Search billions of records on

The Sons of the Republic of Texas


Matagorda Chapter No. 35

Bay City, Texas



Sons of the Republic of Texas National Office Site



The Charter dinner meeting of Matagorda Chapter No. 35 was held Saturday, August 17, 1985 , at the Bay City Country Club, Bay City , Texas . The dreams and aspirations of two members of the SRT, Raleigh and Robert Huebner, finally came true that day. They had, for the past three years, worked diligently to find enough eligible and interested men to form a chapter of the Sons of the Republic of Texas in their own hometown and county. Prior to the forming of the chapter, these men had taken it upon themselves to give scholarships on themes written by students in the local public schools.

Charter members of the Matagorda chapter were: Raleigh Huebner, William "Hal" Attaway, Robert J. Wilkinson, Jr., Scott Richardson, Dr. Gordon Richardson, Abel Pierce, Robert Huebner, Dudley J. Huebner, Woodleif Brown, Scott Crawford, George L. Huebner, Dudley Huebner, Russell Huebner, Tom Griffin, Roy Polk, George Shoultz and Bill Penny. Most of the wives of these men, many DRT and DAR members, attended the meeting with their husbands. 



Quarterly meetings are held in February, May, August & November (banquet)




Our Republic of Texas Ancestors

Jonathan Shelby Anderson

Don Egbert Erastus Braman

Charles David Bruce

David T. Bruce

Sarah Franks Bumpas

James Burch

Rev. Jonathan Burleson

Elisha Clapp

John Yancy Criswell, Sr.

John A. Culver

Charles DeMoss

John Douglas

Daniel Downer

Redden Gainer

David Hess Garner

Blassigame W. Harvey

Charles Calvin Harvey

Albert Clinton Horton

Elijah Pigott Howland

Joel Hudgins

Johann Andreas Huebner (John Andrew)

Elijah Isaacs

William Demetris (Demetrius) Lacy

John Lee

Pertiller Edward Lee

Robert Baxter Moore

William Wallace Moore

Charles Oakes

Andrew Jackson Perciville

John Rugeley

Norman Savage

Manaen Turnbull Smith

Benjamin Haile Stribling

Isaac Van Dorn

William Webb

Amy White

Benjamin Wightman

John F. Wilkinson

John Major Williams

Dr. Abel Norris Witherspoon

Asa Yeamans

Joseph Yeamans, Sr.


Honor the Texas flag; I pledge allegiance to Thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible.

Fly your Texas flag every day and especially on these days

January 26 Lamar Day
February 19 Texas Statehood Day
March 2 Texas Independence Day

Texas Flag Day

March 6 Alamo Heroes Day
March 27 Goliad Heroes Day
April 21 San Jacinto Day
September - 3rd Saturday Texian Navy Day
October 2 Gonzales Day
November 3 Stephen F. Austin's Birthday
December 10 Siege and Battle of Bexar Day
December 20 First Flag of Texas Independence Day


Email us:  Matagorda Chapter SRT


Artillery clipart courtesy of
Savage Goodner Camp 1513