|Marker Title:||Town of Whitsett|
|Photos:||Historical Marker Submitted by Michael Tope|
|Address:||US 281 and FM 99|
|Year Marker Erected:||1973|
|Marker Location:||US 281, south of intersection with FM 99, Whitsett|
Situated on 1835 land grant of Mexico to John Houlihan. At this site in 1800's was water and a camp for cross-country drives of cattle, hogs. Town arose in 1913 when San Antonio, Uvalde and Gulf railroad was built here and post office opened. Named for ranch family donating right of way and townsite. Soon shipped steers thousands to northern markets. International fame began 1924 when H.A. Coffey acquired 125 bee colonies, bred and sold queens. Besides beekeeping, area has oil and uranium production; farming; horse and cattle ranching; rock gems and game hunting; fishing.
|Links of Interest:||Whitsett, TX - Handbook of Texas Online|