J. N. LEECH, city engineer of Steubenville, O., which city has been his home for some four years, was born in Cross Creek Township, Jefferson County, Ohio, in 1874, and is a son of the late John Leech. John Leech was born in Jefferson County in 1825, his father having been a pioneer settler. He engaged in farming all his life and when he died in 1905, was mourned as a loss to his community.
J. N. Leech, attended school in Cross Creek Township, then spent one year of study at Scio College and one year in the University of Wooster, and then engaged in teaching school for five years. He then entered the Ohio Northern University at Ada and was graduated in the civil engineering department in 1902. After this completion of his long course of study, he became a member of the engineer corps of the B. & O. S. W. Railroad, located at Chillicothe, and after eighteen months with that system, went to the Wabash Railroad and for one year was connected with the chief engineer's office at St. Louis. His next connection was with the Chicago & Northwestern, with headquarters at Chicago, and wight months later he came to Steubenville. For two years he was attached to the county surveyor's office, and on January 1, 1908, was appointed city engineer. His thorough training brought him technical knowledge which his practical experience thoroughly proved and the city of Steubenville thus enjoys the services of a skilled engineer.
In 1904 Mr. Leech was married to Miss Anna Perkins, of Chillicothe, Ohio and they have two children: Eleanor and Lorin, Mr. and Mrs. Leech are members of the First Presbyterian Church. He is identified with the Elks and the Knights of Pythias.