Historic Cherokee Sites of Tahlequah:
 
 
 
Please select any site of interest for more information.
 
  Cherokee Heritage Center Old National Capitol
 
George M. Murrell Home Seminary Hall
 
National Historical Society Supreme Court Building
 
National Prison Tsa-La-Gi
 
New National Capitol W. W. Hastings Hospital
 
 
To Historic Tahlequah Menu
 
To Tahlequah Information

 
  Murrell Home
George M. Murrell Home
 
This home was built in the new Cherokee Nation about 1845 by George M. Murrell.  Mr. Murrell was a native Virginian who married Minerva Ross in 1834.  Minerva was a member of a wealthy mixed-blood Cherokee/Scottish family, and the niece of Chief John Ross.
The Murrell Home is the only remaining antebellum plantation home in modern-day Oklahoma.  This home stands as a reminder of the high lifestyle practiced by a few in the Cherokee Nation before the Civil War.  The home contains original and period artifacts and furnishings and is currently undergoing restoration.
For group tours and special program information contact:  George M. Murrell Home Site , 19479 E. Murrel Road, Park Hill, OK 74451-9601. (918) 456-2751.
ToTop of Page
  Cherokee Heritage Center
Cherokee Heritage Center
 
Centuries ago, a race of people claimed the mountains and valleys of the southeastern United States.  The people were called Ani Yunwiya, meaning leading or principal people.  Today they are known as Tsa-La-Gi, The Cherokee.
 
The Cherokee people wish to share with the world their compelling stories and the unique contributions they have made through their traditions and culture.  Established in 1963 to perpetuate the tribe's educational and cultural activities, the Cherokee Heritage Center has welcomed nearly three million visitors from around the world.  Located south of Tahlequah on 44 heavily wooded acres, the Center lies tucked away in the Oklahoma foothills of the Ozark Mountains.  The Cherokee Heritage Center welcomes you to a place where history comes to life and the past becomes the present.
 
Spend an intriguing day and explore a nation in your own backyard!  The Cherokee Heritage Center invites you to visit the Ancient Village, an authentic recreation of a Cherokee settlement as it was prior to European contact.  Come see Cherokee craftspeople reenact the daily activities of their southeastern ancestors and demonstrate ancient cultural practices such as flintknapping, basketry, pottery and cooking.  Visit also Adams Corner Rural Village where you can walk among a typical small rural Cherokee community circa 1870-1890 which includes The Heritage Farm where endangered domestic breeds are kept; and the Cherokee national Museum where a new exhibit has recently opened entitled "Honoring our Elders" and other special changing exhibits are shown.  Also on the grounds is the Tsa-La-Gi Theater, a 1200 seat outdoor amphitheater, nestled on a hillside where special programs are held, including the Trail of Tears drama.
  Tsa-La-Gi Theatre
For additional information, contact:   The Cherokee National Historical Society
PO Box 515, Tahlequah, OK 74465.   (918) 456-6007.   Fax: (918) 456-6165.
     or call toll-free (888) 999-6007.
Walk of Fame
ToTop of Page
  Cherokee National Prison
Cherokee National Prison
 
This sandstone building was erected in 1874 and originally had three stories.  The third story was removed in 1925.  The building and grounds were once closed by a high board fence, and gallows stood on the west side of the enclosure.  At statehood, Cherokee County began using this as a jail until a new county jail was built a few years ago.
 
  Cherokee Supreme Court
Cherokee Supreme Court Building
 
This structure was built in 1845 by James S. Pierce to house the Cherokee National Supreme Court.  The supreme and district court both held sessions here for some time.  The "Cherokee Advocate" was also printed in this building for several years after the original Advocate building burned.  About 1875, this court building was damaged by fire but was immediately restored.
ToTop of Page
New Cherokee National Capital Building
Cherokee's New Capital Building
The new capital complex, located south of town, was built in May of 1978.  A tour of the facility will give insight into what the tribe is doing today.  One may request tours at the receptionist's desk, Monday thru Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
 
  Old Cherokee Capitol
Old Cherokee National Capitol Building
 
The Cherokee Council first met in 1839 under a large open shed in this area, then later in log buildings.  During the Civil War, these were burned down by Cherokee General Stand Watie and his Confederate troops.  After the war, the Council made provisions for a new building, and it was finished and occupied by 1870. The building was damaged by fire in 1928, and the interior was completely remodeled.  Except for a few features, such as a cupola on the roof, and a vestibule at the front entrance, the exterior remains the same.  statehood in 1907, the building served as Cherokee County Courthouse until 1979, when it was returned to the Cherokee Nation.
ToTop of Page
 
  NSU Optometry College
NSU College of Optometry
(Originally W.W. Hastings Hospital)
 
Through the efforts of Congressman William W. Hastings, Tahlequah received an Indian hospital as a Christmas present in 1935.  Hastings was appointed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt as Cherokee Chief for one day to sign a new deed when an error was found in the old abstract.  The natural stone buildings now house optometry offices and the Literacy Center.
The new W.W. Hastings Hospital is now located
directly behind the Tahlequah City Hospital
    on HWY 51 East.
             W.W. Hastings Hospital
 
  NSU Campus in Fall
Northeastern State University    (to  Northeastern )
 
This four-year regional university has a long and colorful heritage which began in 1846 when the Cherokee National Council authorized establishment of the National Male Seminary and National Female Seminary.  Historic Seminary Hall, at the center of the NSU campus, was built in 1889 by the Cherokee Nation.
  Seminary Hall  
To Historic Tahlequah Menu
 
To Top of Page