Search billions of records on

  Polish Flag Kujawsko-Pomorskie Province Kujawsko-Pomorskie Flag


After the Second World War, the present boundaries of Poland were formed. The Bydgoszcz province was established and had very similar boundaries to the present Kujawsko-Pomorskie province. In 1975, in an attempt to improve conditions in Poland, the eighteen provinces were divided into forty-nine smaller ones, and the Bydgoszcz province was divided to form two additional provinces, Torun and Wloclawek, from the areas around the two major cities. Ironically, on 1 January 1999, the province boundaries have come almost full-circle, and the province has a brand new name.

K-P map

©Copyright 1998. Office of the Chancellery of the Prime Minister of Poland.
PolandGenWeb is grateful for their kind permission to use their map



Last Update: Thursday, January 15, 2004

Province Coordinator: Vikki Jankowski

Polish Gen Web