CITY OF BRANTFORD, BRANT COUNTY, ONTARIO BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES
These Brant County, Ontario biographical sketches have been transcribed by Bill Bowman from Warner and Beers History of Brant County 1883. They are being posted as Bill completes them. A big thank you to Bill for his hard work!
Please use your browser's Find feature to make sure you don't miss your surname, which might be buried inside a different surname biography.
City of Brantford
REV. MANLY BENSON, Pastor of Brant Avenue Methodist Church, Brantford, was born in 1842, in Prince Edward County, ontario. He comes from the old U. E. Loyalist stock, the early founders of Canadian nationality. To this may be attributed the sturdy mental and moral, as well as physical fibre by which he is characterized. At the early age of ten years Mr. Benson was converted to God at a special service held by the late Joseph Reynolds. He grew up under the fostering influence of the Sabbath school, the class meeting, the public and social means of grace. His parents removed to the Town of Newburg, Ont., where young Manly Benson received a good education at the Academy, and prepared for the work of a teacher. He taught for a few years, at the same time continuing his studies with the Principal of the Academy. The piety and cultivated taste of the young teacher commended him to the notice of the Methodist Church of the place, and after some training as a local preacher, he was recommended for the Christian ministry. He was received on trial in 1863, travelled for four years as junior preacher on the Romney, Chatham, Windsor and Sarnia Circuits, and was ordained at the Hamilton Conference of 1867. He was married July 9, 1867, to Julia McCrea, third daughter of the Hon. Walter McCrea, now Judge of Algoma County, Ontario. He then travelled, as Superintendent, the Ridgetown, Newberry and Cooksville Circuits, and was afterwards invited to the Centenary Church, Hamilton, where he spent three years, and has gone, by invitation, for three years each to Stratford and St., Thomas. Mr. Benson then came to Brantford, June 4, 1881, where he is at present located in charge of the brant Avenue Church. ON every circuit and station on which he laboured. the temporalities as well as the spiritualities of the church have greatly prospered. In 1871, in company with Rev. Dr. Punshon, he crossed the continent, visiting many points of interest in the United States and British Columbia. At a later period he made an extended tour through France, Italy, Switzerland, South-Eastern Germany, Belgium, Great Britain and Ireland. Not content with enjoying the scenes and associations of foreign lands without sharing the enjoyment with others, he has communicated pleasure and profit to delighted audiences in the principal cities and towns of western Canada by his eloquent lectures on many of the places of interest visited by him. He is also an earnest worker in temperance reform, the Sunday school cause and every good object. Since he left school in his boyhood he has " paddled his own canoe." and is thus, in an emphatic sense, a self-made man. His married life has been blessed with eight children, of whom six are now living- two sons and four daughters.
Page 495 and Part of 496
REV. HAMILTON BIGGAR, superannuated Minister of the Canadian Methodist Church, brantford, was born in Queenston, Canada, Jan. 6th, 1806, and is a son of Robert Biggar, a native of Scotland, who came to this country between 1804 and 1806. He was a farmer by occupation, and located in Lincoln County, of the Niagara District, where he resided until about 1810, and then removed to Stony Creek, where he lived during the War of 1812. He was too old to actively participate in that trouble, but three sons took part. In the winter of 1816 he removed to Mt. Pleasant, this county, where he located on 100 acres of land. He was a prominent citizen in the early days of brant County, and resided there until his death. he married Amelia Lauder in Scotland, who was the mother of 11 children, three of whom yet survive. She died in 1826, and Mr. Biggar in 1836 or 1837. Our subject was the ninth child of this large family, and was ten years of age when he came to this county. From here he went to the bay of Quinte and resided with a brother for nine years, until of age, when he attended a district school at Cobourg, and soon after entered the ministry of the Episcopal Church, the church having that name until 1833, when it was changed to the Wesleyan Methodist. Mr. Biggar was a missionary, and established the Indian Mission for the Chippewa tribe at Rice Lake, near Cobourg, in 1827. He was there two years, and then went to Hollowel, now Picton, Circuit, Bay of Quinte, and was there one year; at Whitby, one year; London, one year; Westminister, one year; Long Point, two years; Cobourg, one year; Yonge Street, two years; Nelson Circuit, two years; Drummondville, two years; Mohawk Mission, four years; Cobourg, Treasurer of the College, two years; Grimsby, two years; Dumfries, two years; which later closed the year 1852. Mr. Biggar then retired from the ministry, and settled in Brantford. In January, 1853, upon the organization of the county he was appointed Treasurer, held that office fourteen years, and resigned in 1867 on account of bodily infirmities. Since then he has retired from active life, not having preached for two years. He was married in 1832, to Eliza Racy, a native of Mt. Pleasant, and they were the parents of 9 children, 8 of whom are living; only three in Brant County; Charles, In Brantford; Fannie, at home; and Mrs. Simpson.
THOMAS BOTHAM, broker, Brantford, Ont., was born in Shropshire, England, March 10th, 1820, and is a son of Thomas Botham, Sr., who was a merchant in England, of which country he was a native. He followed his son to this country in 1848, settling in Lower Canada, where he died in 1854. He was married to Miss Jane Roberts, who died in England. They had six children, three of whom are living; only one, Thomas, being in this county. Thomas Botham, our subject, left England when he was twelve years old, and came to this country to an elder brother, who resided in Montreal. He remained in that city two or three years and attended the French College at St. Hyacinthe for three years. From there he came west to Mount Pleasant in 1835, and in 1840 engaged as a clerk in Brantford for a short time. he then entered into partnership with Cook & Strobridge, in the mercantile business, gradually getting exclusively into the dry goods trade, which they carried on until 1864, a period of about 24 years. The Government then employed him for a year in investigating the financial affairs of Brantford. He was in the grocery business five years, and was afterwards an official assignee for the County of Brant until 1881, a period of twelve years, and at present is engaged in brokerage. Mr. Botham was formerly a Oddfellow, and is a Reformer in politics, having been President of the Reform Association of this county for 12 years. He has been Justice of the peace since 1856 for the County of Brant, and has served two terms as Mayor of the city. He has been a captain in the Reserve Militia of Canada since 1854. Mr. Botham was married Oct. 5th, 1847, to Miss Ella Jane Hardy, of Mount Pleasant. They have three children, Thomas, Marcia, and Alexander. All are members of the Church of England.
Page 496 and Part of 497
WILLIAM BUCK, stove manufacturer, Brantford, was born in Ancaster, Wentworth County, Aug. 22nd, 1828, and is a son of Peter Buck, a native of Canada, who came to brantford in 1834. He was born October 2nd, 1793, and died in 1880 aged 87 years. he was married to Hannah Yeager, who was born in Ontario, and is yet living at the age of 79 years. They are the parents of four children, three of whom are yet living, two in this county. His grandfather, frederick Buck, was a U. E. Loyalist, who came to Canada from the States and settled at Fort Erie, where he had large tracts of land. The subject of our sketch was a child when the family came to Brantford, and was reared and educated here. In 1843 he learned the trade of a tinsmith, and worked as apprentice and journeyman at it until 1852, when he engaged in the tin and stove business. In 1858 he commenced the manufacturing of stoves, and in 1866 moved into his present quarters. He has been very successful in business, and is one of the largest iron founders and stove manufacturers in the Province. he is largely interested in various other business and manufacturing enterprizes in the city. He was married Oct. 1st, 1856, to Alice Foster, a native of England, by whom he has had seven children, five living, viz., Alice A., George Philip, William E., Annie E., Frederick F. Charles and Helen B. are deceased. Mr. Buck and family are members of the Baptist Church, near the Park, and in politics he is a reformer.
THOMAS BURNLEY, assistant in charge of the grand Trunk R. R. car shops, Brantford, was born in Yorkshire, England, June 3, 1829, and is a son of Benjamin Burnley, a farmer by occupation, who lived and died in England. he married Amelia Barber, by whom he had a family of 11 children, 8 of whom are now living, three in Canada. Their mother is also dead. Thomas, our subject, was reared in England, where he learned the joiners' and cabinet-makers' trade, at which he served an apprenticeship of five years. In 1854 he came to Canada, settling at Windsor in the employment of the Great Western R. R. Co. Here he remained till 1859, when he went to England on a six months' visit, and on his return to Canada entered the car shops of the Great Western R. R. Co. at Hamilton, where he was employed until February, 1856, when he came to Brantford and engaged in the car shops of the Grand Trunk R. R. Co., and has been there ever since. Mr. Burnley served as a volunteer in the Grand trunk Brigade for 13 years, and retired with grade of First Lieutenant in the Dufferin rifles, the grand Trunk Brigade having merged into the Dufferin Rifles. See Military History in this work). He is a member of Brant Lodge No. 45, Masonic, and has been connected with it since its inception. He is also a member of all the Grand trunk Societies in Brantford, and a member of Grace (Episcopal) Church. Mr. Burnley was united in marriage August, 1852, with Hannah Mills, a native of Leeds, England, by whom he has a family of four children, viz., Samuel M., in Port Huron; Lizzie, with H. W. Brethour & Co., in the millinery department; Arthur, a carpenter in the Grand trunk shops; and Amelia at home. Mrs. Burnley is a member of the Wesleyan Methodist Church.
Page 497 and Part of 498
REV. ROBERT CAMERON, Pastor of Park Baptist Church, Brantford, is descended from the Glenevis branch of the Cameron Clan, and his grandfather came to America from Glenevis, near Fort William, Scotland, in the year 1775. In the contest of the Colonies for independence he entered the Royal army, and at the close of the war settled in Cornwall, Ont. Here our subject's father, the late Lieut.-Col. Robert Cameron was born in 1789, and when a young man went west to the County of Oxford, and began life there as one of its early pioneers, in the year 1820. He settled upon a tract granted to him as a son of one of those U.E. Loyalists whose memory is justly honoured by all Canadians. He married Agnes Ross, a native of Cornwall, by whom he had a large family, nine of whom are still living in various parts of the Dominion. He filled many positions of trust in Oxford County during life, and died there in the year 1875. Mrs. Cameron is still living, and resides at the old homestead "Glengarry Hill" with her youngest son, W. W. Cameron. The Rev. Mr. Cameron first attended a private school sustained by his father, and afterwards, when public school was opened in the section where he lived, he was sent to that with more or less regularity until he was 18 years of age. At this time he went to Starkey Seminary, situated on the western side of Lake Seneca, in the State of New York. On returning home he began to study for the legal profession at Ingersoll for a few months, but at this time his mind was turned into another channel, and after a year of teaching in the common school, his studies were shaped with a view to the ministry, and he preached as frequently as opportunity offered. He prepared for matriculation at Toronto University under the private tuition of a Roman Catholic priest by the name of Morrison. On the Sunday previous to going to Toronto, he was baptized in the River Thames near the place of his birth, and thus publicly declared that his views were in harmony with those held by the Baptists, although he did not unite with that body until a year afterwards. After having entered upon the second year at University College, Toronto, he came to Woodstock to edit and publish The Baptist Freeman, and here he formed a Baptist Church of which he was the pastor. He then re-entered the University and graduated in 1868 as Bachelor of of Arts, and in 1869 as master of Arts. Mr. Cameron then became pastor of a church at Fairport, near Rochester, N. Y., and while here he was married Sept., 186 , to the eldest daughter of the late Rev. Alexander Lorrimer, B.A., Librarian od Toronto University. He remained at Fairport until December, 1869, and then went to England to represent the interests of Grande Ligne Mission. After eight months of constant travelling in various parts of England and Scotland, he returned home and settled as pastor of a Baptist Church on 17th Street, in New york City, and filled that position for nearly five years. While there he assisted in founding the Baptist Union, and was one of its principal contributors until it became an element of disintegration in the Baptist denomination. he then withdrew from the paper, and at the same time resigned the pastorate of the church. On coming to Canada to spend his summer holidays and visit friends, he passed through brantford, and received and accepted a call to the pastorate of the Park (then tabernacle) Baptist Church, settling here as the successor of the rev. John Alexander, in 1875. Under his pastorate the old Music Hall has been sold, and the present handsome edifice fronting on Victoria Square has been erected as a church. While the design and proportions of the building reflect credit upon the architect, its internal arrangements and conveniences exhibit good judgement and taste on the part of the pastor and the Building Committee. The number of communicants and the congregation have been largely increased, and the benevolent and missionary work of the church developed under Mr. Cameron's ministry, ably sustained as he is by some of the most successful business men of Brantford.
Page 498 and Part of 499
W. S. CAMPBELL, Brantford, Treasurer of Brant County and Brantford Township, was born in Brantford Township, this county, Feb. 25th, 1840. He is a son of Archibald D. Campbell, a native of Glengarry, Ontario, who was a carpenter and joiner by trade, following building for many years, and who was engaged in mercantile pursuits in early life. He came to this county in 1838, and bought 100 acres of land three miles north of Brantford, where our subject was born. There he lived until his death in 1858. His wife died in 1842; she was a Miss Catherine Strenbergh, a native of Rochester N. Y. They were the parents of three children, one son and two daughters. W. S. Campbell was the youngest of the three children, and was reared on the home farm, receiving a common school education. He engaged in farming, and has always been occupied in agricultural pursuits. He has been engaged in different occupations, but still operated the farm, which now consists of 165 acres. In 1866 he was elected a member of the Township Council, and for ten years held the positions of Councillor, Deputy Reeve and Reeve. He was made Warden of Brant County in 1873, and in 1875 was appointed by the County Council to his present position. He was married on the 18th September, 1871, to Miss Mary Ellen Hawley, a native of Ontario, and a daughter of Hiram Hawley, of New York. they have had 5 children, 4 living- Charles Sherman, Walter Gordon, Helen Edna, Colon Lorne. The second child, William Sheldon, is deceased. Mr. Campbell, wife and family, attend the services of the Canadian Methodist Church, and he is a member of Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F. He is an active politician, and is a strong Liberal in his views. He also takes some interest in the work of the Agricultural Society, of which he has been Treasurer for a number of years.
ALLEN CLEGHORN, Brantford, was born at Edinburgh, Scotland, December 28th, 1822, and is a son of James Cleghorn, also a native of Scotland and a farmer by occupation, who came to Canada about 1832, and purchased tracts of land near Montreal, where he resided until his death. he married Clementina Moir, who was the mother of 12 children, 8 now living. She is also dead. Mr. Allen Cleghorn was about 12 years of age when he came to Canada, and he received a fair education. About 1838 he went to Hamilton, where he was clerk in a general store for some years; thence back to Montreal, and about the year 1847 he came to Brantford and opened a store on the south side of Colborne Street, opposite Queen Street, where he was in business for some years. Finally he engaged in the wholesale hardware trade, and erected the large brick building now occupied by Joseph Stratford, corner King and Dalhousie Streets. He retired from active business in 1879. He has occupied the position of Chairman of the Board of License Commissioners for the South Riding of the County of Brant, and has been appointed by the Ontario Government their Commissioner to superintend the distribution of Municipal Loan Funds due the Township of Tuscarora, to be spent in the erection of public works. For six years he was a Director of the Buffalo and Lake Huron Railway, and was Chairman of the Board of Directors for two years, acting as Managing Director while in that position. he promoted the construction of the International Bridge at Buffalo, N.Y.; he was Chairman of the board of Public School trustees for two years, and for eight consecutive years was President of the St. Andrew's Society. He is a Reformer in politics, and a member of Zion Presbyterian Church- Dr. Cochrane, pastor. In 1850 he was made a chief of the Six Nations Indians, and during the time of the reinterment of the remains of Captain Brant, in which he took especial interest, he was admitted into the Upper Mohawk tribe, and was made an honorary chief of all the tribes of British North America, under the name Karoweho, meaning "Good News." Mr. Cleghorn is the only white man ever made a chief of the Six Nations by going through the forms of ceremony. he has taken an active interest in raising of funds to erect a suitable monument to the noted Chief Brant, which will be placed in the centre of Victoria Park. This labour and time has been gratuitous on the part of Mr. Cleghorn, and he deserves great credit for it.
A. D. CLEMENT, Postmaster of Brantford Ont., was born in Hamilton, Wentworth County, Ont., March 26th, 1836, and is a son of Joseph D. Clement. He has resided in Brantford since 1840. Obtaining a fair education, be became a clerk for his father at the age of fourteen years and remained in that position until 1862, when his father reigned in his favour. Mr. Clement has been in this office for thirty-two years, has five clerks under him, and his office has the highest revenue of any of the offices outside the old Dominion cities, and its expenditure is less than many other cities. He was married September 17th, 1871, to Lydia E. Kendall, a native of Kingston but a resident of brantford. They have had four children, only two living; Joseph K. and Edith Maud. Mr. Clement is a member of the methodist Church, and Mrs. Clement attends the services of the Congregational Church.
Page 499 and Part of 500
DANIEL CLIFFORD, dealer in furniture and undertaker, Brantford, was born in Ireland, November 28, 1828, and is a son of William clifford, also a native of Ireland, and a book-keeper by occupation. The latter came to Canada in 1837, settling first in Guelph, and two years later At "The Forty," in Wentworth County. he then went to Port Burwell, Ont., and two years later came to Brantford, where he died, January 16, 1867. He was married in Ireland to Eliza Dobbs, who died when Daniel, our subject, was but a year old. The latter came to Canada with his father, and when fifteen years of age went to Galt, Ont., where he learned the chair-making business, as well as cabinet-making and painting trades. Here (Galt) he remained about three years, and afterwards did journeyman work in various parts of the country till 1849, in which year he came to Brantford and went into business, but subsequently went to Port Burwell where he lived for five years. Mr. Clifford then returned to Brantford, where he has for the past fifteen years been doing a very large trade in the furniture business, and the best undertaker's trade in the city. Besides his undertaking establishment at 75 Colborne Street, and furniture store at 58, same street, he has a machine shop on Alfred Street, in the East Ward, where he manufactures about one-third of the furniture he sells. Mr. Clifford is a member of Grace (Episcopal) Church, and is a Conservative in politics. He is also a member of the Canadian Order of Foresters and the Mohawk Lodge of Ontario Order of Masons, but has never aspired to any municipal or other office, his time and efforts being all devoted to business. He was married September 20, 1851, to Margaret Johnston, a native of Ireland, and a daughter of Robert Johnston, County Antrim, who came to Canada in 1834, settling for a time in Kingston, Ont., and afterwards in the eastern part of Brantford, where he died , July 4, 1871. He married Mary A. Woodard, also a native of Ireland (County Derry), and by her had a family of nine children, six now living, Mrs. Clifford being the only one in Brant County. Her mother (Mrs. Johnston) died October 2, 1867. Mr. and Mrs. D. are the parents of four children, Mary A. and Sutherland G., both deceased, Charles Johnston and George Alexander. All the family are members of Grace (Episcopal) Church.
WILLIAM COCHRANE, D.D., Minister of Zion Church, Brantford, was born in Paisley, Scotland, February 9, 1832, his parents being William and Mary Cochrane. His father was born in Dalry, Ayrshire, and the family sprung from the same stock as the renowned seaman Thomas Cochrane, afterwards Earl of Dundonald, or Lord Cochrane. His mother was from the Island of Arran, Scotland. After attending the parish schools of his native town from the age of four and a half years until twelve, he entered the shop of Murray & Stewart, booksellers and stationers, where he remained between ten and eleven years. He was a youth of indomitable energy, and devoted all his leisure hours to study. So great was his thirst for knowledge during the latter part of that period, that he gave up all his spare time to the study of the classics, and finally entered the University of Glasgow, going from Paisley every morning at 5 o'clock to attend classes. When he was in his twenty-third year, two gentlemen in Cincinnati, who had known him in Paisley when a mere child, and who had heard of his persevering efforts to obtain a higher education, offered him a home an ample means to study for the ministry, on condition that he would come to the United States. Although the proposal was strongly opposed by his pastor, the late rev. Dr. Wm. Fraser of the Free Middle Church, Paisley, and other friends- who wished him to enter the ministry in the Scottish Church- he accepted the offer, and after spending a few weeks in Cincinnati, entered classes of Hanover College, Indiana, in September, 1854, where he graduated with highest honour and took his degree of B.A. in 1857. During the last year of his course in Hanover, he pursued his theological studies, along with the regular branches of the art course, under the direction of the Rev. Dr. Jonathan Edwards, recently Professor of Theology in Danville, Kentucky, and now Pastor of the Seventh Church, Cincinnati. Immediately after his graduation, he entered the Princeton Theological Seminary in New Jersey, and pursued his studies there for two years, under the Rev. Drs. Hodge, Alexander, McGill and green. In February, 1859, he was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of Madison, Indiana, and was called, and settled as Pastor of the Scotch Presbyterian Church, Jersey City, N.J., on the 7th june, 1859, where he continued for three years. In December, 1861, he paid a visit to his friend Dr. John Thomson, then minister of Knox Church, Galt, by whom he was asked to preach in Zion Church, Brantford, which was then vacant, and heavily burdened with a debt that almost threatened its extinction. Immediately afterwards, the congregation sent him a pressing and unanimous call, which he was led seriously to consider, and finally accepted. Inducted into his present charge on the 13th of May, 1862, he has served his people faithfully for twenty-one years. During this long period he has received repeated calls and flattering invitations to wealthy churches, in other and much larger cities than Brantford. Boston, New York, Newburyport, Detroit, Chicago and toronto, have all endeavoured to have him, but he has firmly resisted the temptation to leave Brantford and sever the ties that bind him to an attached people. During his ministry in Brantford the congregation has more than quadrupled in numbers, and has now upwards of 600 members. In addition to his pastoral work, Dr. Cochrane, in 1874, founded the Brantford Young Ladies' College, assisted by other gentlemen in his congregation, and acted as President from its start, until 1880 teaching some of the higher classes during each session. For twelve years he has filled the office of Clerk of the Synod of Hamilton and London, and for fourteen years was Clerk of the Presbytery of Paris. For twelve years he has been Convener of the Home Mission Committee of the Presbyterian Church in Canada, an office of great responsibility and labour, and entailing a large amount of travel and correspondence. With all these ecclesiastical burdens, he is at the same time one of the most public-spirited citizens that Brantford contains. he has been for twelve years President of the Mechanics' Institute, and fully identifies himself with every educational and literary enterprise that has for its object the good of the community and county. Dr. Cochrane has has his full share of honours from the Church he has loved and served so well, and from other quarters. In 1864, he received the degree of M.A. from Hanover College, and again in 1875 the degree of Doctor of Divinity, having at the same time the offer of the latter honour from another college. In 1869, he represented the Canada Presbyterian Church at the General Assemblies of the Scottish and Irish Churches. In 1873 he was sent as deputy to manitoba, in connection with college and mission work, and again in 1882. In July, 1883, he was sent as deputy to visit the churches in British Columbia, and at the last General Assembly, held in St. John, N.B. (June, 1883), he was unanimously elected to the highest gift within the church- the Moderatorship of the General Assembly. Dr. Cochrane is an indefatigable worker, on the platform, in church courts, and by his pen. No clergyman id more frequently called to preach special sermons at anniversaries and on the opening of new churches. As a preacher he is popular in the best sense of the term. Though a speaker of great readiness and fluency, his sermons are prepared with the greatest care, and as a rule written in full. He uses his notes very little in the pulpit; his delivery is forcible, animated and impressive; his arrangement is logical, his style clear, and his illustrations open, vivid and striking. Thoroughly depising sensationalism of all kinds, he preaches the Gospel in its simplicity and purity, and by his clear exposition of truth, and earnest appeals to the heart and conscience, seldom fails to make a deep impression upon his hearers. Within the last few years he has published three volumes of sermons,- " The Heavenly Vision," " Christ and Christian Life," and "Warning and Welcome." These volumes admirably stand the crucial test of closest study. As a writer he is clear, terse and vigorous, and his style, though affecting nothing of the ornate, possesses many of the graces of the polished scholar. In addition to these volumes, he is a frequent writer for the press and several of his papers have been republished in American periodicals. As a lecturer, were he to respond to all his applications, during the winter season he would never be at home. The church which Dr. Cochrane statedly ministers is now one of the finest in Ontario. In 1868 the edifice was enlarged by the addition of galleries; in 1876 a handsome organ was added; and this year it has been entirely remodeled and enlarged at a cost of $14,000. Dr. Cochrane was married July 24, 1860, to Miss Mary Neilson Houston, of Paisley, Scotland, who died January 8, 1871. In October 2, 1873, he was again married to Miss Jennette Elizabeth Balmer, of Oakville, Ontario. His family consists of three boys and a girl, and his eldest son is at present attending classes in the University of Toronto.
W.F. COCKSHUTT, dealer in groceries and hardware, in separate shops, and buyer and shipper of grain and produce, Colborne Street, Brantford, was born in that city in 1855, being a son of Ignatius Cockshutt and Elizabeth foster, the former of whom is the oldest and best known merchant of Brantford. In his school days, the subject of this biography attended the Collegiate Institute of Brantford and afterwards a similar institute at Galt, Ontario, for two years. he then went to England and entered the produce house of thomas Furness & Co., Hartlepool, Durham, in which establishment he remained six months. Following this, he spent some time in the tea warehouse of Bates, Evans & Co., London, where he completed his business training, and then proceeded on a three months' tour on the Continent, in company with his brother Charles, of the firm Darling, Cockshutt & Co., woollen goods merchants, Toronto, Ontario. On returning to Canada, Mr. Cockshutt managed his father's business until March 15, 1882, when he bought out the stock and completely refitted the stores. Twelve hands are employed and a very large trade is carried on, almost doubling itself within a year. Mr. Cockshutt is a charter member of Farringdon Debating Society, and one of the three original members still in the society, and has held position of President for three years, besides acting at other times as treasurer and Secretary. He is also a member of Farringdon Independent Church.
Page 502 and Part of 503
I. COCKSHUTT, retired merchant, and one of the oldest business men in Brantford, was born in Bradford, Yorkshire, England, August 24th, 1812, and is a son of james Cockshutt, a native of Yorkshire, who was a manufacturer of cotton and "stuff" goods in England. James Cockshutt came to Canada in 1827, locating at Toronto, where he was a general merchant for seven years; from there he came to Wentworth County, now the site of Brantford in 1829; and finally removed his family and located here in business. He went from here to Cayuga, Haldimand County, and subsequently to toronto, where he died in January, 1866, at the age of eighty-three years. He was married twice, the first time to Mary Nightingale, a native of Yorkshire, by whom he had 3 children, one dying in infancy, our subject and sister being the only ones coming to Canada. Mrs. Cockshutt died in April, 1840, and he married for his second wife, Elizabeth Fowles, also of Yorkshire. Mr. I. Cockshutt came to Brantford in 1829 and in 1832 permanently located here; being a clerk and manager for his father until 1840. In that year, in company with his sister, he opened out a general mercantile trade, and was in business forty-two years. He was married in September, 1846, to Margaret Gemmel, a native of Scotland, by whom 1 child was born, Mary M., now wife of george Kippax, of Brantford. Margaret died in August, 1847, and he was again married in September, 1850, to Elizabeth Foster, a native of Lancastershire, England. Eleven children were born of this union, of whom 8 are living, viz.: James G., in foundry business, Brantford; Charles, importer of dry goods, Toronto; William F. has a hardware and grocery establishment, Brantford; Frank, also in this city in the dry goods and clothing business; and Edmund is a farmer of Brantford Township. The others are Elizabeth, Ellen and Harry, the last two being still at school. Mr. Cockshutt and wife are members of the Independent Church. He is independent in politics, is President of Brantford Gas Co., and also is one of the oldest and most respected merchants in the city.
DAVISON & ADAMS, ale, wine and liquor merchants, Colborne Street, opposite Opera House, Brantford, commenced their business in September, 1879, in market Lane, under the Woodbine Hotel, where they operated the Brantford Bottling Cellar, and in this department alone handled consignments from eight different breweries, principally Carling's and Labatt's, London ont. They at first employed but three men during the two years they occupied above-mentioned premises, although they supplied nearly all the liquor houses in Brantford, Paris, &c., with bottled ale. On March 1st, 1882, finding their connection fast increasing, they removed to their present more commodious premises, and extended their business to the extensive trade in imported wines, liquors, and also cigars. they have met with most encouraging success since commencing business, and they turn over an average of fifteen hogsheads of ale per month. James Davison, previous to formation of this partnership, was engaged in the liquor business, and John H. Adams in the grocery business, both in brantford, where they have both resided for about ten years.
Page 503 and Part of 504
GEORGE DEMPSTER, hatter and furrier, Colborne Street, Brantford, was born in Sand Bank, Argyleshire, Scotland, May 21, 1851, and is a son of george Dempster, a native of Renfrewshire, Scotland, a commission merchant and shipmaster, and Danish Vice-Consul for some years. He came to Canada on a visit, and died at brantford in August, 1871. He was married to Cecilia Fullerton of Redstone, Perthshire, Scotland, and they were parents of five children, four of whom survive, George, the subject of this biography, being the only one in Brant County. Their mother resides in Chicago with another son. George Dempster was reared and well educated in Scotland, and was engaged, along with the rest of the family, in the sugar refinery business; during this time, which lasted for some years, he made a trip to South America. In 1870 he went to the West Indies for the benefit of his health, and there became engaged in sugar growing. After remaining a year, and on hearing of the death of his father, he set out for Canada. After arrival, he was engaged by John Gillespie & Co., hatters, Toronto, from 1875 to 1879, and was junior member of the firm of Briggs & Dempster, wholesale hatters, Toronto, and on dissolution of partnership, came to Brantford, where he entered upon his present business. Mr. Dempster does a jobbing retail business in hats, caps, furs, etc., etc., and manufactures furs all the year round. He has met with the success that is bound to follow in the footsteps of industry and perseverance. He is an elder of Zion Presbyterian Church, and Superintendent of the Presbyterian Sabbath School on the south side of the Grand River; is a member of the A. O. U. W., and in politics is a reformer. Mr. Dempster was married December 27, 1877, to Charlotte E. Wood, daughter of Rev. John Wood, Pastor of the Congregational Church in Brantford for twenty years, now a resident of Ottawa. To this union has been born one son, George L. Mrs. Dempster is also a member of Zion Church.
DR. ALFRED DIGBY, the first physician of the Town of Brantford, was born in County Meath, Ireland, and in 1829, while a young man, emigrated to America, and for a time located at Montreal. At the latter place he married Catharine Busby, a native of Montreal, by whom he had a family of four boys and two girls, three of the former and one of the latter being now the sole survivors of the family. At the time of his emigration he was a member of the Royal College of Surgeons of ireland, and a physician of considerable experience and of unquestioned ability. After a short residence at Montreal he removed to Hamilton, where for a time he engaged in the practice of his profession with marked success. Subsequently he came to Brantford, and devoted the remainder of his useful life to the care of a large and steadily increasing practice. He died in 1866. he was a prominent man in political circles, and in connection with his practice took an active part in all municipal affairs, filled the chair of Mayor of the town, and at different periods occupied nearly every office in the gift of the people.
DR. JAMES W. DIGBY, a prominent physician of Brantford, and a son of the first physician of the city, was born here in 1842. He received his primary education in the public schools, and afterwards entered the Galt Collegiate Institute under Dr. Tassie. He matriculated at Toronto University, and after leaving that institution entered McGill Medical College at Montreal, from which he graduated in 1862. Immediately after his graduation he went to New York City, and for a time practised in the hospitals of that city. During the American Rebellion he received the appointment of Acting Assistant Surgeon, and was stationed at the hospital at Point Lookout, Md. After the battle of Stone River he participated in the campaign through the Western States as Hospital Surgeon until the battle at Chickamauga, when he was stationed in the field hospital at Chattanooga in charge of several wards. Some months later he received the appointment of Regimental Surgeon of the 16th U. S. Infantry, and that regiment took part in the campaign through the South, via Nashville, Tenn., and Augusta Ga. He returned to canada in June, 1866, and since then has conducted a large and lucrative practice in the City of Brantford. He has filled the positions of Deputy reeve, Town Councillor (one Year), Mayor (three years), and member of the College board of Trustees (nine years).
Page 505 and Part of 506
JOHN ELLIOTT, contractor and builder, Brantford was born at Heck, in the parish of Snaith, Yorkshire, England, August 15, 1822, and is a son of the late Thomas Elliott, a native of Pontefract, Yorkshire, and a farmer by occupation. He died in England about the year 1865, at the age of 72 years. He was married to Ann Branington, whose mother died in London, Ont., at the ripe old age of 106 years, 9 months. Her maiden name was Mary Blythe. Thomas Elliott and his wife had 8 children, 4 of whom reside in Canada, and the eldest in England. The mother died about the year 1852, aged 54 years. John Elliott, the subject of our sketch, was brought in England, and left there on May 25, 1842, for Canada. (He was apprenticed seven years to the stone-cutters' trade, and served in the same shop as his brother, who is now proprietor of that same yard). On leaving England he sailed from Hull for Quebec, thence to Montreal, Kingston and Toronto. Remaining there a short time, he moved over to Cleveland, Ohio, and other parts of the United States, for about a year. In September, 1844 he went back to Toronto, and there worked at his trade for John Ritchie, contractor and builder, from September, 1844 to June, 1846. In that year he became associated with Alexander Wilson and James Metcalf, under the firm name of Wilson, Elliott & Metcalf, as stone-cutters and builders, which partnership was dissolved in two years. Mr. Elliott then went into business for himself at the foot of Bay Street, Toronto, and here remained until July 14, 1850, when he came to Brantford with his brother William, and commenced business under the firm name of J. & W. Elliott. This partnership lasted for about three years, and the two brothers subsequently left for London Ont. William after a time took charge of the business in the latter place, and John returned to Brantford. In 1871 Mr. Elliott took the contract to erect the Central Prison, at toronto, and completed it in 1874. He also erected the Post Office in that city. Elliott & Melville built the Parliament Buildings at Quebec, in 1859, and Mr. Elliott erected the Court House and Gaol in Bruce, and built the addition to the County Buildings in Brantford. William and John Elliott did the cut stone-work in the Town and City of Brantford for many years, besides erecting numerous buildings. Mr. Elliott also erected Hughes Bros.' Buildings In Toronto; did the mason-work for the County Buildings in Norfolk; built the addition to the Normal School, Toronto, in 1870-71; supplied the mason-work for Hon. William M'Master's store on Yonge Street; and Shaw & Turnbull's building on Wellington Street; the mason-work of the "Mammoth Block," also of buildings for Thomas Olliwell, Front Street; Colson & Gillmore's Block; and the mason-work on the Lieut.-Governor's house all in Toronto. Railways also did not escape Mr. Elliott's enterprise, for we find him engaged in executing a large amount of work on the Buffalo and Lake Huron and Grand Trunk lines, at the time of the construction of those roads. Mr. Elliott is a member of Doric (Masonic) Lodge, is a regular attendant of the services in Wellington Street Methodist Church, and is one of the oldest trustees in that church. He was a member of the School Board for four years; has been Reeve and deputy reeve at various times, and Mayor for three years, and Councillor for thirteen years. Mr. Elliott was married September 3,1846, to Sarah Preeho, daughter of David and Jane Preeho, a native of Glasslough, County Monaghan, Ireland. She was born May 10, 1827, and came to Canada in April, 1842. To this union there were born 10 children- 5 boys and 5 girls- of whom 5 survive, viz., Jane Ann, wife of Frederick VanNorman, an attorney at Minneapolis Minn.; Thomas, coal merchant, Brantford; Mary, wife of Rev. George Bridgman, D.D. Methodist Church, Principal of Lime Seminary, State of New York; Sara, wife of C.A. Gatchell, on railway works. Mr. Elliott's first wife died March 14, 1868, and he again married April 19, 1869, the partner of his choice being Mary Jane McKenney, a native of Glengarry Ont. Their family numbers two children, Grace and richard, the former deceased. Mr. Elliott cut the present tombstone for Captain Joseph Brant, now at the Mohawk Church, near Brantford, in the fall of 1850, before his remains were removed there.
THOMAS ELLIOTT, dealer in coal, salt, plaster and cement, Brantford, is a life resident of the city. He was born Dec. 10, 1850, and is a son of john Elliott, whose biography will be found eslewhere. He received his early training in his native town, and was engaged with his father in the contracting and building business from 1865 till 1874. He then purchased the coal stock and trade of Thomas Martindale, which he has since carried on successfully, being the second largest dealer in the city. Mr. Elliott is a member of the A.O.U.W. Lodge of Brantford and Chief Councillor of Brant Lodge of Chosen Friends. He is a conservative in politics, and has served as City Alderman. He married Nov. 18, 1874, Ida J. Baldwin, a native of Brantford Township, by whom he has one child- Sarah Lillian. Mr. Elliott is a member of the congregation of Wellington Street Methodist Church, and Mrs. Elliott attends the services of the same denomination. Mr. Elliott is always willing to lend a hand in anything that may be called of interest to the residents of Brantford and the public in general. He is also a member of the Public School Board for brantford, representing the Brant Ward in that capacity.
ALEXANDER FAIR, manufacturer of cigars, and wholesale and retail merchant in liquors and groceries, Colborne Street, East Ward, Brantford, established his grocery and liquor business on a very small scale in the present premises in 1862, and his business steadily increasing, he commenced about the year 1873 to manufacture cigars, which industry has so rapidly, advanced and prospered with him, that he is now proprietor of one of the largest cigar factories in Ontario. He turns out an average of 120,000 cigars per month, and ships not only all over the older settled parts of Canada, but also to the North-West Territory, on the one hand, and the transatlantic markets on the other. The variety of brands numbers some twenty, among which are the favourites, "Punch," five cents; "Henry Clay," ten cents; "Patience," a new brand closely resembling a ten cent cigar, five cents; "Prize Leaf," &c., &c., The wholesale and retail grocery and liquor departments are very thriving and turn over about $130,000 annually. Nine hands are employed in the store, and from 35 to 40 in the cigar department. Mr. Fair is a member, and has been a Warden for seven years, of St. Jude's (Episcopal) Church, and is one of the leading and active members of the Conservative party in the County of Brant.
Page 506 and Part of 507
B. F. FITCH, barrister, of the law firm of Fitch and Lees, Brantford, was born in Oxford County, near Woodstock, Ontario, April 5th, 1831, and is a son of Rev. H. Fitch, a native of vermont, and a pioneer Baptist minister of this province, who first located at Oxford in Oxford County. He then went to Blenheim, and remained in that county until 1848, when he moved to Port Rowan in Norfolk County. About 1865 he moved to Kingsville, Essex County, where he died in 1878, aged seventy-four years. He was married to Amanda S. Corlis, a native of Townsend Township, Norfolk County, Ontario. Of their seven children, six are living as is also Mrs. Fitch, who is now seventy-two years of age. Our subject B.F. Fitch, was reared almost entirely in Oxford Co., thence went to Norfolk Co., where he was a student of Mr. Robert McLean, now secretary of a prominent insurance company in Toronto. When 17 years of age he began teaching, and taught for 12 years, principally in Simcoe and toronto, being English Master in the Model School of the latter place for four years. In 1859 he graduated from the University of Toronto, having taken a scholarship each year of his attendance, and a silver medal at the close. After leaving the Normal School he was articled to the late Chief-Justice Harrison studying law under him. Mr. Fitch commenced practising his profession in Brantford in 1865, and has since been actively engaged in it. About 1881 Mr. James E. Lees became a law partner, and the firm enjoy the largest practice of any firm in Brant County. Mr. Lees studied law with Bethune, Osler & Moss, of Toronto, and graduated at Toronto University. The firm are solicitors for the Bank of Montreal, the Royal Loan and Savings Company. Mr. Fitch has given his whole time and attention to business, and it has proved very remunerative. For the last twelve years he has taken an active interest in educational matters, and during that time he was Chairman of the Collegiate Institute Board, and was largely instrumental in building and starting that institution in its present prosperous condition. He was one of the incorporators of the Brantford Young Ladies' College, and for some years was its Vice-President and a Director. He has also been President of the Mechanics' Institute. In politics Mr. Fitch is Clear Grit-Reformer, and for fifteen years has been Secretary of the Reform Association of Brant County. He has officiated as Alderman of the City of Brantford, and was married May 4th, 1865, to Miss Elizabeth Ruth Robinson, daughter of Isaac Robinson, of toronto; they have two children, Clarence Russell and Edith Maud. Mr. Fitch is a member of the Baptist Church, and Mrs. Fitch belongs to the Canada Methodist Church.
E. L. GOOLD, of J. O. Wisner, Son & Co., manufacturers of agricultural implements, and of Goold & Agnew, hardware merchants, Brantford, is a son of F.P. Goold, who was born in New Hampshire in 1813. His father was a farmer by occupation, and spent his earlier years in agricultural pursuits. He subsequently went to Rochester, New York, and was there employed as a clerk; he was engaged in the grain business, and about 1835 or 1840 came to Canada, locating in Brantford. He here formed a copartnership with P.C. VanBrocklin, and the firm commenced the manufacture of stoves, being the pioneers in that business in Brantford, and among the earliest in the Dominion. Mr. A. B. Bennett subsequently became a partner of Mr. Goold, and the firm of Goold & Bennett enlarged their manufacturing facilities, and carried on a steadily increasing and lucrative business for many years. At one time Mr. Goold was interested in the Waterous Engine Works, and also in the refining of oils. He was a manufacturer of stoneware pottery for quite a period, and was an inspector of an insurance company. At the time of his death he was on business at Ottawa. He was a member of the Congregational denomination, was a strong Reformer, and once served as a member of the Brantford City Council. Mr. Goold married Miss S. C. Lyman, a resident of Brantford. They were the parents of 6 children, 4 of whom are now living. Mrs. Goold died about 1875. E. L. Goold was reared in the City of Brantford, and in early life became a member of the firm of Goold & Agnew, stove and hardware merchants. In October, 1881, he became associated as a member of the firm J.O. Wisner, Son & Co., and is also senior member of the firm Goold & Co., manufacturers of refrigerators. Mr. Goold is yet a young man, of a modest and retiring disposition, but one among the energetic and pushing business men of the city.
Page 507 and Part of 508
ROBERT GRANT, merchant tailor, under Stratford's Opera House, Brantford, was born in the Parish of Durris, Kincardineshire, Scotland, June 26, 1823, and is a son of robert and Jane (Robertson) Grant, the former of whom died in 1857, and the latter about 1859. Robert grant our subject, is the only child, and was brought up in Scotland, commencing to earn his own living at the early age of seven years. When fourteen years old he learned his present trade in the adjoining parish (Maryculter); he was apprenticed for five years, and then worked on four years longer at the same place. he next moved into the City of Aberdeen, where he followed his trade for two years, and in the county (Aberdeenshire) for following three years. This now brings Mr. Grant's life in to the year 1851, which found him emigrating to Canada and remaining in the City of Quebec from the spring to the fall of the year. He then went to Hamilton, Ont., and in 1853 to Brantford, where he engaged as cutter for J. H. Moore, and was also employed by James Woodyatt; he subsequently worked on his own account for three years. For the following three years he was in Taylor & Grant's establishment, and also worked for various parties in Brantford, Dundas and Guelph, and returning to Brantford, obtained a nine years' engagement with William Grant. In April, 1880 Mr. Robert Grant again commenced business for himself, and has continued ever since, doing a better trade than he expected. He was married in January, 1848, to Annie McCormack, a native of Aberdeenshire, Scotland, who died the year their only child was born. His name is Thomas, and he is at present in the United States. Mr. Grant married, for second time, Nov. 4, 1858, Mary Latham, a native of New York. She and her husband are members of the First Baptist Church. He is a Reformer in politics, and a member of Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F. since 1856.
THOMAS GRANTHAM, retired, Brantford, was born in Yorkshire, England, February 9th, 1809, and is a son of Thomas Grantham, also a native of Yorkshire, and a farmer by occupation, who lived in England up to the day of his death. His wife also died in England. Their family numbered twelve children, of whom ten probably are still living. Thomas, our subject was reared in Yorkshire, and in 1827 came out to Canada, and resided for five years in Little York, now Toronto. There he learned the blacksmithing trade, and in 1882 moved to Mount Pleasant, Brant County, where he worked for a farmer in order to gain an insight into farming pursuits. He then purchased a farm of fifty acres, which he some time afterward rented out, and about the same period, Nov. 9th, 1840, was married to Ruth Gurnett, a native of Sussex, England, and daughter of George Gurnett and Ann Dunaway. After his marriage he rented a brick-yard from Rev. Mr. Luggar, and carried on brick-making business for three or four years. Selling the brick-yard out to Calvin Halton, he removed to Mount Pleasant, and went on his old farm of fifty acres after buying fifty acres more on the opposite side of the road. There he resided and carried on farming operations for about thirty years. By this time his farm had increased to 175 acres, which he sold, and moved into Brantford in May, 1871. When Mr. Grantham first undertook farming life, he took thirty bushels of wheat to Dundas, Wentworth County, and sold it at fifty cents per bushel, the trip taking two days. He sold fine potatoes at ten cents per bushel in trade; in fact, in those days everything was traded, except tea, which was a cash article. Mr. Grantham was largely instrumental in building the tree bridge over the Grand River, which cost him, over and above time and trouble in canvassing for the "sinews of war," $100. He was rated a life member of the Agricultural Society as an acknowledgment of his services in securing their present grounds. He generally attended the First Baptist Church, of which his wife is a member and in politics is a Liberal. Mr. Grantham is a thorough sportsman, and his collection of birds and animals, numbering some one hundred and fifty specimens- all "to his own gun" and all stuffed by himself- is an evidence of his being a son of Nimrod, a disciple of Izaak Walton, and a skilled taxidermist. Mr. and Mrs. Grantham have had a family of eight children, of whom six survive. Charles is a carriage-maker and blacksmith in Cainsville; Alfred is a builder in Mount Pleasant; Alice, wife of Dugan McEwen, resides on the old homestead at Mount Pleasant; John is a music dealer in Galt, Waterloo County.
Page 508 and Part of 509
EGERTON GRIFFIN, M. D., Trinity College, Toronto, and M. D. of University of New York City, is the fourth son of the late E. C. Griffin, Esq. of Waterdown, Ont., and grandson of the late Smith Griffin, Esq., of Smithville Ont., belonging to a U. E. Loyalist family of Welsh origin. Dr. Griffin was educated at the Hamilton High School, and commenced the study of medicine in Toronto in 1849, graduating in 1853. After spending a year in the hospitals of New York City and taking a degree there, he commenced practice in Brantford in 1854, where he has ever since practised. He was appointed Surgeon to the Brant Gaol in 1855, Physician to the Mohawk Institute in 1854, Coroner for the County of Brant in 1854, and Medical Officer to the Canada Life Insurance Co. in 1856, all of which positions he still holds. He was appointed Surgeon to 2nd. Battalion of Brant Militia in 1858, a Justice of the Peace for brantford in 1859, and has been a member of the Brantford Public School Board since 1880. Dr. Griffin married Edith, daughter of the late A. R. Smith, Esq., of Brantford, by whom he has one child, Mary, wife of Dr. Wm. T. Harris, of Brantford.
Page 509 and Part of 510
THOMAS W. HALL, retired, Brantford, was born in Leeds, Yorkshire, England, Nov. 16, 1824, and is a son of John Hall, also a native of Leeds, and a machinist by trade. He came to the United States in 1846, landing at New Orleans, from which city he went to the State of Wisconsin, where he died. His wife, the mother of Thos. W., died in Leeds, and her husband remarried. After his father's death, the subject of our sketch and his brother Samuel went to Milwaukie, where they worked at their trade. They then went to to Toronto, but not finding work, removed to Niagara, where they obtained work on the steamer Magnet in the dockyards, as well as on two propellors. Mr. T. W. Hall subsequently went to Buffalo to fill an engagement in the Shephard Iron Works, of which firm C. H. Waterous, Senr., was a member. After working there some time, and Mr. Waterous coming to Brantford, Mr. Hall followed in the spring of 1849, by request of Mr. Waterous bringing his brother Samuel and his stepmother with him. They went from Buffalo to Port Colborne by steamer, and in the latter place met the father of Ignatius Cockshutt. At Port Colborne they took boat on the grand river, but the water being high and rough, for there was considerable flooding, the captain of the boat refused to proceed further than Cayuga. They placed their furniture on a canal boat, and having reached a farm in Onondaga Township, owned by William Burrell, they stayed there all night, and on the following morning Mr. Hall and his brother came on to Brantford by way of Cainsville. Thomas soon found employment in the machine shop, and his brother in the foundry, of P.C. VanBrocklin & Co., with which Mr. Waterous Senr, was connected. Mr. Hall and an apprentice were the only hands in the machine shop for some time. This building stood on the west end of the present brick structure. About two years later Mr. Waterous conceived the idea of building engines there, and a couple of millwrights came from the United States to do the millwright work for VanBrockli & Mead's saw-mill. The engine and machinery were constructed under great difficulties, the fitting being all by hand, there being no planer, shaper, or such labour-saving machinery. After considerable labour the mill was started with a "direct-actiom" 25 horse-power engine for saw-mills, this being the first one in that section of the country. Mr. Wolverton, of Paris, ordered the second one, which was constructed under the same difficulties as the first. The present Waterous Engine Works were then commenced and this was the starting of the large business in Brantford, and Mr. Hall, who put together and started the first eight engines that were sent out from the shops, probably deserves more than great credit for this success. For some years previous to 1877, Mr. Hall held the position of superintendent of the works, which he resigned on July 1st of that year, and retired, having, by industry and economy, amassed considerable property. He erected some neat little dwellings in Hall's Avenue, near the G. T. R. shops, and has besides a nice little residence for himself; also some two-story brick residences in Brant Ward. Mr. Hall was thrice married- in 1852 to Mary C. Burrell, who died in 1867; his second wife was Millicent Forde, sister of R. J. and Jackson Forde, whom he married in 1868, and by whom he had one child, Edith. This wife died in Jan., 1877. His third marriage was with Eliza Biggar, of Mt. Pleasant, in July, 1881. She is a member of Brant Avenue Methodist Church, and Mr. Hall is an attendant of the services of that church. He is in politics a Reformer, and was Town Councillor during the year of the visit of the Prince of Wales to Brantford 1860.
JOSHUA S. HAMILTON, wholesale wine merchant and manufacturers' agent, Brantford, was born at Hamilton, Ontario, in 1848, and was brought up in the Township of Brantford, having been educated at the public schools of that city. He acted as clerk in a wholesale export provision house in New York City for two years, and after that entered the employment of Ignatius Cockshutt, merchant, Brantford, with whom he remained eighteen months. Subsequently he entered the retail grocery business in Brantford, and carried it on for two years. In 1873, Mr. Hamilton formed a partnership with R. S. Dunlop, under the firm name of Hamilton, Dunlop & Co. This arrangement continued for five years, when Mr. Dunlop retired from the firm, and Mr. Hamilton carried it on alone for three years under the old firm name. He also did a general agency and commission business in the City of Montreal, under the firm name J. S. Hamilton & Co., which he joined with his Brantford house in September, 1881, retaining the various agencies for Canada, all of which, with others obtained since, he carries on from his present headquarters in Brantford. Among the foreign houses whose Canadian representative Mr. Hamilton is, may be mentioned the following leading British and continental firms: Ayala & Co., of Ay., France, champagnes; A. Matignon & Co., of Cognac, France, brandies; M. Boitard, Cognac, brandies; L. L. Latour, Beaune, Burgundies; T. Lasteau & Co., Libourne, Gironde clarets; D. G. Ross, Ben Wyvis Distillery, Dingwall, Scotland, Scotch Whiskeys; Taunus Springs, Gross Karben, mineral water; r. VanZeller, Oporto, port wines; John S. Shiels & Sons, of Leith, Scotland, Scotch whiskeys; Wm. Younger & Co., of Edinburgh, Scotland, ales; Wm. Edmunds, Jr., & Co., of Liverpool, bottlers Bass' ale and Guinness' stout. A general stock of all the above goods are held in the firm's extensive warehouses on Dalhousie Street, Brantford, and importing orders are also taken for direct shipment. In the production of Canadian wines Mr. hamilton has also taken a great interest, and from his connection therewith, more especially with the great vineyards of Pelee Island, in Lake Erie, has gained for himself the appellation of "The Canadian Wine King." Although a hard-working business man, Mr. Hamilton has given much time to public affairs, having been a member of the first City Council of Brantford, and having taken an active part in the inauguration of the Brantford Southern Fair in 1878 and two following years, acting in the various capacities of Director, General Superintendent and President. Largely interested in the wine and spirit trade, it was natural that he should take a great interest in the protection of the interests of the licensed liquor trade of Canada, and in the Dunkin Act agitation of 1878 and 1879 he took a leading part in behalf of the licensed victuallers; and upon the organization of their Provincial Association at Toronto in 1881, known as "The Ontario Trade Benevolent Association," was unanimously elected President. In the year following Mr. hamilton was re-elected to the position. Of the School Board of Brantford, to which Mr. hamilton belongs, he has proved himself a useful member. In politics he is a Conservative. He is a good type of the sturdy Canadian business man, who unaided has worked his way to the foremost rank in his business, and become the head of one of the largest firms in the wholesale wine trade of Canada.
Page 510 and Part of 511
ROBERT HAMILTON, nurseryman, of Elcho Place* P.O., near Brantford, was born in the County Armagh, Ireland, in 1819, and is a son of Peter and Margaret Hamilton, who both died in Ireland, their native land. Robert, the youngest of three children, and the only one living in Canada, came to the land of his adoption in 1847, bringing with him his wife and one child. They set out from Ireland with two children, but one died on the way, and the other shortly after landing at Hamilton, Ontario. In that city Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton resided six years, when he came to his present location, and engaged in the business which his experience in Hamilton has enabled him to conduct in a most fair and profitable manner. He began on a small scale, and by dint of hard work, honesty and frugality, has gained for himself a competence. Recently he has taken his youngest son (Robert L.) into partnership with him, with the intention of still further increasing the business. Mr. Hamilton is a consistent member of the W. M. Church. * Bill's note: Should be Echo Place
HON. ARTHUR STURGIS HARDY, member of the Ontario Parliament and Provincial Secretary and Registrar, was born December 14, 1837, at Mount Pleasant, County of Brant, and is a son of Russell and Juletta (Sturgis) Hardy, both of whom were descendants of U. E. Loyalists, and are natives of Canada. The ancestral families of both came to Canada nearly one hundred years ago, and Russell Hardy was at one time a prominent merchant in Brantford, having at an earlier period been a merchant and then farmer at Mount Pleasant. the subject of this sketch was educated at the private school successfully kept for some years at Mount Pleasant by Professor W.W. Nelles, M. A., at the Brantford County Grammar School, and also at the Rockwood Academy. he studied law at Brantford, completed his studies at Toronto under the late Chief-Justice Harrison and Thomas Hodgins, Esq., M.A., and was called to the Bar at Easter Term, 1865. He has been for some years at the head of the Brant County Bar. In 1867 he was appointed City Solicitor; in 1875 was elected a Bencher of the Law Society of Ontario, and was created a Queen's Counsel in 1876. Mr. hardy is a member of the firm of Hardy, Wilkes and Jones, who do an extensive Common Law and Chancery business in Brantford. As a fluent animated and eloquent speaker, a powerful reasoner, and a successful jury lawyer and advocate, Mr. Hardy ranks among the foremost members of the profession in the western part of the Province. Few men of his profession in this part have a more honourable and successful record. He was first elected to Parliament to represent South Brant in April, 1873, on the resignation of the late Hon. Edmund Burke Wood, and was re-elected by acclamation in January, 1875; entered the Provincial Government as provincial Secretary and Registrar, in March, 1877, and was re-elected by acclamation, after and unusually spirited contest in June, 1879, and was again re-elected in 1883; in both instances by an increased majority. Mr. hardy in politics belongs to the advanced wing of the Liberal party; indeed his views on most questions are rather of a Radical than merely Liberal character, and he is a leading man in his party in the Province. The office of Provincial Secretary under Mr. Hardy has assumed an importance not formerly belonging to it, from the fact that the duties of the position have been more than doubled. There have been added to it the Immigration Branch, and Mr. hardy has performed the duties of Commissioner of Immigration, the Liquor License Branch, the Insurance Branch, the Provincial Board of Health, and the Inspection of Division Courts, as well as the labours appertaining to the incorporation of Joint Stock Companies. He has been on several occasions, and is at time of the present writing, acting Minister of Education, and has more than once been acting Attorney-General and Minister of PUblic Works during the absence of the heads of these departments from the country. He was married January 16, 1870, to Mary, daughter of Hon. Mr. Justice Morrison, of Toronto (one of the Judges of the Court of Appeal of Ontario) and has a family of four children. Mr. and Mrs. Hardy are members of the Church of England.
Part of 512
GEORGE HARDY, dealer in confectionery, fruit and game, Market Street, Brantford, was born in the city of London, England, on Christmas Day, 1829. His parents both died when he was very young , and when about seven years of age he accompanied his uncle to Canada, landing at Quebec. He was brought up principally by Dr. Duncombe, of Norfolk County, Ontario, and remained with him till he was nineteen years old, when he went to Waterford and learned the moulder's trade, at which he worked for nine or ten years. He came to Brantford in 1847 or 1848, and worked for Goold & Bennett, stove-founders, for three months. he then went to Cainsville by canal; thence by the steamboat Little Brantford to Dunnville; and thence by steamer again to Buffalo, where he worked one year, when he went to Cleveland, Ohio, and from there to Cincinnati and New Orleans; thence back to Cleveland, and finally to Brantford again. There he acted as foreman for Goold & Bennett for four or five years, when he entered the fruit business. In the fall of 1860 Mr. Hardy removed to Windsor, and resided in Detroit, Michigan, one season. Again returning to Brantford he engaged in his present business and in 1869 purchased the property he now occupies. he has enjoyed excellent success in his particular line of trade. Mr. Hardy is a member of Brant Lodge No. 45, Masonic, and also of Harmony Lodge, I.O.O.F. he was an original member of Gore Lodge, which he left to establish Harmony Lodge, being now one of the trustees. In politics he is a Reformer. He has been a member of the Town Council for four years, and Alderman for five years. He was a member of the Independent Washington Company of the early fire department, which bought its own engine and paid its own way. Mr. Hardy attends the Congregational Church. On Nov. 4th, 1851, he married Mary Marshall, a native of Dumfries, Waterloo County, Ont., by whom he has had a family of four children, two surviving- George F. and Maria. His wife and daughter are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Hardy is a self-educated and self-made man.
JAMES HARLEY, barrister, Brantford, is a son of Archibald Harley, whose sketch appears in this work, and was born in Burford township, August 15, 1850. He remained on the home farm until 1874, when he entered the Collegiate Institute, which he attended for one and a half years. He then entered the law office of Hardy & Wilkes, and was with them for four years. he then finished his studies with Blake, Kerr, Boyd & Cassels, and took out a certificate of fitness in November 1880. He was called to the Bar, February 1, 1881, and went into partnership at St. Catharines with Ewart, Davidson & Campbell, as junior partner, and three months later came to Brantford, where he has meet with fair success. He is a member of Emmanuel Methodist Church, and of the M. E. Book Committee at Hamilton, having been appointed by the last two General Conferences. He is also one of the Trustees of the church. He is a Liberal in politics, and Secretary of the Reform Committee for the City of Brantford, For 1882 he was President of the Farringdon Debating Society. He was married November 2, 1881, to Annie Madison, daughter of Captain Madison, of Port Hope.
Page 512 and part of 513
ALANSON HARRIS, of A. Harris, Son & Co., was born near Ingersoll, Oxford County, Ont., April 1, 1816. He is a son of John Harris, a native of New York, who came to Canada when about six years of age, and was a minister of the Baptist Church, at one time located at Westminster and afterwards at Townsend, for twenty years. He resided at Mount Pleasant, Brant County, for twelve years and then moved to Ingersoll, where he died about fifteen years ago. He married Catharine Duygert, a native of New York State and of German parentage, by whom there were ten children, five still living, Alanson, our subject, being the only one in this country. The mother died about twelve years ago. Alanson Harris received his early training, which was but limited, in Townsend, where there were few schools in those days. In early life he engaged in farming, and also had charge of a saw-mill at Boston, and afterwards at Whiteman's Creek, in Brant County. He then removed to Beamsville and commenced the foundry business, in which he was engaged for sixteen years. In May, 1871, he came to Brantford, and with his son John opened an extensive manufacturing establishment. Mr. Harris is a member of the First Baptist Church, and a Reformer in politics. He was married October, 1840, to Mary Morgan, a native of New York, and of Welsh descent. Their family numbered twelve children, six sons and six daughters, five now living: John, of A. Harris, Son & Co.; Elmore, a Baptist Minister, of Toronto; Nellie, wife of Alfred Popplewell, druggist, Brantford; Minnie, wife of Frederick Chalcraft, book-keeper for Wm. Patterson, M. P., Brantford; and Thomas M., book-keeper for A. Harris, Son & Co. Mrs. Harris is a member of the Baptist Church and a daughter of Thomas Morgan, a Baptist minister originally from Wales.
JOHN HARRIS, of the firm of A. Harris, Son & Co., (Limited) manufacturers of harvesting machinery, mowers, reapers, and self-binding harvesters, Brantford, was born in the Township of Townsend, County of Norfolk, Ont., July 21, 1841. he was brought up mainly in Brant County, where he went when eight years of age, and assisted on a farm and saw-mill for eight years. He then removed to Beamsville, Lincoln County, Ont., and resided there sixteen years. When he came of age he entered into partnership with his father in the foundry and agricultural manufacturing business in Beamsville, Ont., under the name and style of A. Harris & Son, employing five men at first. Finding their business rapidly increasing, and necessitating better facilities, they removed to Brantford in the fall of 1872. Business still steadily increased, and they now do the second largest trade in their line in the Dominion. Mr. Harris was married in Oct., 1863, to Jane Tufford, a native of Beamsville, Ont., and to this union have been born 9 children, 7 living- Annie, Lloyd, Mabel, Lena, Mary, Morgan and Gordon. The deceased are Loren and Lillie. Mr. and Mrs. Harris and the three eldest children are members of the First Baptist Church, and Mr. harris is also a Deacon of that church and a member of the Official Board. He is also a Manager of the Young Men's Christian Association, and for two years was President of that institution. He is a Reformer in politics, and one of the City Alderman.
RICHARD R. HARRIS is a native of Brant County, and a son of Richard and Margaret (Butler) Harris. (See sketch of Dr. W.T. Harris). Richard R. assisted on his father's farm, and was educated in the county public schools, Collegiate Institute, Brantford, and Hamilton Business College. When he arrived at manhood's age he engaged as a salesman for a wholesale boot and shoe firm in Newcastle, State of Pennsylvania, for two years, when he came to Brantford and acted as a salesman and traveller for a period of five years for John Edgar & Son, crockery and glassware merchants, and in November, 1880, commenced the same business on his own account in the premises now occupied by him in the Y.M.C.A. building. The store is admirably adapted for Mr. Harris' extensive and fast increasing business, which is both wholesale and retail, and enjoying the largest trade in the city or county. The Colborne Street front of the store is 24 feet, with a depth of 120 feet, both store-room and cellar. Mr. Harris is a member of St. Judes' (Episcopal) Church, a member of Brant (Masonic) Lodge, No. 45, and First Lieutenant in Company No. 6, Dufferin Rifles.
Page 513 and Part of 514
DR. WILLIAM T. HARRIS, physician and surgeon, Brantford is the eldest son of Richard Harris, Esq., of Onondaga Township, a biographical sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Dr. Harris was born January 17, 1852. He received a preliminary education at the Brantford public schools and the Upper Canada College, Toronto, and passed the matriculation examination before the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Ontario, in April, 1870. He graduated at the University of trinity College in 1874, receiving then the degree of Bachelor of Medicine, and in the same year passed the required examination and was admitted a member of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Ontario. In the following year, 1875, he received the degree of Doctor of Medicine at Trinity University. During the summer of 1873, he attended clinical lectures in New York City, and in 1879 was sometime Associate Gynecologist at Mount Sinai Hospital, New York. Dr. Harris commenced the practice of his profession at Langford, Brant County, in May, 1874, and in the autumn of 1875 removed to Brantford. He has always enjoyed a large practice, as he is one of the most promising physicians in the county, and even in this section of the Province. Among the public positions which he holds at the present time are: Surgeon of the Dufferin Rifles, The Ancient Order of United Workmen, Ancient Order of Foresters, Canadian Order of Foresters, District Orange Association, Commercial Travellers' Association; Examiner of Pensions for the United States Government; one of the Surgeons to the Brant County Gaol, Grand Trunk Railway, and Canada Life Assurance Company; President of the Liberal Conservative Association of the South Riding of Brant; President of the Brant County Medical Association, and member of the City of Brantford Public School Board. Dr. Harris is a great reader of medical works and current literature. He was married April 12, 1881, to Mary Maud, only daughter of Dr. Egerton Griffin, of Brantford, and he and his wife are members of the old Mohawk Church, of which the Venerable Archdeacon Nelles is pastor. Mr. and Mrs. Dr. Harris are both descendants of United Empire Loyalist families, the mother of Dr. Harris being the granddaughter of the late Colonel John Butler, His Majesty's Commissioner for Indian Affairs, Also Commander of Butler's Rangers, and who distinguished himself at the battles of Lake George, 1755, and the capitulation of Fort Niagara, 1759. Dr. Harris has always taken a deep interest in military affairs and rifle shooting, and politically is a staunch and consistent Conservative.
Page 514 and Part of 515
J. J HAWKINS, member of Parliament for Bothwell, County of Kent, was born in the City of Brantford, February 8th, 1840, and is a son of john Hawkins, a native of County Down, Ireland, who came to this country in 1832. John Hawkins was an architect and builder, and located in Brantford Village in 1834. he resided here during the remainder of his life, and died in 1853. He was a prominent citizen of Brantford, highly respected, and in politics he was what is now termed a "Moderate Reformer." He married Miss Mary, daughter of Ewen McDougall, of Kingston, Ont., at one time in the Commissariat Department, and who came to Canada with the late Bishop McDonald, locating in Glengarry Settlement. They were the parents of eleven children, six of whom are living- three sons and three daughters- and Mrs. Hawkins is still living at the age of 69 years. J. J. Hawkins, our subject, was reared in Brantford, and has resided here almost continuously. He obtained a high school education, and was a merchant of Brantford for 15 years. In 1874 he closed out his mercantile business in order to settle up a large estate, which occupied him until 1878. He was a member of the Town Council one year, and then was elected Deputy-Reeve, for which office he was re-elected, and was then made Alderman of Brantford City. Mr. Hawkins is a Liberal-Conservative, and in 1873 contested this Riding unsuccessfully with the Hon. A.S. Hardy, receiving a large majority in the city, but he was beaten in the county; this contest was for a seat in Ontario Legislature for South Brant. In 1874 Mr. Hawkins was Vice-President of the Liberal-Conservative Association of South Brant, and President in 1878. In 1876, 1877 and 1878, he was engaged, together with Sir John MacDonald, Sir Charles Tupper, Hon. Wm. McDougall, and others in the campaign that resulted in the "National Policy," Mr. Hawkins making numerous speeches in favour of its adoption. In 1878 he was candidate for a seat in the House of Commons for the Electoral Division of Bothwell, and was defeated by Hon. David Mills, the then Minister of the Interior, by a greatly reduced majority. He was again candidate in the general election of June, 1882, was elected and is now holding that position. Mr. Hawkins has taken a very active interest, and has taken part in all the great political contests since Confederation; having spoken in nearly every constituency in Ontario. He was one of the chief officers in taking the Dominion Census for the Niagara and Northern Districts in 1881, and had a staff of commissioners and enumerators numbering over 400, whose work he supervised. He was married in the fall of 1863 to Ellen M. Harrington, a native of Boston, Mass., U.S., by whom he has had eight children, five yet living, viz.: William L., Augustus C., Mary C., Lucy T., and Gertrude. He, his wife and family, are all members of St. Basil's Roman Catholic Church. Mr. Hawkins has been presented with many valuable testimonials in appreciation of his political services by friends in the counties of Huron, Kent, Bothwell and Lambton.
JAMES B. HAY, seedsman and florist, Brantford, was born near Paris, South Dumfries Township, June 8, 1839, and is a son of Charles Hay, a native of Scotland and a farmer by occupation. The latter came to Brant County in 1834, and subsequently removed to Waterloo County, Ont., where he died in 1868. He resided in the vicinity of Paris for eight or ten years, and married Isabella Ford, a native of Scotland, by whom he had seven children, six of whom are still living, and two of those are residents of this county. Mrs. Charles Hay is still living in Galt, Ont. James B. Hay, our subject, resided in Brant County during the first eight years of his life, and was afterwards reared in Waterloo County. He followed farming pursuits till he was about thirty-five years of age, and came to Brantford in 1875, entering into his present business of seedsman and florist, which he has conducted with much success. He is the only one in that business in Brantford, or even in the County of Brant. He was married April 23, 1878, to Clara Stock, of Wentworth County, Ont., by whom he had two children, Agnes Catharine and Charles. Mr. and Mrs. Hay are both members of Zion Presbyterian Church, and Mr. Hay is a reformer in Politics.
CROSLEY HEATON, dealer in boots and shoes, North Colborne Street, Brantford, was born in Yorkshire, England, February 14th, 1826, and is a son of John Heaton, also a native of Yorkshire, who married Grace Crosley, of York, England, by whom he had a family of 10 children, five of whom survive, and are all residents of Brant County. The father died in 1841 and the mother in 1858. Crosley Heaton, the subject of this biography, left England when sixteen years of age, and with his brother Jonas came to Brant County, settling in Mount Pleasant Village. There he bought a farm of eighty acres, now in the village, on which he resided for thirty years. He then sold it and went into general business, which he conducted seven years. Selling this out also, he came to Brantford in 1879, and commenced the boot and shoe trade, in which he has met with good success. In connection with the store he has a repair shop. Mr. Heaton was formerly an Oddfellow. He is an adherent of the Methodist Church and a Reformer in politics. From 1862 till 1870 he was Captain of No. 4 Company of Brant Battalion of Rifles. He was married in February, 1851, to Sarah Parker, a native of Westmoreland, England, and their family numbered 10 children of whom the following survive; Grace, wife of Ralph Long, of Brantford; John C., junior member of Heaton & Son; Jonas E., with Frank Cockshutt; Amelia, Sarah and Harry. Mrs. Heaton is a member of Wellington Street Methodist Church.
Page 515 and Part of 516
ROBERT HENRY, ex-Mayor of the City of Brantford, and a leading business man of the younger class, was born in Perthshire Scotland, November 30th, 1844. His father is John Henry, a carpenter and contractor, and his mother was Jane Dow; both were Scotch. He was educated in the parish schools of Perthshire until nine years of age, and then came with his family to Canada West in 1853. He finished his studies in the Brantford public schools, and when in his twelfth year entered the new stationery and news store of Andrew Hudson; was with him three years, and then became an apprentice to the grocery store business with R. C. Allen. In 1862, Mr. Henry entered the store of Charles Watts, leading wholesale grocer in Brantford, and on the demise of Mr. Watts in 1868, when his son Alfred bought out the establishment, Mr. Henry became manager, and held that position until 1871, when he became a partner of Mr. Watts. The firm of A. Watts & Co. are proprietors of the Brantford Soap Works, and in the wholesale mercantile business and manufactory combined, are doing a business of about $480,000 annually. They stand in the front rank of the commercial men of the City of Brantford, as well in the character of the house as in the amount of its transactions. Mr. Henry has been director of the Brantford Young Ladies' College from its start; has been President of the St. Andrew's Society, President of the Caledonian Society, and President of the Conservative Association for South Brant; was a member of the High School Board of Trustees at one period; was a member of the City Council for the North Ward in 1876, and Mayor in 1878 and 1879; and President of the South Brant Agricultural Association in 1883. He is an indefatigable worker for the interests of the city. While he was Chief Magistrate, the Lorne Bridge, one of the best iron structures of the kind for roadways in the Province, and other improvements have been made. In public spirit he finds a strong body of coadjutors in this enterprising young city. Mr. Henry is a Blue Lodge Mason, a member of the Zion Presbyterian Church, and a generous man in support of any local institution likely to benefit the public.
JOHN HEXT, manufacturer of buggies, carriages, sleighs, &c., Brantford, was born near Plymouth, Devonshire, England, September 20, 1840, and is a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Hamlin) Hext, also natives of England, and who came to Canada with their family in 1851. They were the parents of 10 children, 5 living at present. Mr. Hext, Senr., who was a farmer by occupation, and his wife reside at Woodstock, Oxford County, Ont., the former in his 70th year and the latter in her 69th year. John Hext, our subject, was brought up in Oxford County, and when 17 years of age learned the carriage trade, finishing his early experience in the business at Ingersoll. He also worked as a joiner for three years. In 1863 he came to Brantford, and worked for Woods Lyons. Subsequently he and his brother, Thomas, purchased the stock-in-trade of Fred. Vanderlip in the fall of 1865, and on January 1, 1866, the firm of T. & J. Hext commenced business, and continued until 1875, when Thomas died. Mr. Hext has since carried it on alone, and during the past few years has enjoyed splendid success. He was married December 28, 1865, to Helena Barker, a native of Canada, and their family numbers two children- a boy and girl, both living. They are members of the First Baptist Church, and he is a Reformer in politics.
Page 516 and Part of 517
BERNHARD HEYD, grocer, was born in the City of Berne, in Switzerland, June 13, 1813, where he lived until he was 19 years of age, when he emigrated to America. He settled in the City of Rochester, State of New York, where he worked until he came to Canada, in 1854, at his trade of carpenter. On arriving in Brantford he took charge of the shops of the Buffalo, Brantford and Goderich Railway, and so continued until the line became the Buffalo and Lake Huron, when he took charge of the extensive car works of Williams, Butler & Jackson, in Hamilton, who were making cars for the Great Western R.R. He purchased the site on which his present store stands in 1855, and began business as a grocer, in which he has been moderately successful. In 1871 he erected his present shop at a cost of $5,000, including his warehouse. He keeps a large stock of general groceries and provisions, and is a heavy packer of pork, of which, and fresh meats, he sells a large quantity. In 1881 and 1882 he erected the Commercial Building on the corner of george and Dalhousie Streets, which is considered as amongst the finest in the city. He married Magdelena Maurer, a native of Prussia, and of this union 12 children have been born, of whom 6 are living- 4 sons and 2 daughters. The oldest, Charles B. Heyd, and the youngest, Edward, are in the store. Louis T., the second son, is a barrister by profession, and is practising in his native city, Brantford, his office being in the Commercial Block. He is married to Amelia Weinang, a native of Brantford. Dr. Herman Emil, third living son, is a physician and surgeon, and a graduate of McGill College, Montreal; he is an M.R.C.S. of London, England, and spent two years in the leading hospitals of England and the Continent practising his profession. He is now practising in the City of Buffalo, at No. 9 Niagara Street.
CHARLES B. HEYD, grocer, Brantford, is the eldest living son of Bernhard and Magdelena Heyd. He was born in the City of Rochester, State of New York, Feb. 23, 1842, and has been a resident of the City of Brantford about 30 years. On Dec. 4, 1865, he married Janet Davey, a native of Scotland. Mr. Heyd is a Liberal-Reformer in politics, and has been for 5 years an Alderman for Queen's Ward. He is a director of the Royal Loan and Savings Co., and of the Brantford Young Ladies' College.
WESLEY HOWELL, real estate and insurance agent, Brantford, was born in Ancaster Township, Wentworth County, Ontario, Jan. 28, 1825, and is a son of Moses H. Howell, a native of New Jersey, whose ancestors came from Wales to America in 1659. Moses H. Howell was born in 1798, and was a son of Garrett Howell, who came to Canada when Moses was two years old. He lived in the Niagara District for two years, and in 1802 settled in Wentworth County. Moses H. Howell was a blacksmith by trade, but worked at various occupations through life, and died at the age of 80 years. Garrett Howell was a pioneer local minister of the Methodist denomination in the Jersey Settlement, Wentworth County, and one of its most able exponents. He was the father of fourteen children. Moses H. Howell married Deborah Wilson, a native of Wentworth County, and a daughter of Obed Wilson, a Quaker by religious profession, and an early settler of the Jersey Settlement, coming from Sussex County, New Jersey. They were the parents of thirteen children, ten of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, and eight of these are still living, two in the County of Brant. Their parents are both dead. Wesley Howell, the subject of this sketch, was brought up in Wentworth County, and is the oldest living of the large family. In early life he acted as superintendent of his father's manufacturing department for a term of eight years, and then entered into the mercantile business in Paris, Ont., where he remained for ten years, when he engaged in grist and flour milling in the Township of Blenheim for nine years further. At the expiry of that time, in 1866, he came to Brantford, and along with Wm. Imlach, went into the manufacturing of vinegar, and subsequently gave the initial impetus to what is now the " British American Starch Works." After spending two or three years in the starch business , Mr. Howell retired from it, and became engaged in office , real estate, insurance and building business. He is a member of Doric Lodge No. 121 (Masonic) and Mt. Horeb Chapter No. 21. He, with his wife, attends the services of brant Avenue Methodist Church, and is a Reformer in politics. In February, 1848, Mr. Howell married Emma Vanderlip, of Brantford Township, daughter of Edward Vanderlip, by whom he had a family of six children, three daughters and three sons. Mr. Vanderlip was a farmer of Brantford Township, and for many years Reeve of the same, and a member of the County Council. His wife still lives at the ripe old age of ninety-two years.
517 and Part of 518
THOMAS JAMES was born in the town of Market Hearling, in the County of Norfolk, England, Aug. 3rd, 1818. His father's name was Alexander, a supervisor of Excise for many years, and his mother's name was Mary Scott, both natives of Norfolk. Their family numbered fifteen children, nine of whom are now living, viz., three boys and six girls. The former are all in Canada (two of them in Brantford - Thos., our subject and Henry), and the latter are all in England. Their father died in 1870, and their mother in 1864. Thomas was educated at Holt Grammar School, which he left when he was sixteen years of age, and took an engagement for one year as copyist, after which he taught school during another year. On September 28, 1836, he was married at the city of Norwich, England, to Hannah Emma Head. From Norwich he and his young wife went to London, and after remaining there about ten days set sail for New York; thence to Oswego, New York State, crossed the lake (Ontario) to Kingston, Upper Canada, and from thence to Brockville, Upper Canada, by schooner. Taking sleigh from the latter place for Bytown (now Ottawa), they reached there after travelling over "corduroy" roads during three days. At Bytown Mr. James remained over the winter and then returned to Oswego, where he engaged himself as a public school teacher, and remained such until the fall of 1844. Again he went to Bytown, and was engaged by the Hon. Thomas McKay to teach school at New Edinburgh, and this continued till the fall of 1845. Again making Oswego his destination, he remained there till the fall of 1846, when an invitation from Brantford reached him to take charge of the school in East Ward, the trustees of which were James McMichael, Wm. Matthews and Calvin Houghton. This school was situated on the north-west corner of the Public Square. It was a square building of about 24 feet, all in one room. The second school was located on the north-west corner of the Market Square, in the Brant Ward. Joseph Potts was then the teacher. The third school was situated in the Queen's Ward, on a lot now occupied by Mr. Henry Wade, and was taught by Wellesley Johnstone. Brantford was then a village without a railroad, a public hall or a court house. On June 27th, 1847, Mr. James lost his wife. The family by this marriage numbered seven children, three of whom survive and are residents of Brantford. Mr. james took for his second wife Mary Ann Brookes, widow of Thomas Brookes and eldest daughter of Joseph Gardner. They were married on February 13th, 1850, by the Rev. James C. Usher, Rector of Grace Church, and to this union there were three children, one only surviving - Charles, who lives at home. In 1850 Mr. James entered business as a grocer, and opened a store opposite where the Town Hall now stands, and continued in it for about four years. During this period he was appointed Assessor for the town. He erected two brick stores adjoining the one he occupied, and then sold out the business and rented the stores. He has been Assessor for over twenty years, and was appointed Justice of the Peace in 1864, and still retains the commission. He was for over twelve years a trustee of the Collegiate Institute and public schools, and twice elected President of the Mechanics' Institute. Mr. and Mrs. James and family attend Grace (Episcopal) Church. In politics he is a Reformer.
Page 518 and Part of 519
CHARLES JARVIS, soap and candle manufacturer, &c. Brantford. C. Jarvis emigrated to Canada in the spring of 1843, and settled in Brantford, after the first year, which was spent in farming with his uncle, Huntly, and the second year in Mr. Colman's store, Paris. IOn the fall of 1845 he came to the then Town of Brantford to learn the soap and candle business with the late C. Watts, Esq., which he has followed ever since (with the intermission of about four years), at one time a partner with that gentleman. In process of time the business went into the hands of A. Watts & Co., C. Jarvis retaining the management, which he has continued up to the present time. The business has increased each year, until now it has reached very extensive dimensions, and pushed to the utmost capacity to supply the ever increasing demand. It is about thirty -seven years since Mr. Jarvis turned his attention to this branch of business, with the intermission above stated. Mr. Jarvis is a native of Ticehurst, Sussex, England, who until recently carried on an extensive potash business successfully a number of years in connection with the management of the soap and candle works. He also engaged in the manufacture of kid gloves, which was carried on for a time in the Kerby Block, corner of Market and Colborne Streets. Not finding it convenient to attend to its details without loss, he sold out. He also went heavily into the grape-growing business, established his vineyard at Beamsville in partnership with John Kilborn, to whom he sold out to a little advantage. The Vineyard yielded many tons of the finest grapes annually. Mr. Jarvis' engagements have been such that little time could be devoted to public affairs, though he has been elected several times as School trustee. He has paid close attention to his business, the goods being turned out under his supervision. He is now wholesale importer of French goods for brushes, also manufacturer of brooms, brushes and feather dusters.
CHARLES STEPHEN JONES, of the firm of Hardy, Wilkes & Jones, barristers, Brantford, was born in Hamilton, April 5, 1850, and coming to Brantford when three years of age, was reared and educated here. He is a son of Stephen James Jones, Esq., County Judge. He commenced the study of law with the Hon. A.S. Hardy in 1872, and was admitted in 1877, as a barrister and solicitor, and then went into partnership with Hon. A.S. Hardy and Alfred J. Wilkes, under the firm name of Hardy, Wilkes & Jones. He has been connected with the 38th Battalion, Dufferin Rifles, for about thirteen years, joining first as 2nd Lieutenant, and has held the offices of Captain and Adjutant. and in June, 1881, was promoted as Lieutenant-Colonel commanding, which position he now holds. Col. Jones is also President of the Rifle Association of the regiment. He is a Reformer in politics, and is a member of the Brant Avenue Methodist Church, being a member of the official Board of that church. He was married in 1873 to Miss Harriette Rowlands, of Kingston, Canada. they had three children, two of whom are living - Arthur Charles Reginald and Edna Stephanie. Mrs. Jones died in September of 1882.
HUGH J. JONES, dealer in dry goods and millinery, Colborne Street, Brantford, was born at Woodstock, County of Oxford, Ontario, March 17, 1840, and is a son of Walter Jones, a native of Monmouthshire, England. He (Walter Jones) came to Woodstock, Ont., then in the Brock District, in 1833, and carried on farming in Oxford County till 1855, at which date he retired from active life, and has been a resident of Brantford for twelve years. Hugh J. Jones, our subject, received his early training and education in Woodstock, and when eleven years of age was employed as a clerk in the general store of James Laycock, with whom he remained one year. Acting in capacity of clerk till 1859, he in that year came to Brantford, and entered the employment of W. H. Brethour & Co., in whose service he spent twenty years, during the last seven years of which he had an interest in the business. In 1879 he opened his present establishment, and met with fair success. He employs about thirty -two assistants in both departments. Mr. Jones married, March 1, 1881, Miss Calver, a native of Blackheath, London, England, and they are both members of Grace (Episcopal) Church, of which church Mr. Jones has acted as Warden for two years. In politics he is a Conservative, but he has not held office, his time being too closely occupied with business.
Page 519 and Part of 520
STEPHEN JAMES JONES, Brantford, Judge of the County Court of Brant and Master in Chancery, dates his birth at Stony Creek, County of Wentworth, Ontario, December 21st, 1821, his father being Stephen Jones, a son of a United Empire Loyalist, and born in Duchess County, New York. A great-uncle of our subject, Augustus Jones, also a Loyalist, was Government Land Surveyor in the old Niagara District, his residence being at Stony Creek. The mother of our subject was Mary Smith. Judge Jones was educated in the District Grammar School in Hamilton; studied law at first with Miles O'Reilly, Q.C., of Hamilton, and afterwards with S. B. Freeman, Q.C., of the same city; was called to the Bar in February, 1846, and practised with Mr. Freeman until 1853, when he received the appointment of County Judge at the time the County of Brant was organized as a separate county. The appointment of Master in Chancery was made in August, 1875. Judge Jones is naturally of a judicial temperament; has a legal turn of mind; is not afraid of work, and is a growing man. He is considered on the whole, outside the county as well as in it, one of the ablest and most satisfactory County Judges in the Province. During the earlier years that he was on the bench appeals were not infrequently made from his decision, but rarely with success, and of late years few if any appeals have been made. While resident in Hamilton, the judge held the position of Adjutant of the 3rd Gore Militia, under Lieutenant Gourlay. Judge Jones is a member of the Board of County Judges, which consists of five members, Messrs. Gowan, of Barrie; Jones, of Brantford; Hughes, of St. Thomas; Daniell, of L'Orignal; and Sinclair, of Hamilton. He is a member of the Methodist Church of Canada; Recording Steward and Trustee-Treasurer of the Brant Avenue Church, Brantford, and a man of most solid Christian character. He has been a total abstainer from all intoxicating liquors from boyhood; he has visited other counties in advocacy of the Scott and Dunkin Acts as the best laws that could be had at that time, and is a strong advocate of a general prohibitory law. On the bench, in private, everywhere, his temperance views are well known, and his influence is felt. Judge Jones has always taken an active part in the general work of his church, especially in aid of its missionary operations and educational institutions. In 1879 he, with the Rev. Thomas Stobbs, of Mount Pleasant, took the initiatory steps for forming a plan for raising district scholarships for Victoria College, a scheme which has since gone into successful operation. The church has appreciated and acknowledged his past services by electing him in 1874 a delegate to the first General Conference of the Church held at Toronto; also in 1878 for the next General Conference held in Montreal, of which he was appointed one of the secretaries; and again, in 1882, he was elected to the General Conference, and was appointed a member of the Joint Union Committee and of the Court of Appeal. In 1847 the Judge married Miss Margaret Williamson, daughter of the late John Williamson, of Stony Creek; they have six children living, and have lost one son. John W., the eldest son, is a barrister, of the firm of Jones & McQueston, of Hamilton; Charles S. is a barrister, of the firm of Hardy, Wilkes & Jones, of Brantford; Jennie, is the wife of George Kerr, Jr., barrister, of the firm of Kerr & Bull, Toronto. The other three, all sons are single.
Page 520 and Part of 521
JAMES KER, grain dealer, Brantford, is a native of Dundas, County of Wentworth, Ont., and is the son of the late Adam Ker, who was born in Scotland, and came to Canada at a very early day. He settled at Dundas and carried on Merchandise and warehousing business for twelve years, and then removed to Galt as representative of James B. Ewart, of Dundas, in the mill business, also of the german Mills, Galt. Mr. Adam Ker was Mayor of Galt for seven successive years, and resided in that town twenty years. He came to Brantford in 1858, and with James Coleman, of Dundas, entered into the grain business, which they carried on for seven years, when Mr. Coleman retired, and the subject of this sketch, who had come to Brantford, acted as clerk for his father for a time, when he became a partner, and the firm of Ker & Son existed for three years. The senior partner then returned to Galt, where he died Sept. 2, 1879, two years to the day after the decease of his wife. They are both buried in Galt. James Ker has continued in the grain business with a considerable amount of success. He at one time bought a farm in the North Ward, Brantford, which he laid out into town lots. He erected Ker's Music Hall, now Stratford's Opera House, in 1866, and has otherwise materially contributed to the growth of the city. Has also been extensively engaged in buying and selling real estate. Mr. Ker has been a member of the City Council for five or six years, during which period he assisted in carrying some important measures essential to the welfare of Brantford. He has also taken an active part in the interests of the Brantford Young Ladies' College, and during the first year of its existence held the position of Cashier of the Finance Committee. He and his family are members of Zion Presbyterian Church, and in politics he has always been a Reformer. Mr. Ker married, May 5, 1863, Jennie Peterson, of Niagara Falls, granddaughter of Major McMicken, who was a soldier of the War of 1812, and their family has numbered seven children, five of whom survive, viz., Newton, Isabel, Mabel C., Edwin D., and Gordon W. Mrs. Ker's brother P. A. Peterson, erected the Toronto Water-Works, and is now Chief Engineer of the Occidental and Ottawa Railway, under Government control.
JOHN KERR, foreman, Superintendent of the Grand Trunk Car Shops, Brantford, was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, June 17, 1836, and is a son of Robert Kerr, also a native of Ayrshire and a farmer by occupation. He died within a few miles of his native place, and his wife died in Scotland in October, 1882. Her maiden name Jane Cochran, a native of Paisley, Scotland. Their family numbered seven children, all living, and John, the subject of our sketch, is the only one in canada. When in Scotland he learned the house-joiner's trade at Beith, serving a three years' apprenticeship. When nineteen years of age he came to Canada and entered the Great Western R.R. Car Shops, remaining with that company for six years. From there he went to the Grand Trunk R.R., Montreal, under C. J. Brydges' management, and continued there eight years. At that period (June, 1870) he removed to Brantford, and has been in charge of the car works there ever since. Mr. Kerr was a member of the Grand Trunk Brigade, and commanded a company in the Dufferin Rifles for three years, and retired in 1879 with the rank of Captain. He is an elder of Zion Presbyterian Church, and, as well as his wife and daughter, a member of the same body. In politics he is a Conservative. In December, 1862, Mr. Kerr married Marian McCallan, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, who came to Canada when three years of age. Their family consisted of four children, of whom three survive, viz., Maggie, Robert and William.
REV. PETER LENNON, Pastor of St. Basil's Catholic Church, Brantford, was born in the County Armagh, Ireland, June 15th, 1846, and is a son of John Lennon and Bridget rock, who came to Canada in 1848, locating in New York City in the same year. A short time afterwards, in 1856, they came again to Canada. they first located at Brooklyn, near Whitby, and a year later at Stratford, gong from there to Minnesota in 1865, and there died. They were the parents of six children, five of whom are living. Our subject was the youngest child, and was reared mostly in Canada. He studied for the ministry at the College and Seminary of St. Sulpice, in Montreal, and was ordained at St. Peter's Cathedral, London, Ont., in 1873. He was subsequently at Amherstburgh, Stratford, came as secretary for Bishop Crinnon to the Diocese of Hamilton, where he officiated in the City of Hamilton, Dundas, Caledonia, Walkerton, Arthur, and finally came to Brantford in May, 1882, where he undertook the task of finishing St. Basil's Church, which was completed May 20th, 1883, and is one of the finest in the Province.
Page 521 and All of 523
HENRY BLAKEY LEEMING, Collector of Customs at brantford, was born October 5th, 1830, in the Town of Colne, Lancashire, England, and is the youngest son of robert Leeming, also born at Colne, Lancashire, on the 14th March, 1782, and who emigrated to Canada in the year 1840, and settled in the then Town of Brantford. Robert Leeming commenced business as a cabinet-maker, to which he had served an apprenticeship, and followed for a number of years, in his native place. Afterwards he was, a wholesale wine and spirit merchant, which he gave up on conscientious grounds, and engaged in the business of cotton manufacture in the days of hand-loom weaving. These giving place to power looms was given up, and he commenced business as a tea and coffee dealer, which he continued up to the time of his coming to Canada in 1840. After residing in Brantford for two years, he purchased a farm on "Tutela Heights," a part of the "Stewart and Ruggles tract," 2 1/2 miles from brantford. Upon this he resided until his death, 14th January, 1860, at the age of 78. Robert Leeming was twice married, first to Margaret Parkinson, by which marriage he had five children, viz., Ann, William, Margaret, Joseph and Robert. Of these William immigrated to Canada about 1830, living chiefly in Brantford and Paris, until his death in 1881. Joseph with his family came to Canada in 1840, and lived in the Town of Kemptville, County of Grenville, and in Montreal until his death in the year 1859. The mother of the above children died January 16th, 1812. Robert Leeming married the second time Margaret Blakey, March 16th, 1813, daughter of Anthony Blakey, Esq., of Hellefield, County of Craven, Yorkshire. By the second marriage he had eight children, three sons and five daughters. John Leeming, the eldest of the second family came with his family to Canada in 1840, residing in Montreal until his death in 1874. the only survivors of the two families are Isabella, wife of James Thomson, formerly of Brantford, now residing in the Village of Cordova, Rock Island County, Illinois, and Henry Blakey, the subject of the present biography, Mr. Leeming was 10 years of age when his father and family settled in Brantford in 1840. Up to that time he had attended the Colne Grammar School. During the two years' residence in Brantford he attended the only school then in the village, kept by Mr. Stephen Read, father of the present well-known auctioneer of that name. Upon removal to the farm he, with his father and brother, were engaged in clearing and cultivating the same. The father and brother having died, he remained upon the farm until 1863. In April of that year he (with his family) removed to Brantford, and entered into partnership with William Paterson, the present M.P. for the South Riding, and with him commenced business as wholesale confectioners, biscuit and cigar manufacturers. The partnership continued for 13 years, up to 1876, when he was appointed to his present position as Collector of Customs in May of that year. In 1864 he was appointed J.P. for the county and in 1867 was a member of the Town and County Councils as Deputy Reeve of the town. During that year, upon the confederation of the Provinces, he contested the South Riding of Brant in the Reform interest for a seat in the Dominion Parliament against Mr. E. b. Wood, the late Chief-Justice of Manitoba, but was unsuccessful. For several years Mr. Leeming was President of the Reform Association of the South Riding. Since his residence in Brantford he has for some years been connected with the South Brant Agricultural Society as one of its directors, and its President in 1874. Mr. Leeming for many years has been a member of the Board of High School Trustees, and is at present Chairman of the Collegiate Institute Board. He is also a Director and Secretary of the Brantford Young Ladies' College. Brantford in former years having suffered disastrously from fire, 1872, the Brantford Water-Works Company was formed for the introduction of the Holly system of fire protection. Mr. Leeming with a number of other business men, was one of its early promoters, has been a director of the company since its formation and for a number of years its secretary. Mr. Leeming is a member of the Farringdon Independent Church, a body of Christians of that name meeting in Farringdon, two miles from brantford. He is at the present time President of the Brantford Young Men's Christian Association. Mr. Leeming married, in 1855, Janette, youngest daughter of Mr. William Whitaker. She was born in the Village of Kelbrook, Yorkshire, England, and with her father and family emigrated to Canada in 1843, and settled in the neighbourhood of Brantford. By this marriage has been born to them 6 sons and 2 daughters, all living but one daughter, who died in infancy. their names in the order of their birth are: Robert, William, James, John Francis Henry, Charles Whitaker, Mary Ellen, Maud Mary and Henry Blakey. Mrs. Leeming is a member of the same church with her husband.
Go to Brantford Bios M-Z
Return to Home Page
If you have problems, please email the Brant County Coordinator
Return to Home Page
Graphics and Page Design copyrighted 1999, 2000 by Vikki Gray for the benefit of the Canadian GenWeb Project. All rights reserved.