>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>HISTORY OF FORKS TOWNSHIP AND FORKSVILLE BORO>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The Grandchildren of Forks and Overton. This picture, taken in October 1961, shows several children of William M. Kelly and Anna (Sweeney) Kelly, and their
spouses. William was a son of Michael and Mary (O'Brien) Kelly. Michael was one of five brothers and a sister who came to the Overton-Forks area in the 1850s from County
Cork. On the far left in this photo is Julia (Kelly) Bustin and on the far right is her brother, James Kelly. We are not exactly sure of the other identities. Photo courtesy of Janie Bustin of Sayre, PA
Forks Township was established by the Court of Quarter Sessions of Lycoming County in 1833. The territory was taken from Shrewsberry Township, taking in all of the land of Shrewsbury, lying between Elkland and Cherry Townships. Forks Township borders on Bradford County, which forms its northern boundary, and is bounded on the east by Cherry and Laporte Townships, on the South by Shrewsbury Township, and on the west by Hillsgrove and Elkland Townships. The name Forks was derived from the settlement made at the forks of the Big Loyalsock and Little Loyalsock creeks. This settlement was known as the Settlement at the Forks, and when the township was organized, the name Forks was given.
SURFACE AND DRAINAGE
Forks has three elevations reaching a height of nearly two thousand feet in some places. The southwestern portion of the township forms the first elevation and has a northern slope toward the Big Loyalsock creek. The second elevation lies near the central section of the township and forms the watershed between the Big and the Little Loyalsock creeks. The third elevation lies in the northern section of the township and is an elevated plateau which is broken by Lick creek, Black creek and their tributaries.
The southern section of the township is drained by the Big Loyalsock with its small tributaries, the largest being Ketchem Run and Double Run. The central and northern sections are drained by the Little Loyalsock creek and its tributaries. The principal southern tributary being Rock Run. The northern tributaries are Black creek; Lick creek with its tributaries, Trout Run and the Level Branch; and the Big Bottom Run. The waters of Forks Township reach the Susquehanna River at Montoursville, where the Loyalsock unites with the West Branch.
The northern elevation or plateau with the valleys containing the streams is of red shale formation and is very fertile, being well adapted to grazing and the growth of cereals and fruit. The central and southern elevations are of conglomerate formation, and a large portion of this soil is not tillable.
Coal is found on the southern elevation, the mines known as the Mercur mines have been operated for the local trade for many years. Near the Cherry Township line on the central elevation, known as Jordan Hill, a small vein of coal has been discovered. Iron, copper and gray limestone is also found, but not in paying quantities.
PRODUCTS AND INDUSTRIES
Agriculture and stock raising are the most important industries. Many fine farms are located in
the northern and central sections of the township. Lumbering has been an important industry
since the early settlers located along the Loyalsock. In the early days lumber was rafted down
the Loyalsock and in recent years the lumber has been floated down in the logs; a large splash
dam, having been built for this purpose, is located in the southwestern corner of the township.
Small sawmills are located at Millview, Campbellville, East Forks and Big Bottom Run, the lumber
being shipped by rail from Dushore and New Albany.
Editor's Note: By the year 2005, entrepreneurs from New York, Philadelphia and New Jersey were buying up the old farms for summer homes
and hunting camps, while others bought local businesses for "second careers" or to facilitate moving to the country. See a good example at
The Forksville General Store.
The first road located in what is now Forks Township was called the Courson road. It commenced at the foot of the Allegheny Mountain on Muncy creek, crossing near Hunter’s Lake to the Forks of the Loyalsock creeks, and was a mere footpath or pack horse road. It was cut out in 1793 to enable Samuel Wallace, of Muncy, who was surveying lands on the Loyalsock, to carry supplies to his surveyors. This was the road by which the first permanent settlers reached Forks Township. In 1800 the Genesee road, built through Elkland Township, came near the northwestern corner of the township and some of the early settlers reached Forks by that road. In 1810 the Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike was built through what is now Sullivan County. This road went through the northeastern corner of the township and a large number of the early settlers reached Forks by this route. A road leading up the Loyalsock from Hillsgrove to Millview was cut out at an early date. This road made it necessary to ford the creek many times.
The people of Forks Township are principally of English, German and Irish descent. The English were the first to locate and came in by the way of Muncy. The Germans came in next by way of the Turnpike, locating in the northern section. The Irish followed later. These three nationalities, which have been the most prominent in the history of Pennsylvania, have produced a class of citizens who are progressive, industrious and honest, with a high standard of morality and religion. The population of Forks Township in 1900 was 813 inhabitants.
The first to invade the primeval forest of what is now Forks Township, were not permanent settlers, but came to hunt and fish, because game was plenty. Captain Brown, an Indian fighter, built a cabin on lands now owned by Isaac Rogers below Forksville. A man named Miller lived on the opposite side of the creek. A man named Strong located at Millview, and the run crossing the public road at Millview is called Strong’s Run. These settlements however, were not of a permanent character; they were probably made about 1789 or 1790.
Under the laws of Pennsylvania land could be purchased at six and two-thirds cents per acre from 1792 to 1814. To this amount was added the cost of the warrant and survey. Although the law allowed only a four hundred acre tract to be sold to a single individual, buyers evaded it by buying under different warrant names. The Indians had been driven away during the wars a few years previous, and under those favorable circumstances capitalists made haste to secure large tracts of land.
Samuel Wallace, of Muncy, took a number of warrants to locate on the Loyalsock creek. The surveying
was done mostly in 1793. William Molyneux was with a party of surveyors.
At this time the land embraced in Sullivan County belonged to Northumberland County;
Lycoming County, which took in the territory, was organized in 1796. Mr. Wallace
on completing his surveys sold a large body of land to Joseph Priestly, Jr. and John Vaughn.
These gentlemen, in company with some other Englishmen, contemplated to start a colony
on the Loyalsock. The English people were coming to America in large
numbers and an effort was to be made to induce those to locate in this
section. The project was however abandoned by all but Mr. Priestly,
who did all he could to establish a colony.
In 1794 he sent William Molyneux, Powell Bird and John Warren to make a clearing at the
forks of the Loyalsock. They cleared about two acres and built a log cabin near the present
location of the M.E. Church at Forksville
The first permanent settlers were William Molyneux, John Warren and Powell Bird.
William Molyneux came to where Millview is now located, in 1794, accompanied by Powell Bird,
and built a house. They returned to Northumberland, and later Molyneux returned to England
to get his family. The next spring John Warren came with his family and moved into the
Molyneux house until he could build one of his own on the land above the
Molyneux tract, on the farm now owned by Samuel B Kilmer; this was in 1795.
William Molyneux and Powell Bird brought their families in the fall of the same year. Traditions
differ slightly as to the manner in which these locations were made, but those who have
made a careful study of the subject give this as the manner in which these first
locations were made, which were the first permanent settlements made in what is now Sullivan County.
William Molyneux, who settled at Millview as above stated, and whose descendants
form a very large portion of the population of western Sullivan County at
present, was the descendant of a prominent family of warriors in English history.
Mrs. Nellie Z. (Rice) Molyneux, of Syracuse, N.Y. who is at present writing a history of
the Molyneux family, has traced it back to 1027. The name has been spelled in numerous
ways, Mullins, Mulins, Mulinex, Molyneux, Molyneaux and Mollineaux.
In 1027 we find Robert Molyneux, lord of Sefton; his sons, William and Vivian Molyneux, were in the first expedition of King William, the conqueror. Vivian Molyneux was given the lordship of Sefton soon after the return of the Normans. Beatrice de Villers was the Morganatic wife of King John. Richard Molyneux, a general in the English army, distinguished himself in the French wars, in 1445. Thomas Molyneux fought under Edward Fourth, and was knighted July 24, 1483. William Molins or Molyneux came to Massachusetts on the Mayflower in 1620, with two children, Joseph and Priscilla. Priscilla was very fair and a sweet faced girl. Captain Miles Standish (also a descendant of the Molyneux family, his mother being Bridget Molyneux, a daughter of Sir Richard Molyneux, who was knighted in 1367, under the Black Prince) wanted to make her Mrs. Standish. He got bashful John Alden, who was about her age, to intercede for him. Priscilla said to John, "Why don’t you speak for yourself, John?" She married Alden and had eleven children. The incident of this courtship is the foundation for Longfellow’s poem, "The Courtship of Miles Standish." William Molyneux, a patriotic merchant of Boston, took an active part in the destruction of tea at Boston in 1770-72.
There is an English and an Irish branch of the family. In the Irish branch there were also a number of men of note. Both branches have a family crest. The descendants of these two branches are numerous in England, Ireland, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Long Island, Oregon, Dakota, Indiana, Minnesota, Michigan, Wisconsin and Missouri.
William Molyneux, the pioneer, had a more dangerous foe to face on his return to England for his family than the wild beasts, which were numerous in the wilderness where he had located his log cabin. He had been pressed into the English marine service and escaped, and was liable to arrest on his return. He was a weaver by trade and with his wife and four children, lived near the city of Manchester, previous to coming to America. He had gone to the city to purchase material for his business, and after starting home, was seized by what was known as the press gang, and forcibly conveyed to a man-of-war, then lying in the harbor. The ship soon after crossed the Atlantic. Mr. Molyneux had not been allowed even to visit his own family, and smarting under the injustice of his censure, he sought a chance to escape. One dark and stormy night while the ship was lying at anchor in the Chesapeake Bay, he sprang overboard and swam ashore, came to Northumberland, where he joined the surveying party on the Loyalsock. On reaching Philadelphia he shipped as a sailor, and returned to England for his family. Soon after reaching Liverpool, the authorities made an attempt to arrest him, but he succeeded to elude them, and on reaching home found that his wife and an infant daughter who had been born after his seizure had died. Taking his sons John and Thomas and daughter Elizabeth, another son Edward remaining on a farm in England, he took them to Liverpool and put them on board a ship bound for America, and he again shipped as a sailor. Before the vessel started, officers came aboard the ship to arrest him, he feigned insanity and the officers failed to recognize him; without further molestation he again reached America, which was to him indeed a land of the free.
He brought his three children to the house he had erected in the wilderness and cleared up
his farm, on which he lived for fifty three years, and on which he died at the age of eighty-eight.
The Molyneux are frugal, industrious, temperate and of strong religious and political convictions.
The William Molyneux children were:
John, of Millview
Elizabeth married William Snell;
Edward, of Millview
Thomas, of Millview
John Molyneux was born in England, April 30, 1786, and came to America
with his father in 1795, locating on his father’s farm. He was married to Martha
Sadler, who was a native of England being born in 1805. Mr. Molyneux died October 23,
1861, and his wife on Sept. 12, 1871. Their children were:
Mary, married Reuben Rogers, died September 2, 1872
William, of Millview
Thomas, of Millview
Samuel, veteran of Civil war, died July 2, 1863
Helen M. married Samuel. B. Birdsall, of Portland, Oregon
Jane married George H. Luke, of Portland, Oregon
Eliza Ann, married Joseph Pardoe, died Apr. 13, 1882
Martha, died February 15, 1867
Edward Molyneux was born in England, April 16, 1789. He did not come to America with his father,
but remained in England until he reached his majority, when he joined the family
in America. He located on the hill near Millview, on the farm
now owned by his son David Molyneux. In 1841, July 11, he was married to Rebecca Bird,
a daughter of Powell and Lydia Bird, of Millview. She was born
Jan 1, 1797, at Millview, and died July 24, 1882. Mr. Molyneux died March 2, 1872.
Their children were:
John, deceased, of Overton;
James, deceased, of Overton;
Mary, deceased, married Jos. W. Pardoe, of Elkland.
Lydia, married Jonas Bedford, of Minnesota;
Margaret, deceased, married Thos. Pardoe, of Elkland
George, deceased, of Forks Township;
Jessie, of Michigan
Easter Ellen married Vincent Woodhead, of Elkland
Ann, married Abram Vough, dec’d, of Forks
Joel L., of Millview
Sarah married twice: J.P. McCarty, Daniel Waters, of Hudson, Iowa
Editor's Note: For some reason, this source has failed to list David Molyneux, known to be a son of
Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux. He was born February 26, 1826 and died June 19, 1920. Here is a photo of David with his first wife,
Hannah Norton, born January 9, 1842 and died March 9, 1877, with an excerpt from a biographical piece:
David and Hannah (Norton) Molyneux Husband and Wife Source: Ginger Ziel Great great granddaughter of
Edward Molyneux, father of David Molyneux
Here are two more photos from Ginger Ziel showing the brothers David and Joel Molyneux, and other members of their family. The first photo shows the brothers with two of their sisters, Ann
and Sarah; the second, the same sisters with the respective wives of Joel and David. The third shows David and four of his siblings.
David and Joel Molyneux With sisters: Ann (Molyneux) Vough and Sarah (Molyneux) McCarty Waters Note that Sarah was married twice.
Front: Ann and Sarah Back: Susan (Wickham) Molyneux, third wife of David, and Elvira (McCarty) Molyneux, wife of Joel Source: Ginger Ziel
Five Molyneux Siblings With Birth Years and Married Names Back l to r: Sarah M. McCarty (1837), Ann M. Vough (1832) Front: l to r: Joel L. (1835), Jesse (1829), David (1826)
Source: Ginger Ziel
David Molyneux was born in Forks Township, Feb. 26, 1826. He was a son of Edward and Rebecca (Bird)
Molyneux. Edward Molyneux was a son of William Molyneux, the first settler in Sullivan County.
In 1814 he married Rebecca Bird and located on the farm near Millview now owned
by David Molyneux, the subject of this sketch. David Molyneux was married three times.
In 1863, Nov. 25, he was married to Hannah Norton, a daughter of Charles Norton. She
was born in 1842, and died March 9, 1877. In 1879, he was married to Elizabeth Webster,
who was born in Elkland Township, July 13, 1850. She was a daughter of Jonathan Webster.
In 1897 he was married to Susan Wickham, of Forksville, a daughter of Selah Wickham, of
Monroeton, Bradford County, PA. Mr. Molyneux has been very successful in life and in
addition to the original Edward Molyneux homestead has purchased considerable real
estate. He has always taken an active and leading part in local affairs and has
held numerous offices, having been elected assessor, road commissioner, justice
of the peace, etc. The children by the first wife were: William M., Oscar N., of Forks;
Frank N., of North Dakota; Herbert L., of Millview; Carl H., died in 1877. By
the second wife: Hattie F., Harley C., and Dean W.
Source: Wilsey Online Genealogy.
Thomas Molyneux was born in England in 1791, and came with his father to Millview in 1795,
he built a gristmill near Millview, which was destroyed by fire; he
then built a large stone dam, and a gristmill and sawmill, about 1847, both
mills burned about a year later, and not being able to rebuild, he went to
Wisconsin, where he died February 28, 1861. In 1790 he married Hanna Rogers,
who died October 30, 1848. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux were born:
Joseph, deceased, of Nebraska
Henry, deceased, of Iowa
Margaret A., dec’d, married Chas. Snell, dec’d, of Nebraska
Sarah P., dec’d, married Powell Bird, of Millview
Rachael, dec’d, married Stephen D. Goff, of Wisconsin
Harriet, dec’d, married Chas. Bird, of Forks
Enoch F., of South Dakota
Amanda J. married Arsel E. Tallman, of Missouri
Lucinda married Stephen D. Goff, of Wisconsin.
John Warren came from Liverpool, England, with his wife Mary (Ward) Warren. Mr. Warren came by the way of Muncy over the mountains by Websters, reaching the Loyalsock at Hillsgrove. It is said that in coming up the creek from the latter place to the Molyneux clearing, they crossed the creek thirteen times. A daughter was born to Mr. and Mrs. Warren at Websters, between Muncy and Hillsgrove, as they moved in, in the spring of 1795. The father and oldest child Sarah came on, leaving the mother and babe for a few weeks, then went and brought them up. Mr. Warren located on lands above the Molyneux tract on the farm now owned by S.B Kilmer. Mr. and Mrs. Warren had four sons and seven daughters: Sarah; Jane; Joseph; Mary; John; Hannah and Elizabeth, twins James; Josiah; Charlotte; Judith.
Powell Bird, who located on lands above the Warren farm, was one of the three first permanent settlers in what is now Sullivan County. Mr. Bird was a native of Norfolk, England, and there married Lydia Hannant. Mr. and Mrs. Bird came to America in 1793, locating at Northumberland, where they remained two years, and in the fall of 1795 came to Forks Township. A complete list of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Bird is not given, some of them probably dying in infancy. The following
list contains the names of ten daughters and two sons: Mary (Johnes), born October 12, 1775, died January 9, 1843;
George, born 1790, died July 14, 1872; Rebecca, (Molyneux), born January 1, 1797, died July 24, 1882;
Sarah (Bennett); Ruth (Bennett); Lydia (Urous, or Yours); Eleanor (Bull), died in 1862; Esther; Phillipi (Cropley);
Elizabeth (Summers); Naomi; and Robert.
Editor's Note: In My Boyhood Days on a Sullivan County Farm (Now and Then, July 1951), H. Delbert Bird, great grandson of Powell Bird, described growing up on a local farm and also comments on his recollections and passed down information on the
Bird and Molyneux families of yore who first settled in the area.
George Bird was born in Norfolk, England, and came with his Parents to America in 1793, and to the wilderness of Forks Township in 1795. He located on his father’s farm, and married Sally King, who was born in England. Their children were Phoebe, born November 23, 1813, died November 19, 1899, married Jos. Fawcett, of Elkland township; Charles, born June 21, 1824, died October 15, 1897; William born July 2, 1826, died February 20, 1828; George C., of Elkland, born February 15, 1829; Ann, born August 10, 1832, died March 21, 1879; John K., born November 27, 1837, lives on homestead.
Powell Bird was a son of George and Sally (King) Bird. He was born January 16, 1815, in Forks Township, and located on a farm near the Bird homestead. In 1839 he married Sarah P. Molyneux, a daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Rogers) Molyneux. She was born August 1, 1820, at Millview, PA. To Mr. and Mrs. Bird were born: Hannah, born July 7, 1840, died November 28, 1860; Manoah T., born December 16, 1842; Lucy, born March 13, 1846; Mary, born August 28, 1854, died February 17, 1881, married William Gibbs.
Charles Bird was born at Millview in 1824, and located on a tract of land near the Bird homestead, which he cleared up. In 1845, he married Harriet Molyneux, a daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Rogers) Molyneux, who was born at Millview, January 12, 1825. To Mr. and Mrs. Bird were born five children: Oliver H., of Forks; Ruth, married George Rinebold, of Forks; William of Overton; Adaline, married James Ferrell, of Forks; Angeline, married Lewis McCarty, of Forks.
Thomas Huckell, while in his native land England, married Sarah Ann Lambert, also a native of that country.
They came to America locating first at Northumberland. In 1797 Mr. Huckell purchased of
Mr. Priestly four hundred acres of land lying on both sides of the Loyalsock, where Forksville
is now located. Mr. Huckell lived only one year after locating at the Forks, and his widow,
being unable to pay the balance of the purchase money due on the property, surrendered to Mr.
Priestly that portion of the tract lying on the south side of the creek, where the business portion
of the town of Forksville is now located. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Huckell were: Benjamin, w
ho died in England; Sarah, married G. Lyon; William, of Kansas; Ann married J. Bahl; Catharine,
married Thomas Raper *; John of Forksville; Mary, married J. Rogers; Harriet, married William Bahen. * Editor's Note: Her husband was actually named John Raper. Catherine (Huckell) Raper
(1783-1867) is buried in the Pleasant Hill Cemetery in Hughesville, Lycoming, PA, along with many
other members of her Raper extended family.
John Huckell was born in England and came to Forks with his father and located on his mother’s farm on reaching his majority. He married Helen Little, a daughter of Daniel Little. To Mr. and Mrs. Huckell were born Benjamin, who died when young; Sarah Ann, married J.L. Snyder, of Forksville; Daniel T., dec’d, of Forksville; Elizabeth, dec’d married Thomas Molyneux of Millview.
Samuel Rogers- The Rogers family has been traced back to 1031. They were probably Norman French, who went to England with William the Conqueror, and settled there. They are noted for their intelligence and strong religious convictions. Aaron Rogers, a merchant of Rome, fled to England in 1300, on account of religious persecution. He was the great grandfather of the martyr, John Rogers, who was burned at the stake at Paul’s Cathedral, Smithfield, England, Feb. 4, 1555. He gave the first translation of the Bible in the English language. The copy of the Bible he had with him when he was burned is preserved in New York City.
There is a family crest, or coat of arms, containing a star and helmet. The motto, "Nos Nostraque Deo," means ourselves and our possessions to God. The name Rogers, means fame or glory.
One branch, Thomas Rogers and family, came over on the Mayflower, and located in Connecticut. Among the records of Lancaster County, PA, are found the names of a number of Rogers’ families, who were located in Hanover Township in said County. The records show a will of Robert Rogers, Jr.; who died in 1745; his will was executed in 1744. Seth Rogers died in 1758; his will was executed in 1750. In the recorder’s office are a number of deeds recorded, of Rogers’ families. Among the names of the gentlemen, the names of Richard, William, Samuel and Andrew occur frequently, and among the names of the ladies the names of Martha, Ann and Margaret occur frequently.
Samuel Rogers was born in Barmley, near Leeds, Yorkshire, England, in 1760, and came to America in 1801. The oldest son Samuel had preceded him about a year. He found employment at Philadelphia, and about the time his parents were ready to embark for America, he leased a farm in Philadelphia County to provide a home for the family. On their arrival they located on his farm weary from a three-month’s journey on the ocean, during which time they had a lost a child. After the family was located, Mr. Rogers came to the Loyalsock settlement and purchased of Mr. Priestly one hundred and twenty-four acres of land where the town of Forksville is now located, or that Part of it on the south side of the Big Loyalsock. Mr. Rogers purchased the land at two dollars and fifty cents per acre on five years time without rent or interest. He and his son Jonathan, a lad sixteen years of age, then commenced clearing and built a cabin, into which the family was brought in the spring of 1802. At that time there were ten children living, as follows, four having died in infancy: Samuel, born De. 6, 1782; Joseph, born Aug. 1, 1784; Jonathan, born Oct. 7, 1785; John, born Feb. 11, 1787; William, born March 17, 1788; Hannah, born Feb. 13, 1790; Richard, born July 15, 1791; David, born Jan. 17, 1793; Benjamin, born Sept. 28, 1797; Reuben, born Dec. 3, 1798.
About this time settlements were also being made in the vicinity of Eaglesmere and Elkland Township, and began to assume an important place in the affairs of Lycoming County, and an effort was made in 1802 to organize a new township out of the northern portion of Muncy Township. The boundaries called for in the petition embraced the entire territory included in Sullivan County, the lines extending some distance south and west of our boundary. The court granted the new township, and it took the name of Shrewsbury. For a short period therefore, our entire County was within Shrewsbury Township. A little later Elkland township was struck off, and an effort was made to get better roads to the locations where settlements had been made.
In 1808 an election district was made of the territory embracing all of this County. The place appointed for holding the election was the house of William Molyneux. On March 29, 1808, Edward J. Eldred, was appointed Justice of the Peace of the third district of the County of Lycoming, which embraced all of what is now Sullivan County and in addition five townships of Lycoming County.
The following is a list of the taxables embraced within the third district at that time. These taxables were confined mostly to the settlements at Millview, Forks, Elkland and Eaglesmere:
John Ball;Francis Ball
John Bingley;Francis Boyles
John Brown;John Coney
Peter Dominick;Edw. J. Eldred
Jas. Ecroid;Jos. Hoagland, Sr.
John Hoagland;A. Hoagland
Jos. Hoagland, Jr.;Jesse Hanes
Ezra Hanes;Jonathan Hartley
John Hackett;John Hill
Edward Jones;William King
Joel McCarty;Chas. Mullen
P. Mullen, Jr;Aaron Patterson
Sylvanus Parker;A. Parker
Joseph Reeves;William Russell
William Snell;R. Sample
Webster Wymen;Richard White
Powell Bird;Joel Bennett
Adam Derr;John G. Holmes
Nathan Howell;John Little
Daniel Little;Theoph. Little, Sr.
Theop. Little, Jr;Thomas Little
James Powers;Tobias Little
Robert Lambert;William Molyneux
George Edkin;John Molyneux
Saml. Rogers, Sr.;John Rogers
Richard Taylor;David Richart
An error was made in publishing the (Editor’s Note: previous) list of children of Samuel Rogers. The list was taken from a public record of historical sketches, written by a gentleman intimately acquainted with a number of the older members of the Rogers families. The list contained the names of ten children of Samuel Rogers who were living at the time of his locating on the Loyalsock.
Samuel Rogers was married in England to Ann Grant. They were the Parents of eighteen children, thirteen were living at one time, and the four last named in the following corrected list were born after the family had located at Forksville. Samuel, born Dec. 6, 1782, of Forksville, later of Muncy, died Feb. 7, 1857; Joseph, born Aug. 1, 1784, located on Lycoming Creek, died April 3, 1847; Jonathan, born Oct. 7, 1785, of Forksville, died 1830; John, born Feb. 11, 1787, of Forksville, died in 1858; William, born Mar. 17, 1788, located in Wisconsin, died in 1872; Hannah, born Feb. 13, 1790, married Thomas Molyneux, of Millview, died 1848; Richard, born July 15, 1791, located in Lycoming County, died in 1875; David, born in January, 1793, located at Hillsgrove, died in 1840; Abraham, born in 1794; Elizabeth, born in 1795, died in 1795; Martha, born in 1796, died in 1796; Benjamin, born in 1997, located at Hillsgrove, later in New Jersey, died in 1851; Reuben, born Dec. 3, 1798; Jacob, born in 1800, died in 1801; George, born in 1802, died in 1802; Isaac, born in 1804, located in Bradford County, died in 1859; Moses, born in 1806, located at Forksville, died in 1879; Mary Ann, born in 1808, of Forksville, died in 1835.
Worlds End State Park Forksville, PA Twentieth
Century Postcard Photo Note: Just North of This Location, the
Original Settlers Established Their Woolen Goods Industry on the Loyalsock
Photo contributed by Scott W. Tilden Original Auctioned on eBay in
In 1810, a very important manufacturing industry was established at the present site of
Forksville, by the Rogers family. Shortly after Samuel Rogers, Sr., had located at Forksville
in 1802, his son Samuel engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods in New Castle County,
Delaware. After he had become established in the business, his brothers Jonathan and
William joined him. The family were engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods in
England, and the sons had obtained a practical knowledge of working power looms and
were among the first to introduce them in the states of Delaware and Pennsylvania. Prior
to this date, nearly all woolen goods were spun and woven by hand. By the United States
census of 1810, three hundred and twenty-five thousand handlooms were reported. As a
rule each family did their own spinning and weaving. Their knowledge of improved machinery
enabled Rogers Brothers to reap a good profit from their business in Delaware. They
finally resolved to build a mill on the Loyalsock. They first built a sawmill and afterward
a woolen factory and seven dwelling houses. Jonathan and William took charge of the new
business and Samuel remained at New Castle in charge of the business there until it
was closed out in 1813. This factory not only gave employment to settlers, but established ready
communication with the neighboring settlements, and enabled the inhabitants to obtain necessary
supplies of merchandise from Philadelphia. When the war of 1812 came on, they
entered into a contract with the Government to furnish kersey cloth for the army.
Several teams were constantly employed in transporting their fabrics to Philadelphia
and bringing back the raw material.
Rogers Woolen Mill Dye Kettle Original Device Preserved and Located Outside the Sullivan County Historical Society and Museum Laporte, PA
Photo courtesy of Larry Pardoe
This woolen factory continued in successful operation until 1816, when a big flood *
occurred in the Loyalsock, which swept away all of the buildings. So thorough was the work of destruction
that nothing remained but a log imbedded in the ground. This loss resulted in the separation of the
Rogers family and the abandoning of the woolen manufacturing business on the Loyalsock for ten years. * Editor's Note: In September 2011, Tropical Storm Lee parked over central Pennsylvania and upstate New York. Sullivan County did not escape the downpour and
many feared that the Forksville Covered Bridge would fall. Let Deb Wilson tell the story, in word and photo:
The flooding made me think of a passage in the George Streby History of Forks Township & Forksville Boro.
where he writes of a long ago Forksville flood in the year 1816....when a great flood came to the Loyalsock and swept away every single building. I know there have been countless floods in Forksville between 1816 and 2011, but I wonder if any of them were comparable to these two floods?
Anyway, many prayers were answered when the Forksville Covered Bridge (which didn't exist in 1816), withstood
the flood waters and remained strong and sturdy, spanning the Loyalsock Creek. Here is a photo, taken September 8, 2011.
Forksville Covered Bridge in Flood Forksville, PA September 8, 2011
Photo courtesy of Deb Wilson
Samuel Rogers, the second, became an enterprising businessman in the West Branch Valley, but never invested in any business enterprise in Sullivan County after the flood. He married Mary Akroyd, a daughter of his father’s sister Margaret, who came with her husband to the Forks when the woolen mill was in operation, and afterward moved to Muncy. To Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Rogers were born eight children: Mary, married Mr. Woodley; Margaret, married Mr. Winchell; Jacob; Samuel; Elizabeth, married Mr. Vandyke; Richard G.; Jeremiah A: George H. Soon after the loss of the woolen factory, Samuel Rogers and his brother Jonathan purchased a mill property, consisting of a gristmill and a sawmill at Muncy, to which they added a woolen mill. This property, after being operated about ten years, was destroyed by fire, and the brothers dissolved partnership. In 1854, the sons of Samuel Rogers established a woolen factory on Bar Creek near the Southern boundary of Sullivan County. Samuel Rogers died in 1857.
Joseph Rogers married Hannah Carlyle and settled on Lycoming creek. The family is scattered through the western states.
Jonathan Rogers engaged in business with his brother Samuel, as stated, until 1826, when he returned to the Forks and purchased of his father sixteen acres of land below the town of Forksville, where he erected a woolen mill, which he operated until the time of his death in 1830, after which the property was purchased by John Osler, and is now owned by John R. Fleming. Mr. Rogers married Elizabeth Snell, Sept. 29, 1810, and their children were: Sarah, married Ellis Bryan, of Lycoming County; Ann, married C.B. Wright, of Canton; Mary, married Mr. Fowler, of Wilkes-Barre; William, of Lycoming County; David, moved away; Benjamin, of New Jersey; Jonathan, of Lincoln Falls; Richard, said to have been killed in the Canadian war.
John Rogers married Sarah Lambert, and after her death he married Sarah Huckell. He purchased lands of his father and located at Forksville. His children were Joseph, of Campbellville; Rebecca, married Peter Little, of Iowa; George, of Iowa; Reuben, of Campbellville, later of Iowa; Ezra, of Forks; Thomas, of Hamilton, N.Y.
Moses Rogers located on his father’s farm, where the town of Forksville is now located. He married Jane Sadler. Three of his sons, William, Samuel S. and J.W., were in the Civil war. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Moses Rogers were: Zilphia, married John Fleming, of Forksville; Samuel S., of Elkland; Moses Austin, of Forksville; Isaac, of Forksville; William, killed May 2, 1864, in the Civil war; Mary Jane, married Jas. Black, and later married Chas. Weeks; J.W., of Forksville.
Theophilus Little, Jr. located on lands below the Forks at an early date. The Littles are of Scotch Irish descent. They came from England to Monmouth County, New Jersey, about the year 1700. The descendants later being identified in the Revolutionary struggle, two of them being commissioned officers. Theophilus Little Sr., the father of the subject of this sketch, came to Lewis Lake, (now Eaglesmere) in 1799, and purchased three thousand acres of land. He had six sons; the second son Daniel, came to Lewis Lake in 1804, the other members of the family followed later. On making the survey of the lands it was found that there was not the required three thousand acres remaining in the vicinity of the lake and Mr. Little was induced by Joseph Priestly, of whom he purchased the land, to take a four-hundred acre tract about a mile below the Forks. Upon this tract Theophilus Little, Jr., located. He was born in New Jersey, Dec. 2, 1776. He married Elizabeth Holmes, who was a descendant of Thomas Holmes, who was surveyor general to William Penn, and laid out the city of Philadelphia. He was at one time acting Governor of Pennsylvania. The exact date of Mr. Little’s locating on the Loyalsock cannot be given. He was married January 17, 1809, and died Jan. 26, 1862. Mrs. Little survived her husband until March 29 of the same year, when she Passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Little were born: Mariah, born Nov. 2, 1809; David H., born April 17, 1811; Benjamin, born Dec. 25, 1812; Anna, born June 22, 1815, died Nov. 1829; Clementine, born May 10, 1817; John P., born May 19, 1820; Josiah, born Dec. 23, 1822; Louisa, born March 18, 1825; Daniel, born May 5, 1827.
Benjamin Little located on the portion of his father’s farm now owned by his son, Asa G. Little. He married Faith A. Grange, a daughter of John and Jane (Midgely) Grange, who came from Yorkshire, England, to America, locating in Elkland in 1818. Mrs. Little was born Feb. 3, 1817, and was married Aug. 17, 1848. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Little were: Emma, died when 14 years of age: David F., died at the age of 3 years; Selestia B., married Joseph Y. Rothrock, dec’d, of Forksville; Isaac M., of Forks; Asa G., of Forks.
John P. Little married Martha H. Edkin, May 4, 1848. Mrs. Little was born Oct. 23, 1827, and died Dec. 26, 1889. John P. Little located on a portion of his father’s farm, now owned by Isaac M. Little. He built a sawmill and was engaged in lumbering for a number of years, rafting his lumber down the Loyalsock creek. About twenty-five years ago he sold out and moved to Picture Rocks, where he died Jan. 17, 1904. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Little were: Mary E., married Michael Ferrell, of Picture Rocks; George E of Picture Rocks, PA; Sarah J., dec’d, married S.R. Sproutt, of Montrose, PA, William H., of Picture Rocks; Joanna E., married C.N. Molyneux of Picture Rocks.
The Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike, which went through the northeastern section of Forks township and through Overton township, Bradford County, gave the early settlers an excellent opportunity to locate in that section. About 1820 a road was opened from the settlement at New Albany, Bradford County, to the Overton settlement and thence to the Millview settlement, connecting there with roads leading to Muncy, PA.
The early settlers of the northeastern section of Forks Township were mostly of German descent. Daniel Heverly a native of Lehigh County built a section of the Turnpike and located in Overton Township in 1810, being the first settler in what is now known as Overton Township. He was followed by Frederick Kissel, a German stonecutter, and in 1820 by his son-in-law Leonard Streby.
Christian Heverly was born in Lehigh County in 1800, and came to Overton with his Parents, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Heverly. In 1819 he married Hanna Warren, of Millview, and began life for himself on a tract of land lying Partially in Forks and Partially in Overton Township. The farm was divided, later the portion in Forks was given to Mr. Heverly’s son Leroy, and was later owned by Eli Conklin, and recently by A.C. Heverly. Mrs. Heverly died in 1821. The remains were taken to the Warren cemetery for interment on an ox-sled, the roads being too rough to travel with a wagon. In November 1822, Mr. Heverly married Martha Kilmer, of Fox Township, Sullivan County. She was born Feb 16, 1801 and died June 15, 1873. Mr. Heverly died Dec. 27, 1860. Mr. Heverly had one child by his first wife and five children by his second wife, as follows: William, born in 1820; Hanna, born 1825, married Samuel Annable; Martha, born 1828, married Myron Annable; Catharine, born 1830, married Horatio Ladd; Celinda, born 1833, married Edward Rinebold; Christian Leroy, formerly of Forks, now of Stevenson, Albany township, Bradford County.
Henry Heverly, the youngest child of Daniel Heverly, was born in Lehigh County, PA, Nov. 24, 1803, and came to Overton with his Parents. In 1823, Mr. Heverly married Rosina Kilmer, of Fox Township, Sullivan County, and located on a farm on the Turnpike in Forks Township, now owned by the William Hottenstein heirs. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Heverly were: Hanna, born Jan 1, 1824, married John Molyneux, of Overton; Henry born April 2, 1827, of Cherry Township; William born July 9, 1839, of Forks Rosina, born July 3, 1832, married Reuben Camp, of Kansas; Angeline, born Sept 23, 1836, married William Hottenstein of Forks; Hester Ann, born Feb. 14, 1840, married J.M. Heacock of Dushore; A.C., born Nov. 9, 1845, of Forks Township.
Amasa Heverly, a son of John Heverly, and a grandson of Daniel Heverly, and Samuel Annable located on the farms later purchased by F. Osthaus. Mr. Heverly later moved to Albany Township and Mr. Annabale to Canton, PA.
Jacob Sherman located in Forks, with his son Peter, in about 1825 on the farm now owned by C.S. Hottenstein. Jacob Sherman’s father’s name was also Jacob; he was a captain in the Revolutionary war. The Shermans are of French descent. Jacob Sherman, the subject of this sketch came from Beaver Valley, Columbia Co, and worked on the Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike about 1818-20, and settled on the Turnpike east of the Loyalsock, near Sherman’s run which was named in his honor. Later he moved to Forks. It is said Mr. Sherman died at the age of 112 years. The children of Jacob Sherman were: John, who went West; Eliza, married Christian Hunsinger of Cherry; Rebecca, married Dan Galough, of Forks, later of Lycoming County; Mary, married Joseph Hunsinger; Susan, married Joseph Coughman; Thomas, of Lycoming County; Henry of Forks, later of Overton; Peter, of Forks married Jacob Payne, of Forks.
Peter Sherman married Eliza Mace, a daughter of Isaac Mace, of Columbia County, and located with his father in Forks Township, as stated heretofore. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Sherman were: Adam, of Forks; two children died in infancy.
Henry Sherman was born at Mifflin, PA; he married Catharine Hunsinger, a daughter of George Hunsinger, of Cherry, in 1823. Mr. and Mrs. Sherman came from Columbia County to the Overton settlement in 1823, remaining with Daniel Heverly, 2nd, until Mr. Sherman built a house in Forks Township near the Overton township line, where he moved his family in 1824. Mr. Sherman contracted for two hundred acres of land, about half of which was located in Forks and the balance in Overton township, where the greater portion of the village of Overton is now located. Mr. Sherman built a new house across the line in Overton Township at a later date and moved into that township. He was married twice, his first wife died in 1834 leaving seven children. In 1836 he married Elizabeth Thrasher of Cherry Township, who was the mother of seventeen children. Mr. Sherman’s children by his first wife were: George; Daniel; Henry, deceased of Overton; Amos; Mary, married Charles Brown, of Forks; Peter, dec’d, of New Albany; Jacob, of Overton. By his second marriage: Catharine, dec’d, married A.K. Woodley, of Overton; Nelson, of Overton; William, dec’d, of Forks; Loretta married A.B. Bleiler, of Forks; John, deceased; Moses, of Michigan; Caroline, dec’d, married Albert Molyneux; Andrew, of Manchester, Va; Ann of Idaho; Edward of Canton, PA; seven children died in infancy.
Richard Rowe was born in Forks Township. He was a son of Jonas and Lydia (Bird) Rowe. Mr. Rowe located on the farm where his son Ezra now lives, probably about 1830 or 1835. To Mr. and Mrs. Rowe were born: Lydia, married Warren Vough, deceased, of Forks; Emma, married B.P. Hunsinger, of Dushore; Ezra, of Forks; a number of children died in infancy.
John Warburton was born at Chester, England, Dec. 2, 1797. He married Ann Clark, a daughter of John Clark. She was born Feb. 6, 1805, in England. They were married in 1825, and came to America in 1831, locating on the farm in Forks now owned by William W. Warburton in 1832. Mr. Warburton cleared up his farm and died there May 26, 1855. Mrs. Warburton lived with her son William until Oct. 5, 1870, when she passed away. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Warburton were: Ellen, married Henry Molyneux, of Iowa; James, of Iowa; Mary, married John Hottenstein, dec’d of Forks; Joseph, of Forks, now of Fayette Co., PA; Alice, married William Payne, dec’d of Iowa; John, wounded in the Civil war, and died in a hospital; W.W., of Forks; Eliza, died in 1841; Edwin R of Forks; A.M., of Wyalusing; R.B., of Wilkes-Barre; David, of Iowa.
Jeffery Clark came from Chester, England. He married the widow of John Vough, of Lycoming County, and located in Forks about 1830. He lived for a short time at Millview and then purchased a tract of land and cleared up the farm now owned by Charles E. Bird. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Clark were: Rev J.A., of Nebraska; Rebecca, dec’d, married Solomon J. Hottenstein, dec’d of Forks.
The children of Mrs. Clark by her first husband, John Vough were: Warren, dec’d of Forks; Martha Ann, dec’d, married Henry Bedford, of Elkland; Abram, dec’d of Forks; David, dec’d, of Forks; Eliza, married John Grange, dec’d of Elkland.
Thomas Clark came to America, from Chester, England, soon after his brother Jeffrey, and his brother-in-law, John Warburton. He was accompanied by his father, John Clark, and three sisters, Margaret, who married Charles Norton, of Elkland; Mary, who married William Brown, and Ellen, who died when a young lady. Thomas Clark married Mary Lambert, a sister of William Lambert, of Forks, and located with his father on the farm near Millview, now owned by Miss Mary Clark. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Clark had one son: William L. Clark, dec’d, of Forks.
Receipt On Behalf of Thomas Norton November 19, 2012 Forksville, PA
Photo Courtesy of Scott W. Tilden Original Sold on ebay in April 2012 The receipt was exchanged between
Norton and local merchant, Moses Austin Rogers (3/22/1833-12/1911). The
two physicians referenced in the note were Wallace Joseph Randall (2/2/1833-10/3/1881) and William Waddell, whose Obituary can be found in March 17, 1898 issue of The Sullivan Review..
Thomas Norton * was born in England, May 6, 1808, and came to America, with his brother Charles in 1830. He
was a blacksmith by trade, and purchased 100 acres of land on Norton Ridge in
Forks Township *, clearing up his farm and working at his trade.
He married Mary Bird, a daughter of George and Sally (King) Bird of Millview. She was born November 8,
1816, and died Feb. 21, 1902. To Mr. and Mrs. Norton were born: Esther, married George Schill, dec’d,
of Elkland; William, of Fox; Powell, of Forks; Emeline, died at the age of 16 years; Ira, died at the age
of one year; Lydia, married Daniel Miller, of Eldredsville, PA; Mariah, married W.S. Dieffenbach, of
Overton, PA; Washington, died at the age of 25 years; George B., of Mechanicsville, PA; James,
died at the age of 14 years. * Editor's Note: Thomas Norton died February 3, 1884 and is buried at the Bird Cemetery with his wife, Mary (Bird).
Our fellow historian, Melly Norton, tells us that Norton Ridge
is actually located in Elkland Township, not Forks, per an e-mail in October 2010.
William Sylvester (1839-1910) and Mariah (Norton) Dieffenbach (1849-1912) Grave Marker Old Methodist Church Cemetery Overton, PA Photo courtesy of June Howard October 2003 Editor's Note: He was the son of Charles and Martha Dieffenbach ("Dieffenbacher") who are both buried at Greenwood Cemetery in Elkland township, Sullivan County, PA.
Edgar (1866-1940) and Elizabeth L. (Dieffenbach) Kunes (1871-1943) Grave Marker Old Methodist Church Cemetery Overton, PA Photo courtesy of June Howard October 2003 Editor's Note: She was the daughter of William S. and Mariah Dieffenbach.
John Wanck, was a native of Germany, and came to America when 14 years of age. He remained at Northumberland for some time, and then came to Forks Township, locating near Campbellville, on the farm later owned by his son Henry Wanck, and recently sold by his heirs to M.F. Matheus. Mr. Wanck married Mary Warren, a daughter of John Warren, of Millview. To Mr. and Mrs. Wanck were born: Henry, deceased of Forks; Jane, married Solomon Mathers, a miller; Mary, married George Baden, who went West; John, deceased, of Forks; Eliza, deceased; George, deceased; Harvey, of Missouri; Hannah and Elizabeth, who died probably at the ages of 6 or 8 years.
John Wanck, was born near Campbellville. He was a son of John and Mary (Warren) Wanck. He located near Campbellville, on the farm now owned by his son George. He married Sarah Fawcett, a daughter of Henry and Sarah (Grange) Fawcett. She was born in Elkland, April 1, 1827. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wanck were; Emma, died at the age of 15 years; Arthur, deceased, of Campbellville; George, of Campbellville.
Richard Bedford was born at Yorkshire, England, Sept. 17, 1812, and came to America with his Parents, Richard and Grace (Varley) Bedford, about 1821. The family located in Vermont. In 1835 Richard Bedford, Sr., located on the farm near Campbellville, now owned by Watson Fawcett. Richard Bedford, Jr., was educated and entered the ministry of the M.E. Church, taking his first charge in 1833, and continued until 1849, when his Parents, on account of their declining years, needed his care and assistance. He therefore gave up his active work in the ministry and came to Campbellville, taking charge of his father’s farm and caring for his aged Parents. Richard Bedford, Sr., was married twice; his second wife was Lorena Waller. The children by the first wife were Richard, born Sept. 12, 1812; Hannah, born Dec. 11, 1816; Franklin, born Dec. 7, 1821, of Iowa. By his second wife: Vartley, born Sept. 14, 1826, of California; Alice, born Sept. 6, 1830, dec’d.
Richard Bedford, Jr., on locating in Sullivan County, was one of the ablest and best-educated men of Sullivan County and took a very active Part in the political, industrial and educational affairs of Sullivan County. He was elected County treasurer in 1853, the first superintendent of public schools in 1854, serving three years; associate judge in 1871, serving five years, and member of the House of Representatives in 1874, serving two years. Mr. Bedford was married to Arvilla Wheat, who was born at Rozalton, Vt., Aug. 14, 1811. The wedding took place June 28, 1838. Mrs. Bedford died Nov. 19, 1877, and Mr. Bedford on Jan. 31, 1884. To Mr. and Mrs. Bedford were born: Mary, married Powell Norton, of Campbellville; Richard Edgar, born Oct. 31, 1847, died Aug. 26, 1848; Ada, married Watson Fawcett, of Campbellville.
The Sullivan Review
13 Feb. 1879
Watson FAWCETT and Miss Ada BEDFORD, both of Campbellville, Sullivan Co., married at the W. M. Parsonage, Millview, Jan. 30th, by Rev. S. Bedford.
Mary Bedford Wife Of Powell Norton, Jr. Photo courtesy of the
Eleanor Cranmer collection
Ada Bedford Wife of Watson Fawcett Photo courtesy of the Eleanor Cranmer Collection
Joseph, Reuben and Levi Rogers, three brothers, sons of John and Sarah (Lambert) Rogers, located near Campbellville at an early date. Joseph Rogers and wife had no children and after the death of Mr. Rogers, the widow sold the farm to Arthur Wanck, dec’d, and moved to Towanda.
Levi Rogers was a single man and practiced medicine, later moving to Cherokee County, Iowa.
Reuben Rogers married Mary Molyneux, a daughter of John and Martha (Sadler) Molyneux, of Millview. Mrs. Rogers was born July 14, 1824, was married Mar. 12, 1844, and died Sept. 2, 1872. Reuben Rogers located on the farm now owned by W.R. Norton, where he remained until 1868, when he sold to Powell Norton, and went to Iowa in 1869. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Rogers were: Ezra, deceased, of Iowa; Benson J., of Quimby, Iowa; Sarah, married Miles H. Miller, of Beatrice, Neb., Martha, married S.C. Whitehouse, of Iowa; Rachael J., married F.W. Porter of Iowa.
In 1836, the construction of the North Branch Canal was commenced and a large number of Irish people came from Ireland to work on the canal. In 1840-41 a crisis came and in 1842 work was suspended altogether for want of appropriations from the State. Work was resumed in 1849 and the canal completed in 1854. Many of those working on the canal located in Bradford and Sullivan counties. The early settlements of the Irish people were made mostly between 1840 and 1855.
Dennis Corcoran, was born near Quebec, Canada. He married Mary Mahany, a native of County Cork, Ireland. Mr. Corcoran followed the public works in New York and Pennsylvania. In 1843 he came to Forks Township locating on a large farm now owned by his son John Corcoran. The children of Mr. And Mrs. Dennis Corcoran were: John, of Forks; Dennis, died at the age of five years; Michel, dec’d, of Colorado; F.P., of New Albany; James, dec’d, of Williamsport.
William O’Brien was born in County Waxford, Ireland, in 1798. He married Anastasia Fitzsimmons, of the same place. Mr. and Mrs. O’Brien emigrated to Canada about 1833, and in 1843 came to Forks Township, purchasing two hundred acres of land located Partially in Forks and Partially in Overton Townships. The homestead is now owned by Martin O’Brien. To Mr. and Mrs. O’Brien, were born: Agnes, of Rochester, N.Y.; Moses, deceased, of Duluth, Minn.; Mary, married Patrick Higgins, of Elmira, N.Y.; Martin, of Forks; William, dec’d of Colorado; Eliz, married John Garey, of Rochester, N.Y.
William, James, Michael, John and Daniel Kelly, came from County Cork, Ireland, during the famine of 1847-48. They located first in Green settlement, Cherry township, where they remained one year, then purchased a 450-acre tract of land in Forks township near Campbellville, of George Hunsinger, and 60 acres of John Green, adjoining the Hunsinger tract. William Kelly never married and the land was divided among the four other brothers.
James Kelly married Johanna Flynn, and lived on his farm until he was no longer able to manage himself, when he sold out to his son William, who sold to his brother-in-law, Michael Corcoran, who later sold to William P. Kelly. The surviving members of the James Kelly family are now nearly all in Colorado. The children of Mr. and Mrs. James Kelly were Mary, married Michael Corcoran, of Colorado; Johanna, deceased; Michael, of Pueblo, Col; William S. of Alaska; Ella, of Colorado.
John Kelly married Ann Quinn, of Bradford County, and about 1870 sold his farm to Daniel Kelly, and moved to Indiana, and later to Nebraska. The children of Mr. and Mrs. John Kelly were: Mary married Mr. Roach, of Nebraska; Timothy, deceased; Nora, of Nebraska, Ann, of Nebraska; Nicholas, of Nebraska.
Michael Kelly married Mary O’Brien, a daughter of Patrick O’Brien, a native of County Cork , Ireland. Mr. O’Brien was a soldier in Ireland previous to his coming to America, and was also a soldier in the late Civil War. The Michael Kelly farm is now owned by his son William M. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Kelly were: Nora, deceased; Michael, deceased; Ella, of St. Louis; William M., of Forks; James T., of St. Louis; Catharine; Jeremiah, deceased; Margaret.
Daniel Kelly married Mary Lahey, a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Flynn) Lahey. The farm is now owned by the heirs of Mr. Kelly. Mr. Kelly died in 1902 and Mrs. Kelly in 1898. To Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Kelly were born: William P., of Forks; Mary, married Michael Gilligan, of Bernice; Hanora, married Joseph Dunn, of Harrisburg, PA, Daniel, of Overton township, Bradford County; Ella, deceased, married Augustus Marshall, of Cherry; Katie, married William Sick, of Overton; John, died in 1903; Anna, died in 1896; Michael, of Forks; Celia; Thomas; Joseph; Agnes.
Dennis, Daniel and David Keefe, came from County Cork, Ireland, and followed public works at Ontario, Canada, in Bradford County, and also worked for some time in Virginia. In 1841 they located in Forks Township. David Keefe never married, he owned the John O’Connel farm, and lived with his brother Daniel.
Dennis Keefe settled on the farm now owned by P.J. Keefe. He married Hanora Mahany, of County Carey, Ireland. The wedding took place at Dushore. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Keefe were: Daniel, deceased; David deceased; Joseph, deceased; Mary, deceased; Anna, deceased; Julia, married Michael Finan, of Lopez; Patrick J., of Forks; James, of North Mehoopany; Dennis, of Dushore.
Daniel Keefe married Bridget Lahey, a daughter of Patrick Lahey, of Sugar Ridge, Bradford County, and settled on the farm now owned by James Fogerty. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Keefe were: Dennis, of Johnstown, PA; Julia, of Greenwood, Bradford County, PA; Katie, of Greenwood, PA; John of Towanda, PA; Patrick, deceased; Ellen, married Patrick O’Brien, of Iowa; Daniel, deceased; David, of Powell, Bradford County, PA; Thomas, of Elmira, N.Y.; Michael, deceased; Joseph, of Forks township; another son died in infancy.
Hottenstein Farmlands 2011 Kelly Hill Road, Overton, PA Gas Well Equipment in the Background
Photo Courtesy of Lyle Rockwell January 4, 2011
Gas Comes to Overton Hottenstein Farmland 2011
Photos Courtesy of Lyle Rockwell January 4, 2011
Hottenstein- The Hottensteins in Forks township are the descendants of Jacob Hottenstein, who settled at Overton in 1829, and of Henry Hottenstein, who settled in Forks township in 1847. The Hottensteins have been traced back to 380 A.D., in Austria. William Hottenstein, of Berks County, has traced the family back to the fourth century, giving a complete line of descent, of the family in Europe and America.
"The Hottenstein family is recorded in the Vienna collection of names of noble families as belonging to the nobility of the Frankish Knighthood. Their origin is traced back to the so-called Forest of Spessard, not far from Aschaffenburg, in Germany. In this forest lived already in 380 A.D., the Frankish Province Count, Reidbold Von Hottenstein. The name is derived from a hill in the forest and signifies in the old German language a holy stone or work. The origin of the name is attributed to the fact that Reidbold held annually the great, solemn court upon a large rock under a powerful oak tree. His coat of arms contained two fields, one white and the other red, signifying wisdom, imPartiality and strict justice. In the red field as well as upon the helmet was fixed a white falcon, indicating courage and eagerness for battle and beside this a count’s crown. Thus originated the coat of arms of this family, which has remained unchanged to the present day. His wife was Illseboda, a daughter of a Westphalian count. Reidbold died in 415 in high honors."
The author then traces the family down through Alfred Von Hottenstein who flourished in the year 506, Ansgar Von Hottenstein, 887, who left a son Filbert. Five of Filbert’s sons were shipwrecked during the Crusades and in 1288 the head of the family was Giselbert Von Hottenstein. His son, Hartung, became sole heir to the family castle and possessions. In 1524, the castle was demolished by the peasants during the Peasant War. Kuno Von Hottenstein, who was in the German army, alone survived. In 1527, he assisted in sacking Rome and the booty he secured revived the family fortunes. He had two sons, Nicholas and Ernst. Nicholas was also in the service of the German emperor. His descendants still flourish among the nobility of Austria. Ernst remained at Esslingen where he became mayor. He died in 1618 and left three sons who emigrated to America.
The history says:
"The three brothers arrived in Philadelphia, but the exact date has not yet been ascertained. One of them died at Philadelphia, another removed to Lancaster where his descendants still live, whilst the third, Jacob Hottenstein, settled in Oley township, Philadelphia County, now Berks. This Jacob Hottenstein was the ancestor of the Hottensteins in Sullivan County. How long he remained in Oley is not known but the records show that he moved to Maxatawney Township in 1729. There he bought a tract of 116 acres from Caspar Wistar for 40 pounds and 12 shillings sterling. He married Dorotha Reber and had four sons, Jacob, William, David and Henry, and two daughters, Dorothea and Maria. It appears that even during that time, when preachers of the gospel were so scarce, he did not neglect to give his children a good religious training. Rev. Father Muhlenberg, the venerable Lutheran minister, residing at Philadelphia, frequently came to his house on his missionary travels, to give his children catechetical instructions. The original farm on 116 acres, together with 327 additional acres, which Jacob acquired afterward, are still in possession of his descendants, the compiler of the history, William Hottenstein, occupying the original farm. His remains lie in the family graveyard on the old homestead."
The oldest son, Jacob, Jr., settled in Richmond Township. He had four daughters. William bought a farm in Cumru Township, near Reading. He had five sons, Samuel, William, Henry, Solomon and David, and four daughters, David Hottenstein, the third son of Jacob, lived in Maxatawney on the farm of his father. His issue consisted of three sons and two daughters, Jacob, David, Daniel, Catharine and Dorothea. Catharine was married to Jacob Grim, of Macungie, Lehigh County, and bore him 11 children, eight sons and three daughters. Henry, the fourth son, became a doctor in Lancaster. His only child died young. Samuel, the oldest son of William, settled near Reading. Solomon, the fourth son of William, moved to Lehigh and became the progenitor of the family in that County. He had five sons and seven daughters. The five sons were: William; Peter; Jacob, who located at Overton, PA; John; and Henry, who located in Forks township.
Jacob Hottenstein was born Jan. 1, 1799. In 1819 he married Lydia Ruth, a daughter of Christian Ruth. In 1829 he moved his wife and five children to Overton, locating on the farm now owned by his son, John C. Hottenstein. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Rottenstone were: Sarah married George Munch, of Albany township, Bradford County, PA; Caroline, married Peter Mouser, of Dushore, PA; Lydia, married Sylvester Covey, of New Albany; Mary Ann, deceased; William, deceased, of Forks township; George, of Overton, a member of Co. I, 163rd P.V., died at Andersonville prison, July 28, 1864; John C. of Overton, Corporal, Co. D., 17st P.V.; Maude, deceased; Solomon, Corporal Co. I, 163rd P.V., 18th Cavalry, died at Florence, S.C., Nov. 3, 1864.
Henry Hottenstein married Magdalene Samell, of Lehigh County. In 1847 he moved his family to Forks township, to the Sherman house, near the Overton township line, where he remained until 1850, when he purchased 100 acres of land, in the Warburton Hill school district, upon which he located. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hottenstein were: Magdalene, died in infancy; John, deceased, of Forks, was a member of Co. F. 132nd P.V. Infantry; Mary, deceased, married Joseph Warburton, of Forks; Lavina, married three times: Henry Heverly, James Heverly and Alfred Strevy, of Overton, PA; Henry, of Forks, veteran of Co. B, 7th P.V. Cavalry; Solomon, deceased, of Forks, veteran of 107th P.V. Infantry; William B., of Overton.
Isaac Bleiler was a son of Michael Bleiler, of Lehigh County. Mr. Bleiller was a wheelwright by trade and came to Forks Township in 1850, locating on Black creek near Overton, on the farm now owned by A.B. Bleiler. He married Mary Krause, also of Lehigh County. Mr. Bleiller died in 1882 and Mr. Bleiler in 1889. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bleiler were: Caroline, married Thomas Streby, of Forks; Sally, died when a young lady; Augustus B., of Forks; Franklin, of Overton; Reuben, of Overton.
Edward F. Francke was born Dec. 26, 1801, in Prussia, Germany. He married Augusta Grosskopp, who was a native of Elbe, Prussia. Mr. Francke was engaged in the mercantile business in Germany. He came to America with his family in 1854, locating on the farm now owned by his son, Edward. Mr. Francke died April 17, 1887, and Mrs.. Francke July 29, 1897. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Francke were: Jennie, married F. Osthaus, of Forks; Valeska, was killed when a young lady, by the running away of a team.
George Hunsinger was a son of George Hunsinger, Sr., who settled in Cherry Township, in 1819. George Hunsinger, Sr., lived in Berwick, Pennsylvania, from where he moved to the Genessee country in New York. Finding the country subject to fevers, he returned to Berwick and from there came to Sullivan County. As stated in the history of Colley township, there is some dispute about the origin of the family, some claming they are of French and some that they are of German descent. The older Hunsingers all spoke the German language. George Hunsinger, the subject of this sketch, while in Luzerne County married Elizabeth Haunse, of that County. The date of his coming to Sullivan County cannot be given, but he probably came soon after his father located in Cherry. Mr. Hunsinger located first near his father in Cherry, from where he moved to the McCarty Settlement in Elkland. In 1829 he purchased 450 acres of land near Campbellville, in Forks township, on which he lived for a number of years, and then sold to the Kelly brothers, and built a sawmill at Campbellville, which he sold in1860 to Mr. Frier, and went to Clearfield County, PA. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger were: Hanna, died at the age of two years; Phoebe, deceased, married John Kani, of Forks; Mary, deceased; Jerusha married William Warren, of Elkland township; George, deceased of Clearfield; Eliza Ann, died at the age of four years; Chauncy, dec’d, was a veteran of the Civil war.
Charles Hunsinger, a brother of George Hunsinger, located with his brother Samuel, on the Kaier
farm in Forks township, about 1847. Later he settled on land cleared up on the farm now
owned by Daniel K. Epler *. Mr. Hunsinger married Mary Epler, a native of Germany. Mr.
and Mr. Hunsinger had one son: Henry, of Iowa, now of Montana. * Editor's Note: See note on the Epler family connections further down
this page with the remarks on Samuel Epler.
Samuel Hunsinger was a son of George Hunsinger, Sr. He was born near Seneca Lake, New York, and came with his father to Cherry Township, in 1819. He married Sarah Brobst, of Cunningham, PA, and located first in Cherry Township, about 1847, then moved to the farm in Forks Township, now owned by John Wright. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger were Rebecca, deceased, married John Saam, of Forks; Mary deceased, married Henry Bedford, of Elkland; Anna married Levi Thrasher, of Cherry: Sally, deceased, married Joseph Kester, of Cherry; Barney P., of Cherry; Charles P., of Forks; William of Cherry; Susan, married Tillman Rinebold, of Forks; Lydia, married M.H. Sayman, of Forks; Catharine, married Oliver Bird, of Forks; Levi of Forks.
Michael Broshart was born at Bavaria, Germany, Jan. 24, 1815, and married Elizabeth Dohn, Sept. 16, 1840; she was born in 1819. In 1850 the family came to America. In 1852, located in Laporte Township, and in 1875 moved to Forks Township, on the farm now owned by M.J. Broshart. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Broshart were: Leonard, of Cherry Township; Lousia, married Nicholas Eberling, second husband, John Lambert; George, of Dushore; M.J., of Forks township; Lizzie, married Willaba Rinebold, of Forks.
William Lambert was born in Centre County, in 1820, and was a son of John and Jane (Warren) Lambert. He came to Sullivan County when 8 years of age, living with Joseph Warren, near Millview. Mr. Lambert had a brother John, who located in Illinois, and a sister who married Thomas Clark, of Forks. The Lamberts came from Derby, England. An uncle located at Forksville about 1810, when the Rogers woolen mills were in operation. Mr. Lambert married Emma Wright, a daughter of David and Ann (Green) Wright, of Forks Township. He located on a large farm now owned by George W. Lambert. Mr. and Mrs. Lambert had two children: John, deceased, of Forks; George W., of Forks.
Michael Bahl, was born at Elsets, France, now Germany, in 1819. He was a son of John and Elena (Fishwenger) Bahl, who came from Elsets, to Cherry Township, Sullivan County, about 1829. Michael Bahl married Mary Ann Windhaeuser, April 17, 1847. She was a daughter of Stephen and Regenia (Sheffmacher) Windhaeuser, who came from Germany to Cherry Township in 1843. Mr. Bahl located on the Bahl homestead in Cherry until 1854, when he moved to the farm, in Forks, now owned by his son, Henry L. Bahl. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bahl were: Edward, 1st, deceased; Mary, married Patrick Sullivan; Michael, died at the age of 18 years; Frank, of Elkland township; Catharine, married Thomas Jordan, of Tonawanda, N.Y.; Louisa, died in 1886; Caroline, of Rochester, N.Y.; Edward J., of Forks; Henry L., of Forks; George, died in 1896; William, of Forks; Leona, at home.
John H. Osler was born in Philadelphia in 1808. He is of English descent. He came to Forksville when a boy and learned the trade of wool carding, later he worked in Lycoming County, and in 1830 purchased the woolen mills near Forksville, from the Jonathan Rogers estate. Mr. Osler conducted the woolen mills with his sons until about 1888, when the property was sold to John R. Fleming. Mr. Osler died in November 1888. Mr. Osler married Jane Meyers, who was born at Huntingdon, PA The children of Mr. and Mrs. Osler were: J.M., of Elkland Township; Sarah Jane, dec’d, married Isaac Buck, of Illinois; Catharine M., married Daniel Fleming, dec’d of Elkland and later married D.T. Huckle, dec’d; John S., of Elkland township; Clay M., of Forksville; Lydia, married Perry Benfield, of Forksville; D.W., of Bryan Mills, Lycoming County; Edward R., of Galestown, Md.
James Black, was born Oct. 26, 1820, and came to Sullivan County about 1850, and in 1856 built the gristmill at Forksville, which he operated until his death. Mr. Black was married three times. His first wife was Margaret Bryan, his second wife Soloma Hoppis, and his third wife, Mary Jane Rogers, a daughter of Moses Rogers, of Forksville. Mr. Black had no children by his second wife. The children by his first wife were: Samuel, of California; Henry T., lives in the West; Martha, married James Coulter, of Muncy; Julia, married Able McCarty, of Elkland; Catharine, married James Miller, of Carthage, Ill.; James, of Carthage, Ill. By the third wife; M.R. of Forksville; Jennie, married J.D. Sely, of Osceola, Tioga County, PA, Della, married F.W. Peal, of Eaglesmere; Freddie, who died in infancy.
William Haverly was born July 9, 1831, in Forks Township. In 1849, Mr. Haverly purchased a tract of timberland and cleared up the farm near Campbellville, on which he now lives. Mr. Haverly was a son of Henry and Rosina (Kilmer) Haverly, and a grandson of Daniel Haverly, the first settler of Overton Township. Mr. Haverly married Olive M. Corbin, who was born December 30, 1834. She was a daughter of Chancy H. Corbin, of New Albany, Bradford County. The Corbins originally came from Connecticut. They located in Warren County when coming to Pennsylvania, and later at Wyalusing, where Mr. Corbin married Violet Gaylor. William Haverly has held numerous township offices; he was a member of the school board for many years, and served one term as jury commissioner. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Haverly were: Hiram and Herman, twins, died in infancy; Zilphia E., married Rev. J.C.B. Moyer, of Baldwin, NY; Minor D., of Syracuse, N.Y.; Irvin D., of South Gibson, Susquehanna County, PA; a daughter died in infancy.
William Hottenstein was born in Lehigh County, PA, Jan 15, 1828. He was a son of Jacob and Lydia (Ruth) Hottenstein, who located in Overton in 1829. Mr. Hottenstein purchased a tract of timberland in Forks Township about 1850, and cleared up the farm now owned by Edward W. Hottenstein. Mr. Hottenstein married Angeline Haverly, daughter of Henry Haverly, of Forks Township. She was born Sept. 23, 1836, and died March 11, 1898. Mr. Hottenstein died July 20, 1903. Their children were: Jacob Willis, died July 2, 1862; Henry Willard, died Jan. 16, 1866; Clara A., married H.A. Cranmer, of Monroeton, PA; Chauncy S., of Forks Township; Nettie C., married Andrew W. Sherman, of Campbellville, PA; Mary Q., died Jan. 1, 1872; Eleanor E., married David Hottenstein, of Luzerne County; Edward W., of Forks Township.
Thomas Streby was born at Overton, Jan. 2, 1831. He was a son of Isaac and Elizabeth (Ruth) Streby. The Strebys are of German descent and located in Lehigh County. PA. Leonard Streby, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, moved to Ohio, where Isaac Streby was born in 1805. Leonard Streby remained in Ohio about one year, and then moved back to Lehigh County, and in 1820 he moved to Overton Township, locating near his father-in-law, Daniel Heverly, being the second settler to locate in that township. In 1827 Mr. Streby died, and the next year Mr. Streby sold his farm to his son Isaac and returned to Lehigh County, where he died in 1829. Three sons, Isaac, John and Jacob, remained and the other children returned with their father to Lehigh County. Jacob Streby conducted a blacksmith ship and later a hotel at Dushore, and about 25 years ago moved to the state of Washington. John located at Overton. Isaac married Elizabeth Ruth, who was born in Lehigh County in 1800. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Streby were: Thomas, of Forks; Phian, deceased, married Peter Sherman; John, of Albany Township, Bradford County and Edward, who lives on the Streby homestead.
Thomas Streby purchased a tract of timberland in Forks Township in 1851 and cleared up the farm, which he still owns. Mr. Streby has held numerous township offices, serving as road commissioner, school director, tax collector, and in 1884 was elected County commissioner. In 1854 he married Caroline Bleiler, who was born in Lehigh County, and came with her Parents, Isaac and Mary (Krause) Bleiler, to Forks Township in 1850. To Mr. and Mrs. Streby were born: George, of Dushore; Lloyd, of Forks Township; Frank I., of Illinois; Clinton, of Overton township, Bradford County; Anna M.E., married Herbert L. Molyneux, of Millview, PA.
John Fleming was born in New Jersey; he was a son of John Fleming, of New Jersey, who moved from New Jersey to the Wyoming Valley. He was of Scotch Irish descent. John Fleming, the subject of this sketch, came to Joseph Warren’s in Forks Township, about 1838. In 1852 he purchased the farm now owned by E.J. Bahl, and located on the same. In 1858 he married Zilphia Rogers, a daughter of Moses Rogers, of Forksville. In 1898, Mr. Fleming sold his farm to Mr. Bahl and moved to Forksville, where he built a handsome residence.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Fleming were: Isaac of Picture Rocks, PA; Annie J. married Charles Nye, of Forksville; Clara married O.C. Gardner, of Minneapolis, Minn.; Melvia married Burton Molyneux, of Buffalo, N.Y.; Mary, married George W. Snyder, of Forksville; William, of Grafton, North Dakota; Della, married W.F. Randall, of Dushore; C.Q., of Scranton; Bertha, at home; Blanche, died Jan. 17, 1889.
Conrad Rinebold was born in Lehigh County. He was a son of William Rinebold, of Lehigh County. In 1852 Mr. Rinebold came to Forks Township, locating on the farm now owned by Joseph Yanney. Mr. Rinebold married Eliza Iserhart, of Lehigh County. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Rinebold were: Henry, of Watsontown, PA; Mary, deceased, married Jessie Kester, of Cherry; Sarah Ann, married Charles Hunsinger, of Forks; Reuben, deceased, of Forks; Elizabeth, married Augustus Lapp, of New York.
John Rinebold was a native of Lehigh County and married Lydia Miller, of that County. Mr. and Mrs. Rinebold came to Sullivan County in 1852, locating on a farm adjoining Conrad Rinebold. Their children were: Addison, of Forks; Matilda, married Mr. Goodman, of Bloomsburg, PA; Catharine, married Henry Sherman, of Overton, PA; Tillman, of Forks; Sarah Ann, married William Clark, of Overton.
Addison Rinebold was a native of Lehigh County and came to Sullivan County about 1852, locating on his father’s farm. He married Lavina Goughler, of Lehigh County. Their children were: Emelia, deceased; Samuel, of Satterfield, PA; Ella, deceased; George, of Forks; Williba, of Forks; Eli, of Forks; Hanna, married Reuben Saam; Frank.
Editor's Note: You can learn more about this family at The Descendants of Addison Rinebold. You can learn more about the early Rinebold settlers in this area and their relationships with other settler families at The History of Overton.
Francis M. Osthaus was born in Woeltingerode, Germany, May 10, 1821. The ancestral home is in Munster, Germany, where Mr. Osthaus’ grandfather, Antone Osthaus, was a prosperous wine merchant; his son, Henry A., father of the subject of this sketch, was born April 22, 1766, and was married in 1803 to Clara Van Buck. She was born in 1786, and was the daughter of Major Van Buck, an officer in the army of the Bishop of Munster. They had four children, Francis W., being the youngest. In 1852, Mr. Osthaus came to America, locating in Forks Township, near Overton, where he purchased a large farm and is engaged in farming. In 1854 he went into the mercantile business in Forks, continuing for some time, and in 1867 went into the same business at Overton, where he still retains an interest in the firm of F. Osthaus & Son. In 1851, Mr. Osthaus married his first wife, Minna Huebenir, who died in 1859. In 1861, he married Jennie Francke, who was a daughter of Edward and Augusta (Grosskopp) Francke, who came from Germany to America in 1864.
The children by his first marriage were: Herman H., of Scranton, PA; Arthur, died in 1876, at the age of 21 years; Elizabeth, married M.E. Herrmann, of Dushore; Gustavus, died in infancy.
By the second wife, Rowena, married Eugene F. Massman of Parker, Kansas: Carl E., of Forks; Adolphus, who died in 1876, at the age of 2 ½ years.
Samuel Epler * came from Berks County to Cherry Township in 1848, and
moved from there to Forks in 1851 and cleared up the farm now owned by his son Daniel H. He married Salome
Hasler of Berks County. Their children were:
Lucy, married Jacob Nevil of Forks; Henry, killed at the battle of Chancellorsville in 1862 in the Civil War;
Mary, married Josiah Payne, of Bradford County; Fietta died at the age of 17 years; David, died of diphtheria at
the same time his sister died; Daniel H., of Forks.
* Editor's Note: Courtesy of Jeff Stewart, you can read more about this large German-American
family at Descendants of Adam Epler. Larry Pardoe has also articulated some of the questions and relationships surrounding this
family and those it intermarried with, as follows:
1. The biographical reference to Charles Hunsinger (shown above) in the Streby History of Forks Township says
he settled on land cleared up on the farm now owned by Daniel K. Epler, and that he then married Mary Epler, a native of Germany.
Church records show Maria Epler - so name Maria/Mary or Marie. She was b. April 20, 1819 in Berks County and d. July
29, 1859. Along with her husband, Charles P. Hunsinger, she is buried in Peace Cemetery, Cherry Township, PA.
She was a sister to the Daniel K. Epler, born in 1834. See the Epler history from Jeff Stewart,linked above.
2. Daniel K. Epler b. March 27, 1834 and d. February 19, 1910 married Mary Hartman; both are buried in Fairview
Cemetery (Bahr Hill) in Dushore, PA. The Stewart history shows they were both born in Berks County, PA and married in Reading, PA in
1857. They moved to Sullivan County shortly thereafter. You can also read Descendants of Daniel Epler and Mary Hartman.
3. In the biographical sketch of Samuel Epler just above this note, it mentions that he cleared up the land now
owned by his son Daniel H. Epler and also that he married Salome Hasler of Berks County. I didn't know Salome's
maiden name - shown as Hasler - but I do have them with son Daniel H. (possibly "Harry") married to Mary
Katherine "Kate" Shrimp - as also shown in the Stewart history. I also have Samuel with a daughter Mary
who married Josiah Payne. This child does not appear in the Stewart history.
4. We've been asked about the relationship between Daniel H. Epler and Daniel K. Epler. The Stewart history shows that Daniel H., son of Samuel, was a nephew of
Daniel K., Samuel's brother.
Lorin M. Pardoe
Ezra Rinebold was born in Lehigh County, July 4, 1827. He was a son of Lewis and Sally (Slotery) Rinebold, who came from Lehigh County to Overton township, Bradford County, in 1835, locating on the farm now owned by his grandson, Adison Rinebold. In 1857, Ezra and his brother, Lewis Rinebold, in company with Dyke Cole, built a saw mill on Black Creek in Forks Township. In 1860 Ezra and Lewis Rinebold sold their interest to Mr. Cole and built the mill now owned by Mr. Rinebold.
Editor's Note: You can learn more about Lewis and Sally Rinebold and the early Rinebold settlers in this area at The History of Overton. In 1916, the saw mill built and owned by Ezra Rinebold was destroyed by a flood, as reported here:
August 23, 1916
Some idea of the power of the flood in Black Creek several weeks ago may be gained by the following: About two miles below town stands the ruins of the once famous saw mill owned and operated for a long time by Ezra Rhinebold [sic]. A nine-thousand pound boiler had been installed in the mill and had remained in place until the flood last month, when its foundation was undermined and the huge iron cylinder started down stream. After once getting it in its grasp, the enraged waters seemed undecided what to do with it, hesitating to leave so heavy an article on any one man's land. the place finally chosen, and where it now lies, is under a birch tree that marks the corner of lands owned by George Everling, Walter Broschart and Rohe Brothers, about one mile down stream from its former foundation. It lies across the line between the farms and in a position that defies human strength and ingenuity to get it out.
In 1880, Lewis sold his interest to Ezra and moved to Overton, PA. Ezra Rinebold married Elizabeth Crown, of Standing Stone, on July 4, 1850. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Rinebold were: Gilbert, of Overton, PA; Wallace J., died July 23, 1856; Nathan A., of Athens, PA; George A., died March 11, 1860; McClelland E., of Idaho; Melville A., died April 16, 1867; Charles E., of Forks; Eugene F., of Sayre; Walter T., at home; Jennie A., at home; Mira B., at home.
David Wright, a native of Manchester, England, married Ann Green, also a native of England. They came to America, locating first at Hillsgrove about 1830, and a little latter in Forks Township near Millview. Mr. and Mrs. Wright had three children: Emma, deceased; married William Lambert of Forks; John G., deceased, of Forksville; Samuel, deceased, of Forks.
John G. Wright was born in England in 1825. He learned the wheelwright trade and located near Millview; later he moved to Forksville. Mr. Wright took a very prominent position in political affairs, and was elected sheriff of Sullivan County in 1868 and associate judge in 1881; he served as postmaster of Forksville for a number of years. He died Feb. 28, 1903. Mr. Wright was married to Ann Whiteley, a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Hague) Whiteley, of Elkland Township. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wright were: George, deceased, of Elkland; Emma, married A.L. Smith, dec’d, of Forksville; Mary, married W.C. Rogers, dec’d, of Forksville.
Samuel Wright married Anna Bunyan, of Franklin, Bradford County, and located on the Wright homestead, where he died about 30 years ago, after which the family moved to Bradford County.
Henry Shrimp was born in Germany in 1820, and came to America, locating in Indiana in 1843. He moved to Pottsville, PA, in 1845 and came to Forks Township in 1849 and cleared up the farm now owned by his sons, Philip W. and M.C. Shrimp. He died in 1899. In 1844 Mr. Shrimp married Mary Shaffer. She was a daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Gable) Shaffer. Mr. Shaffer was born in Northumberland County in 1788, and came to Cherry Township in 1839. Mr. Shaffer was born in 1794 at Tamaqua, PA. To Mr. and Mrs. Shrimp were born: Henry, of Forks; George, deceased; Philip W., of Forks; Sarah E., married George Litzelman, of Forks; Mary Catharine, married D.H. Epler, of Forks; Emma H., married Joseph Richlin, of Forks; M.C., of Forks.
The history of the early churches of Forks and Forksville is identical with the history of the early settlements. Nearly all of the early settlers were active church members and took steps to establish places of religious worship, the buildings used frequently being public school houses. The character and sincerity of the early Christians of this section can easily be estimated by the name given the district. The first settlements in the Loyalsock Valley were made in 1794, and in 1798 the Loyalsock Circuit of the Northumberland District of the Baltimore Conference of the M.E. church was established. The records show that this district extended from Sheshequin, Bradford County, to Muncy, Lycoming County. This district had been visited previous to this date and the boundaries mapped out by a Mr. Newman; Jacob Gruber was at this time appointed his assistant.
After 1843, the work of the M.E. church seems to have been thoroughly organized and local records were kept. Among the names in the records of this congregation are found nearly all of the family names of the early settlers in that section. For many years regular services were held at Campbellville. The work of the M.E. church in East Forks was centered at Overton.
The Wesleyan Methodist church has accomplished a great work in Forks Township, and for many years has taken a leading stand among the several denominations represented in the western section of the County. The Wesleyan parsonage and a handsome new church are located at Millview. Another house of worship is located at Warburton Hill. On the church records are found the names of the descendants of the pioneer families of the township, showing that the religious work they performed has brought its rich rewards.
The Methodist Protestant Church has an edifice and small congregation at Warburton Hill. The charge is known as the Albany charge, the Pastor being stationed at New Albany.
The Roman Catholic Church has a large membership in Forks Township. The history of its work dates back to about 1840, when the first Irish settlers began to locate in the township. The McGovern church in Overton Township was built at a very early date and a little later one was built on Sugar Ridge, in Overton Township. At present, the field, including Overton Township and the northern section of Forks Township, is centered at Overton where a large and handsome church edifice and parochial residence are located. The Parish has a large and active membership. The Roman Catholics of Jordan Hill hold their membership at Dushore.
The Reformed and Lutheran churches were represented by the early German settlers of Forks. From 1830 to 1845 little progress was made. Between 1845 and 1855, organizations were perfected and a Union church built at Overton. The Lutherans later on joined the Reformed church and a strong congregation has been maintained at Overton for over forty years. In 1886, a modern church was built by the Reformed congregation. The Lutherans still living in Forks hold their membership in Cherry Township.
In 1816 Mrs. Sarah Huckle conveyed half an acre of land to Samuel Rogers, Powell Bird and William King, trustees of the Loyalsock School. The Fourth of July of that year was celebrated by a bee for clearing off the land for a schoolhouse. The building was completed and a school commenced on the first of December 1816, John Warburton being the teacher. This was the first building erected especially for school purposes in Sullivan County.
About 1840, the early settlers in the northern section of Forks Township built a hewed-log schoolhouse on the farm now owned by Thomas Streby, that being the center of the neighborhood. Roads were cut out in various directions through the woods to the surrounding farms. The schoolhouse was also used for religious services, and occasionally as a dwelling house for a short time by some newcomer until the neighbors could join in and build a log cabin. After the Pennsylvania school law was established in 1851, the township was divided into school districts and other schools established under the school laws.
Birthplace of Harold "Red" Grange (06/13/1903-01/28/1991) Forksville, PA Child of Lyle
and Sadie Grange All-American Football Player (1924-1926) Dave Kester received this photo from the estate of his late cousin, Helen Hottenstein of Forksville, and contributed it to our site in May 2003. It was taken in the Nineteen Thirties, probably by his Aunt Blanche (Kester) Hottenstein, and bears the inscription "Where Red Grange was born...Forksville, Pa." After his mother died when he was five years old, Red and his family moved to Wheaton, IL, where he went to high school and then became the famous All-American football player for the Fighting Illini.
Forksville borough was organized Dec. 22, 1880. Forksville is one of the two oldest towns in the County. When Rogers Brothers built their woolen factory in 1810, the town grew rapidly. The teams hauling wool from Philadelphia and the finished cloth back to the city, the town at the Forks, as it was then called, and the town at Eaglesmere or Lewis Lake, which was shipping glass to Philadelphia, established regular communication between the Loyalsock settlements and the outside world. From 1810 to 1816, Forksville was a very industrious and thriving town. The flood of 1816 seems to have almost annihilated the town. In 1826, the lower factory, for many years known as the Osler factory, was built, which has since then been in operation. In 1848, Alonzo Potter started the first store in Forksville, in the old school house. The next year his goods were moved into a new store building erected for that purpose. In 1850, Mr. Potter sold out to William J. Eldred, who continued the business until 1853. In 1855, M.A. Rogers having erected a new store building, commenced the mercantile business, which he is still conducting, being the oldest merchant in Sullivan County. In 1856, James Black built the gristmill now owned by W. E. Miller. In 1865, R.D. Lancaster located in Forksville, in the mercantile business. At
present Mr. Lancaster and his son are conducting the drug store at the same place. G. W. Snyder conducts the general store formerly owned by Mr. Lancaster.
The census of 1900 gave Forksville a population of 152. There are two general stores, conducted by M.A. Rogers and George W. Snyder; a drug store, conducted by B.S. Lancaster; furniture and undertaking, W.M. Calking; jewelry store, B.W. Fawcett; blacksmith ship, W.E. Miller; barber shop, J.B. Smith; hotel, Mr. Currie; doctors, J.H. Woodhead, J.R. Davies; gristmill, W.E. Miller; postmaster, Frank Hannon.
The borough officers are- Councilmen: W.M. Calkins, Isaac Rogers, Benjamin Fawcett, J.R. Fleming, J.R. Davies, C.M. Osler and John Pardoe.
School directors: J.R. Davies, J.R. Fleming, W.M. Calkins, Frank Hannon, Isaac Rogers and R.D. Lancaster.
Street commissioner-Charles Nye
Justice of the Peace- J.W. Rogers and R.D. Lancaster.
Assessor- Isaac Rogers
Tax collector- Benjamin Fawcett
Auditors- J.B. Smith, George W. Snyder and G.R. Nye.
Covered Bridge at Forksville 1969
Contributed by Linda Bosnak who tells us: The picture is attributed to Ad Art Photo Service, P.O. Box 524, Williamsport, PA 17701. The caption on the back
reads "At The End of The Covered Bridge--This rural scene, reminiscent of bygone days, is a favorite tourist
attraction. The well-preserved covered bridge is located at Forksville in the Endless Mountains of Penna."
There's a story connected with this postcard. The lady driving was my great-aunt, Marian McCarty Bennett. Apparently,
the photographer had set up his equipment, framed the scene he wished to capture, then set out to wait patiently for a
car to drive across through this picturesque setting. He waited...and waited... and waited some more. He was
perplexed, and a bit frustrated, by the traffic (admittedly never exactly heavy) that seemed to go everywhere except
where he wanted them to. At some point, much later in the day, Aunt Marian, returning from an errand, drove over the
bridge, pulled up next to the photographer, and apologized for ruining his shot by driving through. He asked why it
seemed that no one ever used the bridge, and, much to his consternation, was told that, when people had seen him
setting up the equipment, they assumed that he just wanted pictures of the bridge and scenery, and very considerately
had spread the word to avoid the bridge, as a photographer was going to be taking pictures! He did manage to
persuade Aunt Marian to be in his shot, and I remember how much she grumbled, good-naturedly, about having to drive
back and forth across the bridge, until he had exactly the shot he wanted.
About 1850 the town plot of Millview was surveyed, and for some years there were indications that a thriving little town would spring up at that point. Thomas and William Molyneux had a sawmill and did a thriving lumber business in connection with their farming. John Warren and Charles Birdsall each conducted a blacksmith shop; John G. Wright, a wagon shop; within the last twenty-five years all these industries have been abandoned. The Molyneux farm, on which the first settlement in the County was made, was divided about 1880, William Molyneux taking the southern portion, which is now owned by Herbert L. Molyneux, and the northern portion was taken by the estate of Thomas Molyneux, and is now owned by his son, John Molyneux and daughter, Mrs. E.C. Musselman. The Wesleyan Methodists have a handsome new church and parrsonage at this place. Since rural free delivery routes have been established the post office at Millview has been abandoned.
About 1850, John Campbell erected a gristmill at Campbellville and about the same time George Hunsinger erected a sawmill near the same place. The flood of December 1901 took out both gristmill and sawmill. The gristmill property is owned by Norton & Hottenstein and the sawmill property by George Kester, who has erected a steam saw mill since the flood. Powell Norton, of the firm of Norton & Hottenstein, conducts a store at Campbellville and is also postmaster at that place.
Campbellville in Modern Times This picture shows the Devil's Elbow intersection where the village of
Campbellville was located before the 1902 flood. Right here were located a mill, two
bridges, two houses, a general store and a barn. The right-of-way was a single lane dirt road
with ruts. Straight away is Campbellville. The middle road is Kellly Hill Road, which runs up the hill toward Overton in
Bradford County. The left road is Burke Road, so the car on left is coming down the Devil's
Elbow and the car center right is heading down Lick Creek Road. Photo and historical commentary courtesy of
The village of Overton is located in Overton Township, just across the northern township line of Forks Township, and much of the trade of Forks Township centers in Overton. F. Osthaus & Son, general merchants, are residents of Forks Township. E. Francke & Son, also general merchants, have until recently been residents of Forks township.
The following is a list of those who served in the Civil War from Forks Township: William Rogers, Thomas Rogers, S.S. Rogers, J.W. Rogers, Samuel Molyneux, Joel L. Molyneux, Henry Hunsinger, William Bedford, Henry Epler, James Rinebold, Lewis Rinebold, George M. Pardoe, Corcoran, M.W. Ferrell, J.C. Warburton, E.R. Warburton, Solomon Hottenstein, Henry Hottenstein, John Hottenstein, George Luke, F. Luke, William Luke, M. Little, Samuel Black, Theodore P. Wilkinson, Henry F. Black, H.W. Baldwin, William Campbell, H. Campbell, Speaker Osler, Amasa Baker, George W. Little, Edward Francke, David Vough, George W. Davidson, Charles Hunsinger, Charles Shaffer, George Wanck, J. Tayne, David Frear, Joseph Kester, E. Goughler, George Neely, Daniel M. Givley, Richard Johnson, P.W. Johnson, Patrick O’Brian, Isaac Smith. Under the leadership of Hon. Richard Bedford, John G. Wright, Thomas Streby and others. Forks Township paid a bounty, thus raising its quota of soldiers on each call from the Governor, and after the first draft for volunteers for three months, allowed no drafts to be made. In 1864 a law was Passed legalizing these actions taken by townships and boroughs. The burden of supplying soldiers was thus equalized in Forks Township.
David Molyneux was born in Forks Township, Feb. 26, 1826. He was a son of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux. Edward Molyneux was a son of William Molyneux, the first settler in Sullivan County. In 1814 he married Rebecca Bird and located on the farm near Millview now owned by David Molyneux, the subject of this sketch. David Molyneux was married three times. In 1863, Nov. 25, he was married to Hannah Norton, a daughter of Charles Norton. She was born in 1842, and died March 9, 1877. In 1879, he was married to Elizabeth Webster, who was born in Elkland Township, July 13, 1850. She was a daughter of Jonathan Webster. In 1897 he was married to Susan Wickham, of Forksville, a daughter of Selah Wickham, of Monroeton, Bradford County, PA. Mr. Molyneux has been very successful in life and in addition to the original Edward Molyneux homestead has purchased considerable real estate. He has always taken an active and leading part in local affairs and has held numerous offices, having been elected assessor, road commissioner, justice of the peace, etc. The children by the first wife were: William M., Oscar N., of Forks; Frank N., of North Dakota; Herbert L., of Millview; Carl H., died in 1877. By the second wife: Hattie F., Harley C., and Dean W.
Oscar Molyneux was born in Forks Township, Aug. 9, 1867. He is a son of David and Hannah (Norton) Molyneux. Mr. Molyneux purchased a farm of his father and is engaged in farming and stock raising. He has been secretary of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society three years. In 1902 he married Ada Mullen, a daughter of John and Selena (Woodhead) Mullen. She was born in Elkland Township in 1871. The Mullens and Woodheads were of English descent and were among the early settlers of Elkland Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux one daughter has been born.
M.A. Rogers was born at Forksville, March 22, 1833. He was a son of Moses and Jayne (Sadler) Rogers, and a grandson of Samuel Rogers, the pioneer of Forksville. In 1855, Mr. Rogers entered the mercantile business for himself and has continued in that business since. For about 25 years, he was in Partnership with his son W.C. Rogers, until the death of the son in 1903. In 1876 Mr. Rogers was elected associate judge, serving one term. He was a member of the school board for a number of years and always took a prominent Part in public affairs. He owns a handsome residence and store in Forksville. He married Abigal Potter, a daughter of George W. Potter, of Towanda. Mrs. Rogers died in 1903. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have been born four children: William C., died in 1903; Charles S. of Towanda; Josephine S., married R.W. Stevens, dec’d; George Arthur, of Forksville.
J.W. Rogers was a son of Moses and Jane (Sadler) Rogers, of Forksville. He was born at Forksville in 1845. In 1863, he enlisted in the 26th PA Volunteers, and re-enlisted in 1864 in the 2nd PA heavy artillery, and was honorably discharged in 1864. He located on his father’s farm which he owns and which formerly included nearly the entire town of Forksville. In 1866, he married Anna Vidian, a daughter of Rev. Richard Vidian, a minister of the M.E., church, who lived for a number of years at Forksville and Dushore. The Vidians were of English descent. Mr. Rogers is justice of the peace at present; he has held many local offices and was president of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society for ten years. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers were born five children: Richard V., of Renovo, Clinton Co., PA; Fred A. of Philadelphia, PA; William H., of Laporte, PA; Raymond S., at home; Fanny, died Dec. 29, 1900.
Isaac Rogers was born at Forksville, Dec. 19, 1836. He located on the farm he now owns near Forksville. Mr. Rogers is assessor of the borough of Forksville, and has held many local offices. Mr. Rogers was married twice, his first wife being Amy Nye, of Monroe County, PA, whom he married in 1868. In 1881, he married Mrs. Alice M. Conrad. She was a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Drake) Crawford, of Columbia County. Mrs. Conrad had one son, Wellington Conrad, by her marriage to Andrew Conrad. Mr. Rogers had two children by his first wife: Jennie E., and M.D., of Wilkes-Barre, PA. By his second wife: Emma; Paul S.; Howard J., died in infancy; Harry C.; Russel.
Thanks to Larry Pardoe, we have additional information about Isaac Rogers. Here is his summary:
Grandparents: Samuel Rogers, Sr. (1760-1828) m. Ann Guant/Gaunt (1762-1823)
Parents: Moses Rogers (1806-1879) m. Jane Sadler (1810-1892)
Isaac Rogers (1836-1914) m. 1st Amy Nye (1841-1882)
Jennie C. Rogers (1872-1929) m. Harry R. Henning (1877-1943) and superintendent of Sullivan County Schools for many years
M.D. Rogers (1874-1919) m. Dora ? (b. abt. 1875, PA, d. ?)
Son Rogers (b. June 5, 1876, d. June 5, 1876)
Isaac Rogers m. 2nd Alice Margaret Crawford (1858-1944) (Alice married previously to Andrew Conrad with one son, Wellington Conrad, a.k.a. Charles W. Conrad, b. February 27, 1877 who was married to Mary E. Pardoe. Mary was the daughter of John Pardoe and his first wife Celinda R. Glidewell.)
Children of Isaac and Alice Margaret:
Emma Evaline Rogers (1884-1952) m. Frederick C. Koelle (1882-1954)
Paul Smith Rogers (1886-1982)
Howard Isaac Rogers (b. April 13, 1888, d. October 8, 1888 - died in infancy)
Harry C. Rogers (1890-1981) m. Myrtle Clementine Wineriter (1890-1986)
Russel Rogers (b.July 07, 1893- d. ?)
Here is the death notice for M. D. Rogers, child of the first marriage of Isaac and Amy Nye
Sullivan Gazette and Herald
August 13, 1919
M. D. Rogers of Pittston, Pa., died Sunday of Cancer at the age of about 45 years. He was a son of the late Isaac Rogers of Forksville. Mr. Rogers is survived by his wife, his sister, Mrs. H. R. Henning of Lopez, and one half sister and three half brothers. The funeral was held Tuesday.
Also, see Letters to Isaac Rogers from Soldiers in the Civil War.
Charles P. Hunsinger was born in Cherry Township, Sept. 18, 1837. He was a son of Samuel and Sarah (Brobst) Hunsinger, who were among the early settlers of Forks Township, and a grandson of George Hunsinger, who located in Cherry Township in 1819. Mr. Hunsinger located on and cleared up the farm on which he now lives. He is constable of Forks Township, having held that office for a number of years. January 23, 1855, he married Sarah Rinebold, a daughter of Conrad Rinebold, who came form Lehigh County to Forks Township in 1852. To Mr. and Mrs. Hunsinger have been born: Mary, married Sylvester Kilmer, of Elkland; Edward, who was drowned when 15 years of age; Henry; Clara, died in infancy; Charles, died in infancy; Augustus, of Troy, PA; Eliza, married John Hart, of Elkland; Ira, Samuel; Katie, married Thomas Tompkins, of Elkland Township, and Etta.
Henry Richlin was born in Forks Township. He was a son of Charles F and Mary M. (Thall) Richlin. Charles F. Richlin was a native of Baden, Germany, and came to America when a young man, locating in Forks Township, first on the farm owned by John Kani and later on the farm now owned by his son Henry. Charles F. Richlin served as tax collector of Forks Township for twenty-eight years and as justice of the peace thirty-two years. In 1897, Henry Richlin was elected tax collector of Forks Township, serving three years. Mr. Richlin has always taken an active Part in local affairs. In 1884 he married Amanda Hostler, a native of Columbia County, PA. She was a daughter of Henry F. and Sarah (Solingbury) Hostler. To Mr. and Mrs. Richlin four children have been born: Alice M., William Henry, James Morton and Carl Francis.
Benjamin Sayman was born in Bucks County in 1830. He was a son of Benjamin and Kate (Epler) Sayman, who came from Bucks County to Cherry Township in 1849. In 1853 Mr. Sayman married Sarah Hartzig and located in Forks Township. After the death of his first wife, he married Elizabeth Shaffer, a daughter of Jonathan and Catharine (Stahl) Shaffer, of Forks Township. The children of Mr. Sayman by his first wife were: Angeline, married B. Kester; Mary A., married Levi Hunsinger; William, deceased; Sarah, deceased, married John Yanney; Hannah, deceased, married John Jacoby; Emma, married Frank Hunsinger; Etta, married Thomas Murray; Adaline, deceased, married Eli Rinebold; Samuel, of Cherry; John, deceased; Josephine, deceased, married C.W. Rumsey; Carlissa, married David Millheim. By his second wife: Elisha, Willis, Hattie, married Bertie Vangordon; Elmira, Deland, Roxy, deceased; Dora, Benjamin, Leo, deceased; and Freddie.
Henry Hottenstein was born in Lehigh County, Sept. 24, 1841. He was a son of Henry and Magdalene (Samell) Hottenstein. The history of the Hottenstein family dates back to 380 A.D., in Austria, where they were prominently connected with the government. About 1618, three brothers settled in Pennsylvania and their ancestors are now very numerous in America. Henry Hottenstein, the subject of this sketch, enlisted in the army during the Civil war. He was a member of Co. B, 7th PA Cavalry. At the close of the war he returned and engaged in farming. First on a farm joining his father’s in Forks and later he purchased a portion of his father’s farm, and is now living a retired life. In 1865, Mr. Hottenstein married Sophia Brenchley, who was born in Forks Township in 1844. She was a daughter of James Brenchley, Sr., who was a native of England and came to Sullivan County about 1838. Mrs. Hottenstein has been engaged in the ministerial work of the Methodist Protestant church for a number of years. To Mr. and Mrs. Hottenstein have been born: Magdalene, died in infancy; Emma, married Cornelius Driscoll, of Potter County, PA; George W., of Forks; Irvin L., of Forks; Frank and Oscar, at home.
Irvin L. Hottenstein was born in Forks Township in 1872. He is a son of Henry and Sophia (Brenchley) Hottenstein, of Forks Township. Mr. Hottenstein owns the John Hottenstein farm in Forks; he is serving his second term as road commissioner of his township. In 1900, he married Frannie Bedford, a daughter of Thomas and Anna (Sturdevant) Bedford, of Forks Township, and a granddaughter of Ira Sturdevant, of New Albany, PA.
Asa G. Little was born in Forks Township near Forksville, in 1858. He was a son of Benjamin and Faith A. (Grange) Little. The Littles are of Scotch Irish descent. Benjamin Little was a son of Theophilus Little Jr., who was a son of Theophilus Little, Sr., who came from Monmouth County, New Jersey, to EaglesMere in 1799. Asa G. Little owns a portion of his grandfather’s (Theophilus Little) farm, formerly owned by his father. He is engaged in farming, and is giving special attention to truck farming. In 1889, Mr. Little married Ida M. Little, who was born in Elkland Township in 1867. She was a daughter of Allen Little, also a descendant of Theophilus Little, Sr. To Mr. and Mrs. Little have been born: Laura G. and Bessie.
Isaac N. Little was born in Forks Township in 1855. He was a son of Benjamin and Faith A. (Grange) Little. His mother was a daughter of John, Jr., and Jane (Midgely) Grange, who came from Yorkshire, England, to Sullivan County in 1818. Mr. Little is located on a portion of the Theophilus Little farm near Forksville, which was formerly owned by John Little. In 1880 he married Jennie Brown, who was born in Elkland Township in 1862. She was a daughter of George and Mary (McCarty) Bown, who represented two of the pioneer families of Sullivan County.
To Mr. and Mrs. Little has been born one child, Willard J.
John S. Bahr was born in Cherry Township, August 18, 1859. Hi is a son of Charles and Catharine (Hartzig) Bahr, of Cherry Township. His grandfather, John Bahr, located near Cherry Mills and his great-grandfather, John Bahr, Sr., came with his family from Berks County to Cherry Township in 1833, locating where B.P. Hunsinger now lives. Mr. Bahr purchased the farm in Forks Township, formerly owned by his father. He married Dora Dunn, who was born in Forks Township in 1866. She was a daughter of Peter and Catharine (Farrell) Dunn, of Forks Township. Her grandfather, James Dunn, was a native of County Kilkdare, Ireland, and came to New Jersey in 1832, and to Cherry Township in 1833. To Mr. and Mrs. John Bahr have been born: Anna Laura, John William, Charles Arthur.
John F. Collins was born in Cherry Township in 1872. He is a son of John Collins, a native of Ireland, who located near Cherry Mills, and later moved to Bradford County, and 14 years ago to Forks Township. Mr. Collins is a miner and works at the Murray mines, near Lopez. In 1892, he married Bridget Cook, who was born in Forks Township in 1875. She was a daughter of Henry Cook, who came from Philadelphia to Forks Township many years ago, locating on the farm where he now lives. To Mr. and Mrs. Collins three children have been born: Marie, Catharine, Marcella.
W.E. Miller was born at Monroeton, Bradford County, PA, Dec. 1855. He was a son of Francis and Mary (Davis) Miller, of Forksville. Mr. Miller was a native of Germany, who located first at Monroeton, and about 1847 at Forksville, where he engaged in blacksmithing. He died in 1889, aged 61 years. W.E. Miller learned the blacksmith trade and located at Forksville. In 1897, he purchased the Forksville gristmill property, which he operates in connection with his blacksmith shop. Mr. Miller has been school director and borough treasurer. He married Alma Bird, of Elkland, who was a daughter of George C. Bird, and a great granddaughter of Powell Bird, who came from England to America with his family in 1793, locating near Millview in 1795. To Mr. and Mrs. W.E. Miller three children have been born: Jennie M., George F. and Clarence L.
David H Glockler was born in Elkland Township, in 1861. He is a son of Anthony Glockler, a native of Germany, who came to America, locating in New York and later in Elkland Township. He is said to have been the first man to introduce veneering in the United States. He was a cabinetmaker by trade. David Glockler is a lumberman and is now located at Forksville. In 1889, he married Mary Wheatly, a daughter of Thomas Wheatly, of Elkland Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Glockler have been born three children: Albert, Chester and Leroy.
E.J. Bahl was born in Forks Township in 1861. He was a son of Michael and Mary Ann (Windhaeuser) Bahl. Michael Bahl was a native of Elsets, France, now Germany, and came to America with his Parents, locating in Cherry Township in 1829, and in 1854 purchased the Bahl farm in Forks Township. E.J. Bahl purchased the John Fleming farm near Campbellville in 1889, and is engaged in farming, he is the present tax collector of Forks Township. In 1897 he married Ellen O’Brian, who was born at Overton in 1874. She was a daughter of Dennis and Catharine (Conmey) O’Brian. Her grandfather, John Conmey, was an early settler in Forks Township. Mr. Conmey and Jane (Flannery) Conmey were natives of Ireland. To Mr. and Mrs. Bahl have been born three children, Grace C., George R. and Valeria.
Henry Bahl was born in Forks Township in 1863. He was a son of Michael and Mary Ann (Windhaeuser) Bahl, of Forks. Michael Bahl was a native of Elsets, France, now Germany, and Mrs. Bahl was a daughter of Stephen and Regina (Sheffmacher) Windhaeuser, who came from Germany to Cherry Township in 1843. In 1847, she married Michael Bahl. Henry Bahl purchased the Michael Bahl homestead and his mother is living with him. November 6, 1902, he married Alice Murphy, a daughter of Daniel and Ellen (Byrns) Murphy. Mr. Murphy was a native of Ireland and located in Cherry Township in the Forties; his wife was daughter of a Byrns, who was of Scotch descent.
Daniel H. Epler was born in Forks Township in 1854. He was a son of Samuel and Salome (Hosler) Epler of Forks, who were natives of Berks County, and came to Cherry Township in 1848 and to Forks Township in 1851. Daniel H. Epler purchased his father’s farm. He has been road commissioner and is a member of the present school board. In 1880, he married Mary Catharine Shrimp, who was born in Forks Township in 1857. She was a daughter of Henry and Mary (Shaffer) Shrimp. Mr. Shrimp was a native of Germany, and Mrs. Shrimp was a daughter of Jonathan Shaffer, a native of Northumberland County, who located in Cherry Township in 1839. To Mr. and Mrs. Epler have been born five children: Minnie B., Jennie, Harry, Mamie A., and Martin R.
M.R. Black was born at Forksville in 1858. He was a son of James and Mary Jane (Rogers) Black. James Black located at Forksville in about 1850. Mrs. Black was a daughter of Moses and Jane (Sadler) Rogers, of Forksville. Mr. Black taught school for a number of years on reaching his majority, being principal of the Forksville grade school several years. In 1887 he was elected County superintendent of schools and re-elected in 1890. In 1902, he was again elected to the same office, for a term of three years. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Masonic Order, and has been school director and councilman of Forksville, where he has his residence. In 1895, he married Ida Shaffer, a daughter of Jesse and Isabelle (Locket) Shaffer. Mr. Shaffer was born in Bradford County and is of German descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Black four children have been born: Beatrice, Marjorie, William and Fannie.
George Rinebold was born in Forks Township in 1861. He was a son of Adison and Lavina (Goughler) Rinebold, who came from Lehigh County to Forks Township in 1852. Mr. Rinebold owns a farm in Pleasant Valley, which he purchased from Charles Bird. In 1883, he married Ruth Bird, a daughter of Charles and Harriet (Molyneux) Bird, who were descendants of two of the first families to settle in Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Rinebold have been born four children: Richard, died at the age of six months; Adaline B.; Morris E.; and Fannie H.
Editor's Note: You can learn more about this family at The Descendants of Addison Rinebold.
R.D. Lancaster was born in Wayne County, PA. William, the grandfather, came to America from England about 1814, landing at Philadelphia. In 1865, Mr. Lancaster came to Forksville and entered the mercantile business, in which he continued until 1897, when he entered the drug business at Forksville, which he is now conducting with his son. Mr. Lancaster has held numerous township and borough offices; at present he is secretary of the Insurance Company of Western Sullivan County, and of the Forksville school board. In 1868, he married Serenda Mathers. She was a daughter of Solomon and Jane (Wanck) Mathers, formerly of Forksville. To Mr. and Mrs. Lancaster have been born: H.D., of Forksville; R.S., of Towanda; and Gertrude A., of Forksville.
W.W. Warburton was born in Forks Township, Feb. 14, 1839. He was a son of John and Ann (Clark) Warburton, who came to Forks Township from Chester, England, in 1831. Mr. Warburton purchased the homestead, which is located in the Warburton Hill school district. He has been road commissioner of Forks Township and is at present one of the overseers of the poor. In 1864, he married Fidelia Landon, of Canton, Bradford County, PA. She died April 3, 1871. In 1873, he married Theodosia A. Molyneux, who was born in Overton Township, April 15, 1852. She was a daughter of John and Hannah (Heverly) Molyneux. Mr. Warburton’s children by his first wife were: M.E., of Bath, N.Y.; Fred W., deceased; M.D., of Texas, N.Y.; F. Rosa, married Rev. Presley, of Cattaraugus, N.Y. By the second wife: O.C., of Buffalo, N.Y.; L.D., of Overton, PA; J.R., of Buffalo, N.Y.; E.W. and O.M., at home.
P.J. Keefe was born in Forks Township, March 12, 1859. He was a son of Dennis and Hanora (Mahany) Keefe, who came from County Carey, Ireland, locating in Forks Township in 1841. Mr. Keefe owns his father’s farm. In 1886, he married Mary Dunn, who was a daughter of Peter and Catharine (Farrell) Dunn, of Forks. To Mr. and Mrs. Keefe have been born: Dennis, died in infancy, Catharine; Mary; Julia; Annie; James; John, died in infancy; Alice; Joseph, died in infancy.
Joel L. Molyneux was born in Forks Township, near Millview, Feb. 10, 1835. He was a son of Edward and Rebecca (Bird) Molyneux, and a grandson of William Molyneux, one of the pioneers of Sullivan County.
Mr. Molyneux was a veteran of the Civil war, having been a member of Co. K, 141st PA Regt. Mr. Molyneux purchased the Richard Biddle farm in Forks and does extensive farming and stock raising business. He has held township offices for many years, being repeatedly elected to the offices of town treasurer and assessor. In 1865, he married Elvira M. McCarty, who was born in Elkland Township, April 19, 1846. She was a daughter of Silas and Sarah (Annable) McCarty, and a granddaughter of Joel McCarty, who located In Elkland Township about 1800. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux have been born eight children: Martha, died in 1872 at the age of six years; Mary A., married Carl Osthaus of Overton; Rosa D., married Arthur Grange of Elkland, now of Illinois; J. Robert, of Forks; Charles R., died in 1886, at the age of 10 years; Silas D., of Forks; Wardner K.; and Winifred, at home.
J. Robert Molyneux was born in Forks Township, June 29, 1873. He is a son of Joel L. and Elvira M. (McCarty) Molyneux. Mr. Molyneux has been engaged in teaching school for a number of years and for the last two years has been principal of the grade school at Estella, PA. In 1898, he and Herbert L. Molyneux purchased the William Molyneux farm at Millview; two years later he sold his interest to his Partner and purchased the Joseph Warburton farm in Forks, which he sold in 1904 to Frank Bahl. Mr. Molyneux has been engaged in farming in the summer season and teaching in the winters. In 1897, he was married to Pearl O. Ingersoll, of Cattaraugus County, N.Y. She is a daughter of Rev. Walker and Olive (Wallace) Ingersoll. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux has been born one son, Glen I.
Herbert L. Molyneux was born in Forks Township, August 15, 1872. He is the son of David and Hannah (Norton) Molyneux, of Millview. His grandfather, Edward Molyneux, was a son of William Molyneux, the pioneer, who located on the farm of which Mr. Molyneux now owns a Part. In 1898, Mr. Molyneux, in Partnership with his cousin, J. Robert Molyneux, purchased the William Molyneux farm and two years later bought out his Partner’s interest in the farm, which he is now conducting. Mr. Molyneux is secretary of the Forks Township school board. For a number of years, he has taken a very active Part in the Sullivan County Agricultural Society. In 1898, he married Anna Streby, who was born in Forks Township in 1873. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Streby, of Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux two children have been born: Alice M. and Carl D.
Clinton N. Molyneux was born in Forks Township, Oct. 24, 1854. He was a son of George and Permilla (Travis) Molyneux and grandson of Edward Molyneux. Mr. Molyneux taught school when a young man and later learned the jeweler’s and dentist’s trade and located at Picture Rocks, where he is engaged in those vocations. Mr. Molyneux’s Parents located on the farm later owned by James and Michael Ferrell, in Forks township. The mother died Oct. 13, 1865, and the father on Feb. 6, 1866. Mr. Molyneux married Joanna Little, who was born in Forks Township in 1859. She was a daughter of John P. and Martha H. (Edkin) Little. The Edkins and the Littles were among the earliest settlers in Shrewsbury Township, Sullivan County. To Mr. and Mrs. Molyneux have been born two children: Mabel M. and George.
Ezra C. Rowe was born in Forks Township, July 18, 1843. He was a son of Richard and Ann (Pownell) Rowe, and a grandson of Jonas and Lydia (Bird) Rowe. Mr. Rowe purchased his father’s farm and is engaged in farming and stock raising. In 1871, he married Maggie A. Molyneux, who was born in Overton Township, Bradford County, Aug. 5, 1854. She was a daughter of James and Esther (Tomlinson) Molyneux, and a granddaughter of Edward Molyneux of Millview. To Mr. and Mrs. Rowe have been born seven children: Ira N., of Black Walnut, PA; Fred E., of Forks; George W., of Wilkes-Barre, PA; James H., of Overton; Anna B., died in June 1903; Bessie A. and Clara E., at home.
Nelson J. McCarty was born in Forks Township in 1874. He was a son of David and Lydia (Fawcett) McCarty and a grandson of Joel and Ann (Woodhead) McCarty. Mr. McCarty owns the farm formerly owned by his father and grandfather, being the farm originally owned by James Conomy. In 1893 Mr. McCarty married Della Warburton, who was born in Elkland Township in 1874. She was a daughter of Alfred and Margaret Warburton. To Mr. and Mrs. McCarty have been born: Edward D., Floyd and Lelah.
Charles Kester was born in Cherry Township, April 7, 1841. He was a son of Joseph and Catharine (Miller) Kester and a grandson of Jacob Kester, who was probably the first permanent settler of Cherry Township, where he located about 1813 on the farm now owned by Charles Bahr and Benjamin Kester. Mr. Kester located on the farm in Forks, where he now lives. He married Mary Ann Bahr. She was a daughter of Samuel and Caroline Lopfrom. Mr. Bahr, being a son of John Bahr, who settled in Cherry Township in 1833. To Mr. and Mrs. Kester have been born: Salinda, dec’d, married George Shrimp, dec’d of Forks; Samuel, who died in March, 1892; Alfred, of Forks; George, of Campbellville; Jerome, of Lexington, Mo.; Charles, also of Lexington, Mo.
Alfred Kester was born in Forks Township, June 16, 1868. He is the son of Charles and Mary Ann (Bahr) Kester. Mr. Kester purchased a farm adjoining his father, which he is engaged in tilling. In 1893, Mr. Kester married Clara May Musselman, a daughter of Edward and Clara (Fancke) Musselman. The Musselman’s came from Switzerland to Lehigh County at an early date and Jacob Musselman, the father of Edward Musselman, came from Lehigh County to Overton among the early settlers. To Mr. and Mrs. Kester have been born: Blanche K., Ruth V., and Edward M.
M.J. Broshart was born in Laporte Township, April 10, 1859. He is a son of Michael and Elizabeth (Dohm) Broshart. Michael Broshart came from Bavaria, Germany, to America in 1850, locating in Laporte Township in 1852 and moved to Forks Township on the farm now owned by M.J. Broshart, in 1875. Mr. Broshart is a member of the Forks Township school board at present. In 1884, he married Carrie Sick, a daughter of Augustus and Frances (Solinger) Sick, of Forks. Mr. Sick was a son of Charles Sick, who came to America from Baden, Germany, in 1836 and located in Cherry Township in 1839. To Mr. and Mrs. Broshart have been born: Frank J., Agnes, Tressa, John M., Carl, and Paul.
Peter Rohe was born in Pottsville, PA. He was a son of Valentine Rohe, who came from Germany to America in 1833, and located in Cherry Township in 1837. Valentine Rohe married Elizabeth Wagner. Peter Rohe, the subject of this sketch, purchased the farm in Forks, where he now lives. Mr. Rohe married Hanna Hartzig. She was a daughter of John and Eliza (Kesler) Hartzig, of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Rohe were born: Lucinda, married Michael Broshart, of Forks; Charles, at home; Florence, married George Sick, of Forks; Leroy, at home; Clara, married M.C. Shrimp, of Forks; Albert, at home; Florence, married George Sick, of Forks; Leroy, at home; Clara, married M.C. Shrimp, of Forks; Albert, at home.
Powell Norton was born in Forks Township, Jan. 13, 1841. He was a son of Thomas and Mary (Bird) Norton. Thomas Norton was a native of England and came to America in 1830, locating in Forks Township. Mrs. Thomas Norton was a daughter of George and Sally (King) Bird, both natives of England. Mr. Norton purchased the Reuben Rogers farm near Campbellville where his son, R.W., now lives; later he purchased the gristmill property at Campbellville in Partnership with John Norton.
Sedgwick Hottenstein afterward purchased the interest of John Norton. Mr. Norton also purchased his father’s farm. For a number of years, he has lived at Campbellville where he conducted a store and is postmaster. The flood of 1901 took out the gristmill. In 1865 Mr. Norton married Mary Bedford, who was born in Vermont. She was a daughter of Richard and Arvilla (Wheat) Bedford, who came from Vermont to Forks Township in 1849. To Mr. and Mrs. Norton have been born two children: R.W. and Irvine. who died at the age of eight years.
R.W. Norton was born in Forks Township in 1867. He is a son of Powell and Mary (Bedford) Norton and a grandson of Thomas Norton, a native of England. His great-grandfather, Richard Bedford, Sr., was a native of Yorkshire, England, and came to America about 1821, locating in Vermont and later in Forks Township. Mr. Norton lives on the farm his father purchased of Reuben Rogers. In addition to his farming, he also runs a steam threshing machine. In 1894, Mr. Norton married Lizzie Hottenstein, who was born in Forks in 1870. She was a daughter of William and Angeline (Heverly) Hottenstein, dec’d, of Forks, and a granddaughter of Jacob and Lydia (Ruth) Hottenstein, of Overton. The Hottensteins trace their ancestry back to 380 A.D., as will be seen in the early settlements of Forks on the preceding pages.
Watson Fawcett was born in Elkland Township in 1857. He was a son of Joseph and Lydia (Bird) Fawcett, and a grandson of Henry Fawcett, who was born at Liverpool, England, in 1789 and came to America locating in Elkland Township, about 1817, where Chas. W. Fawcett and Frank Mullen now live. Henry Fawcett married Sarah Grange, who was born in England in 1787 **. Joseph Fawcett was born in England in 1814. Mr. Fawcett owns the Richard Bedford farm. He has held the offices of road commissioner, town clerk, school director and president of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society. In 1879, he married Ada Bedford, who was born in Forks in 1854. She was a daughter of Richard and Arvilla (Wheat) Bedford. Richard Bedford was prominently identified with the business and political interests of Sullivan County for many years, and was one of the most prominent men in the northern Part of the State. To Mr. and Mrs. Fawcett has been born one daughter, Etta. ** Editor's Note: Henry and Sarah were also the parents of Elizabeth Fawcett, wife of Jonathan Lewis, the original local settler of the Lewis family whose history is revisited in The Edisons of Hillsgrove: Melvin Lewis and the Lewis Family.
George Sick was born in Forks Township in 1867. He was a son of Augustus and Frances (Solinger) Sick. Augustus Sick was a son of Charles Sick, who came from Baden, Germany, with his family to America in 1836, locating at Camden, N.J. In 1839 he moved to Cherry Mills, PA. Mrs. Augustus Sick was a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Borde) Solinger, natives of Germany. George Sick purchased his father’s farm and is extensively engaged in farming and stock raising. He has been road commissioner of Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Sick have been born three children: Richard and Robert, twins, and Raymond.
Jacob L. Snyder * was born in New Bavaria, on the Rhine, Germany, Nov. 27, 1834. He was a son of
Adam L. Snyder, who was a native of Germany and came to America with his family in 1835, landing at
Baltimore, MD. From there he went to Harrisburg, then Pottsville, and came to Sullivan County in
1839, locating in Cherry Township; in 1849, he moved to Dushore; in 1852, to Elkland, then to
Dushore and Cherry again, and in 1865 to Campbellville. After remaining there a short time, he
went to California and Oregon. Jacob L. Snyder, the subject of this sketch, has been a citizen
of Forksville for many years, and has been engaged in many business enterprises. He conducted
a hotel for a number of years and has also been engaged in farming; he owns a large amount of
real estate and at present is living a retired life. He has been a member of the Forksville school
board, the town council, and has served as constable. Mr. Snyder was married twice. His first
wife was Sarah A. Huckle [sic], a daughter of William Huckle, of Elkland Township, whom he married Jan.
1, 1857, she died Nov. 26, 1861. His second wife was Sarah Huckle, a daughter of John Huckle,
of Forksville. To Mr. Snyder, by his first wife, was born: William H., who was born Aug. 24,
1858, and died Jan. 18, 1864; George W., of Forksville. By his second wife: Charles L., born
Sept. 16, 1863, died at the age of 2 days.
* Editor's Note: Here is a more extensive biographical sketch:
Source: Book of Biographies of the Seventeenth Congressional District
Published by Biographical Publishing Company of Chicago, Ill. and Buffalo, NY (1899)
JACOB L. SNYDER, a large landowner and one of the representative men of Elkland
township, Sullivan County, resides on his farm most of the time, but also is
practically a citizen of Forksville. He is a son of Adam L. and Louisa
(Eichenlaub) Snyder, and was born in New Bavaria, on the Rhine River, Germany,
November 27, 1834. Adam L. Snyder, the father of our subject, was born in
Germany and there learned the trade of a button and loop-maker, which he
followed until 1836, when he came to America, landing in Baltimore, Md. He again
took up his trade in Harrisburg, Pa., with that of tailoring, and continued at
those occupations until after his removal to Pottsville, Pa. He next moved to
Sullivan County, where he purchased a tract of timberland off the Ward tract in
Cherry township, on which he resided ten years. He then moved to Dushore, in
1849, and erected the second house built in that town, which is now owned by
James Farrell. He remained in that section until 1852, when he purchased the
Eldred farm in Elkland township, one of the earliest settled farms in that
locality, but in a short space of years he returned to Dushore and engaged in
the grocery business. Later he purchased a small farm and engaged in
agricultural pursuits until he removed to Campbellville, where he purchased a
water privilege and built a grist-mill, which is now the property of Norton &
Hotteinstein. He also built a house and barn and lived there until he removed to
New Albany, Pa., where he bought a farm and followed farming until 1871, when he
retired from active labors and moved to California, where he finally died. He
was united in marriage with Louisa Eichenlaub, and the following children
blessed their home: Henry, deceased; Jacob L., the subject of this personal
history; John, a fruit-grower of California; Nicholas, a farmer of Canton;
Louise, the wife of Benjamin Faustner of Salem, Ore.; Mary (McGeorge), of
California; Adam, a farmer of Salem, Ore.; Christian, a farmer of Elkland
township, Sullivan County; Caroline, deceased, who was the wife of Frederick
Wiggen; and Angeline, the wife of John Knight, who resides in Salem, Ore.
Politically Mr. Snyder was a strong Democrat, but never held nor sought office.
Religiously he was reared under German Catholic influences in his native
country, but upon coming to America he joined the Albrights.
Jacob L. Snyder attended the public schools and, being bright and industrious
by nature, he obtained a good education. His father's success as an
agriculturist aided him in choosing his occupation, and he followed fanning
after leaving school. He acquired part of the Eldred farm, some fifty acres, on
which a Mr. Houck now resides, and on this he continued to live for some years,
building a new house and making many other substantial improvements. He then
went to Montoursville, where he purchased a canal boat and followed boating for
one year, after which he again took up his former occupation. In 1867 he moved
to Forksville, purchased the Forksville Hotel, which was being built at the
time, and after completing it conducted it with the highest success for a period
of twenty-one years, with the exception of two years, which he spent in the
West. It was in the spring of 1870 that John Huckell came East as agent for
the Cawker, Huckell, Kaskinka & Rice Colony in Kansas. He described in glowing
terms the inducements and benefits of the Western country, and during the summer
succeeded in getting sixty of the citizens of Sullivan and Bradford counties
interested in the project. Each member, upon the payment of $75, became a member
of the colony, $15 of which sum was to go to the government. These men selected
the land and upon the arrival of the colonists each was told where his tract was
located. During the summer of that year all plans were laid, and in October,
1870, our subject and the other members bade good-bye to the East and started
for the then far West. At the end of a week's travel they reached Solomon City,
Kan., and at that point Mr. Snyder, together with John Huckell, William Brown,
Francis Warren, Cheat Craven, William Warren, Rudolph Kaskinka, and William
Huckell, engaged a team and together they travelled up the Solomon River Valley
to the forks of the Solomon River, where the town of Cawker City was located.
The journey covered 100 miles, taking three days to traverse the distance. The
second night after leaving Solomon City a very amusing incident occurred which
is of interest. As the party was traveling along wondering where they would
spend the night, they discerned a light on the prairie, and with prospects of a
good meal ahead and a warm place to sleep, they made for the light. Upon
reaching it they were somewhat surprised to find that it was a mere hut
constructed of sod, 11 by 13 feet in size, and occupied by a man, his wife and
three children. Advancing to the door our subject inquired if he and his party
could be put up for the night. The proprietor, who was an Eastern man, replied
that he would give them the best possible accommodations. So the team was
outspanned and after partaking of a comfortable supper the balance of the
evening was spent in telling the various experiences through which they had
passed, and at an early hour they prepared to retire. Taking their blankets they
made themselves as comfortable as possible on the floor, and there spent the
night. During their journey it was not an uncommon sight to see many newly made
graves, the result of the Indian outrages that had taken place the June before.
In the third night the party reached the end of their 1,424-mile journey and
were greatly surprised to find that Cawker City consisted of two houses or
shanties, one being used for a hotel and the other occupied by Mr. Snyder's
brother-in-law, Francis Best, who had arrived there about a month previously
with his wife and nine children. It may be well to mention here that the party
of ten of which our subject was a member left their families in the East. The
day after their arrival the party proceeded to look up their land. All readers
of history and those in touch with current events are presumably familiar with
the ins and outs of what was called the Homestead Grant. Mr. Snyder received his
grant of 160 acres, which had been selected by the above-mentioned company, but
at the end of four days his idea of Western life underwent a decided change and
remarking to the others that he would not bring his family to such a wilderness,
he picked up his few belongings and with Francis Warren returned to Solomon
City, and from there back to Forksville. In the spring of 1871 he purchased a
hotel in Solomon City, Kan., for $4,000, and together with his family moved to
his new purchase, where he conducted a hotel for about one and one-half years.
At the expiration of that time, owing to ill health, he disposed of his
property, but in the end lost his entire investment. He returned to Forksville,
and in the spring of 1873 became proprietor of the Forksville Hotel,
establishing a great reputation for himself and the establishment throughout
that section of the county. Disposing of this finally, he built the store now
conducted by A. L. Smith, which he still owns, and also three tenement houses.
In 1893 he built the Snyder Hotel which he conducted for five years. He
purchased the Daniel Little farm, located in Elkland township, consisting of 190
acres, on which he erected a new house and barn, and there he has since resided
with the exception of the time which he spends in Forksville. He is also owner
of numerous landed interests throughout that section. Always industrious and
energetic, he has won his way to the front ranks of the business men.
On January 1, 1857, Mr. Snyder married Sarah Ann Huckell, who was born in
Elkland township, October 22, 1830, and was a daughter of William Huckell. They
had two children: William H., who was born August 24, 1858, and died January 18,
1864; and George W., a commercial man of Forksville and owner of the old
Ridgeway Farm in Elkland township, who was born September 7, 1860. He married
Mary Fleming and has two children: Marion and Lou. Mrs. Snyder died November 26,
1861, and our subject formed a second alliance with Sarah Ann Huckell, who was
born August 24, 1831, and they had one son: Charles L., born September 16, 1863,
died September 18, 1863. Politically our subject is a Democrat and has served as
a member of the borough council of Forksville, as supervisor and school director.
George W. Snyder was born in Elkland Township, Sept. 7, 1860. He is a son of Jacob L. and Sarah A. (Huckle [sic]) Snyder. The Huckles are the descendants of Thomas Huckle, a native of England, who while in England, married Sarah Ann Lambert and came to America with his family, locating first at Northumberland. In 1797, Mr. Huckle purchased land at Forksville, now owned by the D.T. Huckle estate. George W. Snyder is engaged in the mercantile business at Forksville. He is a member of the board of auditors and treasurer of the Farmers and Mechanics’ Home Mutual Fire Insurance Co., of Western Sullivan County. In 1885, Mr. Snyder married Mary Fleming, who was born in Forks Township in 1863. She is daughter of John and Zilphia (Rogers) Fleming, of Forksville. To Mr. and Mrs. Snyder have been born two daughters: Marion and Lou.
John K. Bird was born in Forks Township, Nov. 15, 1837. He was a son of George and Sally (King) Bird and a grandson of Powell Bird, one of the three first settlers of Forks Township. The Birds came from Norfolk, England, where Mr. Bird’s father and grandfather were both born. They came to America, locating first at Sunbury (PA) in 1793, and in 1795 located on the farm now owned by John K. Bird, the subject of this sketch. Mr. Bird is engaged in farming and stock raising. He has held numerous township offices, having served as school director nine years, assessor nine years, town clerk, president of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society, and is the present assessor. In 1865, Mr. Bird married Carrie Yonkin, who was born in Cherry Township, July 10, 1844. She was the daughter of Peter and Catherine (Suber) Yonkin, and a granddaughter of Henry Yonkin, Sr. He was born near Cassel, Germany, May 4, 1871, married Elizabeth Haines, and came to America with his family in 1807, and to Cherry Township in 1823, being one of the early settlers of Cherry Township. To Mr. and Mrs. John K. Bird have been born six children: Lincoln, who died in infancy; Fannie M., married F. E. Yonkin, of Cherry; Willard, of Elmira, N.Y.; Arthur G. of Overton; J. Elbert and Ethel Y., at home.
Charles W. Bird was born in Forks Township in 1871. He is a son of William and Ella (Robbins) Bird, of Overton, PA. His grandfather, Charles Bird, was a grandson of Powell Bird, one of the first settlers of Forks Township. Mr. Bird lives on the Jeffrey Clark farm in Forks, and is a carpenter by trade. In 1890 he married Alice Owen, who was born at East Canton, PA, in 1871. She was the daughter of A.W. and Anna (Hendrickson) Owen, of Leona, Bradford County. Mr. Owen came originally from Richardson, N.Y. and Mrs. Owen from Wisconsin. To Mr. and Mrs. Bird has been born one son, Lyle.
George W. Lambert was born in Forks Township, Feb. 9, 1855. He was a son of William and Emma (Wright) Lambert. The Lamberts came from Derby, England. An uncle came with the Rogers’ to Forksville about 1812. William Lambert was a native of Centre County and came to Forks when eight years of age, living with his uncle, Joseph Warren. George W. Lambert purchased his father’s farm in Forks and is extensively engaged in stock raising and farming. He has been road commissioner, tax collector and assessor of Forks Township. In 1880 he married Mary Tolan, who was born in Elkland Township in 1850. She was a daughter of Henry and Ellen (McCarty) Tolan. They were natives of Dublin, Ireland, and came to America in 1849, locating on a farm near Eldredsville, Elkland Township. T Mr. and Mrs. Lambert have been born three children: Lena A., Leo F. and Alice C.
Charles Nye ** was born in Monroe County, PA, in 1848. He was a son of David Nye, who was born near Trenton, New Jersey. The Nyes are of French descent. Mr. Nye’s mother’s maiden name was Metzgar, she was a native of Germany. Mr. Nye came to Sullivan County in 1878; he purchased a farm in Forksville and is engaged in farming. He conducted a meat market at Forksville for a number of years. He has been a member of the Forksville school board and town council, and has held the office of tax collector. In 1880, he married Anna Jane Fleming, who was born in Forks Township in 1856. She is a daughter of John and Zilphia (Rogers) Fleming, of Forksville. Mr. Fleming was a native of New Jersey; he is of Scotch Irish descent. Mrs. Fleming was a daughter of Moses Rogers, of Forksville. The history of the Rogers’ has been traced back in England to 1031. To Mr. and Mrs. Nye has been born one son: Claire R. ** Editor's Note: The reader will note several references to the Nye surname on this page. It appears that Charles Nye had a sister named Amy Nye, who was the first wife of Isaac Rogers and mother of M. D. Rogers. You can read more about this relationship both elsewhere on this page and at Letters to Isaac Rogers. There is also a reference in Aunt Eliza's Scrapbook to "Mrs. Charles Nye", who by birth was a Fleming. The Nyes, Flemings and Rogers all lived in and near Forksville, and Amy was certainly of the right age to be a sister of Charles Nye. Their parents, if this surmise is correct, were David and Elizabeth (Metzgar) Nye.
Martin O’Brian was born in 1837. He is a son of William and Anastasia (Fitzsimmons) O’Brian, who were natives of County Wexford, Ireland. They emigrated to Canada about 1833, and in 1843 came to Forks Township. Martin O’Brian purchased his father’s farm, and is engaged in farming and stock raising. In 1867, he married Ellen McDonald, who was born at Franklin, Bradford County, in 1843. She was a daughter of John and Margaret (Hare) McDonnald, of Franklin, Bradford County. To Mr. and Mrs. O’Brian have been born: Mary Catharine, who died June 11, 1883; Margaret A., who married Thomas J. Burke, of Binghamton, N.Y.; William J., at home, and Julia M., a school teacher.
Augustus B. Bleiler was born in Lehigh County, PA, in December 1840. He was a son of Isaac and Mary (Krause) Bleiler, natives of Lehigh County; they were of German descent. Isaac Bleiler came with his family to Forks Township in 1850, locating on the farm now owned by Augustus B., the subject of this sketch. Mr. Bleiler learned the carpenter trade and for a number of years lived at Overton, working at his trade. Later, he purchased the homestead and moved upon it, where he is engaged in farming. In 1863, Mr. Bleiler married Loretta Sherman who was born at Overton. She was a daughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Thrasher) Sherman, of Overton. Henry Sherman was of French descent; he came to Sullivan County about 1823, locating first in Forks Township and later in Overton Township, Bradford County. Mrs. Henry Sherman was a descendant of George Thrasher, a native of Reading, who located in Cherry Township in 1828; he was of German descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Bleiler have been born: F.P.N., died in 1900; Anna, dec’d, married C.E. Molyneux, of Dushore; Lizzie, married Charles Fulmer, of Chester County, PA; John M., of Athens, PA; Emma, married Ezra Hunsinger, of Dushore, PA; Maude E., at home.
Carl E. Osthaus was born in Forks Township, Nov. 8, 1866. He is a son of Francis and Jennie (Francke) Osthaus. Mr. Osthaus was born in Germany in 1821, and came to America in 1852, locating in Forks Township. In 1854 he entered the mercantile business on his farm in Forks. In 1867, he built a store in Overton, where he continued in business since. Carl E. Osthaus, on reaching his majority, entered his father’s store and later was taken in as a Partner in the business, of which he has charge. His residence is with his father on the homestead in Forks Township. In 1899, Mr. Osthaus married Mary A. Molyneux, who was born in Forks Township, Sept. 9, 1869. She is a daughter of J.L. and Elvira M. (McCarty) Molyneux. The Molyneux’s and McCarty’s are the descendants of two of the pioneer families of Forks and Elkland Townships.
Edward Francke was born in the city of Dantzig, Germany, Dec. 22, 1842. He was a son of Edward F. and Augusta (Grosskopp) Francke, both natives of Germany, who came to America with their family in 1854, locating in Forks Township. In June 1863, Edward Francke enlisted in the Civil war; he was a member of Co. A, 18th PA Cavalry, and was discharged from the service Oct. 30, 1865. In 1867, he took charge of F. Osthaus’ store at Overton, where he remained seven years. He then devoted his attention to farming, having previously purchased his father’s farm and located his family there. About seven years ago, he purchased the store in Overton, formerly conducted by F. Heichemer, continuing the business in the name of E. Francke & Son. In 1871, he married Mary McCann, who was born in Overton Township. She was a daughter of Owen McCann, a native of Ireland. Mrs. Francke died Aug. 17, 1903, and since that time Mr. Francke has lived with his son, Joseph J., at Overton. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Francke were: Edward O, of Athens; Herman A., of Kansas City, MO; Joseph J., of Overton; Eugene J., of Overton; Carl F., of Overton; William A., of Sayre, and Richard R., of Athens.
M.H. Sayman was born in Forks Township, June 21, 1851. He was a son of Benjamin Sayman, who was born in Berks County in 1814 and came to Sullivan County in 1848, and died in 1850. Mr. Sayman purchased the Benjamin Nevil farm, where he lives, and has since purchased considerable land and is doing extensive stock raising and agricultural business. He has held numerous offices, having served as tax collector, road commissioner, overseer of the poor and justice of the peace. February 21, 1871, he married Lydia Hunsinger, who was born in Forks Township in 1848. She was a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Brobst) Hunsinger, of Forks Township, and a granddaughter of George Hunsinger, who located in Cherry Township in 1819. To Mr. and Mrs. Sayman have been born four sons: Emanuel E., Levi S., Luia H. and Cleveland.
William P. Kelly was born in Forks Township in 1858. He was a son of Daniel and Mary (Lahey) Kelly. Daniel Kelly was a native of County Cork, Ireland, and came to America during the famine of 1847-48, locating first in Cherry Township and the next year with his four brothers purchased a large tract of land, near Campbellville, on a portion of which William P. Kelly, the subject of this sketch, now lives. Mrs. Daniel Kelly was a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Flynn) Lahey. William P. Kelly purchased the James Kelly farm adjoining that of his father. He is at present a member of the Forks Township school board. To Mr. and Mrs. Kelly have been born: Joseph D., Francis M., Edward L., Leonora L., Jerome W., and Alice E., three children died in infancy.
Rev. J.H. Bowen was born at Plainsville, Steuben County, N.Y. He was a son of William H. Bowen, who was of Welsh descent. The Bowens are the descendants of three brothers who came to America at a very early date and are said to have built the first gristmill erected in the United States, in the State of Rhode Island. Rev. Bowen entered the ministry of the Wesleyan Methodist church in 1893, spending most of his time in the State of New York. In April 1901, he came to Millview. His preaching appointments cover the western section of Sullivan County. In 1892, he married Philanda Sprague, who was born at Fremont, Steuben County N.Y. She is a daughter of G.H. Sprague, of Haskinville, N.Y. Mr. Sprague was a veteran of the Civil war and a prominent member of the Wesleyan Methodist church. His ancestors were English people, who located in Rhode Island at a very early date. To Mr. and Mrs. Bowen have been born two children: Ward C. and Ira S.
Samuel B. Kilmer was born in Fox Township, Sept. 8, 1860. He is a son of William and Catharine (Shattuck) Kilmer. The Kilmers are the descendants of Philip Kilmer, who came from Hesse Cassel, Germany, to America in a colony of refugees in 1710. Philip Kilmer located on the Hudson River in the State of New York; of this lineage, Philip Kilmer, the father of the Sullivan County branch of the family, was born in the Mohawk Valley, New York, in 1781. During the war of 1812, he went to Canada. Later he came back to New York, locating at Marcellus; from there he came with his family of nine children to Fox Township. He and two of his sons, Anthony and Henry, who were of age, being three of the first ten settlers of Fox Township. Samuel B. Kilmer’s grandfather, Anthony Kilmer, was the oldest son of Philip Kilmer. Samuel B. Kilmer purchased the John Warren farm near Millview; this was one of the three first improvements made in Forks Township. Mr. Kilmer served one term as road commissioner of Forks Township. Mr. Kilmer married Mary E. Molyneux, June 21, 1893. She was born at Millview, Sept. 8, 1868. She was a daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Huckle) Molyneux, of Millview. To Mr. and Mrs. Kilmer have been born three children: Harry M., Helen and Hulda.
Lloyd Streby was born in Forks Township, Feb. 17, 1857. He is a son of Thomas and Caroline (Bleiler) Streby. Thomas Streby was a son of Isaac and Elizabeth (Ruth) Streby. Isaac was a son of Leonard Streby, who located in Overton Township in 1820. Lloyd Streby purchased a portion of the original Henry Hottenstein farm in Forks Township, and is also conducting his father’s farm. He has served a number of years as school director, town clerk, tax collector, and is at present township treasurer of Forks Township. Mr. Streby married Alma J Vough, March 24, 1881. She was born in Forks Township, Aug. 17, 1862, and was a daughter of David and Mary Ann (Bitner) Vough. David Vough located on the farm in Forks Township recently owned by Lloyd and Clinton Streby and sold by them to Oliver Bird in 1904. To Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Streby have been born five children: Jennie M, Bertha E, Blanche M., Homer L and Annie R.
Clinton Streby was born in Forks Township in 1863. He is a son of Thomas and Caroline (Bleiler) Streby. The Strebys are the descendants of Leonard Streby, who married a daughter of Daniel Heverly, the first settler in Overton Township. Leonard Streby moved from Lehigh County to Ohio were his son Isaac, grandfather of the subject of this sketch was born, and from there moved to Overton, being the third settler in Overton Township, Bradford County. Clinton Streby purchased the Albert Molyneux farm, being parrtially in Overton and parrtially in Forks Township. His residence is in Overton Township. He also purchased another farm of 70 acres in Overton Township and is giving special attention to raising blooded stock. He has been road commissioner of Overton Township four years. In 1896, Mr. Streby married Martha Vough, who was born in Forks Township in 1867. She was a daughter of David and Mary Ann (Bitner) Vough, of Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Streby have been born two children: Herbert D. and Grace M.C.
John R. Fleming was born Nov. 10, 1862, in Elkland Township. He was a son of David Fleming, a native of New Jersey, who moved with his father, John Fleming, to the Wyoming Valley. Daniel Fleming married Catharine M. Osler, a daughter of John H. Osler, of Forksville, and located in Elkland Township. He enlisted in the Civil war, was wounded in the battle of the Wilderness, and died three days later; the widow married D.T. Huckle, of Forksville. John F. Fleming purchased the Osler woolen mill property, which he has been operating, and is also engaged in truck farming. In 1888, he married Della Glidewell, who was born in Elkland Township in 1858. She is a daughter of F.B. Glidewell, who was a son of William Glidewell, one of the pioneer families of Elkland Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Fleming has been born one daughter, Grace.
John Wright was born in County Mayo, Ireland, in 1843 and came to America in 1850. He was a son of James Wright, who came to America 57
years ago, locating in Cherry Township. Mr. Wright is the owner of 367 acres of land in Forks Township and is extensively engaged
in stock raising. He has been tax collector, assessor, overseer of the poor, and is at present a member of the school
board of Forks Township. Mr. Wright married Bridger Connor, Feb. 30, 1872. She was born at Meshoppen,
PA, in 1850. She was a daughter of John and Bridget (Devanney) Connor *, who were natives of County Sligo,
Ireland, and came to America about 1851, locating near Tunkhannock, Wyoming County, PA. They
later went to Georgia, returning and locating in Sullivan County, PA. To Mr. and Mrs. Wright have been born: James J, John M. and Martin F. * Note: You can learn more about this family at Settlers III: Patrick Devanney.
James R. Ferrell was born in Elkland Township, March 8, 1851. He was a son of Richard and Mariah (Redden) Ferrell, both natives of Dublin, Ireland, who came to America and about 60 years ago located in Elkland Township on the farm now owned by John Warren. Their children were: Michael, of Picture Rocks, a veteran of the Civil war; John, of Watkins, N.Y.; Mary, deceased: Arthur, deceased; and James R. Mrs. Ferrell, after the death of her husband, married Joseph Hearne, of Buffalo, N.Y.; she had one son Joseph, by her second husband.
James R. Ferrell (the 2nd) purchased a portion of the George Molyneux farm and a portion of the Henry Rinebold farm. He married Adaline Bird, Oct. 15, 1878. She was born in Forks Township, March 29, 1852. She was a daughter of Charles and Harriet (Molyneux) Bird, of Millview. The Molyneux and Birds were two of the three first families to locate in Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Ferrell have been born: Hattie M., dec’d, married Elmer Vough; Charles M., Roscoe W., Oliver C., Melvie J., Bertha E., Clara Viola, died in 1891; Mary S.E.
Elmer Vough was born in Forks Township, Jan. 7, 1869. He was a son of Abram and Ann (Molyneux) Vough, of Forks. Abram Bough was a son of John Vough, of Lycoming County. The father died and Abram’s mother married Jeffrey Clark, a native of Chester, England, who located in Forks Township. Abram Vough married Ann Molyneux, a daughter of Edward Molyneux, and their children were: Lottie R., who died Nov. 1874; Ernest W., of Forks; Llewellan J., died Feb. 17, 1876; Florence S, married Rev. Eugene Warburton; Lyle Nelson, died Oct. 3, 1871; Elmer E., the subject of this sketch, and Estella M, married Curtis Rumsey, of Forks. Elmer J. Vough purchased the Vough homestead. In 1900, he married Harriet Ferrell, dec’d. In 1903, he married Adeline B. Rinebold, a daughter of George and Ruth (Bird) Rinebold. To Mr. Vough has been born, Manville C., by his first wife.
William Sherman was born in Overton Township in 1842. He was a son of Henry and Elizabeth (Thrasher) Sherman. Henry Sherman came to Forks Township in 1853, and later located in Overton Township. Mrs. Henry Sherman was a descendant of George Thrasher, who located in Cherry Township in 1828. William Sherman purchased a portion of his father’s farm lying in Forks Township, where he located. He served one term as road commissioner. In 1899 he was taken sick with pneumonia and died. He married Emily Molyneux, a daughter of John and Hannah (Heverly) Molyneux. John Molyneux was a son of Edward Molyneux and a grandson of William Molyneux, the first settler in Forks Township. In 1904, Mrs. Sherman married S.M. Scovill, of Towanda Township, Bradford County, who was born in that Township March 25, 1848. He was a son of Henry Scovill, one of the pioneer families of Bradford County.
E.W. Snell was born in Hillsgrove Township, in 1840. He was a son of Charles and Mary (Molyneux) Snell. Charles Snell located near the mouth of Elk Creek in Hillsgrove and built the gristmill at that place, now owned by Aaron Lewis, and a sawmill. Charles Snell was a son of John Snell and a grandson of John Snell, a native of England, who located in Elkland Township on the Hart farm now owned by Mrs. Schill. The date that the Snell family came to Elkland cannot be given, but it was probably soon after 1800. Charles Snell and four sons, E.W., Franklin, William and Luther, entered the army during the Civil war. At the close of the war, E.W. Snell located on a farm at the mouth of Elk Creek. He married Melvia Norton, a daughter of Charles Norton, of Elkland. She died July 4, 1888. On Feb. 4, 1893, Mr. Snell married Mary Whitely, of Forksville, who was a daughter of Joseph Whitley, who came with his family form England to Philadelphia in 1841 and located in Elkland Township in 1846, and later lived a retired life at Forksville, where he built the residence owned and occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Snell.
George Wanck was born in Forks Township, Feb. 17, 1857. He was a son of John and Sarah (Fawcett) Wanck and a grandson of John Wanck, a native of Germany, who came to America when 14 years of age, locating at Northumberland and a few years later located at Campbellville, on the farm now owned by M.F. Mathews. George Wanck purchased his father’s farm, on which he is engaged in tilling. In 1883, he married Frances Strevy, a daughter of Alfred Strevy, who was a grandson of Leonard Streby, who settled in Overton Township in 1820. To Mr. and Mrs. Wanck have been born three sons: Amos, Oscar and Irvin.
George Litzelman was born in Cherry Township in 1855. In 1875, he married Sarah Shrimp, a daughter of Henry and Mary (Shaffer) Shrimp. Mr. Shrimp was a native of Germany and Mrs. Shrimp was a daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Gable) Shaffer, of Cherry Township. Mr. Litzelman purchased the John Clark farm in Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Litzelman have been born: Nora, married George Kester, of Campbellville; Mary, married Leroy Roha, of Forks Township; Sadie, Lena, John and Henry.
Phillip Shrimp was born in Forks Township in 1850. He was a son of Henry and Mary (Shaffer) Shrimp. Henry Shrimp was a native of Germany; he came to America in 1843, and located in Forks Township in 1849. Phillip Shrimp married Ada Epler, in 1882. She was born in Lancaster County, and was a daughter of Daniel K., and Mary (Hartman) Epler, who came to Forks Township in 1872. Daniel Epler was a native of Berks County. To Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Shrimp has been born one son, Martin W., deceased.
M.C. Shrimp was born in Forks Township in 1864. He was a son of Henry and Mary (Shaffer) Shrimp. Mary Shrimp was a daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Gable) Shaffer, of Cherry Township. M.C. Shrimp lives on a portion of his father’s farm. In 1891 he married Clara Rohe, who was born in Forks Township in 1875. She was a daughter of Peter and Hannah (Hartzig) Rohe of Forks Township. To Mr. and Mrs. Shrimp have been born four children: Walter H., Emelia E., Oscar L, and Freddie W.
Ezra Kinney was born in Terry Township, Bradford County, May 3, 1863. He was a son of Alexander and Rebecca (White) Kinney. Alexander Kinney was born in Tioga County, his ancestors came from Connecticut. Mr. Kinney purchased the Thomas Caggins farm near Campbellville in Forks Township in 1901. Mr. Kinney married Minnie Brown in 1891. She was born in New Jersey in 1869. Her mother was a Miss Hoover, and her parents moved from New Jersey to Frenchtown, Bradford County, after the Civil war. To Mr. and Mrs. Kinney have been born four children: Arthur, Minard, Iona and Rebecca.
Thomas Griffith was born in Athens Township, Bradford County, PA, Oct. 27, 1869. He was a son of A.B. Grifith, who came from Dutchess County, N.Y. His ancestors came from Connecticut, and were of English descent. Mr. Griffith is a blacksmith by trade and runs a shop at Campbellville. In 1895 he married Cora Hatch, who was born at Evergreen, Bradford County. She was a daughter of D.D. Hatch, of Albany Township, Bradford County. To Mr. and Mrs. Griffith has been born one son: Grant.
Road Commissioners- Irvin Hottenstein and Ernest Vough
School Directors- W.P. Kelly, H.L. Molyneux, D.H. Epler, John Wright,
M.J. Broshart and P.J. Keefe
Town Clerk- Watson Fawcett
Treasurer- Lloyd Streby
Tax Collector- E.J. Bahl
Assessor- J.K. Bird
Constable- C.P. Hunsinger
Overseers of the Poor- W.W. Warburton and David Molyneux
REGISTERED VOTERS OF FORKSVILLE BOROUGH
Andrews, Henry F.;Albertson, C.L.;Bryan, Charles;Benfield, Perry
Conrad, CW;Calkins, WM;Calkins, JL
Davis, John R;Decker, OF;
Fleming, JR;Fleming, John;Fawcett, BW;Fawcett, Benjamin
Glidewell, FB;Grange, Lial;Gleockler, David
Lancaster, RD;Lancaster, HD;Little, OJ
McCarty, Carl;McCarty, Russel;Miller, WE;McCarty, HO
Nye, CR;Nye, Chas;Norton, JW;
Rogers, John;Rogers, MA;Randall, John;Rogers, RC
Shadock, Harry;Snyder, JL;Snyder, GW;Smith JB
Schannabacher, FC;Snell, WE
Webster, WH;Woodhead, HJ;Wilcox, AT
REGISTERED VOTERS OF FORKS TOWNSHIP
Broshart, MJ;Bird, OH;Bird, SJ;Bird, CW
Bird, JH;Bender, GW;Bahr, John S;Broshart, Michael Sr.
Forksville Intersection This picture is of Forksville, at the intersection of
Route 87 and what is now called Mill Street. It was taken probably in the early or mid-1950's. To the left is
Baumunk's Mill. In the background is the bridge that crosses the Loyalsock between Mill Street and Route 154, heading up to
Estella, PA. Photo courtesy of Linda Bosnak
In January 2005, a set of old postcards was auctioned on eBay. You can click on several of them here: