WARNER AND BEERS - HISTORY OF BRANT COUNTY 1883
CITY OF BRANTFORD, BRANT COUNTY, ONTARIO BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES, SURNAMES M-Z
These Brant County, Ontario biographical sketches have been transcribed by Bill Bowman from Warner and Beers History of Brant County 1883. They are being posted as Bill completes them. A big thank you to Bill for his hard work!
Please use your browser's Find feature to make sure you don't miss your surname, which might be buried inside a different surname biography.
City of Brantford
WILLIAM J. McHAFFIE, dealer in books, news and stationery, Brantford, was born in that city October 17th, 1859, and is a son of the late John McHaffie, a native of Gatehouse, Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland, who came to Canada in 1852, and first settled in brantford, but was in the grocery business in Stratford and Paris. He was a resident in brantford until 1868, when he removed to Hamilton and acted as book-keeper in the Times office for two years. He then opened a tobacco store, which he operated till the day of his death, June 17th, 1871. He is buried in Brantford Cemetery. The late Mr. McHaffie was one of the original members of the Highland Company, now embodied in the Dufferin Rifles, Brantford. He was married to Charlotte A. Wells, an English lady, and they were the parents of four children, all living, viz.: David S., a conductor on the Grand Trunk railway, and a resident of Stratford; William J.; Charles A., a druggist's clerk in Cornwall; and Frank M., an operator in the employment of the Western Union Telegraph Company, Fort Howard, Wisconsin. Their mother is still living, and William J., our subject, resides with her. William J. was brought up in Brantford, and educated at Brantford, Hamilton and Clinton High Schools. When thirteen years of age he commenced in the book-store business with his uncle, William McHaffie, in Clinton, Huron County, Ontario, remaining with him three years: then returning to Brantford, he became clerk for two years in W. P. Scott's grocery house. His uncle having removed from Clinton to Brantford, William again secured a position with him, and in May, 1880, purchased his stock and trade. The store is situated on the corner of George and Dalhousie Streets, in the Kerby House Block, and Mr. McHaffie is the youngest store-keeper in Brantford. He has met with excellent success, and has lately enlarged his store to meet increasing business.
THOMAS McLEAN, merchant, dry goods, clothing and millinery, was born in Aberfeldy, Perthshire, Scotland, May 11th, 1831, and is a son of John McLean, also a native of Scotland, and a resident there during life. He was a parish schoolmaster, and followed that profession for fifty years, and died in August, 1876, aged eighty-three years. Mr. Thomas McLean left Scotland when twenty-two years of age, came to Canada, and located at Niagara, moving to Brantford in 1854, and has remained in business until now, a period of twenty-eight years. He has met with fair success, having commenced with small business, and now enjoys one of the largest trades in this line in the city. He was married September 9th, 1856, to Sarah Hawley, a native of Brant County, and a daughter of Alvan Hawley, who held a magistrate's commission, and as a lieutenant in the militia saw active service during the Rebellion of 1837. Mr. McLean was for five years a member of the City Council, and for two years President of the St. Andrew's Benevolent Society; is a Director and the Treasurer of the Brantford Young Ladies' College; and is a member of the Public School Board, being elected by acclamation. He is a Reformer in politics and was once offered notation for Parliament by the Reform party, but declined it. He was twice candidate for Mayor, and once defeated by only two votes. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he has for eighteen years been an elder, and for thirteen years Session Clerk. He had one son, who is deceased.
Page 523 and Part of 524
JOHN MANN, of John Mann & Sons, dealer in coal, lumber, wood and water-lime, Brantford, was born in Yorkshire, England, September 29, 1837, and is a son of Thomas and Hannah (English) Mann, the latter of whom died when the subject of this sketch was quite young. Mr. Mann, Sr., is still living. three were three children of this union, of whom John is the second, and he found in early life the full experience of daily toil. For two years before coming to Canada, which was in 1866, he taught school. On arriving in the land of his adoption he located at first in London, Ont., for eight months, when he came to Canada and leased the gas-works for a term of ten years. During part of that period he was also engaged in his present business, which has been in operation now eleven years. The firm of John Mann & sons is one of the largest wholesale dealers in coal, lumber and wood in Ontario, their trade extending even to Manitoba. Early in 1882 they entered into partnership with David Plewes & Son, of Brantford, in the lumber, wood and coal business at Winnipeg, the firm being known as Plewes, Mann & Co. Mr. Mann, along with his wife and five oldest children, is a member of the Wellington Street Methodist Church. He has also been Sunday School Superintendent for about ten years, and class-leader and trustee about fourteen years, which office he still retains. In politics or municipal matters he is biased by partizanship, but supports the best man irrespective of party, giving preference to the candidate he thinks most likely to be helpful in introducing and carrying any measure calculated to help forward the temperance cause, and has been a member of the City Council one year, and four years of the Board of School Trustees. Mr. Mann was married April 14, 1860, to Harriet Elliott, sister of John Elliott, of Brantford, whose biography will be found elsewhere, and this union has been blessed with twelve children, eleven of whom are now living.
REV. W. J. MAXWELL, Pastor of the Wellington Street Methodist Church of Canada, Brantford, was born at Plympton, Lambton County, Ontario, March 25, 1844, and is a son of W. J. Maxwell, Esq., a native of Ireland, and a farmer by occupation, who came to Canada in 1828, locating in Lambton county, where he resided until his death in 1880, aged 71 years. He was married to Miss Hannon, also a native of Ireland, who died April, 1862. They had six children, five sons and one daughter, three sons are yet living. Mr. Maxwell, our subject, spent the first twenty-four years of his life in Lambton County, where he taught school for ten years. After studying for the ministry, he was first put in charge at Watford, Lambton County, for two years; then at Parkhill, Middlesex County, for two years; and then ordained in Wellington Street Church, Brantford- the church which he is now the pastor- in 1875, becoming a member of the London Conference. He was pastor of a church in Guelph for one year after ordination; then was sent to St. Catharines for three years, and from there back to Guelph, his former charge for three years. In June, 1882, he was placed in his present charge. He married August 13, 1879, to Miss Jennie H. Young, a native of Sarnia, Lambton County. One brother, Henry W. Maxwell, was a member of the Methodist Conference, and at the time of his death was in charge of a church at Durham, Province of Quebec.
Page 524 and Part of Page 525
J. S. MILLS, druggist, Brantford, was born in the County of Simcoe, Ontario, April 3, 1850, and is a son of John and Ann (Stinson) Mills, both natives of Ireland, the former of whom, who was a farmer by occupation, died in 1876; the latter is still living. They had a family of ten children, nine of whom survive, five residing in this county. J. S. Mills, whose biography we write, worked on a farm till he was twenty years of age, and then attended the Collegiate Institute, Cobourg Ontario, for two years, and for the six months following, the Collegiate Institute, Brantford, which prepared him for the Victoria College, Cobourg, where he studied for four years and graduated in divinity, also taking three years in arts. Mr. Mills learned the drug business one year with C. S. Mason, Brantford, and four months at Toronto, and obtained his diploma from the Ontario College of Pharmacy. On this he returned to Brantford, and, along with L. E. Blackader, bought out Frederick Brandon, and his partnership with Mr. Blackader lasted two years and eight months. At this stage, Mr. Mills bought out the drug business of A. B. Bennett, the oldest in Brantford, and has since met with most encouraging success. He married January 18, 1882, to Adele C. Hoffman, a native of Berlin, County of Waterloo, Ontario, and a daughter of J. S. Hoffman, druggist, Berlin. One son has been born to this union- Reginald Wilmer. Mr. and Mrs. Mills are members of Brant Avenue Methodist Church, and he is class-leader and Bible class teacher in the same church. He is also a member of the Quarterly Board, and in politics a Reformer.
Part of Page 525
U. W. MINOR, jeweller and dealer in watches, clocks, etc., south side of Colborne Street, Brantford, was born about five miles from port Colborne, County of Welland, Ontario, July 13th, 1835. His parents, Jonas and catharine (Neff) Minor, also natives of Canada, are both deceased. U. W. Minor was brought up and educated at Port Colborne, and when seventeen years of age, went to St. Catharines to learn the jeweller's trade, and remained there three years. For three more years he became a resident of Dunnville, Ont., and from there moved to the United States, and worked at his trade in "Uncle Sam's Territory" till 1873. For some time after that date Mr. Minor followed his trade in Toronto and Montreal, Canada, and in the fall of 1877 finally settled in brantford, where he has met with satisfactory success. Mr. Minor was married Nov. 14th, 1877, to E. Maud Barber, of Toronto, by whom he has two children- Oriole Ogden and Uriah Edgarton. Both he and Mrs. Minor are members of Grace (Episcopal) Church. He is in politics, to use his own expression, a "Grit to the backbone."
JOHN MONTGOMERY, the oldest merchant at present doing business in Brantford, was born near Armagh Ireland, in September, 1817, and is a son of John M. and Ann Williamson. They came to Canada in 1844, settling in Hamilton, Ontario, where the father died in 1849. The mother subsequently removed to Galt, where she died. They had a family of 12 children, three of whom are now living, all in Brantford- John, the subject of our sketch, and two sisters. These three came to Canada in 1842. John Montgomery, who had learned the tailoring trade in Ireland, worked at his trade in Hamilton, Ontario, till the fall of 1850, when he moved to Brantford and commenced business, which he gradually worked into its present proportions. Mr. Montgomery has bought and built the present property, and has been moderately successful in his line of trade. He is a member of Zion Presbyterian Church, and an elder in the official board of that body. He was a member of the Grammar School Board for fourteen successive years, and is at present a member of the Collegiate Institute Board, and was a member of the City Council six years. In politics he is a Conservative. Mr. Montgomery was married Nov. 21st, 1848, to Jane C. Dickson, a native of Scotland, by whom he had a family of 10 children, six living, viz., Noble, wife of Forbeson McHardy, Toronto; Henry C., at home; James A. and Robert B., in New York City; John T., at school in Toronto; and Jane E., at school, at home.
Page 525 and Part of Page 526
ANDREW MORTON, manager of the British American Starch Company, Brantford, was born in Montreal, March 31st, 1832, and is a son of Robert Morton, of Perth, Scotland, and a builder and contractor by trade. He came to Canada about the year 1820 and settled in Montreal, where he resided till 1856, in which year he came to Brantford, and resided there till his death in 1873. He married Helen Young, also a native of Perth, by whom he had a family of ten children, seven of whom are now living. Their mother departed this life in 1875. Andrew, the subject of this biography, was brought up in Montreal, where he obtained a good commercial education. He learned the hardware business when fifteen years of age, serving a five years' apprenticeship. He then moved to Brockville with his brother, and acted as clerk for Morton, McKie & Co. for two years. In 1858 he came to Brantford, where he has since resided. There he engaged in the hardware business, which he carried on for nearly a quarter of a century. During this time he became interested in the manufacture of starch with Wm. J. Imlach. (A full description and detail of this business will be found under the heading of "Industries" in this work). Mr. Morton attends the Park Baptist Church; has been a member of the Town Council for about nine years, and is a Reformer in politics. He was married May 30th, 1853, to Elizabeth Muir, a native of Montreal, by whom he has had a family of seven children, four surviving- Herbert M., in the cattle and farming business in Manitoba; Jennie, Helen and Ethel. Mrs. Morton died in January 1876.
HARTNOLL A. NARRAWAY, retired millwright, was born Feb. 23rd, 1827, in Devonshire, England, and is a son of James Narraway, a native of the same shire, and a millwright by occupation. He came to Canada in 1843, settling in the "Johnson Settlement" in Brantford Township, where J. N. and his son W. A. N. together bought 150 acres of land, which is still owned by members of the family. He (J. N.) married Mary Rowe, a native of Devonshire, England, and they were the parents of eleven children, five sons and six daughters. Seven of these are now living. He died in 1851; the mother died April 14th, 1883, in her 90th year. Hartnoll A., of whom we write, accompanied his parents to Nova Scotia when quite young, and lived in Guysborough and Picton for a few years; afterwards resided one year in the United States; and then came to Brant County, when about sixteen years of age. There he learned the millwright trade, which he followed until 1869, then abandoned it on account of ill health. Mr. Narraway's mother and family came to this city in 1856, having rented the farm. He resided in California two years engaged in fruit culture. He is a member of the Wellington Street Methodist Church of Canada, and in politics is a Liberal. His brother W. A. Narraway, was engaged in the millwright business up to a few years before his death, which occurred in May, 1881.
ABRAHAM NELLES, Archdeacon of Brant, Brantford, was born at Grimsby, Lincoln County, Ont., Dec. 25th, 1805, and is a son of Robert Nelles, a native of the United States and of German descent, who was a U. E. Loyalist and a pioneer of Grand River, Ontario. He was a farmer and miller by occupation, but was mostly engaged in the latter trade. He was attached to the Six nation Indians in the States as a volunteer during the Revolutionary War. He was a member of Parliament for two or three sessions, and was styled Colonel Robert Nelles, having been a Colonel of Militia. He married Elizabeth Moore, also a native of the United States. She died in 1813. He was again married to Widow Bingle, who is also deceased. He was the father of nineteen children, and died at Grimsby in 1842. The subject of our sketch was educated in Toronto under Archdeacon (subsequently Bishop) Strachan, studying for the ministry, and when twenty-three years of age he was put in charge of the Six Nations Indians, becoming a resident of this county in 1829. He has since resided here, and has made very good progress with the Indians, and at present has charge of the Mohawk Church, holding services every Sunday. This is the oldest Episcopal church in Ontario. He was made Archdeacon of the Diocese of Huron. He married May 3rd, 1831, to Hannah Macklem, a native of Canada. She and two children who were born to them are deceased. On Sept. 17th, 1866, he was married again to Sarah Macklem, and they have had two children both living, Juanita and Huron.
Page 526 and Part of Page 527
WILLIAM NICHOL, physician, Brantford, was born in Westminster, near London, Ont., on May 18th, 1837, and is the youngest son of the late Francis Nichol, who emigrated from Roxburghshire, Scotland, in 1833, and located in Westminster, County of Middlesex, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits till his death, which occurred about 1870. With the energy, caution and pluck so generally characteristic of Scotchmen, he managed to accumulate considerable property, in which he was ably assisted by his devoted and thrifty helpmate. Before passing away they had the satisfaction of seeing their five sons comfortably settled in life, and following in their footsteps. The doctor is the only member of the family not now engaged in agricultural pursuits, and the only one who has left his native township. Doctor Nichol resided with his parents till eighteen years of age, when he went to the Normal School, Toronto, to fit himself for teaching, and was successful in obtaining a first-class A certificate, the highest granted by that institution. the doctor followed the profession of teaching for about ten years, eight of them being spent in the adjoining Village of Burford. he afterwards chose the profession of medicine, attended lectures at Cleveland and Chicago, graduating in homeopathy in the latter city in 1869; in the same year passing a successful examination before the Canadian Homeopathic Board, and located in Brantford in 1870. In 1882-3, he was a member of the Board of Examiners appointed by the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Ontario. While actively engaged in carrying on a successful practice, Dr. Nichol has been for years an enthusiastic worker in connection with the Y. M. C. A., of which institution he has twice been elected President. He is a member of Zion Presbyterian Church, of which the Rev. Wm. Cochrane, A.M., D.D., is pastor, and has held the position of Sabbath School Superintendent for eight years. With the exception of the first year of its existence, he has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Brantford Young Ladies' College, being more particularly interested in the educational work. In politics the Doctor is a Reformer. He was married Sept. 22nd, 1864, to Miss Agnes M. Charles, of Burford, Ont., who tends well to the ways of her household. Seeking not the wider field in which some women with masculine natures endeavour to win applause, the throne of empire she seeks is in the heart of her children, and there she delights to reign.
JOHN NOBLE, deceased, was born in Enniskillen, Ireland, May 12, 1823. He came to Canada, when nine years of age, with his parents. His father was born on the ocean, and on his voyage to Canada to seek a new home, he died on the ocean before landing at Quebec. John Noble was reared and learned the painters' trade at Little York, now Toronto. He was the oldest of five children. His mother died in London, Ont., April 14, 1865. He remained in Toronto until about the year 1848, when he came to Brantford, and carried on business for about a third of a century. He was one of the first painters of the city and county, and died June 28th, 1881, aged 58 years. He married Ann Rispin, a native of England, by whom he had two sons and three daughters, all living. Their mother is also living, and resides in Brantford. He was initiated into Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F., on Oct. 19, 1865, and took an active interest in that lodge until June, 1873, when he withdrew to assist in organizing Harmony Lodge, No. 115. He was also connected with Brant Encampment No. 3, and, previous to his death, was elected its Senior Warden. He was Past Grand of Gore Lodge, and Chief Patriarch of Brant Encampment, and at the 15th annual session of the Grand Lodge of Ontario, held at the City of Hamilton in Aug., 1869, he held the position of Grand Guardian. The memorial in the Grand Lodge's report says of him. " A just man and one that feared god, and of good report." He was a member of Brant Avenue Methodist Church, one of its original trustees, and a very active worker. In politics he was neutral, and for twenty years was Returning Officer for Municipal Elections. for sixteen years previous to his death he never polled a vote, and never held any public position. His son. T. A. Noble, was born in Toronto, Nov. 20th, 1845, and came to Brantford when three years of age, where he received his education. He learned the painter's trade in London Ont., in 1862, and remained there four years. Returning then to Brantford, he worked with his father up to the latter's death. Mr. T. A. Noble has been engaged in sign painting, decorative art, &c., for twenty-one years, and in the spring of 1871 went into the wall-paper business. In June, 1882, he bought the present property on Market St., and fitted it up in a handsome manner.
Page 527 and Part of Page 528
J. C. PALMER, proprietor of the Kerby House, Brantford, was born at Waterloo, State of New York, March 2, 1835. His father, Gordon Palmer, died about thirty years ago, and his mother, Fannie (Rothwell) Palmer, is now living with him at the advanced age of eighty years. Mr. Palmer, the subject of this biography, was reared in his native place, and in early life invented the Union Sewing Machine, the manufacture of which he carried on in company with his brother-in-law. In 1862 he came to Canada, settling first at Belleville, where he continued the manufacture of the sewing machine for some time, and for a short period kept the Anglo-American Hotel in that town. Finally, in 1864, he moved to Brantford, where he has since been engaged in the hotel business. In 1869 Mr. Palmer purchased the Commercial Hotel, and in 1872 sold that out and bought the Kerby House. This well known and popular hotel Mr. Palmer has recently enlarged and refurnished, until it now contains 130 well equipped rooms, with the reputation of being one of the neatest and most complete hotels in the Province. Mr. Palmer, who thoroughly understands hotel business, is much esteemed and respected by his numerous patrons and the citizens of Brantford and surrounding country. His urbanity and good nature as a host are too well known to the travelling public and others to call for any comment in this sketch. Mr. Palmer was married at Belleville in December, 1866, to Lucille Vanhorn, who departed this life in 1869, leaving two sons- Calhoun and Charles, both now attending Brantford public schools.
E. P. PARK, of Park & Co., photographers, Colborne Street, Brantford, was born in that city, June 2, 1858, and is a son of Seth Park, a native of Chippewa, Welland County, Ont., and a photographer by trade. He came to Brantford in 1853, and became one of the pioneers of this line of business. Edward P., our subject, obtained his education at the Brantford schools, but improved himself in the photographic art in Chicago, and in 1877 established himself in brantford under the style and name of Park & Co.( his mother being a member of the firm), and has met with very encouraging success. He now enjoys the largest trade in the city and country, employing from eight to ten assistants, and all the business is immediately under his personal supervision. Mr. Park himself has charge of the gallery and does the operating. He is a member of Brant Masonic Lodge No. 45, and the Royal Arcanum, Y.M.C.A., and of Farringdon Debating Society.
Page 528 and Part of Page 529
WILLIAM PATERSON, Brantford, who represents South brant in the House of commons, is a son of James and Martha (Lawson) Paterson, of Aberdeen, Scotland, and grandson of the Rev. Mr. Paterson, minister for years at Midmar, Scotland. His parents came to Upper Canada nearly fifty years ago, and he was born at Hamilton, Sept. 19th, 1839. he was educated in that city and at Caledonia, in the County of Haldimand. he came to Brantford in 1854, and was a clerk in a general store until 1863, when he commenced the bakery and confectionery business, being for several years in company with Henry B. Leeming; since 1876 he has been alone. His bakery and confectionery are operated by steam, with all the latest and best methods of manufacture introduced into his works, and he is doing a business in the departments of industry mentioned, of about $250,000 a year. He has a genuine pushing disposition, and probably no manufacturer in the city does a more prosperous business. He is a straightforward, high-minded man, and has an honourable standing in the community. Mr. Patterson was elected a member of the Town Council of Brantford in 1868, was subsequently Deputy Reeve for three years, 1869 to 1871, and Mayor in 1872. In the last named year, at the general election, he was elected to parliament, defeating Hon. Sir Francis Hincks, the then Finance Minister, and was re-elected in January, 1874, in September, 1873*, and again in June, 1882. He is a Liberal or Reformer, and so far as we can learn is popular with his party, and faithfully represents his constituency in the House of Commons. Mr. Paterson is a member of the Independent Church, and maintains a high character for rectitude and purity of life. He was a member of the Executive Committee of the Ontario Sabbath School Association for three years. His wife was Miss Lucy Olive Davies, daughter of Timothy C. Davies, of Brantford; they were married in Sept., 1863, and have three children living, and have buried two. Bill's note: Variation of spelling Paterson/Patterson is as printed in book! * Date should be Sept., 1878
J. W. PATTISON, furniture dealer and undertaker, Brantford, was born in the township of Crowland, County of Welland, Ontario, April 15, 1840, and is a son of Ambrose Pattison, a native of Pennsylvania, of German descent. He came to Canada when about eighteen years of age, and settled in the County of Welland, following the occupation of farming till his death, which occurred june 26, 1878. He married Maria Buchner, a Canadian by birth, by whom he had nine children, seven of whom are living. their mother died about fourteen years ago. Our subject, J. W. Pattison, was brought up in the County of Welland, and learned the cabinet-making trade when fifteen years of age, and was with John Miriam for seven years. He then went to Niagara Falls, at that time named Manchester, and from there to Conneaut, State of Ohio, and in ten months later, in 1865, come to Brantford, where he has worked as a cabinet-maker for Adam Burgy, who in making stain, set fire to his own building, which together with several others, was burnt to the ground. Mr. Burgy was so severely burnt himself that he survived but eleven days. this is one of the most destructive fires that ever visited brantford. Mr. Pattison lost all his tools, but, with commendable enterprise, in three months afterwards commenced business on his own account. In 1875, he erected the front part of his present store, and in 1880, the back part. He carries a large stock of undertaker's supplies, as well as furniture of all kinds. Having commenced on nothing, he has by his industry, accumulated a nice little property. Mr. Pattison is a member of Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F., the A.O.U.W., and the Royal Templars of Temperance, and in politics is a Reformer. On June 12, 1866, he married Sarah T. Everett, a Canadian by birth, by whom he has two children- Olive M. and Edward B. Both Mr. and Mrs. Pattison attend the religious services of Wellington Street Methodist Church.
Page 529 and Part of Page 530
DAVID LESLIE PHILIP, physician and surgeon, Brantford, was born at Richmond, near Ottawa, Ontario, January 2, 1839, and is a son of Anthony Philip, a native of Scotland, who was educated at the University of Aberdeen. Graduating there, he came to Canada, locating at Richmond, where he engaged in mercantile pursuits. He resided in Richmond about twenty years, and died at Vankleek Hill, Ontario, in 1861. He was married to Isabella Mowat Buchanan, youngest daughter of the Rev. Dr. Buchanan. They were the parents of eleven children, four sons and seven daughters, of whom two sons and five daughters are living. Dr. Buchanan was a descent of an old Scottish family, several members of which took a leading part in Scottish ecclesiastical history. Our subject, Dr. Philip, was educated at the High School of Vankleek Hill, in the Valley of the Ottawa, and attended McGill Medical College, Montreal, graduating as M.D. in 1861. His college course was a distinguished one, he having obtained the Holmes prize for thesis, the highest prize then conferred by the University, and also the first prize in the class of clinical medicine. After leaving college he went to Woodstock, Oxford County, and entered into partnership with Dr. Turquand, a distinguished physician, who for two years was President of the Ontario Medical Council. This partnership was continued for three years; then Dr. Philip went to Plattesville, in the same county, and was there seven years, enjoying a very large practice. When he left this place the medical profession of Oxford County tendered him a public dinner in the Town Hall, and presented him with an address and a magnificent case of surgical instruments. He came to Brantford in 1872, and has since been engaged in practice here. He has been very successful, and does a large and lucrative practice, having made many warm friends. Dr. Philip is well known to the profession in Canada, having contributed many leading articles to the current medical literature. He is a member of Brant Medical Association, and for one year officiated as President; he is also a member of St. Andrew's Society, being President once, and Brant Lodge No. 45, Masonic fraternity. He is connected with Zion Presbyterian Church, Rev. Dr. Cochrane, Pastor, and is one of the Board of Management, and has been one of the Trustees of the Brantford Collegiate Institute for the past six years.
D. B. PHILLIPS, proprietor of the Kerby House Drug Store and Notion Emporium, Brantford, was born in county Down, Ireland, March 26, 1845, and is a son of William and Mary Jane (Rennie) Phillips, also natives of Ireland, and descendants of old Presbyterian dissenters of Scotland. They came to Canada in 1847, and settled in the County of Leeds, Ont. In the mother country William Phillips was a wholesale linen merchant, but on coming to Canada entered farming pursuits. He died in 1854, but his wife still lives on the old homestead. They had four sons, all living, the subject of this biography being the only one in Brant County, and he was but two years old when he reached this side of the Atlantic. Remaining in Leeds County till he was seventeen years of age, he taught school for five years, and then learned the drug business in Hamilton, Ont. A year later he went into business at Caledonia, Haldimand County, and in another year moved to Selkirk, same county. Six months later on he went to Cayuga, and in another six months to Simcoe, County of Norfolk, where he managed a wholesale waggon for Dr. Wilson for one year. In December, 1872, he came to Brantford, and travelled for two years in the interests of Hyslop & Russell, in stationery supplies. After travelling three years on his own account in the same line, he opened his present store, and supplemented drugs to his former lines of merchandise, and has met with very fair success. His trade is wholesale as well as retail. he has two waggons on the road, travelling over twelve to fifteen counties, selling stationery and notions. Mr. Phillips has been the architect of his own business, and during his six years travelling with the wholesale waggon has covered as many as 30,000 miles, thus having travelled with team 5,000 miles more than the circumference of the globe. Mr. Phillips is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and a Reformer in politics. he was married September 17, 1872, to Priscilla Fry, a native of Haldimand County, by whom he had two children, one surviving, Mary Winifred; Wesley T. is deceased. Mrs. Phillips is a member of the wellington Street Methodist Church.
SAMUEL G. READ, the leading auctioneer in Brantford, was born in that city, May 12th, 1843, and is a son of the late Samuel Read, a native of Brockville, Ont., and in early life a Baptist minister, prominent as such in Brantford, but owing to an affection of the throat was compelled to retire from the ministry. He was married to Jane B. Scott, an English lady, brought up in New Brunswick, by whom he had a family of 7 children, four of whom survive, all living in this country, two in Brant County. Their mother is also living, and resides in Brantford. Samuel G. Read, our subject, was brought in brantford, receiving a good common school training, and in early life engaged in the dry goods business for six years. On Nov. 23rd, 1870, he commenced his present occupation, which he has carried on with remarkable success, having extended it into the selling of real estate, dealing in pianos, organs and sewing machines, besides a general commission business. Commencing life comparatively poor, he has given evidence of what may be achieved by perseverance, industry and a faithful attention to business. Mr. Read married, Sept. 5th, 1865, Sarah A. Vendlebury, a native of new York City, and to them have been born 4 children, three of whom survive- Arthur, Frank and Ernest R. Mr. and Mrs. Read are members of the Baptist Church, and Mr. Read himself is deacon in that body, a member of Brant Masonic Lodge, No. 45, an alderman of the city, and in politics a Reformer.
ALEXANDER ROBERTSON, Manager of the Brantford Branch of the Bank of British North America, was born at St. Fergus, in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in 1831. He studied law in the office of Gray & Boyd, solicitors, Peterhead, Scotland, where he also learned the banking business. He was in that office over six years, and came to Canada in 1853, in service of the Bank of British North America. He came to the Brantford branch in 1854, as teller, and shortly afterwards became accountant, and in 1864 was given the management of the branch. The bank was opened here in 1845 with the late Mr. James Christie as agent, and at the time of Mr. Robertson's coming to Brantford, Mr. C.F. Smithers, now the President of the Bank of Montreal, was Manager of the Bank of British North America here. Mr. Smithers left in 1856, and was succeeded by Mr. I.C. Geddes, who retained the management until 1864, when Mr. Robertson became manager. He has therefore been in connection with the banking interests in Brantford for nearly thirty years, a much longer time than any other banker has ever been in the city. In 1878, on his return from a visit to Britain and continental Europe, he was presented with an illuminated address by the citizens, and a very handsome silver dinner and dessert service, as a mark of public appreciation of his long and valuable services to the business interests of Brantford. Mr. Robertson took an active part in the establishment of the Brantford Young Ladies' College, and has been President of the Board of Directors since its foundation. He is a Director of the Brantford Gas Company, and has been a member of the Board of Managers of Zion Presbyterian Church since coming to Brantford. He has been several times elected President of the St. Andrew's Society, an office he at present holds; is President of the Brantford Curling Club, and was one of the original promoters of the Brantford Curling and Skating Rink, and of the Victoria Curling and Skating Rink. He is a Captain of the Brantford Golf Club, and introduced this excellent game into Ontario in 1872. He was one of the original Directors of the Brant Memorial Association, and has for many years taken an active part in most of the public-spirited movements in Brantford.
JOSEPH ROBINSON, Clerk of the first Division Court, County of Brant, was born in the City of Armagh, north of Ireland, June 15th, 1818, and is the oldest of a family of nine children born to William and Mary Jane (Little) Robinson. The parents were both natives of the north of Ireland. Our subject, with his brother James, came to Upper Canada in 1832, landing at York (Toronto), where he remained four years learning the trade of house-painting, glazing and paper-hanging. After having made and saved a little money, he went to Victoria College, where he remained two winter sessions. he then went to Hamilton, and for twelve years engaged in painting, glazing, paper-hanging, etc. and in the traffic of the goods of his trade. In 1842 he married Miss Hannah Sanders, a native of Yorkshire, England, by whom he had three children: Mary Ann, deceased; Eliza Jane, wife of John W. Jones, barrister, Hamilton; and Hannah A. deceased; Mrs. Robinson died in 1848. In 1859 he went to California, and continued in the same line of business in San Francisco for twenty years. In 1852 he married Miss Eliza Jane Jones- daughter of Stephen and Mary (Smith) Jones, of Stony Creek- by whom he had four children, viz., Stephen James, doctor and graduate of McGill College; Clara Kate, wife of Albert B. Briggs, banker, Buffalo, U.S.; and Josephine, all surviving. In 1869 he returned to Brantford, and soon afterwards received the appointment of Clerk of the Division Court, in which capacity he still continues.
Page 531 and Part of Page 532
EBENEZER ROY, J. P., Brantford, is a retired merchant. He was born in the west of Fife, Scotland, February 28th, 1812. His father was a native of the parish of Dunfermline, Scotland, and a manufacturer of bed and table linens; he employed about sixty hands in his manufactory, and was moderately successful in business. Some five or six years previous to his death he retired from business, and finally passed away at the age of 67 years. He married Elizabeth Keeler, a niece and ward of Alexander Keeler, of the Royal british Navy. He was a lieutenant in the service, but after retirement became captain by seniority. Alexander and Elizabeth Roy still survive. Mrs. Roy died at the age of fifty-six years. The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native country; he then emigrated to Canada, stopping in Montreal for one, and thence came to Hamilton. About 1843 he came to Brantford, and soon after established himself in a general mercantile trade. He carried on this business for a period of fourteen years, and by strict attention to it and commendable economy, combined with ceaseless energy, he succeeded in building up a large trade, and retired from active business life with a comfortable competence. Mr. Roy, is a Reformer in political opinion, but has never been a politician. For about six years he represented the citizens of the ward in which he resides in the Town Council. In religious principles Mr. Roy is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, presided over by the Rev. Mr. Beattie, B. D. Mr. Roy was united in marriage August 17th, 1848, to Mary Elder, also a native of Scotland. Two children were born to this union, both dying in childhood. Mrs. Roy departed this life in 1878. Mr. Roy is a quiet, practical man, of great force of character, and his name is a guarantee for integrity, soundness and fair dealing. He is distinguished by simplicity of character, purity, frankness and earnestness of purpose.
Page 532 and Part of Page 533
WALTER BOSWELL RUBIDGE is the youngest son of the late Captain Charles Rubidge, many years Registrar of the County of Peterborough. Captain Rubidge was born in London, England, on 30th April, 1787. In 1796 he entered the Royal Navy on board the Arrow sloop of war, commanded by his uncle, Captain Portlock, R.N., and from that time till the peace of 1815 he saw much active service, having been twice wounded, and engaged in many of the most memorable naval battles of that eventful period. In 1819 he, with his wife and three children, emigrated to Canada, landing in Quebec on 24th June, and proceeding from thence as rapidly as then possible, reaching Cobourg on 19th July of the same year. In 1820 he settled on a farm in Otonabee, in the Newcastle District, where the subject of this sketch was born on 27th July, 1827. Captain Rubidge had a family of three sons and three daughters; the eldest son died some years ago; the remainder are all living in Canada, married, and have large families. He was appointed first Registrar of the County of Peterborough in 1841, and held that office till his death. He was the oldest magistrate of what formed the Newcastle District, and one of the oldest officers of the navy at the time of his death, which occurred on the 5th of February, 1873, in his 86th year; his wife (also a native of London) had preceded him to the grave only three or four years, at the mature age of 81 or 82. The family are all members of the English Church, except Mr. W. B. Rubidge, who left that church in 1870, and became associated with the Brethen. Mr. Rubidge was educated at the Peterborough Grammar School under the tuition of Rev. Moses Williamson, and read with the Rev. R.T.C. Taylor, rector, preparatory to his examination for entering the Law Society. On becoming an enrolled student he entered the law office of the late George B. Hall, then M.P. for the Colborne District (now Peterborough Co.), and afterwards County Judge. In 1847 he came to Hamilton, and finished his student life in the office of the present Hon. Mr. Justice Burton and Charles A. Sadler, Esq., his partner. On being admitted to the Bar in 1849, he immediately formed a partnership with the late Geo. S. Tiffany, Esq., of Hamilton, and managed the business of that partnership- Mr. Tiffany being in Washington associated with Mr. (now Sir) Francis Hincks in effectuating the Reciprocity Treaty- for the period of about one year, when he removed to Brantford, and entered into partnership with the late lamented John Cameron Esq., Clerk of the Peace for this county. This firm did a large legal business. In 1856 Mr. Rubidge returned to Peterborough, where he practised law alone for some years, during a great portion of his residence there assisting his father in the Registry Office, at the same time carrying on his practice. During the Southern Rebellion in the States, the Canadian Government, unsolicited, appointed Mr. Rubidge Passport Officer for the County of Peterborough, which office he held till the close of the war. Shortly after this he opened offices simultaneously in Norwichville and Otterville, Oxford County. Business there not proving satisfactory, through the influence of his brother-in-law, Hon. E.B. Wood, late Chief-Justice of Manitoba, then one of the Sandfield Macdonald Government, he was on 2nd June, 1868, appointed Clerk of the County Court, Deputy Clerk of the Crown, and Registrar of the Surrogate Court for this county. On 22nd August, 1881, under the provisions of the Judicature Act, the offices of Deputy Clerk of the Crown and Deputy Registrar in Chancery (the latter then held by Judge Jones) were combined under the title of Local Registrar of the High Court of Justice, which office, along with those of Clerk of the County and Registrar of the Surrogate Court, he now holds. On 15th May, 1852, he married Miss H. A. Martin, the elder daughter of the late Dr. P. Martin (the younger daughter afterwards being married to the late Chief-Justice Wood). Mr. and Mrs. Rubidge have had ten children, four daughters and six sons, all now living except one son, George Bertram, who was drowned near the Rev. Abram Nelles' residence in Grand River Canal, in august, 1870. Mr. Rubidge is a commissioner for taking affidavits in the Counties of Peterborough, Victoria, wentworth and Brant, and a Notary Public for Ontario; and with the exception of James Wilkes, Esq., is the oldest appointed Commissioner and Notary in this county. He also held when a young man an Ensigncy in the Colborne District (Peterborough) Militia and a Lieutenancy in Captain Henry Racey's Company of the late Gore District Militia, if we recollect aright.
THOMAS S. SHENSTON, Registrar of the County of Brant, was born in London, England, June 25th, 1882*; is the son of Benjamin and Mary (Strahan) Shenston, and is remotely related to the poet Shenstone. When Mr. Shenston was a bout nine years of age, the family emigrated to Upper Canada, and after sojourning one year near the Town of Dundas, County of wentworth, went to the Township of Woolwich, County of Waterloo, ten miles north of the Town of Guelph, taking two and a half days to make the journey with two yoke of oxen. There thomas had ample opportunities for exercise in swinging the axe in the compact woodland, without the diversion of hunting up a school-house conveniently, the nearest being at Guelph. Two years later the family removed to the Township of Thorold, in the Niagara District, near the "Decew Falls," on a hundred acre farm, purchased from Nicolas Smith. This farm proved to be a heavy clay and unproductive, and Mr. Shenston became discouraged, and prevailed on his father, in 1837, to allow him to go to St. Catharines and learn the saddle and harness trade, and while there became a volunteer, during 1838, to fight the rebels, being in Captain Mittleberger's company under Col. Clark. In 1841 Mr. Shenston went to Chatham to settle and start in business for himself, but the climate not agreeing with him he moved to East Woodstock, where he did an extensive business at his trade, and erected, among other buildings, the east half of the three-story brick block, known as the "Elgin Block." In 1848 he had his dwelling house, shop and the Elgin Block, destroyed by fire while uninsured. During 1846, 1847 and 1848, he was a member of the Council of the District of Brock. as the representative of the Township of East Oxford, and for several years he was School trustee for the Town of Woodstock. In 1849, when 27 years of age, Mr. Shenston was appointed Magistrate, and during the last two years of his residence in that county, he did more magisterial business than all the other seventy-five magistrates in the county. In 1849 Mr. Shenston sold out his premises and business, and for a year or two before he left that county he was Secretary-Treasurer of the Woodstock and Norwich Road Company, County Clerk of Oxford, and Secretary of the Board of Education for that county, and a School Trustee for the Town of woodstock. In 1852 he was Census Commissioner for the county. On January 21st, 1853, when the County of brant was formed, he was appointed Registrar, and has held that office ever since. This appointment necessitated his removal to Brantford, the county town. In 1853 he was appointed a Magistrate for the County of Brant, and Commissioner in Queen's Bench. From January 1st, 1869, in a house furnished rent free by Ignatius Cockshutt, he sustained an Orphans' home for twenty or twenty-two orphan girls, being, however, aided to extent of one-half by Mr. Cockshutt for the last five years. He is a Senior Deacon of the First Baptist Church, and, with trifling exceptions has been Superintendent of the Sunday School of that church for over twenty-five years. Mr. Shenston, who is literally a self-educated man, holds several other offices, and is ever busy with his pen. He was married, December 30, 1843, to Mary Lazenby, of East Oxford, and their family numbered six children, two of whom died in infancy. Noami Ann is the wife of Richard R. Donnelly, an extensive publisher, Chicago; Reuben Strahan learned the drug business, but abandoned it for the art of printing, and is now one of the proprietors of the Brantford Expositor; Joseph Newton is deputy Registrar for his father; and Ruth Davidson is the wife of Rev. Elmore Harris, pastor of a Baptist Church in Toronto Ont.
Page 534 and Part of 535
SHULTZ BROS. are proprietors of the planing-mill on Albion Street, Brantford. This industry was established by George C. Shultz as a hand business at the same place, and was carried on by him alone for about three years. Two brothers then, Henry E. and William D., became associated with him under the firm name of Shultz Bros. One or two other men have also, from time to time, been associated with them, but the name of the firm has not been changed. About twelve years ago, they purchased 200 feet frontage on Albion Street, on which they erected the planing-mill and office. The mill proper is of frame- 58 x 100 feet square, two stories in height, which also includes the engine-house, and this building has been fitted up with the best improved machinery, run by a 35 horse-power engine. They employ an average of twenty-five men in the business, ranging from ten in winter to thirty-two in summer. They make up and supply all kinds of supplies and material to builders in this and other counties. In connection, they also operate a box factory, and supply box materials to almost all the establishments in the city using boxes, and make up boxes themselves as well. They have lately erected a two story brick structure, 35 x 48, which adjoins the frame building on the east side, and which enables them to fill an order for an ordinary frame building inside of twenty-four hours. All the three brothers are practical mechanics, and have the entire supervision of the business themselves, and employ only the best skilled men. The general business for the past year amounted to $50,000. The father of the Shultz Bros., John C. Shultz, was born in Demerara, South America, and came to Brant County about 46 years ago. He was a book-keeper by occupation, and was in the employment of Strobridge & Botham, Brantford, for eight or nine years, after which he lived in retirement till his death, which occurred in March, 1867. He married Caroline Lampkins, an English lady, and by her had a family of ten children, seven of whom survive, all in Brantford. Their mother is still living, and also resides in Brantford. George B. was born in Kingston, Ontario, Oct. 28th, 1841. He learned the carpenter trade with William Watt, and then taught his brothers the same trade. He is the senior member of the firm of Shultz Bros. He was married in October, 1869, to Elizabeth Squires, a native of England, and to this union there were three children, one only surviving, named Hammill. Mrs. Shultz died May 5th, 1877. Mr. Shultz again married in May, 1880, the partner of his choice being Jennie S. Hammill, a Canadian by birth, by whom there is one child, Laura. Mr. Shultz attends the First Baptist Church, and his wife is a member of Brant Avenue Methodist Church.
JOSEPH SHUTTLEWORTH (deceased), was born in Lancashire, England, in 1807, and spent his younger days in his native land. In the year 1830 he came to Canada, settling in Brantford, where he was engaged in the distilling business for some years with Mr. Mawby. By trade he was a baker, and was proprietor of a bakery and general confectionery for several years. Subsequently he was engaged in the butchering trade for many years, and then moved on to a farm. In 1867 he came to brantford where he died on December 24th of that year. Mr. Shuttleworth was a member of the Methodist Church, and one of its charter members. He married in Brantford Ellen Duckworth, also a native of Lancashire, England, by whom there was a family of six children- five living. The mother is also living, and enjoying good health in her sixtieth year. James R. Shuttleworth, canner of fruits, Brantford, was born August 7th, 1848, and received his early training in Brantford. When quite a young man he engaged in the grocery and fruit business, and when nineteen years of age bought out E. Sims & Son. This business he carried on for twelve consecutive years, when he entered the wholesale foreign and domestic fruit trade and canning industry. In 1875 his brother Joseph M. entered as a partner, and in 1878 went to England in connection with the business and became a member of the firm of Simonds & Co., fruit brokers, Liverpool, England, for which firm he acts as agent. In June, 1882, another brother, George, became associated in business. Shuttleworth Bros. enjoy an excellent trade in Ontario, and have established an agency in Chicago. James R. is a member of the A.O.U.W. Lodge, a reformer in politics, and, with his wife, is an adherent of Brant Avenue Methodist Church. He married October 1881, Martha, daughter of Wesley Howell, by whom he has one child, Hugh R.
S. SIMMONS, grain dealer and merchant, Brantford, was born in England, March 7th, 1826, and is a son of Samuel Simmons, a farmer, of England. He came to Canada in 1834, and after sojourning a short time at Cobourg, Ont., bought a farm in the County of Oxford, Ont., where he died May 5th, 1853. He married Jane Bacon, also a native of England, by whom he had a family of nine children, three still living, and the subject of this biography is the only one of them residing in this county. Mrs. Samuel Simmons died in 1854, just a year after her husband. Our subject was brought up on the farm in Oxford County with his father from 1834 till 1852, a period of eighteen years. he then came to Brantford, and a year later entered the grocery and grain business, which he has carried on with sufficient success to enable him always to pay his debts and have something left. He is known throughout the county and elsewhere as a large buyer of grain. In 1852 he married Ann Topham, a native of Ireland, and had a family of seven, five of whom survive, viz.: John F., with his father in business; Mary J.; James H., also with his father; Margaret L., wife of Wm. E. Mann, coal merchant, Brantford; and Elizabeth. Mrs. S. is a member of Wellington Street Methodist Church, and Mr. S. regularly attends services in the same church. He is a Reformer in politics, but is too busy to become an office-holder.
Page 535 and
Part of 536
CLAYTON SLATER, proprietor of Craven cotton Mills, Holmedale, near Brantford, was born at Burnoldswick, Yorkshire, England, January 22nd, 1839, and is a son of John and Mary (Roberts) Slater. Mr. Slater is owner of a large cotton mill at his native place (Burnoldswick), where he also learned the manufacturing business. On May 20th, 1880, the foundation for the Holmedale Cotton Mill was laid, and the establishment was opened for business in May, 1881. Mr. Slater erected the building, but the business is now owned by a stock company, although he is the heaviest stockholder. He is also treasurer, director and manager of the mills. Mr. Slater has recently erected and put into operation a wincey factory adjoining the Holmedale Cotton Mills. He is a member of the First Baptist Church, and has a family of two sons and one daughter.
JOHN SMITH, Sheriff of the County of Brant since this county was separated from Wentworth and Halton, was born on the "Grand River Tract" on the present site of the City of Brantford, February 9th, 1808. His grandfather, for whom he was named, was a United Empire Loyalist, and taken prisoner during the Revolutionary War, and liberated about the time that a British Ship, passing up the North (or Hudson) River, broke the chain that was strung across the stream. The parents of our subject were Joseph and Charlotte (Douglas) Smith, both natives of the Empire State. Mrs. Smith is a descendant, in the sixth generation, from William Douglas, who came to America near the middle of the seventeenth century and settled at New London Conn. Hon. Stephen Arnold Douglas, United States Senator for many years, from Illinois, was of the same branch of the Douglas family. John was educated in country schools at Blenheim, County of Oxford, and Smithville, County of Lincoln, losing his father in the latter township about 1838. He farmed until about seventeen years of age, and clerked for a merchant at Grimsby and Hamilton three or four years; opened a store for himself at Paris in 1831; removed to Hamilton in 1837, and after merchandising there for three years, returned to Paris, and was in trade there until 1853, when he was appointed Sheriff of the newly set off county- all the sheriff the County of Brant has ever had. He is very punctual and efficient in discharging his duties. Sheriff Smith was secretary of the first meeting held at Hamilton after Lord Durham had made his report of the status of the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, recommending their union, which took place two or three years later (1841), the Hamilton meeting approving the recommendations of the report. Sheriff Smith is a member of the Church of England, and served at one time as a Warden of Grace Church at Brantford. He is a man much respected for his good social and moral qualities. In 1834 he married Miss Mary Sheldon, a native of this Province and a daughter of Wm. B. Sheldon, the pioneer merchant of Hamilton, Wentworth County, and one of the Commissioners under the Government in constructing the Burlington Canal, connecting the waters of Lake Ontario with the Bay, the present harbour at Hamilton. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have had six children, of whom two survive- Charles Edwin, Deputy Sheriff under his father, and Emma Jane, wife of Charles Bruce Nimmo, who resides in Port Huron, Michigan.
Page 536 and Part of 537
SAMUEL SNIDER, Assessor of the City of Brantford, was born in the Township of Trafalgar, in the County of Halton, Province of Ontario, October 29th, 1825. He is a son of David Snider, native of Pennsylvania, who moved with his parents to Maryland when quite young. After the Revolutionary War, at about the age of twenty, he came with his parents to Canada. As one of the U. E. Loyalists he became a pioneer in the County of Halton. He lived until his death on his farm, situated on Lot No. 6, 2nd concession north of Dundas Street-old survey-in the Township of Trafalgar. He died Feb. 23rd, 1873, at the ripe old age of 78 years and 6 months. His wife was Eliza Marlatt, a native of New Jersey, who came with her parents to Canada with the Loyalists. Her death occurred Oct. 22nd, 1851, aged 60 years. Mr. Samuel Snider, the subject of this sketch, was the seventh of a family of ten children, of whom eight are still living. he received a provincial education in his native township, and was trained to farming, working with his father until his marriage to Huldah, sixth daughter of Peter Kennedy, Esq., of the same township, in January , 1850. After his marriage he carried on lumbering business along with farming, but met with serious losses by fire, losing mill-house and barns. He removed to Paris in 1858, in the County of Brant, and in 1865 came to the City, then Town, of Brantford. During those years he was engaged in the agricultural and implement trade and grain commission business. He received his present appointment as Assessor in 1872, and because of his faithful service has been retained in that office. His happy marriage has been blessed by a family of five children, viz., Hettie E., widow of the late Geo. P. Batson, solicitor; P. Wellington, financial agent of the W. U. Telegraph Company, St. John, N. B.; George A., photographer, Brantford; D. William, in the ministry of the Methodist Church of Canada, and Ida R., the youngest daughter, in the parental home. Mr. Snider has always been and is a staunch supporter of all temperance reform, and has for a long time sustained an official connection with the Methodist Church, of which he with his family are members, and worships in Brant Avenue Church. In Politics he is a Liberal-Conservative.
A. SPENCE, manufacturer of buggies, carriages, waggons, sleighs, and general blacksmithing, Brantford, was born in the north of Scotland, August 8th, 1830, and is a son of Thomas and Catherine Spence. His paternal grandfather was John Spence, and his mother's father's name was Magness. A. Spence having partially learned blacksmithing in Scotland, left there in 1850 for Canada, and worked at his trade in Quebec and Belleville, and then learned the carriage business in Hamilton with Williams & Couper, who at that time employed seventy men, and did the largest business in Canada of that kind. He remained there for three years, and on April 21st, 1854, came to Brantford, where he first worked for Smith & McNought, who failed during the crisis of 1857. Mr. Spence then rented a shop on a lot near his present stand, and started business with one assistant, soon after employing three or four hands. On June 12th, 1864, he was burned out and then bought his present lot, built two brick shops, and was in them five weeks from the time of the fire. He added shops as his business required them, and he now employs twenty hands; his place is second in size in the city. His sales are mostly local, but he ships a great deal to Manitoba. He is a member of Brant Lodge, No. 45, and of the A.O.U.W., Lodge 71, of which he was a chart member, and Master for the first two terms. He has been a Councillor for many years, and for several years was one of the Board of School Trustees, and in politics is a Reformer, "Clear Grit." Mr. Spence was married in January, 1854, to Sarah Speer, a native of the north of Ireland. They had two children, both living, but his wife died November 16th, 1858. He was again married in September, 1860, to Margaret Spence, a native of the north of Scotland, and has had two children by this union. Mr. Spence, wife and family, are members of Zion Presbyterian Church, of which he has been an elder for the past twenty-two years.
Page 537 and Part of page 538
JOHN SPENCE, collector of Inland Revenue for the Brantford District, was born in Ireland, July 27, 1830, and is a son of Henry and Ellen (Singleton) Spence, who never came to Canada, and are now deceased. They were the parents of six sons and two daughters, of whom four sons and two daughters survive. The subject of this biography is the only one of the family in Brant County. He was brought up and educated in Ireland, and passed his early life on his father's farm. Coming to Canada in 1854, he settled in the County of Peel, Ont., where he found employment as clerk in a general store. Here he remained two years, when he went to London, Ont., and acted as a book-keeper in a general store for six months. From London he moved to Oshawa, Ont., and was assistant for W. H. Gibbs & Co., for a short time. With an intention of settling in Waukesha, State of Wisconsin, he went there on a visit to his brother, but returned to Canada, and in a short time entered the grocery and liquor business in Toronto, which he carried on successfully for ten years. During four of those years he represented St. Andrew's Ward in the City Council and St. Patrick's Ward for four years in the School Board. In 1868 he retired from business and entered the Excise office as Second-class Excise Officer, in which he remained 2 years. After an examination, he was promoted to First Excise Officer. Two years later he was promoted to the Deputy-Collectorship at Kingston, in which he remained twenty months. He was then appointed Collector of the London District, which position he held for nearly five years, and until March 15, 1880, from which time, on account of ill health, he had leave of absence, until in February, 1882, he was appointed Collector for the Brantford District. Mr. Spence is a member of St. Jude's (Episcopal) Church. He has five children living, viz., Lucinda Ellen, Francis Henry, Elizabeth Margaret, John Henning and Catharine Frances. Frederick William Alexander is deceased.
Part of Page 538
JOHN H. STRATFORD, Brantford, was born in Oswego N.Y., May 13th, 1840, and is a son of William H. Stratford. he came to Brantford with his father and mother when but an infant, and was educated in the public schools of this city. When fourteen years of age he joined his father in the drug business, and remained with him until 1869, being at that time general manager of the business, which was entirely wholesale. Previous to this he was engaged in other mercantile operations, and in 1866 commenced the lumbering and oil business in Brantford and other points in Canada and the United States. In 1869 he formed a partnership with Henry Yates, which has continued to the present time, and with success. Mr. Stratford formed a limited partnership in 1870 with Donald Nicholson, since deceased, and Robert Chisolm, both of Hamilton, for the purpose of constructing that portion of the Great Western Railway between Glencoe and Simcoe. That work was completed in 1872, and affairs wound up and the partnership dissolved. The contract as performed proved a very difficult one, owing to the construction at the same time of the Canada Southern, but gave entire satisfaction to the Great Western Railway Company. He has been engaged in numerous other mercantile transactions. He was married in 1868 to Sarah Jason Harris, a native of Toronto, and fifth daughter of the late Thomas D. Harris, a prominent wholesale hardware merchant there. He is a member of the Church of England, and a Conservative in politics.
Page 538 and Part of Page 539
WILLIAM H. STRATFORD, retired druggist, Brantford, was born at Sheerness, County of Kent, England, September 12, 1808. His father, John Stratford, M.D., was born at Penn Bucks, near Beaconsfield, England; he was a member of the Royal College of Surgeons, London, and Surgeon in Lord Grantley's Regiment, one of England's home guards during the then wars, while stationed at Sheerness. On the death of his wife Dr. John Stratford came to Canada in 1833, joining his eldest son Samuel. He resided at Bytown, now Ottawa, and there took up the active duties of his profession, and soon built up an extensive practice; and while at Bytown he also officiated as Military Hospital Steward. Returning to London, England, he was summoned to give testimony before the House of Lords in favour of Lord Durham's report of Canada. On his return to Canada he resided at Woodstock, to which point Dr. Samuel John Stratford had removed, and at Brantford with his son. He died at the latter place, and was buried at the former in 1845, aged 73 years. Dr. John Stratford married Mary Ann Thomas, of Great Marlow, Bucks, and by her had six children, William H., the subject of this sketch, being the only survivor. His eldest brother, Dr. Samuel John Startford, was educated at Rochester, County of Kent, England, and at St. George's and Westminster Hospitals, London- a pupil of William Charles Bell, lecturer on anatomy, physiology and pathology, Great Windmill Street, London, and also a pupil of the celebrated physician, Zuthrie, at his eye infirmary. Dr. S. J. Stratford was a member of the Royal College of Surgeons, London, and having obtained his diploma, he received a commission as Assistant Surgeon in the 72nd Regiments, Scotch Highlanders, stationed at Dublin, which commission he sold on coming to Canada. He removed from Bytown to Woodstock, where he resided nearly twenty years, having during that time an extensive practice, being widely known and respected in this part of Canada. Sir John Colborne, then Military Governor of Canada, presented him, as also some other settlers, retired officers, land grants in the vicinity. From Woodstock he removed to Toronto, where he lectured on anatomy for DR. Rolph. Subsequently he went to Auckland, New Zealand, his letters from there containing such interesting and graphic reports, and being widely printed in the English papers, conduced very materially to the large emigration which so rapidly peopled that beautiful island. He died at Auckland in 1871, leaving a large practice to his son-in-law, Dr. Wright, late of Toronto. Wm. A. Stratford was educated in at Eton and Dublin, and was a pupil at the Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin; also with Mr. Carmichael, M.D., Surgeon to the Richmond Surgical Hospital in that city. Mr. Stratford preceded his father to Canada, sailing from the London docks with his brother Samuel to New York in 1831. In that city he resided three years, and afterwards went to Oswego, where he married his first wife by whom he had three sons and one daughter. He came to Brantford in 1844, where his wife died, much respected. He carried on a retail drug business up to 1856, when he was joined by his son John, the business after a time becoming retail and wholesale, drugs and groceries. In 1869 his next son, Joseph, came into the firm, and the business became almost exclusively wholesale. In 1871 his son John retired from the business and in 1875 W. H. Stratford retired, after a business life of over thirty years in this city. His son Joseph is now an extensive wholesale druggist, keeping a general country store supply of drugs and grocers' sundries, and woollen mill and naval store merchant.
Part of Page 539
B. G. TISDALE, proprietor of the Brantford Stove Works, was born in Ancaster Township, Wentworth County, October 28, 1814. His father Lot Tisdale, was a native of Freetown, near Boston , State of Massachusetts, whose father being a U.E. Loyalist, moved from his native place to New Brunswick. In 1783 he came west and settled in the County of Norfolk, Ontario. In 1806, and during his residence there, married Ann Swain, a native of England, and with her moved into Ancaster Township. From there they moved, in 1830, to Burford Township, where both died. Their family numbered fourteen children, of whom three died young. The subject of this biography was the third child, and was fifteen years of age when his parents went to Burford Township, and remained on the home farm till he was twenty-six years of age, at which period he commenced farming for himself, and so continued until April, 1846, when he came to Brantford and engaged in selling stoves on salary. In the summer of 1850 he entered into partnership with Messrs. Gould & Bennett, with whom he carried on business for three years, when the partnership was dissolved, Mr. Tisdale taking what they called the up-town business, and continued this business for three years, when he built an extensive foundry of his own, and has since then been engaged in the manufacture of stoves and castings, his business being known as the Brantford Stove Works. On January 30, 1840, he married Elizabeth Pickle, a native of New Brunswick and a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Birdsall ) Pickle, and to this union two children were born- Edwin J., who died in infancy, and Arthur B., who is now engaged with his father in business. He was born April 17, 1850, and on September 25, 1878, was married to Mrs. Susie (Coleman) Brooks, by whom he had one child that died in infancy.
Page 539 and Part of 540
GEORGE ROBINSON VANNORMAN, Q.C., County Crown Attorney, and Clerk of the Peace for the County of Brant, and senior member of the law firm of VanNorman & Purves, was born March 12th, 1821, at Canandaigua, in the State of New York, and is American born and of American parentage. His parents removed to Ontario in the fall of the same year, taking up their residence at Normandale, in the County of Norfolk, where the father Mr. Joseph VanNorman, with Mr. tilson, afterwards the founder of Tilsonburg, and Hiram Capron, afterwards of Paris, established in partnership a blast furnace for the manufacture of iron from the ore found in that neighbourhood. Mr. VanNorman was educated partly at the District School for the then London District, near Vittoria, finishing at the Cobourg Academy. In 1841 he entered the law office at Simcoe, Norfolk County, of the late Judge Salmon, where he remained two years, and finished his career as a student in the office of the late Hon. Robert Baldwin Sullivan. At the expiration of his time he was offered and declined a partnership with Mr. Sullivan. In Trinity Term, 1846, he was sworn in as an attorney, and in Hilary Term, 1847, called as a Barrister-at-law. He began practising his profession in Toronto, and continued there until 1849, when being urgently requested by his father, who had become involved in his heavy business transactions at Normandale and Marmora, to assist in the adjustment of the large interests involved, he removed to Simcoe. At the time of his removing to Simcoe he was in partnership with Dr. McMichael, Q.C., of Toronto. In Simcoe he practised his profession about 9 or 10 years having as a partner during the last two or three years of his residence there the late Hon. M. H. Foley, who completed his studies with Mr. VanNorman. In January, 1859, he removed to the City of Brantford, and in March of that year was appointed County Crown Attorney. In 1863 he took into partnership Mr. F. M. Griffin, a former student in his office, severing this connection in 1866. On the 28th February, 1873, he was made a Queen's Counsel by the Dominion Government and by the Ontario Government. In 1874 he became ex officio Clerk of the Peace by the decease of the late John Cameron, the former incumbent of that office. His son, Mr. F. VanNorman, now a practising advocate of Minneapolis, Minn., became a partner in 1873, and remained in this connection until 1876. Subsequently to this time Mr. VanNorman continued the practice of his profession alone until the formation of his present connection with Mr. Purves. Mr. VanNorman's professional career has been eminently successful. As an advocate he holds a high position among his confreres of the Ontario Bar, and is always listened to with attention by the Court. He has strong logical powers, is possessed of a strong common sense, which is seldom met with among the juniors of the Bar of to-day, who according to lay opinion, prefer technicality to reason, and rigourous rules to broad equities. Mr. VanNorman's large experience as counsel, his legal acquirements, his devotion to the interests of a client, have secured for him the well-deserved reputation of being an excellent lawyer, and one of the leading counsel in Western Ontario. This distinction given to Mr. VanNorman over ten years ago, by both Federal and Provincial Governments, of his silk gown, when but very few barristers west of Toronto were honored with a Queen's Counsel's commission, is an evidence of his professional character and ability. The Hon. E. B. Wood, the late Chief-Justice of Manitoba, received his commission as Queen's counsel contemporaneously with Mr. VanNorman, and these were the only two Gentlemen in Brantford whose professional status was thus elevated. Mr. VanNorman's relations with both Bench and Bar have always been most cordial, and he is held by the profession generally in high esteem.
Page 540 and Part of Page 541
ALFRED WATTS, Sr., member of the well-known mercantile firm of A. Watts & Co., Brantford, was born in London, England, in 1830. His parents were Charles and Eliza (Riddiford) Watts. In 1832 the family emigrated to Niagara, Canada, where they remained two or three years, when they removed to Brantford. Here Mr. Charles Watts engaged at first in mercantile pursuits in a modest way, but gradually increased his business until he controlled a wholesale grocery trade recognized as one of the best in the place. He was a large manufacturer of soap and candles, and being a practical clear-headed man, was very successful, and at the time of his death, in 1868, was one of the leading citizens of Brantford. Alfred Watts, our subject, received his early education from private tutors, and subsequently spent a year at the Upper Canada College, Toronto. He then entered his father's store, where he received a good practical business training. He was manager of his father's soap and candle manufactory from 1848 until 1851, and then went to England. Returning the same year he started a distillery in Brantford, but in 1863 sold it out. About the same time he bought the Bunnell Flour Mills on the canal, and has been ever since actively engaged in the milling business. In 1867 he purchased the mercantile interests of his father, and in 1871 took Mr. Robert Henry into partnership, since which time the firm has been known as A. Watts & Co. They are largely interested in the manufacture of soap and candles, being proprietors of the Brantford Soap Works, one of the largest establishments of the kind in the Dominion. they manufacture a very superior article and supply a constantly growing trade that extends from the Maritime Provinces to British Columbia, their transactions which are steadily on the increase amounting to over half a million dollars annually. Mr. Watts owns a large hardware store at Paris, Ont., which is managed by his eldest son, Charles. Although never seeking to be other than an active practical business man, Mr. Watts has to bear his share of local official duties. He has been Reeve, Deputy Reeve and Councillor, and has held office about twelve years. Since 1875 he has been ineligible for civic offices owing to the terms of his purchase of the water-power previously owned by the city. Under its management there was an annual loss of from $4,000 to $5,000, but since Mr. Watts obtained possession of it, it has become a paying and greatly improved property. That Mr. Watts has been an eminently successful business an is fully attested by the enviable reputation he enjoys wherever known, as well as by his excellent financial standing. He is a staunch adherent of the Conservative party and a firm believer in its Protective Tariff Policy. Mr. Watts married, in 1857, Clara, daughter of T. Richard Brooke, of Toronto, by whom he had four children, two only now living. His first wife dying, he married, in 1868, Mary A. Brooke, sister of deceased, by whom he he has had four children, three of whom are now living.
JAMES F. WATT, of Workman & Watt, brick-yards, Brantford, was born in Brantford, June 12, 1849, and is a son of William Watt, whose biography appears in another part of this work. James F. Watt received his early training in Brantford, and at one time was connected with his father, for thirteen years, in the planing-mill business, and in 1880 became a member of the firm of Workman & Watt. He studied under an architect, at Toronto, named James Grand, for two years, and besides being practically engaged in his father's business has kept the books and managed the financial affairs for him for some years. he is an adherent of Zion Presbyterian Church and in politics a Reformer.
Page 541 and Part of Page 542
WILLIAM WATT, Mayor of the City of Brantford, and contractor and proprietor of the planing mills and lumber-yard on Waterloo Street in that city, was born in Monymusk, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in July, 1818, and is a son of the late James Watt, a native of the same shire, and a farmer by occupation, his death occurring in Scotland in 1862. James Watt was married to Elizabeth Steel, a native of the parish of Fyvie, Aberdeenshire, and had a family of eight children, seven sons and one daughter, of whom there survive five sons and the daughter, two of the sons being in Canada. The fifth son, William, the subject of our sketch, was reared in Monymusk, and attended, only during winter months, the parochial school in the place, till he became 15 years of age. In summer time he assisted his father on the farm. At the age of 16 he was apprenticed for four years to the joiner's trade, and then worked for three years as a journeyman for various employers. In August, 1843, he emigrated to Canada by himself, and remained in Hamilton and Dundas, upper Canada, for but a few days, then came to Brantford, where he was first employed by one David White, for the winter. In the spring he received an engagement with William Mellish, which extended over three years. His next employment came from VanBrocklin & Co., foundrymen, on a job of manufacturing separators, but he shortly established himself in the building business, in which he has ever since been engaged. About the year 1855 he erected a shop near the spot where the present first Baptist Church stands, and ran the machinery for five years by horse-power. Finding his business fast increasing, he bought the land on which the present factory stands, and erected a planing-mill, run by steam-power, which stood for a year, when it burnt down. This event necessitated the erection of the present extensive planing-mill, which is fitted up with the latest improved machinery. For the last twenty years he has done the largest business in his line of trade in the county. Mr. Watt has been a member of the Mechanics' Institute for 40 years, and Treasurer of it for many years, until two years ago, when he resigned. He is also a member of the St. Andrews' Society, and has been treasurer of it for nearly 30 years, as well as President for one year. He was one of the promoters of the Royal Loan and Savings Society, and has been Vice-President and a Director since its foundation. he took an active part in establishing the Brantford Young Ladies' College, and has always been identified with it as one of its Directors. He has been a member of Zion Presbyterian Church for many years, and Chairman of the Managers' Board for the past 13 years. He was elected a member of the town council in 1868. In 1882 he was elected Mayor of the city, and at the end of the second term was re-elected by acclamation. In politics he has always been a reformer. He married Oct. 2nd, 1844, Elsie Cruickshank, daughter of John Cruickshank, farmer, Gourdas, Fyvie, Aberdeenshire, and Sarah Milne, daughter of Alexander Milne, farmer, Petty, Fyvie, by whom he has a family of eight children, viz.: William, of the firm of Watt & Shenston, publishers of the Brantford Expositor; Elsie, wife of A. A. Allan, wholesale furrier and hatter, Toronto; James F., of Workman & Watt, proprietors of the Brick-yard, Brantford; Lizzie, wife of Stephen Nairn, coal merchant, toronto; Helen, wife of William H. Harvey, general merchant, Meaford, Ont.; Mary, wife of James G. Cockshutt, President of the Cockshutt Plough Works, Brantford; Robert, travelling salesman of Adam Hope & Co., hardware merchants, Hamilton; and Bella, at home.
WM. WATT, Jr., editor and publisher, born at Brantford, Sept. 29th, 1845, son of Wm. Watt, present Mayor of brantford; educated at the public and grammar schools; matriculated in the University of Toronto in 1862, and graduated in 1866 with the degree of B.A., and as silver medalist in modern languages. Subsequently, in 1873, he received the degree of LL.B.. from the same institution. Adopting the legal profession, he studied in the office of Hugh MacMahon, Brantford, and Strong, Edgar & Grahame, Toronto, and was admitted an attorney, and called to the Bar in Michaelmas Term, 1869. He practised his profession for several years in Brantford, some time in partnership with Mr. Daniel Brooke. In 1874, with Mr. W. C. Trimble, the former manager, he purchased the Brantford Expositor, a Liberal journal with which he had been for some time identified as a writer. In 1878, Mr. Trimble's health failing, he bought out his interest, and devoted himself entirely to the newspaper and publishing business. In 1882 he took into partnership Mr. R. S. Shenston, son of the County Registrar, the firm now being Watt & Shenston. He is a Liberal in politics, very active in the promotion and advocacy of Liberal principles, and known in connection with the newspaper press as a terse, vigorous writer, strongly attached to and zealously upholding the party with which he is associated. He married November 10, 1875, Rebecca S., second daughter of Robert Balmer, Esq., of Oakville, by whom he has three children, a son and two daughters.
Page 543 and Part of Page 544
MR. W. E. WELDING, manufacturer of stoneware, whose portrait we give elsewhere, was born in the Village of Caledonia, Livingston County, State of New York, Sept. 17th, 1819, and is the youngest son of James Welding, a native of York County, Pa., a farmer by occupation. At the age of 23 years James Welding left the home of his childhood andemigrated to the State of Maryland, locating in the city of Baltimore.Here he married Nancy Agnes Purdy, a native of that city. After aresidence of a few years in Baltimore he removed with his family, consisting of his wife and three children, to Caledonia, N.Y., where three more children were added to his family, when his wife died 5th December , 1824. Mr. Welding moved thence to Hopewell, Ontario Co.,where 7 years later, he married Catharine Miller Gamber. A favourable opportunity offered for more satisfactory results in the pursuit of his calling, and he subsequently changed his residence, and this time located near the Village of Knowlesville, Orleans Co. After a few years of moderate success in his farming he chose a more retired life, and removed to Jeddo, near Medina, same county, where he died at the age of 76 years, having been 25 years a zealous member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr W. E. Welding, the subject of this sketch, grew to manhood in the State of N.Y., and when 18 years of age left his father's home and with some friends embarked on the Erie Canal and "took to the saddle." He travelled between Buffalo and Albany twice in this capacity,when he was promoted to the position of bowsman, and made his third trip to Albany, when , from severe illness, he was obliged to resign his post and return to his home. Recovering his health, and having a liberal education, he commenced teaching school in the vicinity of Brockport,and taught during five consecutive winters, and emigrated to Canada in 1841, locating 3 miles east of Brantford, where he again commenced teaching, and taught for three years, and then married. Being early taught the principles and practice of total abstinence from intoxicatingliquors, he took the lead in orgainizing in his school and district thefirst abstinence society ever organized in any rural district in theCounty of Brant. The movement meet with great favour, and the societygrew and prospered numerically, and in its work of reclaiming theintemperate. Soon after the closeof his third year of teaching, he commenced travelling for an agricultural warehouse in Toronto, the society controlling it publishing a monthly farmers' paper, entitled the American Agricultural and Canada farmer. In this capacity he travelled four years, being very successful. He then came to Brantford, and shortly after accepted the position of general travelling salesman for the firm of Morton & Co., Maufacturers of Stoneware, remaining with that firm and their successors for 15 years, when he and a Mr. Belding bought out the business and entered into partnership, under the firm name of Welding and Belding. Messrs. Welding and Belding carried on the business of stoneware manufacturing for five years, when the factory was burned, and a dissolution of partnership followed, Mr. Welding retired from the business. A few months later on he repurchased the old pottery site, and rebuilt the factory in the spring of 1873, and has since carried it on alone, and with more than ordinary success, until the "Brantford Stoneware Works," by which the factory is now known, holds the proud distinction of standing at the head of a list in this department of industry in the Dominion of Canada. The pottery building was originally constructed of wood, but is now substantially built of brick, having all the modern improvements suggested by years of experience and observation in the business. Mr. Welding was married 28th September, 1847, to Mary Jane Hawley, a pupil of his first school in Canada, daughter of Abram and Jane Barton Hawley, who emigrated to Canada from the State of New York, and settled near Caisville in the year 1810. Mr. and Mrs. Welding's religious proclivities were of the Methodistic order, and they early became allied to the Wellington Street Methodist Church, under whose auspices they worshipped until shortly after the breaking out of the American Rebellion in 1861, when they withdrew and cast in their lot with the Congregational Church, under the pastorate of the Rev. John Wood, now of Ottawa. Mr. Wood being called by the Missionary Board of the Congregational Union to a new field of labour, and accepting the call, resigned in September, 1874, a pastorate he had held for over 21 years. Mr. Welding had for seven years held in this church the official positions of Financial Secretary and Pew Steward, was a member of the building Committee, and latterly amember of the Deaconate, and realizing his responsibility, was always prompt in the discharge of his duty. Circumstances which occurred immediately subsequent to Mr. Wood's removal, appeared to justify the withdrawal of Mr. and Mrs. Welding from the church in which they had laboured for many years, but which had now ceased to be a spiritual home to them; and in August, 1875, Mr. Welding threw off the mantle of official responsibility which he held, and withdrew from the church. In October following he, with 25 other disaffected members of the old church, invited a council of ministers of the Congregational Union to consider their application to "organize a second Congregational Church." The council convened in the parlour of Wycliffe Hall, the "Young Men's Christian Association Building," and after due deliberation organized these brethen, under the authority of the Congregational Union, for regular church work, the society taking the name "Emmanuel Congregational Church." The church on application was duly admitted to membership of the Union, called a pastor, purchased church property, and carried on the work of the church nearly five years, increasing in membership from 25 to 92 active members, when, in 1879, their pastor, Rev. A. Vancamp, suddenly, and without any previous notice or intimation, or any subsequent explanation, resigned his pastorate and left the country. A few months later on the church closed its work, sold its property, surrendered its authority to the Union which gave it, disbanded, and its members sought a spiritual home in different churches in the city. Mr. and Mrs. Welding finding a home in Zion Presbyterian Church, of which they are now members, under the pastorate of the Rev. Wm. Cochrane, D.D. Mr. Welding's early training politically was in the schools of the Democratic party, in whose interest he was characterized by zealous devotion to its principles. Removing to Canada, and being beyond the influence of politic strife and party animosities, he had time and inclination to consider the various party developments growing out of the issues of the American Rebellion, and was not long in discovering the utter demoralization of the Democractic party in its efforts to wrest threins of Goverment from the Repulican party by making common cause with the South in her defence of slavery and the doctrine of state sovereignty; and being anti-slavery in principles , and strong in his sympathy for the slave, he gave his moral support and influence to the then Government in its efforts for the maintenance of the Union and the emancipation of the slave. Here he found a congenial spirit in the Reform party, which was outspoken in its regard and firm in its allegiance to the Administration of Abraham Lincoln in its struggle for the abolition of slavery. Mr. Welding's adhesion to Reform principles has been marked by consistency in his use of the franchise, always maintaining and exercising the courage of his convictions. Through a long business career he has commanded the respect of the community by his unbending integrity, force of character, and unmistakable adherence to principle. On the great questions that excite the political and religious world, he has never given an uncertain sound, and can always be relied upon in the cause of right.
Page 544 and Part of Page 545
H. T. WESTBROOK, proprietor of the Commercial Hotel, north side of Market Square, Brantford, was born in Oakland Township, Brant County, Feb. 15th, 1844, and is a son of Abram Westbrook, who was one of the early children of this county, having been born in Oakland Hollows in 1798. He was married to Angeline Fairchild, of Brantford Township, and their family numbered thirteen children, seven of whom are now living. their mother still resides on the old homestead. The subject of our sketch H. T. Westbrook, was brought up on the home farm, and in early life kept a hotel in Drumbo, twenty-two years ago, for six months, when he moved into a hotel at Mount Pleasant, where he remained for eighteen months. he next came to Brantford and kept the Farmers' Exchange Hotel, on Dalhousie Street, for three years, at which time (1876) he rented the Commercial hotel, and five years later bought it out. It is built of red brick, three stories high, with a frontage of 132 feet. In this hotel Mr. and Mrs. Westbrook, who are far-famed for their excellent hospitality and the comforts they extend to their guests, have met with the success that is justly merited by good hotel-keeping. Mr. Westbrook is a member of the grand Lodge of Masons of Ontario, and in politics is a Conservative. He is an excellent sportsman both in hunting and trapping, and during the six or seven years he was a member of the Dufferin Rifles, he was always "to the front" in rifle matches. He was married in October, 1863, to Esther J. Hall, a native of Oakland Township, and daughter of Thomas Hall, a pioneer of Oakland Township, by whom he had three children- Frederick, Jennie and Munson.
FRED WESTBROOK, eldest son of H. T. Westbrook, is a champion bicyclist of Canada. He was born August 2nd, 1864, in Oakland Township, and resides in Brantford. In 1882 he won, in bicycle riding, eleven gold medals, one revolver, two silver cups and one clock. On e medal was for the five-mile championship of Canada, one for the two-mile championship of Canada, and one medal for the championship over all Canada. Ten of these are first prizes and one a second prize. The clock was gained in fancy riding and the two cups for fat riding.
Page 545 and Part of Page 546
JAMES WEYMS, Police Magistrate, and an old pioneer resident of Brantford. He was born in Kingscourt, County Cavan, Ireland, May 16th, 1815, and is a son of thomas Weyms and Anne Whaley, the former of whom died in the old country in 1827; his mother and five children, four boys and a girl, came to Canada, locating at Kingston, where she died the following September. When our subject was twenty-one years of age he parted with his brother, who was City Surveyor, and came west to Toronto, which was a smaller place than Kingston at that time, and taking a boat there to hamilton, arrived in Brantford, August 30th, 1836. He once tossed a penny to see whether he would go to London or remain in Brantford, and it decided his remaining in this place. He had only one dollar and fifty cents on his arrival here. He engaged with Mr. A. Huntington, and remained with him for some years; and from Mr. Huntington who was the wealthiest man in Brantford, he received a good business education. Mr. Weyms then entered into the sale and manufacture of boots and shoes near the Iron Bridge, that engaging his attention until 1856 or 1857. About 1860 he retired from active business and in 1858 was appointed Magistrate, and Police Magistrate in 1865, holding that position to the present time. He was councillor for two or three years, and also Reeve and Deputy Reeve, and subsequently Mayor for three terms. He has been much interested in improving the city, and has built sixteen residences and one business block on Colborne Street. For twenty-two years he has been a chief of the Six Nations Indians, and is held in high esteem by them; they repair to him for advice and counsel; they have implicit confidence in his judgment. When a misunderstanding takes place between husband and wife, the woman will immediately apply to his worship, who will send for the man, and after admonishing both, setting forth the duty the one owes to the other, a reconciliation will take place, and the results are many happy families on the reserve through his instrumentality. In 1860 he was called Rugystondya: by interpretation, " The Lightning Flash." Mr. Weyms was married in 1840 to Mary O'Neail, a native of Ireland, and seven children were born to them, three now living; she died in August, 1863. He was again married in 1865 to Mary Gray, a native of Ireland, and two children were born of this union. Mr. and Mrs. Weyms are members of the Wellington Street Methodist Church, of which he is one of the trustees.
W. T. WICKHAM, grocer and proprietor of "Crystal Hall" (crockery and glassware), Brantford, was born at Norwich, Ontario, March 8, 1847, and is a son of James Wickham, a native of Bristol, England, and a carriage-maker by trade. He (James Wickham) came to Canada about the year 1830, and selected Norwich, Ontario, for his future home, where he died in 1850. He married Eliza Trews, also a native of Bristol, England, and by her had eight children, three of whom survive, our subject being the only one residing in Brant County. Mrs. James Wickham is still living in Norwich. W. T. Wickham who was reared and educated at Norwich, came to Brantford in 1864, and was engaged as clerk with Robert Turner for six years, when he entered the employment of W. D. Catlin, and remained with him two years. In 1872 he went into the grocery business on his own account, at 17 George Street, Brantford, and has continued in it, with marked success, ever since. About October, 1882, Mr. Wickham opened up "Crystal Hall"- crockery and glassware- and has, by energy and hard work, built up a good trade. He employs about six men as assistants. In September, 1871, he married Emily Harris of Caledonia, Ontario, who died in February, 1875, and by her has one child- Henry. He again married, in April, 1877, the lady of his choice being Florence Renner, a native of Hartford, Ontario. Their family consists of two daughters- Grace E. and Ethel M. Mr. Wickham is a member of Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F.; is a Reformer in politics, and a member of the First Baptist Church.
ALFRED J. WILKES, of the firm of Hardy, Wilkes & Jones, barristers, Brantford, was born in the City of Brantford, December 5, 1847, and is a son of James Wilkes, one of the oldest and most prominent pioneers of Brant County and Brantford. He was educated principally in Brantford, and when sixteen years of age commenced studying law with Daniel Brooke, remaining with him four years, and then went to Toronto and completed his studies with the Hon. S. H. Blake, with whom he was about one year. Mr. Wilkes then returned to Brantford, and the following three years was in partnership with Mr. Brooke, the firm being Brooke & Wilkes. Subsequently he practised one year alone, and in 1873 became a partner of Hon. Arthur S. Hardy, and has been in constant practice altogether for fourteen years, being admitted to the courts in February, 1869, upon reaching majority. He is a Master of Doric Lodge, No. 121, A.F. & A.M., and is now Chairman of the Board of Public School Trustees for a second term, and has been a member of it for the past seven years. He was Captain of No. 3 Company, Dufferin Rifles for seven years; and is an adherent of the Congregational Church.
Page 546 and Part of Page 547
GEORGE H. WILKES, retired manufacturer, Brantford, was born in that city June 8, 1836, and is son of James Wilkes. He is owner of the greater part of the "Wilkes Tract," which was almost entirely purchased by him, none having been inherited. Mr. Wilkes was brought up in Brantford, but received his education at the Caradoc Academy. When he left school in 1850, he was engaged in the capacity of clerk of John Brethour, and remained with him nearly two years. Next he was clerk of a steamboat plying between Brantford and Buffalo, via Grand River Canal and Lake Erie; he was forwarding clerk one season; then clerk of a steamboat next season, plying between Montreal and Hamilton. In the following spring he attended the American College at Buffalo, and went through his course in ten weeks, which was followed by an appointment as book-keeper for a wholesale house for groceries in Buffalo, which position he held till the firm collapsed. He then returned to Brantford, and was book-keeper for G.S. Wilkes of the firm of Taft & Co., iron founders. This firm failed and became C.R. Wilkes, which house also failed after constructing a cast-iron bridge over the Grand River. Their place of business was the present site of Wm. Buck's foundry. Mr. Wilkes then taught a class in book-keeping for some little time. At this period the Sheriff and others interested in the estate of H.N. Taft & Co. intreated Mr. Wilkes to take hold of the old foundry; this he did about the year 1859 or 1860, and for two or three years kept forty men employed, until the old firm of Ganson, Waterous & Co., made overtures to him to accept a third interest in their business. Before accepting four years elapsed, when he accepted the overture, with a third interest, and the firm became known as C. H. Waterous & Co. At the end of three years he had a half interest. In April, 1874, the firm of C. H. Waterous & Co. merged into the Waterous Engine Works Co., and Mr. Wilkes became Secretary-Treasurer, which position he held from 1874 till 1879, and from then till 1880 he was Vice-President. He then retired from the firm, still holding large interest. While in the firm, and when he sold out, he was the largest stockholder. Mr. Wilkes was also President of the Norfolk Railway when the first sod was turned by Lord Dufferin. He has been connected with the County Council twenty years, and with the City Council eight years; is a member of Grace (Episcopal) Church, and in politics a Reformer. He is a member also of Doric (Masonic) Lodge, and the Brantford Golf Club. Mr. Wilkes was married February. 1865, to Ellen M. Bemis, of Buffalo, by whom he had one daughter, now living. His wife died in Dec., 1866. He married a second time, June 10, 1873, the partner of his choice being Isabella B. Fisken, and to this union have been born five children (four living), Kate S., George S., Edna Isabel, Helen Louise, and Jessie Fisken. Mrs. Wilkes is also a member of Grace (Episcopal) Church. Mr. Wilkes is the oldest native resident of Brantford. He was born in a house on Colborne Street, below the Kerby House.
Page 547 and Part of Page 548
JAMES WILKES, Treasurer of the City of Brantford, was born in Birmingham, England, December 27, 1808, and is a son of the late John Aston Wilkes, also a native of England, where he was born February 25, 1782. He came to Canada in 1820, and settled in "Little York," now Toronto, where he was engaged in business as a merchant, and resided till the year 1826. James Wilkes (our subject) came to "Grand River Ferry," now Brantford, with John A. Wilkes, Senr., an elder brother, in 1823, and opened a branch store of their father's business. This store was situated on the bluff of the hill on Colborne Street, near the spot where William Paterson's confectionery establishment now stands. After a time it was moved to the south side of Colborne Street, about opposite where B.G. Tisdale's stove store is at present. Soon afterwards their father built a store where H.W. Brethour & Co. are, in which he and his sons, John A., Junr., and James, carried on business for some years. These were frame buildings, and were destroyed during the Rebellion of 1837. Mr. Wilkes, Senr., then built the present store, and the business was carried on under the name John A. Wilkes & Son (John A. Junr., being deceased); but he finally retired in favour of his sons James And George S., under the firm of Wilkes Bros., and some years after went to Montreal to live with a daughter, and there he died April 16, 1867, aged 85 years. He was married in Birmingham to Susan Phillips, and their family numbered 13 children, some having died in infancy. Of those surviving are: Rev. DR. Wilkes, of Montreal; James, in Brantford; Susan, wife of the late William Walker, of Montreal; William A., of Buffalo; George S., of New York City; Charles R., at Owen Sound, Ont. The latter two were born in "Little York." Their mother was born October 23, 1782; died January 11, 1858, aged 75 years, and the others in Birmingham, England. Mr. Wilkes, of whom we write, has been engaged in the insurance business for almost 20 years with great encouragement. In March, 1871, he was appointed by the Town Council of brantford to the Position he now holds. Mr. Wilkes is a Deacon in the Congregational Church, and in politics a Liberal. He was married MAy 18, 1835, to Eliza Eliot, from the neighbourhood of London, England, by whom he had a family of six children, four surviving- George H., with Waterous Engine Works Co.; James C., residing at Mount Forest, Ont.; Annie; and Alfred J.; the latter with Hardy, Wilkes & Jones, Brantford. Mrs. Wilkes died March 12, 1848, aged 32 years, 8 months, 12 days. Mr. Wilkes again married, in 1848, the partner of his choice being Agnes Hook, a native of Scotland, to which union there was one child born who survived infancy- Agnes S.M., wife of W. A. McLean (deceased), of Walkertown Ont. This second wife of Mr. Wilkes died January 8, 1852, and 27 years, 8 months, 14 days. On December 28, 1852, Mr. Wilkes took for his third wife Matilda Carroll, a native of Canada. The two surviving children by this union are Clara M. and Walter A., barrister in the firm of Ross, Killam & Haggart, winnipeg. Mr. Wilkes' brother, J.A., Junr., died in 1837. Mr. Wilkes is now the oldest resident in Brantford. he holds the position of Lieut.-Colonel in the 2nd Brant Reserve Militia, under commission of June 10, 1856, and served actively as Captain in the Brantford Light Infantry near the close of the Rebellion of 1838-9 for a period of six months. He was a member of the first Council of the Town (now City) of brantford, and held the position of Chairman of the Brantford School Board for a number of years. In 1828, at the organization of the present Congregational Church Sunday school he was librarian, and has been ever since- a period of fifty-five years.
Page 548 and Part of Page 549
HUGH McKENZIE WILSON, barrister, Brantford, was born in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, April 9, 1840, and is a son of Stephen Wilson, a native of Banffshire, Scotland, but now a resident of Burford Township, at Bishopgate. Stephen wilson married Miss Ann E. Melvin, a native of Aberdeenshire, Scotland, by whom he has had six sons and one daughter, all living; their mother is also living. Mr. Hugh McKenzie Wilson was but seven years of age when he came to Canada. He received his education chiefly at the Grammar School in Hamilton, of which Mr. George Elmsley was at that time Principal, and Dr. Tassie assistant. He subsequently received private instruction, the Rev. John Alexander, the Rev. Mr. Stott, and the Rev. Mr. Fenn being his tutors at different periods. He commenced the study of law in his present office with the late john Cameron, brother of the Hon. Mr. Justice Cameron, and was admitted an attorney five years later, and called to the Bar in 1866. After his admission as an attorney, he formed a partnership with the late Mr. Cameron, which continued until shortly before Mr. Cameron's death. In September, 1875, he formed a partnership with Mr. Robert Charles Smyth, and the firm enjoys one of the most remunerative practices in Brant County. In 1881 Mr. George H. Muirhead became a member of the firm, the present name being Wilson, Smyth & Muirhead. Mr. Wilson is a member of Brant Lodge, No. 45, of the Order of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He was Master of this lodge for three consecutive years. During the latter part of this period he was District Deputy Grand Master of the Wilson District, and declined re-election on account of pressure of professional business. He is also a Royal Arch Mason, and in politics is a Conservative. He has officiated as Deputy Judge of this county, having been first appointed to that office in 1872 by the Dominion Government, during a six months' leave from office of Judge Jones, and was again appointed for the third time, and held office until September 1, 1882, when all the commissions of Deputy Judges throughout the Province were revoked. In 1874 and 1875 he was appointed Master of Chancery during the illness of the late John Cameron serving until the appointment of the present incumbent, Judge Jones. In 1875 he was appointed Clerk of the County of Brant, and his firm are also County Solicitors. Mr. Wilson was a candidate in South Brant during the election for member of the Local Legislature in 1879, opposing the present member- the Hon. Arthur S. Hardy. He was married on May 5, 1872, to Miss Mary Selina Nelles, a native of Brantford Township, and second daughter of A. H. Nelles, now of Brantford City; They have three children. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson and family attend the services of Grace (Episcopal) Church. .....As a side note: If anyone read this posting they would think what a fine upstanding pillar of the community. As a lawyer he successfully managed to swindle my grandfather out of a great deal of money from an estate in England! John O.
DR. WILLIAM EDWIN WINSKEL, Brantford, was born in the Township of Windham, Norfolk County, Ontario, June 22nd, 1853, and is a son of John Winskel, a native of Westmoreland, England, and a farmer by occupation. He came to canada about the year 1832, settling in Toronto, and subsequently in Norfolk County seven years later. He died there March 7th, 1879. He married Rebecca Burns, a native of Ireland, who came to Canada when five years of age. They were the parents of two children, son and daughter, the subject of our sketch being the eldest. The mother is living and resides with her son. The Doctor was brought up in his native county, attending school in the section to which he belonged until; when seventeen years of age, he went to Scotland High School for two and a half years. he then attended trinity Medical College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. He has also spent two years in England in attending the London Hospitals and took a degree from the Royal College of Surgeons, London. Returning to Canada in 1879, he came to Brantford on October 28th, same year, where he has since practised his profession with good success. He is a member of Doric Lodge, No. 121 (Masonic), is Secretary and Treasurer of the Brant County Medical Association, and Assistant-Surgeon to the Dufferin Rifles. He is also a member of the Provincial Medical Association. The Doctor is a Trustee of Oxford Street Methodist Church.
JESSE O. WISNER, of J.O. Wisner, Son & Co., manufacturers of agricultural implements, Brantford, was born near Newburg, Orange County, N.Y., March 24th, 1811, and is a son of Moses Wisner, a native of New York, of German parentage. He was a farmer and resided in New York State, and died in Monroe County. He married Dollie Howell, a native of New York, of English descent, who died in Rochester, N.Y. They were the parents of twelve children, five living: Jesse O. and four sisters. Jesse O. came to Huron, Wayne Co., N.Y., when six years of age, and after being educated engaged in farming, remaining at that occupation until he was forty-five years of age, when he assumed the charge of Wayne County Poor House for six years. He then engaged in the livery business for two years, and in 1857 came to Canada, and engaged in the manufacture of fanning mills in Brantford. Since 1857 his business has steadily increased, until now it is one of the largest establishments of the kind in the County of Brant. Mr. Wisner and Son, W. S. Wisner, and Mr. Edward Goold, are now associated together in business. He has been a member of the Reform party, and has never asked for, accepted, or held office. For the first fifteen or twenty years of his residence here he travelled for his house. He was married March 23rd, 1835, to Margaret Sheldon, a native of New York State, by whom he had four children, three yet living. She died in New York in 1855. He was again married August 25th, 1856, to Frances A. Wells, of Lyons, N.Y., and they are the parents of four children, of whom three are living, the youngest being over seventeen years of age. Mr. Wisner, wife, and family, are all members of the Congregational Church.
Page 549 and Part of 550
JAMES WOODYATT, Clerk of the City of brantford, was born in Putney, in Surrey, now part of London, England. the latter, who was a tailor by occupation, came to America in 1834, and remained in Cattaraugus County until 1835, when he came to Brantford. Here he was engaged at his trade until his death, which occurred April 16th, 1842. He was married to Miss Harriet Gumbleton, a native of London, England, by whom he had two sons. William B., the youngest, resided in Brantford, where he was a business man for many years, and died in October, 1881. Their mother died in 1822. Mr. james Woodyatt, the subject of our sketch, at the age of ten years began to learn the trade of a tailor with his father. He followed that occupation until 1842, having gone into business for himself in 1839. In 1842, on account of ill health, he was advised by his physicians to take a sea voyage, and accordingly went on a whaling expedition for two years, after which he passed the following two years in boating on the grand River. In 1846 he resumed his business as a merchant tailor until 1856, when he engaged in the pottery business, with John Russell for a partner. Mr. Russell left the partnership in about a year, and Mr. Woodyatt continued the enterprise until 1859, when he closed out, and in February of that year was appointed to his present position by the City Council. He is a member of Gore Lodge, No. 34, I.O.O.F., of Brant Encampment, No. 4, and the grand Lodge of Ontario, which lodge he has represented eight terms in the Sovereign Grand Lodge of that Society. He is also a member of the Congregational Church, and a Trustee and Deacon of that body. He is a reformer in politics, has been a County Councillor for the County of Brant, and from 1850 to 1853 inclusive represented one of the wards in the City Council. He was member of the School Board for four or five years, and always takes a deep interest in educational, religious, and municipal affairs. Mr. Woodyatt was married June 22nd, 1844, to Martha Woods, a native of the North of Ireland, by whom he has had six children.
JOHN WORKMAN, of Workman & Watt, manufacturers of brick, Brantford, was born in the house now occupied as the brick-yard office, December 1, 1844. His father, Hugh Workman, a native of Ayrshire, Scotland, was the only one of his family who came to America, having emigrated to the United States, settling first at Mt. Hope, near Rochester, and some time afterwards worked on the Welland Canal. He then went to Hamilton, Ontario, and afterward came to Brantford and obtained employment with Calvin Houghton, with whom he worked for three years; he then bought the brick-yard of Mr. Houghton, and operated it till the day of his death. He died April 3rd, 1879, aged sixty years. He was the pioneer brickmaker in the County of Brant, and had the largest yard. In its primitive days the clay was trod out by oxen and moulded by hand, and now, with modern appliances the yard yields a turnout of 2,500,000 bricks per annum. Mr. Hugh Workman was one of the first members of the Presbyterian Church, and one of the pioneer members of St. Andrew's Society. He married Elizabeth Turner, a native of Bytown (Ottawa) but of Scotch ancestry, and they were the parents of seven children, five of whom survive, three living in Brant County. Their mother has a handsome residence on east Colborne Street, near the yard. John, the subject of this sketch, was reared in Brantford, and in early life assisted his father in his business, a business he has been engaged in all his life. A year after his father's death (in February, 1860), he and James F. Watt took the brick-yard, and have been very successful in operating it. Mr. Workman attends the services of Zion Presbyterian Church, and in politics is a Reformer. He was married on April 25th, 1871, to Jennie Burton, a native of Burford, who died in September, 1882. To this union there was one child- Ethel May. Mr. Workman now resides with his mother.
The End ...
Go to Brantford Bios A-L
Return to Home Page
If you have problems, please email the Brant County Coordinator
Return to Home Page
Graphics and Page Design copyrighted 1999, 2000 by Vikki Gray for the benefit of the Canadian GenWeb Project. All rights reserved.