Brant Logo
 

BRANT COUNTY, ONTARIO BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES

South Dumfries Township

 

These Brant County, Ontario biographical sketches have been transcribed by Bill Bowman from Warner and Beers History of Brant County 1883. They are being posted as Bill completes them. A big thank you to Bill for his hard work!

Please use your browser's Find feature to make sure you don't miss your surname, which might be buried inside a different surname biography.

South Dumfries Township

Page 648

WILLIAM E. ADAMS, resident of Paris, and a member of the firm of Adams, Hackland & Co., of the Grand river Knitting Mills, was born January 8, 1828, in England, being a son of Charles and Amelia Adams, also natives of England. They emigrated to the United States in 1832, and on the passage out Mrs. Adams and the eldest daughter were drowned. Mr. Adams afterwards became united in marriage to Elizabeth Collins, of Providence R.I., where they remained until the year 1865, when they came to reside in Ancaster, Ont., which they did until his death, which occurred in 1870. His widow is still living, and resides at Ancaster, Ontario. William E., the subject of this sketch, settled in Paris in 1868, and was married Oct. 11, 1849, to Marion L. Hanscome at Portsmouth, N.H. This lady is a daughter of Oliver and Marion Hanscome, and was born in 1830. Of this union there were nine children, of whom six are now living, viz., Charles Edwin (junior member of the firm of A.H.& Co.), Laura, Lillie, William H., John W., and Frank. The names of the deceased are George A., drowned Dec. 11, 1869, at the age of eight years, by an accident at the knitting factory, Paris; Wallace B., aged four; and Frank who died in infancy. Mr. A. was Town Councillor in 1878, and is a member of the Masonic Order as well as the Sons of Temperance. Mr. and Mrs. Adams are members of the Canada Methodist Church, and Mr. Adams himself has been a very successful man since entering the business arena.

JACOB H. AHRENS, proprietor of the Paris Potteries, is a native of Germany, where he was born on 5th Sept., 1828, his parents, J.H. and Lena (Cook) Ahrens, being also natives of Germany, and both born about the year 1802. They were married in 1826, the former (who was a builder by trade) dying in 1836. the latter emigrated to Canada, and is still living. Her second husband was Henry Doebler, who died about the year 1878. Our subject himself was married on 21st November, 1865, to Mary A. Huberd, born in Wales in 1841, and a member of the Church of England, her husband embracing the New Jerusalem persuasion. To bless this union there were six children, four of whom survive, viz., Caroline, Nelson, Sarah and Lena, all at home at present, and going to school. While in Germany, Mr. Ahrens learnt the pottery trade as well as something of the art of war, for in 1849 he was drafted into the army, and served three years during the war with Denmark on the Schleswig-Holstein question. In 1852 he sailed for Canada, making Berlin, Waterloo County, his destination, whence he subsequently moved to brant County, and engaged in the pottery manufacture in 1859. By industry he made money, but in 1869, the unfortunate breaking away of the dam at Paris caused a loss to him of $2,558. Mr. A. has filled the office of town Councillor for five years.

Page 649

ROBERT AITKEN, farmer, Glenmorris P.O., was one of the first of the army of pioneers, and settled in Dumfries township. He was born in Roxburghshire, Scotland, and was the son of George and Esther Aitken, who both died in Scotland at an advanced age. Robert Aitken was married on June 7th, 1827, to Elizabeth Little, daughter of Andrew and Agnes Little, Roxburghshire, Scotland. She was born January 30th, 1805, and after an active life, passed away on the 4th of march, 1879. Mr. Aitken is a member of the Presbyterian Church. The first land he bought is the farm on which he is now located, a well improved farm of 108 acres. He is the father of ten children, eight of whom are still living; their names according to seniority, are Cecilia, Agnes, Esther, Janet, Mina, John, Mary, George and Jane. Esther was married, 28th October, 1853, to John Miller; Mina, was married 26th November, 1857, to William Richardson, and is now living in Campbell Township, Ionia Co., Michigan. The great bulk of the land in the immediate vicinity of where Mr. Aitken's farm now is, prior to his settling here, was owned by one Wm. Dickson, of Galt.

A. A. ALLWORTH, editor of the Brant Review, Paris, is a twin son of Rev. W. H. Allworth, who was seventeen years pastor of the Congregational Church, Paris. The Allworth family came from Wiltshire, England, in 1830, and settled on a farm at Frome, near St. Thomas. About nine years afterwards the eldest son returned to England for a year, when he recrossed the ocean and became a school teacher at a place called Southwold, County of Elgin. Subsequently he attended the Congregational College, Toronto, as a student for the ministry. The first scene of his labours as a pastor was Stratford, and afterwards he devoted nine months of his clerical duties in Burford, Oakland and Scotland Villages. In the latter place he was succeeded by Rev. W. Hay, the present pastor. In October, 1865, Rev. W. Allworth was appointed to the Congregational Church at Paris, at between that time and the latter part of September, 1882, the congregation were enabled to erect the present handsome church and manse, and made great progress, numerically and otherwise.

NELSON W. AMES, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Blenheim Township, Ont., where he was born November 12, 1814, and is the son of Brockby and Mary Ames, who were born in the United States. From there they emigrated in 1804, to Canada, and settled for about eight years in Waterloo, Ont., when they moved to Blenheim Township, seventh concession. The father was born in 1773, died in 1819; and the mother was born in 1771, died in 1827. After the death of her first husband she was united in marriage with Peter Beamer, who survived her. She and her first husband remained in Blenheim Township until the spring of 1819, when they moved into South Dumfries Township, to the farm owned by Leonard Sovereign. Mr. Brockby Ames was a farmer all his days, with the exception of the period during which he was engaged in fighting his country's battles. He took part in the Battle of Lundy's Lane, the most stubborn fight of the War of 1812-1815, and received a wound that ultimately caused his death. He was also present at the engagement of Queenston Heights, where General Brock was killed, October 13, 1812. Nelson W. Ames, the subject of our biographical sketch, married October 16, 1838, Ruth Muma, who was born in East Dumfries Township, November 4, 1821. She is a daughter of Christian and Ann Muma. Her father was a native of Pennsylvania, and her mother of New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Ames are members of the Methodist Church, and are parents of nine children, seven of whom are living, viz., William N., Ruth J., James A., Alexander T., Emma A., Mary L. and Maggie. The deceased are William N. and Charlotte. Mr. Ames has filled the office of School Trustee, and has met with marked success in the farming operations. From 100 acres of land, on which he first started he has now 530 acres of well cultivated land, with comfortable dwelling houses and substantial outbuildings.

Page 650

DANIEL ANDERSON, deceased, was a native of Monroe County, State of New York, where he was born 2nd April, 1805. His Parents, Daniel and Catharine Anderson, came to Canada in 1825, and spent the remainder of their day there. The former, who had followed the pursuits of farming during his life, died in 1857, and the latter in 1858. Daniel, the subject of our sketch, was married 6th March, 1834, to Christina McPherson, a native of Genessee County, New York State, having been born there 22nd July, 1811. Mr. Anderson died 14th June, 1882, a member of the Dumfries Street Church, Paris, and beloved and respected by all who knew him. He filled for two terms the office of County Warden, and was Township Reeve for eighteen years and Deputy Reeve for two years, before the township was divided. As an acknowledgment of their appreciation of his long service as reeve and Deputy Reeve, the people of the Township of South Dumfries presented Mr. Anderson, in Feb., 1870, with a handsome gold watch and chain. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson had a family of three, two surviving- John and Christina Ann. The Late Mr. Anderson had a good early educational training, and built himself up by his industry a fair competence, and left, at his death, a comfortable home for his widow and family.

THOMAS J. ANDERSON, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Dumfriesshire , Scotland, where he was born Feb. 7, 1827. His parents, James and Jane Anderson, were born in Scotland, the father dying there about the year 1830, and the mother dying in England about the year 1865; the former had been a farmer during his lifetime. Thomas J. Anderson emigrated in 1844, and settled in New Brunswick for a period of five years, when he moved to Perth County, Ontario. Here he remained four years, and still working eastward, found himself next in Blenheim Township, County of Oxford, where he settled for eighteen years. Finally he removed to the farm in Brant County, where he and his family now reside. He was married, Jan. 24, 1851, to Jane Kyle, born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, Jan. 6, 1829; she emigrated to Canada with her mother in 1844. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are members of the Presbyterian Church, and have had a family of nine children, seven of whom survive, viz., James, Margaret, Janet, John K., Elizabeth, William and Jeanie. Christina was born March 10, 1866, died Jan. 21, 1876; Thomas was born March 19, 1868, died Jan. 19, 1876. Mr. Anderson has been a very successful farmer all along. He has a fine farm of 150 acres, well cultivated and highly improved land.

Page 651

CHARLES ARNOLD (deceased). The parents of the subject of our sketch, who were married about the year 1814, emigrated in 1883* from England to Canada, and settled in Paris, where they resided up to the day of their death. They brought to Canada with them a family consisting of three sons and two daughters, of whom only John is now living. the late charles Arnold was born in Bedfordshire, England, 17th December, 1818, and married 13th February, 1844, Agnes Taylor, who was born in the neighbourhood of Belleville, Ont., 1st February, 1819, and died 5th May, 1854, a devoted member of the Baptist Church. By this union there were four children: Amelia, born Feb. 25, 1846, and married to Charles Clarkson, B.A., Head Master of the Provincial Model School , Toronto; George, born Oct. 18, 1848; Charles, born Oct. 22, 1850, died May 4, 1877; and Susan A., born April 12, 1854, died Sept. 12, 1854. Mr. Arnold's second wife whom he married Jan. 17, 1855, was Margaret Shackleton, a member of the Congregational Church, and daughter of William and Elizabeth Shackleton, natives of New Jersey, but who emigrated to Canada in 1795, and took up their abode in Jerseyville, Ancaster, Ont. The children by this marriage are Ella A., born May 31, 1857, married to Edward Moyle, of St. Paul's Minnesota; and Ida E., born Sept. 17, 1861, married to W. B. Nesbitt, of Bloomington, Illinois. Mr. Arnold, who was proprietor of the Paris Nurseries, which he established in 1852, was probably the oldest horticulturist in the Province, and was widely known all over the American continent as an enthusiastic and intelligent nurseryman. He had been Director of the fruit Grower's Association ever since its formation, and was originator of several varieties of grapes, and his hybrid wheat has attracted great attention. In 1872 he gained the gold medal at the Hamilton Ontario Exposition for a new and hardy variety of white wheat; in 1876 he obtained the Philadelphia Centennial medal for a very superior show of fruits &c; and from the seed of the "American Wonder" pea, that he sold to Bliss & Sons, New York, he realized the handsome sum of over $2,000. Mr. Arnold had been fifteen years in the Town Council of Paris, and was also Deputy Reeve for some time. He died on Sunday April 15, 1883, deeply regretted by a large circle of friends and acquaintances throughout the country.
Bill's Note! * Date in Book does not match other dates recorded

JOHN ARNOLD, Paris, was born on July 8th, 1817, in England, and is a son of Isaac and Amelia (Cook) Arnold, both natives of England, the latter being on Nov. 19, 1789. Being married in England, they emigrated to Canada in 1833, and settled in Paris, where they resided until the day of their death. Mr. Arnold Sr., who was a gunsmith by trade, died in 1869, and Mrs. Arnold on May 3, 1841. Mr. John Arnold was married Sept. 24, 1848, to Deborah Ward. This lady was born in Charlotteville Township, Norfolk County, on May 27, 1827. Her parents, John and Eliza Ward, were both natives of the United States, and are both gathered to their rest. Mr. and Mrs. Arnold are members of the Baptist Church, of which Mr. A. is also a Trustee and Deacon, and he has as well, represented his constituents in the Council for twelve years, and for two years acted as Deputy Reeve. Diligence and industry have returned him a goo competency, as he owns the property on which he resides, also a fine fruit garden about half a mile from the Town of Paris.

THOMAS ATMORE, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of England, where he was born June 9, 1816. His parents, Thomas and Ann Atmore, remained in England all their lives, the father dying there in 1830, and the mother in 1874. Thomas came to Canada in 1835, first settling in the Village of St. George , Ontario, where he worked by the month for nearly 14 years. When he reached St. George, he had but fifty cents to start on. His first purchase was 100 acres of land in the Township of Blenheim, which he afterwards sold, and purchased a farm in S. Dumfries Township. He married July 18, 1850, Melinda Griffith, daughter of Eleazer and Sarah Griffith, and who was born March 28th, 1819; she died January 20, 1883. Mr. and Mrs. Atmore were members of the Baptist Church, and had a family of six children, of whom three are living, viz., Mary Ann, Thomas Sheldon, and Harriett M. The deceased are: John W., born August 24, 1853, died Nov. 7,1854; Sarah M., born Sept. 15, 1855, died January 29, 1856; and Sarah M., born March 7, 1857, died May 25, 1868. It will be noticed that two of the deceased children bear the same name.* Mr. Atmore has, by industry and care, met with prosperity in his farming operations, as he commenced with nothing, and now owns 100 acres of land, a fine brick-house and substantial outbuildings, on the farm where he and his family reside. * This is part of the bio as typed!

Page 652

CHRISTOPHER BARKER, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Paris, Ontario, in 1836, January 20, and is the son of John and Mary Barker, natives of England, and who emigrated to Canada in 1835, settling in Paris. The father was born in 1805, the mother in 1801, and both departed this life in 1871. They were married in England, and were in comparatively poor circumstances when they engaged in farming in the County of Brant. Christopher Barker, our subject, was married Sept. 15, 1864, in the City of toronto, to Lydia Elizabeth, third daughter of James and Sophia Pitt, natives of Herefordshire, England. They emigrated to Canada in 1851, and are both deceased, the father dying in 1862, and the mother in 1863. Mr. Pitt was a merchant in England, and subsequently in Toronto. Lydia Elizabeth (Mrs. Christopher Barker) was born in Hereford, March 12, 1839. She and her husband both attend the Canada Methodist Church and are members of said Church; they have a family of four children- Mary Sophia (now attending the Grammar School, Paris), John Pitt, Matilda L. and Florence L. e. Mr. Barker has been director , First Vice-President two years, and following two years, President of the North Brant Agricultural Society, and now is a Director of said society, and has filled the office of School Trustee for nine years. He resides with his family on the old homesteadfarm, which he inherited. It consists of 200 acres of very fine land, on lot 34and 35, first concession, near Paris, in the Township of S. Dumfries. Mr. Barker received the silver medal (second prize) for the best managed farm in the year 1880-this medal was given by the Agricultural and Arts Association of Ontario-when ten counties were competing for the two prizes. He also received the first prize for the best managed farm in the North Riding of Brant; this is abronze medal. Mr. and Mrs. Barker are much beloved and respected by all who know them, and are useful members of the community in which they live.

DANIEL BARKER, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of England, where he was born 8th April 1827. His parents John and Mary Barker, were also English, and emigrated to Canada, settling in Paris, Ont. Daniel Barker, our subject, married, 26th December, 1850, Louisa Havill, who was born in England, 8th August, 1842, and is a daughter of James and Mary Havill. They emigrated from the land of their birth (England) to Canada, settling in Paris, Ont., where the mother died, 5th January, 1880; Mr. Havill is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Barker are members of the Canada Methodist Church, and have had a family of five children, four of whom survive, viz., James A., married Sarah E. Sowden, daughter of the late Dr. Sowden; Robert, married Anna Haackie, daughter of Arthur Haackie; Mary E., wife of Thomas Midgly; and Willie D. John was born 5th September, 1851; died 10th September, 1852. Mr. Barker has followed farming pursuits from boyhood, and has met with success. He has resided on his present farm ever since he began for himself, which was 1852; he is owner of 148 acres highly cultivated land, and at one time possessed nearly 300 acres, but of this he gave one of his sons 130 acres, and to another $2,000 to aid him in commencing mercantile business.

BENJAMIN BELL, of the firm of B. Bell & son, manufacturers of agricultural implements, St. George, came from the Township of Grimsby, Ont., where he was born 13th September, 1816. His parents were Canadians by birth, and also, to the best of our knowledge, lived and died in Grimsby Township. Mr. Bell engaging in the occupatio of farming all his life. Benjamin Bell, the subject of this sketch, and who is a thorough representative man, moved to St. George in 1838, and carried on the business of builder up to 1857, in which year on February 17, he entered into a partnership with John Shupe for the manufacturing of agricultral implements, under the name and style of Shupe & Bell. This lasted only till August of the same year. In October of that year the firm of Bell & Lawrason came into existence for the manufacture of the same class of goods. This partnership continued for five years, and from 1862 till October, 1870 Mr. Bell carried on the business alone. It was then that the present firm of B. Bell & son first appeared, as manufacturers of agricultural implements. Mr. Bell married, on 8th June, 1837, Maria Smith, a native of Norfolk County, Ont., having been born there 18th April, 1820; she was a daughter of Barber Smith. Mr. and Mrs. Bell, who are both members of the Baptist Church, have a family of nine children, seven of whom survive, viz., Charles F., GeorgeW., Susan M., Ellen A., Cyrus N., Martha J. and Carrie E. The deceased children are Mary Jane, born 16th August, 1838, died May 10th, 1853; and Emily, born 9th October, 1852, died November 10, 1852. Mr. Bell is aJustice of the Peace, and has been Treasurer and Clerk of the Baptist Church for several years, and both he and his son have met with the utmost success in their business career.

Page 653

N. P. BENNING, cigar and tobacco manufacturer, Paris, was born in Missouri, 25th November, 1831, and is a son of John and Jane Benning, natives of Virginia, the former born there in 1779, and the latter in 1801. They were married in Virginia in 1819, and moved into Kentucky, residing there until 1830, when they again migrated to Missouri, resided there the rest of their lives. Mr. Benning, who was engaged in farming all his days, died in 1832, and Mrs. Benning in 1866. N. P. Benning, our subject, came to Canada and settled in October, 1862. He married 27th November, 1867, Mary O'Brian, who was born in Tipperary, Ireland, 4th November, 1842, and is an adherent of the Roman Catholic faith. In 1868 Mr. Benning took possession of the plug tobacco manufactory, in Paris which was commenced by Vivian & Brown in 1865, that being the only tobacco manufactory in Paris, or even west of Hamilton, then and at the present day. Feeling justified in enlarging his business, Mr. Benning, in August, 1882, added cigar manufacturing to his plug tobacco business, and has proved himself a most successful, enterprising man. As an evidence of what enterprise and perseverance may attain to, we may record that when Mr. Benning entered Paris a complete stranger, he had but about $6.25 in his pocket! Mr. and Mrs. B. have had a family of seven children, six of whom are now living- Mary J., Anna S., Lillie E., Laura M., Alice L. and Martin N.

WM. F. BLAIN, farmer, St. George P.O., was born December 6,1841, in Nelson Township, Halton County, and is the son of Jacob and Elizabeth Blain. Jacob Blain was born, October 5th, 1808, in the State of New Jersey; came to Canada with his parents, Daniel and Elizabeth Blain, in 1811, and settled in Ancaster, South of Hamilton, where he resided about two years, after which they removed to another part of the same township on the road between Hamilton and Dundas. Subsequently they purchased a farm from one Street, who lived near Niagara Falls, in East Flamboro', directly across the bay from hamilton; they resided there until the 7th day of Dec., 1853, when they came west in Dumfries, and settled on the farm on which he and his son, William F., are now living. Mr. Jacob Blain was married in 1839, to elizabeth Tufford, daughter of Jacob and Jane Tufford, of Nelson Township. She was born, June 9, 1820. Mr. Blain's father was actively engaged in the War of 1812. They had two children. William F., the oldest, is living on the homestead; Elizabeth Jane, the second child, was born December 4, 1844, and was married, December 4, 1868, to Cyrus Kitchen, of Brantford Township. William F. Blain was married, March 2, 1864, to Catherine Menzie, daughter of Robert and Catherine Menzie, of South Dumfries; she was born July 22nd, 1838. Mr. and Mrs. Blain attend the Methodist Church, and are the parents of two children- Minnie Florence, born July 14, 1865; and Norman M., born December 27, 1871. Mr. Blain received a common school education, and has been successful in life. He is working 112 acres of well improved land.

Page 653 and Part of 654

LEVI BOUGHTON, retired mason, Paris, is a native of Normandale, New York State, where he was born 26th May, 1805. He is a son of Irie and Anna Boughton, who were born in Connecticut, where they were also married. >From that State they emigrated to Albany County, State of New York, when young, and spent the remainder of their days there, the husband in farming pursuits. Levi, our subject, was married, 2nd September, 1827, to Sida Mann, born near Saratoga Springs 3rd December, 1810. She was adaughter of George and Acenia Mann, of New York. Mr. and Mrs. Boughton are members of the Baptist Church, and have had born to them sixteen children, seven of whom are living, viz., Henry, Sarah, Levi, Mary, Charles, George and Lida. They came to Canada and settled in Brantford in 1835, and in 1838 they removed to Paris and remained there ever since, Mr. Boughton carrying on his trade as mason all along. He has been honoured with the office of Church Deacon and Trustee; he had a liberal common school training, and found the rugged path of life one that, through industry and integrity, has proved itself a road to success. He has a comfortable home, in which he has lived for thirty years; he owns four houses, besides being in good financial circumstances.

O. D. BRADFORD (deceased) was a resident of Paris for over thirty years, and was a native of the United States, coming to Canada from Pennsylvania. On his arrival in the Dominion he entered into farming pursuits, and finally engaged in the hotel business, which he followed up to the day of his death, which occurence took place suddenly at his residence in Paris, 31st May, 1882. The late Mr. bradford was twice married, and his second wife was a Miss Lizzie Edmonds. She was born in Scotland, June 4, 1854, and emigrated to Canada with her parents when quite young. She is the daughter of George and Lizzie Edmonds, both natives of Scotland. Mr. Bradford amassed considerable wealth, and was beloved and respected by all who knew him. In his removal by death Paris lost a good man and an industrious and useful citizen.

Page 654

GEORGE BREMNER, Paris, is one of the standard pioneers of Brant County. He was born in Scotland, in Caithness-shire, on Easter Sunday, April, 1803, and is a son of Andrew and Janet Bremner, who were also natives of Scotland, where they lived all their days. The former was a weaver through life and two years after his death, George, whose biography we write, emigrated to the Hudson Bay Territory, where he remained six years, when he returned to Scotland for seven years, at the expiry of which periodhe came out to Canada (1835) and settled in Paris, where he kept store for seven years. Selling this business out, he took up a 50-acre farm, which he occupied for fifteen years, and this he disposed of, and returned to the land of his birth. After a two years' stay there, he finally came back to Canada, and for a second time settled in Paris, where he is now residing. He married, July 20, 1847, Isabella, daughter of Alexander Leech, and who was born January 25, 1805, died January 8, 1872. Mr. Bremner has in his possession a Bible, printed in 1620, a gift from Mrs. Bremner's brother, who died Christmas Day, 1866.

GEORGE BROWN, farmer, South Dumfries, was born in the Township of Windham, Ontario, in December 1836. His parents, George and Catharine Brown, who were natives of England, emigrated to Canada previous to 1837, and settled in Simcoe, Ont., and afterwards in Windham Township. Subsequently they moved to Paris, where they spent the remainder of their days. The father died September 29, 1862, and the mother in October 1872, in the 77th year of her age. They were married in England, and were engaged during their lifetime in farming. George, of whom this sketch is intended, was married 29th September, 1860, to Susan Kiddel, born in England, 11th February, 1838, and daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Kiddel. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are members of the Methodist Church, and had a family of nine children, of whom there survive seven, viz., Henrietta, George F., Henry A., William C., Kate Elizabeth, Alice M., and Wallace C. Mr. Brown, who underwent agood common school training, has , by his industry in farming, worked himself into a good competency, as he is now owner of 200 acres of well cultivated land.

Page 654 and Part of 655

GEORGE C. BROWN, retired farmer, Paris, was born Dec. 19, 1825, in Rome, State of New York, and his parents, Lucian and Almira Brown, were natives of New York. the former was born Jan. 24, 1803, died in 1879; and the latter was born May 22, 1807, and died in 1876. They were married in New York State about the year 1823, and lived in that State up to the day of their death. He was a hatter by trade, but in the latter part of his life took up the occupation of farming. George C., the subject of this sketch, was married, June 29, 1853, to Anna Pettit, daughter of James and Mary Pettit. She was born in the Township of Saltfleet, County of Wentworth, Ont., July 7, 1825, and is a member of the Methodist body. To bless this union three children were born- Helen E., Charles H. (married), and Alva C. Mr. Brown came to Canada in 1848, and engaged in the stove business for a time, but subsequently settled on a farm in South Dumfries Township, and continued farming until 1881, when he and his family moved into the Town of Paris, where they now reside. His sons manage the home farm, which consists of 218 acres of well improved land, with good buildings thereon. Since his arrival in Brant County, Mr. Brown has met with the success that industry and perseverance so justly merit.

WALTER K. BROWN, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in the Township of Saltfleet, twelve miles below Hamilton Ont., Sept. 9, 1822. His parents, William C. and Sophia A. Brown, were married in Saltfleet Township, and moved into the County of Brant in 1833, where they settled on a farm within three miles of St. George. The father was born in Ireland, Sept. 2, 1778, died at Stony Creek, Jan. 9, 1854; the mother was born in Montreal, Province of Quebec, May 20, 1782 died in Brant County, June 2, 1862. In 1838 they moved to what was formerly known as West Dumfries Township. Walter K. Brown, our subject, was married, March 27, 1845, to Sarah, daughter of Samuel and Margaret A. Weir, and born in Ireland, Nov. 2, 1823; she died April 29, 1862, a firm adherent of the Presbyterian faith. When Mr. brown first entered the field of agricultural labour, he bought from his father 200 acres of land, which he traded to Hugh Mitchell for 100 acres. This last parcel he sold, and purchased a share in a woollen factory, where Dr. Patton's grist mill stands, east of the Village of St. George, which he sold, and bought the 100 acres on which he now resides. Mr. and Mrs. Brown had a family of nine children, seven of whom are living, viz., Sophia A., wife of Robert Lindsay; William C., Rebecca M., wife of Wm. Robinson; Elizabeth J.; Ann J.; Samuel A., and Kingsley S. The deceased are Margaret A., born July 13, 1847, died Sept. 1, 1848; and Walter born May 2, 1858, died Sept. 21, 1858.

Part of Page 655

JOHN BUCHANAN, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Galt, County of Waterloo, Ontario, 15th August, 1821, and is a son of Alexander and Betsy Buchanan, natives of the United States, from which country they emigrated to Canada about the year 1817, and first settled at Galt, where they remained four years. They then moved to the farm in South Dumfries Township, on which Mr. Buchanan resided till sixteen years ago, when he returned to Galt and retired into private life. He is living there now with his second wife, hale and hearty, in his eighty-seventh year. His first wife died on the farm in 1842, and his second was Mary Wylie, still living. Mr. Buchanan had eleven children, ten of whom, six sons and four daughters, are still living. John Buchanan, the subject of this biography, was married 28th March, 1850, to Isabella McPherson, who was born in New York State 17th November, 1826. They are both members of the United Presbyterian Church in Galt. Their only child, Helen, was born 19th August, 1851, and is the wife of Dr. Webb, Town of Waterloo. Ontario. When Mr. Buchanan commenced life for himself, he purchased 100 acres of land, on which he at present resides, and to this he has since added 184 acres, making in all 284 acres of highly cultivated and improved land, bearing proofs of undoubted prosperity and industry.

Page 655 and 656

JOHN BURRILL, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Lincolnshire, England, where he was born August, 1825. His parents Joseph and Helen Burrill, were also natives of england, where they passed their entire life. John, the subject of this biography, was married &th December, 1858, to grace Balkwill, born in Devonshire, England, April, 1843, and is a daughter of Robert and Grace Balkwill, who were also English, and lived and died in their native land. Mr. and Mrs. Burrill are members of the Christian Church, and are the parents of eleven children, ten of whom are now living, viz., Edward, Ellen L., James, George, Frederick, John R., Rosa L., William R., Emma J. and thomas N. The name of the deceased is Lucy. Mr. Burrill emigrated about the year 1845 to the United States, and from there to Canada, settling for seven years in Paris, Ontario. He then moved to the farm, consisting of 100 acres improved land, Where he at present resides. Mr. Burrill has been engaged in farming ever since he left Paris, and has met with success. Two of his sons, Edward and James, are trying their fortunes in the North-West Territory.

ROBERT BURT, retired farmer, Paris , was born near Glasgow, Scotland, March 12, 1821, and is the son of John and Elizabeth Burt, who were also natives of Scotland. The former was born August 31, 1779, died in 1833and the latter died in 1854. Robert Burt was married, August 24, 1842, to Abigail Cornwell, who was born in the County of Wentworth, Ont., March 24, 1824, and is a daughter of Daniel and Catharine Cornwell, who were among the oldest settlers of Ontario Mr. and Mrs. Burt are the parents of six children, of whom five survive, viz., John K. and Daniel, who are engaged in farming; William and Franklin, both practising Medicine- William at Paris, Ontario, and Franklin at Norwalk, State of Ohio- and Estelle, married. the deceased is Catharine, born October 26, 1845, died January 16, 1849. Mr. Burt who received a good common school education, was a member of the first Council in the Township of South Dumfries. The following were members composing it: William Mullen, Daniel Anderson, William Roy, Robert Burt and James Sharp. Mr. Burt has also filled the office of Justice of the Peace in Brant county since its infancy, and has also represented the township as Reeve, and the county as Warden. Mr. and Mrs. Burt are members of the Presbyterian Church, and are much respected and beloved by all who are acquainted with them, and Mr. Burt, who is one of the hardy, indomitable Brant County pioneers, has met with that success in his farming operations which he so justly merits.

Page 656

WM. BURT, M.B., Paris P.O., was born March 24, 1849. He studied at the Toronto, School of Medicine, from 1866 to 1870, with the exception of the summer of 1869, when he studied in New York. From August, 1870, until August 1871, he was on the staff of the Brooklyn City Hospital; from August 1871, until February, 1872, he was Acting Assistant Surgeon of the U.S. Army in Texas. He returned to New York in February, and in June, 1872 came to Paris, where he has practised his profession ever since. On the 16th of June, 1880, he was married to Miss Janet McHoull Ballingal, daughter of David and Catharine Ballingal, of South Dumfries. Dr. and Mrs. Burt are the parents of one child, named, Abigail Florence, born July 5, 1882. They are connected with the Methodist Church, and the Doctor has for five years been a member of the Board of Education.

WALTER CAPRON, liquor dealer, Paris, is a native of the State of Vermont U.S., born there 17th October, 1808. His parents, Joseph and Roxy Capron, natives of Massachusetts, were married in Vermont about the year 1707* [* Bill's Note this date is recorded as in book (It should be 1807)], and remained there till their death. The father, who was a farmer through life, died in 1862, and the mother in 1872. Walter Capron, the subject of this sketch, came to Canada in 1834 and settled in Paris. He married in Paris, 1836, Jane Delong, who was born in New York in 1809. She came to Canada with her parents, who both are dead. The issue of this marriage was two children, Albert and Eliza M. White, who is a widow. Mr. Capron, who received a good common school education, has filled the office of town Councilor for Paris for thirteen years, and has been a member of the School Board for a number of years. He was the first citizen to engage in the grain trade after the Great Western Railway was completed and is now engaged in the liquor business, having a store in Paris. He has been very successful in life, and is found to be a most pleasant man to do business with.

Page 656 - 657

JOHN CARNIE, Paris, builder and mason, is a native of Aberdeen, Scotland, having been born there on 7th August, 1819. his parents were Alexander and Margaret Carnie, both natives of Scotland. The father was born in 1782, died in Scotland in 1852, and the mother was born in 1792. She left her native land on the death of her husband and came to canada, where she took up her residence with her son John at Paris, until the day of her death, which occurred in 1862. John Carnie was married, Aug. 7th, 1850, to Margaret Craigie, daughter of George Craigie, and born in Scotland, July 17th, 1826. Both are members of the Congregational Church, in which he has held the office of Deacon for 23 years. He has also been a Town Councillor for several years, is a member of the Board of School Trustees, and holds a commission as Justice of the Peace. He settled in Paris in 1843, and has remained there to the present day. In 1867 Mr. Carnie invented the hot air furnace so generally in use for the purpose of ventilating and warming public buildings, etc., and he has been engaged all his life in building and masonry, in which he has been very successful, to be attributed in a great measure to his industry and affable and agreeable manner. The family of Mr. and Mrs. C. consists of six children- Mary E. (wife of O. R. Whitty) John, Alexander, George C., Maggie and Charles.

JOHN CARR, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of County, Armagh, Ireland, where he was born 1st August, 1823; his parents, James and Rachel Carr, being also natives of that country. They emigrated to canada in 1834, and settled in Brant county, where the father, who was a farmer through life, died in 1869, and the mother in 1860. John was married, 11th June, 1861, to Sarah Elizabeth Willett, of Hamilton, Ontario, where she was born 23rd August, 1835, her parents being William and Harriett Willett. Mr. and Mrs. Carr are members of the Presbyterian Church, and are the parents of two children- William W. and Rachel. Coming into Brant County with but very little means, Mr. Carr has proved himself a very successful farmer, as he owns 100 acres of land, on which he resides, besides being in a comfortable circumstances otherwise.

Page 657

JOHN CLINTON Jr., owner of the sash, door and blind factory and planing mill, St. George, was born in Ancaster, Ontario, 18th February, 1834. His parents, John and Maria Clinton, were Canadians by birth, were married in 1833, and settled in Brant County, where they resided the remained of their lifetime, the latter dying in 1835. John Sr., who had been a farmer by occupation, and who died in 1872, married his second wife, Mary McCrimmon, of Shediac, New Brunswick in 1870. John Jr., the subject of this sketch, found himself a partner in life, in Ancaster, Ontario, in the person of Elizabeth McCrimmon, daughter of Archibald McCrimmon. They were married 16th March, 1836*, and are both members of the Methodist Church, and have been blessed with a family of eight children, viz., Theodore E., Caorista M., Delmar E., Catharine A., Mary, John, Minnie and Cora A. Mr. Clinton , who underwent a good common school training, is one of the oldest settlers in St. George, where he has met with considerable success in business. The planing mill he owns in the village was established five years ago, and is the largest in the place. In summer there is full employment for from ten to twelve-hands and in the winter for from six to eight. This mill was used, prior to Mr. Clinton owning it, as a grist mill under the proprietorship of John Richardson. * Note date is as recorded in book!

Page 657 and Part of 658

CORNELIUS CLUMP, farmer, Paris P.O., was born October 28,1822, in South Dumfries, Lot 17, first concession, and is a son of Zachariah and Jane Clump. His father was born in Duchess* County, State of New York, 6th of September, 1787, and died January 10, 1863. Mrs. Clump was also born in Duchess County, New York State, on the 4th of October, 1793, and she died April 7, 1874. They came to Canada about the year 1819, and were married September 4, 1821, in Dumfries, and settled on the lot on which his son Cornelius now lives. To them were born seven children; six are yet living. Their names are: Cornelius, Rachel, married to Elan Green, of South Dumfries; John, married to Amanda Jane, daughter of Edward Kitchen, of South dumfries; Alonzo, at present owning a farm adjoining the homestead; Harriet Ann and Eliza Jane. Gertrude died August 30, 1832. They were members of the Baptist Church, as are also the family. The original homestead consisted of 150 acres of land, both he and his sons kept adding to it, until at the present time they have 980 acres under cultivation, Cornelius owning 500 and Alonzo 480. This land was owned by Mr. Dickson. Previous to that to the best of Mr. Clump's belief, a Mr. Penman was the owner.

Page 658

DAVID E. CULP, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of the Township of Clinton, County of Lincoln, Ont., where he was born 20th of January, 1827, and is a son of Jonas and Mary Culp, who were also born in Canada, the former in 1798, and the latter in 1800. The father, who was a farmer, died in 1845, and the mother in 1877. They were married in Canada, but never came to the County of Brant. David E. Culp, the subject of this biography, was married 12th November, 1850, to Elizabeth Grobb, who was born in the same township as her husband, 26th June, 1829. She is a daughter of David and Elizabeth Grobb. Mr. and Mrs. Culp, who are adherents of the Methodist body in Paris, are the parents of nine children, seven of whom are now alive, viz., Dudley J., born 30th April, 1855; Joshua F., born 28th July, 1859; Martha C., born on Christmas Day, 1861; Elizabeth S., born 5th June, 1864; Eleanor A., born 28th July, 1867; Eveline L. C., born 12th August, 1869; and Silas W. C., born 9th April 1872. Hervey D. was born 9th October, 1851, died 3rd September, 1879; and Mary W. was born 25th June, 1853, died 17th February, 1872. Mr. Culp, who had the benefit of a good common school training, has practised farming from boyhood, and met well merited success. He settled on the farm on which he and his family at present reside when first coming to brant County in 1851. he bought 144 acres of well cultivated land, having good buildings thereon.

Page 658 and 659

WILLIAM GRANVILLE CURTIS, deceased, was born at Sing Sing, State of New York, in 1804, and was a son of William and Elizabeth (Sutton) Curtis, the former of whom was a native of England, and the latter of New York City, where they were married, and where they lived up till 1807, in which year Mrs. Curtis died. William Curtis next married Esther Kinnon and subsequently they migrated to Canada in 1814, and settled for a short time at Norwich, Ontario; after which they moved to Paris, and stayed with the Holme family in what was the first house of any description there. It was a log house, and stood in what is now known as the Upper Town. In course of a short time Mr. Curtis purchased from thomas Graham, an english gentleman and a cousin of the Holme family, the Brumhill Farm, consisting of 500 acres in Brantford Township, and here he and his wife, who were both Quakers, lived the rest of their days. William Granville, their only son, and the subject of this biography, was united in marriage, April 11, 1831, with Elizabeth, daughter of robert and Nancy Reid, who were natives of Roxburghshire, Scotland, and emigrated to the United States in 1819, where they died. Elizabeth, their daughter, was born in Scotland, March 23, 1811, and her husband died on the Brumhill Farm, Nov. 27, 1843. the widow and her family and her family left the farm, which they still own , in 1880, and moved to the Town of Paris, where they at present reside. They are members of the Presbyterian Church, while Mr. Curtis, in his lifetime was an adherent of the Church of England. He was Justice of the Peace for many years, even before the Rebellion of '37. His judgment was good, and he was respected by all classes. Mr. and Mrs. Curtis had a family of six children, four of whom survive, viz.: Hester F., wife of George Carroll; Elizabeth J., Margaret and M. Granville. The deceased are William Granville, born Jan. 27, 1832, died March 1857; and christopher H., born July 5, 1837, and died july 26, 1866. As a farmer, Mr. Curtis met with no ordinary success, and at his death possessed 1,300 acres of land, besides a third interest in two plaster quarries. He left all to his family.

ROBERT DALZELL, farmer, Blue Lake, Paris, P.O., was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, on the 11th of March, 1824. He was the son of John and agnes (Dickson) Dalzell, of Dumfriesshire, who both came to Canada in the year 1856, and settled near where he engaged in farming. About three years later the elder Dalzell died, and robert accompanied his mother back to Scotland, where she passed away in the year 1879. Mr. Robert Dalzell was married in 1854, to Margaret Bell, daughter of Thomas and Alice Blackstock, of Dumfriesshire, by whom he had one son, John B., who is at present studying law in Berlin. She died in the year 1864. In March 1872, he was married to Isabella Anderson, daughter of John and Helen (Gray) Anderson, who were both born in Scotland. They came to Canada in the year 1834, where Mr. Anderson died in 1865, but Mrs. Anderson still survives, and although in her 78th year, is hale and hearty. Mrs. Dalzell was born March 28, 1837. Mr. and Mrs. Dalzell are members of the United Presbyterian Church. He received a common school education, and is at present working 125 acres of land. They have had five children, of whom four survive- Janet Gray, Isabella Gray, Nellie Gray and James Anderson.

JAMES DICKSON, M.D., Paris, was born in England, july 3, 1815, and is the eldest son of David and Anna Dickson, who were married in Edinburgh, Scotland, June 29, 1812. The former was a native of Scotland, and a half-pay officer in H.M. 16th Light Dragoons, when he died at toronto, Feb. 1838; the latter, who was born in Ireland, died in Paris, Ont., March 8, 1868. They had a family of six children-four boys and two girls-of whom three sons are living. On emigrating to Canada, in 1837, they settled in Brant County, and at the Doctor was 22 years of age. Having received his education at Edinburgh High School and College, and taken his course in medicine in that city, he passed the critical examination of the University, and obtained his diploma in 1836. On arriving in Canada he commenced practising in York, but owing to the prevalence of ague there, he removed, in two years, to Woodstock, where he remained until 1848, when he came to Paris, the scene of his future labours. The doctor has seen many changes in Paris since first setting foot in it. Then there was one woollen mill , owned by Daniel Totten; one mill and one distillery, of which Norman Hamilton was proprietor. The first (English Episcopal) was erected in 1838, and there were one school house, three hotels, and one bridge. The name of the Postmaster was George McCartney, whose duties, no doubt, were not very onerous in those days long gone by.

WILLIAM DRYNAN, farmer, Paris P.O., South Dumfries township, was born in Scotland, Dec. 6, 1826, and is a son of William and Janet Drynan, also natives of Scotland, in which country they both departed this life. The father died in 1838, and the mother in 1853, their lives having been spent in farming. William, their son emigrated to Canada in 1854, and settled on the farm in South Dumfries, where he now resides. On June 2, 1869, he married Christina Turnbull, a native of South Dumfries, and a member of the same church as himself, the Presbyterian. She was born June 5, 1840, and is a daughter of Robert and Christina Turnbull. This union has been blessed with a family of six children: Christina, born Sept. 7, 1870; Janet, born August 19, 1872; William, born March 7, 1874; Robert, born May 10, 1875; David, born Nov. 9, 1876; and John, born Oct. 16, 1879. Mr. Drynan has, by his energy and perseverance, placed himself in comfortable circumstances, and he can look back with satisfaction to a career of success as a farmer.

Page 659 and Part of 660

THOMAS EASTON, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a son of alexander and Jane Easton, natives of Roxburghshire, Scotland. They emigrated to Canada in 1840, and settled in Brant County, where they remained up to the day of their death. The father died in December, 1867, and the mother on 23rd February, 1874. Mr. Easton, Senr., was a farmer in Brant County, but had been a shepherd previous to leaving Scotland. Thomas Easton, our subject, who was born 30th August, 1830, married, 31st March, 1863, Mary Richmond, a native of Ayrshire, Scotland, where she was born 24th January, 1839. She is a daughter of William and Ann Richmond, also natives of Scotland. Mrs. Easton's father died 8th March, 1879, and her mother is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Easton who are members of the Presbyterian Church, and of which he is Secretary at the present time, have a family of seven children, viz., Alexander, William, George, Arthur J., Annie Dickie, Thomas and John R. Mr. Easton, who underwent a good common school training, filled the office of School Trustee for six years, and has been a very prosperous farmer. When first starting in life, he bought 100 acres of land, and has kept on increasing, until he now owns 290 acres of well cultivated and improved land, with excellent buildings on the home farm.

ROBERT EASTON, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Scotland, July 1, 1835, and is a son of Alex. and Jeanie Easton, also natives of Scotland. They emigrated to Canada in 1840, and settled on the farm, in South Dumfries Township, where robert and his family are at present living, and there remained the rest of their days. The father was born in 1785, and died December 20, 1868; the mother was born in 1795, and died February 23, 1874. Mr. Easton Sr., was engaged in farming while in Brant County. Robert Easton, whose biography we write, was united in marriage, February 1, 1866, with Euphemia Laidlaw, who was a daughter of Andrew Laidlaw, and born in Scotland in December, 1842, and died October 7, 1878. She was a member along with her husband, of the Presbyterian Church. Their family consists of five children-Alexander, Jeanie K., Andrew L., John R. and Elizabeth A. Mr. Easton has engaged himself in agricultural work all his life, and has been very prosperous. he owns 200 acres of improved land, with solid buildings thereon, and is in generally comfortable circumstances.

Page 660 and part of 661

WILLIAM ELLIS, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Waterloo, County, Ontario, and was born 14th April, 1818. His father was one of the first settlers in this section of Canada, having emigrated from his native land, Ireland, at a very early day. He died in South dumfries Township about the year 1845, and his wife who was from Pennsylvania, died also in South Dumfries, February, 1866. They were married in Canada, and settled in Waterloo County originally, but finally moved to South dumfries. William Ellis, our subject, married in 1839, Hannah Howell, born in South dumfries, 19th June, 1821, died 12th December, 1853; she was a daughter of Jonah Howell. Mr. Ellis again married , taking for his second wife Jane Cushnaghan, born in Ireland, 20th September, 1831, and a daughter of Edward Cushnaghan. She was only two years of age when she left Ireland for Canada with her parents; her father died, 8th November, 1881. Mr. Ellis, and both his first and second wife were members of the Baptist Church, and he himself has acted as School Trustee for several terms. By his first wife he had a family of eight children, of whom five survive, viz., Jonah, Mary, Sarah, Alice M. and Hannah. The deceased are Margaret, Catharine and an infant. By his second marriage were born five, all living- James H., Edward, Judson, William S. and Frank L. Success has closely attended Mr. Ellis' perseverance and industrial habits, for from nothing comparatively he has become owner of 198 acres improved land, with fine buildings, and this he has acquired since coming into the County of Brant.

HUGH FINLAYSON, ex-member of Parliament and proprietor of the tanneries, Paris, was born in Scotland, December 12, 1810, and is the son of Hugh and Isabella Finlayson, also natives of Scotland, where they lived and died. Hugh Finlayson, our Subject, was united in marriage, October 4, 1831, with Elizabeth Russell (who was born in 1812 and died in 1845), and on September 17, 1846, he found his second wife, in the person of Miss Miller, born in Scotland in 1827, died January 1, 1865. Mr. Finlayson is a member of the Presbyterian Church, of which denomination both his deceased wives were also adherents. He was a member of Parliament three sessions, and sat twelve years in the Local House; he has also filled the offices of Councillor, Mayor, Reeve and Justice of the Peace, which latter office he still holds. Mr. Finlayson had by his first wife five children, and by his second, four, and of these, two of each maternity are now living- Hugh, William, John and Catharine. He has been connected with the political history of the County of Brant from its infancy, and at the present time, should any question of importance arise that might militate to the welfare or derogation of the community of the country, Mr. Finlayson will buckle on his armour and actively stand up for the right.

Page 661

GAVIN FLEMING, J.P. and ex-member of Parliament, was born at the Farm of Shieldhill, near Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, on 5th June, 1826, and is a son of the late John and Margaret Dobbie) Fleming, both of whom came to Canada in 1831, where the former died in 1835, at the age of thirty-five. His widow, who was born in 1803 is still living. On their advent in Canada, they settled on the Governor's road, Brant County, and Mr. Fleming is justly classified among the early adventurous pioneer farmers of the county. Gavin Fleming, our subject, was married, 21st December, 1852, to Margaret Lapraik, a native of Canada, having been born in the County of Brant 18th April, 1817; she was a daughter of James and Janet Lapraik. Mr. and Mrs. Fleming, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, are the parents of five children, of whom four survive, viz.: John (the Postmaster at Glenmorris), James, William and George. Margaret, who was born 31st December, 1865, died 6th March, 1879. Mr. Fleming was educated at Falkirk, Scotland, and came to Canada in 1849. For twenty-six years he was engaged in the mercantile business in Glenmorris. He was treasurer for South Dumfries Township during a term of four years; was made a Justice of the Peace in 1863, and appointed a Commissioner for taking Affidavits in the Court of Queen's Bench in 1870. He was first returned to the Dominion Parliament at the general elections of 1872, was re-elected by acclamation in 1874, and re-elected in 1878; upon the dissolution of Parliament in 1882, he retired from public life. Mr. Fleming when in Parliament was an advocate of a prohibitory liquor law, an elective Senate, a liberal land policy, the enfranchisement of the Indians in the older settled districts of the country, and was in favour of a fair and equitable Reciprocity Treaty.

page 661

MALCOLM FOLSETTER, farmer, Township of South dumfries, is a native of the Orkney Islands, where he was born 13th June, 1806, and is a son of William and Ann Folsetter, natives of Scotland, where they resided all their lives. The father, who had been a blacksmith in his early days, but latterly a farmer died in 1855. Malcolm emigrated to Canada in 1836, first settling in Beverly, then Flamboro', and finally in South Dumfries Township. He was united in marriage, 30th October, 1846, with Jeanette Reid, a native of Stirlingshire, Scotland, where she was born in 1812. She died 16th June, 1879, and was a member of the same church as her husband, the Dumfries Street Presbyterian Church of Paris, Canada. Their family consisted of two sons- William (single), who was born 6th November, 1847, and John R., born 26th March, 1850, and who married, 3rd May, 1881, Margaret Flett, who was born 30th April, 1858. They have one child, James Ivan Reid. When it is considered that the Orkney Islands have always sent out into the world hardy and pushing men, it is no subject of surprise to find Mr. Folsetter so successful as he has been since setting foot in the County of Brant, which was in the year 1842.

Page 662

JAMES FORD, proprietor of the only saw mill in Glenmorris, is a native of Canada, having been born 16th February, 1837, and is a son of James and Margaret Ford, the former a native of Scotland and the latter of England. They emigrated to Canada, where the father (who had followed the trade of a baker in the mother country, but became a farmer in Canada) died in 1846, and the mother in 1860. The farm which Mr. Ford Senr., possessed at the time of his death is now owned by his son, and is located on Lot 19, 7th concession. James, the subject of this sketch, was married 19th January, 1868, to Agnes Sudden, daughter of John and Margaret Sudden, and who was born 29th January, 1848. They have a family of four children-James, Margaret H., Alice H. and Antoinette. the saw mill which Mr. Ford first owned was built in 1872, and was destroyed by fire in 1877. Mr. Ford rebuilt the same the saw mill he at present owns, and it is one adapted in all respects for logging, cutting shingles, etc., and has proved , in a business point of view, an eminent success. He is also owner of the property that lies between his house and the river, as well as a blacksmith shop and two separate properties, one 140 acres and the other 290 acres- in all 430 acres-besides his town property and 100 acres in the Township of Melanchton. He has also associated the business of lime burning, and has made himself, by enterprise, one of the most prosperous men in the county.

Page 662

JOHN GRAHAM, farmer, Oak Lea House, Paris P.O., was born October 19, 1852. he is a son of John and Jane Graham, who were both born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland. His father was born June 9, 1806, and died August 9, 1872. Mrs. Graham was born june, 1816, and is still living, hale and hearty. Mr. Graham, the father of our subject, came to Canadain the year 1834. Subsequently he returned to Scotland, and again came to Canada in the spring of 1837, and settled on Lots 17 and 18 of Dumfries Township, the farm on which his son John now lives. Mr. and Mrs. Graham were the parents of nine children, four of whom are living. Their names are: Janet, born April 30, 1840, and is married to James Reith, of Thornhill, County of York; John, at present living on the homestead; Robert, born April 16, 1855; Thomas J., born March 31, 1859, and married April, 1881, to Catherine Fleming, of Paris.John Graham, our subject, was married, March 4, 1874, to Catherine, daughter of Andrew and Margaret (Currie) Graham, who lived in Dumfries. He is the father of two children, named John Andrew, born july 27, 1875; and Margaret Jane, born August 25, 1879. Mr. and Mrs. Graham are members of the Presbyterian Church, St. George. He obtained a common school education, and has been very prosperous, at present owning and working 275 acres of improved land.

Page 662 and Part of 663

RICHARD GREEN, farmer, St. george P.O., was born at Stony Creek, March 5, 1828, and was a son of Richard and Rachel Green. His father was born in the state of New Jersey, 1789, and he died August 8, 1861. His mother was born in the State of Pennsylvania in the year 1791, and died December 1, 1866. They came to Canada with their parents about the beginning of this century, and settled at Stony creek, where they lived until the year 1831, when they moved into Dumfries Township, and settled on Lot 12, second concession, where his son Richard at present resides. Mr. Richard Green was married, in the year 1854, to Margaret Ann Howell, daughter of Levi and Margaret Howell, of Dumfries Township. They have been blessed with two children- John, born March 21, 1860, was married September 17, 1880, to Mina Gollen, of Dumfries Township; they are the parents of one child- Herbert Richard, born April 25, 1882. Arthur, the youngest son, was born Oct. 13, 1869. The late William Dickson having obtained the land through the government from the Indians, there were no squatters. The first settlers in this part of country were Reuben dayton and Samuel Lennington; they were living on the second concession of Dumfries. A man named Connor was the first settler on the land on which Mr. Green is now located. The first mill for gristing was built about a mile oe a mile and a quarter from St. George.

Page 663

WILLIAM GRIFFITH, farmer, South Dumfries Township, was born in Beverly, Ontario, May 9, 1819, and is a son of Eleazer and Sarah Griffith. the father was born in Connecticut, and died in dumfries Township, March 12, 1844. He followed farming pursuits all his life. The mother was born in Pennsylvania, and is still living in dumfries Township, in her eighty-seventh year. they migrated to Canada about the year 1817, and settled at first in Beverly, but ultimately moved into Dumfries. William Griffith, whose biography we are writing, was united in marriage, January 4, 1863, with Mary King, daughter of John King, and a native of Wellington County, where she was born Oct. 12, 1835. Mr. and Mrs. Griffith attend the Baptist Church, St. George, and have a family of seven children- George, Jennie, John, Cyrus, Lavina, William and Herbert. Mr. Griffith has filled the office of Constable for three years, and has meet with good success generally since coming to brant County. He bought the old homestead farm, on which his father died, consisting of 75 acres, and on which he at present resides.

J. H. HACKLAND, is a member of the firm Adams, Hackland & Co., of the grand river Knitting Mills, Paris, Ont. He was born in the Orkney Islands on 20th June, 1843, and is a son of William and Maggie Hackland. they are also natives of the Orkney Islands, where they remained until 1852, when they moved to Australia, where they still reside. J. H. Hackland, the subject of this sketch, emigrated to Canada June 30, 1868, and settled in Paris, where he has resided ever since. He was married in the Orkneys, on March 12, 1868, to Jane Flett, daughter of George Flett, and born Jan. 10, 1848. They have had a family of five children, of whom three survive- Maggie, George H., and John Charles. The names of the deceased are James W. and William James. Mr. and Mrs. Hackland are members of the Congregational Church, Paris, and Mr. H. has filled the office of Councillor in Paris for four years. He is at present Deputy Reeve. When he first came to paris, Mr. hackland was in limited circumstances, but has since, through his industry and perseverance, become a member of the comparatively wealthy class in the Town of Paris.

Page 663 and part of 664

NORMAN HAMILTON, Esq. (deceased, was a native of Mendon N.Y. He removed to Canada about 1828, settling first in Mudge Hollow (now called Canning) and thence removed to Paris in 1831. He married his first wife, Miss Elizabeth S. Cook, Jan. 1, 1837: she died Dec. 19, 1861. His second marriage was with Miss Elizabeth Ebbs, Jan. 1, 1863; she died June 26, 1864, leaving an infant daughter, who survives her father. His third marriage was with Mrs. Sarah Wickson Carruthers, Aug. 23, 1865, who survives him. Mr. Hamilton's domestic life was very happy, and uniformly such as all the relations of husband and parent required. He excelled as a business man, and by his practical shrewdness often served others as well as himself. For many years he owned a grist mill in Paris, but acquired sufficient property to retire from active business many years before he died. He was no party politician, but a Christian patriot and reformer, and took deep interest in whatever affected the peace or prosperity of his adopted country. He served the public in municipal and other offices, and took an active part in various philanthropic enterprises; especially did he devote much time and personal labour in the introduction of English emigrant boys to Canadian homes, and many a man whom he thus befriended when a lad will remember him with gratitude. Mr. Hamilton was generous to benevolent societies, and gave liberally to the American Board of Foreign Missions, church building schemes, colleges, etc., etc., some of which shared with his only daughter and wife, at his death, the competency which his thrift and business tact had acquired. Hillside, the beautiful residence on the bank of Grand River, which is terraced and planted, will long keep Mr.. Hamilton's name in remembrance. there are perhaps few if any more beautiful grounds, or a more desirable situation in Paris.

Page 664

STEPHEN HARVIE, proprietor of the only flouring mill in Glenmorris, is a native of Scotland, where he was born 27th Oct., 1829, and is the son son of John and Mary Bell Harvie, also natives of Scotland, where they were married. The father, who has been a road surveyor for the greater part of his life, died in 1870, and the mother in 1844. Stephen Harvie, of whom this sketch is intended, was united in marriage in Canada, 4th July, 1854, with Minnie Nichol, born in Scotland, 17th July, 1827, and daughter of Thomas Nichol. Stephen emigrated from Scotland to Brantford in 1848, and has spent the most of his days in Brant County. The mill he owns was built about 25 years ago, and he took possession of it in 1869, previous to which Mr. Fleming was proprietor. Mr. Harvie has done well in the milling operations since he commenced, and, besides doing a good country trade, exports largely to the European markets, which have been his principal seat of trade for the past ten years. Mr. and Mrs. Harvie, who are adherents of the Presbyterian Church, have a family of two children- Margaret, wife of A. Buchanan, and mary, single. Mr. Harvie was member for South Dumfries Township for one year.

HENRY HAWLEY is one of the early pioneers of Brant County. he was born in Westchester County, State of New York, 16th August, 1803, and is a son of David and Sarah Hawley, also natives of New York State, who emigrated to Canada in 1812, and settled in Brantford Township, where they resided till the day of their death. David Hawley, who had been a farmer all his life, died in 1844, and his wife several years previously. Henry, who was educated at a common school, was married 9th November, 1824, to Charlotte File, who was born in Brant County, 6th february, 1805, and was a daughter of John and Sarah File. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Hawley, who are members of the M.E. Church, have had a family of thirteen children, nine of whom survive, viz., Alexander, William, Maria, Minerva, Eliza J., Thomas H., Mary Ann, Francis and Alfred. Thomas, son of the subject of this sketch, was born 18th September, 1842, and married 26th October, 1864, Elizabeth Emery, who was born in canada, February, 1843. Their family numbered five children, four of whom survive: Henry, born 14th March, 1868; Charles W., born 22nd March, 1870; Hattie M., born 9th September, 1872; and Walter E., born Oct., 12, 1875; Emily J., was born 10th September, 1865, and died in the fall of the year 1867. Mr. and Mrs. Hawley are both members of the M.E. Church and reside in Dumfries Township. Mr. Hawley, who received a good common school education, has proved a very successful farmer. Of his relatives residing in Brant County are his father and mother, his sister Minerva, and his brother Alfred.

Page 664 and Part of 665

FIRMAN HOWELL, farmer, St. George P.O., Township of South Dumfries, was born on the farm where he and his family now reside on 22nd May, 1826,, and is a son of Isaac L. and Mary Howell, natives of New Jersey. The former was born in 1788, died 5th March, 1860, and the latter was born in 1794, and was killed , November 1841, through being thrown from a buggy. Our subject was united in marriage, 28th September, 1845, with Rachel Cassada, who was born in Dumfries Township, 16th July, 1829, and is a daughter of James and Phoebe Cassada, the former of whom was born 15th january, 1791, died 24th April, 1876, and the latter was born 15th March, 1796, and is now living with her daughter, Mrs. Howell. Mr. Howell and his wife are members of the Canada Methodist Church, in which Mr. Howell has filled the offices of Steward and Trustee. Their family consists of four children: Mary A., wife of John Kinney; James B., united in marriage with Rachel E. Lawrason; Sarah J., wife of John Wood; And Isaac R., single. When Mr. Howell first started in life, he engaged in agricultural pursuits, in which he has continued ever since. Inheriting on the death of his father, 106 acres of land, he has, by assiduity and industry, added to them, till he now owns a fine farm of 273 acres of highly cultivated land. Mr. Howell and his family are descendants of one of the oldest families in the County of Brant.

JOHN IRVING (deceased) came into the Township of South Dumfries at a very early day, when the County of Brant was covered with wild bush, and settled himself among the early pioneers in the work of clearing the land. He was born in New York, 8th June, 1808, and was a son of Robert and ellen Riving, both natives of Scotland, and who emigrated to the United States, where they were married. From there they moved into Canada, and both died on the farm at present occupied by the widow of John Irving, the subject of this biography. The latter was married, 11th February, 1841, to Mary Ann Rosebrugh, who was born in Beverly, Ontario, 7th Jan., 1818, and is a daughter of William and Barbara Rosebrugh. John died 22nd July, 1870, and was a member, as well as hiss wife, of the Baptist Church. He was a carpenter by trade originally, but engaged in farming the greater part of his life. To Mr. and Mrs. Irving were born seven children, six of whom survive: Lucinda A., wife of John Baker; William R., married; Sarah M., single; Robert P., single; John T., married; and Barbara H., wife of Wm. M. McCully. Hiram H., was born 18th May, 1854, died Sept., 1865. Mr. Irving purchased 187 acres, which he left behind him, with a comfortable home, for his widow and family. Since his death, Robert P., his son, has purchased the home farm, and the unmarried children still remain with their mother.

Page 665

CHARLES P. KEEFER, Postmaster and merchant, St. George, was born four miles from that village, on January 20, 1851, and is a son of Joseph N. and Elizabeth (Parsons) Keefer, the former a native of Thorold Ont., where he was born Sept. 18, 1810, and died March 22, 1878, and the latter born in New York State Feb. 3, 1820, and died April 8, 1866. They were married Dec. 6, 1836, and had eight children, seven of whom survive, viz., Jerusha, Fanny, Jane, Lavinia, Charles P., Anna D. and Catherine M.; Mary Ann, who died July 19, 1847, was born Jan. 13, 1845. Marrying in Brant Co., they settled four miles from St. George, and removed into the village in 1857, where they remained till their death. Mr. Keefer Sr., was engaged for some time as a farmer at first, and subsequently in mercantile pursuits. Charles P. Keefer, the subject of our sketch, was married Oct. 13, 1877, to Emma C. daughter of William J. and Rosa Guppy. She was born at Newburg, Oct. 26, 1858, and died Sept. 1, 1880. Mr. Keefer had a common school training, and has met with much success. He is a member of the Masonic Order in St. George, and was appointed Postmaster there on Aug. 4, 1879, as successor to James Reid. Mr. and Mrs. Keefer had but one child, George E., born May 3, 1880 and died Sept. 16, 1880.

Page 665 and Part of 666

PHILIP KELLY, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born near Ancaster, February 2, 1806, and is a son of Jonathan and Charity Kelly, the former of whom was a native of the State of New Jersey. He was married three times, his first wife being a Miss Shafer, his second Miss Charity Fisher, and his third Miss Jane Lowry, who was also a native of the State of New Jersey. She died September 1, 1849, aged 82 years, 11 months; her husband died April 27, 1852, aged 81 years, 6 months, 24 days; he was engaged in farming all his days, and was one of the first settlers in Ancaster Township. He was born October 3, 1770. Philip Kelly, the subject of this sketch, was married March 26, 1832, to Elizabeth Smoker, who was born near Hamilton, Ont., October 26, 1811, and is a daughter of William and Anna Smoker, who were from New Jersey. Mr. Kelly moved to Brant County in 1833, and settled on the farm adjoining the one on which he at present resides. When he first settled there he bought 100 acres of land, and at one time was owner of 700 acres, part of which he has distributed among his children and others, till he has now but 425 acres in the old home farm remaining. He had the full experience in his lifetime of the trials and vicissitudes of pioneering, as the land, which is now under a high state of cultivation, and studded with substantial farm-houses and outbuildings, was wild and covered with bush, in subduing which Mr. Kelly was well schooled in the field of hardship; but success attended his perseverance and industry. He has filled the office of School Trustee for many years. Mr. and Mrs. Kelly are the parents of eleven children, of whom nine survive, viz., Henry R., Jane, Margaret, William, Euphemia, Sarah, Philip, Jacob and Mary M. The deceased are Rebecca, born January 31, 1847, died August 19, 1848, and one that died in infancy.

Page 666

EDWARD KITCHEN, farmer, St. George P.O., was born Sept. 14, 1800, near Hackettstown New Jersey. He came to Canada with two brothers in Sept., 1818, and located for a short time near Simcoe, Norfolk County. Subsequently he moved west and bought 100 acres of land near Fingal, in Elgin County, about seven miles from St. Thomas. Two years later he again came east, and on the 10th of April 1825, settled on the farm with he now lives. On March 12, 1820, he married Eunice Culver, daughter of Captain and Elizabeth Culver, who at that time lived in Norfolk County, near Simcoe; she was born Feb. 22, 1801, and died Feb. 28, 1864. Mr. Kitchen is a member of the Baptist Church in St. George, where he has been a deacon for over 40 years; he has been a Magistrate for more than 30 years. Mr. Kitchen has been fairly successful in life, and has settled his family comfortably in the vicinity of the homestead. He is the father of eleven children, who are all living. Their names are James B., born July 13, 1820; Sarah Ann, April 1, 1822; Alfred, July 24, 1823; Vesta, Feb. 11, 1826; Amanda Jane, Feb. 23, 1828; Harriet, Feb. 1, 1830; Martha, Sept. 5, 1832; Lemuel, Aug. 25, 1834; Nesbet, DEc. 11, 1836; Edward, May 22, 1841; Salem June 29,1843. Two of Mr. Kitchen's sons at present live at home- Nesbet and Salem. Salem was married, March 22, 1876, to Louisa, daughter of Joseph and Charlotte Burrows, of Branchton, who have both been dead for some years. Edward and his wife are members of the Baptist Church at St. George.

GEORGE W. KITCHEN, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in that township, in the same house where he and his family are now living., July 16, 1851. he is the son of Martin and Lorenda Kitchen, the former of whom was born March 8, 1818, in the State of New Jersey, and the latter was born in Oakland Township, Ontario, Dec. 8, 1818. They were married in Canada Oct. 6, 1841, and afterwards settled on the farm where they now reside, and where they have made their abode for nearly forty-two years. Their family consisted of eight children, four of whom are now living- Alice, wife of Washington Moxley; Henry, married to Terressa Pembleton; George W., the subject of our sketch (married June 9, 1880, Mary A. Jackson, who was born near Brantford on Nov. 1, 1858); and Elma M., single, at home with her parents. Mr. and Mrs. George W. Kitchen are adherents of the Methodist body, and are the parents of two children, Albert W. and Lowell W. The old couple are in their sixty-fifth year, and hale and hearty. George W. manages the home farm, and is enjoying every prosperity.

Page 666 and part of 667

JAMES BIRD KITCHEN, farmer, St. George P.O., was born july 13, 1820, near Simcoe, Townsend Township, County of Norfolk, and came to Dumfries in the year 1825. He is the son of Edward and Eunice Kitchen. His father was born in Hackettstown, State of New Jersey, Sept. 14, 1800, and came to Canada in 1818. Mrs. Kitchen was born Feb. 22, 1801, near Simcoe, Norfolk County, and died in Dumfries, Feb. 28, 1864. Mr. James B. Kitchen was married Oct. 9, 1842, to Sarah Howell, daughter of Isaac and Mary Howell, South Dumfries: Isaac died on March 5, 1860, and his wife died Nov. 21, 1841. Mr. and Mrs. Kitchen are members of the Baptist Church, in which he has been a Deacon for over twenty years. He bought the farm on which he is now living when he started out in life; it is well improved, and consists of 232 acres. They are the parents of two children, who are both married. The eldest, Mary Jane, was born May 19, 1843, and was married Feb. 9, 1864, to Charles F., Bell, of St. George, where she at present resides; Eunice Maria, the younger daughter, was born Aug. 25, 1845, and was married July 14, 1875, to David H. Hunter, of Waterdown, County of Wentworth. Mr. Edward Kitchen, was the first settler to introduce a threshing machine into this part of the county; this occurred about 1835 or 1836. The Kitchen family were among the first to introduce modern implements about the year 1856.

Page 667

LEMUEL B. KITCHEN, late farmer, South Dumfries, was born in that township on 22nd August, 1834, and is a son of Edward and Emma (Culloen) Kitchen. His father, who has been a farmer all his days, was born in New Jersey, in October, 1798, and emigrated to Canada when eighteen years of age, and is now living near the Village of St. George. His mother, who died in 1869, was a native of Simcoe, Norfolk County, having been born there in 1802. After remaining in Norfolk County, where they were married in 1822, they moved into the County of Brant for permanent settlement. The subject of our sketch found in the Town of Brantford a partner for life, in the person of Miss Julia Holl, who was born in Brantford on the 3rd March, 1838, she being daughter of Isaac and Lucinda Holl, the former deceased, but the latter still living. The marriage took place 19th October, 1859. Mrs. L. B. Kitchen died on 16th November, 1880, and was a member of the Baptist Church. She left behind two children- Frederick W., born 6th June, 1864, and Frank, born September 30, 1867.

Page 667

LOUIS B. D. LAPIERRE, farmer, Paris P.O., Township of South Dumfries, was born in Galt, Ont., March 6, 1833, and moved to his present farm with his parents, April 9, same year. His father, Louis B.D. Lapierre, who was at one time a gauger, but subsequently engaged in coopering business, was born in Montreal in 1798, and his mother was a native of Herkimer County, State of New York, where she was born in 1807. She came to canada with her parents when very young, and settled near Galt, where she was married in 1822. Some time after they moved to where the son now resides, when Mr. Lapierre commenced farming operations, and died there, Aug. 11, 1850. His wife is still living in Paris Ont., and is again married. Her present husband's name is Samuel Appleby. Louis B. D. Lapierre, the subject of this biography, was married, June 21, 1869, to Anna Maria Markle, born in Niagara Township, Dec. 25, 1846, and daughter of Abraham and Hannah Markle, both Canadians; the former of whom, who is still living, was born in 1798, and the latter was born May 5, 1800, died June 7, 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Lapierre are members of the Methodist Church, and have two children- Adelle Flor-Ella, born June 9, 1870, and Maude Louie, born Sept. 22, 1874. Mr. Lapierre has been a member of the Masonic Order in Paris since 1878, has filled the office of President of the North Brant Agricultural Society for three years, and has been a Director of the same society for several years. He has been elected Deputy Reeve eight years, and Warden of the county for the year 1871, and has been Reeve one year, as well as School Trustee for three successive years. At one time Mr. L. had a store in Paris for two years, which he sold out to Mr. Laing, and has met with generally good success. He is owner of 256 1/2 acres of land, where he resides, and excellent buildings.

Page 668

JOSEPH LATSHAW, (deceased), was one of the oldest settlers in Brant county. He was born in York, State of Pennsylvania, and his wife (Mary Riddel) was a native of Carlisle, in the same state. They were married at carlisle, 21st November, 1799, by Rev. Robert Davidson, D. D. Subsequently they emigrated to Canada, and at first settled in Waterloo County, Ontario, and afterwards moved into the County of Brant, where they ended their days. Mr. Latshaw died 25th June, 1837, aged 58 years, and his wife died 12th July, 1849, aged 68 years. While in the States he was engaged in the millinery business, as well as during his stay in Waterloo County, but in Brant County he followed farming pursuits up to the last day of his life. Mr. and Mrs. Latshaw, who were members of the Baptist Church, were the parents of thirteen children, of whom only three are now living, viz., Harriett, wife of Leonard Horr, and residing in Dubuque, Iowa; Catherine, widow of Alex. Spottiswoode, of South Dumfries; and Lucinda R., living at home on the old farm. The deceased are Matilda, Maria, Isabella, Adelina, Eliza A., Samuel R., Peter, Henry, John, and Christopher. Mr. Latshaw met with a considerable amount of success during his lifetime, and at his death left his family in good circumstances, and with a comfortable home.

Page 667 and part of 668

W. B. D. LAPIERRE, farmer, Paris P.O., Township of South Dumfries, is a native of brant County, having been born there Dec. 21, 1847, and is a son of L. B. D. and Mercer Lapierre. The subject of our sketch was united in marriage on Christmas Day, 1872, toRuth J. Ames, daughter of Nelson and Ruth Ames, and born in Brant County, June 19, 1852; she is a member of the Methodist Church. their family consisted of five children, two of whom survive, namely; Ada L., born April 12, 1874; and Louis A., born Dec. 27, 1876. in farming operations Mr. Lapierre has proved himself worthy of standing in the van of agriculturists, as a visit to his farm will amply testify. There may be seen two hundred acres of beautiful land, well improved and cultivated, and provided with good buildings, and their success is in the main due to the industry and energy of both Mr. and Mrs. Lapierre, who are beloved and respected by all who are acquainted with them, particularly in the vicinity in which they reside.

Page 668 and Part of 669

PURVIS DOUGLAS LAWRASON (deceased) was born in Flamboro' Township on the 16th december, 1814, died 21st October 1880. He was the eldest son of John Lawrason, one of the earliest settlers, who came to Dumfries about the year 1823, and died about 1865. P. D. Lawrason was married, on the 29th of January, 1837, to Charlotte T., daughter of Peter and Lydia Shork, then of Beverly Township. Mr. Shork came from Pennsylvania State in the year 1800, and settled in Trafalgar, County of Halton, and afterwards moved to Charlotteville, County of Norfolk, where he died in July 1863. Mrs. Shork died about 1873. To Mr. and Mrs. Lawrason have been born six children: Sarah R., born 29th September, 1838; Amelia E., born February 25, 1841, died December 28,1858; George Mortimer, born 28th September, 1843; Sydney B., born 10th April, 1845; John P., born 20th October, 1851; and Victoria R., born December 4, 1855. Sarah married Thomas, son of Thomas Fawcett; George M., married Mary, daughter of Wm. Rosebrugh, of Branchton; and Sydney B., married Mellissa, daughter of John Coleman, of Harrisburg; Victoria married Jas. H. Fleming. Mr. P. D. Lawrason commenced life as a farmer in 1838, on the north-east quarter of lot 6, in the third concession of South Dumfries, consisting of fifty acres, and not all paid for; but his energy and pluck were soon shown by the purchase of another fifty acres, and so he kept accumulating, till at his death he was owner of nearly 700 acres, free of debt; he was an excellent farmer and a great enemy to Canada Thistles and all other noxious weeds. In 1858, having rented his farm and moved into the village, he entered into partnership with Mr. Bell, in the St. George Agricultural Works, where he remained five years, and his energy, perservance and business tact is mainly to be attributed the success which has attended the said business. At the end of the five years, he moved back on the farm, and in the beginning of 1863 he was elected a Township Councillor by a large majority over his opponent, Mr. Smith Wait ; he remained in that office for three years, and at the end of which he declined re-election, very much to the regret of the ratepayers. He was an efficient and economical Councillor. Mr. Lawrason did not enjoy the benefits of an extensive education, schools at that time being few and badly conducted, but he was endowed with a large share of good common sense, and used his eyes to some purpose. Two or three years previous to his death he again moved into the village, and built himself a fine brick residence; but alas! he was not permitted to enjoy it long, for in a short time he was struck down by death after a few days' illness, and his remains were followed to their resting place in the Methodist Cemetery on a Sunday Afternoon, by the largest concourse of people we have ever seen in St. George on a similar occasion. Mr. Lawrason was a great favourite with the young; he was of a mild and genial temperament; kind to the poor, a staunch friend in adversity as well as in prosperity, and a prominent and consistent member of the Methodist Church for a great number of years.

Page 669

DR. NATHANIEL E. MAINWARING, physician, St. George, was born in the Town of Lyme, at the mouth of the Connecticut River, State of Connecticut, in the year 1814. His father, N.E. Mainwaring, moved to Canada in 1821, and settled in South Dumfries, was educated in the New York State University, and graduated there in 1839, also attending lectures at Dartmouth; was licensed by the old medical Board of the Government of Canada, and has ever since practised in this county. In 1849 he married the daughter of Dr. Elam Stimson.

JAIRUS B. MAUS (deceased) was one of the typical pioneer farmers of South Dumfries Township. He was born January 20, 1816, in the State of New York, and emigrated to Canada with his parents when he was a year old. they settled first for six years in Galt, Ont., and then moved to the farm in the County of Brant, where he died, March 1, 1876. His father's name was Henry V. S. Maus, and his mother's name Aurillia, and he was a brother of John Maus, whose biography will be found in this history. He was married three times- first on February 15, 1841, to Catharine Lamberton, who died March 4, 1846; next to janet Ann Tinling, on February 15, 1849, she died January 14, 1850, and for his third wife he chose Elizabeth Campbell, who was born in Morpeth, Northumberland , County of Northumberland, England, August 4, 1822, and is the daughter of Duncan and Elizabeth Campbell, who emigrated to Canada in 1835, where they died at a ripe old age. This last marriage was consummated February 6, 1821, and Mrs. Maus has survived her husband. Mr. Maus and his widow were adherents of the Methodist Church. He was a Justice of the Peace for many years, and followed agricultural pursuits all his life, at one time owning 500 acres of land, which he divided among his sons. Mr. Maus had one son by his first wife, named Orrin, and by his second also one son, John W. His third wife was the mother of six children, four of whom are now living, viz., Henry S., Frankie, Wilfred J. and William Duncan. Henry S. is the third son, and was born December 20,1851. He was united in marriage, March 8, 1879, with Elizabeth Stewart, who was born in July, 1851, and to this union three children have been born- Jairus A., who came into the world February 1, 1880; Marion Isabella and Charles Stuart. Frances Elizabeth was married to J.D. Thompson, and has one child living, named Mary Adela, and Wilfred J., the forth son, who was born April 11, 1859, married december 3, 1879, Emma A. Kane, a native of Norwich, Ont., where she was born February 12, 1857. They have one child, Ethel A. G., born July 8, 1881. Mr. Jairus B. Maus, the father and grandfather of this interesting family, was a man deeply beloved and universally respected, and in his death Brant County Lost a good useful man, and the community a kind, warm-hearted friend. His widow is hale and hearty, and enjoying excellent health for an old lady.

Page 669 and Part of 670

JOHN MAUS, farmer, South Dumfries, was born in Queenston, Ont., September 4, 1818, and is a son of Henry V. S. and Aurillia (Bunnell) Maus, who were natives of New York State, and emigrated to Canada in 1818, settling first in Queenston, then in North Dumfries Township, and finally in South Dumfries Township, where they remained the balance of their lives. The father who had been a farmer, died in 1857, and the mother in 1858. they were married in the United States, and were both members of the Methodist Church. John, of whom this sketch is written, was married in March, 1845, to Adah Wendover, who is a native of New York State, and was born Sept. 4, 1821. She is a daughter of William and Rebecca Wendover. Mr. and Mrs. Maus are members of the Methodist body. Mr. Maus himself, who acquired a good education, has filled the office of Steward of that church. He is one of the old class of sturdy and enterprising pioneers of the County of Brant, having arrived there in 1824, when it was but a comparative wilderness, and he is now the happy owner of 240 acres of well cultivated land, and excellent buildings thereon. Mr. and mrs. Maus are the parents of nine children, six of whom survive, viz., Luther, John H., William, Ann, Lydia K. and Edward.

JAMES McKENZIE, farmer, St. George P.O., was born July 1, 1847, and is the son of Duncan and Elizabeth McKenzie. His father was born near Johnstown, New York State, October 15, 1804, and he died April 27, 1882. His mother was born near Glasgow, Scotland, August 6, 1814, and died June 17, 1879. Mr. McKenzie came to Canada in the year 1831, and Mrs. McKenzie came about 1822. They were married in Flamboro', where he located for a time and carried on the business of waggon-making. He went from there to Beverly Township. He sold out there in 1855 and moved to Ingham County, Michigan, where he bought and worked 500 acres of land until 1864, when he moved to Dumfries township on the death of his brother John, which occurred September 15, 1864, on Lot 13 2nd concession. James McKenzie was married September 21, 1881, to Agnes Mullin, daughter of Wm. and Eliza Mullin, of dumfries Township; she was born March 4, 1852. They have one child, Charlotte Eliza, born August 21, 1882. Mr. McKenzie is a member of the Baptist Church, and his wife is a Presbyterian. He acquired a common school education only, but has made the best use possible of it. John McKenzie, the original owner of the homestead, was born in 1797 in the Highlands of Scotland. Early in the present century his family came to America and settled in the State of New York, and in 1831 removed to canada, and located on the farm in Dumfries. He was in religion a Presbyterian, and an active and energetic man, taking great interest in any measure where the welfare of the township was involved. He never married. He died universally regretted.

Page 670 and Part of 671

GEORGE McLAUGHLIN, farmer, Brantford P.O., was born 21st of July, 1837, and is the son of Samuel and Jane McLaughlin. Mr. Samuel McLaughlin was born in the County of Donegal, Ireland, August, 1800, and died June 14, 1876. He came to America and settled in New York about the year 1818. He remained there until 1828, and then moved into Canada, and located in Dumfries township. He was married to Jane Johnson, who was born in County Down; she came to America with her parents when she was in her infancy. They first settled in New Brunswick, and afterwards moved to the State of Massachusetts. She is still living, and is quite hale and hearty. They were the parents of twelve children, seven of whom survive. Mr. George McLaughlin, who lives on Lot 13, 1st concession, was the third son. He was married December 29, 1863, to Margaret M., daughter of Ensign Buck, of Brantford Township, who came to Brant County about the year 1820-21. Mr. and Mrs. McLaughlin are the parents of six children, five of whom are alive, viz., George W., born October 2, 1864; Annie, born July 15, 1868; Ferman, born August 26, 1875; Edward, born July 15, 1872; and Samuel Wellington, born May 5, 1876; Edwey (deceased) was born February 1st, 1867, and died August 27, 1867. Mr. McLaughlin acquired an education in a rural school, and has made good use of it. He has succeeded very well in life, and has an excellent farm of 112 acres, which he is working; it is already well improved.

DANIEL McPHERSON, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in the County of Brant, February 24, 1829, and is a son of John and Ann McPherson. He was married April 21, 1853, to Christa Campbell, who was born in New York State, in 1827; she is the daughter of Duncan and Anna Campbell, natives of Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. McPherson are members of the Presbyterian church, and are parents of seven children, five surviving, viz., Anna, Margaret J., Christa Ann, John and Duncan. Mr. McPherson has filled the office of Councillor for South Dumfries for five years, and met with good success as a farmer, an occupation he has followed all his life. At first he bought 100 acres of land in the Township of Beverly, County of Wentworth, where he remained 19 years, when he moved into the County of Brant and purchased the farm he now occupies, consisting of 150 acres, in a good state of cultivation, and well improved.

JOHN McPHERSON, farmer, near Paris , was born in New York, 17th March, 1804, and is a son of Daniel and Catherine McPherson, the former a native of Scotland and a farmer, and the latter a native of Albany, New York, They were married in New York, and died there. John McPherson was married 27th March, 1829, in New York, to Anna McPherson, who was born there on Christmas Day, 1806, and emigrated with his young wife to Canada, in the year of their wedding, and settled on the spot where he now resides. Mrs. McPherson, who, with her husband, was a member of the Presbyterian Church, died 14th November, 1881. Mr. McPherson, who was educated at a common school, has been engaged in agricultural pursuits all his life, and met with success. He has seen in his day considerable changes in the land of his adoption. The present Town of Paris consisted, in 1829, of about one log-house; Holmes' flour-mill was just being constructed; there was no church or school-house in the neighbourhood; indeed it was but a comparative wilderness. Mr. McPherson had a family of seven children, six of whom are living, viz., Daniel, Malcolm, John, Alexander, Duncan and Christina; Archie, who was born 13th Sept., 1845, died about the year 1848.

Page 671 and part of 672

ANDREW McRAE, farmer, South Dumfries, was born where he now resides, 30th Nov., 1848, and is a son of Murdoch and Ann McRae, natives of Scotland, who emigrated to canada in 1835, and settled on the farm above mentioned, which consists of 100 acres of well improved land. The father died 22nd March, 1861, and the mother on 30th August, 1877. Andrew, our subject was married 29th Sept., 1871, to Isabella Robinson, who was born in the County of Waterloo, in May, 1847. She was a daughter of John and Isabella Robinson, the former of whom was a native of England, and the latter of Scotland. To Mr. and Mrs. McRae, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, were born two boys and two girls, viz., Isabella Y., Murdoch and Ann (twins), and John D. Mr. McRae has a substantial common school education, and has been so far blessed with prosperity in life. He has a nice comfortable home, and is happy with his little family gathered around him in peace and love.

ROBERT MENZIE, farmer, who has been a resident of Brant County for forty-eight years, and has engaged in agricultural pursuits all his life, is a native of Montgomery County, State of New York, where he was born 16th August, 1806. He is a son of robert and Ann Menzie, natives of Scotland, where they were married, and whence they emigrated, 4th July, 1802, to New York. Both died there, the father about the year 1848, and the mother at the age of 66. Robert Menzie, our subject, was married 4th March, 1830, to Catharine McPherson, who was born in Genessee County, State of New York, 28th June, 1807. She was a daughter of Malcolm and Christina McPherson, who both died in Genessee County. Mr. and Mrs. Menzie are both members of the Presbyterian Church, and are the parents of nine children, of whom seven survive, viz., Anna E., Christina, catharine, Martha, Jennette, Maggie and mary. John, who was born 20th March, 1836, died 27th August, 1877, and Malcolm, who was born 3rd June, 1849, died 17th August, 1850. Mr. Menzie has met with much success as a farmer, and lives with his wife on the farm he first purchased, and which is in a high state of cultivation.

Page 672

THOMAS MITCHELL, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in North Dumfries Township, 12th April, 1840, and is the son of John and Sarah Mitchell, the former of whom has been a farmer all his days, and a native of Ayr, Scotland, having been born there, 12th August, 1811. He is still among the living, and resides on the farm he took up in the year of the Rebellion (1837). His wife, Sarah, was also born in Scotland in 1806. They emigrated to Canada - the father in 1834, and the mother in 1836-and were married in Galt, Waterloo County. Thomas Mitchell, our subject, was united in marrige, 26th December, 1865, with Jennie Torrance, a native of Wigtonshire, Scotland. She was born 7th Dec., 1843, and is a daughter of Thomas Torrance, who came to Canada in 1850, and was drowned in the Grand River, in March 1852. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell are members of the Presbyterian church, and have found in their lifetime that fortune's smile has fovoured them. When Mr. M., who received a good general and mathematical education, first entered the arena of farm life, he purchased 85 acres of improved land, the buildings on which were all put on after coming into his possession. He and his sister Ellen are the only two living representatives of his father's name.

HENRY MOYLE, retired farmer, Paris. Henry Moyle Senr., deceased, the father of our subject and a native of England, settled in the Township of Brantford, in 1837, purchasing Lots Nos. 20 and 21 in the first concession, on which he resided until hsi death. His sonsHenry and William Moyle, lived on the same farm until the fall of 1882, when Henry purchased property in the Town of Paris, where he now resides.

ABSALOM MUMA, farmer, Ayr P.O., Township of South Dumfries, is a native of the County of Brant, Ont., having been born December 23, 1830, in the Village of St. George, and is a son of Christian Muma and Anna Muma. The former was born August 28, 1779, in Pennsylvania, and died in Canada, July 12, 1863; the latter was born in the State of New Jersey, in 1789, and died in Canada, June 8, 1860. Mr. Muma Sr., emigrated to Canada on Feb. 1, 1800, and his wife that was to be came on horseback with her brother-in-law in 1808, and they were united in marriage, Feb. 1, 1813, near Dundas ONt., where they remained several years, when they moved to St. George, in which village they resided until 1833. In that year they went on the farm known as Shannon Farm, and resided there Till 1839. Finally in that year they moved to the farm where Absalom and his family now reside, and rested there the remainder of their days. Absalom Muma, the subject of our sketch, was married June 20, 1865, to Anna Lawrason, who was born in St. George Village, April 1, 1830, and was a daughter of Robert and Margaret Lawrason. Mr. and Mrs. Muma, who are adherents od the Methodist Church, are the parents of three children- George Bertram, Margaret Ann and Clara Augusta. Mr. Muma, who acquired a thorough common school education, by industry has proved very successful in his farming operations. He is owner, at the present time, of 186 acres of improved land, with substantial buildings thereon. He owns in Ayr, a large two-story brick house and three acres of land, with good outbuildings.

Page 672 and Part of 673

MICHAEL MUMA, Township of South Dumfries, was born April 4, 1818, in the State of New York, twelve miles east of Buffalo, and is a son of Jacob and Susan Muma, the former of whom was born in Virginia in 1776, died Sept. 27, 1876, and the latter was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 1800, died August, 1842. They were married, in 1816 and came to Canada early in 1821, settling on Lot 7, 2nd concession South Dumfries Township. They were the parents of twelve children, Michael, our subject, being the only one now living. He was married Jan. 20, 1841, to Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Nancy Matthews, who came from Livingstone County, State of New York, to Dumfries Township, about the month of Feb., 1831. Mr. and Mrs. Michael Muma are the parents of ten children, eight of whom survive, viz., Susan, Nelson, Charles, Mary, Edgar, Alfred, Louisa and Franklin. Melvin and William are deceased. Nelson married Nov. 12, 1867, Mary Ann, daughter of George and Charlotte Starr, and their family numbers six children, all residing in Burford Township. Charles Muma was married April 2, 1872, to Charlotte Rutherford, daughter of George and Charlotte Rutherford , of Orillia. Edgar married Feb. 2, 1876, Rosetta M., daughter of Charles and Rachel Wilber, of Dumfries Township. Louisa was united in marriage, Jan. 28, 1879, with Whitney Wilber, and Alfred married Dec. 20, 1882, Victoria, daughter of James and Jane coleman, of Beverly Township, Ont.; they are living on the homestead. Michael Muma came into Dumfries Township when scarcely three years of age and was witness of, and fully experienced the toil and hardships incidental in pioneer life in Canada. He and his family are members of the Baptist Church, and are highly respected and much beloved by all who know them.

THOMAS MURRAY, farmer, residing now in Paris, is a native of Norfolk Co., where he was born Nov. 3rd, 1832. His parents, Thomas and Rosanna (McArdle) Murray were natives of Ireland, where they were married and emigrated to Canada in 1831, and settled first at Normandale, Long Point, for six years, when they moved to Paris, in 1837, where they died, the father in 1838, and the mother in 1850. He was a blacksmith by trade, and both were members of the roman Catholic Church. On their coming to Paris in 1837, there was a distillery, owned by Norman Hamilton, and a woollen factory, of which Totten was proprietor. The river was crossed by one wooden bridge, on the Governor's Road. There was also a flour mill, owned by Hamilton Thomas, and run by Tenant. Thomas, our subject, married in 1860, Maggie Johnson, who was born in Toronto, in 1840, and was a daughter of William and Ann Johnson. Mr. Murray and his wife both embrace the Roman Catholic faith, and the former, having received a fair common school education, has been engaged in farming and stock-raising and dealing. He is owner of one hundred acres of land. Mr. and Mrs. Murray have six children, viz., Mary, John, Anna, Maggie, Thomas and Helen.

Page 673 and Part of 674

CHARLES NIXON, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born March 29, 1818, in Grimsby Township, County of Lincoln, Ontario. He is the son of Robert and Elizabeth Nixon, who were also natives of Canada where they died; the father in December, 1853, and the mother in 1856. Mr. Nixon Senr., was engaged in farming throughout life. Charles Nixon left Lincoln County in 1839, and came to the County of Brant, where he was married, Oct. 23 of that year, to Eliza Griffin, who was born May 24, 1820 and died May 24, 1844. She was a member of the Methodist body, and was the mother of two children, both of whom died in infancy. Mr. Nixon was next united in marriage, Jan. 1, 1846, with Mary E. Carson, a native of Westminster, County of Middlesex, Ontario, and daughter of John Carson, and this union has been blessed with eleven children, seven of whom survive, viz., Emily E., Sarah F., Henry R., Julia J., Beatrice L., Charles F. and Netta A; Priscilla, Alice M., John C. and Frederick are deceased. Mr. Nixon has been Recording Steward in the Methodist Church for fourteen years, and has filled the office of School Trustee for a considerable period. He has proved to himself by industry to be a successful farmer, and has prospered well since coming to the County of Brant, as witness the excellent farm he now possesses, 143 acres of improved land, with good buildings, complete.

P. O'CONNOR, retired, Paris P.O., is a son of Patrick O'Connor, who was born in Ireland about 1800. He grew up in his native country, and married Bridget Sullivan. They emigrated to Canada in 1830, locating at Paris, where he died in 1832; his widow survived until 1858. Their children were three in number, viz., John (deceased), Patrick and Bartholomew; the latter now a resident of Kansas, U.S. Our subject was born December 15, 1827, and since his infancy has been a resident of Brant County, residing near Paris, where for a number of years he was a prominent grain dealer. While a resident of Paris he served repeatedly in the Town Council and in the School Board. In 1879 he was appointed Justice of the Peace. His wife is the third daughter of Benjamin Yeo, a native of England.

Part of Page 674

DANIEL O'NEAIL, retired farmer, and residing in the Township of South Dumfries, is a native of Ireland, where he was born 12th August, 1797. His parents were Charles and Mary O' Neail, who lived and died on the "old sod." Daniel, our subject, emigrated to Canada in 1830, and settled in South Dumfries, on the spot where he now lives. He married 30th April, 1833, Eleanor Davidson, born in Scotland 9th Oct., 1811, and a daughter of Thomas and Margaret Davidson, who all emigrated to Canada in 1831, and settled in Dumfries Township, where the old couple died. Eleanor (Mrs. D. O'Neail) is still living, and hale and hearty. Mr. and Mrs. O'Neail, who are adherents of the Catholic Church in Paris, had a family of nine children, five of whom are now living, viz., Charles, Thomas, Mary, James and Eleanor. Those deceased are Margaret, born 21st Sept., 1837, died 15th March, 1882; Isabella, born 19th Sept., 1844, died 23rd July, 1867; William, born 5th May, 1849, died 30th March, 1856; and daniel, born 18th January, 1852, died 4th February, 1852. Mr. O'Neail has been a useful member of society during the many years he has lived. For nineteen years he acted as School Trustee, and is a Justice of the Peace at the present time. He has filled the office of President of the Agricultural Society, and has been five years Vice-President of the County of Brant Insurance Company. When Mr. O'Neail first settled in the county, he bought 120 acres, and at one time he was owner of 580 acres. Latterly he sold 150 acres and distributed the rest, till he has now but 75 acres; he has however and ample competency for himself and wife, who are in excellent health and spirits considering their age, and are now enjoying that repose which a long life of toil and industry justly merits.

Page 674 and Part of 675

DANIEL OSBORNE, farmer, St. George P.O., was born in Kent, England, Nov. 25th, 1825. he was married to Maria, daughter of John and Elizabeth Oliver, of Sussex, England, on the 31st May, 1847, and they came to Canada in the spring of 1849, living for the first six months in Brantford; they then moved to "The Plains" between Brantford and Paris, where they lived until the spring of 1863, when he moved into Dumfries, and rented the farm owned by Robert Christie, father of the Hon. David Christie. In the year 1870 he purchased the farm, consisting of 333 1/2 Acres; it is regarded as the best farm in the county. Mr. and Mrs. Osborne are the parents of seven children, all of whom are living. Their names according to seniority, are Walter, William, Thomas, Daniel, Annie, Elizabeth, Fannie. Walter was married Nov. 7th, 1871, to mary Dymond, daughter of Nicholas and Mary Dymond, of Brantford City. They are the parents of three children, Edward Franklin, born Nov. 21st, 1873; William James, born Sept. 5th, 1875; and Ella May, born May 4th, 1877. William, the second son, was married Jan. 15th, 1873, to ruth, daughter of James Greenfield, of Brantford Township. They have had one child named Charles Norman, born in Dec. 1878. Daniel was married Feb. 15th, 1882, to Sarah M. Pierce, daughter of William and Elizabeth Pierce, of Brantford. Annie was married on the 27th of Feb., 1879, to robert Burbidge of St. George, at present residing in Paris; to them has been born one child, Frank Osborne, born 18th Sept., 1881. The Osborne family are all members of the Baptist Church. They have all had a fair education given them, and are all doing very well in life.

Page 675

WILLIAM PATTERSON, dentist, Paris, was born in Reston, Berwickshire, Scotland, and is a son of Waite and Rachel Patterson, also natives of Scotland. They came to Canada in 1832, and settled in Norfolk County, but removed in 1836 to South Dumfries. His father died december 29, 1869, and his mother died November 30, 1880. Our subject himself was four years old when coming to the land of his adoption; he married, on November 23, 1852, Isabella Kerr, second daughter of the late Captain Kerr, near Brantford, who died April 4, 1854. Mr. Patterson's second wife was Maria McVeigh, whom he married December 11, 1856, in St. Catharines, Ont. Mr. Patterson and his present wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, and he has been a Town Councillor for four years past. For nineteen years he has successfully practised as a dentist, and to qualify as such he passed his examination in Toronto. Previous to this he carried on a dry goods business, and has been moderately success in life. His family consisted of nine children, six of whom survive- William W., John W., Albert A., May E., George R. and Frank H.

JOHN PETRIE farmer, South Dumfries, was born in Stony Creek, County of Wentworth, Ont., July 2, 1841, and is a son of John and Phoebe Petrie, the former of whom was a native of Aberdeenshire, Scotland, and the latter of Armagh County, Ireland. He was born January 2, 1802, and she was born about the year 1812. They emigrated to Canada very nearly at the same time, and were married at Hamilton, Ont., 1n 1840. From there they moved to South Dumfries Township, where Mr. Petrie died in 1850. His widow is at present residing with her oldest son. John, the subject of this sketch, was united in marriage on Christmas Day, 1873, with Aurilla Cassady, daughter of Daniel and Hannah Cassady, who are natives of Brant County. Aurilla was born in Oakland, May 5, 1852. Mr. and Mrs. Petrie, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, are the parents of four children- Jane, born September 12, 1874; John A., born April 28, 1876; Daniel C., born October 5, 1878; and Mary H., born June 11, 1882. Mr. Petrie is at present filling the office of School Trustee. Inheriting from his father 100 acres of land, he has expended a considerable amount of industry and labour in improvements, and he has now an excellent well cultivated farm, with good substantial buildings on it, and has met with good success generally.

Page 675

ALEXANDER PHILIPS, farmer, St. George P.O., was born March 27, 1838, in the Township of Ancaster, County of Wentworth. He is the son of John and Margaret Philips. who came from Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in the year 1837, and settled in Ancaster, where he farmed until the spring of 1854, when he moved into Brant County and settled on Lot 6, 1st concession of South Dumfries, the farm on which his son Alexander now lives. Mrs. Philips died in Ancasteron the 20th of July, 1851, and Mr. Philips, died on the 18th of August, 1856, in South Dumfries. Alexander Philips was married on the 7th of May, 1862, to Sophronia, daughter of Henry and Margaret Shuert, of Brant Township. They are the parents od five children, three of whom survive. Their names and ages are given according to seniority; Arthur, born 22nd of June, 1864; George Marshal, born 23rd December, 1867; and Mary Jane, born 28th of August, 1876. The names of the deceased are John, who died on the 6th of September, 1866; and Alexander, born 19th November, 1871, died on the 10th September, 1872. Mr. Philips obtained an ordinary rural school education, but has put it to the best possible use. He has a nice home, and is respected by all who know him.

Page 676

JOHN RICHARDSON, cheese manufacturer, St. George P.O., was born in Yorkshire, England, September 3rd, 1832, and is the son of Peter and Elizabeth Richardson, both of whom are living in North Frodingham, Yorkshire, England. Mr. Peter Richardson is in his seventy-ninth year, and Mrs. Richardson in her sixty-ninth year. John Richardson came to Canada in March 1856, and located near Ingersoll, in Oxford County, where he was engaged in farming; he remained there until April of 1866, when he removed to St. George in Dumfries Township, and started the pioneer cheese factory of Brant County. The factory is situated on Lot 7, concession 2 of South Dumfries and is within the corporation limits of St. George Village. He is among the largest cheese producers of this county. The production has run as high as 140 tons in one year. At this time Mr. Richardson was running two factories. The quantity of cheese produced by the St. George factory averages between 80 and 90 tons per annum. Mr. Richardson was married November 25th, 1861, to Mary, daughter of William Philips of Oxford. Mr. Philips came from Devonshire, England, about the year 1857, and settled in Oxford County; he died in 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Richardson are the parents of four children, two of whom survive; their names are: William Robert, born March 23rd, 1867, and Peter Thomas, born May 25th, 1873. the names of the deceased are: Peter, born August 11th, 1865, died November 16th, 1871; and elizabeth Ann, born April 23rd, 1870, died November 24th, 1871. Mr. Richardson has also an adopted son named John Robert, born in 1865; he is the son of his brother Robert, who died in England. Mr. and Mrs. Richardson are members of the Methodist Church, of which he is a trustee. He had a limited education given him, but has done remarkably well in business, and has been very successful otherwise. Apart from his cheese interests, he is owner of 200 acres of well improved land.

Page 676

JOHN RICKERT (deceased) was one of the representative pioneer farmers of South Dumfries township, having settled it in 1820. He was a native of the Township of Bertie, in what was then known as Niagara District, having been born there on June 25, 1798. His parents John and Mary Rickert, were born in Pennsylvania, and emigrated to Canada, settling at Niagara, where they remained during the rest of their lives. They died about the year 1848. John Rickert, our subject, was married about the year 1820, to Orpah, daughter of Benjamin White; she was a native of New York State, born September 7, 1797, died September 28, 1872. John Rickert was a member of the Tunker Church, and prospered well in farming during his life. At his death, which occurred September 6, 1878, he owned 200 acres of improved land. He received a good common school training. Mr. and Mrs. Rickert were the parents of seven children, of whom four are now living, viz., Thomas B., Chapin G., John W., and William B. The deceased are: Mary, born December 18, 1827, died May 17, 1862, leaving behind one daughter; Rachina, born May 11, 1838, died in October 1855, one son surviving her; and Elizabeth H., born May 14, 1840, died Feb., 13, 1868. Thomas B. was born January 7, 1821, and married June 7, 1848, Phoebe C. Fitch, who was born in 1829. They have a family of six children. Chapin G. was born Oct. 5, 1823, married, March 19, 1846, Eliza Waterhouse, who was born December 4, 1823, died March 19, 1858, leaving two children behind.

Page 676 and Part of 677

JOHN ROBB, farmer, township of south Dumfries, was born in County Down, north of Ireland, 2nd January, 1808, and is son of John and Mary Robb, also natives of Ireland, but who emigrated to Canada in 1826, and settled in Flamboro' West, Ont., where they remained some time. From there they went to Toronto, where the father died about the year 1843. the mother died in Watertown about 1863. John Robb, the subject of this sketch, followed the occupation of his father, namely, that of farming, and married, January 1839, Mary Ironsides, who was born in Scotland in 1823. She is the daughter of Alex. and Mary Ironsides, who came to Canada and died there. Mr. and Mrs. Robb are members of the Presbyterian Church, and are the parents of nine children- Mary Ann, Isabella, Hannah, William, Martha, Jane, Ellen, Elsie and Lizzie. Mr. Robb has lived on the farm he owns for forty years, and has been prosperous. He first bought 100 acres of land in Flamboro' West, which he sold and purchased 175 acres, where he lives, and this he has augmented from time to time, till his farm now covers about 300 acres.

Page 677

W. J. ROBINSON, importer of staple and fancy dry goods Paris, was born in the Township of Vaughan, York County, Ont., on Jan. 17, 1850. He is a son of Alexander and Mary Robinson, natives of Ireland, who emigrated to Canada in 1837, and settled in Vaughan Township, where Mr. Robinson, Senr., died in 1856; Mrs. Robinson is still living there. William J. Robinson, our subject, was united in marriage, Aug. 11, 1875, with Emma R. Jackson, a native of England, born August 27, 1850, and a daughter of Thomas and Mary Jackson. Mr. and Mrs. Robinson are members of the Canada methodist Church, and have a family of three: George R., born June 9, 1877; William R., born Aug. 10, 1879; and Florence E., born July 15, 1882. Mr. Robinson, who has met with much prosperity, and is a thorough, straightforward business man, has been engaged in the dry goods business ever since he was twelve years of age. He acted in the capacity of clerk until 1879, when he entered business on his own account in Paris, in his present store.

DAVID B. RONALD, farmer, in the Township of South Dumfries, was born on the farm where he and his family now reside, Oct. 4, 1842. His parents, William and Janet Ronald, were natives of Scotland, from which country they set out to seek their fortune in Canada about the year 1842, and at once settled in South Dumfries Township, where the father, who had followed farming all his life, died Dec. 10, 1863, and the mother on April 26, 1850. David, of whom we write, was married, June 13, 1867, to Anna Richardson, a native of the United States, having been born Jan. 12, 1846. She is a daughter of George and Elizabeth Richardson, who emigrated from Scotland to the United States, and thence to Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Ronald, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, have a family of seven children- William C., James B., Ellen, Hugh A., Arthur, Robert H. and Ann. Mr. Ronald has met with considerable prosperity in his vocation in life, and is now the owner of 100 acres of improved land, on which he resides.

Page 677

JOHN ROSE (deceased) was one of the typical representative pioneer farmers, and one of the oldest settlers in Brant County, having lived for over half a century on the old home farm, on the Grand River, where his son Robert at present resides. Mr. Rose was a native of Inverness-shire, Scotland, where he was born in 1800; he died, Nov. 12, 1879. His wife was also born in Inverness shire in 1798, and died Sept. 29, 1865. They were married in New York State, Aug. 28, 1828, and came to Brant County in 1830. They were members of St. Andrew's Church, Galt, of which Mr. Rose had been a Deacon for fourteen years, and was filling that office at the time of his death. Their family consisted of three children, two of whom are now living- William and Robert. William lives on the farm left him by his father, and Robert as before mentioned is on the home farm. When the late Mr. Rose first made Canada his home, he purchased 170 acres, which he possessed at the time of his death. When he bought, there were only five acres under cultivation, and the dwelling was but a small log cabin; when he died, he left behind him, as a monument of industry and assiduity, a fine well improved farm, with excellent buildings, everything bearing evidence of prosperity and plenty. When Mr. and Mrs. Rose died, South Dumfries Township lost two of its most useful, respected and beloved citizens. Mr. Rose is buried in the new cemetery, Galt, where a handsome monument has recently been erected to him. William, the son, was born July 28, 1833, and Robert, April 3, 1835. John (deceased) was born Aug. 11, 1829, and died Oct. 17, 1853.

Page 678

THOMAS RYALL, Dumfries Township, may well be ranked among the sturdy veterans who dared to brave the hardships to be encountered in opening up a new country. He was born in Ireland on January 14, 1817, his parents' names being Edward and Grace Ryall, the former a native of Cashel neighbourhood, and the latter of Waterford City, Ireland, and were married in Ireland. In 1831 they came to Canada and settled in Oro Township, where Mrs. Ryall died some two years after. Thomas was married in 1852 to Sarah Bass, born in England about the year 1827, and are both members of the Church of England. Their family consists of eight children, seven of whom are living, namely, Susan, at home; Edward, Thomas, Henry, Frank, Herbert and Septimus. Mr. Ryall has been engaged in the grain and coal trade, as well as insurance business. He erected two large grain stores and several dwelling houses at Paris Station when the railroad station was built; he also established the coal trade of Paris, and has been representing leading insurance companies for the last 30 years; is a Justice of the Peace of brant County, License Commissioner, &c. Residence on Oak Avenue, a quarter mile of a mile north of the railway station. Mr. Ryall has also held a Captaincy in the Militia of the County of Brant, his father being an old pioneer of Oro Township, a magistrate, and Captain in 1st Simcoe Militia.

JAMES H. SCARF was born in Dumfries Township on 223rd August, 1840, being a son of Christopher B. and Margaret Scarf, who were married in England, the former born on November 13, 1798, and the latter on October 18, 1800, both in County of Norfolk, England. In 1830 they emigrated to Canada and settled in Brant County, where they resided until Mr. Scarf's death, which occurred on September 28, 1867. Mrs. Scarf still survives, and resides with her son James in Paris. The subject of this sketch was married, March 4th, 1873, to Rosanna McMichael, who is a daughter of John and Matilda McMichael, and was born in Dumfries Township in 1847; she is a member of the Baptist Church. One child has been born to them named Maggie M., who was born on December 13, 1876. Mr. Scarf took the census, in 1881, in the western part of Dumfries Township. He has been successful in life, owning property in Paris, where he resides, as well as a farm in the township in a high state of cultivation, and possessed of good substantial buildings.

Balance Page 678 and Part of 679

HENRY SCHULER, proprietor of the Paris Stoneware Works, was born in Illinois on 25th Sept., 1842, and is a son of Wendlin and Susanna (Brandt) Schuler, who were married in Canada. The former was a native of Baden, Germany, and died in Saugeen, ONt., in 1856, and the latter, who resides now in East Zorra, Ont., was born in the State of Ohio in 1823, and married the second time, Harman Schmidt, who died in St. Louis in 1874. Mrs. Schuler's first husband had been a school teacher for twenty-five years, in New Hamburg, Ont., where he was keeping a hotel about the time of his death. The subject of this sketch was united in marriage, on 21st November, 1861, to Mary Ann Reynest, who was born in Paris, Ont., on the 6th Dec., 1845, and they are both members of the Church of England. Mr. Schuler acquired a good common school education, and engaged in the pottery business in 1868, which he changed into the manufacture of stoneware in 1873. This he has been proprietor of for the past ten years, and has meet with generally good success. There are nine children in the family, seven of whom survive, viz., Anna, Emma, Edward, John, Frederick, James and Lincoln. The parents of Mr. S. had eight children, of whom six are now living, Henry being the oldest, and of them only he and his brother Wendlin reside in the County of Brant.

JOHN SCOTT, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Scotland 14th Feb., 1824, and is a son of George and Cecilia Scott, also natives of Scotland, and who emigrated to Brant County in 1826, where they settled on the farm now owned by their son John. The father, who was a farmer most of his life, died 1st March, 1881, and the mother died about the year 1837. John Scott, our subject, was united in Marriage, 2nd May, 1851 with Margaret Deans, daughter of Matthew and Mary Deans, who emigrated from their natal soil, Scotland, to Brant County, where they died. Mr. and Mrs. Scott, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, have had a family of seven children, of whom five survive, viz., Mary H., Agnes C. (wife of Walter Murray), Robina W., Allan and Maggie E. Those deceased are Robert, born 23rd Sept., 1860, died 30th April, 1862; John G., born 30th Oct., 1867, died 20th Nov., 1874. Mr. Scott has prospered well in his farming operations, and is now the owner of 285 acres, nearly all under cultivation, and having good, comfortable buildings thereon.

Page 679

WILLIAM SEWELL, farmer, South Dumfries, is a native of Westmorelandshire, England, where he was born 10th January 1827, and is a son of John and Ann Sewell, who lived and died in England. The former had been a farmer all his life. William, our subject, emigrated to Canada in September, 1856, and first settled in Paris. He has always resided in the County of Brant. On 4th October, 1858, he married Jane Hamilton, daughter of Thomas and Ann Hamilton, and a native of Wigtonshire, Scotland, where she was born in 1837. She and her parents emigrated to Canada in 1856, and settled in the County of Brant; Mr. Hamilton is still living. To Mr. and Mrs. Sewell, who are members of the Presbyterian Church, have been born nine children, eight of whom survive, viz., Ann J., Jane, John, Thomas, William, Arthur, Agnes and Susan. Mr. Sewell, who received a good common school training, was elected to the Township Council in 1882, and was re-elected by acclamation in 1883. He at one time bought in a saw mill in Burford, and continued in this for six years. He then turned his attention to farming pursuits in Burford, and subsequently in the Township of Brantford. Finally he moved into the Township of South Dumfries, and purchased 100 acres of well-improved land, with good buildings, where he has now lived for thirteen years. All the buildings that are on the farm he erected himself, and there is every evidence that prosperity has followed fast in the footsteps of industry.

Page 679

JOHN SHANNON (deceased) was one of the pioneer farmers of South Dumfries Township. He was born in Copetown, Ont., 31st August, 1806, and his parents David and Jane Shannon, who carried on farming occupations, were natives of New Brunswick, from which province they moved to Copetown, where they resided until the death of David. The widow and family then moved into Dumfries Township, where she died. John, of whom this sketch is written, was united in marriage, 6th December, 1837, with Francis Goldring, daughter of James and Sarah Goldring, natives of England. Frances was bornin that country, 12th February, 1817, and emigrated to Canada with her parents in 1832, when they settled in Toronto. Mr. Shannon was an adherent of the Methodist Church, and his widow is a member of the same body. He was educated at a common school, and when he started he bought 100 acres on which the widow and family now reside. He was looked upon in his life-time as one of the best and most successful farmers in Brant County. Mr. and Mrs. Shannon had a family of ten children, seven of whom survive, viz., Sarah J., Wife of Wm. Laughlan; Ellen, wife of David Curry; James, married; John, married; Frances A.; Joseph, married; and George. Edward, who was born 11th July, 1863, died 2nd May, 1880. George, the youngest son living, is at home, and manages the farm, and Frances A. assists her mother in the domestic duties of the homestead.

Page 680

ADAM C. SMITH, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Brant County, 12th April, 1837. His father, James Y., was a native of New Hampshire, where he was born 16th February, 1790, and died 22nd February, 1867, and his mother, Mary (Clemons), was born 23rd March, 1797, and died 25th November, 1877. They were married in New York State, 24th March, 1816, and emigrated to Canada about the year 1825, settling in the County of Waterloo, Ontario, where they remained for about fifteen years, when they moved into Brant County, which they made their final home in Canada. Mr. James Y. Smith was a carder by trade, but commenced agricultural pursuits after settling in brant County. Adam C., our subject, married, 8th February, 1869, Mary Sullivan, who was born in Toronto in 1850. She is a daughter of John and Mary Sullivan. To Mr. and Mrs. Smith, who are members of the Canada Methodist Church, have been born three children - Mary A., born 18th November, 1870; Elvira M., born 20th July, 1872; and William S., born 18th March, 1874. Mr. Smith has been engaged in farming all his life, and is now residing with his family on the old home farm, consisting of 180 acres, situated two and a half miles from Paris, in the Township of South Dumfries, and has been very successful in his vocation.

Page 681

JOHN HENRY SMITH, farmer, St. George P.O., was born May 3rd, 1840, in Wentworth County, and married, September 19, 1861, to Roxanna, daughter of Abraham and Deborah VanSickle, of Dumfries Township. Abraham VanSickle was born on the 5th day of December, 1805, in Ancaster Township. His father, Isaac VanSickle, came to Canada from the State of New Jersey, in the year 1801, and settled in Ancaster, in what is now known as the Jersey Settlement. It was then a howling wilderness; the forests stood in their primeval grandeur, with scarcely a settler within a radius of many miles. Isaac VanSickle died in July, 1830. Mr. Abraham VanSickle was married, April 24, 1828, to Deborah Drake, daughter of David and Temperance Drake; they came to the Jersey Settlement in 1801, from the State of New Jersey, where they were married in the year 1797. Mr. and Mrs. VanSickle were the parents of three children- Roxanna, Elizabeth, and David. Elizabeth was born April 17, 1835, and was married, February 28, 1856, to James Popple, of Brantford of Abraham and Deborah VanSickle, of Dumfries Township. Abraham VanSickle was born on the 5th day of December, 1805, in Ancaster Township. His father, Isaac VanSickle, came to Canada from the State of New Jersey, in the year 1801, and settled in Ancaster, in what is now known as the Jersey Settlement. It was then a howling wilderness; the forests stood in their primeval grandeur, with scarcely a settler within a radius of many miles. Isaac VanSickle died in July, 1830. Mr. Abraham VanSickle was married, April 24, 1828, to Deborah Drake, daughter of David and Temperance Drake; they came to the Jersey Settlement in 1801, from the State of New Jersey, where they were married in the year 1797. Mr. and Mrs. VanSickle were the parents of three children- Roxanna, Elizabeth, and David. Elizabeth was born April 17, 1835, and was married, February 28, 1856, to James Popple, of Brantford Township; David, was born July 20, 1838, and was married to Minerva, daughter of Henry and Charlotte Hawley, of Dumfries; Roxanna was married, September 19, 1861, to John Henry Smith, and is residing on the homestead. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have been blessed with seven children, five of whom are living. Their names are Melvin Masten, Marshall, Cynthia, Ann and Arthur A. They are all members of the Baptist Church, of which Mr. Smith is a Deacon. The names of the deceased children are Elizabeth L. Masten, and Minerva Alberta Smith. Mr. Smith has been successful in life, and has a nice home.

SIMON SMITH, farmer, Harrisburg P.O., was born February 6, 1849, and is a son of Simon and Mary Smith. Simon Senr., was born June 4, 1808, in Jersey Settlement, Wentworth County, Ontario. He was married, January 28, 1835, to Mary, daughter of Joseph and Christina Shuert; she was born near Chippewa, Welland County, October 15, 1810. Mr. Smith Senr. came into Dumfries Township with his parents about the year 1833, and settled two miles north of St. George. After his marriage he located on Lot 4, 1st concession of South Dumfries. He and Mrs. Smith were the parents of seven children, all of whom are living. Their names and the dates of their birth are as follows: Henry, born December 5, 1835; Harvey, December 9, 1838; Cynthia, July 5, 1840; Orpha, December 25, 1843; Alfred, June 27, 1846; Simon, February 6, 1849; and Lavinia, October 16, 1851. Mr. Simon Smith, Senr., died on the 1st of May, 1880; Mrs. Smith is still living, hale and hearty. Mr. Simon Smith Junr., was married, August 6, 1879, to Eve Eliza Bristol, daughter of Joel and Rachel Bristol, of Guelph. They are the parents of two children, named George William, born August 24, 1880; and Charles Edwin, born July 8, 1882. Alfred Smith was married, December 11, 1878, to Julia Isabella, daughter of ----- and Mary Nixon, of South Dumfries. They have two children: Florence Louise born March 24, 1880; and Emily Frances, born July 6, 1881. Harvey Smith is married and living at Colchester, Essex County, Ontario; Cynthia married Samuel McLaughlin, of Brantford Township; Orpha is the wife of Nelson Fonger, Brantford Township; Henry Smith, the oldest son, was married, December 8, 1859; Sarah, daughter of George Muma, of Dumfries became his wife; and Miss Lavinia Smith was married to Walter Shaver, of Woodstock. The Smith family are members of the Methodist Church of which Mr. Smith Senr., was a leader for fifteen years prior to his death. The family acquired an ordinary rural school education, but have evidently made the best possible use of it. A thrilling incident is related of Elizabeth Smith, the grandmother of the family. It is as follows: About the beginning of the present century she resided near the shore of Niagara River, in the vicinity of Chippewa. One morning, as she stood looking across the river, she observed a boat with two occupants going down the river; they showed signs of distress, and Mrs. Smith, who was an excellent oarswoman, immediately jumped into a boat and pulled to the rescue. As she approached them she perceived what the difficulty was; one of their oars had broken, and they were at the mercy of the rapids. She pulled her boat close to theirs, and assisted them into hers, making them lie quietly in the bottom; they were both the worse for liquor. Mrs. Smith had a fearful struggle, but she regained the shore, about half a mile below the place from which she started. Those she saved heaped eternal blessings on her head, so grateful were they for the noble way in which she had come to their rescue.

Page 681 and Part of Page 682

WILLIAM SMITH, carpenter, Paris, is one of the old pioneers of this town, having arrived in it in 1851, when there existed but one little shanty on the "flats" and two wooden bridges were standing where the iron bridge now is. Mr. Smith was born in Scotland on March 22, 1833, and is a son of George and Anna Smith, both natives of the same country, where they married and lived the rest of their lives. William, our subject, in settling in Paris, at once engaged in the business of carpentering, and married Jane Dixon, who was also born in Scotland in 1833: she was a daughter of William Dixon, and is a member of the Presbyterian Church. there have been born to them a family of four children, of whom three survive, viz., William D., Anna C. and Helen D. Mr. Smith who received a good common school education, has been successful in life, and with his family, is much respected by all who know them.

Page 682

ROBERT SNOWBALL, farmer, St. George P.O., was born in the Village of Sinnington, North Riding of York, England, Aug. 27, 1811. He was the son of John and Jane Snowball. His father was born in the north of Yorkshire in 1782, and died April 17, 1856; His mother was born in easingwold, England, in 1787, and died May 19, 1864; neither of them ever came to Canada. Robert Snowball, the subject of our sketch, arrived in Canada on the 28th July, 1830. He remained in Little York, now Toronto, until Dec. 13, when he came west as far as Palermo, Halton County; in 1834 he left there and settled in Dumfries in what was then known as Boslaugh's Mills, but now called St. George. On the 1st Dec., 1831, he was married to Eliza Skinner of Halton County. She died Feb. 27, 1838, aged 26 years. By his first wife Mr. Snowball had three children, one of whom still survives- William, born July 11, 1834; the deceased are John, born Jan. 15, 1836, died aug. 29, 1837; and Robert, born Jan. 4, 1838, died March 29, 1838. On the 7th June, 1839, Mr. Snowball was married to Rachel, daughter of John and Martha Buckberry, of Dumfries Township. They came to this township about the year 1821 from the County of Wentworth. By his second wife he had five children, three of whom are living, viz., Samuel, born April 29, 1841; Robert, Aug. 21, 1844; and james, Dec. 3, 1848. The two children deceased died very young. Mr. and Mrs. Snowball are members of the Wesleyan Methodist Church, and he has held various important offices in the church. He received an ordinary education, and has been pretty successful in business. Having bought when he first came here, he now owns 137 acres of improved land, part of the Village of St. George being located on it. In 1833 Mr. Snowball built the first carriage and Waggon shop in this part of the county. He has been a magistrate for four years, and is highly respected by all who know him.

Page 682 and Part of Page 683

LEONARD A. SOVEREIGN, retired farmer, Paris, was born in the County of Norfolk, Ontario, on 29th Dec., 1825, and is a son of William and Diana (Bloomfield) Sovereign. The former, who was engaged in farming through life, was born in Pennsylvania March 28, 1791, died March 12, 1868; the latter was born in Genessee Co., N.Y., Dec. 23, 1795, died Jan. 2, 1867. They were married in Norfolk Co., Ont., April 25, 1819, he coming into Canada and settling in Norfolk Co. in 1799, where they both remained until 1834, when they removed to Brant County for the remainder of their lives. Leonard, the subject of our sketch, lived with his parents up to the time of their death, and came to Paris in 1876. He had a good sound common school education, and has been engaged in farming most of his lifetime, and met with success. He is a justice of the Peace, and has filled the office of Councillor for South Dumfries. He had three brothers and four sisters, of whom three are living- Mary, Eliza and Jane; and the names of the deceased are Horace, Jeremiah, David and Levina.

ALEXANDER SPOTTISWOODE (deceased) was a resident of South Dumfries Township at the time of his death, which occurred November 4, 1876. He was a native of Stirlingshire, Scotland, where he was born March 17, 1817, and emigrated to Canada about the year 1832, settling first at Windsor, Ont., where he remained two years. He ten moved to Ambertsburgh, Essex County, and losing his health there, returned to Scotland for a short visit, Again arriving in the land of his adoption, he tried his fortune in the Town of Brantford, engaging in business for a few years with a Mr. Roy. In course of time Mr. Spottiswoode entered into the general store business in the Town of Paris, and went into the manufacture of plaster of Paris. He was for a number of years one of the largest business men in Paris, and in 1857 he moved into South Dumfries, where he remained till his death. Mr. and Mrs. Spottiswoode were married January 7, 1847. She was a Miss Catharine Latshaw, born in Waterloo Village, Ont., March 25, 1822, and is a member of the Baptist Church. Mr. Spottiswoode, who was educated in Scotland, took an active part during life in the politics of the country, ranking himself as a firm supporter of the Reform party. He held the office of Justice of the Peace, and was a most useful member of the community in which he lived. To Mr. and Mrs. Spottiswoode were born six children, of whom five are now living- Joseph A., Clara L., Samuel R., Hattie and Isabella B. Mary R. who was born July 1, 1851, died July 9, 1879; she received her education in Hamilton, State of New York.

Page 683

GEORGE STANTON, Postmaster, Paris, is one of the old pioneers of Brant county, having settled there as early as 1831, making St. george his first abiding place, from which he moved to Paris, where he has been abiding ever since. Mr. Stanton was born in Quebec, on March 13, 1804, and is a son of William and Margaret Stanton, the former of whom was born in Staffordshire, England, on October 4, 1756, and the latter was born at St. John, Province of Quebec, on May 15, 1775. They were married in St. John on Nov. 19, 1791, and settled in Toronto (then called York Town) in 1805, then removed to Fort Erie, thence to Amherstburgh, where Mr. Stanton died on June 12, 1833; Mrs. Stanton died at fort Erie on June 19, 1820. In 1812 Mr. Stanton was appointed Assistant Commissary-General, which commission he held up to the day of his death. The subject of our sketch, George Stanton, was united in marriage on November 19, 1835, to Sarah VanEvery, who was born in Flamboro' West on April 5, 1814; they are both members of the Church of England. Their family consisted of thirteen children, of whom six survive, viz., William, Fannie, George, Mary, Sarah and Allan N. Their eldest daughter, Margaret (now deceased), was the wife of James Zimmerman, EsQ., and was born August 15, 1836, died June 5, 1880. Mr. Stanton, who acquired a grammar school education, commencing at the late Dr. Strachan's school, Toronto, in 1812, is the oldest Justice of the Peace in Brant County. He filled the office of Town Councillor for two sessions, and is Colonel of the 4th Battalion of Brant Militia. In 1837 he raised a company of Volunteers at St. George, and served under Allan McNab during the Rebellion. In 1833 he was appointed Postmaster at St. George, and subsequently at Paris in 1860, a position he still holds. While a resident of St. George he was engaged in mercantile business, besides operating a grist mill. a distillery and a farm. He gave the Village of St. George its name, at the suggestion of a Mrs. Sarah Barmour, long since deceased. It can be faithfully recorded that no one can be more highly respected in the community in which they live than George Stanton and his family.

Page 683 and Part of 684

WILLIAM TELFER, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in Scotland 14th February, 1830, and is a son of the late William Telfer, also a native of Scotland, who emigrated to canada in 1845, settling in South Dumfries Township. Mr. Telfer, Sr., died December 20, 1880, but Mrs. Telfer is still living in Paris Ont. William, our subject, was united in marriage, 15th April, 1858, with Elizabeth McPherson, who was born in halton County, Ont., 2nd March, 1828; she is a daughter of the late Duncan McPherson, of South Dumfries.

SYDNEY THOMAS, farmer, St. George P.O., was born August 15, 1836, and is a son of Jonathan and Elizabeth Thomas. Mr. Jonathan Thomas was born near Rutland, in the State of Vermont, May 23, 1793, and died September 29, 1860, aged 67 years, 4 months, 6 days; Mrs. Thomas was born in Niagara County, York State,* in the year 1796, died April 25, 1869, aged 72 years, 3 months, and 29 days. They came to canada about the year 1815, and settled near St. Catharines; three years later they moved west to Dumfries, and settled on Lot 13, 1st concession, where sydney Thomas now lives. The land was purchased from the Hon. Wm. Dickson, who owned the whole township. They were the parents of eleven children, four of whom are still living. Mrs. thomas died April 25, 1869. Mr. Sydney Thomas, the youngest son, is now in the homestead. He was married, December 24, 1863, to Rebecca Adeline, daughter of James and Sarah Jane Potroff, of Binbrook, Wentworth County. They have been blessed with seven children, all of whom are living. Their names and ages, according to seniority, are as follows: James S., born December 21, 1864; Frank W., born January 2, 1867; George W., February 24, 1869; Charles E., April 11, 1871; Elizabeth Ada, September 16, 1873; Mary Maud, June 23, 1876; and William J., February 20,1879. They attend the Methodist Church. Mr. Thomas received a common school education, and has made good use of it. He has 248 1/4 acres of improved land in his farm. Bill Note! * This is as written! It should be New York State.

Page 684

ROBERT WALL, farmer, Dumfries Township, was born in Somersetshire, England, on January 19th, 1840, and is a son of John and Caroline Wall, both natives of England. The Former, who was engaged in farming all his life, was born Jan. 16th, 1814, and the latter Christmas Day, 1819. They were married in England, and emigrated to Canada in 1848, where they have since remained, principally in Brant County. Robert, our subject, was married in 1866, April 10th, to Eliza Jane Ash, who was born in Ireland on 30th Oct., 1842, and is a daughter of William T. and Alice M. M. Ash. Both are members of the Wesleyan Methodist body, and have had a family of seven children, of whom there survive five, viz., Anna, Emma, Edwin, William, Thomas and Charles. Mr. Wall acquired but a comparatively limited education, but by industry and integrity has built himself up a comfortable home, with an ownership of 187 acres of well improved land, on which he resides.

JOHN WESTWOOD, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born 28th July, 1850, and is a son of Thomas and mary Westwood, the former of whom was a native of the State of New York, where he was born 25th Jan., 1813, and whose parents were John and Eleanor Westwood. The elder emigrated to New York from Leed, Yorkshire, England, and from New York State he came to Canada in 1822, and settled near Beaver dams, in the vicinity of Niagara falls, where they resided about two years. In 1824 they moved west, and located on Lot 10 Con. 1 of South Dumfries, where he taught the first school in the neighbourhood, and where his son Thomas lives at present. Here the elder Mr. Westwood died 5th September, 1833, and his widow on the 18th March, 1846. John Westwood was married in October, 1874, to Alice, daughter of Samuel Armstrong, who is at present in Michigan, and by her has one child, Maud Alice, born 4th July, 1876. Thomas Westwood was married, 2nd July, 1846, to Mary, daughter of John and dorothy Kitchen, Dumfries Township, and to this union have been born five children, of whom four survive, viz., Dorothy, John, married to Alice, daughter of Samuel Armstrong, of Dumfries; Harvey, married to Elizabeth Campbell, of Brantford Township, and daughter of Archibald Campbell ; and David Nathan, (deceased) was born 6th June, 1851, died 8th May, 1856. Mrs. Thomas westwood died November 8th, 1879, in her 61st year. Thomas Westwood's brother, Samuel, who is three years younger than Thomas, has always resided with him, and is still making his residence at Thomas' home, unmarried. The Westwood family are members of the Methodist Church, in which Mr. Thomas takes an active interest. He received the rudiments of an ordinary rural school education, and has been successful in life. At present he is owner of 150 acres of well improved land. in 1862, the skeletons of fifteen Indians were discovered on the farm, and in 1878, twenty-six more, evidently indicating the locality of an Indian Burying-ground.

Page 685

HUGH WHITE, farmer, Township of South Dumfries, was born in that township 21st june, 1827, and is the son of Thomas and Mary (Harvie) White, natives of Scotland. His mother emigrated with her parents to the United States in 1811, and from there to canada in 1817. His father first emigrated to the States with his brother about the year 1824, and moved shortly afterwards into Canada. he walked the greater part of the journey, driving a yoke of oxen, with a cart loaded with sundry articles essential to pioneering purposes, such as a plough, axe chains, etc. He first settled in North Dumfries, and was married in Canada to Mary Harvie, in 1826, Squire Ellis performing the marriage ceremony. They remained in North Dumfries a great many years, and in 1844 moved into South Dumfries, where they ended their days. The father, who had been a farm through life, died 7th Dec., 1870, aged 74, and the mother died 19th January, 1868, aged 78. Hugh White, our subject, was married 11th March, 1858, to janet Wallace, daughter of James and Janet Wallace, and born 7th April, 1833. Mr. and Mrs. White are members of the Presbyterian Church, and are the parents of six children, five of whom survive, viz., Thomas, Mary, James W., Janet W. and Henrietta; the deceased, Hugh, died in infancy. Mr. White filled the office of School Trustee for several years, and has met with marked success in his farming operations. He and his wife and family reside on the old home farm, consisting of 450 acres. He possesses in all 870 acres of land, nearly all under cultivation, with excellent buildings.

Page 685 and Part of 686

JOHN WILSON (deceased), who for a quarter of a century was one of the most prosperous farmers in South Dumfries, was a native of Ayrshire, Scotland, where he was born in 1805. His parents were John and Elizabeth A. Wilson, who lived and died in the "land of the mountain and the flood." John Wilson married, about the year 1836, Susan Howell, daughter of Nathan and Susan Howell, who were natives of the United States, and who emigrated to Canada and settled in Copetown, near Flamboro', Ontario. Mrs. Wilson, who was born 17th July, 1817, is a member of the Presbyterian Church, of which her husband was also an adherent. Mr. Wilson settled on the home farm in 1837, where he remained up to the time of his death, which occurred 1st May, 1861. When he first moved into South Dumfries Township he bought the 100 acres where his widow and family now reside. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson had a family of eight children, of whom four are now living, viz., Robert C., Ogden (in British Columbia), Elizabeth A., and Elliott, who lives in Paris. The deceased are Durlty, Mary, Rachel and John H. Robert C. manages the farm, and Elizabeth assists in the management of the house. Mr. Wilson, by exemplary industry and integrity, always developed success out of his undertakings; and when he left this world, his family lost a kind and affectionate husband and father, and the community a useful and good citizen.

W.B. WOOD & D. BEATTIE WOOD, proprietors of the St. George and Woodvale Flouring MIlls, as well as the saw mill, are sons of Alexander and Ann Wood, natives of Scotland, who emigrated to Canada in 1853, and who are still living. Mr. Wood, Sr., is a retired farmer, having been for the greater part of his life engaged in agricultural pursuits. W.B. Wood was born in 1848, and in 1872 married Ellen Malcolmson, a Canadian by birth; they have a family of three, viz., Maggie, Nellie and Alexander. He has been for the past two years a member of the Dumfries Township Council, and is also a member of the Masonic Fraternity, as well as an office-bearer in the Presbyterian Church. D. Beattie Wood was born 22nd August, 1858, and was united in marriage with frances Clark, 17th May, 1882. The two brothers, who both enjoyed a good common school training, are together with their families, members of the Presbyterian Church. They have been partners in the milling business for about three years, and have met with considerable success. W. B. Wood became the owner of the Woodvale Mills in 1876, and did a good business in them alone until 1880, when the fine three-story stone mil was purchased, and the partnership between the brothers entered into. the mills are driven by first-class never failing water-power, and this, in addition to their situation, makes the property very valuable. If industry, integrity, and good business ability are guarantees of success, W.B. and D. Beattie Wood are on the safe road to prosperity.

 

End of South Dumfries Township

 

Mailbox



If you have problems, please email the Brant County Coordinator

Return to Home Page

Graphics and Page Design copyrighted 1999, 2000 by Vikki Gray for the benefit of the Canadian GenWeb Project. All rights reserved.