Estella, Elkland Township
Sullivan County, PA
Main Street 1909
Photo courtesy of Scott W. Tilden
Original old postcard auctioned on eBay in December 2012
Postmarked from Bernice, PA in 1909
Elkland township was established in 1804, by a decree of the Court of Quarter Sessions of Lycoming county. The territory was taken from
township and originally comprised what is now Elkland, Hillsgrove and Fox townships; also a portion of Forks township. It bad been named Elkland by the early settlers because elk were found in that region. It is located in the western section of Sullivan county bordering on Shrewsbury Bradfordcounty on the North. On the East it is bounded by Forks township; on the South by Forks and Hillsgrove townships and on the West by Fox township.
The first township election was held at the residence of William Molyneux at Millview, about 1808 or 1809. The following is a list of the taxables in Elkland township at that time:
Jos. Hoagland, Jr.
Jos. Hoagland, Sr.
P. Mullen, Jr.
Edw. J. Eldred,
SURFACE AND DRAINAGE.
The surface is an elevated plateau, the regularity being broken by the numerous streams and valleys and also by the range of 'mountains’ known as the
Bear mountain. The surface is nearly all drained by Elk creek and its tributaries. The Big Loyalsock creek forms a portion of the southern boundary. Elk creek rises in the mountain range just north of Elkland, known as Burnett's Ridge, and flows south-west uniting with the Loyalsock in Hillsgrove township near the Elkland township line. Its tributaries in Elkland township are King's Creek and . Mill Creek, a branch of Lick Creek, in Forks township, drains the northeastern corner of the township. All of the waters of this township reach the West Branch of the Lake Run Susquehanna riverat Montoursville, through the Loyalsock Creek.
The soil is mostly red shale and is well adapted for grazing and stock raising. No mineral resources have ever been developed in paying quantities; a very small vein of coal has been opened on
The primeval forests have for many years furnished a vast amount of hemlock lumber and bark. Most of the lumber has found its way to the markets on the waters of the Loyalsock, either in the log or in the form of rafts. The bark was nearly all taken to the tannery at Hillsgrove.
PRODUCTS AND INDUSTRIES.
Agriculture and stock raising are the leading industries. Elkland township possesses a larger percentage of land that can be tilled than any other township in the county. The cereals, corn, wheat, oats and buckwheat, are grown in large quantities. Stock raising forms the most important industry. The farmers of this township have for years been paying special attention to raising the better grades of cattle and sheep, and the butter made has long been famous in the markets of the State.
Lumbering was for many years carried on extensively, but the supply of timber is nearly exhausted at present. From twenty to twenty-five years ago the farmers in the winter would haul bark to the tannery and lumber and logs to the creek to be floated down when the spring freshets came.
The first road built in Elkland township was known as the
Geneseeroad, which was opened about the year 1800. The road was built for emigrants from southern Pennsylvania, who located in the valley of the Genesee river in the state of . The road started at Muncy, then called Pennsburg, passing the houses of William Ellis on Wolf Run, and Abraham Webster, near Hunterville, over the Allegheny at Highland Lake and down Ogdonia creek to the Loyalsock, and up that stream to the mouth of Elk creek; thence up Elk creek to Lincoln Falls; thence over the ridge to King's Creek and along that stream near Eldredsville; thence north-east over Burnett's Ridge and down Millstone Run to Schrader's Branch; thence down that stream to Towanda creek, where it connected with other roads leading to the Tioga river. New York
A road was also built a little later leading from the settlement at Forksville to the Genesee road, and another road leading from the
Geneseeroad to the settlement in Fox township.
Joseph Priestly, who owned large quantities of land in Elkland made a special effort to induce English people, who were at that time coming to America in large numbers, to locate in Elkland, and as an inducement to the first twelve settlers, one hundred and fifty acres of land was given to each, free of cost, on the following conditions: First, that they would within one year build a substantial log house, and clear and improve ten acres within five years, only one family to locate on a tract of four hundred acres. They were to have the privilege of purchasing the balance of the land at two dollars and fifty cents per acre. Under these conditions the first improvements were made at some distance from each other. As soon as the
Geneseeroad was built a large number of English people located in Elkland township and others followed later on.
About 1850 and soon thereafter a number of Germans located in the township, selecting their farms principally in the northern section. The people of Elkland township are therefore principally of English and German descent.
The liberal inducements offered to the early settlers and the opportunities afforded by the Genesee road to communicate with other sections was the means of bringing more people to Elkland township within the first few years than any other section of the county.
The first settlement made in Elkland township was make by Joseph Reeves, at
, prior to 1800. Lincoln Falls
James Ecroyd, who had previously located in Hillsgrove township, built a grist-mill and saw-mill one mile north of Eldredsville on King's creek in 1800. He took a very active part in the welfare of the early settlers and with David Thomas, Jesse Haines, Ezra Haines and Joel McCarty, was active in building a Friend's meeting house on the lands now owned by M. C. Mercur, prior to 1805. The old road leading to the church has been vacated for some time. Timber has grown up around the site, and a stone pile from the fallen chimney still marks the location. A fine spring of water is found near the stone pile. Some of the descendants of Mr. Ecroyd now live at
Edward J. Eldred located in Elkland in 1800. He was a native of
England; he had studied law and had been admitted to the bar in . He afterward engaged in business as a tea merchant, in which he was not successful. In 1798 he came to London America, staying for some time in New Jerseyand at Later he went to Northumberland with letters of introduction to Joseph Priestley, Jr., who induced him to go to Elkland as his agent. Mr. Eldred moved into a log house belonging to William King and soon erected a house on lands he had purchased near Eldredsville, from Mr. Priestly. His residence was located on the Kingston, Pa. Geneseeroad and he entertained travelers. A memoranda made by Mr. Eldred under date of Nov. 16, 1801, gives the following: "Two hundred and eleven travelers, mostly horsemen, have passed by here since the first day of June last." Mr. Eldred later erected another log house joining the first and his tavern consisted of a double log house, where he entertained the travelers passing over the Geneseeroad to and from the West and the North branch of the Susquehanna rivers.
When the first death in Elkland occurred in 1802—the death of Phelix Powell—Mr. Eldred was called on to make an address. In 1808 Mr. Eldred was appointed justice of the peace and from his well kept docket, which is now in the possession of Ulysses Bird, of Estella, many interesting facts bearing on the early history of Elkland township, have been obtained. From these records in a period of 14 years, on the certificates of bounty given on wild animals, the following are noted among others: that John Yanus, Joseph Reeves, John Rogers and Samuel Bill, each killed a panther; that George Bird killed seventeen wolves, Joel McCarty six wolves, and William Molyneux, Aaron McCarty, John McCarty, Powell Bird and John Snell, each killed one wolf. The Eldred family later moved to Lycoming county.
William Snell came from
with his family and located on the lands later owned by Robert and James Hart. The date of his coming to Elkland is not known but he was among the early settlers. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Snell were: England
John, of Elkland.
, N. Y. Lockport
, N., Y. Lockport
, N. Y. Lockport
Elizabeth, married Jonathan Rogers, Sr., of Forksville.
John Snell married Miss Calflesh, of Philadelphia, and located on the farm now owned by Frank McCarty, later be moved to Hillsgrove township, at the mouth of Elk creek, on the farm now owned by Ezra Little. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Snell were:
Mary, married Owen Danley, of Lycoming county.
John, of Hillsgrove township.
Maria, married Edward Lippincott, of Hillsgrove township.
Thomas, of Elkland township.
Charles, of Hillsgrove township.
Joseph, of Hillsgrove township.
Rachel, married Ezra Little.
Thomas Snell was the only one of the third generation to locate in Elkland township. He married Catharine Bryan. Their children were:
Lucretia, married George Brown, of Elkland.
Rachel, married George Lilley, of Fox township. Sarah, dec'd, married Joseph Morgan, of Hillsgrove.
Francis Boyle and brother John, came from
during the Revolutionary war, when they were 18 and 20 years of age, respectively. They located at Shamokin where John remained and his descendants are numerous in Ireland , being frequently known by the name O'Boyle, and holding many prominent positions. Pennsylvania
Francis moved his family, consisting of his wife and two sons, John and Hugh, from Shamokin to Elkland township in an ox cart in 1803, locating on the Barnes farm. Mr. Boyle was married twice, his second wife being Nancy Wilcox. The children by the first wife were:
John, of Elkland.
Hugh, of Elkland.
Hannah, married John C. Little.
Martha, died when a young lady.
By the second wife:
Charles, of Elkland township.
Gideon S., of Overton, later of
Francis R., died at the age of 30 years.
Three children died in infancy.
John Boyle married Avis King, in 1830. She was a daughter of John King. Mr. Boyle located on the farm now owned by his son F. A. Boyle, at
To Mr. and Mrs. Boyle were born four children: Estella, Pa.
William W., dec'd, of Estella.
John C., died at the age of 17 years.
Malinda B., married F. B. Glidewell, of Forksville. F. A., who lives on the homestead.
Francis Bull, who was a carpenter, married a daughter of Robert Lambert and located on the Joseph Pardoe farm, now. owned by B. K. Luther, near Eldredsville. David Thomas located near
Elk Lakewhich was then called . Thomas Lake
Charles Mullen located in Elkland township on lands between Eldredsville and the Watson Wright farm. The name Mullan was originally McMullan or McMillan, and there is a pretty romance connected with the changing of the name to Mullan.
Anthony McMullan or McMillan was of Scotch Irish descent. He came to
at about 1750 or 1760. He was a sailor and afterward became the owner and captain of a vessel and was lost on his first voyage. At the time of his death he was the owner of extensive real estate in the central part of the city. The only son, Charles, became infatuated with a country girl and married her against the wish of his mother, who disinherited him in consequence of the marriage. New York City
Charles McMullan left the parental home, changed his name to Charles Mullen to retaliate, and followed his chosen vocation, blacksmithing. The widow McMullan transferred the title of her property to her own people for six shillings, to forever debar her son Charles from coming in possession of any portion of it. Repeated efforts have been made by the heirs of Charles Mullan to get possession of the property which is said to be worth several millions at present, but all efforts have failed.
At the breaking out of the Revolutionary war, Charles McMullan and his wife were living near
. Mr. Mullan was through [sic]the war and his son Charles was born while he was in the serspan>vice. After the war he moved to Boston , where the three youngest children were barn. From there he, moved to Shamokin, New York State Pa., where he remained until he came to what is now Sullivan county.
The date that Charles Mullan came to Elkland township cannot be given. One of his descendants, J. L. Hoagland, in writing the early history of the family, fixes the date at about 1796, It is very doubtful whether there was any one living within the present limits of Elkland township at that early date, He may however, have come two or three years later. It is said that when Charles Mullan moved to Elkland township, he came with an oxcart and two cows, in the fall of the year, and that the road across the Allegheny mountain was a mere path cut out through the woods, and that the hay to winter his stock was procured at the Warren farm in Forks township] also that later he went to Muncy to get his grain ground into flour, making the trip in four days. The
Geneseeroad was completed in 1800 and Ecroyd's grist mill was built in that year which would show that Mullan had located in Elkland a little earlier. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Mullan were:
Martha, :married Philip Kilmer, of Fox township.
Charles. Jr., of Elkland township.
Polly, married Robert Fleming, of
Susan, married Francis Boyle, of Elkland township. Hannah, married Joseph Hoagland, of Elkland township.
Charles Mullan, Jr., came to Elkland township with his father and located on his father's farm, which was later known as the
White farm, now owned by J. Lyman Snyder. Mr. Mullan married Elizabeth Hoagland. She was a daughter of Joseph Hoagland, one of the first settlers of Fox township. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Mullan were:
Hannah, married John Warburton, of Fox township. Charles, of
Joseph, deceased, of Elkland.
Martha, married Charles Dieffenbach, of Overton township,
William, dec'd, of Elkland township.
John, of Elkland. -
Joseph Mullan located near
on the Nelson McCarty farm. He married Harriet Bedford. Their children were: Lincoln Falls
Gazette, married A. McIlwain, dec'd, of Eldredsville.
Libbie, married John Frymire, of Elkland, later of Lycoming county;
Dora, married Peter Frye.
William Mullan married Mary Grange, He was sent by the Mullan heirs to
to look up the Anthony McMullan New York
property and it is supposed was poisoned. He came home sick and died soon after.
John Mullan was born in Elkland township in4820. He was a son of Charles Mullan, Jr. In 1844 he married Selena Woodhead, who was born in
in 1825. Mr. Mullen purchased a fine farm in Elkland and located thereon, until about two years ago, when he and his wife went to live with their son in-law, J. P. Brenchley, in Elkland, where they are at the present time. To Mr. and Mrs. Mullan have been born: England
Malinda A., married James P. Brenchley, of Elkland. Cecelia A., died Dec. 9, 1853.
Hannah L., married F. R. Warburton, of
. Ellen, married Lemuel Yaw, of Elkland. Iowa
J. Frank, of Elkland.
Harriet M., married Jasper Fawcett.
Selena J., died in 1863.
Dinah A., married Henry Fawcett, of Elkland:
Henry Melville, of Elkland.
Clara A., dec'd, married Charles Hottenstein, of
Charles 0., died April 2. 1888.
Martha Elisabeth, married Porter Higley, of Elkland.
Ada A., married Oscar N. Molyneux, of Millview.
Joseph Hoagland, Jr., was a son of Joseph Hoagland, who located in Fox township in 1903. His grand-father came from
, and his mother was of Scotch descent. Mr. Hoagland's father came to Lycoming county at an early date, where he lived until he moved to Fox. Joseph Hoagland, Jr., married Hannah Mullan and located on 200 acres of land near Holland , where James P. Brenchley now lives. The tract of land also took in the farms of Ellen Pardoe and Clemmie McCarty. None of the descendants of Mr. Hoagland are now living in Elkland township. Lincoln Falls
Joseph Woodhead was a native of
Englandand while in Englandmarried Anna Seeker, also a native of . In 1829 the family came to England America, locating in Elkland near the school house. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Woodhead were: Bethel
Anna, married Joel McCarty, of Elkland.
Mary, married Jacob Gilbert.
Vincent, of Elkland.
Selena, married John Mullan, of Elkland. Dinah, married Henry Huckell, or
. Ellen, married John Battin. Kansas
Joseph, of Elkland.
Vincent Woodhead was a son of Joseph Woodhead. He was born in
England, Oct. 19, 1M23, and came to with his parents in 182). He married Esther Ellen Molyneux, April 5, 1854. She was a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, of Forks township. Mr. Woodhead purchased 200 acres of land in Elkland township, now owned by his son, Geo. F Woodhead, where he located. To Mr. and Mrs. Woodhead were born: America
Cecelia, married Hudson Bahr, of
George F., of Elkland. Monroeton, Pa.
Fred J., of
. Ontario, Cal
Henry Irvin, of Forksville.
Charles E , of
Joseph Pardoe was a native of
Englandand came to America, locating at Later he purchased 200 acres of land in Elkland township, where he located, some time between 1808 and 1819. He married Sarah Roberts, and of this union eight children were born: Northumberland, Pa.
William. of Elkland township.
Joseph W., of Elkland township.
George, of Elkland township.
Richard, of Elkland township.
Thomas, of Elkland township.
William Pardoe, the oldest son of Joseph Pardoe, located on the McCarty Ridge. He married Jane McCarty, a daughter of Joel McCarty. She was born Feb. 16. 1809, and died April 12, 1869. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Pardoe were:
John, of Forksville.
Albert, of Elkland township.
Joseph, of Elkland township.
Mary E , married Frank R. Barnes, of Elkland township.
Joseph W. Pardoe, was a son of Joseph Pardoe. He was born Aug. 8, 1813, and died Sept. 25, 1890. Mr. Pardoe married Mary
Molyneux, a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, of Forks township, in 1840, and located near Eldredsville. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph W. Pardoe were:
George M., of
. Sioux City, Iowa
James H., of
Benjamin, died May 12, 1845.
Henry C., of Millview.
Rebecca S., married Henry Norton, of Elkland.
Lydia J., dec'd, married D. L. Miller, of Eldredsville.
Mary M., married Levi S. Squires, of
George Pardoe was a son of Joseph Pardoe, he located in the western section of Elkland township. Mr. Pardoe was married twice, his first wife was a daughter of Richard Green, and his second wife was Rebecca Galough, the widow of Dan Galough.
She was a daughter of Jacob Sherman, of Forks township. The children of George Pardoe were:
Harriet, married John Landon, of Elkland.
Emma, married Charles Everett.
Able, of Forks township.
Richard Pardoe was a son of Joseph Pardoe, and located in the western section of Elkland township. He married Sarah Brown, who died, and he married Mary Little for his second wife. Mr. Pardoe had one son
Wellington, by his first wife, who was drowned in the Loyalsock creek, at the in 1880. Cape Mill
Thomas Pardoe was a son of Joseph Pardoe. He was born in Elkland township, June 12, 1822, and on reaching his majority located on the farm now owned by E. B. Wright. Mr. Pardoe married Margaret Molyneux, June 11, 1846. She was a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux. Mrs. Pardoe died April 15, 1870, and Mr. Pardoe March 11, 1866. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Pardoe were:
David J., died Sept. 22, 1870.
Ellen E., dec'd, married R. Watson Wright.
Nelson, deed, of Elkland township.
Walter T., dec'd. went West.
Clayton Thomas, died April 13, 1857.
Martha E., died March 30, 1861.
John S., died March 23, 1897.
Charles M., of
Henry Toland was a native of
Dublin, Ireland, and married Ellen McCarty, also of . They came to Dublin in 1848, locating on the farm now occupied by Frank Bahl. Mr. Toland was engaged in carrying local mails for a number of years. To Mr. and Mrs. Toland were born: America
Mary, married Geo. W. Lambert, of Forks township. Lizzie, married Christopher Peale, of Eagles Mere. Catharine, married Frank Bahl, of Elkland township.
Joel McCarty—The McCarty family is probably descended from the ancient family of McCarthy. The name is modernized as McCarty, McCartney, etc. According to family tradition, Silas McCarty, the ancestor of the McCarty family in western Sullivan county, left
Scotlandwhen about 14 years of age and settled in for a few years. He afterwards emigrated to Ireland 200 years. America and settled in Bucks county, We have no date of his emigration, but on an old map of Bucks county, Pa. , dated March 11, 1724, Silas McCarty is represented as the owner of a tract of land in Plumstead township. From this it would appear that the family are of Scotch origin which can be traced back nearly Pa.
Joel McCarty, the first of that name to reside within the present limits of Sullivan county, was one of eighteen children of Thomas and Elizabeth (Lancaster) McCarty, who about 1790, moved from Northumberland county to a farm between Muncy and Clarkstown. Thomas McCarty is said to have had the first grist mill in Lycoming county. Joel McCarty married Ellen Roberts. They moved to Elkland township, Sullivan county, about the year 1800. They had eleven children, most of whom built homes for themselves in what was then a wilderness, and whose descendants now form a large portion of the inhabitants of Elkland township. They are as follows:
Aaron, of Elkland township.
Jesse, of Elkland township.
John, born Sept. 15, 1804, died Feb. 19, 1895.
Elizabeth, dec'd, married Joseph Kitely, of . Ontario, Canada
Jane, married Wm. Pardoe, of Elkland.
Silas, of Elkland.
Joel, of Elkland.
Joseph, born Aug. 14, 1816, died Jan. 20, 1896.
Mary, born Dec. 22, 1818, died June 9, 1808.
Sarah, died Jan. 14, 1892, married George Schill, of Fox township.
Thomas, of Elkland township.
John, Joseph and Mary, remained single and all lived and died on the farm now owned by Hampton Pardoe.
Aaron McCarty, the oldest child of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty. He was born Nov. 16, 1799, and died March 23, 1874. He
married Elizabeth Pardoe and located in Elkland township. They had nine children:
Sarah, born Dec. 3, 1828, died in May, 1855.
John P., of Elkland township.
Jesse R., of Elkland township.
Abel, of Elkland township.
Joseph C., of Elkland township.
Job, of Elkland township.
Ellen, born Jan. 14, 1842, unmarried, lives with her sister, Mrs. Theodore Heess.
, married Theodore C. Heess, of Elkland twp. Thomas W., of Elkland township. Elizabeth
Jesse McCarty was a son of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty. He was born in Elkland township, Feb. 7, 1802. He married Martha Hoagland and located in Elkland township. They had no children.
Silas McCarty was a son of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty. He was born Dec. 4i, 1811, and died Jan. 24, 1888. He married Sarah Annable and located in Elkland township. To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty were born:
Joshua R., dec'd, of Elkland township.
Elvira M., married Joel Molyneux, of Forks township.
Rachel, married twice, John Annable and Jesse Everett, of Eldredsville.
Roselinda, dec'd, married E. G. Rogers, of
. Francis H., of Elkland township. Lincoln Falls
Joel McCarty was a son of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty. He was born Oct. 3, 1814, in Elkland township, and died May 17, 1867. He married Ann Woodhead, a daughter of Joseph Woodhead, and located in Elkland township. To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty were born:
Harriet, married John S. Brown, of
. David, dec'd, of Forks township. Lincoln Falls
Mary, born Aug. 24, 1843, died April 11, 1864.
Lewis, of Forks township.
, born Nov: 1848, died Sept. 16, 1876. Chester
Sylvester, of Elkland.
Septer, of Millview.
Welles, of Elkland.
, of Estella. Fremont
Rosalinda, dec'd, married John W. Brown, of Elkland.
Thomas McCarty was born June 27, 1827, and died July 3, 1857. He married Chloe Wilcox, a daughter of John D. Wilcox, and located in Elkland township. Their children were:
0., of Elkland. Frederick
Lucetta J., married Joshua Cott, of
. Martha E., married Ernest Beebe. Lincoln Falls
John P. McCarty was a son of Aaron and Elizabeth (Pardoe) McCarty. He was born in Elkland, June 5, 1831, and died at
, June 12, 1885. In September, 1859, he married Sarah Molyneux, a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, and located on the farm now owned by his brother, Thos. W. McCarty. Later he moved to Hudson, Iowa . They had. no children. Hudson, Iowa
Jesse R. McCarty was born in Elkland township, March 8, 1833. He was a son of Aaron and Sarah (Pardoe) McCarty. Mr. McCarty located on the farm where he now lives. April 23, 1857, he married Ellen Corbin. She was a daughter of Chancy and Violet (Gaylor) Corbin. The Corbin's came from
Warrencounty to Wyalusing, Bradford county, and later to township. The children of Mr. and Mrs. McCarty were: Albany
Nellie E., married Walter Battin, of
Lloyd L., of Dushore.
Orrin H., of Eldredsville.
Ann S., married Ellsworth Jennings, of Estella. Minnie A., married Joseph D. Gilbert.
George P., of
. New Albany
0. Hepburn, of
ClintonP., of Eldredsville, Pa.
Abel McCarty was born Aug. 8, 1832, in Elkland township. He was a son of Aaron and Sarah (Pardoe) McCarty. He married Julia A. Black, a daughter of James and Margaret (
) Black, of Forksville, and located on a farm in Elkland township, near Bryan
To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty have been born: Hatt, Pa.
Katharine M., married C. Hampton Pardoe, of Elkland. Julia E., at home.
Joseph C. McCarty was a son of Aaron and Sarah (Pardoe) McCarty. He was born in Elkland township May 22, 1837, and died Oct. 26, 1878. He was married twice, his first wife was Adaline Rundell, who died Jan. 13, 1866; his second wife was Clementine
Little. She still lives on Mr. McCarty's farm near Eldredsville. The children of Mr. McCarty by his first wife were:
Ida M., died at
, May 25, 1885. M. Elizabeth, died Dec. 7, 1885. Hudson, Iowa
William H., of
Columbiacounty, By the second wife: Pa.
Clayton A., deceased.
, deceased. Ruie I.
Job McCarty was born in Elkland township, Jan. 14, 1842. He was a son of Aaron and Sarah (Pardoe) McCarty. Mr. McCarty purchased the McCarty homestead where he lives. Nov. 13, 1872, he married Georgia E. Molyneux, a daughter of James and Esther (Tomlinson) Molyneux. She was born Oct. 4, 1852, in Overton township,
Bradfordcounty. To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty have been born:
James I., died Nov. 25, 1873.
Carlton D., of Forksville.
Gordon L., born Sept. 5, 1877, died May 7, 1901. Nellie L.
Grace, born Dec. 18, 1892, died, Feb. 2, 1893. Helen R.
Esther, born May 1, 1897, died June 7, 1897.
William Kay was a native of
and while in his native land married Ann Bedford and came with his family to England America in 1849, locating on the farm now owned by Albert Kay. Mr. Kay was a miner and worked in the coal mines at Barclay, Brad&ord county, for some time. Mr. Kay died Dec. 26, 1878, aged 75 years. Mrs. Kay died Aug. 1, 1886. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Kay were:
Sarah Ann, deceased.
, deceased. Elizabeth
Harriet, married George C. Bird, of Estella. Mary Ann, dec'd, married Ellis Brown. Jane, deceased, married J. J. Webster.
Carrie, married George Glidewell, of Elkland township. Albert, of Elkland township.
Joseph Whiteley was born in
, Sept. 4, 1809, and on Dec. 28, 1828, be was married to Mary Hague, who was born at Huntersfield, England , March 31, 1809. Mr. and Mrs. Whitely came to Saddleworth, England Americain 1840, locating at . Philadelphia
In 1846 he came to Elkland township, purchasing 50 acres of land. Mr. Whitely was a weaver by trade, and in the winter months left his family in Elkland township and went to
to work at his trade and during the summer months would work on his farm. He added 50 acres more to his farm and still later another 10 acre tract. He accumulated considerable property and for a number of years lived a retired life at Forksville. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Whitely were: Philadelphia
Ann, dec'd, married John G. Wright, dec'd, of Forksville. John, of Elkland township.
William, a veteran of the Civil war, was killed by a falling tree, Feb. 16, 1876.
Hannah E., married W. C. Morrison, of Towanda Martha, married Daniel Bedford, of
Mary, married E. W. Snell, of Forksville.
John Warren was born at Millview, Sept. 25, 1801. He was a son of John and Mary (Ward) Warren, who came to
Americafrom , and in 1795 located at Millview, Forks township. John Warren, the subject of this sketch, purchased a farm near the Wesleyan Methodist church in Elkland township. He married Elizabeth Glidewell, Dec. 26, 1821. She was born Sept. 2, 1802. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Warren were: Liverpool, England
John, of Millview, born Mar. 25, 1825, died Aug. 5, 1875.
Mary, married twice; Wm. Reifsnyder and Sam'l Lose.
James, born Jan. 3, 1827, of South Branch, Bradford Co.
William, of Elkland, born June 23, 1829.
Sarah, born July 24, 1831, died unmarried.
H. Angeline, born Aug. 19, 1838, married Wm. Norton.
Lucy Jane, born Sept. 13, 1840, married Fred Luke, of Chicago
Henry C., died at the age of 6 years.
Henry Bedford was a native of
Englandand came with his family to some time after 1820, locating on the farm later owned by Thomas King. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bedford were: America
John, of Elkland.
Ann, married Wm. Kay, of Elkland. Richard, of Lycoming county.
Harriet. married Joseph Mullan. Jonas, of Elkland, later of
. James, of Minnesota Towanda, Pa.
Henry, of Elkland township.
John Bedford was born in
, and came to Elkland township with his father. Henry Bedford. He married Ellen Sadler England
and located on the farm now owned by Oscar W. Bedford. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bedford were:
Samuel, of Elkland.
Mary A., married Job J. Plotts, of
Estella, Pa.Henry, of . Michigan
Sarah J., married King Glidewell and later John Smith, of
Thomas, dec'd, of Elkland township.
Martha, married John Green, of
Zilpha. married Miles Anderson, of Lycoming county. Hillsgrove, Pa.
Jonas Bedford was born Nov. 2, 1820, in
England, and came to with his father, Henry Bedford. Mr. Bedford located on the farm now owned by T. S. Kilmer and lra J. Pardoe. He and his oldest son, Edward, enlisted in the Civil war. Mr. Bedford married Lydia Molyneux, May 25, 1843. She was a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, of Forks township. About 1870 the family moved West, a number of the children had gone a little earlier. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bedford were: America
. Redlands, Cal
. Hudson, Iowa
Edward D., of
Alfred D., of
. San Bernardino, Cal
Lyman N., of
. San Bernardino, Cal
Margaret A., married Asbury B. McChord, of Rushmore, Minn.
Wilson J., was drowned while skating on a lake in
, Dec. 5, 1874. Minnesota
Salathiel B., of
Ermina A., married Daniel S. Jordan, of
. San Bernardino, Cal
Rebecca E., married Ransom F. Merrick, of
. Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Henry Bedford married Martha Ann Vough, a daughter of John Vough, of Lycoming county, for his first wife and his second wife was Mary Hunsinger, a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Brobst) Hunsinger. of Forks township. Mr. Bedford purchased 200 acres of land in Elkland township near
, and cleared up a farm. The three oldest sons are in the ministry. Mr. Bedford died Feb. 11, 1900, and the first wife, Dec. 15, 1858. The children by the first wife were: Millview, Pa.
Sylvester, of Houghton, N. Y.
J. Nelson, of Houghton, N. Y.
Oliver C., of
L. S., of Elkland township.
By the second wife:
U. Grant, of Elkland township.
Clara, married Frank Black, of
John King, Sr., was born in
, Feb. 29, 1750. In 1775 he was married to Hannah Bishop, of Staffordshire, England . Mr. and Mrs. King came with their family to Elkland township in 1801, locating on the farm now owned by George W. Glidewell. Their children were: Birmingham, England
John, of Elkland township.
Sally, married George Bird, of Forks township.
William, of Elkland township.
John King, Jr., was born near
London, England, in 1777 and came to with his parents in 1800. He married Alice Crosby in 1805, who was also a native of America . John King located first at Northumberland and in 1819 moved with his wife and seven children to Elkland township, locating on the farm now owned by Philander Kinney, where he remained until his death which occurred in 1861. The children of Mr. and Mrs. King were: England
, married Hugh Boyle, of Elkland township. Elizabeth
Avis, married John Boyle, of Elkland township.
Mary, married George Rogers.
John C., a physician of Mill Hall, Clinton Co., Pa.
Thomas, of Elkland township.
William, of LaPorte township.
Dinah, married Ephraim Annable.
Job L., of Elkland township.
William King, Sr., who came with his father :from
, located with his father on the Glidewell farm in 1800. He remained single until two years after the death of his mother, which occurred in 1832, when he married Polly Crandall, and lived with her until the time of his death which occurred in 1852. Mr. and Mrs. Wm. King had no children. England
Thomas King was born in Elkland township, July 4, 1813. He was a son of John Jr. and Alice (
Crosby) King. Mr. King married Mary Bown, a daughter of William and Harriet (Huckell) Bown, of Elkland township. Mr. King located on the farm near Estella, now owned by Fred Shaffer. Mr. King was a man of more than ordinary intelligence. His first wife died in 1870, and three years later he married Mrs. C. S. McIntire, who survives him. Mr. King died Sept. 30, 1895. His children were:
Charles S., died in the Civil war.
Chester B., died in the Civil war.
Harriet and Henrietta, twins.
Jennie, married Cassius Tompkins, of Fox township.
Job L. King, was born in Elkland township. He was a son of John, Jr. and Alice (
Crosby) King, and located on his father's farm. He was county surveyor for many years. He married Jane Converse, a daughter of Joseph Converse, who located at Elk Lick, Davidson township, in 1828. The children of Mr. and Mrs. King were:
Alice R., deceased.
Susie Kate, married Albert Kay, of Elkland township. Sadie, married H. W. Osler, of
John Bown was a native of
England, and came to , locating in Elkland township at an early date. His wife died in America . He had one son: England
William, of Elkland township.
William Bown married Harriet Huckell, a daughter of Thomas and Sarah Ann (Lambert) Huckell, one of the pioneer families of Forksville. He was a miller by trade and located first at
Wilkes-Barre, later at the in Hillsgrove township and at Millview. He finally located in Elkland on the farm now owned by G. Eugene Bown. Their children were: Cape Mill
Sarah, married Richard Pardoe, of Elkland township.
Mary, married Thomas King, of Elkland township.
Charles L., a minister of the gospel.
John H., of Elkland township.
John H. Bown was a son of William and Harriet (Huckell) Bown. He married Mary E. Wilcox, a daughter of Isaac Wilcox, of the
branch of the Wilcox family. The children of Mr. and Mrs. John H. Bown were: Canton
G. Eugene, of Elkland township.
Mertie L., married Allen Brown, deceased.
Henry Fawcett was born at
, June 11, 1789. He married Sarah Grange, who was born in Liverpool, England , Oct. 15, England
1787. They came to
, locating on the John Kline farm, now owned by Chas. W. Fawcett, about 1817. Mr. Fawcett died Jan. 24, 1867, and Mrs. Fawcett in Dec. 1875. Their children were: America
, married Jonathan Lewis, of Hillsgrove. Joseph, of Elkland township. Elizabeth
John, of Elkland township.
William, of Elkland township.
Benjamin. of Forksville.
Joseph Fawcett was born Oct. 7, 1814. He married Lydia Bird, a daughter of George and Sally (King) Bird, of Forks township, and located on the farm now owned by his heirs. Joseph Faw>cett died May 10, 1888, and Mrs. Fawcett on May 19, 1899. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Fawcett were:
Roxey, married F. B. Sanders, of Tioga Co. Jasper, of Elkland township.
Silas, died in 1857.
Watson, of Forks township.
Charles W., of Elkland township.
A. L., of
. New Albany
William Hart married Linda Fawcett, and located on the farm now owned by his son William. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hart were:
William, of Elkland township.
Dora A., married J. A. King, of
, killed accidentally in 1887. Clara B., died July 4, 1881. Michigan
John W., of Elkland township.
Jennie F., married Samuel Darby, of
Frank, died in infancy.
Charles Norton was a native of
Englandand came to and located in Elkland township on the farm now owned by the heirs of John Norton. He married Margaret Clark, also a native of America . Their children were: England
Sarah, married John L. Jennings, of
Bradfordcounty. John, deceased.
William H., died in the Civil war.
Hannah, dec'd, married David Molyneux, of Forks twp. Alvira, dec'd, married Wallace Snell.
Mary, dec'd, married William Snell.
Frank W., of
George Norton was a native of
Englandand came to , locating in Elkland township at an early date, on the farm later owned by John W, Norton. He married Tencie Fawcett. Their children were: America
. New Albany
Francy, married Lloyd Welliver, of Lycoming county. Mary Jane, married George Riley, of Overton.
Ellen, married Albert Pardoe, of Elkland.
Lincoln, of . New Albany
Jonathan Rogers was born at Muncy, Lycoming county, Feb. 10, 1821. He was a son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Snell) Rogers. Mr. Rogers' father was a native of
, and came to Forksville with his father, Samuel Rogers, in 1800. Jonathan Rogers, Sr. was engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods with his brothers at Forksville, until the big flood of 1816, which destroyed the woolen factory. He then went to Muncy and engaged in business with his brother Samuel, in conducting a sawmill and grist-mill until 1826, when he came back to Forksville and built the Osler Woolen mills. He died in 1830 and the property passed to other bands. England
Jonathan Rogers, the subject of this sketch, lived at home until ten years of age, when he went to live with relatives until he was able to care for himself; he learned the millwright trade. On reaching his majority he located at Hillsgrove for a short time and in 1848 moved to
with his wife and one child. At the falls Mr. Rogers purchased a large tract of land, cleared up a farm and engaged in the lumbering business. He took a very active part in public improvements, and in religious and educational matters. Mr. Rogers married Elizabeth Huckell, who was born at Lincoln Falls She was a daughter of Benjamin and Margaret (Plotts) Huckell. Her grand-father, Joseph Huckell, was a native of Hillsgrove, Pa. and married an English lady, a Miss Danley, and located at Hillsgrove at an early date, beingone of the first settlers of Hillsgrove township. Jonathan Rogers died Feb. 12, 1896. Mrs. Rogers is still living. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers were born fourteen children: England
W., married N. K. Woodward, dec'd, of Dushore. Marion
Edward G., of
. Lincoln Falls
Sarah, at home.
Anna M., married Nelson C. Pardoe, dec'd, of
. Lincoln Falls
C. S., of
. Lincoln Falls
Louzina, married Frank McCarty, of Elkland twp.
John P., of Estella, Elkland twp.
Benjamin F., who died at the age of 3 years.
Serena D., at home.
Harriet C., married Orrin McCarty, of Elkland.
L., a school teacher.
Ella M., married Silas McCarty, of Elkland.
Elizabeth M., married Albert F. Heess, of Dushore.
. Lincoln Falls
Robinson Barnes was born at
, Dec. 4, 1808. His father was killed when young Barnes was six years of age and Robinson was bound out until 21 years of age to learn the cabinet maker's trade. The Barnes' are of English descent and are the descendants of Phineas Barnes. whose three sons settled in Blanford, Mass. about 1630. Later they moved to Stockbridge, Mass. Of their lineage two men, Benjamin and Jeremiah, were soldiers in the Revolutionary War, Benjamin being a captain, and at the close of the war they located at Blanford, about 20 miles east of Stockbridge. Jeremiah had a son Jeremiah, who was born Sept. 22, 1783. He married Betsy Robinson, who was a native of Connecticut . They had four sons: John Nelson, Robinson, Jeremiah Curtis, and Chancy Wetmore. Robinson Barnes and other relatives of the family moved to Connecticut Bradfordcounty. Robinson locating at Orville in 1830, where he engaged in manufacturing hand rakes until 1855, when he located on the farm now owned by Miles 0. Barnes. Mr. Barnes was married twice, his first wife being Orill S. West, who was born in Bradfordcounty, Jan. 11. 1808. The second wife was Amanda Dikeman, of Candor, . She was born in Caroline township, Tomkins county, N. Y.. Aug. 1822. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Robinson Barnes by his first wife were: New York
Emma, who died in infancy.
By the second wife:
Frank R., of Elkland township.
Miles 0., of Elkland township.
Jay C., of Elkland township.
John Grange was born in
Englandabout 1779, and was married in 1812, to Jane Midgley, who was born in in 1790. After the birth of the three oldest children, the family came from England Yorkshire, England, to America, landing at , May 21, 1818, and locating in Elkland township the same year. They lived with the Fawcett's at first and soon after purchased the farm west of Eldredsville, which is still owned by members of the family. Mr. Grange died Jan. 6, 1859, and Mrs. Grange, Oct. 17, 1R82. To Mr. and Mrs. Grange were born: Philadelphia
Joseph, of Eldredsville.
Dinah, born Mar. 30, 1815, married Sylvanus Hunter, of
, Sept. 29, 1836, died Mar. 25, 1856. New York
Faith, born Feb. 3, 1817, married Benjamin Little, of Forksville.
Mary, born May 21, 1819, married William Mullen, of Elkland.
Sarah, born May 14, 1821, lives on the homestead.
John W., of Eldredsville.
Ann E., born Feb. 28, 1825, lives in
Jane, born Sept. 27, 1826, married Robert Hunter, of
Hannah M., born Aug. 29, 1829, lives on homestead.
Joseph Grange was born in
England, Nov. 15, 1813, and came with his parents to in 1818. He married Eunice Hibbard, and had two sons. He was in the mercantile business at Eldredsville for a number of years, and finally moved to Fribly,Lycoming county, where he died Sept. 29, 1894. America
John W. Grange was born in Elkland township, July 24, 1823. He was a son of John Grange, Jr. and Jane (Midgley) Grange. He purchased the farm near Eldredsville, recently owned by Lyle Grange. Oct. 30, 1851, he married Eliza Vough, who lives with her sons, in
. Mr. Grange died in Elkland township, Aug. 13, 1896. To Mr. and Mrs. Grange were born: Illinois
Della, married Thomas McCarty, of Eldredsville.
Hinton, went West in 1903.
Lyle, of Forksville.
Ernest, went West.
George C. Bird was born at Millview, Forks township, Feb. 15, 1829. He was a son of George and Sally (King) Bird. George Bird was born at
. England, and came to America with his parents, Powell and Lydia (Hannant) Bird, in 1793, locating at Northumberland, Pa., and in 1895 moved to Millview, being one of the three first permanent settlers in Sullivan county, George C. Bird purchased a tract of timber land near Estella, Elkland ( township, and cleared up a farm. Mr. Bird married Harriet Kay. Feb. 8, 1856. She was a daughter of William and Ann ( Norfolk Bedford) Kay, who came to with their family in 1849. To Mr. and Mrs. Bird have been born: America
Ulysses, of Estella, Elkland township.
, married W. E. Miller. of Forksville. Alma
Mary, married George Birdsall, of Estella, Elkland twp.
Jennie, married John W. Rogers, of Estella.
Nellie, married Charles Clark.
Dora, married Rush Plotts, of Estella.
Nathan A. Little was born in Monmouth county, N J., Feb. 20, 1804. He was a son of Tobias Little, who was one of the six sons of Theophilus Little, who came from Monmouth county, N. J., to Eagles Mere, about 1804. The Littles are of Scotch Irish descent and came from
Englandto about 1700. They took an active part in the Revolutionary war, two of the family being commissioned officers. Mr. Little located first at Eagles Mere and in 1838 moved to Elkland township, near Estella, where he purchased a large tract of land. Mr. Little died in 1880; his children were: New Jersey
, married Daniel Van Fleet, of Forksville. Lydia
Ellen, located on the homestead.
Anthony H., of
Mary, married Richard Pardoe, of Elkland.
Clementine S., married Joseph C. McCarty, of Elkland.
Hester Ann, died Sept. 29, 1859
. married Joseph W. Borton, of Elizabeth . Iowa
Daniel Little was born May 25, 1827, at Forksville. He was a son of Theophilus and Elizabeth (Holmes) Little, Jr., who came from Monmouth county, N. J., to Eagles Mere, about 1804. Theophilus Little, Jr., locating near Forksville a little later. Daniel Little married Anna Kalis, who was born at Oxfordshire, Eng land. Mr. and Mrs. Little located on a farm on
Bear Mountain, Elkland township. Their children were:
Clementine. dec'd, married Ernest Vough, of Forks twp.
David, of Elkland township.
Mariah, married Geo. Woodhead, of Elkland twp.
Grant. of Elkland township.
Benjamin, of Elkland township.
Ella, married A. L. Plotts, of Estella, Elkland twp.
Dora, married David Boyle, of Elkland.
Emma, married George Brown, of Elkland.
Mahlon C. Mercur was born at Towanda, Feb. 6, 1816. He was a son of Henry and Mary (
Watts) Mercur. The Mercurs are of German descent. Henry's parents came from Germanyand located in Lancastercounty, from where Henry came to Bradfordcounty in 1809-10. Mahlon C. Mercur, during the greater portion of his life has been a citizen of His business interests in Sullivan county have been very great and be has been one of the most prominent men who have been instrumental in establishing business interests and shaping the future destiny of the county. Towanda, Pa.
The early part of Mr. Mercur's life was spent as a business man of Towanda, where he engaged in dealing in real estate, lumbering and in the mercantile business. After the North Branch canal was sold by the State to an inactive company, Mr. Mercur, in connection with some of his personal friends, purchased a majority of the stock and as secretary and general superintendent of the new company, took charge of the affairs of the company. About 1850 Mr. Mercur commenced purchasing large tracts of timber lands in Sullivan county. On the discovery of coal at Bernice, Mr. Mercur, in company with Col. Welles, George D. Jackson and Michael Meylert, organized a company to develop the Bernice coal fields. An unfortunate contract was made for the building of a railroad from Bernice to Towanda, which was finally thrown back on the hands of the company, who were compelled to finish it themselves. The greater portion of the money to finish the road was borrowed from Mr. Mercur or obtained on his endorsement, which eventually cost him property to the amount of $1,050,000. For the last 25 years Mr. Mercur has spent much of his time on his farm near Eldredsville, Elkland township. During the past few years he has been spending his winters at Towanda and the summers on his farm. This summers on account of his feeble health and declining years, he has remained at Towanda. Mr. Mercur was married twice, his first wife being Helen, a daughter of Col. Joseph Kingsbury. She died in 1841. In 1853 Mr. Mercur married Anna H. Jewett. Mr. Mercur's children by his first wife were:
Mahlon M., who after serving in the Civil War, died in
By the second wife:
Helen, married Rev. Geo. H. Rosenmuller, of
. Niagara Falls
William H., of
Hiram T., of the South.
Edward Miller came from
Theuringen, Germany, to about 1850, and purchased a large tract of timber land in Elkland township around America . He enlisted in the Civil War and was promoted to the rank of Captain, and was commonly known after the war as Captain Miller. About 1880-90, he was engaged in lumbering in Elkland, which did not prove to be a successful venture and he sold out and went to Long Island, where he died in 1904. He married a German lady of Elk Lake , who survives. They had no children. New York
Fred Kobbe came from
Hanover, Germany, to in 1835, locating in Elkland township. Mr. Kobbe purchased a tract of timber land now owned by G. F. Hugo. In 1890 he married Mrs. Fred Knupper, who was also a native of America . Mr. Kobbe was a veteran of the Civil War. Germany
Henry Kobbe came from
Hanover, Germany, to , locating near Eldredsville, Elkland township, in 1863. He married Lenea Kopeman, while in America . Mr. Kobbe died in 1897 and Mrs. Kobbe in 1899. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Kobbe were: Germany
Christopher, of Elkland.
George Schill came from
Theuringen, Germany, to , in ]852, and in 1855 he came to Elkland township. Mr. Schill was a carpenter by trade. He married Sarah McCarty, Jan. 29, 1862. She was born in Elkland township Jan. 4, 1822, and was a daughter of Joel and Elizabeth (Roberts) McCarty. She died Jan. 14, 1892. Mr. Schill married for his second wife the widow of Robert Hart, of Elkland township. She was a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Bird) Norton, of Forks township. Mr. Schill located on a farm near Piatt and later on the Hart farm in Elkland township. He died in 1903. Mrs. Schill is still living. Mr. Schill had one daughter by his first wife: America
Christina, married John Cook, of
The early settlers of Elkland township were devout Christians and took steps to provide places for religious worship at a very early date.
The first church erected in Elkland was a Friends' meeting house built of logs, on the lands now owned by M. C. Mercur. The building was in use prior to 1805. David Thomas, James Ecroyd, Jesse Haines, Ezra Haines and Joel McCarty were active in securing, a house of worship. The Friends or Quakers were numerous in Elkland township and at a later date established a meeting house near Platt.
The Methodist Episcopal church had in 1798 already sent its ministers in the
and when the first settlers arrived in Elkland township in 1800, the M. E. church was on hand to look after the spiritual welfare of its members. In 1843 the work of the church was thoroughly organized. A parsonage was established at Forksville and several preaching appointments established in Elkland township. Loyalsock Valley
In 1825 Charles Mullan erected at his own expense a house at Eldredsville, which was used for many years for religious and educational gatherings.
The Wesleyan Methodist church has several preaching appointments in Elkland township. A church has been built in the north-eastern section and also one at
. Services are also held at some of the school houses of the township. Elkland township furnishes the greater portion of the members of the charge which is known as the Millview charge, the parsonage being located at Millview, in Forks township. The pastor in charge is Rev. James H. Bowen. Lincoln Falls
The Reformed church established an organization in the northern section of the township among the Germans, about 1870, and now has a flourishing congregation and has erected a church.
The first effort made by the people of Elkland township to establish a school of which there is any record, was in 1816, when Mrs. Sarah Huckell conveyed half an acre of land, where the Forksville school house now stands, to Samuel Rogers, Powell Bird and William King, trustees of the Loyalsock school. A building. was erected and a school opened in December of that year, where the early settlers of Elkland township sent their children to school, several miles from their homes.
The next step of which there is any record was in 1825, when Charles Mullen built the house at Eldredsville for educational and religious gatherings. The first school in the Mullan building was taught by a Miss Zilpha Mason. The next winter James Green, an Englishman, taught, and later Nehemiah Ross, and a Mr. Woodruff, of Monroeton.
Estella is the largest town in Elkland township, and although the town is only about fifteen years old, there are three stores, two blacksmith shops, a church, a graded school and a number of residences. D. F. McCarty, Ellsworth Jennings and Charles Plotts, are engaged in the mercantile business. C. J. Fulmer and Homer Benninger each conduct a blacksmith shop. A. L. Mulnix has a planing mill in operation. Ellsworth Jennings is the postmaster.
Eldredsville was named in honor of Edward J. Eldred, who located in Eldredsville in 1800. The town has never contained more than two stores, post office, blacksmith shop, township building and a few private houses. Repeated changes have been made in the proprietors of the stores, among those who were in business for some length of time, were Joseph Grange and G. A. McIlwain. At present J. Lyman Snyder and H. Norton & Son,are conducting the two stores. Norton's also have the post office.
Lincoln Fallswas named in honor of Abraham Lincoln, President of the during the war. On King's Creek. where it unites with Elk Creek, is a beautiful water fall. The place was known as "The Falls" at an early date, and when the post office was established during the Civil war, the place was named United States . Besides a few dwelling houses, there are the two saw mills of Lincoln Falls ' Brothers and A. T. Mulnix, and the general store of Augustus Hartung, who is also postmaster. The Wesleyan Methodists have a new church at this place. Rogers
The following is a list of the soldiers who served in the Civil War from Elkland township: Jonas Bedford, Wm. Bedford, Edmund Bedford, Henry Bedford, George F. Bedford, Wm. K Bedford, George Bedford, Joseph Bedford, Chas M. Boyles, Chas. Webster, James H. Pardoe, Chas. Grange, Wm. Boyles, Joseph Black, Henry Grange, Geo. W. Glidewell, John T. Caless, Geo. N. Pardoe, Wm. Norton, Nicholas Snyder, Chas. Merritt, Samuel Gilbert, George Webster, Wm. Whiteley, Vinson McCarty, Daniel Vargason, Albert Hess. Ferdinand Hess, Thomas Merritt, Chas. King, Chester King, Henry Jefferson, Edward Boyles, Wm. Huckell, Henry Mulnix, Ellis Mulnix, John C. Warburton, Geo. W. Warburton, William Warren, John Merritt.
D. F. MCCARTY
Was born in Elkland township, April 20, 1857. He was a son of Joel R. and Ann (Woodhead) McCarty, and a grand-son of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty, who located in Elkland township in 1800. The McCarty's are supposed to be the descendants of one McCarty who left
when 14 years of age and settled in Scotland Irelandfor a few years, and afterward emigrated to America, locating in Bucks county, , where we find a record of them as early as 1724. The Woodheads came from Pa. in 1829, locating in Elkland township. D. F. McCarty entered business at England in 1883, purchasing at first an interest and later the whole of the saw-mill now owned by A. T. Mulnix. In 1893 he went into the mercantile business at Lincoln Falls . In 1899 he moved to Forksville and bought the general store of A. L. Smith. In 1901 he moved to Estella, where he is now conducting a general mercantile business. Mr. McCarty married Jennie Osler, in March, 1887. She was a daughter of J. M. and Julia (Brown) Osler, of Elkland township. After the death of his first wife Mr. McCarty married Bessie Lee, July 3, 1893. She was born in New Albany township and was the daughter of Uriah Lee. The Lees came originally from Albany . Mr. McCarty has four children by his second wife: Clara S., Emery G., Gladys Maude and Roscoe. Connecticut
Was born in Elkland township, Oct. 3, 1856. He is a son of George C. and Harriet (Kay) Bird. He is a grand son of George Bird and a great-grand-son of Powell Bird, who emigrated from
Englandto , in 1793, and located at Millview in 1795. His grand-parents on the maternal side were William and Ann ( Northumberland, Pa. Bedford) Kay, who came to Elkland township from their native land, , in 1849. Mr. Bird on reaching his majority taught school and took up surveying and civil engineering, which he follows in connection with his farming. He purchased a portion of his father's farm. He has been school director and justice of the peace, of Elkland township, and is at present secretary of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society, and president of the Sullivan County Telephone Company. Mr. Bird married Emma Cadden in April, 1885. She was born in England in 1865. To Mr. and Mrs. Bird five children have been born: Carl, LaRue, Victor, Vernie and Mira. England
Was born at Forksville, Sept. 22, 1831. He is a son of Moses and Jane (Sadler)
Rogers, and a grand-son of Samuel Rogers, who was born in Barmley, near Leeds, England, in 1760, and came to in 1801, locating at Forksville. The history of the America family has been traced back to 1031. They are probably Norman French, who went to Rogers with William the Conqueror and settled there. An Englishman, John Rogers, first translated the Bible into the English language. S. S. Rogers, on reaching his majority, learned the carpenter's trade and located at Forksville, working at his trade in the winter. Later he purchased 200 acres of timber land in Elkland township near Millview and commenced to clear up a farm; about 1880 he moved to Elkland township on his farm. In 1896 he was elected county commissioner, serving one term. Mr. Rogers was married twice, his first wife was Sarah B. Plotts, who was born Sept. 30, 1833. After the death of his first wife, he married Eliza C. Green, who was born at Hillsgrove, Jan. 1845. She was a daughter of Richard and Mary Ann (Ives) Green. The Greens came from England , locating at Hillsgrove at an early date. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have been born twelve children: Francina, married Wm. Parker, of New Jersey ; Flora. died Jan. 8, 1858; Dora, dec'd, married Howard Corson, of Hughesville; John C. F., of Athens, Pa.; Catharine J., married H. N. Osler, of Dushore, Pa.; Sarah J., married Wm. Collins, of Canton, Pa.; Alvaretta and Maggie, who died in infancy; Rush G., at home; Hattie, married B. Frazier, of Millview; Mollie A., and Sidney, at home. Hughesville, Pa.
Was born at Hessen,
, Jan. 3, 1843. While in Darmstadt, Germany he married Barbara Bentel, in 1846. She was also a native of Hessen Darmstadt, where she was born May 29, 1845. Mr. and Mrs. Baumunk came to Germany in 1866, locating in Elkland township, on the farm where they now live. Mr. Baumunk has held the offices of school director, township commissioner, and in 1899 was elected county commissioner, serving three years. To Mr. and Mrs. Baumunk have been born: Christina, married Henry Hugo, dec'd, of Elkland; Carrie, married F. C. Beinlich, of Elkland; Anna, married Arden Day, of Elkland; George, died at the age of 24 years; Elizabeth, married Charles Kilmer; Philip, of Elkland; Charles, of Elkland; Arthur, died at the age of 5 years; Frances, married Harry Day, of Elkland; Walter, Robert, Mira and Curtis, all at home. America
GEORGE C. BIRDSALL
Was born at Port Jefferson, N. Y., Oct. 22, 1855. He was a son of Charles 0. and Elizabeth (White) Birdsall. The Birdsalls originally came from
France, from where they emigrated to England, and later to America, locating in , in its early history. Three of seven brothers fought in the Revolutionary War. Benjamin Birdsall was a prominent member of the New York Legislature for many years. Mr. Birdsall's grandfather, Aaron Birdsall, married a Miss Betts, and lived at Cold Spring, on the Hudson, where Charles 0. was born. The Whites lived on the New York City , they were of English descent. George C. Birdsall purchased a portion of the Nathan Little farm near Estella, where he is engaged in farming. He married Mary Bird, Jan. 2, 1880. She was a daughter of George C. and Harriet (Kay) Bird, of Estella. To Mr. and Mrs. Birdsall have been born: Nellie E., married Lewis Rosbach, of Estella; Powell C., Mollie, Ethel M., George L., died April 13, 1898; Laura M. Hudson
Was born in Lycoming county, Oct. 13, 1840. He was a on of George and Catharine (Bull) Plotts, of Lycoming county, and a grand-son of John Plotts, who came from
to Lycoming county at an early date. Wheeler Plotts was a soldier inthe Civil War and at the close of the war located at Bear Creek, Lycoming county. He was a sawyer and was engaged on the saw-mills on the Loyalsock Creek; about 1878 he purchased a farm in Elkland township and moved to that place. Mr. Plotts married Annetta McBride, Oct. 13, 1864, she was born at Hillsgrove. She was a daughter of Samuel R. and Mary (Probst) McBride, who were early settlers of Hillsgrove township. To Mr. and Mrs. Plotts have been born seven children: Rush B., of Estella; Lyman, died at the age of two years; Viola M., married C. B. Jennings, of Estella, Pa.; Richard, died at the age of 5 years; Clyde, of Norristown, Pa.; Charles, of Estella; Harry S., at home. New Jersey
JOHN G. PLOTTS
Was born in Lycoming county, Oct. 20, 1834. He was a son of George and Catharine (Bull) Plotts, of Lycoming county. Mr. Plotts is a carpenter and builder by trade and located first at Hillsgrove. In 1876 he purchased a portion of the John Brown farm at Estella and moved there. Mr. Plotts married Mary A. Bedford, Dec. 24, 1847. She was a daughter of John and Ellen (Sadler) Bedford, of Elkland township. John Bedford came from
with his father, Henry Bedford, at an early date. To Mr. and Mrs. Plotts have been born four children: Orthalia, married George Betz, of England ; Walter E., of Washing. ton D. C.; Jennie married E. I. Sturdevant, of Williamsport Pittsburg, Pa.; Theodosia, of . Williamsport
A. L. PLOTTS
Was born at Hillsgrove, Jan. 5, 1856. He was a son of George and Mercy (Hoffman) Plotts, of Lycoming county, and a grandson of John Plotts, who came from
, N. J., to Lycoming county. The Plotts' are German descent. Mr. Plotts is a carpenter and builder by trade. He purchased the Nathan Little homestead in Elkland township near Estella. where he lives. Mr. Plotts married Ella Little in 1881. She was a daughter of Daniel and Anna (Kalis) Little, of Elkland township, and a descendant of Theophilus Little, who located at Eagles Mere about 1804. The Kalis family came from Trenton . To Mr. and Mrs. Plotts have been born four children: Howard W., Ralph, who died May 6, 1886; Olive C. and Foster. Oxfordshire, England
J. W. MULNIX
Was born in
county, N. Y., Jan. 2, 1851. He was a son of Avery and Almira (Tompkins) Mulnix. His grand-father, Thomas Mulnix, came from Ulster . Mr. Mulnix is a mason and plasterer by trade. When a young man he was located in England Kansas, from where he came to in 1895, locating on a portion of the John Brown property near Estella, which he purchased. While in Kansas Mr. Mulnix married Hester A. Camp, who was born in Overton township, and went to Pennsylvania when a child, with her parents, Reuben and Rosina (Heverly) Camp. She was a grand-daughter of Jonathan Camp, who located in the western part of Overton township and later went to Kansas . Mrs. Mulnix's mother was a daughter of Henry and Rosina (Kilmer) Heverly, of Forks township. The Heverly's were the pioneers of Overton township, Kansas Bradfordcounty, where they located in.1810. To Mr. and Mrs. Mulnix were born five children: Ada R., married Allen Jenisen, deceased; Mary, at home; George W., died Aug. 11, 1881; Clara R., died May 15, 1886; Della, at home.
AVERY T. MULNIX
Was born in
county, N. Y., Dec. 9, 1849. He was a son of Avery and Almira (Tompkins) Mulnix, of Delaware county, N. Y. Mr. Mulnix came to Elkland township when a young man and engaged in lumbering and working at the carpenter trade. About 1882 he built a sawmill at Delaware , to which he has since added a shingle mill and planer. He has been dealing extensively in real estate and owns considerable timber land adjacent to his mill; he has also a store room at Estella, where he deals in building supplies, in connection with his dressed and rough lumber. Mr. Mulnix married Anna Webster, in 1884. She was born in Elkland township, and was a daughter of John J. and Jane (Kaye) Webster, of Estella. To Mr. and Mrs. Mulnix have been born eight children: Christenia, Rovila, Lincoln Falls , Walter, Wesley, Mildred, Almira and the baby. Ada
EDWARD G. ROGERS
Was born at
, Oct. 9, 1849. He was a son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Huckell) Rogers, who located at Lincoln Falls in 1848. Mr. Rogers is engaged in farming and is also a member of the firm of Rogers Bros., who are engaged in lumbering. In 1900 Mr. Rogers was elected a member of the Pennsylvania Legislature, on the Democratic ticket. Mr. Rogers married Rosalinda McCarty in 1585. She was born in Elkland township, Sept. 24, 1852, and was the daughter of Silas and Sarah (Annable) McCarty, and a grand-daughter of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty. Mrs. Rogers died Feb. 3, 1896. To Mr. and Mrs. Lincoln Falls Rogerswere born six children: Daisy G., , Frank, Rue, Raymond, Curtis. Elizabeth
C. S. ROGERS
Was born at
, May 6, 1855. He was a son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Huckell) Lincoln Falls , and a grand-son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Snell) Rogers , of Forksville. The history of the Rogers Rogersfamily has been traced back to 1031 in . They are noted for their intelligence and strong religious convictions. They are the descendants of John Rogers, the Martyr, who first translated the Bible into the English language, and was burned at the stake at England , Feb. 4, 1555. There is a family crest or coat of arms. C. S. Rogers with his brother, E. G. Rogers, constitute the firm of Rogers Bros., who are engaged in the hardwood lumber business at Smithfield, England . Mr. Rogers married Maria A. Williams in 1884. She was born in Lincoln Falls East Cantonin 1860, and was a daughter of Isaac and Mary (Annable) Williams. Her grand-father. Thomas Williams, was an early settler in Fox township, and later moved to . The Williams' are of English descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Canton have been born: Jessie D., George Frederick, Paul Jonathan, Mary E., Leland S. and Dortha. Rogers
MRS. N. K. WOODWARD
Was born at Hillsgrove, in 1848. She was a daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Huckell) Rogers. Mrs. Woodward was engaged in teaching school for a number of years. In 1883 she married N. K. Woodward, of Dushore. Mr. Woodward was born at
, Allen county, Indiana, July 12, 1844. When Mr. Woodward was one year old his father died and when he was four years of age his mother died; he then went to live with his cousin Judge Warren Woodward, of Fort Wayne . In 1860 Mr. Woodward came to Dushore, entering the store of J. Jackson & Sons, as a clerk. Later he entered into the mercantile business for himself in which he was very successful, Mr. Woodward was considered one of the leading and most substantial business men of Dushore. Mr. Woodward died June 3, 1888, at the age of forty-four years. At the death of Mr. Woodward, Mrs. Woodward moved to Wilkes-Barre , where she erected a handsome residence which she occupies with Edward M. Woodward, a son adopted by Mr. and Mrs. N K. Woodward. Lincoln Falls
JAMES J. TEEVAN
Was born in
, Nov. 4, 1847. He was a son of James and Catharine (Braken) Teevan. The Teevan's are of French origin and formerly belonged to the French nobility. About 1790 they located in the vicinity of Ireland . Two of them are eminent doctors in Dublin, Ireland Londonand several own large land estates in . Mr. Teevan, the subject of this sketch, was a grocer and spirit merchant in Ireland Dublin, Ireland, from 1860 until 1873, when he emigrated to America, locating at . Mr. Teevan is a single man. He takes a very active part in public affairs, and has served one term as justice of the peace of Elkland township. Lincoln Falls
G. EUGENE BOWN
Was born in Elkland township, March 9, 1865. He was a son of John H. and Mary E. (Wilcox) Bown, of Elkland township, and a grand-son of William and Harriet (Huckell) Bown, early settlers of Elkland township. Mr. Bown is located near
on the farm cleared up by his great-grand-father, John Bown. Mr. Bown married Mary Caseman in 1888. She was born in Fox township March 31. 1867. She was a daughter of Christian and Louisa (Beck) Caseman, both natives of Lincoln Falls Germany, who came to in 1853, locating in Fox township in 1855. To Mr. and Mrs. Bown have been born six children: Winifred L., Blanche M., Jeneva A., Robert M. and Raymond R., twins; Sylva. America
Was born in Forks township, Feb. 15. 1876. He is a son of Jesse and Isabelle (Locket) Shaffer, and a grand son of George Shaffer, dec'd, of Forks township, formerly of
Albanytownship, Bradfordcounty. Mr. Shaffer purchased the Thomas Bing farm near Estella and located thereon. In 1903 he married Pearl Bennett. She was born in township in 1882. She is a daughter of Howard and Elfretta (Little) Bennett, descendants of two of the pioneer families of Shrewsbury township, and whose descendants form a large portion of the population of that township. Shrewsbury
JOHN W. NORTON
Was born in Elkland township, Dec. 9, 1838. He was a son of George and Dencie (Brown) Norton, of Elkland township. Geo. Norton was a native of
and located in Elkland township at an early date. John W. Norton located on his father's farm. He died Nov. 11, 1898. Mr. Norton married England RachelBiddle, Feb. 6, 1863. She was born in Forks township and was a daughter of Richard and Esther (Fawcett) Biddle, of Forks township, later of Hillsgrove. To Mr. and Mrs. Norton were born eight children: Lyman, of Hillsgrove; Anna J., married Ernest Vough, of Forks township; Clara, married Charles Moreau, of Hillsgrove; , married Charles Baumunk, of Elkland; Ira, at home; Charles, of Hillsgrove; Samuel, at home. Ada
CHARLES W. FAWCETT
Was born in Elkland township in 1857. He was a son of Joseph and Lydia (Bird) Fawcett, of Elkland township, and a grandson of Henry and Sarah (Grange) Fawcett, natives of England, who came to America about 1817 and located on the farm, a portion of which Chas. W. Fawcett now owns. Mr. Fawcett is engaged in truck farming. He married Susie Yaw, in 1885. She was a daughter of Loren and Sarah (Woodley) Yaw, of Hillsgrove township. The Yaw's were among the early settlers of Hillsgrove. Mrs. Yaw was born at Hughesville, Dec. 3, 1827. She was a daughter of Abraham and Ann (Farley) Woodley. Abraham Woodley was born Dec. 9, 1776. Ann Farley was born Dec. 1, 1801. To Mr. and Mrs. Fawcett has been born one daughter, Olive Belle.
J. FRANK MULLAN
Was born in Elkland township, Nov. 22, 1853. He is a son of John and Selena (Woodhead) Mullan, of Elkland township, and a great-grand-son of Charles Mullan, who located in Elkland township about 1800. On the maternal side Mr. Mullan's grandparents were Joseph and Anna (Sleeker) Woodhead, natives of
, who located in Elk land township in 1829. Mr. Mullan purchased a portion of the original Henry Fawcett farm in Elkland township, near Campbellsville. In 1880 he married Addie Williams. She was a daughter of Isaac and Mary (Lilley) Williams, of Shunk. The Williams are of English descent, and the Lilleys are of Scotch descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Mullan have been born nine children: Bert, of England ; Joseph, Grover, Clara, Charles J., Hartley, Stella, Freddie and Leonard. Canada
H. M. MULLAN
Was born in Elkland township in 1862. He is a son of John and Selena (Woodhead) Mullan. The Mullans are of Scotch Irish descent. Anthony Mullan or McMullan, located in
about 1750 or 1760. His son Charles located in Elkland township about 1800, He was the great-grand father of the subject of this sketch. H. M. Mullan purchased the Charles Hottenstein farm, which was originally a portion of the James Black farm. Mr. Mullan married Mary E. Kline, who was born in Luzerne county in 1866. The Klines are German descent. John Kline came from New York Germanyand located in . He was said to have been one of the best educated men in that State, and was a soldier in the Civil war. He had a son John, who came to Luzerne county, Pa, He was the father of Mrs. Mullan and John A. Kline, of Elkland. To Mr. and Mrs. H. M. Mullen has been born one son, Nelson C. Illinois
Was born in Elkland township, Sept. 9, 1861. Ho was a son of James and Linda (Fawcett) Hart, who were among the early settlers of Elkland township. Mr. Hart purchased his father's farm to which he has added still more land and now owns and conducts a large stock farm. Mr. Hart is also engaged in selling agricultural implements. In 1880 he married Deborah J. Packard, who was born in
Bradfordcounty, Sept. 20, 1860. She was a daughter of JeffersonF. and Lucy (Barnes) Packard. Her grandfather, John Packard, was an early settler of Franklin, Bradfordcounty. To Mr. and Mrs. Hart have been born five children: Cordia L., Minnie, Raymond L., Hazel and Mildred.
JOHN W. HART
Was born in Elkland township in 1871. He Was a son of James and Linda (Fawcett) Hart. The Fawcetts came to Elkland township from
in 1817, locating where Charles W. Fawcett now lives. John W. Hart is a painter and paper hanger by trade. He purchased a portion of the Benjamin Fawcett farm near Campbellsville, where he lives and engages in farming when not working at his trade. Mr. Hart married Eliza Hunsinger in 1893. She was born in Forks township in 1870, and is a daughter of Charles P. and Sarah (Rinebold) Hunsinger, of Forks, and a great-grand-daughter of George Hunsinger, who settled in Cherry township about 1819. To Mr. and Mrs. Hart have been born three children: Stella, Clancy and Guy. England
Was born in Elkland township, Nov. 3, 1861. He is a son of Thomas A. and Essie (Brown)county. Mr. Jennings is engaged in the mercantile business at Estella, where he located in 1893; previous to that time he lived on the Mary Mullan farm. Mr. Jennings also lived at Towanda six months and at Fall Brook six months since he moved to Estella. He is postmaster at that place. Mr. Jennings married Anna S. McCarty, Nov. 1, 1888. She is a daughter of Jesse and Ellen (Corbin) McCarty. She was born in Elkland township, July 13, 1866. To Mr. and Mrs. Jennings have been born three children: Sidney L., Lucy Ellen, and Mollie.
. His grand-father Jennings Jennings, with two brothers, came from Englandand located in Orange county, N. Y., from there Mr. Jennings moved to Bradford
Was born in Cherry township in 1853. He is a son of Michael and Mary Ann (Windhauser) Bahl, of Forks township, and a grand son of John and Elena (Fishwenger) Bahl, who came from
Elsets, France, now , to Cherry township, in 1829. Mr. Bahl is a blacksmith by trade. He purchased the Henry Toland farm near Eldredsville, where he is farming and doing a blacksmithing business. He recently purchased the Joseph Warburton farm in Forks , on which he expects to move in a short time. Mr. Bahl married Catharine Toland in 1883. She was a daughter of Henry and Ellen (McCarty) Toland, natives of Germany . To Mr. and Mrs. Bahl have been born four children: Bessie M., Victor L., Agnes E., and Leon. Dublin, Ireland
GEORGE L. ROSBACH
Was born in
in 1852. His father, George L. Rosbach, was a native of New York Germanyand came to about 1852 and in 1855 came to Elk land township. Mr. Rosbach owns two farms in Elkland township He married Henrietta Caseman, Feb. 15, 1877. She was a daughter of Christian and Louisa (Beck) Caseman, and was born in Fox township in 1858. To Mr. and Mrs. Rosbach have been born four children: Louis, of Estella; Charles, Violet and Alfred. New York
Was born in Elkland township in 1854. He was a son of William and Jane (McCarty) Pardoe, and a grand-son of Joseph Pardoe, a native of
England, who came to , locating in Elkland township among the early settlers. Mr. Pardoe purchased the farm on which he now lives. He was married twice, his first wife was Eliza Ann Molyneux. She was a daughter of John and Martha (Sadler) Molyneux, of Forks township. She died April 13, 1882. In 1883 he married Mary Sabin. She was born at America , 1851. She was a daughter of Edward Sabin, who was born in Rensselaer county, Canton, Pa. . On the maternal side, Mrs. Pardoe's mother was Margaret Wood. Her ancestors came from New York . They were French descent. Mrs. Pardoe was married twice; her first husband was Lester Kelder. whom she married in 1869. Mr. Kelder died in 1874. leaving one son, Thaddeus. New Jersey
DANIEL L. MILLER
Was born in
Columbiacounty, , in 1848. He was a son of Leonard and Elizabeth (Kline) Miller. His grand-father, Jacob Miller, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war and located in Northumberland county. Daniel L. Miller is a carpenter by trade. He purchased a portion of the Joseph W. Pardoe farm near Eldredsville, where he is engaged in farming. In 1872 Mr. Miller married Lydia J. Pardoe, who was born in Elkland township in 1848. She was a daughter of Joseph W. and Rebecca (Bird) Pardoe. In 1890 Mr. Miller married his second wife, Lydia Norton. She was a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Bird) Norton, of Forks township. Mr. Norton was born in Pa. in 1808, and came to Forks township in 1830. Mr. Miller was justice of the peace for ten years, assessor, school director and town clerk, each one term. To Mr. Miller was born by his first wife three children: Rena L., Charles L. and Howard B. England
IRA J. PARDOE
Was born in Elkland township, Nov. 16, 1867. He is a son of Albert and Susanna (Brenchley) Pardoe and a grand-son of Wm. and Jane (McCarty) Pardoe, of Elkland township. His great grandfather, Joseph Pardoe, was a native of
and was one of the early settlers of Elkland township. Mr. Pardoe owns a portion of the Jonas Bedford farm. He is a member of the school board of Elkland township. In 1888 he married Martha Warren, who was born in Elkland township in 1862. She is a daughter of William and Jerusha (Hunsinger) Warren, of Elkland, and a grand-daughter of John Warren, one of the early settlers of Elkland township. To Mr. and Mrs. Pardoe have been born two daughters: Maude E. and Ethel M. England
Was born in Elkland township, June 25, 1829. He is a son of John and Elizabeth (Glidewell) Warren, of Elkland, and a grandson of John and Mary (Ward) Warren, who came from
, in 1795, locating at Millview and being one of the three first permanent settlers in what is now Sullivan county. William Warren purchased and cleared up the farm on which he lives. He was a soldier in the Civil war. Mr. Warren married Jerusha Hunsinger, who was born in Forks township, April 1, 1837. She was a daughter of George and Elizabeth (Haunse) Hunsinger. Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger moved from Luzerne county to Cherry township, later to the McCarty Ridge in Elkland township and in 1829 to Forks township. He was a son of Geo. Hunsinger, Sr., who located in Cherry township in 1819. To Mr. and Mrs. Warren have been born four children: Anna C., married John W. Brown, of Elkland; Martha S., married Ira J. Pardoe, of Elkland; Helen, married George Fenstermacher, of Unityville, Pa.; H. Ward, who married Martha Barnes, a daughter of Frank Barnes, and lives with his parents. Liverpool, England
Was born at LeRoy,
Bradfordcounty, in 1854. He was a son of Payne Shoemaker, who was born in Luzerne county in 1809. He was of German descent, and moved to Bradford county when 17 years of age; there he married RachelPepper, who was born in Bradfordcounty. She was a descendant of the Connecticutpeople who located in Bradfordcounty. S. P. Shoemaker. is a single man and is a carpenter by trade. He came to Sullivan county in 1873 and lives at Estella. Mrs. George Brown. Mrs. Isaac Brown, Mrs. Ellis Brown, dec'd, and Mrs. Wm. Moore, are sisters of his.
Was born in the
provinceof Hessen, in 1847. He came to Germany in 1866, locating in Cherry township. Later he worked in the Bernice mines five years, and in 1875 moved to Elkland township, where he purchased a farm and moved upon it. In the winter he leased the Mercur mines in Forks township, and got out coal for eleven years. In 1875 he married Elizabeth Lemmer, who was born in America in 1848. She was a daughter of George Lemmer, a native of France France, who emigrated to with his family, locating at Bernice in 1872. Mrs. Wick died in 1897. To Mr. and Mrs. Wick were born: Mary, deceased; Elizabeth, died at the age of eighteen months; and George. America
CHARLES C. HEINZE
Was born in
in 1863. He is a son of Christian Heinze, a native of New York Germany, who married Miss C. Fleming and emigrated to America, locating first in and later in Fox township. Charles C. Heinze is a carpenter by trade, and at present is engaged both in farming near Eldredsville and in working at his trade. Mr. Heinze married Caroline Gleockler, who was born at New York , Elkland township, in 1862. She is a daughter of Anthony Gleockler, a native of Lake Run Germany, who emigrated to America, locating first in New York, later at , where he was postmaster for many years. At his death the post office was discontinued. To Mr. and Mrs. Heinze have been born three children: Anthony C., Lilly A. and M. Lenora. Lake Run
MRS. ROSALIE HUGO
Was born in
. Berlin . She was a daughter of Frederick and Frederica (Vitus) Bowers, of Germany Berlin, Germany, who emigrated to Philadelphiain 1855, remaining a few months, then moving to Merritt's Lake, Elkland township, where Mr. Bowers died in 1867. Mrs. Bowers is still living. May 10. 1864, Mrs. Hugo was married to Charles Hugo, who was born in , Dec. 13, 1837. Mr. Hugo came to Gilson, Germany Americain 1850, locating first at and shortly afterward moved to Elkland and purchased the Eldred property. Mr. Hugo accumulated considerable property. He was tax collector and constable of Elkland township for many years, and in 1887 was elected county commissioner. He died in 1897. To Mr. and Mrs. Hugo were born: J. Henry, deceased; J. F., of Elkland; Anna M., married Anthony Gleockler; Victor C., of Philadelphia; Geo. F., of Elkland; Charles L., deceased; William W., of Elkland; Emma M., deceased; Mary M., married York Stalford, of Elkland; Albert, Robert and Frank, at home. Philadelphia
G. F. HUGO
Was born in Elkland township in 1866. He was a son of Chas. and Rosalie (Bowers) Hugo, of Elkland township. Mr. Hugo purchased the Kobbe farm near Eldredsville, where he is located. He married Annie Knupper, who was born in Elkland in 1876. She was a daughter of Fred and Josephine (Gleockler) Knupper. Mr. Knupper was a native of
Hanover, Germany, and came to in 1865, locating in Elkland township. Mrs. Knupper was a daughter of Anthony Gleockler, of America , Elkland township. To Mr. and Mrs. Hugo have been born four children: Blanche M., Pearl R., Rowena, died at the age of three months; Ralph A. Lake Run
JAMES P. BRENCHLEY
Was born in Forks township in 1839. He was a son of James and Sophia (Powell) Brenchley. James Brenchley was a native of
Englandand came to in 1837, locating in Elkland township and later in Forks, afterward in Fox and in Elkland again. Mrs. Brenchley was also a native of America . James P. Brenchley, the subject of this sketch, owns a farm near Estella, Elkland township. He is at present tax collector of Elkland township. In 1862 he married Malinda A. Mullan, who was born in Elkland township in 1844. She was a daughter of John and Selena (Woodhead) Mullan, of Elkland township. John Mullan. was a son of Charles Mullan, Jr., who came to Elkland with his father, Charles Mullan, Sr., in 1800. Mrs. Mullan was a daughter of Vincent and Esther (Molyneux) Woodhead, and a granddaughter of Joseph Woodhead, a native of England , who located in Elkland township in 1829. To Mr. and Mrs. Brenchley have been born six children: Anna S., married D. S. McBride, of England Michigan; John P., who died in 1876; Jessie M., of Forks; Martha S., of ; Winfield Scott and Belle, at home. Scranton, Pa.
F. A. BOYLE
Was born in Elkland township, Aug. 29, 1842. He was a son of John and Avis (King) Boyle, and a grandson of Francis Boyle, who came from Ireland to America during the Revolutionary war, when 18 years of age, locating first at Shamokin, from where he moved to Elkland township in 1803. F. A. Boyle located on his father's farm near Estella, which he has purchased. He has always taken a very active part in religious and political affairs. Mr. Boyle married Matilda Williams, Oct. 24, 1868. She was born in Ridgeberry township,
Bradfordcounty, Oct. 19, 1844. She was a daughter of Henry and Christena (Rightmire) Williams. Mr. Williams was born in Seneca county, N. Y., May 27, 1817. The early part of .his life was spent in Bradfordcounty. In 1850 he moved to Shunk, Sullivan county, where Mrs. Williams died in 1851. Mr. Williams married Ann Shattuck for his second wife. In 1860 he was elected county commissioner. Mr. Williams died in 1890. To Mr. and Mrs. Boyle have been born two children: Avis G., married J. M. Tomkins; Mabel V., at home.
S. E PARISH
Was born in
county in 1853. He was a son of T. V. Parish, who was a native of Wyoming county, who lived some time at Forksville and later moved to Elkland township. Mr., Parish purchased a farm on Wyoming Bear Mountain, Elkland township. He is a blacksmith by trade. Mr. Parish has been married twice. His first wife was Henrietta Porter, who died in 1893; his second wife is Matilda Porter, both are daughters of H. Y. Porter, of Fox, who was a son of L. D. Porter, one of the early settlers of Fox township. Mr. Parish is the father of five children: James H., Edward, died when two years of age; Harvey T., Ralph, died in infancy; and Floyd E.
OSCAR W. BEDFORD
Was born in Elkland township in 1871. He was a son of Samuel and Harriet (Norton) Bedford, of Elkland township, and a grand son of John Bedford, who was a native of
England, and came to with his father, Henry Bedford. John Bedford married Ellen Sadler and located on the farm now owned by Oscar W. Bedford. Mr. Bedford owns two farms which he purchased from his father and lives near the America school house. He married Mattie Sabin, July 3, 1893. She was born in 1872. The Sabina came from Bethel Rensselaercounty, N. Y. To Mr. and Mrs. Bedford have been born three children: Semore, Fern and Alverta.
JOHN J. WEBSTER *
Was born in
White Deer Valley, Union county, , in 1836. He was a son of Jonathan and Harriet (Blakesley) Webster, natives of Pa. . Jonathan Webster came from England Yorkshire, England, landing at Philadelphia, where he remained for a short time, then went to Union county, ; from there he moved to Elkland township in 1836, locating on the farm now owned by William Webster. John Webster owns a large farm near Estella. He has been engaged quite extensively in lumbering. In 1893 he was elected county commissioner. Mr. Webster was married twice, his first wife was Jane Kay, dec'd. She was a daughter of William and Ann ( Pa. Bedford) Kay, natives of , who located in Elkland township in 1849. For his second wife he married Catharine Norton, Jan. 10, 1874. She was born in Elkland township in 1S44, and was a daughter of Samuel and Catharine A. ( England ) Norton. Mr. Norton was born in Bryan Englandin 1812, and came to about 1830. He was married in 1834, and located on America Bear Mountain, Elkland township. To Mr. Webster were born four children by his first wife: Carrie, married Frank May; Charles G , of Elkland; Walter H., of Forksville; Anna, married A. T. Mulnix, of . By his second wife five children were born: M. R., of LaPorte; Georgia, at home; George, died at the age of ten months; Nellie, married Free Rowe, of Lincoln Falls , and Samuel H. La Porte * Editor's Note: The biographical sketch below tells us more about the origins and history of the Webster family. Many of them are also interred in the Webster Cemetery in Elkland.
WEBSTER, John J. 1836 -
JOHN J. WEBSTER* is one of the largest lumber dealers of Sullivan County and is practically a resident of Estella, Elkland township, Sullivan County, Pa., where he owns a handsome residence, a large and well improved farm and other valuable property; he is temporarily located, however, in Forks township. He is the eldest son of Jonathan and Harriet (Blakeley) Webster, and was born at White Deer Creek, Montour County, Pa., October 8, 1836.
Jonathan Webster was born in England, where he learned the weaver's trade. Coming to this country he located at Philadelphia, where he worked at his trade for a short time. Being a skilled and successful workman he soon obtained a more lucrative situation in a large woolen factory at White Deer Creek. By unceasing labor and close economy he saved a considerable sum of money which he invested in land, which at that time was very cheap. He purchased 100 acres in Elkland township, where his son William now resides. In summer, by patience and great effort, he slowly cleared the timber from the land that he might cultivate the soil. Out of the logs he built a log house, where he and his wife lived in true pioneer fashion. In winter he worked at his trade for Thomas Engham [sic, likely "Ingham"] at Monroeton.
In this way by unceasing toil in both summer and winter he was soon able to build larger and more substantial buildings, the same now standing on the farm. In his house he put up a loom on which, during spare time, he wove cloth for his family, and also for his neighbors. He made a specialty of weaving handsome shawls, which were a source of wonder and delight to all his neighbors and friends; thus he was more prosperous than many in his vicinity and accumulated a nice property, the benefits of which he enjoyed to the day of his death, which occurred on the farm at the age of seventy-three. His religious life was based upon the doctrines of the Anglican Church. He was a Whig in politics and later a Republican. His wife died at the home of our subject in 1896, aged eighty-four years. Their children were: John J., the subject of our sketch; George, now deceased, who served in the Union Army in the Rebellion; Ellen, deceased; William, of Elkland township; Jonathan, who was killed in the War of the Rebellion; James, of Sugar Run; Elizabeth, now deceased; and Marsden of Bradford County.
John J. Webster was brought to Elkland township by his parents when he was six months old. There he was reared as a farmer and at the age of twenty-one bought eighty acres of the George Molyneux tract near what is now Estella, it being at that time an untouched wilderness. There he built a small boarding-house and kept a country tavern, at the same time commencing the work of clearing his farm. This venture was so successful that eighty acres more of the same tract were added to his farm. Being a man of energy and enterprise he was desirous of obtaining the most possible good from the natural resources of his land, so he built a saw-mill on his grounds and manufactured lumber from the timber in his own forest, also sawing for his neighbors who came from miles around bringing logs to his saw-mill. After years of toil and industry he succeeded in improving his farm to his own taste and now enjoys the honor and distinction of being one of the most prominent agriculturists in his section of the state.
One of the noted features of this elegant farm is a fine apple orchard of 150 trees. Mr. Webster has given the care of this splendid farm of 160 acres to a tenant, for he is so busily engaged elsewhere that it is impossible for him to give his personal attention to farming; he realizes, however, that much more money can be made in the lumber business than in farming, consequently he is extensively engaged in lumbering on the large tracts of timber land owned by the Union Tanning Company in Forks township.
Mr. Webster has been twice married. His first wife was Jane Kaye, daughter of William Kaye of Elkland township. She died about the age of twenty-five leaving four children: Carrie, who married Frank May and is the mother of seven children, Bertha, Millie, George, Lloyd, Merton, Dorothy, Lorine; Charles G., who married Ella Brown and has five children, George, John, Seth, Delia, and Blanche; Anna, who married A. F. Molyneux, and also has five children, Tina, Revival, Ada, Walter and Wetsel; and Walter, a carpenter and wagon-maker by trade. Mr. Webster's second wife was Mrs. Catherine Campbell, daughter of Samuel Norton and widow of Henry Campbell. Mrs. Campbell had two children by her first husband, viz.: Jennie, who married George Morton and bore him two children, Essie and Nellie; Irene, who married Lyman Caufer, and also had two children, Katie and Violet.
Our subject and his second wife have been blessed with a family of five children, three sons and two daughters, namely, Merton, who married Rosa Brown, and had a family of seven children, Fanny, May, Helen, Frank and Frances, twins, and Georgie and George, also twins, now deceased; Nellie; and Harry. Few men many years older than our subject can boast of such a numerous family of children and grandchildren. Mr. Webster is a leading spirit in the Methodist Church and has served as a member of the building committee ever since joining the church. Politically lie is a Republican, and has served in many township offices and one term as county commissioner. Socially he is past grand of Sullivan Lodge No. 522, I. O. O. F.; also a member and past president of the Elkland Grange.
Source: Book of Biographies of the Seventeenth Congressional District,
Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, IL and Buffalo, NY (1899)
CHARLES G. WEBSTER
Was born in Elkland township in 1864. He was a son ,of John J. and Jane (Kay) Webster, of Elkland township. Mr. Webster purchased a portion of the Geo. Brown farm near Estella He married Mary E. Brown. She was born in Elkland township in 1872, and is a daughter of George and Harriet (Shoemaker) Brown, of Estella, and a grand daughter of John Brown, who located on a large tract of land near Estella at an early date. To Mr. and Mrs. Webster have been born six children: George, John, Della, Blanche, Archie and Jessie.
J. A. DAY
Was born in Lycoming county, July 5, 1864. He was a son of Claudius and Ellen (Fulcrod) Day. The grand-father, Edward Day, settled in Lycoming county at an early date. The Fulcrods were German descent and were early settlers in Lycoming county. In 1893 Mr. Day purchased the W. F. Grange portion of the Joseph Whiteley homestead and in 1894 he purchased in addition a portion of the Wm. Whiteley farm in Elkland township, where he is engaged in farming. Mr. Day married Anna Baumunk, May 1, 1889. She was born in Elkland in 1868. She is a daughter of Adam and Barbara (Betital) Baumunk, of Elkland township, who emigrated from
in 1866. To Mr. and Mrs. Day have been born five children: Acley A., Jessie L., Leon H., Ralph C. and Mira E. Germany
J. G. COTT
Was born in
Springfieldtownship, Bradfordcounty, Aug. 21, 1854. He was a son of Henry A. and Elizabeth (Shape') Cott. Henry A. Cott was a native of . When he was 18 years of age he came to Saxony, Germany America, locating first at Buffalo, N. Y., and later in Springfieldtownship, Bradfordcounty, and in 1861 purchased a farm in Fox township, where he remained until his death. J. G. Cott located on the William Norton farm in Fox township, which he sold, and in 1887 purchased the farm near , which he now owns, and to which he has added more land. Mr. Cott has always taken a prominent part in public affairs and in 1901 was elected Sheriff of Sullivan county, when he moved to LaPorte, where he expects to remain during his term of office. Mr. Cott married Lucetta J. McCarty, who was born June 20, 1854. She was a daughter of Thomas and Chloe (Wilcox) McCarty, of Elkland township. Thomas McCarty was the youngest son of Joel and Ellen (Roberta) McCarty, who located in Elkland township about 1900. To Mr. and Mrs. Cott have been born six children: Ellen M., married Jacob Greiss, of LaPorte; John H., of Lincoln Falls; Hannah M.., married Harry Heess, of Elkland township; Fredrica E., Clarence G. and Miriam, at home. Lincoln Falls
JOHN H. COTT
Was born in Fox township, March 29, 1878. He is a son of J. G. and Lucetta J. (McCarty) Cott, of Elkland township. Mr. Cott has charge of his father's farm while the latter is serving as sheriff of Sullivan county. John H. Cott married Lizzie McCarty in 1900. She is a daughter of Thomas W. and Myrtle V. (Grange) McCarty. Thomas W. McCarty was a son of Aaron and Elizabeth (Pardoe) McCarty. Myrtle V. Grange was a daughter of John W. and Eliza (Vough) Grange, of Elkland township. To Mr. and Mrs. John H. Cott has been born one child, Francis.
MILES O. BARNES
Was born in Orville township, Bradford Co., Mar. 15, 1854. He was a son of Robinson and Amanda (Dikeman) Barnes. The history of the Barnes' in
Americadates back to 1630, when three sons of Phineas Barnes, an Englishman, settled in . Later they moved to Stockbridge, Mass. Of this lineage, Robinson Barnes, father of the subject of this sketch, located in Connecticut Bradfordcounty in 1830 and in 1855 moved to Elkland township, Sullivan county, locating on the farm now owned by his son Miles 0. Barnes. Mr. Barnes, the subject of this sketch, is engaged in farming and stock raising. He has been elected to the office of road commissioner, and school director a number of times. In 1884 he married Phoebe Everett, who was born in Elkland township in 1851. She was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. U. Z. Everett, who moved from Schuyler county, N. Y., to Elkland township about 1850. To Mr. and Mrs. Barnes has been born one son, Alson M.
Was born in
, Mar. 3, 1838. He was a son of Joseph and Mary (Hague) Whiteley, natives of Lancastershire, England England, who were married Dec. 28, 1828, and came to Americain 1840, locating at and in 1846 moved to Elkland township. where Mr. Whiteley accumulated considerable property and spent his closing years living a retired life at Forksville. John Whiteley, the subject of this sketch, on reaching his majority, purchased a tract of timber land in the Philadelphia Bethel township, where he has cleared up a farm of 114 acres. Mr. Whiteley has been elected auditor, and held the office of overseer of the poor for many years. Oct. 16, 1858, he married Elsie Dikeman. She was a daughter of Parks Dikeman, of Tompkins county, N. Y. The Dikemans are of Scotch Irish descent and located in the school districtof Elkland New Englandstates at an early date. To Mr. and Mrs. Whiteley have been born five children: Joe R., of West Plains, Mo.; Mary, married Orville Bartoe, of ; Ora, married Eugene Avery, of Elkland township; Susie, married Carl McCarty, of Elkland, and Roy, at home. Philadelphia
E. B. WRIGHT
Was born in LeRoy township,
Bradfordcounty, Nov. 31, 1875. He was a son of R. Watson and Ellen (Pardoe) Wright. The Wrights came originally from and located in Connecticut at an early date; from there they moved to England . Charles Wright, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a minister of the M. E. church and about 65 years ago was stationed at Forksville. His voice gave out and he settled near New Jersey Canton, Bradfordcounty. R. Watson Wright purchased the Thomas Pardoe farm from his father-in-law's estate. Mr. Wright was accidentally killed by the cars near . Mrs. R. Watson Wright was a daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Molyneux) Pardoe, and a grand daughter of Joseph Pardoe, a native of Philadelphia , who located in Elkland township some time between 1808 and 1619. Margaret Molyneux was a daughter of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, of Forks township. Her grandfathers, William Molyneux and Powell Bird, were two of the three first permanent settlers in Sullivan county. E. B. Wright purchased the homestead of his father's estate, and is engaged in agriculture. He married Nettie Glidewell in 1902. She is a daughter of George W. and Carrie (Kay) Glidewell, of Elkland township. The Glidewells are English descent. William Glidewell, grand-father of Mrs. Wright, was one of the early settlers and influential men of Elkland township. England
T. S. KILMER
Was born in Fox township, Mar. 17, 1859. He is a son of William and Catharine (Shattuck) Kilmer, of Fox township. The Kilmers are the descendants of Philip Kilmer, who came from Hesse Cassel, Germany to
, in a colony of refugees, in 1710. Philip Kilmer located on the Hudson river in the State of America ; of this lineage, Philip Kilmer, the father of the Sullivan county branch of the family, was born in the Mohawk Valley, New York, in 1781. During the War of 1812, he went to Canada, later he came back to New York, locating at Marcellus; from there he came with his family of nine children to Fox township; he and two of his sons, Anthony and Henry, who were of age, being three of the first ten settlers of Fox township. Anthony Kilmer was the grand-father of the subject of this sketch. T. S. Kilmer purchased the Jonas Bedford farm in Elk land township and located thereon. Ho has held the offices of auditor and road commissioner. Mr. Kilmer married Mary Hunsinger, Dec. 24, 1890 She is a daughter of Charles P. and Sarah (Rinebold) Hunsinger, of Forks township, and a great-granddaughter of George Hunsinger, who located in Cherry township in 1819. To Mr. and Mrs. Kilmer have been born two children: Nellie Catharine and Dean Edgar. New York
WILLIAM T. MOORE
Was born in
Delawarecounty, , Dec. 25, 1852. He was a son of Alexander Moore, a native of New York Scotland, who while in his native land married Lydia D. Birch, also a native of Scotland; they came to Americaabout 60 years ago, landing in county, N. Y. Wm. T. Moore purchased a farm on King's Creek, near Estella. He married Eva Shoemaker, June 18, 1874. She was born in LeRoy township, Delaware Bradfordcounty, Jan. 7, 1853. Mrs. Moore was a daughter of Payne P. and Rachel(Pepper) Shoemaker, of LeRoy, Bradfordcounty. The Shoemakers are of German-French descent. They located in the . The husband of Eliza Shoemaker was killed in the Wyoming Massacre, and the widow moved to LeRoy, Wyoming Valley Bradfordcounty. Four brothers of Mrs. Moore were in the Civil War. To Mr. and Mrs. Moore have been born five children: Mary A., married Archie Adams, of county; George E„ Floyd L., R. W., and Earle C. Jenningsville, Wyoming
ORRIN B. MCCARTY
Was born in Elkland township, July 13, 1861. He is a son of Jesse R. and Ellen H. (Corbin) McCarty, of Elkland township, and a grandson of Aaron and Sarah (Pardoe) McCarty, of Elkland township. The McCarty's are probably the descendants of Silas McCarty, a native of
Scotland, who settled in Irelandwhen 14 years of age and later came to America, locating in Bucks county, The family history can be traced back nearly 200 years. Orrin H. McCarty married Harriet C. Rogers, who was born at Pa. She was a daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Huckell) Rogers, of Lincoln Falls, Pa. . Jonathan Rogers was born at Lincoln Falls , Feb. 10, 1821. He was , a son of Jonathan Rogers, a native of Muncy, Pa. England, who came to with his father, Samuel Rogers and located at Forksville in 1801. Mr. McCarty purchased the farm near Eldredsville on which he lives. He has served as school director two terms. To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty have been horn six daughters: Fanny M., Maude E., Mabel, Donzella, Beulah and Thelma. America
P. MCCARTY CLINTON
Was born in Elkland township, Nov. 8, 1876. He is a son of Jesse R. and Ellen H. (Corbin) McCarty, of Elkland township. The McCartys are one of the leading families of Sullivan county. They are the descendants of Joel and Ellen (Roberts) McCarty, who came from Lycoming county, locating in Elkland township, about 1800. They are also descendants of the celebrated
family. Ellen H. Corbin was a daughter of Chancy and Violet (Gaylor) Corbin, of Lancaster Albanytownship, Bradfordcounty. The Corbins came from Connecticut, locating in Warrencounty when they first came to Pennsylvania, from there they moved to Wyalusing, later to township. Clinton P. McCarty lives with his father on the farm formerly owned by Aaron McCarty. He is a member of the Elkland township school board. Mr. McCarty married Albany RachelCollins, who was born in Elkland township. She is a daughter of Scott and Rhoda (Phillips) Collins, of Forksville, Pa. Scott Collins was born in Elkland township; his father, William Collins, was one of the pioneers of Eagles Mere. Rhoda Phillips was born in Davidson township and is a descendant of one of the leading families of that township. To Mi. and Mrs. Clinton P. McCarty have been born three daughters: Lena, Hazel and Bessie.
Was born in Elkland township, April 19, 1866. He was a son of Thomas A. and Effie (Brown)
. His grandfather, Cal Jennings, came from Jennings Englandand located in Orangecounty, N. Y. From there, Mr. Jennings moved to Bradfordcounty. C. B. Jennings lives at Estella where he owns a house and lot and he also owns a farm near Estella, which he is engaged in tilling. Mr. Jennings married Viola M. Plotts, Nov. 10, 1892. She was born at Bear Creek, Lycoming county, April 10, 1875. • She is a daughter of Wheeler and Annetta (McBride) Plotts, of Estella. Wheeler Plotts was a son of George and Catharine (Bull) Plotts, of Lycoming county, and a grand-son of John Plotts, who came from to Lycoming county, at an early date. The McBrides were one of the pioneer families that located in Hillsgrove township. To Mr. and Mrs. Jennings have been born five children: Lester, Beatrice, Grace, Bruce and Donna. New Jersey
Was born in
Yorkshire. , March 18, 1847. He was a son of William and Ann ( England Bedford) Kay, who came from Englandto with their family locating on the farm now owned by Albert Kay, in 1849. Mr. Kay has served as school director and road commissioner in Elkland township. In 1878 he married Susie King, who was born in Elkland township, May 1, 1858. She was a daughter of Job L. and Jane (Conders) King, of Elkland township. Job L. King was born in Elkland township; he was a son of John King, Jr., who was born near America in 1777 and came to London with his parents in 1800. He married Alice Crosby and located at Northumberland and in 1819 moved to Elkland township on the farm now owned by Philander Kinney. John King, Jr. was a son of John King, Sr., who was born at America , in 1750, and in 1801 located in Elkland township on the farm now owned by George W. Glidewell. Mr. and Mrs. Albert Kay have no children. Staffordshire, England
Was born in Cherry township, April 27, 1849. He was a son of Adam L. Snyder, a native of
Germany, who came to Americawith his family in 1835, landing at . from there he moved to Baltimore Harrisburg, then to , and came to Sullivan county in 1839, locating in Cherry township; in 1849 he moved to Dushore, in 1852 he moved to Elkland township, then back to Dushore. In 1865 he purchased the grist-mill property at Campbellsville; after remaining there a short time he went to Pottsville Oregonand . Christian Snyder owns a farm in the Blackwater Run California township, where he is engaged in farming. He has also been engaged in the butchering business. He served as tax collector of Elkland township five years. Mr. Snyder was married twice, his first wife was Alice J. Bahr, a daughter of William Bahr, of school districtof Elkland New Albany, Bradford county, She was born March 25, 1847, was married Dec. 25, 1869, and died July 16, 1873. Feb. 6, 1876, Mr. Snyder married his present wife, Susan Dye, of Hillsgrove. She was born at Hillsgrove, .Tune 10, 1852. She was a daughter of Henry and Effie (Woodley) Dye. Effie Woodley was born at Hughesville, Jan. 10, 1823. To Mr. Snyder were born by his first wife two children: J. Lyman, of Eldredsville, and Sarah A., married Fred J. Woodhead, of Pa. . California
J. LYMAN SNYDER
Was born in Elkland township in 1873. He is a son of Christian and Alice J. (Bahr) Snyder, of Elkland township. Mr. Snyder's mother was a daughter of William Bahr, of
, and a grand-daughter of John and Mary M. (Reeser) Bahr, who were of German descent and came from Berks county to Cherry township in 1833. Mr. Snyder taught school for a number of years and is at present engaged in the mercantile business at Eldredsville. In 1896 he married Sarah R. Molyneux, who was born at New Albany , Aug. 21, 1870. She was a daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Huckell) Molyneux. She is a descendant of William Molyneux, the first permanent settler of Sullivan county, who was a native of Millview, Pa. and located at Millview in 1794. To Mr. and Mrs. Snyder has been born one son. England
F. C. BEINLICH
Was born at
. July 10, 1862. He was a son of Francis Beinlich, who was born in Philadelphia , Sept. 20, 1826. He served four years in the Regular Army in Baden, Germany Germanyand came to Americain 1854, landing at , where he married Ann Stutes in 1860; they came to Elkland township. In 1861 they moved back to Philadelphia . Mr. Beinlich enlisted in the Civil war, serving four years. At the close of the war they moved to Estella, Elkland township, where Mr. Beinlich purchased the Henry Williams farm, where he remained until his death in 1902. Mrs. Beinlich died Dec. 14, 1899. F. C. Beinlich owns what was formerly known as the William Marisdan farm. In 1888 he married Carrie Baumunk, a daughter of Adam and Barbara (Bentel) Baumunk, of Elkland township, who were both natives of Philadelphia Hessen Darmstadt, Germany, and came to , locating in Elkland township in 1866. To Mr. and Mrs. Beinlich have been born three children. America
JOHN BROWN, SR.
After an effort of several months to get the biography of this family, whose descendants form a large portion of the inhabitants of Forks and Elkland townships, the writer has succeeded and will give it in the closing of the Elkland township history.
John Brown, Sr., was born near Welton, a suburb of the city of
Welton, , in 1770; he married Mary Walson, who was born the same year. She died in England in 1811. In 1815 Mr. Brown came to England with six of his seven children. Mary, the oldest, remaining in America to care for a grand-mother. At Philadelphia Mr. Brown met Samuel Rogers, Sr., who persuade& him to locate in the valley of the Loyalsock creek. He purchased a tract of land two and one-half miles below Forksville and located thereon. In 1816 the flood took his house away while the family were at supper. Mr. Brown and the children escaped but saved nothing. Mr. Brown died in 1855, his children were: England
Ann, remained single.
William, of Forks township.
George W., of Elkland township.
John, of Elkland township.
Elizabeth, married Isaac Warburton, of Bradford county, Pa.
Thomas, of Elkland township.
William Brown was born in England in 1801 and came to America with his father in 1815; he purchased a tract of land two miles below Forksville on the Loyalsock creek, where he engaged in farming and lumbering, running the lumber in rafts down the Loyalsock Creek. Mr. Brown married Mary Clark, a daughter of John Clark, a native of
England, who came to with his family, locating in Forks township in 1830. Mr. Brown died in 1866 and Mrs. Brown in 1885. To Mr. and Mrs. Brown were born: America
Stoneham, Warrencounty, Pa.
Ann, died at the age of two and one-half years.
Sarah Ann, married Michael Hall, of Runny, Pa.
William C., dec'd, of Forks township.
Caroline, who died at the age of 28 years.
Mary Ann, married Albert L. Camp, of
Margaret Jane, married Andrew Rohe, of Cherry Twp.
George W. Brown was born in
Englandin 1803 and came to with his father, John Brown, Sr., in 1815. He purchased a tract of land near America , Elkland township. He conducted the woolen mills near Forksville for some years. Mr. Brown married Mary Snyder and of this union nine children were born: Lincoln Falls
, deceased. Elizabeth
William W., of Glen Elder,
Julia Ann, married J. M. Osier, of.
John S., of
. Lincoln Falls
Geo. W., of
. Lincoln Falls
Effie, married William Lewis, of Bernice.
Margaret, married A. C. Bower, of Eldredsville.
John Brown was a son of John and Mary (Walson) Brown, Sr., of Forks township. He purchased a tract of 400 acres of land near Estella, Elkland township, where he engaged in lumbering and farming, until his death. In 1870 he was elected
. Mr. Brown married Catharine Klees. To Mr. and Mrs. Brown were born seven children: County Commissioner
J. Ellis, of Estella.
George, of Estella.
Catharine, married G. Homestead, of Clearfield Co., Pa.
Isaac. of Hillsgrove.
Thomas Brown was a son of John and Mary (Walson) Brown Sr. He purchased a farm near Estella, where George Brown now lives. Mr. Brown married Phoebe Klees; they had no children.
GEORGE W. BROWN, 2ND.
Was born near Forksville in 1840. He was a son of George W. and Mary (Snyder) Brown, of Elkland township. Mr. Brown lived at
Williamsportfor some time, he now lives at . Mr. Brown was married twice. In 1861 he married Phoebe Jennings. She was a daughter of Dr. C. G. Jennings. of Lincoln Falls Macedonia, To them were born five children: Mary F., married E. S. Miller, of Pa. Williamsport, Pa; Clarence E. deceased; Ernest, of Jamison City; Harry L., of . By his second wife he had: George W., deceased; J. W., Charles L., and Edwin G. Williamsport
GEORGE C. VARGASON
Was born in Forks township. He is a son of Uriah and Emily (Vargason) Vargason. Uriah Vargason was a son of Samuel Vargason. The Vargasons came from
Connecticutto Bradford county at an early date, and were among the early settlers of Bradfordcounty. Mrs. Uriah Vargason was a daughter of Jesse Vargason of Estella, Elkland township. George Vargason owns a farm near . In 1892 he married Edith Shoemaker. She is a daughter of William Shoemaker, of Fox township. To Mr. and Mrs. Vargason four children have been born: Delbert, Bertha, Asa and Louisa. Lincoln Falls
School Directors—Ira Pardoe, F. H. McCarty,
ClintonMcCarty, George D. Bown, Pardoe, William Burgess. Hampton
Road Commissioners—Charles Heess, William Moore and Edward Norton.
Town Clerk—Ulysses Bird.
Tax Collector—Harry Heess.
Constable—C. F. Beinlich.
Overseers of the Poor—John White and Job McCarty.
Anderson, Fred S.
Anderson, Wm. C.
Annable, John F.
Barnes, Miles O.
Barnes, J. C.
Bedford, Grant U.
Bedford, L. S.
Hatch, Joseph A.
Kilmer, Chas. S.
Kilmer, Sylvester F.
Mullen, Melville H.
Pardoe, Ira J.
Woodhead, Geo. F.
Woodhead, Jos. E.;
, Wm. Warren
Warren, Ward H.
Brown, John W.
Chapman, John M.
Everett. Charles D.
Kobbe, Fred C.
Luther, B. K.
Miller, Daniel L.
Heinze, Chas. C.
Hugo, Gusta Houck, Frank
Hardy, Allen G.
Meyers, P. N.
McCarty, Thom. W.
McCarty, Clinton T.
Pardoe, Carl H.
Rosbach, L. G.
Rosbach, Geo. L.
Brown, John Ellis
Beinlich, Frank C.
Brenchley, Jas. P.
Fuller, C. J.
Jennings, C. B.
Moore, Wm. T.
Maguire, John R.
Osler, John S.
Plotts, John G.
Plotts, A. L.
Rogers, John P.
Rosbach, John L.
Vargason, Saml. C.
Webster, John J.
Rogers, S. S.
Rosbach, L. L.
Brown, Wm. H.
Brown, Geo. W.
Brown. C. L.
Brown, John S.
Brown, Delbert L.
Heess, John W.
Mulnix, A. T.
Osler, J. M.
Pardoe, Ed son
Rogers, Edw. G.
Heess, W. A.
Heess, C. F.
Rogers, C, S
Norton. Ira R.
. David Bedford
Heess, Carl F.
Pardoe, Chas. P.