Search billions of records on

 Maps Showing
                        County Boundary                                           Changes

From the time of the formation of the Oregon Territory, thru its admission to the United States in 1859 until the counties assumed their present form in 1908, there were numerous boundary changes.  The original Oregon Territory included land that later became part of Montana & Wyoming as well as all of present day Washington and Idaho.  The original counties, Champoeg, Clackamas, Washington & Yamhill were formed in 1843.  From these four, came all the other 36 counties.  Because it is essential for the family history researcher to know when the various counties were formed, and from which counties, I have included maps showing county boundaries in:

1852    1854    1864    1874   1889   1895  1899


*   *   *   *   *   *


*   *   *   *   *   *


*   *   *   *   *   *


*   *   *   *   *   *


*    *    *    *    *    *


Check out our favorite Genealogy Links or Vital Records
Take a look at our Resources  or Database
Return to County Home Page
Ask for a Lookup
Place a Query or look at new Queries
Visit other Oregon Counties
Look at county Activities,   Maps and History
Go to  Biographies,  or Cemetery  Records
Have a peek at Geographic Place Names

   For comments or questions, contact Ralph Turner Coordinator forYamhill Co. Genealogical Soc., Lake and Douglas Counties
This page updated Saturday 18 Dec 2004

Welcome, you are the 62nd visitor.  I hope that you enjoyed your visit and plan to come back often.