Grayson County TXGenWeb
Hagerman Community
1880 - 1943


Originally named in honor of S. D. Steedman, a Grayson County judge. The town was established in 1880 and a post office was granted that same year.
In 1909 Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad arrived.  Steedman renamed for railroad attorney James Hagerman.

Hagerman Street
(photo courtesy of Jean Hughes)

Sherman Democrat
Bicentennial Edition

Robert Morrison appears on a street in the old town of Hagerman..
The town was covered by water when Lake Texoma was built.

Sherman Public Library
Genealogy Collections

In 1889 the Smith brothers, J.P., W.N. and Maurice, originally from Fordyce, Ark, bought the O.H.Willis Survey east of Big Mineral Creek in Grayson County.
When the section was divided among the brothers in 1904, J.P.Smith had ten acres in the North East corner surveyed. The streets were designated and named. The Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad switch already at the site had been named Hagerman for an official of the railroad.
T.M. Smith, another brother, had joined the Smiths on the farm. He, with his wife, Ida and daughter, Norah, occupied the first residence on the townsite. W.N. Smith, his wife, Lucy, and son Elbert, moved into the second residence. They reared their family, including Elbert, Bruce, Mary, Robert and Edwin in the area. All made valuable contributions to the community.
Several families were established in the vicinity. In 1888, Judge Seth Daniel Steedman, former Judge of Grayson County, moved to a farm near Dever Switch about a mile west of the Hagerman Switch. The Steedman postoffice was established in the Steedman home with Mrs. Steedman as post-mistress. The postoffice was later moved to the Henderson store, also near Dever Switch. This postoffice was later discontinued.  The U.S. postoffice was established at Hagerman and A.B. McClendon as the first postmaster. R.L. Sweeney was the last postmaster. He was transferred from the discontinued postoffice to Perrin Air Force Base postoffice where he is still serving.
In 1901 the Steedman Presbyterian Church was organized in the Plainview school house. The church later became the Hagerman Presbyterian Church. After the government bought the property the church was moved to the Hyde Park community and became Hyde Park Presbyterian Church. The Methodist church was organized in the Presbyterian church in 1907 and continued to worship there until it was dissolved in 1943.
The Hagerman Baptist Church was organized in 1922. The church was moved two miles east of the townsite and continues as Hagerman Baptist Church. The church, the cemetery and the Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge are the only remaining users of the name Hagerman.

"In 1904 James Patillo (J.P.) Smith platted streets here in a ten acre wheat field and established the town of Hagerman, named for railroad attorney James P. Hagerman.
 The town consisted of 250 residents, a cotton gin, school, church, post office, railroad depot, and several businesses by 1910. The town prospered and grew to contain three churches and a three teacher school. However in the 1920s residents and businesses began to abandon the area when it became known that the creation of Lake Texoma would completely inundate the town. Lake Texoma was created in 1943."

Hagerman Gin

Sherman Democrat

Bicentennial Edition

Not long after the town of Hagerman was founded in 1904, a cotton gin was built, adding to the town's prosperity.
Even though Hagerman was booming in 1920, the town was doomed by the end of that decade.
In the early 1940s, Lake Texoma was built and the town was inundated.

Cedar of Lebanon

Crabtree Family

Four Ghost Towns Under Lake Texoma
by Mia Sherwood Landua

Friends of Hagerman NWR


Hagerman Cemetery

Hagerman Community
Texas State Historical Commission

Hagerman Community Map 1938

Hagerman Historical Marker

Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge

Hagerman Plat Map of 1908

Hagerman Presbyterian Church


Secrets of the Lake
KTEN Channel 10

Sherman Public Library
Genealogy Collections


Elaine Bay

Questions?  Broken Links?