Search billions of records on



If you have an old yearbook please consider typing it up and donating to this site so it can be shared by everyone. You can contact me at: Steve Alvarez

1918 Bellville High School

BELLVILLE HIGH SCHOOL YEAR BOOK, THE PIONEER, 1918 Seniors Gillis Ervin Bader “Gill” Class President Lucile Marie Miller “Tootsie” Member of girl’s team Marcus Isador Hellmuth “Baby” Secretary & Forward on team Anita Schauerhammer “Nita” Treasurer & Capt. of the girl;s team William Stafford “Bill” Guard on basketball team Leon Maurice Trenckmann “Speedy” Captain of basketball team Rosa Mae Bartay “Rose” Member of the girl’s team Leslie Lewis Bader “Less” Joe Alvin Wolnitzek “Shank” Vice President & Forward on team Marguerite Rose Granau “Meg” Member of the girl’s team Werner Vogelpohl “Little Dick” Juniors J. D. Russ “Snake” Treasurer Erna Hoffmann “Fritzie” Secretary John Bernard Fisher “Ben” Guard on basketball team William R. Johnson “Bulli Vice President Oswald Girndt “Heavy” Class President & Guard on team Sophomores Started with 18 in 1916 but total not given in 1918 (15 in class picture, not named) Ruth Biggs Class President Ollie Von Rosenberg Secretary Zoe Ellen Bartay Treasurer & on girl’s team Possibly the next three were soph. – they were all on the school teams Richard Trenckmann “Nookie” was a guard on the basketball team Doris Chatham “Duck” on girl’s team Louise Roensch “Liesch” on girl’s team Freshmen 9 in class picture (A page in the beginning of the book is dedicated to Edwin Tesch b. 9 Jan. 1900 d. 21 Feb. 1918 who was a member of this class.) Martina Buelow was Class President Adele Theumann Vice President Dicy Bartay Secretary Eunice Biggs Treasurer Sub-Freshman In 1917 32 boys and girls entered the 7th grade but the number was diminished until 28 remained. Eleanor Miller Class President Bessie Wotipka Secretary Ellen Schauerhammer Treasurer Thelma Bader Class Historian School Board of Trustees H. Miller, President H. E. Granau, 1st Vice President C. Schauerhammer, 2nd Vice President W. C. Westermann, 3rd Vice President Max Bader, Secretary C. F. Tesch, Asst. Secretary Dr. O. A. Trenckmann, Board Physician FACULTY Supt. Charles Norton Shaver, History Principal John R. Spivey, Math.-Science Mrs. W. C. King, English & also the coach for the girls athletics Miss Minnie Kloss, German Primary and Intermediate teachers Miss Nona Laws, 1st grade Miss Gladys Chatham, 2nd grade Miss Louise Louwien, 3rd grade Miss Leah Grote, 4th & 5th grades Mr. Thomas G. Sandel, 6th grade also the high school basketball coach Austin County State Bank Officers Max Bader, President L. A. Machemehl, Active Vice President W. F. Machemehl, Cashier E. T. Vogelpohl, Assistant Cashier Directors Max Bader E. A. Toimlinson C. Schauerhammer C. Theuman Paul Machemehl J. B. Lewis C. F. Knolle The First National Bank Officers and Directors C. F. Hellmuth President H. F. Granau Vice President H. T. von Rosenberg Cashier U. Kloss Hy. Vornkahl A. A. Sander I. Artmann

Main Page

Yearbook Index