Search billions of records on


Grainger County


Grainger County is bounded on the northwest by the Clinch River (impounded by Norris Dam to form Norris Lake) and on the southeast by the Holston River (including Cherokee Lake).  Grainger County was created in 1796 from parts of Hawkins and Knox Counties.   Campbell, Claiborne, Hamblen, and Union Counties were created from parts of Grainger County.  Rutledge is the county seat.

Adjacent counties

Hancock County

Hamblen County

Jefferson County

Knox County

Union County

Claiborne County


This site is made

possible through

the generosity of



Grainger County