HISTORY:The original rock chapel of St. Joseph's Catholic Church at Honey Creek still stands as a reminder of those German immigrants who first settled the area. It is a one room structure situated on a ranch approximately 4.5 miles southeast of Bergheim, Texas, 2 miles north of Highway 46 on Park Road 31. Dedicated in the memory of Rev. John Kospiel in 1878, the building was called the Kneupper Chapel as it stood on land owned by Johann Adam Kneupper at the time it was built. The neighboring families of George Friedrich Kunz and Michael Bechtold with Mr. Kneupper were the primary instigators of its construction.
"Once completed, the Kneupper Chapel served as a gathering place
for the entire community. It also served as the site for several marriages.
Records show that the first exchange of vows was that which took place between
Andreas Engel and Eva Bechtold in the presence of Father Henry Gerlach in 1891."
Those early settlers were buried in the Honey Creek Cemetery or St. Joseph's Catholic Cemetery
Source: Pamphlet in the vertical file: "The Kneupper Chapel, Honey Creek, Texas" by Joyce M. Gass; 1983- Boerne Public Library files.
Please Press your Browser's BACK Button to Return to Main Page.