Yesterday's News In Tarrant County
Page 10-A

Tarrant County Early Birth Announcements
Abstracted by Rita Martin - Used with Permission

 

 

Unfortunately, birth announcements were extremely brief in early newspapers, but perhaps these may provide clues to the researcher.  It is interesting to note that rarely is the mother of the child mentioned and babies in this time period, for the most part, weighed much more than those born today.

[Note: Terms "inst" and ult" are very often seen in old newspaper articles. "Inst" means that the event occurred in the present month. "Ult" implies that the date referred to was in the previous month.]

 

A daughter was born on the 31st ult. to the wife of Capt. J. C. Terrill [sic]

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 19 June 1875

 

Dr. J. L. Randall's new daughter arrived Oct. 4, 1875

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 9 Oct 1875

 

J. M. Maddox has a nine pound boy

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 9 Oct. 1875

 

Gen. and Mrs. Peers have a girl

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 23 Oct. 1875

 

Judge and Mrs. Cummings have a nine pound boy

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 19 Feb. 1876

 

Justice McClung has a baby girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 18 Aug. 1876

 

D. W. C. Pendery has a boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 7 Sept 1876

 

Policeman Thomas has a 10 pound girl

[Daily Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 21 Oct. 1876]

 

J. F. Beall Esq. has a fine boy - his first. His name is Samuel J. Tilden Beall

Daily Fort Worth Standard, Fri. 10 Nov. 1876

 

Frank Twombly has a ten pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 28 Nov 1876

 

Mr. W. J. Crozier has a boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 27 Dec. 1876

 

I. C. Terry has a new baby

Fort Worth Democrat, 27 Dec. 1876

 

Sam Seaton has a boy born Sunday night, weighs near 10 pounds

Daily Fort Worth Standard, Tues. 9 Jan. 1877

 

Mr. and Mrs. G. M. Waddell have a son, Lee Tilden, born Feb. 1, 1877, weighs 12 pounds

Daily Fort Worth Standard, Sun. 4 Feb. 1877

 

Dr. J. T. Stevens, Mansfield, formerly of Fort Worth, has twins

Daily Fort Worth Standard, Mon. 27 Feb. 1877

 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Gay have a girl born yesterday, weights 15-3/4 pounds!!!

Daily Fort Worth Standard, Fri. 9 March 1877

 

Mrs. Saunders gave birth to triplets - two survive. She lives 4 miles east of McKinney.

Fort Worth Democrat, Wed. 2 Jan. 1878

 

Mr. Ben Elliott is the new papa of a nine pound girl

Fort Worth Democrat, Sat. 2 Feb. 1878

 

Lee Mortimer is the happy papa of a bouncing 10 pound Fort Worth Belle

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 3 May 1878

 

An heir was born to the Timberlake house last night - a boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 9 July 1878

 

A. S. Nicholson has a new boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 6 Aug. 1878

 

Ben Tarrant has a new baby girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 6 Sept. 1878

 

Jim Maddox has an 11 pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 28 Sept. 1878

 

Dr. Mayfield has a 10 pound baby girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 17 Oct. 1878

 

Mr. and Mrs. S. T. Bibb have a 9 pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 30 Oct. 1878

 

Mr. Peterson has a 10-1/2 pound baby girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 4 Dec. 1878

 

Judge Marklee has a nine pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 17 Dec. 1878

 

Frank Twombly has a ten pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 29 Dec 1878

 

Joe Meyer has a new baby

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 15 June 1879

 

Mr. and Mrs. T. T. D. Andrews have a 12 pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 21 Jan. 1880

 

Geo. Davenport, police officer, has a ten pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 21 Jan. 1880

  

Abe Schwartz has a new baby girl born Tuesday

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 22 Jan. 1880

 

Tobe Johnson has an 11 pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 3 Feb. 1880

 

Mr. and Mrs. Hillingsworth are proud parents of a girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 10 Aug. 1880

 

Judge C. C. Cummings has a baby girl born Tuesday night

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 30 Sept. 1880

 

Mr. and Mrs. James S. Davis have a baby boy. Mrs. Davis is daughter of Capt. O. S. Kennedy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 13 Oct. 1880

 

John A. Williams has a boy born Tuesday night

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 21 Oct. 1880

 

Tom Montgomery is a father

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 26 Oct. 1880

 

Mr. W. O. Stillman has an 8 pound girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 28 Oct. 1880

 

Mr. W. W. Dye has a 9 pound girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 26 Nov. 1880

 

Col. Ashby has a ten pound boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 26 Nov. 1880

 

Earnest Haywood is the father of a boy born Thanksgiving Day - Nov,. 25

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 27 Nov. 1880

 

Dick Wilkes, chief of the Fire Dept., has a 10 pound girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 12, Dec. 1880

 

Mrs. Gay has had her 17th child - a boy weighing 12 pounds. Twelve children are now living.

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 17 Dec. 1880

 

S. M. Fry, book and shoe man, has a new boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 18 Dec. 1880

 

Mr. D. B. Kennedy has a new baby

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 20 Dec. 1880

 

Zane Cetti has a baby girl born Dec. 26

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 28 Dec 1880

 

S. C. Gunn has a 10 pound son

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 12 Jan. 1881

 

Mr. J. E. "Dick" Crum of Oak Grove has a baby girl born Jan. 2, 1881

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 14 Jan. 1881

 

Rufe Isbell has a 2 day old baby

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 22 Jan. 1881

 

Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Jackson have an eight pound girl

Fort Worth Democrat, Sun. 31 Jan. 1881

 

Henry Bryne has a boy born yesterday morning - weighs 12 pounds

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 20 March 1881

 

Judge Hanna and wife have a bouncing baby girl born Wed. night

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 25 March 1881

 

Henry Bryne has a boy born yesterday morning weighs 23 pounds

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, 29 March 1881

  

Sam Furman has a baby girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, We. 30 March 1881

  

Mr. Frank Twombly has another boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 26 April 1881

  

Mr. Kneeland [sic] has a girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 20 May 1881

  

W,. P. Thomas has a 7-1/2 pound girl born sunday afternoon

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 28 June 1881

  

A. P. Ryan has a 0=1/2 pound girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 16 July 1881

  

Mrs. Laramie gave birth recently - her husband works for the T&P railroad

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 20 July 1881

  

Sheriff Maddox has a boy born last Saturday

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Tues. 2 Aug. 1881

  

J. W. "Slade" Putnam has a boy born on the 2nd

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Wed. 3 Aug. 1881

  

John T. Brown Park born Wednesday evening Aug. 17, 1881

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 10 Aug. 1881

  

Mr. Glasscock has a 11-1/2 pound girl

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 22 Sept. 1881

  

Mr. and Mrs. Benton Elliott have a 12 pound boy born Tuesday evening

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Thurs. 23 Sept. 1881

  

Professor Ault and wife are parents of a baby girl born yesterday

Fort Worth Gazette, Mon. 1 Oct. 1881

  

Mr. Martell of the Tivoli has a new baby boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Fri. 7 Oct. 1881

  

Bill Grigsby has a baby boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 13 Nov. 1881

  

B. P. Fakes is a father. It's a boy. News came by telephone.

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sat. 19 Nov. 1881

  

Charley McDougall has a big bouncing boy 10-1/2 pounds, born yesterday

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 27 Nov. 1881

  

John Ramsey has a fine boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat, Sun. 11 Dec. 1881

  

Joseph Williams is the happy father of a 12 pound baby born yesterday morning

Fort Worth Democrat-Advance, Tues. 12 Dec. 1881

  

Mr. and Mrs. George Eitleman are parents of a healthy boy born Feb. 2

Fort Worth Democrat-Advance, Sun. 5 Feb. 1882

  

Johnny Sullivan, prop. of the Battle House, has a ten pound girl, born yesterday

Fort Worth Democrat-Advance, Fri. 10 Feb. 1882

  

Mr. and Mrs. John Zinn - a boy

Fort Worth Daily Democrat-Advance, Sat. 15 April 1882

  

Thomas Aston - a son

Fort Worth Democrat-Advance, Sun. 30 April 1882

  

Henry Field is the happy father of a new boy

Fort Worth Daily Gazette, Thurs. 22 Feb. 1883

  

Julius Freeman has triplets - three boys - born Monday. Two weighed 5 lbs and one weighed 6 lbs. Mother and children doing well.

Fort Worth Daily Gazette, Wed. 4 July 1883

  

J. A. Sadler is the happy father of a 10 pound boy born Sunday

Fort Worth Gazette, Mon. 7 Jan. 1884

  

Professor Terrell and wife have a fine boy

Fort Worth Daily Gazette, Mon. 21 Dec. 1885

  

Mr. and Mrs. Frank Twombly have a baby girl - may be named Maude.

Fort Worth Daily Gazette, Fri. 10 March 1886

  

Mr. and Mrs. S. P. Guiln [sic] are parents of a baby girl

Fort Worth Gazette, Thurs. 25 Oct. 1888

  

Mr. and Mrs. S. P. Guiln [sic] are parents of a baby girl

Fort Worth Gazette, Thurs. 25 Oct. 1888

  

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Kern have a new girl.

Fort Worth Gazette, Wed. 12 Dec. 1888

  

A daughter was born to Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Zinn last Sunday

Fort Worth Gazette, Fri. 14 Dec. 1888

  

Dr. and Mrs. C. S. Matison welcomed a baby girl on Sunday. She is a cherub of 10 pounds.

Fort Worth Gazette, Tues. 15 Jan. 1889

  

Mr. and Mrs. L. R. Ellis have a new baby girl

Fort Worth Gazette, Sat. 4 Jan. 1890

  

Mr. and Mrs. E. R. Golding are proud parents of a boy one day old

Fort Worth Gazette, Sat. 11 Jan. 1890

  

Mr. and Mrs. George B. Hendricks have a new baby girl

Fort Worth Gazette, 2 Feb. 1890

  

Mr. and Mrs. Lon Leach have a new baby boy born Friday

Fort Worth Gazette, Sun. 2 Feb. 1890

  

Capt. and Mrs. Julian Feild have a new baby girl

Fort Worth Gazette, Wed. 12 Feb. 1890

  

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Bound have a new boy

Fort Worth Gazette, Fri. 21 Feb. 1890

  

Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Dumbeck have a Valentine names Miss Mattie Fletcher Dumbeck. She arrived on the 14th inst.

Fort Worth Gazette, Fri. 21 Feb. 1890

 

 

 

 

This page was last modified 28 Sep 2001.

Tarrant County TXGenWeb
Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2001. All rights reserved.