First Christian Church of Washington
Pages 36, 37, 38 of Record
Church records transcribed by Mrs. Martha
Lacock Nicholl, deceased, late of Washington, PA
Submitted by Paula Schlichter Aug. 2006
(Sept. 1865 continued)
Sharlotte HARRIS and Sophia HELMS excluded from the church for danceing (sic) and neglect of duty. Also, Sharlotte MOUNTS for the same. Susanna WISE excluded for adultry. (sic=Adultery)
At a meeting held in Washington by Br. CRAIN assisted by Br. STREATOR commencing March 21st and continueing (sic) over the first Lord's day in Feb. 1866 the following persons were immersed viz.
and all received into the church with the exception of Elizabeth DENMAN and Lottie Bell CRANE (sic=(note, in table her name was spelled CRANCE).
At the same meeting Mrs. JENT was received into the church.
Feb. 11, '66 (1866)
Brother Charles HELM who had formerly belonged to the church and had been excluded for disorderly conduct made confefsion (sic) and was restored.
Feb. 18 (1866)
George PRALL, Jenny PRALL and Elizabeth BRADDOCK were immersed by Br. STREATOR and on the following Lord's day took their membership in the church.
Brother F. LONGDON and wife admitted into the church.
April 1st 1866
Letter of recommendation granted Br. L.P. STREATOR and wife.
March 12, 1866
Brother Benjamin PRALL died in the ____ year of his age having been a Deacon of the church for 15 years previous to his death.
March 26, '66
Bro. B. F. REIS and Elizabeth REIS dismifsed (sic) by letter.
March 24, '66
It was resolved that the church elect two deacons and that on the following Lord's day each member deposit his or her vote for the persons they might consider the most suitable for the office and that the four having the highest vote should be considered nominated.
April 1st (1866)
The church voted and resulted in nominating Brethren John MUNCE, Edward VANKIRK, Samuel GANTZ, and G. F. MONINGER.
April 8th (1866)
Being unpleasant and not many members present, the election was continued over to the following Lord's day and resulted on (sic) the election of John MUNCE and Edward VANKIRK for Deacons which on motion of Br. CHAMBERS was made unanimous.
Mrs. _____ LONGDON and Julia Ann NICHOL were immersed by Br. STREATOR and received into the church.
Aug. 12, '66
Br. A. C. STREATOR granted a letter of recommendation.
Sister Hannah ORR departed this life in the ____ year of her age.
Margaret Ann MUNCE departed this life in the ____ year of her age.
Feb. 17th, 1867
After the regular exercise it was resolved that the church meeting at Williamsburgh procure an act of incorporation and also that there additional Trustees be elected to fill the vacancy occasioned by the death of Br. H. LANGLY, the exclusion of Hamilton VANKIRK and the resignation of Elder Samuel NICHOL. Whereupon Brethren John MUNCE, James H. MILLER and John C. HASTINGS were unanimously chosen. On motion of J. C. CHAMBERS, John MUNCE, James HAMILTON and John HUGHES were appointed a committee to confer with the Trustees of the Cumberland Church in regard to renting their House (e.g. church house) in Washington.
May 11, 1867
Br. L. P. STREATOR, Sister Rebecca R. STREATOR and William WAUGH presented letters of commendation and (were) received into the church.
The committee appointed rented the Cumberland Presbyterian House for the term of two years commenceing (sic) June 1st, 1867 at the rate of one hundred dollars [$100.00] a year and employed Br. J. B. CRANE as pastor for one year for twelve hundred dollars [$1200.00].
[NOTE: Cumberland Presbyterian]
June 2nd 1867
The church met for the first time in Washington under the new arrangement. Br. David M. _____ received on letter of recommendation.
Joniah (sic) CRAWFORD immersed by Br. CRANE and received into the church.
During a protracted meeting held by Br. CRANE in Nov. 1867 the following persons were immersed by him and received into the church. Sister Felicia HAMILTON received by letter.
[Webmaster's note: Tables added for easier reading.)
The spellings were double-checked against the pdf file of the original typing.
THIS LONG DOCUMENT IS SPLIT INTO MANY WEBPAGES
CLICK BELOW FOR CHURCH HISTORY