|OWNERS:Phillip Jacob Theis, Edgar Bergmann Family||ADDITION: Original Town Lot- LOT#:28||DATE: c1858 Style/Period: Palisade|
|BUILDERS: Phillip Jacob Theis||CONSTRUCTED OF: Adobe, clay, straw and willow reeds.||DESCRIPTION: One story, four room. The structure is supported by hand hewn beams and poles that are held together with wooden pegs.|
HISTORY: Built in 1858 by Phillip Jacob Theis, a blacksmith and
wheelwright who immigrated from Germany in 1855, the Theis House was one of the
ten residential structures existing in Boerne in 1958. Newton Street, adjoining
the south boundary of the Theis property, was initially surveyed in 1852 as a
public access alley to the Cibolo Creek. It was left open for the use of bucket
brigades and later fire hoses when there was a fire in town.
The Theis property line ran from Main Street to the creek and Mr. Theis operated his blacksmith shop under a mulberry tree in his front yard where the Adler Bakery Building later stood. Jacob Theis and his wife, Margaretha, raised seven children at the old Theis homesite. One son, August Theis, later took over his father's blacksmith shop and he and his wife, Agnes, continued living in the same house where they also raised seven children. Mrs. Edgar (Ruby) Bergmann refurbished the house and filled it with appropriate furniture of the early period. She opened it to the public on special occasions to showcase the life style of the early settlers.
Source: Boerne Public Library files.
Please Press your Browser's BACK Button to Return to Main Page