Search billions of records on

Brick Mill, Forest, Ohio (no date)


At one time Garret street, between Zimmerman and Huston streets, and on the north side of Huston street, between Fasig and Garret streets, and on the west side of Fasig street, and on the north side of Lima street, between Warner and Mary streets had wooden sidewalks which were constructed of 12' boards, 6" width and 1-1/2" thick.

A small portion of Forest's history has been written, yet it did not date as far back, as my memory goes hence the former writer will readily excuse all that an old resident wishes to say. It has been 22 years since our exit in Forest, there was but four private dwellings in the place at that time. Mr. L. Cregg then owned the Tuttle house, Mr. Howe the Cook house, Mr. Smith the Gemmill house, and Dr. Atwood one that has since been used in another building. We had three hotels, two dry goods stores, one grocery, one school room, and no church ediface. Rev. Holliday of the Presbyterian School, was the first minister in Forest. Rev. Deleal the first Methodist minister, of this place. These respective preeachers held forth in our school house, to larger audience than Forest can now boast of having. Simply because sectarianism was unknown, or uncared for at that time. Messrs. Sapp & Whitney were proprietors of the Scott House, better known as the Senate House, under their management. Dr. Atwood was the first dry good merchant, assisted by Mr. J. Campbell. Smith & Howe, came next in that line of business. Strange as it may seem ...

The following clipping was taken from the Editor News column of The Forest News. It is printed here in its entirety. The latter portion of the article is missing.

Change is the order of the day in our village. We hae a new editor, new postmaster, new preacher, new jeweler, new store, and in fact, much that pertains to Forest is rapidly becoming new. We appreciate the new believing they will follow the example of their presecessors in enhancing the interests of our town. We will all success in their future fields of labor, and their successors whole supplying the various places entrusted to their keeping. As citizen, we should try to make our much-abused Forest pleasant for the starngers who have already becom citizens.

And the following was taken from the Forest News in 1877.

Medal of Honor

ap Area.

The area of the Forest-Area Historical Society spans parts of three counties; Hardin, Hancock, and Wyandot which include or surround Forest. Hancock resides to the north and Wyandot to the east.



  • Armorsville - was platted in 1836 in Liberty township.
  • Blanchard - established in 1892, was named for an early French settler.
  • Blocktown - was located south of Dola and named for Charles Block who owned nearly the whole town.
  • Foraker - originally established as Oakland, later changed to honor Ohio Governor Joseph Benson Foraker.
  • Geneva - was originally planned about one-half mile south of Dunkirk.
  • Grant - established during U.S. Grant's presidential term.
  • Grassy Point - located in Hale township, was said to be the site of Chief Logan's Indian Village.
  • Hepburn - was laid out as a summer resort.
  • Holden - was located northwest of Roundhead on the Auglaize county line.
  • Hudsonville - became a station stop on the Mad River and Lake Erie railroad in 1846, later became Silver Creek.
  • Huntersville - was named for Jabez Hunter, first settler in Marion Township.
  • Jumbo - was named for P. T. Barnum's elephant that died in 1885.
  • Jump - gained its name for being a jumping-off place on the underground railroad, situated in Scioto Marsh.
  • McGoldrick's Town - exact location unknown, most likely in Cessna township, platted in 1833.
  • McVitty - was established by the Big 4 railroad as a shipping station for the Herzog Stone Quarry.
  • Maysville - located on the Allen county line, was for a time the home of Jacob Parrott, the first Medal of Honor winner.
  • Patterson - known as Petersburg and Sylvia, was named for Robert Patterson, secretary-treasurer of the Mad River & Lake Erie railroad.
  • Peru - was platted in 1836 in Cessna Township.
  • Pfeiffer Station - was named for former postmaster John Pfeiffer.
  • St. Michael's - was platted in 1836 in Goshen Township.
  • Yelverton - was named in 1858 to honor John Yelverton, a large stockholder in the Mad River & Lake Erie Railroad.