Search billions of records on

Oct. 23, 1897
The Dallas Morning News

Met at Jacksonville

Jacksonville, Tex., Oct. 21 -- Members of Capt. R.
B. Martain's company, tenth Texas cavalry, met at
Jacksonville, Oct 20 with the following members
present; Capt R. B. Martain, Capt. J. T. Wiggins,
Lieut. M. W. Armstrong, Orderly Sergt. F. L.
Williams, S. M. Stafford, S. A. Class, J. H. L.
Lunsford, P. R. Jones, M. B. Walker, L. P. Jones,
J. A. Templeton, J. W. Dalby, J. P. Goodson and
J. M. Francis.

Capt. R. B. Martain was elected president and
Capt J. T. Wiggins was elected vice president,
and J. A. Templeton, secetary.

On motion the organization of the company was
made perpetual and to meet annually as long as
any of the members live.

It was decided to make out a complete list of all
the living members of the company which was
done and the following absent members were
added to those present: James Munkress, Sam
Munkress, J. R. Van Zandt, Frank Faulkner, H. L.
Alston, Mose Walters, Dan Openheimer, B. A.
Mongress, W. R. Thompson, G. W. Gibson,
Tandy Ball, Neal Odom, G. T. Egbert, J. L. Burts,
Dan Egbert, John Goodson, Tom Hallowery, M.
W. Farmer, Geoger Hill, Jas. Cannon, J. L. H.
Long, Tom Stafford, B. W. McEache, C. B.

On motion it was agreed to have the next meeting
at Rusk, Sept. 16, 1898.


Information submitted by Bunny Freeman

Back to Cherokee County
Back to Old Newspapers Articles

Copyright 2011  Kaye Slover