Mrs J. B. Welton (Christchurch), and Miss Kathleen Moore (Timaru). The funeral took place on Saturday, the interment being private. The services at the house and the graveside were conducted by the Rev. Adam Begg.
Press, 27 March 1929, Page 5
On Friday last one of Temuka's early settlers, Mr John Moore, passed away in the Timaru Hospital, after a long and trying illness, in his 79th year. Mr Moore was born in County Tyrone in 1850. After finishing his education he followed the occupation of a farmer, subsequently marrying, and coming to New Zealand in the Lady Jocelyn, arriving at Lyttelton in 1879. He came on to Timaru, but returned in the same year to Temuka, where he had resided ever since. A few months ago, owing to failing health, he became a patient of Timaru Hospital. His wife predeceased him seven years ago. There were seven children of the marriage—two daughters and five sons. George was killed on Gallipoli, William John came through the South African War and the Gallipoli attack, but died after his return to New Zealand. The daughters who survive are Mrs McInnes (Otorohanga, King Country), and Miss M. A. C. Moore (Temuka), and the Bons are Mr Joseph Moore (King Country), Mr Robert Moore (Temuka), and Mr Cecil Moore (Temuka).
Press, 9 October 1916, Page 5 MR MICHAEL MOORE
Another old identity of Canterbury passed away at his residence, Temuka, on Thursday, in the person of Mr Michael Moore, formerly of Waitohi, in his 75th year. Mr Moore was born at Newcastle, County Limerick, Ireland, in 1842, and in 1864 emigrated to Australia. Ho camo to New Zealand in 1868, and in 1892 ho started farming at Waitohi, where he resided till a few years before his death. He leaves a widow, three sons, and five daughters.
Press, 16 April 1929, Page 5 Moore, Walter Montagu, 1851-1929
A table message received from England announced the death at St. Leonards-on-Sea, of Colonel Walter Montagu Moore, at the age of 77. The late Colonel Moore, who left Geraldine for England seven years ago was during his residence here, one of the town foremost citizens. For many years he acted as vicar's warden, and was a prominent figure in the Anglican Church community. He took a great interest in the Geraldine Horticultural Society, and was its president for many years, and one of its most enthusiastic exhibitors. Both he and his brother Henry were amongst the most energetic cricketers in the district. Colonel Moore had an only son, Walter, who played a distinguished part in the Great War as an artillery officer. Colonel Moore's wife died about two years ago.
Press, 22 January 1935, Page 4
Mr William Morgan, who died on Saturday, had been a resident of South Canterbury for 60 years. Born in Oxfordshire in 1868, Mr Morgan was seven years of age when he arrived in Timaru with his parents, who settled at Washdyke. After being educated at the Washdyke School Mr Morgan became a road contractor but later was appointed to a position with the New Zealand Refrigerating Company at Smithfield, where he remained tor about 16 years. Taking up farming in ,the Milford district, Mr Morgan remained there until after the war. after which he returned to Smithfield for about a year. Later he took over a newspaper round. He was a keen bowler and for a time was a member of the West End Club, subsequently joining the Ashbury Club of which he was a past president. He was one of the trustees of the Waimataitai Methodist Church and while at Milford was associated with the Temuka Methodist Church. Mr Morgan is survived by his widow, Mrs S. Skudder, and two sons, Messrs F. Morgan and D. Morgan (Timaru). Two other sons, Messrs W. S. and A. Morgan lost their lives in the Great War, and a son died in Timaru some years ago.
Akaroa Mail and Banks Peninsula Advertiser, 15 January 1897, Page 3 Mr I. L.
We regret to record that Mr Morris, father of Dr. Morris of Little River, and Mr Herman Morris, who so kindly helped, us by assisting at a concert in Akaroa last week died at his residence at Pleasant Point near Timaru on Saturday last. Mr Morris was himself on a visit to Akaroa only a few days ago and seen then to be in perfect health and spirits, his geniality and interesting knowledge of the colony, and particularly Canterbury, making him an exceedingly pleasant companion. Monday's Timaru Herald, 12 January 1897, Page 2 says '
The residents of Pleasant Point and the friends of the family of the late Mr I. L. Morris, were inexpressibly shocked to learn that the grief of the family for the sudden death of the father had been cruelly intensified by the suicide of Mr George Morris, the eldest son, while the remains of the father yet awaited interment. The three sons were occupying two rooms detached from the store, and yesterday morning all rose about 6 o'clock. Dr W. and Mr H. Morris went outside and were absent a minute or two, and on their return found that George had cut his throat with a razor, so determinedly as to sever every artery, and he died almost instantaneously. The deceased, as is well known, had been subject to fits of insanity, and he had only been a couple of weeks returned from an incarceration of some months in Sunnyside. An inquest will be held at noon to-day. The late Mr I.L. Morris was born at Samotschin in the province of Posen, Germany, in 1925. He arrived in Victoria in the early fifties and found himself at Ballarat and then at Bendigo diggings, where he made many friends as a storekeeper. After the gold rushes he went back to Germany, and married. He then came to the colony, and entered into partnership with the late Mr Julius Mendelson at Pleasant Valley, which partnership existed until the death of Mr Mendelson. Prior to the death of his partner the firm commenced business at Pleasant Point. Altogether Mr Morris had been a resident of the Pleasant Point district between twenty five and thirty years.
Ashburton Guardian, 11 January 1897, Page 3
The Timaru Herald has the following obituary notice of the late Mr I. L. Morris, of Pleasant Point, (Uncle of Mrs Rudolph Friedlander, of this town), who died on Saturday afternoon from an apoplectic seizure. The late Mr I. L. Morris was born at Samotaohin, in the province of Posen, Germany, about 1825. He arrived in Victoria in the early fifties and found himself first at Ballarat, and then at Bendigo diggings where he made many friends as a storekeeper. After the gold rushes he went back to Germany, and married. He then came to this colony, and entered into partnership with the late Mr Julius Mendelson at Pleasant Valley, which partnership existed until the death of Mr Mendelson. Prior to the death of his partner the firm commenced business at Pleasant Point, Altogether Mr Morris has been a resident of the Pleasant Point district between twenty five and thirty years. He was distinguished for honesty of purpose and probity in all business matters, and was noted for his good nature and philanthropy. He always took the deepest interest at in the social and civic welfare of the district. He was an one time a member of the Timaru Harbour Board, and until the time of his death was a member of the Pareora Licensing Committee and the Timaru Milling Company, besides being a member of most of the other local bodies. Those who have been identified with him in the many concerns of his active life bear testimony to his geniality of manner, his shrewd business ability, and his broadmindedness in all matters of moment. Last January he was the recipient of a handsome present from the members of the Jewish Synagogue in Timaru, in recognition of his able and willing services as lay reader for his denomination. Of whatsoever he was interested in he was a staunch supporter financially and otherwise, and his familiar figure will be missed by a large circle of friends in the Pleasant Point district for many years to come. He leaves widow and family of grown up sons and daughters to mourn his loss. In many ways too numerous to mention he will be sadly missed in South Canterbury.
Evening Post, 26 May 1936, Page 11 MR. R. B. MORRIS
The death of Mr. Richard Brabazon Morris, formerly secretary of the Post and Telegraph Department, occurred in Wellington on Saturday. Mr. Morris, who was 75 years of age, retired from the Public Service in 1923, after 48 years connection with the Postal Department, which he joined as a cadet in 1875. The ability he displayed insured his rapid rise in official life. He filled many positions, including those of Assistant Postmaster, Christchurch, Inspector of Savings Banks, Inspector of Post Offices, Chief Postmaster, Christchurch, Chief Inspector, and First Assistant Secretary. In 1920, Mr. Morris attended the Postal Conference at Madrid as the New Zealand representative. He was appointed permanent head of the Postal Department in 1920, and three years later he retired on superannuation. He subsequently took up land in the Timaru district, and, assisted by his sons, engaged in farming. In recent years he has lived in retirement at Wadestown. Mr. Morris leaves a widow, three daughters, Mrs. Harold Beck (Christchurch), Mrs. Phillip Brandon, of Wadestown, Mrs. Kenneth Hall, and two sons,. Messrs. R. B. and J. B. Morris, both at present in England. Mr. W. R. Morris, Wadestown, and Mr. C. D. Morris, Christchurch, are brothers. The funeral, which was private, took place yesterday. The Rev. J. E. Ashley-Jones officiated.
Timaru Herald, 12 September 1916, Page 4 MR R. MORRISON,
There passed away at his residence, Geraldine, on Sunday night, one of the oldest residents of the district, Mr Robert Morrison senr. Born, at Ballywater, County Down, Ireland, in 1837, he caught, the gold fever while a young he came to Geraldine, where in 1867. Having been engaged gold digging in Australia for some years, he then came to New Zealand, and opened a store on the Dunstan diggings', Otago and later on he moved to the West Coast and engaged in storekeeping between Hokitiki and the Gray. From there he came to Geraldine where in 1867, the year before the big flood, of which he used frequently to speak, he established the business now known as that of Morrison Brothers, general storekeepers and merchants, and oh the site now occupied. Mr R. Morrison senr. retired from business twenty three years ago. His wife, predeceased him sixteen years ago. The deceased leaves three sons—Mr Robert who now conducts the J. Morrison, retired, and Mr W. Morrison, who is farming at Cambridge, in the Waikato and three daughters—Mrs W. Thomas, of Taumarunui; Mrs W. Dawson, of Wellington; and Miss Morrison, who attended her father to the end. The late Mr R. Morrison was a good business man, and he was much esteemed for his uprightness. The funeral takes place this afternoon.
Timaru Herald, 1 August 1885, Page 2 W.P. MUNRO
Death of an Old Timaru Resident. The English mail just arrived brings news of the death of one of our old residents, Mr W. P. Munro, who died in Edinburgh, Scotland, on the 8th of June, after a lingering and painful illness. Mr Munro was here in the good old days, when money was easily made, and had a successful partnership in the firm of Cain, Munro and Co., general merchants, commencing in 1865 and ending about 1872, when the firm disposed of their business. In the following year Mr Munro took his departure for the Old Country and afterwards resided in Edinburgh. Many of the early residents in Timaru and district will regret to hear of the death of one who proved to them a real friend.
Timaru Herald, 13 September 1917, Page 11 MR JOHN MURDOCH
Mr John Murdoch, whose death is announced this morning, at the age of 84, had been in business here as a timber merchant since 1881. He was a native of Ayrshire, and came to New Zealand a young man, and first settled in Invercargill. He was brought up as a mechanical engineer, and during his residence of thirty-three years in Southland he was prominently connected -with flour and timber milling. Ho had one of the first sawmills in the province, and at one time had six mills running, He also started and ran for five years one of the first flour mills. Mr Murdoch sold all life mills in Southland and removed to Dunedin where he built a large sawmill, working it in connection with another on Stewart Island. In 1881 he established a branch in Timaru, which was managed by the late Mr James Ord. Mr Murdoch himself came to Timaru some years ago, and made his Home in Latter Street, where he has since lived a quiet retired life.
Press, 10 January 1936, Page 8
The death occurred at Waikouaiti recently of Mr Alexander McKay Murray, after a long illness. Mr Murray was a brother of Mr John Murray, of Studholme Junction, and of Sergeant T. B. Murray, of Waimate. He was a very well-known and respected resident of the district, and had been in business as a newsagent for more than 30 years.
Press, 13 May 1890, Page 3 Mr S. NASHEKSKI
The news of the death of Mr S. Nashekski, which took place at 11.45 pm on May 5th, will be learned with regret, not only by a large circle of friends, but by the general body of the citizens of Christchurch, amongst whom the deceased gentleman has lived so long. Mr Nashelski was born in Lubrahitz, Russian Poland, in 1822. On account of the first decree issued by the Emperor Nicholas, that youths over fourteen years should be liable to be taken to serve in the Imperial army, young Nashelski, who had just reached that age, left his native place. He was subsequently taken by the Prussians into the fortifications of Posen, where he remained a political refugee under military orders. Here he was located about fifteen months. When released, he was favoured with the "march road," and under marching orders .made straight for England. In the home of liberty he followed different occupations, and passed through various ups and downs, such as might be expected in the career of a young adventurer in a strange land. In 1852, under engagement to Messrs P. and D. Folk and Co., whom he served for three years, Mr Nashelski sailed away for Victoria, to which the eyes of all the world had just been turned, as the certain road to big nuggets and high fortune, leaving to set up for himself as a general dealer, carrying on business on the Ballarat, Castlemaine, and Inglewood goldfields. He returned to Melbourne, and entered into partnership with the late Mr Julius Mendelson, of Temuka, and Mr Jacob Caro, carrying on business as general storekeepers at Sandhurst, Little River, Yackandaodah. When the Otago goldfields were discovered Mr Nashelski abandoned Victoria, and, in conjunction with his nephew, Mr H. Nashelski, opened in Rattray street, Dunedin, as general merchants. Here two years passed rapidly away. In the meantime Mr Jacob Caro Mr Nasheiski's former partner—in conjunction with Mr H. Cohn (now of Messrs B. Petersen and Co.) had opened in Christchurch, and, being desirous of disposing of their business, Mr Nashelski became the purchaser, and in consequence he removed to Christchurch In 1881 arriving on the day on which the foundation scone of the Cathedral was laid. ...
Timaru Herald, 19 June 1884, Page 6 William NICHOLLS
Obituary — Mr William Nicholls, one of the oldest employees of this journal, died on Monday, May 26, after a brief illness of three days. He had been nearly fourteen years in the Timaru Herald office, for five as an apprentice, and for over eight and a half as a journeyman. During most of the time he held several responsible positions amongst his fellow-workmen, and was held in great esteem by them. He arrived in Lyttelton with his parents, by the ship Tiptree, in January, 1864, and has resided in Timaru ever since. He is the first employee of the Timaru Herald who has died in harness. He was 28 years of age, and leaves a wife and two children to mourn his loss. Mr Nicholls was a member of the Foresters' Lodge, Court Southern Cross; The funeral took place on Wednesday afternoon at the Timaru cemetery, and was well attended, about thirty members of the Foresters' Court Southern Cross, of which deceased was a member, and about twenty of the employees of the Timaru Herald, besides the near relatives and some other personal friends of the deceased, joining in the sad procession. The body was carried all the way to the cemetery, the Foresters arid others relieving each other in the labor. A portion of the Foresters' funeral service was read at the house by the Chaplain to the Court, Bro. Burford, and concluded at the side of the grave, and the Rev. Mr Fairclough read at the cemetery the burial service of the Wesleyan Church, to which the deceased belonged.
Press, 28 May 1919, Page 7
Mr John Nixon, a well-known Canterbury farmer, died at his residence, "Tullynacree," Riccarton road, on May 23rd, in his 79th year. Mr Nixon was born in County Down, Ireland, and came to New Zealand in 1864, a few years Inter taking up land at Fairlie, South Canterbury. He retired in 1904, and resided in Riccarton until the time of his death. He leaves a widow, five sons, and six daughters.
Press 31 March 1937 Page 12 MR FRANCIS O’BOYLE
The death occurred recently of Mr Francis O’Boyle, a well-known farmer of Otaio, South Canterbury. Mr O’Boyle came to New Zealand in 1878 with his parents from Cushendall, County Antrim, Ireland, the family settling at Leeston and later taking up a farm at Landsborough, near Timaru. Mr O’Boyle began work on his account, taking ploughing contracts at the Pareora and Holme Stations, and in 1904 leased a farm belonging to his cousin in the Leeston district. Later he bought a farm at Tycho, South Canterbury, where he farmed for many years before selling out and going to live in Timaru. He then purchased the Hafton Homestead block at Otaio and added to it another farm, known as Cannings. He was an extensive dealer in draught horses and sheep, and was well known as a judge of draught horses. In 1904 he married Miss Kathleen Hickey, of Gisborne, and he is survived by his wife and four sons and two daughters. The funeral took place to the Timaru cemetery, after Requiem Mass had been celebrated at the Makikihi Catholic Church by the Rev. Father J. Herbert, S.M., Waimate. The Rev. Father Peoples, S.M., officiated at the graveside.
Otago Witness 18 December 1901, Page 45
One of the old identities of Waimate, Mr Nicholas O'Brien, died in Timaru on the 9th inst. The deceased gentleman was a native of Castle Dennot parish, County Kildare, Ireland He arrived in Auckland about 40 years ago, and in 1862 came to South Canterbury. He was never married. Deceased was for some years a member of the Waimate County Council, and a supporter of the Waimate Caledonian Society from its commencement.
Press, 10 July 1936, Page 7 MR E. A. O’MALLEY
Mr E. A. O’Malley, who was a wellknown figure throughout Canterbury, particularly in the Geraldine and Waimate districts, died at Waimate recently. The funeral took place on Wednesday. Mr O’Malley, who was living at Harris street, Waimate, had been in indifferent health for some years. He was born in Christchurch in 1875, and was educated at the Christchurch Boys’ High School, passing into the employment of the Government Survey Department in the Amuri district. He went to Geraldine in 1896, where he joined the staff of Maling and Shallcrass, which later became Guinness and le Cren, and is now Pyne, Gould, Guinness, Ltd. He was transferred to Ashburton in 1919, and then went to Waimate in 1924. After a few years he retired and entered the hotel business, and was licensee of the Waihao Forks, Henley, and Empire (Dunedin) hotels. Mr O’Malley for 12 years was secretary, and seven years president of the Geraldine Racing Club, later being elected a life member. He was also secretary of the Geraldine Caledonian Society for "seven years, and was superintendent of the Geraldine Fire Brigade for 13 years, and served for 11 years on the Geraldine Borough Council, being chairman of the councils finance committee. At Waimate he was an honorary life member of the Waimate Fire Brigade. He was prominent as a sportsman, particularly at football, being captain of the Geraldine team for some time, and representing South Canterbury as full-back in 1899 and 1900. He leaves his widow, five daughters, and six sons. by the Rev. Father E. Kimbell, S.M. (Christchurch), the deacon being the Very Rev. Father J. Spillane, S.M., and the sub-deacon the Rev. Father C. Knight, S.M, The absolution was read by Bishop Brodie. The Mass was Chanted by a choir of priests. The service at the graveside was conducted by Bishop Brodie, the pallbearers being four sons, Messrs W Spillane, A. Spillane, and J. Spillane (Temuka), and C. Spill line (Wanganui). The chief mourners were the sons of Mrs Spillane. Other members of the clergy who were present at the church and the graveside were the Very Rev. Drs. V Geaney, S.M. (Christchurch), Casey, S. (Temuka), Kennedy (Christchurch), the Rev. Fathers Smith, S.M., Kerley, S.M., Seymour, S.M., and Bartley, S.M. (Timaru), T. and J. Hanrahan, J. M. Vibaud, S.M. (Christchurch), and Fogarty (Geraldine).
Press, 11 March 1937, Page 7 MR A. W. OPIE
Mr Arthur William Opie, whose death occurred recently at the Timaru Hospital, was an old resident of Winchester, and was the youngest son of the late Mr and Mrs John Opie. He was born at Waimate in 1876, and received his education at the Waimate Primary and District High Schools. In 1891 he went with his parents to Winchester, where his father entered the storekeeping business. In his younger days Mr Opie was an athlete well known on the running tracks, and football fields of South Canterbury. He played for both the Waihi and Temuka Football Clubs, and was a member of the South Canterbury representative team which toured the North Island in 1903. In the next year he was a member of the South Canterbury football team which played against Canterbury. He was also interested In cricket and rifle shooting, being a member of the Winchester Cricket and Miniature Rifle Clubs. Twenty-three years ago he was married to Miss L. Gillum, who died 14 years, after. Mr Opie is survived by two sons and one daughter.
Press, 11 March 1914, Page 7 MR M C. ORBELL.
Died 10th March 1914 formerly of Waikouaiti and Geraldine.
The death is reported of Mr Macleod Clement Orbell, at his residence,  Cashel street West, in his seventy-sixth year. Mr Orbell was born in Essex, England, and came out to New Zealand in 1849 in the ship Mariner, landing at Port Chalmers with his parents. The family was one of the first to settle in Otago, and he began pastoral life, at Waikouaiti, in 1849. In 1860 Mr Orbell took up a run in that district, and carried it on until 1888, when the country was divided by the Government and disposed of under the small grazing run system. Mr Orbell then came to Canterbury, where he leased the Raukapuka Estate, which had been the property at different times of Messrs Cox, Tancred, and Postlethwaite. He then devoted himself to sheepfarming and general agriculture, purchasing another farm about five miles from Geraldine. He was elected first Mayor of Waikouaiti in 1866 and a member of the Otago Provincial Council for the same electorate and was a member of the first Executive Council of Sir Julius Vogel—then Mr Vogel. Mr Orbell was gazetted as a Justice of the Peace in 1870, and thrice elected president of the Geraldine Farmers' Club. He married, in 1863, a daughter of Colonel Bamford, of the 73rd Regiment, and leaves a large family. The Rev. W. H. Orbell, of Papanui, is one of his sons. The late Mr Orbell was for a considerable period a prominent member and supporter of St. Michael's Church, and for some years, during Bishop Averill's regime as vicar, he held office as vestryman.
Press, 6 May 1925, Page 8 Mr C. N. ORBELL
Timaru, May 5. Mr C. N. Orbell, one of the earliest settlers in South Canterbury, a noted sheep-breeder and manager of the New Zealand and Australian Land Companies' Levels Estate until it was taken over by the Government for closer settlement, died to-day in his 80th year. He served on many public bodies, including the Levels County Council, of which he was chairman for thirty years. He was a noted judge of sheep and light horses, and took a keen interest in sport, especially racing, hunting, and amateur athletics.
Orbell, MacLeod Clement, 1838-1914 : Reminiscences of my early life in New Zealand dating from 1849-1870 ATL
The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Canterbury Provincial District] 1903 Geraldine
Macleod Clement Orbell (1838 -1904) was born in Essex, England. A son of John Orbell (1800-1879) was was a conservative and retiring man. The family came out in the Mariner in 1849 and landed in Port Chalmers and settled at Waikouauti. In 1860 M.C. Orbell took up a large Otago run of 65,000 and carried it on till 1888. He leased J.R. Jones's Malanana property in '71. In '91 he came to south Canterbury and leased what was left of Raukapuka -1400 acres from Postlethwaite for 14 years, Which had been the property at different times of Messrs Cox, Tancred, and Postlethwaite. He also had another farm five miles from Geraldine. he was the first mayor of Waikouauti 66-68 and represented Waikouauti in the Otago Provincial Council 66 -67 and was a member of Vogel's first exec. He was made J.P. in '70 and was president of the Geraldine Farmers Club. He took a great interest in freezing matters and proposed a scheme for absorbing all the freezing works in NZ into one company. He married, in 1863, a daughter of Colonel Bamford, of the 73rd Regiment, and has a family of eight children.
Alice Elizabeth and McLeod Clement ORBELL children:
1867 Orbell Eleanor Mary
1865 Orbell Herbert Clement
1869 Orbell Jessie Catherine
1873 Orbell Lionel Havelock
1871 Orbell Reginald Hanbury
1870 Orbell Waldron Hastings
1876 Orbell Alice Evelyn
1864 Orbell Norman McLeod
Otago Daily Times 12 March 1914, Page 8
The death at Christchurch on the 10th list, of Mr Macleod Clement Orbell removes one of the oldest residents of Otago. and one who in the very early days played prominent part in the first settling of the pastoral country in the Waikouaiti district, and who was one of the most energetic and widely-respected settlers in the province. Mr Orbell was born on September 30, 1838, Brundon, about a mile distant from Sudbury, Suffolk, on the bank of the river Stour which divides the counties of Suffolk and Essex, in the financial crisis of 1842 Mr Orbell's father lost heavily, and in 1847 removed to Greenwich. The following year he decided to emigrate with his family, which consisted of five sons and five daughters, and departure was taken for New Zealand in the Mariner (783 tons). Captain Harland, in 1849. The passengers were about equally divided between Otago, Wellington. and Nelson. The Orbell family originally intended to settle in Otago, but shorty after arrival at Port Chalmers it was resolved to go on to Wellington. An accidental meeting between Mr Orbell's father and the late Captain Jones, of Waikouahi, prevented this, however, for Mr Jones made such favourable proposals that they were accepted, and the family went to Waikouaiti. Here however disappointment followed disappointment, and it was not till 15 months had passed that the family was in a house of its own and on an independent footing. A heavy struggle followed, but the family slowly obtained a footing, and in 1855 applied for some of the vacant sheep and cattle country. A lease over 20,000 acres at Hawkesbury was granted by the Provincial Government. Later, the eldest son, Henry, took up 40,000 acres. All leases of pastoral runs were grafted at a nominal rent in order to induce settlers to take up the runs. Mr Orbell assisted his brother Henry in the building of a homestead, and for two years worked with him dairying, pig farming, and bacon curing, until his services were no longer necessary, and Henry was able to carry on alone. Mr Orbell then toured Otago, and afterwards undertook for Mr Jones the charge of a goods, store in conjunction with the trade of Mr Jones's steamer Geelong. This was followed by the offer of a lease of 160 acres, and soon Mr Orbell began to find his feet. Two years later (1861) the gold rush broke out. Mr Orbell, having his farm work well ahead, joined the rush, walking to Gabriel's Gully with his brother Henry, and both carrying their swags on their backs. Henry took ill and Mr Orbell, failing to make "tucker," returned to his farm. On the lease of this expiring shortly after he went into partnership with his brother Henry in the station, and the brothers greatly increased the itinerant of stock on the holding In 1863 Mr Orbell married, and settled in Waikonaiti, 10 miles from the station. By this time, in his own words, the heavy work of his life was over, and except at mustering time or when drafts of fat cattle were ready for the market his presence at the station was not urgently required. His brother Henry had been Home for some time, and returned, himself married, much surprised to find that his partner in the holding had also entered upon wedded life. Henry had made up his mind to live in Dunedin, generally speaking, left his brother to manage matter. In 1866 the brothers went in almost entirely for sheep. Mr Orbell was returned to the Provincial Council for Waikouaiti in 1866. He had previously been made a J.P., and was Mayor of Hawkesbury, the first after its formation into a municipality, no was the roundest member of the Provincial Council, which consisted of 33 members. Sir (then Mr) Julius Vogel was at the head of affairs, and Mr Orbell became a member of the Executive. At the following election, however, he was defeated. Mr Orbell continued in the pastoral industry in Otago till 1838, when he went to Canterbury, which he leased the Raukapuka estate. He also acquired a property near Geraldine. His wife was a daughter of Colonel Bamford of the 73rd Regiment, and the family consisted of eight children. A tribute is due to Mrs Orbell for the active part she took in the early days of the province and the help and encouragement given to her family and all with whom she came in contact of her loyalty and devotion to her family it need only he remarked that daring the time Mr Orbell was residing on the station in Otago visitors were seldom seen, and once for a period of five months she saw no female faces except those of the servant girls. She used to ride occasionally with Mr Orbell to Hawkesbury and spend the day there, beyond which she had little change. She never complained, however, though at times she felt her loneliness very much. Mr Orbell was for a considerable period a prominent member and supporter of St. Michael's Church, Christchurch and for some years, during Bishop Averill's regime as vicar, he held office as vestryman.
Orbell, John (47) [ag. Waikouaiti; d. 14 Jan. 1871];
Catherine née Allen, wife (42) [d. 2/12/1875;
Catherine (22) [m. C R Bidwell, Wairarapa; d. 1894];
Emily (21) [never married; returned; d. 1901];
Fanny (19) [m. Henry Charles Hertslet (ex Mariner 2); d. 28/4/1817];
Mary (17) [m. John Richard Jones, Matanaka; d. 25/2/1906];
Henry (17) [ag. Waikouaiti; d. 7/4/1891];
Edward (17) [d. Pihautea 6/1902];
Frank Alfred (12) [ag.; d 1893];
MacLeod Clement (10) [ag. Waikouaiti, Geraldine; d. Christchurch 10/3/1914];
Jessie (6) [m. (Sir) Henry J Miller, Member Legislative Council; Oamaru; d. 1920];
George Grahame (5) [d. by accident in Australia, 1883]
Geoffrey Buckland Orbell MBE (7 October 1908 – 15 August 2007) the man who
rediscovered the takahe which was widely thought to be extinct, but Orbell
suspected it might survive.
Geoffrey was the son of Lionel Havelock Orbell 1874-1945 who married 1901 Rachel Susan Christabel Buckland.
Lionel was the son of Macleod Clement Orbell 1839 - 1914. Macleod married 1863 Alice Elizabeth Bamford 1845-1921.
Otago Witness 29 May 1901 Page 43
ORBELL — BUCKLAND.— On the 22nd May, at St. John's Church, Winchester b the Rev. W. H. Orbell, assisted by the Rev. J.K. Baiklie, of Geraldine, Lionel Havelock Orbell, son of M. C. Orbell, of Geraldine, to Rachel Susan Christabel Buckland, second daughter of J. C. Buckland, Winchester, late of Taieri, Lake Station, Otago.
Star 24 January 1900, Page 3
MR JOSHUA PAGE. Canterbury has lost another of her early settlers by the death of Mr Joshua Page, who died to-day, after a long illness. Mr Page who was born at Thurlby, in Lincolnshire, in 1826, has been a resident in Canterbury for upwards of forty years. Brought up in England to agricultural pursuits, he went out to Australia in 1851, and shortly afterwards came to New Zealand in the schooner Mary Thompson. He was one of the first livery stable-keepers in Christchurch, succeeding Messrs Idle and Skelton, at the White Hart stables. He afterwards built stables in Cashel Street, which he worked successfully for many years. Disposing of these, he proceeded to Timaru, were for fifteen years he was recognised as a most successful practical farmer. Mr Page, who had been a member of the Canterbury Agricultural and Pastoral Association from its inception, was a been judge of stock, both as regarded cattle and horses, and his services as a judge were in constant requisition, and were highly appreciated. Whilst living in Timaru, he became one of the promoters of the Farmers' Co-operative Association there. He was chairman for several years. Mr Page was frequently requisitioned to stand for Parliament, but invariably decline. He was married in 1862 to a sister, of the late Mr J. Gapes, ex-Mayor of Christchurch, and leaves one son and one daughter.
Timaru Herald, 30 August 1916, Page 3 Mr Chas. PALLISER.
the death at his home in Wellington, of Mr Charles Palliser elder brother of Mr Frank Palliser of Timaru, and a former resident of this town. Mr Charles Palliser was engaged in building here and erected some of the larger buildings of the early eight. He then, with Mr T.R. Jones, carried out several contracts for the construction of the concrete breakwater, and Messrs Palliser and Jones also built the North Mole (now- the Marine Parade). They then went to Napier and constructed the breakwater there. Subsequently Mr Palliser, settled in Wellington, and bought properties and engaged in building there acquiring a handsome competence. In the last of his trips to Europe, five or six years ago, he contracted a serious illness in Norway, which he was unable to completely shake off and has finally caused his decease, at the age of seventy. He leaves a widow (sister of Messrs John and Edwin Kelland, and of Mrs. Alex Pringle), four sons and three daughters, whose sorrow will be shared by many old friends in Timaru and the surrounding district.
Press, 16 November 1934, Page 15 MR FRANCIS PALLISER
Timaru, November 15. The death occurred to-day at his home, 83 Beverley road, of Mr Francis Palliser, who had been a resident of Timaru since 1880. Born at Northalton, Yorkshire, on October 9, 1853, Mr Palliser, after learning the building trade, arrived in New Zealand in 1880, coming direct to Timaru. He was concerned in the erection of many of the largest buildings in the district, including Timaru Boys' High School, Chalmers Church, the Salvation Army Barracks, Timaru Milling Company's building, Dalgety and Company's building, the Waimataitai School, and P. W. Hution and Company's premises. Mr Palliser was a keen supporter of the Liberal Party and was a member of the local committee for many years, and actively assisted the campaign of Sir William Hall-Jones. He was a member of St. Mary's Church and was on the building committee when the church tower was built. An enthusiastic angler, he was a member of the council of the Acclimatisation Society when the Timaru and Temuka organisations amalgamated and held office several times. He was also keenly interested in deer- Mr Palliser was a member of the Timaru Bowling Club and a life member of the Kia Toa Bowling Club. He was one of the earliest members of the South Canterbury Caledonian Society and in the early days took a keen interest in the Artillery Band, which later was merged in the Municipal Band. He was a member of the Manchester Unity Independent Order of Oddfellows. Mr Palliser married Miss Margaret Warwick, of Saltburn, England, who predeceased him about 12 years ago. He is survived by the following sons and daughters:—Messrs T. C. and J. Palliser, Timaru; E. Palliser, Wellington; F. Palliser, Christchurch; Mesdames S. Smith, Auckland; J. Clark, Napier; E. Purvis, Pareora; and Misses M. and K. Palliser, Timaru. The funeral will take place on Saturday.
Colonist, 1 September 1871, Page 2 Andrew PATERSON
The Timaru Herald of August 5th has the following :—Our readers will learn with extreme regret that Mr. Paterson of Temuka, died on Thursday night last. The deceased gentlemen was a very old colonist, having come out to Nelson between thirty and forty years ago, and there for some time followed farming pursuits. About the year 1860 he settled at Temuka, and about the same time he took up a run in the Mackenzie country. Some two or three years after establishing himself at Temuka, Mr. Paterson received the appointment of Sheep Inspector for the southern district of Canterbury—an appointment for which few men were better fitted. As a public servant his loss will be much felt ; as a private gentleman he will be universally regretted.
Timaru Herald, 9 August 1871, Page 2
The Late Mr Andrew Paterson. — This gentleman, whose decease occurred on Friday last, was born in 1812 at Maxwellton, Galloway. He left Scotland in November, 1841, in the Martha Ridgeway, and formed one of the band of the earliest settlers in Nelson, arriving there in 1842. Mr Patterson's early training was that of a mechanical engineer, but we are not aware that he followed his profession m the colony. On his arrival in Nelson he took to farming, but, like many others in that line, was but moderately successful. He was in Nelson at the time of the Wairau massacres. In 1854 he left Nelson, for the Wairau, and in 1860 removed with his family to Canterbury, and bought land near to the Temuka township, on which he has since resided, except for in few months after his arrival, when he lived in Timaru. Two years previously he purchased a small run in the Mackenzie Country. From his great knowledge of stock — especially sheep — he was offered in the year 1863, the appointment of Sheep Inspector for the southern district, which he accepted. The deceased gentleman had through life been a man of very active habits, and the task of sheep inspection in a large district suited him exactly, and right well did he perform the work. His strict unbending sense of duty, and thorough knowledge of his work, has eradicated that pest of flock masters — scab. No matter, however important, or no amount of personal inconvenience, was ever allowed to stand for a moment, in the way of duty. Early and late, winter and summer, Mr Paterson was in the saddle, moving from station to station, and we should say that, until illness struck him down, in May last, a full week at home was somewhat a rare occurrence with him. The funeral took place yesterday, and was one of the largest attended that has ever taken place in South Canterbury. From far and near from Geraldine, from Kakahu, from Timaru, and from other districts the friends and acquaintances of the deceased came to pay the last tribute, of respect possible to offer. We cannot wonder that this respect was wide-spread as a public servant. Mr Paterson did deserved merit respect, and as a private gentleman he won affection and regard for the same sterling qualities which fitted him so pre-eminently to fulfil a public duly. A little before noon the friends of the family assembled at the late Mr Paterson's residence, and about 20 minutes after 12 o'clock the Rev. Geo. Barclay read the first part of the funeral service. The service over, the coffin was taken from the house and carried to the hearse waiting outside. The procession started at 12.45. Following the hearse was a carriage with Mr Paterson (son of deceased) and a few personal friends, then came marshalled in order from 15 to 20 carriages, followed by upwards of 60 horsemen. A few pedestrians brought up the rear, and in all there could not have been less than 140 people in the mournful cortege. At the junction of the bye with the main road, the procession was augmented by a few additional horsemen, &c, and then proceeded at foot's pace through Temuka (where the shops, &c, were closed) and on to the cemetery, situate more than a mile to the east of the township. The cemetery was reached about 2 o'clock. All then clustered round the newly dug grave, and the Rev Mr Barclay, after reading the 90th Psalm, gave a short and most impressive address. That over, the coffin was lowered into its resting place, and before the earth was shovelled in, the friends of the deceased came to have a last look on that which hid from view the remains of one much liked in life, and honored even in death. Mr Paterson leaves a widow and numerous family to mourn his loss, consisting of six daughters and two sons.
Timaru Herald, 18 September 1886, Page 3
Mr John Paterson died on Thursday morning at his residence, Springfield, near Temuka, at the age of forty years. By his death South Canterbury has lost another representative of her oldest families. A native of the colony, though comparatively a young man, Mr Paterson had long unobtrusively used his influence for the welfare of the whole district. His father, the late Alexander Paterson, was one of the pioneer settlers of Nelson, he having landed there upwards of forty years ago. There several of his children, including him who has just died, were born. Twenty years ago Mr A. Paterson, with his family, removed to South Canterbury, and for a time occupied a house in Timaru, on whose site the Old Bank Hotel now stands. Soon after coming south, Mr Paterson took up a station in the Mackenzie Country, and shortly afterwards acquired two farms in the Temuka district, one at Winchester, one nearer Temuka town. Mr Alex. Paterson was also the first sheep inspector for South Canterbury, and for some years fulfilled the onerous duties attendant on that office with earnestness and success. At his death, some fifteen years ago, his sons took charge of his estates. Mr James Paterson assuming the care of the Winchester farm, Mr John, that of the Springfield estate. Since arriving at years of manhood, the subject of this notice has always evinced a deep interest m the welfare of the district in which his lot was cast. Chiefly to him Temuka is indebted for her splendid domain and park. He also worked hard and successfully on behalf of the local Pastoral and Agricultural Society, and was sparing neither of time nor money in aiding any enterprise likely to benefit the neighbourhood. Personally, Mr John Pater son was a man whom to know was to esteem. Naturally of a retiring disposition, his name did not often come prominently before the public, but m the circle of his intimate friends few were more highly appreciated or thoroughly loved than he. When any good was to be done, or any charity to be bestowed, none was more ready to answer the call than John Paterson. His genial presence and firm friendship will long be missed m and around Temuka. Mr Paterson's death was rather sudden. So late as Monday last he was out, but he was then suffering from a severe cold caught some days previously. The disorder rapidly assumed a serious phase, and about nine o'clock yesterday morning ho expired. The funeral will take place on Monday next.
Ashburton Guardian, 11 March 1913, Page 6
Timaru, March 10. George Pearson, bookseller and fancy goods dealer, died suddenly to-day at the age of 74. In the early sixties he was engaged in the small vessels coasting trade.
North Otago Times 11 March 1913, Page 4 DEATH OF AN OLD RESIDENT.
Timaru, March 10. Obituary. Mr George Pearson died suddenly to-day, aged 74. He was a stationer and fancy goods dealer, and was well known in the coastal trade from Port Chalmers to Timaru and to Taieri and Port Molyneaux for some years from 1860. Originally a ship's carpenter he settled here in that line in 1866. He had been ailing for four years, partly the result of a fall, but was about up till this morning. He leaves a widow and two sons (one a contractor here), one in G. and T. Young's Dunedin and three daughters.
Timaru Herald, 20 October 1899, Page 4
The late Mr William Penrose, whose funeral took place yesterday afternoon, had been about 27 years in the colony, arriving in Lyttelton in the ship Ballochmile [sic -Ballochmyle] in 1872. He lived about eleven years in Christchurch, and then came to Timaru to manage a branch of their boot and shoe trade for Toomer Bros. After managing the shop for some month, Mr Penrose purchased the business, and carried it on his own account until, about three years ago, failing health compelled him to retire from it, and the business has since been carried on by two of his sons, Messrs R. and E. Penrose. The eldest son has long been established in a successful drapery business here, with branches in Akaroa and Oamaru. The deceased was of a retiring disposition, and took little part in public affairs, though he was elected and at one term as a Borough Councillor. He was a prominent member of the Baptist Church whilst it existed as an independent organisation in Timaru, and usually conducted the services when the minister was absent. Mr Penrose suffered long from an extremely painful complaint, but bore his sufferings with exemplary patience. He leaves a widow besides the three sons above mentioned, to mourn their loss. Deceased being a member of the Druids Lodge, a number of the brethren attended the funeral and there was a large following of other friends of the family.
Press, 13 May 1926, Page 5
The death took place at his residence, "Wai-iti," 15 London street, Dunedin, of Mr William Penrose, who was in business in Timaru for many years. The late Mr Penrose was born in Timaru, where he received his early education. He entered into business as a draper and clothier, purchasing the promises occupied by Drinnan and Glasson, and formerly known as the old post office, in Stafford street. For sixteen years the late Mr Penrose pursued his trade with great success, being well and favourably known throughout the business community. He was an extremely keen business man, and under his able directorship his business grew to large proportions. In 3909 Mr Penrose sold out and went to Dunedin, where he purchased the premises occupied by Fife and Gumming, in George street, and continued in business there right up till the time of his death. As was the case in Timaru, Mr Penrose made a big impression as a business man, and. during his seventeen years' residence in Dunedin he rebuilt his premises and enlarged them considerably. Deceased had the misfortune to lose three of his family while lie was resident in Dunedin, one of his sons being killed at the war.
Press, 9 June 1933, Page 6 Mr Daniel Pierce
The death of Mr Daniel Pierce occurred on Thursday. Mr Pierce was a native of Timaru, being born at Oxford street 50 years ago. When a young man he worked on several South Canterbury stations, including Holme Station and the Rutherford estate, "Opawa." When still in his teens Mr Pierce returned to Timaru and was employed by Mr George Waits at the cordial factory in Woollcombe street. Later he started business in Timaru as a' carrier, and in 1916 began operations as a taxi-proprietor on the George street stand, and was still in business,, there when he was taken ill two months ago. A keen sportsman, Mr Pierce was an early member of the Star Football Club. He was associated with the Sacred Heart Church over many years, and took a prominent part in all church activities, while he was also a past president of the Hibernian Lodge. He is survived by his wife and two children, Miss M. Pierce and Mr J. Pierce. The funeral will take place this afternoon.
The Mercury Tuesday 7 August 1917 Page 6
Old Southern cricketers and more especially old High School boys of the early sixties will be sorry to hear of the death at Timaru, New Zealand on Saturday of Mr Cecil Thomas Henry Perry. He was the third son of the late Mr Arthur Perry, solicitor and Clerk of the Peace at Hobart and was born at Secheron, Battery Point about the year 1846, his mother being the eldest daughter of the late Sir John Swan of Beaulieu. Mr Perry was educated at old High School in the Domain, now the University. He early displayed great proficiency as a cricketer being a first-class batsman and one of the earliest round-arm bowlers, and played when quite a lad against the first All England Eleven, besides representing the South against the North. About 1870 Mr Perry who had taken his father's profession left Tasmania for New Zealand and settled in Timaru, where he resided ever since. He was articled to the firm of Allport and Roberts, of Stone-buildings, Hobart. Age 71 years.
Timaru Herald, 5 March 1919, Page 11 MR T.
From Melbourne the death is reported of Mr Thomas Crowley Plante, after a long illness, at the age of 76 years. He was born, in England, and in the early sixties he came to New Zealand, settling at Temuka, where for some years he was in partnership with, the late Mr Job Brown, as general storekeepers, at Temuka and Geraldine. He afterwards removed to Timaru, and, with Mr Geo. Gabites, carried on a drapery business. The late Mr Plante then went to Melbourne, where, in partnership with one of his sons, he represented a leading firm of hide and leather merchants. He was married to a sister of the late Mr J. S. Guthrie, formerly editor of "The Press." and his sons are Dr Guthrie Plante. Mr C. C. Plante. of Plante and Henty, solicitors, Collins Street; Mr P. S. Plante, who was a partner with his father in business; and Mr H. Plante, of Tongala.
The Press 21 Oct.
1929 Mr J.C.M. Polaschek [Joseph Cyril Methody Polaschek] [Amelia Mary Polaschek]
Mr Joseph C.M. Polaschek, who died at his residence, 357 Wilson's road, Christchurch, recently at the age of 65 years, was one of the early residents of Temuka. He was a native of the old Austrian Empire. His father took up some sections on the south bank of the Tautamakahu Creek, in what is now known as Temuka East, and on one of them built a sod house. Mr Polaschek, sen., was a soldier in the Russian Army; Mr Joseph Polaschek found work with Dr. John Shaw Hayes, and subsequently in the Temuka 'Leader' office, where with another lad, John McAuliffe, he assisted in setting and publishing the "Leader",: On the death of his mother he married Miss Amelia Bartos, of Waimate. An adopted brother Willie was lost in the Great War.
Josef Polaschek age 35
Theresa Polaschek age 29
Josef Polaschek age 10
Event Type: Immigration
Event Date: 26 Apr 1874
Event Place: Canterbury, New Zealand
Occupation: Agril Laborer
Ship Name: Rakaia 6th June 1874
Name: POLASCHEK, WILLIAM
Nationality: New Zealand
Regiment: Canterbury Regiment, N.Z.E.F.
Unit Text: "G" Coy. 1st Bn.
Date of Death: 12/10/1917
Service No: 14144
Additional information: Brother of Joseph Polaschek, of 14, Byron St., Sydenham, Christchurch. Native of Temuka, Canterbury.
Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead Grave/Memorial Reference: 3. Cemetery: TYNE COT MEMORIAL
Press, 15 November 1917, Page 5
Private W. Polaschek (killed) was a brother of Mr J. Polaschek, 14 Byron street, Sydenham. He was born in Temuka, in June, 1881, and educated at St. Joseph's Convent School, where he was a great favourite at the school's annual entertainments. He enlisted in Christchurch with the 14th Reinforcements, and was killed in the assault on Ridge Hill on October 12th, being exactly twelve months in the firing-line.
New Zealand Tablet, 13 August 1897, Page 16 MARRIAGE.
Polaschek — Bartos — At St. Patrick's Church, Waimate, on August 3rd, 1897, by the Rev. Father Regnault, Joseph Polaschek, of Temuka, to Amelia Mary Bartos, eldest daughter of Mr. John Bartos, of Waimate.
New Zealand Tablet, 13 October 1898, Page 17 BIRTH.
POLASCHEK.— On September 30th, at Waimate, the wife of Joseph Polaschek, of Arowhenua, of a son. Both doing well.
New Zealand Tablet, 15 February 1900, Page 17 BIRTH.
Polaschek.— At Temuka, on February 11, the wife of J. C. M Polaschek of a son. Both doing well.
Press, 24 November 1928, Page 4
The death occurred on Thursday night of a well-known resident of Temuka, Mr Geo. Preddy [cause of death valvular heart disease]. He arrived in the Dominion by the ship Ballochmyle, which reached Lyttelton on June 1st, 1864. Deceased, who was born at Swindon, Wiltshire, England, in 1841, was married, and had four children prior to leaving for the Dominion. The journey was continued to Timaru by a small steamer, which had a tempestuous passage down the coast, and arrived at her destination in the roadstead on June 5th. The same day they came to Temuka, and had resided here ever since. In 1881 Mr Preddy went into partnership with Mr Bateman, and started a threshing mill which operated round the South Canterbury district. This partnership continued until 1885, when Mr Preddy acquired Mr Bateman's interest and carried on very successfully until his retirement in 1904 in favour of his son, Mr Jesse Preddy. When the amalgamation of the Town Boards took place, resulting in the formation of the Temuka Borough Council, Mr Preddy was elected a member, and held office for several terms. He was one of the foundation members of the Primitive Methodist Church, and was a keen and enthusiastic worker in the interests of this body. He was a man of strict integrity, and won the esteem of all. His wife died 15 years ago. Surviving him are six sons and four daughter;— Mrs James Cross (Kingsdown, Timaru), Mr Mark Preddy (Linwood), Mr Jesse Preddy (Temuka), Mr Alfred Preddy (Epworth), Mr Frank Preddy (Invercargill), Mr Joseph Preddy (Carterton), Mr Ernest Preddy (Invercargill), Mrs Charles Woodley (Hampden), Mrs C. Elmsley (Masterton), and Miss Agnes Preddy (Temuka). There are numerous grandchildren and great-grandchildren. The funeral will take place to-day at the Temuka Cemetery, Mrs John Brosnahan died at her late residence, Wilkin street, Temuka, on Wednesday.
Press, 23 November 1918, Page 11 MR W. R. PURDOM
Mr W. R. Purdom, of Temuka, fell a victim to the prevailing epidemic on Wednesday morning, after a short illness. The late Mr Purdom was born and educated at Timaru. He was a member of the City Rifles, and obtained his commission in 1908. When he -transferred to Temuka he took the office of lieutenant in the Territorials Tinder Captain Chapman. Altogether he had about 16 years' service as a (Volunteer and Territorial. He was a member of the Temuka District High School Committee, Temuka Bowling Club, St. George's Masonic Lodge, and Oddfellows' Lodge, M.U., Timaru. He leaves a widow and two children.
Star 4 April 1902, Page 1
MR JAMES WILCOCKS PYE. The news of the death of Mr James Wilcocks Pye at Geraldine yesterday was received with much regret by the public, and as a mark of respect for the deceased all business places in the town were closed, while flags were hoisted half-mast on every flag-pole. About six months ago the late Mr Pye underwent a very serious operation at Dr Hayes's private hospital, Temuka, for cancer. The operation was apparently successful for the local treatment of the disease at the time, and every hope was entertained for the recovery of the patient. The disease, however, must have had a firm hold of the' system, for a month or two after the operation it. Was reported that cancer had, broken out again in another part of his body, and since then he gradually sank until yesterday he passed away quietly. Mr Pye was born in Devonshire, England in 1861, and came with his parents to New Zealand in the s.s. Atrato to Port Chalmers and thence to Timaru. His father, Mr John Pye was one of the earliest settlers in the township, and was for many years gardener to Mr C. G. Tripp, of the Orari Gorge Station, afterwards going into business on his own account as nurseryman and seedsman at Geraldine, and a few years ago retired. The deceased commenced as a clerk in the Geraldine Road Board office, and was afterwards in the service of Messrs Morrison and Dunlop for seven years, and then for three, years with Mr N. Dunlop. In 1887 he started for himself in a small way, and his busines rapidly increased until in a few years he had a very large connection and a big drapery and fancy goods emporium known as Commerce House employing twenty hands. As well as being successful in business Mr Pye took a deep interest in the welfare of the town, and was instrumental in bringing about many improvements the Domain. He was chairman of the Geraldine Town Board and Domain Board for a number of years, and had been an Oddfellow for about a quarter of a century, having joined the Order when quite a lad at Geraldine. He passed through all the chairs of the Order, and was a member of the Grand Lodge in virtue of his position as District. Deputy Grand Master for South Canterbury. At the last Grand Lodge session he had been made Grand Warden, which office held till the time of his death. He was also a Freemason for nineteen, years, and had held the office of Senior Warden in the Geraldine Southern Star Lodge, S.C. He always took a great interest in outdoor sports and was president, of the local Cycling Club, and had held office in several other athletic clubs' in the town. He was also vice-president of the local Floral, and Horticultural Society, of which he was the original promoter about sixteen years ago. The late Mr Pye was married in Geraldine in 1882 to a daughter of the late Mr John Shannon, of Rakaia, and leaves a widow and grown-up son. He had been a Justice of the Peace since 1895.
New Zealand Tablet, 21 November 1901, Page 20
We deeply regret to announce the death of an old and highly respected resident of Temuka in the person of Mr. Michael Quinn. We learn that the sad event took place at his residence in Temuka on Tuesday night, when the respected pioneer passed peaceably away. Deceased had been in failing health for the past two years and was assiduously attended by the local clergy and died fortified by the consoling rites of the Catholic Church. The late Mr. Quinn was a native of Galway County, Ireland, and while still a young man, came to New Zealand about 40 years ago. He subsequently settled in Temuka and while conducting the Star Hotel, begun to interest himself extensively in farming pursuits and ultimately became the proprietor of one of the finest properties in the district. Mr. Quinn was held in the highest esteem by all who knew him, on account of his many sterling qualities and his marked business capacity, and he occupied seats on all the local public bodies. Some two years ago his once robust health began to fall and since that tune it has been very variable. Towards the close of last week he returned from a visit to Christchurch. He was shortly afterwards attacked by the illness to which he succumbed. Deceased leaves a widow and two sons and three daughters to mourn their loss, and to them we tender our deepest sympathy. — R I P.
New Zealand Tablet, 28 November 1901, Page 20
The remains of the late Mr. M. Quinn were interred in the Temuka cemetery on Thursday afternoon (says the Leader) and the funeral cortege was one of the largest and most representative which has ever been witnessed in the district. At 5 a.m. the body was taken to the Catholic Church, where a Requiem Mass was celebrated by the Rev. Father Fauvel. The body was afterwards taken to the deceased's late home, so that friends who arrived late from a distance could obtain a last look at their old friend. At 2.0 p.m. the funeral cortege left for the church where the usual impressive service for the dead wan conducted by Fathers Kerley, Devoy, Tubman, and Regnault. the Rev. Father Fauvel being engaged in tolling the bell. The church was crowded. Miss Twomey played the Dead March in 'Saul' as the procession left the church. The bearers, old friends of the deceased, were Messrs Macnamara and Flynn (Christchurch), Barrett (Kirwee), and Buckley. Among the many present at the funeral were representatives of the Temuka Road Board, Geraldine County Council, Timaru Harbor Hoard, Temuka Borough Council, Levels County Council, Timaru A and P. Association, and also members of the constabulary force and legal profession, and friends from as far as Wellington The respect in which the deceased was held, and the sympathy felt for his family, was evidenced by the many floral tributes and messages of sympathy sent from various parts of the Colony.
Press, 17 June 1927, Page 7
A very sudden death occurred on Wednesday afternoon, when Mr Edward Radburnd, a very old resident of Temuka, collapsed at. the residence of his daughter, Mrs J. Counihan, McNair's road. The late Mr Radburnd was at one time an employee of the Temuka Borough Council, later taking up a milk run, which lie was running up to the time of his death. He was also a well-known member of the Caledonian Society for many years.
Timaru Herald, 7 March 1918, Page 3 J.H. RAINE
Another of the pioneers of this district, went to his, long rest last week in the person of Mr John Hunter Raine. The deceased was one of the best known men in South Canterbury in the early days, and he had resided in Canterbury for more than fifty years. He came to New Zealand from England with his brother's Francis and Sherwood Raine, and the three brothers took a lease from the Government of the station afterwards known its Sherwood Downs, a few miles beyond Fairlie. After working the station for some years the partnership was dissolved and Francis and Sherwood Raine left New Zealand. Mr J. H. Raine afterwards took up Melville Downs, not far from Fairlie, and remained there about five years. After this he went to live in Christchurch, but for the past few years he had resided in Timaru with his daughters, the Misses Raine, of Sefton Street. Deceased married Miss McPherson and had a family of four daughters and two sons. His wife predeceased him by about fifteen years and was burial in the Linwood cemetery at Christchurch, where the remains of the deceased were interred last week.
The late Mr Raine had many friends. As a station owner he kept open house, and was generosity personified, he is said to have been one of the most liberal employers that New Zealand has known—far too liberal, his friends always said, for his own good. Selfishness was quite foreign to his disposition, and he not only believed in treating others as he would like to be treated himself, but he acted up to his belief. He was the first chairman, and for many years a member of the Mt. Cook Road Board (now the Mackenzie County Council) when it used to meet at Burke's Pass. He took a very keen interest in sport, and when he was at Sherwood Downs Mr Melville Gray's beagles frequently hunted over his country. (In those days the hunts were held on foot.) He was very interested in afforestation and at Sherwood he planted many miles of trees which to-day provide valuable timber for the settlers, and are a pleasing feature of the landscape in that locality. Mr Raine was always closely associated with aclimatsition, and was the first man to liberate trout, at his own expense, in the head-waters of the Opihi. He was a member of the Council of the South Canterbury Acclimatisation Society, and his father, though never in New Zealand, was the first life member of this Society. He was also instrumental, with the the Mr Frank Buckland, in sending out the first trout to New Zealand. The late Mr Raine was a very keen angler, and at one time was considered the best fisher in the Dominion. He was also a very good shot. One of the deceased's sons, Mr Lachlan Raine, who joined the Forces from South Africa, lost his life in the war.
Star 29 April 1908, Page 3
Timaru. April 29. John Rainsley-Jones, verger at St Mary's Church for many years, and captain of the Fire Brigade for some years, died suddenly this morning. He was engaged with, his duties at the church, when he was seized with a fit. He rallied, but died while walking home.
Press, 16 August 1929, Page 7
Mr Charles Ray died suddenly at his home, Geraldine, on Wednesday morning. He had been out clipping his garden hedge, and had returned to the house when he collapsed, death being due to heart failure, following on influenza. The deceased was 62 years of age. His parents lived at Pleasant Point, and at an early age he removed to Fairlie, where he worked with Mr Caskey in the saddlery business. Later he went to Messrs Tripp Bros., of Orari Gorge, and worked for them as saddler and packer. He subsequently started business at Geraldine, where he resided up to the time of his death. He leaves a widow, three sons—Mr W. Ray (New Plymouth), Mr R. Ray (Christchurch), and Mr C. Ray (Geraldine)—and three daughters—Mrs J. Hunter (Waimate), Miss H. Ray, and Miss M. Ray (Geraldine). the funeral will take place to-day.
Evening Post, 27 December 1939, Page 9
MR. S. G. RAYMOND, K.C.
Christchurch, This Day. The death has occurred in London of Mr. Samuel George Raymond, K.C. Mr. Raymond was born in Maryborough, Victoria, a son of Mr. Francis B. Raymond, and was educated at Grenville College, Ballarat. He was admitted to the New Zealand Bar in 1883 and practised in Timaru till 1910 and then in Christchurch. He became a King's Counsel in 1913 and was Crown Prosecutor in Christchurch from 1914 till 1920, when he retired. Mr. Raymond was chairman of the War Pensions Appeal Board in 1924 and 1925, and a member of the New Zealand delegation at the International Copyright Conference in Rome in 1928, and at the International Conference for the Revision of the Red Cross Convention in Geneva in 1929. He also represented New Zealand at a conference on the operation of Dominion legislation and merchant shipping legislation in 1929. He served on the Timaru High School Board of Governors in 1890 and on the Board of Governors of Canterbury College from 1917 to 1919. He married in 1896 Miss Frances Barklie, daughter of the Rev. J. K. Barklie, and there was one daughter of the marriage.
Timaru Herald, 25 June 1914, Page 5 AN OLD ORARI SETTLER.
Mr James Rennie, a very old resident of South Canterbury, died at Orari yesterday after a short illness, at the age of 76. The late Mr Rennie was born in Perth, Scotland, and came to New Zealand in 1859. He landed at Lyttelton, and his first move after arrival was to Rangiora. Later he removed to Geraldine and from there to Winchester, but finally took up his residence at Orari, where he lived a quiet retired life till the time of his death. At one time he conducted a carrying business between Winchester and Geraldine, but he has been chiefly known as an owner of stud horses. One of his daughters was drowned in the wreck of the Penguin, but he is survived by his wife, two daughters (Mrs T. Evans of Wellington and Mrs D. Guthrie of Timaru), and two sons, Andrew, who resides at Oamaru, and James, who resides at Ashburton. The funeral will leave Orari for the Temuka cemetery at 1.30 p.m. sharp to-day.
Press, 2 June 1928, Page 4
The death occurred at the Timaru Hospital on Thursday of Mr Alexander Rollo, of Andrewville, Temuka, but formerly of Leeston and Irwell. The late Mr Rollo was born at Riccarton 70 years ago, and after leaving school he worked on his father's farm at Irwell. About 40 years ago he married Miss M. A. Johnston, and-shortly after the young couple removed to Leeston, where they took up a small farm which they worked very successfully until they, retired, and came to reside in Temuka about five years ago. The late Mr Rollo was an excellent farmer, and in his day was considered a good judge of horses. He leaves a widow and four daughters —Mrs V. Nicholas (Temuka), Mrs L. A, Nicholas (Temuka), Mrs A. Findlay (Temuka), and Mrs 6. Buick (Christchurch), and one son, Mr T. Rollo (Masterton).
Ashburton Guardian, 9 February 1920, Page 4
A very well-known figure in Christchurch, .Mr H. T. Rosindale, had a sudden seizure on Saturday morning at about 11 o'clock when leaving his residence, 13 Gloucester Street. He had been suffering from heart disease. The late Mr Rosindale came to New Zealand 47 or 48 years ago, and first started farming on his own account in the Longbeach district, Ashburton. He was for many years representative of Mr W. F. Somerville, who held an estate at Westerfield, also in the Ashburton County. He was also farm supervisor for Mr John Holmes, who built a portion of the Canterbury railways, and owned land in the Rakaia-Methven district. Later Mr Rosindale bought the Claremont estate, near Timaru. He lived there for some time, but finally sold the larger portion of the estate to the Government. About five years ago he came to Christchurch. He was a well known land valuer, whose advice was widely sought. He leaves a widow and a daughter.
Timaru Herald, 12 September 1916, Page 4 MR ARCHIBALD H.
An old identity and highly respected citizen of Temuka passed away on Sunday morning, in the person of Mr Archibald Hendry Russell. Mr Russell was born in 1837, in the Island of Rum, Western Hebrides, Scotland. He arrived in New Zealand in 1861, and was one of the first workmen on the Lyttelton breakwater. Later lie joined the clerical staff of the New Zealand Railways, and was transferred to the Survey Department in South Canterbury. In 1880 he started a coal and store business in Temuka, ad with the help of his daughter, Miss M. Russell, has carried on the business successfully up to the time of his death. For many years he was an active worker in the Presbyterian Church, and was also a member of the school committee The late Mr Russell had the advancement of Temuka keenly at heart, and will be sadly missed. He leaves three sons and three daughters. The Mr W. Russell, is in the Telegraph Department at Christchurch.
North Otago Times 15 April 1903, Page 3
Information was received in Oamaru yesterday that Mr Gideon Rutherford, well known in this district, had died at Castle Rock, Pleasant Point, near Timaru, on Monday, the 13th instant. Mr Rutherford had suffered from ill health for some time past, but no fatal result was entertained. The deceased gentleman came from Victoria some years ago, and purchased the late Mr Bromley's property at Kakanui, where the family have resided, Mr Rutherford, however, purchased the larger property, of Castle Rock some years ago, and has mostly resided there, while he also retains the proprietorship of a large station property at Lake Connewarre, near Geelong. He was a prominent breeder of sheep, and was admitted to he an excellent judge, as he must have been, as he had spent the whole of his life on stations. Mr Rutherford was prominent member of the Baptist community, and to him the Oamaru church is largely indebted for the means that enabled it to secure the hire building in which the services are held here. We understand it is the intention to bring the remains to Oamaru for burial.
Press, 12 March 1935, Page 12 MR WILLIAM RUTHERFORD
The death has occurred of a well known pioneer resident of Peel Forest, Mr William Rutherford, who died at the residence of his son, Mr C. W. Rutherford, Masterton, last week. Mr Rutherford was born in Nelson in 1848. He was a keen cricketer, and played against one of the first English teams which came to New Zealand. At the age of 30 he removed to Canterbury, and for the next 40 years was engaged in sheep fanning and stock dealing, becoming very widely known throughout the province. He removed to the North Island some 16 years ago, and spent the last few years at Masterton. His surviving children are Messrs C. W. Rutherford (Masterton), J. T. Rutherford (Hataitai), and D. G. Rutherford (Peel Forest), and Mesdames G. O'Dowd (Fairlie) and A. J. Greigs (Greigs). Mr Rutherford was an uncle of Lord Rutherford, the eminent scientist.
Press, 31 October 1933, Page 10 Mr THOMAS SADLER
The death occurred suddenly last week of Mr Thomas Sadler, of Fairlie, Canterbury, who was on a visit to his sister, Mrs James Davies, "Waimarie," Ormond. Mr Sadler was the second son of the late Mr and Mrs Sadler, of Suffolk, England. He was born at Riccarton Christchurch and had lived in Fairlie for 20 years. His wife predeceased him nine years ago. and he leaves a family of four sons and three daughters, all residing in Fairlie. Mr Sadler was a member of the Fairlie School Committee, a member of the Oddfellows Lodge, and of the Masonic Fraternity.
Press, 17 August 1935, Page 6
A link with earlier days in Waimate. was severed by at the age of 88, of Mr E. D. Sanders. Mr Sanders came to New Zealand from the Isle of Wight and engaged in the building trade in Waimate. In 1904, he was elected to the Borough Council, and remained a member and a member of the Hospital Committee until 1915.
North Otago Times 26 January 1915, Page 1
The death is announced at Timaru of Mr James Scott, M.A., who died on Sunday morning after a lingering illness of some mouths, Mr Scott was born in Banffshire, N.B. in 1835, and was educated at King's College, Aberdeen, where he graduated M.A. in 1850. He emigrated to Victoria in 1863, and for some years was Greek master at the Scotch College, Melbourne. He came to New Zealand in the early seventies and became headmaster of the Hokitika Academy till 1875. At the request of some old West Coast friends who had settled here (among them Archdeacon Harper and Mr E. Evans) Mr Scott applied for the position of headmaster of the Timaru Public School (at that time the only public school in the town) and obtained the appointment, which he held till 1885. He then resigned and returned to England, where he spent a few years. Returning to New Zealand in 1889 he was appointed headmaster of Morven school and remained there for a few years, and then took occasional scholastic duties till 1903, when he retired from the service, and has resided during most of the intervening time in Timaru.
Timaru Herald, 30 November 1901, Page 3
We regret to have to record a fatal accident which happened to Mr Richard Sharp, a farmer in the Kakahu district. Mr Sharp, it appears, was driving along the Waitohi road in the direction of Temuka on Tuesday afternoon when the wheel of his trap got into a rut, and his horse swerving quickly the wheel" buckled, the spokes being broken off at the hub. Mr Sharp was thrown out on to his head, and' was picked up shortly after the occurrence by Mr Swaney. Mr Swaney drove him home, and medical aid was summoned. He was quite conscious at first, and was able to give an account of the occurrence, but during the evening he lapsed into unconsciousness, and yesterday morning he died. The deceased was an old settler, having occupied his present farm for upwards of 30 years. He was much esteemed for many amiable qualities. He was a witness of the 1868 flood, the effects of which were very noticeable in the locality in which he resided, and he was justly credited with having by his resourceful action on that occasion saved the lives not only of himself but of his wife, and some neighbouring settlers, all of whom he placed in a secure position on a platform built from the body of a bullock waggon and lashed to the top rails of a stockyard. The late Mr Sharp was a native of England. He was, we believe, a seaman in the Royal Navy in his youth, and was a man much esteemed by those who knew him. He leaves a wife, one son and three daughters. The funeral takes place at the Temuka cemetery on Monday afternoon.
Press, 4 February 1937, Page 10 MR E. SHAW
Waimate, February 3, Mr E. Shaw, a well-known and respected resident throughout South Canterbury, died at Waimate, after a long illness. Mr Shaw, who was born in 1879 at Waimate, was educated at the new school at Waimate, and went to work on a farm at the age of 14 years. When he was 11 years of age he was the champion walker and runner of the district, winning in contests against men. He served in the South African War. Mr Shaw managed the Mickleburn station for four years, before starting in the hotel-keeping business in 1919. He was in turn licensee of the Pleasant Point, the Crown (Temuka), the Washdyke, and the Royal (Waimate) Hotels.
Mr Shaw was well known in public life in South Canterbury, and took an active interest in sport. He was once president of the Temuka Football Club, a vice-president of the Temuka Caledonian Society, a member of the Temuka and Geraldine Agricultural and Pastoral Association, and a member of the Timaru Jockey and Trotting Clubs. He married Miss Nellie Shine in 1912. The funeral was held on Tuesday afternoon. Requiem Mass was held in the morning by Father Herbert, and the cortege left for Timaru at 1 p.m., Father Herbert also officiating at the graveside. The pall-bearers were Messrs J. Stickings, L. Shine, G. Shaw, A. Hullett, D. Dorgan, and T. Lynch.
Timaru Herald, 13 September 1920, Page 3 MR D. SHEA
Timaru has lost one of its oldest residents in the person of the late Mr D. Shea, who died on the 29th August last, at his residence, York Street. Mr Shea came to Timaru forty-six years ago and in partnership with Mr Geo. Wade started business in Stafford Street, the firm of Wade and Shea being the leading boot establishment in Timaru in the early eighties. Air Shea subsequently started business on his own account in his well-known shop, Shepherd's buildings, from which ho retired about four years ago in indifferent health. Ho was also one of the oldest members of the Forresters' Society, which he joined after his arrival in Timaru. Of a very industrious disposition ho led an active life and always maintained a character for honesty and integrity in business. He leaves three sons, Mr D. Shea, Christchurch, Bro. Benignus (Mir P. Shea), Auckland, and Mr J. Shea, Timaru, and four daughters and his widow, to mourn their loss.
Evening Post, 21 July 1944, Page 6
Christchurch, July 21. The death has occurred of Mr. Denis Joseph Shea, for the last 25 years general manager of the Canterbury Frozen Meat Company, Limited. Born in South Canterbury, Mr. Shea commenced his career in the stock and station business in Timaru by joining the branch there in 1907. He subsequently became accountant at the company's head office in Christchurch, and succeeded Mr. N. L. MacBeth as general manager. He was recognised as an authority on the frozen meat industry throughput the Dominion. Mr. Shea was appointed Czechoslovak Vice-Consul for the South Island in 1935 and later President Benes appointed him Consul. He took a notable stand when the Germans established a protectorate in Czechoslovakia in March, 1939. A special emissary was sent by the German Consul-General in New Zealand, Mr. Ernst Ramm, to demand the surrender of the consular archives held by Mr. Shea. Mr. Shea refused to hand over the papers, and they are still retained. Mr. Shea was honorary president of the Association of Czechoslovaks in New Zealand, a member of the Nurse Maude District Nursing Trust Board, the Christchurch Golf Club, Canterbury Jockey Club, and an executive member of the South Island Freezing Companies Association. He is survived by two daughters and a son.
Star 31 July 1899, Page 1
Mr Andrew Sherratt, for many years a member of the Timaru Borough Council, and Mayor for two terms, died on Saturday morning, aged fifty-nine. Mr Sherratt came to the colony in 1863, and for a year or two was a contractor in Lyttelton. He removed to Timaru in 1867, and settled there.
Press, 18 December 1918, Page 9 MR W. SHIRES
A few days ago the late Mr W. Shires was laid to rest in the Geraldine Cemetery. The deceased, who had reached the age of 84 years, had lived a useful and valuable life. Prior to coming to New Zealand,, he had been engaged in important engineering work in Australia, where ne was in charge of the celebrated long cutting operations. About 50 years ago he came to New Zealand and entered the employ of the Railway Department, which at the time was doing construction work in the Canterbury Province. Mr Shires acted as Railway and Bridge Inspector for the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, and was employed in a similar capacity by the Government in 1875 on the Albury railway works. For over 18 years he was clerk and overseer to the Geraldine Road Board. Twenty-two years ago the late Mr Shires retired, going to live on his property in Geraldine; two years ago he lost his wife. Three sons and five daughters survive him. The sons all went to the war, the eldest still being on active service, the other two having returned on account of wounds.
Press, 28 November 1933, Page 4
Mr Lewis Shortus, aged 49, of Wai-iti road, who died on Saturday, was an Australian by birth. He had a wide experience of the manufacture of biscuits. He was associated with factories in Sydney, and came to Timaru in 1924 to assist in establishing the factory of J. R. Bruce, Ltd. He was factory manager at the time of his death. He was a member of the Woodlands Street Methodist Church, and had been Sunday school superintendent and choirmaster. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge, Koranga, 197. For some time he was a member of the Kia Toa Bowling Club. A widow and three sons survive him.
Timaru Herald, 7 January 1897, Page 2
The announcement of the death of Mr William Sibbald, of Sawdon station, Burkes Pass, Mackenzie Country, is made this morning. Mr Sibbald died on Tuesday, aged 65, having been ill for a week after bursting a blood vessel, and finally succumbing to dropsy on the lungs. The deceased gentleman came to Otago from Victoria, at the rush of 1862, and about 1867 arrived in Timaru, and was, if we remember rightly, the first to take up Lilybank Station, Mackenzie Country. After being some time there he moved to Rustic Place, and on the purchase by him of Sawdon the buildings, etc., on the former were removed and absorbed in the latter. The late Mr Sibbald was a successful breeder of all sorts of horses, the brand W.S. at the present time appearing on horses all over the colony. His special and very successful line was tram horses, of sturdy constitution, medium build, and almost up to any draught. Mr Sibbald was a native of Dundee, and though he was never prominent in public life of any sort, his hospitality was well known in Mackenzie. His funeral will take place to-day at Burkes Pass.
Star 7 January 1897, Page 4
Mr William Sibbald, of Sawdon Station, Burkes Pass, died on Tuesday after a short illness, at the age of sixty-five. Mr Sibbald was a very old identity in the Mackenzie Country. He came over from Victoria to Otago during the gold rush of 1862, and a few years later he became a runholder in the Mackenzie as lessee of Lilybank, at the head of Lake Tekapo. Some years ago he sold out of Lilybank, and later took the Sawdon Run, just within Burkes Pass. Mr Sibbald was a noted breeder of horses, and his brand, "W.S.", is known all over the island. Mr Sibbald was never a public man, but was always noted for his hospitality.
Star 8 July 1892, Page 3
Mr W. H. Simms, aged 58. We have to record the death of an old and esteemed Colonist, in the person of Mr W. H. Simms, of this city, who died between 9 and 10 a.m. to-day, after a short illness, in which influenza and pleurisy were the leading ailments. The latter malady at the last extended to his heart, and proved fatal. He was attended in his last illness by Drs Ovenden and Meares. Mr Simms was a colonist of about thirty years' standing, and has officiated as German Consul since the death of Sir J. von Haast. He was formerly a resident of Timaru, and, in conjunction with Mr Spencer Percival, was owner of the Albury Run in that district. During his residence in Timaru he represented that district in the Provincial Council, but resigned on leaving there to reside in Christchurch, where he has made hosts of friends by his genial manner and musical ability. He was always foremost in promoting anything for the advancement of classical music, and was a prominent member of the Christchurch Liedertafel, the members of which have gracefully postponed their Herren abend out of respect to his memory. Mr Simms met with a heavy blow in the loss of a son a few years ago while on a voyage to Queensland, and he can hardly be said to have recovered from it. He was able to be in town on Monday, but complained then of being unwell, and went home to bed, from which he did not rise again. He leaves a widow, two sons, and one daughter to mourn his loss. The flags at the German Consulate and at several business houses in town were lowered to half-mast to-day, as soon as the news of his death was known.
Timaru Herald, 31 January 1910, Page 2 MR ALEX. SINCLAIR
The many friends of Mr Alex. Sinclair, of Timaru, will learn with regret of his death, which took place on Saturday, at his home in Sophia street. Deceased had been unwell for some months past. He was a builder, by profession, and did a considerable amount of work in this district. A good tradesman, he was also a shrewd business man, and was the owner of some valuable property. For some years past he had lived retired. Mr Sinclair came to New Zealand, in his teens, having been born at Caithness, Scotland. He worked as a carpenter in different parte of North and South Canterbury, and also on the West Coast, before settling down in Timaru. When things were very dull here, years ago, he went over to Melbourne and worked at his calling there, and when things improved here, he returned. He was a great enthusiast in the matter of Highland music and dancing and was one of the founders of the South Canterbury Caledonian Society. He was also the first dancer at its sports gathering, and for a good many years he judged the music and dancing at the new year sports gatherings. Deceased was a staunch churchman, being a prominent member of Chalmers Church. In the early days he took an active interest in volunteering. He was married to a daughter of the late Mr J. Carter, of Makikihi, by whom he is survived. The funeral takes place this afternoon.
Star 28 July 1908, Page 3
Mr W. U. SLACK. The death occurred at Palmerston North on Sunday of Mr William Upton Slack, an early colonist, who was well known in Canterbury for very many years. Mr Slack did much valuable work in connection with local government in South Canterbury. He took an active interest in the work of the Church of England, and was one of the earliest of a number of conscientious workers in South Canterbury. He was born at Dune's Hill, near Cockermouth, in Cumberland, in 1832. His father was a Manchester man, and lived at Upton House, Ardwick, one of the suburbs of Manchester, and his mother was a daughter of the vicar of Bridenith. His early days at Home he devoted to the Army, and he was given a commission in the 4th Lancashire Light Infantry. During his service in the regiment, it trained for two years at Aldershot and the following two years at Portsmouth. In 1858 he resigned his commission and came out to New Zealand. He settled in the Mackenzie Country, where he had a sheep run. After leaving the Mackenzie Country, he settled down at "Woodside," about seven miles from Geraldine, where he lived for twenty seven years. He was obliged to sell this property, and the family left South Canterbury and settled at Palmerston North. Mr Slack was one of the first members of the Board of Works at Timaru, which was known in those days as the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works. He was a member of the Education Board, and was for many years a member and chairman of the Geraldine Road Board. During his residence at "Woodside," his services, and those of Mrs Slack, were given freely to anything that helped the advancement of church work. He was a keen lover of all forms of sport. He was also a successful breeder of Romney sheep and draught horses, and won many prizes at the Timaru shows. In 1865 he married Miss Charlotte Cooper, and had a family of five daughters and four sons. One daughter married Mr F. Hamilton, of Redcliffs, another married Mr A. Temple, of Geraldine, and a third Mr C. R. Hewit, of Palmerston North. There are fourteen grandchildren. His sons are Messrs Slack Brothers, the well-known breeders of purebred stock.
William Upton Slack (1832-1908)
He was born in Cumberland, England and came out to NZ in 1858. He arrived in South Canterbury in 1863 and purchased a considerable area of swamp and flax land at the foot of Waitohi Hill, Pleasant Valley and named the property Woodside. He lived there for 27 years. On the List of freeholders of NZ, 1882, he was a farmer at Pleasant Valley and owned 2,314 acres, valued at $24,200. He ran pedigree short horn cattle, Romney sheep, and was a successful breeder of Romney sheep and draught horses and won many prizes at the Timaru Shows. He married Charlotte Sarah Cooper of Creek Station at Francis Jollie's Peel Forest homestead on 8th Feb. 1865. He played a major part in local government and was known as a man who got things done. He took an active interest in the work of the Church of England. He was also a JP, a member of the South Canterbury Board of Education, the Timaru and Gladstone Board of Works, the Geraldine road Board and the Peel Forest Road Board. He was keen on sports. Had five daughters and four sons. In the 1880s the family moved to Palmerston North. One daughter married A. Temple of Geraldine. His four sons became farmers in the Palmerston North district. Mr Slack died on 26 July 1908 and his obituary was printed in the Christchurch Star on 28 July 1908.
Evening Post, 6 November 1940, Page 9
Auckland, This Day The death has occurred of Mr. J. R. Snedden, well known in the Labour movement throughout New Zealand. Born in Scotland he worked on the railways there and later on the railways in South Australia. He settled at Timaru 20 years ago. He was secretary to several trade unions and also of the Labour Representation Committee. He retired to Auckland some years ago. Mr. Snedden leaves a wife and one son.
Rev. Frederick John SOTHAM
Timaru Herald, 8 April 1896, Page 3 THE LATE FATAL BUGGY ACCIDENT.
An inquest was held at the Waimate Hospital on Monday last concerning the death of the Rev. Frederick John Sotham, which occurred on the previous day. Mr J. Manchester, the acting Coroner, presided. Evidence was given by Frederick Sotham, Joseph Nind, Daniel Goodwood. William Geddes, William Haines, Dr Cooke, and Constable Parker. The facts were as previously stated. Mr Geddes. of Highway Farm, saw the horse bolting, along the road between Waimate and Makikihi, with the empty buggy. Mr Haines stopped the horse, and assisted Mr Geddes to convey deceased (from about 2 chains on the south side of the road, leading to Mr Bradshaw's, to the hospital, where he died at about 5 p.m., never having regained consciousness. The jury returned a verdict that "deceased met his death by a buggy accident, but that there was no evidence to show how it occurred." We learn that the deceased gentleman was a captain in the Royal Navy, having at one time been in command of H.M. ships Durham and Middlesex [late Commander Royal Navy troopships to India and Abyssinia]. On leaving the Navy, he took holy orders and then came out to New Zealand, serving at Port Chalmers, Waikouiti, and other cures in the diocese of Dunedin. He was subsequently stationed in Lyttelton Holy Trinity Parish, where he laboured for a number of years, and exchanging cures was stationed at Waimate. The late Mr Sotham was widely known all over Canterbury and Otago, and he had during , his previous career been brought into direct contact with some of the leading minds of the day. The late Admiral Tryon was his personal friend, and had visited him (at Sydney) just prior to the Victoria disaster. The funeral takes place at 2 p.m. to-day. His Lord ship Bishop Julius will not be able to be present, but all the local clergy will assembled. The deceased leaves a widow and five children. Rev. F. J. Sotham. incumbent of St. Augustine's Church, Waimate (Church of England).
Timaru Herald, 10 April 1896, Page 2
The funeral of the Rev. F. J. Sotham, (21 April 1841 -Easter day 5 April, 1896) Vicar of Waimate, took place on Wednesday, at 2 p.m., and was one of the largest ever "known m the history of Waimate. The clergy present were the Ven. Archdeacon Harper, Bishop's Commissary ; the Rev. James Preston, vicar of Geraldine; Rev. L. Carsley-Brady, vicar of Otaio and Bluecliffs ; Rev. T. A. Hamilton, vicar of Ashburton ; Rev. Stanley Hinson, vicar of Pleasant Point ; Rev. Mr Orbell, curate of Timaru ; and the Rev. Canon Gould, vicar of Oamaru. The clergy met the funeral cortege at the entrance of the churchyard, and on entering the church, which was crowded to excess by sorrowing parishioners, the Archdeacon conducted the first part of the service, and the vicar of Geraldine read the proper lesson, after which hymn No. 140 was sung by a strong choir. The procession then re-formed, and passing through a column of Sunday school children, proceeded to the cemetery, when the vicars of Ashburton, Otaio, and Bluecliffs took part, respectively, m the service, the Archdeacon committing the body to the grave, after which the beautiful hymn "Brief Life is here our Portion " was feelingly sung by the large concourse of people round the grave, and marked signs of grief were manifested at the lamented and sudden death of the rev. gentleman, who died at his post while in the discharge of his duty; and whose memory will ever be held m loving remembrance throughout the length and breadth of his parish, as a conscientious and faithful parish priest. Much sympathy is felt for the bereaved widow and five children left to mourn the loss of one whom they dearly loved.
Press, 30 October 1935, Page 12 MR THOMAS SPILLANE
Temuka, October 29. Mr Thomas Spillane, whose death occurred recently at Ashburton, was the eldest son of Mr and Mrs M. Spillane, of Temuka. He was educated fn Temuka and spent the greater part of his life there, but for some years he had lived in the Ashburton district. The funeral took place at the Temuka cemetery. Requiem Mass was celebrated at St. Joseph's Church in the morning by the Rev. Father C. J. Outtrim, S.M., and the Rev. Father J. Spillane, S.M., brother of Mr Spillane, assisted in the service at the graveside. The pall-bearers were Messrs W., A., and J. Spillane (brothers), and Mr E. Fitzgerald. all of Temuka.
Press, 13 September 1927, Page 7 Mr John Spring
Mr John Spring, who died at his residence, Seadown, on Saturday morning, was born in County Kerry, Ireland, and came to New Zealand in 1865, settling in South Canterbury, where he has resided ever since. Mr Spring was a dairy-farmer for many years, and was well known in the district. Mr and Mrs Spring celebrated their golden wedding two years ago. Mr Spring leaves a family of sixteen.
Press, 27 March 1933, Page 10 MR GEORGE W. SQUIRE.
The death of Mr G. W. Squire at the age of 88 years has severed yet another link with the pioneers of Canterbury. Born at Inwardleigh, Devon, England, in February, 1845, Mr Squire was educated at Shebbear College, Devon, and for four years he served in the Tenth Hussars. At the age of 19 he embarked for New Zealand in the sailing ship Glenmark, arriving at Lyttelton in 1865. Thence he walked over the Port Hills to Christchurch, and later settled in the Rangiora district. Mr Squire was on a visit to the West Coast when the Burgess-Sullivan bushrangers were operating there. He was accosted by the gang and asked to buy a gold ring, which afterwards was found to have been taken from one of their victims, the late Mr Dobson. Mr Squire also visited Central Otago, and spent several months prospecting for gold at Gabriel's Gully. In 1870 he returned to the Old Country, but New Zealand called him back in 18R0, when he returned via Australia. Mr Squire married in 1884, and finally settled in South Canterbury at White Rock, near O___. He farmed there seven years, and then took up a sheep run of 2000 acres at "Wethcombe"? Bluecliffs, St. Andrews. Mr Squire purchased his Fairview property in 1898. In 1906 he bought a large block of agricultural land which adjoins his sheep run, from the Elworthy Estate. Mr Squire and his wife visited England and the Europe in 1910 on an extended tour. Of a kindly temperament, Mr Squire was always ready to help a neighbour or give to any deserving cause. For many years he took no active part in public affairs on account of failing health. In his younger days he was a very keen shot. Mr Squire, was predeceased by his wife and his eldest son, who was an electrical engineer in Germany. He is survived by a up grown up family of four sons and daughters.
Evening Post, 1 November 1912, Page 2
The late Sir William Jukes Steward, who died at Island Bay yesterday evening, was a native of Reading, Berkshire, England, where he was born in 1841. He was descended from a well-known Nonconformist family. His early education was obtained at King Edward VI. Grammar School, Ludlow, Shropshire. He arrived in Lyttelton in the ship Mersey on 26th September, 1862 and proceeded to Christchurch. Before he left England he had been interested in the then popular Volunteer movement.
...1879, when he left the district to reside at Waimate. In 1875 he was elected Mayor of Oamaru, and as such carried out a number of public improvements, not the least of which was the introduction of the water supply. Having purchased the Waimate Times, he left Otago in 1879, and once more became identified with Canterbury. ... he entered the House for Waimate as a supporter of the Liberal Party, and continued to represent that district under different boundaries and varying names until his retirement at the last General Election. During all these years the late Sir William has been a conspicuous figure in the political history of the country. ..In 1873 Sir William married Miss Hannah Whiteford, daughter of the Rev. Caleb Whiteford, rector of Harford, Worcestershire, by whom he has a daughter and two sons. Of the literary side of his life, thirty years were spent in journalism, he having owned and edited successively the North Otago Times, the Waimate Times, and the Ashburton Guardian and Ashburton Mail....Outside the House he was equally active, and in addition to municipal affairs he added educational duties as a member of the South Canterbury Education Board and the Ashburton and Waimate High School Boards. A man of cultured tastes and kindly sympathies.
Press, 9 August 1923, Page 4
There passed away recently at Orari one of Canterbury's early settlers, in the person of Mr George Stewart. The deceased was born at Pigeon Bay, Banks Peninsula, in 1857, and was educated at Mr Fitzgerald's Academy for Boys, where he was a dux medalist. He came to South Canterbury in 1872, and settled, with his parents, on the Flaxton Estate, now a soldiers' settlement. Later he farmed at Totara Valley, but sold this property and settled on the Springburn Estate, which was subdivided and sold about three years ago. The late Mr Stewart was a fearless rider, and hunted with the South Canterbury pack in the early days, and at one time owned several racehorses, and rode as gentleman rider at. district meetings. Though he took little active interest in public affairs, Mr Stewart was at one time a member, of the South Orari River Board. He was also greatly interested in the Orari Presbyterian Mission charge. Failing health restricted his activities for the last two years, and he died suddenly of heart failure. He leaves a widow and one son.
Press, 31 July 1934, Page 9 Herbert Mortimer Stonyer
Mr Herbert Mortimer Stonyer, well known in Timaru business circles, died yesterday, after a short illness. A native of Kaiapoi, Mr Stonyer learned the milling trade in that district, and on moving to Timaru was appointed travelling representative and expert tor Walter A. Wood and the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, filling this position for nearly 20 years. Later lie took up business on his own account as a land and commission agent and representative for milking machines, first in the Arcade and later in Arthur street. He carried on business for a number of years, adding to it an agency for dairying machinery and acting as representative for Timberlands Woodpulp, Ltd. Surviving him are a widow and four sons, .Messrs Allan, Cyril, Russell, and Jack Stonyer.
Press, 21 May 1934, Page 17 MR A. E. STOREY
The death occurred on Saturday afternoon of Mr Alfred Edward Storey, a Boer War veteran. He was born at Temuka on January 27, 1878. Mr Storey enlisted with the Ninth Contingent, and during his service in South Africa received the Queen's Medal with two bars. He is survived by his wife and two daughters, Mrs T. Smith (Spreydon) and Mrs E. Wotten (Christchurch). The funeral will leave his residence, 27 Elm grove, at 9.15 this morning for the Catholic Cathedral, thence to the Bromley cemetery.
Temuka Leader 6 January 1923 Page 3 FREDERICK STOREY
The death is reported in Christchurch of Mr Frederick Storey, who lived in Temuka for many years and was well known and esteemed here. Mr Frederick Storey was born in Naffeton, Yorkshire, and came out to New Zealand in 1878, settling in Temuka. A few years later he married a daughter of the late Mr Thomas Dunn, of the Stumps Farm, Temuka. For a time he worked with his brother, the late Mr Wm. Storey, as a tailor, and he then took over this lease of the Wallingford Hotel, Temuka. This hotel stood on the corner site now occupied by Miss Strachan’s, R.S.A., and Mr McGarva’s Garage. The late Mr Storey then went to Christchurch I where he took over the Hotel then known as the Terminus Hotel, now known as Storey’s Hotel. Later he let the hotel and opened Storey’s Motor Garage. He was a member of the Drainage Board and a past president of the Canterbury Bowling Club, also a prominent Mason, being Past Master of the Kilwinning Lodge. He took a keen interest in all public affairs. He was a man of kindly disposition, and will be missed by a wide circle of friends. The funeral took place at Bromley, the interment being private. He leaves a widow, one son (Mr Stewart Storey), and one daughter (Miss Flossie Storey.)
Timaru Herald, 8 April 1910, Page 6 MR AND MRS JAS. SULLIVAN
By a somewhat unusual concurrence of circumstances the family of Mr and Mrs James Sullivan, very old settlers of the Levels district, were given reason to mourn the death of both parents within a few hours of each other, Mrs Sullivan dying on Tuesday afternoon, and Mr Sullivan early on Wednesday morning. The aged couple— Mrs Sullivan was 68, Mr Sullivan 74 came to Canterbury in 1862, and after spending a short time on Otago diggings they settled on farms in the Levels district. Mr Sullivan was a member of the Levels Road Board before the separation of the road district as a county, and subsequently was for some years a member of the Timaru Harbour Board. He at one time owned and conducted the Royal Hotel, Timaru, after which he took up another farm on the Levels, which later on was acquired by the State to form the Papaka settlement. Mr and Mrs Sullivan keeping the homestead as their home. Mr Sullivan had not had good health for some years, and had also lost his sight, while Mrs Sullivan had enjoyed pretty good health till near her last days. They were both of quiet retiring disposition, but very hospitable and well liked by their neighbours. They leave one son and three daughters. The funeral takes place this afternoon at the Timaru Cemetery, about 3 p.m., a Requiem Mass being held at Pleasant Point at 9.30 a.m.
Press, 20 November 1918, Page 8 MR DOUGLAS SUTHERLAND
The death occurred in Christchurch on Sunday of Mr. Douglas Sutherland, of Willowbridge, South Canterbury, a well-known farmer and breeder of Border Leicester sheep. Mr Sutherland was at the Christchurch show, where he was a prize-taker in the sheep classes, and while there he contracted influenza, from which he died. He was a son of the late Rev. J. M. Sutherland, of Oamaru, and was educated at the Waitaki High School. Mr Sutherland was a very successful sheep breeder, and his sheep gained prizes both in New Zealand and Australia. He married a daughter of Mr Hayes of Centrewood, Waimate, and is survived by a widow and two young boys.
Otago Witness 15 April 1903, Page 50
Captain Sutter, a very old Timaruite, died on Monday night. He had been ill for some time. He was closely identified with the progress of Timaru. He was an ex-member of the House of Representatives, Harbour Board, Borough Council (Mayor for some years), and chairman of the Gas Company. He was 84 years of age.
Ashburton Guardian, 18 June 1901, Page 2
We hate to record that Mr W. H. Tait passed away last evening about eight o'clock, at the Hospital. He had been gradually sinking for some weeks, but it was not expected that his end would be so sudden, Mr Tait was a man of exceptional parts. He was a good artist, and some of his paintings have received very favorable mention from the art critics. He was no mean carpenter, although self taught, and there were few things he could not turn his hand to. He was a very reserved man, and even the few friends he made in Invercargill, Timaru, and Ashburton, where he has resided of late years, are unaware whether he had any relations in this colony. It is, however, understood that he has a sister living in Capetown. The funeral will leave the Hospital at 3.20 tomorrow afternoon.
Press, 12 June 1926, Page 4
Another old resident of the Temuka district passed away on Thursday, in the person of Mr William Tarrant, at the age of 62 years. The late Mr Tarrant was born in Ireland, and arrived in the Lady Jocelyn in 1879, landing at Lyttelton. he immediately came to South Canterbury, where he followed farming pursuits. Eventually he commenced contract ploughing for the late Mr E. Richardson, on the Albury Estate, before it was cut up. In 1888 he married Miss Jane Bennett of County Meath, Ireland. Shortly afterwards he acquired a holding in the Green Hayes Estate, and then he leased a larger portion on the same estate. When the estate was cut up he purchased a block which he sold six years ago. He then acquired a portion of the Gladstone Estate at Winchester, which he farmed until his death. The late Mr Tarrant was a Justice of the Ponce, and before the war he was vice-president of the Caledonian Society and a member of the Milford School Committee. He was an enthusiastic believer in co-operative dairying, and took a prominent part in establishing the Temuka Co-operative Dairy Company. For some years past Mr Tarrant has not been in best of health, and about a fortnight, ago he became seriously ill, and was removed to the Timaru Hospital, passing quietly away on Thursday morning. He leaves a widow and daughters to mourn their lost.
Press, 20 November 1918, Page 8 Walter TAVENER
Sports goers in South Canterbury will learn with regret of the death of Mr Walter Tavener, one of the most popular local runners of the last ten years. He hailed from Belfield, an athletic community, and after trying his luck at cycle road-racing and sprint running, found his true athletic vocation as a distance runner. He won innumerable half and mile races, and though not a graceful runner had a tremendous stride, and his gameness made him a prime favourite with the public, as whether he had caught his field or was still chasing it he always made the pace lively. He did most of his running in the South Canterbury Centre's district, but made one highly successful visit to Southland a few years ago. His last appearance in South Canterbury was at the Timaru Caledonian sports on 1st and 3rd January, 1916, when he won the mile handicap each day. He was married and took a farm a few years ago at Chertsey, where his death, took place.
The Press Monday 14 April 1924 TAYLOR, Robert Ross,
Mr. Robert Ross Taylor, one of the oldest residents of Timaru, died at his residence, North street, on Saturday at the age 77 years. Mr Taylor left Aberdeen, where he was born at the age of 16, and arrived in Timaru in 1864. He commenced work in a store owned by Captain Sutter, his brother-in-law, and later went into partnership with the captain, the firm going under the name of Sutter, Taylor and Co. for many years, carrying on the business in premises where the shop of Messrs Porter and Dawson now stands. At a later date he entered into business on his own account as a wine and spirit and tea merchant, and made a success of his venture. He retired about 20 years ago. From his youth the late Mr Taylor was a keen sportsman, and his circle of friends included many sportsmen of the town and district. he was one of the founders of the Timaru Bowling Club and of the South Canterbury Jockey Club, in both of which he took a keen interest.
Evening Post, 4 March 1898, Page 5
Timaru, This Day. An old identity, Mr. Robert Taylor, died in the Hospital to-day, aged 87. He came from Hobart to Wellington early in the forties, and thence to Lyttelton before the first four ships. He was a builder, and helped to build early Wellington and Lyttelton. He was an old Freemason, and the father of Foresters here.
Timaru Herald, 4 March 1898, Page 3
Robert Taylor, better known to old residents of South Canterbury as "Bobby" Taylor, died at the Hospital yesterday morning, at the ripe age of 85. He was one of the pioneers of the colony in a wider sense than usual, as he took part in the establishment of three centres of settlement. He crossed from Tasmania to Wellington m the early forties, and, a builder and joiner by trade, he helped to build up the first wooden Wellington, which was founded in 1840. He next came down to Lyttelton to assist m preparing for the arrival of the pioneer immigrants to Canterbury, who arrived in December, 1850, and he remained there, following his trade and helping to build the first township on Port Cooper. He was a good and ingenious tradesman, and we learn that he was a general adviser or amateur practical architect m those days. In 1859 he removed to Timaru, m the early days of the town, but after the arrival of the Strathallan. He commenced business as builder, contractor, and undertaker, and many of the old structures m Timaru bear the marks of his tools. After some years he tried hotel keeping, in a small house in Beswick Street called the Square and Company (Mr Taylor was a Mason), but he was burned out of this in a fire which destroyed the original Ship Hotel and South Canterbury Times office. The building now occupied by Mr J. S. Bennett in Beswick Street then belonged to Mr Taylor, and was used as a workshop. It was scorched by the fire but escaped destruction, and this the deceased converted into a general dealer's shop. Later on he transferred his business to a shop in Grey Road, where he carried it on until increasing infirmity compelled him to relinquish it. The deceased was known to everybody in the parly days. He was respected for his uprightness, and extremely popular for his quaint humour. He was like Yorick, a fellow of infinite jest." He was one of the oldest Masons and Foresters in Canterbury, and the father of the Foresters' Lodge in Timaru, and both of these orders did their duty by him m his declining years. He leaves seven daughters, all married, many grand children and some greatgrand-children, most of them m South Canterbury, others at Christchurch and Lyttelton. The funeral takes place on Sunday, and there will no doubt be a very large attendance of the old identities of Timaru and its neighbourhood. Notice is given in another column requesting the brethren of St, John's Lodge to attend the funeral on Sunday, and it is expected that there will be a large attendance of the craft at the funeral of such an old and eminent brother. The deceased was one of the founders of Lodge Unanimity, Lyttelton, the first lodge in Canterbury, and of St. John's Lodge, Timaru.
Poverty Bay Herald, 23 June 1919, Page 6
Mr. T. J. Teschemaker aged 80, one of the early settlers. He arrived at Lyttelton in 1855. For many years he was a prominent pastoralist, retiring about ten years ago. He was also a keen sportsman, being one of the originators of the Grand National Steeplechase, For several years he was chairman of the South Canterbury Jockey Club. He was also one of the members of, the Canterbury Jockey Club, holding the office of steward till the time of his death. He was a class steward of the Timaru A and P Association. He married the eldest daughter of the late Hon. W. Rolleston, and is survived by the widow and three daughters.
Timaru Herald, 12 October 1916, Page 3 MR E. H. TEMPLER
The death occurred at Geraldine yesterday of Mr Edward Horace Templer, who had resided in South Canterbury for many years, and was well known throughout the district. He joined the staff of the Bank of New South Wales at Orange, N.S.W., and in course of time was transferred to New Zealand, and in 1876 he was manager of the Geraldine branch 'of the bank. He subsequently retired from the bank and engaged in farming, but of late years has acted as clerk to the: Mount Peel Road Board, and recently also as Clerk to the County Council. Mr Templer, who was in his 66th year, recently lost one son, killed in action, and two others are serving" at the. Front. He leaves a widow, three daughters and four sons.
Press, 23 May 1928, Page 4 Mr O. Scott Thomson
The death occurred early on Monday morning, at his residence, "Scotsburn," Raukapuka, Geraldine, of Mr O. Scott Thomson, in his 72nd year. The deceased had a small farm at Kakahu, but on the death of his wife he came to live in Geraldine. He was a member of the Geraldine Road Board, a life member of the Geraldine Racing Club, and a vestryman of St. Mary's Church.
Timaru Herald 15 June 1920, Page 7 MR P. E. THOREAU.
Yesterday morning, at Timaru, there passed away an old and highly respected resident of South Canterbury in the person of Mr Philip Edward Thoreau, in his seventy-ninth year. The late Mr Thoreau, who was born at St. Helen's, Jersey, arrived in New Zealand 54 years ago, landing at Auckland, where he joined the police force. He served in the police force there for a short time, until the Government retrenched the force, and Mr Thoreau was among those members who were retired. Then, about 44 years ago, he came to Timaru, and shortly after his arrival rejoined, the police and served with it for 25 years, most of which tune he spent in Timaru. On retiring from the police force Mr Thoreau bought a farm at Fairview, and he successfully farmed this till ho decided to live retired in Timaru, when he; handed the farm over to his sons. He was a man who could turn his hand to many things. He was a very successful horticulturist, took a keen interest in experimenting with plants and manures and in taxidermy, which he took up as a hobby in the early days, he excelled. Mr Thoreau held a lieutenant's commission in the Jersey Militia, and after ins retirement from the police was made a Justice, of the Peace. He took a keen interest in public matters, and despite his age was the first man in .Timaru to volunteer for service in the great war, but his age prevented his services being accepted. Ho also took a keen interest in returned soldiers, and for three years was custodian of the rooms of the Returned Soldiers' Association, his courteous manner and fidelity to duty earning for him the respect of all with whom ho came into contact. Mr Thoreau was pre-deceased by his wife twelve years ago, and is survived by four sons—Messrs A. Thoreau (Timaru), A. L. Thoreau (Pleasant Point), H. S. Thoreau (Albury), E. J. Thoreau (Palmerston North), and by one daughter, Mrs W. Read, Springbrook, Pareora.
Timaru Herald, 31 May 1897, Page 3
It is with much regret that we record to-day the death of Mr Edmund Tipping, who passed away at 3 a.m. on Saturday, at the age of 62, after a very short illness from inflammation of the lungs. He had been unwell some days before then, but he was about on Wednesday morning. The deceased had led a varied life, and "roughed it " a good deal when a young man. He left his native country, Ireland, in the early gold digging days for Victoria, and worked among the mines at Bendigo and elsewhere. He then, went to Tasmania, and was farming there for some years. In 1862 he came to New Zealand and joined his family who, had, in the meantime, come out and settled at the Cust, North Canterbury, and remained with them as a farmer till ten or twelve years ago, when he came to Timaru and joined Mr Whitcombe in a general commission agency. On Mr Whitcombe leaving Timaru, Mr Tipping became local agent for the Lyttelton Times and then and subsequently carried on business as a financial commission agent. The deceased was widely known, and extremely popular among his friends. Much regret was felt at the news of his sudden and serious illness and here is much genuine sorrow at his decease. The deceased has several relatives in different parts of .the colony and an unmarried sister was in attendance upon him during his last hours. The deceased on falling ill went to, the Old Bank, where Mr M. O'Meeghan made him as comfortable as possible until more serious measures were seen to be necessary, since when various friends assisted in securing that he should lack nothing. One of Mr Tipping's brothers arrived from Christchurch on Saturday, and took charge of the funeral arrangements, and another brother from the south in the evening. The funeral will leave the Old Bank Hotel at 2 30 p.m. to-day.
Star 6 September 1909, Page 3
Dunedin, September 6. Mr W. J. Tonkin, the well-known frozen meat and rabbit exporter, died suddenly of heart failure on Saturday night. He was also identified with the flax-milling industry, and was once a flour miller in Timaru.
Star 9 March 1903, Page 3
COLONEL R. TOSSWILL. The death is announced from England of Lieutenant Colonel Robert G. D. Tosswill. He was appointed Major in command of the Canterbury Battalion of Infantry in 1885, when the infantry companies were formed into an administrative battalion, and soon afterwards was raised to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Previous ( to that he held a captaincy in the Christ's College Rifles. He was officer commanding the battalion until 1889, when he retired from the active list consequent on the disbandment of battalions throughout New Zealand. He had obtained a great deal of military knowledge and experience in the 99th Foot of the Imperial Army, and he brought all his knowledge to bear on Volunteering matters, and gave much practical assistance. He was a great favourite with the local Volunteers. During his residence in Canterbury he had a farm near Timaru, and another at Highfield, Kirwee. Colonel Tosswill went to England in 1901.
Timaru Herald, 13 March 1917, Page 7 MR A. H. TURNBULL
Christchurch, March 12. Mr A.H. Turnbull, a well known merchant and shipping agent, died this morning as the result of a paralytic stroke. He was a son of the late Richard Turnbull, for many years member for Timaru, and was very well known in business circles in Christchurch having taken a prominent part in the work of the Canterbury Chamber of Commerce and other bodies. Some years ago Mr Turnbull took an interest in civic affairs and in general politics, being always a public-spirited citizen. Deceased was a brother of Mr D. C. Turnbull, grain merchant of Timaru.
Otago Witness, 24 July 1890, Page 16
DEATH of MR R. TURNBULL, M.H.R
Wellington, July 17. Mr R. Turnbull, M.H.R. for Timaru, died at 5 o'clock this evening. He was 64 years of age, and had been very ill for the last nine months with Bright's disease. Mr R. Turnbull, was a native of Oxford, England, where he was born in 1826. He came out to the colony in the year 1851 in the ship Fatima, and took up land from the Canterbury Association, He was engaged in farming for over 11 years near Christchurch, and during a portion of that time he represented the Seadown district in the Provincial Council. He removed to Timaru in 1864 and went into business there as a draper, and afterwards as an auctioneer and commission agent.; He represented Timaru in the Provincial Council, and was afterwards elected to the House of Representatives in 1878 as member for Timaru in place of Sir Edward Stafford. He has represented the constituency ever since. He was a Liberal in politics and took great interest in the land question and social subjects, such as the employment of females. He leaves a widow and 10 children — six sons and four daughters. Timaru, July 20.
The funeral of the late Mr R. Turnbull took place this afternoon. The weather being fine, there was a large attendance— nearly 500 persons, walking two and two, and about 40 vehicles being present. Mr Wray, R.M., represented the Cabinet ; and the borough councillors, members of friendly societies, the fire brigade, and garrison band took part in the procession. The delay of the steamer upset the first arrangements and prevented the hour of the ceremony being known in the country, or the attendance would have been larger.
Press, 5 March 1930, Page 4
The funeral of Mr James Turner, who died suddenly at Temuka on Saturday, at the age of 72, took place on Monday at the Geraldine Cemetery, a large number of persons attending. Mr Turner had been a resident of Geraldine for over 50 years, where he had carried on the business of a cordial manufacturer. He had been a member the Oddfellows for many years and formed the Geraldine Lodge of the Order (Victoria. No. 18) in 1887 and during the 42 years which elapsed till his sudden death, had occupied all responsible positions open to members. He is survived by his widow, three sons, and three daughters.
Ashburton Guardian, 2 November 1921, Page 4
Evening Post, 2 November 1921, Page 8
Timaru, November 1. The death is announced of Mr Jeremiah Matthew Twomey of Temuka. Mr Twomey, who was a native of County Kerry, Ireland, was born 15 August 1847. He spent some years in the service of the General Post Office in Cork, and arrived in the Dominion in 1874. The following year he joined the staff of the Wellington Tribune, and subsequently served on the Wellington Argus and Evening Post, also on Wanganui, Timaru, and Christchurch papers. In 1880 he purchased the Temuka Leader, and the following year started the Geraldine Guardian. He became proprietor of the "Temuka Leader" in 1881 and conducted that journal for many years. He was appointed to the Legislative Council from 1898 to 1905.
Press, 4 July 1934, Page 5 MR R. A. URQUHART
The funeral of Mr Roderick Alexander (Tom) Urquhart, who for the last five years was manager of the Mesopotamia station, in the Ashburton county, was held yesterday, the burial taking place at Bromley cemetery. Mr Urquhart was known as a remarkably able station manager, and made many friends among the musterers and shearers on the various stations with which he was connected. Musterers from as far away as the Mackenzie Country attended the funeral. Mr Urquhart was 20 years of age. He was born at Ladbrooks and was the son of Mr Roderick Urquhart, himself well known in Canterbury as the manager of several large stations. After attending the Ladhrooks School for two years Mr Urquhart went to the Mount Oaklands station, in he Rakaia Gorge, where his father was manager. He was educated privately there, and learned also a great deal about the management of sheep stations from his father, who had been first appointed to manage a sheep station —Mount Algidus—- before he was 20. In 1922 Mr Urquhart, sen., was engaged by Sir William Nosworthy to manage the Mesopotamia station, and the son went with his father, becoming head shepherd. After five years at Mesopotamia, Mr Urquhart, sen., became manager for Mr Robert Todhunter at Lake Heron. Mr Urquhart, jun. was with his father on this station until 1929, when he was engaged as manager of Mesopotamia, a position he held until his death. Recently he injured himself internally and was operated on, but complications followed, causing his death. To be appointed manager of Mesopotamia—which is one of the best known of the large runs in New Zealand—at such an early age was an indication of Mr Urquhart's ability and knowledge of sheep farming. The chief mourners at the funeral were Mr and Mrs R. Urquhart, sen., Mr Hector Urquhart, Misses Phyllis and Abbie Urquhart, Mr D. Urquhart, Mr and Mrs C. Urquhart, Miss I. Urquhart, Miss Alice Urquhart, Mr Hugh Urquhart, Mr and Mrs W. Urquhart, Mrs A. Evans. Mr M. Bell, Mr and Mrs J. Bell, Mrs R. MacLeod, Messrs M. MacLeod and H. MacLeod, Mrs M. MacLeod, Mrs D. McLeod, Mrs Angus McLeod, Mr and Mrs G. Willis, and Mr H. Beattie. Pall-bearers were: Messrs W. Hardie, J. Binnie, R. Familton, W. MacDonald, F. Calvert, and J. Bell.
Jane Common BELL married Roderick Urquhart in 1906. Children:
1907 Urquhart Roderick Alexander
1909 Urquhart Phyllis Margaret
1913 Urquhart Abigail
Press, 24 August 1935, Page 25 MR JOHN VANCE
The death occurred recently of Mr John Vance, a very old and highly respected resident of Woodbury, at the age of 74 years. The very large attendance at the funeral testified to the esteem in which Mr Vance was held. Mr Vance was born in Omagh. County Fermanagh (Ulster), Ireland and came to New Zealand when 15 years of age. He went first to Gapes Valley and for many years did contracting work in the Geraldine district. In 1898 he took up land at Waihi Gorge, and later, settled at "Woodlands," where he lived until his death. Mr Vance took a keen interest in the Geraldine Brass Band, and was president this year. The band attended the funeral-and played a funeral march, and at the graveside a favourite hymn. The services in St Mary's Church, Geraldine, and at the graveside were conducted by the vicar. Canon J. F. Coursey. Mr Vance was interested in the Woodbury water-race committee and was for some time its chairman. Mrs Vance, who was Miss Frances Rosena [Rosina] Dean of Geraldine died in 1922, leaving two daughters. Miss May Vance, and Mrs E. P. Bennett (Geraldine). The bearers at the funeral were Messrs D. McDonald. G. Patrick, J. Scott, G. Hammond, G. Wooding, and R. Flatman. There were many wreaths, including those from the following:—Members of the Geraldine Band, president and members Geraldine District Golf Club, Woodbury Women's Institute, St. Mary's Mothers' Union, Geraldine Branch Women's Division of the New Farmers' Union, May, Eileen, Pat, and John, Aunt Lou, J. R. Lack,. Mr and Mrs D. J. Lack, Mr and Mrs D. McDonald, Mr and Mrs Mcintosh and family, Vera and Eric, Bessie and Mrs J. M. Barker and family, Rein and Les, Mr and Mrs L. E. Williams, the Marks family (Christchurch), Mrs A. R. Mr and Mrs Dean and Betty, Mrs Drummond Sharp, Mrs T. P. Wooding and family, the Marks children, Mr and Mrs Hammond and family, Mr and Mrs G. H.. Patrick. Cecil and Freda Wooding. Rachel, Mr and Mrs Woodhouse, Mr and Mrs J. Scott and family. Mr and Mrs G. Wooding, Mr and Mrs B. Baker, and Arthur Ellis and family.
Press, 29 October 1941, Page 3
Geraldine’s oldest resident,... Henry Waller, who was 96 years of age on Monday, received the congratulations of all his friends. A telegram conveying congratulations and good wishes on behalf of himself and his colleagues was received from the Prime Minister (the Rt. Hon. P. Fraser) and the Mayor of Geraldine (Mr D. C. McKechnie) conveyed congratulations on behalf of the townspeople. Mr Waller was born in England in 1845. He has lived during the reigns of five sovereigns, and has worked hard during the greater part of his life, but he is still young in and retains all his faculties.Mr Waller, who lives with-his son Mr Joe Waller, Talbot street. Geraldine, came to New Zealand on the sailing ship Perass at the age of 29. On the journey out no ships were sighted and the Perass [sic: Peeress] was reported to have been lost. It arrived at Timaru, but as the surf was top rough to land the ship continued to Lyttelton and unloaded rail. iron. The Timaru passengers travelled back to Timaru by a Government ship and were landed in surf-boats. Mr Waller said he did not think any of his old shipmates of his age were living to-day. One of his first jobs was sod fencing at Smith's estate at Saltwater Creek. He was also engaged in harvesting and fleece rolling on the estate, which was of 9000 acres and carried a sheep to the acre. Later he was engaged in farm work at Totara Downs. Road construction was another work undertaken by Mr Waller, and he worked on the construction of roads in Peel Forest and also on fencing in this area. At one time he was employed, by the Railways Department as a plate-layer, and later was promoted to head ganger, working for the department for seven years. He was offered a position with the department in the North Island, but rather than break up his home he remained. One of his first jobs on the railway was the laying of the line at Albury, and to take this job he walked from Geraldine. On leaving the railway. Mr Waller took up farming at Rangitata where he farmed for 26 years, later farming at Gapes Valley for two years. He retired soon after and came to Geraldine to live. With an old friend Mr T. H. Bannehr, of Geraldine, who will celebrate his ninety-second birthday next month, Mr Waller has many a talk of old days in England. He has 37 grandchildren and 30 great-grandchildren living. Two sons. Messrs Jim Waller and Fred Waller are serving with the armed forces, and four grandsons are on active vice one grandson having been killed on active service. Two other sons, Messrs Jack and Joe Waller, served in the Great War.
Otago Daily Times 23 June 1915, Page 8 William Warne
One of the early residents of Timaru passed away at Orari Bridge, near Geraldine, on Friday, in the person of Mr William Warne, who was a native, of Suffolk, and came to New Zealand in the ship Blue Jacket in 1358 (states the Timaru Herald). Soon after his arrival at Lyttelton he made his way to Timaru, where he was married in 1859, he and his bride being the second couple to be wedded in Timaru. He built the first public-house at Pleasant Point, and shortly after he commenced farming in Gapes Valley, where he continued to reside almost up to the time of his death. Prior to his death he had been ailing for some little time, and recently he went to the residence of his son, Mr Walter Warne, at Orari Bridge, where he breathed his last at the age of 81 years. He leaves a widow, three sons—Mr Walter Warne, of Orari Bridge; Mr Thomas Warne, of Gapes Valley and Mr John Warne, of Geraldine and three daughter — Mrs Polhill, of Gapes Valley; Mrs Stevenson, of Pleasant Valley; and Mrs Hansen, of Gapes Valley.
Ashburton Guardian, 7 February 1906, Page 3
Timaru, Feb 7 Sergeant Warring, officer in charge of the police force here, died this morning. He caught a chill a fortnight ago, and complications ensued, ending in pneumonia, which caused death. Deceased, who was I looked upon as a most efficient officer, did police duty at Home and had been in the N.Z. force for over 20 years. He was promoted to the rank of sergeant in 1898 and was to have been farther promoted this year. He was born in Cornwall in 1851 and leaves a wife and nine children.
Otago Daily Times 5 April 1915, Page 7
The Timaru Herald reports the death of a well-known resident of that town—Mr D. G. Watson, at the age of 46 years. The late Mr Watson came out to New Zealand from Scotland, with his parents, who settled in Otago. Deceased's father was killed when at work in the Kaitangata coal mine, but his mother, is still alive. Deceased was widely known throughout South, Canterbury, especially among the farming community, with whom he was closely associated for many years, first as the Timaru representative of Messrs Reid and Gray, and of recent years as land agent for the National and Agency Company. A man of strict integrity, he was widely respected. He was one of the founders of the Kia Toa Bowling club, and his presence on the bowling green will be greatly missed. For the past two years he had been, president of the Kia Toa Bowling Club, and is a vice-president of the Sooth Canterbury Bowling Centre. He was one of the organisers of the Timaru Pipe Band and was its drum major for some time. He was also a very useful director of the Sooth Canterbury Caledonian Society. For sometime, too, Mr Watson served on the Timaru Borough Council: he belonged to both the Timaru Savage clubs, and was a prominent Mason, holding office at the time of his death in Lodge Caledonian. Deceased had a brother and two sisters, the brother being the Rev. Alexander Watson, a Presbyterian minister of Otago also leaves a widow and son.
Press, 13 March 1934, Page 6 MR JAMES WATT
The death occurred recently at the residence of Mrs H. Hamlyn, 100 Evans street, Timaru, of a very old and esteemed identity, Mr James Watt, who was born in Leith, Scotland, 82 years ago, and came to New Zealand in the ship Dunedin. At the early age of 19 he was first a baker, then a butcher and bacon curer by trade. Taking up residence early in Temuka, Mr Watt became a member of the Temuka Volunteers. When the Maoris created a disturbance in the North Island he went north, and took part in the capture of Te Whiti. During the campaign he was under the leadership of Major Young and Captain Hayhurst, of Temuka. In 1882 Mr Watt married a daughter of Mr Robert Davidson, of Timaru. After leaving Temuka he went to Winchester and then to St. Andrews, where he resided for 20 years. He was a keen sportsman in his day, as he was a good shot, and a keen angler. Mr Watt was a member of the Masonic craft, being a member at one time of the Winchester and Pareora Lodges. During the later part of his life, he resided in Timaru. His wife predeceased him 29 years ago, leaving him with a family of four sons and three daughters, Miss Watt (Dunedin), Mrs R. A. Patrick (Fendalton), Mr C. Watt (Temuka), Mr G. Watt (Washdyke), Mrs N. Hamlyn (Timaru), Mr Stanley Watt (Timaru), and Mr Stuart Watt (Waimate). The funeral took place in the Temuka Cemetery on Wednesday—the pall-bearers being Mr Watt's four sons. The service at the house was conducted by the Rev. J. Baird, of Highfield, and at the graveside by the Rev. C. A. Kennedy, of Temuka. Many messages of sympathy were received; also many floral tributes, including one from the staff of the Farmers' Cooperative Association, Timaru, and the staff of the Waimate branch pt the Canterbury Farmers' Co-operative Association.
Ashburton Guardian, 6 January 1920, Page 5
Mr George Watts, of North Street, Timaru, died last week. The deceased had been in his usual health in the early part of the week, but was .taken suddenly ill and passed away at noon on Friday. Mr Watts, who was born in England, had reached the age of 68 years. On coming to New Zealand he settled first at Ashburton. Later he went to Timaru, where he established a cordial factory and carried this on with success up to the time of his death. Of a quiet and retiring disposition, he took no part in public affairs, but he was a generous giver to deserving causes. Mr Watts was twice married, his second wife being Miss Clark, of Timaru, and he is survived by his widow and three children, all grown up.
Timaru Herald, 22 September 1915, Page 7 MR ROBERT
An old resident of the Timaru district, Mr Robert Webster, died at Washdyke yesterday. The late Mr Webster was born at St. Andrews, Fifeshire, Scotland, in 1839, and arrived at Port Chalmers in the ship Henrietta in 1860. He obtained employment in Dunedin and Oamaru as a gardener, and later followed the Gabriel's Gully and Dunstan rushes. After a period spent on the goldlfields he resumed gardening work in Southland. Subsequently he was employed by Mr B. Rhodes as gardener, and by the Hon. John Martin in Wellington. He came to Timaru in 1871, and was in the grocery business in 1577. when lie entered the furnishing trade in Barnard Street. Some years later he retired, but returned to active life again and kept a store at Washdyke until the time of his death. In 1872 the late Mr Webster married a Miss Cullmann, who died in 1887. By this marriage there, were three daughters: Mrs Foster of Ruapuna, Mrs Shields of Timaru, and Mrs Wilson of Washdyke. He remarried in 1890, his second wife being Mrs Shields of Timaru who predeceased him by eight years. By the second marriage there was no family. The late Mr Webster was a member of the Bank Street Methodist Church and was greatly respected by all who knew him.
Timaru Herald, 23 February 1910, Page 7 MR
After being a respected resident of Timaru for close on forty years, Mr Daniel West died at his residence in Rose street yesterday morning. Born in the Old Country he emigrated to Australia when a youth, and there spent several years, full of varied incidents, in mining pursuits. New Zealand next attracted his attention, and a few years later saw him employed as a carpenter in Timaru. His first employer was Mr G. Cliff, who owned a sawmill in this town. Mr West proved to be very industrious, and soon developed into an architect of no small ability [custom house]. After some perseverance he built up a business on his own account, and was, for a number of years, architect to the South Canterbury Education Board. With advancing years Mr West retired from business, and was able to live happily on the proceeds of his industry. His long residence here was only broken by a spell of two years when he visited Auckland, and so it is only natural that he made many firm friends here, who feel the deepest regret at his not unexpected end. He was an enthusiastic member of the Timaru Bowling Club, and took a strong interest in matters pertaining to its well fare. His wife, a sister of Mr Moses White, left him a widower some years I ago, and his family, four sons and one daughter, together with a wide circle of friends are left to mourn their loss. At the time of his death he was 82 years of age, and but for a gradually increasing weakness which made itself felt three weeks ago, his health had always been good, and his general disposition a happy one.
[Eliza White married Daniel West in 1870, daughter was Lillie Lorne West. C.E. West was born Nov. 1875. John West was born in 1884. Daniel West died 19 Feb. 1910. He was an architect. He owned 11.5 perches being part of Lot 96 on Deposit plan 1, the land described in Certificate of title Volume 147 folio 161 to memorandum of Mortgage number 84663. Executor named was George Augustus West of Hobart, a commercial traveller. Lily Lorne married Sydney Taylor in 1913. [Eliza (18) and Moses White (16) from Fermanagh, a county in SW N. Ireland, arrived in Lyttelton on the ship Lincoln in June 1867.]
Temuka Leader 6 November 1923 WILLIAM WHEELBAND
Another of the early settlers in South Canterbury, William Wheelband, passed away suddenly at his home, Wilson's Road, Sydenham, Christchurch, on Sunday last in his 83rd year. The late Mr Wheelband came to New Zealand in 1872 in the sailing ship Punjab, and landed at Lyttelton. He worked for a short time in South Canterbury, and then came south, working first for Mr Walker, at Kakahu (on a farm now known as Kelland's) .On giving this up he started a nurseryman's business in Temuka at the north end of the town, and carried it on for some years, relinquishing it about 30 years ago. In 1885 he took a trip Home. After giving up business in Temuka he resided for a time at Hobart, Tasmania, and has lived in various parts of Australia and New Zealand. He was an energetic, enterprising man. While at Temuka he devised and put on the market very effective dressing for killing the blight on fruit trees, and since then he has put on the market mixtures for killing flies, wood borer, and other pests. During his career he had many hard knocks, but he always came up smiling. Ho paid a visit to Temuka a few months ago, staying with his relatives, Mr and Mrs George Smith, Main Road, and expressed his astonishment at the growth the town had made since he left it. He was then strong and well and very active for a man of his years, although he had had a serious illness some time before. He was married before he left Home and his wife predeceased him about 12 years ago. His remains were interred at Christchurch, the funeral being a private one.
Press, 9 October 1909, Page 9
Mr Moses White, who has been manager of the New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company's Timaru branch since 1902, and who was previously accountant from 1875, has resigned. He will be succeeded by Mr F. Barkas, manager of the Wellington branch. Mr White has been prominent in connection with commercial matters in Timaru, and is well-known as an enthusiastic bowler.
Wanganui Chronicle, 24 June 1882, Page 2
Timaru, June 23. Moses White, accountant to the New Zealand Loan Company, had a narrow escape from being killed this morning. On opening the strong room he discovered it full of gas. He left the door open for some minutes, and then lit a match, when the gas exploded with terrific force, throwing Mr White ten or twelve feet away, smashing a lot of windows, and doing other damage to the office. Mr White was badly burned about the face, head, hands, and clothes, and had to be taken home.
New Zealand Herald, 2 November 1925, Page 1
WHITE. On November 1 1925. at 8 St. Mark's Road, Remuera, Moses, dearly beloved husband of Clara Annie White: aged 75 years. Formerly of Wellington and Timaru. Private interment 3 p.m. to-day.
Timaru Herald, 31 March 1913, Page 3 MR E. WILCE,
By the death of Mr Edwin Wilce, which occurred suddenly at his residence in High-street last Wednesday evening, Waimate loses one of its sturdy old settlers, a man whose robustness and activity made his service always sought after. He was born at St. Kew, Cornwall, in 1846, and came out to Lyttelton in the Star of China. Shipmates with him were the Inksters, another family prominent in Waimate to-day. Boat was taken immediately for Timaru, and coach thence to Waimate, which was reached on 6th or 7th August 38 years ago. The late Mr Wilce went at once to work on the late Mr Michael Studholme's estate in which service be remained for 25 years. Mr Wilce died suddenly being found lying on the floor of his room. Apparently he had been retiring to rest, and had fallen dead just as he was about to go into bed. A widow, six sons and two daughters are left to mourn the loss of a trend father. At the time of Mr Wilce death the widow was on a visit to married daughter, Mrs V. R. Wilson, in Christchurch.
Timaru Herald, 9 October 1884, Page 7 Rev. Peter WILLS
The Rev. Peter Wills, the Wesleyan Minister in charge of the Temuka circuit, died on Monday evening, the cause of death being rheumatic fever combined with congestion of the lungs. His illness was of very short duration, as ho had only been ailing at all for about a couple of weeks, and did not take to his bed till last Saturday. He was attended by Dr. Hayes, and on Monday Dr. Hogg was sent for from Timaru, but nothing more could be done for the patient when he arrived. The sudden death of the reverend gentleman east quite a gloom over the township, as he was beloved by his congregation, and highly respected by all. He had taken great interest m all local movements calculated to advance the spiritual well-being of his flock, and at a meeting of the Blue Ribbon Mission held on Monday evening, the Rev. Mr Hamilton and others dwelt at some length on the loss the temperance cause had sustained through the Rev. Mr Wills' untimely death, he having as Vice-President labored hard for the cause. Mr Wills was the son of an old settler near Springston, North Canterbury, and was 31 years of age. Both his parents are still living, and also several brothers and sisters. Two of his brothers were present at his death haying come down to see him, on Saturday. He was educated for the Wesleyan Ministry at Wesley College, Auckland, and received his first charge m 1873. He was appointed to the Temuka circuit in April of last year, having spent the previous term at Milton, Otago. He was married only a short time before his arrival at Temuka, and besides his widow leaves an infant son, some three months old.
Ashburton Guardian, 29 July 1918, Page 5
The death of Mr Henry Thomas Winter, aged 76, at Timaru yesterday, removes one of Ashburton's fast diminishing band of pioneers. The deceased was born in 1842 in Tasmania, where he received his education, which was finished in England. For some years he followed pastoral pursuits in Australia, and came to New Zealand in 1867 the ship South Australia, which was wrecked at Port Chalmers. After his arrival he took over management of Messrs Tancred run in Ashburton. In 1896 he was appointed manager of Balmoral, Braemar and Glenmore stations in the Mackenzie Country. These stations containing 170,000 acres were the property of the N.Z. Loan and M.A. Co. and were originally taken up in 1858 by Messrs Beswick, Cox and Hall. "Balmoral" is the second highest homestead in the colony and stands 2600 feet above sea level. For several years prior to his death Mr. Winter had been living in retirement at "Ringwould," Wai-iti Road, Timaru. He was married in 1869 to Miss Richardson, of Tasmania.
Temuka Leader 4 January 1913 Page 2 EMANUEL
The death occurred yesterday at Seadown of Mr Emanuel Wooffindin, at the advanced age of 85 years, The deceased, who was very well known, and highly respected in this district, arrived in the colony in the maiden run of the ship "Canterbury" about year 1863. His first job in New Zealand was making bricks at the south end of the Lyttelton tunnel. After several months he came down to this district, and started working for Thomas Tancred on the Raukapuka Station, near Geraldine. It was during the time that he was on this station that he was married to Miss Nurse, and shortly afterwards he left Geraldine and started work for the late Mr John Hayhurst at Milford. Later he was engaged clearing the old racing track in the Arowhenua township and later he worked on the formation of the first road from Temuka to Hilton. He finally started farming near Geraldine on his on his own account, and remained there for 13 years. About twenty-seven years he bought about 1-10 acres at Seadown. It was on this land that he established brick and pipe works, having all the machinery made to his own order. But as this work did not suit him in health he gave it up, and centred his efforts on the remaining hundred acres which he farmed successfully time of his death. The deceased is survived by four sons and two daughters. Living in this district at present are a number of shipmates of the late Mr Wooffindin, amongst whom are Mr Baxter, of Waitohi, Messrs Arthur Charles and William Story, and Mr Smith, who lives near Ashburton.
Press, 26 June 1915, Page 4 MR W. WRATHALL
Mr William Wrathall, of 83 Mav's road, Papanui, died on Thursday. He was born at Burton-in-Lonsdale, Yorkshire, in 1853, and came out to the colonies in 1881. After spending a few months in New Zealand be made a trip to Australia, but returned shortly afterwards and settled at Methven, where he successfully carried on business for many years. About twelve years ago he settled in the Morven district, Waimate, where he followed farming pursuits until recently, when he retired and moved to Christchurch. Both at Methven and Morven he was a member of many local bodies, and was a staunch member of the Church of England. The late Mr Wrathall was interested in several branches of the Masonic Lodge. in 1838 he was admitted at Methven as the Right Worshipful Master of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. At the time of his death he was a member of the Royal Arch Lodge, Waimate, of the Concord Lodge, Papanui, and of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Canterbury. He leaves a wife and two daughters to mourn their loss.
Timaru Herald 3 April 1920, Page 2 Mr CHARLES ALLEN WRAY
A Press Association message from London announces the death at Bournemouth, of Mr Charles Allen Wray, aged 80 years. The deceased was Stipendiary Magistrate and Coroner at Timaru and Sheriff for South Canterbury, for some years, all of whnch, positions he filled with ability and dignity. A strict disciplinarian, he possessed a sound, judicial mind, and his decisions from the Bench were; invariably recognised as just. Of a very reserved disposition, and being anything but robust in later life, he associated with but few friends, but those who knew him intimately counted themselves fortunate in his friendship. Deceased was a son of the late Captain L. H. Wray, R. N., and was born in October, 1840. He was educated in the Royal Naval School, New Cross, London; joined the Indian Navy at Bombay in 1856 and served through the Persian War of 1856-57, and afterwards in the Naval Brigade, Bengal, 1857-59 (Indian Mutiny). On the abolition of the service he became entitled to a pension, and went to China, where he gained experience in a legal office at Hong Kong. In 1864 Captain Wray arrived at Auckland, and was engaged for a time in Government survey work. In conjunction with Messrs P. Smith, Wilson, and G. Williams he executed surveys of military settlements on the west coast of the North Island. At the outbreak of the Titikowaru rebellion in 1868 he joined the colonial forces under Colonels Mc Donnell and Whitmore, and served as a captain of the New Zealand Militia during the war on the west coast. On the termination of hostilities he was appointed to the charge of confiscated lands on the west coast, and afterwards was Commissioner of Crown Lands for the West Coast district of the North Island. In 1877 he was appointed resident magistrate for Patea and Hawera, and was transferred to Timaru in 1888. Captain Wray was married in 1865 to a daughter of the late Mr George Williams, of Remuera, Auckland and had three sons and three daughters.
Press, 17 October 1927, Page 10 MR DAVID YOUNG
The death occurred early on Saturday morning of Mr David Young, owner and licensee of the Dominion Hotel. The late Mr. Young was born in St. Andrews, South Canterbury, in 1879, and after completing his education, Worked for his father in his grocery business in Fairlie and St. Andrews, later managing several stores in different parts of the province. Mr Young then went into the hotel business, and conducted hostelries in Dunedin, and Christchurch. The late Mr Young was keenly interested in sport of all kinds, but particularly in shooting and trotting, and was a well-known owner of trotters. For many years he was a steward of the Forbury Park Trotting Club, and while in Dunedin Was president of the Pipers' and Dancers' Association.
Timaru Herald, 1 August 1914, Page 10 MR JACOB YOUNG
Death has removed another of Timaru's old identities this week in the of Mr Jacob Young. The deceased, a very quiet, unassuming man, was highly respected for his many sterling qualities, and he was liked by all who knew him. A baker and confectioner by trade, he built up an extensive business here from which he retired a few years ago owing to failing health. Mr Young was born in 1841 in Germany where he learned his trade. Before coming to New Zealand in 1862 he had two years' experience in London, and came out by the ship "African;" landing at Auckland. After remaining there for a month he went to Sydney where he stopped until 1864. Then he returned to New Zealand and settled at Christchurch for a short time, after which he went over d the West Coast. From 1868 to 1878? he was in business at the Thames, and finally settled in Timaru in 1878. Mr Young was married in 1871 to .Miss Putney, of Chelmsford, England. His wife died in 1880, leaving one son and two daughters. Deceased was a man of a philanthropic disposition, one who was ever ready to help the poor, and he did a great deal of good in a quiet unostentatious way. The funeral will take place to-day.
South Canterbury NZGenWeb
When the sleep of death came o'er
Full of truth he passed away,
From the fond ones loved so dearly,
To the light of brighter day.