The Cherry Mills Area
Created by Ruth Rode of Williamsport, PA 1998

Index to Cherry Mills Area Map


HISTORY OF CHERRY TOWNSHIP

EARLY SETTLEMENTS

The first settlement made within the present limits of Cherry township was that of Amos Ellis, who in 1816 built a shanty at the point where the Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike crosses the Loyalsock, in which to board the men who were working upon the Turnipike. Early maps made of this section show a town plot at Ellis’s called New Thurington, but the place never contained more than a half-dozen buildings. The town plot was undoubtedly gotten up for purpose of inducing speculators to invest in the lands in that vicinity. The second settlement was made in the vicinity of what is now Sugar Hill. About 1818 or 1820, Andrew Shiner who had the contract to build the new Turnpike, built a sawmill on Birch Creek near where it is crossed by the creek. John R. Lopez, a sub-contractor, settled the Henley place in 1818. Samuel Dill settled here in 1819; Samuel Thomas in 1817 or 1818; William Colley and William Potter in 1820; Jesse, James and John Hicks in 1820; Charles Scott in 1817; all of these settled on Sugar Hill, taking land as part payment for their labor on the Turnpike while it was in the course of construction. Others who worked upon the Turnpike were Casper King, William Graifly, Alden Brookes, Josiah Potter, Charles Scott, Evan C. Shiner, Samuel McNeal and Roswell Phelps. In 1817 or 1818, Emanuel Hoover built a sawmill between the present site of Satterfield and Shinersville. John M. Kirkendall made the first improvement on the Pendergrass place in 1820.

About 1823 Andrew Shiner started the town of Shinersville, which was located on Sugar Hill. It was laid out in regular town lots which he sold for $35 each. John Mosier, who afterward moved to Dushore, settled here in 1824 and worked at his trade of blacksmith. John Hartzig was the wagonmaker and David C. Dodge, the merchant and hotel-keeper. Both of these men were taxed in 1825. The second schoolhouse in the township was built here in 1825, and the second post office located here with Henry W. Cooper as postmaster. Here occurred the first death in the township, that of Samuel Maston who came from Symesbury, Connecticut. He died in the summer of 1821 and was buried at Shinersville. For a time, the place prospered and gave every promise of a growing village, but Andrew Shiner became involved and was sold out by the sheriff in 1829. After this, the village declined, much of the business being transferred to Cherry Hill. Mr. Shiner returned to Columbia county where he secured position as gatekeeper at the river bridge at Berwick and there he lived the few remaining years of his life. His two sons remained in Sullivan county but a short time, leaving only his two daughters, Mrs. Samuel Jackson and Mrs. Ellis, in the township which he had been so much the means of improving.

Ezra Payne made a clearing in 1819 on lands now owned by Barney Hunsinger. His house, the first frame building in the township, was called the "Yankee house." It was built by John Stowers in 1820, of hewed logs, had two good rooms, a chimney in the center and a fireplace on either side. Here he opened a hotel, and afterwards was justice of the peace. John Stowers settled the Auman place, now occupied by Frank Hunsinger, in 1817. This improvement he sold to Samuel Jackson who came in 1819. Samuel McNeal settled near the Auman place, afterward selling out to Samuel Jackson. His daughter Sally, who became the wife of Elias Hahn, was the first child born in the township. In 1819 and 1820, Brookins Potter, Roswell Phelps, Louisa Holcomb and David E. Davis settled in this vicinity.

Freeman Fairchild came from Morris county, New Jersey to Berwick, Columbia county, in May 1814. He had married Hannah Ketcham, a native of Morris county, and they had three children, Stephen, Harriet and Caroline, when they left their New Jersey home. March 18, 1819, they came to Cherry township, living a short time in a house in Headleyville, Dushore. Here their fourth child Daniel was born. Soon after, Mr. Fairchild leased the hotel on Cherry Hill of Ezra Payne, which he conducted until his death in 1834. It was kept by his widow until 1851. When for a time the county seat was located here and the sessions of the court held in the nearby church, she entertained judges, lawyers and jurors, besides the many travelers that passed back and forth over the Turnpike.

Stephen Fairchild married Nancy Thomas and settled where his son William now lives. Their children were:

Caroline, died when 3 years old
Hannah A., married William H. Yonkin, of Cherry
Charlotte, lives on the homestead
William P.
Harriet Fairchild married Wells Wilcox of New Albany. To them were born:
Catharine, now deceased, married Jesse Stalford
Joseph, deceased
Emily, married Jesse Barber of Albany
Boyd, lives at New Albany
Caroline Fairchild married J.W. Martin of Cherry.

Daniel Fairchild married Elizabeth Richart and to them were born:

Hattie, deceased
Freeman, deceased
Kate, deceased
Sally, married Fred Newell of Dushore

David H. Goodwin came to Cherry in 1830. He was first employed as a surveyor by non-resident land owners, and in a few years became their agent for the sale of land. He was a well-educated man and, during the winter months, was employed as a schoolteacher, sometimes also conducting singing schools. He was active in church work and occasionally served as a local preacher.

John Persun settled in Cherry in 1836. The family were originally French and went from France to Germany during the Huguenot trouble. Later they emigrated to the American colonies, settling in New Jersey, where John Persun was born in 1806. When quite small, he came with his parents to Luzerne county, locating near Wilkes-Barre. After the Turnpike was built, he ran a four-horse stage from Berwick to Ellis’s tavern on the Loyalsock for several years. He learned surveying of David Goodwin, and, upon Mr. Goodwin’s removal from the township, took up that business. In the winter, he also taught school. He first settled on the Stephen Fairchild farm in the horseshoe and later in East Cherry. He married Henrietta Klinetob and to them were born nine children:

Loretta, married Hiram Kisner of East Cherry
John E., enlisted in 58th reg’t P.V.I. and died in 1863 of typhoid pneumonia
David Goodwin, died at Picture Rocks in 1903
Christopher, died in infancy
Nathan, lives in Dushore
Daniel, lives in Wilmot
Charles O, died in infancy
Catherine M., married John S. Hoffa of Dushore
Henrietta C., married David Abrams of Wilmot

John Bahr came from Berks county in 1833 and purchased the improvements on the farm now owned by Barney Hunsinger. His grandfather was a native of Germany. He married Mary Magdalena Reeser, a sister of John Reeser of Cherry. They were the parents of fourteen children, seven sons and seven daughters, all of whom came to Cherry with their parents except the eldest daughter who remained in Berks county.

John, settled near Cherry Mills
Benjamin, settled where Patrick Murphy now lives and later moved West
Samuel, commenced in Cherry, later went west
William, now deceased, settled at New Albany
Daniel, settled on old homestead, lives at Hollenback
Jacob, settled in Oregon
Solomon, settled on a part of the old homestead
Magdalena, now Mrs. Fromfelter of Berks couty
Mary, married Charles Kinsley of Cherry
Rebecca, married Nicholas Kneller, of Cherry
Catharine, married Mr. Friedenbrg, later Dan Sickles
Sarah, married John Bachman of Cherry
Elizabeth, lives in Berks county

Mrs. Freeman Fairchild was the first person baptized in the township, the ceremony being performed in 1821 by Elder Solomon Dimmock of the Baptist faith. She united with the church at Huntingdon. Rev. Dimmock, who was from Huntingdon, held services in the house of Ezra Payne once a month; afterward the services were held at Roswell Phelps’ and Freeman Fairchild’s. In November 1828, Freeman Fairchild and Mrs. Brookins Potter were baptized and, some time later, Roswell Phelps and wife, Miss Salome Tompkins, and Mrs. Alden Potter. Previous to these, there were only two Baptists in the settlement, Brookins Potter and Mrs. Nicholas Potter from Huntingdon. Visits were made to the settlement by Elders Joel Rogers, Elias Dodson and Griffith Lewis. After Elders Rogers, Dodson and Samuel Chapin preached here alternately every four weeks. When the Cherry church was started, only two members of the Huntingdon church remained, Hannah Fairchild and Rachael Rogers, all the others having died or moved away. On examination of the records kept by D.H. Goodwin, recording secretary of the school committee for Cherry Hill and vicinity, it is found that on Thursday evening, January 12, 1832, a meeting of the citizens was called at the house of Freeman Fairchild to discuss the building of a schoolhouse. Jacob Dieffenbach was elected president and Roswell Phelps, clerk. It was voted that a schoolhouse be built upon the land donated by Roswell Phelps for that purpose. It comprised 16 square rods of land and laid between the present site of Bahr’s cemetery and the Turnpike. Freeman Fairchild, John G. Bartch and William Colley were appointed a committee to build the schoolhouse which was to be of plank, one story high, 26x22 feet with a chimney and fireplace in one end. It was also voted that the schoolhouse should be considered free to all denominations that wished to hold religious services there. Thirty-nine of the pioneers subscribed toward building this schoohouse, some in money, some by work and some with material. At a meeting held in August 1832, Rosewell Phelps was elected chairman, David H. Goodwin, secretary and Roswell Phelps, David H. Goodwin and Henry W. Cooper, the school committee for the ensuing year. At a meeting held April 3, 1841, it was "Resolved, that the right of pre-eminence to occupy the house shall stand as follows: 1st, the common day school; 2nd, preaching and prayer meeting; 3rd, Sunday school; 4th, singing school; 5th, debating school." The first school in the settlement was taught by Salome Tompkins for $1 per week and board, the second by Roswell Phelps of Symsbury, Connecticut, and the third by Alma Potter of Huntingdon, PA.

The first settlement made in the Thrasher Settlement in East Cherry was that of George Thrasher who was born in the city of Reading, Pennsylvania, in 1774. He married Catharine Fox of that city and moved to Luzerne county. Here he remained until 1828, when he purchased 800 acres of land, lying just north-east of what is now Dushore, from a Mr. Kittwolder and moved to Cherry township. He lived here until he died July 12, 1846. To them were born ten children:

Elizabeth, who died unmarried
Catharine, married Philip Heverly of Cherry
Hannah, married George Rupert and later a Mr. Bendinger; she lived in Luzerne county
George, lived on the homestead
Benjamin, of Cherry
Jonathan, of Indiana
Samuel, of Cherry
Adam, of Cherry
Joseph, died in 1829
Reuben, of Cherry
George Thrasher remained in Luzerne county until after the death of his father in 1846, when he moved onto the homestead. Two years later, March 18, 1849, he was accidentally killed. He was on his way to Dushore with a load of grain he was taking to mill when his team ran away and he was killed. He was married to Lydia Weaver, who was born July 13, 1812, a daughter of Christian and Maria Weaver of Luzerne county. She died June 13, 1887. Their children were:
Joseph, married Sally Moyer, lives in Cherry
Stephen, new deceased, married Caroline Kinsley
Phoebe, now deceased, married J.V. Lamberson
Ransom, now deceased, married Celinda Yonkin
Adam, lives on the homestead
Rachael, married Benjamin Heiber, late of Cherry
Reuben, married Elizabeth Barber, lives in Colley
Catharine A., deceased
Benjamin Thrasher married Anna Hunsinger, a daughter of Barney Hunsinger of Luzerne county, and settled where his son Benjamin now lives. Their children were:
Catharine, married William Kisner of Cherry
Levi, of Cherry
Samuel, of Colley
Benjamin, lives on old homestead
Noah, lives at Hunsinger’s Corners in Cherry
Sally Ann, married Fred Huffmaster of Cherry
Christine, married Harvey Landback of Colley
Amanda, married Charles Hartzig of Cherry
Susan, deceased, married Benedict Ortleib of Dushore
Samuel Thrasher married Rachael Persun and settled the farm now owned by John Biddle, and to them were born three children:
Freeman
Hester Ann of Dushore
George
Adam Thrasher married Hannah Dieffenbach and settled the farm now owned by Cyrus Connor. They had four children:
Elizabeth, married John Shaffer of Elimsport
Lucinda, married Cyrus Connor
George, died in 1863
A child died in infancy
Reuben Thrasher married Anna Suber and lived on the farm near Dushore now owned by his son, Jacob. Their children were:
Hannah, born in 1840 and died in 1863
Catharine, born in 1844, and died in 1863
George, born in 1846 and died in 1863
Elizabeth, born in 1849 and died in 1863
Jacob, lives on the homestead
Fredrick and Mary E. Bartch came to America from Germany about 1813, and settled in Cherry about 1824. A brother, John G. Bartch * , also settled here about the same time; the improvements made by the two brothers were upon lands now owned by D.E. and Charles Dieffenbach, in East Cherry. Fredrick Bartch had a son Gottleib who was three years old when his parents came to America. He married Sarah Suber, a daughter of Jacob Suber, of Cherry and to them were born six Children;
Jacob J. of Wilmot, Bradford county
Emeline, married Clark Fox, of Kansas
Jesse, of Towanda, Bradford county
Celinda, married Michael Brobst, of Montour county
Caroline E., married Fred Swerer, of Bloomsburg
Delia C., now deceased, married Freeman Frye

John Bartch married Caroline Moyer and their children were John, Fred, Gottleib, Margaret, Mrs Eliza Albert, Mrs. Mary M. Hafer, Mrs. Barbara Musselman and Mary Ann.

Editor's Note: It is easy to confuse the Bartch family members due to the continual reappearance of the same names and the frequent assumption on the part of Streby when he wrote this history that his readers knew which were which. For example, we read above about John G. Bartch, a brother of Frederick, both emigrants to what became Sullivan County. John G. Bartch married Magdalena Steiner. Then there is John Bartch, mentioned above, who married Caroline Moyer and was actually a son of Frederick. His full name is John F. Bartch. Then there was John W. Bartch, who appears to have been the son of John and Caroline listed above. I have not even mentioned the confusion wrought between Gottlieb Bartch, son of Frederick, and his namesake, son of John F. Bartch.

We might also mention that John G. Bartch had at least one son who became quite famous in legal circles:

BARTCH, GEORGE W., son of John G. Bartch and Mary Magdelene Steiner of Dushore, PA. Born March 15, 1849, Dushore, PA. Came to Utah, March, 1888.
Married Amanda Alice Guild on Feb. 16, 1871, in Bloomsburg, PA, daughter of Aaron D. and Sarah A. Guild, of Bloomsburg. She was born April 23, 1847. Their children: Minnie Alice, m. W. H. Child; Rae, m. J. A. Lloyd; Olive Amanda, m. Dwight M. Guillotte. Family home: Salt Lake City.
Received the academic degree of M. S. 1871; superintendent public schools at Shenandoah, PA, 1874-84; practiced law at Bloomsburg, PA, 1884-86, at Canon City, Colo., 1886-88, and at Salt Lake City 1888-89; probate judge of Salt Lake county 1889-93; associate justice Supreme Court of Utah Territory 1893-95; of Utah State Supreme Court 1895-1906; chief justice 1899-1900 and 1905-06; resigned Oct. 1, 1906, to resume practice of law at Salt Lake City.
Source: Esshom, Frank Elwood, Pioneers and Prominent Men of Utah. Salt Lake City: Utah Pioneers Book Publishing Co., 1913.

Henry Yonkin, Sr. was born May 4, 1774 in the province of Hesse-Nassau, in or near Cassel, Germany. He married Eliabeth Haines and came to America in 1807. Prior to sailing on their long journey, as it seemed in those days, some trouble arose which caused them to be detained a year before starting. The captain of the vessel upon which they sailed, one of those rascals that lie in wait for inexperienced travelers, defrauded them of the small capital they possessed, and upon landing they were sold to a farmer at Bethlehem to pay for their passage. They remained with this man a short time and then moved to Briar Creek township, Columbia county. In 1823, they came to what was then Muncy township, Lycoming county, now Cherry township, Sullivan county, Mr. Yonkin died in June, 1851, aged seventy-seven years, and his wife ten years later in 1861, aged eighty-six years. To them were born seven children:
Henry, Jr., married Barbre Hartzig
John, 1st, married Mary Labenberg
Elizabeth, married Henry Graifley of Cherry
Catharine, married Christian Mosier
Joseph, married Matilda Hoffa
Jacob, married Elizabeth Meyer
Peter, married Catherine Suber

Henry Yonkin, Jr. was born at Havre, France, in 1806 and came with his parents to America. He remained with his parents in the different localities in which they lived, coming to Cherry in 1824, where he purchased fifty acres of wild land of John Kunkle at $2 per acre. About 1827, he married Barbre Hartzig, a daughter of John Hartzig of Cherry. December 29, 1889, he died at the age of eighty-three years, and Mrs. Yonkin died Oct. 7, 1891 aged eighty-nine years. To them were born twelve chldren:
John, married Loretta Bartch of Cherry
Mary C., married William Smith, now deceased
Charles F., married Wealthy Merithew, lives in Forks
George W., married Mary Sweeney
Ellen, married Henry G. Huffmaster of Cherry
William H., married Hannah Fairchild
Jacob, died at the age of 16 years
Emily, died at the age of 8 years
Hannah, married Phaon Moyer of Lycoming county
Almira, married R.C. R. Kshinka, of Cherry
Peter J., married Elizabeth Kneller
Edward, married Ellen Smith

John Yonkin, 1st, was born in Briar Creek township, Columbia county in 1809. He was united in marriage to Mary Labenberg. November 26, 1891, he died aged eighty-two years, and March 1, 1881, his wife died at the age of seventy-two years. They settled within the present limits of Dushore where James Cunningham now resides.

Joseph Yonkin was born in 1812 in Briar Creek township. He married Matilda Hoffa and to them was born one son, Jacob H., now a furniture dealer and undertaker in Dushore, and one daughter, Matilda, married Michael Litzelman, of Sayre.

Jacob Yonkin was born December 4, 1820 in Briar Creek township. He married Elizabeth Meyer and to them were born:
Jane, married J. H. Hunsinger
Emily, married Edwin Moyer, of Dushore
Ellen, married Thomas Schell, of Bernice
Celinda, married Ransom Thrasher
George, lives on the homestead in East Cherry
Hannah, married Ralph Martin of Albany township

Peter Yonkin was born in Briar Creek township, Columbia county. He married Catharine Suber who still survives and lives with her son Joseph. To them were born six children:
Carrie, married J.K. Bird of Forks township
Levi, of East Cherry, married Lorilla Wentzell
Hannah, married Charles S. Sick of Cherry Mills
Elizabeth, married Leo Sick, of Cherry
Joseph, married Hannah Mosier
Matilda, lives at Elmira

Frederick Huffmaster and his son Henry came to Cherry township in 1820. Frederick Huffmaster and his wife Christina were natives of Germany, coming to America in 1801. They first settled in New Jersey, and, while the Turnpike was being built, he and his son Henry worked upon its construction, receiving in part payment for their labor, the farm now owned by H. G. Huffmaster and a portion of the John Yonkin farm. To Frederick and Christina Huffmaster was born one son, Henry, and one daughter, Charlotta, who married a Mr. Thomas and settled at Satterfield on what is known as the Thomas lot. After her husband’s death, she resided with her daughter Nancy who had married Stephen Fairchild.

Henry Huffmaster came to America with his parents when he was nine years old and, while residing in New Jersey, learnt the art of weaving. He married Barbara Bartch, a daughter of Frederick Bartch of Cherry. March 17, 1873, he died aged 77 years, and August 3, 1868, his wife died at Mapleton, Illinois, aged 70 yers. To them were born:
Joseph, married Elizabeth Resser, killed at the battle of Chancellorsville during the Civil War
Eliza, now deceased, married Rev. John Bolton, a minister of the Evangelical church
Magdalena, married Henry Stiff of Cherry
Note: You can learn more about this family in The Descendants of Henry Stiff and Mary Magdalena Huffmaster
Frederick, married Sally Thrasher
John served in the Civil War, resides in Illinois
Henry G, married Ellen Yonkin
Nancy, married a Mr. Hawk
Robinson, resides at Coldwater, Kansas

Caspar King and son William also worked on the Turnpike, and received as payment for their labor the farm known as the King farm, now owned by Pervical Wentzel, the Jackson estate and Wendell Sick. They first settled at the foot of the hill on the Laporte road on the lot now owned by the George D. Jackson estate, in 1817.

John Hartzig came to Cherry in 1819 and kept a blacksmith shop for Andrew Shiner at Shinersville for some time. Later, he settled on the farm now owned by Gabriel Litzelman. Both he and his wife, whose maiden name was Catharine Shiredecker, were natives of Berne, Switzerland. They came to America in 1818, and remained one year in New Jersey. Their children were:

Barbara, married Henry Yonkin of Cherry
Caroline, married Philip Miller
William, married Sarah Kester
John, married Eliza Kester

To John and Eliza Hartzig were born:

Charles, married Amanda Thrasher
Catharine, married Chas. Bahr of Cherry
John S., married Susanna Bahr
Hannah, married Peter Rohe of Forks township
Louisa, deceased
Lucinda, of Cherry

Mathias Litzelman came to America in 1828 from Elsets, France, now included in Germany. Landing at New York, he stayed there two years and then came to Berwick. While there, he heard of the German settlement in Cherry, to which place he was induced to come, settling the farm now owned by his son Ralph. In 1820, while yet in Europe, he married May Yenne and to them were born:

Mathias, lived at Cogan Valley, Lycoming county
Mary, now deceased, married Joseph Ashey of Illinois
Elizabeth, married Wendell Richley of Cherry**
Christina, now deceased, married Nicholas Yonkin
Lena, deceased, married Benedict Ortleib of Dushore
George, married Lavina Hollenback, lives at Burlington
Amelia, deceased, married Stephen Belle of Lycoming Co.
Michael, married Libbie Yonkin, lives at Sayre
Joseph, died at the age of six years
Louisa, married Peter Mushno of Jersey Shore
Gabriel, married Mary White, later Eliza Bahr
Adaline, married George Solinger of Oregon
Ralph, married Lydia Sick
John, married Mary Sick

Editor's Note: There seems to be some undertainty if this "Elizabeth" is the wife of Wendell Richley, or if Elizabeth Litzelswope is the correct wife. For example: in an e-mail posted at the Ancestry.com message boards by Todd A. Farmerie dated May 22, 2003 in reply to a query by Sylvia M. Coast:
I can now confirm that Elizabeth Litzelswope, wife of Wendell Richley, was daughter of Joseph Litzelswope. On 19 May 1887, Charles Cook and Flora Richley were married, the record explicitly stating that they were second cousins. This would correctly describe the relationship as follows:
1. Anton Kani m. Ursula Weber
2. Maria Ursula Kani m. Joseph Baumgartner : Anna Maria Kani m. Joseph Litzelswope (sisters)
3. Mechtunde Baumgartner m. Conrad Koch : Elizabeth Litzelswope m. Wendell Richley (first cousins)
4. Charles Cook (Koch) m. Florentine Richley (second cousins).

Tina Pastusic has a different point of view, shown both here and below with the entries for Wendell and Michael Richley, respectively:
That isn't correct. They could be second cousins but not by the Elizabeth who married Wendell Richley being Litzelswope because she wasn't. She was a Litzelman. One reason being "Elizabeth Richley" wasn't mentioned in Joseph Litzelswope's will. All his other children were including the Elizabeth that was married to Frederick Trunt although she was deceased. I found also her daughter Florence Richley's obit that said her mother was a Litzelman. Elizabeth (Litzelman) Richley died in 1912 but the newspaper incorrectly spelled her name "Richlin".

Dennis Thall and his wife Magdaline came from Germany with their family to Philadelphia in 1816. With his sons, Joseph and John, he worked on the Turnpike, later purchasing and settling the farm now occupied by Levi Fulmer in Cherry in 1820. Their children were:

John, of Towanda
Maria, married Joseph VanDeinaher of Baltimore
Joseph, of Cherry
Jacob, of Franklin, Bradford county
Margaret, married a Mr. Geenig of Philadelphia
Mary, of Philadelphia
James, of Cherry
Rosa, married John Yanney of Cherry
Ann, married Joseph Dibling of Dushore
Elizabeth, married Daniel Chapman of Evergreen
Christina
Amelia, married Charles Richlin of Forks township

Joseph Thall married Margaret Shields of Cherry. To them were born four children:

John, died in the service during the Civil War
Margaret, married Patrick Murphy
Joseph, of Cherry
Mary Ellen, now deceased, married Edward Walker

James Thall married Caroline LaFavor who was of French descent. They were the parents of seven children:

Mary, married William Shipman of Oliphant, PA
Caroline, known as Sister Joseph, died in Oregon
Louisa, married Michael Sullivan of Albany township
Anna, a Sister of Charity in Kansas
Edward, died in 1872
Frank, of Cherry
James, of Cherry

Lewis Zaner came to Cherry in 1828 from Briar Creek township, Columbia county, where he was born October 2, 1804, a son of Adam Zaner, 2nd, and a grandson of Adam Zaner, 1st, who came from Prussia, Germany to America about 1731 and settled in Schuykill county. He served seven years as a soldier in the Revolutionary War and lived to be nearly 100 years old. Lewis Zaner was a noted hunter, killing much wild game and was elected the second sheriff of Sullivan county. He married Eve Crisher of Berks county. She died in 1883, aged 81 years, her husband surviving until 1887. To them were born nine children:

Elizabeth, married Jonathan Colley of Muncy
Adam H., deceased, married Fietta Wentzell, lived at Dushore
Elijah W., died in the service during the Civil War
Rebecca, married Henry Whitmire of Muncy
Hannah, married Amos Cox of Dushore
Levi, deceased, lived at Washingtonville, Montour Co.
Loretta, married D. E. Dieffenbach of Dushore
Lewis M., killed in the Civil War
Amanda, deceased

William Graifley came to Cherry in 1821 from Briar Creek township, Columbia county. With his sons, Henry and William, he worked upon the Turnpike and took the farm now owned by the Henry Graifley estate, in part payment for their labor. He came from Switzerland in 1805, settling first in Columbia county. He was the father of three children:

William, born in 1792
Henry, born in 1803
Anna, lived at Bethlehem

William Graifley, married Rebecca, the widow of William Martin, and lived on the Martin farm now owned by Lyman Baker. To them were born two daughters:

Elizabeth, married Lyman Baker
Mary Ann, now deceased, married Daniel Bahr

Henry, settled the homestead where his widow now resides. He married Elizabeth Yonkin and to them wre born:

Catharine, died in 1896
William, died in 1898
Jacob, of Cherry
Mary, lives on the homestead
Emma, married Joseph Sick of Cherry Mills
George D., lives on the homestead
Lewis C., of Cherry
Wellington C., of Cherry

John Reeser was born in Berks county, PA., in 1790. In 1821, he came to Cherry township, locating on the Loyalsock at Ellis’s, later known as the Seaman place. He was a miller by trade and, in 1823, erected a gristmill on the Loyalsock creek about a half-mile from Dushore on the farm now owned by Percival Wentzel. Later, he settled on the farm now owned by Lewis and Wellington Graifley. The maiden name of his wife was Madeline Betts. He died Dec. 9, 1860, at the age of 70 years, and his wife January 8, 1869, at the age of 75 years. To them were born:

Daniel, now deceased, lived on the McMahon farm, later at Loyalsockville, Lycoming county
William, became a minister of the Evangelical church
Charles, died when small
Jeremiah, deceased, lived at Wilkes-Barre
Amos, deceased, lived at Dushore
John, lives in Lycoming county
Benjamin, deceased
Reuben, deceased, lived at Troy, Bradford county
A.L., a merchant, of Lewisburg, Union county
Elizabeth, married Joseph Huffmaster, who was killed in the Civil War; later Elias Smith; and later Barney Kast
Susan, married Valentine Morter of Bernice

William Reeser entered the ministry of the Evangelical church, and was engaged in that capacity nine years, when he settled on his father’s farm. Later he moved to Colley and now lives, at the age of 86 years, with his daughter, Mrs. Winfield Potter of Lopez. He married Sarah G. Martin, who was born in Columbia county in 1819, and to them were born:

Rebecca, married Chester Potter of Cameron county
Hannah, married Alfred Hunsinger of Colley
Lewis, of Maryland
Loretta, married Medes of Maryland
Emanuel, died in 1862
Amanda, died in 1853
Annie, married Winfield Potter of Lopez
M.W., of Colley
Sara Jane, died in 1862

Amos Reeser was born at the Ellis farm in 1822. On reaching his majority, he conducted a hotel at the Long Pond or Lake Ganoga, later the Ellis hotel on the Loyalsock where he was born.. From this place, he moved to Dushore where he conducted a hotel until 1886. In 1846, he married Rebecca Dieffenbach, a daughter of Jacob Dieffenbach. Of this union, seven children were born:

Angeline, married Hiram Nichols of Sciota Vale
Lyman, died when eighteen months old
Valina, married George Honnetter of Dushore
Emeline, now deceased, married William Scureman
Mary, married Barney Weiss, lives at Waverly, NY
Bernice, married William McHenry of Dushore
John D., of Dushore

Joseph Litzelswope married Mary Ann Kania [Editor's Note: more often spelled "Kahni"]while they yet lived in Germany. In 1817, they came from Baden, Germany to America *^*, settling first at Berwick. He worked on the Turnpike, taking in pay the farm now owned by his grandson, Joseph Litzelswope. Here they settled in 1820 and to them were born:

Mary Ann, deceased, married Cornelius Harrington
Maria, married Anthony Borde of Williamsport
Catharine, married Daniel Reeser of Williamsport
Elizabeth, deceased, married Frederick Trunt
Susanna, married George Baumgartner
Anthony, married Catharine Bahl
Caroline, married Peter Bahl
*^* Editor's Note: Per Tony Kaney in August 2010:

Joseph Litzelswope (Lützelschwab) b 1789 Minseln, Baden, and his wife, Maria Anna Kähni and children came to America in 1817. I have the ship's passenger list, which also includes two other Kähni families related to my ancestors. Joseph, his wife and 2 daughters Maria Anna and Anna Maria, left Amsterdam on the Xenophon on March 10, 1817, and arrived in Philadelphia, August 17, 1817. The family first settled in Briar Creek, Columbia county, PA, and can be found there in the 1820 census. The following year, they moved to Cherry Township in Sullivan county.

Anthony married Catharine Bahl and settled on the homestead. Their children were:

Josephine, married Peter Haines of Williamsport
Joseph, married Anna Weisbrod, lives on homestead
Elizabeth, deceased, married Charles Yetter of Williamsport
Emma, lives at Williamsport
Anna, married Michael Rung of Philadelphia
John, of Yellowstone Park, Colorado
Ella, married Frank Lusch of Dushore

Joseph Baumgartner came from Baden, Germany in 1828 and settled the farm where Lewis Baumgartner now lives. While still in Germany, he married Urse Kania, a sister of Mrs. Joseph Litzelswope (Mary Ann Kania). To them were born:

George, killed at the battle of Chancellorsville
Matilda, deceased, married Conrad Cook of Cherry
Frank, deceased, lived on the homestead
Barbara, married Mathias Litzelman of Cogan Valley
William, died when a young man
Alexander, killed in the lumber woods at Greenwood
Conrad, deceased, of Cogan house, Lycoming county
Adam, of Cogan house, Lycoming county
Mary Ann, married a Mr. Smith of Canton
Daniel, killed in the Civil War
Anthony, of Cogan House, Lycoming County
Loretta, married a Mr. McCracken, of Lycoming county
Caroline, married Michael Kany of Overton
(Note: This child was overlooked in the original edition of the Streby text.)

George married Susanna Litzelswope, of Cherry, and settled the farm where Addison Yonkin now lives. He was killed at the battle of Chancellorsville. To them were born;

Loretta, married Henry Cobby of Iowa
Joseph, of Williamsport
Elizabeth, deceased
Frank, of Iowa
Edward, deceased
George, of Illinois
Maria, married Frank McHenry of Waverly *
* Editor's Note: Maria L. Baumgartner, daughter of George and Susanna (Litzelswope) Baumgartner, born 1862, married Frank McHenry, son of William and Priscilla (Kinsley) McHenry. You can learn more about the McHenry heritage at James Boyd McHenry. Maria is buried with her parents and brother Edward at St. Basils' Cemetry in Dushore with a Common Grave Marker. We are thankful to Marie Brasington for this information and the photo, provided in July 2011.

Frank Baumgartner, now deceased, married Phoebe Walburn, and settled on the homestead. To them were born:
Frank, of Towanda
Adam, died in 1902
Mary, deceased
Edward, of Mildred
Lewis, resides on the homestead;
Maurice, of Sunbury
Nelson, of Sunbury

John and Frederick Bahl came to America about 1829 from Elsets, France, now a province of Germany. They settled on the farm now owned by John Shaffer. Frederick never married. John served 12 years as a soldier in Napoleon’s army, being a member of his bodyguard. He married Elena Fishwenger and to them were born:
Michael, deceased, of Forks township
Catherine, married Anthony Litzelswope
Peter, deceased, of Dushore

Peter Bahl married Caroline Litzelswope and settled on a farm at Cherry Mills now owned by the estate. Later, he moved to Dushore and purchased a lot on German Street where he erected a handsome residence. He died in 1892. To Mr. And Mrs. Bahl were born:

Ellen Mary, married William Smith of Cherry Mills
Joseph, of Nebraska
Henrietta, lives with her mother
Emma, married Joseph Kaufman of Philadelphia
John, of Denver City, Colorado
Sophia, married Frank Cook of Owego, New York
Charles, of Dushore
Julius, of Dushore
Fred, of Kent, Ohio

Cornelius Harrington * came from County Kerry, Ireland, to America in 1824 and settled on the Fred Saxer farm in 1828. He married his first wife while yet in Ireland and to them was born one son, Jerry, of New York. He worked on the canal near Berwick and, after settling in Cherry, he married Mary Litzelswope, a daughter of Joseph Litzelswope, of Cherry. Later, he purchased 400 acres of land at a tax sale in which was included the farm belonging to the C.J. Harrington estate. Their children were:

Mary Ann, married James Sheedy of Overton
Margaret, married William Keefe of Troy, Bradford County
Eliza, married John Farrell of Dushore
Catharine, deceased, married Joseph Ambs
John, died in infancy
Cornelius, deceased, married Eliza Gahan
Susan, married William O’Connell of Elmira
Joseph, of Lestershire, NY
Ellen, married Joseph Brogan of Dushore
Hannah, died when young
James H., of Dushore
Emma, married Dennis Whalon of Colorado
* Editor's Note: You can learn more about the Harrington family and its history at Faces and Families of Old Sullivan County, Group Two. The Harrington family intermarried with the Snyder family, when Abraham F. "Abe" Snyder married Mildred Harrington, sister of Maurice J. Harrington, the son of the founder of the business. Read about these families at Snyder and Harrington: A Pictorial Family History.

Joseph Solinger came to Cherry about 1829 and settled on the farm where Rush Huffmaster now lives. While fording the Loyalsock at Ringdale, he was accidentally drowned. He married Mary Borde and to them were born:

Mary, married Joseph Marshall of Cherry
Frances, married Augustus Sick of Forks
Elena, married Andrew Touschner
Katie, married a Mr. Golden of Elmira
George, lives in the state of Washington
Joseph, of South America
Emma, married a Mr. Ward of Wilkes-Barre

Jacob Kester was probably the first man to permanently settle in Cherry township. Family traditions claim that he and his wife, whose maiden name was Katherine Knubaharin, came from Berwick to Cherry township in 1813 on the first Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike, and settled on lands now owned by Charles Bahr and Benjamin Kester. This is fully borne out by some of the early settlers who have said that Mr. Kester had a large farm cleared and fruit trees of considerable size growing thereon when they came to this section. To them were born two daughters, Eliza and Sarah, who married John and William Hartzig, respectively, and two sons, Joseph and Charles. Joseph Kester married Catharine Miller and settled on the homestead. To them were born:

Twins, who died in infancy
Josiah, lives in Bradford county
Ellen, married John Nevil of Forks township
Joseph, of Cherry township
Catharine, deceased, married Jonas Hunsinger
Charles, of Forks township
Sarah, married John Hibbard of Forks township
Benjamin, lives on the homestead

Charles Kinsley came from Germany about 1833 and settled where William McHenry lives, now a part of Dushore borough. Their only child was Charles Kinsley, Jr., who settled in East Cherry where his son Jacob now lives. He married Mary Bahr, a daughter of John Bahr, and their children were:

John, killed in the Civil War
Charles killed in the Civil War
Jacob, of Cherry
William, of Cherry
Louis, of Cherry
Mary, died at the age of 18 years
Caroline, married Clinton Dieffenbach

John S. Green came from Tennessee to Cherry township in 1832. The Greens were related to the Craigs and were of Irish descent. They had been engaged in the merchant marine in which occupation they had amassed large fortunes. They had taken a very prominent part with the colonies in the Revolutionary War and also distinguished themselves in the War of 1812. After the death of Mr. Green’s father, the estate was divided, about 30,000 acres of timberlands, in Sullivan, Lycoming and Northumberland counties being given to John S. Green. The Sullivan county lands were principally located in East Cherry, except some tracts in the vicinity of Campbellsville, in Forks township. Mr. Green came to Cherry with the intention of starting a colony and that section of Cherry township has always been known as the Green settlement. His colony did not prove a success and he realized very little out of the lands left him by the estate. The land he owned was very poor and the early settlers preferred more fertile soil; the taxes were heavy and much of the land was sold at tax sales. Mr. Green gave each of his children a tract of land for a farm. In 1855, Mr. Green was elected county treasurer and moved to Laporte, where he lived until he died in 1876 at the age of 82 years. He was married to Elizabeth Henley and their children were:
Margaret, married Lewis Holmes of Cherry
Eliza E., married George McNeal of Cherry
Edmund Craig, married Anna Heisz of Cherry
Walter C., married Marion Wolcott, lived in Bradford County
Virginia, married John T. Brewster of Susquehanna County
John H., of Laporte, died in 1899
W.H.D. of Towanda, now of Philadelphia
Esther, married Frank Lothrup of Bradford county
Anna, married Frank B. Hill of Laporte

Lewis Holmes came from Massachusetts to the vicinity of Benton and from there to Cherry in 1847 when a young man and engaged in teaching school. He married Margaret Green and, in 1848, located on the farm now owned by his son Carr Holmes. To them were born:

John G. of Luzerne
William, deceased, lived at Dushore
Edmund, of Mildred
Elizabeth, married H.B. Vaughn, lives on the McNeal farm in the Green settlement
Carr, of Cherry
Henry, of Powell, Bradford county
Martha, married George Schoonover of Binghamton
Augusta, married Joseph O’Neil of Cherry

Joseph Fulmer, a native of Frankfort, Germany, came with his family to Lehigh county and from there to Cherry in 1825, locating on the James Drugan farm. His children were:
Henry, of Cherry
Joseph, of Wisconsin
Peter, of Owego, NY
William, of Shrewsbury township
Nathan, of Bradford county
Catharine, deceased

Henry Fulmer married Lydia Shaffer and located on the farm now owned by Thomas Fennel, east of Dushore. He lost his property through others, in the building of the Sullivan and State Line Railroad. He then went to lumbering at Thorndale and later purchased the farm on which his son Levi now lives. He was born in 1817 and died in 1899. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Fulmer were:

William of Picture Rocks
Ellen, died when 3 years old
John, died when 1 year old
Helen, died when 5 years of age
Louisa, married Robert Taylor of California
Mary Ann, married Allen Taylor of California
Caroline, married Gabriel Bowman of Colley
Emma, married George Hartzig of Cherry Mills
Levi, lives on the homestead
Three other children died when quite young

Joseph Bachman was a native of Bavaria, Germany, where he learned the miller’s trade. When a young man, he emigrated to America and secured employment on a mill at Dushore. He married Sarah Bahr, a native of Berks county and soon after settled on a farm he had purchased from a Mr. Heiber, and upon which he erected a two-story brick residence. To Mr. and Mrs. Bachman were born:

Jacob, who died in infancy
John, died at the age of 27 years
Loretta, married Nathan Persun of Dushore
Caroline C., married Jacob J. Suber of Cherry

Jacob Suber and his wife, whose maiden name was Mary Fraunfelder, settled in Cherry at an early date on the farm now owned by John Utz. His father Jacob Suber was a soldier under General Washington in the Revolutionary War. With Jacob Suber and his wife came their young child, Benjamin, who was born in Berks county in 1820. After Mr. Suber’s death, his widow married Jacob Hoffa of Cherry. In 1844, Benjamin Suber married Caroline Hoffa, a daughter of Jacob Hoffa, and to them were born nine children:
Mary M., deceased, married Benjamin Thrasher
Jacob J., of Cherry, married Caroline C. Bachman
Catherine, deceased, married Jacob Kinsley of Cherry
Hannah S., married Louis Saxe of Bradford county
Elizabeth L., married Elisha Wilson of Bradford county
George F., of Cherry, married Emma Hopkins
Adam R, died when young
Benjamin L., died when young
Daniel, married Emma Peterson, lives on homestead

John Heiber, who was born in Wurtemberg Germany in 1805, emigrated to America when young. In 1828, he married to Margaret Steiner who was born at Wurtemberg in 1794. They made their home at Philadelphia until 1832, when they came to Cherry township and where for ten years they lived in a log cabin, after which they erected a frame house. Mr. Heiber died in 1863, and his wife in 1878. To them were born six children:

Emanuel G., of Cherry
John, died in infancy
John, 2nd, married Mary Rettburg
Lena, married Henry Ring of Bradford county
H. Esther, married Goodwin Persun of Picture Rocks
Benjamin, killed by lightning in 1895

John Steiner of Wurtemberg, Germany, came to America in 1818 and settled in Carbon county. While still in Germany, he married Margaret Stoltz, a native of Switzerland. In 1837, they came to Cherry township and to them were born:

Emma, who died in Germany
John, married a Miss Stewart
Catharine, married Baldwin Millheim
Elizabeth, married a Mr. Von Buchwalts
Mollie, married Philip Klunt
Margaret, married John Heiber
Susanna, married a Mr. Chiller
Lena, married John Bartch
Savilla, married a Mr. Arth
Jacob, married Kate Gerhart
Barnhart, married Sarah Shaffer

Barnhart Steiner was married to Sarah Shaffer in 1839, a daughter of Jonathan Shaffer, who came to Cherry in 1839. Mrs. Steiner still lives with her son Emanuel. Their children were:

Matilda, died when 15 years old,br
John, died in infancy
Sarah, married John Meyers of Elk county
J. Emanuel, lives at home
Susan, married Adam Nagle of Towanda
Savilla, married Alexander Kanons of Columbia county
Mary H., married and lives in Carbon county
Barnhart, died at the age of 14 years
Caroline, died at the age of 10 years

Christian Weaver was a wheelwright by trade, and came to Cherry township from Luzerne county, April 1, 1847. To them were born seven children:

Lydia, married George Thrasher
Rosanna, married Christian Benninger
Anthony, married Mary Dieffenbach
Barnhart, married Mary Thrasher
George, married Margaret Eagly
Jacob, married Eliza Conley
Margaret, married George Eberling

Barnhart Weaver *settled on the farm now (1906) owned by Fred Saxer. To them were born thirteen (13) children:
In January 2014, Jerry Atkins provided an update on the following information. His additons and corrections are highlighted in color in this section. You can learn more about this Weaver family at The Descendants of Barnhart Weaver and Mary Thrasher.

William (1849-1926), of Freidensville, Lehigh county, married Mary Daddow,
Christian (1848-1870), killed at sawmill at age 21, buried Thrashers Cemetery
Elmer Larue (1852-1940), of Cherry, married (1) Mary Elizabeth McNeal (2) Arminta Elizabeth Hopkins *
* Note: His chistening record indicates his middle name as Lawson, but even his daughter Ethel always said it was really Larue.

George W. (1858-1038), of Elimsport, Lycoming county, married (1) Mary Kisner (2) Minnie Jamison of Allenwood, Lycoming County
Nathan C. (1863-1942), of Cherry, married Bernice Kinsley
Frederick John (1867-1942), of Fredensville, Lehigh county, remained single
Delilah Ann (1844-1920), married Augustus Miller of Washington state
Mary Jane (1846-19270, married John Biddle of Cherry
Anna, married Fred Saxer of Cherry
Lydia C. (1862-1947), married Byron "Dell" Tuttle of Potter County
Christiana (1859-1936), married Fred Saxer
Levi B. (1850-1852), buried Thrashers Cemetery
Silas Jefferson (1861-1861), buried Thrashers Cemetery

Phillip Heverly came from Auburn, Susquehanna county, to Overton, Bradford county, in 1827, where his cousin had previously settled in what is known as the Heverly settlement. The Heverlys were of German descent and first settled in Lehigh county in the first quarter of the eighteenth century. Mr. Heverly remained at Overton a few years and then returned to Susquehanna county. Two years later, he again came to Overton, after which in about 1835 he moved to Cherry township where he died in 1880, aged 77 years. He married Katie Thrasher and to them were born four children:

Solon, deceased, married Caroline Graff
Reuben, married Elizabeth Graff
Henry, died when about 15 years old
Barbara, died when young

Valentine Kneller came from Germany when 18 years of age, his brother Nicholas accompanying him and each settling a farm in East Cherry about 1833.

William Lawrence was one of the first to settle the Turnpike north of Dushore, coming from Augusta township, Northumberland County, where he was born in 1805. In 1824, he married Eliza Ladd, a daughter of Horatio Ladd, who with his father, Ephraim Ladd, settled in Albany township in 1800. Mr. Lawrence bought 48 acres of land and erected a house in 1825. He was one of the first school directors of Cherry township and one of the first county commissioners of the county. In 1847, his wife died and in 1854 he moved to Bradford county where he again married. To him and his first wife were born:

Ann, deceased, married Andrew Jackson of Dushore
Celinda, married Freeman Wilcox of New Albany
John H., of Dushore
Fidelia, deceased

Jacob Hoffa came from Schuykill county to Cherry, April 1, 1827 and settled on the farm now owned by Frank Waples. He married Catharine Swallow, a cousin of S.C. Swallow of State Prohibition fame. Their children were:

Elizabeth, married John Dieffenbach
Matilda, married Joseph Yonkin
Catharine, married Thomas Messersmith
Caroline, married Benjamin Suber
Mary, married John Meyer
Daniel, settled on homestead, later moved to Lycoming
Jacob, of Cherry, died July 31, 1903
John, of Dushore, a veteran of the Civil War
Editor's Note: John S. Hoffa, who married Catherine Persun, became a grocer in Dushore after the Civil War. Shown below are soap advertisements printed on cards that were distributed by Choice Family Groceries of Dushore. One card was issued when the store was owned by George H. Welles and Perrin R. Ackley [after 1869]; the other when it was subsequently owned by Hoffa.



Soap Advertisement Cards
Choice Family Groceries
Dushore, PA
Source: Photo courtesy of Carol Brotzman
From an auction on eBay in June 2006

Jeremiah Darby Deegan came to Cherry township in 1833, settling on the farm afterward owned by his son Colonel James Deegan, now by the Cadden estate. He was born in county Kildare, Ireland, in 1783 and married Alicia Birmingham who was born in Dublin in 1799. They came to America in 1827, remaining for a time at Easton, PA, and then removing to Kingston, New Jersey, from which place he came to Cherry township. He died in 1851 and his wife in 1886. Their children were:

Mary, deceased, married Patrick Mooney
James, deceased
Catharine, married John Groves of Leadville, Colorado
William, born in Easton, died in infancy
John, deceased, served three years in the Civil War
Jeremiah, of Dushore, a Captain in the Civil War
William, born in Cherry, died in infancy
Thomas, died of wounds received at Fredericksburg
William H., of Dushore, died in 1901

James Deegan was born in Ireland in 1819 and came with his parents to America in 1827, and to Cherry in 1833. At the beginning of hostilities in the Civil War, he raised a volunteer company, receiving the rank of captain. For meritorious service during the war, he was promoted to the rank of colonel. Returning to private life, he received many honors from his neighbors and friends, serving as justice of the peace, associate judge two terms, and a member of the state legislature one term. He died at Hughesville, September 24, 1882.

James Dunn came to Cherry township in 1833 and located on the farm now owned by his son William. Mr. Dunn was a native of county Kildare, Ireland. He married Dorothy Gilmore, a Scotch Irish lady. They came to New Jersey in 1832 and from there to Cherry in 1833. Their children were:

Peter, deceased, of Forks
Margaret, married Conrad Baumgartner
Mary, married Joseph Harney of Albany township
John, killed at the battle of Fort Harrison in the Civil War
William, lives on the homestead
F.P., of Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
James, of Cameron county

Mr. Dunn was married again, after his first wife died, to the widow of Cornelius Harrington, and to them were born:

Ellen, of Philadelphia
Maurice, of Dushore

Hugh McMahon came with his family from Ireland to New Jersey and from that place to Cherry township in 1833, settling on the farm near Dushore now owned by Dr. M. E. Herrmann. His children were:

Rosa, of Ireland
James, deceased, of New Jersey
Robert, deceased, of Dushore
Elizabeth, married John Collins of Bradford county
Michael, deceased, of Cherry
Mary Ann, married Patrick Brislin of Cherry
Catharine, married a Mr. McMahon of Towanda

Barnhart Middendorf was a native of Prussia, Germany. He came to America when a young man and, after spending some time in various sections, located on a farm about two miles north of Dushore in 1840 or soon after that time. He married Caroline Richley and to them were born eight children:

Anthony, of Cherry
Joseph, of Wyalusing, Bradford county
Mary, deceased
John, lives on the homestead
Anna, married John Waples of Bernice
Henry, of Wyalusing
Frank, of Sayre
Lena, married George Dohm of Sayre

William Martin was born in Columbia county. He was a son of Roger Martin, a native of Wales, who toward the close of the eighteenth century, came to America and settled in Columbia county, married, and was the father of six children of whom William was the eldest. William married Rebecca Gortner, a daughter of Jacob Gortner of Muncy Creek township. He came with his family to Cherry township in 1826, locating on the farm now owned by Lyman Baker. He died in 1826 and his widow later married William Graifley. The children of Mr. and Mrs. William Martin were:

Sarah, married William Reeser of Colley
Lewis, deceased of Cherry
John W., of Dushore
William, deceased of Iowa
Rebecca, who died in infancy

Stephen Murphy came from county Wexford, Ireland, to Cherry township about 1840 and settled on the farm now owned by his son, Stephen Murphy. He married a Miss O’Neil in Ireland and their children were:

Thomas, of Cherry
Adam, of Bradford county
Stephen, of Albany township, Bradford county
John, of New Albany
Anastasia, married Anthony Prendegast,
Mary, married Daniel McCormick of Cherry
Margaret, married Peter McCormick of Cherry

Thomas Murphy was born in county Wexford, Ireland, and accompanied his father, Stephen Murphy, to Cherry in 1840. He married Mary Parle and they settled on the farm now owned by their son, Stephen D. Murphy. To them were born:
Adam, died in 1860
Anastasia, of Athens
Margaret, married George Kaier of Dushore
John, of Leadville, Colorado
Mary Ann, married Edward Farrell of Cherry
Catharine, married William Murray of Cherry
Dennis, of Pittsburg
Stephen D., lives on the homestead

In 1840, Patrick Brislin, a native of Ireland, settled on a farm near Cornelius Harrington’s, which had previously been owned by a German named Trembler. In 1841, he married Mary Ann McMahon, a daughter of Hugh McMahon and their children were:

Hugh, of Cherry
Anna, deceased, married Barney O’Hearn of Cherry
John, of Cherry
Eugene, died about 50 years ago
Mary, deceased
Rose, died in 1863
Kate, deceased

Miles Burns married Margaret Hanley in Ireland and they came from that country to Cherry township in 1844. They settled on the farm now owned by Matthew Burns and to them were born nine children:

Jane, married Benjamin Vandyke of Albany township
Mary, married James Maccacy of Bradford County
Patrick, of Punxsutawney
Catharine, married James Collins of Williamsport
Margaret, married Patrick Crossen of Scranton
Matthew J., lives on the homestead
Bridget, married Peter Deegan of Dushore
Miles, of Albany township, Bradford county
Anna, married Joseph Thall

Matthew Burns, a native of Ireland and a brother of Miles Burns, settled in Cherry in 1844 on the farm until recently owned by the estate of Miles A. Burns. He was married at Towanda to Mary Clarey and to them were born:

Patrick, of Cherry
Jane, married Daniel Scanlin of Cherry
Margaret, deceased, of New York
Miles A., deceased, of Cherry
Thomas, died when a young man

Thomas Scanlin came from Ireland and worked on the North Branch canal, after which he returned to Ireland and married Johanna Clancey, They settled in Cherry in 1842 on the farm now owned by the D.W. Scanlin heirs. Unto them were born:

Michael, deceased
Mary, married D. O. Donovan of Sayre
Daniel W., deceased, of Cherry
Catharine, married Sylvester Spaulding of Elmira
Sarah, Sister Mary Eugenia
Lizzie, deceased, married Miles A. Burns
Patrick, deceased
Hannah, married John Pyne of Mildred

John K. Farrell was a native of Ireland, and settled in Cherry in 1845 on the farm now owned by his son, W.L. Farrell. Previous to his settlement in Cherry, he worked upon the construction of the North Branch canal where a large number of his countrymen were employed. He married Anna Dunn, a sister of James Dunn, one of the early settlers of Cherry township and to them were born:

James, deceased
Margaret, married John Whitehead of Waverly, NY
Mary, married William Cook of Dushore
John, of McKean county
Peter, of Cross Forks, Potter county
Patrick, of Elk county
Anna, of Athens, Bradford county
Thomas, of Cole Grove, Pennsylvania
Catharine, of Rochester, New York
William L., of Cherry township

James McMahon was born in county Down, Ireland. He came to America in 1844 and worked as a ship carpenter in the New England states and Florida until 1851, when he purchased the farm on which he now lives. He has been county commissioner two terms. In 1853, he married Ann Brogan and to them were born:

John, lives on the homestead
Mary, married Stephen Murphy of Albany township
Francis, of Cherry

James Fitzsimmons was born in county Down, Ireland, and came to America with his brother-in-law, James McMahon, in 1844. He worked as ship carpenter in the New England states and Florida until 1853 when he settled in Cherry township. He married Mary Ann McMahon. They had no children. He died in 1893 and his wife in 1896.

Lawrence Murray was a native of county Kildare, Ireland. He came to New York in 1838 and, while there, married Esther McDermott, also a native of Ireland. In 1847, they settled in Cherry on the farm now owned by his son, William Murray. He died in 1865; his wife still surviving aged 83 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Murray were born seven children:

Mary, married W.F. Holl of Philadelphia
Anna, married William Dunn of Cherry
William, lives on the homestead
Catherine, deceased
Lawrence, of Pueblo, Colorado
M.D., of Cripple Creek, Colorado
James B., of Cripple Creek, Colorado

Patrick Gahan was born in county Kerry, Ireland. He settled on the farm now owned by Thomas W. Gahan in 1835. He married Hannah Fitzgerald and to them were born:

Elizabeth, married Cornelius Harrington
Thomas W., lives on homestead
Morris, of Williamsport
Mary, married John Reilly of Montana
William, deceased

Morris Gahan came with his brother Patrick and purchased 50 acres of land adjoining his brother’s farm. The farm is now owned by Thomas W. Gahan. He married Ellen Lynch of Bradford county and to them were born:

Patrick, lives in one of the western states
Thomas F., attorney and ex-county superintendent, of Williamsport
Elizabeth, deceased
Morris, of Elmira
John, of Bradford county
Margaret, married James Harrington of Dushore
Catharine, married Thomas Pyne of Towanda

Patrick Walsh was born in county Mayo, Ireland. When a young man, he with three brothers went to Canada. Later, he left his brothers and came to Pennsylvania, settling in Cherry about 1840. He married Mary Gillespie. He died in October 1894 and his wife in 1897. To them have been born eight children:

Mark, died in 1896 at Bernice
Mary Ann, married William Gilfoy of Bradford county;
Michael, died about 19 years ago
Peter, died in 1901 in Cherry
Bridget, married M.P. Gallagher
James, lives on homestead
William of Lopez, Pa.
John, of Leadville, Colorado

Anthony Lemmer was born at Elsets, Germany. He came to America and worked in the coal regions, where he married Christiana Boyer. They moved to Cherry township in 1845. Mr. and Mrs. Lemmer had two children:

Mary, deceased, married John Mosier
Sarah, married Anthony Rohey

James Murphy was born in county Kerry, Ireland. He came to America and settled in Cherry township in 1841. He married Ellen Minahan and their children were:
Mary, deceased
Nora, married Hugh Powderly
Catharine, deceased, married John Powderly
Daniel, of Cherry
Patrick, of Cherry

James Gainer was born in county Longford, Ireland. He lived in Ireland until 1829, when he came to New York and married Bridget Fenner of that city. Three years later, he returned to Ireland, and about 1836 came to Philadelphia, afterward living in Berks and later in Bradford county. He came to Cherry Mills in 1841 and located on the farm later owned by his son Thomas. He died in 1883 and his wife in 1869.

Thomas Gainer married Margaret Cullen of Bradford County in 1856. He died in 1898 and his wife in 1867. Their children were:

James S., lives on the homestead
David, died in infancy
Mary, died in infancy
Mary Ann, died at the age of 26 years
Peter, died at the age of 11 years
Catharine, married Thomas Doyle
Maggie, died at Buffalo, N.Y. aged 29 years

John Doyle was born in county Wexford, Ireland in 1798. He came to America when a young man, and located on the farm now owned by his son, Thomas, in 1846. He married Margaret (Conmey) Sweeney, the widow of Martin Sweeney. To them were born five children:

James, of Montana
Thomas, lives on the homestead
Andrew, died in 1866
John, of Arizona
Michael, died in 1882

Conrad Weisbrod was born in Cohessa, Germany, June 1, 1819, a son of Henry and Lena (Item) Weisbrod. He served five years in the German army and was a weaver by trade. While yet in his native land, he married Elizabeth Snyder who was born in Germany in 1821, and in 1842 they came to America, settling in Cherry, first on a farm which they rented of Philip Miller and a year later on the farm now owned by his son, Edward. Their children were:

Margaret, deceased
Edward, lives on the homestead
Catharine, married Charles Weisbrod of Cherry
John, of Cherry township
Anna, married Joseph Litzelswope of Cherry
Elizabeth, died at the age of 11 years
Four children died in infancy

Martin Barth was born in Hessen-Dramstradt, Germany, in 1801. He married Catharine Tremner, a native of the same place and, in 1831, they came to America, landing in Philadelphia. About 1839, he came to Cherry township, locating on the farm now owned by Henry Stahl. In 1841, he sold his farm to Philip Stahl and purchased a tract of land now owned by John Litzelman. To Mr. and Mrs. Barth were born six children:

Elizabeth, deceased, of Philadelphia
John, deceased, of Cherry, later of Bucks county, Pa.
Mary, married John Ayer of Philadelphia
Charles, of Cherry Mills
Elias, deceased
Lewis M., of Dushore

Henry Rinebold was born in Lehigh County and came from Mifflin county to Cherry in 1833. He married Mary Magdalena West of Coopersburg, Pa., and to them were born:

Lavina, married Samuel Fause of Picture Rocks
William, lives on the homestead
Anna, married George Bender of Forks township
Elias, of Dewart, Pennsylvania
Henry, lives on the homestead
Samuel, died in 1870
Hannah, married Daniel Brobst of Proctor, Lycoming county

Charles Sick was born in Baden, Germany in 1815. He was a shoemaker by trade and came to America in 1836, locating first at Camden, New Jersey where he worked at his trade three years. In 1839, he came to Cherry township, purchasing 71 acres of land, near Cherry Mills. Mr. Sick was a son of Joseph Sick of Prussia, and his mother’s maiden name was Rinebold. A sister of Charles Sick came to America and married a Mr. Seifred of Philadelphia, and a brother whose descendants are quite numerous settled in Steuben county, New York. In 1840, Charles Sick married Hannah Reinfred, who was born in Germany and was brought to America by her parents when an infant. She died in 1863 and Mr. Sick in 1877. They had thirteen children:

Charles, of Cherry Mills
Caroline, married Henry Stahl of Cherry Mills
Joseph, of Cherry Mills
Leo, deceased, of Cherry township
Lydia, married Ralph Litzelman of Cherry township
Wendell, of Dushore
Mary, married John Litzelman of Cherry township
Hannah, married Joseph Cook of Dushore
Augustine, deceased, of Forks township
Rosina, married Edward Weisbrod of Cherry township
Anna S., married John Weisbrod of Cherry township
Julius, of Nordmont, Davidson township
William, of Overton township, Bradford county

Editor's Note: In 1876, a school house was opened just across the road from the Sick homestead in Cherry Mills. The school continued in operation for at least fifty years, and the building itself survives as a power station in 2006. You can see two classes from this school in the early 1920s at Family of Johannes Jakob Messershcmidt by going to that page and scrolling down until you find the two consecutive pictures.

Wendell Richley was born in Germany in 1818 and came to Cherry in 1840, settling on the farm near Cherry Mills now owned by his son Michael Richley. In 1848, he married Elizabeth Litzelswope* and to them were born ten children:
Editor's Note: Should be "Litzelman", per Tina Pastusic.

Mary, married Fred Broschart, of Overton township
Lizzie, married Leonard Broschart of Cherry township
Gabriel, of Albany township, Bradford county
Adaline, married Frank Ambs of Albany township
Louisa, married James Murray of Ringdale, Laporte twp
Florence, married Charles Cook of Cherry Mills
Tilla, married Charles McCarty of Ulster, Bradford county
Frank, of Albany township, Bradford county
Michael, lives on the homestead
Martha, lives at home

Conrad Cook was born at Philadelphia and settled on the farm near Cherry Mills now occupied by his son, John Cook, about 1840. He married Matilda Baumgartner, who died in 1900, Mr. Cook surviving his wife until 1902. To them were born ten children:

William, of Dushore
Maria, deceased, married John Frenndal of Philadelphia
Amanda, deceased, of Philadelphia
Mary, lives at home
Joseph, deceased, of Dushore
Frank, of Owego, New York
Charles, of Cherry Mills
John, lives on the homestead
Two children died in infancy

Philip Stahl was born May 1, 1797, near Kaisers-Lantern, New Bavaria, Germany. He married Elizabeth Hein who was born at the same place August 25, 1802. While living in Germany, the two oldest daughters, Mary and Tetronilla, were born. They emigrated to America in 1836 and, while crossing the Atlantic between Havre, France and New York, the third child, Wilhelmina, was born. They landed at New York in the latter part of August and, through the aid of an employment bureau, Mr. Stahl obtained work upon the Lehigh canal near Mauch Chunk. Here he remained one year and then moved with his employer to Wilkes-Barre, where he lived nearly four years, and worked upon the construction of the Wilkes-Barre and White Haven railroad until its completion. While residing at Wilkes-Barre, the fourth daughter, Catherine, was born in March 1839. In May, 1841, he with his family purchased the improvements of Martin Barth on the farm now owned by his son Henry Stahl. Here he resided until his death in February, 1864, his wife surviving him until November 14, 1867. They had eight children:

Mary, died May 1898, married David Mason of Monroeton
Tetronilla, married Michael Struppler of Herricksville, Bradford county in 1865
Wilhelmina, died in March, 1864, married Michael Struppler of Herricksville in March, 1855
Catharine, married Jonathan Shaffer, in March, 1858
Henry, lives on the homestead
Three children died in infancy

Joseph Weisbrod came from Germany to Philadelphia in 1830, where he married Elizabeth Reinfred. They came to Cherry township in 1839, settling the farm now owned by Valentine Rohe. Their children were:
Mary, married William Snipp of Bridgeport, PA
Rosanna, deceased, married Michael Walker of Philadelphia
Joseph, of Cherry township
Louisa, married Valentine Rohe, of Cherry
Charles, of Cherry township
Catharine, married John Rahm of Cherry township
Alexander, of Cherry
Julia, married S. Mull of Bridgeport, Pennsylvania

Valentine Rohe came from Germany to Pottsville in 1832 or 1833, accompanied by his wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Wagner, and their two oldest children, Catharine and Margaret. They remained at Pottsville four or five years, during which time Peter and Magdalene were born. In 1837, they came to Cherry and settled where Andrew Rohe now lives. Their children were:

Catharine, married Christopher Rahm of Cherry
Margaret, married Nicholas Ambs of Cherry
Peter, of Forks township
Magdalena, married George Saxer of Dushore
Hannah, married Henry Knavely
Valentine, of Cherry township
Andrew, lives on the homestead
Mary, married John Evetts

Philip Miller came from Germany to Cherry in 1837, and located on the farm now owned by Anthony Middendorf. He died in 1871. He was married to Mary Salina Hartzig, a daughter of John Hartzig, an early settler of Cherry. To them were born:

Anna, married Percival Wentzel of Cherry township
Louisa, married Lewis Snider of Towand
Augustus, of Washington state
Henry, died in Washington
Louis P., of Washington
Lavina, married Washington Hunsinger, later S. Lewis
Julietta, married W.W. Jenn of Washington
Guilford, of Washington
Albert, of Montana

Jonathan Shaffer was born in Northumberland County in 1788 and came to Cherry in 1839, settling on the farm now owned by his son George. In 1816, he married Sarah Gable, who was born in 1794 at Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, and to them were born:

Catharine, married Peter Parr of Lee settlement
Joseph, died in the Civil War
Sarah, married Barney Steiven of Cherry
Mary, married Henry Shrimp of Forks township
Christena, deceased, married Frank Noles of Wilmot
Lydia, married Henry Fulmer, of Cherry
Charles, of Forks township, died in the Civil War
George, lives on the homestead
Jonathan, of Forks, died July 20, 1903

Patrick Farrell, of county Longford, Ireland, came to America about 1834. He was married in Ireland to Bridget Kinsley and they came with their two oldest children to America about 1834, landing in Quebec, Canada. In 1840, they came to Cherry, purchasing of a Mr. Lyon the improvements on the farm near Dushore now owned by his son, James K. Mr. Farrell died in 1865, aged 64 years. To Mr. and Mrs. Farrell were born seven boys:

Thomas, deceased, of Cherry
John H., of Dushore
James K., of Cherry
Francis, of Corning, New York
Andrew, deceased, of California
Peter, of Corning, New York
Ambrose, deceased, of Lopez

Jacob Wentzel, a native of Berks County, is a member of the large family of Wentzels which are numerous in the southeastern part of Pennsylvania. He came to Cherry in 1836, and settled on the farm near Dushore which he purchased from John Reeser and which is now owned by his son Percival. He married Susanna Bahr, a daughter of John Bahr of Cherry, and to them were born three children:

Benneville, deceased, of Cherry;
Fietta, married Adam Zaner, of Dushore
Percival, lives on the homestead

Patrick Devanney was born in county Sligo, Ireland, about 1801 or 1802. When a young man, he came with his family to Berwick, having been married in Ireland to Mary Boland. In 1849, he came to Cherry township, and settled on the farm near Cherry Mills now owned by his son Owen. Mr. Devanney died in 1879, aged 75 years and Mrs. Devanney died in 1880, aged about 75 years. Their children were:

Alice, died in 1869
Owen, lives on the homestead
John, died in infancy

Michael Sweeney was born in July, 1802, in county Sligo, Ireland, a son of Owen and Catherine (Hebren) Sweeney. He married Catherine Sweeney, who was also born in county Sligo, but who was not related to him. In 1830, they came to America, landing at Montreal, Canada. He spent a year in Maine and some time in New Jersey. Later he moved to Greene, Chenango county, New York, and in 1836, came to Bradford county. He was employed upon the building of the Chenango and North Branch canals. In 1842, he came to Cherry, settling on Ringer Hill. He died February 14, 1894, his wife having died June 24, 1877. To them were born seven children:

Mary
Owen, lives near Cherry Mills
Martin, of Cherry
Ann, died at the age of 18 months
Michael, of Cherry
Patrick, of Jefferson county
Ellen, married Thomas Lavelle, of Walla Walla, WA.

George Hunsinger came to Cherry township and settled on Ringer Hill in 1819. He had previously lived at Berwick, and from there had moved to the Genesee country in New York, but, finding the fever and ague prevalent there, he returned and came to Sullivan county. As is stated in the history of Colley township, there is some dispute about the origin of the family as to whether they are of French or German descent. In 1823, Mr. Hunsinger contracted for 400 acres of land at $3 per acre, payable in seven years. His family consisted of two daughters, who married Thrashers, and six sons, Christian of Cherry; George, Charles and Samuel of Forks; Jacob of Lycoming county; and Solomon of Bradford county.

Christian Hunsinger married Susanna Sherman, a daughter of Jacob Sherman, of Forks township, who had previously made a clearing on the Turnpike near Seeman known as the Sherman clearing. He settled on the farm now owned by Joseph Dohm. To Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger were born five children:

Eliza, deceased, married Peter Jacoby of Laporte township
Fred, deceased, of Cherry
Mary, married Daniel Faust of Lycoming County
Catharine, married Valentine Dohm of Cherry

Martin Donahoe married Mary Walsh, both natives of county Mayo, Ireland, and they came to America in 1842, settling first at Honesdale. Later they came to Cherry and settled on Ringer Hill. Their children were:

Patrick, died in Ireland when about two years old
Catherine, deceased, married Patrick Sweeney, later Edward Noland
Nora, died aged about 35 years
Owen, of Cherry
Mary Ann, married Michal Walls of Cherry
Martin, died in 1891

Martin Walsh was born at county Mayo, Ireland. He came to Cherry about 1840 and settled on the farm now owned by Anthony Walsh. He married Catherine Gallager, a daughter of Michael Gallager, and to them were born:

Mary Ann, married Patrick Walsh of Lopez
John, of Ringdale
Anthony, of Ringdale
James J., of Satterfield
Sarah, married Michael Gilroy of Lopez
Ellen, of Lopez

Michael Gallagher came from county Mayo, Ireland, in 1835, settling first in Bradford county. In 1840, he came to Cherry township, settling on the farm now owned by Thomas Gallagher. He married Sarah Dougherty and their children were:

Michael, 2nd., of Cherry
Mary, married John Walsh of Cherry
Catherine, deceased, married Martin Walsh of Cherry
James, of Cherry
Ellen, deceased, married John H. McGee of Cherry
Bridget, married Henry Cook of Forks township
Anthony, died at the age of 11 years
Sarah, married John Hassen of Laporte

James Wright came from county Mayo, Ireland, where he had married Bridget Dougherty. They came to America in 1845, settling on Ringer Hill in Cherry township, and to them were born

Martin, of Sayre
Julia, married Martin Sweeney of Cherry
John, of Forks township

Francis X. Lusch was born at Baden, Germany, and married Magdalena Schuch of the same place. They came to America in 1836, settling first at Philadelphia. In 1839, they came to Cherry, settling on the farm now owned by Frank Dohm. To them were born

Francis X., deceased of Cherry
Teckla, married George Ambs of Albany Twp. Bradford county
George, drowned at Philadelphia
Christena, deceased, married Andrew Kani of Indiana
George, 2nd., deceased, of Indiana
Helen, deceased, married Mr. Schraker of Indiana
Anthony, of Indiana
Ruphina, deceased, married and lived in Indiana

Stephen Windhaeuser was born at Seltz, Germany, in 1797 and, while living in Germany, married Regenia Sheffmacher. They came to America, locating at Bloomfield, near Philadelphia, and in 1843 came to Cherry township, settling on Ringer Hill. Windhaeuser died in 1873 and his wife, in 1878. Their children were:

Mary Ann, married Michael Bahl of Forks township
Magdalena, deceased, married Peter Kaufman of Manayunk
Louise, married John Tourscher of Cherry

Peter Dohm came from Bavaria, Germany, about 1846 and settled in Laporte township. About ten years later, he settled in Cherry at Satterfield, which was formerly known as Dohm’s Summit. He married Katharine Kokensparger of Laporte and to them were born:

Elizabeth, married Michael Hoffman of Carbondale
Mary, died aged 22 years
Harriet, married James Wood of Bernice
Julia, died aged 18 years
Frank, of Satterfield
Carrie, married Edward Borton of Satterfield
Hannah, married George Karge of LapPorte township
Emma, married Charles Jennings of Bradford county

Valentine Dohm, a brother of Peter Dohm, came from Bavaria Germany in 1850, settling first in Laporte township, and in 1860 moving to the Christian Hunsinger farm in Cherry. He married Catherine Hunsinger and to them were born:

Valentine, died in 1892
Elizabeth, at home
Joseph, at home
Peter, at home
George, of Athens
Andrew, died in 1876
Mary, married John Fulmer of Towanda
Catherine, at home.

Patrick McGee was born in county Antrim, Ireland, in 1801. He was married in New York about 1833 to Sarah Quinn, who was born in county Antrim in 1813. They lived for a time at Montrose, PA, Binghamton, NY, and Towanda, PA, coming to Cherry and settling on the present site of Satterfield in 1845. Mr. McGee died August 31, 1863, and his wife, June 14, 1860. Their children were:

Mary A., deceased, married Michael Quinn of Cherry
Enos, of Mildred
Jane, deceased
John P., of Lopez
Sarah, deceased, married Michael Foley of Cherry
James, lives in Bradford county
Catherine, married Edward McCarty
Peter, deceased
Henry, deceased
Ellen, deceased, married John McGraw
Robert, of Dushore

John Schaad was born in Canton Schaffhausen, Switzerland, March 11, 1834. In 1858, he came to America, living in New Jersey and later in Philadelphia. In 1861, he enlisted in Company I, 68th regiment. P.V.I., where he served seven months, and then was discharged on account of ill health resulting from typhoid fever contracted in the army. In 1865, he opened a restaurant and butchered at Dushore, and in 1870 moved to Mildred, where he engaged in butchering and conducted a restaurant for twelve years, later being engaged in the hotel business. In 1865, he married Elizabeth Mosier, and their children are:

John C., of Mildred
William J.
Katherine, deceased, married Frank Scouton of Wilkes-Barre
Henry J., of Mildred
George C., of Parsons, PA
Frank F., of Mildred
Anna L., at home

Martin Curry of county Cavan, Ireland, married Margaret Flynn, of county Mayo, Ireland at Wilkes-Barre, and in 1842 came to Cherry, settling on the farm now owned by Thomas Gahan. Their children were:

Mary, deceased, married Thomas McCale
Edward, deceased, of Wilmot
Charles, of Garfield county, Colorado
Michael J., died, aged two years
Bridget, married Thomas W. Gahan
Cecelia, married Michael O’Toole of Garfield county, CO
James, deceased
Margaret A., deceased

Patrick and Catharine (Burns) McDonald came from Ireland and located on the Hannaway farm in Cherry. Mr. McDonald died in 1865. To them were born:

John, of Bradford county
William, of Reynoldsville, PA
Miles, of Cripple Creek, CO
Charles, of Cripple Creek, CO
Thomas, of Cripple Creek, CO
Ellen, married a Mr. Dudley of Bradford county
George, of Cherry township
Daniel, died at Criple Creek, CO
James, drowned at Big Rock, Sullivan county
Two children died in infancy

Henry and Elizabeth Houser were natives of Germany and came to Cherry in 1842. Mr. Houser was drowned that year, while working on the canal at Wyalusing, aged 24 years. Their children were:

Catharine, died aged 18 years
Maria, married Emanuel Heiber of Cherry township

Mrs. Houser afterward married John L. Heilman, who died in 1859 aged 59 years. Mrs. Heilman died in 1891, aged 70 years. To them were born four children:

John, lives at Dushore
Barbara A., married Charles Biddle of Dushore
Mollie, deceased
George, deceased

Edward Sharp was born in Ireland and, upon coming to America, settled first in Vermont. About 1838, he came to Cherry township, settling in East Cherry. His children were:

Helen, married William Sharp of Mildred
Mary Ann, a missionary in Africa
Katharine, married Michael Cowley, lives at Dushore
Susan, married Mannis Cannon of Dushore
Rachael, married Lyman Garey of Dushore

Cornelius Donahoe came to Sullivan County about 1843 from Schuykill county, and settled in East Cherry on the farm now owned by Rev. Donahoe. Both he and his wife were natives of Ireland, and came to America in 1837. In 1878, they moved to Dushore, where they spent their remaining years. Their children were:

Hanora, of Philadelphia
Timothy J., a Catholic priest at Plymouth, PA
Ellen, deceased
James, deceased
Margaret, deceased
Florence, deceased

John Walsh was born in 1818 in county Kilkenny, Ireland. In 1840, he came to America and settled first in Canada. Soon after, he came to the United States and lived for some time at Albany, NY, and Pottsville, PA. In 1856, he purchased a farm in East Cherry and there lived until his death, October 19, 1886. He married Anna Burke, a native of Ireland, and to them were born:

Catherine, deceased, a Sister of Charity
Ella, deceased
Mary, deceased
James, deceased
Anna, deceased
Alphonsus, of Dushore
Teresa, deceased
Michael, died on the eve of being ordained as a priest
Agnes, deceased

George Albert, a son of John Albert, was born at Wehrden, Prussia, in 1842, and came to America when twenty years old, living in Schuykill county. In 1867, he came to Cherry township, where he purchased 66 acres of land in East Cherry. He died September 23, 1890, aged 58 years. His children were:

Eugene, who died in infancy
Maternus, of Payette, Idaho
Peter, of Payette, Idaho
Lena M., married A.L. Tuttle of New Plymouth, Idaho
George W. H., of Payette, Idaho

John Meyer was born in Lehigh county and came to Cherry with his father, Jacob Meyer, in 1853, settling in Cherry. He married Mary Hoffa. Mr. Meyer died in 1894; his wife still survives and lives at Mildred. To them were born:

Frank, of Mildred
Matilda, married Chauncey Lilley of Dushore
Henry, of Beach Tree, Jefferson county
Cora, married Charles Heverly of Dushore

Carl Erle was born in 1805, at Munden Hanover, Germany. He came to New York in 1831, and to Sullivan county in 1834. In 1836, he married Esther Hunsinger, a daughter of John Hunsinger, and lived near the Thrasher church in Cherry until 1849, when he moved to Colley on a farm where he remained until his death. He was a Lutheran minister and labored in that capacity for 51 years. He was pastor of the Lutheran charge of Cherry, preaching in the Germany, Thrasher’s and Wilmot churches for many years. He also had a congregation at Overton for some time. He died in August, 1890, at the age of 85 years. The children of Rev. and Mrs. Erle were:

Maria, deceased
Fredrick, deceased
Ludwick, deceased
Tobias, deceased
Luther, lives at Colley
Emanuel, of Overton
D.L., of Colley
One child died in infancy

Michael Quinn came from Leinster, Ireland, in 1850 with his mother and four brothers, James, Daniel, John and Patrick to Bradford county. Patrick went west, and James and Michael settled on Ringer Hill in Cherry township. Michael Quinn married Mary Ann McGee, a daughter of Patrick McGee, and to them were born 12 children:

Daniel, died, aged 4 years
Sadie, died, aged 2 years
James, died, aged 37 years
Mary, married George Potter of Cleveland, OH
Katie, died, aged 14 years
Peter, of Murray town
Patrick, lives on the homestead
John, died, aged 29 years
Anna, married John Rush, lives on the homestead
Lilla, married Joseph Lang of Murray town
Maggie, of Waverly, NY
William, of Murray town

Jacob Messersmith came to America, landing at Philadelphia and soon after came to Cherry township, settling in East Cherry on the farm now owned by James Drugan. He served 12 years as a soldier under Napoleon Bonaparte. His children were:

Thomas, of Colley
Adam, of Colley
Jacob, of Cherry
George, of Colley

Barnhart Huntzinger came from France to America. His son, Barney, who married Barbara Feller, lived in Luzerne county and their children were John, Joseph who settled in Albany township, Mary, Catherine. and Anna who married Benjamin Thrasher, Esq, Levi B. who settled in Cherry township, Jessie, Rebecca, David, Paul who settled in Wilmot, and Caroline.

Levi B. Huntzinger married Esther Frye, and settled at Huntzinger’s Corners about a mile from Dushore. Their children are

Fiann, married William Shafer of Hollenback, Bradford county
George W.
P.W., of Cherry township
Esther Ann, married Victor Ortleib of Hollenback

Adam Thrasher was born in 1838 in Sugarloaf township, Luzerne county. He is a son of George Thrasher, who came from Luzerne county in 1846, and a grandson of George Thrasher, a native of Reading, PA, who came from Luzerne county to Cherry in 1828. His mother was Lydia Weaver, a daughter of Christian Weaver, who came to Cherry from Luzerne county in 1847. Mr. Thrasher is a single man and owns that portion of the original 800-acre tract, known as the Thrasher homestead, which he and his brother Ransom Thrasher owned in partnership for several years. Mr. Thrasher purchased his brother's interest of the widow shortly after Ransom Thrasher’s death in 1893.

Joseph Thrasher was born in Sugarloaf township, Luzerne county in 1831. He is a son of George and Lydia (Weaver) Thrasher, and a grandson of George Thrasher, the pioneer of the Thrasher settlement, who came to Cherry in 1828. Mr. Thrasher was married to Sally Ann Meyer of Cherry, who was born in Lehigh county in 1831, and died in 1892. To them were born five children: Milton W., John, Henry R., Malinda A., and Lydney E. Thrasher. Milton and Henry died in 1863 during the epidemic of diphtheria, which caused the deaths of many children in Cherry township.

Ransom Thrasher was born in 1839 in Luzerne county. He was a son of George Thrasher of Cherry. Mr. Thrasher, in partnership with his brother Adam, purchased the interest of the other heirs in the homestead and did a very successful farming business. In 1899, he married Celinda J. Yonkin, a daughter of Jacob Yonkin of Cherry. Mr. Thrasher was elected tax collector in 1882, and to the office of county treasurer in 1896. He died in 1903.

Benjamin Thrasher was born in Cherry township in 1840. He was a son of Benjamin Thrasher and a grandson of the pioneer, George Thrasher. He purchased his father’s farm at Hunsinger’s Corners. He was married twice, his first wife being Mary M. Suber, a daughter of Jacob Suber. She died in 1893. He afterward married Hannah Molyneux, of Overton, and a daughter of Charles Bahr of Cherry. Mrs. Thrasher had one child, Addie Molyneux, by her first husband, Mr. Thrasher died in August 1903.

S. F. Thrasher was born in Wilmot township, Bradford county, in 1896. He is a son of S.B. Thrasher, of Colley, who is a son of Benjamin Thrasher and a grandson of George Thrasher, the pioneer. Mr. Thrasher is a farmer and owns a farm in East Cherry. He married Jennie Moyer, in 1896, a daughter of Edward Moyer of Dushore. Of this union, two children have been born, Mabel and Francis.

Hiram Kisner was born in 1830 in Columbia county. He is a son of William Kisner, who came from Columbia county to Cherry about 1840. Mr. Kisner is by occupation a farmer and carpenter, He was married twice; his first wife was Elizabeth Kokensparger of Laporte. She died leaving four children, Mary, Matilda, Levi and George W. His second wife was Mrs. Loretta (Persun) Arey, a daughter of John Persun of Cherry. Mrs. Kisner had three children by her first husband, George L., Anna I., and James L. In 1862, Mr. Kisner enlisted in Co.K 141 regiment and was in the army nearly three years. He is a member of the G.A.R.

George Arey is the son of Charles and Loretta (Persun) Arey. He owns a farm in East Cherry which he tills. He married Edna Huffmaster, a daughter of Fred Huffmaster of Cherry. To them have been born two children, Charles and Robert.

Jacob H. Kinsley was born in Cherry in 1843. He is a son of Charles Kinsley of Cherry, and a grandson of Charles Kinsley who came from Germany to Dushore about 1833. He is a farmer and owns the Kinsley estate in East Cherry. His first wife was Catharine Suber, a daughter of Jacob Suber, of Cherry; by her he had one daughter, Bernice, who married Nathan Weaver. Mr. Kinsley’s second wife was Mrs. Isabel (Shields) Brown, a daughter of one of the pioneer families of Colley township.

William F. Kinsley was born in Cherry in 1845. He was a son of Charles Kinsley of Cherry. He owns two farms in East Cherry which he and his son conduct. He was road commissioner six years. He married Sarah Gansel, a daughter of Obert Gansel, who came from Berwick to Cherry in 1857, and moved to Kansas about 1870. To Mr. and Mrs. Kinsley have been born four children, Emma C., who married Frank Cox of Cherry; Mary A, married Charles Dieffenbach of Cherry; Allie C., married William Stiff of Cherry; and Morris B., who live on his father’s farms.

R.C.R. Kshinka is a native of Zerkwitz, in the province of Brabdenburg, Prussia, where he was born in 1845. He is a son of Mathew Kshinka, who was for thirty years a teacher in the schools of Prussia and came with his family to New York in 1851, and the next year settled in Albany township, Bradford county. In 1864, Mr. Kshinka enlisted in Co.I 50th N.Y. engineers, and served until the close of the war. Mr. Kshinka’s grandfather on both his father's and his mother’s side, fought under Napoleon, being pressed into the service in the famous expedition to Russia. The grandfather, Kaltz, was an officer under Napoleon, and his sword is now in possession of the subject of this sketch. Mr. Kshinka is a blacksmith and conducts a shop at Huntsinger’s Corners. He married Almira Yonkin, a daughter of Henry Yonkin Jr., one of the pioneers of Cherry township. To them have been born six children: Lewellyn, died at the age of six years; Theodore U.; Maggie B., died in 1873; Albert, died in infancy; William; and Charles R.

Solomon Bahr was born in Berks county in 1828, and came with his father’s family to Cherry in 1833. He owns a part of the John Bahr farm, his father’s farm near Dushore. His first wife was Hannah Hunsinger a daughter of Joseph Hunsinger, of Cherry. Of this union, four children were born, Alfred B., Clinton, Edward S. and Hannah, who married George W. Bender of Forks. His present wife is Cecelia Snyder, a daughter of Jacob Snyder, deceased, of Cherry. To them have been born five children, Louis F.; John; Emma M., married George W. Potter of Dushore; Jennie C., married Frank Cast of Cherry; and Oliver. Alfred, Clinton, Edward and Lewis are deceased.

Frank Thall was born in 1855 in Cherry township. He is a son of James Thall, and a grandson of Dennis Thall, who came from Germany, settling in Cherry in 1820. Mr. Thall’s mother was Caroline LaFavor, who was of French descent. Mr. Thall owns a farm about two miles from Satterfield where he runs a fine dairy. He was married twice, his first wife being Ella Johnson, and his present wife Katie Marshall, a daughter of Joseph Marshall, deceased, of Cherry. Mr. Thall’s children are, Annie M.; Lousia, died in infancy; Francis P.; Joseph, deceased; Mildred; Charles; and Helen.

James J. Thall was born in Cherry in 1858. He is a son of James Thall, and a grandson of Dennis Thall, one of the first settlers of Cherry township. Mr. Thall owns a farm about two miles from Satterfield. Mr. Thall’s first wife was Matilda Touschner, of Cherry, and his present wife was the widow of George Detrick. She had three children by her first husband: Minnie, married Henry Touscher, of Cherry; George; and Earnest Detrick. Mr. Thall has two children, Mary and John. Mr. Thall was road commissioner one term.

Joseph Thall was born in Cherry in 1838. He is a son of Joseph Thall and a grandson of the pioneer, Dennis Thall. His mother was Margaret Shields. Mr. Thall married Anna Burns in 1875. She was a daughter of Miles Burns, a native of Ireland, who came to Sullivan county in 1846. Mr. Thall owns a farm about two miles from Dushore. To Mr. and Mrs. Thall have been born eight children, Mary G., Joseph E., John M., Matthew L, Anna T., Margaret T., J. Harry, and Irene.

William Dunn was born in Cherry in 1840. He is a son of James Dunn, who came to America in 1832, and to Cherry in 1833. His mother was Dorothy Gilmore, a Scotch-Irish lady. William Dunn lives on the Dunn homestead near Dushore. He married Anna Murray in 1869. She was a daughter of Lawrence and Ester (McDermott) Murray, who was born in New York in 1844. To Mr. and Mrs. Dunn have been born seven children: Catharine, died at the age of two years; Anna Dora, deceased; Lawrence, of Lopez; John; Mary Esther; William H.; and Anna Josephine.

Edmund Holmes was born in Cherry in 1854. He is a son of Lewis Holmes, who came from Massachusetts to Cherry in 1847, and married Margaret Green, a daughter of John Green, who established what is known as Green Settlement. Mr. Holmes was engaged in lumbering for a number of years, and for the last year has had charge of the Randall & Meylert coal mines near Bernice. He owns a fine residence at Mildred. He married Bernice C. Vought a daughter of J.O. and Cynthia (Decker) Vought, of Colley township.

S.A. Dieffenbach was born in Cherry in 1864. He is a son of D. E. Dieffenbach, of Dushore, and a grandson of John Dieffenbach, who came with his father Jacob Dieffenbach to Dushore in 1828. Conrad Dieffenbach **, great-great-grandfather of Mr. Dieffenbach, was a native of Baden, Germany, and came to America in 1764. Mr. Dieffenbach’s mother, Loretta C., is a daughter of Lewis Zaner, one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Dieffenbach is a carpenter and owns a fine residence at Mildred. He married Margaret Eldora Brown in 1886. She was born in Colley in 1865, and is a daughter of Nathan L. Brown, a descendant of one of the early settlers of Albany township, Bradford county. Mr. Brown was a veteran of the Civil war. Mrs. Dieffenbach’s mother was a daughter of William Bartley, of Los Angeles, CA, who was killed in a railroad wreck. To Mr. and Mrs. Dieffenbach have been born five children, Louis M., Winnie M., Daniel H., Ellen L., and Laura Madeline, who died in 1898.
** Editor's Note: You can learn more about the origins of this family at Descendants of Conrad Dieffenbacher.

Edmund S. Henley was born in 1851. He is a son of Robert Henley, who came from South Carolina to Cherry township with the first settlers, and married the only daughter of John R. Lopez, a contactor, who built a portion of the Turnpike, in 1819 and 1820. Mr. Lopez was of Scotch descent. Mr. Henley married Sarah Tubbs in 1870. She is a daughter of Russell Tubbs of Corning, N.Y. Mr. Henley owns a farm near Mildred. To Mr. and Mrs. Henley have been born fifteen children, Etta A., married Thomas Flick of North Mountain; Sarah D., married Charles Dunlap of Dushore; Walter J.; Mary, married Charles Bahl of Dushore; John S.; Freeman; Lloyd; Bernice; Levilla; Ellen; Charles; Delbert; Willard; Robert; and Emery.

George D. Graifly belongs to one of the oldest families of Cherry, where he was born in 1850. He is a son of Henry Graifly, who was born in Switzerland in 1803. His father, William Graifly, came to America in 1805, and to Cherry township, on the farm now occupied by the subject of this sketch, in 1821. The family now living on the homestead is composed of George D. and Mary, both single, with their mother, who is over eighty years of age and is the only surviving member of the family of seven children of Henry Yonkin, Sr. Two brothers of George D. Graifly, Lewis and W.C., purchased the Amos Cox farm joining the homestead and occupy it. They are both single men.

Jacob Graifly was born in Cherry in 1841. He is a son of Henry Graifly, a native of Switzerland, who located to Cherry in 1821. Mr. Graifly purchased the John Powderly farm near Dushore and is engaged in farming. Mr. Graifly married Mrs. Elizabeth Henshaw in 1888. She was born in 1861 at Woostershire, England. Her maiden name was Mills. She came to America when a young woman and married Thomas Henshaw, who died about two years later, leaving the widow with one daughter, Ada, who is now living with her mother. To Mr. and Mrs. Graifly have been born two daughters, Blanche, who died in 1890, and Mary Elizabeth.

Lyman Baker was born at New Columbus, Pa., in 1834. He is a son of Hiram Baker, who was born at Rochester, NY, where his father, who came from England with two brothers, had moved. Later the family moved to New Columbus, and from there to the McGovern farm in Overton township. From Overton, he moved to the Wanck farm near Campbellsville. Mr. Baker married Elizabeth Graifly in 1857. She was a daughter of William Graifly, who was a son of William Graifly, one of the pioneers of Cherry. Her mother was Rebecca Gortner, a daughter of Jacob Gortner, of Lycoming county. Mrs. Graifly was married twice, her first husband being William Martin, and the second, William Graifly. Mr. and Mrs. Baker occupy the farm formerly owned by Martin and Graifly. They also own a farm in the state of New York where they have lived a portion of the time since their marriage. To Mr. and Mrs. Baker were born Lloyd W. and Frank W., who both died in 1863; Guy of Terrytown, Pa., Jennie R., married Nelson Cox of Dushore; Bernice A,; Fred L.; Lizzie D,; and Ira C.

Lewis Martin was born in Columbia county, in 1821. He was a son of William and Rebecca (Gortner) Martin, and a grandson of Roger Martin, a native of Wales, who came to America over a century ago and settled in Columbia county, PA. William Martin settled on the farm now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Lyman Baker, where he died in 1826. Lewis Martin purchased the farm now owned by his estate in 1838 and 1840. He married Susan L Jackson in 1843. She was born in 1826, and was a daughter of Samuel Jackson of Dushore. To Mr. and Mrs. Martin ten children were born, John, of Cherry; Ralph, of Albany township; Roland, of Cherry; Hanna, died in 1896; Freeman, of Albany township; Howard, of Chicago; Leonard, of Eureka, Michigan; Libbie, married Bert Green of Eureka. Michigan; and Emma, married Wesley Nye of Clinton county, Michigan; Lewis Martin spent some years in Michigan. He died in 1891.

Enos McGee was born at Binghamton, NY in 1836. He is a son of Patrick and Sarah (Quinn) McGee, natives of Ireland, who were married in New York about 1833. Then moved to Binghamton, and to Cherry township in 1845. Mr. McGee is a car repairer and, during the Bernice strike in 1901, moved from Bernice, where he had lived for years, to Mildred. He married Mary Donagan in 1864. She was born in Ireland in 1845, and was a daughter of Patrick and Margaret (O’Brian) Donagan. To this union have been born: Sarah, Mrs. Parr of Bernice; Catharine, Mrs. Donavan of Cherry; Patrick, of Murray town; Margaret, married A. H. Roberts of Lopez; Robert; Enos Jr.; and William.

William Murray was born in Cherry in 1850. He is a son of Lawrence and Esther (McDermott) Murray, who came from Ireland and settled on the farm now owned by Mr. Murray. He also owns another farm joining. He was elected county treasurer in 1890, serving one term, and has also held numerous township offices. Mr. Murray was married in 1872 to Catharine Murphy, who was born in Cherry. She was a daughter of Thomas Murphy. To Mr. and Mrs. Murray have been born eleven children: Lawrence J. and William T., of New York; H.E., of Cripple Creek, Colorado; James W., of New York; Mary, deceased; Catharine; Richard; Esther; Frank; Joseph; and Ida.

John McMahon was born in Cherry in 1855. He is a son of James McMahon, who came from Ireland to America in 1844, and to Cherry township in 1853. Mr. McMahon’s mother was Ann Bergan. He lives with his father on the homestead. Mr. McMahon was elected tax collector, and has held other important township offices. In 1883, he married Anna Murphy, a daughter of Adam Murphy of Albany township, Bradford county, and a grand-daughter of Stephen Murphy, who came to Cherry from the county of Wexford, Ireland, about 1840. To Mr. and Mrs. McMahaon have been born nine sons, John L., James A., Joseph, Arthur, Edward, Leonard, Frank, Charles and Paul.

Frank McMahon was born in 1862 in Cherry. He is a son of James McMahon, one of the most prominent farmers of Cherry township. He purchased and lives on the O’Brian homestead in the western section of Cherry township. In 1889 he married Margaret Donivan, who was born in Cherry in 1867. She is a daughter of James Donivan of Bernice. Mr. Donivan was a native of Ireland and came to America with his parents when four year s of age. At the opening of the Bernice mines he moved there, his family being the first to locate at that place. To Mr. and Mrs. McMahon have been born three children, Mar A., James and Eugene.

Edward Bergan was born in Cherry in 1843. He is a single man. His father, Timothy Bergan, who is still living, was a native of Queens county, Ireland, and came to America in 1833, locating in Cherry in 1835. Edward, the subject of this sketch, was the oldest of the family. He has two brothers living, James H. and W.F.; and two sisters, Catharine, who married Michael Corcoran, and Mary, who married Ambrose Farrell; and one brother, John C., who are deceased. Mr. Bergan owns the homestead located near Dushore. In 1878, he was elected county treasurer, and sheriff in 1883, serving three years in each office.

James Bergan was born in Cherry in 1854. He is a son of Timothy Bergan, one of the pioneers of Cherry township, settling near Dushore in 1835. Mr. Bergan purchased the farm formerly owned by Frank Dunn, located near Dushore. In 1881, he married Anna Cadden, who was born at Philadelphia in 1861. She is a daughter of Thomas Cadden, who came to Cherry in 1880 and purchased the James Deegan farm. Her mother was Margaret Walsh, who was born in county Sligo, Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Bergan are the parents of seven children, John C., Edward C., Thomas, Martin, Anna, Harry, and Ambrose.

Frederick Kraus was born at Philadelphia in 1881. He is a son of Conrad Kraus, who was born at Tamaqua, PA, and came to Sullivan county in 1881. His grandfather, Henry Kraus, was a native of Hesse Cassel, Germany, who came to America in 1849, and for many years made frequent trips to Sullivan county to buy stock. Mr. Kraus’ mother was Kate Hecker, a native of Philadelphia. In 1901, Mr. Kraus married Jennie F. Hartzig, a daughter of the late Charles S. Hartzig of Cherry, a descendant of one of the pioneer families of the township. Mr. Kraus lives near Cherry Mills on the Hartzig homestead. To Mr. and Mrs. Kraus, one daughter, Esther, has been born.

Anthony Middendorf was born in Cherry in 1851. He was a son of Barnhart Middendorf, a native of Prussia, Germany, who came to America when a young man, and later located in Cherry about 1840. Mr. Middendorf married Mary Lusch, a daughter of .F. Lusch, a native of Baden, Germany, who came to America in 1836, and to Cherry township in 1839. Mr. Middendorf purchased the Miller farm and has recently added two more farms to his possessions. Mr. and Mrs. Middendorf have three children, Raymond, Agatha and Clement.

Ralph Litzelman was born in Cherry in 1844. He was a son of Mathias Litzelman, who came to New York from Elsets, France, now Germany, in 1828, and in 1830 moved to Cherry on the farm now owned by the subject of this sketch, which is one of the best equipped farms in the county. Mr. Litzelman has held numerous township offices, tax collector, school director and road commissioner. In 1868, he married Lydia Sick, who was born in 1848 in Cherry. She was a daughter of Charles Sick, who came from Baden, Germany, to America in 1836. To Mr. and Mrs. Litzelman have been born three children: Mathias, married Josephine Marshall; Anna S., who married Fred R. Saxer of Cherry; and Hannah M.

Gabriel Litzelman was born in Cherry in 1839. He was a son of Mathias Litzelman, a native of Germany, who settled in Cherry in 1830. Mr. Litzelman purchased a fine large farm in the Germany settlement. His first wife was Mary White, a daughter of Mathias and Catharine (Ambs) White. She died in 1877. He married his present wife, Eliza Bahr, in 1873; she is a daughter of Charles Bahr, of Cherry. Mr. Litzelman was elected county commissioner in 1893, serving one term. He is at present a member of the Cherry school board. He is the father of five children: George, died in 1886; Emily, married Henry Kraus, of Laporte; Minerva, married John Bahr; Joseph, of Cherry; and Lorena, married A. Rose, of Laporte.

John Litzelman was born in Cherry in 1867. He was a son of Mathias Litzelman, one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Litzelman has been extensively engaged as contractor and builder. He purchased the Barth homestead, of 279 acres, on which he lives. He married Mary Sick, a daughter of Charles Sick, a native of Germany, who located in Cherry in 1839. Mr. Litzelman has held numerous township offices. He is at present a member of the board of road commissioners. To Mr. and Mrs. Litzelman have been born twelve children: Samuel, deceased; Agnes, deceased, married John H. Yonkin of Lopez; Stephen; Windsor; Chara; Amelia; Charles; Thada; Mary; William; Jennie; and Elizabeth.

Edward J. Weisbrod was born in Cherry in 1848. He was a son of Conrad and Elizabeth (Snyder) Weisbrod, of Cohessa, Germany, who came to America, settling in Cherry township in 1842, on the farm now owned and occupied by Mr. Weisbrod, the subject of this sketch. In 1876, he married Rose Sick, a daughter of Charles Sick, who was born in Baden, Germany, in 1815, and came to Cherry township in 1839. To Mr. and Mrs. Weisbrod have been born three daughters: Eudorah A., who died while at the State Normal school at Lock Haven in June, 1895; Hilda P.; and Ada A.

John Weisbrod was born in Cherry in 1855. He was a son of Conrad Weisbrod, who was born at Cohessa, Germany, in June, 1819. His grandfather was Henry Weisbrod of the same place. He married Anna Sick, a daughter of Charles Sick, one of the early settlers of Cherry, and a granddaughter of Joseph Sick of Prussia. Mr. and Mrs. Weisbrod have added to their farm from time to time until they own 205 acres in the valley of Black Creek. They are the parents of eight children: Coleman, twins who died in infancy, Cynthia, Walter, Herbert H., Lewis and Stephen.

Joseph Yonkin was born in Cherry in 1850. He was a son of Peter Yonkin, who died in 1897, and a grandson of Henry Yonkin, Sr. who was born in Hesse-Nassau, Germany, in 1774, and came to America in 1807. He settled on the farm now owned by Joseph Yonkin, the subject of this sketch, in 1823, moving from Briar Creek township, Columbia county, to Cherry. Peter Yonkin was born in Briar Creek township and came to Cherry with his father, occupying the homestead. He married Catharine Suber, who still survives and lives with her son, Joseph. Mr. Yonkin is engaged in farming and is a surveyor for the fire insurance company of Western Sullivan county. He married Hannah Mosier, who was born in Dushore in 1852. She was a daughter of Peter J. Mosier, and a granddaughter of John Mosier, one of the pioneers of Dushore. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin have been born one son, Howard P., who lives with his parents on the homestead.

G.B. Yonkin was born in Cherry township in 1866. His father, Peter Yonkin, was for many years identified with the business affairs of Cherry township, where he came with his father, Henry Yonkin, Sr., in 1823. Mr. Yonkin’s mother was Catharine Suber, a daughter of Jacob Suber, one of the pioneers of Cherry township. Mr. Yonkin purchased a fine farm in East Cherry, to which he recently added 40 acres. He married Aurilla Wentzel, who was born in Cherry in 1868. She is a daughter of Percival and Anna (Miller) Wentzel, and a granddaughter of Jacob Wentzel, who settled in Cherry in 1836. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin has been born one son, Earnest.

Edward Yonkin was born in Cherry in 1847. He is a son of Henry Yonkin, Jr., who was born in Havre, France, in 1806, and came with his parents to America in 1807, and to Cherry in 1823. In 1824, he purchased the farm now owned by P.J. Yonkin. Mr. Yonkin’s mother was Barbara Hartzig, who was a daughter of John Hartzig, who came to Cherry in 1819. Mr. Yonkin married Ella Smith, who was a daughter of Daniel Smith, of Center county, PA. Her mother was Hanna Kunes, who was a daughter of John Kunes, whose father, Daniel, was one of the early settlers of Center county. Mr. Yonkin purchased, from his brother John, one of the finest farms in the western section of the township, which he is engaged in tilling. To Mr. and Ms. Yonkin have been born six children: Frank E., of Cherry; Lewis W., of Dushore; Bertha M., Hattie F., Emma E., and Winifred M.

John Yonkin was born in Cherry in 1829. He was a son of Henry Yonkin, Jr., and a grandson of Henry Yonkin, Sr., who came to America with his wife, Elizabeth (Hains) Yonkin, in 1807, and, after living at various places, came to Cherry in 1823. Mr. Yonkin married Loretta A. Barge, a daughter of Gotleib Barge, one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Yonkin purchased a large tract of timberland in the western section of the township, which he cleared and then sold to his brother, Edward, and then purchased the Huffmaster homestead near Dushore, which he has converted into one of the best farms in the county. In 1878, he was elected county commissioner, and, in 1891, associate judge. He was school director three terms. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin have been born one son,Ira B., who lives with his father.

Benjamin Kester was born in Cherry in 1850. He was a son of Joseph and Catharine (Miller) Kester. His grandfather, Jacob Kester, was probably the first permanent settler in Cherry township, locating on the lands now owned by Charles Bahr and Benjamin Kester, the subject of this sketch, about 1813. Mr. Kester married Angelina Sayman, a daughter of Benjamin and Sallie (Hartzig) Kester, deceased, of Forks. Mr. and Mrs. Kester are both of German descent. To them one son, Walter, was born, who died in infancy.

J.L. Messersmith was born in Cherry in 1853. He was a son of Jacob Messersmith of Cherry, whose father, Jacob Messersmith, came from Germany at an early date. Mr. Messersmith married Ina N. Kline, a daughter of Dunham Kline; formerly of Dushore, now of Towanda. Mr.Messersmith works for Trexler & Turrell. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., of Dushore. To Mr. and Mrs. Messersmith have been born four children, Blanche, William, Hazel, and Kline.

Samuel L Bender was born in Cherry township in 1871. He is a son of George and Ann (Rinebold) Bender. George Bender came to Cherry township from Columbia county about 55 years ago, and purchased a tract of timberland in the western section of Cherry township, clearing up a farm, which is now owned by S.L. Bender, the subject in this sketch, Mr. Bender married Ida Lambert, a daughter of John Lambert of Forks. To Mr. and Mrs. Bender, three children have been born, Clarence, Howard L, and the baby.

John J. Connor was born in county Sligo, Ireland, in 1844. His father, John Connor, came to New York in 1848, and later moved to Georgia, where he died in 1859. In 1865, John J. Connor came to Cherry township. In 1884, he married Ellen Lostus, who was born in 1865 in Ireland, and came to Scranton, PA in 1882. Mr. Connor owns a farm in Green Settlement, and is a farmer and miner by occupation. To Mr. and Mrs. Connor, seven children have been born, Bridget, Ellen, John, Margaret, Patrick, Winifred, and Mary.

Charles E. Jackson was born at Ithaca, N.Y., in 1865. He is a son of Cornelius W. and Elanora (Stevens) Jackson, both natives of New York State. Mr. Jackson was manager of the coal office for W.H. Blight at Elmira, when a young man, and in 1884 came to Bernice, where he worked for the same employer as bookkeeper and assistant postmaster. In 1894, he built Hotel Jackson, and married Emeline E. Utz, a daughter of John Utz of Dushore. Mr. and Mrs. Jackson are the parents of three children, Charles U., Robert E., and Richard W.

Frank Meyer was born in Cherry in 1857. He was a son of John Meyer, who was a native of Lehigh county, and came to Cherry in 1853. Mr. Meyer’s mother was Mary Hoffa, a daughter of Jacob Hoffa of Cherry. Mr. Meyer’s ancestors were of German descent. In 1878, Mr. Meyer married Emma Vogel, who was born in Germany in 1857 and came to America when 16 years of age. Mr. Meyer has been engaged in mining and lumbering, and, in 1893, went into the coal business at Hughesville, where he remained only a short time. In 1898, he entered into the mercantile business at Mildred, where he owns a fine store and residence. To Mr. and Mrs. Meyer have been born four children, Raymond, Ruth, Julius, and Henry.

Charles F. McIntire was born in New Albany in 1863. His father, Alvin McIntire, was a native of Owego, NY, and came to Sullivan county in 1864, settling in Forks township in 1886. Mr. McIntire married Dora Warburton, a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Hottenstein) Warburton, of Forks township. Joseph Warburton’s father, John Warburton, married a Miss Clark. They were of English descent and were among the early settlers of Forks township. Mr. McIntire is foreman in the Gunton coal breaker at Bernice. To Mr. and Mrs. McIntire have been born five children, Alvin J., Julia M., Mary E., Grace M., and Nellie B.

William Stiff was born in Cherry in 1865. He was a son of Henry Stiff, a native of England, who came to America in 1848. Ten years later, he came to Cherry township, where he cleared up a farm. He married Lena Huffmaster. Mr. Stiff married Alice Kinsley in 1895. She is a daughter of William Kinsley, and was born in Cherry in 1874. Mr. Stiff owns a farm in East Cherry, which he tills. To Mr. and Mrs. Stiff, four children have been born, Rebecca E., Ada M., Lena A., and Zora S.

Frank Dohm was born in Laporte township, in 1858. His father, Peter Dohm, was a native of Germany, and came to America, being one of the early settlers of Laporte township. Mr. Dohm owns a farm near Satterfield, and is engaged in farming and dairying. In 1885, Mr. Dohm married Augusta Rinebold, who was born in Germany in 1847. She was a daughter of Anthony Rinebold, who came from Germany and settled on the farm now owned by Mr. Dohm. To Mr. and Mrs. Dohm has been born one daughter, Bessie.

Sylvester Steafather came from Germany to America in 1834, landing at Philadelphia. In 1837. he settled in Colley, and moved from there to Dushore, on the farm now owned by Steafather Brothers, in 1842. Mr. Steafather married Elizabeth Martin. Edward and John, sons of Sylvester Steafather, both single men, are the members of the firm of Steafather Brothers. Their aged mother lives with them on their farm near Dushore, where they have a shingle mill and a chip mill, run by waterpower. They had an older brother, Lucas Steafather, who died recently at Lopez.

Preston Crawford was born in Tunkhannock township, Wyoming county, in 1862. He is a son of George Crawford, who was born at Philadelphia, and located in Sullivan county, NY, later in Wyoming county, PA. The Crawfords are of English and German descent. Mr. Crawford came to Sullivan county,PA, to lumber in 1881. He married Mary Thrasher in 1882. She was born in 1864 in Forks township. She is a daughter of Levi Thrasher, who married a daughter of Samuel Hunsinger of Forks. Mr. Crawford lives on a farm in East Cherry, and is also engaged in mining. To Mr. and Mrs. Crawford, seven children have been born, Maud, Levi, William, Lloyd, Ellen, Marvin, and Warren.

Ezra Hunsinger was born in Forks township in 1875. He is a son of Barney Hunsinger, whose father, Samuel Hunsinger, settled in Forks at an early date. Mr. Hunsinger’s great-grandfather, George Hunsinger, was one of the first settlers of Cherry township. Mr. Hunsinger’s mother, Emma (Rowe) Hunsinger, was a daughter of Richard Rowe, one of the early settlers of Forks township. Mr. Hunsinger married Emma Bleiler in 1900, who was born in Forks township in 1880. She is a daughter of A.B. Bleiler, whose father, Isaac Bleiler, moved from Lehigh county to Forks in 1851. To Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger, one son Clyde, has been born.

P.W. Hunsinger was born in Cherry in 1854. He was a son of Levi Hunsinger, whose father, Barney Hunsinger, was a son of Barnhart Hunsinger, who came from France. Levi Hunsinger was born in Sugarloaf township, Luzerne county, in 1815, and was married in 1846 to Esther Frye. P.W. Hunsinger married Irene Maynard, who was born in Cherry in 1855. She was a daughter of Davis Maynard of Towanda. Her mother was Eva (Graves) Maynard. The Graves came from Germany and were among the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Hunsinger owns a small farm and has a saw mill and store about one mile from Dushore. To Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger have been born four children, Merton L., Walter J., Charles L., and Blanche L.

E.D. Sutliff was born at Bloomingdale, Luzerne county, in 1877. He is a son of A. W. Sutliff of Bloomingdale, PA. The Sutliffs came from Connecticut to the Wyoming Valley at an early date. Mr. Sutliff married Mary Goss in 1899. She was a daughter of R. G. Goss. She was born at Rittenhouse, Luzerne county, in 1877. Her ancestors were among the early settlers of Luzerne county. Mr. Sutliff purchased the general mercantile business of Julius Vogle at Mildred in the spring of 1903, and is continuing the business. To Mr. and Mrs. Sutliff, one son, Richard, has been born.

William H. Yonkin was born in Cherry in 1838. He was a son of Henry Yonkin, Jr., who came to Sullivan county in 1823. Mr. Yonkin owns a fine farm of 100 acres, joining the farm on which he was reared. In 1874, he was elected sheriff of Sullivan county, which office he held for three years. He served as tax collector of Cherry township two years; constable, five years; town clerk, four years; and township treasurer, two years. At present, he is storekeeper and gauger at the Schaad distillery at Mildred. In 1869, Mr. Yonkin married Hannah A. Fairchild, who was born in Cherry township in 1847. She was a daughter of Stephen and Nancy (Thomas) Fairchild. Mr. Fairchild was born in New Jersey and came to Sullivan county with his parents, who were among the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas, the parents of Mrs. Fairchild, were also early settlers in Cherry township. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin have been born two children, Otis F., and Mina Claire.

George W. Yonkin was born in 1836. He was a son of Henry and Barbara Hartzig Yonkin, the father being a native of France. Having been born while his parents were on their way from Germany to America, and the mother a native of Switzerland, Mr. Yonkin purchased a tract of timberland near Cherry Mills and cleared up a fine farm. In 1861, he married Mary J. Sweeney, who was born in county Clare, Ireland, in 1844. She came to America with her parents in 1852, settling at Canton, PA, where her father followed his trade as shoemaker, and died in 1875. Her mother lived until 1888. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin, three children have been born, Emily, who married Lloyd McCarty of Dushore; G. Adison, of Cherry; and John H., of Lopez.

James Gainer was born in Cherry in 1856. He was a son of Thomas Gainer, who was born in the county of Longford, Ireland, in 1835, and came to Philadelphia with his parents when one year old. Later the family moved to Berks county and then to Bradford county, and from there to Sullivan county, on the farm near Cherry Mills where Mr. Gainer now lives, settling on that farm in 1841. Mr. Gainer married Bridget Farley in 1891. She was born in 1867 in county Caven, Ireland. She was a daughter of Cornelius and Margaret Farley. When 16 years of age, she came to America with her brother, Patrick Farley, of Wilmot township, Bradford county. Mr. and Mrs. Gainer have adopted two boys. Edward and Augustus.

Charles S. Sick was born in Cherry township in 1841. He was a son of Charles Sick, who was born in Baden, Germany, in 1815, and came to Camden, NJ, in 1836. Three years later, he moved to Cherry township, near Cherry Mills, where he followed shoemaking and farming. Charles S. Sick purchased a farm at Cherry Mills, where he conducts a store and post office. For a number of years, he owned the gristmill at that place and was engaged in manufacturing flour and feed. In 1866, he married Hanna Yonkin, who was born in Cherry township in 1846. She was a daughter of Peter and Catherine Suber Yonkin. To Mr. and Mrs. Sick, four children were born, Clara, who married John Gross of Cherry Mills; Allie, who married Morris Baumgartner of Sunbury; Blanche, who married John M. Dempsey of Cherry Mills; and Edna, who married Fred Eichenlaub of Sunbury.

John M. Dempsey was born at Olyphant, Lackawanna county, Pa., in 1874. He is a son of Anthony Dempsey of Cherry township, who was a native of Ireland, and came to America when a young man, and settled at Olyphant, where he married Ellen Carden, a native of that county, who was a daughter of James Carden. Anthony Dempsey came to Cherry township in 1877, settling on a farm near Cherry Mills. John M. Dempsey, the subject of this sketch, is a blacksmith by trade and owns a blacksmith shop and residence at Cherry Mills, where he resides. In 1889, he married Blanche Sick, a daughter of Charles S. Sick of Cherry Mills. She was born at Cherry Mills in 1879. To Mr. and Mrs. Dempsey, two children have been born, Geraldine and Harold.

T.V. McLaughlin was born at Minersville, Schuylkill county, in 1859. His father, Patrick McLaughlin, was a native of Ireland. In 1883, Mr. McLaughlin married Mary Brennen, who was born in Schuylkill county in 1855. She is a daughter of James E. Brennen, an ex-member of the Legislature and an extensive coal operator. Mr. McLaughlin commenced life as a slate picker, then learned the machinist’s trade, later became mining engineer, and for the last 14 years has been superintendent of mines. At present, he is outside superintendent at the Bernice mines. To Mr. and Mrs. McLaughlin, three children have been born, Harry P., Eugene, and Mary.

John Waples was born in Schuylkill county in 1848. His father, James Waples, was a native of Ireland, and came to America when a young man, settling first in Schuylkill county, and about 50 years ago moved to Wilmot township, Bradford county. In 1883, Mr. Waples married Anna Middendorf, who was born in Cherry township. She was a daughter of Barnhart Middendorf, a native of Prussia, Germany, who settled in Cherry township in 1800. Mr. Waples settled on a farm in Wilmot township, which he sold two years ago, and moved to Bernice, where he is engaged in mining. To Mr. and Mrs. Waples have been born six children, Catharine, Frank, Tressa, James, Joseph, and Eugene.

J.P. Murphy, of Mildred, was born at Ashland, PA, in 1870. His father, Patrick Murphy, was a native of Ireland, and came to America about 47 years ago, settling first at Wyalusing. When Bernice was first started, he moved there, later to Ashland, PA, and, after living there a few years, came back to Bernice. J.P. Murphy conducts a restaurant at Mildred. In 1901, he married Ella Driscoll, a daughter of Patrick Driscoll, who came from Ireland to Pottsville in 1864; two years later, he came to Sullivan county, and was one of the first miners to locate at Bernice when that town was started. The family still resides at that place.

Patrick Hannon, of Mildred, was born in Ireland in 1852. He came to America, landing at New York City in 1869, and came to Sullivan county in 1870, working at the Laporte tannery eighteen months. In 1872, he took charge of the coal yard at Bernice, and held that position until 1901. About two years ago, he purchased a fine residence at Mildred, where he resides. At present, he is night watchman at the Likens breaker. Mr. Hannon was school director 8 years and township treasurer 2 years. He is a member of Div. No. 1, A.O.H., and of Local Assembly, No. 7137, K. of L., of Mildred; Katonka Tribe, No. 336, Imperial Order of Red Men [**] of Mildred, and of Davidson No.1, United Mine Workers. In 1873, Mr. Hannon married Sarah Jane Burke, who was born in Luzerne county in 1855. She was a daughter of John Burke, who was a native of Ireland, but spent most of his life, previous to coming to Luzerne county, in England. Mrs. Hannon’s mother’s maiden name was Margaret Kane. She came to Scranton when 16 years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Burke were among the first settlers of that place. To Mr. and Mrs. Hannon, eight children have been born, Patrick J., Theressa, Mary, John, Edward, Lucy, Ella, and James L., who died in infancy.
[**Editor's Note: On October 26, 2005, David Lintz, Director, Red Men Museum and Library, Waco, TX, reported to us that the correct name of this organization is "Improved Order of Red Men".]

Charles Cook was born in Cherry township in 1852 (Editor’s note: died 1945). His father, Conrad Cook, was one of the early settlers of Cherry township. His mother, Mrs. Conrad Cook, was a daughter of Joseph and Urse (Kani) Baumgartner, who were natives of Germany and settled in Cherry in 1828. Mr. Cook is a wagon maker by trade, and owns a handsome residence and shop near Cherry Mills, where he is engaged in business. In 1887, (Editor’s note: May 19), he married Florence Richley, who was born in Cherry in 1862. She is a daughter of Wendell and Elizabeth (Litzelswope) Richley, who settled on a farm near Cherry Mills in 1840. To Mr. and Mrs. Cook, one daughter, Alma E., has been born.

John Biddle was born at Hessen, on the Rhine, Germany, in 1840. In 1861, he came to America, remaining in New York City three years, when he came to Sullivan county. He dealt in stock and hides for many years. He owns a fine large farm in Cherry near Dushore, which he is engaged in tilling. In 1866, he married Mary J. Weaver, who was born in Cherry in 1846. She was a daughter of Barnhart and Mary (Thrasher) Weaver, who were among the early settlers of Cherry township. To Mr. and Mrs. Weaver, one daughter, Stella M., has been born.

Nathan C. Weaver was born in Cherry in 1863. He was a son of Barnhart and Mary (Thrasher) Weaver, and a grandson of Christian Weaver, who was of German descent and came from Luzerne county to Cherry in 1847. In 1901, Mr. Weaver married Bernice H. Kinsley, who was born in Cherry in 1872. She is a daughter of Jacob Kinsley of Cherry, whose father and grandfather were early settlers in Cherry township. Mr. Weaver owns two farms in East Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Weaver have been born four children, Jacob M., Nathan Ellery, Leonard E., and Beatrice C.

Benjamin V. Kneller was born in Cherry in 1857. His father, Valentine Kneller, and a brother, Nicholas, came from Germany and settled in Cherry township in the neighborhood of 65 years ago, and cleared each a farm, which are now owned by B.V. Kneller, the subject of this sketch. In addition to these two farms, Mr. Kneller purchased another, and now tills the three farms in East Cherry. In 1881, he married Hattie Heiber, who was born in Cherry in 1863. She was a daughter of John and Mary (Rettburg) Heiber of Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Kneller, four children have been born, Elsie M., Laura E., Edna H., and Eshler.

Daniel Murphy was born in county Kerry, Ireland, and came to America when ten years of age, settling first in Madison, NY, and came to Sullivan county in the Forties, settling in Cherry township. Mr. Murphy married Ellen Byrns, a daughter of John Byrns, who was of Scotch descent. Mr. Murphy owns a fine farm in the northwestern section of Cherry township. To Mr. and Mrs. Murphy were born nine children, Mary, at home; Margaret E., deceased; James, of Cherry; John, died at the age of 18 years; Philip, deceased; Anna, married Thomas Sexton; Christopher, lives at home; Joseph, of Sullivan county, NY; Alice, married Henry Bahl of Forks.

Stephen D. Murphy was born in Cherry in 1855. His father, Thomas Murphy, settled in Cherry in 1860, on the farm on which Mr. Murphy now lives. In addition to the homestead, Mr. Murphy owns a farm adjoining. He is engaged in dairying and farming. In 1880, Mr. Murphy married Catharine Cummiskey, a daughter of Richard Cummiskey, who settled in Albany township about 1841. To Mr. and Mrs. Murphy, eight children have been born, Thomas, who died in 1900; Catharine; Richard; Mary; Raymond; Eugene; Genevieve; and Joseph.

Peter McDonald was born at Beaver Meadows, PA, 1851. His father, John McDonald, was one of the early settlers of Cherry township. Mr. McDonald owns a farm in East Cherry. In 1894, he married Rosa Fitzgerald, a daughter of John Fitzgerald, who was one of the early settlers of Cherry township. Mr. and Mrs. McDonald have no children.

Mrs. Mary Hannaway was born in Bradford county. She was a daughter of Michael Crimmins of Marshview, Bradford county. In 1877, she married Stephen Hannaway, deceased. Mrs. Hannaway was left a widow several years ago with a family of small children, and two farms near Dushore, which she tills successfully. Her children are William, Nora, Stephen, and Mamie.

Mrs. William McMahon was a daughter of Joseph Marshall, who was a native of Germany, and came to America where he married Mary Sollinger, a daughter of Joseph Sollinger, who settled in Cherry in 1829. Joseph Marshall and wife settled on a farm near Satterfield. Mrs. Mary McMahon married William McMahon in 1878. He was a son of Robert McMahon, one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. McMahon was kicked by a horse in 1892 and lived only a few hours. The widow owns a house and lot near Dushore, where she lives. To Mr. and Mrs. McMahon were born six children, Joseph W., Frank J., Augustus, Austin, Mary E. and Josephine.

Emanuel G Heiber was born in Philadelphia in 1830. He was a son of John and Margaret (Steiner) Hieber, who were natives of Wurtemburg, Germany, and came to America at an early date and were married at Philadelphia in 1828. They made that city their home until 1832, when they came to Sullivan County, settling in Cherry Township. When Mr. Heiber was 29 years of age, he settled on a portion of the farm where he now lives, adding to his farm until he now has 197 acres. Mr. Heiber has been married twice. His first wife was Elizabeth Knuper, a daughter of George Knuper, to whom he was married in 1859. She died one year after at the age of 23 years. His second wife was Maria Houser, who was born in Cherry Township in 1840. Her father, Henry Houser, was a native of Germany, and was killed while working on the North Branch Canal. To Mr. and Mrs. Heiber were born, Lizzie, who married Jacob Schrawn, of Wilmot; John B., of Bradford County; George H., Caroline, who married Jacob Robinson, of Bradford County; William, Mary M., Frank B., Emma, Lena M., Magdalena, Milton, Jacob, Ida M., Oscar, Lula.

John Heiber was born in Carbon County in 1834. He was a son of John and Margaret (Steiner) Heiber, natives of Germany, who were married at Philadelphia in 1858. The father, John Hieber, died in 1863, at the age of 58 years, and Mrs. Hieber, in 1878, at the age of 84 years. In 1862 Mr. Heiber married Mary Rettburg, who was born in Berlin, Germany, in 1841. She was a daughter of William Rettburg, who came to America at an early date. Mr. Heiber settled on and cleared up the farm on which he now lives. He has served as school director of Cherry Township, road commissioner and auditor. To Mr. and Mrs. Heiber five children have been born, Hattie, married B.V. Kneller, of Cherry; Margaret N., married W. H. Gibbs, of Berwick, Pa., Augusta, married Solomon Robinson, of Albany Township, Bradford County; Laura, who married Henry Curtis, of Ashtabula, O., and Janette, at home.

Emanuel Steiner was born in Cherry in 1846. He was a son of Barnhart and Sarah (Shaffer) Steiner. His grandfather, John Steiner, came from Wurtemburg, Germany, and married Margaret Stoltz, who was a native of Switzerland. Mr. Steiner lives on the homestead with his aged mother. He is a single man.

William Shaffer was born in Cherry in 1862. He is a son of George Shaffer, of Cherry. His grandfather, Jonathan Shaffer, was a native of Northumberland County and came to Cherry in 1839, settling on the farm now owned by George Shaffer, near Dushore. In 1898, Mr. Shaffer married Mary Elizabeth Hartzig, who was a daughter of John S. Hartzig, whose parents were among the first settlers of Cherry. Mr. Shaffer lives on a farm near Cherry Mills. To Mr. and Mrs. Shaffer three children have been born, Oscar, Arthur C., and Minerva.

George J. Hartzig was born in Cherry in 1861. His father, John S. Hartzig, was also a native of Cherry. His grandfather, John Hartzig, was a native of Switzerland, and came to America in 1819, being one of the earliest settlers in the Township. Mr. Hartzig married Emma Fulmer in 1882. She was a daughter of Henry Fulmer, whose father, Joseph Fulmer, was a native of Frankfort, Germany, and came to America, locating in Cherry in 1825. Mr. Hartzig owns a sawmill and a small tract of land at Cherry Mills. He is a member of the Cherry school board, and is also agent for the Home Mutual Fire Insurance Company. To Mr. and Mrs. Hartzig one son, Earnest, has been born.

Blanche Brown is a daughter of Charles A. and Della (Thurston) Brown, of Mildred. Charles Brown was born in Albany Township, Bradford County, in 1846. He was a son of Nathan Brown, who came to Bradford County from Connecticut, and who was a cousin of ex-Governor Dickenson, of New York. Charles A. Brown married Della Thurston, a daughter of Henry Thurston, of Burlington, Bradford Count. Her mother’s maiden name was Margaret Winslow. Their ancestors are traced to the landing of the pilgrims in the Mayflower. Charles A. Brown was a carpenter and died in 1894. The family at present consists of the widow, two sons, Charles M., and Lewis H., and Miss Blanche, who is a teacher in the Bernice grade schools.

Thomas Cadden was born in county Mayo, Ireland. He came to America when a young man and located at Pittston, where he engaged in mining. In 1862, he married Margaret Welsh, who was born in County Sligo, Ireland. In 1880, Mr. Cadden purchased the James Deegan farm in Cherry and moved his family on the farm, where he died in 1900. To Mr. and Mrs. Cadden eleven children have been born, Anna, married James Bergan, of Cherry; Thomas P, of Kane, PA; Mary, married John Murphy, of Dushore; Katie, who married M.C. Miller, of Sayre; Jennie, who married George Farrell, of Kane, PA; John, of Dushore; Nellie, Margaret, who married Frank Hope, of Wilkes-Barre; Agnes, Josephine and Clara.

Thomas W. Gahan was born in Cherry in 1843. His father, Patrick Gahan, was a native of county Kerry, Ireland, and settled on the farm where Mr. Gahan now lives, in 1835. In 1867, Mr. Gahan married Bridget Curray. She was a daughter of Martin Curray, a native of Ireland, who worked on the construction of the North Branch Canal and settled in Cherry in the early Forties. Mr. Gahan at present owns four farms and a property in Dushore. He is a member of the board of county commissioners, and has held a number of township offices. To Mr. and Mrs. Gahan eight children have been born: Nora, Maggie A., Mary, T.F., Charles, Winifred, Patrick and Edward Leo.

Frank H. Coyle was born in Cherry Township in 1864. He was a son of Frank Coyle, who was born in New Jersey and came with his father to Cherry Township, settling on a farm in about 1845 or 1850. In 1892, Mr. Coyle married Ella Cummiskey, who was born in Albany Township, Bradford County, in 1868. She was a daughter of Richard Cummiskey, who was a native of Ireland and came to America when a young man and settled in Albany Township at an early date. Mr. Coyle owns a fine farm in East Cherry, which he tills. To Mr. and Mrs. Coyle two sons, Joseph and Vincent, have been born.

Mrs. Mary Cunningham was a daughter of James Simmees. His parents came from Germany to America and Mrs. Cunningham was born while they were on the ocean. In 1870, she married Nicholas Cunningham and commenced housekeeping at Girardsville, PA. In 1871 the family moved to Sullivan County, locating at Mildred. Mr. Cunningham was a miner by occupation, and died in 1884. To Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham, six children were born, Margaret married Otto Rubert, of Towanda; Nicholas, of Mildred; Katie, married Francis Murphy; Nellie, John and Alice.

William Bartlow was born at Maplewood, Wayne County, Pa., in 1866. His father, Phillip Bartlow, was a native of New Jersey. In 1889, he married Rosa Warburton, a daughter of Joseph Warburton, of Forks Township. Her grandfather, John Warburton, was among the early settlers of Forks Township. Mr. Bartlow is engaged in blacksmithing at the Gunton mines and lives near that place. To Mr. and Mrs. Bartlow four children have been born: Lizzie L., Anna M., Wilmot, and Gerald.

F.P. Dennis was born in Pike County in 1849. He was a son of Peter Dennis, also of Pike County. Mr. Dennis lives at Bernice where he is engaged in mining. In 1880, he married Ellen Williams. She was a daughter of George W. Williams, a native of Bloomsburg, Pa., who settled at Harvey’s Lake a number of years ago. To Mr. and Mrs. Dennis, eleven children have been born: Lenora, married Fred Heller, of Bernice, Charles, Chauncy, died in 1894; Ida, died in 1894; Lillie, died in 1894, Freddie, died in 1895; Earl died in 1902; Clara, Helen and Rose.

Frank F. Schaad was born at Mildred in 1875. His father, John Schaad, has been one of the founders of the town of Mildred. His mother was a daughter of Christian Mosier, whose father, John Mosier, was one of the first settlers of Dushore. In 1901, Mr. Schaad married Mary Saxer, who was born in Wilmot in 1880. She is a daughter of Fred Jr. and Anna (Weaver) Saxer, of Cherry. Mr. Schaad is in partnership with his brother, John C., in the hotel and distillery business at Mildred, PA. Mr. and Mrs. Schaad are the parents of one son, Ralph F.

John C. Schaad was born in Colley Township in 1867. He is a son of John Schaad, of Mildred, who was a native of Switzerland, and came to America in 1858. His mother is Elizabeth (Mosier) Schaad. She is a daughter of Christian Mosier of Colley. In 1892, Mr. Schaad married Henrietta Persun, a daughter of Goodwin Persun, of Cherry. Mr. Schaad is a member of the firm of Schaad Bros., who conduct a hotel and distillery at Mildred. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and F &A.M. To Mr. and Mrs. Schaad two children, Grace L and Joshua G., have been born.

H. J. Schaad was born at Mildred in 1872. He is a son of John Schaad, who was one of the first settlers and most prominent businessmen of Mildred. His mother was a daughter of Christian Mosier, of Colley, and a granddaughter of John Mosier, who came to Cherry Township in 1824 and later settled at Dushore. In 1897, Mr. Schaad married Katie Cook, who was born in Iowa in 1877. She was a daughter of John Cook of Bernice, who died in 1886. To Mr. and Mrs. Schaad, two children, Franklin and Walter, have been born. Mr. Schaad conducts a meat market at Mildred.

Levi Fulmer was born in Cherry in 1857. He was a son of Henry Fulmer of Cherry, who came with his family from Frankfort, Germany, locating first in Lehigh County, and in 1825 located in Cherry Township. Mr. Fulmer lives on the farm owned by his father. He married Libbie Wilson in 1885. She was a daughter of John Wilson and was born in Sonestown in 1863. Levi Fulmer has five children, Emma, by a former wife, and Samuel, Allen, Henry and Eugene, by his present wife.

John Scher, Sr. was born in Prussia, Germany, in 1836. He came to America in 1852,locating at Wilkes-Barre. In 1878, he purchased the Ambrose Farrell farm in the northern section of Cherry Township. He married Margaret Baker in 1858. She was also a native of Prussia, Germany. To Mr. and Mrs. Scher, five children have been born, John Scher, of Dushore; Charles Scher, at home; Anna, married John Obert, of Colley; Elizabeth, married James Finan, of Albany Township, Bradford County; Frank, who died in 1895.

Jacob J. Suber was born in Cherry Township in 1847. He was a son of Benjamin Suber, a native of Berks County. His grandfather, Jacob Suber, settled in Cherry Township at an early date. His great-grandfather, Jacob Suber, served under General Washington in the Revolutionary War. Mr. Suber’s mother was Caroline (Hoffa) Suber, a daughter of Jacob Hoffa, one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Suber married Caroline C. Bachman, in 1883. She was born in Cherry Township in 1851. Her father, Joseph Bachman, was a native of Bavaria, Germany, and there learned the miller’s trade, and when a young man came to America, securing employment in the mill at Dushore. He married Sarah Bahr, and settled on the farm now owned by Mr. and Mrs. Suber. Mr. Suber owns two farms and is a very progressive farmer.

Edward F. Kunes was born in Cherry Township in 1866. He is a son of Simon Kunes, whose father, Daniel Kunes, was one of the early settlers of Center County. His mother was a daughter of Henry Thiel, a native of Germany. Mr. Kunes married Libbie Dieffenbach, who was a daughter of Sylvester Dieffenbach, of Overton. Her grandfather, Charles Dieffenbach, came to Dushore with his father, Jacob Dieffenbach, from Lycoming County in 1829. Jacob Dieffenbach’s father, Conrad, came from Baden, Germany, to America in 1764. Mr. Kunes owns a farm in the western section of Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Kunes one son Edward, has been born.

George W. Mosier was born in Dushore in 1847. He was a son of Peter and Caroline (Hottenstein) Mosier, of Dushore. His grandfather, John Mosier, was a native of Switzerland and was one of the first settlers in Dushore. In 1878, Mr. Mosier married Elizabeth Hoffa, who was born in Cherry in 1855. She was a daughter of Jacob Hoffa, deceased. Her grandfather was Jacob Hoffa, Sr. Mr. Mosier owns a farm on the Overton road in Cherry. He is engaged in farming and stone masoning. To Mr. and Mrs. Mosier, six children have been born, Charles W., Henry W., Frank C., Eliza M., Maggie M., and Mary E.

Michael Richley was born in Cherry in 1869. He is a son of Wendell and Elizabeth (Litzelswope*) Richley. Wendell Richley came from Germany to America in 1840, settling on the farm now owned by his son Michael, the subject of this sketch. Mr. Richley is a single man. His mother and sister, Martha Richley, live with him.
Editor's Note: Should be "Litzelman", per Tina Pastusic.

Valentine Rohe was born in Cherry in 1845. His father, Valentine Rohe, was a native of Germany, and came to America about 1832, and settled in Cherry in 1837. He owns the farm formerly owned by Joseph Weisbrod. In 1869 he married Louisa Weisbrod, who was born in Cherry in 1854. She was a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Reinford) Weisbrod, of Germany. Mr. Rohe is devoting considerable attention to raising fine stock. To Mr. and Mrs. Rohe seven sons have been born, Lawrence A., of Minneapolis, Minn., John A. of Cherry; Leo J., of Colley; Fred M., of Nebraska; Frank V., George R. and Nathan W.

Anthony Rohe was born in Cherry in 1847. He was a son of Conrad Rohe who was a native of Germany and came to America when a young man. He married Emma Foust, of Laporte Township, and settled on the farm now owned by Frank Thall, near Satterfield. In 1867, Mr. Rohe married Sarah Lemmer, who was born in Schuylkill County in 1845. She was a daughter of Anthony Lemmer, who was a native of Elsets (Note: Alsace), Germany, and came to America, and to Cherry Township in 1845. Mr. Rohe owns the Lemmer farm. He is one of the overseers of the poor of Cherry Township, serving his third term. To Mr. and Mrs. Rohe, three children have been born, Emma, married Edward Farrell, of Albany Township, Bradford County; Della and George.

Owen Sweeney was born in 1836 at Greene, Chenango County, N.Y. He was a son of Michael and Catherine (Sweeney) Sweeney, of County Sligo, Ireland. His parents landed at Montreal, Canada, in 1830, and moved from there to Maine, New Jersey, New York and in 1836 to Bradford County, and in 1842 to Cherry Township. In 1861, Mr. Sweeney married Margaret Jordan, who was born in County Sligo, Ireland in 1839. She was a daughter of Patrick and Margaret (Walsh) Jordan, of Counties Sligo and Mayo, respectively. Mr. Sweeney owns a large farm near Cherry Mills. He has been school director two terms, tax collector, and assistant assessor. To Mr. and Mrs. Sweeney have been born, Anna, married Michael McDonald, of Cherry; Catharine married Michael L. Daily, of Philadelphia; Mary M., married Timothy J. Casey, of Philadelphia; Margaret M., of New York; Ella B., at home; Elizabeth A., married Thomas J. Frawley, of Allegheny, Pa.; Abby J., of New York; Stephen M., John J., Agnes, deceased; Martin M., and Thomas J.

James P. Walsh was born in Cherry in 1853. He was a son of Patrick Walsh, one of the early settlers of Cherry. In 1884, he married Catharine Gallagher, who was born in Cherry. She was a daughter of Michael Gallagher, of Laporte Township, who came to Sullivan County with his father about 1840. Her mother was Mary (Kelly) Gallagher, of Philadelphia. Mr. Walsh owns the Walsh homestead on the Overton road in Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Walsh seven children have been born, Mary Agnes, Ellen, Julia, James J., Catharine, John and Margaret.

James J. Walsh was born in Cherry in 1862. He was a son of Martin Walsh, a native of Ireland, who was among the early settlers of Cherry Township. He married Alice McChale, a daughter of Patrick McChale, of Overton Township, Bradford County. Mr. Walsh lives near Satterfield, and is engaged in railroading. To Mr. and Mrs. Walsh seven children have been born, Maurice, James, Agnes, Alphonsus, Catharine, Theresa and Jerome.

Owen Devanney was born in Ireland about 1839. He was a son of Patrick Devanney, who settled in Cherry Township in 1849. Mr. Devanney married Mary Cuff, who was born in County Sligo, Ireland. Mr. Devanney owns a farm near Cherry Mills. To Mr. and Mrs. Devanney eight children have been born, James, died in infancy; Mary, married Matthew Forbes, John, of Dennison, Texas; Alice, P. J., of Dennison, Texas; Thomas, killed at Ricketts in 1899; Michael, of Jamison City; Francis P.

Thomas Doyle was born in Cherry in 1852. He was a son of John Doyle, a native of county Wexford, Ireland, who came to Sullivan County in 1846. His mother was Margaret Conmey, whose first husband was Martin Sweeney. Mr. Doyle married Catharine Gainer, who was born in Cherry in 1862. She was a daughter of Thomas Gainer, and a granddaughter of James Gainer, a native of county Longford, Ireland, who came to America in 1829, and to Cherry Mills in 1841. Mr. Doyle owns the Doyle homestead near Cherry Mills, where he lives, and a farm in Forks Township. He is a tax collector of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Doyle six children have been born, Margaret C., Charles T., Martin J., Bernard J., Thomas A. and Joseph E.

Adison Yonkin was born in Cherry Township in 1864. He is a son of George W. Yonkin, of Cherry, whose grandfather Henry Yonkin, Sr., was a native of Germany, and landed in America in 1807, and settled in Cherry Township in 1823. Mr. Yonkin married Bernice Zaner, in 1891. She was a daughter of Adam Zaner, of Dushore, whose father Lewis Zaner, located in Cherry Township in 1828. Mrs. Yonkin’s mother was a daughter of Jacob Wentzel, a native of Berks County, who located in Cherry in 1836. Mr. Yonkin owns a fine farm in the northwestern section of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin two children have been born, Harry and Ethel.

Henry G. Huffmaster was born in Cherry in 1838. He was a son of Henry Huffmaster, Sr., who came with his father, Frederick Huffmaster, to Cherry in 1820. Frederick Huffmaster was a native of Germany and came to America in 1801. Mr. Huffmaster married Ellen Yonkin in 1859. She was born in Cherry in 1836. She was a daughter of Henry Yonkin, Jr. Her mother was Barbara (Hartzig) Yonkin, a daughter of John Hartzig, one of the pioneer families of Cherry. Mr. Huffmaster owns a small farm near Dushore. He is engaged as contractor and builder. He has been school director of Cherry and was county commissioner three years. To Mr. and Mrs. Huffmaster, three children have been born, Edward W., at home; Rudolph, died in 1870; Rush, of Cherry.

Rush Huffmaster was born in Cherry in 1869. He is a son of Henry and Ellen (Yonkin) Huffmaster. His grandfather, Frederick Huffmaster, was a native of Germany, and settled first in New Jersey in 1801, and came to Cherry Township in 1820. Mr. Huffmaster married Minnie Vail in 1891. She was a daughter of Hiram Vail, of Carbondale, Pa. Her mother was Cordelia M. Miller, a daughter of Erastus Miller, who was a son of Stephen Miller, one of the early settlers of Luzerne County, and was prominently identified with that section during the Revolutionary War. Mr. Huffmaster owns a farm in Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Huffmaster four children have been born, Abbie A., Arthur H., Ellen M. and E.C.

Amos Cox was born in Anthony Township, Columbia County, in 1830. He was a son of David and Mary (Buck) Cox, of Columbia County. David Cox was a native of New Jersey, his wife of Berks County. Mr. Cox married Hannah J. Zaner, in 1859. She was a daughter of Lewis and Eva (Chrisher) Zaner, who located in Cherry in 1828. Mr. and Mrs. Cox lived in Columbia County a short time after their marriage, and then came to Cherry Township where they lived until 1888, when Mr. Cox disposed of his farm and moved to his handsome residence at Dushore, where they live a retired life. To Mr. and Mrs. Cox, two daughters were born, Elmira J., married F.C. Welliver, of Sayre; Eva Z., married Rev. S.S. Mumey, a minister of the Evangelical Church.

John Touschner was born at Elsets (Note: Alsace), Germany, in 1826. He married Louise Windhaeuser, who was also born at Elsets. Mr. and Mrs. Touschner located in Cherry near Satterfield at an early date. To them were born eleven children, Mary, married A. Pressel, of Clearfield, Pa.; Catherine, married John Smith, of Clearfield; Julia and Josephine are Sisters of Charity and are in Indiana; Louis, of Long Island; Frank, is a priest at Philadelphia; Regina and Henry are at home.

Martin Gaughan was born in county Mayo Ireland, in 1836. In 1860 he married Bridget O’Brien, of the same place. In 1864, Mr. and Mrs. Gaughan came to Girardsville, PA. and in 1884, to Cherry Township, locating on a farm near Satterfield. To Mr. and Mrs. Gaughan, twelve children were born, Patrick, died at the age of two years; John, of Satterfield; Thomas, died in infancy; Mary, married Patrick McGee, of Satterfield; Bridget, died at the age of two years; Michael, died in infancy; Thomas, of Scranton; Andrew, died in infancy; Annie, of Laporte; Maggie, married Charles White, of Lopez; Christina, died in infancy; Martin, at home.

Charles D. Spangenburg was born in Wayne County, Pa, in 1866. His father, B.F. Spangenburg, was a native of Wayne County. His ancestors were of German descent. Mr. Spangenburg married Mary Bostian in 1891. She was born in 1875; in Davidson Township. She is a daughter of H.D. Bostian, of Nordmont. Mr. Spangenburg is an engineer and fireman by occupation and is at present working as engineer in the Gunton coal breaker near Bernice. Mr. and Mrs. Spangenburg are the parents of five children Lloyd, Lester, Herbert, Emery and Whelan.

Daniel Schoonover was born in Pike County, Pa., in 1837. He was a son of John and Mary (Romley) Schoonover, natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, respectively. Mr. Schoonover is a sawyer and carpenter and lives at Mildred. In 1862, he enlisted in Company C, 141st Pa Vol. Infantry and for nearly three years was in the service until the close of the war. He was twice wounded and was in many fierce engagements. In 1874, he entered the employ of the State Line & Sullivan Railroad company at Bernice, where he remained until 1901. In 1866 he married Mrs. Harriet Knowles, widow of Levi B. Knowles, and daughter of Ambrose Garey, of Wyoming County, where she was born. To Mr. and Mrs. Schoonover were born three children, Adie E.M., born in 1869 and died in 1872; John A., born in 1871 and died in 1872; Hattie A., who married William Brown, of Mildred.

John C. Sick was born at Overton, in 1874. He is a son of Wendell Sick, who was a son of Charles Sick, who was born in Baden, Germany, and was among the early settlers of Cherry Township. Mr. Sick owns a fine house and lot at Mildred, Pa., where he is engaged in shoe making and also conducts a small shoe store. He is postmaster at Mildred. In 1898 he married Louise Ambs, who was born in Cherry in 1873. She was a daughter of Nicholas Ambs, who was a native of Germany and came to Philadelphia when 9 years of age with his father, Xavier Ambs. Mr. Ambs came to Cherry about 52 years ago. Mrs. Sick’s mother was a daughter of Valentine Rohe, one of the early settlers of Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Sick three children have been born, Sarah Marie, Francis A., and Margaret C.

Thomas Schell was born in 1849, at Denwick, Northumberland, England. In 1873 he came to Katonah, N.Y., and in 1875 to Bernice, where he worked as a miner. He owns a house and lot at Mildred. In 1882 he married Ellen Yonkin, who was born in 1847, in Cherry Township. She was a daughter of Jacob Yonkin, of Cherry. Mr. and Mrs. Schell have no children. Mr. Schell is a member of Dushore Lodge, I.O.O.F.

D.W. Scanlin was born in Cherry in 1843. He was a son of Thomas Scanlin, a native of Ireland, who settled in Cherry in 1842, on the farm now owned by the heirs of D. W. Scanlin. In 1871 he married Jane Burns, who was born in Cherry Township, a daughter of Matthew Burns, who married Mary Clarey, of Towanda, and was one of the early settlers of Cherry. He was elected county commissioner in 1890, and died in the last year of his term, 1893. The widow lives on the homestead. To Mr. and Mrs. Scanlin ten children were born, Anna E., now Sister Mary Thomas; Mary, married James Waples, of Lopez; Thomas J., Margaret R., Elizabeth, Daniel J., Matthew J., William, Sadie and Joseph.

Frank J. Touschner was born in Cherry in 1875. He is a son of Andrew G. Touschner, who was born at Pottsville, PA. Mr. Touschner’s grandparents came from Germany and settled in Laporte Township, later at Bernice. Andrew Touschner married Mary Solinger, a daughter of Joseph Solinger, who was one of the early settlers of Cherry. Mr. Touschner married Augusta Engle, in 1897, who was born in Germany in 1873. She is a daughter of John Engle, of Cleveland, Ohio, who came to America about nine years ago. To Mr. and Mrs. Touschner, three children have been born, George, Leona and Joseph. Mr. Touschner owns a farm near Satterfield. He is also a carpenter by trade.

Joseph Dohm was born in Laporte Township in 1860. He was a son of Valentine Dom, who was a native of Bavaria, Germany, and came to Sullivan County in 1850. Mr. Dohm’s mother was a daughter of Christian Hunsinger, who was a son of George Hunsinger, who settled in Cherry Township in 1819. Mr. Dohm’s grandmother was Susanna Sherman, a daughter of Jacob Sherman, who settled on the Turnpike, and later in Forks Township. Mr. Dohm and his brother Peter and his sister Elizabeth, occupy the homestead, which was formerly the Christian Hunsinger farm.

F.A. Touschner was born in Laporte Township in 1864. He was a son of F.A. Touschner, of Satterfield. He married Mary M. Saxer, of Cherry, who was born in Dushore in 1865. She was a daughter of George and Magdalena (Rohe) Saxer. Mr. Touschner owns a farm near Satterfield and is also a carpenter by trade. He served one term as school director of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Saxer four children have been born: Mary M., Emma E., Anna L. and Agnes.

Owen Donahoe was born at Troy, N.Y. He was a son of Martin Donahoe, a native of Ireland, who came to America in 1842. His mother was Mary Walsh; her father was a native of Ireland, and settled first at Honesdale and later in Cherry Township. In 1884, Mr. Donahoe married Sarah Moran, who was born in England. She was a daughter of Dominic Moran, a native of Ireland. Mr. Donahoe owns a farm near Satterfield. To Mr. and Mrs. Donahoe, ten children have been born: Patrick, Mary, John, Nora, Anna, Bridget, James, who died in 1897; Agnes, Owen and Rita.

Lloyd W. Kinsley was born in Cherry in 1872. He was a son of Charles Kinsley, deceased. His great-grandfather, Charles Kinsley, was a native of Germany and came to America about 1833 and settled at Dushore. Mr. Kinsley’s mother was Jennie Hall, of Lycoming County. Mr. Kinsley owns a farm in Colley Township. In 1900, he married Viola Henley, who was born in Cherry. She was a daughter of Green Henley, whose grandfather, Robert Henley, was one of the early settlers of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Kinsley, three children have been born: Jennie C., Ada M. and the baby not yet named.

George Yonkin was born in Cherry in 1848. He was a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Meyer) Yonkin. His grandfather, Henry Yonkin, Sr., was a native of Germany, and came to Cherry in 1823. Mr. Yonkin lives on the Jacob Yonkin homestead near Dushore. In 1892, Mr. Yonkin married Mary H. Thrasher, who was born in Wilmot, Bradford County. She was a daughter of Samuel Thrasher, and a granddaughter of Benjamin Thrasher, of Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin, five children have been born, Elsie R., Millie, Maurice, Norman G., and Ralph L.

Samuel Rinebold was born in Forks Township in 1858. He was a son of Adison Rinebold and a grandson of John Rinebold, one of the early settlers of Forks Township. Mr. Rinebold is a miner and lives at Satterfield. In 1881 he married Mary Jacoby, who was born in Laporte Township in 1857. She was a daughter of Peter Jacoby, who settled in Laporte Township at an early date. To Mr and Mrs. Rinebold three children have been born, Lynn, Lawrence, who died in infancy; and Hazel.

Cyrus Conner was born in Columbia County. He was a son of Emanuel Conner, of Columbia County. He is a mason and plasterer by trade, and owns two farms in East Cherry. He married Lucinda Thrasher. She was a daughter of Adam and Hannah (Dieffenbach) Thrasher, who lived on the farm now owned by Mr. Conner. To Mr. and Mrs. Conner, three children have been born. Marvin L.; Alvaretta H, married Theodore Kshinka, of Cherry; and Kimberly C.

M.L Conner was born in Cherry in 1873. He is a son of Cyrus and Lucinda (Thrasher) Conner. He is a mason and plasterer by trade, and lives on what was the Solon Heverly farm. In 1897 he married Maybel K. Lenhart, who was born in West Virginia in 1877. She was a daughter of John Lenhart. Her mother was Mary Gibbs, a daughter of William Gibbs, of Wilmot Township. The Lenharts formerly lived in Cherry Township, then in Laporte, and finally moved to West Virginia. To Mr. and Mrs. Conner, one daughter, Vida A., has been born.

Nelson H. Zaner was born in Cherry Township in 1859. He was a son of Adam and Fieta (Wentzell) Zaner, and a grandson of Lewis and Eve (Chrisher) Zaner, who were among the pioneers of Cherry Township. Mr. Zaner married Ida M. Smith, who was born in Cherry in 1866. She was a daughter of William and Mary C. (Yonkin) Smith. Mr. Smith came from Muncy and settled on the Kunes farm at an early date. Mr. Zaner purchased a part of the Zaner homestead, where he is engaged in farming. He also works in the mines in the winter. To Mr. and Mrs. Zaner, three sons have been born, Claude E., Harold A., and Ernest.

Lewis B. Zaner was born in Cherry in 1864. He was a son of Adam Zaner, of Dushore, and a grandson of Lewis Zaner, who was a native of Columbia County, and settled in Cherry Township in 1829. Mr. Zaner purchased a part of the Zaner homestead where he is engaged in farming. He is at present Secretary of the Cherry Township school board. In 1896 he married Minnie Benjamin, who was born in Dushore in 1867. She is a daughter of Edward and Salinda (Colley) Benjamin. Mrs. Benjamin died in 1841 at the age of thirty-three years. Mr. Benjamin was born at Michigan and came to Dushore with his parents when three years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. Zaner, one child, Miriam, has been born.

Wendell Sick was born in Cherry in 1849. He was a son of Charles Sick, who was born in Baden, Germany, in 1815, and came to America in 1836. He located in Cherry Township near Cherry Mills in 1839. Mr. Sick, like his father and grandfather, worked at shoemaking for a number of years. At present, he deals in agricultural machinery and conducts a small farm near Dushore, where he has a handsome residence. In 1873 he married Sarah McDonald, who was born in Cherry in 1851. She was a daughter of John and Mary (Gainer) McDonald, who came from the city of Dublin, Ireland. Mr. McDonald came to America in 1846 and his wife and five children in 1850. One of the children died on the way and was buried in Liverpool, England. Mr. McDonald was a tailor by trade and settled on a farm on the Laporte road in Cherry, where he engaged in farming and working at his trade, Mrs. Sick was formerly engaged in teaching school. To Mr. and Mrs. Sick, five children have been born, John C, of Mildred; Francis, of Mildred; Jennie, William and Leo.

Peter Jacoby was born in Laporte Township in 1852. He was a son of Peter Jacoby, who was a native of Bavaria, Germany, and came to Laporte Township in 1834. Mr. Jacoby was married twice; his first wife was Paullina Rinebold, a daughter of A.H. Rinebold, who settled in Cherry in 1864. She died in 1881. In 1885, he married Eliza Hunsinger, a daughter of Christian Hunsinger. Mr. Jacoby owns two farms near Satterfield, where he lives. He has served as school director and assistant assessor of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Jacoby, one son, Herman, has been born.
Editor's Note: According to Dick Hunsinger, Peter's first wife Pauline ("Paullina") died on 01/28/1925, which is inscribed on the stone that she shares with Peter at Peace Cemetery in Cherry, PA. Also, he disputes the claim that Peter's second wife was named Elizabeth. Instead, Elizabeth ("Eliza") was actually Peter's mother and her name is listed on the same stone with Peter's father, also named Peter Jacoby, at Peace Cemetery.

John C. Jacoby was born in Laporte Township in 1857. He was a son of Peter Jacoby, a native of Germany, who settled in Laporte Township in 1834. Mr. Jacoby was married twice, his first wife being Hanna Sayman, a daughter of Benjamin Sayman, of Forks Township. His second wife was Julia Shaffer, who was born in Cherry Township. Mr. Jacoby owns a farm at Satterfield. He is also a blacksmith by trade. He has served one term as school director of Cherry. To Mr. and Mrs. Jacoby, four children have been born, Vernie, Elsie, Charles and Clarence.

W.M. Bahr was born in Cherry Township in 1875. He is a son of William D. and Mary A. (Zaner) Bahr, of Cherry, and a grandson of Daniel and Mary (Graifly) Bahr, of Cherry. His great-grandparents, John and Mary (Reeser) Bahr, came from Berks County, settling on the farm now owned by William D. Bahr and Barney Hunsinger, in 1833. Mr. Bahr purchased a portion of the John Dieffenbach farm near Dushore, which he is engaged in tilling. In 1899, he married Emma Epler, who was born in Forks Township in 1877. She is a daugher of Daniel K. Epler, of Forks, who came from Berks County, Pa. To Mr. and Mrs. Bahr, two children have been born, William D. and S. Morris.

William F. Smith was born in Centre County in 1851. He was a son of Daniel and Hanna (Kunes) Smith, of Centre County. In 1873 he married Ella M. Bahl, who was born in Cherry in 1852. She was a daughter of Peter and Caroline (Litzelswope) Bahl. Her grandparents, John and Elena (Fishwenger) Bahl, came from Elsets (Note: Alsace), Germany, settling in Cherry about 1829. Mr. Smith was a carpenter by trade and also worked as a sawyer on sawmills. He died in 1897, and the widow moved to the Bahl homestead near Cherry Mills. To Mr. and Mrs. Smith, three children have been born, Arthur J., Raymond W., and Edith.

James F. O’Neil was born in Wilmot Township, Bradford County, in 1854. He was a son of Michael O’Neil, who was a native of County Wexford, Ireland, and came to America in 1841. Mr. O’Neil’s mother was Margaret Kelly, a native of New York State. Her father, Thomas Kelly, lived for some time on a farm near Dushore, now occupied by Mr. O’Neil. In 1893 Mr. O’Neil married Maggie Harrison, who was born in Forks Township in 1859. She was a daughter of John and Katharine (Jordan) Harrison, natives of Ireland, who settled in Forks at an early date. Mr. Harrison died in 1903. To Mr. and Mrs. O’Neil, five children have been born, Joseph, Margaret, Katharine, John and Nicholas.
In November 2003, we received this information from Mary Ann Obark (nee King): I am the great-granddaughter of James Francis O'Neil ("O'Neill"). The info you have on James O'Neil is incorrect in listing his father's name as Michael. His father was Nicholas O'Neil who came with his brothers, Martin & James, his sister Mary, and his parents (Nicholas and Mary) from Wexford, Ireland in 1841. I am James F. O'Neill's great granddaughter. His daughter Mary Margaret married Christopher Lynch and they had my mother, Patricia Lynch. James O'Neill left PA for Buffalo, NY after his wife, Maggie Harrison O'Neill, and their son Nicholas died in 1904.

Copyright © 2000 Robert E. Sweeney and Contributors. All Rights Reserved. Prior written permission is required from Robert E. Sweeney before this material can be printed or otherwise copied, displayed or distributed in any form. This is a FREE genealogy site sponsored through PAGenWeb and can be reached directly at ~Sullivan County Genealogy Project (http://www.rootsweb.com/~pasulliv)