Union County, Oregon

A Part of the Trails to the Past Project

Union County was officially formed on October 14, 1864, from Baker County. The county seat is La Grande, but in its early days, the county seat flip-flopped between Union and La Grande. La Grande was permanently established as Union County's county seat in 1905. Between 1875 and 1913, adjustments were made to Union County's borders with its neighboring counties: Baker, Umatilla and Wallowa.

Incorporated cities within Union County include La Grande, Union, Summerville, North Powder, Island City, Imbler, Cove, and Elgin. Unincorporated communities include Alicel, Camp Elkanah, Hilgard, Hot Lake, Medical Springs, Perry, Pondosa, Starkey and Telocaset. We'll try to locate a bit of history for each community as we grow this page. Be sure to visit often as we add to its contents. And if you have something you'd like to contribute in the way of photos or records, be sure to let me know. Copy my email address to your email template, and put "Union County" in the subject line so I'll be sure to notice it:


Data and Other Links

Cities & Towns     Biographies Cemeteries Census Records
Bible Records Church Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Vital Records Military Records Wills and Probate
Schools Photos Families Diaries and Letters
- - - -

Union County Links and Contact Information

Return to Oregon's Main Page

September 24, 2010

Copyright 2010. Information found here may be used freely for personal purposes. Copying for commercial purposes is prohibted without my consent, or consent of any contributors.