Captain William Dewe/Dew/Due (s)
[1721, near Dorchester, St. Andrews Parish, Berkley, SC - ca.1786 on Dewees Island, Charleston, SC, formerly Timicau Island. (no Will, no Probate found)]
An Early Trader and Indian Merchant of Charleston, SC,
Savannah, Ga., & places near Atlanta, Ga. He was also a speculator,
and a Planter with at least 11 inherited slaves.
By Steven W. Due, last modified on June. 28th 2011
Genealogy of his ancestors:
Edward Dewe (ca. 1562, Lockinge, Berks - ca. 1632, Harwell, Berks) Yeoman, a son of John Dewe & ___ Winchcombe. Edward Dewe was a long-time resident of Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. He married Agnes Loder (ca. 1567, Harwell - ca. before 1632, Harwell) a daughter of Robert Loder.
Edward Dewe became wealthy by letting and subletting Thames River pastureland. Edward & Agnes had at least two sons, one of which predeceased him, and three daughters that survived to maturity. Edward Dewe bestowed living legacies on his son Thomas Dewe, the Stationer that predeceased him, and Tom’s sons.
1. Thomas Dewe (1584, Harwell, Berkshire - 1625, St. Dunstans in the West, Fleet Street, London) m: Annie Helmes. He was a Guild Stationer of Fleet Street, London.
The nuncupative Will of Thomas Dew of the Parish of St. Dunstan in the West, Citizen,
and Stationer of London, having the intention to declare his Will, uttered these words or
the like in effect on the 13th of March 1624:
“All that I have I give to you (I E: Annie H. Dew, his wife) &c.” She then asked
him what he would give to his father & mother, and he said “…He would leave it
to her but if she thought fit, his Will was they should get some of his clothes.” This was
spoken in the presence of Annie, his wife, Elizabeth Dew, his sister, and Marie
Price, his maidservant. And further on March 14th 1624, being demanded by
Mr. John Beliald if he had made his Will, and what course he had taken for the
payment of certain monies which he owed, he said “I have not made a Will, but as I
had all my estate by my wife, and children, so do I leave all unto them, and I will charge
my wife to deal well with Mrs. Elizabeth Underwood, etc,.” which was spoken in
the presence of the said John Beliald, Elizabeth Dew, and Marie Price. [Dated
Mar. 13th 1624, proved April 1st 1624 (P. C. C. 43, Clarke)]
Note that a Mr. John Belliald, of Milton, Nottinghamshire, England is noted in a
Grant from King Charles I on Dec. 5th 1631. Grant being passed from his
grandfather Richard Billiald to his father Thomas Billiald. [University of
Nottingham, NE D 2411]
Either stated, or implied by his nuncupative Will:
Wife: Annie Helmes, Dew
sister: Elizabeth Dew, who could have been his sister-in-law.
daughter: deceased wife of John Beliald.
daughter: Mrs. Underwood, found to be Elizabeth Dew, Underwood whose daughter: sister Margaret Dewe, Underwood came to Isle of Wight, Virginia, and was mentioned in her grandfather's Will.
daughter: Maria Price, maidservant
2. Mary Dewe (1588, Harwell, Berkshire - ?) m: John Collins
3. Richard Dewe (April 20th 1589, Harwell, Berkshire - ca. 1663, Harwell Berkshire)
m: Elizabeth Teasdale. Richard became Sheriff of County Berkshire in 1652 for a term.
Richard Dewe was heir to the Thames River, and other lands as the only surviving son of
his father Edward Dewe in 1632.
4. Joanne Dewe (ca. 1590, Harwell, Berkshire - ?) m: Christopher Elderfield (d. 1652, Harwell, Berks.)
5. Elizabeth Dewe ( - ) Mentioned as a sister of Thomas Dewe, London Stationer, that was present when he made his nuncupative Will on March 13, 1624 at his residence on Fleet Street, but she might have been his sister-in-law, wife of his brother Richard Dewe. Unproved.
Edward’s eldest son was Thomas Dewe (ca. June 1585, Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. - ca. 1625 London, Eng. at age 39.)
Thomas Dewe married about 1600 to Annie Helmes (Chr: Mar. 10th 1681, Chipping, Lancashire, Eng. - aft. 1625) a younger sister of John Helmes, the London Stationer (licensed from 1607 until 1617,) under whom Thomas Dewe was indentured as an Apprentice. John Helmes himself was a Stationer’s Apprentice at St. Dunstan’s Churchyard when his young sister Annie married Thomas Dewe.
His father Edward Dewe provided a living legacy to Thomas Dewe in 1608. Edward’s assistance facilitated his son’s ambition to adventure with newly organized “London Company of Virginia” by further accommodating his family, and educating his children in England during their necessary period of separation. It seems that Stationer’s Apprentice Thomas Dew was granted a verbal leave of absence excusing his Indenture to his brother-in-law, but John Helmes did not revoke the Indenture in case Thomas changed his mind, and wanted to return to his former position.
Thomas Dewe became a subscriber - investor in the London Company of Virginia by paying his passage to Virginia in Oct. of 1608 on the “Mary and Margaret.” It also appears that he assumed the name “Thomas Dowse” in order to circumvent any chance that London authorities might deny him passage to Virginia regarding his still-existing indenture. His use of an alias in Virginia caused lingering identity confusion for his colonial family that continued some years after the probate of his estate.
But his brother-in-law John Helmes perished in about 1616-17, leaving behind his widow, Annie Brittain, Helmes as the very first female Guild Stationer at the Bookstore at St. Dunstan’s in the West, on Fleet Street, London. It seems that English gender prejudice soon began to adversely affect her profits in the business. It appears that about 1619 she corresponded with Thomas Dewe, alis Dowse, in Virginia, and offered him an attractive business proposition if he would return to London and run the Bookstore.
After a grueling twelve-year adventure in Virginia, Thomas returned to London in 1620 where he became freed and fully licensed as a guild Stationer at St. Dunstan’s Churchyard on Fleet Street in London from 1621 – 1624, until his death at a fairly young age. The identity of his children cannot be proved by the Stationer's nuncupative Will, but are believed to be:
1. Thomas Dewe (1601/02, Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. - bef. 1891. York, Va.) m: Elizabeth Bennett (b. 1603.) He became an investor-subscriber in the London Company of Virginia both by the legacies of his father, and by paying his own way to the colony.
The account of Thomas Dew, deceased, York County Court, October 1691 - an account of what estate doth appear to belong to Thos. Dew, dec'd, as did appear before ye Court, Oct. 16th 1691, to be owing by these several persons hereafter named:
Account by John Mykill, 060 lbs. Tobacco
Account by Jas. Priest, 030 lbs. Tobacco
Account by Tho. Jefferson 125 lbs. Tobacco
Account by Robert Leightenhouse's bill 250 lbs. Tobacco
465 lbs. Tobacco
Test. J. Sedgewick
"John Mykill is to pay out of this account 100 lbs. Tobacco to Jno. Lucas."
John Lucas was a former nephew-in-law of the decedent Thomas Dew. His father
Capt. John Lucas, Sr. was once married to Thomas Dew's sister Margaret. Lucas was her last husband.
2. (Annie?) Dewe (ca. 1603, Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. - deceased in 1624, London, Eng.) It is implied that she married John Beliald who was present and made inquires of Thomas Dewe, London Stationer regarding the settlement of his debt, when he made his nuncupative Will on March 13, 1624 in London. In 1624 she is implied as his deceased daughter.
3. Elizabeth Dewe (ca. 1604, Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. - bef. 1628) was married before 1624 to Edmond Underwood Her father Thomas Dewe, the London Stationer, mentioned her in his nuncupative Will of March 13, 1624, that his wife Annie was to deal well with Mrs. Elizabeth Underwood for money he owed her (probably for paying certain printing fees payable before book sales generated revenue.) She is implied to be his daughter that wed to Edmond Underwood (1679, London, Eng. - 1637, London, Eng.) Edmond Underwood, by a former wife was perhaps the father of William Underwood that married her sister Margaret Dewe.
Her niece Elizabeth Underwood, Taylor, Slaughter, Catlett, Butler's Will made May 7, 1673, Rappahannock, Va., & proved June 16, 1673 wherein she mentions her surviving children:
a. Francis Slaughter, Jr.
b. Sarah Catlett
c. John Catlett
d. Elizabeth Catlett
e. William Catlett
This niece also mentioned William Underwood, Sr.; Catherine Booth; brother Humphry; sister Mary Pierce. Her Overseers were, cousin Capt. Thomas Hawkins, and my brother Edward Rowzie, and Mr. Daniel Gaines. (The expression “brother” can mean a brother-in-law, or a half-brother. Actually Edward Rowzie married this niece’s sister Mary Pierce that was a daughter of William Pierce, and Sarah Underwood noticed below. So Edward Rowzie was her brother-in-law.)
Witnesses were Thomas Lucas, Sr., and John Dawson.
4. Marie Dewe (ca. 1606 Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. - aft. 1624) married before 1624 to unknown Price. Her father Thomas Dewe, London Stationer in his nuncupative Will dated March 13, 1624 mentioned Marie Price, his maidservant, as a witness. She is implied to be his married daughter.
5. Margaret Dewe (ca. 1611, London, Eng. - bet. 1663 & 1670, Rappahannock Co., Va.)
Margaret Dewe married before 1627 in London, England, to William Underwood who perished (ca. 1637) before Oct. 1744 in Isle of Wight, Virginia. Her children were:
a. Col. William Underwood, who married Mary (Burton/Mosley) in Isle of
b. Ann Underwood who married James Williamson in Isle of Wight, Va.
c. Elizabeth Underwood who married Dr. James Taylor, then Capt. Francis
Slaughter, then Col. John Catlett, Sr., then Rev. Amory Butler in Isle of
John Catlett mentioned in his Will that Mary (Maria) & Margaret were his
sisters-in-law, thus sisters of his wife.
Elizabeth's Will, dated May 7, 1673, proved June 16, 1673 in Rappahannock,
Va. names her surviving children: Francis Slaughter; John Catlett, Sarah Catlett, Elizabeth Catlett, & William Catlett.
Her Will refers to William Underwood, Sr. the elder as her cousin. She also named Catherine Booth; brother Humphry Booth; Sister Pierce.
She named Amory Butler as her sole Executor, and guardian of her children.
She named cousin Capt. Thomas Hawkins, my brother Edward Rowzie, and
Mr. Daniel Gaines as her Overseers. Witnesses were Thomas Lucas, Sr., &
Margaret Underwood was mentioned in the 1657/1658 Will of Francis
Slaughter, Jr. made in Rappahannock County, Virginia as his mother-in-law.
His spouse was Elizbeth Underwood, Slaughter.
Andrew Dew, son of Col. Thomas Dewe, was appointed "Overseer," or
Executor of the 1657/58 Will of Capt. Francis Slaughter, Sr., and received a
bequest of enough broadcloth to make him a suit. Andrew Dew was
apparently a cousin to Slaughter's wife Elizabeth Underwood, who had
at least one son:
a. Francis Slaughter, Jr.
d. Sarah Underwood, married William Pierce.
e. Margaret Underwood, married Humphry Booth
f. Mary Underwood, married Col. Moore Fauntleroy.
William Underwood perished ca. Oct. 1744 in Isle of Wight, Va.
His relict, Margaret Dewe, Underwood married ca. bef. Oct. 1644 in Isle of Wight, Virginia
to Capt. John Upton who perished in ca. 1652 in Isle of Wight, Virginia. Child:
Capt. John Upton's relict, Margaret Dewe, Underwood, Upton married ca. 1657 in Isle of Wight, Virginia to Capt. John Lucas, Sr. One of the daughters of Capt. John Lucas married
Capt. Thomas Hawkins. His namesake son John Lucas was the only person named payable in the 1691 probate of Col. Thomas Dew in York Co., Va.
6. Joseph Dewe (ca. 1613, London, Eng., or in Virginia, or in Virginia - aft. 1635, St. Kitts)
Joseph Doe (sic) left London in 1635 first for Virginia, then later that year he left Virginia for St. Kitts. (Noted as settled in each place – He probably died in St. Kitts.)
7. Ralph Dewe (ca. 1615, London, Eng, or in Virginia. – before 1691 Northampton, Va.)
Ralph Doe (sic) was recorded as settling in Virginia in 1635. Apparently he made a Voyage to England because a Ralph Doe (sic) Dew was transported to Virginia about 1649. Headrights for his passage was claimed by John Greeling on Oct. 12th 1652 after a required three year delay. In ca. 1661 he was married to Mary Custis, and they were dwelling in Eastvill, Hungars Parish, Northampton, Virginia. In 1671 Ralph Doe (sic) was employed by Edward Littleton in Northampton County, Va. on Feb. 12th 1678. Ralph Doe (sic) brought suit against Grace Gonsolvo in Accomack County, Virginia. No action was taken by the Court. If he was a son of this family then he perished before 1691. He had issue that used the name Doe.
8. John Dewe (ca. 1617, London, Eng., or in Virginia - before 1757, Va.)
John Dewe came to Va. in 1636, but removed to plant on land in Barbados.
John Dew planted on Barbados in 1638 where he owned more than 10 acres of land on that Island. John Dewe perhaps married Katherine Kigan issuing a daughter Katherine Dew.
In 1652 John Dewe arrived in Virginia, and took the Oath to England without a King, at Northumberland County, Virginia. His brother Col. Thomas Dewe of Va. likely administered this Oath as he was one of only two Virginia Judiciaries authorized to give the Oath at that time. John Dew perished in Virginia before he was forty years of age, and the 1657 Will of Karby Kigan was made. It is believed that he either bequeathed his land in Barbados to his nephew John Dewe, or otherwise conveyed it to him, as he had no male heirs that are known.
John Dewe perished before 1657 and was mentioned when Karbey Kigan made his Will in Virginia.
“Will of Karbry Kigan,
of the Isle of Wight Co., dated 12 Jan. 1657; pr. 9 Feb. 1657:
1-3 part of all his estate to his wife, Catherine, for life, all the rest of his estate to the child his wife now goeth with, and in case the said child doth not come to perfection or capacity to inherit, all my said lands &c to go to Robert Cowfield (son of Capt. Wm. Cowfield). "To said Robert Cowfield all my Books, my Rapior and my fowling piece"; to Elizbeth Cowfield a feather Bed and new Cupboard; to Capt. Wm. Cowfield my seal ring, and to his wife 10 shil. to buy her a ring; to Katherine, daughter of John Dew, a cow called Star and six pewter dishes. I bequeath to the church of Isle of Wight one hogshead of tobacco containing 350 lbs; cow calves to John King and to John Norton's child; 20 shillings to my countryman, John Rogers of Middle Plantation, to buy him a ring. Capt. William Cowfield and my wife Katherine Exors. Will of James Took, dated Feb. 1, 1659: Daughter Dorothy wife of John Harvey; sons William Took and Thomas -- to which last I give my Signett Seal Ring.”
[Note that one transcriber of this Will thought that the name was Tew instead of Dew.]
Thomas & Annie Helmes, Dew issued the children mentioned above, one of whom was Thomas Dewe (ca. 1601 Eng. - bef. 1691, York, Virginia,) a man who became a subscriber and investor in “the Virginia Company of London” by paying the passage of his family to Virginia. His legacy inherited from his grandfather Edward was an Oxford Education, and his upbringing from age 3 in England. He became one of the early immigrants to the American colonies. About 1620 he married Elizabeth Bennett, (b. 1603) perhaps in London, or thereabouts. She is considered to be a daughter of Robert Bennett.
The families of Thomas Dewe, and Robert Bennett seemingly arrived in Virginia about February of 1622 on the “Seaflower.” On March 22nd 1622 a devastating Indian massacre destroyed several plantations, including “Bennett’s Welcome” where Robert Bennett was a general manager. After this deadly massacre occurred, the burned out Plantation were abandoned, and the survivors were Ordered removed to James Citty. On February 16th 1623, Thomas Doe (sic) ux Doe (sic) were counted dwelling in the Maine River District of James Citty, Virginia. Because of his father’s use of the alias “Dowse” in Virginia during his twelve-year adventure, his son was also counted on this census in Elizabeth Citty, as Thomas Dowse. His wife Elizabeth was counted in Elizabeth Citty as “Mrs. Dowse” residing with ux Bennett, pue, Bennett, and Bennett at Bucke Row, while the head of this household was probably Robert Bennett who was counted at James Island, (but could have been the Rev. Wm. Bennett.) He also seems mistakenly counted among the dead from the Indian attack because we know he did not perish until after June that year because he wrote a letter to his brother Edward in June of 1623.
Robert Bennett and all his Virginia household family members perished of fever before November 20th 1623. It is not known if the next ship “Ann” that arrived in Virginia on August 7th 1623 was still in port then. In June, Robert posted a letter to his brother Edward in England wherein he mentioned, without giving their names, his wife and children, all of whom were apparently still living in June, but any of them who were dwelling his household in Virginia were probably dead when this letter arrived in London, perhaps even before the “Ann” left port in Virginia. Robert Bennett also mentioned “his children in England” with whom he expected the joy of seeing soon when he departed for England on the next ship. One of these surviving children was probably the Robert Bennett who soon arrived in Virginia from England on the “Abigail” and to whom possessions of Robert Bennett, deceased, were delivered. It is not known if his wife was among the deceased from fever at Virginia when Robert Bennett perished. It is possible she could have been in England when the fever took Robert in Virginia.
Conditions were so bad in Virginia that Thomas, his wife Elizabeth, and children returned to England on the “Ann,” her exact departure date unknown. About six months later his father, the London Stationer perished, and his estate was settled. Members of his immediate family for several years are found residing in Berkshire, probably at residential estate to which his mother retired from London, and that Thomas Dewe the eldest son probably inherited.
Thomas Dew became a London Merchant spending several years of the next decade providing desperately needed supplies to colonial settlements, while simultaneously planting plantations in Virginia, and in Somers Island.
About August 14th 1624 the ship “George” sailed from London to Virginia. She was a ship of 180 Tons, laden with 241 hogsheads of victuals and necessary provisions sent by diverse private adventurers. Upon this vessel “Mr. Thomas Douse, sendeth 2 ¼ Tons, 9 hogsheads,” and he was either a passenger aboard her or on a following ship.
During a 1625 “Muster of the Inhabitante of Elizabeth Cittie Beyond the Hampton River Beinge the Companyes Land, Mr. Thomas Dowse, his two men – (2).” Since only two persons were documented as dead in this entry, it is apparent that only two of his Indentured men were killed by Indians.
On Jan. 10th 1626, at a Court at James Citty, “It is Ordered ye servant of Capt. Dowse shall have two yeares time abated unto him of ye seven yeares to be accounted at ye time of ye said Robert Todd’s arrival here. [Robert Todd came over with Capt. Prince.] In the year of 1626, Thomas Dowse was granted 400 acres of land within the Borough of Charles Citty, land that he claimed for transporting himself, his wife and family, and perhaps others, in about 1622. This was found in a 1627 record for “The Corporacon of Charles Cittie” which indicated that Thomas Dowse had 400 acres planted, land granted in 1626. [from Hotton’s Lists.]
In 1627, Thomas Dew and Ben Harrison were both called eminent Tobacco planters in a letter to London by the outgoing Governor Henry Woodhouse of Somers Islands, AKA: Bermuda, during his term (1623-1626.)
In 1628 “Thomas Dew and children” signed a Petition plea asking Tax relief for the tobacco planters of Somers Island at Port in London.
On October 16th 1629 Thomas Doe was elected a Burgess representing “Archers Hope” in Virginia.
In 1629 he planted at Archer's Hope in Virginia.
In 1630 he was still being called a London Merchant on Oct. 6th 1630 when he returned to London from Virginia on the “Friendship” with 7,000 Pounds of Tobacco.
In 1631 he was convinced to invest in the newly formed “Providence Island Company” formed by Sir Robert Brooke, John Pym, an older fellow graduate of Oxford, among other Puritans. There numerous records of his activities recorded between 1631 and 1633 made at Brooke House, the home of Sir Robert Brooke, and the Court of the Providence Island Company.
In 1632 he planted on Old Providence Island before removing to exclusively plant on the Virginia colony mainland near Nanesmond about 1633.
His sons were all educated in England. Andrew Dewe left England with his brother Thomas about 1650 to Virginia, where Andrew spent the rest of his adult life, but son John Dewe planted in Jamaica and Barbados from 1659 until about 1667. After misfortunes in Barbados, John Dewe came to Virginia where he married late to Elizabeth Shearer.
On Nov. 22nd 1653, Major Andrew Gilson names Andrew Dewe as one of the people he transported to Virginia three years earlier, (the delay a requirement of law,) claiming his head-right for land.
Thomas Dewe, after his education in England, spent a few years in Nanesmond, Virginia leaving England for Virginia in 1650 with his brother Andrew Dewe, but after 1652 (1653?) Thomas returned to England. He departed to Barbados about 1667 where afterwards he perished about 1689.
Sons Thomas Dewe, and Richard Dewe both departed from England to Barbados in ca. 1667 apparently taking over the debt of a failed sugar plantation from which they rescued their brother John Dewe trapped by his insurmountable misfortune. At least they apparently paid off his debt. They may have also become merchants of Barbados.
The record suggests that Thomas Dewe, immigrant planter, had the following brothers who also planted in
the new world colonies:
Joseph Dewe, who planted on St. Christopher’s Island, (St. Kitt’s) Caribbean, in 1635,
Ralph Dewe, who settled in Virginia in 1635, and a
John Dewe, who came to Virginia in 1636, and planted on Barbados before 1638. He took the Oath of
Allegiance to England without a King administered in 1652 in Northumberland, Va. and was likely deceased
by 1757. Col. Thomas Dewe, one of only two persons authorized to do so, probably administered the Oath.
Lt. Col. Thomas Dewe also had cousins who came to Virginia. One of them is said a first cousin, a son of
his uncle Richard Dewe & Elizabeth Bennett. He was Jonathan Dew who came in 1666, but Jonathan
soon returned to Berkshire. The second immigration is of uncertain offspring supposed that descended from
his uncle Richard, too. A daughter of Jonathan’s brother, Edward Dewe & his wife Mary Banks, namely
Mary Dewe Hawkins (1645-1690), was the wife of a John Hawkins (1643- ?) They had some children
who supposedly came to Virginia, but I doubt that all the allegations about this family are provable.
Lt. Col. Thomas Dewe & Elizabeth Bennett, Dewe’s children: (Note that there appear to exist four earlier children two of which were born in Virginia. The last three in this tabulation are simply suspected as their issue.) – His children were:
1. Andrew Dewe (ca. 1625, Berkshire, Eng. - April 28, 1661, Rappahannock Co., Va.)
Andrew Dewe was born, & educated in England. Under the guidance of his mother’s merchant Bennett family, Andrew Dewe became a London merchant having mercantile business adventures in Scotland, along with his younger brother Thomas Dew.
[It has long beens speculated that Andrew Dewe, at age 22, or thereabouts, married Ann Duncombe, daughter of Thomas Duncombe, and Ann Barber, or perhaps Ann Whitehead. The Peerage of England states that the Ann Duncombe mentioned above died without issue. There is no proof of either marriage.]
Andrew Dew’s spouse may have been a Scotswoman named Ann Duncan, daughter of Thomas Duncan, alias Duncomb, and wife Mary (Phelps?) who immigrated to Charles City County, Virginia in 1653 about three years after Andrew came. They were perhaps a Scot family financially emaciated by English Clearance Taxes. Andrew and Ann Duncan, Dew could have been previously wed in Scotland. The following Virginia records are found.
The Complete Book of Imigrants 1607-1776:
A Thomas Duncombe was in Virginia in 1636.
A John Duncombe emigrated to New Norfold, Va., in 1637.
A Thomas Duncombe emigrated to Charles City, Virginia in 1653.
Virginia Colonial Abstracts, Lancaster County, Record Book No. 2, 1637-1660:
p. 198 “ Will Ticknor gives Bill to Mr. Tho. Griffith or Richard Gower, or either of them for 2000 pounds of sweet scented Tobacco in cask to be sorte the one pare of the plant the one way and the other way the said Tobacco to be of my own corp. To be paid 10th October next. Dated Dec. 26th 1655. Signed: Will Tignor. Wit: Roger Radford, George Holmes. Recorded October 1st 1659.”
p. 121: “Inventory of the late dec’d Mr. Wm. Tignor, dated Feb. 4th 1656/57, includes Coopers & Carpenters tools, one very small warming pan 30, one maid servant by name of Alice Juxon, 1200, one new hand a man servant something ancient 1200, total 14520 Tobacco. Signed: Thomas Duncombe, Peter Rigby, George Kibble, Thomas Madestard. Exhibit in Curt Primo Die, April 1657, a/c Mabell the relict of Willm Tignor & now wife of Willm Leach III.”
Lancaster County, Virginia, Deeds, Wills, Settlements of Estates, etc., Book 1, 1654-1702, p. 65:
LW&T of Thomas Duncombe of Piankatank of Lancaster County, Va. – Sept. 9th 1659, Vzt:
“All to wife Mary Duncombe, and making and constituting her the said Mary, my sole Exr.
Wit: Robt. Smith; Samuel Heron.
Probated Nov. 30th 1659”
Mary Duncan, relict of Thomas Duncan, alias Duncomb, married second to Edward Row,
bringing with her his step-son, her son Thomas Duncan they moved from Lancaster
County, Va., to Talbot County, MD. Therefore, his sister Ann Duncan, alias Duncombe, was
the wife of Andrew Dew.
William & Mary Quarterly, Series 1, #3, Vol. 1 1892, p. 171:
“Thomas Duncombe: Will Lancaster, Va., 1659, a Chevron between three buglehorns; Chrest: on an esquire’s helment a Stag’s head. Burke gives no such arms for Duncombe.”
Virginia Heraldica, p. 46:
“Duncombe – Lancaster County, Virginia. (otherwise, Duncan)
Arms: A chevron between three buglehorns
Crest: On an Equire’s helment a stag’s head.
The above Arms are on a wax seal on the Will of Thomas Duncombe probated at Lancaster Court house in 1659. They are not accredited to the name of Duncombe of any of the English Authorities…”
Andrew Dew came from England with his family to Virginia, along with his brother Thomas in c. 1650 perhaps fearing Royalist reprisals after Parliament declared England a Commonwealth, and the Cromwell Protectorate was formed. Andrew remained dwelling in Virginia judging England too unsafe for him. He lived the following 11 years in Virginia until his death in 1661. His children:
a. Thomas Dew [1648, Eng. - 1708, Richmond, Va.], m1: Elizabeth Barber, m2: Jean Baker, widow. He was primogenitor, and heir of the bulk of his grandfather's estate in 1691.
b. Andrew Dew [1650 - 1714,] m1: Flora Price
c. Ann Dew [ - ,] m1: James Toone, Jr.
On or before Nov. 22nd 1650, Andrew Dew, at age 25 years, voyaged from England to Virginia where it is noticed that on Nov. 22nd 1653, after the necessary three years elapsed, Thomas Liddle claimed land for transporting Andrew Dew, among others.
On December 15th 1660 Andrew Dewe, Planter, sold 200 acres of land on the southeast lower side of Farnham Creek in the Northern Neck of Virginia to Thomas Liddle, who sold the same to Col. Moore Fauntleroy, and him to Henry Wilson. Andrew Dewe bought his first land in Northern Neck from Col. Moore Fauntleroy of Nansemond.
In ca. 1657/58, Andrew Dewe was Executor, or "Overseer" of the Will of Francis Slaughter of 1657/58 in Rappahannock County, Virginia.
Francis Slaughter was apparently the husband of Andrew Dew's cousin, Elizabeth Underwood, Slaughter, a daughter of Andrew Dew's aunt Margaret Dewe, Underwood, Upton.
Francis Slaughter bequested broadcloth for a suit to his overseer, Andrew Dew.
In 1660, Andrew Dewe acquired lands in Essex County, Virginia.
Andrew Dewe perished in 1661 in Rappahannock Co., Va., at age 36 years. His relict, Ann (Duncombe/Duncan?,) Dewe married second to James Toone, Sr., who became Guardian of the children of Andrew Dew, all minors. Records in Virginia are sparse for Andrew Dew’s family, and no Will, nor an Intestate probate has been found for Andrew’s estate.
2. Thomas Dewe (Chr: Oct 8th 1626, Kingston Lisle, Berkshire, Eng. - ca. 1689, St. Peter, All Saints, Barbados.) Thomas Dewe was educated in Oxford, England. He became a London merchant like his father did, under the guidance of his mother’s merchant family, the Bennetts.
Thomas married, at age 17 years, on Oct. 2nd 1643, Berkshire, Eng. first to Joane Ward. She perished without surviving issue.
Thomas Dewe, at age 18, may have married second, c. 1644, to Annie MacKenzie [b. c. 1630, Seaforth, Scotland – d. c. 1665, London, Eng.,] one of twin daughters of George MacKenzie, 2nd Lord of Seaforth, Scotland, and his wife Barbara Forbes. They dwelt in Sparsholt, Berkshire where they issued a son:
A James Dew was christened on May 9, 1650 in Sparsholt, Berkshire, whose parents were Thomas Dew & Annie. This James Dew married Mary and issued a son James Dew who was christened on May 6, 1679 in Sparsholt, Berkshire, England. The elder James Dew was very likely ransomed by his grandfather Col. Thomas Dewe of Virginia saving him from execution in the wake of the Monmouth Rebellion. He was sentenced sent to Virginia.
Thomas Dewe, at age 24 or thereabouts, came to Nanesmond, Virginia in about 1650 with his brother Andrew, both in fear of Royalist reprisals after the overthrow, and execution of Charles, I. Thomas was soon appointed a Captain in the Virginia militia, and a magistrate in 1652, being first a Burgess representing Upper Norfolk County in 1651. He was called upon to return to England after about three years in Virginia, disappearing from the Virginia record, not found there in 1653. Perhaps reports from England made him feel secure in his safety there.
About 1653 he departed Virginia to Kidlington, Oxfordshire, England possibly because of the ill health of his mother Elizabeth. It is believed that she maintained one of the Dewe residences there. His brothers Richard Dewe, and John Dewe were still there in England. His sisters Elizabeth, and Ann Dewe were with their mother in Kidlington at this time. They may have had younger brothers named Francis Dew, and, Edward Dewe dwelling in Kidlington, too.
No doubt Capt. Thomas Dew resumed his former career as an English merchant importing his father’s Virginia tobacco, and other goods that for the past three years had been subject to an exorbitant English Commission Agent’s Fee at the Port of arrival. This unaccustomed expense became necessary after his sons Andrew and Thomas, English merchants, sought refuge in America.
John Dewe, younger brother of Andrew & Thomas, soon Apprenticed in Bristol in 1658, and soon removed to his planting obligations in Jamaica & Barbados in 1659. His plan was to become wealthy by planting & producing Muscavado (raw sugar) in the West Indies.
Thomas Dewe married last to Mary a woman implied to be a member of the McKenzie Clan of Seaforth, Scotland. This is known because one of her older daughters Jemima Dewe, Kenny, Skene passed down her mother’s ring bearing the inscription “Luceo Non Oro,” and a Gold watch, with her family Coat of Arms, to her son John Skene. Notice that her first husband, probably John Kenny, a former clergyman of Barbados, originated from a Sept of this same McKinzie Clan, but it is unlikely that Jemima would have given his ring to her son John Skene since a direct blood line was not involved. When John Skene made his SC Will he stated that these heirlooms were from his mother’s line, and thus came from his grandmother’s line, the last spouse of Capt. Thomas Dewe. It is believed the source of these clan heirlooms was Mary McKenzie of Kildun, a daughter of George Mackenzie, (a son of the 2nd Earl of Seaforth,) and his wife Mary Skene. She was a niece of his former wife Annie MacKenzie, and she married to Capt. Thomas Dewe between about 1665 and 1674 in Barbados (likely in about ca.1673.) This was probably an arranged marriage. Her last known child was born ca. 1684-1687 in Barbados. Child bearing over a 20 year period is about normal. She probably wed just after puberty.
The period between 1659, and 1667 exhausted the energy of his brother John Dewe, and it crushed his hopes of making a fortune in sugar production on the island of Barbados. His ambitions were depleted. He wanted to leave it all behind him.
The families of Capt. Thomas Dewe, and Richard Dewe removed from England to Barbados ca. 1667, whereupon Richard Dewe and others are found in 1679 dwelling on the plantation land perhaps previously tilled by their brother John Dewe. This land could have been formerly owned, or let, by John Napper a Commission Agent in Bristol. More likely it was the land owned by John Dewe but lost under a lien securing his debt to Napper. Land Deeds frequently changed hands during the early sugar boom in Barbados. There is little doubt that this same plantation land was owned and planted by his uncle John Dewe nearly twenty years earlier. In 1679 it may have belonged to Robert Hurt.
His brother Richard Dewe subsequently perished in Barbados ca. 1780, and one of his sons named Richard moved to Virginia.
In 1679 Richard Dew was living on the land of Robert Hurt in Barbados (mentioned in Hurt’s Will of that year, where the Dews were perhaps renting.) His brother Thomas Dew, with both their families may have also lived there
Then Thomas Dewe perished in Barbados in ca. 1689, but all of his children except for Jemima, and Robert had already removed to Charles Town, Carolina, or elsewhere at St. Georges Island, Bermuda, and one perhaps lived in Dorchester, Maryland.
Edward Fisher of Dorchester, Maryland was mentioned on a list of debts in the 1689 Probate of the estate of Thomas Dew. There is little doubt that the estate probated was that of Thomas Dewe of Barbados. Edward Fisher and his father were Quakers. His father Thomas Fisher was in the Barbados militia in 1679, where Edward Fisher may have married an unknown daughter of Capt. Thomas Dewe.
(See Thomas Dewe’s children in next part.)
3. Elizabeth Dewe (ca. 1632, Eng. - ?) married unknown.
4. Ann Dewe (Chr: Nov. 21st 1634, St. Andrew, Holborn, London, Eng. - aft. 1703, St. Georges., Somers Island.) It is suspected that she married John Welsh, Jr., who planted in St. George's, Bermuda, formerly Somers Island, before it became the Bermuda. A John Welsh was born about 1606, was he Council for the Devonshire Tribe in complaints against Capt. Stokes in Bermuda in 1626. John Welsh, of Devonshire, died on Somers Island about 1640. He named his wife Eliza, and his Apprentice John Welsh, Junr., the natural son of his brother William Welsh, late of St. Davids Island. His nephew John Welsh was recorded on general levy records of Bermuda in 1660 for work done on Smith’s Fort: 1 Shilling, and for mending the Castle Boat, and for work done about the Court of the Guarde, 8 Shillings. John Welch , a shipwright of Somers Island given Warrant on June 21st 1661 for inspecting the ship “Ould St. Jacob” of Amsterdam for seaworthiness, and in the same year disbursed 12 Shillings for providing funeral items. John Welsh was counted on the 1662/3 Survey of Bermuda by Richard Norwood, on the east end of St. George’s Island, 2 shares, and on Nov. 22nd 1663, an Agreement was made between Katherine Gilbert, wife of Richard Gilbert, Sr., of Smith’s Tribe, and John Welsh of St. George’s regarding the purchase of a Negro woman. John Welsh was also counted on the 1696 Association Oath Rolls also on St. George’s Island. Ensigne Leonard White was dwelling in St. Georges Island, Bermuda during the 1696 Association Oath Rolls.
William Wilch ( - ) Late of St. David’s in 1640. Mentioned in the 1640 Will of John Welsh, his
brother deceased, whose wife was Eliza. Sons of William:
William Welch ( - ) One of the designated Harpooners of a Waling
boat, at Somers Island on 21 Mar. 1663/4.
John Welsh, Junr. (ca. 1626, Barbados - ) Apprenticed to his uncle John Welsh on Bermuda.
He apparently married Ann Dew. Children:
a. Ann Welsh (ca. 1674 - ) m1: George Dews, m2: William Rowsham, Sr.
b. Mary Welsh ( - ) m: John Norman, mariner of Bermuda
1. John Norman ( - ) mariner, apprenticed to Leonard White, mariner of Bermuda for 10 years on April 20th 1694. Ensigne Leonard White, of Smith’s Tribe, and of St. Georges Island, was a son of Capt. Anthony White, and his wife Elizabeth Jennings, a daughter of Richard Jennings. John Norman’s father also John Norman b. 1616, embarked June 10th 1635 from Gravesand, in the “Truelove of London” Mr. Robert Dennis, to Somers Island, along with his older uncle George Norman, b. 1610.
c. Sarah Welsh? ( - ) married Charles Minors, Shipwright [marriage unproved.] He moved to South Carolina, where he built ships on the Little River. Charles Minors, as a Clerk, witnessed the Will of John Welsh, Junr. in Bermuda, but he also witnessed many other Wills as well being the Clerk.
5. Richard Dewe (1635, Nanesmond, Va. - ca. 1680, Barbados, WI) age 45.
Richard Dewe was educated in England. He married first in London before 1658 when he was 24 to Elinor (______). They issued a son who only lived about 13 months:
a. David Dew [ch: May 29, 1659, St. Bride's, Fleet St., London, Eng. - Apr. 21, 1660]
By 1666, Richard Dew may have been attempting to intercede with Bristol Commission Agent John Napper to determine some means to solve his brother's debt dilemma. Richard Dew, a widower, may have met and courted Napper's daughter Jane in Bristol. It is believed they soon married, but no confirming record of this marriage has been discovered.
It is believed that Richard and his brother Thomas Dewe decided on a plan to extract their brother John from the ruination in which he was mired in Barbados.
Richard Dewe, and Thomas Dewe apparently departed to Barbados in about 1667 where Richard acquired, or let, the land formerly planted by his brother John Dewe. No doubt this land was formerly owned by the Dewe family, and in 1666 was likely held under a lien foreclosed by Bristol Commission Agent John Napper. This land was apparently conveyed, and it later belonged to Robert Hurt. His Barbados Will of 1679 described some of his estate land as “where Richard Dew now resides.”
Earlier in 1659 Richard's brother, John Dewe was indentured by Bristol Agent John Napper as a Tiller in Jamaica, and by 1660 in Barbados. It is noted that in 1638 his uncle John Dewe owned and cultivated more than 10 acres of land in Barbados, but this uncle perished by 1657. It appears that their uncle’s former plantation land was the same property later tilled by his nephew John Dew, then perhaps occupied by John’s brothers Richard, & Thomas Dewes.
In 1679 Richard Dewe was recorded living in Barbados, but he seems to have disappeared by 1680, and he was likely deceased. A widow, Jane Doo (sic) Dewe was counted as a head of household on the 1680 census of Barbados. She may have been Richard’s relict, thought nee Napper. It seems apparent that the relict of Richard Dew, widow Jane Dewe departed from Barbados to Kidlington, Berkshire, England sometime before 1685 noticing records about their sons below.
Capt. Thomas Dewe and family also came to Barbados in about 1667, and both families were apparently dwelling upon Robert Hurt’s plantation. Both brothers probably also perished there. I have not been able to prove this allegation, but implications to this effect are noticed in the surviving record.
Richard Dewe's family by Jane (Napper?) a daughter of John Napper Agent of Bristol?
a. John Dew (ca. 1667, Kidlington, Oxford, Eng. - ca. 1719, Bristol, Eng.) may
have been one of Richard's sons by Jane. On Aug. 6, 1685, a John Dew, of Kidlington indentured himself to work four years in Jamaica for (his grandfather,) Bristol Commission Agent John Napper. In 1689 when his uncle Capt. Thomas Dewe perished in Barbados, John Dew apparently removed from Jamaica to Bristol, England where he apprenticed in a sugar refinery. John Dew worked for Witsun Court Sugar House in Bristol, England as a boiler between 1690 and 1696, and made his Will in Bristol in 1719.
b. Richard Dewe (bef. 1673, Barbados, WI - aft. 1694, Varina Parish,
Henrico Co., Va.) He owned land next to the Bermuda Hundred, Henrico, Va.
When Richard Dewe perished, apparently Capt. Thomas Dewe remained on the Barbados plantation property let by his brother's heirs, widow Jane, and her son (1) John Dew who after working for his grandfather John Napper in Jamaica, eventually returned to work in Bristol, & her son (2) Richard Dew, who is found a landowner in Henrico Co. Virginia in 1694.
6. John Dewe (ca. Apr. 8th 1636, Nanesmond, Va. - Oct. 1678, Isle of Wight, Va., at age 42)
As a youngster his mother took John Dewe from Nanesmond, Lower Norfolk, Virginia to Oxfordshire, England in order to provide his proper education.
During the English civil war beginning in 1642, Charles I was by military force deposed as the King of England, Charles I. After a trial for treason, the King was beheaded at Whitehall Palace on June 30, 1649. Oliver Cromwell instituted a dictatorial Protectorate government in England in 1653, and most members of the Dewe family supported him. Young John Dewe was between three and fourteen years of age during this historic episode.
His uncle John Dewe perished before 1657 in Virginia, but had owned plantation land in Barbados since about 1638. Perhaps his nephew John Dewe was able to purchase this land from his uncle's estate, or he could have inherited it because there were no surviving male heirs. A single minor daughter Katherine Dew was his uncle’s only surviving heir.
On Sept. 3, 1658, Oliver Cromwell perished, and his Protectorate government collapsed because his son Richard Cromwell could not maintain control.
In 1658 John Dewe, at about 21 years of age, apprenticed in Bristol, England. Bristol was located westward down the Avon River from the midlands of England from where the Dewes family dwelt, and it was the cultural, industrial, & educational heart of England at that time, as well as having the second largest Port city.
In 1659, the monarchy of England was restored when Charles II was crowned King of England. He was an unpopular King, but the Dewe family was at still at some risk for Royalist reprisals because they had supported the Cromwell government.
In 1659, John Dewes bound himself as a Tiller, & Planter for four years in Jamaica indentured to a Commission Agent John Napper, of Bristol, a man who became wealthy handling Sugar imports from planters in the Caribbean. In Jamaica John Dewe received a full year of practical experience in the latest plantation sugar cane production techniques, and where he learned the process of reducing it to muscavado, or raw sugar, to be shipped for final refinement in Bristol, England.
The next year Napper, Commission Agent of Bristol, and John Dewe were also engaged planting in Barbados. In 1660 John Dewe Tiller, bound and indentured John Trebel of London to serve him for four years in Barbados, or until 1664. John Dewe needed to acquire sufficient indentured, or slave labor, in order to make the Barbados plantation productive. It represented a considerable investment.
Things did not always go well for John. After only three years of operation, a Locust plague ruined his Barbados crop in 1663. His plantation was likely foreclosed on a lien by 1666 because of chronic debt. It was a plantation where he still faithfully tilled attempting to restore his estate and financial standing. Two years later in 1667, a major hurricane devastated Barbados. By then John Dewe would have likely been much deeper in debt to Napper just for the essential commodities. His revenue from sugar production was likely insufficient to pay even his most recent accounts in arrears. Something must be done soon or he could face debtors prison.
His brothers Richard Dewe, and Capt. Thomas Dewe both former merchants of England, apparently bought out John's Barbadian interests. They probably assumed his remaining debt, and reprieved the Barbados plantation land that he presumably lost to debt foreclosure by 1666, or perhaps began to lease it. It is considered likely that the vast fortune of their father, Col. Thomas Dew of Virginia was involved in erasing the debt of his youngest son John Dew, too. It seems that Robert Hurt was the owner of the aforesaid land when he made his Barbadian Will in 1679, but the Dews still lived there.
Relieved of his insurmountable obligations John Dewe departed Barbados in 1667, and he arrived in Virginia that year. Headrights on his transportation were claimed the mandatory three years later in 1670.
It is apparent that John Dewe soon made a voyage to England because he departed the port of London, & returned to Virginia on (16-20) Sept. 1772 on the "James."
In about 1674, John Dewe, at about age 38, married to Elizabeth Shearer, a daughter of John Shearer, mariner, of Isle of Wight, Virginia, & wife Elizabeth Parnell, and they issued one known son, John Dew, Jr. born about 1775 in Nanesmond, Lower Norfolk, Isle of Wight, Virginia.
His father-in-law was John Shearer was born in 1630, Norfolk, Va, and he was a son of George Shearer, mariner, born 1585, Brinksworth, Wiltshire, & wife Elizabeth, who came to Isle of Wight, Virginia before May 19, 1637 when he secured a grant for 700 acres on the Nanesmond River in upper parish of Norfolk Parish.
Elizabeth Shearer issued from at least two generations of mariners, and they had an old seat in a manor in Brinksworth, Wiltshire. There had been former intermarriage between the Shearers and the Dewe family there.
Survey of the Manor of Brinkworth (about 1625): WRO 88:2/48, page 4
John Sherer aged 80 holdeth for his life herryott & rent, Agnes his wife aged 35 to have
her widdowehood if shee overlive…. Value…12 Pounds.
[Note that John Sherer married Agnes Dewe, Sherer who was mentioned in Edward
Dewe's Will in 1632, and mentioned above as the sister in law of George Sherer, her
husband's brother. Agnes was a sister of Edward Dewe who married Agnes Loder,
and so Elizabeth Shearer was by marriage related to her husband John Dewe.]
George Sherer aged 40 holdeth for his life Herryott: meadsilver iiiid, Courtsilver: 5d.
ob. 2 hennes, 1 cocke, and rent iiii Pounds. Elizabeth, his wife aged 27. [It appears
that they were the grandparents of Elizabeth Shearer that married John Dewe.]
John Dewe had his fill of Barbados, the on and off again sugar production, the assault of various problems, slave trouble, disease, locust infestations, and hurricanes. Apparently he could not climb over an insurmountable mountain of chronic debt to his Commission Agent in Bristol.
But his brothers Richard, and Thomas Dewe arrived to his aid and salvation in Barbados from England. Richard, and Thomas Dewe apparently bought out
John's Barbadian interests. Richard Dewe either purchased, or let John's plantation land that was perhaps formerly held under a lien foreclosed by John Napper in 1666, property that possibly was later owned by Robert Hurt and was mentioned in his Will of 1679 on which Richard Dew then lived. It was land that may have been formerly land owned by the Dews since before 1638.
It is possible that Richard Dewe then was married to his last wife, Jane perhaps a daughter of John Napper, having intention to keep his brother's failed and vacated Barbados sugar plantation in operation.
The record indicates that his brother Capt. Thomas Dewe was dwelling there with Richard where they previously either revived the old Barbados sugar plantation in 1667, or at least occupied it. They likely arrived from England together, perhaps by way of visiting their father in Virginia.
After his unfortunate episode of sugar cane planting in Barbados, John Dewe spent most of the nine years remaining of his life helping his father in Virginia as a Tobacco planter.
John Dewe perished in 1678 in Virginia, at about 42 year of age. His death occurred some 13 years before his father perished. His father was the Overseer of his Will. John was never known to be a Virginia landowner, or to have served in public office. His Will was made in Virginia in 1677 in Isle of Wight, Va., and proved the next year. His Will abstract, and surviving offspring is mentioned, indented below.
Isle of Wight, Va., Will & Deed Book 2, p 167, filed Jan. 31, 1677, pvd. Oct. 1678:
" My father, Overseer. [Col. Thomas Dewe]
Elizabeth Dew, wife
Alexander Webster, friend
John Shearer, Jr., brother-in-law
George Bell, Jr., friend
John Dew, Jr., young son (3 years of age.)
Thomas Williamson. witness"
Note that in most cases, friends were actually relatives such as cousins or nephews, etc. There were some exceptions. It is further observed that John Dewe may have issued a son after he perished, named Lewis Dew, a son of whom he was, of course, not aware
when he made his Will. Alexander Webster, & George Ball, Jr. were brothers-in-law, George having married Alexander's sister, Hester Webster. George & Hester
Webster, Bell issued a daughter Elizabeth Bell who married John Bond. John Bond
was also married last to Katherine Dew, daughter of John Dew's uncle John Dewe &
aunt Katherine Kigan.
a. John Dew (1675, Nanesmond, Lower Norfolk, Isle of Wight, Va. - Nov. 1744, Northampton, NC, about 69 years of age) His father perished when he was about three years of age, and it is supposed that John, and his mother were supported by, and continued to live on a Plantation belonging to Col. Thomas Dewe, which in 1691 became the property of a grandson Thomas Dew age 21. John Dew, Jr. was 16 years old when his grandfather Col. Thomas Dewe, perished, and he married Susannah Shearer in about 1696 in Isle of Wight, Virginia. Before (3-28)
Mar. 1699, John Dew made a voyage to England, for he is found on the manifest of the "Adventure" that arrived from England during this time, at Virginia.
As his son-in-law, John Dew was overseer of the 1727, Bertie Co., NC Will of Robert Shearer. this proving that John Dew's wife Susannah Shearer, who was named in the Will, was a daughter of Robert.
Robert Shearer was also an uncle of John Dew, for he was his mother Elizabeth's brother. Therefore, John Dew & Susannah Shearer were related as 1st cousins.
7. Edward Dew ( ?, Kidlington, Oxfordshire, Eng?. - before 1691)
Edward Dew husbandman (raised livestock) of Warminster, was arrested and sent to Barbados on the Western Prisoners Circuit in 1659. No doubt he was considered a political malefactor in the wake of the failed Cromwell Protectorate.
On August 17, 1671 an Edward Doe (sic) Dew, a seaman, arrived on Stonoe Creek, SC from Barbados on the Blessing, Capt. Mathias Halstead, commanding. Nothing more has been found about him. If he was a son of this particular family then he perished prior to 1691.
8. Francis Dew (?, Kidlington, Oxforshire, Eng? - bef. 1691, Barbados)
On January 6, 1679 Francis Dew was sent to Virginia on the Rainbow. He formerly apprenticed in Bristol.
His arrival marked the beginning of an indenture of five years to, or for, Commission Agent Joseph Hopton of Bristol. His place of origin was not given. [source: Bristol database] Just after he completed this indenture (1685,) Francis Dew was arrested in England and deported to Barbados. No doubt he was found complicit in the Monmouth Rebellion.
In 1685 Francis Dew was sent from Devon, England, to Barbados on the Western Prisoners Circuit, as a result of the late Monmouth Rebellion. Nothing more has been found about him. If he was a son of this specific family then he perished prior to 1691 as did all of Thomas and Elizabeth Bennett, Dew’s sons.
And on July 8, 1685, James Dew, & William Dew were convicted for waging war against the King. Ordinarily the sentence for such crime was death. Both were given sentences to be transported to Virginia by Chief Justice Jefferies of the Court at Oyer. [Enrolled Feb. 4, 1691] Only the lucky ones who had access to great wealth were able to ransom their lives. It is noted that William Dew had the headrights for his transportation to Virginia claimed in 1678. He must have arrived there by 1675 while visiting his grandfather Col. Thomas Dewe. It is likely that their grandfather Thomas, a wealthy man, also ransomed both their lives from the executioner at Oyer. William Dew may have been a son of Francis Dew, while James Dew could have been a son of Capt. Thomas Dewe noted below.
9. A Nicholas Dew was christened on Nov. 20, 1642 at Marlborough, Devon, England, and his father was a Thomas Dew, (who with wife Elizabeth were probably on business there.)
About 1679 (The headrights for his transportation were claimed in 1682) a Nicholas Dew came to Virginia. If the elder Nicholas Doe (sic) was issue of this family, he too perished before 1691.
Large lines of the Colonel's descendants came from Andrew Dew & John Dew, sons of the Colonel who dwelt in Virginia when they perished. But it also appears that other large lines of his descendants also came from some of his children who perished in the West Indies, and from his subsequent grandchildren who departed from the West Indies entering into other mainland ports including, Carolina, and perhaps Maryland, especially the descendants from his son Capt. Thomas Dewe. The following is what I have been able to piece together regarding the neglected family members, hopefully without excessive errors.
Of Thomas & Elizabeth's children, one was Thomas Dewe, (Oct. 8th 1626. Kingston Lisle, Berkshire, Eng. - ca.1689, St. Peter, All Saints, Barbados.) Thomas Dewe was educated in England, and came to Virginia where he became a Captain in the Virginia militia, a magistrate, and a member of the Virginia House of Burgesses before he and his family departed from Virginia. It is believed he returned to England.
Capt. Thomas Dewe, and his brother Andrew, may have been prompted to leave England in fear of the assizes, or of Royalist reprisals that were a consequence of former allegiance, after the Cromwell Protectorate ended. About the time of Capt. Thomas Dewe's arrival in Barbados, his brother John Dewe departed. His brother Richard Dewe was noted as a Barbados land leaser in 1679, his land mentioned owned by Robert Hurt in his Will made that year. This may have been the property formerly planted by John Dewe, where Thomas Dewe, and Richard Dewe, his brothers are later residing, and either were planting, or perhaps engaged in the mercantile trade business of Barbados.
Thomas Dewe's spouse or spouses are unproved but:
The first of his spouses is believed to have been Joan Ward, whom he married Oct. 2, 1643 when he was age 17 in Berkshire, but she died, probably in childbirth, without surviving issue.
His second Spouse is believed to have been Annie MacKenzie, (b. c. 1630, Scotland) [One of the many twin daughters born of George MacKenzie, 2nd Earl of Seaforth, Scotland, and his wife Elizabeth Forbes,] a wife whom he married in ca. 1744 as a result of his English merchants trade, as he was engaged in this business with his brother Andrew.
Thomas & Annie Dew lived in Sparsholt, Berkshire, England when he was about age 23. By Annie he issued:
1. James Dew [ch: May 9, 1650, Sparsholt, Berkshire, Eng. - aft 1685, Virginia?]
James Dew was arrested for making war against the King of England in the wake of the
1685 Monmouth Rebellion. He was reprieved, and subsequently sentenced to be
transported to Virginia. His father Capt. Thomas Dewe, or his grandfather Col. Thomas
Dewe probably ransomed his life. More than 800 of the English poor were executed for
this same political crime.
He married Mary (_____) and they issued a son:
a. James Dew [ch: May 6, 1679, Sparsholt, Berkshire, Eng. - ?]
When Thomas Dewe was about 24 years old (ca. 1650) he came to Nanesmond, Virginia. His wife Annie, and infant son James Dew may have come with him. By about 1653, he disappeared from Virginia records. It is believed he took his family back to England where his mother may have been ailing.
Perhaps his wife Annie perished about 1665 in London, and Capt. Thomas Dewe married again in Barbados to her much younger niece Mary, of the McKenzie clan. [It is clearly evident that his son James Dew did not accompany his father to Barbados in ca. 1667, but stayed in Berkshire.]
The Registers of St. Botolph, Bishopgate, London, England, p. 163
Interment May 3rd 1665 Anne Dew 1 1/2
His last spouse was a scotch woman who may have been Mary McKenzie, a daughter of George MacKenzie, and wife Mary Skene, of Kildun, and even though there is no clear delineation of exactly who the mother of each following child was, the names of some of his children by his last wife are believed to be:
1. Mary Ann Dew (ca.1655, Eng., or Va. - July 26, 1700 "Elms Plantation," Goose Creek, Berkley, SC.) When she was about 12 years old she married ca. 1667 in Barbados to John Smyth, a merchant, and may they have been living on St. George’s Island, Bermuda, in 1680. At least there was a John Smyth counted there.
When Mary was about 13 years old she issued a son Edward Smyth in Barbados. As a youngster he was raised near Charles Town, Carolina. When he was about 20 years of age Edward Smyth apparently got into the mercantile business like his father, and on March 12th 1687 he is recorded returning from Barbados to Charles Town on the barq "Susannah." No further record of him is found for the next 35 years. At age 55 Edward Smyth Executed the 1722 Will of his uncle Robert Dews in Charles Town, Carolina. He again disappears from the record for the next five years until in 1727, at age 60, it is possible that he might be among the South Carolina band led by brothers Col. Maurice Moore, and Roger Moore, but I am not convinced of this. These Moore brothers were men from Goose Creek, Carolina, and were attempting to settle the region down the Cape Fear River below Wilmington in present day North Carolina with men who were also mostly from Goose Creek. Because of his sparse paper trail, I think Edward was probably in the Indian fur trade business, and perhaps for extended time dwelled among the tribes.
John Smyth was recommended to the Grand Council as a personal friend of the Earl of Shaftsbury Anthony, Lord Ashley Cooper, for lands of a fit manor. John Smyth was a member of the Carolina Grand Council, and was created a Cassique, John Smyth called his wife Ann at the time
On 10 March 1675, John Smyth received a grant of 1,800 acres on Ashley River in an area
called "Booshoo" where the town of Dorchester later developed in a old field on a bluff of high ground, originally the site of the Smyth residence. In 1696, the old Smyth residence was gone, and had perhaps burned.
Mary likely issued many other children by John Smyth but they are unknown, and may have perished of "fever" at "Booshoo." Mary became convinced that the swampy rice plantation "Booshoo" bred illness & caused death. Mary & her third husband left it idle in 1694, abandoned because its reputation for causing sickness made it almost impossible to convey. In 1696 Carolina Proprietors re-granted this land to religious dissenters who soon established the town of Dorchester there. The old town of Dorchester was also generally abandoned because of its unhealthy conditions, and a new town Summerville was located on higher ground.
When John Smyth died (of "fever,") his widow Mary Dew, Smith married Arthur Middleton, Esq. (ca. 1650-ca.1685 at Booshoo Plantation, Berkley, SC, or in Charles Town.) Arthur departed Barbados for Charles Town, Carolina on August 8, 1679 on the “Plantacon.” He was married to widow Mary on Dec. 7, 1682 in Carolina.
Mary's second husband Arthur was a brother of Edward Middleton who married her sister Sarah. Both Arthur and Edward Middleton had been encouraged, and enticed by Sir John Colleton to come to Carolina. Arthur Middleton received a grant of "a great lotte of land" on the upper part of Adthan (Goose) Creek from the Grand Council in 1679.
In 1681, Arthur Middleton served on the Grand Council at the pleasure of Governor Joseph Morton, along with John Boone, Maurice Matthews, John Godfrey, Andrew Percival and James Moore. Arthur took his brother's place as a member of the Grand Council, Edward having served earlier terms.
Arthur Middleton called his plantation "Yeshoe" an Indian word meaning creek, or river. Arthur became a magistrate in the Governor's judiciary. But after managing Mary's rice plantation at "Booshoo," Arthur also became ill. In 1684, his debilitation cased him to dispose of his large Plantation called "Yeshoe" to a Charles Town merchant named Robert Mallock. His former "Yeshoe" plantation then eventually became site of a hunting club called Otranto.
Arthur Middleton perished the next year in 1685, probably at "Booshoo." He may have died of the swamp fever because he was only about 35 years of age when he perished. No issue from this short marriage of three years is known. Any issued children probably perished young of the 'Fever."
Mary, the relict of Arthur Middleton, married third about 1686 in Charles Town to Ralph Izard (ca. 1660, London, Eng. - Jan. 1711, Goose Creek, Berkley, SC,) a former London Grocer of some means who had arrived four years earlier. In 1694, eight years after Mary & Ralph were married, John Francis Gignillian granted and conveyed 250 acres of land to Ralph Izard he named "The Elms" plantation, to which they removed, leaving Booshoo plantation idle. It's Title & Deed left to the devices of the Proprietors. Among their surviving issue were two sons: Ralph Izard (ca. 1688, SC - ?) and Walter Izard (ca. 1692, SC - ?) Both sons Executed the 1742 Will of their aunt Lilias Skene, Haig in Charles Town, SC.
Mary died about 1700 in Charles Town, SC, or at the plantation called “the Elms.” She was about 45 years of age when she perished.
Mary's last husband Ralph Izard perished in January of 1711 at "the Elms" on Goose Creek, his will being made in 1706. It is alleged that Mary's relict Ralph Izard married in 1708 to Dorothy, relict of Christopher Smith.
2. Ensign Thomas Dew (bef. 1658 - aft. 1681) [In Barbados militia 1679-1680, on census 1680].
3. Ensign David Dew (bef. 1659 - aft. 1681) [In Barbados militia on Oct. 11th 1679, on census 1680.]
4. Sarah Dew (bef. 1660 - aft. 1720, SC) She married first Richard Fowell, mariner, in Barbados. Richard Fowell perished in 1678 in Barbados.
It is speculated that Sarah Dewe & Richard Fowell had a daughter named Lois Fowell,
born ca. 1679, posthumously, and that Lois married Capt. Anthony Matthews mariner,
& merchant, ca. 1695/6 in Charles Town, SC. Two of her grand daughters, the daughters
of Sarah Matthews, and her two husbands, wed to Bethel, & William Dewes, the sons
of Robert Dews & Mary Baker.
Sir John Colleton, one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina instructed the Council to entice brothers Arthur and Edward Middleton to move to Carolina. On Sept. 7, 1678 the Council issued Orders for land of their choice in Carolina. Richard Fowell's relict, Sarah, and her second husband Edward Middleton, leased Richard's ship, the 30 ton "Mary of Carolina" to Maurice & James Moore, brothers of Carolina, on June 19, 1679.
On June 28, 1680 a Warrant for Carolina land for said Arthur & Edward Middleton was issued.
Edward Middleton purchased his brother Arthur's share of this land, and another 3130 acres. He called this vast plantation "the Oaks," on Goose Creek, named for an avenue of these lovely trees he planted on the road leading to his home.
When she was widowed in 1678 Sarah married, before June 19, 1679 in Barbados, to Edward Middleton, Sr (ca. 1640 Twickenham, Eng. - ca. 1685, Charles Town, SC.) a friend & business associate in Barbados, and Charles Town, of Richard Fowell. Widow Sarah, Edward Middleton, and bother John Fowel Executed the Will of said Richard Fowell, an estate worth considerably more than 496 pounds, because it included a 30 ton sloop.. They appear to be living on St. George’s Island, Bermuda in 1680, but got Warrants for land in Carolina in 1679 & on 28 June 1680. Edward Middleton became a member of the Grand Council [1678-1680,] and he was one of the Assistant Judges of the Province.
They were the parents of Arthur Middleton, Esq. (ca. 1681, SC? - 7 Sept. 1737, "The Oaks Plantation," Berkley, SC.) Arthur was a nephew and an Executor of the 1722 Will of his uncle Robert Dews in Charleston, SC.
When Edward Midleton, Sr. died in about 1685 his widow Sarah obtained absolute title to the
bulk of his estate and "The Oaks" plantation by some former agreement.
Sarah Dew/Dewe, Fowell, Middleton married third to Job Howe, who himself died of Yellow
fever in 1707. They issued a son named Robert Howe, that married to Mary Moore, a daughter
of Governor James Moore. Her son Arthur Middleton became the Guardian of his half-brother Robert Howe, when his father Job Howe perished.
Sarah Dew, Fowell, Middleton, Howe perished after 1720 in excess of 60 years of age.
5. (Elizabeth?) Dew (ca. 1665, Eng. - after 1689, Dorchester, Maryland.) She could have married ca. 1679 in Barbados, to Edward Fisher, a son of Thomas Fisher. [Edward Fisher was mentioned in the 1689 probate of the estate of Thomas Dew that, in part, was filed in Maryland records, however the Barbados Probate records have been lost - destroyed.] Thomas Fisher was a member of the Barbados militia in 1679, a place where his son Edward probably married Miss Dewe.
6. Capt. George Dew, Sr. (ca. 1674, Barbados - ca. 1703, Bermuda,) [apparently named either after his great grandfather George MacKenzie, 2nd Earl of Seaforth, or his grandfather George MacKenzie, who married Mary Skene,] was a mariner and Privateer with Letters of Marquee from the Governor of Bermuda, who was married Ann Welch, a daughter of John Welch. They lived on St. George’s Island, Bermuda in 1691, 1696, and 1703. Children: Ann Dew, Mary Dew, & George Dew, Jr., also a mariner. It is quite likely that Capt. George Dew, Sr. & wife Ann Welch were first cousins on the Dewe side of the family.
a. Their son George Dew, Jr. married a woman named Patience, then afterwards he was
lost at sea (before 1714.) His relict married Joseph Palmer, mariner, and dwelt in St.
Phillip's Parish, Charleston, SC.
b. Their middle child, Ann Dew may have left Bermuda where she had been dwelling
with her grandparents, and also come to Charles Town. It is possible that she married
one of the sons of William Rowsham, Sr., who died before his father perished.
c. Their daughter Mary Dew, the youngest, came to Charles Town with her widowed
mother when she married William Rowsham, Sr. in ca. 1703. Mary probably married
John Stevenson in Carolina.
In 1693 Capt. George Dews, in the Brigantine "Amy" was at Saldanah Bay, west coast of Africa under English Colors, landed in the Bay, was arrested by the Dutch ship "Tamboer." Dews & crew were sent to Europe to be tried for Piracy, but could not be convicted. Dews put in a claim for damages against the Dutch East India Company, and they were forced to pay.
In 1696, Capt. George Dew of Bermuda, master of the "Marigold" at anchor in St. George's Island registered a protest "Enroute to Africa, mutiny, and storm damage forced his return."
In 1699, Capt. George Dew built the "Old Rectory" one of the oldest surviving buildings on St. George's Island.
In 1703, Governor of Bermuda, Christopher Codrington appointed George Dew as one of the "Barons of Exchequer."
George Dew was at least 33 years of age when he perished in Bermuda.
When Ann Welch, Dew became a widow in 1703 she took her youngest daughter, and went to Charleston where she married the elderly William Rowsham, Sr. who later became Robert Dew’s grand-father-in-law.
Ann Welch, Dew, Rowsham apparently still lived when Lilia Skene, Haig made her Will in 1742 in South Carolina, mentioned heir in the Codicil of her Will.
7. Jemima Dew (ca. 1675, Barbados - after 1739, St. George’s Parish, Dorchester, SC)
She married first to (John?) Kenney, a much older man, counted on the 1680 census of Christ Church Parish, Barbados. Her husband the said Kenney perished before January 26th 1698 in Barbados.
Jemima Dewes, Kenny, widow, was married to Axexander Skene, Esqr. on January 26th 1698
in St. James Parish, Barbados. Her husband had formerly served as Secretary of the Island
of Barbados from 1694 until Jan. 26, 1698, and was expecting to be reappointed.
In 1699 a Patent was issued allowing Alexander Skene to take the influential Post of Island Secretary "provided he proved his qualifications, it being clear that he is not a native-born subject
of England, Ireland, or the Plantations." An Act of Parliament was passed restricted Office
holders that required them to be subjects of England.
New Jersey records:
On May 13, 1700: Order in Council at Hampton Court, declaring that "Scotsmen are subjects of England, and therefore not restrained by the Act of Parliament from holding office: Alexander Skene therefore reinstated as Secretary of the Island of Barbados."
Alexander Skene, Esq., Secretary of the Island of Barbados, became embroiled in a dispute with the Governor of Barbados in 1712.
Babtismal Records for Barbados:
August 17, 1700: St. James Parish, Barbados, Jane daughter of Alexander & Jemima Skene.
March 7, 1701: St. Michaels Parish, Silia (sic) Lilia daughter of Alexander Skeene, Esq. and
March 3, 1701: Mrs. Jemima, his wife baptized at St Michaels Parish, March 3, last.
It appears that his brother John Skene perhaps that married Ann Bowler also came
from Burlington, New Jersey to Barbados, but this has not been proved:
1715 census of St. Phillips Parish, Barbados:
John Skeene, age 54, born 1661
Mrs. Elizabeth Skeene, age 44, born ca.1671
Mary Skeene, spinster, age 19, born ca.1696
Sarah Skeene, spinster, age 17, born ca.1698
Elizabeth Skeene, age 11, born ca.1704
Edward Skeene, age 6, born ca.1709
August 8th 1695: John Skene, son of John Skene, and Ann Bowler.
Dec. 26th 1696: Mary Skene, daughter of John, and Eliza Skene. ( a second wife?)
Sept. 28th 1722: Elizabeth Skene (age 16) daughter of John Slene. (b. ca. 1706)
Sept. 28th 1722: Edward Skene (age 12) son of John Skene. (born ca. 1710)
Dec. 24th 1714: (Alexander, or Arthur) Skene, son of John Skene.
Alexander Skene, and Jemima Dewes, Skene, her brother Robert Dews, & Lilias Hague all removed from Barbados to Charles Town, Carolina by 1715. Alex brought Jemima's young brother Robert Dews to Charles Town. As an orphan Robert Dew was likely their former Ward. One of the Lords Proprietors Sir John Colleton persuaded Alexander to move from Barbados to Carolina with his family, and their slaves.
Alexander Skene's son (mentioned in his Will) John Skene married Hannah Palmer on the 6th or 7th of May 1728 in Carolina. Their marriage lasted about nine years. After Hannah perished on about May 10th 1737 in Prince Frederick Parish, SC, he was a widower. John Skene, Esq., began to oversee the affairs of widow Judith Dubose, Wragg after her husband Joseph Wragg, merchant, perished in about 1751. Judith Dubose, Wragg perished in about 1767. Col. John Skene married 2nd to Judith Wragg, possibly a daughter of Judith Dubose,Wragg the widow of Joseph Wragg. However it seems more likely that his wife Judith Wragg was a daughter of William Wragg, and his wife Mary Wood, Wragg, but a very close relationship is inferred because not only did John Skene marry second to Miss Judith Wragg, he named William Wragg, the nephew of Judith Dubose, Wragg as the willful heir of all his real and personal property, with one exeption. William Wragg [c. 1714, SC – c. 1777, at sea] married Mary Wood [c. 1716 – c. 1767.] Therefore William Wragg was probably his father-in-law. This also probably indicates that any of his direct heirs were either deceased at the time of his death, or that he had previously settled their estates when he married a second time second. The heirs of his first marriage were probably deceased because Col. John Skene left most of the McKenzie heirlooms his mother left to him to his second surviving wife by his Will. There was no doubt a former Scot connection between the William Wragg family with some lawful member of the McKenzie clan, otherwise he would have been in violation of Scot clan law regarding these clan heirlooms. Col. John Skene’s Will was made (filed) on June 1st 1768 in St. George’s Parish, and proved on June 7th 1768 before Hon. William Bull. [Will Book 1768-1771, p. 235]
Alexander Skene's nephew Alexander Skene, married either Nancy or Maul Johnson, sisters.
In 1715 the only Carolina Planters that would allow their slaves to either attend church, or to
become baptized into Christianity by the mission of Ebenezer Taylor, were Alexander Skene and
his sister, the widow Lilia Skene, Haig, both Quakers. Widow Lilias Hague had no known slaves
until she became the Guardian of the orphans of Robert Dews in 1722 when she was placed in
charge of their inherited slaves. There is little doubt that these slaves were well treated.
Alexander Skene served on the Grand Council of Carolina 1717-1719, and he was appointed as
it's President during the confrontation with the Lords Proprietors that resulted in their overthrow
causing Carolina to become a Royal Colony.
On August 8th 1717, Alexander Skene, Esq., (Lot # 9,) and Mrs. Lilia Haig (Lot # 35,) were granted Town Lots in Point Royal, Beaufort, Carolina. John Skene, son of Alexander, inherited both these lots, and sold them to a man named Purry in 1747.
On August 6, 1720, Alexander Skene purchased 3,000 acres for 300 Pounds near the present
day town of Summerville, near old Dorchester. He called this estate "New Skene." He also
acquired land on the Black, Mccimaw, and Pee Dee Rivers in South Carolina, land which his son John Skene inherited.
1720-1722: Alexander Skene was assigned Power of Attorney from John Lucas of the Island of Antigua, to administer his property in South Carolina. John Lucas of Antigua perished before 1738, for in the fall of that year his son George brought his invalid wife, and two daughters Liza & Polly to Carolina. He was seeking more healthful habitations for his sickly wife. He had inherited three Carolina plantations, a number of slaves, and livestock from his father. They settled on the 600 acres on a bluff overlooking Wappo Creek. But in the very next year, warfare with the French compelled him to return to Antigua where he was appointed Lt. Governor there having left his wife and daughters in Carolina. The French captured him in 1746 and he perished Jan. 11th 1747 in a prison in Brest, France. His daughter Eliza Lucas married Charles Pinckney, Esq., 1744 in Carolina. This Lucas family was related to the Lucas family branches in Virginia, and Philadelphia, the latter place where his daughter Liza Lucas, Pinckney perished in 1793.
George Lucas a son of aforesaid John Lucas became Lt. Governor of the Island of Antigua by 1746 was granted by Charles Dunbar, Esq., release of a mortgage for a 600 acre plantation on Wappo Creek near Charles Town bounding on Mrs. Woodward, Mrs. Hill, and on land formerly belonging to Benjamin Godfrey, 20 slaves, horses & cattle, all formerly property of his father John Lucas. Power of Attorney granted April 23, 1746 to Charles Pinckney, and Othniel Beale to cancel the mortgage.
In 1725 Alexander Skene was a wealthy Planter with 77 slaves counted in his household in St.
George's Parish where Alexander had his wife Jemima, two males, and two daughters living at
His plantation, "New Skene." One of the males was his son John Skene who did not marry
Hannah Palmer until 1728.
Jemima Dewes, Kenny, Skene perished between 1739 and 1740, at ca. 67 years of age (after her
husband made his Will.) She was buried at St. George's Parish, Berkley County, South Carolina. Before her death she gave her mother's signet ring to her oldest son John Skene, and a Gold Watch, and Seal bearing the motto "Luceo Sed Non Oro," (sic) and a Coat of Arms depicting a buck’s head. All of her brothers and sisters were deceased by then.
When Jemima’s son Col. John Skene made his Charleston Will on July 1st 1768, he had no living heirs that were mention in his Will. He bequeathed to his 2nd wife Judith Wragg his Gold Watch, and Seal, “with my dear mother’s Coat of Arms, a Buck’s head with the motto: “Lucio Sed non Oro” (sic.)”
In his Will Col. John Skene made no specific mention of the MacKenzie Clan Signet Ring that his mother Jemima left him, unless it was disclosed as the “Seal.” The recipient of these clan heirlooms was his 2nd wife Judith Wragg, Skene who was either a daughter of Joseph Wragg, or of William Wragg. A Miss Judith Wragg died as a “spinster,” her SC Will is found in Book 1783-86, p. 79. possibly a daughter of Joseph Wragg. Col. John Skene’s estate lands were bequeathed to “a friend” William Wragg, who was a nephew of the widow Judith Dubose, Wragg, widow of Joseph Wragg. William Wragg married Mary Wood, and he may have been the father of John’s 2nd wife Judith Wragg, Skene because he mentions her mother as heir to his pen in the Dorchester Church “a dearly beloved friend Mrs. Mary Wragg.” Mary’s husband William Wragg was named as his Executor, and the heir of most of his real and personal property. This makes them sound like in-laws.
Alexander Skene perished before Mar. 24th 1740 when his Will was proved in Charles Town. His
Will was made May 25, 1739 in Berkley County, Carolina, page 44:
“Wife: Jemima, residue of Estate.
Son: John Skene, having already given him his share of Estate.
Grandson: Alexander Skene, under age 21, residue of my estate at the death of my wife.
Sister: Lilia Haig, living on my plantation during her life.
Exors: Wife, Jemima
Hon. Joseph Blake, Esq.
Benjamin Whitaker, Esq.
Wit: James Abercromby
James Abercromby witnessed Alexander’s Will. Alexander Skene’s Will mentions a surviving
son named John Skene whom he had already left his share of the estate. No daughters were
mentioned in his Will, but a grandson, under age 21, named Alexander Skene was mentioned.
This grandson Alexander Skene, was perhaps a son of John & Hannah Palmer, Skene, was born
in ca. 1724 in Carolina, and he married a relative, Mrs. Sarah Skene of North Carolina. But a son
Alexander Skene, was not mentioned in the Will of Col. John Skene, and therefore, if he was actually John’s son then he probably perished before his father made his Will on July 1st 1768.
John Skene married Hannah Palmer on May 7th 1728 in St. Phillips, Charles Town. The said John Skene owned land in Craven County, bounding on the Pee Dee River in 1740 next to James Abercromby, land inherited from his father which today is just below Mechanicsville, near the Darlington, Florence County line, and this may have been the land later commonly owned by James Due, his children, and the Williamson brothers. John Skene, Esq., made two inquests on January 28, 1758 [Thomas Corker’s accounts.] Note Thomas Corker died Jan. 30th 1770, at age 75.
The Will of John Skene is dated July 1, 1768, recorded in Charleston Probate book [1767-1770.] Col. John Skene owned and resided on a 3,000 acres plantation in St. George's Parish on the south side of the Ashley River, just opposite the town of Dorchester, when he died in May of 1770.
8. Robert Dew (1684-87, St. Peters Parish, Barbados - 1 Sept. 1722, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC), bricklayer, and planter, was orphaned in Barbados. Although no records are found indicating when his mother perished, Robert Dew probably became the Ward of Alexander & Jemima Dewes, Skene in Barbados during his minority in Barbados. It is likely that he came with them to Charles Town, Carolina when they removed from Barbados. I have not been able to verify this particular guardianship within the surviving record.
Robert Dew married about 1717 in Charles Town, Carolina to Mary Baker (1700, SC- 1721, SC) d/o William Baker & Susannah Rowsham. Children: Bethel Dewes (1718, SC - 1759, SC) and Capt. William Dewes (ca. 1721, SC - after 1771, SC.)
Robert Dew was only about 2 years old when orphaned by his father in Barbados. About a year later, his grandfather, Lt. Col. Thomas Dewe died 1691in York County, Virginia. Guardian records for Barbados have been lost, so it is not known for certain who was responsible for his upbringing, but likely as a orphaned minor, he became the Ward of Alexander Skene, and his sister Jemima. Educated, and Apprenticed as a Bricklayer in Barbados, Robert Dew was about 31 years of age, or perhaps a bit younger, when he came to Charles Town, SC in 1715 where he soon married Mary Baker who was about 16 or 17 years of age.
On Nov. 28, 1717, Robert Dews Executed the Will of William Rowsham, Sr., his grand-father-in-law, who was last married to his first cousin, and former sister-in-law, the relict of Capt. George Dew, namely Ann Welch, Dewes, Rowsham. During this probate, Executor Robert Dews was sued by Ann Rowsham, relict of one of the deceased sons of William Rowsham Sr. This legatee might have been nee Ann Dew, Rowsham, who was Robert's niece, a daughter of Capt. George Dew, who perhaps had removed from Bermuda and married into the Rowsham family. But I have not been able to establish this as fact. During depositions taken regarding the estate of William Rowsham, Sr., Executor Robert Dews stated that "he was 30 years of age, or thereabouts, being duly sworn... that he knew both Mr. John Wright, (an Indian Agent) dec'd, and Mr. John Brown, that he knew the plantation that Mr. Wright, dec'd, let to Mr. Brown..."The plantation owned by Wright on the north bank of the Ashley River called the "Oak Forest." Upstream on the Ashley River lays the old grant, residence, and plantation of Col Andrew Percival known as the "Ponds." It sounds as if Dews acquired his "Ponds" land about this time, IE: ca. 1717. Col. Andrew Percival was an agent of the Earl of Shaftsbury, and he led a band of militia to Carolina in 1675 negotiating the first treaty with the local Indians for 12,000 acres of land where Charles Town was situated. He was a member of the Grand Council in Charles Town in 1681, under Gov. Joseph Morton. It is not known when he perished, but his wife Essex, and children are said to have remained in England. However, we know that Andrew Percival was still living in 1725 and was counted on the 1725 census of Charleston, Carolina. When Andrew perished they began to sell off land awarded him in Carolina, a portion of which still remained in his estate as late as 1739. And on Dec. 17th 1717, a description of the bounds of the newly formed St. George’s Parish, an offspring of St. Andrews Parish, said that Robert Dews lived on the plantation of William Rowsham, deceased, on a straight line inclusive from Mr. Bedon’s plantation, and east until it touches St. James Parish, Goose Creek…”
Town of Dorchester, a sketch:
"Just below (Dorchester) on the Ashley, on its north bank, was the plantation of the Wrights now called "Oak Forest," and below that the residence of one of the branches of the (Walter) Izard family called "Cedar Grove," well known for the style of its buildings and its gardens. Above and beyond the road to Bacon's Bridge was the seat of another one of the Izards, on the old grant to William Norman, and called "Burton", and afterwards "Fair Spring", where are still to be seen the remains of a large brick house. Above this was the site of the original grant to Benjamin Waring, the ancestor of the Waring family, and which during the Revolutionary War was owned by Dr. David Oliphant, a member of the Council of Safety and Surgeon-General of the Continental forces in South Carolina. Above this again was the old grant and residence of Col. Andrew Percival, always known as "The Ponds" - the chief pond now being "Shulz's Lake"."
Statutes at Large for South Carolina, pp 236-237:
On May 2nd 1720 a Deed for all that Plantation land called Dorchester (145 acres) in Berkley County, executed in due form of law by Thomas Graves of Berkley County in the Province of South Carolina to:
Walter Izard, Esqrs.
Statutes at Large for South Carolina, p. 150:
In 1721, Thomas Smith, and Robert Dews were appointed Inquirers for the north side of the Ashley River. They were charged with accounting in writing all the inhabitants of this portion of the Parish, recording land and slaves, Negroes, Indians, Mustoes, Mulatoes being of the age 7 to 60 years, and administering an oath. They were compensated 10 Pounds.
The Will of Robert Dews proved on Oct. 18, 1722 in Charles Town, Carolina, indicates that he
Previously acquired the following land that he bequeathed, and devised between his sons:
1,000 acres of land on the north side of the Santee River;
1,000 acres of land near Col. Andrew Percival called "The Ponds," where the battle deciding the Great Yamessee War took place in 1715;
300 acres of land laying near Point Royal:
a lot purchased of Mr. Amory;
and two lots near and without the walls of Charles Town.
He also possessed 22 slaves that were probably engaged in the crafts of bricklaying, of making mortar, and also Planting, devised equally between his sons. Hence, Robert Dews was a man of considerable wealth when he perished.
Robert Dew was about 35 years of age when he perished on the last day of October 1722. He was buried at St. Phillip's, Charleston, next to his previously deceased wife Mary.
Subject: Capt. William Dewe his kin, kith, & associated families
Bethel & William Dewes, orphans of Robert Dewes & Mary Baker, Dewes, deceased in 1722, were the young wards of their aunt Lilas Skene, Haig, and were reared and educated by her in St. Andrews, & St. George’s Parishes, Dorchester, SC.
The 1725 Census of St. George’s Parish, taken in great detail by Rev. Francis Varnod, Anglican minister, shows the orphans of Robert Dewes & Mary Baker dwelling with their legal guardian, and aunt by marriage, Lilia Hague:
Head of household: white men, women, & children: slaves, men, women, & children:
Lilia Hague [1-1-2] [15-6-7]
Alexander Skeene, Esqr. [3-2-1] [27-18-32] did this include nephews?
Sush. Baker “D” [3-3-5] [26-17-18]
This census data shows that according to the first three digits being white men, women, and
children, that Lilia (age 52) dwelling with one white male adult who might have been her scotch relative Surveyor George Hunter, and the two children being the orphans of Robert Dewes & Mary Baker,
that were named Bethel (age 8) & William Dewes (age 4). The last three digits are all slaves, (men,
women, & children, but 28 of them in all) 22 of them being the original inherited property of
her Wards, Bethel & William Dewes, bequeathed to them by their father’s Will made three years
earlier. It seems that George Hunter was perhaps a son of John Hunter of Argyle, Scotland.
Their father’s sister, an aunt by blood, Jemima Dewes, Kenney, Skeene, wife of Alexander
Skeene, Esqr.(age 55) was living nearby, but she was getting elderly. Jemima was a widow
when she married Alexander Skeene on the island of Barbados on 26 January 1698, and she may
have been somewhat older than her husband Alexander. Robert Dew may have thought that she
might not live long enough to rear his sons, when he made his Will.
Their widowed grandmother Susannah Rowsham, Baker (ca. age 45,) also lived not far away. But although she was younger, she had quite a houseful of 11 occupants, and with 61 slaves she had a vast plantation operation under way.
On 2 October 1735 William Dewes received a grant of 640 acres in Berkley County, SC.
He was only 14 years of age at that time, while he was still the legal ward of Lilias Skene, Haig who facilitated this grant.
It appears that William Dewes had a consort in 1736 when he was just fifteen years of age, an unknown spouse by whom he had a daughter Mary Due in 1736 and a son Benjamin Due in 1738 when he was seventeen. It seems that his first wife perished before 1745 (likely of Smallpox) when he married Lois Wilkins in Charleston, SC.
This first consort of the youthful William Dewes may have been Mary Hunter, a possible daughter of George Hunter, a man who was a probable relation of his Guardian Lilias. She could also have been Mary Haig, a granddaughter of Frederick Haig and a daughter of Charity Haig. This would make his first daughter Mary Dews, born about 1736, likely a ¾ blooded Cherokee mix, as was Benjamin Dews, born about 1738. Hunter became a trader, & by 1733 was Deputy Surveyor. He employed as a Surveyor, George Haig, who was a 3rd cousin once removed of Obadiah Haig, the deceased husband of Lilias Haig, and he may have also employed the young William Dewes as a packer, or chain carrier, while he was a teenager. Of course this last part is unproved speculation. As Lilias was Dewes surrogate mother, George Hunter, and George Haig may have helped raise Dewes as a substitute for his deceased father.
In 1740, William Dews served on a Petit Jury in St. George’s Parish, Berkley County, Carolina.
Guardian, Lilias Skene, Haig made her Will, proved in October of 1742 in Berkley, SC, whereby she named Bethel & William Dewes, as heirs. She left her plantation lands with her residence to the younger of her Wards, William Dewes, because he had two young children Mary, and Benjamin, that she probably cared for after their mother perished. Between Oct. 1742, and Oct 2nd 1745 when William Dews married Lois Wilkins, these young children of William Dews were probably looked after by Jemima Dews, Skene, wife of Alexander Skene.
In 1742, Capt. William Dewes enlisted in the South Carolina militia. He served several terms as an officer in the SC militia until 1745.
“A Certificate of Captain William Dews in favor of Henry Wood for 561 Wt. of beef at 7 ½ per
pound supplied to the militia in the late alarm. Which having been read to the House, it was
ordered that the same be referred to the consideration of the Committee appointed to settle and
adjust the accounts as such persons as have demands on the public for Negro hire, and Provisions
supplied the militia during the late Alarm.” [page 130, item 101, SC Commons Journal, Sept 14,
1742 - May 7, 1743]
“A Certificate of Captain William Dews in favor of William Fuller amounting to the sum of ___
for Provisions supplied the militia during the late Alarm. (Ditto)
In 1744 William Dewes served on a Petit Jury in St. George’s Parish, Berkley County, SC.
Bethel, & William Dewes were both married by 1745. Only one colonial marriage is for each brother is documented in Charleston, SC. William’s marriages to mixed blooded daughters of Indian Merchants, if any, were undocumented.
Bethel Dewes married Margaret Croskeys, on May 8, 1740 in Charleston, SC. She was the d/o John Croskeys & Sarah Matthews.
Bethel & Margaret Croskeys, Dewes had only one son that lived to maturity. He was William Dewes, who married Mary Ann Bell in St. Phillips, Charleston, SC on April 8th 1764. William Dewes was a carpenter & Joiner in 1765, and said to be a house carpenter in 1785.
In June of 1765, William Dewes, joiner & carpenter, (son of Bethel) sold lot #135 in Charleston, SC to Michael Bommer for 400 Pounds. His uncle Capt. William Dewes, and relative George Sheed, merchants, made a performance bond for the purchaser Michael Bommer. This property was inherited from his father Bethel, who inherited from his grandfather William Baker, who by marriage inherited it from William Rousham, Sr. who originally was granted this land in the earliest days of Charleston’s history. Note that his father. Bethel Dewes made his Will in Charleston, SC in 1765, and he was recorded dwelling in Granville, SC when this Deed was conveyed.
In 1767 a William Dewes served twice on Jury Duty in St. Phillips, or St. Michaels Parish of Berkley Co., SC, - once on Petit Jury, and once on a Special Jury.
Since the aforesaid William Dewes was still a Charleston carpenter by trade in 1785, it is unlikely that he was the William Dewes who supplied food to Tories in Georgia during the Revolutionary War. More likely it was his grandfather William Dewes, the merchant, known to be a Loyalist by inclination.
Bethel & Margaret Croskeys, Dewes also issued a daughter Sarah Louise Dewes that married Thomas Threadcraft on August 30th 1764 in Charleston, SC. She was deceased before 1769.
The Papers of Henry Laurens, p. 30:
“To Bethel Dewes [Charles Town, 20th July 1749]
As there is an immediate necessity to collect Moneys due to the late Mr. Henry Laurens to pay off his debts, so I must inform you that your note to him for 72 Pounds has been long due, and must desire you will discharge same in a few weeks, or if this is not in your power, please to let me know what security you can give for payment of it in a longer time. I shall esteem the favor of an answer, and I am your most humble servant”
William Dewes married Lois Wilkins on October 2, 1745 in Charleston, SC. She was the d/o William Wilkins & Sarah Matthews. These wives of brothers William & Bethel Dewes were half-sisters. It is likely that these marriages, to half-sisters, were also to their first cousins, once removed.
It is clear from various Wills of their Matthews relatives that Lois Wilkins died shortly after the birth of her first child Robert Dews (1745 - sometime after 1779.) South Carolina records imply that it was her son Robert Dews who became the noted Cherokee Trader mentioned in Emmitt Starr’s Cherokee genealogies.
By 1748 Capt. William Dewes was (trading?) in Bladen County, NC where his 12 year-old daughter Mary Due married to William Williamson, a 41 year-old merchant and trader from Virginia who had interests in old Johnson County, NC. William Williamson was no stranger to this Dewe family because his great uncle Thomas Williamson had witnessed the LW&T of Captain William Dewe’s great uncle John Dew in IOW, Virginia in 1677. It is also inferred that William Dewes probably had a third consort at the time of Mary Due’s marriage to William Williamson, and that she accompanied him in NC, as a step-mother to Mary Due. Her stepmother may have been Mary Tripp, a daughter of a Savannah, Georgia Carpenter, Thomas Tripp.
On 19 October 1748 Patrick Brown, storekeeper & Indian Trader, was granted 500 acres of land lying at the south end of a place called “Withrington’s Bluff” on the Savannah River, located 30 miles below Augusta. At least part of this land was located on Onslow Island where Brown “intends to grow Indigo.”
The Story of Georgia, and the Georgia People: page 557
“Headrights Granted by Colonial Government:”
“…1752 – W. Dews…”
Capt. William Dewes acquired his Argyle Island land grant on April 8th 1752 about four years after Patrick Brown acquired similar plantation lands on Onslow Island, an adjacent River Island in the Savannah River. Apparently both Dewes & Brown had intentions of planting Indigo with the use of slave labor.
Onslow Island was opposite to Argyle Island, both River Islands in the Savannah River about 10-15 miles north of the town of Savannah, where Capt. William Dewes also acquired grant land. These two grants were issued first to Brown in 1748 and to Dews in 1752. The said grant of Dews on Argyle Island descended ultimately to his relatives in the Middleton family, Arthur, his first cousin twice removed. Arthur Middleton passed the lands of the original grant of Dews to his son Henry Middleton, and it came into ownership of the Manigault/Izard family, also his distant relatives, about the time of the Civil War. The relations of said subsequent ownership were descendant issue of two of his aunts.
Although it was formerly thought that one of the daughters of Patrick Brown could have been the third wife of Capt. William Dewes, this may have been a misinterpretation of the implications of the Will of Patrick Brown. Capt. William Dewes was an Executor of Patrick Brown’s 1755 Will. It was thought that this meant he was a likely son-in-law. However there is another possible reason Patrick Brown that could have named William Dews as one of his Executors - in order to assure Dews financial protection in the trade partnership. I have been unable to find documentation of a different wife of William Dews after the death of Lois Wilkins until he married Mary Tripp, thus he may have married Mary by 1748.
The Will of Patrick Brown, made in Charleston in 1755 provides us with the information that at the time his Will was made, Capt. William Dewes was a merchant and Indian Trader of Savannah, Ga., and it also implies that he was in partnership with Licensed Indian Traders Patrick Brown, & Daniel Clarke of Augusta. It appears that Dewes/Dews owned land on Wilmington Island, just up-river from Savannah at this time. Irish brothers Patrick Brown & Thomas Brown were both Indian Traders, but there is no record that Patrick ever had an Indian, or a white family in America. He did have one son back in Ireland named in his Will. However, his brother Thomas Brown was captured by Nottaway Indians and abducted to lands north of the Ohio River. When the militia finally found him three years later, he was contentedly dwelling in a Nottaway village, with an Indian wife and two half-breed sons whom he brought back with him to the Congaree.
Robert Goudy, a licensed Trader, purchased 200 acres of land near the “Ninety-Six “ cross-trails campground in 1751. By 1755 the area quickly grew into a community having a store, blacksmith shop, with 12 dwellings, and a flourmill. It was a hub for trading at the vital crossroads of trails to the Cherokees at Keowee, the Creeks beyond Augusta, and the main importing and exporting Port at Charles Town. It had been used sporadically as a temporary campground for trading purposes since before 1737.
On the 7th of March 1755, William Dews was appointed as one of the Surveyors of High-Ways of the Northwest District of Christ Church Parish, Georgia near Savannah. This seems to indicate he had some Surveyor training as a young man, perhaps under George Hunter, or George Haig.
On November 27, 1755, Joseph Salvadore purchased 10,000 acres of land for the first Jewish Settlement in America. This land, later described, was said to be near “Fort 96 (a Fort not built until 1759).”
English Crown Grants for Islands in Georgia 1755 – 1775, page 49:
William Dews was granted land on Wilmington Island on the coast of Georgia before 1755, and continued to hold land there until after 1775 as shown by following land grant data:
Land granted on March 5th 1756, Book A, pa. 97:
300 acres on Wilmington Island bounded on the northwest and northeast by William Dews, east by Tybee River, and south by marshes of Wilmington River.
Land granted on December 3rd 1760, Book C, pa. 363:
200 acres situate on Wilmington Island bounded on north by John Barnard, east by land of William Dews, west by land of John Michael Betz, and south by land of John Barnard, and Thomas Vincent.
Land granted on February 7th 1775, Book M, page 974:
100 acres on Wilmington Island bounded on northeast by William Dews, and northwest by marshes.
1757-1758: SC Archives & History, Series 372001, Vol. 250:
Description: David Mongin, and wife, to Jonathan Badger, Lease and Release
For land in Ansonborough, Granville County, SC.
Abstract of Georgia Colonial Conveyance Book C-1 (1750-1761):
Place: Province of Georgia
Grantee: William Dews
Place: Province of Georgia
Kind of Inst: Indenture of Release (Deed)
Date written: April 13th 1757
Place written: X
Payment: 10.0.0 Pounds, lawful money of Great Britain
Discription: All that plantation containing 300 acres lying on the Island of Wilmington in the Province of Georgia bounding and having such form and marks as are represented in a plan annexed to a grant thereof under the great seal of the said Province, and signed by his Excellency John Reynolds, Esq., Governor, etc the [ ] day of [ ] in the year of our Lord Seventeen Hundred Fifty [ ] recourse of the same being had will fully appear together with all houses, barns, gardens, watercourses, and appurtenances whatsoever thereunto belonging. Henry Yonge holds the land in “a good sure perfect and absolute estate of inheritance in fee simple of and in the aforesaid plantation.
Witness: John Morel (also Morell), Richard Baker
Date recorded: May 10th 1760
Grantor: James Parker, gentleman
Place: Savannah, Province of Georgia
Grantee: William Dews
Place: Savannah, Province of Georgia
Kind of Inst: Indenture of Release (Deed)
Date written: October 8th 1759
Place written: Georgia
Payment: 150.0.0 Pounds good and lawful money of Great Britain
Discription: [The indenture of Lease is mentioned but not recorded and was to run for a term of one year from the probable date of October 7th 1759] All those four parcels of land containing 50 acres each, situate in the Parish of Christ Church in the Province aforesaid, four lots whereby the numbers 5, and 6 (the other 2 being trust lots) in Sloper Tything, Percival Ward, which said four parcels of 50 acres of land make and contain 200 acres and is bounding on the north on lands of John Peter Breton, and John Cary; to the East of lands of Peter Manley; to the South on lands of James DeVeaux, Peter Papot, and the heir of John Pye; and to the West on land now or late of Isaac Henricus Nunes, and hath such shape and marks as are laid down in the delineated platt thereof to the original grant annexed.
Witness: William Spencer, John Morell
Official: not sworn
Date recorded: April 21st 1760
Dower renunciation by Mary, wife of William Dews involving the sale of his Wilmington Island, Georgia property to Jonathan Bryan in 1764 seems to indicate that his possible earlier wife (if she ever existed at all) Elizabeth Brown was deceased, and Dews was by 1756 married to Mary when his Grants for these lands were finalized in Georgia. But this assumption may be in error because it may be that only his current wife of record needed to renounce dower, even if she had not been his wife when the land was acquired. However, it is more likely that William Dews was married to Mary Tripp by about 1748 as a Savannah Indian Trader, or Merchant.
South Carolina Governor Lyttleton did not issue the Order to build Fort Ninety-Six until November 22nd 1759, after the Great Cherokee War started. Leading a column of Militia, Lyttleton’s forces were visiting Robert Goudey’s Trading Post & Store when Lyttleton first gave Orders to build a stockade there of upright logs, 90 feet on each side, a dirt embankment, two bastions, a firing step, or banquette, and a gate. Inside was Goudey’s barn, made into a military storehouse, and some sheds that served as a barracks. The Fort was built within a week, and when Lyttleton’s forces moved on to Fort Prince George on November 29th, 1759 the new Fort was left garrisoned by the wounded invalids among his militiamen.
It is said that a George Haig negotiated the building of Fort Ninety-Six with Robert Goudey. Presumably this was the son of George Haig, Jr. who was captured and killed by the Nottewea Indians in 1749, and that this son was a member of Lyttleton’s militia in 1759.
Before the Great Cherokee War began, and Fort Ninety-Six was built, Captain William Dewes had already established a trading post about a mile west of the Ninety-Six cross trails where Robert Goudey’s trading post was located. Dewes ran this trading post called “Dewes Corner” with the aid of his teen-aged son Robert Dews (age 14,) and other young men aspiring to the fur trade business including Ezekial Buffington, Richard Fields, & Elias Harlan.
A Sept. 25th 1760 Georgia land Grant to John Morell, a French immigrant, proves that Capt. William Dews still owned land on Wilmington Island, Christ Church Parish, Chatham County, Georgia in that year. Georgia Grant Book A, pages 86, & 218 says that Wm. Dews received both Grants on Wilmington Island, and Argyle Island in 1756, probably meaning that they were both approved in 1752:
“John Morell, 500 acres on Wilmington Island, Christ Church Parish, Chatham County, Georgia, granted September 25th 1760, bounded on the south by (a 150 acre tract of) William Dews, on all other sides by Warsaw (sic) Wassaw River and Tybee Creek, and marshes of same.” [Georgia Grant Book B, page 512]
Since the Great Cherokee War was under way Capt. William Dews may have been occupying this Wilmington Island land, or the Argyle Island land, or perhaps dwelt in Charleston in 1760.
In 1760, Captain William Dewes, wealthy Indian Merchant of Charleston, SC, purchased all or part of Timicau Island at the estate sale & settlement with the creditors and heirs of Thomas Plunkett, deceased. There can be little, if any, doubt about the identity of the buyer mentioned in this estate. This buyer named William could not have been the son of Cornelius Dewees for he was born in 1749 and thus he was only 11 years old when the sale took place. He could not have been the grandson of the merchant William Dewes, for he was born ca. 1745, and therefore, was only 15 years of age. This buyer could not have been William Dewees, the father of Cornelius Dewes, of Pennsylvania, because records indicate he was never in South Carolina, and therefore, could not have attended this sale. The only possibility left is that this buyer was Capt. William Dewes who was a wealthy merchant of Charleston. He had the money, and the speculative interest to become involved. No other men of this name are found in applicable South Carolina records during this period.
Coastal South Carolina: Welcome to the Low Country, p. 118:
“Dewees Island: The island was Deeded to Thomas Carey…as a reward for his services to the British Crown. At that time the island was called “Timicau” and was used primarily for hunting.”
Timicau Island, 1470 acres, was originally granted on Sept. 8th, 1697 to Thomas Cary, a former Receiver General for the Lords Proprietors, and a Deputy Gov. of Carolina. He was a stepson, and son-in-law of John Archdale.
A large part of Timicau Island, 810 acres, came into possession of John I., and Mary N. (Baker) Givins before June 1st 1714 when they sold the said tract to Charles Hill, a Charles Town merchant, and Planter.
“Mary Givins, wife of John Givins departed this life ye 39th day of Sept. 1728” [SCHM]
In 1761, Elizabeth Scully, Plunket, widow, who married Thomas Plunket on June 3rd 1759 in St. Phillips, Charleston, SC, relinquished dower rights for the said island to Captain William Dewees (sic) Dewes, sold by Cornelius Dewees, a shipwright from Germantown, Pennsylvania, a former partner/owner of Timicau Island’s first shipyard with Thomas Plunkett. It became known as Dewe’s Island then, and then later as Dewees Island after Cornelius Dewees, to whom there is no known blood relationship to Captain William Dewes, although his name was given later in his life as Dewees too, in probable confusion from their business associations.
1762: SC Archives and History, Series S136002, Box 56A, Item 116A:
John Martini –vs- David Mongin, Judgement Roll
SC Archives and History, Series S111001, Vol. 14, Item 2:
Description – John Heyward, Memorial for 3 tracts, one for 600 acres on Port Royal
River, Granville County, summarizing a chain of title to a grant to John Bemor of Nov 4th 1732, one for 740 acres on Rattlesnake Neck, Granville County, originally granted to Arthur Hall on March 11th 1731, but on a resurvey found to contain only 490 acres, and one for 764.5 acres near Purrysburg Township, summarizing a chain of title to the will of James Heyward. (2 pages)
Names Indexed: John Bemor, Andrew Broughton, Hannah Broughton, Thomas Broughton, Elizabeth Cattell, John R. Cattell, Jr., Daniel Daily, Arthur Hall, William Harvey, Col. Hazzard, Thomas Hazzard, William Heward, Sr., James Heyward, John Heyward, Thomas Heyward, Paul Jeny, Robert Johnson, Elizabeth McGilvery, John McGilvery, David Mongin, Sealy, Richard Waring.
Topic: Estate deposition
1763: SC Archives and History, S135002, Box 58A, Item 114A:
Description – John Smith and Joseph Nutt –vs- David Mongin,
Georgia Pioneers Genealogical Magazine – 1964: page 181
Deed Book “O”
Feb. 21st 1763, May 2nd 1763 – Christ Church Parish, Georgia: William Dews, Deed of Gift to his daughter Mary, gift of a slave. Wit: Joseph and Mary Wright.
Jane Mary Mongin seems an illegitimate daughter of Rebecca (Tripp?,) (who married Thomas Lee in 1742.) Her
father was apparently Capt. David Mongin whose European family and wife resided in London. Mary was likely about
22 years old in 1763, and she was perhaps adopted at about the age of eight by Capt. William Dews when he married this
young girl’s aunt, Mary Tripp, Dews, a daughter of Thomas Tripp of Savannah. Therefore, she could have been
“his daughter Mary” mentioned in the above Deed of Gift, who in 1771 became a potential heir to a portion of Capt.
David Mongin’s estate. In 1771 she was likely about 28 years of age, and was then apparently still unmarried. The Court
in Charleston would have accepted Capt. Wm. Dews as her legal Guardian ad Litum for the purpose of Mongin’s estate
settlement. The Court also required Dews to testify about the mental state of David Mongin when he made his SC, Will
because Mongin’s last wife filed a contest over the validity of the Will.
On Mar. 7th 1764, William & Mary Tripp, Dews sold 450 acres of land on Wilmington Island, Christ Church Parish, later Chatham County, Georgia to Jonathan Bryan for 100 pounds Georgia currency. [Georgia Deed Book S, pa. 12-13] See page 178 in the following Book:
The Foundations of a Plantation Elite; Jonathan Bryan & the Southern Colonial Frontier:
South Carolina - the Index shows:
William Dews, p. 178
Mary Dews, p. 178
The Georgia Frontier, p. 58:
Jonathan Bryan [1708, SC – 1788, Brampton, near Savannah, Ga.] was captured, along with his son James, by the British in 1779, and held prisoners in New York for two years. He married Mary Williamson. Their children were:
2. Jonathan, died young
5. James, married Elizabeth Langley
6. Mary, married John Morel
7. G. Josiah Bryan [1746-1774] married about 1770 to Elizabeth Pendarvis. Josiah, Gentleman, and wife Elizabeth, resided at “Dewes,” a plantation of 450 acres on Wilmington Island.
10. Hannah married John Houstoun, a son of Sir Patrick Houstoun.
12. Sarah Janet Bryan
1765: It seems clear that Capt. William Dewes still owned the trading post called “Dewes Corner” in 1765 because two land memorials of Robert Gowdy made in that year specify that this nearby trading post was still called by his name:
Oct. 25th 1765, Robert Gowdy. 500 acres in Berkley County on wagon road leading to Cherokees at Dewes Corner, a branch of Savannah River. Surveyed Feb. 27th 1766 by John Fairchild, DS. [SC Colonial Platt Book 8:360]
Oct. 27th 1766, A Memorial exhibited by Robert Gowdy to be registered in Auditor General’s office for the 500 acres in Berkley County being across the wagon road leading to the Cherokee at Dewe’s Corner on a branch of the Savannah River and all other sides vacant when survey certified Feb. 27th 1766, and granted Sept. 25th 1766 to the memoralist at quit rent of 3/s or proclamation money per hundred acres commencing two years from the date. [signed] Robert Gouedy.
1765: SC Archives and History, Series S136002, Box 62A, Item 117A:
Description – John Smith and Joseph Nutt –vs- David Mongin,
SC Archives and History, Series S136009, Vol. 1761, page 271:
Description – Elizabeth Mongin, wife of David Mongin, to Jonathan Badger,
William Dewe’s son, Robert Dews made a petition in 1768 for 100 acres of land in Georgia, “where he had once lived in the forks of the Euchee River, near Augusta.”
A Petition of Owen Sullivan, of St. Andrew’s Parish in 1768 proves that this land asked for by Robert Dewes was on the Uchee Creek just north of Augusta over the county line of Richmond Co., in Columbia Co., Ga: “Read a Petition of Owen Sullivan setting forth that he was settled in the Province and had no land granted to him as was desirous to obtain land for cultivation having a wife and seven children, therefore praying for one hundred acres on the fork of Euchee Creek, St. Paul’s Parish, to adjoin land this day petitioned for by Robert Dews…[page 954-955, Colonial Records of Georgia, Volumes IX, & X]
Records suggest that Robert Dews was under the age of 14 when his father lived on this 100 acres of Euchee Creek Fork land because this residence must have occurred while his father was trading under license of his partner Patrick Brown who died in 1758, or that of Trader Daniel Clark who died in May of 1757. We know that before 1759 Robert’s father William Dewes had already established a trading post called “Dewes Corner” east of Fort 96 where he was operating under his own license or that of Robert Goudey. Robert Dews was only about 23 years of age when he made this Petition for aforesaid land in the Forks of the Euchee River or Creek.
The land requested above in Georgia by Robert Dews located in St. Pauls Parish was finally granted to David Anderson because Robert did not submit the required fee in time. Afterwards Robert Dews purchased it from Anderson in 1773, but he conveyed it to a third party during the same year.
American Loyalists claims, p. 189:
“…1773 from David Anderson to Robert Dewes, 100 acres in St. Pauls Parish, Georgia, and December 20./21, 1773 from Dewes to claimant, (not named) originally granted on March 7th 1773…”
Charles Minors, a shipwright of Little River, SC being from Bermuda, was probably a second cousin of Capt. William Dewes. Charles Minors, Sr. witnessed the Will of his uncle George Dews of Bermuda, and also the Will of his father-in-law John Welsh who was married to his great aunt Ann Dew. When Charles Minors, shipwright of Little River, SC died in 1763, his widow Sarah married on June 20th 1770 to Cornelius Dewees as his second wife, establishing a tenuous distant relationship to Capt. William Dewes.
The last known wife (3rd, or 4th?) of William Dewes was Mary Tripp, a daughter of Thomas Tripp of Savannah, Georgia. She may have survived him after his death in ca. spring of 1786 at an age of about 45. Her survival until this date is uncertain. The last certain record found in SC regarding William Dewes was in 1771, testifying before the Governor of South Carolina regarding the Execution of the 1770 Will of Capt. David Mungin, or Mongin, this name found spelled various ways. But I find another record dated in March of 1784 that is probably also the same William Dewes, but this is not proved.
It is believed that in 1771Capt. William Dews was the Guardian of one of Mongin’s daughters issued by Rebecca Tripp while she was a teenager in 1741. She was probably a mixed Indian daughter of Thomas Tripp.) Rebecca Tripp married Thomas Lee, apparently his second wife, in 1742 in Georgia, at a place some distance south of Savannah while he was sent there on Vespry Clerk duty.
It is also clear that Margaret Croskeys, Dewes wife of Bethel Dewes, was still living in December of 1752 when her grandmother Lois Matthews made her Will.
Bethel Dewes had only one known son named William Dewes that lived to maturity, (See the 1769 Will of George Matthews), and nothing more is known of him except that he was a house carpenter, and that he married Mary Ann Bell at St. Phillips, Charleston, SC on 8 April 1764.
Book H-3, p 277: 25 & 26 June 1765. L & R
William Dewes, carpenter & joiner, & Mary Ann (her mark) his wife; to Michael Bommer,
butcher; both of Charleston, for 400 Pounds currency, lot #`135 in Charleston, bounding E 36 ft.
on the Kings Highway; N 160 ft on Patrick Hinds, shoemaker; S on Michael Bommer, where he
Wit: George Vair, Edward Cole.
Before John Troup, J. P. 31 Oct. 1765
Recorded 30 Jan. 1768 by Fenwick Bull, registrar
(Capt.) William Dewes & George Sheed, merchants, give Bommer a bond of performance.
Wit: Edmund Higginson, George Vair.
[Capt. William Dewes and George Sheed were brothers-in-law to each other, Sheed being the
husband of Eleanor Wilkins, according to a Matthews genealogy. SC records confirm that they
were married on May 23, 1750. The seller, William Dewes was a nephew of both Capt. Wm.
Dewes & George Sheed, who both made bond for his buyer, Michael Bommer. Bethel Dewes
(the father of Seller William Dewes, made his Will in 1765,) and was Taxed in Granville, SC that
South Carolina Deed Abstracts 1783-1788, page 323-324:
V - 5, pp 432-433: Lease & Release. 19 & 20 July 1785:
William Dewes of Charles Town, SC, house carpenter, and Mary Ann his wife, to William
Harvey of same place, gentleman, for1200 Pounds SC money, part of town lot on east side
Church Street number 166, adjacent to lands of James Lingard deceased, Joseph Bee Junior, on
a passage way leading from the Bay of Charles Town to Church Street, commonly called Wraggs
William Dewes (LS)
Mary Ann Dewes (LS)
Wit: Cassandra Johnson, Wm. Elms, Paul Porcher Senr., Paul Porcher Junr.
Proved by the oaths of Willm Elms on 18 March 1775 before Fenwick Bull, JP.
Recorded 1 Dec. 1786
Without reiterating previously documented details, it is clear that both Bethel Dewes & William Dewes were both quite extensively involved in the Indian Trade, but the records of SC clearly indicate that Bethel was also substantially involved in the plantation farming of Rice. These records also show that William Dewes became a wealthy Charleston merchant & Indian Trader, and that he was trading in Georgia by 1752, as well as in the Cherokee Nation west of Ft. Ninety Six before 1759, at “Dewe’s Corner.” It is recorded that his oldest son Robert Dew was working for him at said “Dewes Corner” when he was a teenager among the Cherokees, but his other surviving sons were still too young for such duty, and were very likely dwelling either in Savannah, Ga, or on Hilton’s Head Island, or possibly Daufuski Island in Beaufort, SC, as both Islands were located nearby.
Even though there are few records showing that Capt. William Dewes was ever married again in the white settlements, there is little doubt that he had other marriages or consorts while in the Indian Trade, both before, and after the death of Lois Wilkins, Dewe, and probably all of these were mixed blooded daughters of Indian Traders. Records depicting this part of his life have simply not survived, or at least, have not been found, but there are strong implications that they did take place and are sufficiently indicated in the records that did survive.
There were many attractive mixed-blooded Native American daughters of earlier traders among the tribes with whom William Dewes traded. Such marriages often took place among Indian merchants & traders, but were not sanctioned by the Colonial law, or the Church. They were simply ignored by both. Bonds, and licenses were never posted, and they were rarely if ever recorded for these unions. Fur Trading essentially required that the trader take a wife within the tribe in order for him to establish certain privileges and tribal rights, as well as to secure his own safety, and gain essential intelligence. Although it was bigamy whenever the trader had a colonial wife and children in the settlements, tribal customs did not disapprove this practice. In Charleston such activity was viewed with a casual wink, or a blind eye. There was money to be made in the Indian Trade.
William Dewes probably sired the line of Dews who spread out through Georgia during the 18th century.
William Dewe is likely to have been the father of the following Dews/Dues whose ancestry cannot otherwise be explained in the Carolinas:
Mary Due (ca. 1736, SC - ca. before 1760 Prince Frederick Parish, Craven, SC)
She married as the first wife of William Williamson, ca. 1748 and lived first in
Middlesex Co., Va. They had sons Thomas Williamson (ca. 1748, Va. - 1804
Darlington, SC) and John Williamson m: Sarah Price before Mary died.
They were also the grandparents of William, & Col. Bright Williamson of Darlington.
Mary Due’s mother may have been Mary Hunter d/o George Hunter.
As a widower, William Williamson married second to Martha “Patti” nee Green, [July
4, 1740, Bristol Parish, Brunswick, Va. - aft. 1771, Prince Frederick Parish, SC] being
the widow of a Strickland. She was the daughter of William Marston Green, and Amy
Clay of Henrico Co., Va. But her previous marriage had apparently removed her into the
Carolinas. William Williamson is found on a 1760 Tax List of landowners in Colleton
County, SC having 1,402 acres, and he served a term from Colleton County at the
Commons House Assembly for SC.
However, William Dews of Savannah, Georgia gave a Deed of Gift of a slave to his
daughter Mary Dews in 1763. William Dews several inherited slaves from his father
estate in 1722. Was this Mary Dews his adopted daughter, Jane Mary Mongin, and did
William perhaps prefer to call her by the name Mary because his natural daughter of that
given name had already perished?
Benjamin Due (ca. 1738 - 31 Dec. 1759, Pvt., SC militia, Cherokee War near Ft. Prince George)
He is not known to have married.
He witnessed a Deed from Jacob Buckholtz, Sr., planter, to Rev. Robert Williams, 250
acres, both sides of Pigeon Creek, Craven Co., SC, Welch Tract, southwest side of the
Pee Dee River, in May of 1758. Buckholtz was born in Prussia, and by 1740 was found
on the Pee Dee River, in present day SC. His mother may have been Mary Hunter who
probably died before 1744. Pvt. Benjamin Due, Major Abraham Buckholtz, Ens.
Jacob Buckholtz, Clerk: Henry Buckholtz all served under Col. George Gabriel
Powell during Governor Lyttleton’s campaign against the Cherokees between 1759 and
Robert Due (ca. 1745, St. Andrews Parish, Dorchester, SC - after 1779) s/o Lois Wilkins, Dewes
He married first to Susannah Catherine Emory, daughter of trader Robert Emory.
He married second to Elizabeth Emory, mixed blooded daughter of trader William
Emory/Amory, & Mary Grant.
He married third to Nancy Augusta Tassel?.
He married fourth to an unidentified trader’s daughter. [1790 census of Edgefield, SC]
His mother died shortly after his birth, and he was heir to the estates of Lilias Skene,
Haig, and of the Matthews family of the Charleston, SC, area, proving his heritage.
James Due (ca. 1750 - ca. 1809 Darlington, SC), perhaps a son of Mary Tripp, Dews.
He married Christiana Gordon, ca. 1782-4, St. David’s Parish, SC, d/o Alexander
G. Gordon, and wife Mary McCoy/McKay.
Seth Due (ca. 1752 - ca. 1818, Columbus, NC), perhaps a son of Mary Tripp, Dews..
Found on the 1790 census of Bladen County, NC with four sons and four daughters.
He married Lydia Ray
John Due (ca. - between 1790 and 1820, Moore Co., NC), a son of Mary Tripp, Dews.
He married Elizabeth “Betsy” (Alston?)
Elizabeth Dewees (sic) sued William Ransom Davis in 1787 [SC Judgment Roll] and
William Ransom Davis became the Sheriff of Camden County, SC between 1794 and
Richard Stinson sued John Due in 1789 in the Cheraw District, SC.
Ishom Hodges sued John Due in 1789 in Marlboro, SC.
Phillip Pledger sued John Due in 1790 in Marlboro, SC, but John Due does not
appear on the 1790 census of the Cheraws District, Marlboro, or Darlington, SC.
A John Due, alone, and over the age of 16 appears on the 1790 census of Beaufort, SC.
John Due is found in Darlington, and Marlboro, SC, in association with James Due
Before 1790. He may be the John Due found on the 1800 census of Moore County, NC,
who died before 1820 leaving a widow, and he may be the ancestor of William Cox Due.
Elizabeth Due (ca. 1770, Savannah, Ga. - 1824, Savannah, Ga.), a daughter of Mary Tripp,
She married Thomas Rice (1771, Philadelphia, Pa. - 6 Nov. 1817, Savannah, Ga.) a
ship’s carpenter, and he had a ship building yard in Savannah, Ga. She had a family of
four children counted on the census of 1820, in Savannah.
In 1767, a William Dewes was ordered to serve Jury Duty twice in St. Phillips Parish, SC, one time on Pettit Jury, and one time on Special Jury. This was likely to be William Dewes, a son of Bethel Dewes, and his wife Sarah Threadcraft. This William Dewes married Mary Ann Bell in St. Phillips Parish, Charleston on April 8th 1764.
On October 14th 1768 the “Treaty of Hard Labor” was negotiated by Indian Commissioner John Stuart, delineated the boundary between the 96 District of South Carolina, and Cherokee Lands as intersecting the Trading Path at “Dewes Corner.”
In 1769 either Capt. William Dewes, or his nephew of this same name, was fined five Pounds for non-attendance at Jury Duty in Charleston, SC.
1769 Colonial Records of the State of Georgia, Vol. 10:
The Will of David Mungen was granted on Feb. 2, 1771 in Charleston, SC. The Last Will & Testament of David Mungen was proved, on the same day, by Archibald Wilkins, William Dews, and Richard Pendarvis. John Lewis Bourquin, and William (Edwards) Mongen, (the decedent’s son,) qualified as Executors…However, William Dews was subsequently also appointed as an Executor.
During the February Term, 1771, Capt William Dewes, Richard Pendarvis, Archibald Wilkins & John Wilkins were all issued citation to appear on Friday the 15th inst. before the Governor, Lord Charles Montague to declare what they knew about the Execution of David Mungen’s (sic) Will.
On the 15th of February 1771, the Honorable Gov. Montague ruled that David Mongin was of sound mind when he made his Will. David Mungin was a very wealthy man. His third wife during the last five years of his life was Catherine Spoad, Mongin a previous concubine of British General Sir John “Gentleman Johnny” Burgoyne (1722-1792.) His widow, Catherine apparently contested her deceased husband’s Will alleging that her husband was demented when he made his Will, but she failed to get her husband’s Will invalidated. No children are known issued by Catherine.
There can be no doubt about a legal relationship existing between David Mungin and William Dewes. It appears that Dews was the current Guardian of one of Mungin’s daughters issued in 1741 by Rebecca Tripp, who in 1742 married Thomas Lee. Mrs. Mary Dews, wife of William Dews, was a daughter of Thomas Tripp by a former wife, perhaps an Indian consort from Carolina, or of his wife in Barbados, and I do known that Thomas Lee married to his last wife Rebecca in about 1742, long after Mary was born (1729 or earlier.) Mary’s birth apparently occurred before Thomas Tripp arrived in Carolina from Barbados. It is also known that Mary, wife of William Dews was a daughter of Thomas Tripp, and a co-heir to his estate.
Direct proof has been found that Capt. William Dewes was last known married to Mary Tripp, whose sister Rebecca Tripp issued an illicit daughter that was the issue of Capt. David Mongin in 1741 during his Carolina adventure. Mongin was then currently married to Percilla Dair. Precilla Dair, Mongin never came to America. She died in London about 1747.
Mary Tripp has been determined to be the wife of Capt. William Dewes in 1764, 1770, and 1771.
It is noted that Mary Tripp, Dew’s niece, Jane Mary Mongin was an illicit daughter of Capt. David Mongin. She was certainly not the issue of Percilla Dair because of her husband’s protracted absence from England exploring the opportunities in America. Jane Mary Mongin who was born Aug. 8th 1741 was the same who married about 1773 at Walnut Grove on the May River to John Middleton of Charleston, a shipmaster, and it is likely that she became the ward of William Dews. There was a John Mongin Middleton who was born in 1807 in SC who was probably one of her descendants, or perhaps that of her niece Mary Jane Mongin, Middleton. William Dews also had relatives of the Middleton ilk.
The deponents in the abovementioned Citation who were compelled to testify before the Governor regarding the Will of Captain David Mongin were all related in some way, and they shared some quite convoluted blood and marital relationships.
Richard Pendarvis, the Tory, descended from Capt. William Dews’ aunt, or cousin, Elizabeth Baker that married Josiah Pendarvis. Richard also lived quite near the lowland plantations of David Mungin, in Beaufort, SC. Archibald Wilkins, and John Wilkins appear to have been Capt. William Dewe’s cousins through the Matthews family.
Captain David Mongin was born in 1690 in the north of France, probably in Brittany, or Normandy, of French Protestant parents. In 1685, the Edict of Nance, which had given certain rights to the French Protestants, was revoked. After the Edict of Nance was repealed, the Catholics renewed their deadly inquisitions and persecutions against Protestant “heretics” in France. Early in 1723, David Mongin and his younger brother Francis, mariners, hired a fishing boat and fled across the English Channel proceeding to London at the behest of their father who later died of subsequent torture because he refused to renounce his faith. Both these brothers who were well-qualified mariners either joined the British Navy, and became the Captains of British Men-of-War, or were employed by the Crown as Privateers for the purpose of hunting down and interdicting Spanish Pirates. In 1736, King George, II, rewarded these brothers with Royal Land Grants in America for their excellent and successful service in this mission.
The 1766 Granville County, SC Will of William Spoad insinuates that Captain David Mongin’s father might have also been a David Mungeon, “Senior” because his son-in-law Captain David Mongin was called a “Jr., in this document.” But custom did not always confer the passing of these suffix titles from father to son exclusively. They could pass from father to nephew, and a “Jr.,” could sire either a son, or nephew, who became “Sr.”
Before December 1, 1723, Francois Mongin married Magdalene ___ and dwelt on Glasshouse Street & Lecicester Fields, in French Huguwest, Westminster, London, England for, upon that date, they issued a son in London named David Mongin. Nothing more is known of this son.
Note that Abraham Roulain, who witnessed the LW&T of Bethel Dews on Nov. 16th 1758 in St. Paul’s Parish, SC, was also born of French Huguenot parents on Glasshouse Street & Lecicester Fields, in French Huguwest, Westminster, London, England on July 27th 1708.
On September 4, 1726, David Mongin married Persille Dair in Soho Square, London, England. They had six children before she died August 6, 1747, being buried in Westminster Abbey Cemetery next to four of her deceased children.
Both David Mongin & his brother Francis were Commissioned as Captains of warships in the Royal Navy of England, or as Privateers. Their adeptness at chasing and capturing the Pirates that preyed on colonial shipping earned them several Royal land Grants in South Carolina.
David Mongin had already established himself near Charles Town, Carolina in 1735 because notice in the newspaper shows he had a runaway slave that year.
In 1737 a 680 acre Royal grant had been issued to David and his brother Francis Mongin in Granville County, SC.
In 1740 David Mongin was issued a Royal Grant for Daufuski Island just north of Savannah, Georgia, and grew long staple cotton on this Island land with the aid of slaves, however he still resided in the area of Charles Town, SC where he was a watch and clock maker.
The same month that his wife Priscilla Dair died in London during 1749, David Mongin and his two surviving English born children sailed from Liverpool in August, and arrived in New Jersey on November 10, 1747, proceeding to Princeton. David made arrangement for the Rev. Jonathan Edwards to keep his children while he made certain preparations in SC. From Princeton, New Jersey, he traveled overland to South Carolina to visit his brother dwelling on the 650 acre Grant land laying at Purrysburgh located in Granville County. His brother Francis Mongin previously resided there from about the time of their first visitation. This land was not to David’s liking, and from the beginning he preferred the Grant of land given him on Daufuski Island.
South Carolina Historical Magazine, page 212:
Purrysburgh Grants – Township Grants #41, & #42:
Daniel and Francis Mongin 650 acres April 12th 1737
John Lewis Poyas 650 acres July 13th 1737
Peter Masson 50 acres Sept. 16th 1738
Mary Masson 50 acres Lot 8 Sept. 16th 1738
Mary Masson 50 acres Sept. 16th 1738
Note that the first above grant should probably read David & Francis Mongin, instead.
Note that on Dec. 8th 1733, a Letter was read from Mr. D. Waltor at Rotterdam in the
Council Meeting of the Georgia Trust Colony Corporation in London, with a Petition of
Jean Lois Poyas, Vandois, to be sent over to Georgia with several of the Pietmontese.
His brother Francis entered the Purrysburg grant. In fact, Francis Mongin is listed as a resident of Purrysburg, SC in 1743, and he had a daughter Frances Moungin that married Robert London on December 29, 1744 in South Carolina, probably at Purrysburg. Captain Francis Mongin's 2nd marriage in Carolina, if one existed, is undocumented, therefore his colonial spouse, assuming he had one, was probably also to a mixed blooded Indian Trader's daughter. Of course his daughter Frances was probably the offspring of his English wife, Magdalene.
Since John David Mongin's daughter, Jane Mary Mongin was not among the children he brought with him to New Jersey in 1747, she was probably already in Carolina with her mother Rebecca, never having left America. There is ample reason to believe that Captains Francis and John David Mongin came to Carolina in, or before 1740/41 to examine the Royal Land Grants issued them by the King recently for their extraordinary Naval services, and so we might surmise that Jane Mary Mongin was not a daughter of Precilla Dair, Mongin but more likely the illicit issue of Rebecca, a daughter of Thomas Tripp. It appears that Captain John David Mongin seduced Rebecca during his early 1741 excursion to this locale leaving her with child. Soon afterwards Rebecca Tripp married a Vespry Clerk Thomas Lee in 1742 while he was assigned duty in an area just south of Savannah.
David’s brother Francis Mongin was noted recorded as a resident of Purrysburg, Carolina in 1743.
However we know that Captain David Mongin returned to England at some point before 1747 because his wife Precilla Mongin died that year in London. During August of 1747, the month of her death, Captain John David Mungin removed from London by way of Liverpool to Princeton, NJ, where he continued overland to his Royal Grant Land on Daufuski Island, Carolina. For the next two years he left behind his two surviving English born children, the issue of Precilla, at the Jonathan Edwards residence in New Jersey. These children were Pricilla Mary Mongin, age 6, and her brother David John Mongin, age 8.
Capt. William Dews married in Savannah, Georgia to Mary Tripp who had a niece that was the issue of David Mungin by Rebecca Tripp out of wedlock, and she was about 6 or 7 years old by 1748. She would have been raised in the family of Thomas Lee, and she came to live with William Dews, and Mary Tripp, Dews. But there has been no record discovered that formalized the marriage between William Dews & Mary Tripp, just some Deeds, mention of her inheritance by the Petition of Thomas Lee regarding a Grant that yields that Mary Dew’s father was Thomas Tripp, and the subsequent execution of the estate of David Mungen whereby William Dews was named an Executor of Mongin’s Will.
Jane Mary Mungin (Mungen, Mongin) was born in late 1741 and so she was only 11 years old when William Dews received his first Grants approved 1752 in Georgia, land for which his wife Mary later relinquished her Dower Rights.
In 1763, William Dews, of Savannah, made a Deed of Gift of a slave to his “daughter” Mary. This was probably his “adopted” daughter whose biological father was David Mongin who actually did claim her as his daughter in his Bible after the death of his first wife, and this made her an heir to his estate.
In 1749 David Mungin married 2nd to Elizabeth Edwards of New Jersey. No doubt Elizabeth had been caring for his English born children for the last two years. His daughter, Jane Mary Mongin who was born on August 8th 1741,was apparently early on raised by her mother Rebecca Tripp, & her husband Thomas Lee that married in 1742 in Georgia. It is possible that Jane Mary Mongin came to live with William Dews and Mary Tripp after they were married. The local folk probably all knew that Mongin was her father. Mongin even included her name as his daughter in his Bible, but no doubt he recorded this fact after his first wife perished. This explains the Governor's Citation requiring said Dewes to testify in 1771 about Mongin's mental state when he made his 1765 -70 Will. The question before the Court was the sanity of David Mongin when he made this LW&T now being contested by his relict, Catherine on grounds of her husband's alleged dementia. The Citation may have been issued to Dewes because at that time he was the de facto Guardian of David Mongin's known daughter Jane Mary Mongin who had legal standing as an heir. Before his death, David Mongin inscribed her name and birth date in his Bible as one of his daughters. Jane Mary Mongin was likely still an unmarried maiden at this time (age 24 when her father made his Will in 1765); wereas Dewes was her legal Guardian. Certainly Dewes was known by the Court to have knowledge about David Mongin’s family, and that he had personal knowledge that the Court judged necessary to settle the case. Likewise, this Citation suggests that Dewes was a Guardian Ad Litem of at least one of the heirs to the estate of David Mongin.
David Mongin chose to enter a Royal Grant (made to him by King George, II, in 1740) of acreage received in the north part of Daufuskie Island, Beaufort, SC, where he developed a Cotton Plantation that he named Walnut Grove. This grant was issued to him by King George II to “Captain John Mongin for his bravery in fighting Spanish Pirates” issued in 1740. We may conclude from his identification on this Grant that John David Mongin, Jr. was probably his complete name, the same as his English born son.
Two years after vacating England, on Dec. 23, 1749 Capt. John David Mongin returned from SC, to Princeton, NJ, to marry Elizabeth, the 17 year-old daughter of Rev. Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758.) For the past two years she had been keeping his two children. David & Elizabeth Edwards, Mongin issued four children born at Walnut Grove Plantation that is now part of Palmetto Bluff across the May River from Bluffton.
On 1 & 2 Nov. 1750, L&R, George Seaman, of Charleston, conveyed by LW&T, to David Mongin, watchmaker, 800 acres of land on Rattlesnake Neck of the Port Royal River, in Granville County, SC. [Book B-4, pp 51-55]
Elizabeth Edwards, Mongin, wife of David Mongin, died December 8, 1759, and for a period of six years, David Mongin was apparently unmarried.
On 12 & 13 Feb. 1762, L&R, David Mongin, planter of St. Helena Parish, Granville County, SC, to Daniel Strobel, butcher of Charleston, for 480 Pounds currency, the north part of his lot in Ansonburgh, marked “0” on Platt of Ansonburgh, on the east side of the high road on Charleston Neck, in St. Phillips Parish, sold to Mongin by Lord George Anson; bounding south 135 ft. on Mongin’s other half; east 120 ft. on a house and lot formerly belonging to John Dart; north of Adam Shakel; west on a land or street running between Mongin’s lot & land, belonging to Egerton Leigh. Witnesses: Thomas Lamboll, Thomas Lamboll, Jr. Before Robert Pringle, J. P. on 27 Feb. 1762. Recorded 19 Feb. 1770 by Henry Rugeley, Dep. Register. [Book P-2, pp 57-65]
David Mongin married a third time about 1765 to Catherine Spoad, the daughter of William & Mary Spoad. A lass of great beauty, she was said to be a former concubine of British Gen. John Burgoyne, yet she was apparently barren. No issue of her body is known.
David Mungin & Catherine Spoad were married in Charleston, SC, in 1765, where he died November 23, 1770, at the age of 80, (so he was born in ca. 1690 in France.) David Mongin was buried in the St. Michael’s Churchyard.
David’s father-in-law William Spoad, planter, made his Will August 23, 1766 in Granville County, SC, and it was proved on 22 December 1766 - [Book R, page 647.] He signed with his mark.
“Wife Mary, land called Spanish Wells on River May and Broad Creek on Hilton Head
during her life, then to David Mungin.
Mentions: David Mungin, Jr.,
To Abraham Walcoat;
Mary Harrison, wife of Henry Harrison;
Mary Irwin, wife of John Irwin;
Catherine Mungin, wife of David Mungin, Jr.;
Executors to sell lot #1 at the Trustee’s Garden in
Residue of estate sold and divided “equal amongst names written above;”
10 Pounds to Mr. Francis Pollote to preach my funeral sermon at Hilton Head.
Executors: Andrew Agnew
David Mungin, Jr.
Witnesses: William Ritch,
The Spanish Wells derived its name from the fresh water springs at the foot of the Island’s bluff, later called “Mongin’s Bluff” which the Spanish used after the Indians showed it to them.
Formerly in August 16, 1698, Hiltons Head Island became part of a barony granted to John Bayley, son of the original Landgrave. The Spanish were defeated at the Battle of Bloody Marsh on St. Simmons Island in 1742. John Bayley appointed Alexander Trench to sell the land. Agent Trench sold part of Bayley’s Barony to John Fenwicke, the trader from Charles Towne that had traded at Stonoe several years earlier. Trench also sold Spanish Wells to Roger Moore who sold it to William Spoad.
The Will of William Spoad was the means by which the heirs of David Mongin came into possession of the “Spanish Wells” plantation on Hilton Head Island. Mary Spoad, widow of William Spoad, died in 1790, and in compliance with the terms her husband’s Will of 1766, the plantation of “Spanish Wells” passed into the possession of heir John David Mongin, the eldest surviving son of Captain David Mongin who was deceased in 1770 (He died in Charleston, SC.)
David Mongin’s surviving issue by Persille Dair whom he married Sept. 4th 1725 in Soho Square, London, England, are found below. She died Aug. 6th 1747 and was buried at Westminster Abby Cemetery next to four of her children that predeceased her. During that same month David Mongin took his two surviving English born children, and sailed from Liverpool to New Jersey arriving on November 10th proceeding to the home of Rev. Jonathan Edwards in Princeton, NJ where he left his two children in the care of his fifteen year old daughter Elizabeth, and proceeded overland to his property in St. Philips Parish, Berkley, SC, & Royal Grant lands on Daufauski Island, SC. After two years of preparation, he returned to New Jersey to collect his children, and married Elizabeth Edwards (age 17) on Dec. 23rd 1749, and returned to SC:
Priscilla Mary Mongin (Dec. 14th 1735, Eng. - aft. 1769, SC) married
on 8 May 1758 at St. Phillips, Charleston, SC, to Lewis Middleton (ca. 1724 -
1771, SC) s/o Solomon Middleton (bef. 1684 Eng. - 1754, Berkley, SC) married 18
July 1707 in London, England to Anna Browne (1692-1736, SC.) Lewis Middleton
was noted as an apprentice in the Charleston newspaper in 1749. His father Solomon
Middleton was a harbor pilot, and received a Royal Grant of 800 acres on the west side
of the Pee Dee river in 1736. Solomon Middleton was still dwelling on the Pee Dee
river in 1754 according to the Charleston, SC newspaper. Solomon Middleton came to
Carolina from Bermuda in 1710, the same year Bermudian Capt. Lewis Middleton
re-captured the salt-ponds of Turk Island, which belonged to Bermuda, from the Spanish.
Solomon Middleton had a son named Lewis Middleton. Priscilla was one of the two
children born of Priscella Adiar in England who came to America with their father in
1747. The other was John David Mongin shown immediately below.
John David Mongin (Mar. 4th 1738, Eng. - ?) married in 1762 at Charleston SC
to Sarah Grimke. She may have been an aunt of John F. Grimke, but still
unconfirmed. By the time he was 20, his father Capt. David Mongin had taught
his namesake son the art of clock, and watch making.
David Mongin's surviving illicit issue by Rebecca Tripp, herself a daughter of Thomas Tripp, was a daughter named Jane Mary Mongin born Aug. 3rd 1741 in Savannah being conceived while Mongin was inspecting his Royal land Grant on nearby Daufauski Island. During the next year Rebecca married Thomas Lee, originally an Indentured Georgia Colony Trust servant who immigrated to Savannah in 1735. Rebecca’s sister, Mary Tripp became the last spouse of Capt. William Dewes (Dews) then he subsequently became the Guardian of Jane Mary Mongin. William Dews proved the 1765 Will of David Mongin, and in 1771 became one of the Executors of his estate:
Jane Mary Mongin (Aug. 3rd 1741, Savannah, Georgia.- ?)
She was married at age 32 to John Middleton in about 1773 at Walnut Grove,
on the May River, Daufauski Island, SC.
John Middleton was a former shipmaster in Charleston, SC, 1746, 1747, &
1748 according to the Charleston newspaper. He may have been a brother of
Lewis Middleton, who married her half sister, but this relationship is
unconfirmed. Jane Mary Mongin was born of Rebecca Tripp and Capt.
David Mongin while he was in Savannah inspecting the alternative land issued
by the Crown to himself and his brother Francis Mongin in 1837. She did not
come to America in 1747 because she was already here in Georgia taken in by
her stepfather Thomas Tripp. Captain David Mongin added her birth date to
his bible after his first wife perished. She became the Ward of Capt. Wm.
David Mongin’s surviving issue by Elizabeth Edwards are found below. Elizabeth was his 2nd wife whom he married Dec. 23rd 1749 in Princeton, New Jersey bringing her and his two surviving children issued of Priscella Dair back to Daufuski Island, in South Carolina. Elizabeth Edwards died Dec. 8th 1759 at the age of 29. His surviving children of Elizabeth Edwards were:
William Edwards Mongin (Jan. 6th 1750 – Jan 25th 1814) married (1783)
Margaret Martinangele after the death of her first husband Richard
Pendarvis (1744, Berkley, SC - 1781 May River, Granville, SC)
Mary Jane Mongin (May 8th 1753, SC - ?) married 1st to Archibald Wilkins?,
Married 2nd to William Godfrey
John Andrew Mongin (Oct. 18th 1759, SC -?) married (unknown)
Archibald Wilkins was the son of John Wilkins, Jr. & Mary Hamilton, and the grandson of John Wilkins, Sr. & Elinor of Barbados. He is believed named after Archibald Neale the fourth husband of Sarah Matthews. Archibald Wilkins [ca. 1716 - aft. 1780] is found on a 1760 Tax List of Colleton Co., SC having 160 acres. His son of that same name dwelt in Savannah, Ga. and made his Will in 1843, having a nephew in Darlington, SC. And Archibald Wilkins had a brother named John.
David Mongin, a wealthy man dubbed “Money Mongin” by those who knew him. This nickname came from his amazing ability to turn any enterprise, or speculation into substantial profit. He married a third time about 1765 to Catherine Spoad, a daughter of William & Mary Spoad. A lass of great beauty, Catherine was said to be a former concubine of “Gentleman Johnny” Gen. John Burgoyne, a flamboyant British Redcoat General, yet she was apparently barren. No issue of her body is known.
David Mungin & Catherine Spoad were married in Charleston, SC, in about 1765, where he died November 23, 1770, at the age of 80. David Mongin was buried in the St. Michael’s Churchyard.
His widow Catherine Mongin was dissatisfied with the terms of her wealthy husband’s LW&T, and contested it in Court on grounds claimed of his dementia she alleged when he wrote it, however after hearing the testimony of William Dews, and others, the Court upheld Mongin’s LW&T.
Other sons of Capt. William Dewes, might have been occupied at times assisting in their father’s Carolina trade business up the coast near Cape Fear in Bladen, or in Anson Counties, NC (Bladen was the parent County of Anson.) Therefore their eventual habitations in the upper and lower Pee Dee basin might be anticipated. They had a number of cousins, relatives who descended from Job Howe who lived in this area.
Georgia Genealogical Magazine, p. 634:
“…land granted to William Dews, May 15th 1773, and by him Deeded Grantor:
one tract of 300 acres, adjoining, and lying on said Tybee River, granted to Henry Yonge Mar. 5th 1755;
one tract of 200 acres, adjoining John Bernard, and above lands, granted to John Gasper B---- (not plain) and by him Deeded to Grantor.
Witnesses: William Bryan, and Edmund Gerry.
Probated by the former before Joe Ottolanghe, J. P.”
English Crown Grants for Islands in Georgia, p. 47:
“Granted on Feb. 7th 1775. Grant Book M, pa. 974:
100 acres on Wilmington Island bounded on the northeast by William Dews, and on the northwest by marshes…”
Colonial Georgia Genealogical Data, page 40:
“Bernard, John, Planter, and wife Lucy, Island of Wilmington, Chatham County, Georgia, sold to Col. Samuel Elbert, Savannah, 100 acres on Wilmington Island, next to Wm. Dews.
Wit: Richard Turner, Robert Bernard. Sept. 22nd 1778. (recorded 11/7/1783 – Deed Book 3, p. 112)
Records above show that William Dewes still lived in 1773, (at age 52) and could indicate that he was still living on Wilmington Island as late as 1778 (at age 57,) but no Will or Probate records for him can be found, therefore all the heirs of his estate cannot be proved. Subsequent records indicate that he still lived as late as 1785, and that he probably died in 1786 on Dewees Island, off the coast of Charleston, apparently about the same year and place that Cornelius Dewees died.
On August 30th 1776, just about a month after the Declaration of Independence from England was declared by the American Colonial Continental Congress, a William Dewes & wife Jane had a son named Aitman Dew who was christened at Saint Michael Parish, Barbados, West Indies. I have no idea who these folks were unless Capt. William Dewes was married to a Jane after Mary Lee perished. He could not have been the son, or younger brother of Cornelius Dewees named William Dewees that was married to Jane Rogers because they had not yet married. This family is still a mystery.
On 20 May 1777 “The Treaty of Dewitts (sic) Dewes Corner” was signed at his old trading post, ceding more Cherokee land and securing their neutrality in the Revolutionary War.
A William Dewes supplied food to the Loyalists in Georgia during the Revolutionary War, and continued to resist the American South Carolina government after the war was over. This led to his expulsion from Charleston to Dewees Island, where he died. He may not have taken part in military hostilities, but it appears that he was a Royalist in his heart and mind. His son Robert Dews was a Deputy Indian Commissioner for the British during the war in 1779.
On June 30th 1780 the said Robert Dews submitted an account from Pensacola, West Florida for working ships up the Escambia River, employing Negroes, etc., that was certified by Alexander Cameron, and receipted at Pensacola, West Florida.
James Dew, a son apparent of William Dews, & wife Mary Lee, was apparently at political loggerheads with these members of his family for it is known that he supplied food to the colonial rebel Army. After, or during the Revolutionary War, James Dew changed his name to Due perhaps to avoid any obvious association with the Royalist, or Tory sympathizer elements of his family.
South Carolina Deed Abstracts 1783-1788, page 9, gives some entries that might prove that Capt. William Dewes still lived on March 3rd 1784:
I - 5, pp 250-255: Lease & Release. 15 & 16 Aug. 1782.
John Berwick, Thomas Waring & John Ewing Calhoun, John Faucheraud Grimke, and
Henry Crouch, Commissioners of Forfeited Estates, to Daniel Stevens of Charleston, for 4,360
Pounds, 5 Shillings, 2 Pence, Sterling, tract late the property of Richard Pendarvis in St. Helena
Parish, 163 acres on May River, adjacent to lands of Josiah Pendarvis Senior.
John F. Grimke (LS)
John Berwick (LS)
Tho. Waring (LS)
Wit: Thos. Brandon, William Dewees (sic?)
Proved in Charleston District by the Oath of William Dewees (sic) on 3 March 1784 before John
Recorded: 3 March 1784.
I - 5, pp 255-261: Lease & Release. 15 & 16 Aug. 1782:
John Berwick, Thomas Waring, & John Ewing Calhoun, John Faucheraud Grimke, and
Henry Crouch, Commissioners of Forfeited Estates, to Daniel Stevens of Charleston, for 76
Pounds, 8 Shillings, 7 Pence, tract of land being an Island, late the property of Richard Pendarvis
on May River nearly adjoining Herrs Island, & formerly known by the name “Garveys Island,” 30
acres more or less.
John F. Grimke (LS)
John Berwick (LS)
Tho. Waring (LS)
Wit: Thos. Brandon, William Dewees (sic)
Proved in Charleston District by the Oath of William Dewees (sic) on 3 March 1784 before John
Recorded: 3 March 1784.
Note that John Faucheraud Grimke was the son of John Paul Grimke & Mary Villeponteaux.
The above two documents seem to refer to Capt. William Dews as testator & witness.
M - 5, pp 536-539: Lease & Release. 16 & 17 Sept. 1785:
William Dewees, of Charleston, SC, and Jane (Rogers) his wife, to Gabriel Capers of Christ
Church Parish, esquire, by bond in the penalty sum of 828 Pounds, 16 Shillings, mortgage of all
that undivided moiety of a certain Island called Sessions, or one of the Hunting Islands now known
as Capers Island, 1470 acres in Christ Church Parish on the inlet that runs between said Island and
Dewees Island, on Collins Creek.
Jane Dewees (LS) Nee: Jane Rogers
William Dewees (LS) son of Cornelius Dewees
Wit: Thos. Doughty, John Charles Snowden.
Proved before Thomas Hall, J. Q., by the Oath of Thomas Doughty on 17 Sept. 1785
Recorded 20 Sept. 1785.
W - 5, pp 291-294: Lease & Mortgage. 5 & 6 June 1786:
William Price of Charleston, and Ann his wife, to Gabriel Capers of Christ Church Parish, by
bond in the penal sum 1200 Pounds sterling, mortgage of tract in Christ Church Parish on the
north east side of a certain Island 902 acres of high land and 205 acres of marsh land, on Collins
Creek, adjacent to land sold by said Gabriel Capers to William Dewees.
Wm Price (LS)
Ann Price (LS)
Wit: Alexr Fraser, Alex Fraser, Junr.
Proved by Alexander Fraser the younger 11 Sept. 1787 before John Troup, J. P.
Recorded 11 Sept. 1786
Mortgage satisfied 22 Aug. 1794
The above last two documents have all the appearances of being William Dewees, and wife Jane
Rogers, but at this point I cannot be certain that this is factual. This William Dewees that married Jane Rogers was born ca. 1749 in Glouchester County, NJ, and was a son of Cornelius Dewees and wife Maria Phillippina Boehm. His father was a shipwright of Germantown, Pa., who came to Charleston to build ships on Timicau Island, and later had a business relationship with Capt. Wm. Dewes, but no known blood kinship existed between them. Wm Dewees LW&T follows.
William Dewees made his LW&T on Aug. 23rd 1827 in St. Phillips Parish, Charleston County, South Carolina. [Charleston, SC, Will Book G, (1826-1834) p. 156] An Abstract follows:
“wife Jane Rogers, Dewees, married Oct. 25th 1781, Charleston, SC, not mentioned, probably deceased.)
Daughter” Sarah Dewees, b. ca. 1788, married Phillip Smith Postell Nov. 23rd 1805, Charleston, SC.
Grandchildren: Mary Frances Postell,
Charlotte Smith Postell,
William D. Postell
Phillip S. Postell.
Daughters: Mary Dewees
Jane Dewees, ch: Nov. 23rd 1801, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC. She married Christopher Edwards Gadsden, as his second wife and survived him.
Ann Price Dewees, ch: Feb. 19th 1793, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC, married Hamlin.
Sons: William Dewees, ch: April 2nd 1790, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC.
John Dewees, ch: June 8th 1796, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC
Joseph Dewees, ch:
Executors: Sons: William Dewees, and John Dewees.
Witnesses: John A. Wigfall,
John A. Harleston,
Nicholas Harleston, Junr.”
It appears that Capt. William Dewes' surname of record evolved from Dewes to Dewees due to
the war, or to his business association with Cornelius DeWees, but he seems possibly identifiable
as our subject because Gabriel Capers (1743 - ?) was a half brother of William Capers (1732-?) whose 2nd wife Amelia Wilkins was a half sister-in-law to Capt. William Dewes. But we know that a Mary Lee was William Dewes wife in 1764, & in 1770. However I cannot be certain that she was still the wife of Capt. William Dewes in 1785. It is altogether possible that he married last to an unknown wife whose name was also Jane. Obviously they were disposing of some of their land holdings.
The grandmother of both William & Gabriel Capers was Mary Dubose, [a daughter of Isaac
Dubose (1655 Dieppe, Normandy, France - 1718, SC) & Suzanne Couillandeau.] Mary Dubose married William Capers (1670 - 1718, SC) and they issued a son Richard Capers who was the father of William & Gabrial Capers. This genealogy provides us a linkage to elements of the Williamson family of SC who also married descendants of this Dubose family. It also provides a link to the owner of the “Law Plantation” in Darlington, SC, since his wife was a Dubose of this line. One of James Due’s nephews John R. Due was overseer of the “Law Plantation” of Darlington in 1830. James Due of Darlington also had a son named John R. Due who was born in the same year as his nephew with the same name.
Note also that elements of this Capers family were intermarried with the Singleton family, and
were also intermarried with elements of the Dew family of North Carolina, the same Sept who appeared in Marion County, SC.
There were three men named William Dews, Dewes, or Dewees that lived in South Carolina in the era between 1700 and 1790 who need to be considered for discussing the estate sale of Thomas Plunkett:
The eldest was Capt. William Dews [ca. 1721, St Andrews, Berkley, Charleston, Carolina – after, or during Rev. War.] who was married several times; 1st ?, 2nd Lois Wilkins, 3rd Mary Tripp Capt. William Dews was a wealthy Indian Merchant/Planter in 1760, and was probably the man who purchased Timicau Island at the 1760 estate sale of Thomas Plunkett in Charleston.
The next was William Dewis (sic) Dewes [ca. 1746, SC – after Rev. War] who married Mary Ann Bell at St. Phillips on April 8th 1764. He was a carpenter. He was the nephew of Capt. William Dews, and was a son of Wm’s brother Bethel Dews, & wife Mary Croskeys. He was too young to have been the Wm Dewes who purchased Timicau Island at the estate sale of Thomas Plunkett in 1760, as he was only fourteen.
The next was William Dewees [ca. 1749, Germantown, Pa. – ca. 1827, St. Phillips, Charleston, SC] a son of Cornelius Dewees. Wm. married twice: 1st on July 14th 1778 in Charleston, SC to Frances Lovejoy; & 2nd on Oct. 25th 1782 in Charleston, SC to Jane Rogers. We note that he was far too young to have been the Wm. Dewes who purchased Timicau Island property at the estate sale of Thomas Plunkett in 1760. William Dewees was only eleven years old at the time.
Of the earlier generation Dewees family, the father, or grandfather of Cornelius & William Dewees above was also a William Dewees [ ca. 1679, Lieuwarden, Province of Friesland, Holland – Mar. 3rd 1745, Philadelphia, Pa.] Obviously he was long dead before the estate sale of Thomas Plunkett, and there is no record that any other William Dewes, or Dewees ever came to South Carolina at the time that this sale took place in 1760.
William DeWees was born ca. 1749 in Pennsylvania, and at the age of 32, he married Jane Rogers on October 25, 1781 in Charleston, SC. It is possible that he was the William named above with wife named Jane.
However, the relationship between Capt. William Dewes and certain members of the Pendarvis
& Capers families mentioned before persuades me that certain of the above transactions refer to him instead. This conclusion is not firmly established.
But it is also important that Capt. William Dewes was related to John F. Grimke several different ways. He was a brother-in-law by John’s sister Sarah Grimke’s marriage to John David Mongin. He was also distantly related to John F. Grimke through his mother who married his relatives in the Smith family of Charleston, SC.
We must remember too that Richard Pendarvis, son of Josiah Pendarvis & Elizabeth Baker
was a cousin of Capt. William Dewes. Richard was a notorious Tory of Daufuski Island during
the Revolutionary War, using tactics of home burning, and of ambush from hiding. Richard
Pendarvis was assassinated in vengeance, by his Whig neighbors in 1781 for his atrocities. As a
Royalist during the Revolutionary War, Richard’s estate was forfeited & seized by South
After the Revolutionary War was over in 1782 it is said that Captain William Dewes continued to resist the new government in South Carolina, and he was banished from the City of Charleston, to Dewees Island where he died in 1786. The absence of Will or estate settlement records could possibly be because the ravages of war and fire simply destroyed the records regarding his other marriages, families, death, and estate of Capt. William Dewe. But William did not recognize the authority of the new government, and more likely he found a way to settle his estate outside the purview of this government. There are no records found that show that William Dewe, or Dewees, forfeited estate to South Carolina for Royalist activities. But many records for Carolina are missing, lost for various reasons. But William also had close family relations in the new American government of SC that he rejected, and they may have protected William from estate forfeiture.
Coastal South Carolina: Welcome to the Low Country, p 118:
This book puts a different spin on events, and I believe the underlined motive quoted is in error. I believe he was a Tory. – SD.
“William Dewees was expelled from the city (of Charleston) during the year after Charleston fell to the British in 1780 because he refused to accept British Rule. He moved to Dewees Island and lived there until his death in 1786.” This item clearly confuses two men. Probably Cornelius Dewees, and William Dewes. It was Cornelius Dewees that owned the Southern part of the Island, and was a Patriot when the British held Charleston.
Dewees Island plantation lands were put up for sale in 1791. The “City Gazette & Advertiser” read: “The tract contains 900 acres of high land, more or less, and on the premises are a comfortable dwelling house, a barn, a corn house, a kitchen, a stable, a poultry house, a dairy, smoke house, & servant house to accommodate thirty. 400 acres are good for indigo, cotton, & corn…the remainder well timbered with young live oaks and pine, with a number of palmetto trees fit for market.” How much of this land still belonged to Capt. William Dewes, and how much of it belonged to Cornelius Dewees in 1786 when they died, is still unknown. But the following relationships suggests that the northern part of this island passed from Capt. William Dewes to (?) and was bought by his great grandson Bethel Baker Threadcraft [ca. 1765, SC – 1814, Charleston, SC] who married Margariet Poyas Jan. 8th 1793 who sold his interests in this island to his wife’s half-uncle John Lewis Poyas [ca. 1750, SC – after 1800.] Of course John Lewis Poyas might have bought this part of the island during the 1791 sale without the suggested previous owner. Bethel Baker Threadcraft was a son of Thomas Threadcraft, and wife Sarah Louise Dewes (d. ca. 1769, Charleston, SC), a daughter of Bethel Dewes and Margaret Croskeys who were both deceased before his father Capt William Dewes perished in 1786.
In the early 1800s Dewees Island was jointly owned by Elizabeth Deleisseline who owned the southern part, and John Lewis Poyas who owned the northern part. It was passed down through their heirs for a century. Capt. Wm. Dewes, as Dewees sold the northern part of Dewees Island to John Lewis Poyas.
Elizabeth Deleisseline born about 1750 in SC was a daughter of Jean (John) de Liesseline, a French emigrant from Normandy, and Frances Elizabeth de Liesseline, widow of Gabriel Gignard.
One of William Dewe’s sons, perhaps the issue of Mary Tripp, seems to have been the James Dew/Due who died ca. 1809 in Darlington, SC, and he has been the focus of my research. I have also shown how his mother may actually have been Mary, whose sister Rebecca Tripp seems to have been a former concubine of Capt. David Mongin before she married Thomas Lee.
Two of James Due’s sons John R. Due, and William J. Due worked at a store in Darlington owned by Col. Bright Williamson. Mary Due, wife of Alexander Due, another son of James Due, had an account there. John and Nancy Defee also had accounts at this store.
Both John R. Due and his brother William J. Due served terms during the War of 1812 under Col. Bright Williamson.
James Due and his children entered into a “tenants in common” arrangement with William Williamson and Col Bright Williamson regarding 300 acres of land on Back Swamp in Darlington, and also a slave named Ben property which the Due family retained the title and Deed. The Williamson brothers were primarily investors in this venture between families that were related in business, and by blood. The Williamson interest was 1/3rd, and the Due interest was 2/3rds of the Tenancy in Common. After the death of James Due, the Williamson brothers filed a suit for partition of the common property in 1813, and it was still in the process of settlement in 1819.
Both Bright, and William "Wiley" Williamson were the sons of Thomas Williamson & Elizabeth Hinds of Darlington, SC. Thomas Williamson [Sept. 18, 1748, Henrico, Va. - Dec. 16, 1804, Darlington, SC]
was a son of William Williamson [ ?, Christ Church, Middlesex, Va. - Oct. 1767, old Craven, Prince
Fredrick's Parish, SC], and his wife Mary Dew, a daughter of Indian Merchant Capt. William Dew. The final LW&T of William Williamson was witnessed by Gideon Parrish, William Smith, and John Gess in Craven County, SC. But William Williamson made an earlier Will that was filed in Johnson County, NC. In this first Will he is disposing of property he owned there on Bear Creek near the boundary of current Lenoir, and Wayne Counties. This first Will was destroyed by fire, but certain records confirming it's existence have been found, and said details mentioned. [from Williamson Trails, by Frank Miller Richey, page 3]
John R. Due and his wife Clarissa Crocker witnessed the April 26, 1828 LW&T of William Williamson made in Darlington, SC.
John R., & Clarissa Crocker, Due are my third great grandparents, and both are buried in the City Cemetery of Wetumpka, Alabama.