Joy Bland, President

  Pat Boals, First Vice President
  Mary Ann Claxton, Second Vice Pres.
  Beverly Wood, Chaplain
  Suzanne Richter, Recording Secretary
  Vicky Henry, Corresponding Secretary
  Geraldine Sykes, Treasurer
  Stephanie Tayloe, Registrar
  Berdie Maie Foy, Historian
  Stephanie Tayloe, Librarian
Janice Webb, Parliamentarian

Pictures of the marking of the Henry County Courthouse, July 21, 2012


The 2014 State Conference was held 7 March at the Airport Hilton in Alcoa, TN.  Above, Honorary State Presidents and State Officers line up prior to processing into the luncheon. 

The luncheon speaker was Jeff Chapman, director of the McClung Museum who gave a most enlightening talk on Native Americans. 

Attending the meeting from our chapter were Geraldine Sykes, State Treasurer, and Mary Ann Claxton, State Technology Support chairman.

Pictured above is Dame of the Year Rowena Henderson McFalls of John Ogle Chapter.  Pictured with her are her daughters Judy Pat Williams (John Ogle Chapter First Vice President and Historian) and Laura Bales (State Registrar and John Ogle Chapter President and Registrar).

Regular meetings at Tom's Pizza & Steak House, Paris, Tennessee, 11:00 a.m on 3rd Wednesday of:
   June (installation of officers)
   September (annual auction fundraiser)

   Tennessee State Conference:
   March 6, 2015, Chattanooga, TN

   National Conference:
   April 11-13, 2013, Mayflower Hotel,
   Washington, D.C.

    Tennessee Summer Board of

    August, 2013, Preston Hotel,
    Nashville, TN

A $250 scholarship from our chapter is available to members or descendants of members to help with costs of college education.  Click here to download the application and click here to download the financial needs form.  Applications should be turned in to Recording Secretary Suzanne Richter by April 7, 2014.

I have been frustrated recently in trying to find free pedigree chart forms which could be filled out online and then saved to my computer.  Sites let you fill out the form, but, though you can print it out, you can't save it, or they want money to let you save it.  So I have created a 5 generation pedigree chart form in MS Word which you can download from this site, save to your computer, and use as many times as you want to.  Blanks are provided in the form where you can type in the information - just like on other online forms - but you can save this to your computer, and even print out a blank form if you need to.  This is the link to the form.  If you have any questions, feel free to e-mail me (see Chapter Web Design link below).

Eleven members and one prospective member were present for the meeting 19 FEB 2014

State Website Has New Webmaster
Our state Technology Chairman is now Lynda Williams.  Lynda will also be webmaster for our state website.  Check below in the links section for the link to the website.
In compliance with the National Society, our chapter has created a Gravestone Preservation Committee.  Frances Spillman has agreed to serve as chairman.  According to the National website, this committee's purpose "is to preserve and restore our ancestral gravestones and cemeteries.  Genealogy research can't be done in cemeteries if the stones can't be found or read.  We want to educate members and the public on the proper procedures for cemetery care for all cemeteries not just colonial."
MEETING -  19 FEB 2014

President Joy Bland called the meeting to order at 11:30.  Chaplain Beverly Wood gave the invocation and blessing and then Joy called on Beverly (at left) to present a memorial service for two departed members, Elizabeth Chapleau and Mary Stiles.  Beverly noted that Elizabeth had been a strong person:  school teacher who had lived alone in Hickory Valley, Tn till she was past 90.  Mary Stiles was also a strong lady who was a legal secretary; she lived in Paris and was related to the Adkins and Porter families there.  Our sympathies go out to the families of these dear members.

The National Defense message was presented by Geraldine Sykes (at left).  Her message talked about cyber terrorism and how we are all at risk if we use a computer.  Protection included not opening suspicious e-mails, being cautious about what websites we visit, and, most of all, to change our passwords often and don't make them easy to figure out.

Graldine then presented the program which was on the Hundredth Anniversary of the National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century.  She talked about the founding of the society and gave much interesting information about our founder, Miss Mary Florence Taney of Covington, KY.
A report by Beverly on progress toward marking the Lylewood Inn Bed and Breakfast in Indian Mound in Stewart County noted that everything is in place we just need to secure the last of the funding.   For more information and a complete history of the building click on the house.

Geraldine then brought up the Sykes home (called by the family the Showboat House) in Dover, TN and proposed that we mark this site as well.  The home was built in 1880 and much of the furnishings on the inside have come from descendants of the families that have lived there.  She said that funding would be handled by the family association that is now in charge of the museum which they are establishing in the building.  Approval to proceed with the project was unanimous.

Chapter Librarian Stephanie Tayloe then said that there was a set of five books titled Royal Ancestry:  A Study in Colonial and Medieval Families which would be helpful for researchers and asked that the chapter buy the books for the Paris Henry County Library Genealogy Room.  Approval for the purchase was quick and unanimous.

More pictures from the February meeting.

  National Society Colonial Dames XVII

  Tennessee Society Colonial Dames
  XVII Century

The Tennessee Dame

     The Captain Charles Barham Chapter was organized by Mrs. H. Ansil Boals on 8 December, 1979 at the Paris Elks Lodge in Paris, Tennessee.  Mrs. William Osceola Gordon, Tennessee State President, installed the new officers.
     Twenty-eight members signed the Charter at a meeting in the log cabin of Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Laird, Paris, Tennessee, on 31 May 1980.
     The Chapter was named in honor of Captain Charles Barham, who emigrated from England in the 1600's to Surry County, Virginia, where his descendants lived for more than 300 years.  He served as Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, Vestryman.  In 1680 he served as a military officer and furnished a horse in an expedition against the Indians.

   Chapter President - Email
Chapter Registrar  - Email
   Chapter Web Design


December Tea Pictures 2011

Congratulations Captain Charles Barham Chapter!!!  Recognitions and Awards, 2014 State Conference:

For giving a chapter scholarship
Veterans - Largest amount of cancelled stamps
Preservation of Graves - 104 hours
Maintaining a Chapter website

Follow up for prospective members

Tie - Most New Members - 2


 Most Members - 36

©Colonial Dames XVII Century Insignia and Emblem property of the National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century

Web hyperlinks to pages outside our website are not the responsibility of Capt. Charles Barham Chapter Tennessee Society Colonial Dames XVII Century, TSCDXVII, or NSCDXVII

This page was last modified on:03/11/14 .