Search billions of records on



If you have an old yearbook please consider typing it up and donating to this site so it can be shared by everyone. You can contact me at: Steve Alvarez

1917 Bellville High School

1917 Bellville High School – The Pioneer, Vol. I Seniors Oliver Cromwell Theumann “High” Lucius Cates Robertson “Luke” Willie Mae Fisher “Mae” Carl Arnold Matthaei “Teddy” Wilma Westermann “Giggles” Secretary Charles Marion Dittert “Slats” Amalie A. Roensch “Mickey” Reno Waddell Bell “Bell” Vice President Rose Marie Burns “Hipp” Lee Dittert “Lee” Class President Sarah Elizabeth Wilson “Sis” Treasurer Juniors Class picture shows 7 boys and 4 girls. Lucile Miller, class president Marcus Hellmuth, Treasurer Gillis Bader, secretary Leon Trenckmann, class representative Sophomores Class picture shows 8 boys and 5 girls. George Muery, class president Edna Louwien, vice president William Johnson, secretary Benno Foehner, representative Freshmen Class picture shows 6 boys and 12 girls. Richard Trenckmann, class president Lucile Fisher, vice president Bill Ross, representative Viola Weige, treasurer Another group picture of younger students shows 9 boys and 14 girls. Martha Bella DeLay was shown class of ’21. Anita Schauerhammer – ‘18 Basketball team Benno Foehner “Sleepy” Marcus Hellmuth “Little Feller” Lee Dittert “Pretty Boy” Charles Dittert “Moon-Tickler” Arnold Matthaei “Teddy” Alvin Wolnitzek “Shank” Reno Bell Leon Trenckmann “Speedy” Ben Fisher Lucius Robertson “Bad Hombre” Werner Vogelpohl “Dick”

Boy Scouts of Bellville

First organized in 1915 through the efforts of Mrs. Max Bader and Rev. G. Z. Sadler. Had military drill under the direction of Mr. F. J. Holecek. The organization ended when Rev. Sadler left in 1916. In February, 1917, Mr. F. J. Holecek started to reorganize the Scouts. A room was donated by Mrs. A. Chesly.

Scout Master – F. J. Holecek. Acting Assistant Scout Master – Arnold Matthaei. Scout Treasurer – Leslie Bader. Scout Librarian – Lessing Engelking. Scouts – Gillis Bader, Kurt Rudloff, Robert Westermann, Harry Sanders, Isadore Foehner, Oran Jacobs, Howell Brooks, Thomas Johnson, Buddie Bullock & Walter Peters. On page 62 five homes are pictured. F. L. Tesch, W. A. Matthaei, Judge C. G. Krueger, Supt. C.N. Shaver, & C. F. Hellmuth, Jr. School Board H. Miller, President H. F. Granau, 1st Vice President C. Schauerhammer, 2nd V. Pres. W. C. Westermann, 3rd V. Pres. Max Bader, Secretary C. F. Tesch, Asst. Secretary Dr. O. A. Trenckmann, Board Physician Faculty Supt. Charles Norton Shaver, history (directed affairs for nine years) Miss Senada Smith, English and English history for 6 years Principal Jno. R. Spivey, mathematics & science, 1st year Miss Minnie Kloss, German for 4 years Intermediate teachers Miss Nona Laws, Miss Fay Robertson, Miss Leah Grote, Miss Gladys Chatham, Miss Louise Louwien. Austin County State Bank, Officers: Max Bader, President; L. A. Machemehl, Active Vice Pres.; W. F. Machemehl, Cashier; E. T. Vogelpohl, Asst. Cashier. Directors: Max Bader, L. A. Machemehl, E. A. Tomlinson, W. C. Westermann, C. Schauerhammer, W. F. Machemehl, C. Theuman, Mrs. Agnes Glenn, Paul Machemehl, C. F. Knolle, J. B. Lewis. Cat Spring State Bank, Officers: C. Dittert, President; S. Kinkler, V-President; C. Theuman, Cashier. Directors: Wm. Reichardt, M. H. Dittmar, C. Theuman, C. Dittert, Hy.Keding, Aug. Keding, Jno. Strauss, H. Witte, Jr., S. Kindler.

Main Page

Yearbook Index