Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

Greene County Chapter


Ohio Genealogical Society


 

P.O. Box 706, Xenia, OH 45385
A Non-Profit Organization

Updated May 13, 2015

 

Purpose


o    To create and build interest in preserving and collecting historical records in the Greene County area of Ohio.

o    To take an active part in collecting records and in making them available for use in genealogical research.

o    To publish, if possible, genealogical materials compiled by the members of the chapter.

o    To foster, stimulate and share ideas, information, methods and practices in genealogy.

o    To support and encourage active membership in this chapter and the Ohio Genealogical Society.

o    And, in general, to have a good time getting to know each other.


Important Notices

 

·         A Facebook page has been set up for the chapter – it is “Greene County OGS Chapter”


Meetings

Held on the first Saturday of the month at 1:30 pm, unless otherwise noted. Visitors are WELCOME at all meetings. Meetings are normally held at the Greene County Library, Xenia, in the 1st floor meeting room, unless otherwise indicated with the meeting agendas below.

Meeting Agendas.

June 6th, 2015, 1:30 PM How to Protect Your Genealogy MaterialsGillian Hill

July 10th, 2015, 9:00 AM Research Trip to Montgomery County Records Center – To carpool, meet at the K-Mart parking lot on Indian Ripple Rd, behind the Burger King, at 8:45 or meet at the Records Center between 9:00 and 9:30.  It is located at 117 S. Main St., 6th floor.

August 1st, 2015, 12:00 Noon Chapter Picnic


Publications

The chapter has compiled and published most of the known cemetery inscriptions of the county.

Volumes of these inscriptions, plus other items are for sale.

See our Genealogical Publications For Sale page.

Membership

 

Annual Dues: January 1 to December 31

·  Individual $10.00

·  Family (2 people, same address) $13.00

·  Outside the U.S $15

·  Life, single $100.00

·  Life, married couple $150.00

Includes our newsletter:

"LEAVES OF GREENE"

·  Published Quarterly

·  Back issues of most newsletters are available.

·  Inquire for prices and availability.

To join send check to:

 

Greene County Chapter, OGS

PO Box 706

Xenia, OH 45385-0706

 

Chapter Officers, Committee Chairpersons

President

Roger Kennedy

kennedyroger@sbcglobal.net

Vice President

Sharon Wilson

swilson@woh.rr.com

Recording Secretary

Madonna Hollingsworth

GeneHetc@aol.com

Corresponding Secretary

Robin Heise

rheise@co.greene.oh.us

Treasurer and Membership

Blanche Casey

bcasey44@att.net

Newsletter Editor

Diana Nelson &
Catherine Leininger

diananel@gmail.com
leiningerc@sbcglobal.net

Hospitality & Marriage Records

Sylvia Seely

Genie2sbs@att.net

Education

Barbara Lindsey

Blindsey58@woh.rr.com

Web Site and Posters

Rodger Reedy

rreedy@mics.net

Publicity - Newspapers

Pat Lundy

lundyp@dma.org

Book Committee Chair

Linda Hasting

grapewin1@yahoo.com

Historian

Delores Wilson

dmpwil@juno.com

Immediate Past President

Sharon Wilson

slwilson@sbcglobal.net


Chapter Bylaws

Click This Link for Greene County OGS Bylaws