Monroe County Pages

USGenWeb Pages





This page was last modified: Monday, 28-Sep-2009 17:17:16 MDT .

You are our Visitor.

Monroe County History

Counties of Ohio
Monroe County
Established: Act - January 29, 1813
2007 Population: 14,258
County Seat: Woodsfield Village
Land Area: 455.6 square mile
Named for: James Monroe, Fifth U.S. President

On January 29, 1813, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Monroe County. Residents named the county in honor of James Monroe, the current United States Secretary of State and eventually the fourth president of the United States. The county used to be parts of Belmont, Guernsey, and Washington Counties.

Monroe County is located in eastern Ohio. The county's eastern border lies along the Ohio River. It is predominantly rural, with less than one percent of the county's 456 square miles consisting of urban areas. The county is also in the heart of Appalachia. The county seat is Woodsfield. With a population of 2,598 people, Woodsfield was the county's largest community in 2000. in 2004 the county population was 15,063. This was a decrease of -.77% from the 2000 census. The county is one of Ohio's least populous counties.


Franklin Township Bethel Township Malaga Township Seneca Township Summit Township Wayne Township Washington Township Perry Township Benton Township Sunsbury Township Adams Township Center Township Green Township Jackson Township Switzerland Township Salem Township Ohio Township Lee Township

In 1969 the Woodsfield Chamber of Commerce produced a Monroe County Ohio History. The majority of the information came originally from "History of Monroe County, Ohio", by H.H. Hardesty & Co., Publishers, dated 1882, newspaper files, and other individuals. It contains histories of most townships, Ohio River transportation, Oil, and Monroe's part in the Civil and Revolutionary Wars. The following links (and the imagemap links) go directly to those portions of this historical account.

Stock, Enoch, Elk and Union townships were part of Monroe County in the 1850's and became part of Noble County c 1851 or c 1860. See the Noble County OHGenWeb Website for more information.


Current Townships of Monroe County Ohio
Seneca Malaga Sunsbury
Switzerland Summit Center
Adams Salem Franklin
Wayne Green Ohio
Bethel Washington Perry
Benton Jackson Lee

Woodsfield - county seat
Other places
Rinard Mills
Sycamore Valley